# Motion to Affirm — United States v. American Bldg. Maint. Industries

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386414_0463%3A03

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Motion to Affirm
- **Published:** January 1, 1975
- **Citation:** 422 U.S. 271

## Text

4
which were sold or shipped, no patents or scientific
know-how, and no location or business situs advantage.*
: 8. The business of the Benton corporations in pro-
viding janitorial services, and the janitorial service
business generally is an intensely local activity. No com-

odity is sold. The only sale made (if it be a sale) is
the sale of unskilled labor of janitors necessary to clean
buildings. There is no tangible property involved in the
business except insignificant, incidental facilities.*

4. The Benton corporations purchased supplies as
needed. They did not enter into any requirements or.
continuing supply contracts with suppliers. There are
no significant economies to be realized through bulk
or quantity purchase of supplies necessary to the pro-
vision of janitorial services. Supplies represent a minor
part of the total costs of providing janitorial services.
The basic service provided is the labor necessary to
perform the cleaning work. Costs of supplies repre-
sent approximately three percent of the total amounts
paid by customers for janitorial services.’

5. The Benton corporations purchased their sup-
plies from suppliers in California. During the sixteen-
month period prior to the acquisitions Benton Main-
tenance Company purchased no products which were
shipped to it from outside of California and Benton
Management purchased $130.35 of such products, a
de minimis amount.® <

6. The Benton corporations did not advertise na-
tionally. During the eighteen-month period prior to the

5Findings, 5 and 12.
‘Findings, 16.

"Findings, 17.

*Findings, 6, 7, 13 and 18.

a ae

a

acquisitions, these corporations’ total expenses for out-
of-state telephone calls related to business activities
were $19.78, a de minimis amount.®

ae

Janitorial service contractors are merely labor bro-
kers who provide the local unskilled labor necessary
to clean buildings. Equipmént requirements are mini-
mal: mops, pails, sweepers, cleansers and the like. It
is difficult to conceive of industry where entry is.
easier. The industry is therefore characterized by a
high level of competition. -Contracts with — building
owners are generally terminable by the owner upon
thirty days’ notice. Janitorial service contractors com-
pete on the basis of price and quality of service. Such
contractors face the competition of not only other con-
tractors but also of building owners who provide their
own janitorial services in-house."

The Question Presented Is Not Substantial.

The Jurisdictional Statement contends that Congress,
in enacting Section 7 of the Clayton Act, exercised the
utmost extent of its constitutional power to regulate
matters affecting commerce as it did in enacting the
Sherman Act, and, accordingly, the Benton corpora-
tions were “engaged in commerce” because:

(a) They purchased in California supplies orig-
inating in other states;

(b) Certain of their customers sold products
in interstate and foreign commerce; and

*Findings, 8, 14 and 15.

™See generally Urban Business Profile, Building Service Con-
tracting, United States Department of Commerce, EDA-72-59582,
1972, referred to in the Affidavit of Phillip Neff.

— B

(c) They solicited and negotiated contracts
with certain customers through interstate com-
munications.

These contentions do not give rise to a substantial
question warranting review by this Court because:

(1) It is absolutely clear from the language of
Section 7 and the authorities construing that
section that Congress did not therein fully exercise
its constitutional power over commerce;

(2) A corporation cannot be deemed in com-
merce merely because its ag ae and suppliers
may be so engaged; and

(3). Assuming, arguendo, that Congress exer-
cised in Section 7 the same broad control over
matters affecting commerce that it exercised in
the Sherman Act, the facts relied upon by the
Government are. wholly insufficient to establish
jurisdiction.

A. In Section 7 of the Clayton Act Congress Used Only a
Limited Part of Its Constitutional Power to Regulate
Commerce. ss

Section 7 of the Clayton Act was enacted in 1914,
and was amended to its present form in 1950. Both its
original enactment and its amendment came years after
the enactment of Sherman Act Sections 1 and 2. In
the course of the 1950 amendment to Section 7 of the

Clayton Act, Congress considered at length all of the

deficiencies that were claimed to have existed in Sec-

tion 7 as originally enacted. The 1950 amendment,
however, made no change in the jurisdictional require-
ment that the Morano corporation must be “engaged
also in commerce.” Section 7 was in 1950 broad-
ened to allow attacks upon acquisitions made by

| i“

means Off the transfer of assets rather than those mere-
ly accomplished by the acquisition of.stock. Notwith-
standing over fifty years experience under the ‘Sher-
man Acit and thirty-six years experience under the
Clayton Act, the restrictive jurisdictional requirement
that botlh the acquiring and the acquired corporation
must be “engaged in commerce” has remained un-
changed ‘since its original enactment in 1914."

