# Amicus Curiae Brief — Breed v. Jones

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386414_0420%3A06

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1975
- **Citation:** 421 U.S. 519

## Text

ae ve

SUPREME COURT, U. @

wa

In The P RADAR Ip

Supreme Court of the Anited States

October Term, 1974

No. 73-1995

ALLEN F. BREED,

Petitioner,

vs.

GARY STEVEN JONES,
Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit 3

BRIEF FOR THE NATIONAL COUNCIL ON CRIME AND

DELINQUENCY AND THE COUNCIL OF JUDGES OF THE

NATIONAL COUNCIL ON CRIME AND DELINQUENCY,
AS AMICI CURIAE

Michael S. Wald

Stanford Law School

Stanford, California 94305

David Gilman }
National Council on Crime and Delinquency
411 Hackensack Avenue

Hackensack, New Jersey 07601

Attorneys for Amici Curiae

INDEX

Page
Interest of the Amici Curiae ...............222000 0s 1
PRIOR 5 6.5 oe 6 once ee ene de eee ee deen an awe 2
I. Introduction............. 2.0.2... eee eee ee eee 2

Il. Holding transfer hearings prior to adjudicatory hear-
ings best serves the rehabilitative goals of the juvenile
POMUICE CYCUOM 65 5k ok ahs ksh bs chest sesanes 3

III. Application of the double jeopardy clause to juvenile
proceedings is necessary to protect the integrity of
the juvenile court «2... 22sec cece eee ce seccess 7

IV. Fundamental fairness to minors requires application
of the double jeopardy clause .................-. 10

V. Application of the double jeopardy clause to juvenile
proceedings will not create additional burdens on the

juvenile justice system... ... 2... 5 ccs cece eee. 1]
Conclusion ...... ooo eaeeueneun wee eseucesenequees 15
AOOORGE A: so ssar sce eivens < 55% aha tessa eons se os 17

Table of Authorities

: Cases:

Bryan v. Superior Court of the County of Los Angeles,
7 Cal.3d 575, 102 Cal.Rptr. 831, 498 P.2d 1079
CUDA). once ess ee ness ee eetseegeccse tases 6

Donald L. v. Superior Court of Los Angeles County, 7 Cal.
3d 592, 102 Cal.Rptr. 850, 498 P.2d 1098 (1972)... 12

Page
Ex Parte Lange. 85 U.S. (18 Wall) 163 (1873) .......... 11
Fain v. Duff, 364 F.Supp. 1192 €M.D. Fla. 1973), aff'd
488 F.2d 218 (Sth Cir. 1973) (en bane)... 2.2.2... )
or ve CBU, FAT UO. FE EI9G ES) 6 ose ke tec es ee nes 10
In re Winship, 397 U.S. 358 (1970) ...............08. 6
Kent v. United States, 383 U.S. 541 (1966) ............ 7
MckKeiver v. Pennsylvania, 403 U.S. 528 (1971) ...... 3, 6,15
Richard M. v. Superior Court, 4 Cal.3d 370, 93 Cal.Rptr.
Fore, We) 20 BOS CITT). occ es de een wees eens 9
State v. Halverson, 192 N.W.2d 165 (lowa 1971) ........ 13
State v. R.E.F., 251 So.2d 672 (Fla.App. 1971), aff'd 265
PE C09 Ce) cc ccan nets ye teeveynceusene es 8
United States v. Candelaria, 131 F.Supp. 797 (1955) ..... 9

Statutes:

California Welfare and Institutions Code §§ 707. 780... .11, 12
Florida Stat. Ann. §39.02(6) ... 2.2.2.2... 002... 0000. 8

Other Authonities:

Children in Custody, A Report on the Juvenile Detention
and Correctional Facility Census of 1971, U.S. De-
partment of Justice. Law Enforcement Assistance
Administration, National Criminal Justice Informa-
tion and Statistics Service... 0.2.0... 2.2 ee eee 7

Hays and Solway. The Role of Psychological Evaluation in

Certification of Juveniles for Trial as Adults, 9 Hous-
SOG 1 OV: 109 C29 ci cece ne eg een ease etn ts 13

iil
Page

Kay and Segal, The Role of the Attorney in Juvenile Court
Proceedings: A Non-Polar Approach, 61 Geo. L. Rev.

1401 (1974) .. 2... eee eee eee nnn >
Note, Problem of Age and Jurisdiction in the Juvenile

Court, 19 Vand. L. Rev. 833 (1966). ...-----+-+-- 13
Note, Twice in Jeopardy, 75 Yale L.J. 262, 266 N.13

(VOD) ca een spec od ones a name senewa sews ee ees 11

Reuterman, Hughes and Love, Juvenile Detention Facili-
ties: Summary Report of a National Survey, 9 Crim-
inology 3(1971).....---+-e sree errr rrr 7

Rosenheim, Detention Facilities and Temporary Shelteng,
in Child Caring (ed. Pappenfort, Kilpatrick, and

Roberts, 1973)......---- eee c cece cee ttrt rf
Rudstein, Double Jeopardy in Juvenile Proceedings, 15

Wm. and Mary L. Rev. 266 (1972) ....------++- 12,13
Snyder, The Impact of the Juvenile Court Hearing on the

Child, 17 Crime and Delinquency 180 (1971). .....- 7
Thompson, California Juvenile Court Deskbook, Califor-

nia Council of Trial Judges (1972) ...--------++-> 13
Model Statutes:

Model Rules for Juvenile Courts, Council of Judges of the
National Council on Crime and Delinquency, Rule 9
and Comment (1969) .....------2 22sec rctttte 3

Sheridan, Legislative Guide for Drafting Family and Juve-
nile Court Acts, U.S. Department of Health, Educa-
tion and Welfare, Publication. #472-69, §27 and
Comment (1969) ....-.---- eee reece ctr 5

Standard Juvenile Court Act §13, National Council on
Crime and Delinquency (6th ed. 1959). ......-008- 3

de a ae ba el | Bee ee PS RM EAR ITTV ERED DUE fA

POE IE SID NETHER EIS LB ALG OS PRA BYRNE: RR RE NERO CY

|

In The

Supreme Cont of the Anited States

October Term, 1974

No. 73-1995 ~

ALLEN F. BREED,
Petitioner,

vs.

