# Opinion — Reid v. INS

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386414_0390%3A7

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opinion
- **Published:** January 1, 1975
- **Citation:** 420 U.S. 619

## Text

:
he

. - REID v. INS

and Scott were therefore “excludable” at the time of
their entry within the meaning of § 241 (a)(1).

Section 211 of the Act of 1952, 66 Stat. 181-182, is
entitled “Documentary Requirements.” Section 212 of
the same Act, 66 Stat. 182-188, is entitled “General
Classes of Aliens Ineligible to Receive Visas and Exeluded -
from Admission.” INS could clearly have proceeded
against either Scott or Errico under § 212 (a)(19), on
the basis of their procuring a visa or other documentation
by fraud or misrepresentation. . Just as clearly Scott and
Errico could have then asserted thcir claim to the benefit
of $241 (f), waiving deportation based upon fraud for
aliens who had given birth to children after their entry
and who were otherwise admissible. Instead the INS
relied on the provisions of § 211*(a), which deal with the
general subject of the necessary documentation for admis-
sion of immigrants, rather than with the general subject
of exeludable aliens. Rather than questioning whether
a failure to comply with $211 (a)(3) or (4) by itself
rendered an alien “excludable” as that term is used in
$ 241 (a)(1), the Court in Errico implicitly treated it as —
doing so and went-on to hold that § 241 (f) “saves from
deportation an alien who misrepresents his status for the
purpose of evading quota restrictions, if he has the necés-
sary familial relationship to a United States citizen or
lawful permanent resident.” JNS vy. Err'co, 385 Ux S.
214, 215.

Errico was decided. by a divided Court over a strong
dissenting opinion. Even the most expansive view of
is holding could not avail these petitioners, since § 241(f)
which it construed applies by its terms only to. “the
deportation of aliens within the United States on the
ground that they were excludable at the time of entry.”
Here, as we have noted, INS seeks to deport petitioners
not under the provisions of $241 (a)(1). relating to
aliens excludable at the time of entry, but instead under

\

KEID v. INS : 9

the provisions of § 241 (a)(2). relating to aliens who do
not present themselves for inspection. Yet there is no
doubt that_the broad language used in some portions of
the Court’s opinion in Errico. has led one Court of
Appeals to apply the provisions of § 241 (f) to a case ~
indistinguishable from petitioners’, Lee Fook Chuey v.
INS, supra, and to decisions of other Courts of Appeals
in related areas which may be summarized in the lan-
guage of Lady MacBeth, “C onfusion 1 now hath made his
masterpiece.”

Aliens entering the United States under temporary
visitor permits, wino acquire one of the specified familia!
relationships described in § 241 (f) after entry, have
argued with varying resylts that their fraudulent intent
upon entry to remain in this country permanently cloaks
them with immunity from deportation even though they
overstayed their visitors’ permit. Aeceptance of this
theory leads to the conclusion that § 241 (f) waives a
substantive ground for deportation based on overstay if
the alien can affirmatively prove his fraudulent intent at
the time of entry, but grants no relief to aliens with
exactly the same familial relationship who are unable to
satisfactorily establish. their dishonesty. See Cabuco-
Flores v. — , 477 F. 2d 108 (CA9 1973), cert, denied,
414 U. S841: ef. Jolley v. INS, 441 F. 2d 1245 (CA5
1971). babs at such an irrational result, one court
has gone so far as te declare that § 241 (f) waives deport-
ability under § 241 (a)(1) even though no fraud is in-

*For an exemple of the differing results within one circuit, see
Muslemi vo INS, 408 F. 2d 1196 (CA9 1969); Vitales v. INS, 443 F.
2d 348 (CAQ 1972); vacated as moot, 405 U.S. 983 (1973); Cabuco-
Flores vo INS, 477 F.2d 108 (CA9), cert. ‘eae 414 U.S. 841
(1973). Other circuits have generally held § 241 (f) not available
on similar taets. De Vargas v. INS, 409. F. 2d 335 (CAS 1968);
Ferrante v INS, 399 F. 2d 98 (CA6 1968); Milande v. INS; 484 F.
2d 774 (CAT 1973); Prucz v. INS, 484 F. 2d 396 (CA10 1973).

