# Amicus Curiae Brief — Albemarle Paper Co. v. Moody

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386414_0443%3A14

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1974
- **Citation:** 419 U.S. 1068

## Text

Questions presented

INDEX

Interest of the United States and the Equal
Employment Opportunity Commission -__._.

Statement
Summary of argument

Argument:

I. The court of appeals correctly heid that
back pay should be awarded to the iden-
tifiable victims of unlawful employ-
ment discrimination here to compensate
them for their economic injury caused

by the discrimination
A.

The congressional policy reflected

Page

11

17

in Title VII requires that victims ~

of employment discrimination be
awarded back pay in compensation
for their economic loss unless spe-
cial circumstances would make
such an award unjust to the em-
ployer

Neither the absence of bad faith
non-compliance nor the tardiness
of plaintiffs’ back pay claim justi-
fies denying an award of back pay
to the injured victims of the dis-
criminatory employment practices
Oe

18

27

Argument—Continued

C.

Back pay claims should be deter-
mined for all class members who
have sustained economic loss,
whether or not they filed individ-
ual charges with the Equal Em-
ployment Opportunity Commis-
sion

H. Albemarle’s testing program is unlaw-
ful because its tests operate to exclude
blacks and have not been shown to bear
a demonstrable relationship to success-
ful performance of the jobs for which

they are used

A.

B.

Conclusion

Albemarle’s tests have a dispropor-
tionate adverse impact on blacks___

The company’s testing program
was not shown to be job-related __
1. The court of appeals correctly
looked to the EEOC Guidelines
for guidance in assessing the
adequacy of Albemarle’s vali-
dation study

2. Albemarle’s validation study
was not conducted in accord-
ance with professionally accept-
ed standards _ i

3. The study does not, in any

event, demonstrate that the
tests are related to the jobs for
which they are used

ne oe

Page

31

34

35

41

It
CITATIONS
_ Cases: ’ Page
Baxter v-Savannah Sugar Refining Corp.,
495 F. 2d 4387 27
Bowe v. Colgate-Palmolive Co., 416 F. 2d
711- 20, 21, 31
Carey v. Greyhound Bus Co., 500 F. 2d
NI ce ee 27
Duhon v. Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co.,
494 F. 2d 817 42
Franks v. Bowman Transportation Co., |
495 F. 2d 398, certiorari granted on
other issues, March 24, 175, No. 74-
728 31, 42
Griggs v. Duke Power Co., 401 U.S. 424. 11, 14,
28, 34, 36,
39, 42, 48
Head v. Timken Roller Bearing Co., 486
FO Bee sattietene rae Me ry Et
Hecht Co. v. Bowles, 321 U.S. 321. 12, 19, 20
J. I. Case Co. v. Borak, 377 U.S. 426___ 24
Johnson v. Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co.,
2 Sf See cee somone 21, 27, 32, 42
Kober v. Westinghouse Electric Corp.,
480 F. 2d 240 26
Lawn v. United States, 355 U.S. 339__ 36

LeBlane v. Southern Bell Telephone &
Telegraph Co., 460 F. 2d 1228, certio-
rari denied, 409 U.S. 990 _.... 26
Louisiana v. United States, 380 U.S. 145_ 24
Manning v. International Union, 466 F.
2d 812, certiorari denied sub nom.
Manning v. General Motors Corp., 410 -
U.S. 946 26

Miller v. International Paper Co., 408 F.
2d 283 31

Cases—Continued Page
Mitchell v. Robert DeMario Jewelry, Inc.,
361 U.S. 288 12,19

National. Labor Relations Board v. J. H.
Rutter-Rex Mfg. Co., 396 U.S. 258. 22, 27
Newman v. Piggie Park Enterprises, Inc.,

390 U.S. 400 18, 24, 25, 28
Oatis v. Crown Zellerbach Corp., 398 F.

2d 496 31
Pettway v. American Cast Iron Pipe Co.,

494 F. 2d 211 21, 27, 32
Phelps Dodge Corp. v. National Labor

Relations Board, 313 U.S. 177 ___._.. 12, 22
Porter v. Warner Holding Co., 328. U.S.

395 19
Robinson v. Lorillard Corp., 444 F. 2d

791 i 10, 21, 27, 30
Rogers v. International Paper Co., 9

[CCH] EPD § 9865 42
Rosen v.. Public Service Electric and Gas

Co., 409- F. 2d 775 30
Rosen vi Public Service Electric and Gas

Co., 477 F. 2d 90 _ 21, 27
Rowe v. General Motors Corp., 457 F. 2d

348 43
Schaeffer v. San Diego Yellow Cabs, Inc.,

462 F. 2d 1002 26

Sprogis v. United Air Lines, Inc., 444 F.

2d 1194, certiorari denied, 404 U.S.

991 21, 27
United States v. Burr, 25 Fed. Cas. 30__. 20
United States v. Georgia Power Co., 474

F. 2d 906 21, 40, 41
United States v. Hayes International
- Corp., 456 F. 2d 112 30

N
Cases—Continued Page
United States v. N.L. Industries, Inc., nee
479 F. 2d 354 _.... 23, 27
United States v. St. Louis-San Francisco
Ry. Co., 464 F. 2d 301 - 27
Vulcan Society v. Civil Service Commis-
sion, 490 F. 2d 387 15, 40
Waters v. Wisconsin Steel Works, 502 F.
2d 1309 s 27
Young v. Edgcomb Steel Co., 499 F. 2d
__. Sethe 42
Statutes :
Civil Rights Act of 1964, 78 Stat. 253, as
amended, 42 U.S.C. 2000e, et seq. 2,3
Section 706, 42 U.S.C. 2000e-5 __.. 31
Section 706(g), 42 U.S.C. (Supp.
III) 2000e-5(g) 2, 17, 19; 2,
21, 22, 23
Section casean ee 42 U.S.C. 2000e-12
(b) - 26
Equal Employment Opportunity Act of
A 1972, 86 Stat. 103 ; 21
National Labor Relations Act, Section 10
(c), 29 U.S.C. 160(c) - ae 22

Miscellaneous:

APA, Standards for Educational and Psy-
chological Tests and Manuals (1966)... 39, 42,
44

Civil Service Commission Regulations (37
Fed. Reg. 21557-21559) 40, 42, 45

vI

Miscellaneous—Continued Page
118 Cong. Rec.:
7166-7169 ‘ : 21
a CSYEEe Raa sree 12, 21, 30, 33
7563-7567 21
7565 12, 21, 30, 33
Department of Labor Order: .
41 C.F.R. Part 60-3 ___ 40
41 C.F.R. 60-3.6 : 42
ee ee En 26
34 Fed. Reg. 13368 26
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure:
Rule 53 32
Rule 54(c) Pa 30

Guidelines on Employee Selection Proce-
dures:

29 C.F.R. Part 1607 34, 36
29 C.F.R. 1607.4(c) 42
29 C.F.R. 1607.4(c) (1) ‘45
pete Bs oe fo) 37, 44, 47
29 C.F.R. 1607.5(b) (3) 36, 42
29 C.F.R. 1607.5(b) (4) — 37
S. Rep. No. 415, 92d Cong., Ist Sess. 33

Iu the Supreme Court of the United States

OcTOBER TERM, 1974

No. 74-389
ALBEMARLE PAPER COMPANY, ET AL., PETITIONERS
Vv.

JOSEPH P. Moopy, ET AL.

No. 74-428

HAuirax LocAL No. 425, UNITED PAPERMAKERS
AND PAPERWORKERS, AFL-CIO, PETITIONER

uv.

JOSEPH P. Moopy, ET AL.

ON WRITS OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES AND THE
EQUAL EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITY COMMISSION
AS AMICI CURIAE

2
QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether a district court, in determining
whether to award back pay to members of an iden-
tifiable class of persons who have suffered economic
injury because of racially discriminatory employment
practices in violation of Title VII of the Civil Rights
Act of 1964, must exercise its discretion in a manner
consistent with the remedial purposes of the Act.

2. Whether petitioner Albemarle’s employment
selection tests are unlawful because they have a dis-
proportionate adverse impact on blacks and have not
been shown to be substantially job-related.

INTEREST OF THE UNITED STATES AND THE
EQUAL EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITY COMMISSION

Pursuant to Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of
1964 and Executive Order 11246, the Equal Employ-
ment Opportunity Commission, the Attorney Gen-
eral, and other branches of the federal government
have responsibility for enforcement of federal laws
providing for equal employment opportunities. Al-
though this case was brought by private plaintiffs,
the issues concerning back pay and testing raised
here are similar to issues that arise in suits brought
by the government. The resolution of the issues
presented in this case will directly affect the govern-
ment’s enforcement responsibilities.

STATEMENT

1. On August 25, 1966, respondents, after they
had received a right-to-sue letter from the Equal

3 ~

Employment Opportunity Commission, filed a class
action’ against their employer, Albemarle Paper
Company (petitioner in No. 74-389), and their union,
Halifax Local No. 425 (petitioner in No. 74-428),°
alleging that the defendants were engaged in racially
discriminatory employment practices in Violation of
Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended,
42 U.S.C. 2000e, et seg. The complaint sought a
permanent injunction against those practices and
prayed for “such other additional relief ag may ap-
pear to the Court to be equitable and just” (A. 10).

