# Opposition Brief — Hurley v. Lowe

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386416_1639%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1948
- **Citation:** 334 U.S. 828

## Text

INDEX.

Page
CoUNTER-STATEMENT OF CASE .... 21... ccc ccc ccccceee 1
Dy 06.5 Wend U sa etin Une c 4s voverbaawea banshee 3
A. The Question Involved Here Has Been Settled
6 ai a én ceed ca benk tebe RdOk ws 3
B. Deputy Commissioner’s Findings Were Proper.. 5
1. Deputy Commissioner’s findings were rooted
hs cia h hn akan AWdhe am aeehse os 6
2. Deputy Commissioner’s findings were in ac-
eer eee e ore Tt ee ee ee 7

C. The Decision of the Court of Appeals did not Vio-
late the Provisions of the Administrative Proce-
a Be 14

ek a acs wath oh nak ae wee ele & Gk ck ck 14

STATUTES CITED.

Longshoremen’s and Harbor Workers’ Compensation
Act of March 4, 1927, 44 Stat. 1424, 33, U.S. C. A.,

ne oe UNE Gal eicben cis es kaw ens 2
Act of May 17, 1928, 45 Stat. 600, District of Columbia
Code, 1940 Edition, Section 36-501 et seq......... 2

Administrative Procedure Act (Act of June 11, 1946,
C. 324, Section 10, 60 Stat. 243,5 U.S. C. A. 1009) 14

CASES CITED.
Boehm v. Commissioner, 326 U. S. 287, 90 L. Ed. 7

EE eee he pe ee eee ee ee eee 5
Cardillo v. Liberty Mutual Insurance Co., 330 U. S.

i een aan hak eh ra iwa a xe0 be we babe veea ed 3, 5, 8
seewea v. Bensom, 206 U. &. BB... we eee cc cc ene 4
Davidson v. Pansy Waist Co., 240 N. Y. 584, 148 N. E.

he ea Ein da as a ein cae nae eR oe 11

Dvyniek v. Buffalo Courier Express Co., 296 N. Y. 361,
PES ca ida vine de eens seb eenbes'ceke ca 8

a

Page

ii Index Continued.

Employers’ Liability Assurance Corp. Vv. Hoage, 63

App. D. C. 53, 69 F. 2d 227 (1934).....-.------+.- 11
Gibb Steel Co. v. Industrial Commission, 31 Cal. A.

441, 160 P. 857 (1916).....-.-.-- eee e eee eee nee 11
Gumbrill v. General Motors Corp., et al., 216 Minn. 351,

13 N. W. 2d 16 (1944).....---- eee ence essences 12
Johnson v. Smith, 263 N. Y. 10, 188 N. KE. 140 (1983)... 11
L’Hote v. Crowell, 286 U. S. 528.....-----+.+++2 ees 4
Lunde v. Congoleum Nairn, Inc., 211 Minn. 487,1 N. W.

Dd GOG (1942) 2... eee reece cece seen sete teens 10, 12
Scott Tobacco Co. v. Cooper, 258 Ky. 795, 81 S. W. 2d

GOB (IDES) oo. c cons esse ene secs cen nsscecsseres 11
Souza’s Case, 316 Mass. 332, 55 N. BE. 2d 611 (1944).... 11
Sullivan v. Industrial Commission of Utah, 79 Utah 317,

10 P. 2d 924 (19382)... 22. e creer cere eee e cree 8, 12
Thornton v. Hartford Accident & Indemnity Company, :

198 Ga. 786, 32 S. E. 2d 816 (1945).........----- 11 :
Voehl v. Indemnity Ins. Co. of North Carolina, 288

U. S. 162 (1938). ...... eee eee e eee neces eee e ees 4 .

Wynn v. Southern Surety Co., 26 S. W. 2d 691 (Texas
Civil App. 1980) .... 0... ee ee cece cere ere ee cee: 11 :

eg ror a

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Octoser Term, 1947.

No. 751.

Emity V. Huruey, and Barsara Ann Huruey, Mary CarTu-
ERINE Hurtey and Emity Louise Huruey, Infants, by
Emiy V. Hurtey, Their Mother, natural guardian and
next friend, Petitioners,

Vv.

SamueL S. Lowe, Deputy Commissioner, Bureau of Em-
ployees’ Compensation, Federal Security Agency,
FeLpMAN, KirreLue, CAMPBELL and Ewrne, and GLope
Inpemnity Company, a corporation, Respondents.