10 REID v. INS

volved if the alien is able merely to establish the requisite
familial tie. Jn re Yuen Lan Hom, 289 F. Supp. 204
(SDNY 1968).

“Nor has there been agreement among those courts
which have construed § 241 (f) to waive substantive
grounds for deportation under § 212 other than the fraud
delineated in § 212 ¢(a)(19) as to which other grounds
are waived. While some courts have found that § 241
(f) waives any deportation charge to which fraud is
“germane” ° others have found it waives ‘ quantitative”
but not “qualitative” grounds where its requirements are
met.’ Still others have required that “but for’ the mis-
representation, the alien meet the substantive require-
-ments of the Act‘ while at least one court has discerned
in Errico a test requiring that the aliens’ fraudulent
statement be taken as true, with determination on such
hypothetical facts whether the aliéh would be deportable.
Cabuco-Flores v. INS, supra, at 110.

We do not believe that § 241 (f) as interpreted by
Errico requires such results. We adhere to the holding
of that case, which we take to be that where the INS
chooses not to seek deportation under the obviously avail-
able provisions of § 212 (a)(19) relating to the fraudulent
procurernent of visas, documentation, or entry, but in-
stead asserts a failure to ‘tgs with these separate re-

* See Vuslemiv. INS, supra. at 1199,

® See, e. g.. Godoy v. Rosenberg, 415 F. 2d 1266 (CA9 1969);
Jolley v. INS, 441 F. 2d 1245 (CA5 1971). It is of course difficult
to determine which grounds for. exclusion fit which characterization.
Arguably for example the failure to obtain the required certification
by the Secretary of Labor dealt with in Godoy v. Rosenberg, supra,
could as easily have been characterized as “qualitative.” The
Ninth Circuit in Lee Fook Chuey, 439 F. 2d 244, 246 (CA9 1971),
found evasion of inspection a “quantitative” ground while the Third
Circuit in Bufalino v. INS, supra, at 731, found it a “qualitative”
* grounds not subject to § 241 (f) waiver.
7 See, e. g., Loos v. INS, 407 F, 2d 651 (CA7 1969).

-

REID v. INS. 1]

quirements of § 211 (a), dealing with compliance with
quota requirements, as a ground for deportation under
$ 241 (a)(1), $ 241 (f) waives the fraud on the part of
the alien in showing compliance with the provisions of
$211 (a). In view of the language of § 241 (f) and the
cognate provisions of § 212 (a)(19), we do not believe
Errico’s holding may properly be read to extend the
waiver provisions of § 241 (f) to any of the grounds of
excludability specified in $212 (a) other than subsec-
tion 19. This conclusion, by extending the waiver pro-
vision of $241 (f) not only to deportation based on
excludability under § 212 (a)(19), but to a claim of de-
portability based on fraudulent misrepresentation in order
to satisfy the requirements of § 211 (a), gives due weight
to the concern expressed in Errico that the provisions of
€ 241 (f) were intended to apply to some misrepresenta-
tions that were material to the admissions procedure. It
likewise gives weight to our belief that Congress, in enact-
ing § 24! (f), was intent upon granting relief to limited
classes of aliens whose fraud was of such a nature that
it was more than counterbalanced by after-acquired fam-
ily ties: * it did not intend to arm the dishonest alien

