# Opposition Brief — California Apparel Creators v. Wieder of California, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386416_1383%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1947
- **Citation:** 332 U.S. 816

## Text

B .
= Pes
riLe COPY COT 27

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1947

No. 378

CALIFORNIA APPAREL CREATORS, a corporation, et al.,
Petitioners,
vs.

Wieper or Carirornia, Ixc., CALIFORNIA Sportswear, INc.,
CortLey Suretr Company, INnc.,
Respondents.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR WRIT
OF CERTIORARI ON BEHALF OF CORTLEY SHIRT
COMPANY, INC., RESPONDENT

Leon LAUTERSTEIN,
Lauterstein, Spiller & Brown,
Attorneys for Respondent
Cortley Shirt Company, Inc.,
15 William Street,
New York, N. Y.
Of Counsel:
Jacos L. Isaacs.

ALRITE DA IE LO

HY aK oI

DPT 8 Meo ee

ROLY ELLIE

FPL LYM,

Pt

SRA Se eet at |

INDEX

STATEMENT...

ProcEEDINGS BrLow

COMPLAINT

Arripavits BELow

Question or Law Soveut To Br Revirwep......

Pot I—A writ of certiorari should not issue since
the decision of the Second Cireuit Court of Appeals
is based on substantive principles of law well estab-
lished hy this court and recognized and followed by
other courts

A. Peiitioners can have no monopoly in the geo-
graphic names “California” or “Californian”

B. The protection of a geographical name under
the doctrine of “secondary meaning” is prem-
ised on the requirement that the name has come
to signify origin from a single source

(. Where single source of origin is absent, a
private suit cannot be maintained on the ground
of public deception...

D. The requirement that the name must denote a
single source cannot be evaded by the device
of joinder or spurious class suit

Porst 11—There is no conflict between the Second and
Seventh Cireuit Courts of Appeals on the substan-
tive question of law involved in this case...

Port [11—Even if there is a conflict of Circuits on the
substantive law of unfair competition, such conflict
cannot be resolved by this court since under the doc-
trine of Erie v. Tompkins local law governs unfair
competition

seated IRD FARO os

9

16

18

4

2 AP LON OLMEI OE SS PR

i

PAGE
Pornt TV—The Cirenit Court’s decision does not eon-
flict with any other Cireuit Court or this court as to

the proper application of Rule 56 FL R. CG. Pew. 94
Point V—This case does not present a federal ques-
tion. Moreover, the questions here presented have
been made inoot by the new trade-mark law (Lanham
Act) .
A. The law of unfair competition is governed by
local law . 7
B. Ali future questions of the nature presented
herein will be governed by the Lanham Act,
and as a result, the decision in this case as a
precedent is moot 98
CONCLUSION Pa
TABLE OF CASES
Addressograph- Multigraph Corp. v. American Expan-
sion Bolt & Mfg. Co., 124 F. (2d) 706 (C. C. A. 7th,
1941), cert. den. 316 U. S. 683 (1942)... rime!
American Civil Liberties Union v. Kiely, 40 F. (2d)
451 (C. C. A. 2d, 1930) 21
American Washboard Co. v. Saginaw Mfg. Co., 103 Fed.
281 (C. C. A. 6th, 1900) 13,15
Armstrong Paint & Varnish Works v. Nu-Enamel
Corp., 305 U. S. 315 (1938) 9, 11
Associated Press v. U. 8., 326 U. S. 1 (1944). 24, 26
Bushwick-Decatur Motors v. Ford Motor Co., 116 F.
(2d) 675 (C. C. A. 2d, 1940) 24

Canadian Ale case, F. T. C. Release, week ended April
13, 1946; Modified Order No. 4572, April 9, 1946;
3 C. C. H. Trade Reg. § 18,377 26

—7_ nee htc NE TELL A OES I LIENIE NS LI LOR ILL LOL A LENE OLED a

ill

PAGE
Charles Broadway Rouss. Inc. v. Winchester Co., 300
Fed. 706 (C. C. A. 2d, 1924), cert. den. 266 U. S. 607

(1924) -..- 9
Cheney Bros. v. Doris Silk Corp., 35 F. (2d) 279 (C. C.

A. 2d, 1929), cert. den, 281 U.S. 728 (79)... 25
Columbia Mill Co. v. Aleorn, 150 U. 8. 460 (1893)... 9
Crescent Tool Co. v. Kilborn & Bishop Co., 247 Fed.

agg, 300 (C. C. A. 2d, 1917) 9,10
Delaware & Hudson Canal Co. v. Clark, 80 U.S. 311, 18

Wall. 311. (1871) 9
District of Columbia v. Sweeney, 310 U. S. 631 (1939)....29

astern Wine Corp. v. Winslow Warren Ltd., 187 F.
(2d) 955 (C. C. A. 2d, 1948), cert. den. 320 U.S. 57

|: | eee — 30
Klein National Watch Co. v. Illinois Wateh Case Co.,

179 U. S. 665 (1900). ae
ly-Norris Safe Co. v. Mosler Safe Co., 7 F. (2d) 6038

iC, C. A. 2d, 1925)— ion . 2
Ely-Norris Safe Co. v. Mosler Safe Co., 62 F. (2d) 524

(7. C. A. 2d, 1933), cert. den. 989 U.S. 756 (1933)... 13
Engl vy. Aetna Life Ins. ('o., 139 F. (2d) 469 (C. C. A.

“6 9)... 24

Erie Railroad Co. v. Tompkins, 304 U. 5. 64 (1937)
29, 23, 28

Fashion Originators’ Guild v. F. T. C., 312 U.S. 457
(1940), aff'g 114 F. (2d) 80 (C. C. A. 2d, 1940)....25, 30
Federal Trade Commission v. Algoma Lumber Co., 291
Uv. §. 67 (1933) _$ ——_—__$__ _____—___—— 13, 16
Federal ‘Trade Commission v. Klesner, 280 U. S. 19
NE iccacewasnen 13, 16

:
a
:
<
¢
i
4
2
%

Sd ete

eae

RRS

coe whe

Pin PER Ke

Miele ek

iv

PAGE
Fidelity & Deposit Co. of Maryland v. U. 8., 187 U.S,
See | CUE Piisinirinnnsinnnianiniaeseniinieistniininesinalaittltetiiabtceestatiae :e

Fletcher v. Evening Star Newspaper Co., 133 F. (2d)
395 (App. D. C., 1942), cert. den. 319 U.S. 755 (19438) 24

lurniture Manufacturers Ass’n of Grand Rapids y,
Grand Rapids Guild of Exhibitors, 268 Mich. G85

‘§: | ee wee
CGebbie v. Stitt, 82 Hun 93 (N. Y., 1894), app. dismissed,
te ey 5 5 SERRE a ee 12

Girand Rapids Furniture Co, et al. v. Grand Rapids
Furniture Co,, 127 I. (2d) 245 (C. C. A. 7th, 1942),

COPE, COU ee Ds ee FER CR ceric 18, 20, 29, 93
Haddock v. Haddock, 201 U.S. 562 (1905). 2 |

Hall v. Duart Sales Co., Ltd., 28 F, Supp. 838 (N, D.
2 |

Harvey v. American Coal Co., 50 FF. (2d) 882 (C. CLA,
7th, 1931), cert. den. 284 U.S. 669 (1931). 18, 19

Indian ‘Territory Oil & Gas Co. v. Indian Territory
Iluminating Oil Co., 95 F. (2d) 711 (C. C. A. 10th,
1938), cert. den. 305 U.S. GOT (1988) occ 12

Kellogg Co. v. National Biscuit Co., 305 U.S. 111
(1938), rehearing den. 305 U. S. 674 (1988)009, 11,12

LaTouraine Coffee Co., Inc. v. Lorraine Coffee Co., Ine.,
157 F. (2d) 115 (C. C. A. 2d, 1946), cert. den. 529

U.S. 771 (1946) 12
Layne & Bowler Corp. v. Western Well Works, 261

U. S. 387 (1922) 29
LeRoy Fibre Co. v. Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul

Railway Co., 232 U. 8. 340 (1913)... . 2
Meleor Steel Co. v. George A. Fuller Co., 316 U.S. 145

INO -cicciecssosssaptabsnpreisneecadeensveachandbecia nbcscdalelahtonthec labia 21

y
PAGE

Vosler Sate Co. v. Kly-Norris Safe Co., 273 U.S. 132
(1926)... 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 19, 20, 25, 27

National Broadeasting Co., Ine. v. U. S., 319 UL_S.
To er: IRR ATE Ane Gee 26

Yew York & R. Cement Co. v. Coplay Cement Co., 44
Fed. 277 (C. C. E. D. Pa., 1890), rehearing den.