GARY STEVEN JONES,
Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Ninth €ircuit

\

BRIEF FOR THE NATIONAL COUNCIL ON CRIME AND

DELINQUENCY AND THE COUNCIL OF JUDGES OF THE

NATIONAL COUNCIL ON CRIME AND DELINQUENCY,
AS AMICI CURIAE

Interest of the Amici Curiae

The National Council on Crime and Delinquency is a non-
profit membership corporation, incorporated in 192] as a
national service agency. Since that time the NCCD has endeavored
to develop standards and guides for the improvement of juvenile
court work and other phases of the correctional field. It presently
has a membership of over 60,000 citizens and officials. The
representative nature of the Council is further indicated by the
make-up of its officers and Board of Trustees, which is annexed
as Appendix A for the information of the Court.

RSP ELE EET PRE oe a NRO

te

In conjunction with it~ advisory arm, the Council of Judges.
NCCD has drafted model legislation covering many aspects of
the justice system. It is the publisher of the Standard Juvenile
Court Act, now in its sixth edition. In addition to developing
model standards, NCCD provides consultation and research for
courts and other agencies. Through its activities NCCD has be-
come familiar with the functioning of the juvenile justice system’
throughout the country.

The Council of Judges represents jurists throughout the
United States. Members sit on the bench of federal, state and
municipal courts. The Council serves in an advisory capacity to
the National Council on Crime and Delinquency. Due to its
nationwide membership, the Council of Judges is aware of the
potential implications of court decisions on the operation of
the juvenile and criminal justice systems in many states.

NCCD and the Council of Judges are vitally concerned with
improving the administration of justice. They are particularly
concerned with retaining the rehabilitative goals of the juvenile
court. The case before this Court raises issues central to the
overall functioning of our juvenile justice system. The impact
will vary significantly from state to state. Since NCCD and the
Council of Judges are able to provide a broader perspective than
are the other litigants on the likely total impact of the decision,
we present this brief.

The parties have consented to the filing of an amici curiae
brief by the Council of Judges and NCCD. Copies of their letters
of consent have been forwarded to the Clerk.

ARGUMENT

I. Introduction

This brief focuses solely on the implications of this case for
the proper functioning of the juvenile justice system. The amici
curiae believe that as a matter of constitutional law the double

ss eee RO RT LE TE LILLY OIE LADLE N ILS PORT LE LBRO ot OS SOROS i PRP REE DCN ROHS, AMPS ET

PRAIRIE LTE spe LOIRE IS

3

jeopardy clause clearly applies in the instant situation, since the
proceeding arises after prosecution in an adult court. We support
the legal arguments in respondent's brief and argue for affirma-
tion of the lower court decision.

This Court has indicated that it will take into account the
likely impact extension of a specific right to minors would have
on the functioning of the juvenile court system in deciding
whether to apply specific constitutional safeguards to juvenile
court proceedings. McKeiver v. Pennsylvania, 403 U.S. 528, 547,
550 (1971). This brief discusses the reasons why affirmance of
the lower court decision is necessary in order to protect the
independence, integrity, and rehabilitative goals of juvenile
courts.

II. Holding Transfer Hearings Prior to Adjudicatory Hearings
Best Serves the Rehabilitative Goals of the Juvenile Justice
System.

The National Council on Crime and Delinquency and its ad-
yisory committee, the Council of Judges, have long supported the
proposition that once an adjudicatory hearing begins in juvenile
court the minor is in fact in jeopardy, and to transfer him to
criminal court for another trial on the facts alleged in the juve-
nile court petition would constitute a deprivation of due process
of law.’ See Model Rules for Juvenile Courts, Rule 9, and Com-
ment (Council of Judges of the National Council on Crime and
Delinquency, 1969); Standard Juvenile Court Act §13 (6th Ed.
1959) prepared by the Committee on the Standard Juvenile Court
Act of the National Council on Crime and Delinquency, in co-
operation with the National Council of Juvenile Court Judges
and the U.S. Children’s Bureau.

1. We agree with petitioner that a hearing to determine whether there
is probable cause to believe that the minor committed the offense in ques-
tion would not place the minor in jeopardy. Petitioner’s Opening Brief, p.37.

4

Petitioner is incorrect in stating that the Standard Juvenile
Act is silent on the issue of double jeopardy. Section 13 of the
Standard Juvenile Court Act is as follows:

TRANSFER TO OTHER COURTS

If the petition in the case of a child sixteen years of age
or older is based on an act which would be a felony if
committed by an adult, and if the court after full investi-
gation and a hearing deems it contrary to the best inter-
est of the child or the public to retain jurisdiction, it may
in its discretion certify him to the criminal court having.
jurisdiction of such felonies committed by adults. No
child under sixteen years of age at the time of commis-
sion of the act shall be so certified.

When a petition has been filed bringing a child before
the court under the provisions of subdivision 1 or 2 of
Section 8 of this Act and the child resides outside the
court district but in the state, the court may, in its dis-
cretion, transfer the case to the court having jurisdiction
in the district where the child resides; or in such case the
court may, after a finding on the allegations in the peti-
tion, certify the case for disposition to the court where
the child resides. Thereupon, the court receiving such
transfer shall dispose of the case as if the petition were
originally filed or the finding were originally made there.
Whenever a case is so certified, the certifying court shall
forward to the receiving court certified copies of all per-
tinent legal and social records.

