# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Cahoon v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386416_0749%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1946
- **Citation:** 329 U.S. 739

## Text

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED ST.
Ocroser Term 1946

RALPH HENRY CAHOON, JR., Petitioner
v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, Respondent

Petition for Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Circuit Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Circuit

/

HAYDEN C. COVINGTON
Counsel for Petitioner

|
|

= LN LL NETL ODE LE LL ILE MALE IOS

Se rr nngae eee nee

INDEX

Susseor Inpex
PAGE
Title of court and of cause ..F'ront cover, 1
Tus Inpex i-iv
Petition for writ of certiorari 1-16
Opinions of court below 1
Jurisdiction 1
Timeliness of this petition 2
Statutes and Regulations involved 2
Questions presented 2-4
Statement of case 412
Form of action 4
Facts
How issues were raised 12
Specifications of error 14
Reasons relied on for granting the writ 14
Conclusion 16
Supporting Brier 17-32
Preliminary 17

Argument

Baldwin v. McClinch

1 Mo. (1 Green) 102, 107 24
Baltimore Carolina Line v. Redman

295 U.S. 654 vas:
Billings v. Truesdell

321 U.S. 542, 546, 553, 554, 555 29
Bridges v. Wixon

326 U.S. 135, 156-157 15, 21
Cain, Ex parte

89 Ala. 440, 441 24

Dodez v. United States
Pending in this court on certiorari (granted May 6, 1946),
No. 1103 Oct. Term 1945, 14 LW 3386:
Petition for writ of certiorari, pp. 13-18 30
Estep v. United States
— U.S. —, 66 S. Ct. 423, 425-429

(No. 292 Oct. Term 1945) 2, 14, 25, 30

Joint brief for petitioners, pp. 130-190 24
Falbo v. United States

320 U.S. 549 25, 29, 31

Gibson v. United States
Pending in this court on certiorari (No. 221 Oct. Term 1945,

for reargument at October Term 1946) :

Brief for petitioner, pp. 16-24 30
Haggin v. Haggin

35 Neb. 375, 53 N. W. 209, 211 24
Keegan v. United States ,

325 U.S. 478, 493-494 15, 26
Kidder v. French

N.H., Smith, 155, 156
Lehr v. United States
139 F. 2d 919, 921-922

Londonderry v. Chester
2 N. H. 268

OTT LL EL

ae eee |

Cases continued

ee ha

PAGE
Morgan v. United States
298 U. 8. 468, 479-481 (1936) 21
Murdock v. Pennsylvania '
319 U.8. 105 .... 2 |
Ohio Bell Tel. Co. v. Public Utilities Comm’n |
301 U. 8. 292, 300, 302, 303 (1937) 20 :
Okamoto v. United States
152 F. 2d 905 (CCA-10) 15, 27 '
Pearson v. United States ex rel. Horowitz i
151 F. 2d 801 (CCA-3), cert. granted May 27, 1946, i
14 LW 3419, No. 947 Oct. Term 1945 15,17
Reinhart, In re
9 Ohio 8. & C. P. Dee. 441, 445 24 |
Smith v. United States |
150 U.S. 50 24
Smith v. United States !
148 F. 2d 288 25
— U.S. —, 66 S. Ct. 423, 425-429 (No. 66 Oct. Term 1945)... 14
Record, pp. 2-3 5
Joint brief for petitioners, pp. 130-190 24
Stanziale, Ex parte
138 F. 2d 312 (CCA-3) 31
Tung v. United States :
142 F. 2d 919 (CCA-1) 31
United States v. Grieme
128 F. 2d 811 (CCA-3) 27
United States v. Hoffman
137 F. 2d 416 (CCA-2) 27
United States v. Lair
52 F. Supp. 393 (USDC-ND-Calif.) 31
United States v. Murdock
290 U.S. 389, 394 6
United States v. Peterson
53 F. Supp. 760 (USDC-ND-Calif.) 31

United States ex rel. Levy v. Cain
149 F. 2d 328 (CCA-2)

ps Sp ee nee re = —

Statutes and Regulations

Criminal Appeals Rules, Rules XI and XIII

Judicial Code, sec. 240 (a), as amended by Act of Feb. 13, 1925 -...

Selective Service Regulations (32 C. F. R. 601.5 et seq.), section—
622.21

622.25-1

United States Code, Title 50 App. Sees. 301-318 [“Beleci‘ve
Training and Service Act of 1940” as amended, sees. 3 (x),

5 (a), 30 (a), 11)

Sec. 303 [3 (a)) -.

United States Constitution, Amendment V

iv

2,12

2,3

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
Ocroser Term 1946

a)

RALPH HENRY CAHOON, JR., Petitioner
v.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, Respondent

Oo

Petition for Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Circuit Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Circuit

To THe SuprEME Court oF THE Untrep StaTEs:

Ralph Henry Cahoon, Jr., petitions this court for a
writ of certiorari. He shows unto the court as follows:

1. Opinions of the court below.

The original opinion of the United States Circuit Court
of Appeals is reported at 152 F. 2d 752 and also appears
in the record. [239-240] * The opinion of the court upon the
petition for rehearing is not yet reported in the Federal
Reporter, but also appears in the record. [261-263]

2. Jurisdiction.
The jurisdiction of this court is conferred by Section
240 (a) of the Judicial Code, as amended by the Act of

* Bracketed figures appearing in this petition and the supporting brief
refer to pages of printed transcript of the record.

1

eI LNT RIONIT MES

2

February 13, 1925. See also Rules XI and XIII of the +
Criminal Appeals Rules promulgated by this court on
May 7, 1934.

3. Timeliness of this petition.
The judgment of affirmance was rendered and entered

January 9, 1946. [241] Time to file a petition for rehear- t
ing was enlarged until fifteen days after the decision of
this court in Estep v. United States, No. 292, October
Term 1945. [241] The petition for rehearing was filed Feb-
ruary 15, 1946. [242] The petition was denied April 25, 1946.
[261-263] Upon application duly made the time for filing <
petition for writ of certiorari was enlarged to and including
June 15, 1946. The petition for writ of certiorari is filed
within the enlarged time.

4. Statutes and Regulations involved.

Sections 3 (a), 5 (d), 10 (a) and 11 of the Selective
Training and Service Act of 1940, as amended (50 U.S. C. .
App. §§ 301-818) are drawn in question here, as well as
Sections 622.44, 622.51, 623.1 (c), 623.2, 627.24 (b), 627.25
and 629 of the Selective Service Regulations (32 C. F. R.
601.5 et seq.) promulgated by the President under said Act.

