# Brief for the United States — United States v. American Bldg. Maint. Industries

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386414_0463%3A06

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Brief for the United States
- **Published:** January 1, 1975
- **Citation:** 422 U.S. 271

## Text

a

eS, Set eee eee aoe oe een
NNNRAIN Sg et hie ec
= Question presentéd_-__-_---..-----------------

ONOE SRVOIVOU. 2028 220 ocelot ease
5 CNR) oe eee ree ee a
_. A. The acquiring company and the industry _-
B. The acquired companies_-_-_-_------------
A 5, Seen 6 OETNGONE....2. .... 2 oe
D. The summary judgment proceedings __ -__ _-
ESummary of argument_-_.......----------------

4
7

. Section 7 applies to firms engaged in local
activities ‘that substantially affect
os sk el en

Ry WOO es
B. The history and purpose of the
Clayton Act necessitate a broad
construction of Section 7’s com-
merce requirement___-_______-
C. The language and legislative his-
tory of the Clayton Act are con-
sistent with a broad construction
of Section 7’s commerce require-

D. This Court’s decisions construing
the commerce requirements of
the Robinson-Patman Act and
the Federal Trade Commission
Act are not controlling here-__--
1. The Robinson-Patman Act_-
2. The Federal Trade Commis-

a, Cs eee

(1)
569-955—75——-1

ry
:

NOOK FP WH DN HS

14

18

23
23

25

i

Argument—Continued

P
II. The Benton companies were “engaged in “
commerce” for purposes of Section 7 of
the Clayton Act_....___._-__________ 36
Conclusion__-----------------------------__- 44
CITATIONS
Cases:
Apex Hosiery Co. v. Leader, 310 U.S. 469____ 21
Atlantic Cleaners & Dyers v. United States,

286 U.S. 427_________-----------_ 13, 21
Borden Co. v. Borella, 325 U.S. 679_________ 4]
Brown Shoe Co. v. United States, 370 U.S. 294... 15, 17
Burke v. Ford, 389 U.S. 320_....._-_________ 38
Federal Trade Commission v. Bunte Bros., 312

USS. 349_....._-_-.- 10, 25, 26, 27, 28, 32, 34-35
Fortner Enterprises v. U.S. Steel, 394 U.S. 495- 38
Gibbons v. Ogden, 9 Wheat. 1_..____________ 27
Gulf Oil Corp. v. Copp Paving Co., Inc.,

U.S. —— No. 73-1012, decided December

17, 1974___ 9, 10, 12, 13, 23, 24, 28-29, 35, 37, 39
Katzenbach v. McClung, 379 U.S. 294_______ 38

Kirschbaum Co. v. Walling, 316 U.S. 517_ 14, 40, 41
Lorain Journal Co. v. United States, 342 US.

BG on eens gee eae en dae donee anaes 22, 41

Mandeville Island Farms Inc. v. American
Crystal Sugar Co., 334 U.S. 219__.._______ 21, 37

Martino v. Michigan Window Cleaning Co.,
ry ¢ hs tp: ce 4]
Minnesota Rate Cases, 230 U.S. 352_________ 28, 29

_ Schechter Poultry Corp. v. United States, 295
BE oe ee peg e te neensecuencan 26
Second Employers’ Liability Cases, 223 U.S. 1_ 27, 29
Shreveport Rate Cases, 234 U.S. 342_________ 29, 30

Standard Fashion Co. v. Magrane-Houston Co.,
258 U.S. i 5

-_-_

— an
Standard Oil Co. v. United States, 221 U.S. 1- 15
Swift and Company v. United States, 196 US.

fe a ee reese anes ena 41
Transamerica Corp. v. Board of Governors, 206

F.2d 163, certioraridenied, 346 U.S.901__ 16-17, 25
United States v. American Tobacco Co., 221

ie Woon ca eaeenemeseoeee ne eeuae 15
United States v. E. I. DuPont deNemours &

Co., 353 U.S. 586__------------------ 15-16, 33
United States v. Employing Plasterers Assn.,

DAT UB. 186 seek e tence ne snus 21-22, 38
United States v. Frankfort Distilleries, 324

UD, DOG oe ep ee we 21
United States v. International Boxing Club,

Inc., 348 US. 236......---------------- 41-42

United States v. Penn-Olin Co., 378 U.S. 158-
United States v. Philadelphia National Bank,

374 U.S. 321._.----------------------- 33
United States v. South-Eastern Underwriters
Assn., 322 U.S. 583__----- 9, 13, 21, 25, 26, 42-43
United States v. Stewart, 311 U.S. 60________- 27
United States v. Women’s Sportswear Assn.,
| 336 U.S. 460......-------------------- 22

United States v. Yellow Cab Co., 332 U.S. 218_ 22, 37
Constitution and statutes:
United States Constitution, Article I, Section

Th CUA Oe a ee eee 29, 31
Clayton Act, Section 2, 38 Stat. 730-_------ 23
Clayton Act, 38 Stat. 730, as amended, 15

U.S.C. 12, et seg...---------- 16, 20, 27, 28, 29, 32

Section 1, 15 U.S.C. 12__________-- 2,9, 19, 31
Section 3, 15 U.S.C. 14____-__-_----__-- 13
Section 7, 15 U.S.C. 18______- ae ae 2,3,

8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17, 18, 23, 24,
25, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 39.

LEELOL ILO ORD : CE MOL LS AE A SAAD MAR IS

IV

Constitution and statutes—Continued
Federal Trade Commission Act, Section 5, 38
Stat. 717, as amended, 15 U.S.C. 45, et seg... 25,

Magnuson-Moss Wessanty and Federal Trade
Commission ssaatiennans Act, 88 Stat.

Fy ite picdace cw gniglionasmmdnes waned em 28, 32
Robinson-Patman Act, 49 Stat. 1526, 15

U.S.C. 13, et seq......------------------- 24, 25

Section 2, 15 U.S.C. 13_.....-.....-..-- 23

Section 2(a), 15 U.S.C. 13(a)_._-- 10, 13, 23, 24
Sherman Act, 26 Stat. 209, as amended, 15.
U.S.C. 1, et seg... 9, 11, 14, 15, 16, 18, 19, 20, 21,

22, 23, 37

Section 1, 15 U.S.C. 1._-.------------ «19
Section 2, 15 U.S.C. 2.______- eden ae 19

Congressional and miscellaneous:

H. Rep. No. 627, 63d Cong., 2d Sess. _ -_--_- 15, 20
H. Rep. No. 1142, 63d Cong., 2d Sess.-_---_- 32
H. Rep. No. 1191, 81st Cong., Ist Sess._--_- 15, 18
S. Rep. No. 698, 63d Cong., 2d Sess. - ----- 14-15, 19
S. Rep. No. 1775, 81st Cong., 2d Sess. _----- 34
51 Cong. Rec. 9159. ---------------------- 30
51 Cong. Rec. 9411...--------2-----2----- 30
51 Cong. Rec. 14035-14042... ...-...------ 30
51. Come, OG: Wait ens ec cc ccnenncces sense 30-31
51 Come, Rae 1600s . .~-- ~~. - 22020 e nnn ne | 82
51 Cong. Rec. 14086... ..-...--..---..---.- 32
51, Cobe Bee.. BRAID, «.. «05-22 --sn on nesnne 30

Levy, The Clayton Law—An Imperfect Supple-
ment to the Sherman Law, 3 Va. L. Rev. 411
CO cannntdenedanwdneeurkenendensese 15

SF = —

eee OD 8 eee eee ee TO RS Tl _5_5—e EE See

\

Yu the Supreme Gourt of the Bited States

OctoBeR TERM, 1974
' No. 73-1689

Untrep States OF AMERICA, APPELLANT

v.
AMERICAN BumLpING MAINTENANCE INDUSTRIES

‘ ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT, COURT
FOR THE OENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES

A

OPINION BELOW

The findings and conclusions of the district court
(App. 211-215) are unreported.

JURISDICTION |

‘The judgment of the district court (App. 209) was
entered on December 12, 1973. A notice of appeal to
this Court was filed on February 7, 1974, and probable
jurisdiction was noted (App. 216) on January 13,
1975. The jurisdiction of this court is conferred by
Seetion 2 of the Expediting Act, 15 U.S.C. 29. United
States v. Falstaff Brewing Corp., 410 U.S. 526.

(1)

Pere ae eer ee

2
QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether a corporation that performs janitorial and
_ Maintenance services within a single state for com-
' panies selling products in interstate and foreign com-
merce, that solicits and negotiates such contracts
through interstate’ communications, and that pur-
chases substantial quantities of supplies originating
in other states, is “engaged in commerce” for pur-
. poses of Section 7 of the Clayton Act.

