# Petition for a Writ of Certiorari — Gahagan Construction Corp. v. Armao

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386416_1582%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1948
- **Citation:** 333 U.S. 876

## Text

Subject Index.
Page
Petition 1
Statement of the matters involved 1
Jurisdiction 7
Reasons relied on for allowance of writ 7
1. Conflict between decisions of Circuit Courts
of Appeals 7
2. Need for clarification of law 8
3. Decision contrary to intent of Congress 10
Assignment of errors intended to be urged in the
event that a writ of certiorari issues : 12
Brief 15
Memorandum and opinion below 15
Jurisdiction 15
Statement of the case 16
Specification of errors 16
Summary of argument 16
Argument 17

1. There is conflict between the decisions of
the Circuit Courts of Appeals with respect
to application of the ‘‘local concern’’ doctrine 17
2. The law needs clarification, and to allow the
decision in this case to stand will create
widespread hardship 21
3. The decision in this case is contrary to the
intent of Congress and in violation of the
rights of the petitioner 22
Conclusion 27

Table of Authorities Cited.

CasEs.

Davis v. Dept. of Labor and Industries of State of
Washington, 317 U.S. 249 20, 21

ii AUTHORITIES CITED
Page
DeWald v. Baltimore & Ohio R. Co., 71 F. (2d) 810;

cert. den. 293 U.S. 581 24, 25
Fuentes v. Gulf Coast Dredging Co., 54 F. (2d)

69 18, 19
International Stevedoring Co. v. Haverty, 272 U.S.

50 23, 24
J. C. Penney-Gwinn Corp. v. McArdle, 27 F. (2d)

324 18, 19
Kibadeaux v. Standard Dredging Co., 81 F. (2d)

670 24
Melanson v. Bay State Dredging & Contracting Co.,

62 F. Supp. 482 18, 19
Obrecht-Lynch Corp. v. Clark, 30 F. (2d) 144 24
South Chicago Coal & Dock Co. v. Bassett, 104 F.

(2d) 522 25
Taylor v. McManigal, Deputy Comm., 89 F. (2d)

583 24
Toland’s Case, 258 Mass. 470 20
United Dredging Co. v. Lindberg, 18 F. (2d) 453 19

Srarurss.
Merchant Marine Act (Jones Act), 46 U.S.C. § 688
16, 18, 20, 24, 26
Longshoremen’s & Harbor Workers’ Act, 33 U.S.C.
§§ 901 et seq. 16, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26

Mass. Workmen’s Compensation Act, G.L. (Ter.
Ed.) c. 152 15, 16, 20, 22

Supreme Court of the United States.

Octoser Term, 1947.

GAHAGAN CONSTRUCTION CORPORATION,
Petitioner,
v.
PHILIP ARMAO,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT.

To the Honorable the Chief Justice and Associate Justices
of the Supreme Court of the United States:

Statement of the Matters Involved.

The petition of Gahagan Construction Corporation re-
spectfully represents to this Honorable Court as follows:

Gahagan Construction Corporation, at the time of the
events herein referred to and for some considerable time
prior thereto, was engaged in conducting dredging opera-
tions for the Commonwealth of Massachusetts through its
Department of Public Works under the terms of written
contracts dated December 14, 1943, and October 2, 1944,

re

2

between the said petitioner (hereinafter called the defen-
dant) and the said Commonwealth. The terms and provi-
sions of the written contracts were introduced in evidence
at the trial in the District Court (R. pp. 69, 70) and certi-
fied copies of both contracts were admitted in evidence
and marked Exhibits 4 and 5, respectively. These original
exhibits were made a part of the record on appeal to the
Circuit Court of Appeals for the First Circuit and have
been certified from the Circuit Court to this Court and may
be referred to. Specifically the contracts required the
placing of approximately 4,000,000 and 10,000,000 cubic
yards, respectively, of hydraulic filling for embankments
‘A,’ **B,”? **C” and ‘*D’’ at the General Edward Law-
rence Logan Airport, East Boston. The defendant, Gaha-
gan Construction Corporation, by virtue of these con-
tracts, undertook to dredge material for the said embank-
ment by the hydraulic method from the designated ‘‘bor-
row area’”’ and to place this material as fill in the embank-
ments to the lines and grades shown on certain plans. The
dredging of the fill and depositing of the same at the Air-
port through pipelines connected to and running from the
dredge to shore was all part of one operation.

One of the defendant’s dredges, known as Dredge No.
5, was exclusively employed in the work described above
from July 23, 1945, to November 11, 1945.

Dredge No. 5 had no motive power of its own and had to
be towed by tugs or other vessels when coming from or
going to the locus of operations (R. p. 160). The only ma-
chinery aboard was steam turbine engines which »perated
the mechanism for digging and hoisting and controlling
the ‘‘spuds’’ which were used in holding the dredge in
place during actual dredging operations in shallow water.
The spuds were also used in conjunction with spring lines
attached to anchors, the spuds acting as pivots so that the
dredge could be moved forward short distances within the

3

confines of the ‘‘cut’’ (a more complete description of the
operation of the spuds may be found in the record at
pages 113, 114, 132, 133, 161, 170). There were no ac-
commodations for sleeping aboard Dredge No. 5 except
that there were two rooms with a cot in each reserved for
government or state inspectors. Nobody lived or slept
aboard during the operations in Boston Harbor (R. p.
173). All personnel of this dredge slept on shore and
were not furnished food by the dredge (R. p. 148). None
of the men aboard were licensed, including the so-called
captain and mates. The only license aboard this dredge
was a Massachusetts state boiler license (R. p. 171).