Accordingly, the intent of Congress is clear. Con-
gress did) not in the Clayton Act, = its amendments
thereto, adopt the jurisdictional test’ of the Sherman
Act which calls only for an effect. upon commerce,
but insteiad in the Clayton Act retained and reaffirmed
___ the jurisdictional test which requires,that both the ac-
| quiring Corporation and the acquired corporation be

“engaged! in commerce.” In the Sherman Act, Congress

exercised the utmost extent of its constitutional power

to establish jurisdiction over restraints and monopo-
lies.” In Section 7 of the Clayton Act, by contrast,

Congress acted only to authorize attacks upon mergers

and acquisitions where both parties to the mergers or

acquisitions were “engaged in commerce.”

Under the Sherman Act, with its exercise of the
constitutional power to the ultimate, a defendant’s con-
duct may either occur in or affect commerce. This
dichotomy can be illustrated by reference to Rasmus-
sen v. American Dairy Association, 472 F.2d 517 (9th

: Cir. 1973), where the court stated: :
“The jurisdictional question [tnder the Sher-
man Act] ... concerns Congress’ power to reach

"See discussion ‘of the legislative history in Brown Shoe Co.
v. United Sazes, 370 U.S. 294, 311-323 (1962).

United States v. South-Eastern Underwriters Ass'n, 322 US.
533, 558 (1944).

——

the defendant’s conduct: ‘[T]he restraint must oc-
cur in or affect commerce between the states...
for constitutional reasons.’” (472 F.2d 522, cit-
ing Klor’s Inc. v. Broadway-Hale Stores, 255 F.
2d 214, 224. (9th Cir. 1958), reversed on other
grounds, 359 U.S. 207 (1959), emphasis in orig-
inal). :

The two tests of jurisdiction under the Sherman Act
are defined in Las Vegas Merchant Plumbers Ass'n v.
United States, 210 F.2d 732 (9th Cir. 1954), cert.
den. 348 U.S. 817 (1954), as follows:

“(1) That the acts complained of, occurred
within the flow of interstate commerce. This is
generally referred to as the ‘in commerce’ theory.

“(2) That the acts complained of, occurred
wholly on the state or local level, in‘ intrastate
commerce, but, substantially affected interstate
commerce [the ‘effect on commerce’ -theory].”
(210 F.2d 739, n. 3, emphasis in original).

Of these two theories, Congress adopted only the
“in commerce” test in enacting Section 7 of the Clayton
Act. This is clear from the use of the words “engaged
in commerce” in Section 7, as follows:

“No corporation engaged in commerce shall ac-
quire * * * the stock * * * of another corpora-
tion engaged also in commerce, where in any line
of commerce in any section of the country, the
effect of such acquisition may be substantialty to
lessen competition, or to tend to create a monop-
oly.” (15 U.S.C. §18).

Further, “commerce” is defined in Section 1 of the
Clayton Act as meaning “trade or commerce among
the several States and with foreign nations,” the move-

—_—

e

cmeneinent “Seem
fon

Y a.

__. merce, in the course of such commerce, either directly or

sell

ment of goods and services between states and foreign
nations.

Thus, in the clearest possible language, Section 7 re-
quires that both the acquiring and acquired corpora-
tions be engaged in interstate commerce. This require-
ment is conceded by the Government and is uniformly
recognized. Ekco Prods. Co., CCH Trade Reg. Rep.
416,879 at 21,901 (FTC 1964), affd 347 F.2d 745
(7th Cir. 1965); Golden Grain Macaroni Company v.
F.T.C., 472 F.2d 882, 887 (9th Cir. 1972). This dual
requirement that both corporations be engaged in com-
merce negates any possibility of concluding that Con-
gress intended to exercise its full constitutional powers
over commerce in Section 7.

