# Respondents Brief — Buggs v. Ford Motor Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386415_0152%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Respondents Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1940
- **Citation:** 311 U.S. 688

## Text

DEAR ERC IT OTT oF

nin SRS He SOR CE CEE AREAL AE

ESS OLN D ELLY ONE LIED MPO

FULD

SEP 26 1940

CHARLES ELUDAE 780

In The

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1940
No. 396
— OSS
ROBERT F. BUGGS, Petitioner,

vs.
FORD MOTOR COMPANY, a Foreign Corporation,
ae Respondent.

Opposing Granting of Writ of Certiorari.

CARL MUSKAT, |
773 North Broadway,
Milwaukee, Wisconsin.
CLIFFORD B. LONGLEY,
WALLACE R. MIDDLETON,
1400 Buhl Building,
Detroit, Michigan.
Attorneys for Respondent,
Ford Motor Company.

Index, Summary of Argument and

List of Authorities Cited.
Page
. Opinion of Court Below—Cirecuit Court of Ap-
PONS anenccscccecnssnceensssassncsnnsonecansenssssnssecsossnessesencsnuccnsenees 1
TE eR aac cciscccrncncscnscnccccnccnoscivenensensconmsunssnnense 1
III. Statement of Case ..................c..c.ccsccecssseccscececssssesenee 2-5

Inaceuracies and omissions in petitioner’s
statement and petitioner’s brief pointed out,
answered, and the correct state of the rec-
OFd Presented .........-.---cscesececeeeeeseceseseeecsneecenes

» APgUMent ...........cceccesesesceseencssnesesnsennesecsnenssesnenensenesees 5-16

(A) The decision of the Circuit Court of
Appeals for the Seventh Circuit in this
case is not in conflict with the decision
of the Cireuit Court of Appeals for
the Fourth Circuit, in the case of Ford
Motor Company vs. Kirkmyer Motor
Company, 65 Fed. (2d) 1001............-... 5-8

(B) The sales agreement of May 26, 1932
(R. 41-46) involved in this case is a
perfectly valid contract between the
parties containing a provision for its
termination and was properly termi-
nated in accordance with that termina-
tion clause and hence the decision of
the Cireuit Court of Appeals for the
Seventh Circuit in this case is clear-
Ly COTTOCE .......--n:s-secceeeeeseeeesseensesetenessesesenes 8-10

(C) If the contract lacks mutuality, peti-
tioner likewise has no cause of action
LOT GAMABOS ...-.-.-.-.-.-.-e-ceereeernsoseensseneneosere 10

Summary of Argument—Continued.
Page
(D) The decision is not in conflict with
local law or local decisions 11-14

(E) Should the court be of the opinion that
the Wisconsin Statute, if valid, gov-
erns this case, then a decision of the
case would necessarily involve the
questions raised on the record as to
the validity of the Wisconsin Statute
and as to the rights conferred by that

statute 15-16
List of Authorities Cited.
Almy vs. Harris, 5 J ohns. (N. Y.) 175 we
Bastian vs. J. H. DuPrey Company, 261 Mich. 94, 245
Lv. 13

Buggs vs. Ford Motor Company, 113 Fed. (2d) 618....

Decorative Stone Co. vs. Building Trades Council of
Westchester County, 23 Fed. (2d) 426, 18 Fed.
(2d) 333, 48 S. Ct. 530, 977 U.S. 592, 72 L. Ed. 1005 14

E. L. DuPont de Nemours & Co. vs. Claibourne-Reno,

64 Fed. (2d) 224 .. Ss plaiiacananant 10
Erie R. Company vs. Tompkins, 304 U. S. 64......------- 13
Ford Motor Company Vs. Alexander Motor Company,

993 Ky. 16, 2S. W. L031...-----------------nnrvrrnn 9
Ford Motor Company vs. Boone, 944 Fed. 335.........--- 8
Ford Motor Company vs. Kirkmyer Motor Company,

G5 Fed. (2d) LOOL......-.------------c---nseesseesseenseenssersrne 5, 6, 7, 10
Globe Newspaper Co. vs. George H. Walker, 210 U. 8.