The respondent, Philip Armao (hereinafter called the
plaintiff), was employed by the defendant, Gahagan Con-
struction Corporation, on or about July 23, 1945, and was
hired to do general laboring work aboard Dredge No. 5.
Specifically his work consisted in working on the pipe,
floating pipe behind the dredge, cleaning up around the
dredge, taking stone out of the pump when it was sucked
in through the pipe, working on the derrick when moving
anchorage, checking ‘‘range lights,’’ and serving coffee to
the leverman or person in charge of operations aboard
the dredge (R. pp. 118-120, incl.; also p. 160). Armao had
no duties pertaining to navigation of the dredge except
possibly the occasional and incidental task of making lines
fast or unfast while the dredge was at the locus of dredg-
ing operations. He worked under a so-called ‘‘leverman,’’
who had no articles and was not an officer, but who merely
operated the machinery for digging, hoisting or moving
the spuds. Armao had no ‘‘articles’’ and never signed
‘farticles’’ with respect to any employment with the de-
fendant corporation (R. p. 159). He was paid by members
of the shore office personnel and not by anyone attached to
the dredge (R. pp. 160, 171). He was hired to do general
manual or laboring work; his contract was not with the

4

ones in charge of the dredge but with the corporation off-

cials on shore; his time card was kept by a timekeeper on
shore and he was required to have a social security card
(R. p. 171). Prior to his employment with the defendant
corporation, Armao worked in various capacities, none of
which were even remotely connected with ships, boats,
vessels, navigation or matters maritime in nature (R.
p. 33).

During the entire time from July 23, 1945, the date of
Armao’s employment with the defendant corporation, to
November 11, 1945, the date of his accident, he and all
other personnel aboard Dredge No. 5 were engaged in con-
ducting the dredging operations, which were exclusively
for the purpose of filling in land. The District Court
judge so ruled (R. p. 180).

At the time the plaintiff Armao sustained his injuries
and for a considerable period prior thereto Dredge No. 5
was operating in Boston Harbor close up to the shores of
East Boston, in shallow water, and was pumping silt and
sand from the bottom through a pipeline extending from
the pump on the dredge all the way to shore at the East
Boston Airport (R. p. 161), for the sole purpose of sup-
plying and actually depositing fill for the elevation and
grading of the embankments already referred to. In
most instances the dredge had to cut its own channel and
was digging in through flats (R. pp. 165, 166) which were
bare at low tide (R. p. 174). The waters immediately sur-
rounding Dredge No. 5 during its operations in Novem-
ber, 1945, were so shallow that at low tide the entire area
was above water (R. p. 95). Only four hours out of twelve
would the flats be covered by water, and even then at flood
tide the depth of water over the flats would not exceed 4
to 5 feet (R. p. 165). When Dredge No. 5 began excavat-
ing, the immediate area was all flats. As it excavated,
the dredge could then move in further and could float in

5

the ‘‘eut’’ that had been excavated in the flats (R. p. 166).
Dredge No. 5 was actually digging its way through mud
flats and was completely landlocked except where it had
already dredged (R. p. 95). During these dredging oper-
ations the dredge would move forward about 40 to 70 feet
per day. When the end of one ‘‘cut’’ was reached the
dredge would be towed back to the beginning of the next
‘‘eut’’ by attending tugs. (Certain charts and plans show-
ing location of work soundings, ete., were admitted in evi-
dence at the time in the District Court and marked Exhib-
its 6, 7 and 8, and subsequently were made parts of the
record on appeal. The original exhibits have been certi-
fied from the Circuit Court of Appeals for the First Cir-
cuit to this Court and may be referred to in support of this
statement of facts.)
On November 11, 1945, while engaged in the operations
described above, the plaintiff Armao was injured when his
hand became caught in a pulley block through which the
cable attached to the ‘‘cutter’’ ran.
Subsequently to the receipt of his injuries the plaintiff
Armao entered into a written agreement with the defen-
dant’s insurer with respect to payment. of compensation
under the Massachusetts Workmen’s Compensation Act,
and such agreement was filed with the Industrial Acci-
dent Board and approved by it (R. pp. 141, 142). Armao
was represented by counsel in pursuing his remedies un-
der-the State Compensation Act (R. p. 143). All pay-
ménts to the plaintiff by the defendant’s insurer were
/made under its obligations to the defendant corporation
by virtue of certain policies of insurance issued by the
insurance company to the corporation (R. p. 188; see also
Opinion, R. p. 208).

The plaintiff Armao accepted compensation from the
defendant’s insurer and otherwise actively pursued his
remedies under the State Compensation Act for a sub-

stantial period of time with the advice of able and com-
petent counsel and with the approval of the Massachusetts
Industrial Accident Buard, acting under the provisions of
the Workmen’s Compensation Act.

The defendant, in addition to accepting the provisions
of the Massachusetts Workmen’s Compensation Act, also
secured to its employees the payment of compensation
under the Longshoremen’s & Harbor Workers’ Compen-
sation Act of the United States (33 U.S.C. §§ 901 et seq.)
(Opinion, R. p. 200: ‘‘The defendant was insured under
both of these acts’’).

