# Brief for the Respondents in Opposition — Dillman v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386416_0102%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Brief for the Respondents in Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1945
- **Citation:** 325 U.S. 870

## Text

~~ ere ae
a
Sree We
3.5° SCAR RRRRMER A
3
seen
ese cet

¢

INDEX

Page
Opinions below is . e . l
Jurisdiction : ; . I
Questions presented 2
Statement 2
Argument 6
Conclusion 13
CITATIONS
Cases:
Atlantic Coast Line R. Co. vy. United States, 132 F. 2d 959 7
Carlock v. United States, 53 F. 2d 926 11
Carter v. Kubler, 320 U. 8S. 2438 9,10
City of Denton v. Chastain, 156 8. W. 2d 554 10
Crystal City & U. R. Co. v. Boothe, 126 8. W. 700 10
Hormel v. Helvering, 312 U.S. 552 : 6
Kennedy v. United States, 115 F. 2d 624 13
Lower Colorado River Authority v. Burton, 170 8. W. 2d 783 10
Lynch v. Oregon Lumber Co., 108 F. 2d 283 8
McCandless v. United States, 74 F. 2d 596, reversed on other
grounds, 298 U, 8. 342 7,8
Meadows v. United States, 144 F. 2d 751 11
Moser v. Mortgage Guarantee Co., 123 F. 2d 423 ‘. 9,10
Rhodes v. Federal Land Bank of St. Paul, 140 F. 2d 612 9,10
St. Paul v. Certain Lands in St. Paul, 48 F. 2d 805 11
Sharp v. United States, 191 U.S. 341 a ee
United States v. Dunnington, 146 U.S. 338 : 11
United States v. 576.734 Acres of Land, Etc., 143 F. 2d 408_ 11
United States v. Forness, 125 F. 2d 928__- . 13
United States v. Harrell, 183 F. 2d 504 : 7
United States v. Lands in Hempstead, Nassau Cy, N. Y.,
129 F. 2d 918 11
University City, Mo. v. Home Fire & Marine Ins. Co., 114
F. 2d 288 : 8
Worcester v. Pure Torpedo Co , 127 F. 2d 945-_ - an 8
Statutes:
General Condemnation Act of August 1, 1888, 40 U. 8. C.
see, 258 ; : 9

(1)

II

Statutes—Continued.
Be lv a SS wick 0 onan be acbeekceeenunsmauene
Texas Anno. Rev. Civ. Stat. (Vernon):

BIER Ses cb Ck Ribak ease ade ane nwaee
PRUE Fo 6G Ck ek can eh enc desadcen ee eeaness
Miscellaneous:
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure:
RE ED WEN eaikit ay wharceeeeakiaas une hee mien
MD Wiis i 5ai sid kw cee eae stein ake

Inthe Supreme Gourt of the Wnited States

OcrToBER TERM, 1944

No. 1203

Grorce E, Dittman anp W. R. Hess, er ab,
PETITIONERS

v.
Untrep Statres or AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED
STATES CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FIFTH
CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the district court (R. 2147-2232)
has not been reported. The opinion of the circuit
court of appeals (R. 2340-2346) is reported in
146 F. 2d 572. The order denying application to
recall the mandate and amending one sentence
of the opinion (R. 2366-2367) is not yet reported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the circuit court of appeals
was entered on December 28, 1944 (R. 2347). A
(1)

2

petition for rehearing was denied on January 26,
1945 (R. 2356), and the petition for a writ of
certiorari was filed on April 25, 1945. The juris-
diction of this Court is invoked under Section
240 (a) of the Judicial Code, as amended by the
Act of February 13, 1925.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether in condemnation proceedings it was
not reversible error for the trial court (a) to
admit in evidence and consider offers to buy and
sell the condemned and other property; (b) after
the trial and without affording the Government
opportunity to cross-examine or offer rebuttal
testimony, to obtain information from a_ police
officer while viewing the premises; and (c) after
~ the trial and without affording the government
opportunity to cross-examine or present rebuttal
testimony, to interview condemnation commis-
sioners from whose awards the parties had ap-
pealed for a trial de novo.

