# Opposition Brief — Texas & Pacific Railway Co. v. St. Louis Southwestern Railway Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386416_0949%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1947
- **Citation:** 330 U.S. 825

## Text

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES.

OCTOBER TERM, 1946,

THE TEXAS AND PACIFIC RAILWAY >
COMPANY,
Petitioner,

* No. 907.

ST. LOUIS SOUTHWESTERN RAIL-
WAY COMPANY, Debtor,

Respondent. J

RESPONDENT’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
To the United States Circuit Court of Appeals
for the Eighth Circuit.

/

\ A. H. KISKADDON,

OLIVER J. MILLER,

\. JACOB M. LASHLY,
Attorneys for Respondent.

LASHLY, LASHLY, MILLER & CLIFFORD,
Of Counsel.

February 7, 1947.

Sr. Louis Law Printtne Co., 415 North Eighth Street. CE ntral 4477.

INDEX
Page
CG - Ts asannscsescodpeiectecdiaceccckants 1
SS bs i445 wx'ds vedevudsdecevss cob eatecnst 2
SD NINE -ae.ve ceccwnakacdésabheetsnhanede 2
EES cu asaxaes cnevesens 6icu0ienasdedkesteainh 3
p PROTPTVET TTT ee TTT eer te 9

I.There is no conflict of decisions among the
circuits and the decision below is fully sup-
WONNNE Rat TOS ROGUE < faxiecacii esas Woeds 9

II. The decision below, which held the Arbitrators’
award to be valid and binding upon the parties,
is in accord with the weight of the authorities
and petitioner failed to show how said decision
is untenable and probably in conflict with the
State law as yet unannounced by the Supreme
SD Ge FN i hi Ks bcs cas Raseeeckucd vedi 18

III. No important question of federal law is in issue. 25

Ce abcd i ven TRG ea Sete BAK 27
Cases Cited.
Atlantic Coastline v. B. & O. R. R. (D. C. Md., 1935),
Se Ge a FRED Re aS va Aab eee 4k ives nuked as 26
Campbell v. Campbell (1916), 44 App. D. C. 142, 242
ec Es Ps woo 0s we pan vation bas abreeiae 20
Columbia v. Canca Co. et al. (1903), 190 U. S. 524,
ee Ot LUNG. wikia sah We one wanewandhanaeeas us 21
Dickens v. Luke (Mo. App.—1928), 2 S. W. (2) 161,
i cht inan Gs echaeh kane edhsewanhs eonceiwee« euek ks 24

Grannopulos v. Pappas (1932), 80 Utah 442, 15 P.
ERE SEA ELIE 29

ii

Higgins-Wall-Dyer Co. v. City of St. Louis (1932),

331 Mo. 454, 53 S. W. (2d) 864, 866............++-- 24
Inglis v. Trickey et al. (1935), 172 Okla. 144, 45 |

(DA) 185, 187.6... cei eee c ence necc cen cvececcees 22
Jacob v. Pacific Export Lumber Co. (1931), 136 Or.

G22, 297 P. B48, B56... cece cen ee cc ecco eens 22
Mackay Radio & Telegraph Co. v. Radio Corp. (1939),

oe. SS eeeeeererererrrrerrt rrr errr 9

McCullough et al. v. Clinch-Mitchell Construction Co.
(C. C. A. 8, 1934), 71 F. (2d) 17, 22, cert. den. 293
oe 9 GFA SMe rrr rie 18, 20
Mutual Benefit Health & Acc. Assn. v. United Cas.
Co. (1944), 142 F. (2d) 390, 393, cert. den. 323

Pope Const. Co. v. State Highway Commission (1935),
337 Mo. 30, 84 S. W. (2d) 920, 921................ 24
Richardson & Sons, Ltd., v. Hedger Transportation
Corp. (C. C. A. 2, 1938), 98 F. (2d) 55, 57......... 18, 20
Ruhlin v. New York Life Ins. Co. (1938), 304 U.S. 202. 23

Wabash Railway Co. v. American Refrigerator Transit
Co. (C. C. A. 8, 1925), 7 F. (2d) 335, 351, cert. den.

ge ee Se TTT errr ee 18, 19
Williams v. Chicago, S. F. & L. Ry. Co. (1892), 112
ce € | | eS er reerrr Try re retry 24
Statutes Cited.
Federal Arbitration Act of Feb. 12, 1925, c. 213, Sec. 11,
Oe Wee, BU, © BG he Thin cn cic ccc cen esis cons 21, 22

Supreme Court Rule 38 (5) (b)............... 2c eee 26

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES.

OCTOBER TERM, 1946.

THE TEXAS AND PACIFIC RAILWAY )
COMPANY,
Petitioner,
= > No. 907,
ST. LOUIS SOUTHWESTERN RAIL-
WAY COMPANY, Debtor,

Respondent. 3

RESPONDENT’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
To the United States Circuit Court of Appeals
for the Eighth Circuit.

OPINIONS BELOW.

The Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order
of the United States District Court for the Eastern Divi-
sion of the Eastern Judicial District of Missouri dis-
missing the claim of petitioner are unreported, and are
found at page 575 of the Record herein. The opinion of
the United States Circuit Court of Appeals for the Eighth
Circuit affirming the decree below is also unreported as
yet, and is found at page 589 of the Record.

iia

JURISDICTION.

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered on
November 27, 1946 (Record page 589). Petition for re-
hearing was filed on December 9, 1946 (Record pages 601-
607), and denied on December 16, 1946 (Record page 609).
The petition for writ of certiorari was filed on January 17,
1947, and the jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under
Section 240 (a) of the Judicial Code as amended by the
Act of February 13, 1925, 28 U.S. C. A. 347.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED.