Although still receiving compensation under the State
Act and otherwise actively perfecting his claim before the
Industrial Accident Board, the plaintiff brought this civil
action at law under the Jones Act and the same was tried
before a judge and jury in the District Court of the United
States, District of Massachusetts. The entire record, pro-
ceedings and evidence, with certain omissions noted in the
petitioner’s ‘‘Designation of Contents of Record’’ (R. pp.
191-193, incl.), became a part of the record on appeal.
That record and all subsequent proceedings in the Circuit
Court of Appeals have been certified to this Court for the
purpose of supporting this petition and may be referred
to. The pleadings are completely set forth in the record,
pp. 1 to 9, inclusive.

The jury returned a verdict for the plaintiff Armao in
the sum of $19,255, which, on motion of the defendant, was
reduced by the amount of $2032 (the amount received by
Armao as compensation under the State Act) (R. p. 190).

The defendant corporation, claiming to be aggrieved by
the District Court’s denial of its motions for a directed
verdict, motions to set aside the verdict, its requests for
rulings and instructions to the jury, and by other errors
of law more specifically set forth in its ‘‘Statement of
Points’’ (R. pp. 195-197, incl.), appealed to the United

7

States Circuit Court of Appeals for the First Circuit.
This cause was argued November 4, 1947, and on January
6, 1948, the said Circuit Court affirmed the judgment of
the District Court. The memorandum of the District
Court appears in the record at pages 18 to 23. The opin-
ion of the Circuit Court of Appeals appears in the record
at pages 199 to 208. Neither the memorandum nor the
opinion has yet been printed in any official report.

Jurisdiction.

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under Section
240 (a) of the Judicial Code, as amended by an Act of
February 13, 1925, C. 229, 28 U.S.C. See. 347 (a).

Reasons Relied on for Allowance of Writ.

1. Conflict between Decisions of Circuit Courts of Ap-
peals,

The decision of the Circuit Court of Appeals for the
First Circuit in this case is directly opposed to and in
conflict with decisions of this Court and of the Circuit
Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit in that it concluded
that ‘‘if the plaintiff [the present respondent, Philip Ar-
mao] was a seaman injured on navigable waters, there
is no place for the application of the doctrine of local con-
cern’’ (Opinion, R. p. 204) and in that it declined to fol-
low the Fifth Cireuit cases of Fuentes v. Gulf Coast
Dredging Co., 54 F. (2d) 69 (1931) ; United Dredging Co.
v. Lindberg, 18 F. (2d) 453 (1927); cert. den. 274 U.S. 759
(1927), and J. C. Penney-Gwinn Corp. v. McArdle, 27 F.
(2d) 324, which are supported by a dictum of Judge
Healey in a case arising in the First Cirecuit—see Melan-
son v. Bay State Dredging € Contracting Co., 62 F. Supp.

8

482, 485 (D. Mass. 1943), even though the said cases which
were relied upon by the defendant (the present petitioner,
Gahagan Censtruction Corporation) are the only cases
in the country which are squarely in point and are not dis-
tinguishable from the undisputed facts of the case at bar.

The petitioner, Gahagan Construction Corporation, re-
spectfully calls the attention of this Honorable Court to
the fact that at the trial of this case in the District Court
the trial judge ruled that Dredge No. 5 was engaged
solely in procuring fill or dirt to add to the Airpo-t (R.
p. 180), and urges that in applying the doctrine of ‘‘local
concern’’ only the dredging of the fill and the depositing
of the same on the Airport, which was all part of one oper-
ation, may be considered. |

The petitioner earnestly submits that never will any
Court in the future be presented with a case which more
clearly demands the application of the ‘‘local concern’’
doctrine than this one; that, if the operations of Dredge
No. 5 are ruled to be without the scope and protection of
that doctrine, it is impossible to conceive of a set of facts
to which it could apply. (For arguments in support of
this assertion see pages 17-20 of supporting brief, attached
hereto.)

2. Need for clarification of law.

The law with respect to the applicability of the ‘‘local
concern’’ doctrine already is in a confused state and to
allow the decision of the Circuit Court of Appeals for the
First Cireuit in this case to stand will serve only to in-
crease that uncertainty and confusion, and will create un-
told hardship on employees, employers and their insur-
ers alike throughout the count:

Up to the date of the Circuit * Appeals’ decision
in this case, the ‘‘local concern’’ a. -cine has consistently

9

been held to be applicable to dredges and other harbor
craft engaged exclusively in filling in land (Fuentes v.
Gulf Coast Dredging Co., 54 F. (2d) 69 (1931); J. C. Pen-
ney-Gwinn Corp. v. McArdle, 27 F. (2d) 324), digging new
navigable channels through land (United Dredging Co. v.
zandberg, 18 F. (2d) 453 (1927)), and digging into the
land side of a harbor to enlarge the capacity of a private
dock. Toland’s Case, 258 Mass. 470. It is extremely sig-
nificant that not a single case has been produced by the
respondent’s counsel or in the opinions of the District
Court and Circuit Court of Appeals in this case which
directly or indirectly attacks the validity or the logic of
those decisions as applied to the uncontroverted facts of
this case. The petitioner after diligent search feels that
there are none. If the decision in this case by the District
Court and the Circuit Court of Appeals is allowed to
stand, at least on this particular issue, the numerous
Courts in the Circuits outside the First Circuit are left
free to follow either the First or the Fifth Circuits with
respect to any pertinent issues decided therein.