The alleged discriminatory employment practices
took place at Albemarle’s paper mill in Roanoke
Rapids, North Carolina. The principal business of
the paper mill is the production of kraft paper, pulp,

1The district court defined the classes represented by re-
spondents as “(1) all Negroes employed at the Roanoke
Rapids plant of Albemarle Paper Company as of June 30,
1967; (2) all Negroes employed at said plant after June 30,
1967, except those whose initial permanent positions were not
job classifications limited to or predominantly staffed by
Negroes; and (3) all Negroes who may hereafter apply for or
be employed at said Roanoke Rapids plant who may be affected
by the alleged racially discriminatory employment practices
of the defendants” (A. 474).

2 The original three defendants were Albemarle Paper Com-
pany (Virginia), the United Papermakers and Paperworkers,
and Papermakers Halifax Local 425. The international union
was subsequently dismissed as a defendant (A. 16-20). In
1968, the company’s assets were sold and transferred in a
series of transactions. As a result, Albemarle Paper Company
(Delaware), Hoerner Waldorf Corporation, Ethyl Corpora-
tion, and First Alpaco Corporation were joined as defendants
(A, 30-39).

X

\

4

and allied products (A. 88). The mill has 11 func-
tionally discrete departments (A. 477, 514), and each
department has one or more functionally related lines
of progression consisting of several job categories (A.
88, 477). The mill. has 17 lines of progression and
more than 100 job classifications (A. 477, 514). In
all but exceptional circumstances, employees. enter
a line of progression at the lowest paying job, and
vacancies are filled by promotions from within each
line of progression on the basis of seniority and
ability (A. 477).

In addition to the lines of progression, the mill,
prior to 1968, had two “extra boards”—reservoirs
of employees who were available to staff the lowest-
level jobs in the lines of progression. The General
Extra Board supplemented the skilled lines of pro-
gression; the Utility Extra Board supplemented the
unskilled lines of progression (A. 485). The extra
boards were staffed by new employees and employees
who had been laid off from other jobs and were await-
ing recall (ibid.). In 1968, the two extra boards
were merged (A. 486).

Promotions and demotions in the plant are gov-
erned by job seniority. When a vacancy occurs, the
first opportunity to fill it is ordinarily given to the
employee in the next lowest job category within the
line of progression who has the greatest seniority in
that job, if he possesses the necessary ability, ex-
perience, and training (A. 477-478). oa

Albemarle uses personnel tests in selecting appli-
cants for employment in certain jobs. Since 1963,

5

applicants for 18 lines of progression in eight depart-
ments* have generally been required to have a high
school education and to score successfully on the
Revised Beta Examination—a nonverbal test devel-
oped during World War I to measure the intelli-
gence of illiterate and non-English-speaking persons
—and the Wonderlic A or B Series examinations—
short, verbal tests used to measure general mental
ability (A. 100-101, 487-488, 514).

2. After a trial, the district court found that
“(p]rior to January 1, 1964, Albemarle’s lines of
progression were strictly segregated on the basis of
race” (A. 480). Approximately 86 of the 100 jobs
at the plant were “traditionally reserved for white
persons” (A. 477). The court found that “[t]hose
lines of progression to which black employees were
traditionally assigned were lower paying than the
‘white’ lines of progression” and that “[t]he racial
identifiability of jobs and departments in lines of
progression were maintained subsequent to the effec-
tive date of Title VII (July 2, 1965)” (A. 480). The
extra boards were also segregated on the basis of
race. As of June 1967, there were 62 white and two

* These figures were derived by the district court and the
court of appeals from a stipulation filed on July 25, 1971 (A.
86-106). Altough the court of appeals stated that examinations
are required for employment in 14 lines of progression (A.
514), both the stipulation and the district court’s opinion
indicate that 18 is the correct number. Albemarle states (Br.
13) that, as a result of changes in mill operations, the tests
were administered, by the time of trial, to applicants for only
eight lines of progression in four departments.

- 6

black employees assigned to the General Extra Board; *
no whites and 50 blacks were assigned to the Utility
Extra Board (A. 484-485).

Although a 1968 collective bargaining agreement
effected some “changes in the lines of progression
{that] had the effect of eliminating, to some extent,
their strictly segregated composition,” “black em-
ployees were still ‘locked’ in the lower paying job
classifications” (A. 485). Similarly, while the two
extra boards were merged in 1968, “[e]mployees on \
the merged board still retain recall rights to jobs
and lines of progression which they held prior to
being reduced to the call board,” so that “black
employees are recalled to black jobs and white em-
ployees are recalled to white jobs” (A. 486).

The court concluded that “Albemarle practiced
racially discriminatory employment practice[s] prior
to July 2, 1965,” and that “the effects of this dis-
crimination has [sic] been perpetuated” (A. 495-
496). The court stated (A. 496):

Although overt racial discrimination ceased sub-
sequent to the effective date of Title VII, the
effects of this racial discrimination have not been
eradicated. The job seniority system has re-
sulted in blacks occupying the lower paying .
positions within an integrated line of progres-
sion. Other lines of progression remain essen-
tially segregated because of the inability of
black employees to meet the educational and
testing requirements to transfer into other, high-

er paying lines of progression.

7

The court ordered the defendants “to abolish the ex-
isting seniority system based substantially’ on job
seniority” and “to implement and permanently con-
tinue a system of plant seniority * * * so that * *.”
when employees of the affected class are competing
with employees not of the affected’ class, and the
qualifications of the competitors are relatively equal,
plant seniority rather than job seniority shall gov-
ern” (A. 499-500). |

The district court declined to award back pay to
members of the class who had suffered economic in-
jury as a result of the discriminatory employment
practices that’ locked them into the lower paying
jobs to which they had been assigned on the basis
of race. The court rested its denial of back pay on
two considerations. First, “there was no evidence
of bad faith non-compliance with the Act” (A. 498).*
Second, the plaintiffs did not, specifically seek back
pay in their complaint * and did not assert a back
pay claim until “nearly five years after the institu-
tion of this action” (ibid.). “[T]he defendants

‘The court stated that Albemarle had begun in 1964 to re-
cruit blacks for its Maintenance Apprentice Program, that it
merged some lines of progression on its own initiative and
took certain steps to correct abuses in accordance with de-
veloping judicial interpretations of the Act, and that it paid
higher wages for all levels of employment than did other in-

dustries in the area (A. 498).

5In their memorandum in opposition to a motion for sum-
mary judgment, plaintiffs stated that “ {[nJo money damages
are sought for any member of the class not before the court”
(A. 18-14).

8

would be substantially prejudiced by the granting of
‘such affirmative relief,” the court stated, because they

“might have chosen to exercise unusual zeal in hav-
ing this court determine their rights at'an earlier
date had they known that back pay would be at issue”
' (ibid.).

The court also rejected venililibate’ , contention
that Albemarle’s testing requirements are unlawful
because they have a disproportionate adverse impact
on blacks and were not shown to be related to job
performance. It concluded that “[t}he personnel tests
administered at the plant have undergone validation
studies and have been proven to be job related” (A.
497).

' The validation study conducted by Albemarle cov-
ered 10 job groups in 8 of the 13 lines of progression
for which the tests are required (A. 514). Albe-
marle’s expert conducted no. job analysis of the jobs
covered by the study.’ The sample of employees
‘tested for the study were selected from the top and
middle ranges of the lines of progression (A. 490).
Their scores on each of the three tests use by Albe-
marle—Beta, Wonderlic A, and Wonderlic B—were
compared with job performance ratings assigned to
them by two supervisors, who rated them according
to this standard: “Excluding a man’s attitude, just
how well the guy can do the job when he’s feeling’
right” (A. 195, 514-515). The study found “[s]ig-

° The siiiat spent only about a half day at the plant’ (A.
174). He had no written job descriptions (ibid.) and did not
speak with any supervisors while he was at the mill (A. 175).

4

“

9

nificant correlations * * * for at least one of the three
tests investigated for nine of the ten groups of jobs”
(A. 431). The use of all three tests was found valid
only for one of the 10 job groups, and the use of the
Beta together with either Wonderlic A or Wonderlic
B—the use made of the tests by Albemarle ‘“—was
found valid only for two of the 10 job groups (A.
432).

On the basis of that. validation study, the district
court found that “{t]he defendants have carried the
burden of proof” in demonstrating the job-related-
ness of the company’s testing program (A. 497). The
court found, however, that “the high school education
requirement used in conjunction with the testing re-
quirements is unlawful in that ‘the personnel tests
alone are adequate to measure the mental ability and.
reading skills required for the job classifications”
(A. 497). It accordingly enjoined Albemarle from
“requiring a high school education as a prerequisite
for employment, promotion or transfer” (A. 502).

3. The court of appeals reversed with respect to
the back pay and testing issues (A. 512-537).’

On the back pay issue, the court held that neither
plaintiffs’ delay in making a claim for back pay nor
the lack of evidence of bad faith noncompliance with

7 All applicants are given the Beta examination and both
series of the Wonderlic test. They are required to score
_ gatisfactorily both on the Beta and on either the Wonderlic
A or the Wonderlic B (A. 220).

