# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Banning v. Detroit, Toledo & Ironton Railroad

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386416_2205%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1949
- **Citation:** 338 U.S. 815

## Text

SUBJECT INDEX

Page
Cross-Petition for Writ of Certiorari.............. 1-5
Nn: ee I ick oh aks k cnn ckabccecs 2
Statement of the Matter Involved............. 2-4
TN MIO 96 Gre as vin kh AKA kn nc incl 1
Reasons Relied Upon for Allowance of Writ.... 4-5
Respondent's Brief in Reply to Petition of Lester FE.
Banning for Writ of Certiorari................ 7-25
Failure to question rulings of Court of Appeals
is fatal to Banning’s petition............... 7-11
The Court of Appeals correctly decided that the
District Court was in error in submitting to
the jury the issue of the alleged negligence of
the Railroad Company in that Banning ‘‘was
directed and required to work in the yard un-
der muddy conditions, so that his boots be-
came slippery and covered with mud’’....... 11-25
RN civ ty ns Gch akan hn Cerne bee at | 25
Cross-Petitioner’s Brief in Support of Its Petition
Per @ Weet of OCortiorari.... oc. cc scccsescume cs 26-39
Opinion of the Court below... ..........0..... 26
Seen Or POND cs sk wnaccihiseavincssas 26
SPUMMOMMNOU WE GR TORRD now osc ec cc nnsecasccce 26-32
The Court of Appeals erred in deciding that the
District Court was correct in submitting to the
jury the issue of alleged excessive speed... .. 32-39

ECS RE Sen aren 9 etree rs ea 40

ii

INDEX TO AUTHORITIES CITED

Aerkfetz v. Humphreys, 145 U. S. 418, 12 S. Ct. 835...
Atchison, T. & S. F. Ry. Co. v. Toops, 281 U. S. 351,
Ps Ck ROS ic iakid cckcukeasteakbedes
Bailey v. Central Vermont Railway, 319 U. S. 350, 63
SN so ee ka sce ce
Barry v. Reading Co., 147 Fed. 2d 129 (C. C. A. 3rd
Cireuit, 1944), cert. den. 65 S. Ct. 912, 1022...
Bigelow v. R. K. O. Radio Pictures, 327 U.S. 251, 66
Me ME Nes haenecke es) ued wedewhs sceaneun ee
Blair v. B. & O. R. Co., 323 U. S. 600, 65 S. Ct. 545...
Brady v. Southern Ry. Co., 320 U. S. 476, 64 S. Ct.
UI hc erexeh ia as a eSb Nake acs ves
Christian v. Boston & M. R. R., 109 F. 2d 103 (C. C.
its haha ko enceagawcaus ik:
Consolidated Edison Co. v. National Labor Relations
Board, 305 U. S. 197, 229, 59 S. Ct. 206, 217.....
CE a es SON cE en a sc cs vance onseedens
Cunningham v. Great N. R. Co., 73 N. D. 315, 14 N.
AA RE as hoe Kn Wk be bade aha vas kWees
Eckenrode v. Pennsylvania R. Co., 69 S. Ct. 91..
Edwards v. B. & O. R. Co., 131 Fed. 2d 366 (C. C. A.
Ne ee ee a ee
Fantini v. Reading Co., 147 Fed. 2d 543 (C. C. A. 3d
Cireuit, 1945) ; eert. den. 325 U. S. 856, 65 S. Ct.
Dc absenaa inc kswek sures deede bok 68k cks ozs
Gunning v. Cooley, 281 J. S. 90, 50S. Ct. 231........
International Cotton Mills Co. v. Pernod, 244 Fed.
tae (C.C. A. Ist Cirouit, 1916)... 2... cence
Katila v. B. & O. R. Co., 104 Fed. (2) 842, C. A. 6th. .
Keppler v. N. Y. Cent. R. Co., 263 App. Div. 199 (N.

Page
23

37
10
36

16-17
24

36

12

ili
Page
Larsen v. Chicago & N, W. Ry. Co., 171 F. 2d 841... 17
MeGivern v. Northern Pac. Ry. Co., 132 Fed. 2d 213
TU Mies Sa UNE AUIS MOPEDS v5 oc cc dec cvaceseccc 23, 36

Miller v. Advance Transportation Co., 126 F. 2d 442 17
Missouri Pac. R. Co. v. Aeby, 275 U. S. 426, 48 S. Ct.

See EN Kee eee Ribak RkdakuA sca pKeS oo.00 0s 23
Murphy v. Lehigh Valley R. Co., 158 Fed. 2d 481 (C.

ibe Ms Se MORN SIND ccc cs suc senecasaneasin 36
Mutual Benefit H. & A. Assn. v. Snyder, 109 Fed. 2d

469 (C. C. A. 6th Cireuit, 1940)... .. ey eee 37

N.Y. C. & St. L. R. Co. v. Boulden, 63 Fed. 2d 917... 23
Penn. R. Co. vy. Chamberlain, 288 U. S. 253, 53 S. Ct.

EE dacs sedate choc nuke dashes inbscca 37
Rashaw v. Central Vermont Ry., 133 Fed. (2) 253, C.

RT UTA wah GA alk wc Gs oe GA va 68 xd ac es a 12
Roth v. Swanson, 145 Fed. 2d 262, 269 (C. C. A. Sth

ee ees a he inca hackauei 12, 37
Sehilling v. Delaware & H. R. Corp., 114 F. 2d 69 (C,

Ser in ee WOR BOD oo svn ds eas ssacsiecce 12
Strider v. Penn. R. Co., 60 Fed. 2d 237 (C. C. A. 6th

en 37
Tennant v. Peoria & P. U. Ry. Co., 321 U. S. 29, 64S.

REFS eR GT nen ot 36
Tiller v. Atlantic Coast Line Ry. Co., 323 U. S. 574,

i i awa 17
Union Pac. R. Co. v. Hadley, 246 U. S. 330, 38 S. Ct.

SOT E 8 CoS REBIA A e 24
Wigmore on Evidence, 3rd Ed., Vol. 1X, See. 2570. .. 38
Wilkerson v. McCarthy, 69 S. Ct. 413. ...00.0.0.00... ll

Wilmington Star Mining Co. v. Fulton, 205 U. S. 60,
Vhs cu arkc yd dba vkasndeuswus 12

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1948

No. 771

—_

LESTER E. BANNING,
Petitioner and Cross-Respondent,
vs.
DETROIT, TOLEDO & IRONTON RAILROAD
COMPANY,
Respondent and Cross-Petitioner

CROSS-PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

To the Honorable Chief Justice of the United States and
the Associate Justices of the Supreme Court of the
United States:

Detroit, Toledo & Ironton Railroad Company, the above
ramed respondent and cross-petitioner, respectfully prays
that a writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment of
the Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit entered on
April 5, 1949, whereby said court refused to vacate an
order of the District Court overruling cross-petitioner’s
motion for judgment notwithstanding the verdict of the
jury in said cause.

BASIS OF JURISDICTION

Jurisdiction is invoked under Section 1254-(1) of Title
28, United States Code, as enacted by the Eightieth Con-
gress, Second Session, 1948, effective September 1, 1948,
and Rule 38-(5) of the Rules of the Supreme Court.

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered
April 5, 1949 (R. 405). .

Lester KE. Banning, the plaintiff in the cause in the Dis-
trict Court, has heretofore filed a petition for writ of cer-
tiorari to review the same judgment and in connection
therewith has filed a printed transcript of the record, to
which the citations of the record hereinafter made refer.

STATEMENT OF THE MATTER INVOLVED

The Distriet Court of the United States for the Eastern
District of Michigan, Southern Division, on April 2, 1948,
entered a judgment in favor of the plaintiff Banning
against defendant, this cross-petitioner, in the sum of
Forty-One Thousand Dollars ($41,000.00), in accordance
with the verdict of the jury rendered in said canse (R. 390).