45 Fed, 212 (C. C. EB. D. Pa., 1891)... 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 20
Oppenheimer Vv. I,J. Young & Co., Inc., 144 FP. (2d) 387

TY Gk GRY, VA) 0) en 7
Pochour Lozenge Co., Inc, v. National Candy Co., Ine.,

BI UL Se COG (194) nesssesesesesennnnnnnsnnisenemnseine set 22, 23 28

Pillshury-Washburn Flour Mills Co. et al. v. Kagle, 86
Fed, 608 (C, C. A. 7th, 1898), cert. den, 173 U.S.
fe) -aniauisslsirensitiviosiocinionanstnecenneanaee 18,19

Ruhlin v. New York Life Ins. Co., 8040.5. YO2 (1987) 23

Seandanavia Belting Co, v. Asbestos & Rubber Works
of America, Ine., 257 Fed. 9387 (C. C. A. 2d, 1919),
cert. den, 250 U. S. 644 (1919)... PER eaten Fepatae 7)

Jacob Siegel v. F. T. C.. 90 L. Ed. 697 (U.S. 1945). 20
Skinner Mfg. Co. v. General Foods Sales Co., Ine. 52
F. Supp. 482 (D.C. Neb., 1943), aff'd 143 F. (2d)
895 (CC. CL AL Sth, 1944), cert. den. 323 UL 8. TO6
(GAA) ac cncecsnecnvanecrneencconnrscornnnsnennnnensnnencomnneeenunnteoununmonsneescnnnremnnnesensensnsneeae 10, 12
M. Snower & Co. v. U. S., 140 F. (2d) 367 (C. C. A. 7th,
SI recente cscs gneve 24
Toehelman vy. Missouri-Kansas Pipe Line Co., 130 F.
(9d) 1016 (C. C. A. 3d, 1942)_______._-__—.. 4

United States v. Associated Press, 52 F. Supp. 362
(SS. TD. Ni. Yog UGB) ccesencneneeeensnsvrenerneneenetneensnenennrnneneanennntenennmntn 26

United States v. Bausch & Lomb Optical Co., 131 F.
(2d) 545 (C. C. AL 2d, 1942), aff'd 320 U.S. 711
(19GB) ecceescnrcseroensovnsoreeresceeasnnnsoenpnvnssesnnsecnssssaresnanensnsesnnneennmaensrstsnaener ene 30

vi
PAGE
Whitaker v. Coleman, 115 F. (2d) 305 (C. C. A. 5th,
ERE. - crcsessiccasleppaesisinscliestnacsnbeniaeesindeesoapsiacnopianiosecainitesspinns cate 24
Yale Electric Corporation v. Robertson, 26 F. (2d) 972
ie ty ae istihccceeAlersobaenimaneaiesacccke.. 10
OTHER AUTHORITIES CITED
150 A. L. R. 1067 (1944) . 18
Borchardt, Are Trade-Marks an Anti-Trust Problem,
(1943) 31 Georgetown Law J. 24 Buccs ay)
Boskey, Mechanics of the Supreme Court Certiorari
4 Jurisdiction, (1946) 46 Columbia Law Rev, 255... 2)
i Chafee, Unfair Competition, (1940) 53 Harvard Law
4 aa. TREE SI Re rene ORO NEE oe SEIT Ose SPER oe 13
f Clark on Code Pleading, 2d Ed. (1947) oncom 7
Clark, Summary Judgments, A Proposed Rule of Court,

Fe ots Be gitar a hated bapsaaticemedacaos 21
Derenberg, Trade Mark Protection and Unfair Trad-
ing (1986). Curt ~

Poe. ee
Rule 23 (a) (3) 17
Rule 56 2, 24, 26
Handler, Unfair Competition, (1936) 21 Iowa Law
ERA I I Oooh Oe OET eI ERT TN OO 16
Hearings, Committee on Patents, Subcommittee on
Trade-Marks, 75th Cong., 3rd Sess. on H. R. 9041
(1941) 28
Lanham Act, Public Law 489, Chap. 540, 15 U.S. C. A.
§§ 1051 et seq 28
DB ek, Free Fon ee irre 17

_—~" sete WME LEA RATES SLY PE OBERLIN TM I EY IAI SIMO ES HRD GARIN PRET :

vii
PAGE

» \oore, Federal Practice 94, 26
Vote, (1946) 46 Columbia Law Rey. 818 17
Note, (1947) 47 Columbia Law Rey. 598 9]
Restatement, Torts:

Section 727, Comment (€), P. DSB ccrccccseeeseemseernesses 10

Section 715, Comment (D), pe DAq cece eee it See 10

Robertson and Kirkham, Jurisdiction of the Supreme
Court of the United States (1986) nme 29

Rules of the Supreme Court of the United States, Rule
44 | SL | | Seen nenn te cemeteconn nani Ena monn Nene 8, 20
Zlinkoff, Monopoly v. Competition: Significant Trends
in Patent, Anti-Trust, Trademark, and Unfair Com-
petition Suits, (1944) 53 Yale 1. 1 1. a

pinehieieeee |

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1947
No. 378

CALIFORNIA APPAREL CREATORS, a corporation, et al.,

Petitioners,

<
77

Wreper or Cauirornia, INc., Catirornia Sportswear, INc.,
CortTLEY Suirt Company, INc.,
Respondents,

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR WRIT
OF CERTIORARI ON BEHALF OF CORTLEY SHIRT
COMPANY, INC., RESPONDENT

Statement

Petitioners seek the issuance of a writ of certiorari to
review the decision and judgment of the United States Cir-
cuit Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit (C. C. A. fols.
095-417), affirming the judgment of the United States Dis-
trict Court for the Southern District of New York (D. C.
fols, 25-32) and dismissing, in part, the appeal therefrom.

28 Spates

DP ietitey

ee Ais

OW fee iad

ro ~—_ —
FAD SRL Se

Proceedings Below

Petitioners, consisting of an incorporated trade asso-
ciation and seventy-live manufacturers of wearing ap-
parel located in the State of California brought an action
in the United States District Court for the Southern Dis.
trict of New York to enjoin the respondents from using the
names “California” or “Californian” in any way in connee-
tion with their businesses and for an accounting and dan-
ages (D. C. fols. 128-151). Respondents are three manu-
facturers of wearing apparel incorporated and located in
the State of New York and having no connection with each
other, Respondent Cortley does not use any variant of
the word “California” in its trade name but does use the
word “Californian” as a brand name for a line of its sports.
wear. However, the term “Californian” when used on labels
or tags atlixed to respondent Cortley’s sportswear has
always heen accompanied by a legend indicating not only
the name of the manufacturer but also that Cortley is
located in New York City (D.C. fols. 281-284, 287, 366,
367).

Respondents moved under Rule 56, FL R. C. P., for sun-
mary judgment dismissing the complaint and for declara-
tory relief (D. C. fols. 201-207, 214-222). The District
Court denied the petitioners’ motion for preliminary in-
junction and granted respondents’ motions, reserving how-
ever for separate trial two issues involving alleged simi-
larity of trade names between one petitioner, California
Sportswear Company, and respondent, California Sports-
wear, Inc., and between the same petitioner and Cortley
Shirt Company, as to any ¢laim relating to a label once
used by said respondent—but not the label mentioned in the
complaint (D.C. fols, 25-82; D. C. Opinion, fols. 1096-
1161).

On appeal from the judgment of the District Court the
Cireuit Court of Appeals for the Second Cirenit affirmed
the judgment of the District Court, dismissing that portion
of the appeal relating to the two issues reserved by the

lyr a eR OR IE Rn OS ee at arte ene, ee!

3

District Court for separate trial (C. C. A. fols. 395-417).
It is this judgment which petitioners seek to review by pe-
tition for a writ of certiorari.

In view of the fact that petitioners claim that the deci-
sion below is in conflict with decisions of other Circuits it
is necessary to recite the undisputed and controlling facts
which emerged from the voluminous affidavits on the mo-
tion for summary judgment and to refer to the nature of
petitioners” claim as alleged in their complaint. Com-
parison of the undisputed facts herein with those dis-
cussed in the eases relied on by petitioners clearly demon-
strates that there is no conflict and that for this and other
reasons hereinafter set forth certiorari should be denied.

Complaint

The gravamen of the complaint is that the seventy-five
petitioners manufacture and distribute wearing apparel
and accessories in California (D. C, fol, 81); that consider-
able sums of money have been spent in advertising Cali-
fornia apparel (D.C. fols, 87-89, 92, 94, 95, 110); that their
labels indicate the origin of such products as California,
and that “plaintiffs by means of the care, skill, integrity,
fidelity, styling and workmanship used by them in the man-
facturing of their products, have acquired a great reputa-
tion with the retailers and purchasing public” for their
wearing apparel and a great demand for their products
iD. C. fols. 90, 91).