When a petition has been filed a child shall not thereafter
be subject to a criminal prosecution based on the facts
giving rise to the petition, except as provided in this
section.

This Section was intended to bar later prosecutions
after an adjudicatory hearing had begun, and this is clearly

+ )

the import of the language.’

Contrary to the speculation by the petitioner, the recom-
mended standards do not just reflect cautious draftsmanship to
avoid potential double jeopardy problems. Cf. Petitioner’s Open-
ing Brief, pp. 49-50. Rather, they reflect the judgment of the
Council of Judges and the NCCD that the rehabilitative purposes
of the juvenile court system are best served by holding transfer
proceedings prior to, rather than after, adjudicatory hearings.

Holding transfer hearings after adjudicatory hearings di-
minishes the possibility of rehabilitation both by discouraging
the minor’s cooperation with the juvenile court and by delaying
the establishment of a treatment plan. It is a central goal of the
Juvenile Court system to attempt to deal with a minor informally,
without the negative aspects of the criminal justice system. Minors
are encouraged to cooperate fully by the promise that the system
is concerned solely with their best interest. In fact, counsel for a -
minor, recognizing the potential benefits to the minor of co-
operation, may well take a leading role in encouraging coopera-
tion, explaining the various rehabilitative programs to the minor
and assuring that an appropriate disposition in fact occurs. See
Kay and Segal, The Role of the Attorney in Juvenile Court Pro-
ceedings: A Non-Polar Approach, 61 Geo. L. Rev. 1401, 1409-
20 (1974).

However, if the minor and his counsel believe that the
minor may be subjected to a transfer proceeding after an ad-
judicatory hearing any cooperation will cease. The minor will
rightly view the process as potentially hostile and respond ac-
cordingly. Counsel would be derelict to suggest cooperation,

2. This position is similar to that adopted by other organizations con-
cerned with juvenile courts. For example, the Children’s Bureau of the
United States Department of Health, Education and Welfare takes the
position that the double jeopardy clause applies to juvenile court proceed-
ings. W. Sheridan, Legislative Guide for Drafting Family and Juvenile
Court Acts, U.S. Department of Health, Education and Welfare, Publica-
tion #472-69. §27 and Comment (1969).

6

since he cannot guarantee that his client will receive the benefit
of juvenile court treatment.’ Thus, adversary proceedings become
necessary in many more cases than if the transfer hearing is held
first. The goal of having speedy and informal hearings is jeopar-
dized. See In re Winship, 397 U.S. 358, 375 (1970) (concurring
opinion of Mr. Justice Harlan); McKeiver v. Pennsylvania, supra,
403 U.S. at 550. Significantly, this delay may occur even in

cases where transfer procedures are not ultimately instituted,
since counsel cannot be certain that transfer will not be requested.

Moreover, during the time that the minor is awaiting trial
he may develop a negative attitude toward the juvenile court,
thereby diminishing the prospects of effective rehabilitation. On
the other hand, if the transfer hearing is held first, the minor can
then be told that the court’s primary interest is in seeing whether
a rehabilitation plan can be developed. Counsel can confidently ,
advise the minor to cooperate with the process, recognizing that
his cooperation can only benefit, not harm, him. If the minor is
found fit, he will often admit the charges and the chances for
rehabilitation will be considerably enhanced.

Holding the transfer hearing after the adjudicatory hearing
also delays substantially the establishment of a rehabilitation |
"program for the minor in those cases where the minor is found
fit for juvenile treatment. When the adjudicatory hearing is held
first, counsel must initially prepare for the trial on the merits.
This may require four or more weeks, especially if the charges

3. In fact, counsel would generally advise total silence, since any state-
ments or admissions made by the minor might be used against him in an
adult trial. The California Supreme Court tried to minimize this problem
by ruling that statements made in juvenile court are inadmissible, Bryan v.
Superior Court of the County of Los Angeles, 7 Cal.3d 575, 586-7, 102
Cal.Rptr.831, 498 P.2d 1079 (1972), but this is not adequate protection,
since the statements can lead to other evidence which won’t be clearly
inadmissible, or which may give the prosecutor tactical oe in the
adult proceedings.

GLUES EO RIL ALE OED OLE EE Fi? MONEE ey BOA

7

are serious. If the minor is found guilty, counsel then needs addi-
tional time to prepare for the transfer hearing. Given the impor-
tance of this hearing, see Kent v. United States, 383 U.S. 541
(1966), several more weeks are usually needed.

All during this time the minor probably will be incarcerated.
Unfortunately most juvenile detention homes are basically
holding facilities without any treatment program. See Rosenheim,
Detention Facilities and Temporary Shelters in Child Caring (ed.
Pappenfort, Kilpatrick, Roberts, 1973), pp. 259-265; Children in
Custody, A Report on the Juvenile Detention and Correctional
Facility Census of 1971, U.S. Department of Justice, Law En-
forcement Assistance Administration, National Criminal Justice
Information and Statistics Service, esp. pp. 13-16; Reuterman,
Hughes & Love, Juvenile Detention Facilities: Summary Report

ational Survey, 9 Criminology 3 (1971). Many minors are
képt in jails during this period of time. It has been increasingly
recognized that early identification and treatment of the prob-
lems leading juveniles to commit crimes is essential {> successful
_ rehabilitation. See Snyder, The Impact of the Juvenile Court

Hearing on the Child, 17 Crime and Delinquency 180, 182

(1971). In addition, the uncertainty over the ultimate disposi-
tion creates anxiety in the minor and contributes to his negative
attitude towards the juvenile process. See Snyder, supra at 184.