5. Questions p’esented.
(1) Is the classification of petitioner by the board of
appeal, whose members considered a brief about Jehovah’s
witnesses prepared by a lawyer-member of the board of
appeal, based upon a book—hearsay evidence—bought by
such lawyer two years previously, which information was ’
outside the record and file, a violation of the Act, the |
Regulations and the due process clause of the Fifth Amend-
ment to the Constitution of the United States?

(2) Was the summary disposition of petitioner’s appeal,
and the denial of his claim for exemption as a minister :
of religion, because he was one of Jehovah’s witnesses a

PS ai

i heal -
CF per menor ng ee. NOELLE LAI

Te enn ers pe RIO

classification by the board of appeal based on prejudice
and bias contrary to the Act, the Regulations and the due
process clause of the Fifth Amendment to the Constitution
of the United States?

(3) Does the undisputed evidence show, as a matter of
law, that petitioner was denied due process of law by the
administrative agency so as to require a dismissal of the
indictment and a remand of the draft board file to the
administrative agency for further proceedings not incon-
sistent with the Act and Regulations?

(4) Where the undisputed evidence shows that the
board of appeal was prejudiced against petitioner and
violated his rights to procedural due process by denying
him a full and fair hearing, may he show in defense to the
indictment that the administrative agency acted illegally
and unconstitutionally, and that the order on which th
indictment is based is void? ;

(5) Did the trial court err in holding, as a matter of.

law, and in charging the jury, that the determination of
the administrative agency on whether petitioner was ex-
empt from training and service us a minister of religion,
was not a matter for the determination of the court or
jury in defense to the indictment charging petitioner with
defiance of the order to report for induction?

(6) Did the trial court err in refusing to hold, and in
refusing the jury the right to consider, that the order on
which the indictment was based is void, because petitioner
is a minister of religion exempt from all training and
service for the reason that it was made (a) in excess of
authority of the boards, (b) beyond the jurisdiction of
the boards, (c) contrary to law, (d) contrary to the un-
disputed evidence, (e) without support of substantial
evidence, (f) arbitrarily and capriciously, (g) contrary to
the Constitution by depriving petitioner of his rights and
liberty without due process of law, and (h) in violation
of the Act and Regulations?

4

(7) Did the trial court err by instructing the jury, in
effect, to convict petitioner under the indictment, when he
told the jury that there was no denial of a full and fair
hearing and the issue of whether petitioner was exempt
as a minister of religion was not for the court or jury to
decide?

(8) Did the court below err in holding harmless and
immaterial error the denial of due process of law by the
trial court which held and instructed the jury that the
action of the administrative agency was not a matter
for consideration of the court or jury in defense to the
indictment?

(9) Did the trial court err in refusing to charge the
jury that it could consider petitioner’s honest good-faith
belief that he was exempt because a minister of religion
and thereby could not take the oath of induction, as a de-
fense to the charge that he knowingly, willfully and unlaw-
fully refused to comply with the order?

(10) Does the undisputed evidence show that petitioner
did not fail to report for,ifiduction as charged in the
indictment?

Statement of Case
Form or AcTIon

This criminal action was instituted in the District Court
of the United States for the Southern District of Texas by
return of an indictment charging defendant with violation
of the Selective Training and Service Act of 1940, as
amended, and the Regulations thereunder. [8]

The indietment charged that petitioner, a registrant
classified for training and service in the armed forces “did
knowingly, wilfully and feloniously fail and neglect to
report and submit himself to induction into armed forces

of the United States, in accordance with the order of the
Local Draft Board.” [9] *

Thereafter petitioner pleaded “not guilty”. [14] The
trial to a jury before the court began on February 27, 1945.
[10] The Government presented its case to the court and
rested, where upon petitioner moved for an instructed ver-
dict. [70-71] The motion was denied with exception to
petitioner. [70,71] Again, at the close of all the evidence,
petitioner moved for an instructed verdict and again his
motion was denied, with exception to him. [216-217] Then,
after counsel argued the case, the court charged the jury.
[218-222] A special charge which petitioner had timely
requested was denied, with exception. [222-223, 225-226]
The jury returned its verdict of guilty on February 28, 1945,
and judgment was promptly pronounced thereon. [226-227]
On March 1, 1945, the court entered final judgment, com-
mitting petitioner to the custody of the Attorney General
for a period of 13 months. [228]

Petitioner then moved for a new trial, but this motion
was overruled, with exception. [229-230]

Petitioner duly served and filed his written notice of
appeal in the time and manner required by law. [236-237]
He-also timely filed his assignments of error which support
each ground of this petition for writ of certiorari. [232-236]

Facts

Cahoon, now 20 years of age, registered under the
Selective Training and Service Act of 1940, on October 4,
1943, with Harris County Local Board No. 9, at Houston,

* This is substantially the same allegation that appears in the indict-

~ ment returned against petitioner in Smith v. United States, No. 66 October

Term 1945. See the record in that case, pp. 2-3. The record in this case
shows that petitioner, like Smith, exhausted his administrative remedies by
reporting for induction and refusing to take the oath. The court below
considered that he exhausted his remedies, as did Smith and Estep. 66
S. Ct. 423.

ere nese

Texas. [15, 20,64] He was thereupon assigned order num-
ber 13708 by said board. [64] Petitioner timely filed a
Selective Service Questionnaire on October 6, 1943, answer-
ing all the questions required of him. [28, 29-37] In series
VIII he stated he was a minister of religion, did customarily
serve as a minister and had been a minister of Jehovah’s
witnesses since August 1, 1936. [34] In said questionnaire
he claimed classification of [IV-D exempting him as a min-
ister of religion under section 5 (d) of the Act. [35] Sup-
porting this claim he filed with the board his own ~ritten
statement giving details as to his ministerial work. (38-39]
Also he attached an affidavit from K. K. Records, a minister
of Jehovah’s witnesses, attesting as to his training and
status as a minister. [48] These two documents were re-
ceived into evidence as Defendant’s Exhibits 2 and 4.
Also filed by Cahoon was a Special Form for Con-
scientious Objector properly filled out, which contained
additional evidence as to his training for the ministry and
his activity as a minister. [50-53] Cahoon showed that he
had attended the David G. Burnett Public Elementary
School in Houston from 1934 to 1935 and that, in 1943, he
had enrolled in a Course of Theocratic Ministry which was
conducted by Jehovah’s witnesses at Houston. [51] He
also filed at the same time an “occupational questionnaire”
in which he stated that his principal occupation was that
of preaching the Gospel, and that secondarily he worked
as a part-time stock clerk in a dry goods warehouse. [26]
The evidence showed that petitioner had undertaken a
solemn covenant and vow as a minister of God in a ceremony
held on August 1, 1936, at the First Congregational Church
in Houston. [130-131] After his ordination he was given a
certificate identifying him as one of Jehovah’s witnesses
and a minister of God. [173-176,181] For some years
previous to this ceremony, he had been making a deep
study of the Bible and had consecrated his life to the
ministry. [135, 159-166] Since the public ceremony of ordi-