—

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENT GLOBE INDEMNITY COM.
PANY IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR WRIT
OF CERTIORARI.

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE CASE.

The complete facts upon which this case depends are suc-
cinctly set forth in the ‘‘Stipulation of Facts’? (R. 6-7) and |
the ‘‘Supplemental Stipulation’? (R. 7-8). It was upon
these stipulations that the Deputy Commissioner based
his ‘‘Findings of Fact’? (R. 9-11).

2

However, to summarize: Decedent, George F. Hurley,
who was associated with a law firm in the District of Co-
lumbia, was at the time of his death in Boston on a business
trip on behalf of his firm. He spent the night of December
12, 1945 at his parents’ home and on the following even-
ing after his working day was over took them out to dinner
at the Union Oyster House. He left the table of the restau-
rant where they were eating to assist his father, age 81, to
the men’s room. While helping the elderly man down a
flight of steps, decedent slipped and fell, striking his head
and fracturing his skull. He died a few hours later from
the effects of the blow.

His widow and children filed a claim for compensation
under the Longshoremen’s and Harbor Workers’ Compen-
sation Act of 1927, 44 Stat. 1424, 33 U.S. C. A. 901, as made
applicable to the District of Columbia, 45 Stat. 600. On the
basis of the stipulations herein (R. 6-8), the Deputy Com-
missioner made ‘‘Findings of Fact’’ (R. 9-11) and con-
eluded :

‘*that the dinner which occasioned deceased’s presence
in the restaurant at the time of his injury was not re-
lated to his employment but was of social character and
that his injury and death was not the result of an ac-
cidental injury which arose out of and in the course of
his employment.’’ (R. 10)

Suit was filed in the District Court of the United States
for the District of Columbia asking a mandatory injunc-
tion to set aside the rejection of claim by the Deputy Com-
missioner and to compel an award to the widow and children
of the decedent. (R.1). Upon motion, (R. 11, 12) the court
entered judgment dismissing the complaint (R. 13). An
appeal was taken from this judgment to the United States
Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia, which af-
firmed the judgment of the lower court on March 15, 1948.
(R. 15.)

3

ARGUMENT.

A. The Question Involved Here Has Been Settled by
This Court.

This is not a case in which certiorari should be granted
for it falls definitely outside the rule of this Court defining
appropriate cases in which appeals may be permitted from
the United States Court of Appeals for the District of Co-
lumbia. The question presented by the petition here has
been settled by this Court and the court below decided this
case in accordance with that rule.

The question of the conclusiveness of the Deputy Com-
missioner’s Findings in Workmen’s Compensation Cases
involved here has been recently considered and conclusively
settled by this court in Cardillo v. Liberty Mutual Insur-
ance Co., 330 U.S. 469. In that case this court reversed the
United States Court of Appeals for the District of Co-
lumbia, which had set aside the Findings of the Deputy
Commissioner and had substituted its own conclusions as
to the facts and the law. In the present case the United
States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia has
given proper effect to that definitive decision. The court
helow correctly concluded on the authority of that decision
that the findings of the Deputy Commissioner in Work-
men’s Compensation cases must ordinarily be considered
conclusive, when it stated:

‘‘The Supreme Court held that the ultimate infer-
ence, whether the accident involved did or did not arise
out of and in the course of employment, was for the
Deputy Commissioner, and said:

‘Even if such an inference be considered more legal
than factual in nature, the reviewing court’s func-
tion is exhausted when it becomes evident that the
Deputy Commissioner’s choice has substantial roots
in the evidence and is not forbidden by the law. * * *

‘* * * Tf there is factual and legal support for that
[the Deputy Commissioner’s] conclusion, our task
is at an end.’ ’’ (R. 17.)

4

The decision of this Court in the Cardillo case was in
reality a restatement of the well-established principle that
the findings of the Deputy Commissioner are conclusive on
courts of review if supported by evidence and not inconsist-
ent with law. This court has repeatedly so held. In Voeh!
v. Indemnity Insurance Company, 288 U. S. 162, 166, this
Court, in reversing the United States Court of Appeals for
the District of Columbia which had set aside the Findings of
the Deputy Commissioner and substituted its own conclu-
sions as to the facts and the law, said:

‘*We think there can be no doubt of the power of
Congress to invest the deputy commissioner, as it has
invested him, with authority to determine these ques-
tions (whether the injury arose out of and in the course
of the employment) after proper hearing and upon
sufficient evidence. And where the deputy commis-
sioner, following the course prescribed by the statute,
makes such a determination, his findings of fact sup- |
ported by evidence must be deemed to be conclusive. =|
Crowell v. Benson, 285 U. S. 22, 46, 47; L’Hote v. !
Crowell, 286 U. S. 528.