In the face of the situation as it now exists, the most
competent counsel may be unable to predict which line of
decisions will ultimately be followed or on which side of
the line a particular employment will fall. Yet employ-
ees, employers and their insurers are asked to determine
with certainty, before bringing their actions or before set-
ting up a defense thereto, issues over which Courts regu-
larly divide among themselves and within their own mem-
bership. As penalty for error the employee may suffer
serious financial loss or find his claim barred by the stat-
ute of limitations in the proper forum while he was erro-
neously pursuing it elsewhere. The employer likewise
may find that his insurance under State Compensation
Acts or under the Federal Longshoremen’s Act, to which
he is compelled to subscribe and contribute, wholly fails

10

to protect him against the very liabilities for which that
insurance was specifically planued. Davis v. Department
of Labor and Industries of the State of Washington, 317
U.S. 249.

3. Decision contrary to intent of Congress.

The decision of the Circuit Court of Appeals for the
First Circuit in this case is directly opposed to and in con-
flict with the expressed intent of the Longshoremen’s &
Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act of the United States,
33 U.S.C. §§ 901 et seqg., and decisions of this Court per-
taining to that Act. Also the refusal of the trial judge to
consider or submit to the jury the question as to whether
Armao was a ‘‘member of the crew’’ within the meaning
of the exclusion clause of the Longshoremen’s Act was a
violation of a fundamental if not a constitutional right of
the petitioner.

At the conclusion of the District Court judge’s charge
to the jury both plaintiff’s counsel and defendant’s coun-
sel request»d the trial judge to instruct the jury with re-
spect to the meaning and effect of the words ‘‘member of
the crew’’ in the exclusion clause of the Longshoremen’s
Act. The record, at pages 186 and 187, shows beyond a
doubt that in this connection the District Court judge did
not properly instruct himself or the jury as to the law
applicable to the point sought to be raised by both coun-
sel. When asked by plaintiff’s counsel to say a word to
the jury about the meaning of ‘‘member of the crew,”’
the judge replied: ‘‘That language does not appear in the
statute’’ (R. p. 186). The judge obviously referred to
the Jones Act. When plaintiff’s counsel ik pressing his
request explained that he referred to the exelusion clause
of the Longshoremen’s Act, the judge paige Pe p. 187):
‘‘T don’t think I need to because you are referring to a
statute which I have not commented on and I don’t want

11

to go into it.’’ Defendant’s counsel duly saved the de-
fendant’s rights for the failure or refusal of the judge to
properly instruct the jury with respect to the meaning,
effect and applicability of the said exclusion clause. The
defendant argued before the District Court judge and
again before the Circuit Court of Appeals that as a mat-
ter of law the plaintiff Armao was not a ‘‘member of the
erew,’’ and cited various decisions of the Court in sup-
port of such contention (see brief appended for cases re-
lied upon), but whether the question of the plaintiff’s
status as a ‘‘member of the crew”’ or as a ‘‘non-member
of the crew’’ be one of fact or of law, the defendant had
a fundamental if not a constitutional right to have that
question determined specifically, since, under all the de-
cisions of this Court rendered subsequently to the passage
of the Longshoremen’s Act, if Armao was not a ‘‘member
of the crew,’’ he cannot maintain an action under the
Jones Act.

The Circuit Court of Appeals in holding that ‘‘ Although
perhaps it would have been preferable for the trial judge
to use the term ‘member of the crew’ and then define it,
there is no magic in that phrase that absolutely requires
its use in a charge’’ and in further holding that ‘‘the
jury in substance found that the plaintiff was a member
of the crew, although it did not consider those exact
words’’ (Opinion, R. p. 206), completely overlooked or
ignored the intent and effect of the Longshoremen’s Act
and decisions of this Court, which have consistently held
that ‘‘Congress intended to except from the benefits of the
Longshoremen’s Act only those persons ordinarily and
generally considered as seafaring men, at least only those
employed on board a vessel having a master and crew.’’
DeWald v. Baltimore & Ohio R. Co., 71 F. (2d) 810; cert.
den. 293 U.S. 581, No. 207. The record is clear in this
ease that the issue whether Armao was a member of the

12

crew was never considered or submitted to the jury, but,
on the contrary, the trial judge actually refused to submit
that issue or comment upon any phase of the Longshore-
men’s Act. Your petitioner, therefore, was unlawfully
deprived of its absolute right to invoke an Act of Congress
which was by its very terms applicable in cases of this
nature.

Assignment of Errors Intended to be Urged in the Event
that a Writ of Certiorari Issues.

The petitioner submits that the Circuit Court of Ap-
peals for the First Circuit erred in affirming the judgment
of the District Court, in refusing to set aside the verdict
of the jury and any judgment entered thereon, in refus-
ing to enter a judgment for the defendant or in refusing
to grant a new trial.

In the event that a writ of certiorari is granted in this
case the petitioner intends to rely upon the following is-
sues of law and arguments amply supported by authori-
ties as grounds for reversal of the judgment of the District
Court and affirmation thereof by the Circuit Court of
Appeals:

I. The remedy afforded to the plaintiff under the Work-
men’s Compensation Act of the Commonwealth of Massa-
chusetts is exclusive of all other remedies. Therefore the
plaintiff’s cause does not fall within the jurisdiction con-
ferred upon this Court to hear cases of an admiralty na-
ture, whether on the admiralty or on the law side of the
docket.