The only question presented here is whether respondent,
an intermediate carrier, is liable to petitioner, the initial
carrier, for certain proportions of a joint freight charge
claimed by petitioner for the transportation of crude petro-
leum over a through route from Wickett, Texas, to
Whiting, Indiana. Petitioner’s claim, which is grounded
on the alleged violation by respondent of certain Manda-
tory Freight Accounting Rules, formulated by the Railroad
Accounting Officers Association, was denied by the Inter-
line Freight Accounting Arbitration Committee and by
the Interline Freight Accounting Arbitration Appeal Com-
mittee. Petitioner challenges the award of the arbitrators,
which both the district and the appellate courts hold to be
conclusive of the issues and binding upon the parties.

All other questions formulated at pages 2 and 3 of the
petition are either merely academic and speculative, or are
otherwise wholly irrelevant to the case and to the issues
decided by the courts below.

_—

STATEMENT.

In the latter part of November, 1927, an oil field was
developed near Wickett, Ward County, Texas, a station
served by the Texas and Pacific Railway Company, herein-
after also referred to as petitioner. The crude oil was
to be refined in Whiting, Indiana, and petitioner was,
therefore, anxious to establish a through rate from Wickett
to Whiting, with the concurrence of all the connecting
railway lines (Record page 46 and Debtor’s Exhibit 3,
Record pages 416-417). Petitioner is the initial carrier
and operates a line of railroad from Wickett to Big Sandy,
Texas. The connecting carriers are: respondent and its
Texas subsidiary, which operate lines of railroad from
Big Sandy to St. Louis, Missouri, and East St. Louis,
Illinois; and the Alton Railroad Company, the Chicago &
Eastern Illinois Railroad Company, the Ilinois Central
Railroad Company, the Wabash Railroad Company, here-
inafter called ‘‘the Illinois trunk lines’’, which operate
lines of railroad from East St. Louis to Chicago junctions.
The terminating carrier is the Elgin, Joliet & Eastern
Railroad Company, which delivers the oil to the consignee,
the Standard Oil Company, at Whiting, Indiana, and
collects from it the freight charges (Stipulation of Facts,
Record pages 31-32; 173).

The through rate was established at 37¢ per 100 pounds
of crude oil, and was published in the Southwestern Lines’
Tariff 125-C, Suppl. No. 3, issued on November 17, 1927, and
effective on November 24, 1927 (Claimant’s Exhibit 1,
Record page 49). Respondent’s Joint Division Sheet No.
9828, also effective on November 24, 1927, allowed 6.5¢ of
the through rate of 37¢ to the lines north of East St,
Louis, and the balance to the lines south of East St. Louis
(Claimant’s Exhibit 15, Record page 87). The division of

—

the balance of 30.5¢ was established at 21.35¢, or 70%, to
petitioner, and 9.15¢, or 30%, to respondent and its Texas
subsidiary, in spite of the disproportion of this division
to the mileage haul (for a discussion of this disproportion,
see Record page 277). No question arises concerning the
aforesaid divisions under the 37¢ rate.

In March, 1928, petitioner began negotiations with re-
spondent for the reduction of the rate to 32.5¢ (Claimant’s
Exhibit 18, Record page 96). Respondent consented to
the publication of a through rate of 32.5¢ on condition
that it would continue to receive for itself and its sub-
sidiary the same division as before, namely, 9.1¢ (Claim-
ant’s Exhibit 19, Record page 96; Claimant’s Exhibit 20,
Record page 97; Stipulation of Facts, Record page 35—
bottom), thus leaving 16.9¢ for petitioner. The reduction
of the rate was not submitted for concurrence to the IIli-
nois lines, whose 6.5¢ division was not affected thereby
(Debtor’s Exhibit 12-A, Record page 419; Debtor’s Ex-
hibit 12-B, Record page 420).

The new through rate of 32.5¢ from Wickett, Texas, to
Whiting, Indiana, was published in respondent’s Tariff
No. 125-C, Suppl. No. 25, issued on August 9, 1928, and
effective September 18, 1928 (Stipulation, Record page 36;
Claimant’s Exhibit 5, Record page 57).

Prior to September 18, 1928, on which date the 32.5¢
rate was to come into effect, the railway lines operating
north of East St. Louis decided to raise their division from
6.5¢ to 10¢, effective August 15, 1928. Notice of this
change was given by the Illinois trunk lines on August 8,
1928 (Claimant’s Exhibit 26, Record page 120), and they
refused to recede from their position ‘‘despite the vigorous
protests of interested connecting carriers, including ap-
pellant [petitioner] and appellee [respondent]’’ (Opinion
Court of Appeals, Record pages 591-592; Record pages

a en

393-396; Debtor’s Exhibit 21, Record page 426), which
protests were also made to the Interstate Commerce Com-
mission (Claimant’s Exhibit 26-B, Record page 126;
Claimant’s Exhibit 26-A, Record page 125).

Since the Elgin, Joliet & Eastern, as terminating carrier,
collected the freight charges on all of the petroleum, the
Illinois trunk lines were able to enforce their demand for
10¢ by withholding that amount in settlements with
prior carriers. Neither respondent nor petitioner ever
received the division of the reduced rate which they in-
sisted lawfully accrued to them.

The first oil movement from Wickett to Whiting in-
volved in this suit, as to which the Illinois lines retained a
division of 10¢, took place on October 19, 1928. Respond-
ent had then the alternative either to charge the loss of
revenue entirely upon petitioner or to apportion said loss
between itself and petitioner.

Respondent’s agreement with petitioner allowed it an
arbitrary of 9.1¢ and not a percentage. Standing on the
literal terms of said agreement, respondent could have
retained its 9.1¢ and remitted the balance, namely 13.4¢
to petitioner (Record page 485, top). This is admitted
by petitioner’s accountant and witness Oliver (Record
page 344, top). Instead of taking this position and in
order to help petitioner, respondent converted the divi-
sion of 9.1¢ to respondent and of 16.9¢ to petitioner, into
percentages, resulting in 35% or 7.875¢ to respondent,
and 65%, or 14.625¢, to petitioner (Stipulation, Record
page 38). The difference between 14.625 per ewt. which
petitioner received for the period in question and what it
would have received had it been paid 16.9¢, amounts to
$64,424.46, and is the amount which petitioner seeks to
recover from respondent (Stipulation, Record page 38,
bottom).