2. Whether the court below could deny appli-
cation, made after reversal, to recall its mandate
and to take other steps to permit the trial judge
to amend his opinion, which constituted his find-
ings of fact and conclusions of law.

STATEMENT

This is a condemnation proceeding brought by
the United States on March 21, 1942, to acquire
15,000 acres of farm land (together with improve-

3

ments and growing crops) in Carson County,
Texas, for the establishment of the Pantex Ord-
nance Plant (R. 2-8). Possession of these prop-
erties was delivered to the United States on or
about April 20, 1942 (R. 9-11, 2246). Under a
declaration of taking the Government deposited
in court $429,263 as estimated just compensation
for the 31 tracts involved here (R. 11-28, 2341).
Pursuant to a Texas statute,’ three commissioners
were appointed to hold hearings and value the
properties (R. 42), and on March 1, 1943, they
returned awards of just compensation for all the
land taken (R. 119-143). Objections to the
awards, totaling $665,556.49 for the 31 tracts,
were filed by the United States and several of
the landowners (R. 144-176). As a result, a
trial de novo* as to those tracts was had in July
and August 1943, at which the right to a jury trial
was waived by the parties (R. 231, 2147, 2247).

At the trial the court permitted the landowners
to introduce a large volume of evidence ‘relating
to and based upon the prices named in alleged
offers to buy and offers to sell the properties in
question and neighboring lands (R. 312, 313,
375-376, 396, 662, 688-689, 709, 711-715, 798,
801-802, 805, 1057, 1098, 1250-1251, 1389, 1398-
1399, 1497-1498, 1574, 1579, 2065-2066). The

*Texas Anno. Rev. Civ. Stat. (Vernon), Article 3264.
* Texas Anno. Rev, Civ. Stat. (Vernon), Article 3266.

4

Government's objections to this type of proof
were overruled (R. 376, 709, 1098, 2066), and
the court placed the burden upon the Govern-
ment to show, if it were able, the facts and cir-
cumstances surrounding each offer which would
affect its weight (R. 376-377). After all this
evidence as to offers and opinions based upon
offers had been received, counsel for some of the
landowners moved the court to withdraw the evi-
dence as to listings and ‘‘offers to purchase com-
parable property outside of the area’’ taken (R
2110). However, the withdrawal was not made
on behalf of all the condemnees, and it did not
include the alleged offers for the properties con-
demned or the opinion testimony based entirely
or largely upon offers (R. 2110).

After the taking of evidence was concluded, the
trial judge, at the request of government counsel
and counsel for some of the landowners, viewed
the properties condemned (R. 2195). He was ac-
companied by a government attorney and a police
sergeant on this inspection trip (R. 2221). In
the company of a government attorney, he also
interviewed the commissioners who had made the
original awards (R. 2227). On October 11, 1943,
the trial judge rendered an oral opinion which
he later adopted as his findings of facts and con-
clusions of law (R. 2147-2232, 2247). In the
opinion it was clearly indicated that he had con-
sidered offers as a basis for arriving at his awards
of just compensation (R. 2193, 2195) and that

0

witnesses, who had based their opinions largely,
if not completely, upon offers (Meaker, R. 396;
Mahler, R. 708-716; Wink, R. 1097-1098; Klinke,
R. 1250-1251, 1497; Gau, R. 1398-1399) were
accepted as entshaniiiied’ * witnesses on value
(R. 2193-2195). The opinion also revealed that
on his inspection tour the trial judge had obtained
information from the police officer as to the orig-
inal contours of the properties, which had under-
gone considerable change since the Government
went into possession, and used the information
thus obtained to discredit a government witness
(R. 2188, 2195-2196, 2221-2222). The opinion
disclosed too that, rather than arriving at inde-
pendent awards of just compensation for each
tract, the court merely determined from his in-
terview with the commissioners that they had
been too low by a certain percentage in their valu-
ations and that the awards should be adjusted
accordingly (R. 2227-2231). An accountant was
appointed to represent the court in computing
the awards in accordance with the findings (R.
2231). A judgment in the total sum of $783,-
907.73 for the 31 tracts was entered, the court
finding an overall value for each tract and order-
ing distribution of a part of the award to a
tenant for crops wherever necessary (R. 2234-
2291).

