# Opposition Brief — Barnes v. Maryland

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386416_0771%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1946
- **Citation:** 329 U.S. 754

## Text

SEP 10 1946
CHARLES ELMORE

In THE
Supreme Court of the United

OcrTosEeR TERM, 1946

No. 390

nh

Petitioner,

JACK LESTER BARNES,

vs.

STATE OF MARYLAND,
Respondent.

On PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE COURT OF
APPEALS OF THE STATE OF MARYLAND.

BRIEF AND APPENDIX FOR THE RESPONDENT IN
OPPOSITION TO THE PETITION FOR
WRIT OF CERTIORARI.

| WILLIAM CURRAN,
Attorney General of Maryland,
HALL HAMMOND,
Deputy Attorney General
of Maryland,
J. EDGAR HARVEY,
Assistant Attorney General
of Maryland,
T. BARTON HARRINCUTON,
Assistant Attorney General
of Maryland,
Counsel for Respondent,
1901 Balto. Trust Building,
Baltimore 2, Maryland

The Daily Record Co., Baltimore 3, Md.

I.

II.

III.

INDEX

A federal question was not raised in the
oc. ssh catasaninnsnudbpicigitnabenh tae

The construction of Article 10 of the Com-
pact of 1785 between the States of Maryland
and Virginia does not involve a federal
TIER ne cence cnnssink yswacehenhpccteasniucianediaaiocnsoennnoclen

Article 10 of the Compact is not in full force
and effect and it became inoperative by the
Award of the Arbitrators in 1877, which was
confirmed by the General Assemblies of
Maryland and Virginia, establishing the
boundary line between the two States at the
low-water mark on the southern or Virginia
shore of the Potomac River........................ :

CONCLUSION ............. RELATE RO ar Rs Ea eT ;

Table of Cases Cited

Anderson v. Commonwealth, 100 Va. 860, 42 S. E.

865

Benin: Wu ay AIO ois. onic haectide cerns
Binney’s case—2 Bland 99, 126...................ccceees
Biscoe v. Btnte, GB BEG. TOG ............c in nccnnie

Chastelton Corp. v. Sinclair, 264 U. S. 543, 68 L. ed.
Be I MI IIR iss ccsitisscortansinxansdincasastenanrastsanscepntatotans

1 RULES CP NERA ET

9-10

11-29

Se

ONT TONER Gon -

ii
PAGE
Commonwealth v. Gaines, 2 Va. Cas. 172..........0..0..... 27, 28
Bs Parte Marsh, S57 Fed. 710............................00006005 21, 24
Farewell v. Commonwealth, 167 Va. 475, 189 S. E.

RRTERSS ESERIES a ar aeRO ee eR 28
Great Northern Ry. Co. v. U. S., 315 U. S. 262, 86 L.

ee arene ee ere 27
Green v. Biddle, 8 Wheaton 1, 5 L. ed. 547.................... 9
Hamburg American S. S. Co. v. Grube, 196 U. S. 407,

On OE GR BP Gy Ge: ees... DA i. a. 9
Hendricks v. Commonwealth, 75 Va. 934.................... 24
Hinderlider v. La Plata R. & Cherry Creek D. Co.,

304 U. S. 92, 82 L. ed. 1202, 58 S. Ct. 803................ 10
Marlatt v. Silk, 11 Pet. 1, 9 L. ed. 609.2000... 9

Marine R. & C. Co. v. U. S., 257 U. S. 47, 66 L. ed. 124 17
Maryland v. West Virginia, 217 U.S. 1, 54 L. ed. 645. 17
Maryland v. West Virginia, 217 U. S. 577, 54 L. ed.

a esa ckantnmciche 17
Middlekaufi v. Le Compte, 149 Md. 621........................ 20
Morris v. U. S., 174 U. S. 196, 43 L. ed. 946.00. 17
Nashville, etc., Ry. v. Walters, 294 U.S. 405, 79 L. ed.

ee csccmahatenhpninns 27

New York Central & Hudson R. R. R. Co. v. New
York, 186 U. S. 269, 46 L. ed. 1158, 22 S. Ct. 916.. 8

Strouther v. Commonwealth, 92 Va. 789, 22 S. E. 852,

A I I issn chien capuphtaanantinvininnsien 28
Thomas v. Iowa, 209 U. S_ 258, 52 L. ed. 782, 28 S. Ct.

ERCP AE. Sc SIREN BE ROR elitr Oo RI te tele ae 8
U. S. v. Carolene Products Co., 304 U. S. 144, 82 L.

OR BI a I sess csesainesscccastschecserssvsinne 27
U. S. v. Morris, 23 Wash. Law Rep. 549......00.0000000.00.... 17
Washington Airport, Inc. v. Smoot Sand & Gravel

a: He IND COMI ss suchsc claret lsahs Kin ccesieansens 15, 17, 18
Wharton v. Wise, 153 U. S. 155, 38 L. ed. 669................ 23
Wilson v. Cook, ........ 4 See , 90 L. ed. (Adv. Sh.)

iii

Table of Statutes Cited

PAGE
Act or CONGRESS:
Act of March 3, Chapter 196, 20 Stat. at Large,
RIB RE Aa SP eR RTI OR VS 17
Acts oF GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND:
Acts of 1785:
Chapter I (Compact of 1785)..................... 10, 11, 17,
18, 25, 28
Seventh Article .......................06. 6, 9, 22, 23, 24
pe |. aero 6, 22, 23, 24
EM GMI ssscicsgwsesestininsnnnsnscinnin 4, 5, 10, 11, 17,
18, 20, 24, 25, 26, 29
Acts of 1874, Chapter 247................c:eeeeees 16
Acts of 1876, Chapter 198....................:es 16
Acts of 1878, Chapter 274.................:::c: cee 17
Acts of 1880, Chapter 485............0....ceeee: 24
Acts of 1908, Chapter 487.................... ces 24
Acts of 1929, Chapter 50...................:c ees 23
Acts of 1941, Chapter 26...................:::ccesseeeereeees 21
Acts of 1945, Chapter 929..................cc cee 23
Acts of 1945, Senate Joint Resolution No. 17...... 25
Acts oF GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF VIRGINIA:
Acts of 1779, Chapter 26................:.:s ees 27
Acts of 1786, Chapter 18..................::es 12
Acts of 1874, Chapter 139...................cce ee 16
Acts of 1875—1876, Chapter 48................: 16
Acts of 1877—1878, Chapter 246...................605 17
Acts of 1928, Chapter 477.................:0::ceee ™ 23
ANNOTATED CODE OF MARYLAND:
Article 27—
oon cin datnatenathnapsnansunransiannasodaneinciens 24
MIE, cs ccnanaasnasvuciidepiasiinnmntsomiehabacelbAieshith 21
oo cinnsiinnianaijaoakdeoniasbaneniononmmncigeand 21
NG TID oo. icnsisinvlnccanconeonmianevemiategacainaansnincbasssnn 21

anna Bere

iv
PAGE
IN eo uinanamnibadeweked 23
Article 75—
SG AON ee OR ie eT ee 21
a ee aa 21
LEER eerie reer raceme Come 21
VIRGINIA Cope (1942):
Title 3, Chapter 3, Section 14.20.0000... 12
Title 27, Chapter 129, Sections 3299 to 3305(c)
(Potomac River Statutes) 00.00.0000. 24
MISCELLANEOUS
Sixth Amendment to Constitution of U.S............. 25
RR MOND GE... ncn cee ses ccsscssesccsssnsnns 27
SP NI CIID I nin csc Sasen ck ssoanesencccusioscsnncions 27
Texts
Bancroft’s History of Constitution of U. S.—Vol. 1,
ae arcs ee ann wea eng Hie ican todos 11
Henry’s Life of Patrick Henry—Vol. 2, p. 176.............. 11
The Maryland and Virginia Boundary Controversy—
MM Gi, II co, sites coe hac wid isu checetascckaveceteies 11

Report on the Location of the Boundary Line along
the Potomac River between Virginia and Mary-
land, in accordance with the Award of 1877—
Edward B. Mathews and Wilbur A. Nelson........ 11
Report on the Marking of the Boundary along the
Potomac River, in accordance with the Award
of 1877—Edward B. Mathews and Wilbur A.
ARERR EEE Ss eet en py ROAR OO RE HO 23
Rives’ Madison—Vol. 2, p. 58.0000000000.0....0cccccccceeeeeees 11

Scharf’s History of Maryland—Vol. 2, p. 528, et seq. 11

Miscellaneous

A MU oss sa Govsescne cdbcsacdnsmect linens 6, 16
Black-Jenkins Award ......................................5, 16, 17, 24, 29

= eC

a ——
Vv
PAGE
The Final Report of the Virginia Commissioners on
the Maryiand-Virginia Boundary—1874................ 19
Opinion and Award of Arbitrators of the Maryland
and Virginia Boundary Line—1877........................ 16
APPENDIX
App.
PAGE
Acts OF CONGRESS:
Acts of March 3, 1879, Chapter 196, 20 Stat. at
Taree, GBD ..........cscncscscvcrcsscccssesesssessovseennssnsassesenne 29
Acts or GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND:
ve 2: Be oe Rann annn 1
Acts of 1784, Chapter 247 ...............:cc:cccsseseteneeseiens 7
Acts of 1876, Chapter 198....................:: eee 8
Ante of WEG, Chapter BAG...............20.:0..00:000. cin 10
Acts of 1878, Chapter 374. ..............::cccceseeeeneenens 12
pe @ eR rerenerenrrrrenrnn 13
Acts of 1020, Chapter S0................:cccccccsscssessssees 14
Acts of 1945, Senate Joint Resolution No. 17...... 16
Acts oF GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF VIRGINIA:
Acts of 1874, Chamber U2. ...............00.....00escececscrsssene 18
Acts of 1875—1876, Chapter 48....................: 20
Acts of 1876—1877, Chapter 247...................::005 22
Acts of 1877—1878, Chapter 246....................55 23
Dats of TGR, Commitee GIT................c0cccscccssseces.sceccisnee 24
AWARD OF THE ARBITRATORS, 1877.................:cc0005 sees 26

“oe :
ee ne ee ieee oe

? In THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcroseR TERM, 1946

No. 390

JACK LESTER BARNES,
Petitioner,

VS.

STATE OF MARYLAND,
Respondent.

On PETITION FOR Writ OF CERTIORARI TO THE COURT OF
APPEALS OF THE STATE OF MARYLAND.

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION TO
THE PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI.

OPINION BELOW.

The Opinion of the Court of Appeals of the State of
Maryland, (the highest Court of the State), has not yet
been officially reported but it is unofficially reported in 47
Atl. (2d) 50. The Opinion, judgment and sentence of the
Circuit Court for Prince George’s County, of the State of
Maryland (the trial court) are not reported but are set
forth in the R. Transcript pp. 217-232.

2

JURISDICTION.

It is respectfully contended by the Respondent, the State
of Maryland, that the Supreme Court of the United States
should not grant the review by Petition for Writ of Cer-
tiorari of the final judgment of the Court of Appeals of
Maryland, entered in this cause on the 11th day of April,
1946, affirming the judgment of the Circuit Court for Prince
George’s County, Maryland, for the reason that no federal
question is involved, and that the Petitioner did not, either
in the trial court or the Court of Appeals, assert any right
under the Constitution of the United States or allege that
he had been deprived of his liberty without due process of
law in violation of the Fourteenth Amendment of the Con-
stitution of the United States.

STATEMENT OF CASE.

On August 4, 1945, between 2:45 and 3:15 A. M., Lillian
Annettee Weade, age fifty-three, a citizen of the State of
Virginia, and the mother of four sons and a daughter, was
choked and raped in the lower berth of a stateroom on a
steamboat which on August 3, 1945, she had boarded at Old
Point Comfort, Virginia, as a passenger in company with
a companion, an elderly woman who shared her stateroom
and occupied the upper berth.

The attack took place while the steamboat was in the
Potomac River, entirely within the State of Maryland, off
Charles County, Maryland, en route from Norfolk, Vir-
ginia, to Washington, D. C. The Potomac River forms the
boundary between the States of Maryland and Virginia,
and the jurisdiction of the State of Maryland extends to
the low-water mark on the Virginia shore.

The petitioner, who claimed to be a resident and voter
of the State of Virginia, was employed as a cook on the
boat. The testimony showed that he gained entrance to
the stateroom, accomplished his purpose, and left by way
of the stateroom window. His finger prints were found on
the window frame and on a washstand in the room. He
was seen in the room by the elderly companion of the
victim.

At 3:40 A. M. the master of the boat was notified and
in company with other officers and members of the naval
shore patrol, he immediately went to the crew’s quarters,
and from the description furnished by the companion, he
took the petitioner into custody and confined him on the
boat until it reached Washington, at which point the Metro-
politan Police detained him.