* Petitioners did not appeal any aspect of the district

court’s order.

10

the Act “is sufficient to justify the district court’s
refusal to award back pay” (A. 520). Relying on
its rejection of similiar contentions in Robinson v.
Lorillard Corp., 444 F. 2d 791, the court of appeals
reasoned that Albemarle was not substantially preju-
diced by the plaintiffs’ delay in seeking back pay and
that a showing of bad faith is not required for an
award of back pay, because the award is designed
not to penalize the employer but to compensate the
victims of the discrimination for their tangible eco-
nomic loss.

The court rejected the contention that the denial
of back pay should nevertheless be sustained as
within the discretion of the district court. “Where
a district court fails to exercise discretion with an
eye to the purposes of the Act, it must be reversed”
(A. 523). The court stated that, in view of “the
compensatory nature of a back pay award and the
strong congressional policy embodied in Title VIT’—
which favors making the victims of the unlawful
discrimination economically whole so far as possible—
“a plaintiff or a complaining class who is successful
in obtaining an injunction under Title VII of the
Act should ordinarily be awarded back pay unless
special circumstances would render such an award
unjust? (A. 523-524). It held that “there are no such
special’ circumstances here” (A. 524).

With respect to testing, the court stated: “The

effect of the district court’s approval of Albemarle’s
procedure is to approve a validation study
done without job analysis, to allow Albemarle to

11

require tests for 6 lines of progression where there
has been no validation study at all, and to allow
Albemarle to require a person to pass two tests for
entrance into 7 lines of progression when only one
of those tests was validated for that line of progres-
sion. We think this was error” (A. 515). The court
concluded that the tests were not shown to have
“a manifest relationship” to the jobs for which they
are used by Albemarle (A. 516). Since “[t]he plain-
tiffs made’ a sufficient showing below that Albemarle’s
testing procedures have a racial impact” (A. 515),
and since Albemarle failed to show that the tests are
substantially job related, it followed under Griggs v.
Duke Power Co., 401 U.S. 424, that the-testing pro-
cedure is unlawful.”

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
I

A. When a district court finds that an employer
ora labor union has intentionally engaged in unlaw-
ful employment practices, it may enjoin those prac-
tices and may “order such affirmative action as may
be appropriate, which may include * * * reinstate-
ment or hiring of employees, with or without back
pay” (42 U.S.C. (Supp. III) 2000e-5(g)). The
court’s discretion with respect to back pay awards
must, however, be exercised in accordance with “the

® Judge Boreman dissented on the testing issue (A. 524-
582), and Judge Bryan dissented on the back pay issue (A.
582-537).

12

large objectives of the Act” (Hecht Co. v. Bowles,
321 U.S. 321, 331), for it is the duty of a court of
equity “to provide complete relief in light of the
statutory purposes” (Mitchell v. Robert DeMario
Jewelry, Inc., 361 U.S. 288, 292).

The objectives of Title VII are to eliminate dis-
criminatory employment practices and, so far as pos-
sible, to compensate the victims of employment dis-
crimination for their economic loss caused by (the
discrimination. The district court’s duty “to fashion
the most complete-relief possible” (see 118 Cong. Rec.
7168, 7565) upon a finding of employment discrim-
ination ordinarily means that it must both enjoin
the unlawful practices and award back pay to the
injured victims. “Only thus can there be a restora-
tion of the situation, as nearly as possible, to that
which would have obtained but for the illegal discrim-
ination” (Phelps Dodge Corp. v. National Labor Re-
lations Board, 313 U.S. 177, 194). Moreover, the
reasonably certain prospect that back pay will be
awarded provides an important economic incentive
for employers and unions to comply voluntarily with
the provisions of Title VII and thereby to bring a
prompt end to employment discrimination.

It follows that the Act’s policies of making the
victims whole and deterring future discrimination re-
quire back pay to be awarded to the injured em-
ployees unless, for substantial reasons that are con-
sistent with the Act’s purposes, awarding back pay
would be unjust to the employer or the union. That is
the standard that the court of appeals applied here

13

and that this Court applied with respect to awards
of counsel fees under Title II of the Act in Newman
v. Piggie Park Enterprises, Inc., 390 U.S. 400, 402.

B. The district court’s reasons for denying back
pay in this case do not satisfy that standard. Since
the remedial purpose of Title VII is to compensate
the injured victims of employment discrimination and
not to punish the employer, the absence of “bad faith
non-compliance” (A. 498) does not justify denying
back pay. A requirement that injured employees
prove malice or deliberate recalcitrance would be
an unwarranted obstacle to effective relief and would
weaken the incentive for voluntary compliance by
making back pay awards depend upon the applica-
tion of an uncertain, subjective standard. This Court
rejected a similar standard for the award of counsel
fees in Newman v. Piggie Park Enterprises, Inc.,
supra, and it should reject it here as well.

Nor was the plaintiffs’ delay in asserting a back
pay claim on behalf of the entire class of injured
employees a proper basis for denying back pay. The
defendants were aware of that claim at least one
year prior to trial, and their defenses to the claim
were identical to their defenses with respect to in-
junctive relief. There is no foundation for the dis-
trict court’s speculation that the defendants “might
have chosen to exercise unusual zeal” (A. 498) in
expediting a trial if they had known of the back pay
claim earlier, nor is there any support for petitioners’
assertion that discovery was made more difficult by
plaintiffs’ delay. In the absence of a showing of sub-

14

stantial prejudice, that delay did not affect the dis-
trict court’s duty to award complete relief..

C. Back pay relief is not limited to those mem-
bers of the class who have filed individual charges
with EEOC. The filing of a single charge alleging
unlawful employment practices fully satisfies the pur-
poses of Title VII’s filing requirement by putting
the employer on notice of the charge and invoking
EEOC’s conciliation functions. There is no reason
to require the filing of numerous identical claims.
Congress considered and rejected precisely such a
requirement when it enacted the 1972 amendments
to Title VII.

i

A. That Albemarle’s tests operate disproportion-
ately to-exclude blacks was implicit in the district
court’s lengthy discussion concerning the job-related-
ness of the tests and was the subject of an explicit
finding by the court of appeals (A. 515). Albemarle
argues that the plaintiffs failed to make an adequate
showing that the tests have a racially disparate im-
pact, but that issue was not presented in the pe-
tition for a writ of certiorari and is not properly
before this Court. In .any event, the record supports
the court of appeals’ finding.

B. The court of appeals correctly concluded that
Albemarle did not carry its burden of showing that
its present use of the tests “have a manifest rela-
tionship to the employment in question” (Griggs v.
Duke Power Co., 401 U.S. 424, 482). In making

¢?

15

that determination, the court of appeals properly
looked to the EEOC Guidelines as “a helpful sum-
mary of professional testing standards” (Vulcan So-
ciety v. Civil Service Commission, 490 F. 2d 387,
394, n. 8 (C.A. 2)) and made proper use of the
Guidelines in assessing the adequacy of Albemarle’s
test validation study.

In a Title VII case within the scope of EEOC’s
enforcement jurisdiction, it is particularly appropri-
ate for a court to rely upon the professional ex-
pertise reflected in the Guidelines. And where, as
here, tiie pertinent sections of the Guidelines ac-
curately summarize the professionally accepted stand-
ards for test validation and no showing is made that
there are significant differences of opinion within the
profession, an employer whose validation study de-
parts from the Guidelines should bear the heavy bur-
den of showing that the departure was justified and
that the study was nevertheless adequate to prove
that the tests are job-related.

Albemarle’s study was not conducted in accord-
ance with the Guidelines, and the company neither
justified the departure nor demonstrated that the
study was otherwise adequate. Albemarle’s expert
failed to conduct a job analysis to determine the skills
and abilities required for successful performance of
the jobs he studied; under generally recognized pro-
fessional standards, a job analysis is an essential
first step in a proper employment test validation
study. Its absence in Albemarle’s study made it nec-

16

essary to rely on a vague, subjective standard for
supervisory ratings of employees and made it impos-
sible to tell whether the abilities rated by the super-
visors and measured by the tests are the ones that
are necessary to perform the jobs at the mill.

The study also departed from professional stand-
ards because Albemarle’s expert did not take precau-
tions to ensure that the tests were administered under
controlled and standardized conditions and that the
raters were kept unaware of the employees’ test
scores. Moreover, the jobs studied were at the higher
levels in the plant, although applicants for employ-
ment naturally begin work at the lower levels. Al-
bemarle did not show that it was reasonable to
validate the tests for the jobs studied rather than
those that a new employee would perform.

Even if the study had been conducted properly,
however, its results do not show that the tests are
related to the jobs for which they are used. The
study covered only eight of the 13 lines of progres-
sion for which tests are required, and it found cor-
relations supporting Albemarle’s present use of the
tests for only two of the 10 job groups studied. Al-
bemarle’s claim that it is necessary to ensure that
all applicants are qualified for each line of progres-
sion in the plant is not supported by the record.

