# Brief for the Respondents in Opposition — Rule v. Sears

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386416_0546%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Brief for the Respondents in Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1946
- **Citation:** 328 U.S. 843

## Text

SUBJECT INDEX.

PAGE

I.
The case as made below and as treated by the Supreme Court
OE Califcormain com: thee engppreelhn nnn cscs erences

Il.
Petitioner has had his day in court upon the issue of a collateral
or secret agreement to create a trust and upon every other
issue involved in the case, including that of extrinsic fraud...

Il.

Petitioner acquired no vested rights under the decree of distribu-
tion, for the Probate Court was without jurisdiction to declare
the equities under which respondents claimed, as held by the

California Supreme Court

LES ALES SR EAGER OLN RO REE PET BoM EES HR IE Sy LPS NF

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED.

CasEs. PAGE

Bjornquist v. Barton & A. R. Co., 250 Fed. 929; cert. den.
248 U. S. 593 .. 14
Bryant, Estate of, 3 Cal. (2d) 70 19
Curdy v. Berton, 79 Cal. 420. 17
Davey v. So. Pacific Co., 116 Cal. 325 14
Gillette v. Gillette, 122 Cal. App. 640 16
Hubbell, Estate of, 121 Cal. App. 38...... 15, 16
Martin v. Imbrie, 262 Fed. 44 13
McLellan, Estate of, 8 (2d) 49 15

Fleishacker v. Blum, 109 F. (2d) 542; cert. den. 311 U. S.
665 14
Houle v. Helena Gas & Elec. Co., 31 F. (2d) 671 -..----.---..-----e0e0+ 14
TRUS W, ZAMS OUIIR BEBE. GU. CRsccssnachsecnttisocisdternnsstnsintsnccserbiwese 17
Lyons v. Empire Fuel Co., 262 Fed. 465 14
Parkman v. Superior Court, 77 Cal. App. 321 15
q Peck v. Noee, A, See vadlideadiintdlte esrb inclanaaderisnsibebaitaant sweats 14
Prior v. Andrews, 83 Cal. App. 782........ 17
Rey, Estate of, $1 Cel. App. (2d) 646... 16

San Juan Light Co. v. Requena, 224 U. S. 89, 32 Sup. Ct. 399,

56 L. Ed. 680. 14
Sears v. Rule, 45 Cal. App. (2d) 374. 5
STATUTES.

California Code of Civil Procedure, Sec. 1699.0... ccccceceeeeee 15
California Constitution, Art. VI, Sec. 4% 14
California Constitution, Art. VI, Sec. 5 15
California Probate Code, Secs. 300-1242 15
California Probate Code, Sec. 1120 15, 16
TEXTBOOKS.
2 California Jurisprudence, p. 240 14
2 California Jurisprudence, p. 809 14
Restatement of the Law of Trusts, Sec. 54d 4, 18
Restatement of the Law of Trusts, Sec. 55h 4, 18
Restatement of the Law of Trusts, Sec. 411lq 4, 18
1 Scott on Trusts, p. 312 18

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcToBeR TERM, 1945
No. 1024

CHARLES T. RULE,
Petitioner,
US.

Hattie Sears, Epwin E. Weser, MINNIE LOUISE
Mattocks, et al.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR
CERTIORARI.

It is respectfully submitted that the petition for cer-
tiorari herein should be denied.

Under petitioner’s Point 1 it is claimed that he has
been unconstitutionally deprived of his day in court be-
cause, it is said, the California Supreme Court discarded
the “theory and cause of action” presented and relied
upon below and substituted “a new and different” theory
and cause of action which has never been the subject of
judicial inquiry or determination.

Under his Point 2 it is claimed that in any event the
California Supreme Court unconstitutionally deprived him
of the property vested in him by the earlier decree of
the probate court by giving the property (distributed
outright to him by the probate court) to persons other

Mielec es SRD EPA OE EES 2 PE REAR ARN ES x

fom. aon

than the beneficiaries under the collateral agreement de-
clared by it to be the basis of its decision and without
judicial inquiry into the validity, purposes, terms or ben-
eficiaries of such “purported” agreement or of any trust
resulting therefrom.