7

nation on August 1, 1936, he lived up to his vows, preach-
ing the gospel whenever he had opportunity and “living
up to the tenets of the christian faith”. [131, 168] However,
since he had no private income or fortune and since his
ministry was conducted on a non-profit basis, he found it
necessary to devote part of his time to a secular occupation.
[132, 183] Such secular occupation did not interfere with
his preaching activities, he being able to devote approxi-
mately 30 hours per week to actual preaching as a regular
minister of religion. [132]

Petitioner preached the gospel in the same manner as
did Christ Jesus and His apostles, that is, by going from
door to door and village to village, telling the people of
and concerning the Kingdom of God. Many persons desired
studies in the Bible conducted in their homes, and he
arranged for and conducted a number of such studies.
[39, 188] Additionally he gave discourses to the congrega-
tion of Jehovah’s witnesses with which he was affiliated.
[138] In May 1944 he was appointed by the Watchtower ©
Bible and Tract Society in Brooklyn, New York [163], as
presiding minister over the Sunday evening services held
at Kingdom Hall on North Main Street, the congregational
headquarters. [139] Approximately 150 to 200 persons
usually attended this service for public worship. [171]

A number of persons testified as to the ministerial status
of petitioner. His mother and father testified that they had
raised their son up “in the nurture and admonition of the
Lord” to be a minister. [154, 158, 160] Mr. and Mrs. Rigby
said that they recognized him as a minister because of his
service and relationship to the congregation. [169, 171]
Lyman Dean, a direct representative from the Watchtower
Bible and Tract Society in Brooklyn, New York, declared
that the records of the church showed that petitioner had
been serving in the capacity of a minister since 1936. [179]
A. H. Knovel said that he had lived in Houston for 56
years and was fully acquainted with the background and

ministerial work being done by petitioner and that by
virtue therecf he recognized him as a minister. [185] R. O.
Conoley testified that he had known petitioner since his
birth and that in view of his training in the Word of God
and his faithful service, he recognized him as a minister
in the church. [197, 199] K. K. Records, presiding minister
of one of the congregations of Jehovah’s witnesses in
Houston, said that petitioner became a minister after his
ceremony of baptism in August 1936, since which time he
had diligently carried forward the work of the ministry in
the church. [202, 203] Michael Kierssak said that he knew
that petitioner was recognized by the church as a minister
and that he had been personally associated with him in the
performance of some of his ministerial duties. [208-209]
Mary Elizabeth Brown testified that she was a Roman
Catholic, and a neighbor of petitioner. She said that she
observed him to be very active in his ministerial work
and that he was recognized by Jehovah’s witnesses as a
minister. [216]

There was no evidence in his file disputing the evidence
and claim that he was a duly recognized minister of
religion, representing a religious organization known as
Jehovah’s witnesses and, as its legal governing body, the
Watchtower Bible and Tract Society. There was no evidence
that the defendant did not fit, as a minister of religion,
Opinion No. 14 of National Headquarters of Selective Serv-
ice System concerning the ministerial status of Jehovah's
witnesses [56-60]; that he did not stand in relation to
Jehovah’s witnesses in the same way that the recognized
orthodox clergy stand toward their congregations; that he
did not perform ceremonies that are ordinarily performed
by ministers of religion under the Act. This was freely
admitted by the draft board officials who had handled his
ease. [77, 103, 110, 125]

The local board denied his claim for exemption on
October 28, 1943, and placed him in Class I-A, making him

.

tee ee — — TORREY
wor ~ i ee ol

liable for training and service in the armed forces. [16, 36]
The two members of the local board who testified in his
behalf at his trial stated that they recognized the good
faith of the claim for ministerial exemption made by peti-
tioner, but that his qualifications did not measure up to
the standard of their interpretation of what constituted
a minister. [75, 78,82] Petitioner then requested the priv-
ilege of appearing personally before the local board to
discuss his classification and to present further evidence,
which request was granted. [76] At this hearing he made
a formal statement to the board. [54,77] The board then
changed his classification to I-A-O, which made him liable
for noncombatant military service. [16] He thereupon
appealed his case to the Board of Appeal for the Fourth
District. [15, 36] On December 17, 1943, the board of appeal
determined that Cahoon was not exempt or deferred for
training and service, thus making it necessary to refer the
case to the Department of Justice for investigation of his
status as a conscientious objector. [36,101] The file was
sent to the Department of Justice for investigation of his
status as a conscientious objector. [98] A Hearing Officer
of the Department of Justice investigated and examined
defendant and reported that “undoubtedly registrant is a
minister within the meaning of the law. He performs all
the essential functions of a minister”. [46] However, peti-
tioner waived his right to be classified in IV-E as a con-
scientious objector because his claim was exclusively for
IV-D, minister of religion. [100]

On return of the file from the Department of Justice
the board of appeal proceeded to reconsider the merits of
his claim for exemption, inasmuch as he waived classifi-
cation as a conscientious objector. [101] The chairman of
the board of appeal stated the procedure of reconsideration
to be that the board went through the file and read part
of it together with a brief containing excerpts of the file
prepared by the clerk. [98] The members of the board

LIL ONE.

read what part of it they wanted to read in reviewing the
file. [98] Petitioner’s claim for exemption from training
and service, as made in his questionnaire, was read and
considered. [99] Other evidence in the file was weighed by
the board of appeal. [100] The chairman stated that there
was no evidence before the board of appeal to indicate that
petitioner was not a minister of religion as he claimed.
[103] He stated that there was nothing to indicate that,
in making his claim, petitioner was motivated by cowardice
or selfishness. [103] He stated that the board did not think
petitioner was a minister. [105] The reason was that the
members of the board of appeal, in their own minds, did
not believe he was a minister of religion. [106] One of
the reasons advanced by the chairman for denying peti-
tioner’s claim for exemption was that petitioner had a
part-time secular job as a clerk. [108] It was conceded
that there was nothing in the cover sheet to indicate that
petitioner was not truthful in his representations made
in the cover sheet. [109] The members of the board of
appeal were not able to define a “minister of religion” be-
cause of the variations in the different denominations and
religions. [112]

The vice-chairman of the board of appeal testified that
in consideration of the petitioner’s claim for exemption the
board considered information which they had outside of
petitioner’s file on which their conclusions were based.
[116-117] Several years before petitioner’s file was con-
sidered by the board of appeal, the vice-chairman prepared
a brief on the ministerial status of Jehovah’s witnesses,
presenting an elaborate and extensive argument against
their classification as ministers, which he gave to the mem-
bers of the board of appeal. [118] In the brief, he reviewed
certain scriptures upon which he placed his private inter-
pretation, concluding that there were different classes of
ministers and that from a Bible standpoint all members
of a religious organization could not be ministers. More-

