# Brief for the Respondent in Opposition — Epstein v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386416_0590%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Brief for the Respondent in Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1946
- **Citation:** 328 U.S. 858

## Text

te al NEL NN Sn RS CTI A A NG DRE WS aS - - =

SG Wak cnanksdascdcctosncasdcbasiescasee
hai axdcndécscscnckuas ee ee mm

CITATIONS
Cases:
Clarke v. United States, 132 F. 2d 538, certiorari denied, 318
Us Gk: Wein cAchcnneabcdicens elect ene
Hallowell v. United States, 253 Fed. 865, certiorari denied,
_ 249 U.8. 615 oe Fee Pen e i tales

Rds Gh, BRR avnccisccnegucnadenavanuae ene

United States vy. Cohen, 145 F. 2d 82, certiorari denied,

323 U. S. 799
Statute:

Criminal Code, Sec, 215 (18 U. 8S, C. 338)_......

(hb

G94G12 46

NoWON Ne =

Guthe Supreme Court of the Wited States

OcroBerR TERM, 1945

No. 1149

Louis Epstein, PETITIONER
v.
Unitep States oF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR 4 WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED
STATES CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND
CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the cireuit court of appeals (R.
483-490) has not yet been reported. The opinion
of the district court denying petitioner’s motion
to dismiss at the close of the Government’s case
appears at pages 439-445 of the record.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the circuit court of appeals
was entered March 26, 1946 (R. 491). The peti-
tion for a writ of certiorari was filed April 23,
1946. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked

(1)

2

under Section 240 (a) of the Judicial Code, as
amended by the Act of February 13, 1925. See
also Rules 37 (b) (2) and 45 (a) of the Federal
Rules of Criminal Procedure, effective March 21,
1946.
QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the evidence is sufficient to establish
that the mailings charged in the indictment were
in execution of the scheme to defraud in which
petitioner was associated.

STATUTE INVOLVED

Section 215 of the Criminal Code (18 U. 8S. C.
338) provides in pertinent part as follows:

Whoever, having devised or intending to
devise any scheme or artifice to defraud, or
for obtaining money or property by means
of false or fraudulent pretenses, represen-
tations, or promises, * * * shall, for
the purpose of executing such scheme or
artifice or attempting so to do, place, or
cause to be placed, any letter, postal card,
package, writing, circular, pamphlet, or ad-
vertisement, whether addressed to any per-
son residing within or outside the United
| States, in any post office, or station thereof,

or street or other letter box of the United
States, or authorized depository for mail
matter, to be sent or delivered by the post-
office establishment of the United States, or
shall take or receive any such therefrom,
| whether mailed within or without the

United States, or shall knowingly cause to

\
!

-
a

3

be delivered by mail according to the direc-
tion thereon, or at the place at which it is
directed to be delivered by the person to
whom it is addressed, any such letter, postal
eard, package, writing, circular, pamphlet,
or advertisement, shall be fined not more
than $1,000, or imprisoned not more than
five years, or both.

STATEMENT

An indictment in six counts was returned
against petitioner and three others in the District
Court for the Southern District of New York,
charging use of the mails in execution of a scheme
to defraud various factors by the kiting of checks,
securing the discounting of notes falsely alleged
to represent the purchase price of motion picture
quipment, and false representations respecting
urported contracts for the sale of motion picture
achines to the United States Government (R.
13). Petitioner waived a jury trial and was
tried alone (R. 17). He was convicted on five of
six counts,’ and sentenced to imprisonment
foy¥ one year and one day on each, the sentences to
concurrently (R. 463). On appeal to the
uit Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit,

(R. 431).

4

Wilfred Cohen, one of the defendants named in
the indictment, had been borrowing money from
another defendant, Sussman, paying him interest
at the rate of six percent per week (R. 19-22).
In January 1942, Sussman introduced petitioner
to Cohen, stating that petitioner was the man
from whom he had obtained some of the money he
had loaned Cohen (R. 18). Cohen showed peti-
tioner a motion picture machine owned by Spot-
light Productions, Inc., a corporation owned by
Cohen (R. 16, 22).