Il. If the Circuit Court of Appeals should rule that the
State Compensation Act is not applicable to the cause now
under consideration, resort to the Longshoremen’s & Har-
bor Workers’ Compensation Act of the United States, 33

>

——

13

U.S.C. §§ 901 et seg., is mandatory as between the plain-
tiff employee and the defendant employer.

III. Even if the Circuit Court of Appeals should rule
that neither the State Compensation Act nor the Long-
shoremen’s & Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act ap-

plies to the case at bar, nevertheless the plaintiff cannot:

recover in this civil action.

IV. The District Court erred in denying the defen-
dant’s motions for a directed verdict.

V. The District Court erred in denying or refusing to
allow the defendant’s requests for rulings 1 to 13, inclu-
sive, which were duly filed at the conclusion of the evidence
in the District Court.

VI. The District Court erred in refusing or failing to
charge or instruct the jury in accordance with the defen-
dant’s requests for rulings and instructions.

VII. The District Court erred in refusing or failing to
charge the jury upon request of counsel for the defendant
that, in order to recover under the Jones Act, the plaintiff
Armao must have sustained his burden of proving not only
that he was a seaman within the meaning of the Jones Act
but that he was also a ‘‘member of the crew’’ within the
meaning of the exclusion clause of the Longshoremen’s &
Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act of the United States.

VIII. The District Court erred in charging the jury as
to the test to be applied to this case as set forth in the
record at pages 178 and 180.

Wherefore your petitioner respectfully prays that a
writ of certiorari be issued out of and under the seal of
this Honorable Court directed to the United States Cir-
cuit Court of Appeals for the First Circuit commanding
that Court to certify and send to this Court a full and
complete transcript of the court record and all proceed-
ings of said Circuit Court of Appeals in the case numbered

14

and entitled on the docket of that Court, ‘‘No. 4280, Gaha-
gan Construction Corporation, Defendant, Appellant, v.
Philip Armao, Plaintiff, Appellee,’’ to the end that the
said case may be reviewed and determined by this Court,
and that your petitioner may have such other and further
relief in the premises as to this Court may seem just and

proper.

GAHAGAN CONSTRUCTION CORPORATION,
By Paut R. FReperick,
Counsel for Petitioner.

Bapoer, Pratt, Dove & BapceEr,
Cuaries C. PETERSEN,
Of Counsel.

I hereby certify that the foregoing petition is presented
in good faith and not for the purpose of delay and that in
my opinion the case is a proper one for the issuance of a
writ of certiorari.

PAUL R. FREDERICK,
Counsel for Petitioner.

Dated March 12, 1948.

— UCC

Supreme Court of the United States.

Octoser Term, 1947.

GAHAGAN CONSTRUCTION CORPORATION,
Petitioner,
v.
PHILIP ARMAO,
Respondent.

BRIEF FOR THE PETITIONER IN SUPPORT OF
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI.

Memorandum and Opinion Below.

The memorandum of the District Court appears in the
record at pages 18 to 23. The opinion of the Circuit Court
of Appeals appears in the record at pages 199 to 208.
Neither the memorandum nor the opinion has yet been
printed in any official report.

Jurisdiction.

The respondent Armao was injured while he was em-
ployed on the petitioner’s dredge which was engaged ex-
clusively and solely in filling in land. For a substantial
period following the receipt of his injuries Armao was
paid compensation by the petitioner’s insurer under the
terms and provisions of the Massachusetts Workmen’s

16

Compensation Act (G.L. (Ter. Ed.) ¢. 152). Almost a
year from the date of the injury this action at law under
the Jones Act was instituted on the theory that Armao was
a ‘‘seaman’’ and a ‘‘member of the crew.’’ The peti-
tioner denied his status as such and contended among
other things that the accident was not within the maritime
jurisdiction of the United States; that Armao’s sole rem-
edy, if any, was under the State Workmen’s Compensa-
tion Act or under the Longshoremen’s & Harbor Workers’
Act of the United States (33 U.S.C. §§ 901 et seq.). Two
of the most important issues raised in these proceed-
ings are whether the ‘‘local concern’’ doctrine is applicable
to this case so as to render the State Compensation Act
the exclusive remedy, and whether the refusal or neglect
of the District Court judge to consider or submit to the
jury the question as to the applicability or effect of the
exclusion clause of the Longshoremen’s & Harbor Work-
ers’ Act of the United States was a violation of the peti-
tioner’s fundamental if not constitutional right.

Statement of the Case.
A statement of the case is set forth in the petition at
pages 1-7.
Specification of Errors.
See Assignment of Errors in the petition at pages 12-
13.
Summary of Argument.

1. There is conflict between the decisions of the Circuit
Courts of Appeals with respect to application of the ‘‘local
concern’’ doctrine.

ee

|

17

2. The law needs clarification, and to allow the decision
in this case to stand will create widespread hardship.

3. The decision in this case is contrary to the intent of
Congress and in violation of the rights of the petitioner.

Argument.

1. THERE IS CONFLICT BETWEEN THE DECISIONS OF THE CiR-
cuir Courts oF APPEALS WITH RESPECT TO APPLICATION
OF THE ‘‘LOCAL CONCERN’’ DOCTRINE.

The decision of the Circuit Court of Appeals for the
First Circuit is directly opposed to and in conflict with
decisions of this Court and of the Circuit Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Circuit in ruling that, if the respondent was
@ seaman injured on navigable waters, there is no place
for the application of the doctrine of ‘‘local concern.’’