STATUTES INVOLVED

Section 1 of the Clayton Act, 38 Stat. 730, as
amended, 15 U.S.C. 12, provides in pertinent part:

“Commerce,” as used herein, means trade or
commerce among the several States and with
' foreign nations, or between the District of Co-
lumbia or any Territory of the United States
.and any State, Territory, or foreign nation, or
between any insular possessions or other places
under the jurisdiction of the United States, or
between any such possession or place and any
State or Territory of the United States or the
District 6f Columbia or any foreign nation, or
within the District of Columbia or any Terri-
tory or any insular possession or other place
‘under the jurisdiction of the United States:
Provided, That nothing in this Act contained
shall apply to the Philippine Islands.

Section 7 of the Clayton: Act, 389 Stat. 731, as
amended, 64 Stat. 1125, 15 U.S.C. 18, provides in per-
tinent part:

No corpotation engaged in commerce shall
- aequire, directly or indirectly, the whole or any

i

3

part of the stock or other share capital and no
corporation subject to the jurisdiction of the
Federal Trade Commission shall acquire the
whole or any part of the assets of another cor-
poration engaged also in commerce, where in
any line of commerce in any section of the
country, the effect of such acquisition may be
substantially to lessen competition, or to tend
to create a monopoly.

STATEMENT

The United States instituted this civil antitrust suit
against American Building Maintenance Industries
(American Building) on January 8, 1971, contending
that American Building violated Section 7 of the
Clayton Act, as amended, 15 U.S.C. 18, by acquiring
the stock of J. E. Benton Management Corp. and by
merging Benton Maintenance Company into American
Building Maintenance Company of California, a wholly
owned subsidiary of American Building. The complaint
alleged that the merger and acquisition, which were
consumated in 1970, may substantially lessen competi-
tion in the sale of janitorial services in Southern
California and the Los Angeles area. (App. 8)' On De-
cember 12, 1973, the district court granted the defend-
ant’s motion for summary judgment, holding that
neither of the Benton companies was ‘‘engaged in
commerce’’ within the meaning of Section 7 of the
Clayton Act at the time of the merger and acquisition
(App. 214).

*The complaint defines “Southern California” as Santa Bar-

bara, Ventura, Los Angeles, Orange, San Bernardino and River-
side Counties (App. 6).

4

A. THE ACQUIRING COMPANY AND THE INDUSTRY

American Building Maintenance Company of Cali-
fornia is a wholly owned subsidiary of American
Building. The complaint alleged that American Build-
ing is the largest seller of janitorial services in South-
ern California and one of the largest sellers of such
services in the country. At the time the complaint was
filed, American Building had 56 janitorial service
branches serving 500 communities in the United States
and Canada. American Building’s national revenues
from janitorial services were approximately $52.4
million in 1969. In Southern California, American
Building’s janitorial service revenues for 1969 were
$10.9 million—roughly 10 percent of the market
(App. 7).

Service industries are the fastest growing segment
of the American economy. More than half of the na-
tion’s work force is employed in those industries and
soon more than half of this country’s Gross National
Product will be generated in the service sector. The
supplying of janitorial services by independent con-
tractors is one of the fastest growing service busi-
nesses. Receipts for such services increased by 324
percent from 1958 to 1967. In 1972, national receipts
for commercial, institutional and industrial cleaning
services were more than §1 billion (App. 129-133,
a.

There is a nationwide trend toward concentration
in the janitorial service industry. The four largest
firms made at least 170 acquisitions of janitorial serv-
ice and related businesses between 1961 and 1973.

—

5

American Building made 54 of those acquisitions,
which included five janitorial service companies in the
Los Angeles area in addition to the Benton companies
(App. 140-148).

American Building ‘has publicly acknowledged that
it intends to accelerate this acquisition program. In a
December 1971 speech to institutional investors, the
president of American Building stated: “We have
been buying four—six companies a year. I vould say
in the future it would be fair to estimate that we will
buy between six and eight companies a year” (App.
142).

B. THE ACQUIRED COMPANIES

Jess E. Benton, Jr. owned all of the stock of J. E.
Benton Management Corp. and 85 percent of the stock
of Benton Maintenance Company at the time of the
merger and acquisition (App. 49, 139). Both com-
panies sold janitorial services; Benton Management
also provided building management services and en-
gaged in the real estate business. All of the facilities
served by these companies were located in Southern
California. The complaint alleged that the Bertton
Companies (“Benton”) was the fourth largest seller of

_ janitorial services in Southern California, with 1969
sales of over $7.2 million. This represented about 7
percent of the total janitorial service sales in that area

(App. 7).

Cc, BENTON ’s OPERATIONS
Benton provided janitorial services neeessary to
support ‘the interstate operations of its customers
(App. 133-137). These customers included TRW,

569-9855—75——2

ry

6

Inc., NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Rockwell In-
ternational Corp., General Telephone Co., of California,
Pacific Telephone and Telegraph Co., Mobile Oil Corp.,
Union Oil Co., Texaco, Inc., Carnation Co., Teledyne,
Inc., and Tishman Realty & Construction Co. (App. 52).
. Fér its aerospace customers, Benton maintained
and cleaned offices, manufacturing areas and labora-
tories. Certain areas required exceptionally high main-
tenance quality—e.g., “clean rooms’’ utilized for
spacecraft fabrication and assembly, and rooms hous-
ing electronic data processing equipment. In these
areas, janitorial maintenance was an integral part of
production operations.’

Benton maintained and cleaned offices and rooms
containing switching equipment for its telephone com-
pany clients, corporate headquarters buildings for
Union Oil, Carnation and Teledyne, and regional
headquarters buildings for Mobil and Texaco. Benton
performed all the janitorial services for the owner
and tenants at Tishman Plaza, a large office ——
in the Los Angeles area.° ,

‘In some cases Benton’s activities were confined to
cleaning services. It assumed responsibility, in other
cases, for maintaining heating, air conditioning, elec-
trical and plumbing facilities (App. 71-90). Benton
paid utility bills for Texaco (App. 84).

Although all of Benton’s maintenance contracts
were performed in California, some of the contracts

2 App. 54-70. Cf. App. 179-181.
® App. 71-90.

wn

7

were negotiated with out-of-state owners through the
use of interstate communications facilities. The Tish-
man Plaza contract was executed by Tishman execu-
tives based in New York (App. 72), and the New
York Life Insurance contract was the product of
interstate negotiations (App. 147-160). Those two con-
tracts made a significant contribution to Benton’s
total revenues.‘

Benton regularly utilized interstate communications
in its business. Between January 1, 1969, and June 30,
1970, Benton was shown to have mailed almost 200
letters across state lines to customers, potential cus-
tomers, suppliers, government agencies, etc. It also
utilized interstate telephone and telegraph facilities
(App. 146-161).

Benton purchased substantial quantities of janito-
rial supplies and other goods manufactured outside of
California. In 1969 Benton purchased more than
$120,000 in janitorial supplies which were manufac-
tured outside California,’ and paid about $36,000 in
lease fees attributable to vehicles and a computer
which were manufactured in other states (App. 145).°

*The details of these transactions are contained in exhibits
covered by the district court’s protective order of June 2, 1971.

5 The district court findings focused only on Benton’s direct
interstate purchases which were admittedly small. The court
found direct purchases aggregating approximately $140 and
interstate telephone calls of $19.78 (Finding 7, App. 212;
Finding 15, App. 213). The findings do not reflect Benton's
purchases of out-of-state products from local distributors,
which, as noted in the text, were substantial.

* Benton also expended about $80,000 in funds advanced by
clients for gas, water, electricity and elevator parts which orig-
inated outside of California (App. 145, 184-185).

8

D. THE SUMMARY JUDGMENT PROCEEDINGS

American Building filed a motion for summary
judgment together with proposed findings of fact and
conclusions of law. After receiving memoranda, affida-
vits and counter-affidavits from both parties and hear-
ing oral argument, the district judge adopted, with
minor modifications, the findings and conclusions
submitted by American Building. The court did not
expand its findings to reflect evidentiary material sub-
mitted after American Building prepared its original
proposed findings."

The court found that the Benton companies con-
ducted their businesses entirely within California, and
that Benton did not advertise nationally. Benton’s
purchases of products ‘‘which were shipped to it from
outside California” and its expenditures for inter-
state telephone calls, the court concluded, were de
mintmus (App. 212.). The court held that each Ben-
ton company “was not a corporation engaged in com-
merece” and that ‘“‘[t]here is no jurisdiction of the
Federal Court in this action under Section 7 of the
Clayton Act (15 U.S.C. §18)” (App. 214).