Cross-petitioner, defendant below, appealed to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit,
claiming that the District Court erred in refusing to
grant cross-petitioner’s motion for judgment notwith-
standing the verdict and in refusing, in the alternative,
to grant its motion for a new trial predicated upon certain
alleged errors committed by the trial court.

The Court of Appeals reversed the judgment of the
District Court upon finding that it had committed four
separate and material errors and ordered the case re-

3

manded to the District Court for a new trial, but refused
to order judgment entered for the defendant railroad com-
pany notwithstanding the verdict.

The sole error of the Court of Appeals here complained
of by eross-petitioner in its refusal to order judgment
entered for cross-petitioner notwithstanding the verdict.

Two separate and distinct issues of negligence, and only
two such issues, were submitted by the District Judge
to the jury (R. 331) almost verbatim in the language re-
quested by plaintiff’s counsel (R. 351) as follows:

‘Plaintiff has charged in his complaint that the
defendant failed to furnish him a safe place in
which to work, in two respects; first, that he was di-
rected and required to work in the yard under muddy
conditions, so that his boots became slippery and
covered with mud; and, second, that defendant
dropped the car upon which plaintiff was riding in
the performance of his duties, at such a high, dan-
gerous and excessive rate of speed that plaintiff
did not have the opportunity to bring it to a stop
by means of the braking apparatus which he was
required to operate before it collided with the train
of parked cars standing upon the track, with brakes
set, so that plaintiff was thrown therefrom to the
ground and road bed, sustaining injuries complained
on"

The Court of Appeals found that there was not sufficient
evidence to warrant the submission to the jury of the first
of these two issues, relative to directing and requiring
the plaintiff to work in the vard under muddy conditions,
but it held that there was sufficient evidence to warrant
the submission of the issue of negligence based upon al-
leged excessive speed at which the box car was dropped
or switched. It is cross-petitioner’s contention that there
was not sufficient evidence to warrant the submission of

TS

4

this issue of exeessive speed, and that therefore the case
should have been taken from the jury and a verdict di-
rected for defendant railroad company.

The manner in which the accident happened and in
which plaintiff was injured is in general set forth in the
opinion of the Court of Appeals (R. 406-409) and a por-
tion of this statement thereof is repeated in the petition
for writ of certiorari filed by plaintiff Banning (pp. 24).
In our brief filed in connection herewith we set forth in
detail the facts relating to this issue of alleged excessive
speed.

QUESTION PRESENTED

The sole question presented by this cross-petition is
whether there was sufficient evidence to warrant the sub-
mission of the alleged issue of excessive speed to the jury.

REASONS RELIED UPON FOR ALLOWANCE
OF WRIT

ieee

1. The United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth
Cireuit has decided an important question of local law in
a way probably in conflict with applicable local decisions.

2. The Court of Appeals has decided a federal ques-
tion in a way probably in conflict with applicable decisions
of this Court.

3. There was not sufficient evidenee to take any issue
of negligence to the jury, and if the Court of Appeals
had correctly decided the alleged issue relative to exces-
sive speed, it would have directed a judgment to be en-
tered in favor of the defendant railroad.

5

Wherefore, it is respectfully submitted that this cross-
petition for a writ of certiorari to review the judgment
of the Court of Appeals should be granted.

Dated: May 20, 1949.

CLIFFORD B. LONGLEY,

HENRY C. BOGLE,

HAROLD A. JOHNSON,
Counsel for Cross-Petitioner.

Business Address:
1400 Buhl Building,
Detroit 26, Michigan.

In the

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1948

No. 771

ee

_LESTER E. BANNING,
Petitioner and Cross-Respondent,

vs.
DETROIT, TOLEDO & IRONTON RAILROAD
COMPANY,
Respondent and Cross-Petitioner

oe

BRIEF OF RESPONDENT AND CROSS-PETL
TIONER IN REPLY TO THE PETITION OF
LESTER E. BANNING FOR A WRIT OF CER-
TIORARI, AND IN SUPPORT OF CROSS-PETI-
TIONER’S PETITION FOR A WRIT
OF CERTIORARI

RESPONDENT’S BRIEF IN REPLY TO PETITION
OF LESTER E. BANNING FOR WRIT
OF CERTIORARI

Failure to Question Rulings of Court of
Appeals is Fatal to Banning’s Petition

From a reading merely of Banning’s petition and the
brief in support thereof, one would gather that the ap-
peal from the District Court was based solely on the

8

claimed errors of the trial court in submitting each of the
two issues of alleged negligence and that the Court of
Appeals reversed the case and sent it back for a new trial
solely on the ground that one of these issues was incor-
rectly submitted. Actually, in addition to the two claims
of error, in respect of the submission of each of these two
issues, appellant railroad company also claimed that
four other separate and distinct errors were made by the
District Court in the admission or rejection of testimony
during the trial. Actually, the Court of Appeals found
not only that the District Court committed error in sub-
mitting one of the two issues to the jury, but that it com-
mitted three separate errors in regard to the reception and
rejection of testimony.

In addition to the error found by the Court of Appeals
in the submission by the District Judge to the jury of the
alleged negligence in directing Banning to work in the
yard under muddy conditions, the other three errors which
the Court of Appeals found the District Judge to have
committed during the course of the trial are sufficiently
shown by the following excerpts from the opinion of the
Court of Appeals (R. 411-412):

‘“‘Banning was permitted to testify, over Appel-
lant’s objection, that he had never ridden on a
freight car that came into contact with another por-
tion of the train at as high a rate of speed as the
one involved in the accident. He had made some 25
or 30 flying switches previously. No foundation was
laid to show the circumstances, distance, grade or
other conditions of such previous operations. We
believe the testimony was improperly admitted.
Several factors can affect the speed at the time of
impact, variable under different operations, irre-
spective of the initial speed given to the free rolling
cars. It is a well established rule of evidence that
circumstances under which other comparable con-

9

duct occurs;should be substantially similar. Wig-
more on Evidence, 3rd Ed., Vol. I, See. 459, 460;
C. d O. Ry. Co. v. Thomason, 70 Fed. (2) 860, C.
A. 6th; People v. Gotshall, 123 Mich. 474, 479; Trask
v. Boston & Maine R. R., 219 Mass. 410, 415.

‘*The District Judge sustained objections to ques-
tions addressed by Appellant’s counsel to the con-
ductor and engineer asking whether in their opinion
the drop switch was or was not a normal one. In
each instance the indicated answer was that it was
a normal one. Both witnesses had years of exper-
ience. The general rule permits a witness who is
experienced in technical matters and qualified to do
so, to give his opinion in a matter which is not one
of common knowledge, although it involves an ulti-
mate fact to be finally decided by the jury Trans-
portation Line v. Hope, 95 U. S. 297; Eenpire Oil &
Refining Co. v. Hoyt, 112 Fed. (2) 356, 360, C. A.
6th; Wabash Screen Door v. Black, 126 Fed. 721,
727, C. A. 6th; Ekblom v. G. O. Reed, Inc., 71 Fed.
(2) 399, C. A. 5th; Walsh v. W. P. Rend Colliers Co.,
228 Fed. 311, C. A. 7th. Appellant’s contention that
the general rule is applicable in the present case, in
that the proper operation of a railroad involves a
combination of factors not within the knowledge of
the average juryman appears to have support in the
authorities. Grand Trunk Western Ry. Co. v. Lind-
say, 201 Fed. 836, 844, C. A. 7th; affirmed, 233 U. 8S.
42; Chicago G. W. Ry. Co. v. Price, 97 Fed. 423, C.
A. 8th; Norfolk & Western Ry. Co. v. Gillespie, 224
Fed. 316, 320, C. A. 4th; Pittsburgh S. d N. R. Co. v.
Lamphere, 137 Fed. 20, 23, C. A. 3rd; Union Pae.
Ry. Co. v. Novak, 61 Fed. 573, 579-580, C. A. 9th;
Bellefontaine € I. R. R. Co. v. Bailey, 11 Ohio State
333, 335. We are of the opinion that the testimony
should have been received.