As to the respondent, Cortley, it is alleged that Cortley
has sold and has offered for sale sportswear with the label
which reads “Californian” above the legend “Sportswear
by Cortiey, New York” (see sample labels annexed to
complaint, D. C. fol, 132); that such apparel was not actu-
ally manufactured in California; that the goods were so
labeled to fraudulently procure trade from the purchasing
public and to induce retailers and the buying public to be-

a RRR REO ERED ET UN

4

lieve that Cortley’s apparel was in fact made and styled in
California; and that Cortley’s products “are inferior in
quality, stvle and workmanship to the apparel manufac-
tured within the State of California” (D. C. fols. 120-128),
Whether this means inferior to the best or poorest quality
goods made in California is not stated either in the com-
plaint or in petitioners’ affidavits.

Petitioners purport to sue not only in their own right but
in behalf of “all other manufacturers of men’s, women’s
and children’s wearing apparel whose places of manufac-
ture are located in the State of California” (D. C. fols. 81,
82). There is no allegation that any of the named plain-
tiffs is entitled to the exclusive use of the word “California”
or “Californian” as among themselves or as to other Cali-
fornia manufacturers not parties to this suit. On the con-
trary, implicit in the complaint is the claim that all mann-
facturers located in California may use these names in
connection with their goods and that all outside that state
are barred, under any circumstances, from using them
(D. C. Opinion, fol. 1115).

Despite extravagant claims in the complaint for the su-
periority of California goods there is no allegation that
there is any standard of quality to which California apparel
manufacturers must or do conform.

There is no allegation as to the nature, volume, history
or background of any particular petitioner’s business or
as to the manner in which any petitioner used the name or
the relation to or effect on such business of the use of such
name; or of any prior exclusive use of the names “Cali-
fornia” or “Californian” by any or all of the petitioners; or
of the length of time of the alleged extensive advertising of
the various California-made products engaged in by any or
all of the petitioners: or as to the period of alleged public
demand for the products, either in the aggregate or as to
any one petitioner or as to the contribution to the alleged
“reputation” or the creation of the alleged “public demand”
by any one or all of the named petitioners as against the
contribution of California manufacturers not parties to the

a — ne RO ee ee ee ee incntintineaciineet icine |

~-

»

cuit; nor is there any specifie allegation that there has
heen a diversion of sales from any one of the seventy-odd
named petitioners or from any particular manufacturer

in the State of California.

Affidavits Below

These omissions in the complaint are not supplied by
petitioners’ affidavits. The following facts in the answering
aflidavits of Cortley on motion for injunction (which were
also the moving affidavits on motion for summary judg-
ment) were not denied or disputed in the petitioners’ reply
or other affidavits filed during the pendency of the motions
or elsewhere in the record. Moreover, the facts as below
set forth, quoted verbatim from Cortley’s answering brief
in the Second Cireuit Court of Appeals, were not disputed
in petitioners’ reply brief in that court.

“1, Cortley adopted ‘Californian’ as a brand and
style name for men’s and boys’ sport apparel in Feb-
ruary, 19388, and has used it ever since (D. C. fols.
YAH, 287).

>». Whenever the word ‘Californian’ is used on Cort-
lev’s label, or garment tags, it is accompanied by the
words ‘Sportswear by Cortiey New York’ or ‘Sports-
wear by Cortley Shirt Co. N. Y2 (D.C. fol. 284;
sample lahel and tag at fols. 281, 282). Similarly, on
mailing labels, calling cards, salesman’s advance eards,
brochures, letterheads and envelopes used by Cortley
there is printed the name of Cortley and its address
12 West 27th Street, New York 1, New York (D. C.
fols. 284, 287, 366, 567).

»

3. At the time of the adoption of this name by
Cortley, manufacture and advertising of California
made sportswear was negligible (D.C. fols. 285, 380,
381).

4. Most of the named plaintiffs were not in business,
at least not under their present names, until after
the adoption of the brand naine ‘Californian’ by Cortley
(D. C. fol. 318).

'
;
s

6

Plaintiff California Apparel Creators, Ine., a trade
association, was not incorporated until a few months
hefore this action was begun. It does not manufacture
or distribute. The purpose of its organization, infer
alia, was the propagandizing of California made ap.
parel (D. C. fols. 333, 621-626).

5. The name ‘California’ has been frequently used
by non-California manufacturers and, to the limited
extent permitted by the statute, has been registered
in the patent office by manufacturers outside of tha:
State (D. C. fols. 293-296, 303-305, 487-440).

6. Many concerns in California use ‘New York’ to
designate their business or products (D. C. fols. 297-
299).

7. In the apparel trade geographical names (as is
well known) are frequently used not to indicate place
of manufacture but arbitrarily to associate the article
with the type of garment used in or the climate of a
locality, ete.; for example, Palm Beach suits, Paris
garters, ete. (D. C. fols. 300, 301, 369, 370, 422-426).

8. Included among the many plaintiffs are manu-
facturers of such diverse articles as dresses, leather
goods, photo supplies, neckwear, slippers and shoes,
infants’ and children’s wear, jewelry, hats and eaps,
millinery and handbags (D. C. fols. 318, 319, 550,
551).

9, On the argument it was conceded, and so stated
in the answering affidavits without denial in the reply
affidavits, that there are as many as 4,500 apparel!
manufacturers located in the State of California in
addition to the named plaintiffs (D. C. fol. 320).

10. There is no standardization of quality of the
many products made by the seventy-odd named plain-
tiffs or by the many other California manufacturers
in whose behalf plaintiffs claim to bring this suit
(D. C. fols. 307, 389).

There is no square denial that some California
inanufacturers purchase their original designs and pat-
terns at various model houses in the east, and mosily

Ee [EEE EER ATR TRIE TE = PURE SO 0 Sake par

=
(

in New York, and affix thereto labels with their Cali-
fornia address; nor is it squarely denied that almost
all fabrie from which apparel is manufactured is manu-
factured in the east (D. C. fols. 428-435, 384, 385,
748-751).

11. Nota single affidavit by any member of the pur-
chasing public was filed on either motion to show that
any person had bought Cortley’s goods in the belief
that they were the goods of a California manufacturer
or that Cortley’s label was likely to deceive or cause
confusion.

12. There was no affidavit or proof by plaintiffs of
diversion of sales from any one or all of the plain-
tiffs or from any other particular California mann-
facturer: in fact, plaintiffs frequently assert that the
demand for California-made apparel has been in excess
of the ability of the California manufacturers to pro-
duce (D. C. fols. 597, 668).”

Qn these conceded and indisputable facts in the record
as applied to the allegations of the complaint, and dis-
regarding any dispute therein as to which party could
properly claim “superiority” of goods or the larger public
demand, ete., or other matters which are immaterial to
the hasie question presented, Cortley was, we respectfully
submit. entitled to dismissal of the complaint as a matter
of law. and hence summary judgment was properly granted.

Question of Law Sought To Be Reviewed

Thus the question of law decided by the Circuit Court of
Appeals which petitioners seek to review by the issuance
by this court of a writ of certiorari is, whether seventy-five
named plaintiffs, manufacturers of diverse articles of wear-
ing apparel, all having their places of business in California,
claiming to sue in behalf of at least 4,500 additional manu-
facturers (none of whom intervened in this suit), can main-
‘ain a private so-called class suit to enjoin defendant Cort-

ley, 2 New York manufacturer of men’s sportswear from

ryt Gente APD,

5
2

fe HALTS IK

8

using the brand or style name “Californian” accompanied
by the legend “Sportswear by Corttey, New York”, where,
upon undisputed and conceded facts,

a) The names “California” or “Californian” do not con-
note a single source but rather as a minimum, according
to petitioners’ own theory, all wearing apparel manufac-
turers in the State of California;

b) There is no standardization of the many products
made by the various petitioners;

ce) Although four months elapsed during the pendency
of the motions in the District Court during which petition-
ers presented voluminous affidavits, not a single affidavit
was presented to show that in fact there had been or
could be any diversion of sales from any one California
manufacturer as a result of Cortley’s label which clearly
indicated its New York location.

POINT I

A writ of certiorari should not issue since the de-
cision of the Second Circuit Court of Appeals is based
on substantive principles of law well established by
this court and recognized and followed by other courts.

It is not the function of a writ of certiorari to bring up
for review by this court decisions based on long and well-
established principles of law (see Rules of the Supreme
Court of the United States, § 38 (5)). Contrary to peti-
tioners’ contentions (Petitioners’ Brief, Points I, III), the
decision of the Second Cireuit in the instant case not only
does not conflict with any decision of the Seventh Cireuit
(see Point IL, infra) but is based on the following substan-
tive principles of law which have been established by this
court and recognized and followed by other courts.

rere eevee ween ten —

9

4. Petitioners can have no monopoly in the geographic
names “California” or “Californian”.

It is of course well settled that a geographical name,
indicative of the place of manufacture, cannot be granted
9 trade-mark monopoly.