Thus, on two separate occasions this court has found it
necessary to reverse the United States Court of Appeals for =|
the District of Columbia because of its refusal to accord
to the findings of the Deputy Commissioner the conclu-
siveness to which they are entitled under the Act on this
very question of whether or not an injury arose out of and
in the course of the employment. Reluctantly, the Court
of Appeals recognizes that this is the law and gives effect
to the decisions of this court in the present case. This
Court can best show its approval of the lower court’s com-
pliance with what has been established as the law by refus-
ing to grant certiorari here. Thus can any possible doubts
of the lower court best be resolved and the clear rule of law
be given finality.

a

5
B. Deputy Commissioner’s Findings Were Proper.

It is evident that in the present case the Deputy Commis-
sioner properly discharged his duty of making the deter-
mination of whether or not the injury arose out of and in the
course of the employment. His findings were rooted in the
facts and in accordance with settled law. This determina-
tion of the scope of employment was here, as in most cases,
a mixed question of law and fact which can only be deter-
mined. by one charged with the duty of drawing inferences
from the evidential facts.

‘‘In determining whether a particular injury arose
out of and in the course of employment, the Deputy
Commissioner must necessarily draw an inference from
what he has found to be the basic facts. The propriety
of that inference, of course, is vital to the validity of
the order subsequently entered. But the scope of ju-
dicial review of that inference is sharply limited by
the foregoing statutory provisions. If supported hy
evidence and not inconsistent with the law, the Deputy
Commissioner’s inference that an injury did or did not
arise out of and in the course of employment is conclu-
sive. No reviewing court can set aside that inference
hecause the opposite one is thought to be more reason-
able; nor can the opposite inference be substituted by
the court because of a belief that the one chosen by the
Deputy Commissioner is factually questionable. [Cit-
ing cases. ]

“It matters not that the basic facts from which the
Deputy Commissioner draws this inference are undis
puted rather than controverted. See Boehm v. Com-
missioner, 326 U. S. 287, 293. It is likewise immaterial
that the facts permit the drawing of diverse inferences.
The Deputy Commissioner is charged with the duty of
initially selecting the inference which seems most rea-
sonable and his choice, if otherwise sustainable may not
be disturbed by a reviewing court.’’ (Italics supplied)
Cardillo v. Liberty Mutual Insuranze Co., 330 U. S.
469, 477.

6

1. Deputy Commissioner’s Findings were Rooted in the
Facts.

If the facts in this case were susceptible of various inter-
pretations, the Deprty Commissioner had the obligation
to put upon the stipulated facts that interpretation which
to him seemed most logical; and every reasonable inference
which favors the validity of the findings of the Deputy Com-
missioner should be indulged. In this case his every infer-
ence was based directly on the facts as stipulated between
counsel and indeed the greater part of the findings followed
the stipulation’s almost verbatim. It was stipulated that
the ‘‘dinner .. . was not related to George F’. Hurley’s em-
ployment in any way, but on the contrary, it was a family
reunion of a purely social character.’’ (R. 6.) Surely this
justified the Deputy Commissioner’s finding that ‘‘the din-
ner... was not related to his employment but was of a socia:
character.’’ (R. 10.)

Entirely aside from the limitations on the scope of ju-
dicial review, the Court of Appeals should have dismissed
the appeal because the findings of the Deputy Commissioner
were entirely sound and proper in the first instance. Fac-
tually, the Deputy Commissioner had every reason to infer
that this dinner party was a purely social occasion bearing
no relation to Mr. Hurley’s employment. There was ample
evidence in the Stipulations of Fact (R. 6-8) to support the
belief on the part of the Deputy Commissioner that in mak-
ing a trip to his home town, decedent was combining busi-
ness with pleasure. He had spent the previous night at his
parents’ home. He had only one conference for his firm in
the course of December 13th and that was in the morning.
A telephone call completed his duties for his employer for
the day. His time was his own for the rest of the afternoon
and evening, and not until some time the next day was he
required to be in a not distant Massachusetts town on firm
business. He was not required to be at any particular place
in the interim nor to account to his employer in any way for
his time. And exactly as he would have been in Washing-

_— cea

7

ton at the close of the business day, he was free to come and
go as he chose on any personal business or pleasure. In
fact, undoubtedly he had a great deal more free time that
day than he would have had in Washington in the employ.
ment of his firm. And as he might have done, if his parents
had been in Washington, in his leisure time and out of filial
devotion he took them to a festive reunion at the celebrated
Boston eating place, the Union Oyster House. The Deputy
Commissioner was eminently justified in concluding that
this was a social occasion completely unrelated to deced-
ent’s employment.