‘*Dr. Conley’s testimony should have been confined
to the X-ray pictures without reference to appel-
lee’s pain, about which he had no personal knowl-
edge.’’

10

Supreme Court Rule 38-(2) provides that ‘‘only the
questions specifically brought forward by the petition
for writ of certiorari will be considered.’’ Banning has
not questioned the other rulings referred to above which
were made by the Court of Appeals, any one of whieh
would necessarily result in the case having been sent back
for a new trial, regardless of the court’s ruling on the
so-called *‘*mud issue.’ There would be no point in allow-
ing a writ of certiorari to issue for the purpose of cor-
recting one alleged error, where other rulings made by
the court below which had the same result, namely the
sending of the case back for a new trial, remain uncom-
plained of.

A further reason for denying Banning’s petition is
that his complaint is merely that the Court of Appeals
remanded the ease for a new trial. In Bailey v. Central
Vermont Railway, 319 U. S. 350, 63 S. Ct. 1062 (1943)
three of the justices of this Court expressed the view that
this Court should not undertake the review of cases under
the Federal Employers’ Liability Act, where no important
principle of law is involved, saying *‘It seems to be thought,
however, that any ruling which takes a case from the jury,
albeit it will not serve as a precedent, is of such paramount
importance as to require review here. * ** But this I do
say, that this Court does not sit to redress every apparent
error committed by competent and responsible courts
whose judgments we are empowered to review. And, if we
undertake any such task, we shall disenable the court to
fulfill its high office in the scheme of our government.”

Cases of this type, where the Supreme Court under its
discretionary power to issue a writ of certiorari, has
taken jurisdiction, are invariably those in which the
decision of the court to which the writ is issued would
have ended- the case, had the writ not been granted. Every

ll

case wherein a writ of certiorari was granted, as listed
by Mr. Justice Douglas in the appendix to his opinion in
Wilkerson v. McCarthy, 69 S. Ct. 413, was of this char-
acter. In the Bailey case the Supreme Court of Vermont
had directed judgment to be entered for the defendant.
The three members of this Court felt that even under
those conditions, a writ of certiorari should not be
granted. The conclusion seems inescapable that no such
writ should be granted where the decision of the Court
of Appeals has merely directed a new trial, and where
a review of the decision by this Court would not only
call upon it to determine the soundness of its ruling in
respect of the submission of one issue, but would call
upon it to consider numerous other rulings made by the
Court of Appeals (not even mentioned by petitioner) in
regard to the reception and rejection of evidence during
the trial.

We submit that for the foregoing reasons, as well as
those hereinafter set forth in respect of the mud issue,
Banning’s petition for a writ of certiorari should be
- denied.

The Court of Appeals Correctly Decided that the
District Court Was in Error in Submitting to the
Jury the Issue of the Alleged Negligence of the
Railroad Company in that Banning “Was Directed
and Required to Work in the Yard Under Muddy
Conditions, so that His Boots Became Slippery
and Covered with Mud.”

Petitioner says in his brief (p. 13) that ‘‘this Court
in recent cases has approved the doctrine that, if one
issue or theory is properly submitted to the jury and is
sustained by evidence, the general verdict should be up-
held even though another issue may have been improperly
submitted.’ This position is at variance with that taken

a

12

by counsel for Banning in the Court of Appeals, where
(p. 21 of their brief filed in that court), in referring to
defendant’s claim that where there is more than one
alleged act of negligence, an issue of negligence should
not be submitted to the jury where no proof is offered
of such alleged aet, they state: ‘*We have no quarrel with
the rule of law laid down in these cases, but we earnestly
submit that they are not in point for the simple reason
that suhstantial evidence was introduced in the at bar,
both on the question of mud, which was entirely undis-
puted, and on the question of the excessive rate of speed
at which the flying switch was made.”’

The Court of Appeals followed the well-known rule that
where an issue is improperly submitted to the jury be-
cause not supported by evidence, and the verdict rendered
is a general one with no way to determine on which of
several issues it was based, the appellant is entitled to a
new trial, citing the following cases (R. 410): Wilmington
Star Mining Co. v. Fulton, 205 U. S. 60, 77-79, 27 S. Ct.
412; Rashaw v. Central Vermont Ry., 133 Fed. (2) 253,
C. A. 2nd; Reth v. Swanson, 145 Fed. (2) 262, 269, C. A.
Sth. See also Katila v. B. € O. R. Co., 104 Fed. (2) 842,
C. A. 6th. Other cases supporting this rule are the fol-
lowing: Schilling v. Delaware € H. R. Corp., 114 F. 2d,
69 (CCA 2nd Cireuit, 1940) and Christian v. Boston &
M. R. R., 109 F. 2d 103 (CCA 2nd Circuit, 1940).

In the Rashaw case, supra, the Court of Appeals, in
reversing a judgment for the plaintiff under the Federal
Kmployers’ Liability Act, points out that the trial judge
took occasion to state the negligence charged by the plain-
tiff, and that in so doing he set forth certain of the
plaintiff’s allegations which the plaintiff charged showed
negligence on the part of the railroad. The appellate
court then says:

13

‘‘This was correct so far as allegations go, but
those allegations were not supported, by proof suffi-
cient to make any issue for the jury in respect to
them. * * * The result is that the case was sub-
mitted to the jury upon allegations of negligence
some of which were not supported by any substan-
tial evidence whatever. This was reversible error
since the verdict was general and may, for aught
that now can be told, have been put upon such false
issues. (Citing cases.)”’

In the Christian case, supra, the Court held, in revers-
ing a judgment under the Federal Employers’ Liability
Act:

‘*Where two issues of negligence are sent to the
jury and the verdict for the plaintiff is general, the

judgment must be reversed if there was no evidence
in support of one of the issues.’’

That this rule is especially applicable in cases under
the Federal Employers’ Liability Act appears from the
ease of NKatila v. B. € O. R. R. Co., supra. In that ease,
the Court of Appeals, in an action under the Federal
Employers’ Liability Act, reversed a judgment in favor
of plaintiff upon an appeal by the plaintiff on the ground
of inadequacy of the verdict, because the lower court had
failed to submit a certain issue, which there was evidence
to support, to the jury, although it had submitted other
issues. The Court pointed out that under the Federal
Employers’ Liability Act, the doctrine of comparative
negligence had been introduced, and that the jury is
permitted to reduce damages im the proportion that the
plaintiff's negligence, if any, bears to the total negligence,
and that:

““* * * there may not be adequate assay of total
negligence unless all negligence supported by evi-
dence is given consideration. This would seem to

14

be the command of reason as we think it is the
mandate of authority.’’ (Citing cases.)

The Court went on to say that:

**The verdict was general and it is impossible, of
course, to say in what amount damages were found
or by what sum they were reduced because of negli-
gence of the plaintiff.”’

In the present case, the Court duly submitted to the
jury, as requested, instructions which would permit the
jury to reduce any damages otherwise found in propor-
tion to the negligence, if any, attributable to the plaintiff

(R. 337).

If the claimed issue respecting the mud was improperly
submitted te the jury, then, under the reasoning of the
Katila case, there could not be an adequate assay of the
total negligence of both parties to permit the proper
apportionment as between them. But, of course ,the vice
of the instruction really goes far beyond this, because,
the verdict being general, we have no means of knowing
what part of the verdict represents damages on account
of the alleged, but unproven, negligence of the defendant
in respect of the mud, nor, indeed, do we have any means
of knowing that the entire verdict is not attributable to
the determination of this alleged issue in favor of the
plaintiff.