At the outset it must be remembered that in this case the
dredge in question (Dredge No. 5) was engaged solely and
exclusively in procuring fill or dirt to add to the Airport,
that the District Court judge so ruled (R. p. 180) and that
this entire case was tried and argued and the jury charged
upon the uncontroverted fact that the dredging of the fill
or dirt and the depositing of the same on the Airport was
all part of one operation.

Since the exact nature of the operations of Dredge No. 5
is not in dispute and in view of the trial judge’s express
ruling that it was ‘‘engaged solely in procuring fill or dirt
to add to the airport’’ (R. p. 180), it would seem that no
extended argument is necessary to convince this Court
that decisions involving dredges or other craft engaged in
improving navigable waters or in like maritime operations
are not pertinent or applicable to this case.

It is respectfully submitted that this civil action should
and must be governed by the principles laid down in the

18

cases of Fuentes v. Gulf Coast Dredging Co., 54 F. (2d) 69;
J. C. Penney-Gwinn Corp. v. McArdle, 27 F. (2d) 324, and
by the supporting dicta in Melanson v. Bay State Dredging
& Contracting Co., 62 F. Supp. 482.

The Fuentes case is not merely a ‘‘close’’ or ‘‘parallel’’
case but is squarely in point and indistinguishable from
the case at bar. Like the instant one, the Fuentes case was
an action at law brought under the Jones Act to recover
for personal injuries sustained by an employee on a
dredge. The Court said at page 70: ‘‘The dredge on which
the appellant was working at the time of his injury was in
Galveston Bay close up to Virginia Point in shallow water,
not more than two or three feet deep pumping silt and
sand from the bottom through a pipe line for the purpose
of filling in and raising the elevation of . . . land on Vir-
ginia Point. It had not been able to float to its position
near the land but had cut its own channel ... The dredg-
ing operations were not being conducted in the aid of com-
merce or navigation, but the deepening of the water was
merely incidental to the improvements that were being
made on land. ... In this case it is agreed that the em-
ployer is a subscriber to the Workmen’s Compensation
Law of Texas and that the employee was bound by its pro-
visions if they are applicable.... We are of opinion
that notwithstanding the Merchant Marine Act the Dis-
trict Court was without jurisdiction to entertain the action
and that the remedy afforded to the appellant under the
Workmen’s Compensation Law of Texas is exclusive of
all other remedies. If it be conceded that the waters of
Galveston Bay, where the accident occurred are navigable
and that in the absence of a state compensation law the
Admiralty Court would have had jurisdiction, yet the
maritime law is not so exclusive as to prevent recovery
under state compensation acts in all cases of accident on
navigable waters; but where the matter is of mere loeal

19

concern and the regulation of the relation of employer and
employee works no prejudice to the general maritime law
the state may prescribe an exclusive remedy. [Cases
cited.] Upon the authority of the just cited decisions of
the Supreme Court the judgment is reversed and the cause
remanded to the District Court with directions to dismiss
appellant’s action for want of jurisdiction but without
prejudice to pursue any remedy he may have under the
Workmen’s Compensation Law of Texas.’’

The McArdle case involved dredges engaged in filling in
land in order to bring it to the required grade, and the
Court held at page 325: ‘‘There is no doubt that a dredge
engaged in navigation or in doing work for the purpose of
improving a channel, or that will be in aid of navigation in
certain circumstances is subject to admiralty jurisdiction,
but a distinction is made where a vessel or other floating
structure is not so engaged. ... Of course the dredging
deepened the water where the material was removed; but
that was merely incidental to the work being done. The
dredges were not engaged in either commerce or naviga-
tion. The purpose of employing them was to make im-
provements on land, not for the purpose of aiding mari-
time commerce, but to fill up land in order to bring it to the
required grade.’’

Judge Healey of the United States District Court for
the District of Massachusetts, in distinguishing the facts
of the case before him, Melanson v. Bay State Dredg-
ing & Contracting Co., 62 F. Supp. 482, from those in the
Fuentes and McArdle cases, said at page 485: ‘‘In the
Fuentes and McArdle cases supra the dredges involved
were being used for the purpose of filling in land which
activity of course is of purely local concern. [Cases
cited.].’’

In United Dredging Co. v. Lindberg, 18 F. (2d) 453, the
right of recovery was upheld under the Workmen’s Com-

—-

20

pensation Law of Louisiana. The dredge in that case was
engaged in cutting a navigable channel or canal across
land. Notwithstanding the fact that there was deep water
around the dredge and the channel being dug was intended
to be navigated when finished, the Court held that the
matter was of ‘‘mere local concern’’ and that the Work-
men’s Compensation Act governed to the exclusion of the
Merchant Marine Act. The Court specifically held that
the District Court was without jurisdiction to entertain
the action under the Jones Act. See also Toland’s Case,
258 Mass. 470, which is directly in point.

In the light of the foregoing decisions, which, in so far
as your petitioner can determine, have never been over-
ruled or repudiated until the Circuit Court of Appeals for
the First Circuit in this case refused to follow them, it is
manifest that the decision of the Circuit Court of Appeals
in this case is directly opposed to and in conflict with the
just cited cases of the Fifth Circuit.

Your petitioner earnestly urges that none of the cases
cited in the District Court’s memorandum (R. pp. 20-21)
or in the opinion of the Circuit Court of Appeals (Opin-
ion, R. pp. 201-203, incl.) in opposition to the petitioner’s
contention involved the filling in of land by dredging op-
erations, and that they therefore have no application to
the uncontroverted facts in this civil action.