11

over, he showed what the practice was in the orthodox
religious organizations with which he was familiar in
reference to most of the members being lay members
being served by a minister for each congregation. [117]
This written argument briefing the question was circulated
among all the members of the board of appeal two years
or more before petitioner was classified by the board of
appeal. [118] Although a copy of such brief was not placed
in petitioner’s file, its contents was considered and followed
in consideration and determination of petitioner’s classifi-
cation. [118] When the board discovered that the petitioner
was “a member of Jehovah’s witnesses”, it was immediately
concluded upon the basis of the memorandum of the vice-
chairman that petitioner was “just like a layman of some
other church, or a sect”. [120] Since petitioner was a
member of an organization that claimed all its members
were ministers, it was concluded that petitioner was not a
minister of religion within the meaning of the Act and
Regulations. [121] The written memorandum did not con-
cern the petitioner. It was not written by petitioner. It
concerned all of Jehovah’s witnesses, as viewed by the
vice-chairman of the board of appeal. [119] The memoran-
dum caused petitioner to be considered, not as an individual
but as a member of a class which class was considered not
to be ministers. [119] It was concluded that inasmuch as
petitioner was not a member of “the Bethel family or a
member of the pioneers which are exempt under Hershey’s
order on November 2, 1942, and no evidence in the file
being there as having his name on that list, that he was
just a lay member who like all other religious organizations
went around preaching and talking and trying to persuade
others to their line of faith.” [117] Therefore the evidence
in the file was not considered as the only basis for the
conclusion that petitioner was not a minister of religion.
[116-117] The information which the vice-chairman had
obtained in the book that he bought in St. Louis regarding

12

the group had its effect upon the decision in petitioner's
case. [120] If petitioner had been a member of some other
religion and “had a big Church on the corner”, the same
decision would not have been reached. [120-121, 121-122]
Presumably the contents of the memorandum was con- ~
sidered by the members of the board of appeal because it
was distributed to all of them. [118] *
The board of appeal, on August 28, 1944, denied peti-
tioner’s claim for exemption and classified him liable for
training and service in the armed forces. He was given
Class I-A. [17, 36, 101] No further appeal was allowed from |
the decision of the board of appeal. However petitioner
wrote the State Director of Selective Service at Austin,
Texas, requesting his intercession to review the deter-
mination. [101-102] The State Director declined to inter-
vene in petitioner’s behalf and on December 5, 1944, peti-
tioner was ordered to report for induction on December 15,
1944, at 8 a.m. [17,23] At the time and place specified in
the order, petitioner reported for induction but refused
to submit to induction and refused to take the oath, giving
as his reason therefor that he had “conscientious scruples
against serving in the armed forces” because he claimed
exemption as a minister of religion. [17,18] Subsequently
he was arrested and charged with a violation of the Selective
Training and Service Act of 1940, as amended.

How Issues were Raised

The trial court, with exception to petitioner [72, 217]
overruled his motions for instructed verdict filed at the
close of the Government’s case [71] and again at the

* Although one member of the board stated that he considered and
read the brief prepared by the vice-chairman [124-125] he stated that it
had no influence on his decision of the case at all. [125] It should be
observed, however, that this member reached the same conclusion as did
the vice-chairman in his brief based on conversation this member had with
other persons which was also hearsay evidence of which a memorandum did
not appear in the file. [125-126]

13

close of the evidence, by which motions petitioner presented
his contention that the evidence produced against him was
insufficient as a matter of law to sustain a judgment of
conviction and that there was no evidence of an evil,
malicious or otherwise criminal intent. [217-218]
Although the jury was permitted to receive and con-
sider the draft board file and much de novo evidence offered
by petitioner, the trial court withdrew all of such evidence
from the consideration of the jury through his charge.
The jury was instructed, as a matter of law, that petitioner
had been accorded a legal and constitutional treatment by
the administrative agency. [221] Moreover the trial court
charged the jury that it was absolutely and finally bound
by the finding of the administrative agency. The jury was
informed that it could not consider whether or not the ad-
ministrative agency had acted without foundation of fact, in
excess of its jurisdiction, unlawfully, arbitrarily or capri-
ciously in denying petitioner his claim for exemption as
a minister of religion. [220-222] The petitioner duly ex-
cepted to this charge because it amounted to an instruction
of guilty and a verdict for the Government. [222] He further
excepted to the court’s charge depriving him of his rights
under the law. [222-223] A further exception was made on
the grounds that it deprived him of his right of appeal
and freedom of religion and conscience contrary to the
Constitution of the United States. [223] The court’s charge,
petitioner said, made the findings of the board of appeal
final from which there was no appeal under the law on a
record showing indisputably that he was a minister of
religion as defined by law and which showed that there was
no evidence that he was not such a minister as claimed,
and it was therefore excepted to. [224] The court’s charge
was attacked because it deprived petitioner of his right to
a jury trial and to defend himself against the indictment
and to show that he was not guilty. [223,224] Moreover,
petitioner excepted to the charge because the jury was not

a I= MO MAPE TP

14

instructed as requested by petitioner that it could consider
his good faith and conscientious belief that his covenant
with Almighty God prevented him from submitting to
induction because a minister of religion. [223] The special
requested charge was duly submitted in writing by peti-
tioner to the trial court. [222] Petitioner’s special requested
charge appears in the record. [223, 225-226]

Each and every one of the issues raised upon the trial
were again urged to the trial court in petitioner’s motion
for new trial. [229-230] The motion for new trial was
overruled, with exception to petitioner. [230] Each and
every one of the issues raised upon the trial were brought
forward to the Circuit Court of Appeals by assignments
of error duly filed. [233-236]

Specifications of Error

Petitioner relies upon each and every one of his assign-
ments of error as grounds for reversal of the conviction.

Reasons Relied on For Granting the Writ

The holding of the court below is in direct conflict with
the holding of this Court in Estep v. United States and
Smith v. United States, 66 S. Ct. 423, 425-429. The specious
efforts to circumvent the decision in the Estep and Smith
cases on the ground that the trial court properly applied
the law of the Estep and Smith cases is without foundation
in fact, contrary to the record and the law promulgated
by this Court in the Estep and Smith cases. There is no
distinction between those cases and the one at bar. The
decision of the court below flouts the Estep decision of
this Court.