Subsequently, petitioner, Cohen, and Sussman
met to discuss the form of loans to Cohen (R. 23).
Cohen told petitioner that he could not discount
notes made by petitioner and Sussman with fac-
tors unless he could produce evidence of the pur-
pose for which the notes were taken (R. 24, 25).
Petitioner suggested chattel mortgages on motion
picture machines as security for the notes, but
Cohen convinced him that conditional bills of sale
would be more feasible (R. 216-217). Petitioner
agreed that, if an investigation were made, he
would state that he had purchased machines from
Cohen (R. 25).

Thereafter, petitioner and Sussman executed
promissory notes to Cohen’s order and also signed
fictitious purchase orders for motion picture
equipment, conditional bills of sale, and estoppel
certificates stating that the notes were genuine
and incontestable (R. 25-27). Cohen discounted

Vv

these notes with various factors (R. 28). He
agreed to pay petitioner and Sussman $400 each
per $10,000 worth of notes used (R. 27-28).

In May 1942, Cohen arranged for a similar
group of loans through petitioner and Sussman
by the same device of notes for fictitious sales of
motion picture equipment (R. 30-32). Cohen
told petitioner that he intended to use the pro-
ceeds of these notes to pay off the notes previously
signed by petitioner and Sussman (R. 30). Peti-
tioner suggested to Cohen a factor who might be
willing to discount notes at a lower rate than
Cohen was paying (R. 31).

This process was constantly repeated for the
next sixteen months, the amount of the notes in-

" ereasing each time (R. 58-59, 60-61, 63-64, 66-68,

71-72, 74-75, 77, 94-104, 113-114, 354). After
August 1942, conditional bills of sale were not
used, but estoppel certificates were signed (R. 107,
116-118, 120-121, 130, 132-136, 138, 159, 162-164,
167-168). Still later, at Cohen’s request, the
form of the notes was changed to have a corpora-
tion dominated by Sussman as maker and Suss-
man and petitioner as endorsers, or Spotlight
Productions as maker and Sussman and _ peti-
tioner as endorsers (R. 171-172, 173-175, 178).
In all, the notes signed or endorsed by petitioner
and Sussman totaled $700,000, of which $127,790
remained unpaid in December 1943 (R. 346).

6

In some instances factors had their own forms
of estoppel certificates and, when Cohen so in-
formed petitioner and Sussman, they executed
such forms (R. 51-54). At Cohen’s request, peti-
tioner mailed such an estoppel certificate to a fae-
tor (R. 64-65).

During the period that the notes were being
discounted, Cohen also arranged with petitioner to
use a bank account of petitioner’s corporation,
the New Union Square Hotel Corporation, for
the purpose of “‘kiting’’ checks. Cohen at first
paid petitioner $50 for each $5,000 worth of
checks drawn. Subsequently, he paid petitioner
$100 per week, and later $150 per week for the
use of the account. (R. 78-89, 90-92, 122-131,
137, 143-144, 188-189, 267.)

In November 1942, Lectern Service, which had
been discounting notes signed by petitioner and
Sussman on Cohen’s representations that the
notes were given for the purchase of machinery
(R. 321-323), and which then held obligations
amounting to approximately $25,000 in the form
of notes, Union Square Hotel Corporation checks,
and Cohen checks (R. 415-416), refused to dis-
count further obligations of this character (R.
415). Accurate Factors, another company which
had been discounting notes signed by petitioner
and Sussman in the belief that they represented
the purchase price of machinery (R. 371), had
fixed $5,000 as the maximum amount of such

