# Amicus Curiae Brief — United States v. Maine

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386414_0375%3A12

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1969
- **Citation:** 395 U.S. 955

## Text

INDEX

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE _..

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE ._.. .---

QUESTION PRESENTED

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

ARGUMENT

L

II.

III.

The formation of our nation and adoption
of our Constitution did not confer or
allocate exclusive legal rights in the
outer continental shelf (hereinafter
“Shelf’”’) as between the states of the
Union (hereinafter “States”) and the
Federal Government of the United

Neither ancient grants nor territorial
boundaries limit either State or Federal
legal rights in the Shelf... _--________

The policy basis underlying the first
California submerged lands case has
been reversed by Congress, leaving it
without controlling or even persuasive
force in deciding the present controversy.

11

18

SORA LD SLRS HEEL ROE LOS IIL

VI.

VIL

IV.

CONCLUSION

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

ii

. INDEX (cont.)

The Constitutional powers delegated to
the Federal Government by the States
cannot be shown to require exclusive
Federal jurisdiction over the Shelf. ____..

The coastal States have some,legal rights
in and may exercise jurisdiction over the
Shelf unless these ‘rights and powers
have been Constitutionally taken by the
Federal Government since 1945.

Neither Congress nor the Executive has
excluded all coastal State rights in and

" jurisdiction over the Shelf and its re-

sources.

The Court should declare the concurrent
Federal-State rights in and jurisdiction
over the resources of the Shelf and leave
the continuing political questions to be
resolved by the Executive and Legisla-
tive Branches and the coastal States. __

APPENDIX:

Excerpt from the Legislative History of the
Submerged Lands Act and the Outer Continen-
tal Shelf Lands Act, H.R. Rep. No. 215, 88rd
Cong,, 1st’ Sess.; 1958 U.S. Code Cong. and >
Admin. News, Vok 2, 1417-1422.

Page

28

40

46

58

CITATIONS
Case
Cook v. Wilson,
193 S.W.2d 818 (1946)
Harcourt v. Gaillard,
Huron Portland Cement Co. v. Detroit,

Matson Navigation Co. v. United States (The
- Montebello), 141 F.Supp. 929 (Ct. Cl., 1956) . 11

Missouri v. Holland,
252 U.S. 416 ; ; 24

North Sea Continental Shelf Cases,
(1969) LCJ. 3

Rodrique v. Aetna Casualty Co.,

Sarpey County, Nebraska v. United States,
386 F.2d 453 (Ct. Cl., 1957) -: 3

Texas Oil and Gas Corp. v. Phillips Petroleum Co.,
277 F.Supp. 366 (1967) : 87, 49

United States v. California, .
332 U.S. 19 15, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 38, 46
‘4 \ ‘ ‘

iv

CITATIONS (cont.)

Case Page
United States v. Cohn Grocery Co.,

225'U.S. 81 41
United States v. Florida,

i iieerencencinidineed 15, 23, 39, 57
United States v. Louisiana,

ee 15, 17, 19, 20, 38
United States v. Louisiana,

eb OLE SSEROMTO TE LT CO 15, 28
United States v. Ray,

423 F.2d 16 (1970) 39
United States v. Texas,

389 U.S. 707 oepiciewitinntokhe May hay aes ae

)

Washington v. United States,
(eee Oe a

Wilson v. Cook,
827 U.S. 474 ie ae

Zechernig v. Miller,
389 U.S. 429 RES 24

¥

CITATIONS (cont.)

Page
CONSTITUTION, TREATY AND STATUTES
Articles of Confederation, Art. IX 6
Constitution of the United States of America
SU i te Me OO aint 6
og i ENE LE LES OLE RS RITA OE 41
Amend. X . eldiienin’

Convention on the Continental Shelf, 15 U.S.T.
Se ee i a i ee 22, 28

Federal Water Pollution Control Act, 84 Stat. 91;
Se Uwe § tie a : 47

Outer Continental Shelf Lands Act of 1953, 67 Stat.
462; 43 U.S.C. §§ 1831-1843 _ 16, 17, 22, 28, 38, 41,
42, 45, 48

Submerged Lands Act of 1958, 67 Stat. 29; 43
U.S.C. §§ 1801-1815 _. 15, 18, 20, 41

Water Quality Improvement Act of 1970, Pub. L.
No. 91-224, Title I (Apr. 3, 1970)

vi

CITATIONS (cont.)

MISCELLANEOUS
Page
American Jurisprudence 2d, Vol. 2, Admiralty
(1962) 24
Bouvier’s Law Dictionary, Vol. 2, Right (1897) __. 9
Corpus Juris Secundum, Vol. 77, Right (1952) ____. 9
Dept. of the Interior Press Release, Aug. 14, 1969 30
Dept. of State Bull., Vol. 50 (Jan. 13, 1964) _..____. 37
Draft United Nations Convention on the Interna-
tional Sea-Bed Area (Working Paper Sub-
mitted by the United States to the United Na-
tions Committee on the Peaceful Uses of the
Sea-Bed and the Ocean Floor Beyond the
Limits of National Jurisdiction), 25 U.N.
GAOR, Supp. No. 21 (A/8021) (1970) 21
Executive Order No. 9633; 10 F.R. 12305; 3 C.F.R.
437 (Supp., 1957) _._.................-. 13, 15, 23, 36, 42, 45
Executive Order No. 10,426; 18 F.R. 405; 3 C.F.R.
924 (Supp., 1958) 2 14, 28, 45
Griffin, Accommodation of Conflicting Uses of
Ocean Space with Special Reference to Naviga-
tion Safety Lanes, in Proceedings of the Sec-
ond Annual Conference of the Law of the Sea
Institute (1968) 26

we

vii

CITATIONS (cont.)

; Page
Gutteridge, the 1958 Geneva Convention on the Con-
tinental Shelf, XXXV Brit. Yb. Int'l. L. 102
ERE receded acersceminsccendtrtseinesundicseniiesealnbevasccasitintewncoen 10
Heinzen, The Three Mile Limit: Preserving the
Freedom of the Seas, 11 Stan. L. Rev. 597
(1959) ecananchidieneoniaiaagiitie 14
H.R. Rep. No. 215, 83d Cong., 1st Sess. (1953)... —s_-86
H.R. Rep. No. 418, 88d Cong., Ist Sess. (1953) 16
H.R. Rep. No. 1778, 88d Cong., Ist Sess. (1953) __. 9
McDougal and Burke, The Public Order of the
Oceans (1962) seinignat COC Ramat nei 24
McKelvey and Wang, World Subsea Mineral Re-
sources (Dept. of the Interior, U.S. Geol. Sur-
vey, 1969) _..... soedpsteslesicesedbenlchaniedna scmeetlon 30-32, 33
Nanda and Stiles, Offshore Oil Spills: An Evalua-
tion of Recent United States Responses, 7 San
Diego L. Rev. 519 (1970) 54
New York Times, Sep. 3, 1971 54
Presidential Message to Congress, Jun. 11, 1970;
116 Cong. Rec., No. 96, p. S8823 53

. . Nae bis Dace Mv RR Stee Tl
_— FRIES EA LAER G8 SEL RN POET FRAP OY ERE OL FELT

viii

CITATIONS (cont.)

Page

Presidential Proclamation No. 2667, Sep. 28, 1945;

a FG aise ciincs 10, 18, 15, 23, 36, 45
Presidential Statement [on Ocean Policy], 116 Cong.

Rec. X, p. S7747 (May 25, 1970) -...........---.---- 21
Report of the President to Congress on Marine Re-

sources and Engineering Development, April,

1970 51, 52
Report of the President to Congress on Marine Re-

sources and Engineering Development, April,

1971 52
Restatement II, Conflict of Laws, Proposed Official _,

Draft (1968) 38
Restatement II, Foreign Relations Law of the

United States (1965) _.. 38
Sutherland, Statutory Construction, Vol. 2 (8d ed.,

1943) 41
1958 U.S. Code Cong. and Admin. News,

Vol. 2 aceeaaon 9, 43, App.
White House Press Release, Sep. 28, 1945 _.......... 13, 36

Whiteman, Digest of International Law, Vol. 4
(Dept. of State Publication 7825, 1965) — 18, 14, 19,
‘28, 85

~
i
io

ix

ABBREVIATIONS AND USAGE IN THIS BRIEF

California case United States v. California, 382
U.S. 19 (1947).

ICJ Opinion North Sea Continental Shelf
Cases, 1969 I.C.J. 3 (1969).

OCSLA Outer Continental Shelf Lands

Act, 67 Stat. 462; 43 U.S.C.
$$ 1331-1343 (1953).

Shelf Continental Shelf; 43 U.S.C.
§ 1831 (a) ; 15 U.S.T. (Pt. 1)

ATI, Art. 1.
Shelf Convention Vd 1958 Geneva Convention on the
| Continental Shelf, 15 U.S.T.

| (Pt. 1) 471.

State \ State of the United States.

SLA " Submerged Lands Act, 67 Stat.
. 29; 43 U.S.C. §§ 1801-1815 -
(19538).

Truman Proclamation Presidential Proclamation No.
2667, Sep. 28, 1945, 59 Stat.

884 (1945).
U.S. Brief Brief for the United States in
Support of Motion for Judg-
. ment in this case.
Whiteman Digest Whiteman, Digest of Interna-

tional Law, Vol. 4 (Depart-
ment of State Publication
No. 7825, 1965).

a NONE LIE PLIERS LOLI LLM OLE DP LITE EEE NL ETE

Lr

Se Poe eee
pth tie
ORCI NIE EFS SAS

7

M-1
in the

Supreme Court
of the

Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1971

No. 35, ORIGINAL

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Plaintiff,
vs.

STATES OF MAINE, NEW HAMPSHIRE, MASSACHU-
SETTS, RHODE ISLAND, NEW YORK, NEW
JERSEY, DELAWARE, MARYLAND, VIRGINIA,
NORTH CAROLINA, SOUTH CAROLINA, AND
GEORGIA

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE BRIEF
AS AMICUS CURIAE

The undersigned as counsel for The Florida Council
of 100, Inc., a non-profit corporation of the State of Flor-
ida, move for leave to file the attached brief as amicus
curiae in the present controversy—in order to present to

M -2

this Court: a) a new line of argument which has never
been presented to or considered by this Court in the pres-
ent or in prior submerged lands cases; and b) argument
and a recommended conclusion different from the posi-
tions assérted by the Plaintiff and Defendants in the pres-
ent controversy, specifically an argument of concurrent
Federal and State jurisdiction which is unlikely to be ad-
vocated by any of the parties in this case. The interests of
justice will be served if the parties in this case respond
to the arguments in the attached brief.

