# Petition for a Writ of Certiorari — Jeskowitz v. Carter

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386416_0539%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1946
- **Citation:** 328 U.S. 839

## Text

Supreme Court of the Auite

OCTOBER TERM 1945

No. 10 78

ABRAHAM .JESKOWITZ,

Petitioner,

against

Lroxarp H. Carter, Trustee in Bankruptey of Union
Fabrics, Inc.,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

ArcuipaLpD PALMER,
Counsel for Petitioner.

INDEX

PAGE
Opinions Below 1
Jurisdiction 9
Statement of Facts 2
Questions Presented 10
Statutes Involved 11
Specifications of Error to be Urged 12
Reasons for Granting Writ a

Porxt A—A trustee in bankruptey who, in a turnover
proceeding, relies upon a presumption that the
property was sold at a price not less than cost,
under the provisions of Section 21-L of the Bank-
ruptey Act, and a presumption of continued
possession between the time of the filing of the
petition and the date of the turnover, may not, in
connection with a motion to punish for contempt
for failure to comply with such order, rely upon
a further presumption that the order once made
carries with it the presumption that petitioner
continues to have possession and control of the
property in question 13

Point B—The right of a Trustee to rely upon a pre-
sumption that the turnover order earries with it
the presumption of continued possession should
depend upon the time that elapses between the
date of the filing of the petition and the date of
the turnover order, where such order is predicated
upon a mathematical computation, as in the case
at bar 20

ii

PAGE

Porxt C—The failure to take testimony on the ques-
tion of possession or control of the property and
on the question of whether the refusal to comply
with the turnover order is wilful and deliberate
where petitioner, in his affidavit in opposition to
the motion to punish for contempt, requested that
a hearing be held and testimony be adduced on
such issues, violated the constitutional rights of
petitioner

ConxcLvUsion

23

26

CASES CITED
Brady v. United States, 24 Fed. } i Saas 18
Brown v. Maryland Casualty Co., 55 Fed. (2d) 159... 18
Cohen v. Jeskowitz, 144 Fed. (2d) 39 16
Fisher, In re, 32 Fed. Supp. 69 26
General Reinsurance Corporation v. Southern Surety

Co., 27 Fed. (2d) 265 19
Lincoln Nat. Life Ins. Co. v. Erikson, 42 Fed. (2d) 997 18
Looney v. Metropolitan Railroad Co., 200 U. S. 480, 487,

488, 26 S. Ct. 303, 50 L. Ed. 564 18
Manning v. Insurance Co., 100 U. S. 693, 699, 25 L. Ed.

761 18
Marin v. Ellis, 15 Fed. (2d) 321 20
Oriel v. Russell, 278 U. S. 358, 13 A. B. R. (N. S.)

121 10, 13, 14, 19, 23
Prela v. Hubschman, 278 U. S. 358, 13 A. B. R. (N. 8.)

121 10, 13, 14, 15, 23
Robbins v. Gottbetter, 134 Fed. (2d) 843 16

iii

PAGE

Rosser, In re, 101 Fed. 562, 567, 568 24
Seligson v. Goldsmith, 128 Fed. (2d) 977 16
State of Kansas ex rel. Beck, Atty. Gen. et al. v.
Occidental Life Ins. Co. et al., 95 Fed. (2d) 935... 25
United States v. Ross, 92 U.S. 281, 285, 93 L. Ed. 707... 18
Walt, In re, 17 Fed. (2d) 588 21, 22

STATUTES CITED

Bankruptcy Act:
Section 21-L 11, 12, 13, 16, 23, 24

United States Constitution:

Fifth Amendment 11, 24

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM 1945

No.

ABRAHAM JESKOWITZ,
Petitioner,
against

Lronarp H. Carter, Trustee in Bankruptey of Union
Fabries, Inc.,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

‘ To vHE HonoraBLe THE CHIEF JUSTICE AND ASSOCIATE
JusTICESs OF THE SUPREME CouURT OF THE Unrrep STATES:

The petition of Abraham Jeskowitz prays that a return
of certiorari issue to review the order and decree of the
Cireuit Court of Appeals for the Second Cireuit entered
on the 14th day of February, 1946 (R. 51, 52°), affirming
an order of the District Court of the United States for the
Southern District of New York, dated the 10th day of Sep-
tember, 1945 (R. 41 to 44).

Opinions Below

The order was affirmed by the Cireuit Court of Appeals
without opinion (R. 49, 50).

The District Judge rendered an opinion granting the
motion to punish for contempt (R. 41).

* Numbers in parentheses refer to page numbers in the
record. '

Jurisdiction

The decree of the Cireuit Court of Appeals was entered
on the 14th day of February, 1946 (R. 51, 52).

The jurisdiction of the Court is under Section 24 (ce)
of the Bankruptey Act and under Section 240 (a) of the
Judicial Code as amended by the Act of February 13, 1925.

Statement of Facts

Abraham Jeskowitz, the petitioner herein, was the presi-
dent of the Union Fabries, Inc. On December 20, 1939, an
involuntary petition in bankruptey was filed against said
Union Fabrics, Inc., and thereafter, and on January 6,
1940, an order of adjudication was entered referring the
proceedings to the Honorable Peter B. Olney, Referee in
Bankruptey. At a first meeting of creditors Leonard H.
Cohen was duly appointed Trustee in Bankruptey and
qualified by filing the bond as required of him. Subse-
quently examinations under Section 21-A of the Bank-
ruptey Act were conducted (R. 31).

The turnover proceedings were commenced by the peti-
tion of the Trustee, verified the 25th day of October, 1940,
charging the petitioner, as president and sole stockholder
of said bankrupt, with having failed to account for certain
merchandise or the proceeds of the sale thereof, a diamond
ring received as collateral by the bankrupt, or the pro-
ceeds of the sale thereof, and certain of the bankrupt’s
books and records, as follows: general ledger for 1937,
journal for 1938, records and inventories of the bankrupt’s
merchandise taken as of January 25, 1937; May 31, 1937;
January 1, 1938; May 31, 1938; October 31, 1938; December
31, 1938; January 31, 1939, and June 30, 1939, and all pur-
chase invoices for the year 1937. Petitioner appeared and
interposed an answer denying the material allegations of
the petition (R. 32).