Elgin National Watch Co. v. Illinois Watch Case Co.,
179 U. S. 665 (1900) ;

Columbia Mill Co. v. Alcorn, 150 U. S. 460 (18953);

Delaware & Hudson Canal Co. v. Clark, 80 U.S. 311,
13. Wall. 311 (1871).

B. The protection of a geographical name under the doctrine
of “secondary meaning” is premised on the requirement
that the name has come to signify origin from a single
source.

Although a geographic name will be protected if it has
acquired secondary significance, such protection is condi-
tioned on the indispensable requisite that whatever is
asserted to carry the secondary meaning has come to signify
origin from a single and particular source.

Kellogg Co. v. National Biscuit Co., 305 U.S. 111,
118, 119 (1938), rehearing den. 305 U. S. 674
(1938) ;

Armstrong Paint & Varnish Works v. Nu-Enamel
Corp., 805 U.S. 315, 335, 336 (1938) ;

Elgin National Watch Co. vy. Illinois Watch-Case Co.,
179 U.S. 665 (1900) ;

Charles Broadway Rouss, Inc. v. Winchester Co., 300
Fed. 706, 715 (C. C. A. 2d, 1924), cert. den. 266
U.S. 607 (1924) ;

Scandanavia Belting Co. v. Asbestos & Rubber Works

of America, Inc., 257 Fed. 937, 942 (C. C. A. 2d,
1919), cert. den. 250 U.S. 644 (1919);

Crescent Tool Co. v. Kilborn & Bishop Co., 247 Fed.
299, 300 (C. C. A. 2d, 1917);

. -” ' - — —

10

Skinner Mfg. Co. v. General Foods Sales Co., Inc.,
52 F. Supp. 432, 447 (D. C. Neb., 1943), aff'd 149
F. (2d) 895 (C. C. A. 8th, 1944), cert. den. 323 T.s.
766 (1944) ;

Restatement, Torts, Sec. 727, Comment (a), p. 58s:
also id. Section 715, Comment (hb), p. 544.

,

4 The rule is settled that

&

. “Legally, the fundamental function of a trade-mark
| or trade name is to denominate or identify the goods,
& services or business of a single trader” (Restatement,
4 Torts, supra, p. 588).

‘

‘ It is

4 “an absolute condition to any relief whatever that

the plaintiff in such cases show that the appearance
of his wares has in fact come to mean that some par-
ticular person—the plaintiff may not be individually
; known—makes them, and the public cares who does
! make them and not merely for their appearance and
structure * * *” (Crescent Tool Co. vy. Kilborn é&
Bishop Co., supra, at p. 300). (Italics ours.)

ERGO

Manifestly, in a case where upwards of 4,500 competing
manufacturers make various lines of apparel and it is not
only conceded but claimed by petitioners that each may
and does use the same name to designate his goods to the
public, then whether the name is coined, generic or geo-
graphical, it cannot denote a single source or be the ex-
elusive property of any one or all of such manufacturers.
The theory of the doctrine of secondary meaning is tlie
protection of names which have hecome recognized by the
public as the “commercial signature” or the “authentic
seal” of a particular merehant. (See Yale Electric Cor-
poralion vy. Robertson, 26 F. (2d) 972, 973, 974 (C. C. A.
2d, 1928).) Where the name is used in common by thou-
sands of manufacturers who have no definite standard of
quality. as denominating various types of goods, the name
‘annot indicate to the public the source. or guarantee the
reputation or the quality of the goods of any manufacturer.

Ee” pe nth RAR NCCE RAIN UE A n

11

Petitioners’ basic contention, as adequately summarized
inthe opinion of the District Court below, is that California
manufacturers are entitled to the exclusive use of the
names “California” or “Californian” to the exclusion of
al] other manufacturers (D. C. Opinion, fol. 1115). Indeed,
petitioners in the District Court flatly advanced the broad
claim, quoted by the District Judge from their brief in that
court, that without regard to the circumstances, “of two
ysers of a geographic term, the one located in that geo-
eraphic area could restrain the other not located in that
area” (D. C. Opinion, fol. 1127). The confusion as to the
true nature and scope of “secondary meaning” which this
contention reveals is also demonstrated in petitioners’ com-
plaint, affidavits and brief. Petitioners allege, in their com-
plaint, that as a result of the advertising and other activi-
ties by the petitioners

“* * * the word ‘California’ has acquired a secondary
meaning in the minds of the purchasing public to denote
wearing apparel of fine styling, good workmanship,
originality and color * * *” (D.C. fol. 99).

To acquire secondary significance the words must denote
not the goods but the trader. A coniention essentially
identical to that propounded by the petitioners here was
rejected by -ustice Brandeis in Wellogg Co. ¥. Nations!
Risenit Co., BOD U.S. 111 (1988), who stated (at p. TIS):

“But to establish a trade name in the term ‘shredded
wheat’ the plaintiff must show more than a subordinate
meaning Which applies to it. It must show tha the
primary significance of the term in the minds of the
constming public is not the product but the producer.
This it has not done.” (Italies ours. )

To the same effect is Armstrong Paint & Varnish Works
v. Nu-Enamel Corp., 305 U.S. 315, 386 (1988).

Petitioners, in their affidavits, have also averred that the
“word ‘CaliZernia’ or ‘Californian’ means to the buying
public merchandise. whether sportswear, tailored wear,
aecessories, or other commodities produced and manufac-
tured in the State of California” (D. C. fol. 759). (Italies

Nd Ri EN A ARAN

12

ours.) Thus, boiled down, petitioners’ claim to exclusive
use of the name “California” is founded on the thesis that
such protection is warranted because such name when
affixed to wearing apparel denotes that such apparel origi-
nates from the geographical locality of California.

Petitioners erroneously fail to perceive the well-estab-
lished essential distinction between the primary and sec.
ondary meaning of geographical names. When a name
is used merely to denote that the product comes from a
particular geographical locality, such name is being used
in its primary and not secondary sense. It is only where
a name has acquired a significance apart from this primary
meaning as denoting the products of a particular producer,
wherever he may be located, that the name can be said to
have a secondary meaning and protected as such. Kellogg
case, supra; Skinner Mfg. Co. v. General Foods Sales Co.,
Inc., 52 F. Supp. 482 (D. C. Neb., 1948), aff'd 143 F. (2d)
895 (C. C. A. 8th, 1944), cert. den. 323 U. S. 766 (1944);
see Indian Territory Oil and Gas Co. vy. Indian Territory
Illuminating Oil Co., 95 F. (2d) 711, 7138 (C. C. A. 10th,
1938), cert. den. 305 U. S. 607 (1938); Derenberg, Trade
Mark Protection and Unfair Trading, pp. 326, 327 (1936).

To support petitioners’ contention would so pervert the
established doctrine of secondary meaning that it would
abolish (1) the rule that there can be no monopoly in a
geographic name (see paragraph A, supra) and (2) the
rule that a trader although not in the geographical area
may arbitrarily or fancifully adopt such a name as a trade
mark or trade name for his goods (see LaTouraine Coffee
Co., Inc. v. Lorraine Coffee Co., Inc., 157 F. (2d) 115
(C. C. A. 2d, 1946), cert. den. 329 U.S. 771 (1946); Gebbie
vy. Stitt, 82 Hun 93 (N. Y. 1894), app. dismissed, 148 N. Y.
732 (1895).

€. Where single source of origin is absent. a private suit
cannot be maintained on the ground of public deception.
This court has recognized and applied the well-established
principle that where single source of origin is absent a pri-
vate suit cannot be maintained on the ground of public de-

13

ception. The sole remedy in such cases lies with the Fed-
eral Trade Commission.

New York & R. Cement Co. v. Coplay Cement Co.,
44 Fed. 277 (C. C. E. D. Pa., 1890), rehearing den.
45 Fed. 212 (C. C. E. D. Pa., 1891);

American Washboard Co, v. Saginaw Mfg. Co., 103
Fed, 281 (C. C. A. 6th, 1900) ;

Ely-Norris Safe Co. v. Mosler Safe Co., 7 F. (2d)
603 (C. C. A. 2d, 1925) ;

Mosler Safe Co. v. Ely-Norris Safe Co., 973 U.S. 132
(1926) ;

Ely-Norris Safe Co. v. Mosler Safe Co., 62 F. (2d)
524 (C. C. A. 2d, 1933), cert. den. 289 U.S. 756
(1933) ;

See:

Federal Trade Commission v. Klesner, 280 T. S. 19,
95, 26 (1929) ;

Federal Trade Commission vy. Algoma Lumber Co.,
2991 U. S. 67, 79 (1983) ;

Hall v Duart Sales Co., Ltd., 28 F. Supp. 838, 839,
840 (N. D. TIL. 1939):

Chafee, Unfair Competition, (1940) 53 Harvard Law
Rey., 1289, 1307-1321.