Nor was this alleged issue inadvertently or casually
injected into the case. Let it be remembered that plaintiff
specifically charged in his complaint that the defendant
was negligent ‘‘in causing and directing plaintiff to assist
in the switching of cars which necessitated him to alter-
nately walk and work about on the ground when it was
deep with slippery, greasy mud’’ (R. 3); that plaintiff
specifically requested the court to submit as an issue of

15

negligence to the jury that plaintiff ‘‘was directed and
required to work in the yard under muddy conditions so
that his boots became slippery and covered with mud’’
(R. 351); that defendant specifically requested that this
issue be eliminated (R. 357); that the lower court never-
theless gave this request almost verbatim as asked by
plaintiff (R. 331); and that defendant made timely ob-
jetcion under Rule 51 to this part of the court’s charge
and its failure to eliminate this issue (R. 346-348).

In plaintiff’s opening statement (R. 17-18), his counsel
said :

So ee

it had been raining quite constantly all
afternoon, and perhaps longer than that, and that in
and about the place where the plaintiff, Mr. Ban-
ning, Was required to work because of the nature
of his duties, the road bed on some of these tracks,
that is, the road bed surrounding them and imme-
diately adjacent where the plaintiff had to go, had
become extremely muddy, wet and slippery, and as
a result of which the plaintiff’s boots and his feet
and his shoes became and were in a damp and muddy
condition, but that there was nothing he could do
about it, because he had to keep on working in and
around those conditions; and that those conditions
by or surrounding the railroad’s property there
were dangerous conditions ; that the danger of those
conditions were known to the plaintiff—or the de-
fendant railroad company, rather.’’

Defendant’s counsel here objected to the claim that
these conditions were alleged to be dangerous, and counsel
thereupon pointed to paragraph 3 of the complaint which
alleged that the defendant was negligent ‘‘in failing to
furnish plaintiff a reasonably safe place in which to per-
form his duties as an employee.’’

a

16

In plaintiff's argument to the jury just before the
submission of the case to it (R. 296-297), plaintiff’s counse)
said, among other things:

‘*We based our charge of negligence on the fact
that he wasn’t furnished a safe place in which to
work. That is a common ground consisting of two
divisions. One is that they compelled him to work
on grounds that were muddy on a rainy night. The
mud was three or four inches deep. He got mud on
his boots. That evidence is not disputed. Any evi-
dence in this case that hasn’t been disputed, you
have got to take as a fact. It has not been disputed
that he did work in mud three or four inches deep,
sloppy mud, and that it was over his boots, and
that fact contributed to his aecident because his feet
were slippery and when the jolt came he did not
have as good a foothold as he might have had if the
platform were dry, if it weren’t a rainy night and if
mud hadn’t been on his boots. The other premise is
that he was jarred off because it was an unusual
jolt.”’

Not only did the court, over defendant's objection, send
this specific issue to the jury, but throughout his instrue-
tions he emphasized the matter by repeatedly referring
to the duty of defendant railroad to furnish plaintiff with
a reasonably safe place in which to work (see, for ex-
ample, the court’s charge at pages 332, 333, 337, 338).
Inasmuch as ‘‘safe place in which to work’’ has no ap-
plication, so far as this case is concerned, to any conten-
tion other than the alleged mud on the side track, and
obviously e€ulk refer to the manner in which cars or
equipment Were operated by fellow employees, the court
is phrase at all in its charge.

have used

Nor do t ses cited by petitioner on pages 13-17 of

his brief sustain the claim made by him that the rule of
the above cited cases has been abrogated. In Bigelow v.

17

R.K.O. Radio Pictures, 327 U. S. 251, 66 S. Ct. 574,
according to the opinion of the Supreme Court, the sole
question for decision was whether the evidence of damage
was sufficient to support the verdict. There is no indica-
tion that defendant was complaining that an issue un-
supported by evidence had been submitted. The case
provides no parallel to the present one.

Similarly, in Larsen v. Chicago & N. W. Ry. Co., 171 F.
2d 841, defendant does not appear to have been complain-
ing merely of the submission of an unsupported issue, but
its contention was that the court erred in denying its
motion for judgment notwithstanding the verdict. The
ease has no application.

Again, in Miller v. Advance Transportation Company,
126 F. 2d 442, defendant was complaining of the court’s
refusal to instruct the jury to return a verdict for the
defendant and of the overruling of defendant’s motion
for judgment notwithstanding the verdict. Naturally, such
claim could not be sustained if there was sufficient evi-
dence on any charge of negligence.

The case of Tiller v. Atlantic Coast Line Ry. Co., 323
U.S. 574, 65 S. Ct. 421 (cited by petitioner as giving
tacit approval to the doctrine for which he now contends)
actually tends to establish the contrary. The Supreme
Court reaffirmed its previous holding that the evidence
justified submission to the jury of the issues raised by
the original allegations of negligence, sustaining the
Court of Appeals on this point. The Court of Appeals,
however, had held that there was no evidence on the
other issue involving alleged violation of the Boiler
Inspection Act, and had found that the District Court
should therefore have directed that this issue be found
in favor of the railroad. The Supreme Court discusses
this question at considerable length and comes to the

18

conclusion that under the evidence in that case, that issue
was properly submitted to the jury. If this is a tacit
approval of anything at all, it is tacit approval of the
rule for which we are contending, otherwise the Supreme
Court would merely have found that, as it agreed with
the Court of Appeals that there was evidence to support
the first issue, it would be unnecessary to discuss the
second.

In Cross v. Ryan, 124 F. 2d 883, an action for damages
under the Dram Shop Act of Illinois, the questions raised
by the defendant were that each count of the complaint
should have been dismissed, that a verdict should have
been directed, and that a new trial should have been
granted on the ground of insufficiency of the evidence to
support the causes of action stated in the complaint. The
court held that each count stated a cause of action under
the Illinois statute, and that there was substantial evi-
dence to support the verdict. The facts in the case re-
lated only to the single matter of a drunken braw) in a
saloon. The various counts were merely alternative meth-
ods of stating the liability of the proprietor for selling
intoxicating liquor, and it is perfectly clear from a read-
ing of the opinion that there was substantial evidence to
support each and every count. The defendant apparently
only raised the question of the sufficiency of the evidence
to support the eauses of action stated in a motion for a
new trial, and there is no indication that he objected to
the submission of any particular issue of negligence on
the ground of insufficiency of evidence relating to that
issue alone. In fact, notwithstanding the several different
ways in which plaintiff stated his cause of action, it is
clear that there was only one real issue of negligence
involved, namely, the furnishing of the liquor.

<2

19

Petitioner (pp. 15-17 of his brief) next makes the claim
that there was substantial evidence to support the issue
of negligence in respect of the alleged muddy condition of
the road bed.

In support of our claim that there was no evidence
sufficient to take this issue to the jury, we refer, first, to
the opinion of the Court of Appeals pointing out that it
is not negligence on the part of a railroad to operate
merely because of a rainy day; that plaintiff had ample
opportunity to clean any mud off his boots; and that what
little mud he got on his boots was in an entirely different
location from where the accident happened; and that the
two incidents were entirely separate and distinct (R.
409-410).

On this record the following statements are not subject
to dispute:

(a) Plaintiff himself, who was equipped with new
boots, makes the sole claim that he had to walk
in some thin mud, about two inches deep, while
conducting the coupling operation of the switch
engine to the two box cars on the distillery ‘‘barrel
track,’’ which was on the other side of the distil-
lery from the place where the accident happened
(R. 34, 53).

(b) That is the only place where he claims the roadbed
was muddy, and he emphasized this by stating
(R. 34), ‘‘That is where the roadbed was muddy.’’

(c) After this coupling was completed, the Diesel en-
gine remained at that point for about five minutes
and plaintiff spent three or four minutes on the
rear end of the engine, where he was in a position
where he could have talked to either the fireman
or engineer. He remained there while the engine

(d)

(e)

(f)

(g)

20

proceeded north along the barrel track some 400
yards or more to where the gondola cars were
standing on the quarry track (R. 35, 72-73).