—

It should be noted that the shipments in question moved
on what is known as ‘‘junction settlement’’, which is a
procedure for the collection of freight, and is authorized
as an alternative method to ‘‘through billing’ by the
Mandatory Freight Accounting Rules adopted and agreed
to by the major railroads of the United States, including
petitioner and respondent (Stipulation, Record page 32,
No. 3 and page 37, bottom; Opinion Court of Appeals,
Record page 593, bottom; page 594). In through billing,
a through interline waybill, issued by the original carrier
accompanies each shipment from origin to destination.
This through waybill shows, among other things, the
origin and destination of the shipment, consignor and
consignee, route of movement, the applicable rate and
and the information necessary to the apportionment of
revenue between connecting carriers. As it is provided
for by Mandatory Rule 118 (Record page 570), on ship-
ments moving on through billing, freight charges collect,
the destination carrier collects the charges from the con-
signee and accounts to prior earriers for their established
divisions of the applicable rate (Stipulation, No. 3, Record
pages 32-33; Opinion Court of Appeals, Record page 593).

On the junction settlement plan, which is the procedure
involved in the present suit,* when the shipments of
petitioner arrived at East St. Louis, respondent changed
the headings of their waybills, which read ‘‘to Whiting,
Indiana,”’ to read ‘‘to East St. Louis, Illinois’’, and the
headings reading ‘‘Consignee: Standard Oil Company
of Indiana’’ to read ‘‘Consignee: Standard Oil Company
of Indiana, Whiting, Indiana’”’ (Stipulation, No. 5, Record
pages 37-38). Thereafter, the Illinois trunk lines issued
new waybills for the transportation from East St. Louis
to Whiting.

* This suit concerns merely oil shipments moving on “junction settle-
ment,” and covers the period October 19, 1928, until December 27, 1929,
when “through billing” was established (Stipulation, Record page 38;
Record page 482).

—

= re

This method permitted cash settlements to be made
with the Illinois lines at the close of each week’s business
and enabled respondent and petitioner to receive their
proportion of the revenue thirty days sooner than under
through billing.

Respondent had been operating under the “junction
settlement” plan since March 1, 1920, when it came out of
federal control after the first World War, without capital
or government guarantee (Record page 482). Petitioner,
which was perfectly aware of this practice when it nego-
tiated for and routed these shipments over respondent’s
line and accepted this procedure at the time upon re-
spondent’s avowed intention to maintain same (Debtor’s
Exhibit 34, Record page 494; Debtor’s Exhibit 35-A,
Record page 495; Debtor’s Exhibit 36-A, Record page 497),
is not justified now in charging that respondent “failed
to follow the shipping instructions” of petitioner (Peti-
tion, page 5), as if by so doing respondent were commit-
ting wrong or failing to live up to contractual obligations.

Cash settlements between respondent and the Illinois
trunk lines at East St. Louis were accomplished in the
following manner as provided by the Mandatory Rules,
135 ff. (Record pages 570-572). Respondent on delivering
a shipment to an Illinois trunk line presented that carrie-
with a bill for that part of the joint rate chargeable to
the transportation from Wickett to East St. Louis. The
Illinois line receiving the shipment advanced to respond-
ent the charges accruing on the transportation from
Wickett to East St. Louis, and respondent remitted to
petitioner its division of the revenue (Record, page 405).
Elgin, Joliet & Eastern collected from consignee at des-
tination the full freight charge for the movement on the.
through rate from Wickett to Whiting (Record, page
173).

a wen

When the Illinois trunk lines started deducting 10 cents
on junction settlements, this created a disputed division
(Record page 486), and Freight Accounting Rule 143
(Record page 571) became applicable. This rule provides
as follows:

“The outbound carrier [Illinois lines] shall prepare
junction Settlement Sheets * * * In case of dis-
puted divisions, the settlements made by the outbound
carrier [Illinois lines] must be accepted by the in-
bound carrier [respondent] pending agreement by
traffic departments of interested carriers” (Record
pages 485-6).

This left no alternative to respondent, and shows the in-
accuracy of petitioner’s statement that respondent “acqui-
esced in the cut” (Petition, page 6).

Following the Procedure in Disagreements set forth in
the Mandatory Rules 272 ff. (Record pages 572-574), peti-
tioner instituted arbitration proceedings against respond-
ent, alleging that respondent was liable to petitioner for
violation of the Mandatory Rules. Both the Interline
Freight Arbitration Committee and the Interline Freight
Arbitration Appeal Committee found the issues in favor
of respondent, held that it had not violated any of the
Mandatory Interline Freight Accounting Rules and that
petitioner had no cause of action against respondent (Rec-
ord pages 265, 269, 273; on appeal, Record pages 226, 230,
233).

The tndings of the arbitration committees were upheld
both by the District (Record page 577) and by the Ap-
pellate Courts, which held that the award was final and
binding upon the parties (Record pages 597-600).

eR

ARGUMENT.