The Cireuit Court of Appeals for the Second Cireuit has
properly relied on the principles established by these cases.

In the Coplay Cement case, supra, it was held that a suit
to restrain the use of the name “Rosendale Cement” could
not be maintained though such name was known to the
public to mean cement made in Rosendale where it did not
appear that the plaintiffs were the only persons making
cement in that place and where defendant's factory was in
another state.

Mr. Justice Bradley stated (p. 278) that to allow such a
suit or one by dealers in genuine Dresden crockery or Irish
linen against a merchant who sold goods under those names
but not of that origin “would open a Pandora’s box of vex-
atious litigation”; that although the legislature might

: PMS WEASEL RE RNC OMOEA Ta AREER

Sion ani SM

14

justly intervene to prevent impositions on the public, nev-
ertheless, “if a person seeks to restrain others from using a
particular trade-mark, trade name, or style of goods, he
must show that he has an exclusive ownership or property
there, To show that he has a mere right, in cominon with
others, to use it, is insufficient” (p. 279). (Italies ours.)
The doctrine of the Coplay case has been recognized and
applied by this court in the case of Mosler Safe Co. y. Ely.
Norris Safe Co., 273 U.S. 182 (1936). The decision of this
court in the Mosler case is controlling in this case and was
thus properly followed by the Second Cireuit Court of
Appeals. In that case, plaintiff, a manufacturer of safes
with an explosion chamber sought to enjoin a competitor
from falsely representing to purchasers that the latter's
safes contained explosion chambers, with the result that the
public was led to purchase defendant's safes. In the Dis-
trict Court, Judge Augustus Hand dismissed the bill, stat-
ing:
“Such conduct might serve as a basis for a restrain-
ing order in a suit by the Federal Trade Commission.
It does not follow, however, that a private person can
secure an injunction by reason of mere misbranding
where, as here, the defendant has never sold its goods
- moe of complainant” (Transcript of Record, fols.
obey e

On appeal to the Second Circuit Court of Appeals, Judge
Learned Hand recognized the underlying principle of the
Coplay case that where a number of manufacturers pro-
duce an article or articles, there is no exclusive property
right residing in any or all of these manufacturers and, as
a result, damage cannot be shown (Coplay case, supra, at
p. 279). In discussing the Coplay case, Judge Hand
pointed out that it did not appear that the plaintiffs were
the only persons making cement in Rosendale. The result,
according to Judge Hand, was that “There was no reason,
therefore, to assume that a customer of the defendant, de-
ceived as to the place of origin of defendant's cement, and
desiring to buy only such cement, would have bouglit of the
plaintiffs. It resulted that the plaintiffs did not show any

15

necessary loss of trade through defendant’s fraud upon its
own customer” (p. 603). Judge Hand stated that in such
a case (Where the plaintiff has no monopoly of the goods)
the plaintiff “though aggrieved in company with other hon-
est traders cannot show any ascertainable loss. He may not
recover at law and the equitable remedy is concurrent. The
law does not allow him to sue as a vicarious avenger of the
defendant's customers” (p. 604).* (Italics ours.)

Having thus explained and affirmed the Coplay case,
Judge Hand then proceeded to distinguish it from the case
before him on the ground that the complaint in the Mosler
ease alleged a practical monopoly for the articles in ques-
tion with the result that there was a necessary inference
that all purchases from defendant by customers desiring
explosion chamber safes were diversions of sales from the
plaintiff. On this basis alone Judge Hand reversed the
decree below.

This court granted certiorari hecause of an alleged con-
flict between the decision of the Second Circuit and the de-
cision in American Washboard Co. v, Saginaw Mfg. Co.,
supra.** This court, reversing, found it unnecessary to

*Tr is difficult to reconcile this statement to the effect that at law
there could be no recovery because no plaintiff could show “any ascer-
tainable loss” and that the “equitable remedy is concurrent” with
Judge Hand's statement in the dissent below to the effect that
although no action at law could be maintained by these plaintiffs
because of inability to show “ascertainable loss”, that injunction
might issue on the speculative assumption that some one plaintiff
might show loss. As Judge Clark pointed out below (C. C. A.
Opinion, fol. 400) summary judgment is based on realities and
cannot be denied merely on the basis of unrealistic speculative possi-
bilities, particularly where under the doctrine of the Mosler case as
applied to the theory of petitioners’ own complaint none of the peti-
tioners, as a matter of law, can be damaged.

** The Coplay case was pressed even further in the American
Iashboard case, wherein a distinguished bench consisting of Judges
Day, Taft and Lurton, held that plaintiff, the sole manufacturer of
washboards with aluminum rubbing surfaces could not enjoin de-
jendant from falsely representing its washboards as aluminum, where
plaintiff failed to show direct loss of customers or direct injury to
itself, The alleged conflict of circuits revolved solely around the
question of whether such an action could be maintained where plain-
tiff had a monopoly of the goods.

ELE LEM POE GLE DOSES J

Se

“$8

FS s

SOP OS RP

it

VPRO? VAR PT eA -

$9 RRO NON GMI EO ET RC NUR BOAT) MAR ETN TIE ONE LON OMT HEU EUR OR OST STG REL,

resolve the alleged conflict because, as Mr. Justice Holmes
construed the complaint in the Mosler case (p. 134):

“It is consistent with every allegation in the bill and
the defendant in argument asserted it to be a fact, that

: there are other safes with explosion chambers beside
* that for which plaintiff has a patent. The defendant is
4 charged only with representing that its safes had ‘an’
‘ explosion chamber, which, so far as appears, it had a
i perfect right to do if the representation was true. /f,
a on the other hand, the representation was false as it is

alleged sometimes to have been, there is nothing to
show that customers had they known the facts would
have gone to the plaintiff rather than to other competi-
tors in the market, or to lay a foundation for the claim
for a loss of sales.” (Italics ours.)

It is thus clear that implicit in the opinions of both the
Circuit Court and this court was the recognition of the
principle stated by Mr. Justice Bradley in the Coplay case
that where a number of manufacturers make the article or
articles, thus providing an open market, a private suit for
injunction will not lie even where there has been misrepre-
sentation or misbranding as to the source which results in
injury to defrauded customers or the public. See Handler,
Unfair Competition, (1936) 21 lowa Law Rev. 175, 194.

The distinction between private litigation to establish an
exclusive property right in a name and a proceeding by the
Federal Trade Commission to prevent public deception was
reiterated and clearly stated by Mr. Justice Brandeis in
Federal Trade Commission vy, Klesner, 280 U.S. 19, 25, 26
(1929) and by Mr. Justice Cardozo in Federal Trade Com-
mission Vv. Algoma Lumber Co., 291 U.S. 67, 79 (1933).

D. The requirement that the name must denote a single
source cannot be evaded by the device of joinder or
spurious class suit.

Petitioners, alleging broadly a demand for California
wearing apparel generally, without regard to the product
of any particular manufacturer, evidently recognize the im-

17

ssibility of compliance with the requirement set down
in the Mosler case of a legally demonstrable loss of trade
by a particular manufacturer. They seek to overcome this
obstacle by a “spurious” class suit (Rule 23 (a) (8)
F. R. C. P.) which presumably it was thought would bind
and inure to the benefit of every manufacturer of the vari-
ous articles in question located in the State of California.

The difficulty cannot be met in this manner. The “spuri-
ous” class suit is merely a permissive joinder device which
does not grant authority to adjudicate finally the rights of
non-appearing parties or confer any additional substantive
rights upon the plaintiffs suing. Oppenheimer v. F. J.
Young & Co., Inc., 144 F. (2d) 387 (C. C. A. 2d, 1944) ; 2
Moore’s Federal Practice, 2235-2245, 2291; Note, (1946) 46
Columbia Law Rev. 818; cases cited in Clark on Code
Pleading, 2d Ed. (1947), pp. 405, 407. No other Cali-
fornia manufacturers except the original plaintiffs have
intervened. If, as plaintiffs contend, there is a public de-
mand for California-made apparel without regard to the
particular manufacturer, quality, price and the other usual
considerations of purchase, the patronage, instead of going
to any of the named plaintiffs, might go to any one or
more of the other 4,500 manufacturers not parties to this
suit and who, as Mr. Justice Bradley stated in the Coplay
case (supra, p. 279), “might with equal justice prosecute
for the same profits”. Thus the fatal defect in the cause
of action found by this court to exist in the Mosler case
exists in the instant case to even a greater degree,

GL As SOOO NE COT OEE a

om a

18

POINT Il

There is no conflict between the Second and Seventh
Circuit Courts of Appeals on the substantive question
of law involved in this case.