* American Building submitted its proposed findings on Au-
gust 28, 1973 in conjunction with the filing of its motion for
summary judgment of dismissal (App. 4). The government
submitted extensive evidentiary material in the form of aff-
davits of customers, suppliers, competitors and experts on Oc-
tober 15, 1973 (App. 4). The district court adopted, almost
verbatim, American Building’s proposed findings (App. 211-
215). Since those findings do not reflect the material contained
in the affidavits submitted by the government concerning the
Benton companies’ activities—the accuracy of which is not
seriously disputed—the court’s findings are clearly deficient.

)

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The question presented by this case is whether the
words “engaged in commerce’”’ as used in Section 7 of
the Clayton Act encompass firms engaged in intrastate
activities that substantially affect commerce. This
question was presented but not resolved in Gulf Ol
Corp. v. Copp Paving Co., Inc. No. 73-1012, decided
December 17, 1974. We adhere to the view set forth
in our brief amicus curiae in Gulf Oil, supra, that
“engaged in commerce” for purposes of Section 7
means :all commerce subject to federal jurisdiction
under the commerce power.

1. A broad—eonstruction of the commerce require-
ment of Section 7 is consistent with the history and
. purpose of the Clayton Act. That Act was a remedial
statute designed to correct deficiencies in the Sher-
man Act. The Sherman Act has been construed to
cover local activities that substantially affect inter-.
state commerce (United States v. South-Eastern Un-
derwriters Assn., 322 U.S. 533), and it would be
anomalous to interpret the Clayton Act—a statute
intended to supplement the Sherman Act—more re-
strictively. |

2. The language and legislative history of the Clay-
ton Act necessitate a broad construction of Section
7’s commerce requirement. See pp. 18-23, infra. The
definition of “commerce” contained in Section 1 of
the Clayton Act and its accompanying legislative his-
tory show that Congress intended to claim broader:
commerce coverage than that provided in the Sher-

is 10

man Act. Although the Congressional debates on the
Clayton bill do not reveal a consensus concerning the
precise scope of the commerce power, the debates do
show that a majority did not believe that federal ju-
risdiction was limited to activities in the “flow of
commerce”. That view was supported by contempo-
raneous judicial decisions. Equally importantly, the
legislative history confirms that Congress intended
to claim the full sweep of its power to regulate
commerce.

3. This Court’s decisions regarding the commerce
requirements of the Robinson-Patman Act (Gulf Cl
Corp. Vv. Copp Paving Co., Inc., supra, slip op. a:
6-12) and the Federal Trade Commission Act (Fed-
cral Trade Commission v. Bunte Bros., 312 U.S. 349)
are not controlling here.

The terms of Section 2(a) of the Robinson-Pat-
man Act are more restrictive than the language of
Section 7 and the courts have consistently construed
Section 2(a) to require a sale crossing a state line.
Moreover, in enacting the Robinson-Patman Act,
Congress expressly rejected proposed language that
would have provided broader commerce coverage.
This Court’s decision in Bunte Bros., construing the
Federal. Trade Commission Act, is based on factors
which are not relevant to Section 7 and in part upon
the unfounded assumption that Congress always in-
cludes words such as “affecting commerce’’ when it
wishes to regulate intrastate commerce which affects
interstate commerce. Congress did not follow that style

» ——

11
of draftsmanship in 1914. It had no reason to do so be-
cause the contemporaneous judicial decisions defined
“commerce among the States’’ to include all commerce
except commerce which is confined within one state
and does not affect other states.

4, Thus, the language, history and purpose of the
statute demonstrate that ‘‘engaged ‘in commerce”
means engaged in activities subject to the Commerce
Power. Activities which affect the flow of commerce
are subject to the Commerce Power and Benton en-
gaged in such activities. It purchased and leased sub-
stantial quantities of goods which originated outside
California. Such purchases have frequently been rec-
ognized in Sherman Act cases as sufficient to establish
the requisite effect upon interstate commerce. Benton
also affected commerce by providing essential services
to several of the country’s leading interstate enter-
prises. Therefore, the Benton companies Were “en-
gaged in commerce’’ for purposes of Section, 7%

Even if “engaged in commerce”’ were equated with
being in the “flow of commerce”, Benton’s activities
satisfy that test. Benton prov bed services to numer-
ous clients engaged in interstate and foreign conimerce
and those services were essential to its clients’ inter-
state operations. Indeed, those interstate enterprises
“contracted out” essential operations to Benton. :

ARGUMENT
L SECTION 7 APPLIES TO FIRMS ENGAGED IN LOCAL ACTIVITIES THAT
SUBSTANTIALLY AFFECT COMMERCE
A. INTRODUCTION

The district court erred in concluding that the Ben-
ton companies were not “engaged in commerce’’ at
the time of their respective merger with, and acquisi-
tion by, American Building. Although the court did
not fully explain its understanding of the words
“engaged in commerce”, it adopted a restrictive con-
struction that is contrary to both the history and
purpose of Section 7 of the Clayton Act.

This Court has never determined the meaning of
“engaged in commerce” for purposes of Section 7.
This question was presented in Gulf Oil Corp. v. Copp
Paving Co., Inc., No. 73-1012, decided December 17,
1974, and while it was discussed in the Court’s opinion
(see slip op. 14-17), the Court ultimately determined
that it need not resolve the issue since the record con-
tained “no evidence of effect on interstate commerce”
(id. at 16). Thus, Mr. Justice Powell’s opinion for
the Court concluded, “* * *- the ‘effects on commerce’
theory, even if legally correct, must fail for want of
proof’ (id. at 16-17).

The record in this case establishes that the Benton
companies were engaged in activities that “affect’’
interstate commerce. See pp. 36-44, infra. The ques-
tion of the proper construction of “engaged in com-
merce” for purposes of Section 7 of the Clayton Act—
which this Court did not resolve in Gulf Oil Corp. v.

; 7

Copp P
here.
We a
amicus ¢
Inc., 8Uj
sought t
late cor
ment of
of the &
Underw
ities the
In &
this Co
guage ¢
Section
denote
intersta
that it
commer
applied
context
Wore
that ca

merce,”
Such v
differer
activiti
precise]
the san
United

569-

13

» Paving Co., Inc., supra—is therefore presented

e adhere to our submission presented in our brief
us curiae in Gulf Oil Corp. v. Copp Paving Co.,
supra, that in enacting the Clayton Act, Congress
ht to claim the full sweep of its power to regu-
commerce. Accordingly, the commerce require-
; of the Clayton Act should be construed, like that
ie Sherman Act (United States v. South-Eastern
erwriters Assn., 322 U.S. 533), to reach all activ-
that affect interstate commerce.
Gulf Oil Corp. v. Copp Paving Co., Inc., supra,
Court commented that the “in commerce’’ Jan-
e of Sections 3 and 7 of thé Clayton Act and
ion 2(a) of the Robinson-Patman Act “appears to
te only persons or activities within the flow of
‘state commece * * *” (slip op. 8). But we submit
it should not be assumed that the words “in
nerce” have a uniform meaning that can be
ied without regard to the historical and linguistic
»xt in which they have been used.
ords normally do not have a single plain meaning
can be applied in every circumstance, and this is
icularly true in the case of words such as ‘‘com-
e,” “in commerce,” “interstate commerce,” ete.
1 words have been used in different statutes at
rent times to describe different combinations of
‘ities and transactions. They may not even have
isely the same meaning in different provisions of
same statute. See Atlantic Cleaners & Dyers v.
ed States, 286 U.S. 427, 433-434.

569-955—75——_3

14

In Kirschbaum Co. v. Walling, 316 U.S. 517, this:
Court observed (td. at 520-521):

The body of Congressional enactments regu-
lating commerce reveals a process of legislation
which is strikingly empiric. The degree of ac-
commodation made by Congress from time to
time in the relations between federal and state
governments has varied with the subject matter
of the legislation, the history behind the par-
ticular field of regulation, the specific terms in
which the new regulatory legislation has been
east, and the procedures established for its
administration.