For these reasons amici curiae believe that applying the
double jeopardy clause to bar any subsequent proceedings after
a juvenile court adjudication hearing is totally consistent with
the purposes underlying the juvenile court approach, i.e., protec-
tion and rehabilitation of the minor, and in fact, its application
will facilitate the attainment of these goals.

Ill. Application of the Double Jeopardy Clause to Juvenile
Proceedings is Necessary to Protect the Integrity of the
Juvenile Court.

In addition to facilitating the rehabilitative goals of the
juvenile justice system, application of the double jeopardy clause

AORN YE AVL MALLE LOELEEL AMOI LLEIE A OLED AAAI NE TIE EOEN IN FAO OMI IE LOE EIA

8

to juvenile court hearings is necessary in order to protect the
integrity of the juvenile court process itself. Unless double
jeopardy applies, the juvenile court process is Subject to the pos-
sibility of significant misuse by prosecuting authorities.*

The problem is most acute in states which, unlike California,
permit a prosecutor to file proceedings against a minor in adult
court even though the juvenile court has elected to retain juris-
diction. See, e.g., Florida Stat. Ann. §39.02(6). The problem is
illustrated by a recent case from Florida, R.E.F. v. State. In that
case the juvenile court held an adjudicatory hearing and decided

_ 4. It is possible that the double jeopardy clause could be applied differ-
ently depending on the context in which the case arises. Prior jeopardy may
be in issue in six different situations:

(a) The minor has been acquitted after an adjudicatory hearing in
juvenile court and is being retried in juvenile court for the same offense.

(b) The minor has been acquitted after an adjudicatory hearing in
juvenile court and is being retried in adult court for the same offense.

(c) The minor has been convicted in juvenile court, found fit, and is
awaiting disposition when adult charges are brought by a prosecutor.

(d) The minor has been convicted in juvenile court, found fit, and a
dispositional program has commenced when adult charges are brought by
a prosecutor.

(e) The minor has been convicted in juvenile court, found fit, placed
in a juvenile correction facility, and is then returned to juvenile court by
the institution as unamenable to the treatment of the institution, and the
minor is then transferred to adult court for prosecution.

(f) The minor has been convicted in juvenile court, and the juvenile
court at a transfer hearing held prior to any disposition finds the minor
unfit.

This last situation is the only one before this Court. However, amici
curiae believe that the policy considerations which dictate application of
the double jeopardy clause in situations (a) through (e) should also be con-
sidered in deciding the present case. Application of the double jeopardy
clause will aid the goals of the juvenile court in all six situations. Develop-
ing separate doctrines for each situation would be cumbersome, confusing
and unnecessary.

PEST NR RE TEN A LET ERIE ER GT REE TROT ITE LG TS EAE SVAN GENOA TENN

9

to retain jurisdiction over the minor. The minor was sent to a
juvenile treatment institution. However, the prosecuting attor-
ney then brought criminal proceedings in adult court, and the
Florida Supreme Court ruled that these proceedings were not
barred by the double jeopardy clause. State v. R.E.F., 251 So.2d
672 (Fla.App. 1971), aff'd sub nom. R.E.F. v. State, 265 So.2d
701 (1972), habeas granted, Fain v. Duff, 364 F.Supp. 1192
(M.D. Fla. 1973), aff'd 488 F.2d 218 (Sth Cir. 1973) (en banc),
petition for cert. filed 42 U.S.L.W. 3667 (U.S. June 4, 1974)
(No. 73-1768).

As Fain illustrates, unless the double jeopardy clause is
applied to prevent a criminal trial after an adjudication in juve- .
nile court, the juvenile court cannot function as an independent
body serving the rehabilitative needs of the minor. The prose-
cutor is able to undermine the juvenile court judge’s authority
to determine the appropriate dispositional action. The expertise
of the juvenile court judge in deciding whether a minor needs
and can benefit from treatment can be ignored by a prosecutor
who may be responding primarily to public pressure.* Cf.
United States v. Candelaria, 131 F.Supp. 797 (1955).

The ability of a prosecutor to file charges in adult court
substantially hinders the effective implementation of a treatment
plan. If adult charges are pending, or if there is a possibility that
adult charges will be filed, a juvenile court judge may delay send-
ing a minor to a treatment program until the adult charges are
settled. As previously discussed, such delay can greatly decrease
the potential success of the treatment program.

5. It should also be recognized that, at least theoretically, the prose-
cutor could file charges in adult court even after an acquittal in juvenile
court. Amici curiae believe that an acquittal following a full juvenile court
hearing fully protects the public, and any further proceedings would under-
mine the status of the juvenile court. Moreover, it would be manifestly un-
fair to give the state a second chance in an adult proceeding to convict a
youngster found not guilty in juvenile court. See Richard M. v. Superior
Court, 4 Cal.3d 370, 93 Cal.Rptr. 752, 482 P.2d 464 (1971).

EET aS ee EAI z TRF T ¥ $ a eae

10

The possibility of adult charges being filed may be dele-
terious even when the minor is sent to a treatment institution.
Faced with the uncertainty over his status, the minor may be
unable or unwilling to participate wholeheartedly in the treat-
ment program. We certainly cannot expect a minor in such a
situation to have the positive attitude needed for successful
treatment. In addition, the minor’s confidence in the fairness
and integrity of the entire justice system will be impaired if he
has cooperated with the juvenile court and then winds up facing
a criminal trial.

Even in states like California, where the prosecutor cannot
independently bring an adult court action, it is possible for the
district attorney to misuse the juvenile court processes. A
district attorney can press for a full jurisdictional hearing in
juvenile court in order to discover the minor’s defense and then
press the juvenile court to find the minor unfit. Although this
may not have occurred in the case before this Court, the Coun-
cil of Judges is concerned over such potential abuses. Since
application of the double jeopardy clause would prevent such
problems, it is in the interest of the juvenile justice system that
the protection be extended.

