# Amicus Curiae Brief — Fry v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386414_0418%3A06

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1975
- **Citation:** 421 U.S. 542

## Text

Pe ee eae SM moe
em ES Bom:
ve

i
ey

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Opinion Below
Jurisdiction

Constitution and Statutory Provisions
Involved

Questions Presented
Interest of Amicus Curiae
Summary of Argument

Argument
The Principles Inherent in the
Tenth Amendment to the United
States Constitution Preclude
Congressional Regulation of
Salaries Paid to Employees of
Sovereign States of the Union

Conclusion

Appendix A
Economic Stabilization Act of
1970, as amended, 12 U.S.C,
§ 1904 (Supp. II, 1972)

Appendix B
Consents of Parties to Piling of
Brief by Amicus Curiae California
State Employees' Association

Page

35

36

38

¢
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page

A.L.A. Schechter Poultry Corp. v.
United States, 295 U.S. 495 (1935) 12,22

Allen v. Regents of the University
System, 304 U.S. 439 (1938) 15

Amalgamated Meat Cutters and Butcher
Workmen v. Connally, 337 F.Supp.
737 (D.D.C. 1971) 22

Ashton v. Cameron County District,
298 U.S. 513 (1936) 12

Atlanta Motel v. United States,
379 U.S. 241 (1964) 8

California v. United States,
320 U.S. 577 (1944) 19

California v. Zook, 336 U.S. 725
(1949) 17,18

Case v. Bowles, 327 U.S. 92 (1946) 16,20

Coan and California State Employees'
Association v. State of California,
Cal.3d (1974) : Passim

Conn. Light and Power Co. v. Power
Commission, 324 U.S. 515 (1945) 18

Day-Brite Lighting v. Missouri,
342 U.S. 421 (1952) 25

Employees of Dept. of Public Health
and Welfare v. Missouri, 411 U.S.

279 (1973) 17,20

ii

SoS RE ee MT TE EES LE GE TLE EE IIB IL LTS SRE TCL ate _4 Pera «,

Cases Cont'd Page

Fahey v. Mallonee, 332 U.S, 245 (1947) 22

Farmers & Mechanics Bank v. Minnesota,
232 U.S. 516 12

Federal Radio Commission v. Nelson
Brothers, 289 U.S. 266 (1933) 21,

Hampton v. United States,
276 U.S. 394 (1928) ; 22

Heiner v. Donnan, 285 U.S, 312
(1932) 24

Helvering v. Gerhardt, 304 U.S, 405
(1938) 15

Kelly v. Washington, 302 U.S, 1 (1937) 18

Kotch v. Board of River Port Pilot

Commissioners, 330 U.S, 552 (1947) 8
Lichter v. United States, 334 U.S. 742
(1948) 21
Maryland v. Wirtz, 392 U.S. 183 |

(1968) | Passim
Maurer v. Hamilton, 309 U.S. 598

(1940) 18
McCulloch v. Maryland, 4 Wheat. 316 12

Mintz v. Baldwin, 289 U.S, 346 (1933) 18
Mugler v. Kansas, 123 U.S, 623 (1887) 26
Muller v. Oregon, 208 U.S. 412 (1908) 26

a iii

EINE Me

Cases Cont'd 7 Page

Murray's Lessee v. Hoboken Land and
Improvement Co., 18 How. 272 (1855) 25

National-Broadcasting Company v. United
States, 319 U.S, 190 (1943) 21

Nebbia v. New York, 291 U.S. 502
(1934) 24

/

Newton v. Commissioners, 100 U.S.
$48 (1880) 7

New York v. United States, 326 U. Ss, .
572 (1946) 10,15

O'Donoghue v. United States,
289 U.S. 516 (1933) 21

Panama Ref. Co. v. Ryan, 293 U. S. .
- 388 (1935) 22

Parker v. Brown, 317 U.S, 341
(1943) 17,18,19

‘Penn Dairies v.: Milk Control
Commission, 318 U.S, 261 (1943) 17,18

Perez v. United States, 402 U.S. 146 .
(1971) 8

Railroad Retirement Board v. Alton R.°
Company, 295 U.S. 330 (1935) 24

Secretary of Agriculture v. Central Roig.
ne Co., 338 U.S. 604 (1950) 24

South Carolina v: United ection.
199 U.S. 437 (1905). : 8,15

iv

Cases Cont'd Page
State of California and California

State Employees’ Association v.

United States of America,

USDC No. Civ S74-27 3
Taylor v. Beckham, 178 U.S. 548 (1900) 7

United Public Workers v. Mitchell,

330 U.S. 75 (1947) 21
‘United States v. California,

297 U.S. 175 (1936) 9,16,19
United States v. Carolene Products

Co., 304 U.S, 144 (1938) 24,25,26
United States v. Mine Workers A

330 U.S. 258 (1947) 17
United States v. Ohio, 487 F.2d 936

(Em.App. 1973) 1,8,12,20
United States v. Rock Royal Co-op, |

307 U.S. 533 (1930) ; 22
Williamson v. Lee Optical of Oklahoma,

348 U.S. 483 (1955) 24
Wilmette Park District v. Campbell;

338 U.S. 411 (1949) 15
Yakus v. United States, 321 U.S. 414

(1944) 22
Youngstown Sheet & Tube Co. v. Sawyer,

343 U.S. 579 (1952) 23
Ziffrin v. Reeves, 308 U.S, 132 (1939) B

68 PNG Ri A OS DORA oe Mp, EOD LSS, ~~

Constitution and Statutes

California Government Code § 18850

Economic Stabilization Act of 1970,
as amended, 12 U.S.C. § 1904
(Supp. II, 1972)

Economic Stabilization Act,
Amendments of 1973, P.L. 93-28,
§ 8; 87 Stat. 27, 29 (1973)

Fair Labor Standards Act,
29 U.S.C. § 201, et seq.

Page's Ohio Revised Code Annotated,

§ 143.101 (Anderson 1972)

United States Constitution
Article I, § 8, Clause l
Article I, § 8, Clause 3

(Commerce Clause)
First Amendment
Fifth Amendment

(Due Process Clause)
Tenth Amendment

Miscellaneous

Page
29,30

Passim

12

9,11

28,29

Passim
Passim

California State Personnel Board, Standards

and Survey Division, Salary Setting in
~ 11,31

California State Civil Service (1969) ~

Galbraith, John Kenneth, The Affluent

Society (Houghton Mifflin Co.,
1960

vi

32,33

mee

Miscellaneous Cont'd Page

Schneider, B.V.H., "Prevailing Rates
in Galifornia; A Symposium" ,
California Public Employee Relations,
Institute of Industrial Relations,
University of California, Berkeley,
CPER Series No. 9 (June 1971) 26,27,28,
29,30

I Schwartz, A Commentary on the
Constitution of the United States 15

State of California Department of Finance;
U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of
Labor Statistics, Current Wage
Development 34

"State Salary Policies and Practices" ;
Report of the Assembly Interim
Committee on Governmental

Efficiency and Econom (Sacramento:
February 1953) 30,31

3 Sutherland, Statutory Construction |
(3rd ed. , Horock ed. 1943)§ 6302 19

he,

vii

TREE IRONY, OP A AL AML oe RPT AA GABE Pore ge NOM xo ‘ pers) ae . :

No. 73-822

In the
Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1973

ERNEST FRY and THELMA BOEHM, PETITIONERS
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, RESPONDENT

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE TEMPORARY EMERGENCY
COURT OF APPEALS

OPINION BELOW

The Temporary Emergency Court of Appeals
rendered a judgment on October 25, 1973. The
opinion of the court is reported at 487 F.2d 936
(Em.App.. 1973) and a copy thereof is attached to
the Petition for Writ of Certiorari as Appendix A.