Insofar as the holding of the court below overrules
the contention of petitioner that the action of the board
of appeal in depriving him of a full and fair hearing, the

15

decision is in conflict directly with the holding of this
Court in Bridges v. Wixon, 326 U.S. 135, 156-157. More-
over, on this point the decision of the court below also
conflicts with United States ex rel. Levy v. Cain (CCA-2)
149 F, 2d 328 and Pearson v. United States ex rel. Horowitz
(CCA-3) 151 F. 2d 801, certiorari granted sub nom Hobbs
v. United States ex rel. Horowitz, No. 947, October Term
1945, 14 L. W. 3419, May 27, 1946. Inasmuch as this case
presents to the Court substantially the same question of
procedural due process as is presented to the Court in the
Horowitz case, in which the writ of certiorari has been
granted, the writ should be granted in this case for the
same reason.

The members of the board of appeal were prejudiced,
reached a preconceived opinion about the ministerial status
of all of Jehovah’s witnesses, and classified petitioner as
a result of bias, in violation of the Selective Service Regu-
lations. The approval of this drastic departure from the
usual and accepted course of administrative law, calls for
the exercise of the power of supervision by this Court to
halt the same and to correct the injustice committed against
petitioner.

The approval by the court below of the trial court’s
refusal to grant petitioner’s requested instruction asking
the court to permit the jury to consider the good faith of
the petitioner in determining whether or not he wilfully
and unlawfully violated the law in refusing to submit to
induction is directly in conflict with the decision of the
United States Circuit Court of Appeals for the Tenth
Circuit in Okamoto v. United States, 152 F. 2d 905, decided
December 26, 1945, and the decision of this Court in Keegan
v. United States, 325 U.S. 478, 493-494; United States v.
Murdock, 290 U.S. 389, 394-396.

A A AB tee i i

Conclusion

WHEREFORE your petitioner prays that this Court
issue a writ of certiorari to the Circuit Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Circuit directing such court to certify to this
Court for review and determination on a day certain to
be therein specified, a full and complete transcript of the
record and all proceedings in the case as numbered and
entitled on the docket of said court; and petitioner further
prays that the judgment of said Circuit Court of Appeals,
affirming the judgment of conviction entered by the District
Court be here set aside and petitioner dismissed from cus-
tody or, in the alternative, the judgment be reversed and
the cause remanded for a new trial not inconsistent with
this Court’s opinion; and that your petitioner be granted
such other and further relief in the premises as to this
Court may seem just and proper in the circumstances.

RALPH HENRY CAHOON, JR., petitioner
By HAYDEN C. COVINGTON
Counsel for Petitioner

SUPPORTING BRIEF
Preliminary

For a statement as to the opinion of the court below,
the basis on which the jurisdiction of this Court is claimed,
the questions presented, the history of the action, how the
issues were raised, the evidence received and rejected and
the assignments of error relied upon, reference is here
made to the foregoing petition for writ of certiorari.

ARGUMENT

The board of appeal departed from the Act and Regu-
lations governing procedure in handling petitioner’s case.
The members of that board considered hearsay evidence
received by one of the members which was reduced to
writing and circulated among the members. However the
memorandum was never placed in petitioner’s file. The
evidence received did not relate to petitioner. It related
to Jehovah’s witnesses in general. The authenticity and
source of the material is not revealed. The action of the
board in this respect comes squarely within the rule laid
down in the cases of United States ex rel. Levy v. Cain
(CCA-2) 149 F. 2d 328 and Pearson v. United States ex rel.
Horowitz (CCA-3) 151 F. 2d 801, certiorari granted sub
nom Hobbs v. United States ex rel. Horowitz, No. 947,
October Term 1945, 14 L. W. 3419, May 27, 1946.

In reviewing an appeal, the board of appeal is forbidden
by the Regulations to “receive or consider any information
which is not contained in the record received from the local
board, except (1) the advisory recommendation from the
Department of Justice under Section 627.25, and (2) gen-

18

eral information concerning economic, industrial and social
conditions.” Reg. 627.24 (b).

Inasmuch as the action of the board of appeal is de novo
it is necessary that the file reflect the basis upon which
the classification was rendered. Petitioner in this case did
not know upon what basis he had been classified until
his lawyer began examining the members of the board of
appeal at the trial. Inasmuch as the board of appeal had
made the basis of its determination on the memorandum
prepared by the vice-chairman of the board, it was neces-
sary that the material be placed in petitioner’s file. Con-
cededly that was never done. This defalcation of the board
of appeal is a plain violation of the Regulations. As a
matter of fact, the Regulations do not provide for the
board of appeal to consider any information of any kind
or character acquired by a member of such board about the
status of a registrant. The local boards were set up for
that purpose. Section 627.24 (b) of the Regulations explic-
itly prohibits the receipt and consideration by the board
of appeal of “any information which is not contained in the
record received from the local board.” The only exception
to this rule permitted by the Regulations is that the recom-
mendation from the Department of Justice as to a regis-
trant’s status as a conscientious objector may be considered.
This recommendation from the Department of Justice was
filed and considered by the board of appeal in this case.
[41-47, 113]

The Regulations also provide that the board of appeal
may consider “general information concerning economic,
industrial and social conditions.” Section 627.24 (b) allow-
ing consideration of these factors is limited to such infor-
mation as to industrial statistics directly bearing upon
the eligibility of registrants seeking occupational defer-
ments in class II-B (man in war production) covered by
section 622.22, agricultural statistics in determining wheth-
er or not farm deferments should be granted to certain

_ i TT

registrants claiming class II-C (man in agriculture)
covered by section 622.25-1, or social conditions might be
considered by the board as determining factors in deciding
whether or not a registrant was entitled to class IT-A, the

ification given to registrants found “to be ‘necessary
to d regularly engaged in’ an activity in support of the
national health, safety, or interest”, as covered by section
622.21. But nothing could be more certain than that this
exception is not intended to open wide the door to allow
any and all hearsay evidence or prejudicial argument to
be considered by the appeal board. It is very obvious that
a man’s exemption as a minister is not dependent upon
economic, industrial or social conditions of the community.
Such classification is to be rendered solely on the basis of
the registrant’s devotion to Almighty God and his activity
in behalf of his church. In any event, the requirement of
section 623.2 that any evidence considered must be reduced
to writing is still mandatory. Thus if the appeal board based
its conclusion on evidence not in the file—even though its
consideration of such evidence was legitimate—it is re-
quired to reduce it to writing and put it in the Cover Sheet.
Otherwise, in the event an appeal is taken to the President,
the basis of the determination of the appeal board would
not be reflected from the file and the registrant would be
deprived of substantial rights under the Act.

Although in this case an appeal as of right could not
have been taken to the President, petitioner’s title to con-
' stitutional due process was nevertheless infringed because
he was not given a fair and impartial hearing before the
appeal board and because improper, prejudicial and in-
competent evidence was made the basis of his classification
in the place and stead of the information contained in his
Cover Sheet.