3

Hearings were commenced on January 27, 1941, and con-
tinued until October 25, 1941, by which time there had been
adduced 315 pages of testimony. Petitioner, who had no
legal training, had no alternative, because of lack of funds,
but to conduct his own defense to the proceedings up to
September 24, 1941, when he was able to retain Chester A.
Lessler, Esq., to conclude the hearing on the original pe-
tition (R. 32).

On October 25, 1941, the Referee granted a petition of
the Trustee for leave to amend the original turnover peti-
tion predicated upon the dollar value of an opening inven-
tory alleged to have existed as of January 31, 1938, the
amount of its purchases from that date to September 238,
1939 (the date of the general assignment for the benefit of
creditors by the Union Fabrics, Inc.}, the cost of the mer-
chandise sold during that period at 10 percent gross profit
or at cost, and the value of the inventory on hand on
September 28, 1939. The amended petition did not seek
the turnover of the purchase invoices for the year 1937
(R. 32).

Additional testimony was taken based upon the amended
petition and answer thereto, which denied the material
allegations of said petition and thereafter, and on the
23rd day of February, 1943, a period of three and a half
years after the general assignment for the benefit of eredi-
tors was made, the Referee handed down a memorandum
decision in which he accepted the figure of $197,785.05 as
representing the cost of the merchandise on hand on Janu-
ary 1, 1939, and the figure of $322,587.36 as representing
the cost of the merchandise sold between January 1, 1939,
and September 28, 1939. The latter figure was based upon
a presumption under Section 21-L of the Bankruptcy Act
that the merchandise was sold at a price not less than cost.
This presumption was indulged in by reason of the Trus-
tee’s contention that the bankrupt did not turn over to
the Trustee the books and records which were necessary
to determine the cost of the merchandise sold by the Union

LE RR PEON A NE

4

Fabrics, Inc., during the said period from January 1, 1939,
to September 28, 1939. Then, by a series of presumptions,
the Referee concluded that petitioner had in his possession
and under his control merchandise of the cost value of
$69,921.24 (R. 32, 33).

The various presumptions which resulted in the making
of the turnover order are as follows:

The first presumption was that allowed by Section 21-L
which resulted in the Referee finding that the merchandise
sold during the period as charged was sold at a price not
less than cost. The accountant for the Trustee testified
that the bankrupt had failed to turn over the books and
records from which the cost price of the merchandise sold
could be ascertained. Petitioner, during the course of
the hearings, did not have an accountant and was not ad-
vised that the Trustee did have books and records from
which the cost price of the merchandise could be ascer-
tained. Consequently the Referee accepted the testimony
offered by the Trustee and, based upon the legal presump-
tion, found that the merchandise sold was at a price not
less than cost. As a result of the figure adopted as the
price of the merchandise sold, the Referee came to: the con-
clusion that the bankrupt failed to account for merchan-
dise of the cost value of $69,921.24.

The second presumption adopted by the Referee was to
the effect that if the bankrupt did fail to account for said
merchandise, then said merchandise must have been in the
possession of petitioner, who was the sole stockholder and
officer of the corporation as of the date of the execution
of the general assignment for the benefit of creditors, to
wit, September 28, 1939. There was never any factual
proof that petitioner did come into possession or have in
his possession or under his control merchandise of the cost
value of $69,921.24 on September 28, 1939, or at any other
date.

The third presumption adopted by the Referee was that
petitioner continued to have possession and control of the

5

property or the proceeds thereof, namely, $69,921.24, on
February 23, 1943, when the order was made, since on the
basis of the prior presumptions he should have had that
property in his possession or under his control on Sep-
tember 28, 1939, more than three and a half years previous
to the making of the order.

The Trustee neither by the original petition nor the
amended petition set forth that he was relying upon a pre-
sumption of law under Section 21-L of the Bankruptcy
Act to establish that the merchandise sold between Janu-
ary 1, 1939, and September 28, 1939, was at a price not
less than cost. Petitioner was therefore not advised
that the Trustee sought to rely on the presumption under
Section 21-L and did not endeavor to meet such an issue.
Had the Trustee indicated in either the original or amended
petition that he would seek to establish his contentions by
relying upon the presumption that the merchandise was
sold at a price not less than cost, the appellant would have
sought to introduce evidence to show that the Trustee had
books and records in his possession from which he could
ascertain the actual cost of the merchandise sold by the
bankrupt (R. 33).

Although the Trustee failed to offer any actual proof
to support the petition for the turnover, the respondent
offered proof to show that there was no basis for the mathe-
matical computation prepared by the Trustee and subinit-
ted as proof in support of the turnover and that he did
not have any property of any kind, nature or deserip-
tion and was unable even to support his family and pay
the rent for his apartment (R. 34).