Neither point possesses merit. In order adequately to
answer them, however, it will be necessary to devote
some attention to the case as made below, and to the
California Supreme Court’s treatment of it on the appeal.

I,

The Case as Made Below and as Treated by the
Supreme Court of California on the Appeal.

The case pleaded, proved and found in the trial court
showed (1) that plaintiffs and cross-complainant Cotton
(we shall hereinafter refer to these parties collectively
as “respondents” ) were heirs-at-law of the decedent Sa-
rah E. Weber; (2) that the latter left a will; (3) that
although the will named petitioner Rule as sole resicuary
devisee, it was not the intention of the decedent that he
should take outright, but that he should take for undis-
closed persons previously agreed upon between them;*
(4) that petitioner denied having made any such agree-
ment and claimed the assets of the estate for himself;
and (5) that by divers and extrinsic frauds and conceal-
ments, not necessary here to be detailed, he prevented re-
spondents from presenting their claims to the probate
court, thus procuring distribution to himself outright.

*This is the issue as to which petitioner asserts he has never had
his day in court. We shall show, by adequate record citations,
that the issue has been present from the beginning, to the knowl-

edge of petitioner and his counsel.
minors RRR OTE =r a

ee al

Judgment going against him, petitioner appealed and
relied most strongly upon the proposition that the decree
of distribution was res adjudicata and as such could not
be avoided except for extrinsic fraud. (See, for ex-
ample, Vol. 10 herein, Apps. Reply Brief in 2d Civil
No. 14280, pp. 3-8.)

When the case arrived in the Supreme Court of Cali-
fornia, that court held that the decree of distribution was
not res adjudicata (for want of jurisdiction in a Califor-
nia probate court to adjudicate equitable claims such as
are here involved) and, hence, the decree not being bind-
ing, there was no necessity for passing upon the sufh-
ciency of the evidence to support the findings as to ex-
trinsic fraud. [R. 302-303.] It then proceeded to hold
that upon the other facts found, and specifically the facts
concerning a collateral agreement on the part of peti-
tioner to distribute to unnamed and unascertained bene-
ficiaries, a constructive [or resulting: compare R. 299,
303] trust arose for the benefit of the heirs at law of
the decedent, namely, these respondents. [R. 302-303.]

The result is that petitioner is in reality here claiming
no more than that the California Supreme Court erred,
in the exercise of its jurisdiction under California law,
in holding that the probate decree of jurisdiction was
not res adjudicata and hence that the issue as to the
presence or absence of extrinsic fraud as a vehicle for
avoiding the decree was wholly immaterial. But what
petitioner industriously ignores is the patent fact that
the holding of the California Supreme Court (that a de-
cision upon the question of extrinsic fraud was unneces-
sary) merely emphasizes the presence from the begin-
ning of the essentials of the cause of action upon which
the respondents were permitted to recover.

RPL GROSS a IO GET OI AI IEP EOE OID EE

an aa

Ignoring, as we may, for purposes of reality, the ac-
tual order in which the issues were presented, the relative
claims of the parties were these:

1. Cause of Action predicated upon the right of heirs-
at-law to claim a resulting trust where a testatrix at-
tempts, by. collateral agreement with a devisee evidenced,
inter alia, by the will itself, to create a trust which fails
for uncertainty and noncompliance with the Statute of
Wills. See, for instance, Restatement, Trusts, § 54d,
§ 55h, § 411g.

2. Defense predicated upon finality of the probate
decree distributing absolutely to the devisee.

3. Replication in avoidance of the effect of the de-
cree, that the same was procured by extrinsic fraud.

Such was the true rationale of the issues, notwithstand-
ing the fact that respondents pleaded extrinsic fraud at
the outset which was denied by petitioner in his re-
sponsive pleadings. It is perfectly obvious, therefore,
that the primary right constituting the basis of respond-
ents’ cause of action was necessarily their right to have
a trust impressed upon petitioner as being the person in
possession of property which in equity belonged to them.
It is equally obvious that, unless they had possessed
such primary right, the question of extrinsic fraud could
never have arisen, for if they had possessed no right
capable of being violated, respondents could not have been
defrauded. It thus becomes manifest that the only func-
tion of extrinsic fraud in the case was as a vehicle to
avoid whatever effect the decree of distribution had upon
the respondents’ rights. And it follows that when the
Supreme Court, adversely to petitioner’s contentions, held
that the decree was not conclusive, due to want of juris-

seals

diction in the probate court to adjudicate the presence of
a resulting trust, the issue of extrinsic fraud became ut-
terly superfluous.