Although the Regulations do not permit a personal
hearing before the appeal board, they do contemplate a
full and fair consideration of the evidence in the file. In

ee ee ee

considering this evidence and in making its determination
thereon, the board is acting in a quasi-judicial capacity. Its
determination of the issue of classification is an important
proceeding. An important and substantial right of peti-
tioner under the Act and Regulations is to be determined.

The reception of secret and anonymous evidence in this
case is very similar to the conduct of a public utilities
commission condemned by Justice Cardozo in Ohio Bell
Tel. Co. v. Public Utilities Commission (1937) 301 U.S.
292, 300, 302, 303: “Without warning or even the hint of
warning that the case would be considered or determined
upon any other basis than the evidence submitted, the
Commission cut down the values for the years after the
date certain upon the strength of information secretly
collected and never yet disclosed. The company protested.
It asked disclosure of the documents indicative of price
trends, and an opportunity to examine them, to analyze
them, to explain and to rebut them. The response was a
curt refusal. . . . The putative debtor does not know the
proofs today. This is not the fair hearing essential to due
process. It is condemnation without trial... .

“From the standpoint of due process—the protection
of the individual against arbitrary action—a deeper vice
is this, that even now we do not know the particular or
evidential facts of which the Commission took judicial
notice and on which it rested its conclusion. Not only are
the facts unknown; there is no way to find them out. ...
The opportunity is excluded here. The Commission, with-
holding from the record the evidential facts that it has
gathered here and there, contents itself with saying that
in gathering them it went to journals and tax lists, as if
a judge were to tell us, I looked at the statistics in the
Library of Congress, and they teach me thus and so.’ This
will never do if hearings and appeals are to be more than
empty forms.”

Thus papers in the appeal board’s files cannot be con-

21

sidered as evidence in every case: it cannot take judicial
notice of them. It must introduce, by specific reference,
parts of reports, etc., filed with it which it wishes to treat
as evidence. Otherwise, while the data may be trustworthy,
Selective Service registrants are left without notice of
evidence.

There is no escape from the fact that the anonymous
book and the memorandum of the vice-chairman of the
appeal board influenced the decision of that agency. [120]
To what extent, it is impossible to say. This brings the
case squarely within the rule of the Supreme Court of the
United States in Bridges v. Wixon, 326 U.S. 135, 156, where
it is said:

“. . » The alien does net prove he had an unfair hear-
ing merely by proving the decision to be wrong ... or
by showing that incompetent evidence was admitted and
considered. . . . But the case is different where evidence
was improperly received and where but for that evidence,
it is wholly speculative whether the requisite finding would
have been made. Then there is deportatior without a fair
hearing. ...”

The reception of improper evidence was one of the
things condemned by the Supreme Court of the United
States in Morgan v. United States, (1936) 298 U.S. 468,
479-481, wherein the Chief Justice Hughes said:

“... It is a duty which carries with it fundamental
procedural requirements. There must be a full hearing.
There must be evidence adequate to support pertinent and
necessary findings of fact. Nothing can be treated as evi-
dence which is not introduced as such... . Facts and
circumstances which ought to be considered must not be
excluded. Facts and circumstances must not be considered
which should not legally influence the conclusion. ...

“. .. The requirement of a ‘full hearing’ has obvious
reference to the tradition of judicial proceedings in which
evidence is received and weighed by the trier of the facts.

The ‘hearing’ is designed to afford the safeguard that the
one who decides shall be bound in good conscience to con-
sider the evidence, to be guided by that alone, and to reach
his conclusion uninfluenced by extraneous considerations
which in other fields might have play in determining purely
executive action. The ‘hearing’ is the hearing of evidence
and argument. If the one who determines the facts which
underlie the order has not considered evidence or argument,
it is manifest that the hearing has not been given.”

Whether a hearing is fair must be determined by the
character of the hearing and not by that of the classifi-
cation based thereon. This question is open to full judicial
inquiry and is in no sense concluded by assertion of the
administrative agency in question that a fair hearing was
given. In this case the undisputed evidence before the
lower court showed that the appeal board had received
grossly incompetent and prejudicial evidence. Thus it was
the duty of the trial court to instruct the jury to acquit
petitioner.

Section 623.1 (c) provides: “In classifying a registrant
there shall be no discrimination for or against him because
of his race, or color, or because of his membership or
activity in any labor, political, religious, or other organ-
ization. Each registrant shall receive equal and fair
justice.” In this case, defendant was discriminated against
and was treated unfairly because he was one of Jehovah’s
witnesses. The members of the board testified that in
looking over defendant’s file it was “discovered that he was
a member of Jehovah’s witnesses,” and it was this dis-
covery that apparently was responsible for the I-A classi-
fication given petitioner. Under the circumstances, this
hearing amounted to no hearing at all under the Act and
Regulations.

The testimony of members of the appeal board indicated
that they were prejudiced against Jehovah’s witnesses and
were biased in their conclusions. Vice-chairman Morris had

already reached his conclusions on the basis of the infor-
mation he obtained from the book he had purchased. [120]
Dr. John T. Moore said that he had previously received
information concerning Jehovah’s witnesses by talking to
persons who had conversed with Jehovah’s witnesses and
by talking to them himself,

A hearing by a biased judge or board is not in con-
formity with due process of law which implies a tribunal
board impartial and mentally competent to afford a fair
hearing. The undisputed evidence in the record shows that
the appeal board was not non-partisan, nor was it free
from bias and prejudice. Defendant’s case was considered
and determined on the reputation of Jehovah’s witnesses
rather than upon own merits of his own case. This in itself
is a substantial denial of due process.

The record showed that petitioner was a regular and
duly ordained minister of Jehovah’s witnesses and the
Watchtower Bible and Tract Society, Inc., recognized reli-
gious organizations. The undisputed evidence showed that
he regularly performed his duties as such, devoting approx-
imately thirty hours per week to regular teaching and
preaching of the doctrines of Jehovah’s witnesses. He
stood in relation to the local congregation of Jehovah’s
witnesses in the same way as did the clergy of the orthodox
religious denominations. In addition to preaching sermons
regularly, he performed missionary evangelistic work.

The administrative agency cannot arbitrarily determine
that one is not a minister of religion, even though of an
unorthodox and dissentient faith, if he is recognized by his
organization as a regular or duly ordained minister, and
there is no substantial evidence that he fictitiously claims
to be a representative of the organization or that he is not
such a minister, or that he is not so recognized. It is the
mandatory duty of the draft boards to recognize such
ministerial status and to grant exemption allowed by the
Act and Regulations for ordained ministers of religion.