Koi M Morras

Dennis M. O’Conrior

illard D. Dover
Counsel

Return address:
Box 8061
Coral Gables, Florida 33124

EEO LEYLA IIRL GEIR BORER IE OED IEEE NY EGE ISP LEDESMA PEE

1
in the

‘Supreme Court
of the

Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1971

No. 35, ORIGINAL

THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
v8.
THE STATE OF MAINE, et al.

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

The Florida Council of 100, Inc., a non-profit cor-
poration of the State of Florida founded in 1964, is dedi-
cated to the purposes of improvement and development
of the economic climate of the State and the nation.
Issues of the optimum development and conservation of
the submerged lands of the Atlantic Continental Shelf
and the continental shelf of the United States are within
these interests. The Executive Committee of the Florida
Council of 100 has authorized the submission of this
brief.

2

Counsel individually also have a professional interest
in the resolution of the present controversy through the
rational development and determination of the law re-
lating to the issues of this case. Dennis M. O’Connor is
Professor of Law and Marine Sciences, and Director of
the Ocean Law Program, at the University of Miami.
Willard D. Dover has served as Chairman of the Bound-
aries Committee, and as a Commissioner, of the Florida
Commission on Marine Sciences and Technology.

Appreciation is expressed to the Florida Commission
on Marine Sciences and Technology for a research grant
to the University of Miami which permitted completion
of certain research upon which this brief is in part based.

STATEMENT

This suit was brought to establish as against the
defendant States exclusive rights over the seabed and
subsoil of the continental shelf lying off their shores
under the Atlantic Ocean. The State of Maine issued a
prospecting permit for oil and gas exploration on the
continental shelf lying off its shores. The other defend-
ant States had made various claims to assert some rights
in and jurisdiction over the portions of the continental
shelf off their shores. When the Executive Branch found
after communication with these States that they would
not relinquish entirely all claims to some rights in and
jurisdiction over the continental shelf, the Federal Gov-
ernment brought this suit “for a declaration of the
exclusive rights of the United States, as against the de-
fendant States, in the subsoil, seabed, and natural resources
underlying the Atlantic Ocean, including the Straits of
Florida, more than three geographical miles from the
ordinary low-water line and from the outer limit of inland
waters ...” (Complaint, p. 10.) |

a=

3

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether rights in and jurisdiction over exploration
and exploitation of the resources of the continental shelf
underlying the Atlantic Ocean beyond three miles from
the coastline belong to the United States or to the de-
fendant States exclusively or concurrently.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The formation of our nation and adoption of our
Constitution did not confer or allocate, prior to this Cen-
tury, exclusive legal rights in the Atlantic Continental
Shelf as between the States of the Union and the Federal
Government of the United States for at least two reasons:
first, our constitutional history did not assign any terri-
torial or sovereign rights to the Federal Government with-
out the consent of the States; and secondly, legal rights
(as compared to inherent sovereign rights) in the Shelf
came into existence only in the Twentieth Century. Neither
ancient grants nor successions from foreign Crowns limit
the contemporary assertion of either Federal or State
rights in the Shelf, as Shelf rights, unlike an unknown
resource content of a known territory or property which
was validly conveyed, are of a new type based upon the
inherent power of a sovereign to assert a jurisdiction be-
yond its territory and boundaries on the bases of both
the contiguity of seabed resources and the expected impact

of their exploration and exploitation upon its territory.

The policy basis underlying the submerged lands cases
which held that coastal States did not have rights in seabed
resources beyond their coastline has been reversed by Con-

| regis: Te

4

gress when it transferred all the submerged lands then in
controversy (from the coastline three miles seaward, and
within “boundaries” as defined in legislation) to exclusive
State jurisdiction for purposes of exploration and exploita-
tion of seabed resources. This Congressional action left
such cases without controlling or even persuasive force in
deciding the present controversy.

The Constitutional Powers of foreign relations, de-
fense, interstate commerce and conservation which have
been delegated \to the Federal Government cannot be shown
to require exclusive federal jurisdiction over the Shelf for
other er No “aspect of external sovereignty” is
presented by domestic allocation within the framework
of our Constitution and national laws of Federal and State
jurisdiction over the resources of the Shelf, as our nation
possesses these resources exclusively relative to the other
nations of the world. Because of their contiguity, and the
expected impact of their development, Shelf resources may
be the subject of rights and jurisdiction both of coastal
nations and coastal States. The principles of jurisdiction
applied in our national law operate alike for both States
and the Federal Government; and the capacity of the
States to exercise jurisdiction is limited only by the con-
stitutional delegation of powers to the Federal Government
‘and by the Federal exercise of competence within the
proper sphere of Federal authority. As neither Congress
nor the Executive has\taken all legal rights in the Shelf
since these arose in the wentieth Century, nor has claimed
nor by preemption exclusive jurisdiction over

Shelf resources, the coastal States may exercise a con-
current jurisdiction over the Shelf with the Federal Gov-
ernment.

—

Resolution of the political questions subsequent to
finding of concurrent Federal-State jurisdiction over the
Shelf is best left to Congress, the Executive and the
Coastal States rather than continue protracted litigation
of the unfolding issues in a multiplicity of cases.

5

THE FORMATION OF OUR NATION AND
ADOPTION OF OUR CONSTITUTION DID
NOT CONFER OR ALLOCATE EXCLUSIVE
LEGAL RIGHTS IN THE OUTER CONTI-
NENTAL SHELF (HEREINAFTER “SHELF”)
AS BETWEEN THE STATES OF THE UNION
(HEREINAFTER “STATES”) AND THE
FEDERAL GOVERNMENT OF THE UNITED
STATES.

A. Our Constitution and Constitutional History did
not confer or allocate exclusive legal rights in the Shelf
as between the States and the Federal Government.

(1) In describing the creation and flow of legal
territorial rights because of and during the Revolution
against England, this Court held, regarding acts which
took place in 1777:

“ . . There was uc territory within the United
States that was claimed in any other right than
that of some one of the confederated States ; there-
fore, there could be no acquisition of territory
made by the United States, distinct from or in-
dependent of, some one of the States. . .” Har-
court v. Gaillard, 12 Wheat. 523, 526 (1827).

6
(2) The Articles of Confederation specifically
negatived any claim by the national government to terri-

torial rights at the expense of the States, stating i in Article
IX:

. no State shall be deprived of territory for
the benefit of the United States.”

(3) The Constitution was also carefully drawn to
forfend the very type of unwarranted assertions of sover-
' eign power and property rights by the central government

‘ which are involved in this case. As to territorial and prop-
erty rights, the Constitution is clear, concluding, as it
does, with the statement in Article IV, Section 3, Clause 2:

“The Congress shall have Power to dispose of and
make all needful Rules and Regulations respect-
ing the Territory or other Property belonging to
the United States, and nothing in this Constitu-
tion shall be so construed as to Prejudice any
Claims of the United States, or of any particular
State.” (Esiphaate added).

(4) As to governmental powers (sovereign rights)
which may be applied to events occurring beyond or within
the territory of the States, the Bill of Rights in Amend-
ment X made it perfectly plain that:

“The powers not delegated to the United States
by the Constitution, nor prohibited by it to the
States, are reserved to the States respectively,
or to the people.”

7

(5) There is no expressed rule or principle of the
Constitution purporting to grant, dispose of, or apportion
exclusive sovereign or property rights in subsequently-
acquired contiguous territory or areas as between the
adjacent State and the Federal Government. The law and
practice in instances of acquisition of contiguous areas is
further discussed below in Part V, B (2) of this brief.

(6) The basic claim of the Federal Government, that
the only rights which the States. may have in the Shelf are
those which may have been granted to them by the Federal
Government, is unfounded and unsound. Underlying its
entire position, and containing the real gist of its theory
of the case, is the claim stated in the Brief for the United
States in Support of Motion for Judgment (hereinafter
“U.S. Brief”) at page 20:

“C. EXCEPT AS GRANTED BY CONGRESS
SINCE STATEHOOD, THE COASTAL STATES
HAVE NO RIGHTS IN THE SUBMERGED
LANDS OR NATURAL RESOURCES SEA-
WARD OF THE COASTLINE.”

This is a spurious claim, without foundation in con-
stitutional law or policy. As seen above, our Constitution
does not grant, dispose of, or apportion exclusively sover-
eign or property rights as between the States and the
Federal Government without the consent of the States.
Therefore, any exclusive rights the Federal Government
has in the Shelf, under national law, must derive either
from: (a) the States of the Union (though not at the
time the Union was formed) ; or (b) the inherent rights
of states generally.

ee ee

8

(7) The groundless assumption that the -whole
bundle of rights in the Shelf must belong to one party to
the exclusion of the other (U.S. Brief, 7, “Question Pre-
sented,” and Answers of Various of the States Defend-
ants filed in 1969) also flies in the face of our federal
system. The simple and beautiful truth about our form of
government is that it is based upon a duality of rights
and powers. To say that all Shelf rights must necessarily
remain as a whole in the States or pass exclusively to the
central government upon the formation of the Union is to
deny the very soul and structure of that Union, as many
rights are neither exclusively Federal nor State.

(8) Based upon the foregoing, we submit that the
Constitution of the United States and the formation of the
Union did not confer, allocate, grant or dispose of exclusive
rights in the Shelf as between the States and the Federal
Government. The effects of the delegated powers of the
United States and the reserved sovereignty of the States
relative to present day allocation of Shelf rights are dis-
cussed more fully in Parts IV and V of this Brief.

B. Legal Rights in the Shelf came into existence
in the._Twentieth Century.

(1) Some of the confusion in the U.S. Brief stems
from its allegation that no Shelf rights existed at the time
of the Revolution and its inconsistent conclusion that such
rights passed to the United States upon the formation of
the Union. (U.S. Brief, 11-12.) We submit that the stated
conclusion is rendered false by the truth of the allegation.

9

(2) The Government makes the point that “exploitive
rights” in the Shelf did not exist at the time that our
Union was formed. (U.S. Brief, at 11.) In the sense that
the term “exploitive rights” is used as meaning “legal
rights to exploit,” we agree.

(3) Whether viewed as property rights or sovereign
rights, all rights in the Shelf (termed variously “rights,”
“sovereign rights” and “exploitive rights” in the U.S.
Brief) came into existence as legal rights only after two
things happened: (a) such rights were perceived with at-
tendant claims being made to them; and (b) the means
for assertion and exercise of such rights became available
by reason of the advance of civilization and technology.
As used in jurisprudence the term “right” connotes a well-
founded legal claim, or the capacity to assert a legally
enforceable claim. Bouvier’s Law Dictionary, Vol. 2 Right,
pp. 927-929 (1897). 77 C.J.S. Right, 392 (1952).