356, 52 L. Ed. 1096, 38 Sup. Ct. R. 726....-..---------- 14

Griswold vs. Camp, 149 Wis. 399 14

—

List of Authorities Cited—Continued.
Page
Huffman vs. Paige-Detroit Motor Car Co., 262 Fed.
116

Ken-Rad Corp. vs. Bohannan, Inc., 80 Fed. (2d) 251...

Memphis Furniture Mfg. Co. vs. Wemyss Co., 2 Fed.
(2d) 428 os
Moon Motor Car Co. vs. Moon Motor Car, Inc., 29 Fed.
(2d) 3 a
Moore vs. Shell Oil Co., 2 Pac. (2d) 216 m
Motor Car Supply Company vs. General Household
Utilities Company, 80 Fed. (2d) 167

Progressive Miners of America Local Union No. 109
vs. Peabody Coal Co., 7 Fed. Supp. 340; 75 Fed.
(2d) 460 7

State ex rel Waldorf vs. Hill, 217 ME i ckeiienscedenen
Wardell vs. Williams, 62 Mich. 50, 28 N. W. 796......--

10

Statutes.
Michigan Uniform Sales Act

Sec. 121.09 (1), Wisconsin Statutes, 1931, Wisconsin
Uniform Sales Act -....--.------------------sc-s-sessserseeeesenennes

See. 218.01 (3) (a), paragraphs 15, 16, 17, Wisconsin
Statutes, 1937

Laws of Wisconsin, 1937, Chapter 378 -......-----------------

United States Constitution -.......----------------------- 2

Wisconsin Constitution -......-.-------------------------

In The

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1940
No. 396

ROBERT F. BUGGS, Petitioner,
vs.

FORD MOTOR COMPANY, a Foreign Corporation,
Respondent.

BRIEF OF RESPONDENT
Opposing Granting of Writ of Certiorari.

I.
Opinion of the Court Below.
The opinion in the Circuit Court of Appeals (R. 120-125)
is reported in 113 Fed. Rep. (2d) 618.
II.

Jurisdiction.

Respondent opposes the granting of the writ of cer-
tiorari on the ground that there are no special and im-
portant reasons set forth therefor, under Supreme Court
Rule 38-5.

2

III.
Statement of Case.

The following additional statement is deemed necessary
for the correction of inaccuracies and omissions in peti-
tioner’s statement.

The gist of petitioner’s (plaintiff below) complaint is
an alleged violation of a written ‘‘franchise’’ dated May 26,
1932 (R. 12-16). It is undisputed and the district court
found (R. 99-104) that the only written agreement between
the parties dated May 26, 1932 is the sales agreement in
question (Exhibit A attached to defendant’s pleadings R.
41-46). Petitioner did not aver any other ‘‘franchise’’ but
did aver that cancellation of his ‘‘franchise’’ was in viola-
tion of paragraphs 15, 16 and 17 of sub-section (3) (a) of
Section 218.01 of the Wisconsin Statutes of 1937 quoted in
full on pages 19-35 of petitioner’s brief and asked damages
for alleged violation of the claimed ‘‘franchise’’ and the
statute (R. 12-16). Accordingly, petitioner is necessarily
relying on the very written document he claims is void.

Respondent (defendant below) avers (R. 17-39) that
this sales agreement of May 26, 1932 (R. 41-46) was valid
and exclusively controls the rights and obligations of the
parties, was terminable at the will of either party without
cause, and was in fact terminated pursuant to notice (Ex-
hibit B, R. 47) and that the statute has no application. Re-
spondent claims that termination of said agreement pur-
suant to its terms did not create any cause of action for
damages in the petitioner either under the agreement or
the statute and further that the statute is unconstitutional
and in violaion of the Wisconsin and United States Consti-
tutions (R. 22-23-25). The agreement of May 26, 1932,
authorized petitioner to maintain ‘‘Ford’’ signs and re-
quired him to remove those signs on termination of the
contract. Petitioner failed to remove the signs on termina-

3

tion of the sales agreement (R. 63-81, 87-91) and respondent
in its pleadings included an equitable defense and counter-
claim wherein it sought a mandatory injunction to compel
petitioner to remove said signs (R. 25-39).