7

notes which it would discount (R. 372). In Jan-
uary and February 1948, Cohen told these fac-
tors that he would give them assignments of
money allegedly due him from the Treasury De-
partment of the United States for motion picture
equipment sold in connection with war bond sales.
He produced false invoices of sales from Spot-
light Productions to the Treasury Department
and forged letters of confirmation on official sta-
tionery of the Treasury Department. (R. 147-
154, 386-387.) He stated that the Treasury —
Department was to make payment through the
American Railway Express upon the delivery of
machines to the express company, and he dis-
played to the factors express company checks pro-
cured by sending ‘‘dummy”’ packages by express
c. o. d. and paying therefor at the point of deliv-
ery (R. 392-394, 399). The ‘‘count letters’’ were
all forged Treasury confirmations mailed by
Cohen to Spotlight Productions (count 1, Ex. 31,
R. 149-150, 457; count 3, Ex. 32, R. 150-151, 458;
count 4, Ex. 33, R. 152, 459; count 5, Ex. 34, R.
152, 460; count 6, Ex. 35, R. 152, 461). On the
basis of the fictitious assignments of money due
from the Treasury, both Accurate Factors and
Lectern Service continued to lend considerable
sums of money to Cohen during 1943 (R. 148, 154,
156-158).

During the period that Cohen was obtaining
money on forged Treasury confirmations, he con-

NSE AE OA Oe, UE IE Se POI NIE RITE NL) NY Sg aa

8

tinued to discount notes endorsed by petitioner
and Sussman (R. 159, 162, 163-164, 167-168, 170-
171, 178, 180-181, 384, 387). Such notes were
accepted during this period by both Accurate
Factors and Lectern Service, the two factors who
were taking the fictitious assignments of Treasury
obligations (R. 384-385, 418-420).

In August 1943, Cohen told petitioner that
some of the notes petitioner had endorsed would
not be paid (R. 195). Petitioner at first stopped
payment on the specific notes which Cohen told
him would be defaulted. Subsequently he
stopped payment on all except those Cohen said
he would pay off. (R. 277-278.) Petitioner told
an official of his bank that he was stopping pay-
ment on one of the notes because he expected new
machines (R. 334-335). He had previously told
this official that he was interested in the motion
picture business (R, 336). In October 1943, peti-
tioner loaned Cohen $10,000, receiving in ex-
change post dated checks for $16,000 (R. 198-
199). Later, petitioner gave Cohen $7,000 which
was to be repaid at the same ratio of 8 to 5 (R.
200).

Some time in November 1943, Cohen told peti-
tioner and Sussman that if he did not raise
$100,000 there would be trouble (R. 202, 204) ;
that there was ‘‘a criminal angle,’’ because of
“these phoney bills and everything”’ (R. 204).
He also said that a post office inspector had been

)

trying to reach him (R. 204). Sussman stated
that he had not personally mailed ‘the letters,”’
and petitioner remained silent (R. 204-205).

Cohen testified that during the period up to
October 1943, he had not told petitioner that he
had any business dealings with the Treasury
or that he was obtaining money on the basis of
false Treasury letters (R. 155, 433-434).

ARGUMENT

Petitioner urges (Pet. 2, 9-12) that, in view
of Cohen’s testimony that he did not inform peti-
tioner of the fraudulent Treasury letters, the
evidence is insufficient to support petitioner's
conviction for the mailing of the forged Treasury
letters charged in the indictment. This conten-
tion was carefully considered and rejected by
both the district court (R. 443-445) and the eir-
cuit court of appeals (R. 486-489) on the ground
that the Treasury letters were merely part of
a geneval scheme contemplating the use of the mails
to which petitioner was a knowing party.