As we shall now show, our submission regarding
the proper construction of the words “engaged in com-
merce” in Section 7 of the Clayton Act is consistent
with both the history and purpose of the statute.

rt

B. THE HISTORY AND PURPOSE OF THE CLAYTON ACT NEC-
ESSITATE A BROAD CONSTRUCTION OF SECTION 7’8
COMMERCE REQUIREMENT |

As the official title of the Clayton Act (“An Act To
supplement existing laws against unlawful restraints
and monopolies * * *,’’ 38 Stat. 730) implies, Congress
intended to extend the proscription of the anti-trust
laws to transactions and trade practices not covered
by the Sherman Act. The Senate Report declared that
the objective of the Act was (S. Rep. No. 698, 63d
Cong., 2d Sess., p. 1):

* * * to prohibit and make unlawful certain
trade practices which, as a rule, singly and in
themselves, are not covered by the [Sherman |
Act], or other existing antitrust acts, and thus,

; 15

by making these practices illegal, to arrest the
_ ereation of trusts, conspiracies, and monopolies
_in their incipiency and before consumma- —

| . tion © *,

See, ¢.g., Standard Fashion Co. v. Magrane-Houston
) Co., 258 U.S. 346, 355-356 ; Brown Shoe Co. v. United
States, 370 U.S. 294, 318n. 39, |

Section 7 was enacted in response to the great mer-
ger movement which began at the end of the nine-
teenth century. See H. Rep. No. 1191, 81st Cong., 1st.
Sess., p. 8. Decisions by this Court in Standard Oil
Co. v. United States, 221 U.S. 1, and United States v.
American Tobacco Co., 221 U.S. 106, were perceived ,
widely, if incorrectly, as emasculating the Sherman
Act. See Levy, ‘The Clayton Law—An Imperfect
Supplement to the Sherman Law, 3 Va. L. Rev. 411,
414-415 (1916). Section 7 of the Clayton Act was
designed to supplement the Sherman Act and arrest
the creation of trusts or monopolies in their incip-
iency.

The House Committee Report states that Section 8
of the House Bill, which became Section 7 of the Clay-
ton Act, was intended to eliminate the ‘evil resulting
from the aggregation of economic power through stock
acquisitions “so far as it is possible to do so.’’ H. Rep.
No. 627, 63d Cong., 2d Sess., ‘p. 17.

This Court discussed the purposes of Section 7 as
it read prior to the 1950 amendments in United States
v. E. I. DuPont De Nemours & Co., 353 U.S. 586, and
observed ‘(353 U.S. at 589): .

Section 7 is designed to arrest in its incipi-
ency not only the substantial lessening of com-

/

16

petition from the acquisition by one corpora-
_ tion of the whole or any part of the stock of a
competing ¢orporation, but also to arrest in
their incipiency restraints or monopolies in a
relevant market which, as a reasonable prob-
ability, appear at the time of suit likely to re-
sult from the acquisition by one corporation of
all or any part of the stock of any other corpo-
ration. The section is violated whether or not
actual restraints or monopolies, or the substan-
tial lessening of competition, have occurred or
are intended.

The Clayton Act was a remedial statute designed to
"reach anticompetitive practices in their incipiency. It
would. have been anomalous for Congress to have
sought to strengthen the antitrust laws by curing per-
ceived deficiencies in the Sherman Act and at the same
time to have restricted thé jurisdictional scope of those
remedial provisions. The Court of Appeals for the
Third Cireuit recognized this fact, in Transamerica
Corp. v. Board of Governors, 206 F. 2d 163, certiorari
denied, 346: U.S. 901, in holding that banking consti-
tuted “commerce” for purposes of the Clayton Act.
Thus, the court stated (206 F. 2d at 166):
We find nothing in the legislative history, how-
ever, ‘to indicate that Congress did not intend
- by Section 7 to exercise its power under the
commerce clause of the Constitution to the full-
est extent. The avowed purpose of the Clayton
Act was to supplement the Sherman Act, 15
US.C.A. §§ 1-7, 15 note, by arresting in their
incipiency those acts and practices which might
ripen into a violation of the latter act. Since

17

the general language of the Sherman Act was
designed by Congress “to go to the utmost ex-
tent of its Constitutional power in restraining
trust and monopoly agreements’’ the supple-
mentary general language of the Clayton Act
was undoubtedly intended to have the same all,
inclusive scope.

This conclusion is further supported by the 1950
amendments to the Clayton Act, which extended Sec-
tion 7 to cover the acqtisition of assets. Although the
legislative history of the 1950 amendments did not
deal directly with the ‘‘commerce’’ requirement, that
history reflects a continuing Congressional intent fully
to exercise its regulatory powers.

In Brown Shoe Co. vy. United States, 370 U.S. 294,
315-323, this Court reviewed the 1950 legislative his-
tory and found that “[t]he dominant theme pervading
cougressional consideration * * * was a fear of what
was considered to be a rising tide of economic concen-
tration in the American economy.”’ Id. at 315. In ad-
dition, the legislative history reflected congressional
concern over the “desirability of retaining ‘local con-
trol’ over industry and the protection of small busi-
nesses.”’ Id. at 315-316. Motivated by its conceris over
increasing concentration, Congress sought to give
“* * * courts the power to brake this force at its
outset and before it gathered momentum.” Id. at
317-318.

Acquisition of firms engaged in local activities may
violate Section 7 if the effect of their acquisition may
be substantially to lessen competition in relevant geo-
graphic and product markets. For example, a firm

18

such as American Building could obtain a virtual
monopoly of a service industry, with significant inter-
state consequences, by acquiring one local firm after
another across the country. Such a result would be
- contrary to the aim of Section 7, which was intended
to block all acquisitions likely to contribute to increas-
ing levels of concentration. As the House Report to
the 1950 amendment stated:

Acquisitions * * * have a cumulative effect,
and control of the market * * * may be
achieved not in a single acquisition but as the
result of a series of acquisitions. The bill is
intended to permit intervention in such a cumu-
lative process when the effect of an acquisition
may be a significant reduction in the vigor of
competition * * *. [H. Rep. No. 1191, 81st
Cong., 1st Sess., p. 8.]

C. THE LANGUAGE AND LEGISLATIVE HISTORY OF THE
CLAYTON ACT ARE CONSISTENT WITH A BROAD CON-
STRUCTION OF SECTION 7’S COMMERCE REQUIREMENT

The applicable provisions of the Clayton Act must
be read in light of the legislative purpose discussed
at pp. 14-18, supra. As we have shown, the Clayton
Act was a remedial statute and it would be anomalous
to hold that its jurisdictional scope is more resiricted
than the Sherman Act which it was designed to sup-
plement. The language and legislative history ot the
Clayton Act are consistent with that conclusion.

1. Section 7 of the Clayton Act prohibits mergers
or acquisitions which may have anticompetitive effects
where both the acquired and acquiring firms are

ee,

19

“engaged in commerce”. The meaning of the phrase
“engaged in commerce”’ is primarily derived from the
definition of “commerce” in the Clayton Act and its
legislative history.

Section 1 of the Clayton Act defines “commerce”
as follows:

‘““Commerce,”’ as used herein, means trade or
commerce among the several States and with
foreign nations, or between the District of Co-
lumbia or any Territory of the United States
and any State, Territory, or foreign nation, or
between any insular possessions or other places
under the jurisdiction of the United States, or
between any such possession or place and any
State or Territory of the United States or the
District of Columbia or any foreign nation, or
within the District of Columbia or any Terri-
tory or any insular possession or other place
under the jurisdiction of the United States.

This definition, which appeared in the original bill
reported by the House Judiciary Committee in 1914,*
used almost the precise words—“trade or commerce
among the several States and with foreign nations’”’—
which had been used in the Sherman Act.’ It also

®The Senate added a proviso, “That nothing in this Act
contained shall apply to the Philippine Islands.” S. Rep. No.
698, 63d Cong., 2d Sess., pp. 42-43. The definition section as
amended has remained intact as 15 U.S.C. 12.

® Section 1 of the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. 1, declares that
every contract, combination or conspiracy “in restraint of trade
or commerce among the several States, or with foreign nations”
is illegal, and Section 2, 15 U.S.C. 2, declares that persons who
monopolize “any part of the trade or commerce among the sev-
eral States, or with foreign nations, shall be deemed guilty of a
misdemeanor * * *.”

a

broadened the definition to encompass commerce be-
tween insular possessions and territories. The legisla-
tive history of the Clayton Act confirms that by this
broad definition of ‘‘commerce” Congress intended
that the Clayton Act would reach all commerce to
which the Sherman Act was applicable. See pp. 30-31,
mfra. .

Indeed, the House Committee Report reveals that
the authors of the Clayton Act believed that they had
provided broader commerce coverage than that pro-
vided in the Sherman Act. This Report says (H. Rep.
No. 627, 63d Cong., 2d Sess., p. 7):

The definition of commerce, it will be observed,
is broadened so ‘as to include trade and com-
merce between any insular possessions or other
places under the jurisdiction of the United
States, which at present do not come within
the scope of the Sherman antitrust law or other
laws relating to trusts.

Since Congress wanted to describe all the commerce
covered by the Sherman Act, plus some that might
not be, the word ‘‘commerce’’ should be interpreted
in accordance with that stated purpose. The word
“commerce’’ in every Clayton Act provision should
be read to include all commerce covered by the Sher-
man Act unless the language or history of a particu-
lar Clayton Act provision demonstrates that the word
was used to describe something else.