Respondent filed a motion for summary judgment (R.
55-91), in opposition to which petitioner filed affidavits (R.
93-97). On the hearing on this motion for summary judg-
ment, petitioner consented to the injunction (R. 98) and
the court made findings of undisputed facts and conclusions
of law (R. 99-104) upon which the judgment was based dis-
missing the complaint of the petitioner on the merits and
issued an injunction as prayed for by respondent (R. 105-
107).

By the terms of the sales agreement of May 26, 1932
(R. 41-46) petitioner was required to maintain a place of
business suitably located and equipped as sales room and
service station and acceptable to Company; to conspicu-
ously display effective signs; to carry an adequate stock
of genuine Ford parts; to install and maintain tools and ma-
chinery in said service station as recommended by Com-
pany; to employ competent salesmen; and to make repairs
in a workmanlike manner on products of the Company
whether sold by the dealer or not. In return, Company
agreed to sell to petitioner Company products and gave
petitioner the right during the period said contract was in
operation to hold himself out as an authorized Ford dealer
and to display Ford signs (see paragraph 7 (a) and (g) of
sales agreement, R. 42, 44).

The District Court found that the ‘‘franchise’’ upon
which petitioner relied was said sales agreement of May
26, 1932 (R. 41-46), that the statute was enacted long after
the sales agreement was made and therefore found that
the statute had no application to this case, and dismissed
the petitioner’s action without passing on the constitutional
questions raised by respondent (R. 98-107). The Circuit

—

4

Court of Appeals affirmed the judgment of the District
Court and likewise made no decision respecting the consti-
tutionality of the Wisconsin Statute (R. 120-126, 113 Fed.
(2d) 618-621).

Petitioner’s brief contains inaccurate statements of fact
and ambiguous language that may be misleading:

(a) It is not denied that the effective date of the pro-
visions of the statute relied upon by petitioner was July
14, 1937 and that the date of cancellation of petitioner’s
sales agreement by respondent was September 27, 1937,
but it is also undisputed that the date of the sales agree-
ment, May 26, 1932, was long before the statute became ef-
fective. Both the District Court and the Cireuit Court of
Appeals held that the statute had no application to this
agreement because it was enacted after the agreement was
made. Therefore, the statements on page 6 of petitioner’s
brief that ‘‘The statute * * * was applicable to the parties
at the time petitioner’s cause of action arose, * * * (is)
admitted on the record,’’ and on page 7 of petitioner’s brief
that ‘‘This statute was applicable to both parties at the
time of the alleged wrongful act,’’ are inaccurate.

(b) The opinion of the Cireuit Court of Appeals says
(R. 122, 113 Fed. (2d) 619):

‘*The legal questions are:

‘1. Ts the Wisconsin statute (Wis. Stats.
218.01 (3) (a) 17) valid? Is it retroactive?

‘*9. Ts one aggrieved by the inexcusable cancel-
lation of his dealer’s contract entitled to maintain an
action for damages because of this statute which pro-
vides for cancellation of the manufacturer’s right to
do business in the State of Wisconsin in case it in-
excusably and unjustifiably cancels a dealer’s agree-
ment?

‘*3. Was the last written agreement between
plaintiff and defendant invalid because unilateral?

5

‘*4. If invalid, were there valid contractual ob-
ligations binding on the parties on September 22,
1937, which made applicable the aforesaid Wisconsin
statute?’’

The Cireuit Court of Appeals only decided that the sales
agreement was a valid contract and that the statute was not
retroactive and left the other questions undecided. Hence
the allegation on pages 6 and 7 of petitioner’s brief that the
court below did not question a statutory duty by respondent
is inaccurate.

IV.

Argument.