The Government appealed (R. 2291-2301), and
on December 28, 1944, the circuit court of appeals,
with Judge Sibley dissenting, reversed the judg-

6

ment of the district court, holding that it was
prejudicial error for the court to have taken the
police officer on the inspection trip and to have
obtained information from him as to the lands;
that the trial court erred in going to interview
the commissioners «bout their report; and that the
consideration of evidence touching offers to buy and
offers to sell was clearly erroneous (R. 2340-2346).
A petition for rehearing was denied on January
26, 1945 (CR. 2356), and petitioners then filed an
application to recall the mandate, permit the trial
judge to amend his opinion, and to file a second
petition for rehearing (R. 2357-2365). This ap-
plication was denied on April 10, 1945, the court
amending one sentence of its opinion (R. 2367).
The petition for a writ of certiorari was filed on
April 25, 1945.
ARGUMENT

Petitioners’ complaint of the decision below is
largely based on assertions that the Government
did not object to or acquiesced in the various er-
roneous rulings and actions by the trial court (see,
e. g., Pet. 4, 8, 9, 20, 24, 26). It is clear that the
Government properly preserved objections to var-
ious erroneous rulings of the trial court. Even if
the petitioners’ assertions were well founded, the
argument lacks merit. An appellate court always
has power, absent an objection, to notice errors
apparent in the record in order to prevent a mani-
fest miscarriage of justice. Hormel v. Helvering,

DOE LE ee EE STG LONI IEE ISELIN ini a

7

312 U.S, 552, 556-559; United States v. Harrell,
133 F. 2d 504, 507 (C. C. A. 8) and eases there
cited.

1. Offers to purchase or to sell property are
hot competent evidence of market value. Sharp v.
United States, 191 U.S. 341, 848-350. Opinions
of value largely or completely based upon such
offers are likewise incompetent. Atlantic Coast
Line R. Co. v. United States, 132 F. 2d 959, 963
(C. C. A. 5); ef. McCandless v. United States, 74
F, 2d 596, 602-603 (OC. C. A. 9), reversed on other
grounds, 298 U. S. 342. In this case, a great
abundance of such testimony was introduced over
objection by government. counsel (R. 312, 313,
379-376, 396, 662, 688-689, 709, 711-715, 798,
801-802, 805, 1057, 1098, 1250-1251, 1389, 1398-
1399, 1497-1498, 1574, 1579, 2065-2066). Two of
the offers admitted in evidence in these 1942 con-
demnation proceedings were as remote as 1928 and
1929 (R. 1098, 1574). One witness, referred to
by the trial court as an “outstanding”? witness on
values (R. 2195), conceded that he had based
his opinions upon offers made in 1919 and 1929
(R. 1250-1251, 1497). The only valuation testi-
mony by another “outstanding”? witness (R. 2193)
concerned his refusal of an offer for the purchase
of his own property (R. 708-716). Other wit-
nesses for the landowners used offers and listings
as the basis of their opinions of value in prefer-

ence to known sales (R. 662, 688-689, 801-802,

8

1057, 1389-1390, 1579). The attorney for some
of the condemnees withdrew evidence as to offers
for lands outside the area taken, but he did not
withdraw the evidence as to alleged offers for the
very lands condemned or the opinion testimony
based on offers (R. 2110). But even the partial
withdrawal was ineffective, for it clearly appears
that the trial judge considered the offers in arriving
at his awards of just compensation (R. 2193-2195).
Under these circumstances, notwithstanding the
harmless-error statute (28 U. 8S. C. see. 391) or
Rule 61 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure,
the trial court committed error of so substantial a>
nature as to require reversal. McCandless v.
United States, 298 U. S. 342, 347-348; Lynch v.
Oregon Lumber Co., 108 F. 2d 283, 285-286
(C. C. A. 9); University City, Mo. v. Home Fire
& Marine Ins. Co., 114 F. 2d 288, 295 (C. C. A.
8); Worcester v. Pure Torpedo Co., 127 F. 2d
945 (C. C. A. 7). Although the presumption is
that the trial court has disregarded all improper
evidence, the presumption cannot have any effect
where, as here, the contrary is apparent (R. 2193-
2195). Since the consideration of the improper
evidence rendered the findings ‘“‘clearly errone-
ous”’, Rule 52 (a) of the Federal Rules is no
obstacle to a reversal. Hence, it is plain that
solely on the ground of the consideration of evi-
dence relating to offers the judgment of the dis-
trict court was properly reversed.