The petitioner was indicted by the Grand Jury for Prince
George’s County, Maryland, and upon his arraignment in
the Circuit Court for that County, he elected to be tried by
the Court without the intervention of a jury. The indict-
ment was returned in that County by virtue of Section 631
of Article 27 of the Annotated Code of Maryland (Flack’s
edition 1939). The trial was held on November 6, 1945,
before Judges Charles C. Marbury and John B. Gray, Jr.,
and resulted in the conviction of the petitioner on the first
count of the indictment, charging him with the crime of

rape.

The petitioner filed a special plea, termed plea to the
jurisdiction, alleging that he was a citizen of the State of
Virginia and that the indictment failed to allege that the
person upon whom the offense was committed was not a
citizen of the State of Virginia. The State interposed a
demurrer to the plea, which demurrer was sustained. The
docket entries and the record do not disclose that the peti-

7

4

tioner demurred to the indictment. A motion for a new
trial was denied and a motion in arrest of judgment was
overruled.

On November 16, 1945, the petitioner was sentenced to
death by hanging and on the same day noted an appeal to
the Court of Appeals of the State of Maryland. |

On April 11, 1946, after argument and submission, the
Court of Appeals affirmed the judgment of the Circuit
Court for Prince George’s County.

The petitioner contends that the Circuit Court for Prince
George’s County did not have jurisdiction to try him,
alleging that (although the offense was committed on the
Potomac River within the territorial limits of the State of
Maryland) he was entitled to be tried in a court of the
State of Virginia, by virtue of the Tenth Article of the
Compact of 1785 between Maryland and Virginia.

The Tenth Article of the Compact (entered into when
the boundary between Maryland and Virginia was in dis-
pute) related to piracies, crimes and offenses committed on
certain parts of the Chesapeake Bay and the Pocomoke
River and on the Potomac River. Jurisdiction of the courts
of either Maryland or Virginia was based upon the concept
of the citizenship of the offender and of the person upon
whom the offense was committed.

QUESTIONS IN CONTROVERSY.
) 4
Was a federal question raised in the State Courts?

Il.

Does the construction of Article 10 of the Compact of
1785 between the States of Maryland and Virginia involve
a federal question?

5

III

Is Article 10 of the Compact in full force and effect, or
did it become inoperative by the Award of the Arbitrators
in 1877, confirmed by the General Assemblies of Maryland
and Virginia, establishing the boundary line between the
States at the low-water mark on the southern or Virginia
shore of the Potomac River?

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT.

The transcript of the record in the trial court, the Cir-
cuit Court for Prince George’s County, fails to disclose that
the petitioner raised any Federal question. Likewise, the
petitioner did not raise any Federal question in the Court
of Appeals of Maryland. In particular, he did not allege
in the trial court or in the Court of Appeals that he had
been deprived of his liberty without due process of law
in violation of the Fourteenth Amendment to the Constitu-
tion of the United States.

Furthermore, the construction of Article 10 of the Com-
pact of 1785 between Maryland and Virginia, is not a fed-
eral question but is one for the determination of the State
courts.

The respondent contends also that by reason of the estab-
lishment of the boundary line between Maryland and Vir-
ginia in 1877 at the low-water mark on the southern or
Virginia bank of the Potomac River, with a straight line
drawn between headlands, any jurisdiction which. Virginia
may have had over offenses set forth in the Tenth Article
terminated and that, therefore, the Tenth Article became
inoperative. The boundary was determined by arbitrators
appointed by the legislatures of both states and their find-
ings are known as the Black-Jenkins Award of 1877.

ET AR OT TNT NE

6

The contention of the respondent is also based upon the
fact that immediately after the confirmation by Virginia of
the Award of the Arbitrators, Maryland in 1880, enacted
the statute relating to offenses committed on steamboats
passing through more than one county. (Chapter 485 of
the Acts of 1880—Article 27, Section 631 of the Annotated
Code of Maryland—Flack’s Edition, 1939). Chapter 487 of
the Acts of 1908 ( Article 75, Section 161 of the same Code)
provides that the jurisdiction of every county adjoining
neighboring states bounded by navigable waters “shall con-
tinue to the ultimate limits of the State at the place in ques-
tion”.

The respondent further contends that Virginia has no
jurisdiction over offenses committed in the territorial
waters of Maryland and has assumed no such jurisdiction
because it has passed no statutes providing for the trial and
punishment thereof. It is patent that Virginia has recog-
nized this lack of jurisdiction for it has, with Maryland,
passed many concurrent acts relating to fish and oysters,
which are covered by the Seventh and Eighth Articles of
the Compact.

ARGUMENT.

I.

A FEDERAL QUESTION WAS NOT RAISED IN THE STATE COURTS.

Upon the return of the indictment of the petitioner by
the Grand Jury of the State of Maryland, in and for Prince
George’s County, he was arraigned and entered a plea of
“not guilty”. This plea was subsequently withdrawn and
a plea to the jurisdiction was filed. This plea recited
merely that the Circuit Court for Prince George’s County
was without jurisdiction because the petitioner was a citi-
zen of the State of Virginia, and the indictment failed to
allege that the person upon whom the offense was com-

a

7

mitted was not a citizen of that State. The State’s demur-
rer to the plea to the jurisdiction was sustained and a plea
of “not guilty” was re-entered. Following the rendition
of the verdict, but before judgment was pronounced, a
motion for a new trial was filed, in which the petitioner
alleged that the verdict was against the evidence, that the
evidence was insufficient to sustain the verdict, that the
Court was without jurisdiction, that the Court erred in per-
mitting an amendment of the indictment, and that the
State failed to prove that upon his arrest he was taken
before a Justice of the Peace in Prince George’s County.
Following the overruling by the trial court of the motion
for a new trial, the petitioner filed a motion in arrest of
judgment. That motion again challenged the jurisdiction
of the Circuit Court for Prince George’s County; the con-
tention being that the Compact of 1785 entitled-him to be
tried in the State of Virginia. The further questions relat-
ing to the failure of proof that he was taken before a Jus-
tice of the Peace for Prince George’s County and the
amendment of the indictment were likewise raised. This
motion was overruled and subsequently sentence was im-

posed.

In none of the pleadings referred to did the petitioner
claim any right, privilege or immunity under the Consti-
tution or any statute of the United States; and it is respect-
fully contended that the petitioner’s failure to raise speci-
fically a federal question bars his right to a writ of cer-
tiorari to review the judgment of the State court.

It is well settled by the decisions of this Court that it
must be made to appear that a federal question was raised
in the State court in order to entitle the petitioner to a
review on certiorari, and that unless it does so appear that
such a federal question was raised in the State court the

rere

8

writ will be denied. New York Central and Hudson River
Railroad Company, et al., vs. New York, 186 U. S. 269, 22
S. Ct. 916, 46 L. Ed. 1158. In Thomas vs. Iowa, 209 U. S.
258, 28 S. Ct. 487, 52 L. Ed. 782, it was contended that an
instruction of the trial judge withdrew from the jury the
question and the degree of murder and to that extent
denied the plaintiff in error a trial by jury and denied him
due process of law in violation of the Fourteenth Amend-
ment of the Constitution of the United States. This Court
observed that the judgment of the Supreme Court of Iowa
did not contain the slightest allusion to any federal ques-
tion, but that the Chief Justice of the State court signed a
bill of exceptions containing a statement that the question
made and discussed by counsel at the hearing in the State
Supreme Court, were that by reason of the errors above
pointed out, the petitioner was deprived of his liberty with-
out due process of law. Mr. Justice Moody, speaking for
this Court, said:

“The Federal question, if it can be found in the rec-
ord at all, must be found in this statement. It is too
late to raise it for the first time in the petition for a
writ of error from this court or in the assignments of
error here. Montana ex rel. Haire v. Rice, 204 U. S.
291, 51 L. ed. 490, 27 Sup. Ct. Rep. 281. All that ap-
pears in the statement is that exceptions were taken
to certain parts of the charge to the jury, because they
‘in effect deprived the plaintiff in error of his liberty
without due process of law;’ and that the question
thus raised was discussed before the supreme court
of the state. But something more than this vague and
inferential suggestion of a right under the Constitu-
tion of the United States must be presented to the
state courts to give us the limited authority to review

‘their judgments which exist under the Constitution

and is regulated by Sec. 709 of the Revised Statutes
(U. S. Comp. Stat. 1901, p. 575). A mere claim in the

court below that there has been a denial of due pro-
cess of law does not of itself raise a Federal question
with sufficient distinctness to give us jurisdiction to
consider whether there has been a violation of the 14th
Amendment of the Constitution. See Clarke v. Mc-
Date, 165 U. S. 168, 172, 41 L. ed. 673, 674, 17 Sup. Ct.
Rep. 284; Miller v. Cornwall R. Co., 168 U. S. 131, 134,
42 L. ed. 409, 410, 18 Sup. Ct. Rep. 34; Harding v.
Illinois, 196 U. S. 78, 88, 49 L. ed. 394, 397, 25 Sup. Ct.
Rep. 176.”

See also Wilson v. Cook, ........ aa , Adv. Sh. 90 L.
Ed. 609. It is respectfully submitted, therefore, that the
failure of the petitioner to raise or even to allude to any
federal right or question in the State courts is sufficient to
deny him the right to a review in this Court.

Il.

THE CONSTRUCTION OF ARTICLE 10 OF THE COMPACT OF 1785
BETWEEN THE STATES OF MARYLAND AND VIRGINIA
DOES NOT INVOLVE A FEDERAL QUESTION.

The petitioner in his brief cites the case of Marlatt vs.
Silk (1837) 11 Pet. 1, 9 L. Ed. 609, wherein it was held
that the rule of decision in that case was of an international
character; and there also was cited the case of Green vs.
Biddle, (1821) 8 Wheaton 1, 5 L. Ed. 547, to the effect that
certain acts of the State of Kentucky were a violation of
the Seventh Article of a Compact with the State of Virginia
and were, therefore, unconstitutional. Both of these cases
refer to private rights under land titles and are not ap-
plicable in the matter now pending before this Court.

In the case of Hamburg American Steamship Company
vs. Grube, 196 U. S. 407, 25 S. Ct. 352, 49 L. Ed. 529, which
was an action to recover damages for death occasioned by

|
|
j

HPAI ELBE NY DP DLIGIL! BO LABS,

10

a collision of two ships in waters off the coast of New
Jersey, Mr. Chief Justice Fuller, speaking for the Court,
said:
“As to the first ground, the contention is that the
Act of Congress of June 28, 1834, (4 Stat. at L. 708,
Chap. 126) giving consent to the agreement or com-
pact between the States of New Jersey and New York
in respect to their territorial limits and jurisdiction,
dated September 16, 1833, vested exclusive jurisdic-
tion in the Federal Government over the sea adjoining
the two States. But there is absolutely nothing in the
agreement and confirmatory statutes abdicating rights
in favor of the United States, and the transaction
simply amounted to fixing the boundaries between the
two States. N. Y. Laws 1834, p. 8, chap. 8; N. J. Laws
1834, p. 118. The first proposition raised no Federal
question.”

In a recent case involving the apportionment of the
waters of an inter-state stream, this Court, in Hinderlider
vs. La Plata River and Cherry Creek Ditch Company, 304
U.S. 92, 82 L. Ed. 1202, 58 S. Ct. 803, held that:

“The assent of Congress to the compact between
Colorado and New Mexico does not make it a ‘treaty
or statute of the United States’ within the meaning of
Section 237(a) of the Judicial Code, 28 U. S. C. A,
Section 344, and no question as to the validity of the
consent is presented.”

On the authorities here cited, the respondent respect-
fully contends that the construction of Article 10 of the
Compact of 1785 does not involve a Federal question.

—

——————

11

Il.

ARTICLE 10 OF THE COMPACT IS NOT IN FULL FORCE AND
EFFECT AND IT BECAME INOPERATIVE BY THE AWARD OF THE
ARBITRATORS IN 1877, WHICH WAS CONFIRMED BY THE GEN-
ERAL ASSEMBLIES OF MARYLAND AND VIRGINIA, ESTABLISH-
ING THE BOUNDARY LINE BETWEEN THE TWO STATES AT THE
LOW-WATER MARK ON THE SOUTHERN OR VIRGINIA SHORE
OF THE POTOMAC RIVER.

In the event the court concludes that a Federal question
was properly raised in the State courts and that the con-
struction of Article 10 of the Compact of 1785, as applied
to the present case, involves a federal question, it is re-
spectfully contended that the decision of the Court of Ap-
peals, that the Article is now inoperative, was correct and
that the judgment should be affirmed.