(4) In our national law, the coastal States began to
perceive and assert legal rights in the Shelf about 1921
with the California leasing statute. Other States subse-
quently made similar claims, asserting and bringing into
exercise claims sometimes said to have been derived from
their Constitutions.or our constitutional history. No Fed-
eral assertion of any claims to legal rights in the Shelf
was made until 1937, when the Secretary of the Interior,
Harold Ickes, began to have “doubts” as to whether the
Federal or State governments owned the submerged lands.
Legislative History — Submerged Lands Act, Prior Com-
mittee Reports, Appendix I, H. R. Rep. No. 1778 (88d
Cong., 1st Sess.; 1953 U.S. Code Cong. and Admin. News,
1415, 1417-1418, 1426-1427 (1953) (excerpt, pp. 1417-
1422, is reproduced in Appendix to this Brief). The tem-.

Bre 1 POEM i ONE SERN I EMT ENE TE FNM MANE LY LYE IT ROM NEAR MRM SS TUT RIT iy CTY Rit

10

poral relationship of these Federal and State claims is
not, however, dispositive of the sovereign or property rights
which may exist in the Shelf. Under national law, as dis-
cussed herein and below, it is our Constitution and laws
which are controlling both (a) as to the distribution of
sovereign powers within our nation, and (b) as to the
allocation of, and power of disposition over, property rights
as between the States and the Federal Government.

(5) The phrase “continental shelf’ was invented and
used in a geological and geographical sense in 1887, but its
emergence in a juridical context was precipitated by the
Truman Proclamation of 1945 (Presidential Proclamation
No. 2667, September 28, 1945, 59 Stat. 884 (hereinafter
“Truman Proclamation’) ). Gutteridge, The 1958 Geneva
Convention on the Continental Shelf, XXXV Brit. Yb.
Int'l. L. 102 (1959)

(6) The submerged portions of the continent existed
prior to the advent of civilization and law, although the
characteristics of these portions were not recognized until
recent decades. They became the subject of legal rights
only in the Twentieth Century. In the most recent authori-
tative judicial pronouncement on the subject, the Inter-
national Court of Justice put it this way:

“97, .. . The natural resources of the subsoil of
the sea in those parts which consist of continental
shelf are the very object of the legal regime es-
tablished subsequent to the Truman Proclama-
tion . . .”’ North Sea Continental Shelf Cases, —

_ (1969) I.C.J. 8, at 51. (Hereinafter “ICJ Opin-
ion.”’)

11

(7) Juridical development of legal rights in and to
the Shelf began in 1945, and those legal rights came into
being prospectively only, not retroactively. See Matson
Navigation Company v. United States (The Montebello) ,
141 F.Supp. 929 (Ct. Cl., 1956).

(8) Legal rights in the Shelf, therefore, could not
have been acquired by, or granted to, any entity until the
Twentieth Century. The inherent rights in the Shelf asso-
ciated with the sovereignty and sovereign powers of coastal
States and nations are discussed more fully below in Parts
IV and V of this Brief.

Il.

NEITHER ANCIENT GRANTS NOR TERRI-
TORIAL BOUNDARIES LIMIT EITHER
STATE OR FEDERAL LEGAL RIGHTS IN
THE SHELF.

A. Ancient grants from, and successions to, the
Crowns of England, Holland or Spain are not essential to
the resolution of this case and reference to them serves
only to obfuscate the real issues.

(1) It is axiomatic that a general conveyance of
real property or a cession of territory also transfers rights
to the minerals and other resources located therein. But
legal rights in the Shelf or jurisdiction over its resources
(which lie beyond the territory of States) are a new type
of property or sovereign rights not subject to the princi-
ples of implied conveyance or limited by express limitation
of conveyance. The asserted ancient grants and executory

—_ tas PDE ENE PLE LATO HIE REEL RS NNT, ERE EF
LN ETN AAS ELAR MR ON ES .

4 I”

q

—~

12 :

conveyances of rights in the offshore submerged lands may
be affirmatively controlling if a State is recognized as the
beneficiary of an effective grant, but their absence does
not limit either State or Federal legal rights in the Shelf.

(2) The Federal. Government proceeds at some
length to demonstrate that there were no legal or exploitive
rights in the English Crown and makes what it seems to
think is a telling point: that the Crown did not pass these
nonexistent rights on to Canada or Australia (or, by in-
ference, to the American Colonies) (U.S. Brief, 24-30). The
Government also undertakes to prove that no Shelf rights
existed in England and Canada until after 1876 or 1878
(U.S. Brief, 25). We agree, but point out that it was only
long after those dates that any such rights came into exist-
ence. (See Part I, B of this Brief.)

(3) How rights which did not exist and were com-
pletely unknown could have been passed on to anyone is left
unexplained. But the really exquisite nature of this series
of non-sequiturs becomes apparent only when they are
distilled and put together to form the Federal Govern-
ment’s thesis: Since exploitive rights were unknown and
did not exist in the Crown of England, and since the Crown
did not pass on to the Colonies those unknown and non-
existent rights, the Colonies passed such rights to the Fed-
eral Government of the United States at the time of for-
mation of the Union. The magical process by which an
unknown nothing was transformed into an unknown some-
thing, underwent a mythical passage to a central govern-
ment, and then remained unknown for more we: 150
years, is still secret.

13

(4) Rejecting these sophistries, we suggest that law
and plain common sense require the conclusion that neither
the States nor the Federal Government enjoyed any legal
or exploitive rights in the Shelf before, upon, or imme-
diately after the formation of the Union for one simple
reason: those rights came into existence more than a cen-

‘tury: later.

B. Modern boundaries and the delimitation of terri-
tory do not limit either State or Federal jurisdiction in
this case, for the legal rights in and jurisdiction over the
Shelf lie beyond the boundaries of all parties.

(1) The Truman Proclamation made no mention of
boundaries, but clearly was intended to apply beyond the
territorial sea of the United States, the limits of which are
commonly recognized as our nation’s most seaward terri-
torial boundary. The White House Press Release which
accompanied the Truman Proclamation spoke of a depth
of contour line of about 100 fathoms, which line lies in
most areas beyond the limits of the territorial sea. White-
man, Digest of International Law, Vol. 4, pp. 757-758
(Department of State Publication 7825, 1965) (hereinafter
“Whiteman Digest”). The concurrent Executive Order
(No. 9633; 10 F. R. 12805; 3 C.F.R. 487 (Supp., 1957) )
preserved the rights of the States and the Federal Govern-
ment in the Shelf outside as well as within the three-mile
limit with the following language:

“... Neither this Order nor the aforesaid proc-
lamation shall be deemed to affect the determina-
tion by legislation or judicial decree of any issues
between the United States and the several states,

a NOLS ORIEL ROR ERLE ER EME SRE ELE EL PR OY

14

relating to the ownership or control of the subsoil
and sea bed of the continental shelf within or
outside of the three-mile limit.” 1945 U.S. Code

Cong. Service, p. 1315 (1945). Whiteman Digest,
758-759.

Revocation of this Executive Order and establish-
ment of a naval petroleum reserve (solely for oil and gas
exploration and exploitation) by Executive Order No.
10426 (18 F.R. 405; 3 C.F.R. 924-925 (Supp., 1958)) did
not affect the legal situation of whatever rights the States
may have had in the Shelf. It clearly did not attempt to
exclude all rights of the States in the Shelf, as it established
a reserve “for oil and gas only,” and it was declared
“[s]ubject to valid existing rights.” Jd. § 1 (a) and (b).

(2) The geographic marine surface boundaries for
purposes of jurisdiction over navigation and other uses
of the watcr column, such as fishing, do not limit juris-
diction over the submerged portion of the continent. In
point of time, such boundaries were claimed and set long
before there was any knowledge of, much less claims to, the
use and development of the Shelf. Whiteman Digest, Ch.
IX, §1 (pp. 1-14) and §2 (pp. 14-137), Ch. XI, §1 (pp.
740-764). “By 1900, the three-mile or one-league limit
had been positively adopted or acknowledged as law by
twenty of the twenty-one states which claimed or acknowl-
edged a territorial sea at that time. The twenty states
were... and the United States.” Heinzen, The Three Mile
Limit: Preserving the Freedom of the Seas, 11 Stan. L.
Rev. 597, 632-634 (1959).

(3) In the first California, Louisiana and Texas
cases, the States argued that boundaries should control.

15

“The basis of California’s asserted ownership is that a
belt extending three English miles from low water mark
lies within the original boundaries of the state...” U.S.
v. California, 332 U.S. 19, at 23 (1947) (hereinafter “Cali-
fornia case”). See also, U. S. v. Louisiana, 339 U.S. 699,
705 (1950), and U. S. v. Texas, 339 U.S. 707, 711 (1950).
The holdings were that boundaries did not control. Cali-
fornia case at 31; U.S. v. Louisiana, 339 U.S. 699, 705;
U. S. v. Texas, 889 U.S. 707, 720; (U.S. Brief, 22-23).

(4) In submerged lands legislation the term “bound-
aries” has been relevant only in the Submerged Lands Act
of 1953 (67 Stat. 29, 43 U.S.C. §§ 1801-1315) (hereinafter
“SLA”’). Even there, however, the term “boundaries” was
used only to define the express quitclaim by the Federal
Government to ya proprietary interest within the ac-
cepted State “boundaries.” “Boundaries” as used therein
did not purport to determine any matters relating to the
seabed beyond such areas. To the contrary, except for the
quitclaim of, submerged lands under the U.S. territorial
sea, the SEA expressly preserved whatever rights the
United Sfates may have had in the Shelf (43 U.S.C. §1302)
(just as\did the Truman Proclamation, with its attendant
Executive Order, some eight years prior to the SLA).

(5) Approval by this Court of a 3-league, or 9-mile,
boundary for Texas and Florida in the Gulf of Mexico
subsequent to the SLA had the effect of according these
coastal States exclusive legal rights in the natural resources
of the Shelf beyond the boundaries of the United States.
U.S. v. Louisiana, 363 U.S. 1, 84 (1960) ; U.S. v. Florida, »
363 U.S. 121, 129 (1960). The language of the SLA con-
firming United States Shelf jurisdiction beyond bound-
aries was held further in U.S. v. Louisiana et al. 368 U.S.

LY PREM RELI. DLT EGE OL ABE LOOT 2 RE EE PEI TES RE TG

16

1, 83-85 to give exclusive jurisdiction to the United States,
a matter which this brief discusses below in Part VI.

(6) The Outer Continental Shelf Lands Act (67
Stat. 462, 43 U.S.C. $$1831-1843) (hereinafter “OCSLA”)
dealt with lands or rights entirely beyond the boundaries
of the States and the nation, that is, the area in question
in this case. But nothing in that Act purports to divest
States of the Union of any rights, although the States’
power to apply taxation laws to the Shelf was limited.
Congress merely exercised its undoubted authority to set
up its own rules for Federal leasing on the Shelf. The leg-
islative history of the OCSLA is clear. The Committee Re-
port states:

“Purpose of the Bill

“The purpose of H.R. 5134 is to amend the Sub-
merged Lands Act in order that the area in the
outer Continental Shelf beyond the boundaries of
the States may be leased and developed by the
Federal Government. At the present time the
Submerged Lands Act merely established that
the seabed and subsoil in the Outer Continental
Shelf beyond State boundaries appertained in
[sic] the United States and was | subject to its
jurisdiction and icin

“There are no provisions for the leasing and de-
velopment of the area by the Federal Government
nor are provisions made for the exchange of State
leases for Federal leases‘in the same area.