(1)

2
JURISDICTION

The jurisdiction of the Supreme Court is con-
ferred by Section 211(g) of the Economic Stabili-
zation Act, as amended, 12 U.S.C. § 1904
(Supp. II, 1972).

CONSTITUTION AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The provisions of the United States Constitution
involved are Article I, Section 8, Clause 3, which
provides as follows:

The Congress shall have Power. . . To
regulate commerce . . . among the several
States;"

and the Tenth Amendment which provides as follows:

The powers not delegated to the United
States by the Constitution, nor prohibited
by it to the States, are reserved to the
States respectively, or to the people.

The statutory provisions involved are Sections
202, 203(a)(1), (b) and (h) of the Economic
Stabilization Act of 1970, as amended, 12 U.S.C,
§ 1904 (Supp. II, 1972), the texts of which are
contained in Appendix A, attached hereto.

‘ QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Tenth Amendment to the United
States Constitution precludes congressional
regulation of salaries paid to employees of
sovereign States of the Union.

A. Whether Tenth Amendment principles
limit congressional power under the Commerce
Clause to regulate and control governmental
activities of the States.

7

3

B. Whether Congress Clearly manifested its
intent to subject salaries paid state employees to
the powers of the Economic Stabilization Act of
1970.

C. Whether congressional delegation of
power to control state salaries to the Executive
Branch was proper.

D. Whether there was a rational basis for
federal regulation of state employees' salaries in
view of the principles of the Tenth Amendment.

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

Amicus Curiae California State Employees'
Association is an employee organization of in
excess of 100,000 members consisting of civil
service employees of the State of California, and
employees of the University of California and State
College and University systems. The issues
involved in this case directly affect California State
Employees’ Association and its members in that pay
increases enacted into law by the California Legis-
lature and concurred in by the Governor have been
withheld by virtue of an order of the Cost of Living
Council purportedly issued pursuant to the
Economic Stabilization Act of 1970, as amended,
12 U.S.C. § 1904 (Supp. II, 1972). Amicus Curiae
California State Employees’ Association was a party
plaintiff in a case recently decided by the
California Supreme Court (lames oan and California
State Employees' Association v. State of California
et al., California Supreme Court No. SAC 7987), |

California State Employees’ Association v. United
States of America, et al., No. Civ S74-27). Both
cases deal with questions similar to those involved
in this instant proceeding.

Amicus Curiae California State Employees'
Association has obtained the written consent of the
parties to this action, which consents are filed

Pee eee ti an Neat a

Tre sash tte hirbwitis Agia Sided aaah Rex ale” eae:

‘ty

Pe hey Ghee ep Cre

és

‘ herewith. Copies of the written consents are

attached hereto as Appendix B.

Amicus Curiae California State Employees'
Association files thiss brief in support of the
position of the Petitiiooners, Ernest Fry and Thelma
Boehm.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The principles of federalism inherent in the
Tenth Amendment to tthe United States Constitution
reserve to the States the power to regulate and
control salaries paid: employees of the States, and
hence preclude such regulation by Congress. The
Commerce power does not reach those activities
sought to be controlled here - the regulation of
state employees' saliaries - since the Commerce
power, like the tax mower, does not reach those
activities which are ‘unique to a State and essential
to its preservation.

In enacting the Economic Stabilization Act of
1970, Congress did mot clearly manifest its intent
to make the States swbject to the salary control
portions of that legis;slation. Since the case law
establishes that congressional intent to regulate
the internal affairs of the States will not lightly be
inferred, Congress ciannot be deemed to have under-
taken the exercise off this power which has
traditionally been exercised by the States.

Assuming both comgressional power to regulate
state salaries, and Congress’ intent to do act, the
subject act contravemes the conditional doctrine of
Separation of Powers by reason of the unguided
delegation of power to the Executive Branch. Since
the purported delegation of power to the Executive
Branch to regulate amd control salaries did not
contain quidelines to sufficiently mark the field
with regard to public sector regulation, the
federal action is invalid.

Congress had no rational basis to regulate the
salaries paid by States to their employees, and

PML ATELIER PARE 0 FR FAAS a DRE ADT AT Se

5

hence congressional action violates both the Due
Process Clause of the Fifth Amendment and the pro-
visions of the Tenth Amendment. In this case the
Federal Government has attempted to usurp the

role as arbiter of a sovereign State's relations with
its employees without a rational basis to justify
such action. Salary setting in the public sector
differs substantially from such action in the private
sector. The public sector, including the State of
Ohio, is concerned primarily with paying prevailing
wages, i.e., establishing salaries on the basis of
the amounts being paid in other sectors of the
economy. For this reason, the noncollective
bargaining public sector is a follower, and not a
leader, with regard to wage scales. Control of the
private sector leads automatically to control of the
public sector. Establishing controls over noncol-
lective bargaining States has the effect of
regulating the States twice.

ARGUMENT

THE PRINCIPLES INHERENT IN THE
TENTH AMENDMENT TO THE UNITED
STATES CONSTITUTION PRECLUDE
CONGRESSIONAL REGULATION OF

SALARIES PAID TO EMPLOYEES OF
SOVEREIGN STATES OF THE UNION

A. CONGRESSIONAL POWER TO REGULATE AND
CONTROL GOVERNMENTAL ACTIVITIES OF
THE STATES UNDER THE COMMERCE POWER
(U.S. CONST., ARTICLE I, SECTION B,
CLAUSE 4) IS LIMITED BY THE PRINCIPLES
INHERENT IN OUR SYSTEM OF FEDERALISM
EXEMPLIFIED BY THE TENTH AMENDMENT

TO THE UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION —

The central, overriding issue presented by this
case is whether the United States Congress has the
authority under its Commerce power to regulate the
internal governmental affairs of a sovereign State.
It is recognized that congressional power under
the Commerce Clause is broad indeed; however,
the power is not without limitations. Although this
Court has- not specifically defined the line which
separates a valid exercise of the Commerce power
from an unconstitutional usurpation of state govern-
mental functions, it must be assumed that such a
line exists and is capable of definition. In fact,
this Court has acknowledged that congressional
power under the Commerce Clause does have limits,
but determined that the limitation had not yet been
reached by the case under consideration. E.g.,
Maryland v. Wirtz, 392 U.S. 183, 196 (1968).
Without such a border, there would be no need for
the separate fifty State governments, for Congress
could conceivably take over all their functions
acting under an unchecked Commerce power. Indeed,
as the Wirtz Court recognized, "[t]he Court has
ample power to prevent. . . ‘the utter destruction
of the State as a sovereign political entity.'"

392 U.S. at 196. This case calls upon the Court
to exercise that power and define the limits of the
Commerce Clause. It is submitted that an

’ appropriate limitation on the exercise of the
Commerce power with respect to state activities
would preclude federal regulation of those activities
which are unique to a State and are essential to its
preservation as a viable political sovereign.

7

The purported application to the States of the
Economic Stabilization Act of 1970, as amended,
12 U.S.C. § 1904 (Supp. II, 1972), upheld by the
Court below, constitutes an unwarranted invasion
by the Federal Government of sovereign govern-
mental activities which are unique to States and
essential to their preservation. and es such
destroys the constitutional principle of federalism.
Such action cannot be justified by congressional
power to regulate commerce, especially in view of
the existence of the Tenth Amendment.