Furthermore, it must not be overlooked that the act of
eating in a public restaurant was not the proximate
cause of Mr. Hurley’s death. His activity of the moment
was assisting his aged father down the steps. That was
the cause of his death, not any defect of the steps nor any
hazard to which he was subjected by any necessity of eat-
ing in a restaurant. There were no such defects or hazards
and, had George F. Hurley been alone, no injury would
have occurred. It was solely the filial activity which cre-
ated the hazard and brought about the death. Therefore,
from a factual standpoint there was ample evidence for
each of the Deputy’s findings and for the ultimate finding
that the ‘‘injury and death was not the result of an acci-
dental injury which arose out of and in the course of his
employment.’’ —

2. Deputy Commissioner’s Findings were in Accordance
with Law.

The Findings of Fact of the Deputy Commissioner were
not only ‘‘not forbidden by law’? but in full accordance with
the law. The Court of Appeals indicated in its opinion
that it understands the decision of this Court to be that an
appellate court does not have the right to reverse the
Deputy Commissioner in order to apply what it may con-
sider the preferred legal principles when there is no ‘‘formal
principle of law which would invalidate the choice made by

7

the Deputy Commissioner’? (R. 17) quoting Cardillo v.
Liberty Mutual Co., 481-482. The court below was clearly
right in recognizing that this was the rule laid down by this
Court.

But the fact is that not only was the view of the facts
taken by the Deputy Commissioner fully in accord with the
decisions throughout this country, but the principle which
the Court of Appeals would have preferred to substitute
is without any foundation whatsoever and is a completely
novel theory of what the law should be. The Court of Ap-
peals suggests that the law should be that a man who goes
to a place distant from his regular place of employment |
on the business of his employer ‘‘on a specific errand’’ (R.
17) is at all times in the course of his employment so long
as the activity would normally be contemplated by thie
employer. His situation, the Court of Appeals believes, is
not to be compared with the travelling salesman who ‘‘may,
literally, live on the road.”’ ‘‘His situation does not see.)
to be similar to that of one who is sent by his employer
from his fixed place of employment upon a specific errand
elsewhere.’’ (R. 18.)

This is a novel concept. No cases are cited by the Cour
of Appeals to justify this theory, nor are any cases cited
by petitioners for this proposition either in their brief in
the Court of Appeals or in their brief in support of their
petition here. This suggested distinction has not hereto-
fore been entertained by any court nor apparently sug-
gested by any litigant. Indeed, in several cases factually
similar to the present one, compensation was denied al-
though the claimant had been on a special mission for his
employer and was not a travelling salesman. Sullivan v.
Industrial Commission of Utah, 79 Utah 317, 10 P. 2d 924;
Dvyniek v. Buffalo Courier Express Co., 296 N. Y. 361, 73
N. E. 2d 552.

No clear reason is given by the Court of Appeals why
a man on a specific errand should be covered by the statute
during his leisure time while neither the person at leisure

8

9

in the same city as that of his employment nor the travel-
ling salesman at leisure in a distant city should not be so
protected. The Court of Appeals suggests that this one
class should receive exceptional benefits that are denied to
all others.

It asserts that the man on the specific errand should be
considered to be in the course of his employment at all
times so long as he does not indulge in ‘‘any activity which
would not normally be contemplated by the employer as an
incident to the errand.’’ (R. 17.) But why the fact that
' the employer contemplates that the man on the specific
errand should eat and sleep puts such activity in the course
of employment, while the similar contemplation by the em-
ployer that the man in the same town as his employmen:
shall eat and sleep and that the travelling salesman shall eat
and sleep does not have the same effect, is not made clear.
Why a ‘‘family reunion of a purely social character’’ should
be held in the course of employment when indulged in lei-
sure time by a man on a specific errand, while held not in
the course of employment of an employee in his own home
town or of a travelling salesman in a distant city, is not even
suggested much less supported by authority. How the risk
would be any different, or why the coverage should he
greater, as between the several categories, does not appear.