IV. Fundamental Fairness to Minors Requires Application of
the Double Jeopardy Clause.

The judges who authored the Model Rules ana the judges
and others who authored the Standard Juvenile Court Act
believe that it is essential to have minors feel that they are
treated fairly if the rehabilitative goals of the system are to be
achieved. Therefore, they strongly support extension of due
process protections to juvenile court proceedings in a manner
consistent with the goals of the juvenile court system.

Juvenile court proceedings involve the potential loss of
liberty for the minor. In re Gault, 387 U.S. 1 (1967). Preventing
double punishment for the same offense is one of the basic con-

ERPS 8 LETRA MEL INT LOE NS HET ORIG LIE SA NEY BAIR VRPT ION FIRES + SNEED ARE Oop? OVATE

1]

cerns underlying the double jeopardy clause. See Note, Twice in
Jeopardy, 75 Yale L.J. 262, 266 N.13 (1961); Ex Parte Lange,
85 U.S. (18 Wall) 163, 173 (1873). To allow juveniles to be re-
tried after a juvenile proceeding would clearly subject them to
the possibility of double punishment.®

In addition, the double jeopardy clause protects persons
from going through the hardship and trauma of two trials, re-
gardless of whether they were acquitted or convicted in the first
trial. While every effort may be made to keep juvenile proceedings
as informal and non-punitive as possible, it is still true that going
through a juvenile court proceeding is a traumatic experience for
a minor. It is the position of the Council of Judges that once a
juvenile has undergone this experience, it is contrary to his in-
terest to be forced to face another trial.

Finally, it is unfair to place a minor in a position where by
defending himself in juvenile court he may be making it easier
for a prosecutor to obtain a conviction in adult court. This will
necessarily occur if the adjudicatory hearing is held first. Espe-
cially in light of the positive reasons for holding transfer hear-
ings first, it is essential that any appearance of unfairness be
eliminated by applying the double jeopardy clause to juvenile
court proceedings.

Vv. Application of the Double Jeopardy Clause to Juvenile
Proceedings Will Not Create Additional Burdens on the
Juvenile Justice System.

From the perspective of sound judicial administration, it is
quite feasible to hold transfer hearings prior to adjudicatory

6. As previously indicated, juveniles may be subjected to double punish-
ment when a prosecutor files adult charges after the minor has been
sentenced, or given a disposition, in juvenile court. In addition, California
and several other states allow transfer to adult court for prosecution if a
juvenile institution will not keep the minor. California Welfare and Institu-
tions Code § §707, 780 (West 1972).

FDA EE TP AREER AST ee eB y Ste

12

hearings. Such a procedure is required in 15 states, see Peti-
tioner’s Opening Brief, pp. 47-8, and was recommended as the
preferable procedure by the California Supreme Court. See
Donald L. v. The Superior Court of Los Angeles County, 7 Cal.
3d 592, 102 Cal.Rptr. 850, 498 P.2d 1098 (1972).

Petitioner has suggested that if transfer hearings must be
held prior to the adjudicatory hearing, this will create a substan-
tial burden on the juvenile court. Petitioner’s Opening Brief,
pp. 38-41. However, petitioner’s arguments appear to be based
on incorrect assumptions about the manner in which juvenile
courts operate. Because these assumptions are critical to peti-
tioner’s argument, it is necessary to describe in some detail how
the process actually works in California and in most jurisdictions.

Petitioner assumes that “‘[i]f transfer is barred as a disposi-
tional alternative to probation or placement in a juvenile facility,
states such as California must adopt a preliminary hearing pro-
cedure in all juvenile court cases... .” Petitioner’s Opening
Brief, p. 38. This is simply incorrect. First of all, fitness hearings
will not have to be held in every case brought to juvenile court.
Virtually every state statute substantially limits the type of cases
in which transfer is authorized — by restricting the type of of-
fenses for which transfer is possible and/or by allowing transfer
only if the minor is over a certain age. See Rudstein, Double
Jeopardy in Juvenile Proceedings, 15 Wm. and Mary L. Rev.
266, 297-8 (1972). For example, in California only minors who
were 16 or 17 years old at the time of the offense may be trans-
ferred. California Welfare and Institutions Code § 707. Thus, one
cannot use the total number of cases heard by the juvenile court
as a basis for estimating the potential number of transfer hear-
ings. Cf. Petitioner’s Opening Brief, p. 41.

Moreover, transfer is not a realistic alternative in the over-
whelming majority of cases in which the minor is eligible for
transfer, and no special hearing is necessary to establish that fact.
Under most statutes transfer is appropriate only when the minor

13

has committed a serious offense or has an extensive history of
delinquent behavior which indicates he may be unamenable to
treatment in the juvenile system. See Rudstein, supra, 14 Wm.
and Mary L. Rev. at 299. The available evidence indicates that
only a small number of cases fall in this category.”

‘ Furthermore, the cases where transfer is likely are invari-
ably identified very early in the juvenile court process. See State
v. Halverson, 192 N.W.2d 765, 769 (lowa 1971). In California,
as in most states, the juvenile probation department begins con-
sideration of dispositional alternatives as soon as charges are filed
in juvenile court. See H. Thompson, California Juvenile Court
Deskbook, California Council of Trial Judges (1972), § 10.2,

p. 146. In most cases it is clear that the minor is amenable to
juvenile court treatment, and the possibility of a fitness hearing
is not considered. No transfer hearing is needed in these cases. If
it appears to the probation officer that fitness may be in issue,
it is the general practice throughout California to indicate this
to the juvenile court judge prior to the adjudicatory hearing.*

7. See Hays and Solway, The Role of Psychological Evaluation in
Certification of Juveniles for Trial as Adults, 9 Houston L. Rev. 709, 710
(1972) (reporting that the Houston, Texas juvenile court considered the
waiver of 18 juveniles over a six-month period. Distributed among those
18 were 21 charges: 10 of murder and assault to murder, 3 of rape, and 8
of robbery by firearms); Note, Problem of Age and Jurisdiction in the
Juvenile Court, 19 Vand. L.Rev. 833, 854 (1966) (reporting on a Nashville
study where every juvenile remanded to criminal court over a 17-month
period had appeared in juvenile court at least once before; 43 of 49 had
previously been committed).