The Tenth Amendment to the United States
Constitution provides as follows:

The powers not delegated to the United
States by the Constitution, nor prohibited
by it to the States, are reserved to the
States respectively, or to the people.

Since the power to regulate and control the internal
governmental affairs of sovereign States by dic-

‘tating a ceiling on salaries that can be paid public

officials and employees is not delegated to the
United States by the Constitution, nor canlit be
implied in the Commerce Clause, such power is
reserved to the States.

1/ This Court has held that a State's powers
with respect to its officers and employees is
absolute, except as restrained by provisions of the
State's own constitution. A State may, at its sole
discretion, add officers, abolish them, increase
or lower the salary, or change the mode of compen-
sation. Newton v. Commissioners, 100 U.S, 548,
559 (1880). This Court has also held that it is
essential to the independence of the States that
such powers be exclusive and free from external
interference, except as plainly provided to the
contrary by the United States Constitution. Taylor -
v. Beckham, 178 U.S, 548, 570-71 (1900). An

8

The Commerce Clause reaches three main
categories of commercial activities: (1) the use of
the channels of interstate commerce, (2) protection
of the instrumentalities of interstate commerce or
: persons or things in commerce, and (3) those
activities affecting commerce. Perez v. United
é States, 402 U.S. 146, 150 (1971). The third
% category has been applied to extend the reach of
j the Commerce power to those intrastate activities
which so affect interstate commerce as to make
their regulation appropriate. Perez v. United
: States, supra, 402 U.S. 150; Atianta Motel v.

' —-—-United States, 379 U.S. 241, 258 (1964). Nocase
: has interpreted the Commerce Clause to permit the
Federal Government to supersede the governmental
4 activities of sovereign States in their local spheres.
: No decision has gone as far as the decision of the
; Court below in this proceeding, the effect of which
4 comes dangerously close to, if not actually per-
mitting "the Congress [to] virtually draw up each
State's budget to avoid' disruptive effect[s] ...

3 on commercial intercourse.' Atlanta Motel v.
United States, 379 U.S, 241." Maryland v.

Wirtz, supra, 392 U.S. 183, 205 (Mr. Justice
Douglas, Dissenting).

" ae ln
YB owe if

The decision of the Temporary Emergency Court
of Appeals (United States v. Ohio, 487 F.2d 936,
941 (Em.App. 1973), and the argument of the
Respondent United States in this Court, rest

5 primarily upon

l/ Cont'd

7 important factor in the United States Supreme
Court's determination of a State statute's con-
stitutionality is whether such legislation involves
the right and power of the State to select its own
agents and officers. Kotch v. Board of River Port
Pilot Commissioners, 330 U.S. 552, 557 (1947).
See also Ziffrin v. Reeves, 308 U.S, 132 (1939);
South Carolina v. United States, 199 U.S. 437 (1905).

9

this Court's opinion in Maryland v. Wirtz, supra,
392 U.S, 183. Wirtz upheld the constitutions lity
of the 1961 and 1966 amendments to the Fair Labor
Standards Act which extended the coverage of the
minimum wage and overtime provisions to schools
and hospitals, whether public or private, profit

or nonprofit, and modified the definition of
“employer” to remove the exemption of the States
and their political subdivisions with respect to ~—
certain employees of hospitals, institutions, and
schools.£/ This Court acknowledged that the
Commerce power has limits (392 Us. 196), bat. _,
found that such limits had not been exceeded. In
holding that United States v. California, 297 U.S,
175 (1936), was dispositive of the issue, the ©
Wirtz Court stated the following:

If a State is engaging in economic activities
that are validly regulated by the Federal
Government when engaged in by private
persons, the State too may be forced to
conform its activities to feds

Both the United States Congress, in
the amendments to the Fair Labor Standard Act,
and the United States Supreme Court, in upholding
their constitutionality in Wirtz, quite plainly
recognized that the activities that they were con-
cerned with were those which were engaged in by
both private persons and state and local govern-
ments. Both commonly operate hospitals and

2/ Congress has recently amended the Fair
Labor Standards Act, 29 U.S.C. § 201, et seq.,
by greatly expanding the coverage of state
employees. P.L, 93-259. The constitutionality
of these recent amendments cannot be deemed to be
a certainty on the basis of Maryland v. Wirtz, since
Wirtz dealt only with a narrow set of amendments
applicable in limited circumstances.

A) Seb 8 rp adap ses meses Sa Teo EAS PEN tort yee

OF eee tis re

similar institutions and hoth establish and operate
schools. The High Court did’ not, as both the
Temporary Emergency Court of Appeals and ‘the
Respondent United States seem to lose sight of,
hold that those activities which are engaged in
only by States’in the exercise of their sovereign
governmental duties may be reaciied by the
federal Commerce power.

One limitation that this Court has consistently
held to apply to the exercise of congressional
power vis a vis States is that such regulations may
not reach those activities which are unique to
State governments. .

There are, of course, State activities and:
State-owned property that partake of
uniqueness from the point of view of inter-
governmental relations. These inherently
constitute a class by themselves. Only a
; State can own a Statehouse; only a State
can get/income by taxing. These could
not be in udéd for purposes of federal _
taxation in any abstract category of tax-
payers without taxing the State as a State.
New York v. United States, 326 U.S.572,
582 (1946) (Opinion of Mr. Justice
Frankfurter) .

per distinction +o be drawniis between "the State
s 8] government and the State as §] trader."
ae York v. United States, supra, ‘at 579.

Although the New York case concerned the ,
taxing power rather than the Commerce power, it
is submitted that the reasoning remains the same

-and the example serves,as an appropriate analogy.
to the instant situation. The Economic
Stabilization Act has been applied to all aspects
of State activities, including those which are |
only engaged in’by a State. Just as only a State
can own a Statehouse, only a State employs \

‘ 11

Governor, members of the Legislature, Judges,
Highway Patrol officers, Department of Motor
Vehicle employees, Unemployment Insurance
employees; and generally operates a State govern-
ment. Since the United States Congress cannot
unduly interfere with a State's discharge of its
sovereign governmental functions by levying a
property tax on a Statehouse, the Congress cannot
constitutionally impose limitations on the salaries
a State can pay its officers and employees.

Such regulations adversely affect a State in
-discharging its governmental obligations and
duties to her citizens. Because of salary limita-
tions imposed, Judges may very well decide to
enter the private practice of law, where limitations
on income are not imposed. Highway Patrolmen
and State Troopers may leave their positions for
more lucrative positions in the private sector. 3
Application of such a regulation to the States
adversely affects a State's ability to recruit and
retain key employees. Hence, the impact of a
"wage ceiling" is quite different from the
problems dealt with in Wirtz. The Economic
Stabilization Act affects virtually every employee
and officer of the State, while the Wirtz case
concerns only those employed in schools and
hospitals, and even then did not cover those
employed, in executive, professional, supervisorial
or administrative capacities. It is difficult to
follow the reasoning of the Temporary Emergency
Court of Appeals in determining that the "impact
of the extension of the Fair Labor Standards Act to
the States appears to be greater than the impact of

3/ "If State salaries are significantly below
prevailing rates, the State cannot recruit and
retain a competent work force.™,California State
_ Personnel Board, Standards and Survey Division,

v
(1969), page 5.

&

12

the [Economic Stabilization] Act. .°. ."