17

“This bill contains provisions to accomplish those
very objectives.” H.R. Rep. No. 413, 83rd Cong.,
Ist Sess. (1953); 1953 U.S. Code Cong. and
Admin. News, Vol. 2, pp. 2177-2178 (1953).

Indeed, the claim language in the OCSLA is unmistak-
ably, and, we believe, significantly, similar to the Truman
Proclamation (adding only the phrase “power of dispo-
sition” to cover and authorize the leasing program being
established in the Act). 43 U.S.C. $1832. Setting up a
leasing program in an area where the Federal Govern-
ment unquestienably has rights (though non-exclusive) is
an entirely different thing from an attempt 4o divest the
States of all Shelf rights. As the Court well knows, Con-
gress considered this whole matter for many years, and
suffered some vetoes, before the 1953 legislation was finally
drafted, passed and approved by the President. The volu-
minous Committee Reports (See, e.g. excerpt in Appendix
to this Brief), as well as the California (332 U.S. 19),
Louisiana (339 U.S. 699) and Texas (339 U.S. 707) cases,
are replete with discussions of boundaries. Had Congress
later wanted to base an attempted divestitude of the Shelf
rights of States on boundaries, it most certainly would
have said so. The feeble and contrived allegation of the
Federal Government on this point serves to emphasize the
validity of our position. The Government states (U.S.
Brief, 23-24) :

“So, also, although Congress did not purport
to foreclose greater claims, the underlying prem-
ise of the Submerged Lands Act — which in 1953
granted a three mile belt to the State bordering
on the Atlantic Ocean — is that the present de-
fendants theretofore held no rights in the bed

18

of the territorial sea and thereafter would hold

none farther seaward, where federal administra-

tion was provided for under the Outer Continen-

tal\Shelf Lands Act enacted in the same year
” (Emphasis added.)

This \allegation says that, although Congress did not
purport to foreclose the States’ claims on the Shelf, such
claims were automatically foreclosed’ by an underlying
premise of\the SLA.’ We suggest that such a conclusion
is patently unwarranted, and that boundaries simply have
no bearing on the matter of Shelf rights for this clear
reason: Shelf rights’ are generally beyond territorial
boundaries and Congress did not change this legal situa-
tion.

III. \

THE POLICY BASIS UNDERLYING THE
FIRST CALIFORNIA SUBMERGED LANDS
CASE HAS BEEN REVERSED BY CON-
GRESS, LEAVING IT WITHOUT CONTROL-
LING OR EVEN PERSUASIVE FORCE IN
DECIDING THE PRESENT CONTROVERSY.

(1) In the case of United States v. California there

were only two real issues on the merits, and they were
decided under the heading “third” in the Opinion (332
U.S. 19, at 29-89). The Court held:

\
(a) that California had not produced enough ref-
erences and evidence i prove: :

poses)

a SON) BB ann cet

19

‘,.. that the thirteen original colonies separately
acquired ownership to the three-mile belt or the '
soil under it, even if they did acquire elements of
the sovereignty of the English Crown by their
revolution against it.” (332 U.S. 19, at 31); and

(b) the commerce, defense and foreign relations

‘powers of the national government required:

. that the Federal Government rather than

the state has paramount rights in and power over

_ that belt [the three-mile territorial sea], an inci-
dent to which is full dominion over the resources
of the soil undér that water area, including oil.”

(332, U.S. 19, at 38-39; parenthetical matter
ee:

(2) Holding (a) is not controlling in this case oi
cause, firstly, it dealt with a matter of evidence and proof.
Review of the Whiteman Digest, Ch. IX, indicates that
most authorities on the territorial sea were subsequent to
the formation of our nation. Additionally, the fact that
California failed to prove that the 13 original States exer-
cised dominium over the territorial sea cannot be held
against the parties in this case, 10 of whom are original
States. Secondly, legal rights in the Shelf were not ac-

' quired by either the States or the Federal Government un-

til much later than the revolution against England.

(3) Holding (b) is clearly based on policy consid-

erations determined by the Court to exist at that time in

1947. Such a policy was also a clear basis for the 1950
Louisiana decision (839 U.S. 699, at 705) and the 1950

20

Texas decision (389 U.S. 707, 712). But the policies re-
_ lied on by the Court in 1947 and 1950 to allocate the sea-
bed from the coastline out to three miles from shore to the
Federal Government were reversed by action of the Con-
gress and the President in 1953 by enactment of the SLA.
See Appendix to this Brief. We are mindful of the pro-
vision of the SLA that it shall not be “deemed to affect in
any wise the rights of the United States...” (43 U.S.C.
$1302): on the Shelf (outside of the State and the United
States boundaries). It is clear that this language in the
SLA does not give anyone any rights in the Shelf and its
resources. What it does accomplish is a reversal of the
policy basis for the holdings in the California case and the
Louisiana (339 U.S. 699) and Texas cases (339 U.S. 707).
Without that policy basis, the reasoning in those cases
cannot be sustained unless there is some other compelling
reason why the long-recognized claims of States. must be
forfeit. But the Federal Government does not even allege
any other or new policy, basing its present claims squarely
on the previous cases (U.S. Brief, 22-24). Indeed, the Gov-
ernment (U.S. Brief, 22) itemizes the same policy bases
for its present claims as: “... defense, international re-
lations, and external sovereignty ...” “External sover-
eignty” presumably refers to foreign commerce, unless
' it is merely redundant to “international relations.”

_(4) Stripped of its policy rationale by Congress, the
California case today offers no impediment to a review of
the factors involved in determining the allocation of Shelf
rights. That case was decided in the aftermath of World
War II, only six years after an attack on Pearl Harbor,
_ and only five years after blackouts and hysteria on the
Pacific coast resulting from the fear of a Japanese am- ~
phibious assault. Memories of the plans of enemy con-

soll

er il
De hl

21

quest and control of natural resources in Asia, and of a
Nazi proximity to the oil reserves of the Middle East (El
Alamein) were fresh and potent. The “Cold War” was
just beginning and the United Nations was in a pre-
carious struggle for life. Criticism is not here intended.
To the contrary, we are urging that time and the histori-
cal perspective of nearly a quarter century reveal far-
reaching changes both within and outside our nation.

(5) Currently, the security fear is not of loss of
essential natural resources. Nowhere does the Government
allege any fear of an invasion frum the Shelf or a threat
of loss of Shelf resources to foreign nations. To the con-
trary, the official U.S. position as presented internation-
ally is to demand a “narrow” Shelf (stopping at the 200
meter isobath) with a dedication of the remainder of the
ocean floor to the benefit of international community in a
“trusteeship zone” and an international regime. Presi-
dential Statement, 116 Cong. Rec. X 87747-7748 (May |
25, 1970); and Draft United Nations Convention on the
International Sea-Bed Area (Working Paper Submitted
by the United States to the United Nations Committee on
the Peaceful Uses of the Sea-Bed and the Ocean Floor Be-
yond the Limits of National Jurisdiction), Arts. 1, 2, 3, 26
and 27, 25 U.N. GAOR, Supp. No. 21 (A/8021), pp. 130,
132-133, 138-139 (1970).

(6) The security, foreign relations and commerce
issues are examined more fully below in Part IV of this
Brief. The point being made here is that new policies
consistent with those laid down by Congress and the Execu-
tive and attuned to the present realities are not fore-
closed by the prior decisions of the Court, all of which
were based on the California case.

OS a LRA COI pCR REO TELAT

22
IV.

THE CONSTITUTIONAL POWERS. DELE-
GATED TO THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT
BY THE STATES CANNOT BE SHOWN TO
REQUIRE EXCLUSIVE FEDERAL JURIS-
DICTION OVER THE SHELF.

THe exercise of exclusive Federal Powers by the
United States carries with it paramount rights limited to
those reasonably necessary to effectuate their specific
purposes. It does not establish exclusive rights generally

nor establish all rights for all purposes. The need must —

be evident or shown in each case to the Court.

A. The Foreign Relations Power does not require
exclusive Federal rights in and jurisdiction over the
Shelf for purposes other than Foreign Relations.

(1) The fact that the Shelf lies in general beyond
the limits of the territorial sea does not raise foreign
policy problems which*prohibit the exercise of some State
jurisdiction over the Shelf. The 1958 Geneva Convention

on the Continental Shelf (15 U.S.T. (Pt. 1) 471) (herein- ~

after “Shelf Convention”) recognizes the water column
above the Shelf as international waters (Art.-3) (White-
man Digest, 920). And the OCSLA specifically recognizes
the water column above the Shelf as international waters
(43 U.S.C. $1832 (b)). Both these international and na-
tional prescriptions, and the ocean law associated with
them, are binding upon the States in their exercise of any
jurisdiction which they may have over the Shelf. The De-
partment of State did not object to language in the Execu-

23

‘tive Order which accompanied the Truman Proclamation
and provided that the Order and the Proclamation did not
affect the determination of issues between the Federal
Government and the States. Whiteman Digest, 755-756.

(2) The United States has not based its territorial
sea or international boundary claims on Shelf considera-
tions. Quite to the contrary, it has consistently opposed
and protested the claims of other nations (particularly in
Latin America) to extensive territorial seas based on an
interpretation by those nations that such claims follow the
Truman Proclamation. Whiteman Digest, 793-814 and
874-882.

(3) No foreign affairs problems have been caused
by the recognition by the Court on the basis of the SLA
of a nine-mile boundary in the Gulf of Mexico for sub-
merged lands of Florida and Texas — six miles into or
beneath international waters. It was held by the Court
in those cases that the question of State and Federal juris-
diction over these areas of the Shelf was a matter of do-
_ Mestie concern. U.S. v. Louisiana et al., 363 U.S. 1, 64,
84; U.S. v. Florida, 363 U.S. 121, 129.

(4) International Law, codified in the Shelf Conven-
tion and confirmed in the ICJ Opinion, recognizes that the
Shelf rights of the coastal nation are exclusive as regards
any other nation, regardless whether the coastal state
asserts any claim. Shelf Convention, Art. 2. No other
nation has any interest. Thus, the allocation of such rights
internally within a nation cannot be the concern of any
other nation.