We now propose to show that not only was the issue
as to a collateral or secret agreement (evidencing an at-
tempt to create a trust which failed) present in the case
from the inception, but that petitioner knew it and at-
tempted to meet the issue, thereby clearly having his day
in court.

Il.

Petitioner Has Had His Day in Court Upon the
Issue of a Collateral or Secret Agreement to
Create a Trust and Upon Every Other Issue In-
volved in the Case, Including That of Extrinsic
Fraud.

It will be borne in mind that prior to the trial which
resulted in the judgment against petitioner, there had
been a previous appeal from a judgment rendered after
demurrer sustained to the plaintiff’s original complaint.
Sears v. Rule, 45 Cal. App. (2d) 374; [R. 260-271].

The briefs on that appeal clearly show that the issue
of the collateral or secret agreement was directly pre-
sented to, and decided by the District Court of Appeal.

The briefs in question consisted of an Appellants’
Opening Brief, a Reply Brief filed by petitioner herein,
and, after decision of the court sustaining the complaint,
a Petition for Rehearing also filed by petitioner. Certi-
fied copies of those two briefs and of that petition are
collectively filed herein as Respondents’ Exhibit “A.”

Respondents herein, in their ‘Plaintiffs’ Opening
Brief’ devoted an entire topic to the identical theory

q

er ee

upon which the judgment herein was later affirmed by
the California Supreme Court. On page 95 of that
brief (see Exhibit “A” herein) appears the following:

“POINT IV.

“PLAINTIFFS HAve A CAUSE oF ACTION EVEN IN
THE ABSENCE OF MISTAKE OR FRAUD. THE
Suit SHoutp Not Have BEEN DISMISSED.

“Even if the complaint did not allege that the
Decree of Distribution was obtained through mis-
take or extrinsic fraud, the plaintiffs still have a
cause of action, and the demurrer should not have
been sustained.

The complaint alleges the defendant took the
residue charged with a trust; it alleges he has re-
pudiated the trust and claims the entire residue as
his own. The intended beneficiaries being unnamed
and unknown, equity therefore will decree that he
holds it, not for himself, but as trustee for the
intestate heirs of the deceased . . .”

Petitioner herein, in his Reply Brief (see Exhibit A,
herein), also discussed the secret collateral agreement.
He stated:

“No attempt is made to allege a secret trust was
intended, or that the plaintiffs were the beneficiaries
thereunder, or were secretly named, or that defend-
ant made any promise with respect to such devises
or bequests.” (Exhibit A, p. 4.)

Pages 19-22 of that brief are devoted to his topic en-
titled:
“The test for the creation of a secret trust is,
First, the intention to create a trust for someone,
and, Second, the promise, express or implied, by
the legatee to carry it out.”

EERE RT LU EM SSAA EN CIS SPREE 2 BAR IY BABYS ARLE PRET TRE NORE RI TEL tT Sem ye BWR & Prigel aoe marche eS

ee

The complaint of course, does allege a secret or col-
lateral agreement.* For instance, Paragraph IX al-
leges that, as to the residue, petitioner well knew that
the said testatrix had in mind other beneficiaries than
himself and that he was not the sole beneficiary. [R.
152-153.] Similar allegations appear in Paragraph VI
of the cross-complaint of respondent Minnie Cotton. [R.
184-185.] In Paragraph VI of the complaint it is al-
leged, by reference to the will, that petitioner was made
the ‘sole beneficiary” of the estate to “distribute” it in
accordance with the “wishes” of the testatrix “often dis-
cussed” by them. The complaint prays that he be held
as trustee for the benefit of the heirs at law.

The District Court of Appeal, in its decision |R. 260]
stated the following concerning the complaint:

“The theory that the testatrix . . . intended to
convey the residue . . . to him in trust to be dis-
tributed in accordance with their previous agree-
ment, seems conclusive .. .” [R. 266.]

“Moreover it is apparent the respondent knew the
testratrix did not intend to make him the sole bene-
ficiary of her estate...” [R. 267.]