A full discussion of the causes which led to the conven-
tion at which commissioners of Maryland and Virginia
met at Mt. Vernon, Virginia, on March 28, 1785, and pro-
posed a Compact, which was confirmed by the Legislatures
of both States, is set forth in Scharf’s History of Maryland,
Volume 2, pages 528, et seq.: Henry’s life of Patrick Henry,
Volume 2, page 176; Bancroft’s History of the Constitution
of the United States, Volume 1, page 151; and Rives’ Madi-
son, Volume 2, page 58. See also the Maryland and Vir-
ginia Boundary Controversy, by Louis N. Whealton, and
Report on the Location of the Boundary Line Along the
Potomac River between Virginia and Maryland In Accord-
ance with the Award of 1877, by Edward B. Mathews and
Wilbur A. Nelson. A brief summary of the events which
led up to the controversy and the efforts to bring about
its settlement is set forth below.

Due to the disputes between Maryland and Virginia re-
lating to the navigation of the bays and rivers in and ad-
joining their respective territories, the collection of custom

> ee —--

PERRET ITER LI IS J

12

duties and the exercise of fishing and riparian rights, and
to provide for jurisdiction of the courts of the two States
over offenses committed in the disputed areas, it was
deemed advisable that a convention be held at which dele-
gates of Maryland and Virginia would participate for the
purpose of adjusting their difficulties.

This was accordingly done and the Compact of 1785 was
the result of their work. By Chapter 1 of the Acts of 1785,
the Compact was approved by the General Assembly of
Maryland (Appendix p. 1). See also Chapter 18 of the
Acts of 1786, General Assembly of Virginia — Virginia
Code, 1942, Title 3, Chapter 3, Section 14. We are not con-
cerned here with the controversy between Maryland and
Virginia relating to the disputed line running from Smith’s
Point to Watkins’ Point, but only with that relating to the
Potomac River. Several attempts were made by joint
action of the States to settle their dispute and to determine
the boundaries, but it was not until 1877 that a common
boundary was established.

The history of Maryland and Virginia shows a long con-
tinuing series of disputes over the boundary lines between
the two States.

James I, in 1606, issued certain letters patent authorizing
The London Company to settle between the thirty-fourth
and forty-first degrees North latitude, and vested property
rights in that Company to the land extending along the
coast fifty statute miles on both sides of the first chosen
site, and reaching into the interior one hundred statute
miles. All lands within the area were to belong to The
London Company. Jamestown was settled in the year 1607
under this grant. These were the first boundary lines of
Virginia. In 1609, The London Company was issued a new
patent which granted to it “all those lands—in that part

me

13

of America called Virginia, from the point of land called
Cape or Point Comfort. All along the seacoast to the
northward two hundred miles; and from the said Cape or
Point Comfort all along the seacoast to the southward two
hundred miles; and all that space and circuit of land lying
from the seacoast of the precinct aforesaid, up into the
land from sea to sea, west and northwest; and also all the
highlands within one hundred miles along the coast of
both seas of the precinct aforesaid.”

It is to be noted that in the two documents mentioned
there was no boundary indicated by natural objects or defi-
nite land marks.

In the year 1688, King James II granted to Lord Cul-
peper what is now known as the Northern Neck of Vir-
ginia, which was described in the patent as follows: “All
that entire tract, territory or parcel of land situate, lying,
and being in Virginia in America and bounded by and
within the first heads or springs of the rivers of Tappahan-
nock, Rappahannock and Quiriough and Patawonuck
rivers, the courses of said rivers from their first heads or
springs as they are clearly called and known by the in-
habitants, and the description of those parts and the bay
of the Chesapeake, together with the said rivers them-
selves and all the highlands within the outermost banks
thereof, and the soil of all and singular the premises, and
all lands, woods, underwood, timber, and trees, wayes,
mountains, swamps, marshes, waters, rivers, ponds, pools,
lakes, water courses, fishings, streams, havens, ports, har-
bours, bays, creeks, ferries, with all sorts of fish as well as
whales, sturgeons and other royal fish—to have, hold and
enjoy all the said entire tract, territory or parcel of land
and every parts and parcels thereof—to the said Thomas,
Lord Culpeper, his heirs and assigns forever.”

CEE OLE EDIE DAIL ws,

14

In 1632, King Charles I made a grant to Lord Baltimore
including substantially what is now the State of Maryland,
in these words: “all that Part of the Peninsula, or cher-
sonese lying in the Parts of America, between the Ocean
on the East, and the bay of Chesapeake on the West, di-
vided from the Residue thereof by a Right Line drawn
from the Promontory, or Head Line, called Watkins’ Point,
situate upon the Bay aforesaid, near the river of Wighco,
on the West, unto the Main Ocean on the East; and be-
tween that Boundary on the South unto that Part of the
Bay of Delaware on the North, which lieth under the
Fortieth Degree of North Latitude from the Aequinoctial,
where New England is terminated; and all the Tract of
that Land within the Metes underwritten, (that is to say, )
passing from the said Bay, called Delaware Bay, in a right
line, by the degree aforesaid, unto the true Meridian of the
first Fountain of the River of Pattowmack, thence, verg-
ing toward the South, unto the further Bank of the said
River, and following the same on the West and South, unto
a certain place called Cinquack, situate near the Mouth of
the said River, where it disembogues into the aforesaid
Bay of Chesapeake, and thence by the shortest line unto

the aforesaid Promontory, or Place called Watkins’ Point
* * *

It is readily seen that the conflicting grants provided a
fertile field for controversy which inevitably resulted and
continued for generations. Virginia, by her first Consti-
tution adopted June 29, 1776, surrendered her claim to the
territory of Pennsylvania and Maryland, but definitely as-
serted her right to the free navigation and use of the
Potomac and Pocomoke Rivers, and to property on the
Virginia shores and strands thereof as follows: “the ter-
ritories, contained within the charter, erecting the colonies
of Maryland, Pennsylvania, North and South Carolina are

“15

hereby ceded, released and forever confirmed to the people
of these colonies respectively, with all the rights of prop-
erty, jurisdiction and government and all other rights
whatsoever which might at any time heretofore have been
claimed by Virginia, excepting the free navigation and use
of the rivers Patomaque and Pokomoke, with the property
of the Virginia shores and strands bordering on either of
said rivers and all improvements, which have been or shall
be made thereon.” (See Washington Airport, Inc. v.
Smoot Sand & Gravel Corp., 44 F2, 342).

The three points in the resulting controversy were as
follows:

(1) Maryland claimed the entire Potomac River under
her charter, while Virginia also claimed the River on simi-
lar grounds.

(2) In the Charter to Lord Baltimore, granted in 1632,
“the first fountain of the Potomac was to be the western
boundary line of Maryland separating it from Virginia.”
The Potomac River has two branches, one called the North
Branch and one called the South Branch. Maryland
claimed that the South Branch was the first fountain, and
that all land between the two branches was possessed by
Maryland. Virginia, of course, disputed this and claimed
the North Branch to be the first source.

(3) The place where the boundary between Maryland
and Virginia met the shore on the easternmost side of the
Chesapeake Bay was called “Watkins’ Point” by the grant
to Lord Baltimore. The exact location of this Point was
in dispute for many years; Virginia claimed that it was
located farther North than the Point known today as “Wat-
kins’ Point”. Maryland insisted that it was at the Point
now known as “Watkins’ Point”.

16

By Chapter 247 of the Acts of 1874 (Appendix p. 7)
and Chapter 198 of the Acts of 1876 (Appendix p. 8)
of the General Assembly of Maryland, and by Chapter 135
of the Acts of 1874 (Appendix p. 18), and Chapter 48 of
the Acts of 1875—1876 (Appendix p. 20) of the General
Assembly of Virginia, both States provided for the appoint-
ment of arbitrators to fix the boundary lines, and inserted
the following provision in each of the Acts:

“* * * provided, however, that neither of the states,
nor the citizens thereof, shall, by the decision of the
said arbitrators, be deprived of any of the rights and
privileges enumerated and set forth in the Compact
between them entered into in the year 1785, but that
the same shall remain to and be enjoyed by the said
states and the citizens thereof, forever.”

On January 16, 1877, an Opinion and Award of the Arbi-
trators, known as the “Black-Jenkins Award”, was made
(Appendix p. 26) whereby the boundary between the
two States was definitely established on the southern or
Virginia shore of the Potomac River, at low-water mark.

At page 6 of the publication known as “Opinion and
Award of Arbitrators of the Maryland and Virginia Bound-
ary Line”, published in 1877, is this statement:

“The State of Virginia, through her Commissioners
and other public authorities, adhered for many years
to her claim for a boundary on the left bank of the
Potomac, but the gentlemen who represented her be-
fore us expressed with great candor their own opinion
that a true interpretation of the King’s concession
would divide the river between the states by a line
running in the middle of it. This latter view they
urged upon us with all proper earnestness, and it was
opposed with equal zeal by the counsel for Maryland,
who contended that the whole river was within the
limits of the grant to Lord Baltimore.”

_ ——

= tt

17

The action of the arbitrators in making the award was
ratified and confirmed by Virginia by Chapter 246 of the
Acts of 1877-1878 (Appendix p. 23), and by Maryland,
by Chapter 274 of the Acts of 1878 (Appendix p. 10).

The United States gave its consent to this award as an
agreement or compact between the respective States by
the Act of March 3, 1879, Chapter 196, 20 Stat. at Large
481 (Appendix p. 29). It will thus be observed that as
result of this arbitration and award, there was given to
the State of Maryland exclusive jurisdiction and govern-
ment over the Potomac River, thereby confirming the call
in the Charter to Lord Baltimore for the further or south-
ern bank of said stream. Morris v. U. S., 174 U. S. 196, 43
L. ed. 946, affirming U. S. v. Morris, 23 Wash. Law Rep.
549: Maryland v. West Virginia, 217 U. S. 1, 54 L. ed. 645;
Maryland v. West Virginia, 217 U. S. 577, 54 L. ed. 888;
Marine R. & C. Co. v. U. S., 257 U. S. 47, 66 L. ed. 124;
Washington Airport Inc. v. Smoot Sand & Gravel Corp.,
44 F2 342.

Thus, the boundary dispute which had existed since
colonial times was finally concluded. There remained no
longer a doubtful line of division between Maryland and
Virginia. Hence, the basis for conferring jurisdiction upon
the courts of Maryland in certain cases, and upon the
courts of Virginia in other cases, as provided in the Tenth
Article, all as a result of the doubtful boundary, was ut-
terly destroyed by the award.

The State of Maryland contends that the Black-Jenkins
Award of 1877, by which the boundary between Maryland
and Virginia was established with certainty and precision,
rendered obsolete and ineffective so much of the Tenth
Article of the Compact of 1785 as attempted to provide
for the jurisdiction to be exercised by the courts of the

18

two States for the prosecution of offenses occurring in the
waters of the Chesapeake Bay, Pocomoke and Potomac
Rivers where the division line was doubtful. If this were
not so, the courts of Virginia would find themselves in the
very anomalous position of exercising jurisdiction over
persons, and the offenses committed by them, on the Poto-
mac River within the State of Maryland and entirely
beyond the limits of the Commonwealth of Virginia.

In Washington Airport vs. Smoot Sand and Gravel
Corp., 44 F2 342, 344, Judge Parker said:

“It would have been absurd to have confirmed the
right of property in the Virginia shores to the citizens
of Virginia and at the same time to have reserved to
the State of Maryland political jurisdiction over those
shores, so that controversies over titles thereto would
be justiciable only in Maryland and crimes committed
thereon punishable only in Maryland Courts.”

To be sure, the framers of the Compact of 1785 did not
intend that great document to produce such absurd results.
So long as the douht as to the location of the true bound-
ary between the States existed—Maryland on the one hand
claiming to the South bank of the Potomac River, and
Virginia on the other hand claiming that its Common-
wealth extended to the North bank of the Potomac River—
it was imperative that means be provided whereby one or
the other of the States could prosecute persons charged
with offenses committed on those waters. The lack of
certainty of the true location of the boundary gave rise
to that portion of the Tenth Article of the Compact. It
would be strange indeed if the location of the true bound-
ary line between the States were of academic importance
only and thus necessitated resorting to an artificial expedi-
ent, namely, that of arbitrarily vesting jurisdiction in the
courts of one State or the other, without regard to the

a

er Oe ee

19

place where the offense was actually committed. In this
connection, it is worthy to note that in “The Final Report
of the Virginia Commissioners on the Maryland-Virginia
Boundary” in 1874, at page 29, the Commissioners made
this observation:

“They have omitted to notice what is called the
Compact between the two States in the year 1785,
because it was a joint Act which did not pretend even
to fix boundaries; because it expressly assumed certain
boundaries to be in dispute and unsettled; because it
was but a temporary expedient to regulate commerce
and navigation between the two States; and because
in that respect, if not in all respects, it has been super-
seded by the adoption of the Constitution of the United
States.”