I. There Is no Conflict of Decisions Among the Circuits
and the Decision Below Is Fully Supported by the
Record.

1. This case involves no complicated issue. Petitioner
charges that respondent is liable to it for the alleged vio-
lation of certain Mandatory Rules. This issue has been
submitted by petitioner to two Freight Interline Arbitra-
tion Committees, which held that no mandatory rule had
been violated by respondent, and that petitioner had no
cause of action against respondent under the Rules. The
award has been upheld by two federal courts, and peti-
tioner now seeks certiorari to review their decisions,
alleging the great importance of the questions involved
here. Petitioner claims that ‘‘these questions are novel’’
(Petition page 12) and therefore is not alleging any con-
flict of decisions among circuit courts, but relies on the
importance of the case as the ground for the granting of
certiorari by this Court. Petitioner cites the case of
Mackay Radio and Telegraph Co. v. Radio Corp. (1939),
306 U. S. 86, 1. c. 89, as a case in which this Court granted
certiorari solely ‘‘because of the nature and importance
of the case’’ (Petition, page 13). Petitioner’s quotation
is not complete. This Court actually stated:

‘‘We granted certiorari, 305 U. S. 582, ante, 367,
59 S. Ct. 73, because of the nature and importance of
the case, on a petition which urged as grounds for its
allowance that validity and infringement of the Carter
patent were in doubt and that, as petitioner is the
only competitor of respondent in the business of world
wide public radio communication, further litigation,
resulting in conflict of decision among circuits, was
improbable.’’ (Our emphasis.)

oe a

In the present case no contention is made or could be
made by petitioner that conflict of decisions among cir-
cuits may not arise in the future. The Mandatory Rules |
are accepted and followed by the major railroads of the
United States, and cases concerning the Rules may arise
in any circuit of the United States.

9. Petitioner alleges that ‘‘the Court of Appeals has
wholly misconceived the effect of the decisions of these
Arbitration Committees’? (Petition, page 13). The con-
trary is true. Petitioner argues that Rule 118 (Record
page 570) requires the destination carrier to account for
the proper revenue, and that by using the ‘‘junction
settlement’? respondent ‘‘made itself the collecting car-
rier of that portion of the joint rate accruing up to East
St. Louis [and] therefore under the express terms of the
Rule * * * it is ‘responsible for the collection of the proper
revenue, and for the proper reporting to all roads in-
terested,’ ’’ irrespective of whether or not respondent col-
lected such revenue (Petition, pages 29, 7, 12 and 19).

Petitioner made, unsuccessfully, the same contention
before the Arbitrators as it is shown by the following
passage of its brief before the Arbitration Committee:

‘‘R. A. O. A. Mandatory Rules 79 and 73 provide
that statements of differences ‘if correct shall be
promptly embodied in a correction account by settling
carrier’. The St. Louis and Southwestern Railway by
its action in suppressing through billing became the
‘settling carrier’ and as such responsible under the
rules for the adjustment of Texas and Pacific Rail-
way statements of differences’ (Record page 324,
§ 20).

Petitioner’s present position is that the arbitrators did
not absolve respondent from liability under the Mandatory
Rules and that ‘‘they did not decide, as inadvertently

—

a

stated in the opinion below, that ‘neither Rule 118 or 79
had any application on the question before them * * * and
this without regard to ultimate decision of that dispute by
the courts and by the Commission’ (Record page 599)’’
(Petition, page 9).

The record shows beyond any shadow of a doubt that
} the contrary is true.

With specific reference to Rule 79, Arbitrator B. F.
Russell said:

**It is my opinion that there has been no violation
of Mandatory Rule 79, 1928 Procedure, and Mandatory
Rule 73, 1929 and subsequent Procedures’’ (Record
pages 263-264).

Similarly, Appeal Arbitrator K. W. Price stated:

‘*Question (2) * * * is its [respondent’s] refusal to
issue correction account covering the statements of
differences attached a violation of Mandatory Rule 79
(1928-1929) ?

‘‘Answer. No’’ (Record page 232).

Petitioner contends that the arbitrator’s award:

‘left open the further question of whether or not it
was respondent’s duty under established accounting
rules and practices to collect this illegal exaction from
the Illinois lines, and account to prior lines in ac-
cordance with their agreed divisions’’ (Petition, pages
13-14).

The record shows that such issue was discussed and de-
cided by the arbitrators in the very language in which
petitioner submitted it to them, as issue (e), namely:

‘In a case where a carrier makes delivery to a con-
nection at a junction point in junction settlement and
renders an incorrect interline settlement, because of
the fact that the connection has arbitrarily retained
excessive revenue, is the carrier making such incorrect

a <n

interline settlement responsible, under the rules, to
carriers up to junction point for correct accounting
and correct distribution of revenue, or must the
carriers up to the junction point proceed against the
carrier that has retained excessive revenue?”’ (Record
pages 266 (e), 271 (e); on appeal: pages 224, 227-8.)

This is the same issue which was presented by peti-
tioner’s claim in the District Court (Record pages 7, bot-
tom, and 8) and which is repeated here.

The arbitrators unanimously held that respondent was
not liable to petitioner on such or any other of the issues
presented, and that it had not violated any of the ap-
plicavle Mandatory Rules.

Arbitrator B. F. Russell said:

‘It is my decision that there was no violation of
mandatory interline freight accounting rules, and
that the Texas and Pacific have no cause of action
and must assume the arbitration fee of $15.00 in ac-
cordance with Rule 282, Jan. 1, 1936 Procedure’
(Record page 265).

Arbitrator F. J. Tague, upon whose decision petitioner
attempts to rely (see petition, page 9) actually concluded
his decision with the following words:

“Tt is my opinion that a violation of the Manda-
tory Interline Freight Accounting Rules has not been
made out and that the Texas and Pacific Railway
Company has no cause of action and must assume
the arbitration fee * * *’? (Record page 269).

Arbitrator E. N. Larson said:

‘Rule 139 of the 1929 procedure [same as Rule
143 of the 1928 procedure, Record page 571] provides
that in case of disputed divisions, the original settle-
ment made by the outbound carrier must be accepted,
pending agreement by traffic departments. * * * In

aa ee

my opinion this controversy appears to be a question
of disputed divisions between traffic departments, and
the Texas and Pacific Railway Company is without
cause of action and should assume the arbitration
fee * * *’’ (Record page 273).

On appeal the same results were reached by the Appeal
Arbitrators. Thus, H. V. Clemens, Appeal Arbitrator,
said:

‘*It is the decision of this Appeal Arbitrator that
the Texas & Pacific Ry. Co. has no cause of action
against the St. Louis Southwestern Ry. Co. under the
mandatory rules of this association and the Texas &
Pacific Ry. Co. should therefore assume the arbitra-
tion and appeal fees * * *’’ (Record page 230).