A— The decision of the Circuit Court of Appeals for the
Seventh Circuit in this case is not in conflict with the
decision of the Circuit Court of Appeals for the Fourth
Circuit, in the case of Ford Motor Company vs. Kirk-
myer Motor Company, 65 Fed. (2d) 1001.

The decision of the Cireuit Court of Appeals for the
Seventh Circuit in this case holds, ‘‘We are convinced that
the agreement before us is not unilateral and is valid (R.
123, 113 Fed. (2d) 619).

There is nothing in the record or in published opinions
from which it can be determined that the contract in the case
at bar is identical with the written contract mentioned in
the Kirkmyer case. The quotations of some particular
paragraphs of that contract while similar to corresponding
paragraphs in respondent’s sales agreement (R. 41-46) are
somewhat at variance and do not purport to state the entire
contract and hence indicate that the contracts are on dif-
ferent forms.

However, the Kirkmyer case is based upon an alleged
‘“‘verbal’’ contract. In the Kirkmyer ease, Kirkmyer was

6

a Ford dealer in Richmond who alleged that he was induced
to his damage to move to ‘‘South Richmond”’ on a “‘verbal”’
promise by an agent of Ford Motor Company to award
Kirkmyer a dealership in the ‘‘West End”’ in case Ford
Motor Company appointed an additional dealer Ahere.
Kirkmyer was not granted the additional dealership created
in the ‘West End.’’ Kirkmyer operated in ‘‘South Rich-
mond”? under a sales agreement negotiated simultaneously
with or subsequent to the alleged verbal agreement. The
real decision in the Kirkmyer ease was that the alleged
verbal agreement was lacking in mutuality and entirely too
indefinite to form the basis of a binding obligation. In
that decision the court said, 65 Fed. (2d) 1003:

“To say that the parties contemplated that plaintiff
should be given a contract of the character that de-
fendant was making with other dealers in 1930, such
as it entered into with plaintiff in South Richmond
or with Womble Motor Company for the West End,
does not help plaintiff’s position; for this written
contract does not obligate defendant to deliver a
single car or truck and may be terminated at any
time at the will of either party. It merely furnishes
a basis upon which dealings are to be conducted ; and
while it is a binding contract to the extent that it is
performed in that it attaches to and becomes a part
of transactions entered into so long as tt remains un-
cancelled * * * and imposes certain obligations as to
how dealings shall be conducted, it imposes no obli-
gation on defendant to sell or on the dealer to buy
and furnishes no basis for recovery of damages if
defendant refuses to sell’’ (italics ours).

The Kirymyer case refers to the sales agreement therein
mentioned as a ‘‘franchise.’? It appears from the above
quotation that the court did not say that the contract was
void but said that it became a part of the transactions be-
tween the parties so long as it remained uncancelled. The
statement in the Kirkmyer ease is essentially not that the
written sales agreement was void but that if a verbal con-

PS

7

tract had been made to enter into such a sales agreement,
it was entirely too indefinite to form the basis of a binding
obligation, as the sales agreement could, after execution,
be terminated by either party at will.

Petitioner has an inconsistent position in this case. He
claims to have held a written franchise (R. 13). He ean
show no other written document than the sales agreement
of May 26, 1932. He claims that the decision in the Kirk-
myer ease is at divergence with the decision of the case at
bar. The Kirkmyer case refers to a written sales agree-
ment as a franchise. So petitioner is arguing on the author-
ity of the Kirkmyer case that his franchise is void (Peti-
tioner’s Brief page 8) and a nullity (Petitioner’s Brief
page 7) which could not possibly help him to recover dam-
ages for cancelling it.

The Kirkmyer case states that the relationships of the
parties under the written sales agreements are governed
by the terms of that sales agreement and that those relation-
ships may be terminated at will by cancelling the contract
in accordance with its terms without liability. Therefore,
so far as the issue involved in the ease at bar is concerned,
the decision of the Cireuit Court of Appeals for the Seventh
Cireuit is not in divergence with the decision of the Circuit
Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit in the Kirkmyer
case,

The court below did not admit that there was a di-
vergence of opinion between the Kirkmyer case and this
ease as claimed by petitioner on page 7 of his brief. The
court says (R. 122, 113 Fed. (2d) 619):

‘““The ease which most strongly supports plaintiff’s
position is Ford Motor Company vs. Kirkmyer, 65
Fed. (2nd) 1001, a decision by the Cireuit Court of
Appeals of the Fourth Circuit.”’