24

(5) The States presently exercise a jurisdiction to
prescribe laws in some cases for foreign ships in the terri-
torial sea, and in ports and other internal waters. Even
for admiralty questions, which are generally within fed-
eral jurisdiction, the States prescribe law for such matters
as leins, local regulations and torts. 2 Am.Jur. 2d Admi-
ralty §7, pp. 723-724 (1962). See also the discussion of
authority over internal waters, the territorial sea and
adjacent ocean areas in McDougal and Burke, The Pub-
lic Order of the Oceans, Chs. 2, 3 and 6 (1962). Thereis |
considerable commerce by foreign ships in these waters,
and this State jurisdiction does not harmfully impinge on
foreign relations or adversely affect foreign affairs or
security interests to the detriment of our nation. A for-
tiori, when the jurisdiction of the United States is ex-
clusive relative to the interests of the other nations of the
world, as it is on the Shelf, there can be no question of
any undesirable effects on foreign affairs by State exer-
cise of jurisdiction.

(6) There is no question of the authority of the
Executive to conclude international agreements regarding
the Shelf for any foreign relations purpose, which agree-
ments may determine the extent of jurisdiction (Federal
and State) over the Shelf and the manner in which such
jurisdiction may be exercised. In the case of Missouri v.
Holland, 252 U.S. 416 (1920) this Court upheld as against
the jurisdiction and police power of a State, a treaty and
pursuant legislation of Congress providing for reciprocal
protection of migratory birds which make seasonal flights
between Canada and the United States. If the United States
chooses to enter into an international agreement or treaty
defining or limiting Shelf rights there is simply no ques-
tion of the legal efficacy of this exercise of the foreign

25

relations power, both as to Federal and State jurisdiction
over and rights in the Shelf. The mere possibility of an
international agreement which might require a consequen-
tial limitation of the rights or powers of the States does
not, however, operate to limit or divest such rights or
powers.

(7) Finally, were a coastal State to undertake activi-
ties on the Shelf, or to exercise any jurisdiction over the
Shelf, in a manner adversely affecting the conduct of
foreign relations this Court has the power to declare such
activities or jurisdiction unconstitutional even absent any
specific prohibitory legislation by Congress or prescriptions
of the Executive. Zschernig v. Miller 389 U.S. 429 (1968).

(8) ‘In sum, the foreign relations power delegated to
the Federal Government by the States in our Constitution
is adequate for its purpose on the Shelf and at sea as well
as on land. It does not require exclusive Federal jurisdic-
tion over the Shelf any more than exclusive Federal juris-
diction over aliens and foreign enterprises or State prop-
erty on land. To the contrary, as United States legal rights
on the Shelf are exclusive relative to other nations the
question of Federal and State jurisdiction is purely one of
domestic concern and is regulated solely by our national
law. While it may be desirable in the future conduct of
United States foreign relations to make international
agreements limiting or regulating United States jurisdic-
tion over the Shelf, our existing Constitutional Law is
entirely adequate to make any such agreements binding
upon the States as well as the Federal Government. More-
over, if the States exercise any jurisdiction over the Shelf
which adversely affects the foreign relations of the United
States, the Legislative, Executive or Judicial Branches of

26

our Federal Government can curtail such an exercise of
jurisdiction. As the foreign relations power is adequate
and exclusively federal it cannot afford a basis for allocat-
ing legal rights on the Shelf to the Federal Government for
purposes other than foreign relations.

*B. The Defense and Commerce Powers do not re-
quire exclusive Federal rights in and jurisdiction over the |
Shelf.

(1) No instance can be found where the Defense
Power, assigned exclusively to the Federal Government in
our Constitution, is inadequate in the territory or property
of any State. The Defense Power of the Executive is gen-
eral and does not require exclusive ownership of the Shelf
or any other category of property to protect the security
interests of the United States. Nor does the Defense Power
operate to divest the States of other sovereign powers.

(2) The States regularly cooperate with the Federal
Executive on defense matters relative to territorial and
territorial sea areas under their jurisdiction, and there is
no reason to suppose that State cooperation in such matters
would be any less for any jurisdiction which they may
have over the Shelf. The only instance related to jurisdic-
tion over the resources of submerged lands of the Shelf
and: territorial sea in which the States might have stood
in opposition to the Federal Defense Power was precisely
one in which all interested Federal agencies, including the
Department of Defense, were met in cooperation by State
officials in the establishment of safety fairways in the
Gulf of Mexico. See Griffin, Accommodation of Conflicting
Uses of Ocean Space with Special Reference to Navigation

_—

27

Safety Lanes, in Proceedings of the Second Annual Con-
ference of the Law of the Sea Institute, at pp. 73, 79-81
(1968). sued

(3) In sum, the Defense Power assigned by our
Constitution exclusively to the Federal Government is
adequate for its purpose, and does not require exclusive
Federal jurisdiction for purposés other than defense for
its efficacy or implementation.

(4) The Commerce Power delegated to the Federal
Government in our Constitution, and conservation inter-
ests, do not require ownership either of territory or of a
class of property by the Federal Government for their
effectuation. To the contrary, the Power and associated
interests and powers are required solely to regulate the
use of property by others and to limit the exercise of State
and local jurisdiction within our Constitutional framework.

(5) That questions of interstate and foreign com-
merce may arise as a result of State jurisdiction over the
Shelf cannot be questioned. The Legislative, Executive and
Judicial Branches of the Federal Government may deal
with such questions, however, both by applying our Consti-
tutional and general laws and by prescribing new law
within their respective competences.

(6) Conservation of the resources of the Shelf
similarly does not present any novel or insoluble problem
in our Constitutional framework. The Federal Government
can always control or prevent the production of oil and gas
(or other resources) on the Shelf in the same way it does
on dry land. Conservation is not impaired in any way.
Declaration of specific powers for conservation and re-

28

stricted exploitation of oil and gas resources of the Shelf
by Executive Order (No. 10,426; 18 F.R. 405; 3 C.F.R.
924-925 (Supp., 1958) ) was expanded by Congress in the
OCSLA (48 U.S.C. $1841). There is simply no question of
needed reserves being dissipated, and the national interest
jeopardized, by irresponsible exploitation.

Vv.
THE COASTAL STATES HAVE SOME LEGAL
RIGHTS IN AND MAY EXERCISE JURISDIC-
TION OVER THE SHELF UNLESS THESE
RIGHTS AND POWERS HAVE BEEN CON-

STITUTIONALLY TAKEN BY THE FEDER-
AL GOVERNMENT.

A. The Coastal States Have Some Rights in the
Shelf.

(1) The coastal sovereign entity always had inherent
rights in the Shelf, but as seen above and reinforced herein
these inherent rights did not ripen into legal rights until
the Twentieth Century.

(2) The ICJ Opinion and the contemporary opinions
of scientists are alike in associating the Shelf with the
adjacent land. The ICJ opinion speaks of the origin and
nature of both inherent and legal Shelf rights:

“95. The institution of the continental shelf
has arisen out of the recognitién of a physical
fact; and’the link between this fact and the law,
without which that institution would never have

29

existed, remains an important element for the
application of its legal regime. The continental
shelf is, by definition, an area physically ex-
tending the territory of most coastal States into
a species of platform which has attracted the
attention first of geographers and hydrogra-
phers and then of jurists. The importance of the
geological aspect is emphasized by the care
which, at the beginning of its investigation, the
International Law Commission took to acquire ex-
act information as to its characteristics, as can
be seen in particular from the definitions to be
found on page 131 of Volume 1 of the Yearbook of
the International Law Commission for 1956. The
appurtenance of the shelf to the countries in
front of whose coastlines it lies, is therefore a
fact, and it can be useful to consider the geology
of that shelf...

“96. The doctrine of the continental shelf is a
recent instance of encroachment on maritime ex-
panses which, during the greater part of history,
appertained to no one. The contiguous zone and
the continental shelf are in this respect concepts
of the same kind. In both instances the principle
is applied that the land dominates the sea...

“97. ...the natural resources’of the subsoil of
the sea in those parts which consist of continen-
tal shelf are the very object of the legal regime
established subsequent to the Truman Proclama-
tion...” ICJ Opinion, at 51.

Scientists now know that the continents and the deep
ocean floor are different in kind. The continents are
primarily composed of granitic rock, rich in silica and

TT

80

the alkalis (sometimes nicknamed “white rock’), while
the deep ocean floor is mainly basaltic rock, rich in heavy

“minerals (hence, “black rock”). The most fundamental
and remarkable physiographic feature of our planet is
the tremendous scarp at the interface of the continents
with the deep ocean floor. Simply put, the solid earth is
covered, on a world-wide basis, with a relatively thin layer
or crust of basaltic rock. The continents float on this
basaltic rock. The continents float on this basaltic layer
in a manner which has been likened to an iceberg in the
sea. In a study prepared at the request of the National
Council on Marine Resources and Engineering Develop-
ment and officially presented by the United States to a
United Nations Committee (Department of the Interior
Press Release, Aug. 14, 1969), Federal Government
scientists summed up the point this way:

“GEOLOGIC AND PHYSIOGRAPHIC PROV-
INCES AND THEIR BEARING ON POTEN-
TIAL SEABED MINERAL RESOURCES

“The solid earth’s surface consists of two great
physiographic divisions, the ocean basins, and
the continents that rise to mean heights of 4,300
to 5,800 meters above the ocean floor. The ocean
basins, of course, are filled with sea water — more
than filled, in fact, for the ocean extends over
the margins of the continental masses for dis-
tances ranging from a few to more than 1,300
km. The boundary between the continental masses
and the ocean basins thus lies beneath the sea,
generally at depths ranging from 2,000 to 4,000
meters.

31

“The physiographic contrast between the con-
tinents and the ocean basins reflects fundamental
geologic differences between them. The continental
crust is richer in silica and.the alkalis and poorer
in iron and magnesia than the oceanic crust.
Although the continental crust averages about
- 85 km. in thickness compared with about 5 km.
for the oceanic crust, its density is less (fig. 4).
The continental and oceanic masses are in flota-
‘tional equilibrium with the underlying mantle,
and the lighter continents rise above the ocean
basins, much as does an iceberg in the sea.

Ocean Continent > __
ics se on te ee

*". 5 Graniti¢ tayer’ * ,”

1
!
Oa ‘adhdaad
|
See

k-—35 Km
65 Km

Figure 4. Idealized cross section showing the
flotational equilibrium between oceanic and
continental crust. (Takeuchi and others, 1967).

“The igneous rocks of the continental crust
consist mainly of granite and related rocks rel-
atively rich in silica und the alkalis, although
some basalt and other rocks rich in iron and
magnesia are also present. In many areas these

32

granitic rocks intrude, or are overlain by, thick
accumulations of sediments, deposited in ancient
seas that spread over the continents, and in
marginal oceanic basins — sediments derived in
large part from the weathering and erosion of
adjacent land. Oil, gas, sulfur, saline minerals,
coal and other deposits occur in these sedimentary
basins. Oceanic crust, in contrast, is largely
composed of basalt and related rock; and, except
near the continental margin where erosional
debris from the land may be present, it is gener-
ally overlain by no more than a few hundred
meters of sediments.