*It should be pointed out that the will itself evidenced the exis-
tence of such an agreement:
“ARTICLE FIVE.
* o * * * * * * +. *

“(b) The reason of making my brother, Charles T. Rule.
the sole beneficiary of my estate is that I am confident, and
place my trust in him to the extent, that he will distribute my
estate in accordance with my wishes he and I have often dis-
cussed.”

ae

“. . . the allegations of the complaint .. . clearly
show that it was not the intention that Charles T.
Rule should become the sole beneficiary of his sis-
ter’s will...” [R. 270-271.]

Petitioner, in his Petition for Rehearing by the Dis-
trict Court of Appeal (Exhibit A herein), stated:

“V. The court erred in holding that a secret
agreement was alleged or existed . . .” (p. 2)

“. . , the court has not sought to discover the in-

tention from the language of the will, but from the

purported agreement alleged by counsel and referred

to as a secret trust in the brief under that heading
at pages 46 to 56.” (p. 26.)

After his petition for rehearing was denied, petitioner
herein filed in the Supreme Court of California a_peti-
tion for a hearing by that court. (See Vol. 11 herein.)
On page 4 of that petition he stated:

“(2) The decision of the District Court is erro-
neous in that it is predicated upon the court’s con-

clusion that a secret agreement existed between the
testatrix and her brother, Charles T. Rule .. .”

The District Court of Appeal reversed, and sent the
case back for trial. The following references to the
record show that petitioner’s counsel were fully aware
of the presence of the issue as to a collateral or secret
agreement.

For instance petitioner himself admitted the secret
trust. He testified in part as follows:

“Q. This will, I presume, Mr. Rule, was drawn
for the purpose of trying to carry out the wishes

of Sarah Weber? ...A. Yes.”

lliiicis

Q. And you had discussed with your sister, as
stated here in the will, what those wishes were?
A. Yes.” [R. 32-33.]

* * * * * * * *

“Q. Those wishes were only disclosed to you in
conversations with your sister? A. Yes, sir, that
is correct.” [R. 37.]

* * * * * * * *

“A. He (Henry Draeger) told me . . . that my
sister had often talked about she wanted me to
distribute the estate.” [R. 5.]

* * * * * * * *

“The Court: Hadn’t Mrs. Weber, before she
died, told you about how you should divide that
property? A. Yes.” [R. 5.]

. * * * * * * *

The petitioner admitted he had, in another action,
testified as follows:

“Q. And was any explanation made of the legal
effects or legal meaning of any of the phrases used
in that will? A. I do not recall at that time.
Later Mr. Draeger went into that... .

Q. Do you recall what he explained? A. Yes,
about the trust.

Q. About everything going to you in trust? A.
Yes.” [R. 4]

. * * * * * * .

Edwin Weber, a witness testified:

“A. Oh, I asked him (Mr. Rule) what the
instructions of Sarah was to him as to the distribu-

os: NONE AHR TAGS ARG TH NET REO SION PS SM ee

—10—

tion of the estate; and he said that that was what
he knew and it was nobody else’s business.” [R. 58.]

* * * x + * * *

Mr. Warren, attorney for petitioner, in addressing the
trial court, stated in part:

“. . . the Appellate Court said there are some al-
legations in here there was a secret agreement be-
tween this Mr. Rule and Sarah Weber. Now, if
there is a secret agreement, the foundation of this
whole thing by the decision of vhis Court is that
there existed a secret agreement which was con-
cealed from the court. Now, that would take a
conversation between Sarah Weber and Charles T.
Rule...” [R. 104.]

If any further evidence were needed as to the fact that
pettiioner has fully had his day in court upon the question
of a collateral agreement as constituting the basis of re-
spondent’s right to recover, the following from the tind-
ings of the trial court is eloquent [R. 219]:

“~ . . At the death of Sarah E. Weber, Charles
T. Rule knew that Sarah E. Weber did not intend by
said will to devise and bequeath the residue of her
estate to him absolutely, and he knew that she in-
tended by said will to devise and bequeath the residue
of her estate to him in trust only, for the beneficiaries
previously agreed upon and understood between her-
self and Charles T. Rule.