Testimony was introduced on behalf of petitioner that
the Union Fabrics, Inc, was a corporation formed in
1937 and was in the business of converting rayon and
silk fabries, with offices in the City of New York. Said
co~poration had previously taken over the assets and lia-
bilities of a corporation known as Union Silk Mills, Inc.,
which was jointly controlled by petitioner and Louis Berk-

6

man. The formation of the new corporation was due to
the withdrawal of Louis Berkman and the sale of his stock
to petitioner, who took over the entire assets of the Union
Silk Mills, Inec., at a price arrived at through an agreement
between the parties. Petitioner continued the business as
sole owner and manager with the same inventory, assets,
liabilities and records, and continued in business until Sep-
tember, 1939. In September, 1939, the Union Fabrics, Inc.,
was forced to make an assignment for the benefit of the
ereditors because of the financial condition of the busi-
ness. Petitioner and his witnesses offered testimony to
the effect that no piece goods of any kind were ever with-
drawn from the corporation except in the regular course
of business and that entries in connection with all sales had
been made in the books and records of the Union Fabrics,
Inc., and that petitioner had made no withdrawals from
the Union Fabrics, Ine., except in the regular course of
business and only withdrew such moneys as he was entitled
to and for which a record was duly made. The Union
Fabrics, Ine., used, in the main, the same type of book-
keeping as was used by its predecessor corporation and
carried forward the identical perpetual inventory used by
the Union Silk Mills, Inc., for a period of five years prior
to the incorporation of the bankrupt firm. This inventory
book was continued where the old corporation left off, with
its many errors and omissions. These perpetual inven-
tory books were used as a basis for arriving at one of the
Trustee’s theories in his petition for the turnover. The
Referee, however, accepted the figure of $194,785.05 as
representing the cost of the merchandise on hand on Janu-
ary 1, 1939, even though evidence was offered to show
that there were many errors and omissions totaling ap-
proximately 113,000 yards of merchandise in the inventory
record. The Referee applied Section 21-L of the Bank-
ruptey Act and considered the merchandise sold during
the period January 1, 1989, to September 28, 1939, at not
less than eost even though the Trustee had on hand the

7

sales book, the perpetual inventory book and the dye book,
as well as the purchase invoices for the years 1938 and
1939 (R. 34, 35).

Testimony was also introduced on behalf of petitioner
that he never removed any property of any kind from the
Union Fabrics, Inc.; that he had not withdrawn any
moneys from the Union Fabries, Inc., except in the regu-
lar course of business and except as was entered in
the books and records of account; and that he did not have,
either on September 28, 1939, or at any time during the
turnover proceedings, any portion of the said sum of
$69,924.21 (R. 35).

A petition to review the order of the Referee was filed
by petitioner, and upon such review before the District
Court the Referee’s order was affirmed on May 6, 1943,
mainly upon the theory that it could not be said that the
Referee’s finding was so clearly erroneous as to warrant
the District Court to reach a different determination (R,
35).

An appeal was taken to the Circuit Court of Appeals
and on August 8, 1944, the Circuit Court of Appeals
affirmed the order of the District Court. The Cireuit Court
accepted the findings of the Referee since “ * * * The inven-
tory sheets and the records that would disclose the cost
were missing. Section 21, subdivision (L) of the Bank-
ruptey Act, 11 U. S. C. A., Section 44, subdivision (L),
required the Referee to presume ‘until the contrary shall
appear that such property was sold at a price not less
than cost * * *’”. Circuit Judge Frank, in a concurring
opinion, stated as follows:

“T concur but with the hope, expressed by Judge
Learned Hand in Robbins v. Gottbetter, 2 Cir., 134 F.
Qnd 843, 844, and Seligson v. Goldsmith, 2 Cir., 128
F. 2d 977, 978, 979, that the Supreme Court will soon
grant certiorari in some such case as this and over-
rule precedents that fasten upon us what seems to
him and me an irrational rule of presumption, obvi-

8

ously contrary to fact, which enables trustees in bank-
ruptey to employ civil actions as substitutes for crimi-
nal proceedings” (R. 35-36).

Petitioner thereupon filed a petition for a writ of cer-
tiorari to review the order of the Circuit Court of Appeals
for the Second Circuit entered on August 8, 1944. This
petition for writ was denied by the Supreme Court on De-
cember 11, 1944.

After the Circuit Court of Appeals rendered its decision
petitioner sought the advice of Morris H. Gotthilf & Com-
pany, certified public accountants, and Archibald Palmer,
attorney, with respect to this matter. Said accountant
made a study and analysis of the books and records and
found that it was possible for the Trustee to ascertain the
cost of merchandise sold from the books and records which
had been in possession of the Trustee in Bankruptcy.
Based upon such findings petitioner made an application
to the Referee to reopen the turnover proceeding for the
purpose of enabling him to submit testimony that the
Trustee was not entitled to rely upon the presumption
afforded by Section 21-L of the Bankruptcy Act and that
the said Trustee was required to prove the actual cost of
the merchandise sold. The Referee denied this motion upon
the ground that he could not entertain the same unless
petitioner had first obtained permission from the Circuit
Court to apply for such relief to the Referee (R. 38).

Petitioner thereupon made an application to the United
States Circuit Court of Appeals for an order authorizing
him to apply before the Referee to reopen the turnover
proceedings and to take additional testimony thereon, This
motion was denied by the Cireuit Court of Appeals on the
9th day of February, 1945. An application was made for
a writ of certiorari from the order denying said motion.
The said writ was denied (R. 38).

On September 28, 1944, an order was signed by the Hon-
orable Alfred C. Coxe, District Judge, directing that peti-
tioner show cause why he should not be punished for con-

9

tempt for failure to comply with the turnover order. Said
order to show cause was based upon the petition of Leonard
H. Carter, Trustee in Bankruptcy, verified September 26,
1944, a certificate of contempt of the Honorable Peter B.
Olney, Referee in Bankruptcy, and various exhibits an-
nexed thereto. Said order to show eause was returnable
on October 4, 1944, and was adjourned from time to time.
A supplemental petition of Leonard H. Carter, verified
May 29, 1945, was filed in connection with said order to
show cause. The motion for contempt was predicated on
still another presumption to the effect that if petitioner had
possession or control of the merchandise, or its proceeds,
when the original order passed, then he still continues to
have possession and the failure to turn over to the Trustee
was a wilful disobedience of said order (R. 3-9).