—— scene asastis sera ee:

es rey niet EAMONN Po HEAR IE et TE Wie AE Oe RELIES PA RO On

5 Se See Pek) ee met Mere hee ak ee a

However, the court also says (R. 123):

‘‘Such disagreement as seemingly exists in the de-
cisions may be partly attributed to the differences in
the terms of the agreements under attack.’’

B—The sales agreement of May 26, 1932 (R. 41-46) in-
volved in this case is a perfectly valid contract between
the parties containing a provision for its termination
and was properly terminated in accordance with that
termination clause and hence the decision of the Cir-
cuit Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit in this
case is clearly correct.

‘The purchase of an automobile is not like the purchase
of a sack of potatoes’’ (see Ford Motor Company vs. Boone,
244 Fed. 335, 338). Since in order to maintain its business
and good will, a manufacturer must provide means for re-
pair and servicing of its products, the only practicable
method of fulfilling this necessity is to maintain a dealer-
ship organization, the duties of which are defined by con-
tract between the manufacturer and such dealers. The con-
tract in question (R. 41-46) provides for the sale of Ford
products to petitioner for resale. As it is a continuing con-
tract it does not recite the exact price of the goods to be
sold, but instead provides for sale at list prices or at such
discount from published prices as is from time to time fixed
by the company, and as stated by the Cireuit Court of Ap-
peals, ‘These net list prices and published list prices were
the same to all dealers,’’ and the Cireuit Court of Appeals
held that it lawfully ‘‘provided a method whereby the price
could be definitely ascertained at any time’’ (R. 125, 1138
Fed. (2d) 620; and see cases cited in the Opinion).

This contract is a basic contract which sets up the con-
ditions under which the parties will operate. In return for
establishing one place of business equipped, manned and
displaying effective signs in a manner acceptable to Com-

PEELE NPT SNE MORI MERA AY: —

a Rat ct ssa? a Pe AE Ite OT a POLE RADE A AGO ly ET IRIN TE et

9

pany to sell and service Ford products, the dealer gets
the privilege of holding himself out as a Ford dealer, of
displaying the Ford signs and of trading on the Ford name
so long as the contract remains in effect and no longer.

This is admittedly a right of some value to the dealer.
If it were not so, there would be absolutely no point to the
petitioner’s claim for damages for terminating that right.
Petitioner’s entire claim goes to a claimed right to have the
dealer relationship as provided by the sales agreement (R.
41-46). It therefore seems perfectly clear that in entering
into the sales agreement Buggs not only agreed to main-
tain certain facilities and conduct his business in a certain
way but also there moved from Ford Motor Company to
him a consideration of value, to-wit, the right to display the
Ford signs over his place of business and to hold himself
out as an authorized Ford dealer. Such being the case,
there was ample consideration on both sides of the contract
and hence there was mutuality and the contract was per-
fectly valid. It seems rather stange that someone who
claims that the right to be a Ford dealer is no consideration
to him and therefore his contract is void, should be suing
the other party to such a contract for $150,000.00 in dam-
ages for the termination of his right to be a Ford dealer.

See also argument under subdivision (D) following, and
decision of Cireuit Court of Appeals herein setting forth
its reasons why the contract is valid (R. 123-125, 113 Fed.
(2d) 619, 620).