2. This Court has concluded that the commerce
coverage of the Sherman Act is coextensive with all
ecommerce subject to federal regulation under the Con-

21

stitution. In Atlantic Cleaners '& Dyers v. United
States, supra, this Court observed (286 U.S. at 435):

A consideration of the history of the period
immediately preceding and accompanying the
passage of the Sherman Act and of the mis-
chief to be remedied, as well as the general
trend of debate in both houses, sanctions the
conclusion that Congress meant to deal compre-
hensively and effectively with the evils result-
ing from contracts, combinations, and conspira-
cies in restraint of trade, and to that end to
exercise all the power it possessed.

In United States v. South-Eastern Underwriters
Assn., supra, 322 U.S. at 558, this Court again con-
cluded that the Congress which enacted the Sherman
Act “wanted to go to the utmost extent of its Con-
stitutional power in restraining trust and monopoly
agreements * * *.” The Court has accordingly inter-
preted the Sherman Act to give effect to that Con-
gressional purpose. In United States v. Frankfort

~ Distilleries, 324 U.S. 293, 298, the Court said that

/ “Congress, in passing the Sherman Act, left no area
of -its constitutional power unoccupied; it ‘exercised
all the power it possessed.’ Apex Hosiery Co. Vv.
Leader, 310 U.S. 469, 495.”

Consistent with this approach, the Sherman Act has
been applied broadly to local activities which sub-
stantially affect interstate commerce. See e.g., Mande-
ville Island Farms, Inc. v. American Crystal Sugar

~~ Co., 334 U.S, 219 (agreement to fix price paid for

California-grown sugar beets) ; United States v. Em-

22

ploying Plasterers Assn., 347 U.S. 186 (combination
to suppress competition among Chicago plastering
contractors); Lorain Journal Co. v. United States,
342 U.S. 143 (local advertising agreements used to
injure competitor in interstate competition). As this
Court stated in United States v. Women’s Sports-
wear Assn., 336 U.S. 460, 464:

The source of the restraint may be intrastate,
as the making of a contract or combination
usually is; the application of the restraint may
be-intrastate, as it often is; but neither matters
if the necessary effect is to stifle or restrain
commerce among the states. If it is interstate
commerce that feels the pinch, it does not mat-
ter how local the operation which applies the
squeeze.”

° United States v. Yellow Cab Co., 332 U.S. 218, did not
limit the Sherman Act to purely interstate activities. In that
case this Court held that while a conspiracy among taxi cab
companies to control the transportation of passengers between
railroad stations in Chicago was within the reach of the Sher-
man Act (332 U.S. at 229), transportation of passengers to and
from the stations to homes, offices, and hotels had only a
“casual and incidental” relationship to interstate commerce
(332 U.S. at 230-232). The Court noted that a traveler has
complete freedom to arrange his transportation by several
means of conveyance, of which taxi cab service is only one.
The Court cautioned, however, that it was not “establish[ing]
any absolute rule that local taxicab service to and from rail-
road stations is completely beyond the reach of federal power
or even beyond the scope of the Sherman Act. * * * All that
we hold here is that when local taxicabs merely convey inter-
state train passengers between their homes and the railroad
station in the normal course of their independent local service,
that service is not an integral part of interstate transportation”
(332 U.S, at 232-233).

_ —

23

The phrase “engaged in commerce” in Section 7
should accordingly be interpreted to mean engaged in
activities which are subject to the federal Commerce
power. A more restrictive interpretation, confining
the statute to activities within the flow of interstate
ecommerce, would partially defeat the Clayton Act’s
central purpose of halting incipient anticompetitive
transactions before they develop into restraints and
monopolies prohibited by the Sherman Act.

D. THIS COURT’S DECISIONS CONSTRUING THE COMMERCE
REQUIREMENTS OF THE ROBINSON-PATMAN ACT AND THE
FEDERAL TRADE COMMISSION ACT ARE NOT CONTROLLING
HERE

1. The Robinson-Patman Act

The factors which led the Court to conclude in
Copp that Section 2(a) of the Robinson-Patman Act
does not reach all discriminatory sales which are sub-
ject to the Commerce Power are not applicable to
Section 7 of the Clayton Act. Although the Clayton
Act commerce definition is applicable to Section 2 of
the Robinson-Patman Act, which replaced the original
Section 2 of the Clayton Act, the Court’s decision
with respect to the commerce reach of Section 2(a)
was based upon language and history which is peculiar
to that provision. '

Section 2 of the original Clayton Act prohibited
certain discriminatory commodity sales in the course
of “‘commerce”’ by sellers who are ‘engaged in com-
merce.’”? A third commerce requirement was added by

ERTS Oe

24

the 1936 amendments which limited the application
of the revised provision to transactions ‘‘where either
or any of the purchases involved in such discrimina-
tion are in commerce * * *” (49 Stat. 1526). A long
series of courts of appeals’ decisions interpreted that
1936 language to mean that “at least one of the two
transactions which, when compared, generate a dis-
crimination * * * cross a state line” (slip op. 13-14).
This Court concluded that it is logical to interpret
‘‘purchases * * * in commerce” in that context to
mean an interstate sale.

Moreover, this Court did not rely exclusively upon
the language of Section 2(a) and precedent construing
it. The Court also found that the 1936 Congress had
considered and rejected other language which would
have made Section 2(a) applicable to discriminatory
sales by “any person, whether in commerce or not”
and concluded that this Congressional action “strongly
militates against a judgment that Congress intended
a result that it expressly declined to enact” (slip
op. 13). :

There is no comparable evidence of a conscious
Congressional decision to reject arguably broader
commerce language with respect to Section 7. The
“engaged in commerce’”’ language was part of the
original bill proposed by the House Judiciary Com-
mittee under the leadership of Congressman ‘Clayton.
The 1914 Congress never considered adopting differ-
ent language such as “corporations engaged in or
affecting commerce.”’ In 1950, Congress did not con-

—

25

sider changing the wording of the commerce require-
ment when it amended Section 7.”

2. The Federal Trade Commission Act

Appellee claims that this Court should conclude that
the words “in commerce” necessarily mean in the flow
of interstate commerce because the Court concluded in
Federal Trade Commission v. Bunte Brothers, Inc.,
312 U.S. 349, that the words “in commerce”’ in Section
5 of the Federal Trade Commission Act, as amended,
15 U.S.C. 45, mean in the flow of interstate commerce.

The Bunte Bros. decision was based on two grounds:
(1) ‘a restrictive principle of statutory construction
derived from an examination of the commerce provi-
sions in legislation enacted between 1935 and 1940, and
(2) the Commission’s own restrictive construction of
the Act, reflected in its unsuccessful attempt in 1939
to obtain legislation extending the Act to local activi-
ties affecting commerce. Neither rationale may prop-
erly be applied to the Clayton Act.

A. The principle of statutory construction adopted
in Bunte Bros. is of doubtful validity in light of this
Court’s subsequent decision in South-Eastern Under-
writers, supra. The principle was based upon and re-
flected a method of legislative drafting which
embodied contemporaneous judicial decisions re-

Tt should be noted that the Section 7 commerce language
unlike the Robinson-Patman Act third test does not have a
long history of judicial interpretation. The 7ransamerica opin-
ion is the only previous opinion which has addressed the ques- _
tion presented in this case.

ae.

strictively construing the reach of the commerce
clause. It assumes that the Congress which wrote the
Clayton Act in 1914 intended to freeze the reach of
that Act ‘‘within the mold of then current judicial
decisions defining the commerce power.”’ South-East-
ern Underwriters, supra, 322 U.S. at 557. This propo-
sition was rejected in South-Eastern Underwriters
with respect to the 1890 Congress which adopted the
Sherman Act. It must also be rejected as applied to
the 1914 Congress which passed the Clayton Act—a
statute that was intended to broaden the earlier
legislation. 3
In Bunte Bros., this Court stated (312 U.S. at 351):
When in order to protect interstate com-
merce Congress has regulated activities which
in isolation are merely local, it has normally
conveyed its purpose explicitly. See for exam-
ple, National Labor Relations Act, §§2(7),
9(c), 10(a), 49 Stat. 450, 453, 29 U.S.C. $§ 152
(7), 159(¢), 160(a) ; Bituminous Coal Act, § 4-
A, 50 Stat. 83, 15 U.S.C. [1940 ed.] § 834;
Federal Employers’ Liability Act, § 11, 35 Stat.
65, as amended, 53 Stat. 1404, 45 U.S.C. § 51.
But, as the dissent in Bunte Bros. recognized, id.,
at 358, the three statutes cited by the majority as ex-
amples were enacted over 20 years after the Federal
Trade Commission Act became law. These statutes,
moreover, were enacted after Schechter Poultry Corp.
v. United States, 295 U.S. 495, decided in 1935, =
drew a sharp distinction between “flow of commerce’’
and ‘‘affecting commerce”’ jurisdiction.