In Binney’s Case, 2 Bland (Marylane) 99, 126, the Chan-
cellor said:

“The general scope and object of that compact was,
not to fix and give a legal character to any natural
subject whatever; in that respect it did not profess to
alter, or to stipulate for anything; throughout it speaks
of waters, which are by nature navigable; and regu-
lates the terms and manner in which the natural navi-
gation is to be conducted by the citizens of the con-
tracting parties. The first nine articles cannot possibly
be applied in any other way. The tenth establishes
certain regulations respecting piracies, crimes, and of-
fenses, and for any violence, injury, or trespass, to or
upon the property, or lands of the other adjacent to
the said bay or river, &c. Piracy is a name given to
no offence committed within the body of a county; but
only to crimes upon bays and rivers, or any tide-water,
considered as an arm of the sea, not within the body
of a county; but originally and properly within the
jurisdiction of the admiralty. This provision respect-
ing piracy, therefore, clearly confines the whole article
to acts done on tide-water, or abroad, and not within

20

the body of any county; and of which the Courts of
common law could not otherwise have jurisdiction.”
(Italics supplied).

See also Middlekauff v. LeCompte, 149 Md. 621.

In Biscoe v. State, 68 Md. 294, this Court held that the
Circuit Court for St. Mary’s County had jurisdiction over
an offense committed on the Potomac River, and referred
to the Virginia Compact of 1785 as recognizing the juris-
diction of the Circuit Court of the several Counties lying
on that River. Nowhere was the award of the arbitrators
mentioned, or the reasons underlying the Tenth Article of
the Compact. But the Court did say that

“the Potomac river being part of the State, and subject |
therefore to its jurisdiction, the Circuit Courts of the
several counties bordering on said river, as common
law courts, exercise criminal jurisdiction over offenses
committed on said river opposite such counties. And
the exercise of this jurisdiction was recognized by the
Legislature in ratifying the compact made with the
State of Virginia, for although jurisdiction was in a
certain class of offenses conceded to that State, yet it
provided that offenses committed by citizens of Mary-
land against its own citizens, should be tried by the
courts of this State having jurisdiction over such of-
fenses. And it is well known that the County Courts
of the several counties lying on the Potomac, at that
time exercised a common law jurisdiction over of-
fenses committed on its waters opposite such counties.
We have then by the Act of 1785, ch. 1, a recognition
of the jurisdiction of these counties over offenses com-
mitted on the Potomac river, if any such recognition
be needed.”

The jurisdiction referred to in the Biscoe case has now
been enlarged.

21

By Chapter 487 of the Acts of 1908 of the General As-
sembly of Maryland, codified as Article 27, Section 633,
and Article 75, Section 161 (Annotated Code of Maryland,
1939 ed.), it was provided that:

“The jurisdiction of every county bounded at any
point by navigable waters shall extend from the shore
to the inside of the channe: which shall be regarded to
be the center of said waters, except where said waters
adjoin neighboring States, in which case the jurisdic-
tion of the certain counties shall continue to the ulti-
mate limits of the state at the place in question; pro-
vided, however, that nothing in this Section or the
two following Sections shall be construed as chang-
ing such rights as the State of Maryland may have on
or under said waters.”

Section 633, together with Sections 634 and 635 of Arti-
cle 27, were removed from the Code by Chapter 26 of the
Acts of 1941 because they were duplications of Sections
161, 162 and 163 of Article 75 of the Code. Thus it is clear
that the jurisdiction of the Circuit Court of Prince
George’s County extends into the Potomac River to the ulti-
mate limits of the State, which, in this instance, is the
low-water mark on the Virginia side of the Potomac River.
It is readily apparent, therefore, from the foregoing, that
the trial court had jurisdiction to hear, try and determine
the case on this record.

In the case of Ex Parte Marsh, 57 Fed. 719, three citi-
zens of Maryland were arrested for violating oyster laws
of Virginia. Wharton and Nelson were charged with of-
fenses committed in Pocomoke Sound in Virginia, and
Marsh was charged with an offense committed in Tangier
Sound in Virginia. They filed petitions for writs of habeas
corpus in the United States Circuit Court for the Eastern
District of Virginia. Wharton and Nelson contended that

Sc et A

22

they were citizens of Maryland and that the courts of
Virginia had no jurisdiction over them, while Marsh con-
tended that he was a citizen of Maryland and, as his of-
fense was committed near the doubtful boundary line,
the courts of Virginia were without jurisdiction. The court

held that the Seventh and Eighth Articles of the Compact |
of 1785 did not grant a common right of fishing to the citi- |
zens of Maryland in the Pocomoke River, and that there-
fore, the petitioners were subject to trial in a Virginia
court. At page 730, the court said:

“As a matter of historical fact, no part of the line
between Maryland and Virginia was at the date of the
Compact of 1785 more doubtful than the part between
Smith’s Point and Watkins’ Point and no law could
be more just and judicious than the 10th Section of
the Compact of 1785, containing the provisions relied
on. But, the able and distinguished Commissioners
appointed by the two States in 1877 had in charge the
very duty of making certain and determinate all
doubtful parts of the common boundary of the two
States. Accordingly, the Commission addressed itself
to the task of removing all doubt from this part of the
line, as well as others and accomplished its purpose
successfully. Probably no Section of a boundary line
was ever more clearly, precisely, minutely, definitely
or intelligibly laid down and defined than was the
portion of the Maryland and Virginia line between
Smith and Watkins’ Point, and which may be found
on pages 63, 64 of the Virginia Code, and page 482 of
the twentieth volume of the Statutes at Large of the
United States. It is useless, in this opinion, to set
out the careful language of the award in defining this
line. The duty of the arbitrators was to make it cease
to be doubtful, and to establish the line with precision
and certainty. They performed that duty, and ac-
complished that purpose. The line is no longer doubt-
ful, and the defense of the prisoner Marsh is inad-
missible. It was competent for the Virginia Court by

ee ER -BO FF e Bins ar A

Te are a eS

:
'

23

which he was convicted to try him and he must be re-
manded to the custody of the Sheriff of Accomack
County, Va.” (Italics supplied.)

See also Wharton v. Wise, 153 U. S. 155, 38 L. ed. 669.

It should be noted that Maryland, in conformity with
Chapter 50 of the Acts of 1929 of the General Assembly of
Maryland (See Appendix p. 14) and Virginia, by Chapter
477 of the Acts of 1928 of the General Assembly of that
State (See Appendix p. 24), caused the Potomac River
boundary line to be delineated accurately on charts and
physically marked by means of monuments or reference
points. (See “Report on the Marking of the Boundary
Line Along the Potomac River in Accordance with the
Award of 1877”, by Edward B. Mathews and Wilbur A.
Nelson.) (See also Appendix pages 12, 13 and 22).

The right of fishing in the Potomac River is common to
the citizens of both States according to the provisions of
the Seventh Article of the Compact of 1785. The Eighth
Article thereof provides that all laws and regulations
which may be necessary for the preservation of fish shall
be made with the mutual consent and approbation of both
States. Chapter 929 of the Acts of 1945 of the General
Assembly of Maryland repealed most of the provisions of
Article 72 of the Code of Maryland, relating to fish and
oysters and enacted a new Article. Section 8 of that Chap-
ter is entitled “Concurrent Laws on the Potomac River”,
and sub-section (j) reads as follows:

“Nothing in this section shall be construed in any
way to impair, alter or abridge any rights which either
State, or the citizens thereof, may be entitled to, either
by, through, under, or against the compact entered
into between the States of Maryland and Virginia on
the 28th day of March 1783.” (sic).

24

Violations of the fishing laws are prosecuted in accord-
ance with the provisions of the concurrent Acts of the
respective State. Such offenses would not be punishable
according to the terms of the Tenth Article of the Com-
pact for the reason that the offenses comprehended within
that Article are offenses against the citizen as distinguished
from offenses against the State. This was so held in Hen-
dricks vs. Commonwealth, 75 Va. 934 (1882), wherein a
citizen of Maryland was convicted in a Virginia Court on
a charge of violating the fishing laws of that State relating
to the Potomac River. (See also Ex Parte Marsh, 57 Fed.
719; Wharton vs. Wise, 153 U. S. 155, 38 L. Ed. 669).

The statutes of the state of Virginia do not make any
specific provision for the prosecution of those offenses set
forth in the Tenth Article; however laws relating to fish-
ing in the Potomac River (concurrent acts passed in con-
formity with the Seventh and Eighth Articles) are con-
tained in Chapter 129, Sections 3299 to 3305 (c), inclusive,
entitled “Potomac River Statutes”, of Title 27, Virginia
Code, 1942.

The Legislature of Maryland, by the passage of Chapter
485 of the Acts of 1880 (Article 27, Section 631) relating
to offenses on steamboats and by Chapter 487 of the Acts
of 1908 (Article 27, Sections 633, 634 and 635 and Article
75, Sections 161, 162 and 163) relating to boundaries and
jurisdictional matters, hereinbefore referred to, recognized
that the Black-Jenkins’ Award of 1877 set the exterior
limits of the State of Maryland along the Potomac River
at low-water mark on the Virginia shore. By such action,
the State of Maryland asserted complete and exclusive
jurisdiction over that river, save as limited by the Seventh
and Eighth Articles and the concurrent Acts relating to
fishing.

=

25

This is made more apparent by reference to Senate Joint
Resolution No. 17 (Appendix, page 16), adopted at the 1945
Session of the Maryland Legislature. This Resolution
authorized the Governor to appoint a Commission to con-
fer with a similar Commission from Virginia for the pur-
pose of studying the Compact of 1785 and the concurrent
legislation relating to fishing. The prosecution of offenses
under the Tenth Article is not mentioned in the Resolu-
tion. This amounts to further legislative recognition of the
fact that the Tenth Article is not applicable since the Black-
Jenkins’ Award.

The several Acts authorizing the appointment of the
arbitrators contained the provision, previously quoted, that
neither of the States, nor their citizens should, by the
decision of the arbitrators, be deprived of any of the rights
and privileges set forth in the Compact. It is manifest that
these provisions related to the rights and privileges of
property along the river bank, of fishing, and of naviga-
tion and of commerce. The lack of certainty as to the
definite boundary of each State gave rise to the temporary
expedient set forth in Article Ten. The designation of the
State wherein the offender was to be subjected to prosecu-
tion was not a right or privilege, conferred either upon
the States or the citizens, but was a matter of convenience
and necessity in furtherance of the proper administration
of justice, in order that prosecutions would not be defeated
on jurisdictional grounds.

The provisions in this Article, that the offender “shall be
tried in the court * * * which have legal cogriizance” of
the offense are not analagous to the provisions of the Sixth
Amendment to the Constitution of the United States, viz.
that:

“* * * the accused shall enjoy the right to a speedy
and public trial, by an impartial jury of the State and
District wherein the crime shall have been committed.”

st CRN LL IEEE MME LE IPS j

26

That amendment confers a vested, constitutional right,
upon the accused, to a trial in a Federal Court, which can
be neither abridged nor denied. The Tenth Article con-
ferred no such right or privilege on the accused, for it con-
sisted merely of an agreement between the two States as
to the place where the accused should be tried as a matter

of expediency.

As was very properly observed by the Court of Appeals
of Maryland (47 A 2d 50, 61):

“We find no intention on the part of either State in
the Tenth Section to barter away permanently such
jurisdiction, and need not inquire into the power of
either to do so. The Legislatures and the courts of
both States, as we have shown, have construed it to
mean that as soon as the boundary of Maryland was
established at the low-water mark on the Virginia
shore, the Virginia jurisdiction over offenses on the
Potomac River ceased by operation of law, and com-
plete jurisdiction remained in the Maryland courts be-
cause the river was determined to be within her terri-
torial limits.”

The Court said further that:

“* * * when the obvious reason for the agreement
has been done away with by the parties, that part of
the agreement affected falls with the subsequent
change in the circumstances.”

In Chastelton Corp. vs. Sinclair, 264 U. S. 543, 68 L. Ed.
841, 44 S. Ct. 405, Mr. Justice Holmes, speaking for this
Court, said:

“A law depending upon the existence of an emer-
gency or other certain state of facts to uphold it may

cease to operate if the emergency ceases or the facts
change, even though valid when passed.”

27

In Great Northern Railway Co. vs. United States, 315
U. S. 262, 86 L. ed. 836, 62 S. Ct. 529, Mr. Justice Murphy,
speaking for this Court, said:

“But we are not limited to the lifeless words of the
statute and formalistic canons of construction in our
search for the intent of Congress. The Act was the
product of a period, and, ‘Courts, in construing a stat-
ute, may with propriety recur to the history of the
times when it was passed’.”

See also United States vs. Carolene Products Co., 304 U. S.
144, 82 L. ed. 1234, 58 S. Ct. 778; and Nashville, etc,, Ry.
Co. vs. Walters, 294 U. S. 405, 79 L. Ed. 949, 55 S. Ct. 486.