(487 F.2d at 942.) The Court apparently reached
this conclusion persuaded by the fact that the pro-
visions of the Act are temporary.4/ Such an
observation is, of course, clearly irrelevant. The
fact that action taken by the United States Congress
is temporary in character does not change an other-
wise unconstitutional statute into a constitutional
one. Furthermore, "[e]xtraordinary conditions do
not create or enlarge constitutional power. ..."

A,L,A, Schechter Poul Corp. v. United States,
295 U.S. 495, 528 (1935).

A State's sovereignty essential ‘to its proper
functioning under the United States Constitution
cannot be taken away by any form of legislation.

Ashton v. Cameron County District, 298 U. a oR
531 (1936).

If obligations of States or their political
subdivisions may be subjected to inter-
ference here attempted, they are no longer
free to manage their own affairs; the will
of Congress prevails over them; although
inhibited, the right to tax might be less
Sinister. And really the sovereignty of the
State, so often declared necessary tothe ~*
federal system, does not exist. McCulloch
. Maryland, 4 Wheat. 316, 430. Farmers
& Mechanics Bank v. Minnesota, 232 U.S.
516, 526.
Ashton v. Cameron County District, supra,
at 531.

4/ As they indeed were. The Economic Stabili-
zation Act, and its attendant regulations, expired
on April 30, 1974. Economic Stabilization Act
Amendments of 1973, P.L. 93-28, § 8; 87 Stat.

27, 29 (1973).

13

If the imposition of wage ceilings imposed upon
state governments by Congress under the guise of
its power to regulate commerce is upheld, the
death knell of States as viable political sovereigns
will be sounded.

. . . [Uf all employees of the state -
including those occupying purely govern-
mental positions created by the state,
paid with funds raised by the state,
performing services entirely intrastate in
character - are subject to whimsical control
of the Congress and federal administrative
agencies, “then the National Government
. could devour the essentials of state
sovereignty, though that sovereignty is
Perret by the Tenth Amendment. "
Douglas, J., dissenting in Maryland v.
Wirtz, 392 U.S, at 205).
Coan v. California, Cai.3d
(California Supreme Court, No. SAG 7987,
decided April 19, 1974)(Mosk, J., "=
Concurring, page 2 of Justice Mosk's
opinion) 5/

If this regulation is a constitutional exercise of
congressional power under the Commerce Clause,
then the Federal Government can impose limita-
tions on the amount of revenue which can be
raised by the States through their taxing power,
can limit the amount of money spent on Statehouse

S/ The slip opinion of this case, in which
Amicus Curiae California State Employees'
Association obtained a writ of mandamus ordering
the State of California and its officials to pay the
salary increases for state employees as provided
by state law, is attached as an appendix to the
brief of Amicus Curiae State of California.

ETO LI RT aE PEAS Ag ORIN

14

grounds, can limit the number of employees hired
by a State, can limit the total amount of money
appropriated and spent by the State, and can
“virtually draw up each State's budget. " The
Commerce power simply does not go this far.
This case presents the situation where the limits
of the Commerce power have finally been reached
and exceeded.

If we examine application of this federal
act in the light of the commerce clause,

we would at once experience the utter
futility of trying to detect activity in inter-
state commerce by a janitor in the State
Capitol, a stenographer in the Governor's
office, an administrative assistant: to a
state legislator, a law clerk in this court,
or, for that matter, by every state employee
who is hired by the state, paid by the state
and whose sphere of service is jurisdiction-
ally circumscribed by the borders of the
state. Thus this could be a classic case
in which to take a firm constitutional

stand for state independence in its govern-
mental function, however anachronistic such
action may seem to those who over the
years have bent constitutional principles

to fleeting expediency.’

Coan v. California, supra, Cal.3d

_____ (Mosk, J., Concurring, page 5 of
Justice Mosk's opinion). ™

The cases establishing State immunity from
federal taxation decided by this Court are an
important reservoir of legal principles applicable
to federal-state relations and hence should be
examined in reaching a decision in the instant
proceeding. The "State taxing" cases nearly
uniformly hold that the federal taxing power
_ extends to the States so long as the Congress does
not discriminate by the imposition of taxes upon
state property or activities while not taxing

1S

similar private* property and activities. However,
an elementary constitutional principle, repeated

in each of the "State taxing" cases, is that
Congress cannot tax state property or activities
which are unique to State government and essential
to its preservation. E.g., Wilmette Park
District.v. Campbell, 338 U.S, 411 (1949); New
York v. United States, supra, 326 U.S. 572;

Allen v. Regents of the University System, 304
U.S, 439 (1938); Helvering v. Gerhardt, 304 U.S.
405 (1938); South Carolina v. United States, supra,
199 U.S. 437, 461 (1905).

A leading constitutional law scholar, Bernard
Schwartz, has observed that the doctrines of the
"State taxing" cases apply to other fields of
congressional regulation as well.

What is true of the state immunity from
federal taxation is also true of state
immunity from federal regulation. A
federal regulatory law presumably could
not operate to curtail the exercise by a
State of its essential government functions.
On the other hand, where a state engages
an activity not uniquely governmental,

it can be subjected to any federal law that
controls such activity.

I Schwartz, A Commentary on the
Constitution of the United States, § 22

at page 70 (1963).

The activity of compensating its officers,
employees and other public officials is certainly
unique to a State government. No private business
Pays the salary of public officials. There are no
Governors, Legislators, Legislative Aides,
Highway Patrolmen or State Troopers, Judges,
Hearing Officers, Administrative Boards or
Commissioners, Driver's License Examiners,
Deputy Attorneys General, Tax Collectors, or
Court Clerks in the private sector of the economy.

RETAILER SORT NET YM FE TSE ORE RARE CHR NSS

16

The ability to recruit and retain such employees
and pay them what it deems to be a fair wage is
an activity essential to a State's preservation.
Such a regulation as the wage ceiling imposed by
the Economic Stabilization Act of 1970, as amended
is certainly a measure which unduly interferes
with and substantially burdens State activities.
The running of a State and paying fair salaries to
its officials and employees are activities quite
different from operating a railroad (United States
v. California, 297 U.S. 175 (1936)), selling
timber on school lands (Case v. Bowles, 327 U.S,
92 (1946)), or operating schools and hospitals
(Maryland v. Wirtz, supra, 392 U.S. 183). These
cases simply do not, and can not, stand for the
proposition that unique governmental activities of
States, essential to their preservation, can be
regulated and controlled by the Federal Govern-
ment. The constitutional principle of Federalism
inherent in the Tenth Amendment must be
reaffirmed and the inherent sovereignty of the

fifty States acknowledged.

‘

B. CONGRESS DID NOT INTEND SALARIES OF
STATE EMPLOYEES TO BE SUBJECT TO THE

The Congress of the United States did not grant
to the President or to any federal administrative
body the authority to regulate or control the internal
affairs of the sovereign States, especially in the
area of setting salaries for the employees of a
State. Nothing contained in the Economic
Stabilization Act indicates an intent on the part
of the Congress to confer such a power on the
Executive Branch.

Section 203(a)(1) of the Act delegates certain
powers to the President, including the authority
to "stabilize prices, rents, wages, and salaries

." However, no mention is made of the

SL Pe EG BLINN FR PN ae EOL ROPES TIA BIR EE a et oP ei EO SY 5 eI gD

—

17

States of the Union in this grant of authority, nor
can their inclusion be readily implied. Such an
omission is quite significant for subsection (h)
of that section provides as follows:

No state or portion thereof shall be
exempted from any application of this
title with respect to rents solely by
virtue of the fact that it regulates
rents by State or local law, regulation
or policy.