——

27

“The meaning of each [statutory] phrase must be
closely related to the time and circumstance of its
use.’’ United States v. Stewart, 311 U.S. 60, 69. Subse-
quent “statutes dealing with other fields * * * are of
little aid in interpreting an earlier act in its own leg-
islative setting.” Federal Trade Commission v. Bunte
Bros., supra, 312 U.S. at 358 (dissenting opinion).

Judicial decisions of the 1914 era do not draw a
sharp distinction between activities in the flow of in-
terstate commerce and local activities which affect that
commerce. Judges of that period tended to equate
“commerce among the States” with all commerce
which is subject to federal regulation.

In Gibbons v. Ogden, 9 Wheat. 1, 194, Chief
Justice Marshall commented: ‘‘Comprehensive as
the word ‘among’ is, it may very properly be re-
stricted to that commerce which concerns more States
than one.” The commerce ‘‘which concerns more States
than one’’ includes all commerce within a state which
affects interstate commerce.

Two years before the enactment of the Clayton Act,
in the Second Employers’ Liability Cases, 223.U.S. 1,
46-47, this Court said:

The phrase “among the several States” marks

the distinction, for the purpose of governmental

- regulation, between commerce which concerns
two or more States and commerce which is con-
fined to a single State and does not affect other
States, the power to regulate the former being

conferred upon Congress and the regulation of
the latter remaining with the States severally. ’

28

The following year, this Court observed in the Min-
nesota Rate Cases, 230 U.S. 352, 398:

The words “among the several States’’ dis-
tinguish between the commerce which concerns
more States than one and that.commerce which
is confined within one State and does 1 not affect

other States.

The draftsmen of the Clayton Act were ates
aware of those decisions. Using the phrase “among
the several States” in the Clayton Act’s definition

of “commerce”’, they must have assumed, would claim
the full sweep of Congressional power to’ regulate
commerce, 1 )

Therefore, the Bunte Bros, decision is erroneous to
the extent that it is based ‘on the assumption that 3
Congress has always employed words such as “affect-_
ing commerce’’ when it wished to cover both activities
in the flow of interstate commerce and intrastate com-
merce which affects the flow of interstate commerce.”
That assumption fails to take account of the fact that
styles of draftsmanship change over time.

The majority opinion in Copp suggests another |
reason for concluding that the 1914 Congress may have
meant ‘‘engaged in the flow of interstate commerce”’
when it used the words ‘‘engaged in commerce.’’ That
opinion observed (slip op. 15): “When these sec-

12 Congress subsequently revised Section 5 of the Federal Trade
Commission Act to insert “in or affecting commerce” in lieu
of “in commerce.” See Section 201(a) of the Magnuson-Moss |
Warranty—Federal Trade Commission Improvement Act, Pub.
L. 93-637, 88 Stat. 2183,2193.

29

tions were originally enacted, it was thought that
Congress’ Commerce Clause power reached only those
subjects within the flow of commerce, then defined
rather narrowly by the Court.”’

But our discussion of the judicial opinions preced-

ing passage of the Act and the Congressional debates

concerning the Clayton bill (see pp. 27-28, supra; pp.
30-31, infra) demonstrates that neither the courts nor

a majority of the members of Congress equated the

Commerce Clause power with the flow of commerce.

» As previously noted, this Court’s opinions in the Sec-

ond Employers’ , Liability Cases and the, Minnesota
Rate Casés stated that Congress had power to regulate
all commerce except that commerce which is confined
within one state and does not affect other states. That

definition of the Commerce Power does not exclude’

intrastate commerce which does affect other states.

This Court issued an opinion in the midst of the ©
congressional debate on the Clayton Act which did
focus directly upon the question of federal power to
regulate local activities affecting interstate commerce. '

_In the Shreveport Rate Cases, 234 U.S. 342, this Court

held that the Interstate Commerce Commission may

_ regulate intrastate railroad rates which affect inter-

state commerce. Although that decision did not finally
determine the precise scope of congressional power
to regulate intrastate commercial activities, it at least
established that congressional power to regulate com-
merce among the several states includes power to reg-
ulate some activities which are not part of the “flow of

30

commerce.” * Thus, at the time the Clayton Act was
enacted, this Court did not confine Congress’ Com-
merce Clause — to only those subjects within the
“flow of commerce.”

The Clayton Act debates do not reveal any consen-
sus with respect to the precise scope of the Commerce
Power. A majority‘of the members did not participate
in this aspect of the debates. Many members did ex-
press opinions on that subject, but their views were
widely divergent. See, e.g., 51 Cong. Rec. 14035-
14042. Some believed that Congress had no power to
regulate intrastate transactions. See, ¢.g., 51 Cong.
Rec. 9411 (remarks of Rep. Towner), 51 Cong. Ree.
16115 (remarks of Sen. Walsh). Some believed that
Congress did have power to regulate some intrastate
sales. See, €.g., 51 Cong. Rec. 9159 (remarks of Rep.
Floyd). Still others described’ the Commerce Power
in terms which are as expansive as any of the subse-
_ quent decisions of the Court. For example, Senator
Reed declared (51 Cong. Rec. 14458) :

' .I hold tothe view that the right of Congress
to regulate interstate commerce carries with it ©
the power to do all that is necessary to protect
that interstate commerce and see that it flows
freely and openly and without obstruction, and
that therefore Congress has the power within
its discretion to condemn certain acts which are
in the natuce of consolidations, the reasonable

43 There is no,suggestion in the Shreveport Rate Cases or any
other decision of the time that particular statutory language was
— to claim that power.

31

effect of which may be to restrain trade, and
that if Congress exercises that power it will
not, in my humble judgment, be disturbed by
the court.

We submit that while it is not possible to recon-
struct a majority consensus with respect to the precise
limits of the Commerce Power, the legislative history
does provide clear evidence that a majority of the
1914 Congress did not equate the Commerce Power
with the flow of interstate commerce.

Notwithstanding the absence of a consensus concern-
ing the precise scope of the commerce power, the
choice of language in the Section 1 defiriition of “com-
merce” indicates that the 1914 Congress intended to
exercise all the power it had. The draftsman did not
use words such as “affecting commerce,’’ “the flow
of commerce,” “interstate commerce,’ or “intrastate
commerce.” They used the words trade or “Commerce
* * * among the several States * * *.” These are the
precise words used in Article I, Section 8, clause 3 of
the Constitution to describe the scope of Congressional
power to regulate domestic ecommerce. A draftsman
who wanted to describe all commerce which is sub-
ject to federal jurisdiction would reasonably assume
that using the precise words of the Constitution would
accomplish that purpose.”

* The contemporaneous history of the Federal Trade Com-
mission Act provides further evidence that the 1914 Congress
equated the commerce described in Section 1 of the Clayton Act
with that commerce which Congress has power to regulate. The
two bills were considered at the same time. The Federal Trade
Commission Act was finally enacted on September 26, 1914, and

32 I je vik Ey ES!

B. The second ground underlying Bunte Bros.—
the. agency’s own restrictive interpretation of the
statute and its unsuccessful legislative attempt to

ee eae oe
the--Glayton”- Act~was enacted on October 15, 1914. Both the
House and Senate versions of the Trade Commission Bill de-
fined “commerce” as “such commerce as Congress has the power to
regulate under the Constitution.” H. Rep. No. 1142, 63d Cong.,
2d Sess., pp. 11, 13. The Conference Committee changed the de-
finition to “commerce among the several States or with foreign
‘nations, or in any Territory of the United States or in the Dis-
trict of Columbia, or between any such Territory and another,
or between any such Territory and any State or foreign na-
tion, or between the District of Columbia and any State or
Territory or foreign nation.” /d. at 2-3. The Conference Report
did not explain the changn apart from a general observation
" that “[t]he definitions respecting ‘commerce,’ etc., remain sub-
stantially as in section 4 of the House bill.” /d. at 18.
ees Reet
Congressmen Covington and Stevens acknowledged that the
revised definition excludes commerce with possessions such as
Puerto Rico, Guam, the Canal Zone and the Philippine Islands.
51 Cong. Rec. 14927, 14935. Congressman Stevens stated that
foreign possessions were excluded because “conditions there are
so different than here that they could be handled by local au-
thorities better than by a commission 7,000 miles away in the
city of Washington.” Jd. at 14935.