EE I IS IGOR SE MIELE EVENING EON TO IES ARE IG ae Ree NTL owe ore

9

2. The circuit court of appeals did not decide
whether or not it was error for the trial judge
to inspect the lands after the trial, but did hold
that it was prejudicial error to receive informa-
tion from the police officer concerning the topog-
raphy of the land as it was before the Government
went into possession (R. 2342-2343). While the
Government requested the inspection by the judge,
it did not invite or acquiesce in the examination
of the police officer (R. 2195, 2221). The infor-
mation so obtained is not included in the record
and the Government was afforded no opportunity
to cross-examine or offer rebuttal testimony. The
trial had ended. Since it appears that the infor-
mation strongly influenced the judgment of the
trial court (R. 2195-2196, 2221-2222), it follows
that the judgment was properly reversed on this
ground also. Carter v. Kubler, 320 U. 8. 243, 247;
Rhodes v. Federal Land Bank of St. Paul, 140
F. 2d 612, 614 (C. C. A. 8); Moser v. Mortgage
Guarantee Co., 123 F. 2a 423, 425 (C. C0. A. 9).

3. In view of the conformity provisions of the
General Condemnation Act of August 1, 1888, 40
U.S. C. sec. 258 and of the Texas law, the Govern-
ment was entitled to a trial de novo after objecting
to the commissioners’ awards (see Statement,
supra, p.3). Texas Anno. Rev. Civ. Stat., Article
3266. At such trial it is error to admit or con-
sider the amounts previously awarded by the
commissioners. Sharp v. United States, 191 U.S.

ET See Sete PLE Pi 0 SPE OLLI NET OT =

RGR

10

341, 357; Lower Colorado River Authority v.
Burton, 170 S. W. 2d 783, 785 (Tex. Civ. App.) ;
Crystal City & U. R. Co. v. Boothe, 126 8. W.
700 (Tex. Civ. App.) ; City of Denton v. Chastain,
156 S. W. 2d 554 (Tex. Civ. App.). Yet, after the
trial, the trial judge interviewed the commission-
ers, discussed with them the land and their value,
and how they had arrived at their awards for
land and crops (R, 2227-2231). Although the
judge was accompanied by a government attor-
ney, the record is silent as to whether the latter
objected to or acquiesced in the judge’s visit to
the commissioners. In view of the lack of op-
portunity to cross-examine the commissioners and
offer rebuttal testimony and the apparent influ-
ence that the evidence received outside the record
had on the trial judge (R. 2227-2231), the inter-
viewing of the commissioners was reversible error.
Carter v. Kubler, 320 U. S. 248, 247; Rhodes v.
Federal Land Bank of St. Paul, 140 F. 2d 612,
614 (C. C, A. 8) ; Moser v. Mortgage Guarantee Co.,
123 F. 2d 423, 425 (C. C. A. 9). It clearly ap-.
pears that the trial judge arrived at his awards
by mathematically adjusting the commissioners’
awards by a fixed percentage (R. 2230-2231).
This was not the trial de novo to which the Gov-
ernment was entitled.

Petitioners urge that in any event the awards
to tenants for crops should stand because they
were not affected by the erroneous evidence (Pet.