Similarly, K. W. Price, Appeal Arbitrator, concluded
that petitioner
‘‘has no cause of action against the St. Louis South-

western Railway Company under the mandatory
rules of this Association’’ (Record page 233).

Appeal Arbitrator, G. W. Streicher, stated:

‘‘T concur in the decision reached by Arbitrators
Price and Clemens that the Texas and Pacific Ry Co.
has no cause of action and should assume the arbitra-
tion and appeal fees * * *’’ (Record page 226).

Petitioner does not claim that the arbitrators were
wrong, and that their award should have been set aside
or corrected by the courts. Petitioner merely says that
the courts ‘‘wholly misconceived the effect of the de-
cisions of these Arbitration Committees’’ (Petition, page
13). The record reviewed above shows unmistakably that
the six arbitrators, all railroad experts, found that re-
spondent had not violated any one of the applicable
Mandatory Rules.

The findings of the District Court (Conclusion No. 3,
Record page 577), and of the Circuit Court of Appeals

Re ee ee es yee ery el i ee
ae

(Record pages 597-600) are irrefutably justified by the
record.

3. Petitioner states that

‘“The Arbitration Committee in this case did not by
interpretation limit in any way the obligations placed
on the waybill destination carrier by Rule 118 to
collect the proper revenue.”’ :

This is true, but not in the sense intended by petitioner.
The arbitrators did not limit, nor could they have limited,
the liability of the Elgin, Joliet and Eastern Railroad
Company as the terminating carrier under Rule 118, the
common law and statutory law, for the collection of the
freight and the apportionment of the proper revenue be-
tween the participating carriers. The Elgin, Joliet and
Eastern Railroad Company collected the money which
petitioner seeks, and, according to petitioner’s contention,
is illegally withheld. If so, there is nothing that prevents
petitioner from asserting its claim against the Elgin,
Joliet and Eastern Railroad Company.

This point was clearly made by Appeal Arbitrator
Streicher, who stated:

‘The responsibility rests with the settling carrier
[the Elgin, Joliet & Eastern R. Co.] to render a
correct settlement to other interested lines, and this
responsibility is not relieved because of the suppres-
sion of a through waybill at an intermediate point.
This point is clearly established under provisions of
Mandatory Rules Nos. 62 to 79, inclusive (1929 edi-
tion), and corresponding preceding and superceding
rules’? (Record page 225).

The same point was inade by the Circuit Court of Ap-
peals, which said:

‘<Tf¢ we concede for the argument that appellant is
correct in its contention that the lawful rate on crude

=

petroleum from Wickett to Whiting was 32.5 cents,
in which the Illinois Trunk Lines were bound by con-
tract with appellant and appellee to participate for
a division of 6.5 cents, a question which we do not
decide, it would seem that appellant’s remedy was
an action against the Elgin, Joliet & Eastern, the
carrier which collected all freight charges, for the
recovery of the lawful division of the established
rate’’ (Record page 592).

Nor did the arbitrators express any opinion as to the
action of the Illinois lines which were not even parties to the
arbitration proceedings, in withholding a larger propor-
tion of the revenue than originally agreed upon.

In the arbitration proceedings petitioner made the fol-
lowing contention:

‘‘The fact that Illinois Freight Association carriers
arbitrarily retained revenue based upon the forcible
imposition of an illegal division in no way mitigates
in favor of the St. Louis and Southwestern Railway in
its violation of the rules. The Texas and Pacific Rail-
way can properly look only to the St. Louis and
Southwestern Railway for redress under the manda-
tory rules. The St. Louis and Southwestern Railway
has had ample opportunity to contest the illegal action
of the Illinois lines and if it has failed to do so the
disability is of its own creation [sic]. The St. Louis
and Southwestern alone is answerable for the infrac-
tion of the rules here involved’’ (Record page 324).

As referred to above, the six arbitrators unanimously
held that respondent had not violated any of the applica-
ble Mandatory Rules, and that, under the Rules, respond-
ent is not liable to petitioner for the action of the Illinois
lines, upon which action the arbitrators refused to pass.

In its petition, Texas & Pacific quotes part of the deci-
sion of Arbitrator Price:

rs a a

— 1446—

«“* * * T agree with the unanimous decision of the
arbitrators, and it is the decision of this appeal arbi-
trator that while the Texas & Pacific Railway Com-
pany may have had the right to present the case to the
Interstate Commerce Commission, or may have legal
rights in court, it has no cause of action against the
St. Louis Southwestern Railway Company under the
mandatory rules of this Association. The Texas &
Pacific Railway Company should, therefore, assume
the arbitration and appeal fees in accordance with the
requirements of Mandatory Rule 300, effective Janu-
ary 1, 1936’’ (Petition page 14).

The suggestion of the arbitrators that petitioner may
have some rights which it may assert before the Interstate
Commerce Commission or the courts does not even imply
that such rights, if any, should be asserted against re-
spondent, and said rights seem rather to be those which
petitioner may assert against the Illinois lines which with-
held the revenue claimed by petitioner, or the Elgin, Joliet
& Eastern Railroad Company, the terminating carrier
which collected the freight.

Similarly, the district court expressly declined to rule
on the legality of the action of the Illinois trunk lines in
exacting increased divisions of the 32.5 cent rate (Conclu-
sion of Law No. 4, Record page 577). The Circuit Court of
Appeals affirmed that decision and held that, irrespective
of whether or not the division of the 32.5 cent rate in the
proportions of 6.5 cents to the Illinois lines and 26 cents to
petitioner and respondent, was a contract valid and bind-
ing upon the Tllinois lines, such contract neither expressly
nor impliedly made respondent liable to petitioner for
revenue not collected from the Illinois lines (Record pages
597-598).