* The legislative history of this provision, designed primarily to
prevent the deportation of refugees from totalitarian nations for
harmless misrepresentations mide solely to escape persecution, is
fully consistent with our interpetation of the provision. See H. Conf.
Rep. No. 2096, S2d Cong.. 2d Segs., p. 128: EH. Doe. No. 329, 84th
Cong., 2d Sess., p. 5: H. Doe, No. 85, 85th Cong., Ist Sessgp. 5;
H. R. Rep. No. 1199. 85th Cong., Ist Sess., p. 10; 103 Cogg. Rec.
15487-15499, 16298-16310; H. R. Rep. No. 1086, 87th Cong., Ist
Sess., pp. 37-38. The predecessor of current $241 (f), $7, of the
Immigration Act of 1957, Pub. L. 85-316, 71 Stat. 640, was con-
sistently described during debate by its supporters as making minor
adjustments in the immigration. and naturalization system. Con-
gressman Celle, a sponsor of the pill enacting §7, summarized it
during House debate in these words:

“fAfter summary of non-related provision of §7] This section also

|R REID + ENS

seeking admission to our country with a sword by which
Fhe could avoid the numerous substantive grounds for
exelusion unrelated to traud, which are set forth in
$212 ¢a) of the Immigration and Naturalization Act.

The judgment of the Court of Appeals is
Affirmed.

Mr. Justice DovGias took no part in the consideration

ov decision of chis case.

provides for lemeney in the consideration of visa applications made
by close relatives of Umited States citizens and aliens lawfully
admitted for permanent residence who in the pest may have pro-
cured documentation for entry by misrepresentation.” 103 Cong.
Ree. 16301.

* a

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

No. 73-1541
Robert Reid and Nadia Alice}
Reid, Petitioners,
° v.

On Writ of Certiorari to
the United States Court
of Appeals for the Sec-

Immigration and Naturaliza-| (1.4 Cireuit.

‘tion Service.
| March 18, 1975}

Mr. Justice BRENNAN. with whom Mx. Justice Mar-
SHALL Joins, dissenting.

In Immigration and Naturalization Service vy. Errico,
385 U. S. 214 (1966), respondent evaded quota restric-
tions by falsely claiming to be a skilled mechanic. Once
in this country, he became the parent of a United
States citizen. We found FErrico’s deportation barred by
$ 241 (f) of the Immigration and Nationality Act. In
the instant case, petitioners evaded quota restrictions by
falsely claiming United States citizenship. After settling
here, they too became parents of United States citizens.
Yet the Court today finds that § 241 (f) is no bar to their
deportation. Because I find no material difference be-
tween the instant ease and Errico, I dissent.

Section 241 (f) of the Immigration and Nationality
Act provides:

“The provisions of this section relating to the de-
portation of aliens within the United States on the
ground that they were excludable at the time of
entry as aliens who have sought to procure, or have
procured visas or other documentation, or entry into
the United States by fraud or misrepresentation
shall not apply to an alien otherwise admissible at
the time of entry who is the spouse, parent, or a

2 -REID v. INS

child of a United States citizen or of an alien law-
fully admitted for permanent residence.”

In Frrico, supra, after a full review of the statute and
its legislative nistory, the Court concluded that § 241 (f)
was intended “not to sequire that aliens who. are
close relatives of United States citizens have complied
with quota restrictions to escape deportation for their
fraud....” J/d., at 223. This conclusion was necessary
“to give meaning to the statute in light of its humani- -
tarian purpose of preventing the breaking up of families
composed in part at least of American citizens. .
Td., at 225.

Thus Errico governs the instant case. The Court,
however, distinguishes Errico on the ground that there
deportation proceedings were based on § 211 (a) (4) of the
Act. which deals with quota requirements, whereas here
deportation is based on § 241 (a)(2). which deals with
inspection requirements. This distinction is grounded
on the arguraent that $241 (f) tracks $ 212 (a)(19),
which deals with excludable aliens, and Errieco was such
an alien. ‘ But petiticners in the instant case were also
excludable under § 212 (a)(19). since thev sought “to
enter the United States. by fraud.” Indeed the Court's
entire approach was explicitly rejected in Errico itself:

“At the outset it should be noted that even the
Government agrees that $ 241 (f) cannot be applied
with strict literaliess. Literally, § 241 (f) applies
only when the alien is charged with entering in vio-
lation of §$212(a)(19) of the statute, which ex-

cludes from entry ‘[a]ny alien who... has procured
a visa or other documentation .. . by fraud, or by

willfully misrepresenting a material fact.’ Under
this interpretation, an alien who entered by fraud
could be deported for having entered with a defec-
tive visa or for other documentary irregularities even

REID v. INS 3

if he would have been admissible if he had not com-
mitted the fraud. The Government concedes that
such an interpretation would be inconsistent with
the manifest purpose of the section, and the admin-
istrative authorities have consistently held that
§ 241 (f) waixes any deportation charge that results
directly on Nevers preneutation regardless of the
section of the statute ander which the charge was
brought, provided that the alien was ‘otherwise ad-
missible at the time of entry.” Errico, supra, at 217
(emphasis added;. footnote omitted).

Even if statutory language is unclear any doubt should
be resolved in. favor of the alien since “deportation is a
drastic measure and at times the equivalent of banish-
ment or exile.” Fong Haw Tan v. Phelan, 333 U. S. 6,
10 (1948). See also Barber v. Gonzales, 347 U. S. 637,
642-643 (1954); Immigration and Naturalization Service
v. Errico, supra, at 225. Today the Court strains to
construe statutory language against the alien.

The Government contends that if petitioners were to
succeed in this case, “the sky would fall in on the Immi-
gration and Naturalization Service.’ Apart from the
lack of credible support for this dire prediction,’ if the

1Tr. of Oral Arg., at 44.

>The Government contends that:

“An alien who enters as an immigrant submits himself to the
investigations required for the issuance of an immigration visa, and
to the supplementary inspection at the port of entry. Records of
these investigations are available when a claim of eligibility for
waiver under Section 241 (f) is subsequently made. They provide
the Immigration Service with a substantial basis for determining
later, when the waiver is sought, whether the alien was ‘otherwise
admissible at the time of entry’ and thus entitled to the waiver.

“In contrast, there is no contemporaneous investigation of an alien
who enters on .. fslse claim of citizenship; there is unlikely even to
be any record of such entry. It weald therefore be extremely diffi-
cult, if not impossible, to determine whether such an alien was ‘other-

4 REID vo INS

linmigration and Nationality Aet is indeed unworkable,
‘the remedy is for Congress to amend it, not for this Court
to distort its language and the cases construing it.

wise admissible at the time of entry.’” Brief for the United States,
at 10-11.

This argument, however, overrates the effectiveness of the immi-
grant visa system. The Fifth and the Ninth Circuits, in decisions
conflicting with the opinion below, have found that the visa system
provides no basis for the distinction the Government urges:

“Almost invariably, by the time that the relief provision of 241 (f)
is invoked, the integrity of the immigrant visa svstem has been long
violated. Section 241 (f) deals with the problem after the breach
has occurred. .. . For example, when the alien misrepresents his
identity during the visa process, the information elicited {fom him
is often valueless. When the fraud is discovered, the information
derived from the visa process which was tainted by the misrepresen-
tation, may be useless or have little or no bearing upon the ultimate
disposition of the case.” Lee Fook Chuey v. Immigration and
Naturalization Service, 439 F. 2d 244, 250, 251 (CA9 1970).

“Lies concerning identity, occ ipation, and country of origin may
well render the initial immigration investigation either as worthless
as no investigation at all. or as difficult and fruitless as a later
§ 241 (f) inquiry.” Gonzales de Moreno v. Immigration and Natu-
ralization Service, 492 F. 2d 532, 5387 (CA5 1974).

As the Ninth Cireuit held, the very essence of FErrico was that
“(when § 241 (f) is invoked, the immigration processing system has
already proved ineffective. Congress made the wholly reasonable
choice that the interest in family unity outweighs the deterrent
effects of a more draconian policy.” Lee Fook Chuey, supra, at 251.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386414_0390%3A7. Public record. Not legal advice.