“Prior to her death, Sarah E, Weber discussed
each provision of her said will with Charles T. Rule,

RTE GM KI A NEE PIL yh EAL NOR EME RE ILE LPT MERIE ETI eM a RE

wittion

and she told him the manner in which she wanted him
to distribute the residue of her estate. Charles T.
Rule agreed, and told her he would distribute the same
in accordance with her said wishes and directions.
Sarah E. Weber, when she executed said last will and
testament, and at her death, had confidence in Charles
T. Rule, and trusted that he would distribute the
residue of her estate in eccordance with her said
wishes, which she had discussed with him, and his
agreement with her.”

In respondents’ brief in the appeal after the trial of the
case, we ‘devoted pages 7 to 25, to a discussion of the
evidence supporting the finding regarding the secret trust
(see Vol. 10 herein).

Petitioner herein, in his opening brief in that appeal,
challenged the finding of the trial court and stated at page
94 (see Vol. 10 herein) :

" the alleged agreement on his part with
respect to distribution of the estate was simply non-
existent.”

Petitioner herein, in his reply brief in the appeal from
the judgment, stated the following (see Vol. 10 herein) :

“The existence of non-existence of a collateral
agreement between Mrs. Weber and Mr. Rule by
which it was agreed that he was to take the residue
of her estate as a trustee and not in his individual
right, is clearly the crux of the issue of fraud on this
appeal.” (Br. p. 24.)

SRR Se

aR Ne

It is also pertinent to add that the foregoing quotation is
taken from a section of the brief which is headed:

“C. There Was No Collateral Agreement or
Trust.”

It might also be noted that on page 28 of the same brief

petitioner has another topic entitled:

“D. The Evidence Affirmatively Established the
Non-existence of Any Collateral Agreement.”

under which he said:

“
.

. It is apparent that any evidence of dis-
cussions between them was competent and material—
not as declarations of the decedent for the purpose of
construing her will, for that would be contrary to
Section 105, Probate Code—but as competent evi-
dence to prove or disprove the existence of the col-
lateral agreement which -s essential to any possible
cause of action of the respondents.”

On page 11 of the same brief, petitioner herein stated:

In view of the foregoing uncontrovertible evidence that
the existence of a collateral agreement has always been
implicit in respondents’ recovery, it is submitted that
petitioner’s claim that the California Supreme Court “sub-

SEITE

“It thus appears that the alleged fraud falls into
two categories, first . . . and, second, the fraud
of appellant in . . . concealing his knowledge of
an agreement between him and Mrs. Weber to dis-
tribute the property according to some previous un-
derstanding.”

PSEA GRST RAT TAN PEARSE ORO ROME TET a Se

—l3—

stituted” a new and different theory and cause of action
upon which petitioner has never had his day in court is
wholly without merit. The basic issue has always been
present, and, it was, as petitioner stated in his said reply
brief “the crux of the issue of fraud’ (see Vol. 10 here-
in). The presence or absence of the issue of extrinsic
fraud depended only upon whether petitioner was right or
wrong in his contention that the decree of distribution was
ves adjudicata. The California Supreme Court held he
was wrong; and it held correctly, as we shall show in our
discussion of petitioners’ Point 2. But whether its holding
in this respect was right or wrong, no question of due
process arises, for petitioner has had his day in court ov
every issue involved in the case, including the issue of
extrinsic fraud. For this reason we have deemed it un-
necessary to discuss the authorities mentioned by petitioner
in this connection.

It might be stated in passing, that even if the complaint
herein had failed to plead the existence of the secret or
collateral agreement, as contended by petitioner, which
contention we deny, the assertions of petitioner are still
without merit. The issue of the collateral agreement was
tried and findings were made with respect thereto, and,
as the Court stated in Martin v. Imbrie, 262 Fed. 44-47:

“Effect must therefore be given to the rule that
where the parties, with the assent of the court, united
in trying a case on the theory that a particular matter
is within the issues, that theory cannot be rejected
when the case comes up for review.”