* * *

“ |. Petroleum, coal, sulfur, salt, potash, phos-
phate rock, limestone, and many other minerals
have been concentrated by biologic and sedimen- ,
tary processes in sedimentary rocks...

“In spite of their smaller size compared to the
floor of the large ocean basins, the submerged
parts of the continents, the continental rises, and
the small ocean basins contain the greater part of
the potential subsea mineral resources, both in
terms of the variety of minerals that exist and
the value of those that are likely to be recovered
within the next few decades. Most important
among these minerals is petroleum, the bulk of
which likely occurs in the continental terraces and
rises and the small ocean basins. . .” (McKelvey,
V.E., and Wang, Frank F. H., World Subsea
Mineral Resources, pp. 5-7 (Department of the

Interior, U.S. Geological Survey, 1969).

__ ——— - 4
i ’ i

33

(3) ‘The essential harmony between the ICJ Opinion
and the present knowledge of the scientific community is
, apparent: The Shelf is a part of the land mass which is
. submerged temporarily in terms of geologic time. Legal
rights connected with it have only recently been claimed
or acknowledged. Whatever rights coastal entities had to
the Shelf in times past were inherent rights only, and not
legal rights, until acknowledged and clothed with the pro-
tection of law. And the legal rights established in the
attendant and appurtenant Shelf belong to the coastal
sovereign. ;

(4) The emptiness of the claim that all rights in the
Shelf must emanate from the central government in Wash-—
ington, D.C., is emphasized by the fact that the resources

~ in question (mainly petroleum and related minerals) oc-
cur in the sedimentary rock of the Shelf. These same sedi-
‘ments were eroded from the dry land of the continent.
before being deposited on the Shelf. Thus, the components
of the mineral deposits themselves actually “derived in
large part from the weathering and erosion of adjacent
land.” (McKelvey and Wang, supra, p. 5). The “adjacent
land” in this case is necessarily the coastal States.

. (5) In sum, the inherent rights in the Shelf were
inherent both as being at one time potential rights and
also as inhering in the coastal sovereign entity. Why, we
ask, must the legal rights maturing from the inherent
rights of coastal States be deemed to be Federal when the
rock itself came from areas which are now the States?

i

(6) The ICJ Opinion sums up the matter of inherent
Shelf rights clearly and, we believe, persuasively (at p. 22) :

!

34

“19. More important is . . . what the Court
entertains no doubt is the most fundamental of
all the rules of law relating to the continental
shelf, enshrined in Article 2 of the 1958 Geneva
‘Convention, though quite independent of it, —
namely that the rights of the coastal State in re-
spect of the area of continental shelf that con-
stitutes a.natural prolongation of its land
territory into and under the sea exist ipso facto
and ab initio, by virtue of its sovereignty over
the land, and as an extension of it in an exercise
of sovereign rights for the purpose of exploring
the seabed and exploiting its natural resources.
In short, there is an inherent right. In order to
exercise it, no special legal process has to be
gone through, nor have_any special legal acts to
be performed. Its existence can be declared (and
many States have done this) but does not need to
be constituted. Furthermore, the right does not
depend on its being exercised .. . ” (Emphasis
' added.)

And (at P. $1):

“43. More fundamental than the notion of
proximity appears to be the principle —con-
stantly relied upon by all the Parties —of the
natural prolongation or continuation of the land
territory. or domain, or land sovereignty of the
coastal State, into and under the high seas, via
the bed of its territorial sea which is under the
full sovereignty of that State.‘ There are various
ways of formulating this principle, but the under-
lying idea, namely of an extension of something

a e

35

already possessed, is the same, and it is this idea
of extension which is, in the Court’s opinion, de-
terminant... ” ’

(7) Recognition that the ICJ Opinion was dealing
with nation-states on the international level does not im-
pair the applicability of these principles to coastal states
generally, including the States. As seen above, it is abun-
dantly clear that the Shelf is an extension from the land
domain of the coastal States as well as that of the United
States. The very rock which contains the sought-afte.
minerals originated by erosion from the areas of the ‘coastal
States. Thus, the “natural prolongation” could hardly be
more natural as regards the coastal States.

(8) From the ICJ Opinion, as well as from com-
pelling logic, it is clear that the coastal] sovereign entity,
by whatever name or designation, always had inherent
rights to the submerged portion of the continent. But
these rights were not perceived or claimed until the
Twentieth Century, and did not begin to ripen into legal
rights until the specific claim of the 1945 Truman Proc-
lamation (with its attendant disclaimer of any disposition
of rights of the States vis-a-vis the Federal Government).

(9) In this connection, it is most. revealing to look
at the declaration of the Executive Branch regarding the
formulation of law for the Shelf, which is contained in the
official State, Department Whiteman Digest under the
heading “History of the Truman Proclamation” :

“ ... This Nation’s claim to the natural re-
sources was strengthened by the earlier action
of some of the States in leasing, and consequently

36

bringing about the actual use and occupancy of
the Continental Shelf .. . ” Report from the
Committee on the Judiciary, Mar. 27, 1953, to
accompany H.R. 4198, Submerged Lands Act,
H.R. Rep. No. 215, 83d Cong., Ist Sess., p. 7.
(Emphasis added.) Whiteman Digest, 759.

(10) The emergence of the Shelf in international
law cannot be construed, even remotely, to deprive the
States of their inherent or legal rights in the Shelf. The
argument of the U.S. Brief may be misleading when it
asserts that the Truman Proclamation operated “[d]Jo-
mestically” (U.S. Brief, p. 13). That Proclamation oper-
ated to claim rights for the United States internationally,
while the accompanying Executive Order (No. 9633; 10
F.R. 12305; 3 C.F.R. 437 (Supp., 1957) ) and White House
Press Release (Whiteman Digest, 757-758 and U.S. Brief,
18) make it clear that domestically no effect on the States
was intended.

(11) The conclusion, therefore, is that unless all
sovereign and property rights in the Shelf have been posi-
tively taken from the States since 1945, the coastal States,
consistently with the developing international and national
law of the Shelf, may claim, assert and exercise some
jurisdiction on the Shelf. ,

B. The coastal States may exercise jurisdiction over
Shelf resources.

\

(1) It is axiomatic that 2 State may exercise a juris-

diction to protect a right.

FE TSOP TS

37

(2) The law and practice in instances of acquisition
of contiguous areas indicates that, rather than a band of
new federal jurisdiction being created surrounding our
States, the territory of the States of the United States
is established or expanded. In the instance of the Chamizal,
for example, in which an area was added to the United
States by the migration of the Rio Grande River between
the United States and Mexico, it was accepted that the
area belonged to Texas and was subject to its jurisdiction.
See ‘Remarks of the President, 50 Dept. of State Bull., pp.
' 49-50 (Jan. 18, 1964). The Shelf resources similarly are
the subject of rights and jurisdiction arising subsequent
to the formation of the States and the United States. It
cannot be shown that our Constitution and laws require
different types of subsequently acquired property to be the
subject of different relative Federal and State rights.

(3) As regards sovereign powers, the reserved
sovereignty and associated general police powers of the
States may extend to the Shelf even though it lies beyond
the boundaries of the States and of the United States,
unless and until their application is excluded by Congress.
This Court has upheld the applicability of State police
powers to federally licensed activities on the navigable
waters of the United States, in Huron Portland Cement
Co. v. Detroit, 362 U.S. 440. And application of State
forced pooling orders to federally granted oil and gas
leases on lands in the federal public domain is a proper
exercise of State jurisdiction if not excluded by Congress.
Texas Oil and Gas Corp. v. Phillips Petroleum Co., 277
F.Supp. 366 (1967), aff'd. 406 F.2d 1303 (1969). Con-
gress has not excluded the exercise of State jurisdiction
over the Shelf (see Part VI of this brief below). And the
legislatures of the coastal States have not ceded or relin-

core ae PEER OEE PERLE LCE IEE AA LE LEE LEE ALES. EERIE

38

quished all claims to jurisdiction. Consequently, the coastal
States may exercise police powers over the Shelf for a num-
ber of purposes. Such purposes may include enforcement
of pooling’ policies, conservation laws, safety, and other
laws associated with police powers.
eo

(4) The jurisdiction exercised by coastal States over
the Shelf is blso consistent with the principles of compe-
tence to prescribe with respect to events having an effect
within territory. See Restatement II, Foreign Relations
Law of the United States, §§ 18-21 (1965). It is also con-
sistent with the principles of the exercise of jurisdiction
over the Continental Shelf. Jd., § 23. And with the juris-
dictional conflict of laws rules. See Restatement II, Con-
flict of Laws, Proposed Official Draft, Part I, §§ 10, 24,
56 (1967).

(5) The principles of concurrent Federal and State
rights in and jurisdiction over the Shelf were not squarely
presented to or considered by the Court in prior cases, and
the present defendant States are not bound by causes or
decrees to which they were not parties.

a=

(6) The Federal Government has, however, claimed
fee simple ownership in the Shelf in earlier cases. Now for
reasons indicated herein it is claiming today “something
less than fee simple.” Neither Congress nor the Court has
ever supported the fee simple claim of the Federal Gov-
ernment. The decisions in the California case (at p. 36)
and the Louisiana (339 U.S. 699, 704) and Texas (339
U.S. 707, 719) cases spoke of “paramount rights in” and
“power over” the Shelf, when defining the interest of the
Federal Government. The OCSLA was notably silent about
this fee simple claim, reverting to the language of the Tru-

EERE IEE FST ON

39

man Proclamation, i.e., “appertained”, “jurisiction”, and
“control”. 43 U.S.C. § 1332. The phrase “power of dispo-
sition” in the OCSLA referred only to the leasing program
therein established.

(7) In the face of this restraint by the other two
Branches of government, the Executive began retreating
from its early, exaggerated, claim to fee simple ownership
and in later cases is claiming progressively less. For exam-
ple, in the 1960 Louisiana case, the complaint alleged that
the government was “entitled to exclusive possession of,
and full dominion and power over” the Shelf. (363 U.S.
1,5.) In U.S. v. Ray, in 1970 — ten years later, the Fifth
Circuit stated, at the specific instance of the Executive,
that the rights of the United States in the Shelf were
“something less than fee simple.” (423 F.2d. 16, 18-19
(1970) ) (The language of the paragraph crossing pages
19-20 was amended to include the last three sentences by
slip opinion dated Apr. 10, 1970.) In the instant case, the
Complaint, p. 11, claims for the United States only “sov-
ereign rights .... (on the Shelf) ... . for the purposes of
exploring the area and exploiting its natural resources...”