Petitioners base their petition for the issuance of a writ
of certiorari on the alleged conflict between the decision
of the Second Circuit in the instant case with decisions in
the Seventh Circuit in the cases of Pillsbury-Washburn
Flour Mills Co., et al. v. Eagle, 86 Fed. 608 (C. C. A. 7th,
1898), cert. den. 173 U.S. 703 (1899); Harvey v. American
Coal Co., 50 F. (2d) 832 (C. C. A. 7th, 1931), cert. den, 284
U.S. 669 (1931); and Grand Rapids Furniture Co., et al.
v. Grand Rapids Furniture Co., 127 F. (2d) 245 (C. GC. A.
Tth, 1942), cert. den. 321 U.S. 771 (1948). Not only did the
Second Circuit follow, as controlling, legal principles estab-
lished by this court (see Point 1, infra) but these principles
are not in conflict with decisions of the Seventh or any other
Circuit.

In a few exceptional cases the doctrine of “single souree”
has been expanded to encompass the protection of certain
geographical names where through some combination of
circumstances such a name has come to connote in the public
mind not a single producer, but a limited number of pro-
ducers. These exceptions have heen limited to cases where
the particular desirability of the products bearing the name
is inherent in the goods because of the peculiar natural
attributes of the locality from which they are mined or
where they are grown (Harvey v. American Coal Co.,
supra) or where a limited group of producers in a particu-
lar region, using a peculiar patent or other special process,
have produced a product of a single quality whose superi-
ority is generally recognized and connected with the region.
Pillsbury-Washburn Flour Mills Co., et al. v. Eagle, supra:
Grand Rapids Furniture Co., et al. v. Grand Rapids Furn-
ture Co., supra; see Note, 150 A. L. R. 1067, 1092, 1093

(1944).

hoa
Saieet

SIA iy OLS ae Gk EE LOGE REE WEE SLES RNS Spi Ng bs Bh ipa eae

Khong,

~~

: ne . —*
Ah crepe Lo NLD &

‘
oad

f
at pe, od

19

3

In the Pillsbury case the seven plaintiffs all manufac-
tured flour in Minneapolis, jointly developed over thirty :
vears, Which flour, known as “Minneapolis Patent”, re- i
sulted in the reputation for producing the finest hard spring :
wheat flour in the country. The wheat used by these mills .
was systematically inspected and graded by competent and é
disinterested persons appointed by the State of Minnesota 4

for that purpose; comparison of mill products was made
daily for over twelve years by submission to an expert by
each mill of two pounds of its highest grade flour. The
same systems, methods and machinery were employed by
each member of the group. Defendant originally sold
plaintiffs’ processed flour but later substituted an inferior
brand milled outside of Minnesota under the name “H. R.
Eagle’s Best Minnesota Patent, Minneapolis, Minnesota”.
Relief to plaintiffs was granted, the court holding that
this small group of Minneapolis manufacturers, for prac-
tical purposes, operated as a single entity.

It is plain that this decision based as it was on the rigid
standardization of one product by a small group, does not
purport to encompass and cannot be stretched to support
a “spurious” class suit relating to the diverse products of
over 4,500 manufacturers, covering an entire state, where
there is no possible claim of standardization as to any of
the various kinds of products here involved. The Pillsbury
‘ase decided before the controlling Mosler ease was cited
to this court in the latter case in appellants’ main (p. 33)
and reply briefs (p. 2) but was not noticed in the opinion,
probably because its holding was regarded as based on rd
exceptional facts which did not justify application of the
case to a different state of facts.

The Harvey case, supra, involved twenty-three plaintiffs
who were producers of coal in the Pocohontas Valley region
of Virginia and West Virginia. Because of qualities in-
herent in the soil of the Pocohontas region, the coal, known
as “Pocohontas Coal”, mined from this locality possesses
qualities found in no other coal. In view of the fact that
the standardized qualities of Poeohontas coal which made

—— . ee cetera
PMT IES YOR AIEEE ONLI IE PG LO LAR EI ICL I GOLD IG SA, SB LOU

ee |

et REF PDT LF MALI ITAL FURIE APD et : PINION SALE Sot

2
&
=
q
{
ia
:
?
!

ig itn
a

PO AERA at

ene

XE DE

20

it unique were imparted to it by the physical attributes of
the locality, independent of the contributions or identity
of the individual producers it was perhaps proper for the
Seventh Circuit to treat the term “Pocohontas Coal” as
connoting a “single source”. This case, however, does not
stand as precedent for any holding contrary to that of the
Second Circuit in the instant case, since there is, of course,
no uniform quality inherent in dresses or other wearing
apparel merely because the manufacturer happens to be
located in California,

Appellants also rely on the Grand Rapids Furniture case,
supra. Neither the opinion nor the briefs in that case dis.
cuss the question here presented. In that case twenty-five
plaintiffs, all manufacturers of furniture which conformed
to uniformly high standards of quality and enjoyed many
years of public approval, sought to enjoin the defendants
from using the name “Grand Rapids Furniture Company”.
No aflidavits were filed in support of or in opposition to
the motion. The defendant moved to strike the complaint
solely on jurisdictional grounds. The sole question dis-
cussed by the court in detail was whether in a class suit,
the individual party plaintiffs could aggregate the value
of their claims in order to satisfy the jurisdictional require-
ment. Neither the Coplay nor the Mosler cases were cited
nor the principle here involved discussed in the briefs or by
the court. The decision of the Second Circuit in the in-
stant case cannot conceivably be viewed as in conflict “on
the same maiter” with a decision wherein the issues herein
involved were neither raised nor discussed. (Rules of the
United States Supreme Court, $38 (5) (a).)

Whether the eases cited by the petitioners can be con-
sidered to have legal vitality in the face of the decision
of this court in the JWosler case is extremely doubtful, but
even if suel vitality be conceded, arguendo, their limited
holdings form no basis of conflict with the decision of the
Cireuit Court in the instant case.

Judge Clark, writing for the majority in this case, did
not consider these cases to be in conflict with his decision,

4

:

b

9] ;

:

but rather, properly treated them as sui generis exceptions * f

to the well-established. requirement of “single source” :

whose extension to encompass the instant case was required ‘

neither by logie nor law (C. C. A. Opinion, fols. 403, 404). :
As Judge Clark pointed out, the logic of the cases cited
hy petitioners, involving small identifiable groups of manu-
facturers, producing goods having a close and obvious con-

nection with the locality either because of the qualities ‘

imparted to the goods by the locality or because of a stand- ;

ardization of quality imposed by and adhered to by all
the producers in that locality, cannot be extended to cover
a case involving a large unidentifiable group of manufac-
turers, encompassing an entire state, manufacturing di-
verse forms of apparel for both men and women from te
jewelry through under and outer garments, to hats, which
goods have no apparent connection to the locality in which
they are made and which concededly meet no fixed standard ?
of quality or grading (C. C. A. Opinion, fol. 405).*
The difference in degree between the situation upon
which petitioners’ claim for protection in this case is based
and the factual situation in the cases relied on by petition-
ers is obviously so great that no real basis for a claim of
conflict exists. As Justice Holmes frequently reiterated,
differences of law are often based on differences of de-
gree. (Holmes, J., in LeRoy Fibre Co. v. Chicago, Mil-
waukee & St. Paul Railway Co., 232 U.S. 340, 354 (1913) ;
Haddock v. Haddock, 201 U.S. 562, 631 (1905).

*This distinction between small identifiable groups and large
amorphous groups has been recognized in the law of libel (in some
respects cognate to unfair competition), where as an exception to the
general rule that the libel must refer to an identifiable person, the
courts have permitted the action to be maintained where the libel
referred to a small identifiable group. Note, (1947) 47 Columbia Law
Review, 598, 599. However, this exception was not extended to cover
a case where it was charged that the libel related to citizens of the
entire State of California. See American Civil Liberties Union v.
Kiely, 40 F. (2d) 451 (C. C. A. 2d, 1930).

are eg

pana TEX

SE NK, ORE NA TINE EEN CIEE ENR SADT OAT GOI: FL CLG IE ELL ALES ANANSI Y Pel

22

POINT III

Even if there is a conflict of Circuits on the substantive
law of unfair competition, such conflict cannot be
resolved by this court since under the doctrine of Erie
v. Tompkins local law governs unfair competition.

This case involves solely a question of common law
unfair competition. In Pecheur Lozenge Co., Inc. v. Na-
tional Candy Co., Inc., 315 U. S. 666 (1941), this court
held that under the doctrine of Erie Railroad Company vy.
Tompkins, 304 U. S. 64 (1937), questions of unfair com-
petition were governed by the local law of the states. (To
the same effeet is Addressoqraph-Multigraph Corp. y.
American Eapansion Bolt & Mfg. Co., 124 F. (2d) 706
(C. C. A. 7th, 1941), cert.den. 316 U.S. 685 (1942).) Sinee
local law, rather than federal law, governs substantive
questions in the field of unfair competition it is inaccurate
to refer to divergent Cireuit Court opinions in this field as
involving conflicts in federal law.