ae ~
a THHEME LEG ENTE Be RE Th ae

‘cll

(See, also to the same effect: San Juan Light Co. v. Re-
quena, 224 U. S. 89, 32 Sup. Ct. 399, 56 L. Ed. 680;
Fleishacker v. Blum, 109 F. (2d) 542, cert. den. 311
U. S. 665; Lyons v. Empire Fuel Co., 262 Fed. 465; Houle
v. Helena Gas & Elec. Co., 31 F. (2d) 671; Bjornquist v.
Barton & A. R. Co., 250 Fed. 929, cert. den. 248 U. S.
593.) The same rule obtains in California. (Peck v.
Noee, 154 Cal. 351; 2 Cal. Jur. p. 240, citing many cases.)
Section 4% of Article VI of the Constitution of Cali-
fornia provides in part the following:

“No judgment shall be set aside, or new trial
granted in any case, . . . for any error as to any
matter of pleading . . . unless, after an examina-
tion of the entire case, including the evidence, the
court shall be of the opinion that the error complained
of has resulted in a miscarriage of justice.”

It is also pertinent to add, that, the existence of the
secret or collateral agreement having been proved and
found, even if the theory of law upon which the Cali-
fornia Supreme Court affirmed the judgment differed
-from that of the trial court, that still petitioner’s conten-
tion is without merit. It is the long established rule in
California, that:

“If the judgment or order in question is right upon
any theory of law applicable to the case, it must be
sustained regardless of the considerations which may
have moved the trial court to its conclusions.”’

Davey v. So. Pacific Co., 116 Cal. 325-329;
2 Cal. Jur., p. 809, citing many cases.

ties

III.

Petitioner Acquired No Vested Rights Under the De-
cree of Distribution, for the Probate Court Was
Without Jurisdiction to Declare the Equities
Under Which Respondents Claimed, as Held by
the California Supreme Court.

The jurisdiction of the California probate courts stems
from the Constitution and laws of that state. (Calif.
Const., Art. VI, Sec. 5; California Probate Code, Secs.
300-1242.) And here the highest court of the state has
held that the probate court had no jurisdiction to impose a
resulting trust upon property passing out of probate.
The reasons for this may be simply stated under Cali-
fornia law.

It is fundamental California law that all questions re-
lating to trusts of whatever nature are, in the absence of
statute, solely and exclusively in the jurisdiction of equity.
It is equally certain that the jurisdiction of California
Superior Courts while sitting in probate has always been
in control of the Legislature. And, prior to the enact-
ment in 1889 of Code of Civil Procedure Section 1699
(now Probate Code, Section 1120) those courts, while
sitting in probate, possessed no equity jurisdiction whatso-
ever. These matters are too well settled to require the
citation of authorities, but we may refer in this connection
to Parkman v. Superior Court, 77 Cal. App. 321, 323-6;
Estate of Hubbell, 121 Cal. App. 38, 41-3; Estate of Mc-
Lellan, 8 Cal. (2d) 49, 55-6. As the Supreme Court said
in the case last cited:

“Except for that statute [Probate Code, 1120] the
Superior Court would have no authority, in the exer-

aE SS

cise of its probate jurisdiction, to hear and determine
the account presented by a testamentary trustee.”

And, as the court held in that case, the equity juris-
diction conferred by that section is only partial and incom-
plete and is strictly limited by the terms of the statutory
grant. In the Hubbell case, supra, for example, the court
held that the Superior Court, while sitting in probate,
under Section 1120 has no jurisdiction to terminate a
testamentary trust (although a court of equity undoubt-
edly has that power) because that particular element of
equity jurisdiction was not granted by that section.

It is thus clear that the only equity jurisdiction pos-
sessed by California courts in probate is that granted to
them by Section 1120, which is partial and incomplete and
cannot be extended beyond the express terms of the grant.
And that jurisdiction is limited in time, as well as in ex-
tent, by the terms of the grant. By those express terms, it
cannot be exercised until “after distribution.” It is a grant
of limited equity jurisdiction over the administration of
testamentary trusts, and it cannot be exercised until after
distribution to the trustees because until then there is
nothing to be administered by them.

“Sections 1120 and 1121 confer jurisdiction in the
Probate Court after distribution of the estate, when
the trust has been created, exists and survives the
distribution of the estate.” (Emphasis added.)

Estate of Rey, 31 Cal. App. (2d) 648, 653 (peti-
tion for hearing by Supreme Court denied May
18, 1939).

