# Memorandum — Dunlop v. Bachowski

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386414_0422%3A03

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Memorandum
- **Published:** January 1, 1975
- **Citation:** 421 U.S. 560

## Text

IN THE

| Sonal
Supreme Court of the Mant Biates

October Term, 1974

No. 74-466

Peter J. BRENNAN, SECRETARY OF Lasor,
Petitioner,
v.

WALTER BacHOwSKI,
Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Third Circuit

MEMORANDUM OF
UNITED STEELWORKERS OF AMERICA,
AFL-CIO

5 Bredhoff, Cushman, Gottesman
& Cohen
1000 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
: ~ Of Counsel James ENGLISH
BerNARD KLEIMAN United Steelworkers of America,
i Kleiman, Cornfield & Feldman AFL-CIO
10 South LaSalle Street Five Gateway
Chicago, Illinois 60603 Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15222
Attorneys for United Steelworkers
of America, AFL-CIO

EE ee

>-

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States
October Term, 1974

No. 74-466

PETER J. BRENNAN, SECRETARY OF LABOR,
~ Petitioner,
Vv.

WALTER BACHOWSKI,
Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari ©
to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Third Circuit

MEMORANDUM OF
UNITED STEELWORKERS OF AMERICA,
AFL-CIO

Although not named in the caption of the petition for
certiorari, United Steelworkers of America, AFL-CIO
(“USWA”) is a party herein pursuant to this Court’s Rule
21(4).1 USWA shares the view of the Secretary of Labor,
expressed in his petition, that this case warrants review by

1 USWA was a co-defendant with the Secretary of Labor in the dis-
trict court (Petition, page 21A), and was an appellee in the Court
below (Id., page 1A).

2

this Court.2 In this memorandum, we briefly describe the .

importance of this case from the vantage point of unions
whose elections are regulated by Title IV.

ARGUMENT

In Trbovich v. Mine Workess, 404 U.S. 528, 537 (1972),
this Court recognized the Congressional intention “to insu-
late the union from any complaint that did not appear meri-
torious to . . . the Secretary.” The decision below, by
opening the door to possible suits on claims which the Sec-
retary has found without merit, is in apparent conflict with
the statutory scheme adopted by Congress and recognized
in Trbovich. Moreover, as explained herein, the decision
below will have adverse effects upon unions’ abilities to per-
form effectively, effects which Congress did not intend.

It is self-evident that a union officer whose election is un-
der challenge is handicapped in the performance of his
duties. Congress was sensitive to this problem when it
enacted Title IV. One of its objectives was “to settle-as
quickly as practicable the cloud on ‘the incumbents’ title to
office . . .” Wirtz v. Bottle Blowers Association, 389 US.
463, 468-469, n. 7 (1968). To that end, Congress specified
time limits both for the filing of members’ complaints with
the Secretary, 29 U.S.C. §482(a), and for the institution
of l.wsuits by the Secretary when he finds such complaints
meri‘urious, 29 U.S.C. §482(b).

fhe decision below, by allowing private actions challeng-
ing the Secretary’s determination that suit under Title IV is

2 The issue presented relates to the scope of the Secretary’s authority
under Title IV of the LMRDA. USWA, believing that such an issue
is more appropriately presented to this Court by the Secretary than by
private parties subject to that authority, refrained from filing its own
petition. However, USWA fully supports the Secretary’s perception of
his authority, and thus agrees with the Secretary that the case was
wrongly decided by the court below and that, at the least, the decision
below warrants review by this Court.

‘

RA

3

not warranted, necessarily extends the period during which
a union officer’s status remains under a cloud. Nor should
it be assumed that the filing of such private actions would
be limited to the rare situations in which a credible claim
could be mounted that the Secretary has abused his discre-
tion. The realities of union politics being what they are, a
defeated candidate has many reasons, independent of any
hope of ultimate litigation victory, for filing such an action.
The action serves, in effect, as the kick-off of his campaign
for the next union election. He is likely to achieve consider-
able notoriety by the filing of such an action, and its pend-
ency enables him to appeal to the electorate that he was
“robbed” in the last election and deserves their considera-
tion in the next.

By opening the judicial gates to such actions, the decision
below invites a flood. The experience in USWA’s 1973 elec-
tion is an augur. Complaints were filed to the Secretary in-
volving four offices, and the Secretary brought suit only with
respect to the two complaints which he found meritorious.
Each of the other two complainants filed a private action
challenging the Secretary’s failure to file suit on his behalf.’

It is of course theoretically conceivable that the Secretary
might someday decline to sue in circumstances which a court
‘might later find arbitrary or capricious. But Congress clearly
believed that that danger was outweighed by the harm
which would result from permitting the host of lawsuits in
which such a claim would be advanced frivolously. The
“}imited resources of the Secretary” (Hodgson v. Steelwork-
ers, 403 U.S. 333, 339 (1971) ) and of the union would be
diverted from their assigned functions; the courts would be
overburdened; and the union’s ability to represent its mem-

3 In addition to the instant case, see Valenta v. Brennan, Civ. Ac.
No. C-74-11 (N.D. Ohio, Eastern Div.).

4

bers would be hampered by the continuing doubt whether
its officers were properly elected and would serve out their
term. At the least, considering the conflict among the lower
courts, these consequences should not be allowed without
prior review by this Court. \

Respectfully submitted,

MicuaeLt H. GotresMAN
Bredhoff, Cushman, Gottesman
& Cohen
1000 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036

James ENGLISH
United Steelworkers of America,

AFL-CIO
Of Counsel: Five Gateway Center
BERNARD KLEIMAN Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15222
Kleiman, Cornfield & Feldman
10 South LaSalle Street Attorneys for United Steelworkers

Chicago, Illinois 60603 of America, AFL-CIO

oo

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386414_0422%3A03. Public record. Not legal advice.