When plaintiff dismounted from the engine to
make the coupling to the gondola cars on the
quarry track, he testified that the roadbed there
was “‘gravel and cinders, solid roadbed”’ and that
there was no mud there (R. 36).

He then stood on the metal step or ‘*stirrup’’ on
one of the box cars while the train proceeded along
the quarry track into the main track to a point on
the east side of the distillery, a distance of ap-
proximately 500 yards. He got off at this point
to confer wtih the conductor, but he does not. say
there was any muddy condition whatsoever at that
point.

Plaintiff then got back on the stirrup on the box
car nearest the engine and rode in that position,
and so far as the evidence shows did not get off
on the ground again until the accident took place
some time later. In that position he rode south-
ward as the Diesel engine pushed the two box cars
approximately 300 yards before it reversed itself
to make the drop switch. (The approximate dis-
tances referred to are taken from the scale draw-
ing, Df. Ex. 4.)

If plaintiff acquired some mud on his boots back
on the barrel track, it is quite plain that he had
every opportunity to remove it prior to the hap-
pening of the accident. He could readily have done
this while the switch engine remained on the back
track, or while he was riding on the engine near
the engineer and the fireman, or while he was

>

(h)

(i)

21

riding on the stirrup which obviously would have
constituted a perfect mud scraper (see Pl. Ex. 1).

There is absolutely no evidence in the record that
he at any time advised any member of the crew or
anyone else that his boots had become muddy or
that he asked for any opportunity to clean them off.
(Although it will be noted that in his complaint
he originally charged negligence in failing to give
him time and opportunity in which to clean the
mud from his boots (4), this claim was clearly
abandoned in his own requests to charge.)

An extraordinary feature in regard to this claimed
issue is that, according to plaintiff’s own version
of the manner in which the accident happened, the
mud on his boots, if any, had absolutely nothing
to do with it. The only time that the plaintiff ever
mentions the mud, after referring to the mud that
he claims was adjacent to the barrel track on the
other side of the plant, was when his own counsel
interrogated him as follows (R. 53):

**Q. At the time you performed that operation
following picking up the cars over on the distil-
lery track, were your boots muddy?

A. Yes, they were muddy. They were bound
to have been muddy. There were mud that we had
been wading in, walking in, in the back track
where we had picked these two cars up.

Q. All right, sir. But, nonetheless, you did
get up the ladder and on that brake platform?

A. “Yea, sir.”

(Note in the above that plaintiff again refers only to
mud found in the ‘‘back track,’’ which is the same as the
‘barrel track’? marked on Df. Ex. 4.)

22

Plaintiff does not claim that any mud on his boots had
anything to do with his activities in and about braking
of the box cars, but, on the contrary, repeatedly states
that he was thrown from the braking platform as a resuit
of the impact of the cars, while his feet were firmly
planted on the brake platform and his hands had a firm
grip on the brake wheel. Following are excerpts from his
testimony:

When he mounted to the brake platform, he took
a position facing the car ‘‘with my feet firmly on the
brake platform”’ (R. 53).

At the time of the impact, ‘‘I was standing on the
platform, the brake platform, with a firm foothold
and both hands on the brake wheel’’ (R. 58).

‘‘When the two cars came together I was there
holding on the brake wheel with a strong grip and
as they came together there was a large crash and |
felt myself going through the air and I landed on
this end gravel car with my head and shoulders”
(R. 61).

In answer to questions by the Court, he stated
that his hands were gripping the brake wheel, in-
eluding his left hand which also held the lantern,
that his feet ‘‘were firmly on the brake platform”
and that ‘‘after my hands and feet were jerked
loose, I knew I was falling but there was nothing to
grab there after I was jerked loose’’ (R. 95-96).

Nowhere in his account of the accident did plaintiff
intimate in any way that his feet were caused to slip
from the brake platform due to any mud on his boots, or,
in fact, that they were caused to slip at all, and his re-
peated statements to the effect that he was violently
thrown from the brake platform while his feet were firmly
planted and his hands were firmly gripping the brake
wheel are wholly inconsistent with any such theory.

_—

23

Even if a causal connection had been shown between the
acquisition by the plaintiff of mud on his boots and the
accident, it could hardly be said that defendant railroad
was guilty of negligence in this respect. Railroads are
operated at night, as well as in the daytime. They are
operated in all kinds of weather. That a railroad is not
responsible for weather conditions or for ordinary accu-
mulations of mud and water would scarcely seem to re-
quire a citation of authority. To say that a railroad must
so construct or ballast every portion, not only of its own
roadbed and yards, but of every side and spur track
situated on the property of private industries (which was
the case here) so as to prevent ordinary accumulations
of mud resulting from normal climatic conditions from
time to time would impose a duty not only extraordinary
bu impossible to carry out.

Even where snow or ice accumulates on steps or run-
ning boards, a railroad is not bound to anticipate that the
employee will fail to exercise due care in using available
means to remove same: McGivern v. Northern Pac. Ry.
Co., 132 Fed. 2d 213 (C. C. A. 8th Cireuit, 1942); Mis-
sourt Pac. R. Co. v. Aeby, 275 U. 8S. 426, 48 S. Ct. 177
(1928). See also: N. Y. C. & St. L. R. Co. v. Boulden, 63
Fed. 2d 917; International Cotton Mills Co. v. Pernod,
244 Fed. 723 (C. C. A. Ist Cireuit, 1916); Aerkfetz v.
Humphreys, 145 U. 8. 418, 12 8. Ct. 835.

In the present case the accumulation of mud, if any,
on plaintiff’s boots was under his sole control and he had
every opportunity to remove same, if he considered it
necessary or advisable. Plaintiff abandoned the claim
made in his complaint that he was not given such op-
portunity because the facts obviously refute any such
claim.

=

24

When, however, it also appears that plaintiff has not
enly failed to produce any evidence that the mud condi-
tion contributed in any way to the accident, but, in fact,
by his own story, has definitely established the contrary,
to engage in further argument would seem to be an un-
necessary laboring of the point. There is no evidence in
this entire record on which the jury could have properly
found that this alleged mua condition had anything to
do with the accident, and therefore the issue was improp-
erly submitted to it.

There are undoubtedly cases where the acts contribut-
ing to an accident or injury are such that it would be
impractical or improper to attempt to segregate them be-
cause they are all part of one pattern. Such a ease was
Union Pac. R. Co. v. Hadley, 246 U. S. 330, 38 S. Ct. 318.
In that case the several acts of the various employees in-
volved, including the train dispatcher, the conductor, and
the deceased himself were so interwoven that it was im-
possible to say, under the conditions then existing, that
they did not each of them contribute to the deceased’s
injuries. Similarly, in Blair v. B. & O. R. Co., 323 U. S.
600, 65 S. Ct. 545, there were various interwoven cir-
cumstances forming what the court called a “single
pattern.”’ Actually, in the Blair case the court was not
passing upon the specific question here involved, because
it does not appear that the defendant was complaining of
anything except that there was not sufficient evidence to
warrant the verdict at all.

In the present case, the court left the issues to the
jury in such manner that we are unable to say that the
jury did not base its decision in part, or even wholly,
upon the alleged negligence of the railroad in directing
and requiring plaintiff to work in the yard under muddy
conditions, and this notwithstanding that the only evidence

_—

25

shows what little mud plaintiff got on his boots was
some time before the accident, during which time he had
plenty of opportunity to clean his boots, and notwith-
standing that plaintiff’s own evidence affirmatively shows
that the mud had nothing whatever to do with the acci-

dent.