Congress apparently felt that explicit mention of
States was necessary to make clear the coverage
of the Act with respect to rent stabilization;
however, no such clear expression is included
with respect to the control of wages. Hence, if
Congress had intended to include salaries paid
employees by the sovereign States, it would
have explicitly mentioned or clearly referred to
the States in section 203(a)(1).

The settled, long established rule is that an
unexpressed purpose of Congress to set aside
State regulation of its internal affairs is not
lightly to be inferred. E.g., California v. Zook,
336 U.S. 725, 733 (1949); Penn Dairies v. Milk
Control Commission, 318 U.S, 261, 275-76
(1943); Parker v. Brown, 317 U.S. 341, 351 (1943);
Coan v. California, supra, Cal.3d__ + (1974).
See also United States v. Mine Workers, 330 U.S.
258, 272 (1947) ("[S]tatutes which in general terms
divest pre-existing rights or privileges will not be
applied to the sovereign without express words to
that effect."). This principle was reaffirmed just
last term in Employees of Dept. of Public Health
and Welfare v. Missouri, 411 U.S. 279, 284-85
(1973). This rule applies "with even greater
force when an administrative tribunal is claiming
a state is subject to its jurisdiction so that it may
totally or partially invalidate state laws."

ERR SKE NN APN SLM Shera tea Zt EN:

. 18
Coan v. California, supra, Cal.3d (1974)
(Slip opinion, page 11).

This Court has long recognized the need to
exercise the greatest restraint in construing con-
gressional statutes which undertake to exercise
powers traditionally exercised by the States.

An unexpressed purpose of Congress to set
aside statutes of the states regulating their
internal affairs is not lightly to be inferred
and ought not to be implied where the legis-
_ lative command, read in the light of its
history, remains ambiguous. Considera-
tions which lead us not to favor repeal of
statutes by implication,[ citations] should
be at least as persuasive when the
question is one of the nullification of state
power by Congressional legislation. ...
Courts should guard against resolving
these competing considerations of policy
by imputing to Congress a decision which
quite clearly it has not undertaken to make.
Penn Dairies v. Milk Control Commission,
supra, 318 U.S, at 275.

The principle which emerges is that "Con-
gressional purposes to displace local laws must
. be clearly manifested." California v. Zook,
Supra, 336 U.S, at 733. See also Conn. Light
and Power Co. v. Power Commission, 324 U.S.
515, 532 (1945); Maurer v. Hamilton, 309 U.S.
598, 614 (1940); Kelly v. Washington, 302 U.S.
1, 11, 14 (1937); Mintz v. Baldwin, 289 U.S,
346 (1933); Coan v. California, supra, Cal.3d
____ (1974). The need for such restraint has been
particularly apparent when the activity sought to
be regulated by the federal authorities is an
activity of the State itself. As this. Court has
noted, "an unexpressed purpose to nullify a
state's control over its officers and agents is

- PEER ER ET.

19

not lightly to be attributed to Congress. . , ,"
Parker v. Brown, Supra, 317 U.S, at 351.

The above rules have two general exceptions
which permit resort to rules of construction or
extrinsic matters such as legislative history.
However, these exceptions are inapplicable to
the instant matter. The first covers regulation of
the proprietary activities of the States. See
United States v. California, 297 U.S, 175, 186
(1936); 3 Sutherland, Statutory Construction (3rd
ed., Horock ed. 1943) § 6302, page 193. As
noted in Argument I A, supra, the regulation in
question concerns a strictly governmental
function -- the compensation of employees
engaged in purely governmental activities, Coan
Vv. California, supra, wan WEE.en-. Gln
opinion, page 11).

The second exception concerns those regula-
tions the objectives of which could not be
accomplished without including State governments.
See California v. United States, 320 U.S. 577, 585-
986 (1944): 3 Sutherland, Statutory Construction,
Supra, § 6302, page 193. The control of state
employee salaries is not essential to the statute's
purpose of controlling inflation since such
salaries are based on Prevailing rates in other
sectors of the economy and control of these other
sectors automatically limits state ga Coan
Vv. California, supra, me, VOL.3G .. Chip
opinion, pages 11-12); See Argument I D, infra .6/

&/ Since neither of the foregoing two excep-
tions is applicable to the instant case, the
Temporary Emergency Court's reliance on United
States v. California, Supra, 297 U.S, 175, is mis-
Placed. Also, since the Act is clear on its face,
the Court's heavy reliance on legislative history
is improper. See Coan v, California, Supra,

—— Cal.3d___ (Slip opinion, page 13).

20

The Temporary Emergency Court of Appeals
purported to dispose of the statutory interpretation
question by asserting that such an argument was
rejected in Case v. Bowles, Supra, 327 U.S, 92;
United States v. Ohio, supra, 487 F.2d at 939.
Such an assertion is incorrect. Bowles held that
explicit mention of "states" need not be included
in a congressional enactment before that act can
be applied to the States. However, in Bowles,
this Court made it clear that before an act can be
applied to the internal affairs of sovereign States,
there must be some reference in the act from which
the alleged congressional intent can be inferred.
The Temporary Emergency Court of Appeals found
and discussed no such reference in the Economic
Stabilization Act of 1970, as amended. In Bowles
the act in question (Emergency Price Control Act of
1942) contained language making the act applic-
able to "the United States or any agency thereof,
or any other government, or any of its political
subdivisions or any agency of any of the foregoing."
327 U.S. at 99. No similar language is contained
in the Economic Stabilization Act of 1970, as
amended. Case v. Bowles, supra, actually

supports the argument of defendants. clear quite

clearly holds that in the absence of a ‘Gar expres-
sion of intent on the part of Congress, federal
legislation will not be deemed to have intended to
set aside statutes of the States regulating their
internal affairs. Furthermore, the Court below
failed to recognize and-deal with the latest expres-
sion of this Court on this subject. Employees of
the Dept. of Public Health and Welfare v. Missouri,
411 U.S, 279.

It follows that since Congress did not clearly
manifest its intent to apply the Economic Stabiliza-
tion Act of 1970, as amended, to the several States,
the Act should be held to be inapplicable to the

_ State of Ohio.

a ae ee a Re ke LN ee ee ed Co a OE Lae Sg

a

C. EVEN IF CONGRESS DID INTEND THAT
STATE EMPLOYEES’ SALARIES SHOULD BE
REGULATED, THE DELEGATION OF THIS
POWER TO THE PRESIDENT UNDER THE
VAGUE STANDARDS OF THE ECONOMIC

QTABILIZATION ACT WAS IMPROPER

The concern over excessive delegation of legis-
lative functions to the Executive Branch stems
from the doctrine of Separation of Powers.

The Constitution, in distributing the
powers of government, creates three
distinct and separate departments - the
legislative, the executive and the judicial.
This separation is not merely a matter of
convenience or of governmental mechanism.
Its object is basic and vital [citation
omitted] , namely, to preclude a commingling
of these essentially different powers of
government in the same hands.

O'Donoghue v. United States, 289 U.S.
516, 530 (1933).

The aim of our theory of government is "to

preserve the liberties of the people from excessive
concentration of authority." United Public Workers
v. Mitchell, 330 U.S. 75, 91 (1947).