8. Although there is no published study of the procedures generally
followed in juvenile courts in California, Professor Michael Wald, counsel
for amici curiae, has recently completed an extensive analysis of the proce-
dures in two large California counties, Alameda and Santa Clara. All of the
cases transferred from juvenile court to adult court during 1971 and 1972
in these two counties were examined. Computer printout, available at
Stanford Law School, shows that the transfer hearings were held prior to
the adjudicatory hearing in 220 of the 239 cases in which a transfer oc-
curred. See also Thompson, supra, California Juvenile Court Deskbook
§10.3, pp. 1468.

14

Only in these cases need a transfer hearing be held,® and transfer
hearings would be necessary in these cases even if the adjudica-
tory hearing were held first.'° Thus, there is no reason to expect
an increased number of hearings if transfer hearings are held first.

In fact, it is quite possible that fewer hearings will be neces-
sary. As previously discussed, if the transfer hearing is held first
and the minor is found fit, he may then admit jurisdiction, thus
obviating the need for an adjudicatory hearing. In addition, the
dispositional issues will have been discussed at the transfer hear-
ing, so only a brief dispositional hearing would be necessary. If
the minor is found to be unfit, the need for an adjudicatory
hearing would be eliminated.

It is true that in jurisdictions which have only one juvenile
court judge and where the same judge cannot conduct both a
transfer hearing and an adjudicatory hearing there may be admin-
istrative difficulties in having the transfer hearing first. However,
the use of visiting judges or the temporary elevation of a munici-
pal court judge to serve as a superior court judge — if, as in Cali-
fornia, only superior court judges can hear juvenile court cases —
should be adequate to meet the problem. Amici curiae believe
that any burdens in this regard are more than compensated for
by the likelihood of fewer contested jurisdictional hearings and
the increased prospects for rehabilitation achieved by holding
transfer hearings first.

9. Since minors who are transferred generally have extensive delinquent
histories, they will already have had social studies about them conducted.
Thus, they will have already suffered any stigmatization which such a study
would entail. A minor who does not want the study conducted can waive
his right to having the transfer hearing conducted prior to the adjudicatory
hearing.

10. This, of course, would not be true in those few cases where the
minor is found not guilty.

PEAR etna Sr are

I ieee REET PEALE LIN ONS OPP ET er Pre ects

15

CONCLUSION

In McKeiver v. Pennsylvania, supra, this Court refused to
extend the right to jury trials to juvenile court hearings. The
presence of juries, said the Court, would increase the criminal as-
pects of the juvenile hearing and thereby undermine the distinc-
tive nature of the juvenile process. Further, jury trials were not
- thought to be essential to assure a fair fact finding process. Un-
like the situation in McKeiver, there is no compelling reason to
deny juveniles the protection against being placed twice in
jeopardy. On the contrary, application of the double jeopardy
clause prevents the juvenile hearing from becoming more crimi-
nal in nature. Its application will facilitate the rehabilitative
goals and the proper functioning of the juvenile court system.
Therefore, we urge this court to affirm the judgment below.

Respectfully submitted,

Michael S. Wald
Stanford Law School
Stanford, California 94305

David Gilman

National Council on Crime and Delinquency
411 Hackensack Avenue

Hackensack, New Jersey 07601

Attorneys for Amici Cunae

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, David Gilman, Counsel for Amicus, hereby certify that on or
before January 12,1975, three (3) copies of this brief were duly
served upon attorneys for both parties by mail service postage

prepaid.

David Gilman -

National Council on Crime & Delinquency
411 Hackensack Avenue

Hackensack, New Jersey 07601

ES Nee? ees PEAT BINT 6 Bree AT RAL? Fo ere Eg poe

17

APPENDIX A

Total Membership — 95
NATIONAL COUNCIL ON CRIME AND DELINQUENCY

CONTINENTAL PLAZA

HACKENSACK, NEW JERSEY 07601

OFFICERS

Chairman of the Board

Vice Chairman of the Board

Vice Chairman, Professional Affairs

Vice Chairman, National Affairs

Vice Chairman, Citizen Affairs

Vice Chairman, International Affairs

Vice Chairman, Governmental Affairs
Treasurer

Chairman, Executive Committee
Chairman, National Executives’ Committee
President & Secretary

Exec. Vice President, Citizen Services
Exec. Vice President, Professional Services

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Hon. David L. Bazelon
U. S. Court of Appeals
U. S. Court House
Washington, D. C. 20001

Mr. J. David Baker
Chairman of the Board
Hugh J. Baker Company
602 W. McCarty Street
Indianapolis, Indiana 46202

Mrs. Frank J. Battisti
13900 Shaker Boulevard
Cleveland, Ohio 44120

H. Ladd Plumley
Richard L. Gelb
Carl M. Loeb, Jr.
Robert Stuart
Charles B. Wilkinson
Hon. Francis L. Dale
Robert B. Clark
John W. Larsen
Hon. Arthur S. Lane
William F. May
Milton G. Rector