Petitioner filed an affidavit in opposition to said peti-
tion and order to show cause, verified June 29, 1945, in
which, in addition to the facts as already set forth herein,
he again stated that at the time of the assignment for the
benefit of creditors by the Union Fabrics, Inc., he did not
have any moneys of any kind, nature or description. As
a matter of fact, he was absolutely penniless and did not
have sufficient moneys to give his wife and children the
bare necessities of life and while the turnover proceed-
ings were pending, and being conducted by him without
the aid of an accountant or attorney until September 25,
1942, he had incurred a liability for rent, which he could
not pay, to the extent of $1,800. Petitioner was unem-
‘ployed for about a year and a half after the assignment
for the benefit of creditors was made, during which time he
borrowed moneys from friends and relatives for the pur-
pose of buying food and clothing for his family. After
that he obtained employment from 8S. T. Paley & Company,
of No. 1412 Broadway, New York, as a salesman, and con-
tinued in that employ for a period of one year, when that
employment ended. It was as a result of this employment
that petitioner was able, in the latter part of 1942, to re-

ee er ne os

” Rete

10

tain Chester A. Lessler to represent him in the turnover
proceedings. In 1942 petitioner obtained employment with
the firm of Fortune Fabrics, Inc., at a salary of $50 a week,
and continued in that employ until approximately Decem-
ber, 1943, and beginning with 1944 he acted as a free lance
broker and in such way was able to earn a livelihood. Peti-
tioner in said affidavit stated that he never had the ability
to comply with the turnover order made by the Referee on
February 23, 1943, and still did not have the ability to com-
ply with said turnover order at that time and requested
that a hearing be held and testimony be adduced on the
question of whether petitioner has possession or control
of the property and whether the refusal to comply with
the turnover order is wilful and deliberate (R. 39, 40).

District Judge Conger, without taking any testimony but
upon the moving papers and opposing affidavit granted the
motion upon the authority of Oriel v. Russell, 278 U. S. 358,
and Prela v. Hubschman.

Petitioner appealed to the Cireuit Court of Appeals and
the Cireuit Court, on February 14, 1946, affirmed the order
of the District Court (R. 51, 52).

Questions Presented

1. Whether a Trustee in Bankruptcy, who, in a turnover.
proceeding, relies upon a presumption that the property
was sold at a price not less than cost, under the provisions
of Section 21-L of the Bankruptcy Act, and a presumption
of possession based upon a mathematical computation and
and continued possession between the time of the filing of
the petition and the date of the turnover order, may, in
connection with a motion to punish for contempt for failure
to comply with such order, rely upon a further presumption
that the order once made carries with it the presumption
that the respondent continues to have possession and con-
trol of the property in question.

>"

11

2. Whether the Trustee, in connection with a motion to
punish for contempt for failure to comply with a turnover
order may rely upon a presumption that the respondent
still has possession and control of the property in ques-
tion, should depend upon the length of time that elapsed
between the date of the filing of the petition and the date
of said turnover order where such turnover order is predi-
cated upon a mathematical computation, as in the case at
bar.

3. Whether the failure ta take testimony on the question
of possession or control of the property and on the ques-
tion of whether the refusal to comply with the turnover
order is wilful and deliberate where petitioner, in his affi-
davit in opposition to the motion to punish for contempt,
requested that a hearing be held and testimony be adduced
on such issues, violated the constitutional rights of peti-
tioner.

Statutes Involved

1. Section 21-L of the Bankruptcy Act:

“In any proceeding under this Act against a bank-
rupt for an accounting by him for his property or the
disposition thereof, or to compel a turnover of prop-
erty to him, if his books, records, and accounts shall
fail to disclose the cost to him of such property sold
by him during any period under consideration, it shall
be presumed, until the contrary shall appear, that
such property was sold at a price not less than the
cost thereof to him.”

29. Amendment V to the Constitution of the United
States:

“No person shall be held to answer for a capital, or
otherwise infamous crime, unless on a presentment or
indictment of a Grand Jury, except in cases arising
in the land or naval forces, or in the Militia, when

Te, nao hse Cod a we on ta be ee Lae cal cee ia ae Uh aks

12

in actual service in time of War or public danger;
nor shal) any person be subject for the same offense
to be twice put in jeopardy of life or limb; nor shall
be maated in any criminal case to be a witness
against himself, nor be deprived of life, liberty, or
property, without due process of law; nor shall private
property be taken for public use, without just com-
pensation.”

Specifications of Error to be Urged

1. The Courts below erred in holding that a turnover
order once made carries a presumption that the respondent
continues to have possession and control of the property,
even though the said order was predicated upon three
separate presumptions, to wit: (a) presumption under Sec-
tion 21-L of the Bankruptcy Act to the effect that mer-
chandise sold during a certain period was sold at a price
not less than cost; (b) presumption that if the bankrupt
failed to account for certain merchandise which, according
to a mathematical computation, should have been on hand
on the date of the filing of the petition, such merchandise
must have been in the possession of the petitioner, who was
the sole stockholder of the bankrupt corporation; and
(ec) presumption that if petitioner had possession of the
property on September 28, 1939, he continued to have the
property on February, 1943, when the order was made.

2. The Courts below erred in failing to hold that where
the turnover order is based upon a mathematical computa-
tion and there is no actual proof of possession at the time
of the filing of the petition but possession is presumed, such
presumption grows weaker as time passes and where there
is a long delay between the time of the filing of the petition
and the date of the turnover order, the Trustee, in connec-
tion with a motion to punish for contempt, should not be
permitted to rely upon a presumption that the turnover
order carries with it the presumption that petitioner still
continues to have possession and control of the property.

13

3.. The Court erred in granting the motion to punish for
contempt without permitting petitioner to introduce evi-
dence to show an inability to comply with the turnover
order and to show that the failure to comply is not wilful
or deliberate.

Reasons for Granting Writ
POINT A

A trustee in bankruptcy who, in a turnover proceed-
ing, relies upon a presumption that the property was
sold at a price not less than cost, under the provisions
of Section 21-L of the Bankruptcy Act, and a presump-
tion of continued possession between the time of the
filing of the petition and the date of the turnover, may
not, in connection with a motion to punish for con-
tempt for failure to comply with such order, rely upon
a further presumption that the order once made car-
ries with it the presumption that petitioner continues
to have possession and control of the property in
question.