24

Ex parte Cain, 39 Ala. 440, 441; In re Reinhart, 9 Ohio
S. &C. P. Dec. 441, 445; Town of Londonderry v. Town of
Chester, 2 N. H. 268; Kidder v. French, N. H., Smith, 155,
156; Haggin v. Haggin, 53 N. W. 209, 211, 35 Neb. 375;
Murdock v. Pennsylvania, 319 U.S. 105; Baldwin v. Mc-
Clinch, 1 Mo. (1 Green) 102, 107. Lehr v. United States,
139 F. 2d 919, 921-922.

This point has been exhaustively argued in the joint
brief for petitioners in Smith v. United States, No. 66
October* Term 1945, and Estep v. United States, No. 292,
October Term 1945, at pages 130-190, to which reference
is here made. That argument is incorporated here as though
copied at length herein.

At the close of all the evidence the defendant moved
the court for a directed verdict of “not guilty”, for various
reasons. [216-217]

It is a fundamental rule that if the undisputed evidence
shows that defendant is not guilty of the offense charged
and upon another trial the evidence would be substantially
the same or could not be different, it is the duty of the
appellate court to reverse, set aside the verdict, and render
a judgment that the indictment be dismissed, rather than
to set aside the verdict and order a new trial. This is
especially true where the court below does not have juris-
diction. A fortiori, if the local board, upon whose order the
indictment is based, is without jurisdiction, the rule would
be the same. This case is therefore governed by Smith v.
United States, 150 U.S. 50, and Baltimore Carolina Line
v. Redman, 295 U.S. 654.

The efforts on the part of the court below to hold as
harmless error the action of the trial court in striking all
of the evidence received in respect to the illegality of the
administrative action from consideration of the jury and
in charging the jury that it could not consider the illegality
of the administrative determination and the denial of a
full and fair hearing is erroneous. The court below at-

tempted to hold that such action was harmless error be-
cause the trial court followed the rule in reference to the
scope of judicial review of draft board determinations in
Estep v. United States, 66 S. Ct. 423. The trial court did
not follow the rule of this Court announced in Estep v.
United States. To the contrary, the trial court followed
the rule of Falbo v. United States (320 U.S. 549), which
conclusion was erroneous and prejudiced the petitioner.
It cannot be said that the action of the trial court was
harmless error. It was prejudicial error for the court below
to hold that the action of the trial court was harmless to
petitioner. A similar effort was attempted by the court of
appeals in the case of Smith v. United States, 148 F. 2d 288.
(See the last point discussed in that opinion.) This Court
reversed the judgment in the Smith case beause the trial
court refused to exercise its judicial function. There the
trial court failed to pass upon the issue raised. It refused
to permit the jury to consider the issue. The questions for
determination by the court and jury were limited to whether
or not the defendant complied with the order. The same
failure to exercise the judicial function is prevalent here.
The trial court did not pass upon the merits of petitioner’s
defense. ore this case should be reversed and sent
back for a new trial just like the Smith case was reversed
and sent back for a new trial.

Even if no error was committed by the trial court in
denying petitioner's motion for directed verdict, never-
theless the action of the court, in striking all the testimony
received upon the trial with reference to denial of a full
and fair hearing and the classification in excess of the
jurisdiction of the board of appeal, from the consideration
of the jury was reversible error and entitles the petitioner
in this case to a new trial. The error concurred in by the
opinion of the court below is satisfactorily answered by the
concluding language of the opinion of the Court in Estep
v. United States (66 S. Ct. 423, 429) : “Since the petitioners

were denied the opportunity to show that their local boards
exceeded their jurisdiction, a new trial must be had in
each case.”

The trial court permitted the petitioner to testify exten-
sively as to his reasons for not submitting to induction.
He said that since he was a minister of religion and that
ministers of religion were exempt from training and serv-
ice, he believed the order of the board to be void and that
he could not be required to submit to induction. He further
said that as a faithful servant of Almighty God he could
not break his covenant with Jehovah God by discontinuing
preaching in his congregations, because such would result
in his everlasting death. [146-148]

The term “knowingly” as used in the Selective Training
and Service Act is synonymous to the word “wilfully”. It
does not mean “voluntarily” or “unintentionally”. It means
prompted by a bad faith or with an evil intent or for an
illegal purpose. It means without legal justification. If the
petitioner had legal justification or reasonable grounds
for belief that he was legally justified in not submitting
to induction, then it cannot be said that he illegally, know-
ingly, and unlawfully failed to perform a duty required of
him under the Act.

The petitioner requested the court to instruct the jury
to consider his good-faith belief that he was not required
to submit.to induction, that he was exempt from all duty
under the Act and that the order was void. [222, 225]
The court refused the special charges. [222] The petitioner
excepted. [222] The court held that the honest good-faith
belief of the petitioner was not material as defense to the
indictment.

The petitioner relies on Keegan v. United States, 325
U.S. 478, 493-494, to support the proposition that the jury
should have been charged to consider his good faith as
requested in the special requested instruction. Petitioner
had to report in order to exhaust his administrative rem-

27

edies. His refusal to take the oath was based on his belief
that he was not required to submit to induction and that
he could not do so without violating God’s law. “One with
innocent motives, who honestly believes a law is unconsti-
tutional and, therefore, not obligatory, may well counsel
that the law shall not be obeyed.” *

In support of this proposition petitioner also depends
upon United States v. Murdock, 290 U.S. 389, 394-396.
There the defendant was convicted for wilfully and know-
ingly failing to supply information as to his income. The
grounds for the refusal were that he believed he was exempt
on the items inquired about and that the Constitution
guaranteed him the right to decline to incriminate himself.
This reasonable belief of exemption, which was erroneous,
and the fear that he might incriminate himself, entitled
the jury to consider that if he had good faith he could not
be convicted of wilfully refusing to give the information.

If a selectee is ill, had an accident, was prevented by
storm from appearing or by mistake, he could show that
in defense. (United States v. Hoffman (CCA-2) 137 F.
2d 416; United States v. Grieme (CCA-3) 128 F. 2d 811)
Similarly, good-faith belief that the order is invalid is also
permissible as a defense.

On the whole record, it appears that petitioner reported
for induction but refused to submit to induction. The
indictment charged petitioner with “failure to report and
submit himself to induction”. [9] The clerk of the local
board testified that the records showed that petitioner
reported for induction on December 15, 1944, as commanded
but that he did not submit himself to induction. [17] A
written statement made by the assistant clerk, which is a
part of the draft board file, shows that petitioner “did
present himself at this Board at the specified time. He
refused, however, to be inducted, for the reason that he

* See also Okamoto v. United States (CCA-10) 152 F. 2d 905.