The Second Cireuit Court of Appeals recognized the ap-
plicability of the Pecheur doctrine to the instant case and
utilized federal precedent only as a guide to state law,
stating, “While ‘most of the issues in this case involved
questions of common law’, we feel we should say, wit!
Justice Brandeis in a similar situation, Kellogg Co. v. Na-
tional Biscuit Co., 305 U.S. 111, 115, n. 1: ‘but no clain
has been made that the local law is any different from
the general law on the subject, and both parties have relied
almost entirely on federal precedent’ ” (C. C. A. Opinion,
fol. 402, n. 5). It should also be noted that in the Gran/
Rapids Furniture Co. case (the only case cited by peti-
tioners decided subsequent to Erie v. Tompkins), there
was precedent in the local law of the State of Michigan
for the action taken although not cited or discussed. See
Furniture Manufacturers Ass'n of Grand Rapids vy. Grand
Rapids Guild of Exhibitors, 268 Mich. 685 (1934). Thus,

LR ODS RNR PME eee c OR

9
23

even if it were conceded that the holding of the Second
(irenit in the instant case conflicts with the decision of the
Seventh Cireuit in the Grand Rapids case, this conflict can
he properly viewed as merely a conflict between the state
courts of New York and Michigan, a conflict which this
court has no duty or authority to resolve.

Even if it be conceded, arguendo, that the decisions of
the Second Circuit in the instant case and of the Seventh
Cireuit in the cases cited by petitioners are conflicting appli-
‘ations of federal law, a decision by this court would nof
resolve that conflict for future cases. Since, in future liti-
gation involving the matters here presented the Cireuit
Courts, under the doctrine of the Pecheur case, are required
to follow local law, no decision by this court contrary to
local law would be binding either on the state courts or the
Circuit Courts. See Addressograph-Multigraph Corp. v.
American Expansion Bolt & Mfq. Co., supra.

As was stated by this court in Ruldin v. New York Life
lus. Co., 304 U.S. 202, 206 (1937) :

“As to questions controlled by state law, however,
conflict among circuits is not of itself a reason for
granting a writ of certiorari. The conflict may be
merely corollary to a permissible difference of opinion
in the state courts * * *.

No decision at the present time could reconcile any
‘conflict of circuits’ or do more than enunciate a tenta-
tive rule to guide particular federal courts. There-
fore, even assuming that it is adequately presented
on the record, we decline to decide the issue of state
law.”*

*The only reason that the writ of certiorari issued in the Ruhlin
case was not dismissed as improvidently granted was because ‘“‘the
question in the case was regarded below, both by courts and by coun-
sel [prior to the decision in Erie v. Tompkins] as one of ‘general’
or ‘iederal law’ * (pp. 206, 207). In the instant case, Judge Clark
clearly regarded local law as controlling but since neither party
claimed that the local law in any way differed from federal precedent,
he looked to federal cases merely as guides to the local law (C. C. A.
Opinion, fol. 402, n. 5).

r

aX

aeeee

PROT TIPPL?

EA REE I OOM NE aN TIS SB EASA BENE YAN LAS PRT NENT: gS PPE I ITE SR DRE EN RS OS SE RAT ate Fr

24

POINT IV

The Circuit Court’s decision does not conflict with
any other Circuit Court or this court as to the proper
application of Rule 56 F. R. C. P.

E |
H

Petitioners’ contention that the views of the Circuit
Court in this case as to the proper application of the sum-
mary judgment rule conflict with its own prior decisions,
and decisions in this court and other circuits is, like Don
Quixote’s tilts with windmills, an attempt to find dispute
where none in reality exists. It would serve no purpose
to review in detail the Circuit and Supreme Court decisions
cited by petitioners which are allegedly in conflict with the
views of the Second Circuit in the instant case. Suffice it
to say that all these cases merely stand for the proposition
that it is erroneous to grant summary judgment where
there is a genuine dispute as to material facts. This propo-
sition was not denied by the Second Cireuit in this case.
Respondent, in its briefs and arguments below, took the
position, which it maintains, that as matter of law, on the
undisputed facts, petitioners have no case.

The cases cited by petitioners, and the decision of the
Cireuit Court below, all affirm the proposition that where
there is no genuine dispute as to any material facts and
where on the basis of the conceded facts one party is en-
titled to judgment as a matter of law, the vranting of
summary judgment is not only proper but called for. (See
e.g. Associated Press v. U. S., 326 U.S. 1, 16 (1944) ; Toebel-
man v. Missouri-Kansas Pipe Line Co., 130 F. (2d) 1016,
1018 (C. C. A. 3d, 1942); Whitaker v. Coleman, 115 F. (2d)
305, 306 (C. C. A. Sth, 1940); M. Snower & Co. v. U. S., 140
I’, (2d) 367, 369 (C. C. A. 7th, 1944); Engl v. Aetna Life
Ins. Co,, 189 F. (2d) 469, 472, 473 (C. C. A. 2d, 1948):
; Bushwick-Decatur Motors v. Ford Motor Co., 116 F. (2d)
675, 679 (C. C. A. 2d, 1940) ; Fletcher v. Evening Slar News-
paper Co.,, 133 F. (2d) 395 (App. D. C., 1942), cert. den. 319
U.S. 755 (1943); 3 Moore, Federal Practice 3175 (1938).)

NE SA aaa OSE oe PARAS ACh,

ee ea X z EE CTI

25

Petitioners, in their petition and brief, enumerate the
allegedly “disputed facts”. These “facts” are in substance
whether “California” or “Californian”, as used by these
7) petitioners in common with several thousand other Cali-
fornia. manufacturers, possess secondary significance;
whether respondent’s practices are deceptive; and whether
petitioners have suffered loss by reason of such practices.
These are false issues since, on the basis of conceded facts.
petitioners, as a matter of law, have no exclusive property
right in and cannot show any secondary meaning in the
names “California” or “Californian” (Point I B, supra),
and since, as a matter of law, the requirement of “single ;
source” as expounded in the Mosler case, and the estab- &
lished substantive law on which the doctrine of that case
is founded, is absent. It follows that petitioners cannot
show any “ascertainable loss” (L. Hand., J., in Mosler ease,
supra, at p. 603) and hence petitioners have no case, what-
ever collateral factual disputes appear on the record.

Indeed, under the theory of the Mosler case, judgment
of dismissal on bill and answer without any affidavits would
have heen proper in this case. This was the procedure
under which the bill was dismissed by this court in the
Mosler case.

The alleged dispute as to whether respondent's label did
or is likely to deceive the public is legally immaterial in
the absence of any property right in the petitioners in the
names involved. In Fashion Originators’ Guild v. F. T. C..
312 U.S. 457 (1940), aff’g 114 F. (2d) 80 (C. C. A. 2d, 1940),
a similar group of manufacturers, producers of dress and
textile patterns claimed to be of “original and distinctive”
design, sought to stop alleged “style piracy’. Both this
court and the Cireuit Court held that in the absence of
copyright or patent protection no exclusive right to the
designs resided in the plaintiffs and hence the question of
Whether or not “piracy” existed, while presenting a ques-
tion of ethics for legislative consideration, was legally
insignificant. (See also, Cheney Bros. y. Doris Silk Corp.,
38) F. (2d) 279 (C. C. A. 2d, 1929), cert. den. 281 U.S, 728
(1930).)

Pat LR SELES LEE NINE LES ,

FEELERS a ee kT |

Rat IMPERIAL MEDI IE, HET MLI NG NET LER CEPT MOIR LAN EAA AI DN REA GES OPN, PR RS —

26

In connection with petitioners’ charge of “piracy” * it js
significant to note that during the many months that this
action was pending before the District Court, petitioners did
not cite a single instance of deception of any retailer (who

3 of course knows the source of his vendors’ goods) or of any
‘ member of the public by Cortley’s label or any likelihood
é thereof. The absence of proof can he accounted for hy
i the fact that deception was impossible since whenever the
; brand name “Cortley” was used by respondent, it was
i always qualified by a legend indicating the place of origin
a to he New York, a practice approved by both this court
4 and the l’ederal Trade Commission. (See Jacob Siegel y.
- hr. 7. C., 90 L. led. 697 (U.S. 1945); Canadian Ale ease,

3 I. T. C. Release, week ended April 13, 1946; Modified Order
; No. 4572, April 9, 1946; 3 C. C. H. Trade Reg. {| 13,337.)