When the Virginia courts were organized in 1776-1777,
the body of the original jurisdiction fell to the general
court (9 Hennings Statutes 401). In 1779, Chapter 26 was
adopted (10 Hennings Statutes 98) giving the court of
admiralty of Virginia jurisdiction over all maritime cases
“except those wherein any parties may be accused of capi-
tal offenses”. That State, in 1776, also passed a law which
was re-enacted in 1792 giving the General Court jurisdic-
tion to try offenses against the Commonwealth committed
by any citizens thereof “in any place out of the jurisdic-
tion of common law in this Commonwealth and all felonies
committed by citizens against citizens in any such place
other than the high seas”. This Act, which gave the Gen-
eral Court jurisdiction to try cases which might occur on
the Potomac River, was repealed in 1819. In that year,
however, and before that repeal became effective, the case
of Commonwealth vs. Gaines, 2 Va. Cas. 172, was decided.
The court, by majority opinion, held that the General Court
had power before the passage of the Act of 1786 to try
capital offenses excluded from the jurisdiction of the
admiralty court occurring on the Chesapeake Bay, and
such of its tributaries as were out of the jurisdiction of

ee ee

i at ale

28

the courts of common law. There was, in this case, a
strong minority opinion which held that the Act of 1786
was passed to provide a tribunal to try cases occurring
under the Compact of 1785 (the only reported Virginia
case dealing with the Tenth Article of the Compact) and
that the General Court had no such jurisdiction before the
Act of 1786. In 1895, the Supreme Court of Appeals of
Virginia adopted, in the case of Strouther vs. Common-
wealth, 92 Va. 789, 22 S. E. 852, 53 Am. St. Rep. 852, the
minority view in Commonwealth vs. Gaines. The court
stated that its opinion was based on the construction of a
statute “which disappeared from our laws in 1819, and it
may be fairly presumed and was repealed because the Leg-
islature preferred that the rule in Virginia should continue
as at common law.

It is the contention of the respondent that since 1819
Virginia has passed no law providing for the punishment
of extra-territorial offenses, save those offenses arising
under the concurrent Acts passed by Maryland and Vir-
ginia regulating fishing on the Potomac River, in conform-
ity with the Seventh and Eighth Articles of the Compact
of 1785.

The court held in Anderson vs. Commonwealth, 100 Va.
860, 42 S. E. 865, that the Virginia courts had no extra-
territorial jurisdiction. In the comparatively recent case
of Farewell vs. Commonwealth (1937), 167 Va. 475, 189
S. E. 321, the court held that:

“The venue is the element of territorial jurisdiction.
As in all criminal cases every crime to be punished in
Virginia must be committed in Virginia.

“So murder, rape or robbery must be committed

within the confines of this State to give jurisdiction
to its courts.”

—

=

© CTE. « aT =

:
;
1
'
f

x

“
4
'

It is respectfully contended, therefore, that the reasons
which gave rise to the incorporation in the Compact of the
Tenth Article thereof having ceased to exist upon the
ratification by Maryland and Virginia of the Black-Jenkins
Award of 1877, that provision of the Compact has lost its
force and vigor and may be disregarded.

CONCLUSION.

For the reasons heretofore assigned, it is respectfully
contended that the writ of certiorari should not be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

WILLIAM CURRAN,
Attorney General of Maryland,

HALL HAMMOND,

Deputy Attorney General
of Maryland,

J. EDGAR HARVEY,

Assistant Attorney General
of Maryland,

T. BARTON HARRINGTON,
Assistant Attorney General
of Maryland,
Counsel for Respondent.
1901 Balto. Trust Building,
Baltimore 2, Maryland

APPENDIX TO RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSI-
TION TO THE PETITION FOR A WRIT
OF CERTIORARI.

ACTS OF THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF
MARYLAND.

Cuaprer I.
Acts or 1785.

An ACT to approve, confirm and ratify, the compact made
by the commissioners appointed by the general assem-
bly of the commonwealth of Virginia, and the commis-
sioners appointed by this State, to regulate and settle
the jurisdiction and navigation of Patowmack and
Pocomoke rivers, and that part of Chesapeake bay
which lieth within the territory of Virginia.

WHEREAS, at a meeting of the commissioners appointed
by the general assemblies of the commonwealth of Virginia
and the State of Maryland for forming a compact between
the two States, to regulate and settle the jurisdiction and
navigation of Patowmack, Pocomoke rivers, and that part
of Chesapeake bay which lieth within the territory of Vir-
ginia, to wit, George Mason and Alexander Henderson,
Esquires, on the part of the commonwealth of Virginia,
and Daniel of Saint Thomas Jenifer, Thomas Stone, and
Samuel Chase, Esquires, on the part of the State of Mary-
land, at Mount Vernon in Virginia, on the twenty-eighth
day of March, in the year one thousand seven hundred and
eighty-five, the following compact was mutually agreed to
by the said commissioners.

FIRST, The Commonwealth of Virginia disclaims all
right to impose any toll, duty or charge, prohibition or
restraint, on any vessel whatever sailing through the capes
of Chesapeake bay to the State of Maryland, or from the
said State through the said capes outward bound, and
agrees that the waters of Chesapeake bay, and the river
Pocomoke, within the limits of Virginia, be forever con-

eG

2

sidered as a common highway, free for the use and naviga-
tion of any vessel belonging to the said State of Maryland,
or any of its citizens, or carrying on commerce to or from
the said State, or with any of its citizens, and that such
vessel, inward or outward bound, may freely enter any of
the rivers within the commonwealth of Virginia as a har-
bour, or for safety against an enemy, without the payment
of port duties, or any other charge; and also that the before-
mentioned parts of Chesapeake bay and Pocomoke river
be free for the navigation of vessels from one part of the
State of Maryland to another.

SECOND, The State of Maryland agrees, that any vessel
belonging to the commonwealth of Virginia, or any of its
citizens, or carrying on commerce to or from the said com-
monwealth, or with any of its citizens, may freely enter
any of the rivers of the said State of Maryland as a har-
bour, or for safety against an enemy, without the payment
of any port duty, or any other charge.

THIRD, Vessels of war, the property of either State, shall
not be subject to the payment of any port duty, or other
charge.

FOURTH, Vessels not exceeding forty feet keel, nor fifty
tons burthen, the property of any citizen of Virginia or
Maryland, or of citizens of both States, trading from one
State to the other, only, and having on board only the
produce of the said States, may enter and trade in any
part of either State, with a permit from the naval officer
of the district from which such vessel departs with her
cargo, and shall be subject to no port charges.

FIFTH, All merchant vessels (except such as are des-
cribed in the fourth article) navigating the river Patow-
mack, shall enter and clear at some naval office on the said
river in one or both States, according to the laws of the
State in which the entry shall be made; and where any ves-
sel shall make an entry in both States, such vessel shall be
subject to tonnage in each state, only in proportion to the
commodities carried to or taken from such state.

i

3

SIXTH, The river Patowmack shall be considered as a
common highway for the purpose of navigation and com-
merce to the citizens of Virginia and Maryland, and of the
United States, and to all other persons in amity with the
said States trading to or from Virginia or Maryland.

SEVENTH, The citizens of each state respectively shall
have full property in the shores of Patowmack river adjoin-
ing their lands, with all emoluments and advantages there-
unto belonging, and the privilege of making and carrying
out wharfs and other improvements, so as not to obstruct
or injure the navigation of the river, but the right of fish-
ing in the river shall be common to and equally enjoyed
by, the citizens of both states; provided, that such common
rights be not exercised by the citizens of the one state to
the hinderance or disturbance of the fisheries on the shores
of the other state, and that the citizens of neither state
shall have a right to fish with nets or seans on the shores
of the other.

EIGHTH, All laws and regulations which may be neces-
sary for the preservation of fish, or for the performance
of quarantine in the river Patowmack, or for the preserv-
ing and keeping open the channel and navigation thereof,
or of the river Pocomoke within the limits of Virginia, by
preventing the throwing out ballast, or giving any other
obstruction thereto, shall be made with the mutual consent
and approbation of both states.

NINTH, Lighthouses, beacons, buoys, or other necessary
signals, shall be erected, fixed and maintained, upon Chesa-
peake bay, between the sea and the mouths of the rivers
Patowmack and Pocomoke and upon the river Patowmack
at the expense of both states; if upon Patowmack river, at
the joint and equal charge of both states, and if upon the
beforementioned part of Chesapeake bay, Virginia shall
defray five parts, and Maryland three parts, of such ex-
pense, and if this proportion shall in future times be found
unequal, the same shall be corrected. And for ascertaining
the proper places, mode and plans, for erecting and fixing
lighthouse, buoys, beacons, and other signals, as aforesaid,
both states shall, upon the application of either to the other,

=

appoint an equal number of commissioners, not less than
three or more than five from each state, to meet at such
times and places as the said commissioners, or a major part |
of them, shall judge fit, to fix upon the proper places, mode
and plans, for erecting and fixing such lighthouses, beacons, |
or other signals, and report the same, with an estimate of |
the expense, to the legislatures of both states, for their
approbation. |

4

TENTH, All piracies, crimes or offenses, committed on
that part of Chesapeake bay which lies within the liraits
of Virginia, or that part of the said bay where the line of
division from the south point of Patowmack river (now
called Smith’s Point) to Watkin’s Point, near the mouth
of Pocomoke river, may be doubtful, and on that part of
Pocomoke river within the limits of Virginia, or where the |
line of division between the two states upon the said river |
is doubtful, by any persons not citizens of the common-
wealth of Virginia, against the citizens of Maryland, shall
be tried in the court of the State of Maryland which hath
legal cognizance of such offences. And all piracies, crimes
and offences, committed on the before-mentioned parts of
Chesapeake bay and Pocomoke river, by any persons not
citizens of Maryland, against any citizen of Virginia, shall :
be tried in the court of the commonwealth of Virginia :
which hath legal cognizance of such offences. All piracies, [
crimes and offences, committed on the said parts of Chesa- |
peake bay, and Pocomoke river, by persons not citizens of
either State, against persons not citizens of either State, !
shall be tried in the court of the commonwealth of Virginia
having legal cognizance of such offences. And all piracies,
crimes and offences, committed on the said parts of Chesa-
peake bay and Pocomoke river, by any citizen of the com-
monwealth of Virginia, or of the State of Maryland, either
against the other, shall be tried in the court of that state
of which the offender is a citizen. The jurisdiction of each
state over the river Patowmack shall be exercised in the
same manner as is prescribed for the before-mentioned
parts of Chesapeake bay and Pocomoke river in every re-
spect, except in the case of piracies, crimes and offenses,
committed by persons not citizens of either state, upon per-

5

sons not citizens of either state, in which case the offen-
ders shall be tried by the court of the state to which they
shall first be brought; and if the inhabitants of either state
shall commit any violence, injury or trespass, to or upon
the property or lands of the other, adjacent to the said bay
or rivers, or to any person upon such lands, upon proof of
due notice to the offender to appear and answer, any court
of record, or civil magistrate, of the state where the offence
shall have been committed, having jurisdiction thereof,
may enter the appearance of such person, and proceed to
trial and judgment in the same manner as if legal process
had been served on such offender; and such judgment shall
be valid and effectual against the person and property of
such offender, both in the state where the offender shall
have been committed, and also in the state where the said
offender may reside, and execution may be issued by the
court, or magistrate, giving such judgment, in the same
manner as upon judgments given in other cases; or upon a
transcript of such judgment properly authenticated, being
produced to any court or magistrate of the state where such
offender may reside, having jurisdiction within the state,
or county where the offender may reside, in cases of a simi-
lar nature, such court or magistrate shall order execution
to issue upon such authenticated judgment, in the same
manner and to the same extent, as if the judgment had been
given by the court or magistrate to which such transcript
shall be exhibited.

ELEVENTH, Any vessel entering in any port on the river
Patowmack, may be libelled or attached for debt by pro-
cess from the state in which such vessel entered; and if
the commercial regulations of either state shall be violated
by any person carrying on commerce in Patowmack or
Pocomoke rivers, the vessel owned or commanded by the
person so offending, and the property on board, may be
seized by process from the state whose laws are offended,
in order for trial; and if any person shall fly from justice
in a civil or criminal case, or shall atempt to defraud credi-
tors, by removing his property, such person, or any prop-
erty so removed, may be taken on any part of Chesapeake
bay, or the rivers aforesaid, by process of the state from

“yy

which such person shall fly, or property be removed; and
process from the State of Virginia may be served on any
part of the said river upon any person, or property of any
person, not a citizen of Maryland, indebted to any citizen
of Virginia, or charged with injury having been by him
committed; and process from the state of Maryland may
be served on any part of the said rivers upon any person,
or property of any person, not a citizen of Virginia, in-
debted to a citizen of Maryland, or charged with injury
having been by him committed. And in all cases of trial
in pursuance of the jurisdiction settled by this compact,
citizens of either state shall attend as witnesses in the
other, upon a summons from any court or magistrate hav-
ing jurisdiction, being served by a proper officer of the
county where such citizen shall reside.