17
ARGUMENT
I

THE COURT OF APPEALS CORRECTLY HELD
THAT BACK PAY SHOULD BE AWARDED TO
THE IDENTIFIABLE VICTIMS OF UNLAWFUL
EMPLOYMENT DISCRIMINATION HERE TO COM-
PENSATE THEM FOR THEIR ECONOMIC INJURY
CAUSED BY THE DISCRIMINATION

The district court found that petitioners engaged
in unlawful discriminatory employment practices that
confined the black employees at Albemarle’s paper
mill to the lower paying, less desirable jobs to which
they had been assigned on the basis of their race (A.
480-486, 496). The court was therefore authorized
under Section 706(g) of the Act, 42 U.S.C. (Supp.
III) 2000e-5(g), to enjoin the unlawful practices
and to “order \such affirmative action as may be ap-
propriate, which may include * * * reinstatement or
hiring of employees, with or without back pay * * *.”
Although the victims of petitioners’ racially discrim~
inatory practices suffered tangible economic loss as
a result of the discrimination, the district court re-
fused to award them compensatory back pay because
it found “no evidence of bad faith non-compliance
with the Act” and because respondents’ initial fail-
ure specifically to request back pay on behalf of the
class they represent may have induced petitioners not
to exercise “unusual zeal in having this court deter-
mine their rights at an earlier date” (A. 498).

The court of appeals held that the district court’s
denial of back pay for those reasons was not a proper

18

exercise of its discretion under the Act. That discre-
tion, the court stated, must be exercised “with an eye
to the purposes of the Act” (A. 523) and in a way
that gives the fullest possible effect, consistent with
fairness, to the congressional policy of making whole
the victims of employment discrimination.

Petitioners contend (Albemarle Br. 50-61; Halifax
Br. 21-33) that the court of appeals unduly restricted
the scope of the district court’s statutory discretion
in determining whether to award back pay and that
the district court’s refusal to award back pay in this
case should have been sustained under “traditional
equitable principles” (Albemarle Br. 53). Albemarle
also argues (Br. 61-66) that back pay may not, in
any event, be awarded to individual members of the
affected class of injured employees who have not
themselves filed charges with the Equal Employment
Opportunity Commission. In our view, petitioners are
wrong on both counts.

A. The Congressional Policy Reflected In Title VII.
Requires That Victims Of Employment Discrimina-
tion Be Awarded Back Pay In Compensation For
Their Economic Loss Unless Special Circumstances
Would Make Such An Award Unjust To The Em-
ployer

The issue here is not whether the district courts
have discretion to award or withhold back pay, for
the Act clearly commits that decision to the sound
discretion of the trial judge. Nor is the issue wheth-
er that discretion “is governed by traditional equi-
table principles” (Albemarle Br. 53); Congress in-

19

tended in Section 706(g) to invest the courts with
full, traditional equity jurisdiction to fashion effec-
tive relief upon a finding of unlawful employment
practices. Cf. Porter v. Warner Holding Co., 328
U.S. 395, 398, 400; Mitchell v. Robert DeMario
Jewelry, Inc., 361 U.S. 288, 291-292.

The issue, rather, is the extent to which the district
courts’ exercise of discretion under the Act is cir-
cumscribed by, and must be responsive to, the legis-
lative objectives of Title VII. It is settled, of course,
that traditional equity jurisdiction does not empower
a court to take whatever action it wishes. Discre-
tion must be exercised according to appropriate
standards. In the enforcement of a statutory scheme,
the courts must exercise their discretion “in light of
_ the large objectives of the Act”; their discretionary
remedial determinations must “refiect an acute
awareness” of the congressional policy (Hecht Co. v.
Bowles, 321 U.S. 321, 331). It is “the historic power
of equity to provide complete relief in light of the
statutory purposes” (Mitchell v. Robert DeMario
Jewelry, Inc., supra, 361 U.S.-at 292).

Albemarle thus properly concedes that a district
court’s discretion under Section 706(g) of the Civil
Rights Act of 1964 “must be exercised consistently
with legislative objectives” (Br. 53). It seeks to avoid
the thrust of that principle, however, by arguing
that the legislative objective was “to leave resolution
of complex remedial problems to the traditional, dis-
cretionary powers of the federal courts of equity”
(Br. 54).

20

But that argument begs the question. It merely
restateg,a proposition that no one disputes—that the
district courts have discretion in determining whether
to award back pay. As Chief Justice Marshall stated
long ago, to say that the matter is within a court’s
discretion means that it is addressed not to the
court’s “inclination, but to its judgment; and its
judgment is to be guided by sound legal principles”

tives of the Act” (Hecht Co. v. Bowles;>stpra, 321
U.S. at 331) in accordance with which that discre-
tion must be exercised?

The large objectives of Title VII are to eliminate
discriminatory employment practices and, as far as
possible, to restore the victims of employment. dis-
crimination to the situation they would have been
in but for the discrimination. “The clear purpose of
Title VII is to bring an end to the proscribed dis-
criminatory practices and to make whole, in a pecu-
niary fashion, those who have suffered by it” (Bowe
v. Colgate-Palmolive Co., 416 F. 2d 711, 720 (C.A.
7)).

Albemarle’s contention.that “the Congressional em-
phasis was on the prospective elimination of discrim-
inatory practices and not on reparations” (Br. 54)
rests on its inference from the word “may” in the
statutory phrase “may include * * * reinstatement
or hiring of employees, with or without back pay”
(Section 706(g)). But that inference is unjustified.
The same word is used in connection with injunctive

21

relief: “the court may enjoin the respondent from
engaging in such unlawful practice” (emphasis add-
ed). Every court of appeals that has considered the
question has correctly concluded that the Act’s pur-
poses are both to eliminate employment discrimina-
tion and to compensate the victims.”

The “make whole” purpose of Title VII is con-
firmed by the legislative history of the Equal Em-
ployment Opportunity Act of 1972, 86 Stat. 103,
which reenacted Section 706(g) with changes not
relevant here. The Section-by-Section Analysis of the
1972 Act, presented to the House and the Senate at
the time the Conference Report on the Act was sub-
mitted to each body (118 Cong. Rec. 7166-7169, 7563-
7567), states with respect to Section 706(g) (id. at
7168, 7565; emphasis added) :

The provisions of this subsection are intended
to give the courts wide discretion exercising
their equitable powers to fashion the most com-
plete relief possible. In dealing with the present
section 706(g) the courts have stressed that the
scope of relief under that section of the Act is
intended to make the victims of unlawful dis-

10 See, ¢.g., Rosen Vv. Public Service Electric and Gas Co.,
477 F. 2d 90, 96 (C.A. 3); Robinson v. Lorillard Corp., 444
F. 2d 791, 804 (C.A. 4); Pettway v. American Cast Iron Pipe
Co., 494 F. 2d 211, 252 (C.A. 5); Johnson v. Goodyear Tire
& Rubber Co., 491 F. 2d 1364, 1875 (C.A. 5); United States
v. Georgia Power Co., 474 F. 2d 906, 921 (C.A. 5); Head v.
Timken Roller Bearing Co., 486 F. 2d 870, 876 (C.A. 6);
Bowe v. Colgate-Palmolive Co., supra, 416 F. 2d at 720;
Sprogis v. United Air Lines, Inc., 444 F. 2d 1194, 1202 (C.A.
7), certiorari denied, 404 U.S. 991.

crimination whole, and that the attainment of
this objective rests not only upon the elimination
of the particular unlawful employment practice
complained of, but also requires that persons
aggrieved by the consequences and effects of the
unlawful employment practice be, so far as pos-
sible, restored to a position where they would
have been were it not for the unlawful discrimi
nation.

Injunctive relief serves the purpose of eliminating
the discriminatory practices prospectively. An award
of back pay serves the purpose of making the victims
financially whole. In view of the Act’s objectives, the
district court’s duty “to fashion the most complete
relief possible” (ibid.) ordinarily means that it must
both enjoin the unlawful practices and award back
pay to those who have suffered financial injury as
a consequence of the discrimination. As this Court
said with respect to back pay awards under Section
10{c) of the National Labor Relations Act, which
was the model for Section 706(g) of the Civil Rights
Act of 1964, “compensation for the loss of wages”
is “generally require[d]” to effectuate the policies of
that Act, because “[o]nly thus can there be a restora-
tion of_the situation, as nearly as possible, to that
which would have obtained but for the illegal dis-
crimination” (Phelps Dodge Corp. v. National Labor
Relations Board, 313 U.S. 177, 194). See also Na-
tional Labor Relations Board v. J. H. Rutter-Rex
Mfg. Co., 396 U.S. 258, 263.

Moreover, compelling practical considerations sup-
port the view that back pay should normally be

28

awarded to redress proven injuries. The reasonably
certain prospect that back pay. will be awarded pro-
vides the only substantial economic incentive to en-
courage voluntary compliance with Title VII and
therefore a swift end to unlawful employment dis-
crimination. Back pay awards “provide the spur or
catalyst which causes employers and unions to self-
examine and to self-evaluate their employment prac-
tices and to endeavor to eliminate, so far as possible,
the last vestiges of an unfortunate and ignominious
page in this country’s history” (United States v.
N.L. Industries, Inc., 479 F. 2d 354, 379 (C.A. 8)).