The Court below based its decision upon the law as laid
down in the cases of Oriel v. Russell; Samuel Prela v. Louis
Hubschman, 278 U. 8S. 358, 13 A. B. R. (N. S.) 121. The
principle of law as laid down in those cases cannot be fol-
lowed in the case at bar. By reason of the creation of
Section 21-L of the Bankruptey Act by Congress in 1938
and other factors which have not been considered previ-
ously by the United States Supreme Court, the case at bar
requires a consideration of the issues unaffected by the
principle of law enunciated in Oriel v. Russell; Prela v.
Hubschman, cited supra.

Oriel v. Russell and Samuel Prela v. Louis Hubschman
(cited supra) were decided on January 14, 1929, prior to
the enactment of Section 21-L of the Bankruptey Act, which

De SR OLA Tete tes

ABERDEEN LSE T LS BELLE LLG LIEN GOIN LEE AICE NE SEO LE LE LPL RANE

14

created another presumption in favor of a Trustee in Bank-
ruptcy.

The Supreme Court, in the cases of Oriel v. Russell and
Prela v. Hubschman, cited supra, not only discussed the
question of the weight which should be given to a turn-
over order but also the degree of proof which was neces-
sary to support the original turnover order. As to the
degree of proof necessary to establish the turnover order
the Supreme Court in Re Oriel v. Russell, 15 A. B. R. (N.
S.) 121, at page 123, stated as follows:

“We think a proceeding for a turnover order in bank-
ruptey is one the right to which should be supported by
clear and convincing evidence. The charge upon which
the order is asked is that the bankrupt, having posses-
sion of property which he knew should have been de-
livered by him to the trustees, refused to comply with
his obligation in this regard. It is a charge equiva-
lent to one of fraud, and must be established by the
same kind of evidence required in a case of fraud in a
court of equity. A mere preponderance of evidence in
such a ease is not enough. The proceeding is one in
which coercive methods by imprisonment are probable
and are foreshadowed.”

As to the question of the weight which should be given to
the turnover order on a motion to punish for contempt for
failure to comply therewith, the Supreme Court at page
126 stated as follows:

“We find ourselves in general accord on this subject
with the remarks of the late Circuit Judge McPherson
of the Third Circuit, who used the following language
in the case of In re Epstein (D. C., Pa.), 30 Am. B. R.
387, 206 F. 568:

‘In the case in hand, the consequence is that, as
the order to pay or deliver stands without sufficient
reply, it remains what it has been from the first—
an order presumed to be right, and therefore an
oyder that ought to be enforeed.’” (Italics writer’s.)

15

The entire reasoning of the Supreme Court is that the
moving party in a motion to punish for contempt is entitled
to rely upon the presumption that the turnover order
which is based upon clear and convincing proof is presumed
to be correct and that the burden is upon the respondent
to establish his inability to comply with the turnover order.
It is important at this point to understand that the pre-
sumption which the Supreme Court had been discussing
was the presumption that the turnover order once made
continues to be correct.

In other words, if a turnover order is made and the
respondent refuses to comply with such turnover order it
is presumed that the respondent has possession of the
property referred to in the turnover and he wilfully and
deliberately refuses to comply therewith. This analysis
may be better illustrated by the language in the majority
opinion of In re Prela, cited supra, where the Circuit
Court at page 414 stated as follows:

“A disobedience of the order to turn over presents
a prima facie case of contumacy for punishment.
The burden rests upon the moving party to establish,
not beyond a reasonable doubt, but by a fair preponder-
ance of proof, such contumacy. Having been directed
to turn over property, it is presumed that the offender
continues in his wilful and deliberate conduct when
he fails to obey the order. Applying the rule stated
in that opinion, it follows that this order must be
affirmed.” (Italies writer’s.)

In the case at bar the Referee, upon a mathematical com-
putation which resulted from testimony of the accountant
for the Trustee, held that as of the 28th day of September,
1939, the Union Fabrics, Inc., bankrupt, should have had
on hand merchandise of the value of $69,921.24 and based
upon that finding presumed that petitioner, who was the
sole stockholder and an officer of the corporation, con-
tinued to be in possession or control of that property or
its proceeds on the date of the making of the turnover or-

as SEEING PI LE EE RTES LE EE LON E FN

16

der on February 23, 1943, approximately three and a half
years later. This question of presumption has never been
considered or decided by the United States Supreme Court.

Seligson v. Goldsmith, 128 Fed. (2d) 977;
Robbins v. Gottbetter, 134 Fed. (2d) 843.

In connection with the appeal from the order directing
the turnover Cireuit Judge Frank, who wrote the concur-
ring opinion, in Cohen v. Jeskowitz, 144 Fed. (2d) 39,
stated, at pages 40 and 41, as follows:

“T eoneur but with the hope, expressed by Judge
Learned Hand in Robbins v. Gottbetter, 2 Cir., 134 KF.
2d 843, 844, and Seligson v. Goldsmith, 2 Cir., 128 F.
2d 977, 978, 979, that the Supreme Court will soon
grant certiorari in some such case as this and overrule
precedents that fasten upon us what seems to him and
me an irrational rule of presumption, obviously con-
trary to fact, which enables trustees in bankruptcy to
employ civil actions as substitutes for criminal pro-
ceedings.”

The turnover order itself is based upon a series of pre-
sumptions.

Section 21-L of the Bankruptcy Act, which went into
effect in September of 1938, provides as follows:

“In any proceeding under this Act against a bank-
rupt for an accounting by him for his property or the
disposition thereof, or to compel a turnover of prop-
erty by him, if his books, records, and accounts shall
fail to disclose the cost to him of such proprty sold
by him during any period under consideration, it shall
be presumed, until the contrary shall appear, that such
property was sold at a price not less than the cost
thereof to him.”