It is respectfully submitted that never will any Court in
the future be presented with a case which more clearly
demands the application of the ‘‘local concern’’ doctrine
than this one; that this case does not represent one of those
‘‘twilight zone’’ or marginal cases so often referred to as
such (Davis v. Department of Labor and Industries of
State of Washington, 317 U.S. 249, 255-260), but involves
essentially a ‘‘land operation’’ having no direct relation to
navigation or interstate and foreign commerce.

21

2. THE LAW NEEDS CLARIFICATION, AND TO ALLOW THE DECI-
SION IN THIS CASE TO STAND WILL CREATE WIDESPREAD HARD-
SHIP.

The law with respect to the applicability of the ‘‘local
concern’”’ doctrine already is in a confused state. To allow
the decision of Circuit Court of Appeals in this case to
stand will only increase that uncertainty and confusion
and will create untold hardship on employers, employees
and their insurers throughout the country.

In order to avoid repetition, your petitioner incorpo-
rates by reference herein its reasoning set forth in the sec-
ond part of its petition and respectfully calls to the atten-
tion of this Honorable Court the decision in Davis v. De-
partment of Labor, which contains an excellent discussion
of the hardships which are continually injuring employees
and employers alike because of confusion and uncertainty
with respect to the applicability of the ‘‘local concern’’
doctrine.

It is respectfully submitted that the Court now has the
opportunity and indeed the duty to dispel any future un-
certainty with respect to the applicability of the ‘‘local
concern’’ doctrine to dredges or other craft which are
solely and exclusively engaged in filling in land. In many
cases involving ‘‘twilight zone’’ or marginal cases it often
is inexpedient or impossible to lay down any hard and fast
rule concerning that doctrine, but there are no such com-
plications here. It has been ruled in this case that Dredge
No. 5 was engaged exclusively and solely in filling in land.
The only cases in the country (except the present decision
now under consideration) involving dredges or other craft
exclusively so engaged have held such operations to be
‘fof purely local concern.’’ Manifestly those decisions
cited by the petitioner in its behalf are predicated upon
the logical conclusion that operations by dredges or other
craft which are to all practical purposes essentially ‘‘land

22

operations’? are not subject to admiralty jurisdiction.
Overruling those decisions would serve no useful purpose
and would, it is urged, merely increase the difficulties of
the Courts and all parties concerned.

The judgment and decision of the Circuit Court of Ap-
peals for the First Circuit should be reversed.

3. THE DECISION IN THIS CASE IS CONTRARY TO THE INTENT OF
CONGRESS AND IN VIOLATION OF THE RIGHTS OF THE PETI-
TIONER.

The decision of the Circuit Court of Appeals for the
First Circuit in this case is directly opposed to and in con-
flict with the expressed intent of the Longshoremen’s &
Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act of the United States,
33 U.S.C. §§ 901 et seq., and decisions of this Court per-
taining to that Act. Also the refusal of the trial judge to
consider or submit to the jury the question as to whether
Armao was a ‘‘member of the crew’’ within the meaning
of the exclusion clause of the Longshoremen’s Act was a
violation of a fundamental if not a constitutional right of
the petitioner.

One of the principal defenses to this action which was
relied upon by the petitioner at the time of trial and which
will be argued before this Court if certiorari is granted is
that, if it is decided that the work in which Armao was
engaged when he sustained his injuries was maritime and
that his injuries occurred under circumstances which pre-
clude the State Compensation Act from providing recov-
ery, resort to the Longshoremen’s Act is mandatory unless
Armao is found to be a ‘‘member of the crew’’ within the
meaning of the exclusion clause of that Act.

Your petitioner has also contended from the outset of
this case that, in order to establish any right whatever
under the ‘‘Jones Act,’’ Armao must specifically prove not

23

only that he was a ‘‘seaman’’ under the ‘‘ Jones Act’’ but
that he also was a ‘‘member of the crew’’ within the mean-
ing of the exclusion clause of the Longshoremen’s Act.

The Longshoremen’s Act expressly provides that lia-
bility thereunder ‘‘shall be exclusive and in place of all
other liability of such employer to the employee, his legal
representative . . . at law or in admiralty,’’ and that re-
covery may not be had thereunder unless the injuries oc-
curred under circumstances which ‘‘preclude the State
Compensation laws from providing recovery.’’ The
Longshoremen’s Act by its terms excludes from its cover-
age ‘‘A master or member of a crew of any vessel’’ (33
U.S.C. §§ 903, 905).

It therefore is manifest that, by virtue of the Act itself,
your petitioner has the absolute right to have specifically
determined the issue whether Armao was a ‘‘member of
the crew’’ within the meaning of the exclusion clause of
the Longshoremen’s Act.

The District Court judge not only refused to charge or
instruct the jury in this regard but stated to counsel (R.
p. 187) ‘*. . . you are referring to a statute which I have
not commented on and don’t want to go into it.’’

The petitioner respectfully submits that the refusal of
the trial judge to consider or at least submit that issue to
the jury constituted a violation of its fundamental if not
constitutional right.

The following cases are cited in support of its state-
ments in the foregoing paragraphs and in part 3 of its
petition (supra, pp. 10-12).