The words “engaged in commerce” appear elsewhere
in the Clayton. Act and are uniformly interpreted as
adopting the “in commerce” test of jurisdiction. Section
2(a) of the Clayton Act’* was thus construed in Myers
v. Shell Oil Company, 96 F.Supp. 670, 675 (S.D. Cal.
1951) as follows: -

“In enacting the Sherman Act, Congress in-

- tended to exercise all the power it possessed over

interstate commerce. Congress has the power to
regulate intrastate activities which affect interstate

18Section 2 of the Clayton Act as amended by the Robinson-
Patman Act (Act of June 19, 1936, c. 592, 49 Stat. 1526, 15

U.S.C. §13(a)) provides in pertinent part:
“(a) It shall be unlawful for any person engaged in com-

indirectly, to discriminate in price between different pur-
chasers of commodities of like grade and quality, where
either or any of the purchases involved in such discrimina-
tion are in commerce, * * * where the effect of such dis-
crimination may be substantially to lessen competition or
tend to create a monopoly in any line of commerce * * *,”

commerce or trade, if the regulation of intrastate
activities is necessary and approprate [sic] to pro-
tect the free flow of interstate commerce. In short,
any intrastate activity is subject to the regulatory
power of Congress if it affects interstate commerce
in any way in a substantial manner, and Congress
in enacting the Sherman Act intended it to apply
to such activity or conduct.
“Section 2(a, c, d, f), 15 U.S.C.A. § 13 (a,
c, d, f), and Section 3 of the Robinson-Patman
Act, 15 U.S.C.A. § 13a, contain, however, the
specific language that it shall be unlawful for any
person ‘engaged in commerce’ to do any of the
prescribed acts ‘in the course of such commerce’.
Thus, in enacting the provisions of the Clayton
and Robinson-Patman Acts here under considera-
tion, Congress did not_exercise all of its power over
commerce, but dealt only with persons engaged in
commerce and with restraints in the course of com-
merce.” (Emphasis in original.)
Also in Rosemound Sand and Gravel Co. v. Lambert
Sand and Gravel Co., 469 F.2d 416, 418 (Sth Cir.
1972), the court stated “failure of any party to have
any interstate business disposes of the Clayton Act and
Robinson-Patman Act claims.” It is for this reason that
the courts have held that at least one of the discrimina-

tory sales must cross a state line to fulfill the statutory ©

requirement of Section 2(a) that the sales be “in com-
merce.” Littlejohn v. Shell Oil Company, 483 F.2d
1140, 1144 (Sth Cir. en banc 1973), cert. den. 414
U.S. 1116 (1973); Belliston v. Texaco, Inc., 455 F.2d
175, 178 (10th Cir. 1972), cert. den. 408 U.S. 928
(1972).

oo ee

The jurisdictional. phrase “engaged in commerce” or
“in commerce” appears in other legislation and has uni-
formly been recognized by the Court as ineffective to
establish an “effect on commerce” test of jurisdiction.

In Mitchell v. Lublin, McGaughy & Assoc., 358
U.S. 207 (1959), the Court was called upon to de-
termine whether certain non-professional employees
were “engaged in commerce”, as that phrase was used
in Section 6 of the Fair Labor Standard Act.* The
Court, per Chief Justice Warren, stated:

“We start with the premise that Congress, by
excluding from the Act’s coverage employees whose
activities merely ‘affect commerce,’ indicated its
intent not to make the scope of the Act coextensive
with its power to regulate commerce.” (358 U.S.
at 211). —

In Federal Trade Commission v. Bunte Brothers, Inc.,
312 U.S. 349 (1941) the Court interpreted the words
“in commerce” as they appear in Section 5(a) of the
Federal Trade Commission Act,”” and concluded, per
Mr. Justice Frankfurter:

“This case presents the narrow question of what
Congress did, not what it could do. And we mere-

Prior to its amendment in 1966, Section 6 of the Fair Labor
Standards Act (Act of June 25, 1938, c. 676, 52 Stat. 1060,
29 U.S.C. §206), provided:

“(a) Every employer shall pay to each of his employees
who is engaged in commerce or in the production of goods
for commerce wages at the following rates: * * *”

Section 5(a) of the Federal Trade Commission Act (Act of
September 26, 1914, c. 311, 38 Stat. 719, as amended, 15 U.S.
§45) provides in pertinent part that:

“Unfair methods of competition in commerce, and unfair
or deceptive acts or practices in commerce, are hereby de-
clared unlawful.”