Accord:
Gillette v. Gillette, 122 Cal. App. 640, 642.

i: — “

otiiins

It follows that the Probate Court, being powerless to
impress the trust declared in this (equity) case, had no
alternative other than to distribute to appellant, the de-
visee named in the will. And, as was implicit in the hold-
ing of the California Supreme Court, the decree was con-
clusive only as to the fact that the legal title to the assets
passed to appellant, without affecting in the slightest the
right of these respondents to assert their equities in the
proper forum.

The result is that, in the eyes of equity, petitioner took
the assets, not in his own right, but subject to their being
impressed with a trust at the suit of the beneficial owners.
As a matter of fact petitioner himself admits the Probate
Court lacked the equity jurisdiction to impress the trust.
In his appellant’s reply brief in the last appeal (2d. Civil
No. 14280), he states at page 33 (Vol. 10):

“As previously stated in this brief, if there was
any collateral agreement it was a matter for cogniz-
ance by our courts of equity, but it was of no concern
whatever to the probate court.”

And petitioner in support of the foregoing statement
cited the following California cases: Prior v. Andrews,
83 Cal. App. 782-789; Curdy v. Berton, 79 Cal. 420, 427,
and Lauricella v..Lauricella, 161 Cal. 61.

Petitioner thus himself admits that he acquired no
“vested” right in the assets at all, in the sense in which
he uses the term and, hence, once again he has failed to
show a constitutional question.

As a subordinate contention under his Point 2, peti-
tioner complains of being compelled to turn over the prop-
erty to persons not claiming to be beneficiaries, and with-

ee APSA S I, SREB

ies

out inquiry as to the validity and other incidents of the
trust. At the same time, at page 29 of his brief, he con-
cedes that under settled usages and modes of procedure
he could lawfully be deprived of his rights under the
decree:

“2. Without an attack upon the decree, and pro-
ceeding upon the theory that there was a trust created
by collateral agreement:

* * * * * * * *

“(b) At the instance of heirs of the decedent upon
a judicial determination that such trust created by
collateral agreement was invalid.”

This, of course, is our case. Restatement, Trusts, Sec-
tions 54d, 55h, 411q.* Petitioner asserts, however, that
there had been no judicial determination of the invalidity
of the trust attempted to be created by collateral agree-
ment, but only as to that attempted to be created by
Article Five of the will. He thus ignores entirely the
significance of Finding XI quoted above, which clearly
indicates that the provision in the will related back directly
to, and was merely evidence of, the collateral agreement ;
and, above all, he most studiously forgets the contention
made by him in the District Court of Appeal, namely, that
the existence of the collateral agreement which was essen-
tial to any possible cause of action in the respondents. To

*And see, also, Scott on Trusts, Vol. 1, p. 312, where it is said:
“It has been held that if B agrees to hold in trust for or to
convey to some one whose identity is not communicated to B
until after A’s death, B cannot be compelled to hold for the
person intended by A; but since B would be unjustly enriched
if he were allowed to keep the property, he will be held as
constructive trustee for A’s heirs or next of kin.”

PRR LAS PGES ANE TANT ER FIA BER STF BG ERS: ELIT IPR PTET. BLY BSL LEYTE REEN _-™

er

claim, as petitioner does claim, that the provision in the
will is anything other than the collateral agreement in
attempted action, amounts to simply refusing to face the
facts.

Beyond all this, however, petitioner is in no position to
complain of being compelled to turn the assets over to
the heirs where the beneficiaries are legally unascertain-
able. He is not a faithful trustee, seeking to discharge
his fiduciary obligations to the beneficiaries. He denies
the existence of the trust, and claims in his own right.
Under these circumstances, he has no standing to complain
that the law, to avoid unjust enrichment on his part,
directs that the assets go to the complaining heirs in man-
ner and form as provided in the judgment below. He
cannot complain that property which he does not own is
awarded to another. (Estate of Bryant, 3 Cal. (2d) 70.)

For the reasons hereinabove set forth, it is respectfully
urged that the petition for certiorari herein be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

Pierce Works,
Counsel for Respondents.

Epwin J. MILLER,
Ratpn W. MILLER,
Howarp E. Forrester,

Of Counsel.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386416_0546%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