W. Edmund Carver
Frederick Ward, Jr.

Mr. Peter Bensinger
1040 North Lakeshore
Chicago, Illinois 60611

CIEE

18

Mrs. Curtis Bok *Hon. Francis L. Dale

330 Spruce Street United States Ambassador to

Philadelphia, Pa. 19106 the United Nations at Geneva
Department of State

Mr. John Boone ashingt

Boston University School of Law by ae leiiaiias

141 Bay State Road Mr. Leon DeKalb

Boston, Mass. 02215 39 Primrose Lane

Mr. Jon Galt Bowman Roosevelt, New York 11575

Commercial Marine Properties Mrs. Henry E. I. duPont
3201 Fairview Avenue East Box 4000

Seattle, Washington 98102 Greenville, Delaware 19807
*Mr. Franklin F. Bruder Mr. Harry E. Estell

41 Park Avenue Principal
_ New York, New York 10016 Wendell Phillips School

2621 South Michigan Avenue

Mr. Stephen A. Bruns : “a

seatithent Chicago, Illinois 60616

Social Action Department Mr. Jewett T. Flagg

Diocese of Kansas City— 35501 Blackwater Farms

St. Joseph — Route 4, Box 101

527 West 39th Street Jasper, Alabama 35501

Kansas City, Missouri 64111 Mr. Curtiss E. Frank

Hon. Winslow Christian President

California Court of Appeal _ Council for Financial Aid to
,_ 4154 State Building Education

San Francisco, Calif. 94102 680 Fifth Avenue
*Mr. Robert B. Clark New York, New York 10019

President Mr. Stanley A. Frankel
Hoffman-LaRoche, Inc. Vice President

340 Kingsland Street Ogden Corporation

Nutley, New Jersey 07110 161 East 42nd Street

Mr. Bill Cosby New York, New York 10017
Sah Enterprises, Inc. Mr. Douglas A. Fraser

1900 Avenue of the Stars Vice President _

Suite 1929 United Auto Workers of America
Century City, Calif. 90067 8000 East Jefferson Avenue

Detroit, Michigan 48214

* * Executive Committee Member

Professor Charles Fried

Law School of Harvard University

Cambridge, Mass. 02138

Ms. Joan R. Garber
3138 Bishop Street
Cincinnati, Ohio 45220

*Mr. Richard L. Gelb

Pres. & Chief Executive Officer

Bristol-Myers Company
345 Park Avenue
New York, New York 10022

Mr. John S. Greenway
1634 N. Olsen Avenue
Tucson, Arizona 85719

Mr. Joseph Griesedieck

Vice Chairman of the Board
Falstaff Brewing Corporation
5050 Oakland Avenue

St. Louis, Missouri 63166

Mrs. Ben T. Head
1512 Glenwood Avenue
Oklahoma City, Okla. 73116

Mr. Barron Hilton

President

Hilton Hotels Corporation
9990 Santa Monica Boulevard
Beverly Hills, Calif. 90212

Mr. Harold Horvitz
Attorney-at-Law
Guterman, Horvitz, Rubin,
Rudman and Katz
Three Center Plaza
Boston, Mass. 02108

Dr. David Jacobson
207 Beechwood Lane
San Antonio, Texas 78216

19

Mr. F. Bruce Johnson

Chairman

Board of Prison Terms and
Paroles

805 Capitol Center Building

401 West Fifth Avenue

Olympia, Washington 98501

Mr. Herbert C. Johnson
Chairman

Consolidated Natural Gas Company

30 Rockefeller Plaza
New York, New York 10020

Mr. Vernon E. Jordan
Executive Director

National Urban League

55 East 52nd Street

New York, New York 10022

*Hon. Orman W. Ketcham

Superior Court — District of
Columbia
Washington, D.C. 20001

*Mr. John L. Kidde

Vice President

Walter Kidde Company, Inc.
9 Brighton Road

Clifton, New Jersey 07012

Dr. Lawrence C. Kolb
Psychiatric Institute
Department of Mental Hygiene
722 West 168th Street

New York, New York 10032

*Hon. Arthur S. Lane

General Counsel

Johnson & Johnson

501 George Street

New Brunswick, N.J. 08903

EMI NOE Oe

*Mr. Sigurd S. Larmon
Chrysler Building
405 Lexington Avenue
New York, New York 10017

*Mr. John W. Larsen _
' President
The Bowery Savings Bank
110 East 42nd Street
New York, New York 10017

Mr. Peter Levathes
150 East 69th Street
New York, New York 10021

Mr. Carl M. Loeb, Jr.
501 East 87th Street
New York, New York 10028

Mr. Manuel Lopez
Executive Director

Social Action Commission
Diocese of Brownsville
318 East Van Buren

Suite 218

Harlingen, Texas 78550

*Mr. Dan W. Lufkin
Poverty Hollow Road
_ Newtown, Conn.,06470

Mr. Milton Luger

Director

New York State Executive
Department .

Division for Youth

2 University Place

Albany, New York 12203 |

Ms. Marilyn Lutton
2571 Wendover —
Bloomfield Hills, Mich. 48013

Mr. Pat Malloy
Attorney-at-Law .

813 Thurston National Building
Tulsa, Oklahoma 74103

*Mr. William A. Marquard, Jr.
President & Chief Executive
_ Officer
American Standard, Inc.
40 West 40th Street
New York, New York 10018

*Mr. William F. May
Chairman
American Can Corporation
American Lane

~ Greenwich, Conn. 06830

Mrs. James McClellan
Co-Chairman

Women’s Crusade Against Crime
1221 Locust Street ;
St. Louis, Missouri 63103

Dean Robert McKay |

New York University

School of Law

40 Washington Square South
New York, New York 10012

Dr. Karl Menninger

The Menninger Foundation
1439 South Michigan Avenue
Chicago, Illinois 60605

*Mr. Hamilton B. Mitchell
Chairman ;
Dun & Bradstreet Companies,

Ine.