TWELFTH, The citizens of either state having lands in i
the other, shall have full liberty to transport to their own
state the produce of such lands, or to remove their effects,
free from any duty, tax, or charge whatsoever, for the ;
liberty to remove such produce or effects. :

THIRTEENTH, These articles shall be laid before the
legislatures of Virginia and Maryland, and their approba-
tion being obtained, shall be confirmed and ratified by a
law of each state, never to be repealed or altered by either
without the consent of the other. And whereas this gen-
eral assembly are of opinion, that the said compact is made
on just and mutuai principles, for the true interest of both
governments, and if executed with good faith, will per-
petuate harmony, friendship and good offices, between the ;
two states, so essential to the prosperity and happiness of
their people; |

II. BEIT ENACTED, by the General Assembly of Mary-
land, That the said compact is hereby approved, confirmed
and ratified, and that as soon as the said compact shall be
approved, confirmed and ratified, by the general assembly
of the commonwealth of Virginia, thereupon, and immedi-
ately thereafter, every article, clause, matter and thing, in
the same compact contained, shall be obligatory on this state
and the citizens thereof, and shall be for ever faithfully and

|

7

inviolably observed and kept by this government, and
all its citizens, according to the true intent and meaning of
the said compact; and the faith and honour of this State is
hereby solemnly pledged and engaged to the general as-
sembly of the commonwealth of Virginia, and the govern-
ment and citizens thereof, that this law shall never be re-
pealed or altered by the legislature of this government,
without the consent of the government of Virginia.

CHAPTER 247.
Acts or 1874.

-AN ACT to designate the arbitrators to ascertain and fix
the boundary between the States of Virginia and Mary-
land.

Whereas, a controversy exists as to the true line of the
boundary between the States of Virginia and Maryland;
and,

Whereas, the State of Virginia, by an act of its General
Assembly, entitled an act to designate the arbitrators to
ascertain and fix the boundary between the States of Mary-
land and Virginia, approved on the twenty-eighth day of
March, in the year of our Lord, one thousand eight hundred
and seventy-four, has declared its willingness to submit
the said controversy to arbitration, and to accept as final
and conclusive, such award as may be made in the prem-
ises; therefore—

SECTION 1. Be it enacted by the General Assembly of
Maryland, That the settlement and determination of the
true line of boundary between the States of Virginia and
Maryland, be referred to the Honorable Jeremiah S. Black,
of Pennsylvania, and the Honorable William A. Graham,
of North Carolina, and a third person to be selected by
them, who are hereby requested to act as arbitrators, and
to ascertain and determine the true line of boundary be-
tween the said States of Virginia and Maryland, and deliver
their award in writing, any two of them concurring there-
in. Each State shall have the right to be represented by

a

counsel before said arbitrators, subject to such regulations
as they may prescribe; and the State of Maryland hereby
pledges its faith to accept and abide by the award of said
arbitrators in the premises as final and conclusive; pro-
vided, however, that neither of the States, nor the citizens
thereof, shall, by the decision of the said arbitrators, be
deprived of any of the rights and privileges enumerated
and set forth in the compact between them entered into in
the year seventeen hundred and eighty-five, but that the
same shall remain to and be enjoyed by the said States and
the citizens thereof, forever.

SECTION 2. And be it enacted, That until the final
adjustment and settlement of the said line of boundary, ;
the temporary line across the Chesapeake Bay, known as :
the Lovett-Davidson line, shall be faithfully observed by ;
the citizens of the said two States; and the Governor is :
hereby requested to forward a copy of this act to the
Governor of Virginia.

SECTION 3. And be it enacted, That this act shall be
in force from its passage.

Approved April 11th, 1874.

8

CHAPTER 198.
Acts or 1876.

AN ACT supplementary to an act to designate the arbitra-
tors to ascertain and fix the boundary between the
States of Virginia and Maryland, approved April the
eleventh, eighteen hundred and seventy-four.

WHEREAS, by an act of the General Assembly of Mary-
land, passed at the January session, eighteen hundred and
seventy-four, chapter two hundred and forty-seven, en-
titled “an act to designate the arbitrators to ascertain and
fix the boundary between the States of Virginia and Mary-
land;” it was provided, that the settlement and determina-
tion of the true line of boundary between the States of |
Virginia and Maryland, be referred to the Honorable Jere-

9

miah S. Black, of Pennsylvania, and the Honorable William
A. Graham, of North Carolina, and a third person to be
selected by them, and they did select accordingly as a third
person, the Honorable Charles A. Jenkins, of Georgia, but
the said William A. Graham has since departed this life;
now for filling the vacancy thereby created, and for carry-
ing out the purposes of the said act; therefore,

Section 1. Be it enacted by the General Assembly of
Maryland, with the concurrence of the State of Virginia,
That the said Honorable Jeremiah S. Black, and the Honor-
able James B. Beck, of Kentucky, and the said Honorable
Charles A. Jenkins, do proceed to ascertain and determine
the true line of boundary between the States of Virginia
and Maryland, and do make and deliver their award in
writing, any two of them concurring therein. Each State
shall have the right to be represented by counsel before
the arbitrators under such regulations as they may pre-
scribe, and the State of Maryland hereby pledges its faith
to accept and abide by the award of the said arbitrators in
the premises, as final and conclusive; provided, however,
that neither of the said States, nor the citizens thereof,
shall by the decision of the said arbitrators, be deprived of
any of the rights and privileges enumerated and set forth
in the compact between them, entered into in the year
seventeen hundred and eighty-five; but that the same shall
remain to, and be enjoyed by the said States, and the
citizens thereof forever; and provided further, that the
landholders on either side of the line of boundary between
the said States as the same may be ascertained and deter-
mined by the said award, shall in no manner be disturbed
thereby in their title to and possession of their lands, as
they may be at the date of said award, but shall in any
case, hold and possess the same as if their said titles and
possession had been derived under the laws of the State,
in which, by the fixing of the said line by the terms of
the said award, they may be ascertained to be.

Sec. 2. And be it enacted, That until the final adjustment
and settlement of the said line of boundary, the temporary
line across the Chesapeake bay, known as the Lovett-

a

77

Davidson line, shall be faithfully observed by the citizens
of the said two States.

Sec. 3. And be it enacted, That if, in the recess of the
Legislature a vacancy shall occur by reason of the death,
resignation or refusal to act, of any of the persons here-
in appointed to settle and determine the said line of bound-
ary as aforesaid, a fit person or persons shall be appointed
by the concurrent action of the Governor of Maryland, and
the Governor of Virginia, or of the Legislature of the latter
State, as the case may be, who with those already ap-
pointed, and who may act in the premises, shall exercise
the powers and perform the duties defined and imposed
in the first section of this act.

Sec. 4. And be it enacted, That the Governor is hereby
requested to forward a copy of this act to the Governor
of Virginia, with a request that he present the same to the
General Assembly of that State, and that he communicate
to the Honorable James B. Beck, his appointment under
this act, and request his acceptance of the same.

Sec. 5. And be it enacted, That this act shall take effect
from the date of its passage.

Approved April 3, 1876.

10

TE eee

eee

CHAPTER 274.
Acts oF 1878.

AN ACT to approve, confirm and ratify the award made
by the Honorable Jeremiah S. Black, James B. Beck
and Charles A. Jenkins, arbitrators appointed to ascer-
tain and fix the boundary between the States of Vir-
ginia and Maryland.

WHEREAS, by an act of the General Assembly of Mary- _
land, passed at January session, eighteen hundred and >
seventy-six, chapter one hundred and ninety-eight, it was
provided that the settlement and determination of the true
line of boundary between the States of Virginia and Mary-

11

land should be referred to the Honorable Jeremiah S.
Black, of Pennsylvania, the Honorable James B. Beck, of
Kentucky, and the Honorable Charles A. Jenkins, of Geor-
gia, with power to make and deliver their award in writ-
ing, any two of them concurring therein, and did thereby
pledge the faith of this State to accept and abide by the
award of said arbitrators, as to said boundary line as final
and conclusive, with the proviso and saving clause, as to
private rights, as in the said act set forth; and, whereas
the said arbitrators did proceed in the premises to examine
into and ascertain the true line of said boundary, and did
award as to the same in words following, to wit:

Here follows text of award—see Appendix p. 26.

And which said award is now deposited with the map
accompanying the same in the Land Office of this State,
among the muniments of title; now, therefore,

Section 1. Be it enacted by the General Assembly of
Maryland, That the said award is hereby approved, ac-
cepted, confirmed and ratified, and that as soon as the
same is also approved, accepted, confirmed and ratified by
the General Assembly of the State of Virginia, and by the
Congress of the United States, thereupon and immediately
thereafter the said award and survey matter and things
therein contained’ shall be obligatory on the State and the
citizens thereof, and shall be forever faithfully and in-
violably observed, and kept by this State and all its citizens,
according to the true intent and meaning of the same, and
to that end the faith of this State shall stand pledged.

Sec. 2. And be in enacted, That the Governor is hereby
requested to forward a copy of this act to the Governor
of Virginia, with a request that the General Assembly of
said State shall also enact a law in accordance herewith;
and, shall, also, forward a copy to our Senators and Repre-
sentatives in Congress, with a request that they procure
such legislation on the part of the United States as may be
needful in the premises for their assent to and ratification
of said award.

Approved April 4, 1878.

ee na

“12

CHAPTER 374.
Acts or 1878.

AN ACT to provide for surveying and marking the bound-
ary line between the States of Maryland and Virginia,
as ascertained and determined by the arbitrators here-
tofore appointed on the part of Maryland and Virginia
respectively.

Whereas, the arbitrators to whom were submitted the
controversies between the States of Maryland and Virginia,
concerning their territorial limits, have filed their award
determining and declaring the boundary line of the said
States, so far as they are conterminous; and whereas it is
necessary that said boundary line should be surveyed and
designated by monuments of a durable character, so that
its precise location may be readily ascertained by the citi-
zens of each of the aforesaid States; therefore—

Section 1. Be it enacted by the General Assembly of
Maryland, That when the said award shall have been ac-
cepted by the State of Virginia, and shall have been rati-
fied by Congressional legislation, it shall then be the duty
of the Governor of this State to nominate and appoint a
commissioner, who, together with a commissioner or com-
missioners to be appointed by said State of Virginia, shall,
in concert with each other, have the said line surveyed, and
so far as practicable and necessary, shall have the same
defined and marked by suitable monuments; and to the
end that said line may be run by persons of the highest
skill, and as the same is a matter of federal concern, the
Governor is directed to solicit the War Department at
Washington to detail one or more of the topographical engi-
neers of the United States, who shall run, mark and bound
said line with such monuments to be placed therein, of the
kind, number and description that the said engineers shall
order and direct.

Approved April 1, 1878.

—_—

rar

‘agama

13

CHAPTER 451.
Acts or 1878.

AN ACT providing for copying and distributing the maps
accompanying the award of commissioners to settle
the boundary line between the State of Maryland and
Virginia, filed the nineteenth day of January, eighteen
hundred and seventy-seven.

Section 1. Be it enacted by the General Assembly of
Maryland, That the Commissioner of the Land Office be
and he is hereby authorized and directed to have made,
under his hand and seal, and under the hand and seal of
the Governor of Maryland, thirty copies of the map accom-
panying the award of commissioners to settle the bound-
ary line between the State of Maryland and Virginia, filed
the nineteenth day of January, eighteen hundred and
seventy-seven; provided the cost of the same shall not ex-
ceed the sum of one hundred and fifty dollars.

Sec. 2. And be it enacted, That one copy shall be sent
to the Clerk of the Circuit Court for each of the counties
of the State and Baltimore city, one copy to the Maryland
Historical Society, one copy to the Peabody Institute, one
copy to the Johns Hopkins University, and one copy to the
Library of Congress, and that the Comptroller of the State
be and he is hereby authorized to issue, upon the certificate
of the Commissioner of the Land Office, his warrant upon
the Treasurer for the sum of one hundred and fifty dollars.

Sec. 3. And be it enacted, That this act shall take effect
from the date of its passage.

Approved April 5, 1878.

14

CHAPTER 50.
Acts or 1929.

AN ACT to define, survey and mark the boundary of
Virginia and Maryland along the Potomac River as
laid down by the Award of 1877, and to authorize |
the expenditure necessary therefor, and such action |
as may be necessary to secure the approval by the ’
Congress of the United States of the line so surveyed |
and marked.