(8) The concurrent jurisdiction of the Federal Gov-
ernment and the States is nothing startling or revolu-
tionary. It already exists and is recognized for numerous
situations, including events on the Shelf, even though
State jurisdiction is not necessarily co-equal or co-exten-
sive with Federal jurisdiction in such cases. State law
has been adopted as surrogate Federal law for the Shelf.
Rodrique v. Aetna Casualty Co., 395 U.S. 352, 357. Exam-
ples of concurrent jurisdiction include crimes on federal
property or against federal officers} the jurisdiction of
state and federal agencies (including the Coast Guard)

———— LRTI LN LE I EL OND, LI LESSIG MOGI LE NIELS, GEE ELEMENT

40

within territorial and inland navigable waters; injury on,

or damage to, offshore drilling rigs beyond the three or -
nine mile limits; and oil pollution beyond the three or nine -
mile territorial limits( with respect to collection of dam- -
ages by third parties). This Court has upheld application : :

of State law (a tax on the severance of timber) on federal -
reserve lands where private companies had contracts wi =
the Federal Government, because Congress had not as- _
sumed exclusive legislative jurisdiction over the lands.
Wilson v. Cook, 327 U.S. 474, 487 (1945). Conformed to in

Cook v. Wilson, 198 S.W. 2d. 818 (1946).

(9) In sum, state laws and police powers extend
over the Shelf and over the extraction of its resources,
even though the Shelf is beyond state boundaries, unless
and until Congress determines to exclude their applica-
tion.

VI.

NEITHER CONGRESS NOR THE EXECU-
TIVE HAS EXCLUDED ALL COASTAL
STATE RIGHTS IN AND JURISDICTION
OVER THE SHELF AND ITS RESOURCES.

(1) Assuming that the Federal Government has a
species of plenary power which enables it to take all Shelf
rights away from the States and to exclude any exercise
of State jurisdiction over the Shelf, there has been no at-
tempt to do so. It is no answer to assert, as does the U. S.
Brief, that the failure of Congress to make the attempt
somehow resulted in its accomplishment (U.S. Brief
23-24).

41

(2) Acceptance of a theory of a secret and a silent
taking of Shelf rights by Congress after its fourteen years
of deliberation on submerged land matters, would be to
impute to Congress base motives and an intent to violate
our Constitution. Any interpretation of the OCSLA as
such a taking would render it unconstitutional as a dep-
rivation of property without just compensation —a di-
rect violation of our Constitution, Amendment V. Public
entities, including the states, are entitled to compensation
for property taken from them by the Federal Government.
State of Washington v. United States, 214 F.2d 33 (1954),
Cert. Den., 348 US 862; Sarpey County, Nebraska v.
United States, 386 F.2d 453, 181 Ct. Cl. 666 (1967). Fur-
ther, it is a basic rule of statutory construction that the
Court will not opt for an interpretation which would
render a statute unconstitutional if there is-any fair read-
ing of it which would keep it within the framework of
our Constitution. United States v. Cohn Grocery Co., 225
U.S. 81 (1920) ; Sutherland, Statutory Construction, Vol.
2, §§ 2401, 4509, pp. 174-175, 326-327 (3rd ed., 1943).

(8) Congress was well aware of the legal and con-
stitutional problems involved in the submerged lands con-
troversy. Further, it was sympathetic to the position of
the States and was dismayed and troubled by the impli-
cations of the decision in the California submerged lands
ease. There is no indication of any intent to deprive the
states of all their rights in the Shelf. In fact, the legisla-
tive history of both the SLA and the OCSLA discloses that
Congress was very careful to refrain from making any
federal claims which would deprive the constitutional or
legal rights of anyone, including the States. The portion of
the legislative history of the SLA printed as an Appendix
of this Brief is indicative of this intent of Congress. See
Appendix to this Brief.

i 2 AD EEL PEE OL LE AERA TIONED LIOLOE BEN EL IE MEE ELE IG EE IS

mm.

42

(4) The OCSLA leasing program is a constitutional
exercise of power by Congress, but it does not exclude all
exercise of rights and jurisdiction by the States over the
Shelf. The establishment of a leasing program, and of a
single leasing entity for the Shelf resources was within
the powers of Congress. The necessity for certainty of
rights so that large capital investments could be made
and the need to fix a federal severance charge or royalty
for the extraction of Shelf resources were properly within
the powers exercised by Congress. Unless the intent of
Congress was to exclude the exercise of all State rights and
jurisdiction over the Shelf, the federal leasing program
would not of itself preclude exercise by the States of a
jurisdiction over the Shelf and its resources for purposes
of conservation, safety, the accommodation of conflicting
uses where there may be economic impairment, the en-
forcement of pooling orders, and the exaction of taxes or
other payments for the severance or production of re-
surces from the Shelf. The federal leasing program estab-
lished in OCSLA was simply a confirmation and legislative
authorization of the federal leasing which had been going
on under the 1945 Executive Order for eight years.

(5) The legislative intent of Congress is revealed
clearly in the history of the OCSLA. The intent to con-
firm and give validity to the Truman Proclamation, and
to vest the power to take or dispose of the natural re-
sources of the Shelf’ beyond States’ boundaries in the Sec-
retary of the Interior, are noted. The language of the
first substantive section in OCSLA, 43 U.S.C. § 1832, de-
claring the policy of the United States “that the subsoil
and the seabed of the outer Continental Shelf appertain
to the United States and are subject to its jurisdiction,
control, and power of disposition as provided in this sub-

43

chapter,” was stated in the committee report on H.R. 4198
(in which Sept. 8(a) contained substantially the same
language) to assert “as against the other nations of the
world the claim of the United States to the natural re-
sources in the Continental Shelf.” 1953 US Code Con-
gressional and Administrative News, Vol. 2, pp. 1390,
1391 (1953).

(6) Further indication of the intent of Congress may
be seen from the language of the entire Sect. 8(a) in H.R.
4198 as it passed the House of Representatives in 1953:

“TITLE III

“OUTER CONTINENTAL SHELF OUTSIDE _
STATE BOUNDARIES

“Sec. 8. JURISDICTION OVER OUTER
CONTINENTAL SHELF.— (a) It is hereby
deviared to be the policy of the United States that
the natural resources of the subsoil and seabed of
the outer continental shelf appertain to the
United States and are subject to its jurisdiction,
control, and power of disposition as provided in
this Act. Federal laws now in effect or hereafter
adopted shall apply to the entire area of the
outer continental shelf. The Secretary is hereby
empowered and authorized to administer the pro-
visions of this title, and to adopt rules and regula-
tions not inconsistent with Federal laws to apply
to the area.

“Except to the extent that they are inconsistent
with applicable Federal laws now in effect or

44

hereafter enacted, or such regulations as the
Secretary may adopt, the laws and police powers
of each coastal State which so provides shall be
applicable to that portion of the adjacent outer
continental shelf which would be within the area
of the State if its boundaries were extended sea-
ward to the outer margin of the outer continental
shelf, and the Secretary shall determine and pub-
lish lines defining each such area of State juris-
diction: Provided, That State taxation laws
within such area shall be limited to severance or
production taxes and may be levied only by those
States which apply and administer their conser-
vation laws and other State governmental func-
tions in said area: Provided further, That the
rate of such severance or production tax shall not
be in excess of the rate of said tax within State
boundaries.

“This Act shall be construed in such manner
that the character as high seas of the waters
above the outer continental shelf and the right
to their free and unimpeded navigation and navi-
gational servitude shall not be affected.

“(b) Oil and gas deposits in the outer continen-
tal shelf shall be subject to control and disposal
only in accordance with the provisions of this
Act and no rights in or claims to such deposits,
whether based upon applications filed or other
action taken heretofore or hereafter, shall be
- recognized except in accordance with the pro-
visions of this Act.” (Emphasis added.)

—_— COPE he FY LORE COE IO EE EIEN ILE IVANELL EIA FLD LAELIA

45

The emphasized portion of the second paragraph of
Sec. 8(a) comprises 43 U.S.C. Sec. §1388(a) (2) with
modifications, and the enacted version of OCSLA went on
in the same Section to exclude the application of State
taxation laws on the Shelf. This further provided that ap-
plicable State laws will be administered and enforced by
the officers and courts of the United States. Thus, except
for provision for a single, federal leasing entity, and the
exclusion of the application of State taxation laws on the
Shelf, Congress did not exclude the application of other
State laws to the exploration and exploitation of the re-
sources of the Shelf. ;

(7) - Viewed in proper perspective, then, and giving
Congress the benefit of constitutional awareness and mo-
tives, the OCSLA was merely a confirmation of what Con-
gress believed was the previously existing situation on the
Shelf, with the establishment of a single, federal leasing
program, and the exclusion of the application of State
taxation laws on the Shelf. But, as shown above, the pre-
viously existing situation on the Shelf included the sov-
ereign and property rights of the States, subject, of course:
1) to the supremacy of federal powers within their proper
Sphere, and, 2) to the capacity to exercise jurisdiction
over the Shelf as over other United States public lands
for a variety of purposes other than taxation.

(8) The only relevant official actions of the Execu-
tive were contained in the Executive Order of the President
which accompanied the Truman Proclamation. Exec. Order
No. 9633, 3 C.F.R. 437 (Supp., 1957) (which specifically
preserved the rights and jurisdiction of the States in the
Shelf) and the Executive Order establishing a naval pe-
troleum reserve, which was declared expressly subject to

46

existing rights and for oil and gas only. Exec. Order No.
10,426, 3 C.F.R. 924 (Supp., 1958).

(9) The conclusions thus far are clear: since Shelf
rights crystalized into legal rights and the capacity to
exercise jurisdiction around 1945, and these rights and
powers have not been foreclosed by necessary construction
of the powers delegated to the Federal Government by our

Constitution, and have not positively taken away from
the States by Congress or the Executive since that time,
they still subsist.

Vic.

THE COURT SHOULD DECLARE THE CON-
CURRENT FEDERAL-STATE RIGHTS IN
AND JURISDICTION OVER THE RE-
SOURCES OF THE SHELF AND LEAVE THE
CONTINUING POLITICAL QUESTIONS TO
BE RESOLVED BY THE EXECUTIVE AND
LEGISLATIVE BRANCHES AND THE
COASTAL STATES.

A. The courts are not the appropriate arena for

decisions on the political aspects of submerged lands
matters.

(1) The burden of this Court from submerged lands
litigation during the quarter century since the California
case has been enormous. Yet there has been no real reso-
lution of the basic controversies. Only portions of the Cali-
fornia, Louisiana and Texas coasts have been delimited by
judicial decree. A vast amount of work remains to be done

47

by the Court, and by Masters it appoints, on baseline ques-
tions alone if the previously established patterns of de-
cision are continued. Myriad other controversies will
probably be presented if present trends continue. And the
issue of Federal and State jurisdiction over the Shelf (be-
yond the three-mile territorial sea) is only now for the
first time being squarely presented to the Court.