An employer or union is less likely to make a seri-
ous attempt to eliminate discriminatory practices or
practices that perpetuate the effects of past discrimi-
nation if it can reasonably anticipate a court order
after lengthy litigation that merely requires it to do
what it should have done in the first place. Indeed,
with respect to changes in practices that would re-
quire the expenditure of money, the absence of back
pay as a usual element of relief under Section 706
(g) could provide a financial incentive to an employer
or union to maintain the unlawful status quo as long
as possible.

It follows that, in the exercise of their discretion
to effectuate the Act’s purposes and to encourage
prompt, voluntary compliance with its terms, the dis-
trict courts should ordinarily award back pay to the
identifiable victims of unlawful employment discrim-
ination, unless there are substantial countervailing
considerations that make such an‘ award unnecessary

24

or inappropriate. In the court of appeals’ words, the
injured victims of the discrimination “should ordi-
narily be awarded back pay unless special circum-
stances would render such an award unjust” (A. 523-
524).

That standard neither forecloses nor unduly re-
stricts a district court’s exercise of discretion. Courts
of equity always have “the duty *'* * to be alert to
provide such remedies as are necessary to make ef-
fective the congressional purpose” (J.J. Case Co. v.
Borak, 377 U.S. 426, 433). And in the enforcement
of the civil rights statutes, “the court has not merely
the power but the duty to render 2 decree which will —-
so far as possible eliminate the discriminatory effects
of the past as well as bar like discrimination in the
future” (Louisiana v. United States, 380 U.S. 145,
154).

The standard adopted by the court of week here
is identical to the one that this Court applied to the
exercise of a district court’s discretion to award at-
torney’s fees under Title II of the Act. Newman v.
Piggie Park Enterprises, Inc., 390 U.S. 400. The
court of appeals there had ruled that counsel fees
should be awarded only to the extent that a party
advances defenses in bad faith and for purposes of
delay. This Court held that that standard would not
adequately effectuate the purposes of the counsel-fee
provision of Title II. That provision was enacted
“not simply to penalize litigants who deliberately
advance arguments they know to be untenabie but,
more broadly, to encourage individuals injured by

eee

25

racial discrimination to seek judicial relief under
Title II” (390 US. at 402). Since private litiga-
tion is an essential “means of securing broad com-
pliance with [Title II]” (id. at 401), and since a
plaintiff suing as a “private attorney general” can-
not recover damages, awards of counsel fees are im-
portant to “vindicat[e] a policy that Congress con-
sidered of the highest priority” (id. at 402).

The situation here is analogous. While this case
involves Title VII rather than Title II and back pay
awards rather than attorney’s fees, the effect of
awarding back pay in the absence of special circum-
stances similarly vindicates the broad congressional
policy reflected in the Act and similarly ensures com-
pliance with the law. The “special circumstances”
standard is no less an appropriate guide for the exer-
cise of discretion in awarding back pay under Title
VII than it is for the exercise of discretion in award-
ing counsel fees under Title II.

We do not suggest, nor did the court of appeals
hold, that back pay is mechanically compelled where
violations of the Act are found. Nor do we suggest
that courts of appeals should lightly overturn the
informed exercise of a district court’s discretion.
Where unlawful employment practices result in eco-
nomic loss to identifiable persons, however, the “make
whole” purpose of Title VII, and the important policy
of encouraging voluntary compliance with the law,
should normally call for compensation, in the absence
of substantial countervailing considerations. The dis-
trict court must articulate its reasons for denying

LEE

26

back pay, and those reasons should be carefully
scrutinized by the appellate courts to ensure that the
district court has fashioned the fullest possible re-
lief consistent with fairness. |

As we understand the application of the “special
circumstances” standard to the question of back pay,
the. Act’s policies of making the victims whole and
deterring future discrimination require back pay to

be awarded unless, for substantial reasons that are.

consistent with the purposes of the Act, awarding
back pay would be unjust to the employer. One such
special circumstance, in the context of employment
practices that discriminate on the basis of sex, might
be the employer’s reasonable and good-faith reliance
upon state female “protective” statutes. See LeBlanc
v. Southern Bell Telephone & Telegraph Co., 460 F.
2d 1228 (C.A. 5), certiorari denied, 409 U.S. 990;
Manning v. International Union, 466 F. 2d 812 (C.A.
6), certiorari denied sub nom. Manning v. General
Motors Corp., 410 U.S. 946; Kober v. Westinghouse
Electric Corp., 480 F. 2d 240 (C.A. 3); but see
Schaeffer v. San Diego Yellow Cabs, Inc., 462 F. 2d
1002 (C.A. 9)." As we shall now show, no such spe-
cial circumstance justified the district court’s denial
of back pay in the present case. .

11 Under EEOC interpretive guidelines in effect from 1965
through August 1969, such state protective laws were con-
sidered consistent with Title VII. Compare 30 Fed. Reg. 14927
with 34 Fed. Reg. 138368. Reliance on a published EEOC
guideline is a defense to liability under Title VII (42 U.S.C.
2000e-12 (b) ).

?

27

B. Neither The Absence Of Bad Faith Non-Compliance
Nor The Tardiness Of Plaintiffs’ Back Pay Claim
Justifies Denying An Award Of Back Pay To The
Injured Victims Of The Discriminatory Employ-
ment Practices In This Case

Since the purpose of a back pay award is to com-
pensate the injured persons and not to punish the
employer, the absence of bad faith should not or-
dinarily justify denying back pay. As between the
innocent victim of an unlawful employment practice
and the employer or union that has violated the law,
the economic loss should normally fall on the wrong-
doer. Cf. National Labor Relations Board v. J. H.
Rutter-Rex Mfg. Co., supra, 396 U.S. at 264-265.
Accordingly, the courts of appeals have uniformly
ejected general claims of good faith as a reason to
deny back pay under Title VII.”

To make back pay awards dependent upon proof
of malice or deliberate recalcitrance would place an
unwarranted obstacle in the path of those seeking
compensation for economic injury resulting from un-

12 See, «.g., Pettway Vv. American Cast Iron Pipe Co., supra,
494 F. 2d at 253; Head v. Timken Roller Bearing Co., supra,
486 F. 2d at 877; Sprogis v. United Airlines, Inc., supra, 444
F. 2d at 1201; Waters v. Wisconsin Steel Works, 502 F. 2d
1309, 1821 (C.A. 7); Baxter v. Savannah Sugar Refining
Corp., 495 F. 2d 487, 442-443 (C.A. 5); Robinson v. Lorillard
Corp., supra, 444 F. 2d at 804; Rosen v. Public Service Electric
and Gas Co., supra, 477 F. 2d at 95-96; Carey v. Grey-
hound Bus Co., 500 F. 2d 1872, 1878-1879 (C.A. 5); Johnson
v. Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co., supra, 491 F. 2d at 1365-1367.
Compare United States v. St. Louis-San Francisco Ry. Co.,
464 F. 2d 301, 311 (C.A. 8), with the same court’s subsequent
decision in United States v. N.L. Industries, Inc., supra, 479
F. 2d at 378-379.

28

lawful employment discrimination. As in Newman
v. Piggie Park Enterprises, Inc., supra, where the
Court rejected a similar “bad faith” test for the
award of attorney’s fees, requiring a showing of bad
motive would not adequately effectuate the purpose of
the Act.

The subjective good faith of an employer or a labor
union does not diminish the economic harm suffered
by the victims of discrimination and should not
exempt the violator from the obligation to make those
victims whole. Moreover, good faith is an inherently
vague standard, the application of which would re-
duce the predictability of back pay awards and thus
weaken the incentive for voluntary compliance with
Title VII.

This Court stated in Griggs v. Duke Power Co.,
401 U.S. 424, 432, that “good intent or absence of
discriminatory intent does not redeem” an other-
wise unlawful employment practice. For similar rea-
sons, good intent should not, at least in the absence
of extraordinary circumstances not present here, im-
munize an employer or a labor union from the ob-
ligation to compensate the innocent victims of em-
ployment discrimination.

Nor should the plaintiffs’ initial disclaimer of an
intention to seek back pay on behalf of members of
the class not before the court justify denying an
award in this case. Since petitioners knew of the
back pay claim for all members of the class at least
as early as June 4, 1970 (A. 28-29), they were on full
notice of the claim more than a year prior to trial.
The district court itself stated in an opinion filed 10

29

months prior to trial that “[t]he possibility of an
award of money damages upon a determination of
liability is still with us” despite the plaintiffs’ earlier
disclaimer (A. 38). The court reiterated several
.weeks before trial that the claim for back pay would
be considered on its merits and that “damages may be
recovered in this action if the plaintiffs prevail” (A.
51). This advance notice gave petitioners ample op-
portunity to address the matter completely in the
district court.