299 Park Avenue
New York, New York 10007

21

*Mr. William T. Moran
Marketing Research Director
Lever Brothers Company
390 Park Avenue
New York, New York 10022

Dr. Norval Morris

Director

Center for Studies in Criminal
Justice

University of Chicago Law School

5807 South Ellis Avenue

Chicago, Illinois 60637

*Mr. Patrick V. Murphy
President
Police Foundation
1015 18th Street, N.W.
Suite 700
Washington, D.C. 20036

Mr. Joel E. Nystrom
Agridor Farm
Skillman, N. J. 08558

Mr. Martin D. Phelan

Vice President
Eastin-Phelan Corporation
1235 West Sth Street
Davenport, lowa 52808 |

*Mr. H. Ladd Plumley
Honorary Chairman of the Board
State Mutual Life Assurance
Company of America
440 Lincoln Street
Worcester, Mass. 01605

*Mr. Edmund T. Pratt, Jr.
Chairman & Chief Executive
Officer
Pfizer, Inc.

235 East 42nd Street
New York, New York 10017

Mr. E. Barrett Prettyman, jr.
Attorney-at-Law

Hogan & Hartson —

815 Connecticut Avenue
Ce D.C. 20006

al Raach
nr Taf le, Creek Drive
Tequ orida 33458 |
Professci tz Redl H

100 Porter Street
North Adams, Mass. 01247

Mr. Elmer W. Reeves
3415 Spruce Avenue
West Palm Beach, Fla. 33407

Ms. Janet Reno
Administrative Assistant
State Attorney

1351 N.W. 12th Street
Miami, Florida 33125

*Hon. Elliot L. Richardson

Woodrow Wilson Int’l. Center
for Scholars

The Smithsonian Institute

1000 Jefferson Drive, S.W.

Washington, D.C. 20560

Hon. Scovel Richardson —
Presiding Judge

_ U.S. Customs Court

1 Federal Plaza
New York, New York 10007

Ms. Gladys E. Rivera

New York Telephone Company
Supervisor — Urban Affairs
215-48 93rd Avenue

Queens Village, New York 11428

22

Mr. Francis C. Rooney, Jr.
President

Melville Shoe Corporation
3000 Westchester Avenue
Harrison, New York 10528

Mr. David Rothenberg
Executive Director

Fortune Society

29 East 22nd Street

New York, New York 10010

*Mrs. H. M. Rozendaal
2128 Rosendale Road
Schenectady, New York 12309

Mr. Henry T. Rutledge
Chairman

Northwest Bancorporation
7200 Northwestern Bank Bldg.
Minneapolis, Minnesota 55480

Mr. Robert D. Sack
Attorney-at-Law

Patterson, Belknap & Webb
30 Rockefeller Plaza

New York, New York 10020

Mr. Philip B. Schnering
Hillside Road
Stevenson, Maryland 21153

*Mr. William Schoen
Research and Planning Associate
Public Relations Department
Ford Motor Company
The American Road
Dearborn, Michigan 48121

Col. SaLees Seddon

Treasurer

Board of Police Commissioners
315 South 12th Street

St. Louis, Missouri 63103

*Mr. Russell Service
Deputy County Executive
Executive Building
1 West Street.

Mineola, New York 11501

*Hon. Caroline K. Simon
Counsel to Surrey, Karasik,
Greene and Seham
500 Fifth Avenue
New York, New York 10036

Mrs. William Y. Smith
3620 Ridgeway Terrace
Falls Church, Virginia 22044

Mrs. Hobart A. Spalding
1408 31st Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20007

Mr. Arthur H. Spiegel
Spiegel and Stenson

P.O. Box 1042
Albuquerque, N. M. 87103

*Mrs. Potter Stewart
5136 Palisade Lane, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20016

Mr. John L. Stickley

Chairman of the Board

John L. Stickley and Company
1615 East Boulevard
Charlotte, N. C. 28203

Mr. W. Ciement Stone

Honorary Chairman

Combined Insurance Company of
America

5050 Broadway .

Chicago, Illinois 60640

*Mr. Robert Stuart Mr. John A. Wallace
Chairman of the Board 450 Forest Avenue
National Can Corporation Apt. A 307
5959 South Cicero Avenue Norristown, Pa. 19401
Chicago, Illinois 60638 Mr. Hunter P. Wharton

Mr. Alfred K. Suga President
Vice President for Operations International Union of Operating
- Pacific Concrete and Rock Co., Engineers
Ltd. 1125 17th Street, N.W.
2344 Pahounui Drive Washington, D.C. 20036

Honolulu, Hawaii 96819 Mrs. Christine T. Whitman .

Thomas S. Szasz, M.D. Coordinator for Public Relations
Professor of Psychiatry Association of Junior Leagues,
Upstate Medical Center Inc.

State University Hospital 825 Third Avenue.

750 East Adams Street New York, New York 10022
Syracuse, New York 13210

*Mrs. Arthur G. Whyte, Jr.

Mr. T. M. Thompson Hillside Road

Chairman of the Board Greenwich, Conn. 06830

General American Transportation *Mr. Charles B. Wilkinson

120 Stank Riverside Plaza Bud Wilkinson Associates

Chicago, Illinois 60680 ee

Mr. Maynard P. Venema Suite 820

Chairman of the Executive Oklahoma City, Okla. 73112
Committee e

Universal Oil Products Company oe ore = Counsel

10 UOP Plaza 736 Bowen Building

Des Plaines, Illinois 60016 Washington, D.C. 20005

Mr. C. William Verity, Jr.
Chairman

Armco Steel Corporation
703 Curtis Street
Middletown, Ohio 45042

Mr. John M. Walker, Jr.

Assistant U. S. Attorney

U. S. Attorney’s Office :
Southern District of New York

New York, New York 10007

np . SRL LPL RINE a ore oe ET TE PED aes

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386414_0420%3A06. Public record. Not legal advice.