It is not asserted that the Congress may never
delegate its power to the Executive Branch. The
practicalities of government demand that many

vital powers of Congress be entrusted to the
_ Executive under extremely broad grants of legis-
lative power. See, e.g., Lichter v. United States,
334 U.S. 742 (1948); National Broadcasting
Company v. United States, 319 U.S. 190 (1943);
Federal Radio Commission v. Nelson Brothers,
289 U.S. 266 (1933). Such broad delegations
will normally be upheld so long as Congress pro-
vides some reasonable standards to guide the
Executive in his exercise of the granted powers.

PAIR NPES RT : te i a ltd ee i ee Bones Ce

22

See United States v. Rock Royal Co-op, 307 U.S,
533: (1930); Hampton v. United States, 276 U.S.
394 (1928).

This Court has upheld broad grants of powers
to the Executive with respect to economic
controls on the private sector. The proper
standard for delegation is whether the legislation
". . . Sufficiently marks the field within which
the Administrator is to act so that it may be known
whether he has kept within it in compliance with
the legislative will." Yakus v. United States,
321 U.S. 414, 425 (1944). See also Amalgamated

Meat Cutters and Butcher Workmen v. Connally,
337 F.Supp. 737 0c. 1971).

The instant case does not concern the standards
to be applied in the economic regulation of the
private sector. It may very well be that the broad
standards of delegation allowed in Yakus and
Amalgamated Meat Cutters may be wholly
appropriate for the private sector, yet be wholly
inappropriate when applied to the States,

especially where, as here, the boundaries of the
field have not been clearly marked.

The Congress does not have unlimited powers
of delegation. This Court has recognized that
there are’ some circumstances under which a con-
gressional delegation may be too broad, A,L,A,
Schechter Poultry Corp. v. United States, supra,
295 U.S, 495 (igaey. Panama Ref. Co. v. Ryan,
293 U.S. 388 (1935). Ina subsequent opinion,
this Court noted that these two cases "dealt with
delegation of power . . . to devise novel rules of
law in a field in which there had been no settled
law or custom," Fahey v. Mallonee, 332 U.S.
245, 249 (1947). It is submitted that for much
the same reason, the delegation involved in this
case should be found invalid.

PPR PIA LLNS POIROT EEE NE NOE ON SRE CIID NEY siete COR pony

a

23

To leave the decision of whether or not to
regulate State government pay practices wholly in
the hands of federal administrators acting under
an extremely general grant of congressional power
comes dangerously close to the runaway executive
power involved in Youngstown Sheet & Tube Co. v.
Sawyer, 343 U.S. 579 (1952). To allow an admin-
istrative agency to take over such important fiscal
control of the States ‘under a general grant of
regulatory power is to rob the States of the
sovereignty guaranteed them by the Tenth Amend-
ment to the United States Constitution.

D. THERE IS NO RATIONAL BASIS FOR THE
REGULATION OF STATE EMPLOYEES’
SALARIES BY DIRECT FEDERAL CONTROL
WHICH WOULD PERMIT SUCH ACTION IN

MENT

1. Exercises of Power Under the
Commerce Clause Must Meet
the Standards of Due Process

Assuming, arguendo, that the regulation of
state employees’ salaries is a valid exercise of
congressional authority under the Commerce
Clause, the limitations on federal power inherent
in the Tenth Amendment demand that such exercise
be subject to the requirements of Due Process.
Since federal action which fails to comply with
the requirements of Due Process is not a power
"delegated to the United States by the Constitu-
tion," such action vis a vis a State and its
citizens not only violates Due Process of law
guaranteed by the Fifth Amendment, but also
contravenes the Tenth Amendment to the United
States Constitution.

In speaking of the power of Congress under the
Commerce Clause, this Court has stated the
following: "All agree, . . that this power must :

TN Laie Te see eee , © ACBL RG DRESS PANE EL AIEEE § PAS ERNE eee Me

24

be exercised in subjection to the guaranty of
due process of law found in the Fifth Amendment
[citations omitted]." Railroad Retirement Board |
v. Alton R. Company , 295 U.S. 330, 347 1935).
More recently, this Court, speaking through Mr.
Justice Frankfurter, reaffirmed this principle when
it said, " . . . not even resort to the Commerce
Clause can defy the standards of due process,"

Secretary of Agriculture v. Central Roig Refining |
Co., 338 U.S, 604, 616 (1950). :
Ordinarily, cue process is satisfied if there is
some rational basis for the legislation, United
States v. Carolene Products Co., 304 U.S. 144,
152 (1938), or if "the means selected shall have
a real and substantial relation to the object
sought to be attained." Nebbia v. New York//,
291 U.S, 502, 525 (1934). Beyond this, the Court
has indicated that in proper cases "the existence
of facts supporting: the legislative judgment is to 7
be presumed," United States v. Carolene

Products Co., supra, at 152, or that it is enough
that the "legislature might have concluded" that

such facts existed, Williamson v. Lee Optical of
Oklahoma, 348 U.S, 483,'487 (1955).
However, such presumptions operate only when
other important constitutional interests are not .
involved. For example, in United States v.

_Carolene Products Co., supra, this Court
cautioned:

a 1

is

7/ /The Nebbia case involved a state statute
under/the Due Procéss Clause of the Fourteenth
' Amexidment. However, this Court has stated:
"Je restraint imposed upon legislation by the due
rocess clauses of the two amendments is the
same." Heiner v. Donnan, 285 U.S, 312, 326
(1932).

=>

25

There may be _ narrower scope for
operation of the presumption of con-
stitutionality when legisletion appears
on its face to be within a specific
prohibition of the Constitution, such

as those of the first ten amendments
United States v. Carolene Products Co.,
supra, at 152, fn. 4.

While the examples cited by the Court in that case
generally involved First Amendment guarantees,
there is no less a need for protection of Petitioners’
fundamental right to be free of unconstitutional
exercises of power by the Congress as guaranteed
by the Tenth Amendment.

It is crucial to Petitioners that this Court decide
whether Due’ Process has been satisfied in this
case. Amicus Curiae is mindful of the Court's
admonition that it does not "sit as a superlegis-
lature to weigh the.wisdom of legislation nor to
decide whether the policy which it expresses
offends the public welfare." Day-Brite Lighting v.
Missouri, 342 U.S, 421, 423 (1952). However,
where, as in this case, the federal government has
attempted to usurp the role as arbiter of a sovereign
State's relations with its employees, it is well to
remember the admonition of an earlier court that
the Due Process Clause "is a restraint on the
legislative as well as on the executive and ©
judicial powers of the government, and cannot be
so construed as to leave Congress free to make

- any process ‘due process of law', by its mere

will." Murray's Lessee v. Hoboken Land and

Improvement Co., 18 How. 272, 276 (1855).

With regard to the proper scope of review which
should be afforded, this Court has recognized that
in appropriate cases it may take judicial notice of
external facts by which it may better test the

“‘

/

?

26

constitutionality of a statute. Muller v. Oregon,
208 U.S, 412 (1908); Mugler v. Kansas, 123 U.S,
623 (1887). In United States v. Carolene Products

Co., supra, 304 U.S. at 153-54, this Court noted
the following: :

+ »« « we recognize that the constitution-
ality of a statute, valid on its face, may
be assailed by proof of facts tending.to
show that the statute as applied td a
particular article is without support in
reason because the article, although within
the prohibited class, is so different from
others of the class as to be without reason
for the prohibition. ...

The regulation of state employees' salaries is
wholly without rational support in fact, and is of
that class of legislation which should be barred

by the Due Process Clause of the Fifth Amendment ©

and the Tenth Amendment.

2. There is No Rational Basis for the
Inclusion of State Employees in the
: Wage Controls of the Economic
Stabilization Act of 1970

_

There is little question that salary setting in.
the public sector is guided by principles different
from those of the private sector.