Moreover, as the court of appeals correctly held,
the defenses available to petitioners with respect to
the back pay issue were identical to their defenses
with respect to injunctive relief. Petitioners were thus
no less able to defend against the back pay claim
than they would have been had it been asserted at
the time the complaint was filed. The district court’s
speculation that petitioners “might have chosen to ex-
ercise unusual zeal” in expediting the trial if they |
had known that back pay was in issue (A. 498) is
contradicted by the absence of any indication that
they exercised any such “unusual zeal” after learning
that the plaintiffs were seeking back pay. Albemarle
makes no representation in its brief that it would
have sought an earlier trial.

Albemarle contends that “[d]Jiscovery relating to
individual claims was clearly rendered much more
difficult, if not impossible, by the passage of time”
(Br. 58). But the record reflects that the district
court ordered the plaintiffs to answer Albemarle’s
interrogatories concerning individual back pay claims

30

ancl to submit “a statement as to each such. member
of the class as to how he was personally and specifi-
cally discriminated against; and the amount of dam-
ages being claimed” (A. 46). Albemarle does not
indicate why those discovery procedures were inade-
quate.”

In the absence of substantial prejudice to pe-
titioners, the delay in claiming back pay should not
alter the district court’s duty “to fashion the most
complete relief possible” (Section-by-Section Analysis
of 1972 Act, supra, 118 Cong. Rec. 7168, 7565).
Rule 54(c) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure
provides that the district court “shall grant the relief
to which the party in whose favor it is rendered is
entitled, even if the party has not demanded such
relief in his pleadings.” Accordingly, other courts of
appeals have correctly held that Title VII back pay
claims asserted even after trial are entitled to full
adjudication in the absence of prejudice. See Rosen
v. Public Service Electric and Gas Co., 409 F. 2d 775,
780, n. 20 (C.A. 3); Robinson v. Lorillard Corp.,
supra, 444 F. 2d 802-803; United States v. Hayes
International Corp., 456 F. 2d 112, 121 (C.A. 5).

18 Nor should back pay be foreclosed because Albemarle’s
assets were sold by Ethyl Corporation to Hoerner Waldorf
Corporation in 1968. If Hoerner Waldorf truly acted “in
the belief that in this suit plaintiffs were not seeking dam-

ages” (Albemarle Br. 58), that consideration goes only to
the his silacition of liability as among the various defendants.

81

C. Back Pay Claims Should Be Determined For All
Class Members Who Have Sustained Economic Loss,
Whether Or Not They Filed Individual Charges
With The Equal Employment Opportunity Com-
mission
Albemarle concedes (Br. 62) that membership in a
Title VII class action for injunctive relief need not
be limited to persons who have filed charges with the
Equal Employment Opportunity Commission. Miller
v. International Paper Co., 408 F. 2d 283, 284-285
(C.A. 5); Oatis v. Crown Zellerbach Corp., 398 F. 2d
496, 499 (C.A. 5). It contends, however,’ that back
pay should be denied to those members of the class
who did not individually file charges with EEOC.
The purpose of the provision of Title VII (Sec-
tion 706, 42 U.S.C. 2000e-5) requiring the filing of
charges with EEOC is to provide notice to the charged
party of the alleged violation of the Act and to bring
, to bear the voluntary conciliatory functions of EEOC.
The filing of a single charge alleging unlawful em-
ployment practices gives the employer notice of the
complaint and an opportunity to correct the unlaw-
ful practices. It would serve no useful purpose to
require scores of substantially identical claims to be
processed through EEOC when a single charge is
sufficient to satisfy the requirements of Title VII.
Bowe v. Colgate-Palmolive Co., supra, 416 F. 2d at
720; Miller v. International Paper Co., supra, 408
F. 2d at 285; see also Franks v. Bowman Transporta-
tion Co., 495 F. 2d 398, 421-422 (C.A. 5), certiorari
granted on other issues, March 24, 1975, No. 74-728;
Head v. Timken. Roller Bearing Co., supra, 486 F. 2d
at 876. al

—

32

Just as with injunctive relief, once it has been de-
termined that the defendant has engaged in unlawful
employment practices that have caused the class mem-
bers financial loss, the defendant’s liability for back
pay arises from conduct applicable to all affected
members of the class. That the particular way in
which that common conduct has affected individual
class members may differ in degree, so that the
amount of back pay owing to each affected class
member may vary, does not change the essential class
characteristics of the discriminatory practices.
“Once class-wide discrimination has been demon-
strated to result in disproportional earnings, a class-
wide decision that back pay is appropriate can be
discerned without deciding which members of the
class ‘are entitled ‘to what amounts” (Pettway v.
American Cast Iron Pipe Co., supra, 494 F. 2d at
257). Thereafter, the district court * can proceed
to determine how much back pay is owed to which
class members.**

As respondents’ brief demdpstrates (pp. 37-41),
the legislative history of the Equal Employment Op-

14 In appropriate cases, the court may refer the matter to a
special master. See Fed. R. Civ. P. 53. The district court in
the present case stated in a pretrial order that “if [back pay]
claims become too numerous or complicated, this phase of the
case may be referred to a special master” (A. 51). The record
reflects that approximately 80 persons filed claims for back
pay in the district court (A. 70-85, 116-117).

%* For a comprehensive discussion of methods for deter-
mining back pay awards, see Pettway Vv. American Cast Iron
Pipe Co., supra, 494 F. 2d at 251-263, and Johnson v. Goodyear
Tire & Rubber Co., supra, 491 F. 2d at 1374-1375, 1379-1380.

33

portunity Act of 1972 shows that Congress considered
and rejected a provision, originally included in the
bill that passed the House, that would have fore-
closed an award of back pay to any member of a
class who had not filed an individual charge with
EEOC. The report accompanying the Senate bill,
which omitted the provision contained in the House
bill, stated that “any restriction on [class] actions
would greatly undermine the effectiveness of title
VII” (S. Rep. No. 415, 92d Cong., 1st Sess., p. 27).
The Section-by-Section Analysis of the bill that
emerged from the Conference Committee and that
was passed by both houses stated: “[T]he leading
cases in this area to date have recognized that many
Title VII claims are necessarily class complaints and
that, accordingly, it is not necessary that each indi-
vidual entitled to relief be named in the original
charge or in the claim for relief. A provision limit-
ing class actions was contained in the House bill and
specifically rejected by the Conference Committee”
(118 Cong. Rec. 7168, 7565).

Congress thus explicitly rejected the precise limi-
tation on class action relief that Albemarle now asks
this Court to accept.

34
I

ALBEMARLE’S TESTING PROGRAM IS UNLAW-
FUL BECAUSE ITS TESTS OPERATE TO EX-
CLUDE BLACKS AND HAVE NOT BEEN SHOWN
TO BEAR A DEMONSTRABLE RELATIONSHIP TO
SUCCESSFUL PERFORMANCE OF THE JOBS FOR
WHICH THEY ARE USED

In Griggs v. Duke Power Co., 401 U.S. 424, this
Court held that Title VII prohibits the use of tests
or other employee selection procedures that operate
to exclude members of minority groups, unless the
employer demonstrates that the procedures are sub-
stantially related to job performance—i.e., that they
' reliably measure capability for, or accurately predict
successful performance of, the jobs for which they are
used. The district court in the present case ruled
that Albemarle carried its burden of demonstrating

that its tests are job-related. The court of appeals,
however, relying on the principles established by this
—Court’s decision in Griggs and looking to EEOC’s

Guidelines on Employee Selection Procedures (29
C.F.R. Part 1607) for guidance in determining the
‘adequacy of Albemarle’s proof, held that the com-
pany’s test validation study was methodologically de-
ficient and did not, in any event, demonstrate that the
tests provide a reasonable measure of the applicant’s
ability to perform successfully the jobs for which the

tests are used. That holding is correct.

35

A. Albemarle’s Tests Have A Disproportionate Adverse
Impact On Blacks

Under Title VII, as construed by this Court in
Griggs, the plaintiffs bear the threshold burden of
showing that a challenged testing procedure disquali-
fies from employment opportunities a disproportion-
ately high percentage of minority group candidates.
If that showing is made, the burden shifts to the de-
fendant to demonstrate that the tests are job-related.

. Although the district court did not specifically state
that Albemarle’s tests disproportionately exclude
blacks, it did find that the higher paying lines of pro-
gression “remain essentially segregated because of
the inability of black employees to meet the educa-
tional and testing requirements” (A. 496). More-
over, the adverse racial impact. of the tests was an
implicit premise of the court’s lengthy discussion con-
cerning the job-relatedness of those tests, in which
it concluded that “[t]he defendants have carried the
burden of proof” by demonstrating that the tests are
job-related (A. 497). The court of appeals was more
explicit. It stated that “[t]he plaintiffs made a suffi-
cient showing below that Albemarle’s testing proce-
dures have a racial impact” (A. 515).

Albemarle argues (Br. 28-31) that the plaintiffs’
showing was noi sufficient and that the company
therefore was not required to prove that the tests are
job-related. That issue, however, was neither pre-
sented in Albemarle’s petition for a writ of certiorari
nor fairly comprehended within any issue that was
presented. It is, therefore, not properly before this

. 36

Court. Lawn v. United States, 355 U.S. 339, 362-363,
n. 16.