In the ease of Ford Motor Company vs. Alexander
Motor Company, 223 Ky. 16, 2S. W. (2d) 1031, the court

said:

‘Tt is a well-settled rule of law that a right to cancel
a contract, incorporated or reserved therein, is a
part of the contract itself, and, upon the exercise of
such contractual right, all obligations under the con-
tract cease and determine, and no liability arises
from the eancellation. Louisville Tobaeeo Ware-
house Co. vs. Ziegler, 196 Ky. 414, 244 8S. W. 899.

is ’
<2 odin gu toed a Ween Se eae eed et

10

‘‘Parties may lawfully enter into agreements like the
one here involved, and the courts enforce them as
written. If parties agree that the rights, duties, and
obligations arising from a contractual relation shall
endure only at the will or pleasure of either, the
courts have no right to substitute a different dura-
tion for such rights. Executory contracts, termin-
able at will, insofar as they are unexecuted at the
time of termination, afford no basis for a cause of
action to either party. Rehmzeiher Co. vs. Walker
Co., 156 Ky. 6, 160 8. W. 777, 49 L. R. A. (N. 8.) 694;
Paragon Oil Co. vs. Hughes, 193 Ky. 534, 236 S. W.
963; Daniel Boone Coal Co. vs. Miller, 186 Ky. 561,
217 S. W. 666; Soaper vs. King, 167 Ky. 126, 180
S. W. 46; Ross-Vaughn Tobacco Co. vs. Johnson,
182 Ky. 325, 206 S. W. 487; Goff vs. Saxon, 175 Ky.
330, 192 S. W. 24.

“Such contracts are binding on both parties, until
the right of cancellation is exercised by one or the
other. Guffey vs. Smith, 237 U. 8. 101, 35 S. Ct. 526,
59 L. Ed. 856’’ (italics ours).

C —If the contract lacks mutuality, petitioner likewise has
no cause of action for damages.

The court found that there was a valid contract, and
as we have pointed out the same is a valid contract, and
there are no decisions holding that this form of contract
is invalid, yet if the Court deem it one without mutuality, as
claimed by the petitioner, he likewise has no cause of action
for damages, and the court’s decision is still correct.

E. I. DuPont de Nemours & Co. vs. Claiborne-
Reno, 64 Fed. (2d) 224;

Huffman vs. Paige-Detroit Motor Car Co., 262
Fed. 116;

Ford Motor Company vs. Kirkmyer Motor Com-
pany, 65 Fed. (2d) 1001, 1006 (cited by peti-
tioner) ;

Motor Car Supply Co. vs. General Household
Utilities Co., 80 Fed. (2d) 167 (cited by pe-
titioner).

11

D — The decision is not in conflict with local law or local de-
cisions.

Petitioner’s claim that the decision is in conflict with
local law seems to be based upon the provision of the
sales agreement declaring it to be a Michigan contract
governed by the laws of Michigan and a claim that the de-
cision is in conflict with Michigan decisions, citing two
Michigan cases (petitioner’s brief, pp. 13 and 14). Pe-
tition also cites certain cases which petitioner claims show
that the decision repudiates the established law of con-
tracts (petitioner’s brief, pp. 14 to 17).

The fact that the contract (R. 41-46) contemplates the
establishment, equipment according to certain standards,
and maintenance of a place of business for the rendering
of repair service to any Ford automobiles in that place of
business and the obvious grant of a right to the petitioner
to hold himself out as a Ford dealer and display Ford
signs, completely nullifies all of that argument of the pe-
titioner.

That argument is based upon the erroneous premise
that the sales agreement involves nothing but merely an
agreement to buy and sell automobiles at an indefinite price
to be later determined. The Cireuit Court of Appeals, in
finding that this is not a correct construction of the contract,
said:

‘*Vital and determinative are paragraphs 1 and 2.

The first obligates defendant to sell, but upon ‘terms,

conditions and provisions hereinafter specifically set

forth.’ These conditions and terms are set forth in
paragraph 2, which provides defendant ‘will sell its
products to plaintiff f. 0. b. Detroit, Michigan at such
net list price, or at such discounts from published list
prices as are from time to time fixed by Company.’

This seems, under the authorities and on reason, suf-

ficiently definite.