Public employment may or may not be
different from private employment in
some respects, but formal pay deter-
mination systems tend to reflect recog-
nition of some special characteristics of
public sector employment. Several of
the factors which are widely cited as
responsible for the difference in approach
to pay setting are: (1) Government is a
monopolist in many of its functions, but
this is so because the activities are so

~ Fame

~

27

unprofitable that they do not attract
private entrepreneurs; (2) Consumers
are required to pay for most government
services, but the price (taxes) is
subject to political acceptability; (3) In
spite of the constraints of the revenue
system, the government employer
normally must compete with private
employers for labor; (4) Because of the
nature of public service, the right of
government employees to exert power
in their own economic self interest has
been restricted; (5) As public employees

are denied the rights granted private

sector employees under-the National
Labor Relations Act, it is the govern-
ment's (public's) moral responsibility
to guarantee that its employees are
treated no less fairly than they would
be in alternative employment; (6) Many
jobs are so special to government that
conditions in the competitive labor
market need not be considered in pay
setting past the entry grade; on the
other hand, people do not enter such
occupations solely on the basis of
beginning pay, but on their assess-
ment of the job's rewards over a work
lifetime.

An effort has been made by govern-
ments to compromise the conflicts
apparent in these factors and to
produce a system which is both equit-
able and acceptable. The result has
been that unlike the situation in private
industry, pay determination in most-*
public agencies has ‘involved adoption
of a formal pay policy or principle and
establishedment of a set of procedures
for attaining the stated pay goal. One
or both is usually embodied in law.

28

kkk

. « . by far the most common principle,
calls for pay set by "fair comparison"
with the private sector (or other public
agencies, or both) on a job-by-job
basis. It envisages payment of neither
too much nor too little, with the result
that the government can attract and
retain qualified employees without
excessively burdening the taxpayer or
competing unfairly with private business.
The concept embodies what might be
termed the maximization of equity. In
fact, the standard of fairness involved
had proven widely acceptable to all ;
affected groups -- taxpayers, public
employees and their organizations,
public administrators, and private
industry.

B. V. H. Schneider, "Prevailing Rates

in California; A Symposium," California
Public Employee Relations, Institute of
Industrial Relations, University of
California, Berkeley, CPER Series No. 9
(June 1971), pages 6-7. [Hereinafter :
cited as "Schneider, 'Prevailing Rates.'"]

The State of Ohio utilizes a formalized statutory
method for arriving at equitable salary rates for
its employees. e responsibility for setting
state salaries is delegated to the State Employee
Compensation Board. Page's Ohio Revised Code
Annotated, section 143.101 (Anderson 1972) sets
forth the standards to be used in setting public
employee salaries: |

In making its decisions, the [State
Employee Compensation] board shall
be guided by comparative salary data,
recruitment problems, separation rates,

29

@hhd other conditions affecting
€Inployment in the positions under
°Gnsideration.

8/

Califia law is substantially the same.
t i.nder the California system, which is similar
a ‘at of Ohio, the California State Personnel

poe begins collecting salary information from
Pp ite industry and governmental agencies through
agit 2ys conducted in the fall. The information from
aniaree surveys serves as a basis for the Board's
miene fund recommendations which are trans- °
Dece@ to the Governor and the Legislature in
whi ‘mber. While an attempt is made to forecast
of th the status of state salaries will be by July
still © following year;-state employees' salaries
durind®9 anywhere from three to fifteen months
of thi? the course of the fiscal year. As a result
dts salary setting method, state salaries
inion set the pace for salary standards in the
empl my as a whole. The conclusion that public
suppcY ©es are rarely salary trend setters is

orted in theory as well as practice.

ihe "model employer" le, popu
nie "model employer” principle, popular
en the 19th century, but rarely supported
— w, holds that pay should exceed the

ae 8, California Government Code § 18850 provides,
adjustt: as follows: "The board shall establish and
the stt salary ranges for each class of position in
basedate civil service. The salary range shall be
paid j on the principle that like salaries shall be
In estior comparable duties and responsibilities.
tion gtablishing or. changing such ranges considera-
compehall be given to the prevailing rates for

and irable service in other public employment

n private business.

30

market rate by whatever is necessary to
attract the elite of the group, on the
theory that a civil service should
employ the most efficient and gifted
workforce possible. The argument
against this position is that the govern-
ment should not use its monopoly
position in unfair competition with
private business. [Emphasis added.]
Schneider, "Prevailing Rates," page 7.

Not only does the salary setting method
employed by States prevent state salaries from
becoming salary trend setters, it automatically
reflects controls placed on the private sector.

For example, at one time California took the cost
of living directly into account in its salary setting
practices. From 1945 to 1949, California
Government Code section 18850 provided that:

- consideration shall be given to the
prevailing rate for comparable service in
other public employment and in private
business, improvement of living standards,
the current costs of living, and the State's
financial condition. [Emphasis added.]

It was soon noted that such a procedure was not
necessary under a system based on prevailing
rates, and the cost of living was dropped from
section 18850. As a special legislative
committee found:

In discussing such factors as cost of
living and the improvement of standards
of living, we suggested that there were
\-other-ways of taking them into account
‘than by establishing them directly as
factors to be observed by the Personnel
Board. By this we meant simply that if

31

the state salaries are based on a considera-
tion of outside rates, then all of these other
factors will automatically be taken into
account, since it must be assumed that

the salaries in private enterprise in the
State will generally be kept abreast of
changing costs in living and will represent
the degree of advancement in living standards
which the tax payers of the State can afford
to provide for their public servants.

"State Salary Policies and Practices,"
Report of the Assembly Interim Committee

on Governmental Efficiency and Economy
(Sacramento: February 1953), page 11.

The current policy of California regarding the
cost of living has been stated by the California
State Personnel Board as follows:

Such factors as "cost of-living" and
"standard of living" are not among the
specific standards applied directly in
setting State salaries. However, the
effect of these factors is present in

State salaries because State salaries are
based on prevailing rates. Changes in
the cost of living, for example, often
influence salaries paid in private industry.
Consequently, the prevailing rate data
used by the State indirectly reflects the
cost-of-living factor. To attempt to
consider cost of living directly in setting
State salaries might result in paying twice
for the same factor. [Emphasis added.]
California State Personnel Board, Standards
and Survey Division, Salary Setting in
California State Civil Service (1969),
supra, page 14.

State employees' salaries should not be subject
to wage controls for the same reason. State
employees’ salaries are already controlled

ee ee NS eee ee

OE Te en Ome

ve ee ee

32

indirectly by their being tied to the prevailing
rate for the private sector. To impose additional
direct controls would result in forcing state
employees to “pay twice for the same factor" by
having them bear a disproportionate burden of the
government's attempt to fight inflation. State
employees already bear a heavier burden during
inflationary times.

Inflation by its nature strikes different
individuals and groups with highly dis-
criminatory effect. The most nearly
unrelieved victims, apart from those living
on pensions or other fixed provision for
personal security, are those who work
for the state. In the private economy the
firm which sells goods has, in general,
an immediate accOmmodation to the
inflationary movement. Its price increases
are the inflation, The incomes of its
owners and proprietors are automatically
accommodated to the upward movement.
To the extent that wage increases are
part of the inflationary process, this is
also true of organized industrial workers.
Even unorganized white collar workers
are in a milieu where prices and incomes
are moving up. The adaption of their
incomes, if less rapid than that of
industrial workers, is still reasonably
prompt.