TERE LE PLIERS EE WR Pe WASPS SO WEE eaicrpmerrn.. PARA A

1]

25-26). However, it is evident from the opinion
that the trial judge discussed with the com-
missioners their crop valuations and determined
therefrom that their valuations were 50% too low
(R. 2229-2231), so that the awards for crops were
based upon information gained from the com-
missioners. Furthermore, the court made a find-
ing of value for each tract, including land, im-
provements and growing crops thereon, and then
ordered distribution of the total award between
the owner and tenant wherever necessary (R.
2248-2287). This being so, the awards for crops
are inextricably bound up with the overall judg-
ments and must fall with them.

4. After the circuit court of appeals had ren-
dered its decision and denied a petition for re-
hearing, petitioners filed a motion in that court
for the purpose of permitting the trial judge

* When a tract of land in which various persons have sepa-
rate interests is condemned, just compensation is determined
as if the property were a unit in separate ownership, without
reference to conflicting claims, and then apportioned among
the parties according to their respective interests. United
States v. Dunnington, 146 U. S. 338, 351; Meadows v. United
States, 144 F, 2d 751, 752-753 (C. C. A. 4) ; United States v.
576.734 Acres of Land, etc., 143 F. 2a 408, 409 (C. C. A. 3);
Carlock v. United States, 53 F. 2a 926, 927 (App. D. C.).
The condemnor is interested only in the total award and is
not legally concerned with the distribution between the vari-
ous claimants. United States vy. Dunnington, 146 U. 8. 338,
352-353; United States v. Lands in Hempstead, Nassau, Cy,
N. ¥., 129 F. 2d 918, 919-920 (C. C. A. 2); St. Paul vy. Cer-
tain Lands in St. Paul, 48°F. 2a 805, 807 (C. C. A. 8).

12

to amend his opinion, which he had adopted
as his findings of fact and conclusions of law
(R. 2247), in order to show that his awards of
just compensation had not been affected by any
erroneous evidence, but had been based solely
on competent testimony (R. 2357-2365). Rely-
ing upon Rule 75 (h) of the Federal Rules of
Civil Procedure,’ petitioners now assert that the
circuit court of appeals erred in denying the
motion (Pet. 9-10, 19, 27-28). This rule permits
the courts to make additions or corrections in
the record on appeal so that it will truly and com-
pletely conform to the record in the trial court.
Petitioners do not deny that the copy of the dis-
trict court’s opinion appearing in the record at
pages 2147-2232 is a correct transcript of the
court’s oral statement. While petitioners rely
upon the power to correct the record upon ap-
peal, they, in fact, are attempting to secure a

*Rule 75 (h) provides: “It is not necessary for the record
on appeal to be approved by the district court or judge
thereof, but, if any difference arises as to whether the record
truly discloses what occurred in the district court, the dif-
ference shall be submitted to and settled by that court and
the record made to conform to the truth. If anything ma-
terial to either party is omitted from the record on appeal
by error or accident or is misstated therein, the parties by
stipulation, or the district court, either before or after the
record is transmitted to the appellate court, or the appellate
court, on a proper suggestion or of its own initiative, may
direct that the omission or misstatement shall be corrected,
and if necessary that a supplemental record shall be certified
and transmitted by the clerk of the district court.”

ITS LRN LOOM EE ELLE PE APTN ARS FS RIAN NTU YEAR RT a " ntl

13

revision of the opinion in order to prevent a
reversal for the errors appearing therein (ef. R.
2360). Plainly Rule 75 (h) does not compel or
even justify such action. Kennedy v. United
States, 115 F, 2d 624 (C. C. A. 9); United States
V. Forness, 125 F. 2d 928, 931 (C. C. A. 2).

CONCLUSION

The decision below is correct and involves
neither a conflict of decisions nor a question of
general importance. It is, therefore, respectfully
submitted that the petition for a writ of cer-
tiorari should be denied.

Hucu B. Cox,
Acting Solicitor General.
J. Epwarp WILLIAMS,
Acting Head, Lands Division.
Rocer P. Marauts,
JoHN C. HarrIncTon,
Watter J. CuMMINGs, Jr.,

Attorneys.
May 1945.

U.S. GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFICE 1945

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386416_0102%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