The Trustee in the case at bar did rely upon such pre-
sumption and submitted figures as to the cost of the mer-
chandise sold, predicated upon such presumption. The
figure of $69,921.24 is hased upon a mathematical compu-

ae at Re TA Tae é PUR ALAIN ELE IY A IEG TET BS eK EE IS Pic:

17

tation to the effect that the bankrupt had on hand, as of
December 31st, according to a certain perpetual inventory
sheet, a certain amount of merchandise; that between Janu-
ary 1 and September 28, 1939 it sold merchandise of a
cost value in a given amount; that it had purchased a given
amount of merchandise according to its purchase invoices ;
and that it therefore should have had on hand the amount
directed to be turned over on September 28, 1939. In
order to arrive at the amount alleged to be unaccounted
for, the Trustee relied on the presumption that the mer-
chandise was sold at a figure not less than cost, and the
Referee adopted the figures as submitted by the Trustee’s
accountant.

The courts below, in granting the turnover order, per-
mitted the Trustee to rely upon a presumption under Sec-
tion 21-L; the presumption that if there was a failure to
account, according to the mathematical computation of the
Trustee’s accountant, petitioner was in possession or con-
trol of the property unaccounted for as of the date of the
filing of the petition in bankruptcy, and the presumption
that if petitioner had possession on the date of the filing
of the petition in bankruptcy he had possession and con-
trol on the date of the making of the turnover order, three
and a half years later.

Petitioner contends that the Trustee cannot now again
rely upon a further presumption that petitioner still con-
tinues to hold the property and that his refusal to turn
same over is deliberate and wilful but, on the other hand,
that the Trustee should be required to prove, by clear and
convineing evidence, that petitioner still has possession
and control of the property and that petitioner wilfully and
deliberately refuses to turn the same over to the Trustee
in Bankruptey. This contention is based primarily upon
the theory that the Trustee, in connection with a motion
to punish for contempt for failure to comply with a turn-
over order, should not be permitted to rely upon a pre-
sumption that the order, once made, carries a presump-

GL Sy AY MALIA A BRET LE IIMS ERY IOS ML FEE ELE NG HEBER PE 8 OEE ETE IGE Bren RittD ty IMR ZINC MPR eae

18

tion that petitioner continues to have possession of the
property where the order itself was based upon three sep-
arate presumptions. Such a situation has not been dis-
cussed by the United States Supreme Court or by any
other Court in connection with contempt proceedings aris-
ing out of a turnover order.

One presumption cannot be built upon another.

Looney v. Metropolitan Railroad Co., 200 U. S. 480,
487, 488, 26 S. Ct. 303, 50 L. Ed. 564;

United States v. Ross, 92 U. S. 281, 285, 23 L. Ed.
707;

Manning v. Insurance Co., 100 U. 8S. 693, 699, 25 L.
Ed. 761.

_ In Brady v. United States, 24 Fed. ( 2d) 399, the court at
page 404 stated as follows:

“It is well settled that presumptions cannot be based
on presumptions. Vernon v. U.S. (C. C. A. 8) 146 F.
121, 126; 22 C. J. p. 84, See. 27, page 99, See. 40. We
conclude that the evidence was insufficient to support
the verdicts of guilty. See Freeman v U.S. (C. C. A.
3) 20 F. (2d) 748.”

In Lincoln Nai. Life Inc. Co. v. Erikson, 42 Fed. (2d)
997, the court at page 1002 stated as follows:

“The result is that plaintiff’s case is built upon pre-
sumptions based one upon another. Such a course of
procedure is not allowable, either in a civil or crim-
mal case. 22 C. J. p. 84, See. 27; 9 Encye. of Evid.
p. 880; Brady v. United States, 24 F. (2d) 399, 404
(C. C. A. 8); General Reins. Corp. v. Southern Sur.
Co., 27 F. (2d) 265, 272 (C. C. A. 8) and cases cited.”
(Italics writer’s.)

To the same effect see:
Brown v. Maryland Casualty Co., 55 Fed. (2d) 159.

DPS POT LE OTL, THEN LEP LLL SES TLTL II LISELI PLETE OLEAN LLOEGR LMI IS I
ERI LTE ‘ co BS eae , ;

P

19

In General Reinsurance Corporation v. Southern Surety
Co., 27 Fed. (2d) 265, the court at pages 272, 273, stated
as follows:

“The argument does not appear to us to be sound.
In the final analysis it bases one presumption upon
another presumption. The first presumption is that,
if the surety company had investigated, it would have
obtained knowledge of the insolvency of the trust com-
pany and of Bell. The second presumption is that, if
the surety company failed to disclose such knowledge,
it would be guilty of a fraudulent concealment. ‘he
second presumption, viz. of fraudulent concealment, is
thus based upon the first presumption, of knowledge.
But a presumption, in order to be valid, must be based
upon facts, not upon another presumption. 9 Encye.
of Evid. p. 880; United States v. Ross, 92 U. 8. 281,
23 L. Ed. 707; Manning v. Ins. Co., 100 U. 8S. 693, 698,
25 L. Ed. 761; United States v. Carr, 132 U.S. 644, 653,
10S. Ct. 182, 33 L. Ed. 483; Looney v. Metropolitan R.
Co., 200 U.S. 480, 488, 26 S. Ct. 303, 50 L. Ed. 564; Cun-
ard S.S. Co. v. Kelley (C. C. A.) 126 F. 610, 615;
Uhlman v. Brewing Co. (C. C.) 53 F. 485; U. S. F.
& G. Co. v. Bank, 145 F. 273, 279 (C. C. A. 8); Vernon
v. United States, 146 F. 121 (C. C. a 8); Missouri,
K. & T. Railway v. Foreman, 174 F. 377, 383 (C. C.
A. 8); Smith v. Pennsylvania R. Co. (C. C. A.) 239
F. 103; Ringrose v. Sloane (D. C.) 266 F. 402; Atchi-
son, T. & S. F. Ry. Co. v. DeSedillo, 219 F. 686, 689
(C. C. A. 8); Wagner v. United States, 8 F. (2d) 581,
586 (C. C. A. 8); In re Elias (D. C.) 240 F. 448; Keen
v. United States, 11 F. (2d) 260 (C. C. A. 8); Nieder-
luecke v. United States, 21 F. (2d) 511 (C. C. A. 8).”