The case of International Stevedoring Co. v. Haverty,
272 U.S. 50, and many other cases decided before the pas-
sage of the Longshoremen’s & Harbor Workers’ Compen-
sation Act have held that one employed as a stevedore or
harbor worker was so far a ‘‘seaman’”’ that, if he was in-
jured on board a ship on navigable waters, he could sue his

= Beg

employer in reliance upon the Jones Act. Congress, how-
ever, has, since those decisions, and in the light of them,
varied the protection of maritime workers according to
nature and circumstances of their employment. No in-
ference that Congress seeks to protect stevedores and
harbor workers by the Jones Act can be drawn, because
since 1927 Congress has expressly indicated the protection
it intends for ‘‘longshoremen and harbor workers’’ as dis-
tinguished from ‘‘seamen’’ who are also ‘‘members of the
crew.”’

In Obrecht-Lynch Corporation v. Clark, 30 F. (2d) 144,
at 146, the Court said in substance that, although the Su-
preme Court in the Haverty case held longshoremen to be
‘“seamen’’ under the Jones Act, under the Longshoremen’s
Act Congress has apparently expressed an intention to re-
move such persons from the operation of the earlier Act
as thus construed and to place them under the later Act.

In Kibadeauax v. Standard Dredging Co., 81 F. (2d) 670,
it was stated at page 672 that ‘‘the Longshoremen’s Act

. of course modifies further the general admiralty law
of the United States in so far as it concerns persons who,
like longshoremen were seamen under the former law, but
are put under the latter by its terms.”’

The presumption is that in the absence of substantial
evidence to the contrary the claim comes within the pro-
visions of the Longshoremen’s and Harbor Workers’ Act.

Taylor v. McManigal, Deputy Comm., 89 F. (2d)
583.

DeWald’s case (DeWald v. Baltimore & Ohio R. Co., 71
F. (2d) 810; cert. den. 293 U.S. 581, No. 207) on its facts is
very similar to the case at bar and the sole point involved
was whether DeWald was a ‘‘member of the crew”’ at the
time he met his death by drowning. The judge below
found DeWald to be a ‘‘member of the crew,’’ but the Cir-
cuit Court of Appeals reversed the decree entered below

25

and ruled that DeWald was not a ‘‘member of the crew.’’
The Court said: ‘‘. . . While Congress has not in the Act
[Longshoremen’s & Harbor Workers’ Act] definitely clas-
sified those persons who are entitled to receive benefits
under it . . . it is to us reasonably clear that Congress in-
tended to except from the benefits of the Longshoremen’s
Act only those persons ordinarily and generally considered
seafaring men, at least only those employed on board a
vessel having a master and a crew. It is significant that
Congress did not use the term ‘seamen’ in section 903 of
the Act. It would undoubtedly have used that term had it
intended to exclude from the benefits of the Act all those
who have been held by the Courts to be seamen in the more
liberal interpretation of the term.’’

The case of Souih Chicago Coal € Dock Co. v. Bassett,
104 F. (2d) 522, reviewed and affirmed by this Honorable
Court, decided that, where a deceased workman employed
on a vessel used solely for fueling other vessels had no
duties pertaining to the navigation of the vessel except the
incidental task of throwing a ship’s line and his primary
duty was to free coal if it stuck in the hopper while being
discharged into the fueled vessel, and he had no ‘‘articles,”’
such a workman was not a ‘‘member of the crew’’ but was
a longshoreman under the exclusive protection of the Long-
shoremen’s Act. The Court said: ‘‘... While we have
given some weight to the fact that the certificate of in-
spection required the craft to have a crew of five . . . and
that . . . five would be present only if the [deceased] were
included, we are convinced that the word ‘crew’ as used in
the certificate has a different significance and connotation
than the word ‘crew’ as used in the statutory exception.
The Longshoremen’s Act contemplated the exclusion of
that body of men who in the common parlance make up
the ship’s complement, those who regularly or ordinarily
are engaged in seafaring and navigation, not those whose
tasks are of such a nature that they are independent of

—

26

navigation in their scope, such tasks which might as well
have their background on shore or at the dock ... It was
an ordinary laborer’s job, and it was mere happenstance
that the location of his position was on shipboard.’’

Taking into consideration the cases cited in this brief
and petition, and the history and intent of Congress in
passing the Longshoremen’s & Harbor Workers’ Act,
there can be no doubt that in order to recover under the
Jones Act the plaintiff must sustain the burden of prov-
ing not only that he was a ‘‘seaman’’ within the meaning
of the Jones Act but that he was also a ‘‘member of the
crew’’ within the meaning of the exclusion clause of the
Longshoremen’s Act. It follows, therefore, that both Acts
must be considered, specifically interpreted and applied.

In this case the District Court judge refused to consider
or comment upon the Longshoremen’s Act or any phase
thereof (R. pp. 186, 187).

Surely a writ of certiorari should be granted in this case
to enable this Court to review and correct the manifest
error of the District Court and the Cireuit Court of Ap-
peals in refusing to consider or apply a pertinent Act of
Congress.

27
Conclusion.

In conclusion, it is urged that this petition and brief,
verified by the record on file, discloses a serious conflict
between Circuit Courts of Appeals upon issues which not
only affect the immediate parties to this civil action but
gravely concern employees, employers and their respective
insurers throughout the country.

Wherefore your petitioner prays that a writ of certio-
rari issue as prayed for.

Respectfully submitted,
PAUL R. FREDERICK,
Attorney for Petitioner.

Bapcer, Pratt, Doyte & Bapcer,
Cuar.es C. PETERSEN,
Of Counsel.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386416_1582%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