—>

See a wee on Fey ae we wane:
-

OIE EI TN A ISP OR oa

—]2—

ly hold that to read ‘unfair methods of competi-
tion in [interstate] commerce’ as though it meant
‘unfair methods of competition in any way affect-
ing interstate commerce,’ requires, in view of all
of the relevant considerations, much clearer mani-
festation of intention than Congress has furnished.”
(312 U.S. 355).

There is no reason to believe that Congress intended
the phrase “engaged in commerce” to have a broader ;
meaning in 1914 when it enacted the Clayton Act or in

1950 when it amerded the Act than the meaning in-
tended for the phrase in 1938 when it enacted the Fair
Labor Standards Act. Further, those words manifest no
different or broader Congressional intent than the words |
“in commerce” used in the Federal Trade Commission
Act.

Accordingly, it is manifest from the language of the
statute that Congress did not fully exercise its constitu-
tional power to regulate matters affecting commerce in
enacting Section 7 of the Clayton Act.

The Appellant’s Jurisdictional Statement advances
three equally untenable arguments in support of its con-
tention that jurisdiction under Section 7 can be estab-
lished by showing the acts complained of affected com-
merce.

First, the Government refers to the Section 7 lan-
guage which prohibits acquisitions “where in any line of
commerce in any section of the country, the effect of
the acquisition may be substantially to lessen competi-
tion, or tend to create a monopoly” and argues that
this language gives the Court jurisdiction if the “effect
of the acquisition” is to lessen competition substantially
or tend to create a monopoly in a line of commerce.

en, ae

The argument, however, ignores the fact that Section 7
is explicitly limited to acquisitions by a corporation
“engaged in commerce” of the stock of another cor-
poration “engaged also in commerce.” For the Gov-
ernment’s argument to have any validity whatever, it
would be necessary to give no recognition at all to the
phraseology in Section 7 making the section applicable
only when there is an acquisition by a corporation en-
gaged in commerce of the stock of another corporation
engaged in commerce. Congress was remarkably ex-
plicit in defining in the jurisdictional sense those whose
transactions are subject to the prohibitions of the sec-
tion. Unlike other anti-trust laws, which apply without
limitation to the complete spectrum of natural persons
and artificial entities,’* Section 7 is limited at the outset

to corporations, another evidence that Congress did not |

fully exercise“the utmost extent of its constitutional
power over commerce. Congress not only limited the
application of Section 7 to a class consisting solely of
corporations, but further limited that class to corpora-
tions engaged in commerce. It is only after the parties
to the acquisition are determined to be parties made
subject to Section 7 that the transaction can be put
to the test proscribed by the section.

Second, the Government asserts that in 1950 when
Congress strengthened Section 7 to prohibit in their
incipiency anticompetitive activities it must have in-
tended to exercise the full reach of its commerce pow-
er, otherwise its attempt to deal with incipient anticom-
petitive practices would have been weakened. As noted
above, Congress did not change in any way the jurisdic-

'6Western Laundry and Linen Rental Co. y. United States,
424 F.2d 441, 443 (1970), cert. den. 400 U.S. 849 (1970).

PELE AR CRE PRE ote: PIL OTL CESS SP EP OE ar NS oft

aie.

tional requirements of Section 7 when it amended that
statute in 1950. It would be peculiar statutory interpreta-
tion indeed to conclude that Congress intended to ex-
pand the jurisdictional test created by the words “en-
gaged also in commerce” by reenacting those words
without change. Such statutory interpretation is exactly
what the Court condemned in Kirschbaum y. Walling,
316 U.S. 517 (1942), per Mr. Justice Frankfurter, as
follows:

“The history of ‘Congressional legislation regulat-
ing not only interstate commerce as such but also
activities intertwined with it, justifies the generali-
zation that, when the Federal Government takes
over such local radiations in the vast network of
our national economic enterprise and thereby radi- —
cally readjusts the balance of state and national
authority, those charged with the duty of legislat-
ing are reasonably explicit and do not entrust its
attainment to that retrospective expansion of mean-
ing which properly deserves the stigma of judicial
legislation.” (316 U.S. 522).