It is clear therefore that the principle of law laid down
by the Supreme Court in Re Oriel v. Russell, cited supra,
that a turnover order raises the presumption that the order
was correct and that the respondent still has possession of
the property and his refusal constitutes a deliberate and
wilful violation of the order does not apply to the facts in
the case at bar since the order itself was based upon at
least three separate presumptions. Under such eireum-

ES AER, Aaa mete GRAS LIME IEEE GOEL AS TELE ECA

—

20

stances another rule of law should apply, namely, that the
Trustee must establish by clear and convincing proof,
through facts rather than presumptions, that the order is
correct and that petitioner has ability to comply and that
his refusal constitutes a wilful and deliberate violation
thereof.

POINT B

The right of a Trustee to rely upon a presumption
that the turnover order carries with it the presump-
tion of continued possession should depend upon the
time that elapses between the date of the filing of the
petition and the date of the turnover order, where such
order is predicated upon a mathematical computation,
as in the case at bar.

The Trustee in the case at bar relied upon a mathematical
computation. The assignment for the benefit of creditors
was executed on September 28, 1939, and the turnover
order was not made until February 23, 1943, a period of
three and a half years later. Petitioner contends that the
presumption that a bankrupt continues to hold assets which
at the time of adjudication he unlawfully withheld from the
Trustee grows weaker as time passes until it finally ceases.

In the case of Marin v. Ellis, 15 Fed. (2d) 321, the bank-
rupt was adjudicated on December 27, 1922. The Trustee
filed his petition for a turnover on November 27, 1923, ap-
proximately ten months after the adjudication, and did not
bring his petition on for hearing before the referee until
June 17, 1924. An order denying the turnover was made
by the referee on August 27, 1925. The Trustee filed his
petition to review on October 19, 1925. The denial of the
petition was based upon the fact that the Trustee had
failed to prove that the bankrupt, at the time that the order
was made, had possession or control, or could turn over
to the Trustee merchandise or its cash equivalent of the

21

value of $15,000. The District Court confirmed the order
of the referee dismissing the Trustee’s petition for a turn-
over order and the Circuit Court of Appeals also confirmed
the referee and, in so doing, stated at page 321 as follows:

“The legal presumption is that a bankrupt, who at
the time of his adjudication in bankruptcy has and un-
lawfully holds back from his trustee in bankruptcy a
part of his property, or of its proceeds, continues to
hold it or them, but this presumption grows weaker as
time passes, until it finally ceases to exist.” (Italics
writer’s.)

Another case which is directly in point and supports the
contention of petitioner is /n re Walt, 17 Fed. (2d) 588. In
connection with the motion to punish for contempt in that
ease testimony was adduced on the question of the bank-
rupt’s inability to comply with the turnover order and the
court, at pages 592, 693, stated as follows:

“The testimony which the bankrupt has offered as
an excuse for not complying with the order of the ref-
eree is not convincing. I am of the opinion that he has
been dishonest with reference to this creditors; that if
he was ordered to go to jail, he would probably find
the $2,500 and pay it over. In fairness, however, I
must admit that I am not morally certain that he now
has possession or control of this $2,500, and that, if
I made an order committing him for contempt, it would
he upon my belief merely that he has it or can get
it. It must be conceded that it is now two years
since he failed, that he has a wife and children, and
that they have been sick. Whether the business has
made money or not does not appear. The presumption
that the bankrupt still has this money ts not as strong
as it was when the referee made his order. If the trus-
tee had procured the turnover order sooner, and had
brought a contempt proceeding more mptly, the sit-
uation would be we Aobere It ts probable that the bank-
rupt has been guilty of concealment of assets and of
false swearing; but, being in doubt as to the sufficiency
of the evidence to justify a commitment for contempt,
I shall give the bankrupt the benefit of the doubt.

22

“The order to show cause will be discharged, and
the order of January 18, 1927, entered prior to the
last hearing, will be vacated and set aside.” (Italics
writer’s.)

In the case at bar the general assignment was made on
September 28, 1939. An involuntary petition was filed on
December 20, 1939. The turnover proceedings were not
instituted until October 25, 1940, and as late as October
25, 1941, the Trustee served an amended petition with re-
spect to the turnover. The order for the turnover was not
made until February 23, 1943, three and a half years after
the assignment was made. An order to show cause to
punish for contempt was not obtained by the Trustee until
June 14, 1943, returnable on June 30th. Because of ap-
peals from the turnover order to the Cireuit Court of
Appeals and the Supreme Court of the United States, the
motion to punish was not decided until September 10, 1945.

Using the language of the Court in Jn re Walt, cited
supra, even if the Trustee was entitled to rely upon the
presumption of continued possession in connection with
the obtaining of the order, the lapse of time has created
more than sufficient doubt of the evidence of possession
and control of the property in question to warrant the
refusal to grant an order to punish the respondent for
contempt.

The least that can be said under the circumstances is
that because of the lapse of time involved the Trustee
should not be permitted to rely upon a presumption that
the appellant still has possession and control of the prop-
erty in question and wilfully withholds the same from the
Trustee, but he should be relegated to prove such posses-
sion and control by facts separate and distinct from the
presumption relied upon by him.

23

POINT C

The failure to take testimony on the question of
possession or control of the property and on the ques-
tion of whether the refusal to comply with the turn-
over order is wilful and deliberate where petitioner,
in his affidavit in opposition to the motion to punish
for contempt, requested that a hearing be held and
testimony he adduced on such issues, violated the con-
stitutional rights of petitioner.