This point is not answered by petitioner, which discusses
in detail why the Illinois lines had no right to retain a

ee a a CRN Wp er ch en ee :

—

larger revenue (Brief, pages 24-28), but fails to show why
respondent herein should be liable for such action of the
Illinois lines, except for respondent’s alleged liability as
a result of a claimed violation of the Mandatory Rules—
in the face and in spite of the arbitrators’ decision that no
Mandatory Rule has been breached by respondent.

Specifically, Appeal Arbitrator G. W. Streicher pointed
out in his decision that

‘“‘The division sheet called for distribution of a
specified sum of money and since the amount of
revenue received was not sufficient for distribution
strictly in accordance with the division sheet, it must
follow that division sheet was not applicable and the
settlement made by the StLSW Ry. Co. under Manda-
tory Rule 101 constituted a correct settlement. The
StLSW Ry. Co. cannot be held in violation of Rule 73
(1929 edition) by its refusal to accept and account
for statements of difference based on inapplicable

: divisions’’ (Record page 226).

The conclusion seems warranted that the authorities
quoted by petitioner as supporting the proposition that
‘‘where the arbitrators refuse to consider a claim because
they deem it not to be within their jurisdiction under the
submission, such claim may properly be made the basis of
an action’’ (Petition page 17), may be applicable to sus-
tain an action against the Elgin, Joliet & Eastern Railroad
Company or the Illinois lines, but not against respondent,
which the arbitrators found not to be liable under any of
the applicable Mandatory Rules.

== 18

II. The Decision Below, Which Held the Arbitrators’
Award to Be Valid and Binding Upon the Parties, Is in
Accord With the Weight of the Authorities and Peti-
tioner Failed to Show How Said Decision Is Untenable
and Probably in Conflict With the State Law as Yet
Unannounced by the Supreme Court of Missouri.

Petitioner claims that the ‘‘trial Court’s conclusion of
law No. 3 (Record page 577) to the effect that the award
of the Arbitration Committee adjudicated petitioner’s
rights under the rules is untenable, and the decision of the
Court of Appeals affirming that ruling is likewise un-
tenable’’ (Petition, pages 17-18). This contention amounts
to a challenge of the binding character of the award of the
arbitrators, which award petitioner sought in the first
place.

The Circuit Court of Appeals held that

‘‘Whether the arbitration committees were right
or wrong in their interpretation and application of
the Mandatory Freight Accounting Rules is no con-
cern of the courts. The controlling issue in the case
having been submitted to arbitration and decided, the
decision of the arbitrators is binding on the courts.
Wabash Railway Oo. v. American Refrigerator Transit
Co., 8 Cir. 7 F. 2d 335, 351; McCullough et al. v.
Clinch-Mitchell Construction Oo., 8 Cir., 71 F. 2d 17,
22; Richardson & Sons, Ltd. v. Hedger Transportation
Corp., 2 Cir., 98 F. 2d 55, 57’’ (Record pages 599-600).

It is submitted that the above authorities are in point
here, that they represent the applicable law, and that they
fully support the holding of the appellate court.

In the Wabash case, cited above, cert. den. 270 U. S. 648,
70 L. Ed. 776, the Cireuit Court for the Kighth Circuit
said, loc. cit. page 351:

—

‘‘ Arbitration is favored by the courts. It is a mode
of settling disputes less expensive and more expedi-
tious than court procedure. In these days of long
drawn out litigation and ever-increasing expense of
trial, it may well become a special favorite of the law.
Here were serious questions productive of litigation.
The parties entered into an agreement that they should
be considered and determined by an eminent and
learned lawyer. He did so, and rendered his decision.
The submission of the matter carried with it an im-
plied agreement to be bound thereby. There is no
claim made that the decision of the arbitrator was
the result of fraud, partiality, misfeasance, or palpable
mistake, resulting in an injustice to either party or
that the arbitrator went beyond the scope of the ques-
tions submitted. If the statements of fact of the
amended bill are to prevail, we see no reason why the
parties to the arbitration are not bound as to the
questions submitted to and determined by the arbi-
trator, and precluded from again agitating them. 2
Ruling Case Law, § 32, p. 386; Barnard v. Lancashire
Ins. Co., 101 F. 36, 41 C. C. A. 170; Burchell v. Marsh
et al., 17 How. 344, 15 L. Ed. 96; City of Omaha v.
Omaha Water Co., 218 U. S. 180, 30 S. Ct. 615, 54
L. Ed. 991, 48 L. R. A. (N. 8.) 1084; Toledo S, S. Co.
v. Zenith Transp. Co., 184 F. 391, 106 C. C. A. 501;
MecNees v. Ins. Co., 69 Mo. App. 232; Chippewa Lumber
Co. v. Phenix Ins. Co., 80 Mich. 116, 44 N. W. 1055;
Morse on Arbitration and Award, p. 293. See also,
extended note to Williams et al. v. Branning Manu-
facturing Co., 47 L. R. A. (N. 8.) 337, where a mass
of authorities is collected on the general subject.

‘Every reasonable intendment is indulged in favor
of such an award. Reedy v. Scott, 90 U. S. 352, 23
L. Ed. 109; Grant v. National Bank of Auburn (D. C.),
232 F. 201; Aetna Ins. Co. v. Hefferlin, 260 F. 695, 171
C. C. A. 433. Such arbitrations are recognized by the
laws of Missouri, the state where the agreement to
arbitrate was made. Ellison v. Weathers, 78 Mo. 115;
Murphy v. Northern British & Mercantile Co., 61 Mo.
App. 323.” (Emphasis ours.)