‘‘The parties had been dealing with each other

prior to the execution of the last contract. They
knew of the practices of each other. The dealer

12

knew that automobiles were redesigned and new
models appeared yearly and as a result prices
changed at least seasonally. Defendant’s business
was nationwide and its agents were many. It was to
this known situation that the contract referred. The
parties negotiated with a background of past deal-
ings and mutual knowledge of the practices of the
trade. ‘The net list prices and discounts from pub-
lished list prices’ appearing in paragraph 2 were well
known to both parties. These net list prices and pub-
lished list prices were the same to all dealers. They
changed as necessity required. They were not lack-
ing in definiteness, but provided a method whereby
the prices could be definitely ascertained at any
time’ (R. 124-125, 113 Fed. 2d 620).

The Michigan Uniform Sales Act enacted in 1913 con-
tains the following clause:

‘‘Definition and Ascertainment of Price * * *. The
price may be fixed by the contract, or may be left to
be fixed in such manner as may be agreed, or it may
be determined by the course of dealings between the

parties.’’ C. L. 1929 See. 9448.

The Wisconsin Act is identical and is found in See.
121.09 (1) Statutes of 1931. The sales agreement provided:

*«(2) Company will sell its products to Dealer
f. o. b. Detroit, Michigan, at such net list price, or at
such discounts from published list prices as are from
time to time fixed by Company * * *’’ (R. 41).

It thus follows under both the Michigan statutes and the
Wisconsin statutes that the sales agreement of May 26,

«2

Ken-Rad Corp. vs. R. C. Bohannan, Inc., 6 Cir., 80 F.
2d 251;

Memphis Furniture Mfg. Co. vs. Wemyss Co., 6 ce.
2 F. 2d 428;

Moore vs. Shell Oil Co., 139 Or. 72, 6 P. 2d 216;

Moon Motor Car Co. vs. Moon Motor Car, Inc., 2
Cir., 29 F. 2d 3.”

13

1932 (R. 41-46) meets the requirements of the Uniform
Sales Act. The argument of petitioner with reference to
Wardell vs. Williams, 62 Mich. 50; and Bastian vs. J. H.
DuPrey Company, 261 Mich. 94, is based upon a theory
that the sales agreement involves absolutely nothing but a
sale of automobiles at an indefinite price. This is not true
and hence the argument is not in point. In the DuPrey case,
upon which petitioner relies, the Supreme Court of Michi-
gan holds that a contract to buy cucumbers to be grown and
delivered cluring the 1931 season was not void for want
of mutuality, and therefore that case is authority for the
respondent’s claim that the contract (R. 41-46) in question
was good rather than petitioner’s claim that it was void
under the Michigan law. Also, the Wardell case is no
authority on petitioner’s point, as the contract was held
void under the Statute of Frauds, and also because some-
thing was left to be negotiated before a contract was in-
tended.

' The other decisions cited in petitioner’s brief not spe-
cifically referred to herein, do not relate to matters of local
law or local decisions, and hence are not applicable under
Erie R. Company vs. Tompkins, 304 U. S. 64, and the last
rules of this court. Therefore the petitioner’s reasons set
forth under ‘‘C’’ in his petition, page 4, and under ‘‘3,”’
pages 6 and 14 to 17 of his brief, have no application.

The cases cited by petitioner at the bottom of page 6
and at the top of page 7 of his brief, and claimed to be in
support of his contention that the statute creates a cause
of action for money damages, have no application because
that is one of the questions that the Circuit Court of Ap-
peals herein did not consider, as we have heretofore pointed
out. Therefore, it is unnecessary to present an argument
at this time on this question. However, we will briefly
state why petitioner’s claim is incorrect. The statute in
question here relates merely to the granting of licenses and