In the cases of Oriel v. Russell and Prela v. Hubschman,
cited supra, the Supreme Court at page 127 stated as
follows:

“In the two cases before us, the contemnors had
ample opportunity in the original hearing to be heard
as to the fact of concealment, and in the motion for
the contempt to show their inability to comply with
the turnover order. They did not succeed in meeting
the burden which was necessarily theirs in each case,
and we think, therefore, that the orders of the Circuit
Court of Appeals in affirming the District Court were
the proper ones.” (Italics writer’s.)

The Trustee in his petition on the original turnover
proceedings made no reference to Section 21-L of the Bank-
ruptey Act. After all of the testimony was adduced and
the hearing was closed the Referee made a finding that
the merchandise was sold at a price not less than cost, based
upon the presumption under Section 21-L and not upon
proof as to actual cost. Petitioner, during the course of
the hearing, was not advised of any contention by the Trus-
tee that he relied on Section 21-L of the Bankruptcy Act
and therefore did not present testimony that the Trustee
did have in his possession books and records from which
the price of the merchandise sold during the period in
question could be ascertained and although an opportunity

24

was sought to introduce such evidence by a motion to re-
open the proceedings such application was denied and
petitioner never obtained an opportunity to prove these
facts.

Further, in the affidavit submitted in opposition to the
motion to punish for contempt petitioner requested that a
hearing be held and testimony be adduced on the question
of whether petitioner had possession or control of the
property in question and as to whether the refusal to com-
ply is wilful and deliberate, but the motion to punish for
contempt was granted without affording petitioner an
opportunity to adduce such testimony.

The Fifth Amendment to the Constitution of the United
States provides that no person shall be deprived of life,
liberty or property without due process of law. In the
case at bar petitioner will be deprived of his liberty if an
opportunity is not given to present the evidence which is
necessary to refute the proposition that the Trustee is
entitled to rely on a presumption of law under Section
21-L and to present evidence that he does not have in his
possession or control the property set forth in the turn-
‘over order, and that the failure to comply with said turn-
over order is not wilful and deliberate.

One of the basic requisites of due process when applied
to judicial proceedings is that the parties shall have notice
and an opportunity to present every available defense. To
that effect see In re Rosser, 101 Fed. 562, 567, 568, where
the Court stated:

“And the opportunity to be heard must be such that
he may, if he chooses, cross-examine the witnesses pro-
duced to sustain the claim, and produce witnesses to
refute it, if a question of fact is in issue, and, if a
question of law is presented, the opportunity to be
heard must be such that his counsel may, if they de-
sire, argue the justice and propriety of the judgment
or order proposed. Judicial orders or pengnen af-
fecting the lives or property of citizens in the absence
of such a notice and opportunity to the party affected

25

are violative of the fundamental principle of our laws,
and cannot be sustained. Gentry v. U. S. (C. C. A.),
101 Fed. 51; Burton v. Platter, 10 U. S. App. 657,
663, 4 C. C. A. 95, 99, 53 Fed. 901, 905; Windsor v.
MeVeigh, 93 U. 8. 274, 277, 278, 23 L. Ed. 914; Capel
v. Child, 2 Cromp. & J. 558, 574; Hovey v. Elliott, 167
U. S. 409, 414, 416, 446, 17 Sup. Ct. 841, 42 L. Ed. 215;
Galpin v. Page, 18 Wall. 350, 368, 21 L. Ed. 959; Un-
derwood v. McVeigh, 23 Grat. 409, 413; Henry v.
Carson, 96 Ind. 412; Hovey v. Elliott, 145 N. Y. 126,
39 N. E. 841; Taussig’s Ex’rs v. Glenn, 4 U. S. App.
524, 541, 2 C. C. A. 314, 318, 51 Fed. 409, 413; Merrill
v. Rokes, 12 U. S. App. 183, 188, 4 C. C. A. 433, 435,
54 Fed. 450, 452.”

In State of Kansas ex rel. Beck, Atty. Gen. et al. v.
Occidental Life Ins. Co. et al., 95 Fed. (2d) 935, the Court,
at page 937, stated as follows:

“The basic requisites of due process when applied
to judicial proceedings are that, having due regard
to the form and nature of the proceeding and the char-
acter of the rights which may be affected, the order,
judgment, or decree be entered by a court clothed with
jurisdiction of the subject matter and that the party
or parties bound by it have notice and be afforded an
opportunity to present every available defense.”

It appears that in a case where the turnover order was
based upon three separate presumptions, as herein dis-
cussed, though the law is well settled that a presumption
cannot be based upon a presumption, the due process of
law clause of the Constitution of the United States and
justice require that petitioner be permitted to introduce
evidence to show his inability to comply with the turnover
order and to show that his failure to comply was not
wilful or deliberate. The failure of the Courts below to
afford petitioner an opportunity to submit such testimony
will deprive him of his liberty without due process of the
law.

PEEL ORATOR OS FE EEL

26

In Jn re Fisher, 32 Fed. Supp. 69, the Court, at page 73,
stated as follows:

“Even if the bankrupt still fails to give any credible
explanation of the disposition of the missing mer-
chandise and books, or otherwise to account therefor,
still the turnover order should not be passed if the
referee is satisfied from further evidence that it is
entirely beyond the power of the bankrupt to comply
with the order. May v. Henderson, supra, 268 U. S.
page 120, 45 S. Ct. 456, 69 L. Ed. 870; Kirsner v.
aliaferro, supra, 202 F. page 60.”

The granting of the motion to punish for contempt with-
out the taking of testimony has, therefore, deprived peti-
tioner of his constitutional rights.

CONCLUSION

It is respectfully submitted that this case is one calling
for the exercise by this Court of its supervisory powers
in order that this important question may be determined
and that to such end a writ of certiorari be granted and
that this Court review the decision of the Circuit Court
of Appeals and finally reverse it.

ARCHIBALD PALMER,
Counsel for Petitioner.

mY

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386416_0539%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