The Court of Appeals did not specify what it considered
would be ‘‘normally contemplated by the employer as in-
cident to the errand’’ (R. 17) but the inference seems to be
that as long as there is no misconduct on the part of the em-
ployee, he is in the course of employment. But surely the
mere contemplation by an employer is not a valid basis for
putting a purely social activity into the course of employ-
ment which would not otherwise be so. Indeed ‘‘contem-
plation’’ would prove a difficult and uncertain test to apply.
It has not been suggested before as a workable principle and
appears to have been invented for the occasion by the Court
of Appeals.

But even if this nove] theory suggested by the Court of
Appeals should be applied to the instant case, the activity

———ay

10

>

in which the decedent was indulging at the moment and
which caused his injury was not within the rule as laid
down by the Court of Appeals, namely: ‘‘Any activity
which would .. . normally be contemplated by the employer
as incident to the errand, would . . . be in the course of
employment.’’ (Italics supplied.) Taking his parents to
dinner was neither contemplated by his employer nor inci-
dent to his errand; and more particularly the activity of
assisting his aged father to the men’s room, which was
the activity which brought about his death, was in neither
category. Even if eating dinner could be considered within
ithe course of employment it is well settled that it is the
activity of the moment that governs. Lunde v. Congoleuni
Nairn Inc., 211 Minn. 487, 1 N. W. 2d 606. Here the injury
resulted from a risk that only existed because the deceased
had turned aside from his dinner to perform a purely filial
duty that could not have been contemplated by the employer
nor considered as ‘‘incident to the errand.’’ Accordingly,
even if the Deputy Commissioner could have been aware of
and had attempted to apply the Court of Appeals’ novel
theory of the law, his conclusion could only have: been that
the injury to decedent did not occur in the course of his
employment and most certainly did not arise out of his
employment.

But, of course, when the Deputy Commissioner made his
findings in this case, he did not have the benefit of the Court
of Appeals’ novel views of the law and so was obliged to
decide it in accordance with the law as he found it. At that
time no court had held that travelling men were at all times
in the course of employment. Certain typical situations
have been generally held to be covered by the compensation
acts, other have not. While each case must be considered
with reference to its own particular facts, the general pat-
tern of the decisions on this subject may be briefly outlined
as follows:

Injuries incurred while the employee is actually in the
course of his travel, are almost always held compensable.

11

Employers’ Liability Assurance Corp. v. Hoage, 63 App.
D. C. 53, 69 F. 2d 227. When a travelling man stays at a
particular hotel for the purposes of his employer, so as to be
on call at al! times and is injured as a result of a hazard
of the premises, he is also covered by the Act. Souza’s
Case, 316 Mass. 332, 55 N. E. 2d. 611. But where the em-
ployee stays at a hotel of his own choice without being on
call, the weight of authority is that injuries there sustained
are not compensable. Davidson v. Pansy Waist Co., 240
N. Y. 584, 148 N. E. 715; Gibb Steel Co. v. Industrial Com-
mission, 243 Wis. 375, 10 N. W. 2d 130. More specifically,
it is held that a travelling man injured while eating during
leisure time is not covered. In Wynn v. Southern Surety
Co., 26 S. W. 2d 691 (Texas Civil App. 1930), it was said:

‘ce * &

a travelling salesman while eating his meals,
or sleeping at hotels, or attending churches or theatres
or going on private errands for his own pleasure or
profit is not within the contemplation of the Work-
men’s Compensation Act, engaged in his employer’s
business, and an injury received by him while perform-
ing such an act or engaged in such recreation is not
within the purview of the act, received ‘in the course
of his employment’.’’

To the same effect are Johnson v. Smith, 263 N. Y. 10, 188
N. E. 140; Scott Tobacco Co. v. Cooper, 258 Ky. 795, 81 S.
W. 2d 588, Against the great weight of authority there
is only one case in all the reports which allowed recovery
to a travelling salesman for accidental injury received in
connection with eating a meal during leisure hours. That
is the case of Thornton v. Hartjord Accident & Indemnity
Co., 198 Ga. 786, 32 S. E. 2d 816 relied on in petitioner’s
brief at page 14. But even in this case, which is unique, the
court in affirming the action of the local compensation board
indicates that injuries received by an employee while en-
gaged in social activities would not be compensable, saying
at page 819:

—

1Z

‘‘This does not mean that he cannot step aside from
his employment for personal reasons or reasons in no
way connected with his employment, just as might an
ordinary employee working on a schedule of hours at a
fixed location. He might rob a bank; he might engage
in other activities equally conceivable for his own
pleasure and gratification, and ordinarily none of these
acts would be beneficial or incidental to his employment
and would constitute a stepping aside from his employ-
ment.”’