We submit that the decisions below are correct.
It is a well established principle of mail fraud
law that one who becomes a party to a scheme to
defraud which may reasonably be anticipated to
involve the use of the mails is liable for mail-
ings performed or caused by his confederate in
execution of the scheme, even though he may not
have been aware of the specific use of the mails

RET 1

ban aa

10

which forms the basis of the indictment. Kann v.
United States, 323 U. S. 88, 93; United States v.
Cohen, 145 F. 2d 82, 90 (C. C. A. 2), certiorari
denied, 323 U. S. 799; Clarke v. United States,
132 F. 2d 538, 540 (C. C. A. 9), certiorari denied,
318 U. S. 789; Spivey v. United States, 109 F. 2d
181, 184 (C. C. A. 5), certiorari denied, 310 U. S.
631; Shreve v. United States, 103 F. 2d 79°, 813
(C. C. A. 9), certiorari denied, 308 U. S. 570;
Hallowell v. United States, 253 Fed. 865, 5068
(C. C, A. 9), certiorari denied, 249 U.S. 615.

There can be no question that, in this case, peti-
tioner was a party to a scheme which contem-
plated the use of the mails, for he himself agreed
to and did send through the mails an estoppel
certificate required by one of the factors (p. 6,
supra). The only issue before the trial court on
this aspect of the case, therefore, was whether
petitioner joined a scheme limited to the particu-
lar transactions in which he directly participated,
or whether he was a party to the general scheme
to defraud charged in the indictment. We think
that on the evidence the courts below were war-
ranted in finding that petitioner had so tied him-
self to Cohen’s plans and that the false Treasury
assignments were so integral a part of the scheme
in which petitioner had associated himself that
he must be considered particeps criminis as to all
phases of the scheme.

ll

Petitioner’s willingness to do whatever Cohen
suggested in order to further the fiction that
Cohen was an active, successful businessman is
apparent. He deferred to Cohen’s request that
the notes to be discounted be supported by fieti-
tious bills of sale rather than chattel mortgages.
He allowed Cohen to use his corporate checking
account to “‘kite’’ checks in any amount. He
signed any form of estoppel certificate which was
presented to him. When Cohen decided that cor-
porate notes with petitioner and Sussman as en-
dorsers were better than notes with petitioner and
Sussman as makers, petitioner acceded without
question to Cohen’s request for a change of form.

Furthermore, the success of the Treasury assign-
ment aspect of the scheme was made possible by the
fact that the prior fictitious sales to petitioner and
Sussman had given Cohen’s transactions the ap-
pearance of business activity. At the same time,
the money secured by assigning the fraudulent
Treasury obligations enabled Cohen to continue
operations and made possible further issuance and
discount of notes endorsed by petitioner and Suss-
man during the same period. In one instance,
Cohen used $25,000 in notes signed by petitioner
to redeem fictitious Treasury obligations on which
payment was allegedly delayed by the Federal
Government (R. 419-421). The Treasury obli-
gations were thus part of Cohen’s whole scheme
of financial juggling, a scheme which peti-

PG WRENS SANA, RR Qty ROP ae SENOS ES <3

12

tioner had knowingly joined and in which he had
actively participated. Considered in narrower
compass, the Treasury obligations were a device to
prevent discovery and to permit continued opera-
tion of the particular scheme with which peti-
tioner was unquestionably associated, the scheme
to keep Cohen in a financial position to use peti-
tioner’s endorsements on notes for a price. Un-
der the circumstances, therefore, petitioner was
properly held liable for the mailings charged in
the indictment.
CONCLUSION

| "The decision below involves merely the applica-
tion of well established principles of law to the
particular facts of this ease, and presents no ques-
tion requiring further review by this Court. We
therefore respectfully submit that the petition for
a writ of certiorari should be denied.
J. Howarp McGrath,

Solicitor General.
THERON L, CAUDLE,

Assistant Attorney General.

Rosert 8S, ErpDAHL,
BEATRICE ROSENBERG,
Attorneys.

May 1946.

U.S GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFICE: ‘eae

ee A
23m RA — " —

ea PERE, ORL CI PTY IE NE OL EOE Oe TI IRL te BR LO

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386416_0590%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