The position of the public employee is

at the other extremé. His pay scales

are highly formalized, and traditionally
they have been subject to revision only
at lengthy intervals. In states and
localities inflation does not automatically

bring added revenues to pay higher
salaries and incomes. Pay revision for

all public workers is subject to the
tempiation to wait 4nd see if the

RES TEESE. a SS aS ae

33

inflation isn't coming to an end. There
will be some fear -- this seems to have
been more of a factor in England than in
the United States -- that advances in
public wages will set a bad example for
private employers and unions.

Inflation means that employment is pressing
on the labor supply and that private wage
and salary incomes are’rising. Thus the
opportunities for moving from public to
private employment are especially favor-
able. Public employment, moreover,
once had as a principal attraction a high
measure of social security. Industrial
workers were subject to the formidable
threat of unemployment during depression.
Public employees were comparatively
secure, and this security was worth an
adverse salary differential. But with
improving economic security this
advantage has diminished. Private
employment thus has come to provide
better protection against inflation and
little worse protection against other
hazards. Though the dedicated may stay
in public posts, the alert go.

John Kenneth Galbraith, The Affluent
Society (Houghton Mifflin Co:, 1960),
pages 264-66. [Emphasis added.]

The practical effect of Professor Galbraith's
thesis can best be seen by comparing the recent
history of State salary rates in comparison to those
of comparable employers in the private sector.
Using the State of California as an example,

Table 1 demonstrates how public employees have
in recent years found their salary increases to be
less than the amounts agreed to in collective
bargaining settlements.

34

Me

*10q

*sjyuswdoTereq abe WweUNyD ‘sopiseig Joqey jo nesing
eT JO JuowyIeded *g*p ‘eoueuTy Jo yew zIedeq OFULOFITED JO a3e}G ‘eOdINOS

O€ eun{ Bufpue spoyied tenuue ‘seiow 10 SI9¥%IOM 0
SJUSWIST}JOS SIBYM UOTIONIYSUOD Jo saTsntoxe AljsnpuT o3eayid
5uyinjoejnuewuou uy sebueyo 93e1 o6em JORLTJUOSD JO SFT BY} IBAO (T)

*re9A yorsa jo
00‘T pease

ae 4 o°te 1 a4°é it's Go 12'S 29°3 5 -2°S seseaiouy Arepes
PFUIOFFTED JO 93035
$°82 T°T9 | 2°9 |O°TT {2°€T{6°pT] €’6 $°9 (I) sjzUeWeT}eg
Hujuryebieg SateTIOD
° Aqsnpu] SyeATId
ebeisay "AOD | E261 | ZZ6T |TZET | OZ6T| 696T| 896T
punodwog etdwys ‘ :

SOTFILTES EFUIOJTIeEO jo 93e1¢9 UT SOSesIOU] YUM SosuUETWeS
Huyuyebieg sat eT[OD Aq paoerjoy SopieTes UT seseaioU] Jo uostieduoo

I FTavL

S

35

Given these figures, to ask State employees to
shoulder the burden of economic controls to
fight inflation when they are already the ones
who suffer the most in inflationary times is
patently unfair.

In summary, State employees' salaries are often
already regulated by.a complex statutory scheme
which automatically reflects conditions in the
economy. This means that both inflation and wage
controls to combat inflation are already parts of
the salary setting mechanism. As can be seen
by the statistical figures above, State employees'
salaries have, if anything, lagged behind the rest
of the economy and should be the last to be con-
trolled. The imposition of wage controls in the
context of this formalized system of salary
setting is wholly without rational basis and
should be struck down as a violation of Due
Process. Since the federal regulatory scheme as
applied to the States violates the principles of
Due Process, the Tenth Amendment precludes its
application to the States in general and the State
of Ohio in particular.

-CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the decision of the
Temporary Emergency Court of Appeals should be
reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

Loren E. McMaster
Attorney for Amicus Curiae
California State Employees'
Association

PD AAR LER SIN AP AE UBS ee ee ee een

36 ;
=

APPENDIX A Me 4

Economic Stabilization Act of 1970, as amended,
12 U.S.C. § 1904 (Supp. II, 1972) ett

§ 202. Findings

It is hereby determined that in order to stabilize
the economy, reduce inflation, minimize unemploy-
ment, improve the Nation's competitive position in
world trade, and protect the purchasing power of
the dollar, it is necessary to stabilize prices,
rents, wages, salaries, dividends, and interest.
The adjustments necessary to carry out this pro-
gram require prompt judgments and actions by the
executive branch of the Government. The
President is in a position to implement promptly
and effectively the program authorized by this
title.

§ 203. Presidential authority

(a) The President is authorized to issue such
orders and regulations as he deems appropriate,
accompanied by a statement of reasons for such
orders and regulations, to--

(1) stabilize prices, rents, wages, and
salaries at levels not less than those prevailing
on May 25, 1970, except that prices may be
stabilized at levels below those prevailing on
such date if it is necessary to eliminate windfall
profits or if it is otherwise nece ary to carry out
the purposes of this title; oe

(b) In carrying out the authority vested in him
by subsection (a), the President shall issue
standards to serve as a guide for determining
levels of wages, salaries, prices, rents,
interest rates, corporate dividends, and similar
transfers which are consistent with the purposes
of this title and orderly economic growth. Such
standards shall--

37

(h) No State or portion thereof shall be
exempted from any application of this title with
respect to rents solely by virtue of the fact that
it regulates rents by State or local law, regula-
tion or policy.

\
*

Ottice of the Holicitor General
Washington, B.C. 20530

March 6, 1974 ad

Loren E. McMaster ,~ Esq.

California State Employees’ Association
1108 "0" Street

Sacramento, Calif. 95814

Re: Fry v. United States (No. 73-822)

Dear Mr. McMaster:

As requested in your letter of February 20, 1974,
I consent to the filing in the above case of a brief
amicus curiae by the California State Employees’
Association.

In your letter you also request consent to the filing
of such a brief/in the companion case of Ohio v. United
States (No. 73-839). The Court, however, has not acted upon
the petition in this case, but granted only the petition in
Fry. I accordingly assume that you wish to file an amicus“
brief only in the Fry case.

Sincerely, ©

Robert H. Bork
Solicitor General

cc: John A. Brown, Esq. we
Lucas, Prendergast, Albright,
Gibson, Brown & Newnan
42 East Gay Street
Columbus, Ohio 43215

ORI! CHO DAE NIL EDT l Mor p id tin ey

—

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term, 1973

2
3 No, 73-822
4 Ernest Fry and Thelma Boehm,
5 Petitioners,
6 ‘ vs,
q United States of America,
8: Respondent.
9 : ‘
10 CONSENT TO FILE AMICUS CURIAE BRIEF
ll Ernest Fry 6 Thelma Boehm, the petitioners in the above-entitled
12 case, having been yequeeted by Loren E. McMaster, Senior ‘aii:
13 ' — California State Employees’ Association, to consent for the said Loren E.
14 McMaster, Senior Attorney, California State Employees’ Association, to file
15 @ brief amicus curiae, hereby consents to the filing of said brief.
16° DATED: 2/4 Bay
a7 ! hoot P=
dee Lucas, heamupiet, Albright, Gibson,
19 Brown and Newman
Attorney for Petitioners
20
21
n 4 ‘
23
ef ¢
25:
6 /
27 :
28
29 F
30 aliioeccatl s
3i “<
32
f
8 OM ANALY LON "

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386414_0418%3A06. Public record. Not legal advice.