WHEREAS, the boundary line described in the Award |
of the Arbitrators authorized by the Acts of the General
Assemblies of Maryland and Virginia, which Award was
accepted by Maryland (Acts of Assembly, 1877-1878,
Chapter 247*), and by Virginia (Acts of Assembly, 1877-
1878, Chapter 246), and approved by Congress (March 3,
1879) has never been surveyed and monumented along

the Potomac River; and

WHEREAS, because of uncertainties as to the actual
position of such unmarked line, which was only partia'ly
represented on the map accompanying and made part
of the Award of 1877 above described, the Governors of
Virginia and Maryland have caused the entire line along
the Potomac River to be drawn on maps by Edward B.
Mathews, State Geologist of the State of Maryland, and
Wilbur A. Nelson, State Geologist of the State of Vir-
ginia, in accordance with their best judgment of the Award
of 1877, now therefore

SECTION 1. Be it enacted by the General Assembly
of Maryland, That the line laid down by Edward B.
Mathews and Wilbur A. Nelson be approved as a just
and fair expression of the Award of 1877, regarding the
boundary line along the Potomac River in so far as the
same was not represented on the map accompanying the |

Award of 1877, and that the said line be and is hereby
accepted and declared to be a true representation of part

* This is an error and should read 274.

;
REPL TAL TS A AT IONE SARTO RELATE TARR IEAR 246. Od HNO RS —

15

of the boundary line between Virginia and Maryland
already accepted by both states.

SEC. 2. And be it further enacted, That when the
line shall have been ratified by both states the Governor
of Maryland be, and he is hereby authorized and directed
to co-operate with the Governor of Virginia in soliciting
the U. S. Coast and Geodetic Survey or other agency of the
Federal Government to supply the necessary skilled and
impartial engineers who shall survey said line and prop-
erly mark and document it on the ground with sufficient
points to insure that it may be readily recognized or re-
stored if destroyed. The work of the engineers shall also
include the preparation of a report giving an account of
their work, and a full description of each and every loca-
tion permanently marked by them.

SEC. 3. And be it further enacted, That the Governor
of Maryland be and he is hereby authorized and instructed
to enter into agreements or contracts in the name of the
State of Maryland, to pay the share of the expenses of such
surveying and marking of the line as above described as is
properly chargeable to the State of Maryland, and further
that he is hereby empowered to appoint, if he deems it
advisable so to do, a competent Commissioner on the part
of the State of Maryland, who shall represent the interests
of the State during the surveying and marking of said line.

SEC. 4. And be it further enacted, That when the
said line is surveyed and marked upon the ground the
Governor of Maryland be and he is hereby authorized
and instructed to take such action in co-operation with
the Governor of Virginia as may be necessary to secure
the approval by the Congress of the United States of the
line so surveyed and marked in order that thereafter there
may not arise any question of controversy to disturb the
cumity and mutual good will so essential to the well being
of contiguous states.

Approved March 8, 1929.

— ee

16

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 17
Act> or 1945.

A Joint Resolution authoriing and directing the Governor
to appoint a Commission to confer and act jointly with
a similar Commission of Virginia for the purpose of
restudying the Compact of 1785 and the concurrent
legislation respecting the fisheries of the Potomac
River and Chesapeake Bay and to report as to the
need for additional legislation with respect thereto and
as to the desirability of creating a joint inter-State
authority to consider the problems in connection with
the fisheries of the Potomac River and the Chesapeake
Bay and to submit a report containing its conclusions
and recommendations.

WHEREAS, on the twenty-eighth day of March in the
year 1785 the states of Maryland and Virginia entered into
a compact to regulate and settle the jurisdiction and navi-
gation of the Potomac and the lower part of the Chesapeake
Bay; and

WHEREAS, That compact did establish that the right
of fishing in the river shall be common to, and equally
enjoyed by, the citizens of both states, and that all laws
and regulations which may be necessary for the preserva-
tion of fish shall be made with the mutual consent and
approbation of both states; and

WHEREAS, since that time the fisheries of the Potomac
River and Chesapeake Bay have greatly developed, in-
creased, and then declined with a corresponding and con-
tinuing increase in the problems having to do with the
regu.ation, conservation, and development of the fisheries;
and

WHEREAS, it is confidently believed that a better co-
ordination of legislation, regulations and law enforcement
by the two states will result in the conservation and res-
toration of the fisheries to the benefit of the seafood in-

17

dustry of the nation as well as to the states of Maryland
and Virginia; and

WHEREAS, such results can best be accomplished
through the cooperative efforts of the two states by or
through a joint or common agency; now therefore

Be it resolved by the General Assembly of Maryland,
That the Governor of Maryland be and he is hereby auth-
orized and directed to appoint a Commission of three citi-
zens of this State to serve without compensation and to
confer with a similar Commission of three citiens of the
Commonwealth of Virginia to be appointed by the Gov-
ernor of Virginia for the purposes hereinafter set forth:

(1) To restudy the compact of 1785 and the concurrent
legislation enacted thereunder with respect to the fisheries
of the Potomac river and Chesapeake Bay;

(2) To consult and advise with the pertinent State, in-
terstate and Federal agencies and citizens concerned there-
with;

(3) To determine whether improvements in the admin-
istration and enforcement of existing laws are needed,
or whether the concurrent laws of the two states need to
be amended, or whether the best interests of the fisheries
and of the people of the two states will be served by grant-
ing additional powers to existing State or interstate agen-
cies, or whether a new joint commission, or interstate au-
thority should be created by compact or reciprocal legisla-
tion between the two states and empowered to study, de-
termine policy and make and enforce regulations appli-
cable to the fisheries of the tidewaters of the Potomac
River and of the tidewaters of the Chesapeake Bay, within
the jurisdiction of the two states; ;

(4) To bring the problems and responsibilities facing
the two states to the attention of the public through the
press, radio, schools, civic organizations, and any other
means of disseminating information; and

18

Be it further resolved, That such Commission shall elect
from its members a Chairman and a Vice-Chairman and
shall present to the Governors of the two states from time
to time requests for such clerical and other assistance as
it may require and the Governor of Maryland is hereby
authorized to make available to the Commission such assist-
ance to the end that it may report its conclusions as to pol-
icy and its proposals as to legislation to the Governors and
legislatures of the two states not later than January 1,
1946; and

Be it further resolved, That in fitting commemoration
of the one hundred and sixtieth anniversary of the sign-
ing of the original Compact at Mount Vernon the organ-
ization meeting of the herein established joint interstate
Commission be held at Mount Vernon, Virginia, on the
28th day of March, 1945, and that the Governors of Mary-
land and Virginia be invited to acclaim this occasion by
proclamation and to arrange for the proper participation
of their states in this initial meeting of the joint Commis-
sion and in any other ceremonies marking the 160th anni-
versary of the signing of the Compact of 1785 between
Maryland and the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Approved April 23, 1945.

ACTS OF THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF VIRGINIA.
CHAPTER 135.
Acts oF 1874.

AN ACT to Designate the Arbitrators to Ascertain and
fix the Boundary between the States of Maryland and
Virginia. Approved March 28, 1874.

Whereas, a controversy exists as to the true line of
boundary between the states of Maryland and Virginia;
and whereas, the State of Maryland, by resolution of its
general assembly now in session, has declared its willing-
ness to submit the said controversy to arbitration, and to

ia ia os

—

accept as final and conclusive such award as may be made
in the premises: therefore.

19

1. Be it enacted by the general assembly of Virginia,
That the settlement and determination of the true line
of boundary between the states of Maryland and Vir-
ginia be referred to the Honorable Jeremiah S. Black of
| Pennsylvania, and the Honorable William A. Graham of
7 North Carolina, and a third person to be selected by them,
who are hereby requested to act as arbitrators, and to
ascertain and determine the true boundary between the
said states of Virginia and Maryland, and to make and
deliver their award in writing, any two of them concurring
therein. Each state shall have the right to be represented
by counsel before said arbitrators subject to such regula-
tions as they may prescribe. And the State of Virginia
hereby pledges its faith to accept and abide by the award
of said arbitrators in the premises, as final and conclusive;
provided, further, that neither of the said states, nor the
citizens thereof, shall by the decision of the said arbitrators,
be deprived of any of the rights and privileges enumerated
and set forth in the compact between them entered into
in the year one thousand seven hundred and eighty-five,
but that the same shall remain to and be enjoyed by the
said states and the citizens thereof forever.

2. And be it further enacted, That until the final ad-
justment and settlement of the said line of boundary, the
temporary line across the Chesapeake Bay known as the
Lovell-Davidson line shall be faithfully observed by the
citizens of the said two states.

3. The governor is hereby requested to forward a copy
of this act to the governor of Maryland, with a request that
he present the same to the general assembly of that state
for their concurrent action in the premises.

4. This act shall be in force from its passage.

20

CHAPTER 48.
1875-1876.

AN ACT to amend and re-enact an act to designate the
Arbitrators to Ascertain and Fix the Boundary of the
States of Maryland and Virginia, approved March twenty-
eighth, eighteen hundred and seventy-four. Approved,
Feb. 10, 1876.

Whereas by the act of the general assembly, approved
March twenty-eighth, eighteen hundred and seventy-four
entitled an act to designate the arbitrators to ascertain
and fix the boundary between the states of Maryland
and Virginia, it was provided that the settlement and
determination of the true line of boundary between
the state of Maryland and Virginia be referred to the
Honorable Jeremiah S. Black of Pennsylvania, and the
Honorable William A. Graham of North Carolina, and a
third person, to be selected by them, and they did select
accordingly, as a third person, the Honorable Charles A.
Jenkins of Georgia, but the said William A. Graham has
since depart(ed) this life; now, for filling the vacancy
thereby created, and for carrying out the provisions of
this said act; therefore

1. Be it enacted, with the concurrence of the state of
Maryland, That the Honorable Jeremiah S. Black and
Honorable J. B. Beck of Kentucky, with the said Honor-
able Charles A. Jenkins, as arbitrators, do proceed to
ascertain and determine the true line of boundary be-
tween the said states of Maryland and Virginia, and to
make and deliver their award in writing, any two of
them concurring therein. Each state shall have the right
to be represented by counsel before the arbitrators, un-
der such regulations as they may prescribe. And the
state of Virginia hereby pledges its faith to accept and
abide by the award of the said arbitrators in the prem-
ises, as final and conclusive; provided however, that
neither of the said states, nor the citizens thereof, shall
by the decision of the said arbitrators be deprived of

21

any of the rights and privileges enumerated and set forth
in the compact between them entered into in the year
seventeen hundred and eighty-five, but that the same
shall remain to and be enjoyed by the said states and the
citizens thereof forever: and provided further, that the
landholders on either side of the line of boundary be-
tween the said states, as the same be ascertained and
determined by the said award, shall in no manner be
disturbed thereby in their title to and possession of their
lands, as they may be at the date of said award but shall
in any case hold and possess the same, as if their said
titles and possessions had been derived under the laws of
the state in which, by the fixing of the said line by the
terms of the said award, they may be ascertained to be.

2. And be it further enacted, That until the final ad-
justment and settlement of the said line of boundary,
the temporary line across the Chesapeake bay, known as
the Lovell-Davidson line, shall be faithfully observed by
the citizens of the said two states.

3. Be it further enacted, That if, in the recess of the
legislature, a vacancy shall occur by reason of the death,
resignation, or refusal to act of any of the persons herein
appointed to settle and determine the said line of bound-
ary as aforesaid, a fit person or persons shall be appointed
by the concurrent action of the governor of Virginia and
of the governor of Maryland, or of the legislature of the
latter state, as the case may be, who with those already
appointed and who may act in the premises, shall exer-
cise the powers and perform the duties defined and im-
posed in the first section of this act.

4. The governor is hereby request(ed) to forward a
copy of this act to the governor of Maryland, with the
request that he present the same to the general assembly
of that state for their concurrence in the premises, and
that he communicate to the Honorable James B. Beck his
appointment under this act and request his acceptance
of the same.

5. This act shall be in force from its passage.

22

CHAPTER 247.
Acts or 1876-1877.

AN ACT to authorize the secretary of the common-
wealth to furnish the clerks of the county seats of Acco-
mack, Northumberland, Westmoreland, King George,
Stafford, Prince William, Fairfax, Alexandria, Middlesex,
Mathews, Gloucester, and Loudoun, with copies of the map
returned by the commissioners to arbitrate the boundary
line between Virginia and Maryland. Approved March
29, 1877.