In any event, we believe, substantially for the rea-
sons stated by respondents (Br. 19-21), that the court
of appeals was justified in concluding that the plain-
tiffs carried their threshold burden of showing a dis-
proportionate racial impact.

B. The Company’s Testing Program Was Not Shown
To Be Job-Related

Albemarle attempted to meet its burden of showing
that its tests are related-to the jobs for which they
are used by submitting the results of a test validation
study conducted in 1971 by Dr. Joseph Tiffin (A.
431-438). The court of appeals correctly concluded
that the study failed to demonstrate that Albemarle’s
tests “have a manifest relationship to the employ-
ment in question” (Griggs v. Duke Power Co., supra,
401 U.S. at 432).

In reaching that conclusion, the court of appeals
drew upon the testing expertise reflected in several
sections of EEOC’s Guidelines on Employee Selection
Procedures, 29 C.F.R. Part 1607. One of those sec-
tions emphasizes the importance of a careful job
analysis to identify “[t]he work behaviors or other
criteria of employee adequacy which the test is in-
tended to predict” (29 C.F.R. 1607.5(b)(3)). An-
other highlights the danger of relying upon the “sub-
jective evaluations” of supervisors in measuring the
job performance of the subjects of a‘validation study,
because of “the possibility of bias inherent in” such

37

evaluations (29 C.F.R. 1607.5(b) (4)). A third sec-
tion states that the validity of a test with respect to
a particular job may be demonstrated by evidence
of validity with respect to a related job, if “no sig-
nificant/ differences exist’? between the jobs (29
C.F.R. 1607.4(c) (2)).

The court of appeals held that Albemarle’s valida-
tion procedure was deficient because the expert who
conducted the study performed no job analysis but
relied exclusively upon the “possibly subjective. rat-
ing of supervisors who were given a vague standard
by which to judge job performance” (A. 517). Re
ferring to the Guidelines, the court stated: “We
agree that some form of job analysis resulting in
specific and objective criteria for supervisory rat-
ings is cmpcial to a proper concurrent validation
study” (A. 518).

The court also held that, “[e]ven if the validation
procedure had been proper, it was error to approve
the testing procedures for lines of progression where
there had been no validation study” (ibid.). The
court recognized that “a test need not always be vali-
dated for each job for which it is required” (ibid.),
but it held that the absence of any job analysis for
the lines of progression involved in the study and those
for which the tests are required “prevents concluding
that no significant differences exist in the jobs in
question” (A. 519).

Finally, the court held that “it was also error to
approve requiring applicants to pass two tests for
positions where only one test was validated” (ibid.).

Although Albemarle argued that the requirement is
appropriate because the company hires employees in-
to a pool from which they may move into any one
of several lines of progression, the court stated that
“Albemarle has not shown that hiring all employees
into a pool is necessary to the safe and efficient oper-
ation of its business, nor has it shown that hiring em-
ployees for specific lines of progression is not an ac-
ceptable alternative” (A. 519-520).

In our view, each of these holdings is correct. Al-
bemarle’s validation study was not conducted in ac-
cordance with professionally accepted standards, and
it failed, in any event, to show that the tests are
substantially related to performance of the jobs for
which they are used.

1. The court of appeals correctly looked to the
EEOC Guidelines for guidance in assessing the
adequacy of Albemarle’s validation study

Albemarle’s threshold contention is that the court of
appeals erroneously “equat[ed] EEOC suggested tech-
nical methodology with acceptable standards of judi-
cial proof of job relatedness” (Br. 34). That is not
the way we read the court of appeals’ opinion.

The court did not state or imply that the Guidelines
have the force of law or that the adequacy of a vali-
dation study depends upon rigid compliance with each
provision of the Guidelines. It merely looked to the
Guidelines as a source of professionally accepted
standards for the validation of employee, selection
procédures, giving them the “deference” to which they

89

are entitled as an “interpretation of the Act * * *
by the enforcing agency” (A. 516). See Griggs v.
Duke Power Co., supra, 401 U.S. at 483-434.

The determination whether a testing device has
been adequately validated as a reasonable measure
of job performance is complex and technical. Since
most district judges are not experts in industrial psy-
chology or psychometrics and are not professionally
equipped to evaluate the adequacy of a test valida-
tion study, it is appropriate for them to defer to the
experts in those fields for guidance.

There are several accessible sources of such exper-
tise in the field of employee test validation. The
American Psychological Association’s Standards for
Educational and Psychological Tests and Manuals
(hereinafter APA Standards) are generally regarded
as stating in a comprehensive fashion the accepted
standards of the psychological profession.** The gov-
ernment agencies with responsibilities in the area of
equal employment opportunities—including EEOS,
the Department of Labor, and the Civil Service Com-

\

** The 1966 edition of the APA Standards is part of the
record in this case and is set forth at A. 415-426. The Stand-
ards were revised in 1974, but the revisions do not substan-
tially affect the provisions relating to the matters at issue
here. Albemarle’s expert, Dr. Tiffin, testified that the Stand-
ards are “a classic” in the psychological profession, that he
generally agrees with the principles for validating tests that
are contained in the Standards, and that he attempted in his
study to follow those principles “[{a] hundred percent” (A.
172, 209).

40

mission—publish guidelines or regulations dealing in
a more concise fashion with test validation."

These standards, guidelines, and regulations areynot
in every respect identical, but each can provide use-
ful guidance to a court in evaluating an employer’s
test validation study. In a case such as the present
one, involving a private employer subject to the provi-
sions of Title VII and within the scope of EEOC’s
enforcement responsibilities, it is particularly appro-
priate for the court to look to the EEOC Guidelines
for “a helpful summary of professional testing stand-
ards” (Vulcan Society v. Civil Service Commission,
490 F. 2d 387, 394, n. 8 (C.A. 2)), since “these
guidelines undeniably provide a valid framework for
determining whether a validation study manifests
that a particular test predicts reasonable job suita-
bility” (United States v. Georgia Power Co., 474 F.
2d 906, 913 (C.A. 5)).

If there are substantial, legitimate differences with-
in the profession, the court should of course apply
the Guidelines with appropriate caution in light of
those differences. But where, as here, the Guidelines
accurately reflect the standards and expertise of the
psychological profession and no showing is made that

17 The former Labor Department order governing the vali-
dation of employment tests by contractors and subcontractors
subject to the provisions of Executive Order 11246 appears
at A. 321-328. The current version, which is substantially
the same as the EEOC Guidelines, appears at 41 C.F.R. Part
60-3. The Civil Service Commission’s regulations governing
test validation appear at 37 Fed. Reg. 21557-21559.

TI Ah te manne

SAW ek ARP Od Tess

41

there are significant differences of professional opin-
ion with respect to the relevant portions of the Guide-
lines, an employer whose validation study departs
from those provisions should bear the heavy burden of
showing that the departure was warranted and that
the validation study was nevertheless adequate to de-
monstrate that the tests are job-related. In these
circumstances, the Guidelines “should be followed ab-
sent a showing that some cogent reason exists for non-
compliance” (United States v. Georgia Power Co.,
supra, 474 F. 2d at 913). |

The court of appeals in the present case. did not
rigidly an@uncritically apply the Guidelines to Al-
bemarle’s study. It looked to the Guidelines for as-
sistance in evaluating that study and found that the
pertinent provisions were helpful in identifying the
study’s inadequacies. Albemarle made no claim that
those provisions were the subject of professional dis-
agreement, nor did it show that the study was ade-
quate notwithstanding its apparent defects. In those
circumstances, the court’s limited reliance upon the
Guidelines was plainly appropriate.

2. Albemarle’s validation study was not conducted
in accordance with professionally accepted
standards

The tests used by Albemarle—the Revised Beta
Examination and the Wonderlic A and B—do not
purport to test the specific skills that are required
to perform the jobs in question. They measure only
general aptitude and intelligence. Consequently, Title

42

VII’s command that “any tests used must measure
the person for the job and not the person in the
abstract” (Griggs v. Duke Power Co., supra, 401
U.S. at 486) highlights the importance of a properly
conducted validation study in this case as a means of
ensuring that the general aptitude tests used by
Albemarle do not reflect the common “inadequacy of
broad and general testing devices” (id. at 433).™

Albemarle’s study, however, was not conducted in
accordance with professionally accepted validation
procedures. A job analysis—the breaking down of
a job into its basic elements—is, under generally
recognized professional standards, an essential first
step in a validation study (A. 205, 369-371). See
the EEOC Guidelines, 29 C.F.R. 1607.4(c), 1607.5
(b) (3) (A. 310, 312-313) ; APA Standards, { C4 (A.
419); Department of Labor Order, 41 C.F.R. 60-3.6
(a) (3) ; Civil Service Commission Regulations, J S3-
1(a)(3) (87 Fed. Reg. 21557). Albemarle’s expert
conducted no job analysis.