No one suggested that the change in language reduced the
scope of the Commission’s authority with respect to any com-
merce other than commerce with and within foreign possessions.
Therefore, they must have assumed that the words “commerce
among the several States” described all of the commerce “Con-
gress has power to regulate under the Constitution,” except
foreign commerce and commerce with and within territories,
possessions, and the District of Columbia.

The Bunte Bros. opinion did not discuss this legislative his-
tory. We are not suggesting, however, that Bunte Bros. should
be overruled. As shown in the text (pp. 32-33, supra), Bunte Bros.
was not based solely on the absence of “affecting commerce” Jan-
guage in the Federal Trade Commission Act, and in any event, the
statutory interpretation question in Bunte Bros. is now moot.

See Pub. L. 93-637, 88 Stat. 2183, 2193 ; n. 12, supra.

| ~

33 Ps

broaden the Act—is inapplicable to the Clayton Act.
Neither the Department of Justice nor the Federal
Trade Commission has interpreted the Clayton Act as
inapplicable to local transactions affecting commerce,
and neither has sought amendatory or clarifying leg-
islation dealing with the problem.* The 1950 amend-
ments, which dealt only with Section 7, did not focus
on the commerce definition. Thus, those amendments
cannot be read as reflecting « congressional intent that
Section 7 be limited to interstate transactions.
Indeed, although the legislative history of the 1950
amendments contains no reference to the “engaged
in commerce” phrase of Section 7, .the discussion of
the “any section of the country’’ language of that sec-
tion is inconsistent with any suggestion that Congress

5 In any event, this Court’s decision in United States v. Phal-
adelphia National Bank, 374 U.S. 321, casts considerable doubt
on the continued validity of these factors in statutory construc-*
tion. There this Court, in holding Section 7 of the Clayton
Act applicable to bank mergers, rejected the argument that
the passage of the Bank Merger Act of 1960 and enforcement
policies of the Justice Department indicated that Section 7 did
not reach bank mergers. With respect to the passage of the
Bank Merger Act, this Court observed that (374 U.S. at 348-
349) “[T]he views of a subsequent Congress form a hazardous
basis for inferring the intent of an earlier one.” Although the
Justice Department had at one time held the view that Section
7 did not reach bank mergers, this Court found that view to be
a misunderstanding of the scope of Section 7, and as such not
binding on the Court (374 U.S. at 349). See also United States
v. DuPont Co., 353 U.S. 586, where this Court rejected the Fed-
eral Trade Commission’s view that Section 7 of the Clayton Act
did not apply to vertical acquisitions.

ay
34

intended to confine Section 7 to the flow of interstate
commerce. The Senate Report observed (S. Rep. No.
1775, 81st Cong., 2d Sess., p. 4):

As the bill originally stood it was to be vio-
lated if, among other things, competition was
substantially lessened ‘‘* * * in any community
* * *” of the country. The use of this word
raised a storm of controversy, centering around
the possibility that the act, so worded, might
go so far as to prevent any local enterprise in
a small town from buying up another local
enterprise in the same town. As a consequence,
the word “community” was dropped from the
subsequent versions of the bill.

Implicit in this analysis is the assumption that as
originally drafted the bill covered such local mergers.
If Congress had thought that the “engaged in com-
merce’’ language excluded mergers of local firms, there
would have been no need to adopt the “section of the

. country’’ language in order to exclude mergers of
minor impact. Therefore, to the extent that the 1950
Congress considered the “engaged in commerce’’ lan-
guage, it must have assumed that it covered firms
engaged in local activities which substantially affect
interstate commerce. Any other assumption would
have conflicted with the basic purposes of the 1950
amendments, which were designed to make Section 7
a more effective instrument for preventing anticom-
petitive mergers.

Finally, even assuming the validity of the explicit
language principle of construction, Bunte Bros. recog-
nizes that it is not an absolute requirement and that

35

it should not be followed where ‘‘* * * the purpose
of the Act would be defeated.” 312 U.S. at 351. A
restrictive interpretation of the Clayton Act “com-
merce” requirement would, as shown earlier (pp. 17-
18, supra), frustrate the statutory purposes of the
Act. Moreover, unlike Section 5 of the Federal Trade
Commission Act, Section 7 of the Clayton Act em-
bodies a “relatively precise” (312 U.S. at 353) pro-
hibition and its enforcement is qualified by the re-
quirement that the effect of transactions encompassed
by that section ‘‘may be to substantially lessen com-
petition, or to tend to create a monopoly.” Thus, the
application of Section 7 to local transactions substan-
tially affecting commerce would not give a “* * * fed-
eral agency pervasive control over myriads of local
businesses in matters heretofore traditionally left to
local custom or local laws” (id. at 354).

In Gulf Oil Corp. v. Copp Paving, Inc., supra, this
Court recognized that our submission concerning the
proper construction of the commerce requirement of

- the Clayton Act “is neither without force nor at least
a measure of support” (slip op. 15). But the Court
expressed doubt whether it would justify “‘radical
expansion of the Clayton Act’s scope beyond that
which the statutory language defines * * *”’ (#bid.).
As we have shown, however, if the language of the
Act is read in the proper historical and linguistic con-
text, it defines ‘“commerce” as any commerce affecting
more states than one.

Moreover, as we have pointed out, the Clayton Act,
unlike the Federal Trade Commission Act, was never

i.

accorded a restrictive construction by those charged
with its enforcement. It is true that previous Section 7
cases have involved both acquiring and acquired firms
engaged in the flow of commerce. But that past en-
forcement pattern simply reflects the fact that the
government has devoted its limited enforcement re-
sources to areas where the need was most pressing.
The rapid growth of the service sector of the national
economy is of relatively recent origin and this case is
a response to what the record shows is an increasing
trend toward concentration in that sector. This case
does not represent an attempt to effect a ‘“‘radical ex-
pansion” of the scope of the Clayton Act, but is simply
an application of the statute that is warranted by
changing economic conditions.

The history and purpose of the Clayton Act as a
whole, and Section 7 in particular, demonstrate that
“engaged in commerce’? means engaged in activities
subject to federal commerce power, i.e., activities in
the flow of commerce as well as local activities that
substantially affect interstate commerce. The govern-
ment satisfied the commerce requirement in this case
by establishing that the Benton companies were en-
gaged in such activities at the time of the merger and
acquisition.

II. THE BENTON COMPANIES WERE “ENGAGED IN COM-
MERCE’’ FOR PURPOSES OF SECTION 7 OF THE CLAYTON
ice *

For the reasons set forth earlier, we submit
that Section 7 of the Clayton Act, like the Sher-
man Act, applies to intrastate activities that. substan-

36

37

tially affect interstate commerce. In our view, it is un-
necessary to determine whether Benton’s activities were
in the flow of commerce. ‘‘[T]he vital question be-
comes whether the effect [of the activities on inter-
state commerce] is sufficiently substantial * * *”
(Mandeville Island Farms, Inc, v. American Crystal
Sugar Co., supra, 334 U.S. at 234) and “it is enough
if some appreciable part of interstate commerce” is
involved. United States v. Yellow Cab Co., 332 US.
218, 225.

The record in this case shows that the Benton com-
panies engaged in activities that affect appreciable
parts of interstate commerce. But even if it, is as-
sumed, contrary to our submission, that Section 7 is
confined to firms engaged in the flow of commerce, the
Benton companies’ aetivities placed them in the flow of
commerce.

1. The record establishes that the Benton companies’
activities affected an appreciable part of interstate
commerce. The services that Benton performed for
its customers had a significant effect upon the flow of
commerce. Benton derived 80 to 90 percent of its rev-
enues from customers who are engaged in selling
goods in interstate and foreign commerce or in pro-
viding interstate communications (App. 146). It pro-

%° This case thus differs from Gulf Oil Corp. v. Copp Paving
0o., Inc., supra, where no evidence of effect on commerce was of-
fered (slip op. 16). In Copp, the plaintiff relied solely on the
fact that work was performed on interstate highways. This
court held that such a purely formal nexus to interstate com-
merce was insufficient to satisfy the commerce requirement of
the Clayton Act (ibid.).

38

vided essential services for many of the country’s
Ieading corporations including Mobil Oil, Texaco,
Union Oil, Rockwell International, TRW, and Carna-
‘tion. The price and quality of the janitorial services
those companies purchase necessarily have an impact
on their operations. Indeed, we submit that the char-
acter of these services placed Benton in the flow of
commerce (see pp. 39-43, infra).