In the McCullough case, cited above cert. den. 293 U. S.
582, 79 L. Ed. 678, the same court said, loc. cit. page 22:

‘‘Where an award has been made and the matter is
how to make it effective, the law in the federal courts
is as follows: Where there is national or state legisla-
tion providing for legal enforcement of an award,
that will be done on the principle that such governs
the remedy to enforce a recognized right. Red Cross
Line v. Atlantic Fruit Co., 264 U. S. 109, 44 S. Ct. 274,
68 L. Ed. 582. Where there is no such statute, the
award will be given effect ‘in any appropriate pro-
ceeding at law, or in equity.’ Red Cross Line v.
Atlantic Fruit Co., 264 U. S. 109, 121, 44 S. Ct. 274,
276, 68 L. Ed. 582, and see Bayne v. Morris, 1 Will.
97, 17 L. Ed. 495; Burchell v. Marsh, 17 How. 344, 15
L. Ed. 96; Karthans v. Ferrer, 1 Pet. 222, 7 L. Ed. 121;
Davy v. Faro, 7 Crouch 171, 3 L. Ed. 305.’’

In the Richardson case, cited above, the Circuit Court
of Appeals for the Second Circuit held as follows, loc. cit.

page 57:

“This Court is without power to amend or overrule
merely because of disagreement with matters of law
or facts determined by the arbitrators. The Hart-
bridge, 2 Cir., 62 Fed. 72. Their award is final and
binding. Columbia v. Canca Co., 190 U. S. 524, 23 S.
Ct. 704, 47 L. Ed. 1159; New York and Cumberland
Ry. Co. v. Myers, 18 How. 246, 59 U. S. 246, 15 L. Ed.
380; Burchell v. Marsh, 17 How. 344, 58 U. S. 344, 15
L. Ed. 96; Georgia and F. R. Co. v. Brotherhood of
Locomotive Engineers, 5 Cir., 217 F. 755; In re Wil-
kins, 169 N. Y. 494, 62 N. E. 575. There is no claim
here of fraud, corruption or misconduct affecting the
award.”

Similarly, the Circuit Court of Appeals for the District
of Columbia in Campbell v. Campbell, 44 App. D. C. 142
(1916), cert. den. 242 U. S. 642, 61 L. Ed. 542, stated that:

< o

“An award * * * valid on its face * * * until set
aside in a proper proceeding * * * has the force of
a judgment, and therefore became res adjudicata as
to all matters embraced in the submission * * * be-
tween the parties.” (Emphasis ours.)

See, also, the Circuit Court of Appeals for the First
Circuit in Mutual Benefit Health & Acc. Ass’n v. United
Cas. Co. (1944), 142 F. (2d) 390, 393, cert. den. 323 U. S.
721.

The question is not a novel one for this Court.

In Columbia v. Canca Co. et al. (1903), 190 U. S. 524,
530, 47 L. Ed. 1159, 1164, Justice Holmes, speaking for this
Court said:

“Tt is for us to determine the scope of the Commis-
sion [of arbitration], whatever may have been its own
finding with regard to its powers. But when its
powers are established we are not called upon to re-
vise any finding that could have been made without
going beyond the line which we lay down.”

Reference should also be made to the Federal Arbitra-
tion Act of 1925, 9 U.S. C. A. 11, which reads as follows:

“In either of the following cases the United States
Court in and for the district wherein the award was
made may make an order modifying or correcting the
award upon the application of any party to the arbi-
tration—

“(a) Where there was an evident material miscal-
culation of figures or an evident material mistake in
the description of any person, thing, or property re-
ferred to in the award.

“(b) Where the arbitrators have awarded upon a
matter not submitted to them, unless it is a matter not
affecting the merits of the decision upon the matter
submitted.

_—

“(¢) Where the award is imperfect in matter of
form not affecting the merits of the controversy.

“The order may modify and correct the award, so
as to effect the intent thereof and promote justice be-
tween the parties. Feb. 12, 1925, c. 213, § 11, 43 Stat.
885.”

It should be noted in this connection that petitioner
does not even attempt to claim that its contention is within
the permissible scope of the review authorized by the
statute.

The same law is affirmed in the various jurisdictions of
the Union. See the Supreme Court of Oregon in Jacob v.
Pacific Export Lumber Co. (1931), 136 Or. 622, 297 P. 848,
856:

“Every matter which was decided or could have
been presented to the arbitrator and decided in an
award comes within the rule of res judicata. Hooper
v. Pennick (102 Or. 382, 202 P. 743); First Nat. Bank
v. Buckland, 130 Or. 364, 280 P. 331, 332.”

The Jacob case was quoted with approval by the Su-
preme Court of Utah in Grannopulos v. Pappas (1932),
-80 Utah 442, 15 P. (2d) 353, 356.

See also, in accord, the Supreme Court of Oklahoma in
Inglis v. Trickey et al. (1935), 172 Okl. 144, 45 P. (2d)
135, 137, and authorities cited there.

Petitioner states “We submit that the opinion below
creates uncertainty and confusion” (Petition, page 18).
In view of the authorities quoted above, and of the bind-
ing character which should be conceded to the award, “un-
certainty and confusion” would have arisen should the
court below have set aside or disregarded the award of
the Interline Freight Accounting Committees.

= wa

Petitioner alleges as a ground for the granting of cer-
tiorari that

“The questions of local law involved in this case
are important, and the Circuit Court of Appeals has
decided them in a way that is untenable and there-
fore probably in conflict with the State law as yet
unannounced by the Supreme Court of Missouri.

. 2 * * . * «

«“* * * the Circuit Court of Appeals has decided
the question of petitioner’s legal right to hold re-
spondent responsible for the collection and account-
ing to it of its agreed division out of the joint rate,
and the question of the scope and effect of the deci
sions of the Arbitration Committees, in a way that
is untenable, and in conflict with agreed upon ac-
counting rules and practices, and in conflict with the
weight of authority. It cannot be assumed that the
Missouri Courts would so erroneously rule, and we say
therefore as did this court in Ruhlin v. New York
Life Insurance Company (Supra, 1. c. 206), ‘the de-
cision below was “probably untenable” and therefore
probably in conflict with the State law as yet unan-
nounced by the highest court of the State’ and cer-
tiorari should be granted.” (Petition page 20.)