Without exception it has been held that travelling men in-
dulging in personal or social activities are not in the course
of their employment. As stated in Sullivan v. Industrial
Commission of Utah, 79 Utah 317, 10 P. 2d 924:

«“* * * Plaintiff was not necessarily covered by the
Industrial Act every moment of the time he was absent
from Salt Lake City on this business trip. It was evi-
dently intended that he might combine business and
pleasure. It was possible for him to step aside from
his employment and do things not at all connected with
or incidental to his employment. When he left the
train at Poughkeepsie to spend the afternoon and even-
ing with his daughter and her friends, he did step aside
from his employment to indulge in a personal pleasure
wholly disconnected from the business for his employer.
Even if it be considered that he did not step aside from
his employment in choosing to sleep in a hotel at
Poughkeepsie instead of New York City, still we think
it must be held in entertaining his daughter and her
friends at dinner and in taking the short journey where-
in he undertook to accompany them to the college dor-
mitory was a diversion purely personal and in no way
prompted by, or beneficial to the interest of his em-
ployer.’’ (10 P. 2d 925.)

To the same effect are Gumbrill v. General Motors Corp.,
et al., 216 Minn. 351, 13 N. W. 2d 16 (1944) and Lunde v.
Congoleum Nairn, Inc., 211 Minn. 487, 1 N. W. 2d 606
(1942), which hold, in comparable factual situations to the
instant case, that the travelling employee injured in his
leisure time is not covered by compensation acts.

se PR CRSA

Without taking the space to analyze here the various
cases on this subject cited in petitioner’s brief, it can be
stated that almost all those in which recovery was allowed
are properly subsumed under one or more of the classifica-
tions listed above as compensable, e.g. where employee is
actually in course of travel at time of injury or is required
to stop at a particular hotel or eat his meals at a particular
place to be on call for benefit of employer. All petitioners’
cases without exception are clearly distinguishable from
the present case. It can be positively stated, that none of
them holds that an employee, (whether customarily travel-
ling or away from his usual place of employment ona special
mission), is entitled to recover for an injury received while
not actually in course of travel or engaged in any work for
his employer, but after he has reached his particular des-
tination and during leisure time while engaging in some
social activity of his own. In all such cases, where the con-
dition or hazard giving rise to the accidental injury grows
out of the social or personal character of the employee’s
activity at the time, compensation has been invariably and
justly denied.

In deciding as he did, the Deputy Commissioner was
therefore not only making a finding ‘‘not forbidden by law’’
but one which was ‘‘in accordance with the law’’ as almost
universally interpreted. Therefore, the distinction that the
Court of Appeals seeks to make between ‘‘not forbidden by
law’’ and ‘‘in accordance with law’’ is of no importance
here. Whether or not the terms are precisely synonymous
and whichever test be applied to the Deputy Commission-
er’s findings here they clearly meet the requirements of
legal and factual support and should accordingly be consid-
ered conclusive.

13

14

C. The Decision of the Court of Appeals Did Not Violate
the Provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act.

To the assertion of petitioners that the Court of Appeals
failed to follow the provisions of the Administrative Pro-
cedure Act respecting judicial review (60 Stat. 243, 5 U.S.
C. A. 1009) little need be said. In the first place, peti-
tioners did not invoke the jurisdiction of that Act either in
the District Court or the Court of Appeals. It is
not specified in their brief here in what respect
the court below should have, or failed to give effect
to the provisions of that Act. Section 10 of that
Act, by its terms, provides for judicial review ‘‘ex-
cept so far as statutes preclude judicial review.”’
The Longshoremen’s and Harbor Workers’ Compensation
Act provides that compensation orders may be set aside by
the courts ‘‘if not in accordance with law.’’ (Sec. 21 (b) 44
Stat. 1436, 33 U.S. C. A. See. 921 (b).) Judicial review was
limited by this clause prior to the enactment of the Admin-
istrative Procedure Act and to this extent review is still
limited under the Act.

CONCLUSION.

This case presents no question requiring review by this
Court. It is, therefore, respectfully submitted that the
petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Danie, W. O’Donocuvsr, JR.,
Ross O’DonoGHUE,
Joun J. Leany,
Union Trust Building,
Washington 5, D. C.,
Attorneys for Respondent
Globe Indemnity Company.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386416_1639%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