In order to provide services to its customers, Benton
paid more than $150,000 per year to purchase or lease
goods manufactured in other states (App. 145). Pur-
chases of goods originating in other states have fre-

- quently been recognized in Sherman Act cases as suf-
ficient to establish the requisite effect upon interstate
commerce. See, ¢.g., Burke v. Ford, 389 U.S. 320;
United States v. Employing Plasterers Assn., 347
U.S. 186. Benton’s purchases represent a substantial
amount of interstate commerce. In Katzenbach v. Mc-
Clung, 379 U.S. 294, this Court upheld the application
of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 to a restaurant which
purchased $70,000 worth of meat per year which had
originated in other states. All of the restaurant’s meat
purchases were made through a local supplier. The
Court concluded in Fortner Enterprises v. U.S. Steel,
394 U.S. 495, that a tying arrangement involving an-
nual sales of $190,000 represented a substantial vol-
ume of commerce in the tied product. The Court said:
“W]e cannot agree with respondents that a sum of
almost $200,000 is paltry or ‘insubstantial.’” Jd. at
502.

—

39

9, Assuming Section 7 requires a showing that an
acquired company is engaged in the flow of com-
merce, the Benton companies’ activities satisfy that
standard.

The ‘‘flow of commerce’’ concept was developed in
eases involving tangible commodities such as poultry,
livestock, and grain for purposes of ascertaining when
interstate commerce begins and ends. The actual per-
formance of services is unlikely to involve a move-
ment across state lines even though the services may
be intimately related to interstate commerce. This
Court’s opinion in Gulf Oil Corp. v. Copp Paving Co.,
Inc., supra, implicitly recognizes that a mechanical
formulation of “flow of commerce” is unsound. Thus,
this Court described (slip op. 8) “flow of interstate
commerce” as “the practical, esonomic continuity
in the generation of goods and services for interstate
markets and their transport and distribution to the
eonsumer.’’ This Court’s formulation encompasses,
we submit, firms, such as the Benton companies, that
perform a substantial amount of services for enter-
prises which are themselves engaged in interstate and
international sales of tangible commodities and inter-
state communications.

Benton’s involvement in the operations of its clients
was more direct and significant than that of a sup-
plier of goods. Companies such as TRW (App. 54-
58) and Rockwell (App. 62-70) in effect “contracted

40

out” to Benton part of their operations performed on
their premises and vital to their interstate operations.”
Thus, Benton was directly engaged in the operations
of interstate and international enterprises. Benton’s
services were an essential and important part of those
operations.”

This Court has previously determined that persons
who maintain buildings in which goods are produced
are covered by Fair Labor Standards Act provisions
applicable to employees ‘‘engaged * * * in the * * *
production of goods for commerce.” In Kirschbaum
Co. VY. Walling, supra, 316 U.S. at 524, the Court
decided that firemen, engineers, watchmen, porters,
carpenters and elevator operators employed by the
owner of a loft building occupied by tenants who were
engaged in garment manufacture were covered. The
Court reasoned: “Without light and heat and power
the tenants could not engage, as they do, in the pro-
duction of goods for interstate commerce. The mainte-
nance of a safe, habitable building is indispensable to
that activity.” Ibid.

The Kirschbaum rule has subsequently been extended

* As noted at p. 6, supra, Benton's aerospace customers required
exceptionally high maintenance quality as an integral part of
production operations.

%* See Affidavits of Charles V. Engle (TRW) (App. 54-58) ;
Raymond Hernandez (Jet Propulsion Laboratory) (App. 59-
61); Charles W. Moxley and John Blain (Rockwell) (App.
62-70) ; Donald E. Del Dosso (General Telephone) (App. 75-
76) ; George G. Guest (Pacific Telephone) (App. 77-78) ; John
Stover (Mobil) (App. 79-81) ; L. B. Higbee (Union Oil) (App.
82-83); Edward H. Patotzka (Texaco) (App. 84-85); May-
nard Heider (Carnation) (App. 86-88}; and Edmund Sako-
wicz (Teledyne) (App. 89-90). See also-Adfidavit of Dr. Philip
Neff, the government’s expert (App. 127, 133-137).

oa

_>- aieeaie
41

to maintenance workers at Borden Co.’s corporate
headquarters (Bordon Co. v. Borella, 325 U.S. 679)
and window washers employed by an independent
contractor who supplies such services to manufactur-
ing plants (Martino v. Michigan Window Cleaning
Co., 327 U.S. 173).

Similarly, in the present case, Benton’s janitorial
services were so essential to and intimately connected
with the operations of its customers as to be ‘‘an in-
separable part of the flow of the interstate commerce
involved.” Lorain Journal Co. v. United States, supra,
342 U.S. at 152.

The conduct of Benton’s business also involves other
forms of interstate activity which can be appropriately
viewed as engaging in the flow of commerce. In United
States v. International Boxing Club, Inc., 348 U.S.
236, this Court rejected claims that boxing cannot be
interstate commerce because all the blows are struck
within a particular state. The Court said: “A boxing
match—like the showing of a motion picture * * * or
the performance of a vaudeville act * * * or the per-
formance of a legitimate stage attraction * * *—‘is of
course a local affair.’ But that fact alone does not bar
application of the Sherman Act to a business based
on the promotion of such matches * * *”’ (Id. at 241;
citations omitted). The Court explained that the
“eontrolling consideration * * * [is] a very practical
one—the degree of interstate activity involved in
the particular business under review.”’ Id. at 243." The

2° See Swift and Company v. United States, 196 U.S. 375,
398: “[C]ommerce among the States is not a technical legal
conception, but a practical one, drawn from the course of

__business.”_ (Emphasis added.)
*

rr

interstate activities involved in the promotion of. box-
ing matches included the negotiations of contracts
“with boxers, advertising agencies, seconds, referees,
judges, announcers, and other personnel living in
states other than the state in which the promoters
reside” (id. at 238); leasing arenas in states other
than the promoter’s residence, selling tickets across
state lines, etc. (td. at 239).

The sale of building maintenance and building man-
agement services can involve similar interstate activ-
ity even if all of the services are performed in connec-
tion with buildings located within a single state. Many
buildings in the Los Angeles area are owned by in-
dividuals who reside elsewhere or by corporations
headquartered elsewhere. Therefore, the sale of the
janitorial and property management services provided
by. Benton necessarily, involves interstate communica-
tions, solicitations and negotiations (see App. 72’.
Such interstate activity should be viewed as part of
the flow of interstate commerce.

In United States v. South-Eastern Underwriters
Assn., supra, 322 U.S. at 541, this Court found a fire
insurance company engaged in “commerce among the
several States,” noting:

42

Premiums collected from policyholders in
every part of the United States flow into these
companies [located, for the most part, in the
financial centers of the East] for investment.
As policies become payable, checks and drafts
flow back to the many states where the policy-
holders reside. The result is a continuous and

43

indivisible stream of intercourse among the

states composed of collections of premiums,
payments of policy obligations, and the count-
less documents and communications whieh are
essential to the negotiation ,and execution of
. policy contracts.

Appellee contends that Benton’s participation in
such a “‘stream of intercourse among the states” is too

insubstantial to place it “in’’ the flow of commerce. :

Appellee asserts that this is the case because the cost
of Benton’s interstate telephone calls during the eight-
een months preceding the acquisition was $19.78 and
the cost of 203 interstate mail items during that period
was $22.33 (Motion to Affirm, p. 18). Appellee also
states that“only-a few of-[the interstate mail items]
* * * related to the solicitation or negotiation of ‘con-
tracts.” Ibid.

The significance of interstate solicitations and inter-
state negotiations cannot be measured by the cost of
the interstate communications, The value of the con-
‘tracts which Benton sought or obtained represent’ a
more meaningful measure of the substantiality of this
interstate activity. The Tishman Plaza and the New

York Life Insurance contracts, which were the product:

of negotiations with company executives based outside
California, made a significant contribution to Benton’s
total revenues.”

*” The data with respect to these contracts are contained in |

exhibits covered by the district court’s protective order of June
z, 1971. The Tishman Plaza contract was executed by Tishman
executives based in New York (Aff. of Alan D. Levy, App. 72).
Benton personnel conducted extensive correspondence with New
York Life personnel in New York in connection with the New
York Life contract (Aff. of John D. Gaffey, App. 147-160).

/

/ i 44

Thus, Benton was “engaged in commerce” even if”
that phrase is interpreted to mean engaged in the flow
of commerce rather than engaged in activities affecting —
interstate commerce.

CONCLUSION
_ The summary judgment of dismissal by the distriet
court should be reversed and the case should be re-
manded for a trial on the merits.
Respectfully submitted.
; ' Roserr H. Bork,
' Solicitor General.
THomAS E. KavuPer,
Assistant Attorney General.
Wuuiam L. Parton,
} Assistant to the Solicitor General.
: ‘Cart D. Lawson,
Lee I, WEINTRAUB,
Attorneys.
Fepruary 1975.

0.8, GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFICE: 1975

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386414_0463%3A06. Public record. Not legal advice.