Third, the Government cites Transamerica Corp. v.
Board of Governors, 206 F.2d 163 (3rd Cir. 1953)
for the proposition that Section 7 represents the broadest |
possible exercise of Congressional power over com-
merce. The most that can be said of that case is that
it held that banking is commerce, a fact recognized in
United States v. Philadelphia National Bank, 374 U.S.
321, 336, n. 12 (1963). Moreover, because commer-
cial banking is of necessity interstate it was conceded
that the acquired: banks were corporations engaged in
commerce. Clearly, there is nothing in Transamerica
Corp. from which it can be argued that language in

—15— .

Section 7 can be disregarded that expressly makes the
sectior applicable only when the acquired corporation is
“engaged also in commerce.”

B. The Purchase of Supplies Originating in Other States Is
Insufficient to Establish Jurisdiction.

The Government contends that the acquired Benton
corporat’ons were engaged in commerce because they
purchased supplies within California which originated
outside of California. It is, of course, fundamental that
goods once in commerce do not remain in commerce in-
definitely. The interstate commerce in goods does ter-
minate. United States v. Employing Plasterers A ss’n, 347
U.S. 186, 189 (1954).

The court below reviewed the voluminous briefs and
affidavits of the parties, applied the rules as to when
commerce in goods ceases, and concluded that none of
the supplies that originated out of California were in
commerce when purchased by the Benton corporations.
The Government’s appeal does not question this. Instead
the Government contends that the simple fact that the
Benton corporations purchased goods originating out-of-
state establishes jurisdiction because such purchases have
been recognized in Sherman Act cases as sufficient to
establish the requisite effect upon interstate commerce.

As noted above, jurisdiction under Section 7 can-
not be established by a showing of an effect on com-
merce. However, even assuming arguendo that it did,
the purchase by the Benton corporations in California
of supplies originating out-of-state is wholly insufficient
to establish jurisdiction under that test. The Sherman
Act cases cited by the Government, Burke v. Ford, 389
U.S. 320 (1967), and United States v. Emploving Plas-
terers Ass'n, 347 U.S. 186 (1954), do not hold that the

a iat

inline

in-state purchase of goods originating out-of-state estab-
lishes Sherman Act jurisdiction; they hold that local re-
straints which do not occur in interstate commerce
come within the scope of the Sherman Act if they
substantially affect interstate commerce.

In the present case the Government failed to plead or
prove any effect, let alone a substantial effect, on
the interstate commerce in janitorial supplies arising
from the acquisition of the Benton corporations. The
complaint alleges only that the “effect of the afore-
said acquisition and merger may be to substantially
lessen competition or tend to create a monopoly in
the sale of janitorial services in Southern California and
the Los Angeles area: . . .” The court below found, and
the Government does not contest, that supplies repre-
sent a minor part of the total costs of providing jani-
torial services, approximately three percent of the total
amounts paid by customers for janitorial services.’

In United States v. Frankfort Distilleries, 324 U.S. :
293 (1945), a Sherman Act case, Mr. Justice Black
noted:

“* * * [The Supreme] Court has on occasion de-
termined that local conduct could be insulated
from the operation of the Anti-Trust laws on the
basis of the purely local aims of a combiriation, in-
sofar as those aims were not motivated by the
purpose of restraining commierce, ‘and where the
means used to achieve the purpose did not directly
touch upon interstate commerce.” (324:U.S. 297).

The effect, if any, of the acquisition of the Benton
corporations upon the interstate commerce in supplies
was neither substantial nor direct. The local purchase of

17Findings, 17.

supplies by the Benton corporations raises no substantial
questions warranting review under either the “effect
on commerce” or “engaged in commerce” jurisdictional
tests.

Cc. The Acquired Benton Corporations Were Not Engaged in
Commerce Merely Because of the Commerce Carried on
by Their Customers,

The Government’s Jurisdictional Statement indicates
that a corporation performing janitorial services for
companies that sell products in interstate and foreign
commerce is itself engaged in commerce for purposes
of Section 7 of the Clayton Act. This simply is not
so. The normal and spontaneous meaning of the words
“another corporation engaged also in commerce” is
that the corporation itself must be engaged in interstate
commerce.