Conclusion

It should, perhaps, be pointed out that defendant rail-
road company made the additional claim upon its appeal
to the Court of Appeals that the verdict of the jury was
grossly excessive, and that the trial court had abused
its discretion in refusing to grant a new trial upon that
ground. As the Court of Appeals did not find it neces-
sary to pass upon this question, we are unable to say
what its views in that respect are. It would seem, how-
ever, that if Banning’s petition for a writ of certiorari
should be allowed, and if the Court of Appeals should be
found in error in respect of all the rulings actually made
by it, it would be necessary in such case that the cause be
remanded to the Court of Appeals for a determination
of that question, the allowance of which in favor of de-
fendant railroad would likewise presumably result in the
granting of a new trial. We mention this simply to pre-
serve the point in the event of the allowance of Banning’s
petition. Respondent respectfully submits that for the rea-
sons above set forth, the petition of Lester E. Banning for
a writ of certiorari should be denied.

CLIFFORD B. LONGLEY,
HENRY C. BOGLE,
HAROLD A. JOHNSON,

Counsel for Cross-Petitioner.

CROSS-PETITIONER’S BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF ITS
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Opinion of the Court Below

Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals, Sixth
Cireuit, filed April 5, 1949, is found on pages 406-412 of
the record.

Basis of Jurisdiction

Jurisdiction is invoked under Section 1254-(1) of Title
28 United States Code, as enacted by the Eightieth Con-
gress, Second Session, 1948, effective September 1, 1948,
and Rule 38-(5) of the Rules of the Supreme Court.

Statement of the Case

Two and only two issues of negligence were submitted
to the jury as follows (R. 331):

‘*Plaintiff has charged in his complaint that the
defendant failed to furnish him a safe place in
which to work, in two respects; first, that he was
directed and required to work in the yard under
muddy conditions, so that his boots became slippery
and covered with mud; and, second, that defendant
dropped the car upon which plaintiff was riding in
the performance of his duties, at such a high, dan-
gerous and excessive rate of speed that plaintiff did
not have the opportunity to bring it to a stop by
means of the braking apparatus which he was re-
quired to operate before it collided with the train of
parked cars standing upon the track, with brakes
set, so that plaintiff was thrown therefrom to the
ground and road bed, sustaining injuries complained
="

_—_

27

Cross-petitioner, defendant below, moved for a di-
rected verdict (R. 290-291); it requested specific instruc-
tions to eliminate each of these issues of negligence (R.
357); it made timely objection under Rule 51 both to the
submission of these issues and to the court’s failure to
grant defendant’s several requests to eliminate same (R.
346-348) ; and it made a motion for judgment notwith-
standing the verdict, and for a new trial in the alternative
(R. 364-382). The District Court denied both the motion
for judgment notwithstanding the verdict and the motion
for new trial and entered a judgment on the verdict of the
jury in favor of plaintiff (R. 389-391). The Court of Ap-
peals sustained the District Court in denying the motion
for judgment notwithstanding the verdict, but granted a
new trial, finding that the District Court committed four
separate errors, namely, that it improperly submitted the
so-called ‘‘mud issue’’ and that it committed errors in the
reception and rejection of certain testimony (R. 405-412).

It is the claim of cross-petitioner that its motion for
judgment notwithstanding the verdict should have been
granted and judgment entered for the defendant railroad;
and inasmuch as the Court of Appeals has found that one
of the two issues was improperly submitted, the sole ques-
tion on this cross-petition is whether there is sufficient
evidence to warrant the submission of the other alleged
issue, namely, that pertaining to the alleged excessive
speed at which the box cars on which plaintiff Banning
was riding were switched or ‘‘dropped.”’

Plaintiff charged in its declaration that ‘‘defendant’s
agents and servants carelessly and negligently pushed
and kicked said box car to be so switched in and upon
said track with such violence that plaintiff could not con-
trol and stop the same in time to prevent a violent colli-
sion with said standing cars on said switch, causing plain-

28

tiff to be dislodged from his position on said car and to
be thrown therefrom and injured as aforesaid’’ (R. 3).

The Court of Appeals has pointed out in its opinion
how the drop switch was made (R. 407). A more de.
tailed statement is as follows:

The gondola cars were left on the main track with their
brakes set, the southerly end of this string being not less
than 200 feet north of Harrison Avenue (R. 231, 266).

The Diesel engine then continued backing southward
along the main track, pushing the two box cars ahead of
it, across Harrison Avenue, past the switch leading into
the distillery track (this point being marked ‘Point of
switch—distillery track’’ on Df. Ex. 4), toa point estimated
by plaintiff to be about 300 feet south of that switch (R,
37, 38, 41). During this movement, plaintiff was stand-
ing on the metal step or so-called stirrup, near the end
of the box ear which was next to the Diesel engine. Ex-
hibit ‘1 is a photograph taken by defendant of this par-
ticular box car MEC 5256. It shows the brake at the end
of the box ear, the platform below the brake, on which
the brakeman could stand while operating the brake, and
two ladders at the corner of the box car, one on the end
of the box car immediately adjacent to the platform and
brake, and the other on the side of the box car next to the
end, permitting the brakeman to swing from the side
ladder to the end ladder and thence to the braking plat-
form. Projecting below the seven main rungs of the side
ladder is the metal step on which plaintiff stood at this
time, in a position which would enable him to pull the
coupling pin by means of a lever which appears below
the end ladder (R. 49-50).

The switching crew was now in a position to make a
so-called “drop switch’’ or ‘‘flying switch’? whereby the

29

Diesel engine would be directed along the side track or
so-called ‘‘distillery track’’ and the two box cars would
be directed north along the main track, to be coupled onto
the gondola cars standing several hundred feet north of
Harrison Avenue (R. 48).

Plaintiff was thoroughly familiar with this type of
switching, and had performed similar operations on de-
fendant railroad some twenty-five or thirty times pre-
viously (R. 59, 74-75).

This maneuver was actually carried out in the fol-
lowing manner: The other brakeman, Smalley, was sta-
tioned in the middle of Harrison between the main track
and the distillery track, to protect traffic (R. 40, 238).
The conductor, Toombs, stood on the east side of the
main track, at the point marked on Defendant’s Exhibit
4 ‘Point of switech—distillery track,’’ for the purpose of
throwing that switch by means of the hand lever (R. 49,
216). Toombs gave the engineer the signal, and the
Diesel engine started rolling northward toward the dis-
tillery track switch, at a speed fast enough to get the
cars rolling, which speed was estimated at about twelve
to fourteen miles per hour as it approached the switch;
whereupon Toombs gave the engineer the signal to slack
off so the ears could be uncoupled. This uncoupling was
accomplished by plaintiff pulling out the coupling pin by
means of a lever as he stood on the metal step referred
to above, while holding on to a rung of the ladder with
his left hand in which he also held the electric battery
lantern (Pl. Ex. 3). The engine then speeded up slightly
and passed down into the distillery track, Toombs imme-
diately threw back the switch or ‘‘relined’’ it, and the two
box ears proceeded under their own momentum north-
ward on the main track toward Harrison Avenue (R. 48-
51, 216-217, 248-249, 264).

30

After the two box ears, with the brakeman riding the
front or northerly end of the first of these cars, passed the
distillery switch and proceeded northerly toward Harri.
son Avenue, the Diesel engine returned back over the dis-
tillery track onto the main line, and Toombs ‘‘relined’’ the
distillery track switch to permit the engine to proceed
northerly over the main track in the same direction as the
two box cars had moved. Toombs then walked diagnoally
across the main track and the distillery track to the
Derail (so designated on Df. Ex. 4) on the west side
of the distillery track, he locked this Derail (which had
been opened to permit the switch engine to come down
the side track), then crossed back to the east side of the
main track, signaled the engineer to come ahead, and got
on the side step of the Diesel as it passed him (R. 217,
226, 250-251).