1. Be it enacted by the general assembly of Virginia,
That the secretary of the commonwealth be, and he is
hereby authorized and directed to have printed one hun-
dred photolithograph copies of the map returned by the
commissioners to arbitrate the boundary line between
the states of Maryland and Virginia, showing the true
boundary line between said states; and when so printed
and made out, the said secretary shall furnish each of
the clerks of the county courts of Accomack, Northum-
berland, Westmoreland, King George, Stafford, Prince
William, Fairfax, Alexandria, Middlesex, Mathews, Glou-
cester, and Loudoun with duplicate copies of the same
to be preserved by said clerks in their respective offices.

2. To defray the cost of expenses to printing said maps
the auditor of public accounts is hereby authorized and
directed to issue his warrant on the treasury for the sum
of two hundred dollars, to be paid out of any money in the
treasury not otherwise appropriated.

3. This act shall be in force from and after its passage.

23

CHAPTER 246.
Acts or 1877-1878.

AN ACT to approve, confirm, and ratify the award
made by the Arbitrators appointed to ascertain and fix
the boundary between the states of Virginia and Mary-
land, and procure the assent of the Congress of the United
States thereto. Approved March 14, 1878.

Whereas, by an act of the general assembly of Virginia,
approved March twenty-eighth, eighteen hundred and
seventy-four, and an act amendatory thereof approved
February tenth, eighteen hundred and seventy-six, it was
provided that the settlement and determination of the true
line of boundary between the states of Virginia and Mary-
land should be referred to the Honorable Jeremiah S.
Black of Pennsylvania, the Honorable James B. Beck of
Kentucky, and the Honorable Charles A. Jenkins of
Georgia, with power to make and deliver their award in
writing, any two of them concurring therein; and did
thereby pledge the faith of this state to accept and abide
by the award of said arbitrators, as to said boundary line,
as final and conclusive, with the proviso and saving clauses
as to private rights as in said acts set forth; and whereas
the said arbitrators did proceed in the premises to examine
into and ascertain the true line of said boundary, and did
award as to the same in words following, to wit

(Here follows text of award—See Appendix p. 26).

And which award is now deposited, with the map accom-
panying the same, in the office of the Secretary of the
Commonwealth; now, therefore,

1. Be it enacted by the general assembly of Virginia,
That the said award is hereby approved, accepted, con-
firmed and ratified, and that as soon as the same is also
approved, accepted, confirmed, and ratified by the general
assembly of the state of Maryland, and by the Congress
of the United States, thereupon and immediately there-
after the said award and survey, matter and thing therein

a

|

24

contained, shall be obligatory on the state and the citizens
thereof, and shall be forever faithfully and inviolably ob-
served and kept by this state and all its citizens, according
to the true intent and meaning of the same, and to that
end the faith of this state shall stand pledged.

2. The governor is hereby requested to forward a copy
of this act to the governor of Maryland, with a request
that the general assembly of said state shall also enact a
law in accordance herewith; and shall also forward a copy
to our senators and representatives in Congress, with the |
request that they procure such legislation on the part of ~
the United States as may be needful in the premises for
their assent to and ratification of said award.

3. This act shall be in force from its passage.

CHAPTER 477.
Acts oF 1928.

An Act to define and to provide for a survey and mark-
ing of the boundary of Virginia and Maryland along the
Potomac river as laid down by the award of 1877 and to
authorize the expenditure necessary therefor.

Approved March 26, 1928.

Whereas, the boundary line described in the award of
the arbitration authorized by the general assembly of
Maryland and Virginia, which award was accepted by
Maryland (acts of assembly eighteen hundred and sev-
enty-eight, chapter two hundred and forty-seven) ,* and
by Virginia (acts of assembly eighteen hundred and sev-
enty-seven and eighteen hundred and _ seventy-eight,
chapter two hundred and forty-six), and approved by con-
gress March third, eighteen hundred and seventy-nine, has
never been surveyed and monumented along the Potomac
river.

* This is an error and should read two hundred and seventy-four.

RG STARR HEM ION Fi Ub GBPS NTR REG ——

25

Whereas, because of uncertainties as to the actual posi-
tion of such unmarked line, which was only partially rep-
resented on the map accompanying and made part of the
award of eighteen hundred and seventy-seven, above de-
scribed, the governors of Virginia and Maryland have
caused the entire line along the Potomac river to be drawn
on maps by Edward B. Mathews, geologist, State of Mary-
land, and by Wilbur A. Nelson, State geologist of Virginia,
in accordance with their best judgment of the award of
eighteen hundred and seventy-seven; now, therefore.

1. Be it enacted by the general assembly of Virginia
as follows:

Section 1. The line laid down by Edward B. Mathews
and Wilbur A. Nelson is hereby approved as a just and
fair expression of the award of eighteen hundred and
seventy-seven regarding the boundary line along the Po-
tomac river in so far as the same was not represented on
the map accompanying the award of eighteen hundred
and seventy-seven and the said line is hereby accepted and
declared to be a true representation of part of the boun-
dary line between Virginia and Maryland already accept-
ed by both States.

Section 2. If and when the aforesaid line shall have been
ratified by both States, the governor of Virginia is hereby
authorized and directed to co-operate with the governor
of Maryland in soliciting the United States coast and geo-
detic survey or other agencies of the federal government to
supply the necessary skill and impartial engineers who
shall survey said line and properly mark and document it
on the ground with sufficient points to insure that it may
be readily recognized or restored if destroyed. The work
of the engineers shall also include the presentation of a
report giving an account of their work and a full descrip-
tion of each and every location permanently marked by
them.

Section 3. The governor is hereby authorized and directed
to enter into an agreement or contract in the name of the
State of Virginia to pay such part of the expenses incur-

~~

red in making said survey and marking the line thereof,
as above described, as are properly chargeable in the State
of Virginia, and the governor is further authorized, if he
deems it advisable to do so, to appoint a competent com-
missioner who shall represent the interest of the State of
Virginia during the survey and marking of said line. It is
expressly provided, however, that the expense incurred on
behalf of the State of Virginia, under the provisions of this
act, shall not exceed ten thousand dollars and shall be paid
upon the order of the governor out of the appropriation
herein made out of the game protection fund created under
the provisions of an act approved March twenty-fourth,
nineteen hundred and twenty-six (acts of assembly, nine-
teen hundred and twenty-six, chapter two hundred and
ninety-five, pages five hundred and eleven—five hundred
and fifteen).

Section 4. When the said line is surveyed and marked
upon the ground the governor is hereby authorized and
directed to take such action in co-operation with the gover-
nor of Maryland as may be nécessary to secure the approval
by congress of the line so surveyed and marked, in order
that thereafter there may not arise any question of con-
troversy to disturb the comity and mutual goodwill so
essential to the well being of contiguous States.

26

Section 5. For the purpose of carrying out the provisions
of this act there is hereby appropriated out of the afore-
said game protection fund the sum of ten thousand dollars,
or so much thereof as may be necessary.

AWARD OF THE ARBITRATORS, 1877.

And now, to wit, January 16, Anno Domini 1877, the
undersigned, being a majority of the arbitrators to whom
the States of Virginia and Maryland, by acts of their re
spective Legislatures, submitted the controversies concern-
ing their territorial limits, with authority to ascertain and
determine the true line of boundary between them, having
heard the allegations of the said States and examined the

27

proofs on both sides, do find, declare, award, ascertain,
and determine that the true line of boundary between the
said States, so far as they are conterminous with one an-
other, is as follows, to wit:

Beginning at the point on the Potomac river where the
line between Virginia and West Virginia strikes the said
river at low-water mark, and thence, following the mean-
derings of said river by the low-water mark, to Smith’s
Point, at or near the mouth of the Potomac, in latitude
37° 53’ 08” and longitude 76° 13’ 46””; thence crossing the
waters of the Chesapeake bay, by a line running north
65° 30’ east, about nine and a half nautical miles, to a point
on the western shore of Smith’s Island, at the north end
of Sassafras Hammock, in latitude 37° 57’ 13”, longitude
76° 02’ 52”; thence across Smith’s Island south 88° 30’ east
five thousand six hundred and twenty yards, to the center
of Horse Hammock, on the eastern shore of Smith’s Island,
in latitude 37° 57’ 08”, longitude 75° 59’ 20”; thence south
79° 30’ east four thousand eight hundred and eighty yards,
to a point marked “A” on the accompanying map, in the
middle of Tangier Sound, in latitude 37° 56’ 42”, longitude
75° 56’ 23”, said point bearing from Jane’s Island light
south 54° west, and distant from that light three thousand
five hundred and sixty yards; thence south 10° 30’ west
four thousand seven hundred and forty yards, by a line
dividing the waters of Tangier sound, to a point where it
intersects the straight line from Smith’s Point to Watkins’
Point, said point of intersection being in latitude 37° 54’
21”, longitude 75° 56’ 55”, bearing from Jane’s Island light
south 29° west, and from Horse Hammock south 34° 30’
east. This point of intersection is marked “B” on the
accompanying map. Thence north 85° 15’ six thousand
seven hundred and twenty yards along the line above men-
tioned, which runs from Smith’s Point to Watkins’ Point
until it reaches the latter spot, namely, Watkins’ Point,
which is in latitude 37° 54’ 38”, longitude 75° 52’ 44”.
From Watkins’ Point the boundary line runs due east seven
thousand eight hundred and eighty yards, to a point where
it meets a line running through the middle of Pocomoke
sound, which is marked “C” on the accompanying map,

28

and is in latitude 37° 54’ 38”, longitude 75° 47’ 50”; thence,
by a line dividing the waters of Pocomoke sound, north
47° 30’ east five thousand two hundred and twenty yards,
to a point in said sound marked “D” on the accompanying
map, in latitude 37° 56’ 25”, longitude 75° 45’ 26”; thence
following the middle of the Pocomoke river by a line of
irregular curves, as laid down on the accompanying map,
until it intersects the westward protraction of the boundary
line marked by Scarborough and Calvert May 28, 1668, at
a point in the middle of the Pocomoke river and in latitude
37° 59’ 37”, longitude 75° 37’ 04”; thence, by the Scarbor-
ough and Calvert line, which runs 5° 15’ north of east, to
the Atlantic ocean.

The latitudes, longitudes, courses, and distances here
given have been measured upon the Coast Chart No. 33 of
the United States Coast Survey, (sheet No. 3, Chesapeake
Bay) which is herewith filed as part of this award and
explanatory thereof. The original charter line is marked
upon the said map and shaded in blue. The present line of
boundary, as ascertained and determined, is also marked
and shaded in red, while the yellow indicates the line re-
ferred to in the compact of 1785 between Smith’s Point
and Watkins’ Point.

In further explanation of this award, the arbitrators
deem it proper to add that—

1. The measurements being taken and places fixed
according to the Coast Survey, we have come as near to
perfect mathematical accuracy as in the nature of things
is possible. But in case of any inaccuracy in the described
course of length of a line or in the latitude or longitude
of a place the natural objects called for must govern.

2. The middle thread of Pocomoke river is equidistant
as nearly as may be between the two shores without con-
sidering arms, inlets, creeks, or affluents as parts of the
river, but measuring the shore lines from headland to
headland.

3. The low-water mark on the Potomac, to which Vir-
ginia has a right in the soil, is to be measured by the same

29

rule, that is to say, from low-water mark at one headland
to low-water mark at another, without following indenta-
tions, bays, creeks, inlets, or affluent rivers.

4. Virginia is entitled not only to full dominion over the
soil to low-water mark on the south shore of the Potomac,
but has a right to such use of the river beyond the line
of low-water mark as may be necessary to the full enjoy-
ment of her riparian ownership, without impeding the
navigation or otherwise interfering-with the proper use of
it by Maryland, agreeably to the compact of 1785. ___

In testimony whereof we have here unto set our hands
the day and year above written.

J. S. BLACK,
Of Pennsylvania.
CHAS. J. JENKINS,

Of Georgia.
A. W. GRAHAM,

Secretary.

ACTS OF CONGRESS
ACT OF MARCH 3, 1879
CHAPTER 196, 20 Srart. at LARGE 481.

AN ACT giving the consent of Congress to an agreement
or compact entered into between the States of Virginia and
Maryland respecting the boundary between said States.

Whereas arbitrators duly appointed on the part of the
State of Virginia and on the part of the State of Maryland
for the purpose of ascertaining and fixing the boundary
between the States of Virginia and Maryland, did proceed
in the premises to examine into and ascertain the true
limits of said boundary, and did award as to the same in
words following to wit:

“Award. (See this appendix page 26)”.

30

And whereas the said award has been ratified and con-
firmed by the Legislature of the States of Virginia and
Maryland respectively:

Be it enacted by the Senate, and House of Representa-
tives of the United States of America in Congress assem-
bled, That the consent of the Congress of the United States
is hereby given to the said agreement or award, and to each
and every part and article thereof; Provided, that nothing
therein contained shall be construed to impair or in any
manner affect any right to jurisdiction of the United States
in and over the islands and waters which form the subject
of the said agreement or award.

Approved, March 3, 1879.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386416_0771%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