The Court has taught that “interstate commerce is an
intensely practical concept drawn from the normal and
/ aecepted course of business.” United States v. Yellow
Cab Co., 332 U.S. 218, 231 (1947). It is not a practi-
cal concept to consider a local janitorial service corpo-
ration is engaged in the interstate and foreign com-
merce in such products as petroleum, milk and space-
craft simply because the corporation cleans buildings
operated by customers who sell those products in inter-
state and foreign commerce.

As in the case of supplies originating out of state,
the Government contends that the Benton corporations
were engaged in the commerce of their customers be-
cause their acquisition affected that commerce. Here
also, the Government failed to plead or prove any sub-
stantial or direct effect on commerce arising from the
acquisition.

Se eR “

—,

D. The Acquired Benton Corporations Were Not Engaged in
Commerce by Reason of Their Use of Interstate Com-

munications.

The Government’s Jurisdictional Statement further
indicates that a corporation which solicits and nego-
tiates contracts by means of interstate communications
is “engaged in commerce” for purposes of Section 7
of the Clayton Act. Specifically, it is asserted that the
janitorial services contract. with Tishman “was
executed by Tishman executives based in New York”
and a New York Life Insurance contract “was the
product of interstate negotiations.”**

As to this the record shows only a de minimis use
of interstate communications by the acquired Benton
corporations. Their total expenses for out-of-state tele-
phone calls relating to business activities during the
period of eighteen months preceding the acquisition
amounted to only $19.78." A total of 203 interstate
mail items were sent or received by those corporations,
only a few of which related to the solicitation or nego-
tiation of contracts.” The total expenditures during
the eighteen-month period for all of those mail items
would amount to only $22.33, assuming an 11¢ air-
mail stamp was used for each of the 203 items.

Aside from the de minimis nature of the acquired
Benton corporations’ use of interstate communications,
it is clear that in any event jurisdiction cannot be
based upon the mere use of interstate communications.

18Jyrisdictional Statement, page 6.
19Findings, 15.
2 Affidavit of John D. Gaffey.

ee
a: SE wrey PRR TIES * VEE NTI NE TTI ETE ge

,

0 10 Ce eM EN

.

— |

This is illustrated by John Kalin Funeral Home, Inc.
v. Fultz, 313 F.Supp. 435 (W.D. Wash. 1970), aff'd
442 F.2d 1342 (9th Cir. 1971), cert. den. 404 US.
881 (1971), in which the Court stated:

“No authority has been cited or found directly or
indirectly sustaining Sherman Act jurisdiction
based merely upon interstate communications con-
ducted in the regular course of an otherwise pure-
ly local business.” (313 F.Supp. 438-439).

E. The Question Presented in This Case Is Not the Same as
the Question Presented in Gulf Oil Corp. v. Copp Paving,
mr

While in both this case and Gulf Oil Corp. v. Copp

Paving, Inc., No. 73-1012 now pending before this
Court, there is an unwarranted effort to misread Sec-
tion 7 of the Clayton Act, it would serve no purpose
to allow this appeal in order to have the cases heard
together as the Government suggests. In Gulf Oil Corp.
the question is whether the intrastate manufacture and
sale of a commodity used in the construction of an
interstate highway makes the supplier a corporation
“engaged also in commerce.” Unlike Gulf Oil Corp.
there is here no instrumentality of interstate commerce
to which any commodity is furnished. Determination of
the question in this case should not be confused by
having thé cases heard together. The questions involved
in the two cases being different, it would not be useful
or appropriate under Supreme Court Rule 43(5) for
them to be argued or heard together as one case.

x

LRTI T IO LE TT Pe TE BS

<——20—

Conclusion.

Since federal courts have limited jurisdiction the
party seeking to invoke that jurisdiction must plead
and show by preponderance of the evidence facts es-
tablishing that jurisdiction. McNutt v. General Motors,
298 U.S. 178, 189 (1936). The court below ap-
plied the well-established jurisdictional standards of
Section 7 of the Clayton Act to the facts shown by
the Government and properly concluded it lacked juris-
diction. Specifically, the court held it is without juris-
diction in a case arising under Section 7 unless both
the acquired corporation and the acquiring corporation
were engaged in commerce. The Jurisdictional Statement
raises no substantial question of law regarding those
standards warranting review by this Court and points to
no substantial competent evidence that the acquired
corporations in this case were engaged in commerce.
Accordingly, Appellee’s motion to affirm should be
granted.