A job analysis identifies the skills needed to per-
form the duties and tasks of a particular job. It
might reveal,“fér example, that manual dexterity and
concentration are necessary for a particular job but

18 The Wonderlic tests used here and in Griggs (see 401 U.S.
at 430, n. 6) have been the subject of numerous challenges
under Title VII. See, e.g., Rogers v. International Paper Co.
9 [CCH] EPD {9865 (C.A. 8); Young v. Edgcomb Steel
Co., 499 F. 2d 97, 98, 100 (C.A. 4); Franks v. Bowman Trans-
portation Co., supra, 495 F. 2d at 412; Duhon v. Goodyear
Tire & Rubber Co., 494 F. 2d 817, 818-819 (C.A. 5); Johnson
v. Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co., supra, 491 F. 2d at 1372.

43

that speed is not. A job analysis therefore provides
a basis for an objective rating of an employee’s
ability to do a job. Since Dr. Tiffin conducted no
job analysis, he was obliged to rely on subjective
supervisory ratings—“just how well the guy can do
the job when he’s feeling right”—as the sole meas-
ure of job performance.

Not only do such subjective criteria provide “a
ready mechanism for discrimination” (Rowe v. Gen-
eral Motors Corp., 457 F. 2d 348, 359 (C.A. 5)),
but also they leave the raters free to interpret the
criterion according to their personal views. Thus,
while manual dexterity and concentration may in
fact be the skills necessary for the job, the super-
visor operating under a subjective standard might
be rating the employees on the basis of speed and
demeanor. If the tests actually measured the ability
to work quickly, but not the relevant criteria of
manual dexterity and concentration, there might be
a high correlation between test scores and supervisory
ratings, but the tests would not in fact measure the
ability to perform the job.

Thus, while Albemarle contends that a job analysis
is “superfluous” (Br. 37) because its tests correlated
in some respects with the supervisory ratings, the
absence of a job analysis makes it impossible to
determine whether the correlation is meaningful.
The abilities rated by the supervisors and measured
by Albemarle’s tests may not be the ones that are
necessary to perform the jobs at the mill.

44

The absence of a job analysis led to another defect.
The study was conducted not for individual jobs but
for groups of jobs adjacent to each other on a line
of progression (A. 166, 174). For example, Dr.
Tiffin’s first job group included the jobs of caustic
operator and lime kiln operator (A. 432). Since
there was no job analysis for either job, however,
there was no basis for determining whether the two
jobs involve similar tasks requiring similar skills,
and therefore no foundation for concluding that they
could properly be validated as a group (see A. 205).

This defect was compounded by the rating method.
Supervisors were instructed to rate the employees’
in each job group against one another—that is, to
rank them in order (A. 187). Thus, a supervisor
was required to determine whether a caustic operator
was superior to a lime kiln operator, though there
was no analysis indicating that the two jobs were
substantially the same. é¢

The study was deficient in other respects as well.
The EEOC Guidelines, 29 C.F.R. 1607.5(b) (2) (A.
312), like the APA Standards, [C4.5 (A. 421),
deem it essential that tests be administered under
controlled and standardized conditions and that
proper safeguards be taken to assure that test scores
do not contaminate the job performance ratings—
i.e., that raters are not made aware of the test
scores of the employees they are rating. Dr. Tiffin,
however, did not administer the tests himself and
did not know who did administer them (A. 176).
He did not take precautions to avoid contamination

45

and did not know whether the supervisors who rated
the employees were or were not aware of the test
scores (A. 177). Plaintiffs’ expert testified that it
was “extraordinarily bad practice” for the person
. conducting the validation study to leave security meas-
ures to those “who have an interest in the outcome”
(A. 206).

Moreover, the job groups used in the validation
study were selected from the middle and higher cate-
gories in the lines of progression studied (A. 167,
178), although successful applicants for employment
would be performing entry-level work in the lower
job categories for several years. Dr. Tiffin sought to
justify the use of the upper-level categories on the
ground that “those are the jobs to which these men
will go if they stay in the progression line long
enough” (A. 167).

But that standard—which would justify the test-
ing of beginning factory workers by examinations
that measure the ability to perform the job of senior
foreman—does not comport with the standards of the
profession. The EEOC Guidelines, 29 C.F.R. 1607.4
(c)(1) (A. 310), state that it is appropriate to
evaluate employees for higher job levels only if “new
employees will probably, within a reasonable period
of time and in a great majority of cases, progress
to a higher level * * *.” The Civil Service Commis-
sion’s regulations, J S3-5, 37 Fed. Reg. 21558, are
to the same effect. While the court of appeals de-
clined to decide whether this defect was significant
because it believed that there was “insufficient evi-

46

dence below as to the time in which it takes an em-
ployee to progress to higher level jobs” (A. 519, n.
4), we submit that the burden of presenting that
evidence should be borne by the person seeking to
prove the job-relatedness of the tests. In the ab-
sence of such evidence, it is not possible to determine
whether the tests have been properly validated for
the jobs for which they are required.

3. The study does not, in any event, demonstrate
that the tests are related to the jobs for which
they are used

Even if Dr. Tiffin had followed professionally ac-
cepted procedures in conducting the validation study,
the results of the study would not validate the tests
for the use to which they are put by Albemarle.
.The district court found (A. 487), on the basis of a
stipulation (A. 100), that the Beta and Wonderlic
tests are administered to applicants for 13 lines of
progression in éight departments.” Dr. Tiffin’s study,
however, covered only eight lines of progression in
five departments (A. 514).

Title VII requires that a testing program with a
racially disparate impact be shown to bear a demon-
strable relationship to successful performance of each
job for which it is used. Although a single validation
study covering selected jobs might suffice to prove

1° Albemarle now states. (Br. 18, 44) that the tests are in
fact administered to applicants for eight lines of progres-
sion in four departments. If so, that can be shown in the
district court on remand. We address our comments to the
facts currently of record.

¢

ae Seem prance eins

47

the test’s validity as used for additional jobs that
are substantially similar (see 29 C.F.R. 1607.4(c) (2)
(A. 310-311)), the absence of a job analysis here
makes it impossible to determine whether the jobs
excluded from the study are similar to those that
were covered. The result, as the court of appeals
correctly held (A. 518-519), is that the study does
not support Albemarle’s use of the tests in lines of
progression not covered by the study.

Moreover, Albemarle administers all three of its
tests to job applicants and requires satisfactory
scores on both the Beta and either the Wonderlic A
or the Wonderlic B (A. 220; see Albemarle Br. 44,
n. 44). But Dr. Tiffin’s study found that the Beta
together with either Wonderlic A or Wonderlic B
correlated with job performance in only two of the
10 job groups studied (A. 432). As the court of
appeals correctly held, the study does not justify “re-
quiring applicants to pass two tests for positions
where only one test was validated” (A. 519).

Albemarle’s answer is that it is reasonable to re-
quire all applicants to qualify under both tests be-
cause it “cannot predict in which line of progression
an employee will be needed” (Br. 46). The practice
of hiring all employees into a pool “has the advan-
tage of flexibility in workforce” (Br. 47), and it
would be “unreasonable to disrupt the entire hiring
system” (Br. 46) in order to ensure that the tests
are used exclusively for the specific jobs to which
they are related.

>

48 F

But this Court held in Griggs that a test which
operates to exclude blacks must be “shown to bear a
demonstrable relationship to successful performance
of the jobs for which it [is] used” (401 U.S. at 431).
Qualifying all applicants for every line of progres-
sion may give Albemarle greater “flexibility.” But
“Congress has forbidden * * * giving these devices
and mechanisms controlling force unless they are
demonstrably a reasonable measure of job perform-
ance” (id. at 436). Business “flexibility” is not “busi-
ness necessity” (id. at 431). |

Although Albemarle asserts that its testing pro-
gram is necessary ‘“[t]o preserve the safe and effi-
cient operation of its pulp mill” (Br. 46), the court
of appeals correctly found that the record does not
support that assertion. “Albemarle has not shown
that hiring all employees into a pool is necessary to
the safe and efficient operation of its business, nor
has it shown that hiring employees for specific lines
_ of progression is not an acceptabic alternative” (A.

519-520). : ,
Finally, Albemarle states that, while “[t]hese ob-
_ jections may be grounds for modifying the District
Court’s order, * * * they are not grounds for enjoin-
ing the use of tests completely, as the Court of Ap-
‘ peals has done” (Br. 44). But that is not what the
court of appeals haa done. It held only that, Albe-
marle’s present use of the tests is unlawful. Albe-
marle is not precluded from demonstrating on re-
mand that some other use of its tests is justified
under the Griggs standard. ,

49

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the court of appeals should be
affirmed.

4

Respectfully submitted.

ROBERT H. Bork,
Solicitor General.

J. STANLEY POTTINGER,

Assistant Attorney General.
MARK L. EVANS,
Assistant to the Solicitor General.
”
JAMES P. TURNER,
BRIAN K. LANDSBERG,
DAVID L. ROSE,
JOHN C. HOYLE,
Attorneys.
* JULIA C. COOPER,
Acting General Counsel,
JOSEPH T. EDDINS,
Associate General Counsel,
BEATRICE ROSENBERG,
CHARLES L. REISCHEL,
MARIAN HALLEY,
MARY-HELEN MAUTNER,
; Attorneys,
Equal Employment Opportunity
Commission.
| ApRIL 1975.
| j % os. s. covennment printine orice; 1975 572748 136

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386414_0443%3A14. Public record. Not legal advice.