Petitioners argue that summary judgment should not
he granted in unfair competition actions. The learned
judge writing the dissenting opinion below appears to give
some support to this view and in this respect refers to
actions under Anti-Trust Acts as analogous. However,
this court in Associated Press v. U. S., 326 U.S. 1 (1944).
suit for injunction under the Anti-Trust Laws, approved
the granting of summary judgment, affirming the decision
of Judge Learned Hand below (52 F. Supp. 362 (S. D.
N. Y., 1948). There is nothing in Rule 56 F. R. C. P.
restricting summary judgment to certain types of actions
(3 Moore, Federal Practice, p. 3177). The wide range of
eases in which this and other courts have approved the
granting of summary judgment is illustrated by the fol-
lowing cases:

National Broadcasting Co., Inc. v. U. S., 319 U.S.

190 (1942) (Validity of Chain Broadcasting Regu-
lations) ;

* Although the Federal Trade Commission investigated Cortley’s

label and advertising, presumably on complaint of petitioner, Cali-
fornia Sportswear Company, before this suit, no complaint by the

Commission issued (D. C. fols. 840-842).

—eEEo7_7~—" se Ra UL NO ie ey TREE NT 6 EMELINE HAT OIE AR EIEN, OPE ITED 5 Rp tie te cnn |

27

Melcor Steel Co. v. George A. Fuller Co., 316 U.S. :
143 (1941) (Patent Infringement) ;

Fidelity & Deposit Co. of Maryland v. U. S., 187
U.S. 315 (1902) (Action on a Bond);

See cases cited in Clark, Summary Judgments, A
Proposed Rule of Court, 2 F. R. D. 364, 367.

Of course, where there is a substantial issue of material
fact to be tried it should be tried in any type of case. But
if stripped of extraneous matter there is no real issue on
a material question of fact, summary judgment should he
awarded. The timid judge who puts off the decision to a
igter trial where there is only a question of law to decide
voverned by a controlling precedent of this court, because
confused by immaterial averments, fails in his clear duty—
clogs calendars at the expense of litigants who are com-
pelled to engage in useless and costly preparation involving
the taking of depositions on immaterial matters, perhaps
all over the country (as was threatened in this case, D. C.
fols. 887, S88), and to suffer needless delays. It was these
evils that the remedy of summary judgment was designed
to cure and the remedy was especially appropriate to this
case,

POINT V

This case does not present a federal question. More-
over, the questions here presented have been made
moot by the new trade mark law (Lanham Act).

A. The law of unfair competition is governed by local law.

Petitioners contend that the substantive questions of
law involved in this ease have never been decided by this
court. If any questions of federal law are involved, those
questions have been decided by this court in the Mosler
and other cases cited in Point I of this brief. However,
as previously discussed (Point I1), under the doctrine of

eux:

© POTD COE IB BLEED ADI eee I:

ae) Om tieue
wn ile. se

Oe ne

oe er

9g

-.

Erie v. Tompkins, as applied to the field of unfair competi-
tion by Pecheur Lozenge Co., Inc. v. National Candy Co.,
Inc., 315 U. S. 666 (1941), the substantive questions of law
here involved are governed by the local law of the states
rather than by any general federal law.

B. All future questions of the nature presented herein will
be governed by the Lanham Act, and as a result, the de.
cision in this case as a precedent is moot.

Petitioners allude to the recently enacted Lanham Act
(Public Law 489, Chap. 540; 15 U. S. C. A, §§ 1051
et seq.) in support of their contention that an important
federal question is involved in this case. As_ petition.
ers properly concede, the Lanham Act has no retroae-
tive application to the instant case (Petitioners’ Brief,
p. 18). The impact of that statute on the doctrine of
Brie v. Tompkins and on the substantive rights of parties
in the position of petitioners awaits elucidation by this court
in appropriate cases arising under the Act in the future.
If, as petitioners contend, the Act gives to persons in the
status of petitioners suing as a group in a class action a
civil eause of action in the situation presented by this ease,
then the Act operates to change the existing common law.
The testimony before the Committee on Patents, prior to
the passage of the Lanham Act, indicates the general! wnder-
standing that regional marks, could not, prior to the effee-
tive date of the Act, be protected by civil action and that
the only remedy for misuse thereof is through the Federal!
Trade Commission. Committee on Patents, Subcommittee
on Trade-Marks, 75th Cong., 3rd Sess. on H. R. 9041 (1941),
at pp. 44, 194.

If it be conceded, in accord with petitioners’ contentions.
that the Lanham Act through its provisions for regional
marks (15 U.S. C. A. § 1054) and civil actions for misrep-
resentation of origin (15 U. S. C. A. § 1125) provides
persons in the position of the petitioners with the rem-
edies heretofore denied by the common law, this fact only

a?

pm

demonstrates that the issues involved in this case have be-
come moot as far as future litigation is concerned and of
interest solely to the instant parties. (See District of Co-
lumbia v. Sweeney, 310 U.S. 631 (1939).) The fact that a
litigation may have received considerable trade publicity
for advertising or other purposes (D. C. fols. 333, 334) or
the fact that this discussion may prove of interest in trade
discussions or that an attorney-general files a brief affirm-
ing the superiority of products made in his state (instead
of seeking redress of the F.T.C. created to protect against
public injury) does not give that issue in a private litiga-
tion the public interest contemplated as requisite for the
issue of a writ of certiorari. Boskey, Mechanics of Su-
preme Court Certiorari Jurisdiction, (1946) 46 Columbia
Law Review 255, 256. As has been frequently reiterated,
the writ of certiorari is designed to enable the Supreme
Court to settle principles of law when decision of such
questions is of importance to the public as distinguished
from the parties. This jurisdiction was not conferred
merely to settle private disputes or to give the party de-
feated helow another hearing. Layne & Bowler Corp. v.
Western Well Works, 261 U. S. 387, 393 ( 1922); Robertson
and Kirkham, Jurisdiction of the Supreme Court of the
United States (1936) 282.

29

CONCLUSION

The extent of the petitioners’ claims in the instant case
are symptomatic of the recent attempts to pervert the law
of unfair competition into a tool for the fostering of monop-
oly and restriction of desirable competition. See Zlinkoff.
Monopoly v. Competition: Siqnificant Trends in Patent.
Anti-Trust, Trademark, and Unfair Competition Suits,
(1944) 53 Yale L. J. 514: Borchardt, Are Trade-Marks an
Anti-Trust Problem?, (1943) 31 Georgetown L. J. 245. It
has only been through the unceasing vigilance of this and

TRE AM LPNY | A

"

i“

aes

ate A

I Snide ik ALN

Vet AAP MR tie Te BGI

30

other courts that this attempt has not as yet succeeded, at
least not as the result of decisions by the courts. See
Zlinkoff, supra, at pp. 531-536; Fashion Originators’ Guild
v. F.T.C., 312 U. S. 457 (1940); Eastern Wine Corp. y.
Winslow Warren Ltd., 137 F. (2d) 955, 957-959 (C. C. A. 2¢,
1943), cert. den. 320 U.S. 578 (1943).

Petitioners seek to obtain their name monopoly not
only by wholesale changes in the well-established princi-
ples of the law of unfair competition (Point 1, supra) but in
the whole field of business practices.* The learned dissent-
ing Judge below properly described unfair competition
actions as complex. They involve as between a single plain-
tiff and defendant such issues as single source, prior use,
and other matters usually relevant in unfair competition
cases. In this case, petitioners, representing a powerful
trade association striving for a name monopoly, seek to
foree a New York manufacturer into the considerable ex-
pense of a trial conceivably involving multitadinous issues
on immaterial matters relating to the affairs and name
usage of not one but seventy-five plaintiffs (and thousands
of other manufacturers who can conceivably intervene).
Where on well-settled principles it is plain that the action
cannot be maintained and where trial of false and imma-
terial issues requiring burdensome expense could readily
“break” a selected small defendant manufacturer, “the
action is of precisely the sort which a motion for sun-
inary judgment was intended to nip in the bud” (Judge
Learned Hand in United States v. Bausch and Lomb Opti-
cal Co., 131 F. (2d) 545 (C. C. A. 2d, 1942), aff'd 320 U.S.
711 (1943)).

* As was stated by Judge Clark in the opinion below, “‘The extent
of the change in business practice which a plaintiffs’ judgment might
forecast may be suggested by an examination of any city directory
showing the widely prevalent usage of state and city names by busi-
ness houses. Thus, the New York City telephone directory has
seemingly countless such cases, including 40 or more involving Cali-

fornia” (C. C. A. Opinion, fol. 399).

31

Wherefore, respondent, Cortley Shirt Company, Inc., re-
snectfully prays that the Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Cireuit Court of Appeals for the Sec-
ond Cireuit be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

Leon LAUTERSTEIN,
Lauterstein, Spiller & Brown,
Attorneys for Respondent
Cortley Shirt Company, Inc.,
15 William Street,
New York, N. Y.

Of Counsel:
Jacop L. Isaacs.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386416_1383%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