Respectfully submitted,
Marcus MATTSON,
ANTHONIE M. Voocp,

Attorneys for Appellee.

Of Counsel:
LAWLER, FELIX & HALL.

du the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1974

No. 73-1689
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, APPELLANT
Vv.

AMERICAN BUILDING MAINTENANCE INDUSTRIES

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT
COURT FOR THE CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

MEMORANDUM FOR THE UNITED STATES IN
OPPOSITION TO MOTION TO AFFIRM

' Appellee’s principal legal argument that in Section 7 of
the Clayton Act Congress did not fully exercise its power to
regulate commerce is answered in our jurisdictional state-
ment and our brief amicus curiae in Gulf Oil Corp. v. Copp
Paving Co., No. 73-1012 (a copy of which has been served
upon appellee’s counsel). The Fair Labor Standards Act
cases upon which appellee relies are irrelevant because in
_ that Act Congress did not exercise its power to regulate
local activities affecting commerce (see Kirschbaum Co. v.
_ Walling, 316 U.S. 517), while in Section 7 of the Clayton
Act it did.

We are filing this brief to answer appellee’s contentions
that the particular activities involved in this case did not
significantly affect commerce.

(1)

2

The activities of Benton, the acquired firm, affect com-.
merce because of Benton’s purchase of goods originating
in other states. Appellee’s attempt to avoid this basis for

_ applying the statute on the ground that Benton purchased
through local suppliers (Motion to Affirm, pp. 15-16) is
unsound. The distinction between direct and indirect pur-
chases would be relevant only in determining “flow of com-

. merce” jurisdiction. See Burke v. Ford, 389 U.S. 320, 321;
Rasmussen v. American Dairy Assoc., 472 F.2d 517, 526
(C.A. 9). Both direct and indirect purchases may substan-
tially “affect” commerce. See, e.g., wickard v. Filburn,
317 U.S, 111. |

Appellee also asserts that Beinon'e perchases did not
have a significant effect upon commerce because they rep-
resent a relatively small portion of Benton’s costs*(Motion
to Affirm, p. 16). The effect of Benton’s purchases cannot
be determined on that basis, however; the proper inquiry is
the substantiality of the purchases in dollar amount. Ben-
ton paid more than $150,000 per year to purchase or lease
goods manufactured in other states. Such expenditures rep-
resent a substantial amount of interstate commerce. See
Katzenbach v. McClung, 379 U.S. 294; cf. Fortner Enter-
prises v. U.S. Steel, 394 U.S. 495.!_- |

The services that Benton performed for its customers also
had a significant. effect upon the flow of commerce. Ben-
ton’s customers included several of the country’s leading
corporations, which had substantial interstate and inter-
national sales. The price and quality of the janitorial ser-
vices those corporations purchase necessarily have an im-
pact on their~uperations.

'In Katzenbach v. McClung this Court upheld the application of the
Civil Rights Act of 1964 to a restaurant which purchased $70,000 worth
of meat per year which had originated in other states. All purchases
were made through a local supplier. In Fortner Enterprises the Court
concluded that a tying arrangement involving annual sales of $190,000
represented a substantial volume of commerce in the tied product. The
Court said that “we cannot agree with respondents that a sum of al-:
most $200,000 is paltry or ‘insubstantial’.” Jd. at 502.

_——

3

Finally, although Benton’s janitorial services were per-
formed locally, Benton was nevertheless engaged in inter-
state commerce because it conducted interstate negotiations
in selling its services. Appellee claims that these inter-
state negotiations are not a significant factor since the
cost of the interstate messages was de minimis (Motion to
Affirm, p. 18). We submit that the significant fact is the
existence of such interstate negotiations rather than their

;

cost.

j Ww ’ |
Benton was “engaged in commerce” within the meaning
of Section 7 of the Clayton Act for the reasons stated here-,
in and in the jurisdictional statement. .

It is therefore respectfully submitted ‘that the motion
to affirm be denied and probable jurisdiction noted.
: a
RoserT H. Bork,
Solicitor General.

A

DECEMBER 1974. '

DO5J-1974-12

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386414_0463%3A03. Public record. Not legal advice.