Stele! 2 RE RET

28

has conscientious scruples against serving in the armed
forces, and he claims exemption as a minister of the gospel.”
[18] The clerk further testified that petitioner “appeared
and passed the physical examination and was duly accepted,
physically”. [24] Petitioner testified that he appeared at
the time and place stated in the order to report for in-
duction. [46] He stated that he knew he was ordered to
do general military service. [146-147]

In response to his counsel in the trial court he declared
he could not take the oath: “Q. What is the reason why
you did on that occasion fail and refuse to take the
oath and thereby submit yourself to induction? A. Because
I previously made an oath or consecration of my life to
Almighty God and I could not go back on that oath because
that was an eternal oath; an oath I could not reject. Q. Could
you at that time have taken the oath as a member of the
Army of the United States in good faith as to the United
States? A. No. I could not.” [147]

In response to the questions propounded by the prose-
cuting attorney in the trial, he stated that he was ordered
to report for induction: “Q. Did you receive that order?
A. I did. Q. Did you report for induction as ordered? A. I
reported, yes, sir. Q. Did you submit yourself to induction?
A. No, sir, I did not.” [150]

The court charged the jury: “it is not insisted by the
defendant that he appeared for the purpose of being
inducted into the army because he said he did not intend
to be inducted when he went there. So that I will repeat
again, that if you find under this order which I charge
you is a vaild and legal order, that he failed to appear to
be inducted into the army, he would be guilty under the
indictment.” [222]

It is presumed that there was a regularity of adminis-
trative proceedings following the issuance of the order to
report for induction and that the petitioner complied with
Sections 623.21 and 633.22 and reached the point where he

could be required to submit to induction, because unless
he was ever ordered to submit to induction it cannot be
said that he refused to submit to induction.

There is nothing in the record to dispute the statements
of the various witnesses and the documents that petitioner
refused to submit to induction and that he was duly accepted
for training and service. It is at least enough evidence to
warrant this Court in holding that the petitioner did pre-
cisely as did Estep and Smith.

However, if it is assumed upon the record in this case
that petitioner went no further than the local board and
actually refused to report for induction, then, nevertheless,
he completed the selective process and exhausted his ad-
ministrative remedies when he was accepted by the armed
forces for training and service upon his preinduction physi-
cal examination. One who has been accepted by the armed
forces upon a preinduction physical examination has ex-
hausted his administrative remedies so as to qualify for
judicial review.

Section 3 (a) of the Selective Training and Service
Act of 1940 (50 U.S.C. A. App. § 303) in part provides:
“,.. mo man shall be inducted . . . until he is acceptable
to the land or naval forces . . . and his physical and mental
fitness for such training and service has been satisfactorily
determined.” (Italics added) *

The administrative process beginning “with registration
with the local boards” ends “when the registrant is accepted
by the Army, Navy or civilian public service camp.” Falbo
v. United States, 320 U.S. 549. Section 629.1 of the Regu-
lations provides that every registrant must be given a
preinduction physical examination.

“The Selective Service Regulations also draw a dis-
tinction between acceptance (or being found acceptable)
by the Army and induction.” (Billings v. Truesdell, 321
U.S. 542, 553)

* Billings v. Truesdell, 321 U.S. 542, 546.

30

“These regulations thus suggest that induction follows
acceptance and is a separate process.” (Ibid. p. 554)

“This takes the place of the earlier system whereby
selectees were first inducted and then given, if they desired,
furloughs to attend to their personal affairs.” (Ibid.
p. 555)

“We mention these recent regulations because they
perpetuate the distinction between acceptance or being
found acceptable and induction which appeared in the
regulations when Billings reported at the induction station.”
(Ibid. p. 555)

The matter of acceptance upon a preinduction physical
examination terminating the selective process and con-
stituting an exhaustion of the administrative remedies has
been thoroughly discussed in other cases filed with this
Court. See the petition for writ of certiorari in the case
of George William Dodez v. United States of America,
No. 1103 October Term 1945 (certiorari granted May 6,
1946, 14 L. W. 3386), pages 13-18; brief for petitioner in
Taze Hamrick Gibson v. United States of America, No. 221,
October Term 1945, pages 16-24.

It is acceptance by the armed forces that completes
the selective process. One who has been accepted by the
armed forces has exhausted his administrative remedies
so as to qualify for judicial review. Estep v. United States,
66 S. Ct. 423. That acceptance constitutes the end of the
selective process (and was so considered by the Court in
the Estep case), as exhausting administrative remedies,
is exemplified in the concurring opinion of Mr. Justice
Frankfurter, where he said: “The command of Congress
makes the decision of the board no less final after the
registrant has submitted to the pre-induction examination
than before such submission.” It must be conceded that
petitioner took the preinduction physical examination and
had been accepted by the armed forces for training and
service.

31

Assuming, for the purpose of argument only, that the
record in this case does not show that petitioner went as
far as did Smith and Estep and, also assuming, arguendo,
that acceptance upon a preinduction physical examination
does not constitute an exhaustion of the administrative
remedies—which petitioner contends does exhaust the ad-
ministrative remedies—sufficiently to entitle him to chal-
lenge the legality of the classification under the doctrine
of the Estep decision, there is, nevertheless, a different
problem presented here.

The error of the appeal board in considering improper
and prejudicial evidence constitutes a substantial denial
of the right upon appeal. The act of the appeal board was
a denial of due process and was tantamount to an outright
denial of his right of appeal. Therefore the order upon
which the indictment is based is void the same as if no
order had been issued at all. Under these circumstances
the courts have held that the illegality of the order can be
considered in defense to the indictment and that the doc-
trine of Falbo v. United States supra does not apply.
Tung v. United States (CCA-1) 142 F. 2d 919; United States
vy. Peterson (USDC-ND Calif.) 53 F. Supp. 760; United
States v. Lair (USDC-ND Calif.) 52 F. Supp. 393. Cf. Ex
parte Stanziale (CCA-3) 138 F. 2d 312. It should be ob-
served in the Tung case that the Government accepted the
decision of the First Circuit as the law by not applying
for ceritorari which was available to it.

The conviction under the indictment being based upon
undisputed evidence showing a violation of the rights of
the petitioner under the Act, the Regulations and the Con-
stitution, the court below should have reversed the judg-
ment of conviction and ordered the indictment dismissed
and petitioner discharged or, in the alternative, for pro-
cedural errors committed against petitioner by the trial
court, ordered the cause remanded for a new trial.

SIN OORT SC ORRIN A REDNESS a

32

Conclusion

It is submitted that this case is one calling for the
exercise by this Court of its supervisory powers under the
Judicial Code and the Rules of this Court. To that end
the petition for writ of certiorari should be granted so as
to correct the assigned errors committed; and petitioner
further prays that the judgment rendered by the Circuit
Court of Appeals and the District Court against petitioner
be reversed and petitioner discharged or, in the alternative,
that the judgments be reversed and a new trial ordered.

Respectfully submitted,
HAYDEN C. COVINGTON
Counsel for Petitioner

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386416_0749%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