It was about eight o’clock in the evening, there was a
‘“‘misting’’ or light rain at the time, and, although night
had fallen, there was apparently enough visibility to en-
able plaintiff to see for some distance, as he testified that
as the box cars approached Harrison Avenue, he saw
the other brakeman standing there, where the blinker
lights were working at the crossing, and that as he was
nearing the crossing he turned his head and took an
observation of the gondola cars which stood several
hundred feet north of Harrison Avenue (R. 96-57). >-

(The above facts are undisputed. While defendant
introduced testimony as to other facts, including testimony
- of several witnesses, as to admission by plaintiff that
the accident happened in an entirely different manner
from that which plaintiff claimed on the trial, we of
course, for the purpose of the motion for directed verdict,
accept plaintiff’s version as true, and accordingly the fol-
lowing facts, being plaintiff’s own version, are accepted
as true.)

—ae

Plaintiff’s version is as follows (R. 52-61): After
uncoupling the box cars from the engine, plaintiff climbed
the side ladder near the end of the box car to about the
ffth round, then ‘‘switched around to the end ladder”’
and ‘‘stepped over to the brake platform’’ and took his
position there facing the car ‘‘with my feet firmly on the
brake platform.’’ He continued holding the lantern while
he took hold of the brake wheel, but there was nothing
about holding it that interfered with the operation of his
hands (R. 54). He made sure that the cam, which en-
gages the ratchet to hold the brake wheel as it is applied,
was in the proper position and started to apply the brakes.
He testified that by the time he started to apply the brakes
he was ‘‘nearing the road crossing, Harrison .\venue’’
(R. 55). It was at this time that he took an observation
of the gondola cars by turning his head and looking
over his shoulder. The blinker lights were working at the
crossing and the other brakeman was standing there (R.
36). Based on his experience in driving automobiles and
his observation of the speed of railroad equipment, plain-
| tiff testified that, in his opinion, at the time he made his
observation just before entering Harrison Avenue, the
speed of the box cars was ‘‘around 10 or 11 miles an
hour,’ having decreased somewhat from the time they
were uncoupled (R. 57). From this point he estimated it
was still some 350 or 400 feet to the first of the gondola
ears (57). He testified that the box car on which he
was riding came in contact with the gravel train (that is,
the gondola cars) while he ‘‘was standing on the platform,
the brake platform, with a firm foothold and both hands on
the brake wheel,’’ that he was then putting on the brakes to
slow the car down to where he could get it stopped before it
hit the other cars, although it was not his intention to
bring it to a dead stop until it contacted those cars, so it
would couple to them. He estimated that the speed of

31

32

the box cars at the time of the impact was ‘‘around 6 or
7 miles an hour,’’ that he kept applying the brake by
turning the wheel and observing the end of the car that
he was coming into, but was unable to bring it to a lower
speed.

He testified that from the time he started applying the
brakes before entering Harrison Avenue, up to the
point of the impact, he made constant application of the
brakes (R. 58, 68); that there was ‘‘an awful crash when
it hit’’ (58); that he was then holding on to the brake
wheel with a strong grip, but as the cars came together,
“*I felt myself going through the air and I landed on
this end gravel car with my head and shoulders,” then
fell off on the roadbed on his back (R. 61).

The Court of Appeals Erred in Deciding That the
District Court Was Correct in Submitting to the
Jury the Issue of Alleged Excessive Speed.

The evidence of excessive speed is insufficient to war-
rant submission to the jury. The point at which plaintiff
pulled the pin to cut the two box cars off from the switch
engine when the drop was made must be assumed to have
been at least one car-length south of the ‘‘Point of switch
—distillery track’? (See Df. Ex. 4). This would mean
that this point was about 417 feet south of the south line
of Harrison Avenue (393 feet to ‘‘Point of switch— dis-
tillery track’’—Df. Ex. 4; plus at least 40 feet for the
length of a box car—see R. 279; minus 16 feet for one-
half the width of Harrison). In other words, according
to plaintiff’s own testimony, the distance from the point
where he uncoupled the pin at the beginning of the switch-
ing movement until he started applying the brakes was
about 417 feet. Taking the highest speed, as claimed by
him, at which the cars started on this movement, namely

-
33

14 miles an hour, and the speed at which he claimed they
were going as they entered Harrison Avenue, namely, 11
miles per hour, we have an average speed over this dis
tance of 1214 miles per hour. This means that the box car
on which plaintiff was riding took something over 22 sec-
onds to cover the distance just referred to. ,

The distance from the south side of Harrison Avenue
to the first of the gondola cars north of Harrison was, ac-
cording to plaintiff’s testimony, at least 300 feet (R. 37,
49). Defendant’s witnesses, however, pointed to a spot
on defendant’s Exhibit 4 indicating that the first of these
gondola cars was from 200 to 230 feet north of the north
edge of Harrison Avenue (R. 231, 266). Taking the

’ shortest distance testified to as being the most favorable
to plaintiff, that is, 200 feet, and adding 33 feet for the
width of Harrison Avenue, we find that from the time
plaintiff claims to have started applying the brake to the
point of impact, the box cars had at least 233 feet to go.
As he testified they were going not over 11 miles an hour
at Harrison and not more than 7 miles at the point of im-

| pact with the gondola, this gives an average speed of 9
miles per hour for such distance of 233 feet. At such
speed, it would take the box cars more than 17 seconds to
cover the latter distance. A calculation for the entire dis-
tance from the point of pulling the coupling to the point
of impact with the gondolas shows, according to plain-
tiff’s own testimony, that it took the box cars upwards
of 40 seconds to cover this entire distance.

Although to the eyes the track appeared to be substan-
tially level, actually the cars were going up a slight
grade as they approached Harrison Avenue, but after
arriving at Harrison Avenue until they coupled with the
gondola cars, they were proceeding on an absolutely level
grade (R. 176).

a

34

Assuming that plaintiff is giving the correct version
of the facts when he testifies that he was thrown from the
brake platform on account of the heavy impact when the
box cars coupled onto the gondolas, there is still nothing
in his testimony that raises any inference of negligence
on the part of the railroad for the jury to pass upon. He
does not claim that there was any difficulty in climbing
the side ladder, crossing over to the end ladder, then
stepping on to the brake platform. So far as the evidence
shows, the time it took him to check on the eam to see
that it was in proper position was negligible. He states
that he started to apply the brakes as he was nearing
Harrison Avenue. He took an observation over his shoul-
der of the position of the gondola cars, with which he
must already have been familiar. At this point, at least
20 seconds had elapsed from the time he started up the
ladder. There is no explanation why he did not apply
the brakes earlier if he felt it was necessary. The answer

‘must be that, as a matter of judgment he applied the
bMkes when and to the extent that he felt to be necessary.
He still had over 200 feet to go. It was a matter within
his own judgment and discretion at what speed to permit
the box cars to couple onto the gondolas. He testified it
was not his purpose to stop short, but to permit an auto-
matic coupling. At no time either in the pleadings or in
the evidence has it been claimed that the brakes, or any
other equipment, were in any manner defective. Accord-
ing to his own testimony, the box ears were slowed down
from a speed 6f 10 to 11 miles at the crossing to about
6 or 7 miles an hour at the time of contact with the
gondolas. He says he was unable to bring it to a lower
speed, but there is nothing in the evidence to indicate in
any way that this was due to any negligence on the part
of the railroad or any of its employees other than plain-
tiff himself. His story is perfectly consistent with the

ail

35

failure on his own part either to apply sufficient pres-
sure to the brake when he had plenty of opportunity to
do so or with his own failure of judgment. It is consis-
tent with the assumption that he may have waited too
long or that he may not have used enough force in apply-
ing the brakes.

The claim made by plaintiff on this point is that the
box car was dropped ‘‘at such a high, dangerous and ex-
cessive rate of speed that plaintiff did not have the op-
portunity to bring it to a stop by means of the braking
apparatus which he was required to operate before it col-
lided with the train of parked cars’’ (R. 3, 331, 351). We
submit that the record is devoid of any legal proof that
this is true. Plaintiff’s and defendant’s testimony is sub-
stantially in accord as to the speed of the box cars av the
time of the drop, plaintiff testifying that it was about
12 to 14 miles per hour, and defendant’s fireman testifying
it was about 12 miles per hour. There is no evidence in
this case that under the conditions here existing, this was
an improper or excessive rate of speed at which to start
this operation. Nor is there any evidence that the box
ears could not have been properly controlled during the
time and distance involved. It is true that the Court per-
mitted the plaintiff to testify, over defendant’s objec-
tion (R. 59-60), that he had never ridden on freight cars
that came into contact with another portion of the train
at as high a rate of speed as that which he described here,
and that he had never ridden on a car ‘‘that had been
connected in or shoved in at that rate of speed.’’