REA Fah oF RI TS REED eee Mey PLOT RL AT EB ta ELA TELE Y: RI NS

|

14

provides under what circumstances licenses may be denied,
suspended or revoked, which is an exclusive remedy granted
the banking commission ; (however, a remedy that cannot be
applied against respondent for reasons presented herein,
and other reasons that need not be discussed here because
no question of revocation of licenses is involved). There
is no legislative intent to create a cause of action for dam-
ages for any alleged violation. There is no criminal penalty
provided for its violation. Petitioner has misconceived the
principles of law applicable. The following cases clearly
establish that this automobile licensing statute does not cre-
ate a cause of action for damages.
Progressive Miners of America Local Union No.
109 vs. Peabody Coal Co., 7 Fed. Supp. 340
(District Ct. E. D. Illinois, May 7, 1934) af-
firmed 75 Fed. (2d) 460, (C. C. A. 7th Cireuit)
February 6, 1935;
Globe Newspaper Co. vs. George H. Walker, 210
U. 8. 356, 52 L. Ed. 1096, 38 Sup. Ct. R. 726,
June 1, 1908;
Decorative Stone Co. vs. Building Trades Council
of Westchester County, 93 Fed. (2d) 426 (C.
C. A. 2nd Circuit) affirming decree, 18 Fed.
(2d) 333, certiorari denied 48 S. Ct. 530, 277
U. 8. 592, 72 L. Ed. 1005;
Almy vs. Harris, 5 Johns. (N. Y.) 175;
Griswold vs. Camp. 149 Wis. 399;
State ex rel. Waldorf vs. Hill, 217 Wis. 59.

15

E— Should the Court be of the opinion that the Wisconsin
Statute, if valid, governs this case, then a decision of
the case would necessarily involve the questions raised
on the record as to the validity of the Wisconsin Stat-
ute and as to the rights conferred by that statute.

The District Court and the Cireuit Court of Appeals
found it unnecessary to decide these questions because
those courts found that the statute was not intended to have
retroactive effect on contracts made before it was enacted
and the sales agreement in question was a valid contract
between the parties terminated in accordance with its
terms. This enabled those courts to enter a judgment in
favor of the respondent without deciding the other ques-
tions involved in the case. But any decision in favor of
the petitioner would necessarily have involved the deter-
mination of the other questions presented on the record as
petitioner’s claim seems to be based on the statute in
question while respondent in its pleadings and before the
District Court and the Circuit Court of Appeals has claimed
both that the statute in question does not give rise to a civil
cause of action by an automobile dealer like the petitioner
under any circumstances and has also likewise asserted
that the statute in question is a violation of the constitu-
tions of the State of Wisconsin and of the United States
(R. 22, 23, 25, 104, 122, 113, Fed. (2d) 619). Respondent
asserted that such statute is unconstitutional on the ground
it would impair the obligation of contracts, violate the due
process clause and unconstitutionally delegate legislative
power to the banking commission and also violate the com-
merce clause of the Federal Constitution, and would deny
this respondent the equal protection of the laws. We are
not presenting our argument on the question of the con-
stitutionality of this statute in this brief because both courts
below did not decide this question for the reason that they
found it unnecessary to do so in the disposition that was

16

made of the case. The Circuit Court of Appeals in its
opinion expressly stated:

‘‘Having reached the conclusion that the agree-
ment was valid and binding and therefore subject to
cancellation by either party upon the giving of writ-
ten notice, the only remaining question is the effect
of the Wisconsin statute upon such an existing con-
tract.

‘¢We are convinced that the legislature did not in-
tend to make its legislation, nor did the legislation,
by its own terms, apply to and include existing con-
tracts. We must give to it a construction which will
avoid a successful attack on its unconstitutionality”’
(italics ours) (R. 125, 113 Fed. (2d) 621).

For the above reasons, the writ of certiorari prayed
for should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

CARL MUSKAT, of Milwaukee, Wisconsin,
(773 North Broadway)

CLIFFORD B. LONGLEY,

WALLACE R. MIDDLETON, of Detroit, Michigan,
(1400 Buhl Building)

Attorneys for Respondent Ford Motor Company.

Appendix.

Paragraphs 15, 16 and 17 of Subsection (3) (a) of See-
tion 218.01 of the Wisconsin Statutes of 1937, were created
by Chapter 378 of the Laws of 1937, effective July 14, 1937.
Reference to the above Chapter 378 of the Laws of 1937 is
omitted from the Appendix in petitioner’s brief and should
be added at the end of page 35 of petitioner’s brief.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386415_0152%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