To complete the quotation of this court’s decision in
the Ruhlin case, 304 U. S. 202, the following passage
should be added:

“No such showing [of conflict with local law] was at-
tempted by the petition” (Loc. cit. page 206).
It is submitted that no such showing is made by Texas &
Pacific in its petition. As the index of the petition readily
shows, not a single Missouri case, statute, textbook or
law review article is cited by petitioner in support of its
contention.

On the contrary, Missouri courts have decided cases in-
volving arbitration awards, and have held that the arbi-

— 24

trators’ decisions are final and binding upon the parties,
except for cases of fraud and similar matters which are
not involved in the present case.

In Higgins-Wall-Dyer Co. v. City of St. Louis (1932),
331 Mo. 454, 53 S. W. (2d) 864, 866, the Supreme Court
of Missouri stated as follows:

“‘Neither by the contract of submission to arbitra-
tion nor by the statutes is the Court given power to
review an award for errors of law. Unless there is
some reservation in the contract submitting a contro-
versy to arbitration the arbitrators are to pass upon
the whole controversy, including the law and the
facts and their decision as to each is final, binding
and conclusive.’ ”

See also Pope Const. Co. v. State Highway Commission
(1935), 337 Mo. 30, 84 S. W. (2d) 920, 921, in which the
Supreme Court of Missouri, referring to an arbitration
proceeding brought under the Missouri statutory provi-
sions, said:

‘From a reading of the foregoing sections of the
statute, it seems plain that the court is not authorized
to examine or review the evidence or determine
whether under the evidence the award is correct and
that it cannot go into or adjudicate the merits of the
controversy.’’

In Dickens v. Luke (1928), 2 S. W. (2d) 161, 162, the
Springfield Court of Appeals said:

‘‘Plaintiff went into the arbitration with his eyes
open and has received the fruits of the award. No
fraud or partiality is shown, and we find no ground
which would justify overturning the trial court’s
finding that plaintiff is precluded.”’

See also Williams v. Chicago, 8. F. & L. Ry. Co. (1892),
112 Mo. 463, 20 S. W. 631, 637.

a

From the foregoing the conclusion seems warranted that
the decision of the Circuit Court of Appeals is in accord
with the weight of authority as well as with local law.

III. No Important Question of Federal Law Is in Issue.

Petitioner contends that

‘*Questions 3 and 4 stated supra under the heading
‘Questions Presented’ involve an important question
of Federal law as to whether or not under the Act
to Regulate Commerce (49 U. S. C. A., Sec. 1, Par. 4
and Sec. 15, Par. 6), the Illinois Lines could legally
establish a division of 10¢ per cwt. by the method
they pursued in this case. Under point 1 of the argu-
ment in the supporting brief, we state the argument
against the right to so establish a division of a joint
rate. The opinion below refused to decide this ques-
tion (R. 597, 598).

‘‘The exact question here presented has not been
decided by this court. It involves an interpretation
of the above sections and paragraphs of the Act to
Regulate Commerce which is, of course, a Federal
question. The correct decision of this question is a
matter of great importance to all railroads whose
rates and divisions are subject to Federal regulation
and we submit certiorari should be granted’’ (Peti-
tion page 21).

The question is merely academic and it is not therefore
properly before this Court. The Arbitrators, the District
Court and the Circuit Court of Appeals have all unani-
mously held that the issue of the legality of the action of
the Illinois lines in withholding a greater proportion of
the revenue was not relevant and material to the decision
of the present case, and that no liability could be fastened
on respondent for the said action of the Illinois lines. The
point has already been discussed in this brief, supra, and
the fact that the Circuit Court of Appeals held the issue

iss

immaterial (Record pages 598-599) does not seem to call
for the exercise of the extraordinary remedial powers of
certiorari which are invoked on the theory that the Circuit
Court has ‘‘decided an important question of Federal law
which has not been, but should be, settled by this Court’’
[Supreme Court Rule 38 (5) (b)].

Petitioner does not contend that under the common law
or statutes, it was the duty of the respondent to sue the
E. J. & E. It could not support that by any decisions,
and it appears obviously untenable that one intermediate
carrier should be obliged to sue for a proportion of the
through rate of another carrier, from a terminal carrier,
when the originating carrier has a well established legal
right, both under the statutes and at common law, to sue
and collect from such terminating carrier who alone has
collected its money and who alone holds it. And this is
true regardless of ‘‘junction settlements’’ which might
have been used by the intermediate carriers. This is
what equity would demand.

In the case of Atlantic Coast Line v. B. & 0. R. R. (1935),
12 F. Supp. 711, the United States Court for the Seventh
District said that it made no difference in the right to
sue that the terminating carrier already paid a part of
the rate to a connecting carrier. The Court said:

‘the defendant [terminating carrier] has not paid
to the plaintiff [originating carrier] the fair division
to which it is entitled. And this is true whether the
defendant in fact has overpaid the R. F. & P. [inter-
mediate carrier] or not. Even if it has, that would
be no justification for withholding from plaintiff the
amount to which it is fairly entitled. The plaintiff
at no time assented to the division which was made
by the defendant on its own initiative and responsi-
bility. * * * For that reason the motion to dismiss
the bill must be overruled’? (1. ¢. p. 720).

_—

sine

In other words, the originating carrier may sue the ter-
minating carrier regardless of payment to an intermediate
carrier if the amount paid is not the fair percentage.

CONCLUSION.

The decisions below are correct; there is no conflict;
and the case does not present any important question of
federal law requiring further review by this Court. The
petition for writ of certiorari should therefore be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

A. H. KISKADDON,

OLIVER J. MILLER,

JACOB M. LASHLY,
Attorneys for Respondent.

LASHLY, LASHLY, MILLER & CLIFFORD,
Of Counsel.

February 7, 1947.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386416_0949%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