The Court of Appeals, however, sustained defendant’s
claim that this testimony was improperly permitted for
the reason that no foundation was laid to show that the
circumstances, distance, grade, or other conditions of some
25 or 30 flying switches that plaintiff had testified he had

36

previously made were similar to the present switching
operation, and obviously, the plaintiff’s statement has
no evidential value whatsoever in proving or tending to
prove that this rate was other than normal or proper
under the conditions here involved. The 25 or 30 flying
switches that plaintiff had engaged in (Rt. 59) were made
at other places up and down the defendant railroad, some
of them in Ohio, and none of them at the point involved
here (74). For all we know, they may have been down-
grade or involved very short distances. There is no evi-
dence in this record either that the rate of speed on this
occasion was improper or even that the box cars, under
their own momentum and without any braking whatever,
would have continued on down to connect to the gondola
ears had they been started out at a less speed.

Plaintiff has not made out a ease for the jury under
the Federal Employers’ Liability Act until he has affirma-
tively shown that defendant has been negligent, that is,
that it has failed to exercise reasonable or ordinary care
in view of all the circumstances, and that such failure
was in whole or in part the proximate cause of the injury:
McGivern v. Northern Pac. Ry. Co., 182 Fed. 2d 213, at
217; Murphy v. Lehigh Valley R. Co., 158 Fed. 2d 481
(CCA Second Cireuit, 1946); Fantini v. Reading Co., 147
Fed. 2d 543 (CCA Third Cireuit, 1945); cert. den. 325
U.S. 856, 65 S. Ct. 1185; Edwards v. B. & O. R. Co., 131
Fed. 2d 366 (CCA Seventh Circuit, 1942); Tennant v.
Peoria € P. U. Ry. Co., 321 U. S. 29, 64 S. Ct. 409;
Barry v. Reading Co., 147 Fed. 2d 129 (CCA Third
Cireuit, 1944), cert. den. 65 S. Ct. 912, 1022.

The weight of the evidence under the Federal Em-
ployers’ Liability Act must be more than a scintilla be-
fore the case may be properly left to the jury: Brady v.
Southern Ry. Co., 320 U. 8S. 476, 64 S. Ct. 232 (1943).

-

37

To justify submitting the plaintiff’s case to a jury, the
evidence in his favor must be substantial and this means
more than a mere scintilla; it means such relevant evi-
dence as a reasonable mind might accept as adequate to
support a conclusion: Mutual Benefit H. & A, Assn. v.
Snyder, 109 Fed. 2d 469 (CCA Sixth Circuit, 1940) ; Roth
v. Swanson, 145 Fed. 2d 262 (CCA Eighth Circuit, 1944) ;
Consolidated Edison Co. v. National Labor Relations
Board, 305 U. S. 197, 229; 59 S. Ct. 206, 217.

A verdict should be directed for defendant when the
evidence produced by plaintiff is such that the jury could
not properly proceed to find a verdict for the party pro-
ducing it, upon whom the onus of proof is imposed, or .
where the court in exercise of sound judicial discretion
should set aside such verdict if rendered: Gunning v.
Cooley, 281 U. S. 90, 50 S. Ct. 231 (1930); Mutual Benefit
H. d A. Assn. v. Snyder, 109 Fed. 2d 469 (CCA Sixth
Cireuit, 1940); Strider v. Penn. R. Co., 60 Fed. 2d 237
(CCA Sixth Cireuit, 1932).

The case should not be permitted to go to the jury
when any verdict in favor of plaintiff must necessarily
be based upon mere speculation or conjecture: Atchison,
T.¢ S. F. Ry. Co. v. Toops, 281 U.S. 331, 50 S. Ct. 281
(1930); Penn. R. Co. v. Chamberlain, 288 U. 8S. 333, 53
8. Ct. 391 (1933).

In Cunningham v. Great N. R. Co., 73 N. VD. 315, 14
N. W. 2d 753 (1944), a case under the Federal Employers’
Liability Act, the Court set aside the verdict and ordered
judgment entered for the defendant on the ground that
“the state of the evidence is such that fair-minded men
in the exercise of reason and judgment could not have
reached the conclusion that the person whom the jury by
its verdict found to have been negligent in fact had been

—

negligent.”’ And see Eckenrode v. Pennsylvania R. Co,
69 S. Ct. 91.

We submit that the evidence in this case is such that
fair-minded men in the exercise of reason and judgment
could not have reached the conclusion that defendant was
negligent or that any of its acts were the proximate cause
of the injury to plaintiff.

While the jurors may refer to their general knowledge
upon matters notorious and unquestioned (IX Wigmore
on Evidence (Third Edition), See. 2570), neither they nor
the court can take judicial notice of the length of time
in which a train can be stopped under a given set of
facts; such testimony can only be supplied by experts or
other witnesses who have had experience in the stopping
of trains: Keppler v. N. Y. Cent. R. Co., 263 App. Div.
199 (N. Y. 1942)—a case under the Federal Employers’
Liability Act.

In the present case, to find that defendant shoved in
the cars at an excessive rate of speed, the jury had
nothing before them but statements of the plaintiff which,
as we have pointed out above, are entirely consistent with
the exercise of care by defendant and, indeed, with the
assumption that plaintiff himself merely failed to act
when he should have acted or had a lapse of judgment.

The Court of Appeals in its opinion states: ‘‘There
was a conflict in the evidence as to the speed at which
the switching operation was performed.’’ As applied to
the only point at which the rate of speed as bearing on
defendant’s negligence would be pertinent, namely, the
point at which the two box cars were uncoupled from the
switching engine before the latter went down into the
side track, this statement of the Court of Appeals does
not appear to conform to the record. There was no con-

ae

39

flict in the testimony as to the speed at which the box cars
were going when they were cut loose from the switch
engine. Plaintiff Banning testified that the Diesel engine
just prior to the uncoupling was going at a speed fast
enough to get the cars going, which speed was estimated
by him to be 12 to 14 miles per hour as it approached the
switch (R. 57), and defendant’s witness Hitchingham, the
fireman, testified that at that time the speed was about
12 miles per hour (R. 264). Both men testified that the
engine slowed down to create slack (R. 80, 264), which
would doubtless slow down the box cars somewhat. The
only conflict in the testimony as to speed is that hetween
the testimony of Banning that the box cars were going
10 or 11 miles per hour as they crossed Harrison Avenue,
and the testimony of the brakeman, who was standing at
Harrison Avenue, who estimated their speed at that time
at 3 or 4 miles per hour. For our purpose here, we accept
Banning’s testimony as to this speed.

The question is this: Was any evidence introduced in
this ease from which the jury would have the right to
find that the speed of 12 to 14 miles per hour at which
the switching crew cut loose the box cars from the engine
was excessive under the conditions relative to grade, dis-
tances involved, ete. Banning himself was in control of
the box cars from that point on. We submit that there
is nothing to show that that speed was excessive under
these conditions, and that Banning’s testimony is entirely
@consistent with failure of judgment or negligence on his
own part and does not show negligence on the part of
sther employees of the railroad.

Conclusion

Cross-petitioner respectfully requests, for the reasons
stated, that a writ of certiorari issue out of this court to
review the decision of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Sixth Circuit in respect of ...e matter referred to.

CLIFFORD B. LONGLEY,

HENRY C. BOGLFE,

HAROLD A. JOHNSON,
Counsel for Cross-Petitioner.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386416_2205%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