(2) Claims of coastal States for an involvement in
the decisions concerning the Shelf and its resources can
be expected to increase. Demands to apply State laws for
purposes of conservation, environmental protection and
safety have been heard where the States are specially .in-
terested in ocean activities which affect nearby Shelf re-
sources or the integrity of-the marine environment, or
which damage their shores or injure their citizens. In
recognition of these demands Congress in the Water Qual-
ity Improvement Act of 1970, Sec. 11(0) (2), assigned cer-
tain. additional authority to the States concerning. oil
pollution from ships, onshore and offshore facilities: =

“Nothing in this section shall be construed as
preempting any State or political subdivision
thereof from imposing any requirement or lia-
bility with respect to the discharge of oil into any
waters within such State.” (Emphasis added.)
Pub. L. No. 91-224, Title I (Apr. 3, 1970); 84
Stat. 91; 33 U.S.C.A. 1161 (0) (2) (1970).

Congress had earlier stated:

. - [I]t is declared to be the policy of Congress
to recognize, preserve, and protect the primary
responsibilities and rights of the States in pre-

_
-.. ” —_———e
oj — —— -

48

venting and controlling water pollution, to sup-
port and aid technical research relating to the
prevention and control of water pollution, and
to provide Federal technical services and finan-
cial aid to State and interstate agencies and to
municipalities in connection with the prevention
and control of water pollution.” Fed. Water Pol-

lution Control Act, Sec. 1.(b) ; 33 U.S.C.A. 1151
~ (1970).

(8) Congressional establishment of a federal leas-
_ ing program and exclusion of State taxing power over
Shelf resources do not amount to an exhaustion of the field
of legal problems which may arise relative to rights in and
jurisdiction over the resources of the Shelf and associated
activities. The public interest at the time Congress enacted
the OCSLA demanded some certainty in Shelf exploration
and exploitation. Congress responded with an interim go-
lution which, as can be seen from the claims of all the <
parties to this case, is incomplete. Many other decisions
will be necessary to establish in detail and with finality
the equitable division of both benefits and burdens asso-
ciated with rights in and jurisdiction over Shelf resources. —
One question as yet unanswered is whether the States may
obtain any revenues from the Shelf resources other than
by “taxation” which is precluded by the OCSLA. 43 U.S.C.
§ 1332(a) (2). May a State-imposed severance charge be
considered not inconsistent with, but supplemental to, the
federal law and thus required under the terms of the
OCSLA to be implemented by federal officers?

(4) The demand of the Federal Government in this
case for a declaration of “exclusive rights” in the resources

ria etl

49

of the Atlantic Continental Shelf as against the defendant
States (Complaint, p. 10) is essentially a political demand
which leaves obscure many justiciable issues such as these:
May a coastal State (such a Maine) require and issue a
prospecting permit for Shelf exploration pursuant to its
conservation, safety and mineral exploitation powers? (See
Wilson v. Cook, 327 U.S. 474, and Texas Oil and Gas Corp.

v. Phillips Petroleum; 277 F.Supp. 366 (1967) which
authorized the application of State taxation laws and
pooling orders relative to the extraction of resources from
federal lands, and Part V. B. of this Brief, above). May

a coastal State exercise some jurisdiction over Shelf 4
resources, and the exploration and exploitation activities |
associated with them under its general police powers?

(5) The enormous gaps in present law concerning
the Shelf are best filled by suitable legislation of the
Federal Government and the States, and by Federal-State
Compacts. Rather than seek a general declaration of
exclusivity by this Court, with resultant prolongation and
continued refinement of litigation on a myriad of izsues,
many of them political, the Executive Branch could seek
action by Congress within the sphere of Federal Powers
and concurrent action with the coastal States on matters
where this is appropriate. Surely, obsolete and bankrupt
technical arguments~ about King George and his Realm
cannot be allowed to control the destiny of our States and
the United States on matters so involved with present
national interest as the development and conservation of
Shelf resources. (Compare the “first hurdle” argument
advanced in the U.S. Brief, 24-30.) Although we have
inherited English common law for the protection of private

rights and interests, the powers of the English Crown and

*” arr

————

50

the extent of its “Realm” should not be allowed to determine
today relative Federal-State rights and interests in the
Shelf established under our federal system.

(6) Rejecting anachronistic fetters such as a pre-
sumed disposition of Shelf rights and jurisdiction by the
conception of territory two centuries ago, or by our Consti-
tution (which does not dispose of territorial rights of the
States without their consent, and which delegates less than
all sovereign powers to the Federal Government), or by
the assumption in the California case that the seabed area
ther in issue (within the three-mile territorial sea) was
beyond boundaries and therefore should be beyond State
jurisdiction, the path is opened to a recognition of con-
current jurisdiction whereby both the States and the
Federal Government may operate within their proper
Constitutional spheres of jurisdiction on contemporary
Shelf legal problems.

(7) As the development and conservation of Shelf
resources and the protection of the marine environment
continue to present ever more immense, and intricate
issues, the good will and cooperation of the States, rather

than their exclusion from participation, best serves the
resolution of these issues., Instead of denying the con-
siderable contribution which can be made by the States,
their cooperation within the framework of our constitu-
tional system is established by a finding of concurrency.
The political issues and many of the details of Federal and
State rights in and jurisdiction over the Shelf can be
resolved by the other Branches of government and the
coastal States, with the Judicial Branch considering only
the more defined issues of a justiciable character.

Se

g

51

B. Declaration of the concurrent Federal-State juris-
diction over the Shelf best serves the public interest.

(1) The public interest of the United States in-
cludes the interests of all citizens and is best served by
the concerted action of all levels of government including
those closest to, and most affected by, the problems with
which government deals. Advances in science and tech-
nology make the shared interest and concurrent jurisdic-
tion of the States and the Federal Government more vital
and important, as the opportunities and vulnerability of
each level of government increase both with expanding

- exploration and exploitation of Shelf resources and as a
result of actions taken by other government levels.

(2) The Executive recognizes the importance of the
roles of coastal States in ocean and coastal problems. In
the Annual Report of the President to the Congress on
Marine Resources and Engineering Development, dated
April, 1970, the President of the United States concluded
his “President’s Transmittal Message to Congress” with
the paragraph:

“The Federal government will continue to provide
leadership in the nation’s marine science program.
But it is also important that private industry,
State and local governments, academic, scientific
and other institutions, increase their own involve-
ment in this important field. The public and
private sectors of our society must work closely
together if we are to meet the great challenges
which are presented to us by the oceans of our
planet.

“/s/ Richard Nixon
The White House, April 1970.”

oS RATE RT EE RSET

52

This same Annual Report of the President is replete with
calls for greater State involvement. For example, referring
to the February 10, 1970, Environmental Message of the
President to the Corigress it states (p. 27) :

«... Important sections of the message ‘were
devoted to water pollution. The Government has
proposed legislation to encourage States to assume
a greater responsibility for planning, regulating
and managing their coastal areas... .”

And (at page 28) :

this year the President concluded his Letter of Transmittal _

“Our impact on the marine environment must be

regulated so that the coastal areas and the deep
ocean can be preserved, developed and used for
our continuing benefit. This can be accomplished
through comprehensive management, beneficial
use, protection and development of the coastal
areas employing Federal, State and local govern-
ments and public and private interests... .”

In his annual report on marine affairs to Congress

as follows:

“We have embarked on a strong marine science
program for the 1970’s. In the year ahead the
Federal Government will build upon these ac-
complishments. And we will look to all sectors of
the Nation’s marine science community — State
and local governments, industry and the univer-

sities — to contribute tothe fullest to the United

ea |

7

= SO SREP SE AIEEE EE NETL ATA NOE VREE FEEDS NRO RI

53

States’ efforts to make better use of the oceans
and to provide world leadership on the major
ocean issues before the community of nations.

“/s/ Richard Nixon
The White. House, April 7, 1971”

(3) Further dramatic evidence of recognition of the in-
terests of States in Shelf exploration and exploitation came
when the Chief Executive recently requested Congress to
cancel certain federally granted oil leases specifically be-
cause they Jay seaward of a State sanctuary. In the words
of the President to Congress:

“In 1955 the State of California took steps to
protect a particularly beautiful area of its coast-
line by creating a State Sanctuary extending six-
teen miles along the Santa Barbara Channel and
closing it to all petroleum exploration. About a
decade later, however, the federal government
issued leases for petroleum exploration immedi-
ately seaward from the State Sanctuary. Oil plat-
forms were soon constructed and petroleum drill-
ing began. In January, 1969, a blowout in the

_ Channel resulted in widespread oil pollution of the
Sanctuary.

_ “The twenty federal leases seaward from the

Sanctuary which were granted by the previous
Administration should be cancelled. Legislation
being submitted today would terminate these
leases and create a Marine Sanctuary... .

* °, ©

“This proposal for Santa Barbara illustrates
our strong commitment to use offshore lands in

a

54

a balanced and responsible manner. Jt recognizes
the earlier decision made by the people of Cali-
fornia to set aside a part of their coastline as a
sanctuary, and it extends the protected area
across the Channel to Santa Cruz Island... .”
(Emphasis added.) 6 Pres. Docs.-752-753 (Jun.
15, 1970) ; 116 Cong. Rec., No. 96, p. $8823
(Jun. 11, 1970).

Congress did not approve the President’s request, and
the Department of the Interior is considering resumption
of oil drilling in the Sanita Barbara Channel under more
stringent regulations. New York Times, Sep. 3, 1971, at
54, col. 1. One may conjecture that had the more severe
requirements of California been in effect for drilling on
the Shelf off its shores in 1969 the Santa Barbara spill
might have been avoided. See e.g. Nanda and Stiles, Off-
shore Oil Spills: An Evaluation of Recent United States
Responses, 7 San Diego L. Rev. 519, 528 (1970). Or that
had both the California decision to establish a sanctuary,
and the State drilling regulations prescribed specifically
for its geologic situation, been considered the spill might
have been avoided. It is certain, however, that the long
term public interest of our nation is best served not by
political interaction of the President and the Congress
but by regular participation of the States in making. law’
for the Shelf, both as to regulation of development activ-
ities, the conservation of resources, and the preservation
of the marine environment.

(4) It needs little reflection to realize that the land
bases and shore installations associated with offshore. re-
source development are a primary concern of the coastal

~ States. These exploration and exploitation activities involve

.

:
;
:
;

cnt et Cs —

eee re eS ee

oe

ae FFE Ne TR eal

55

an integrated and continuous flow of persons and things
both outward from land into the ocean and inward from
the sea to the shore, from dry land to Shelf and from Shelf
to dry land. The process does not stop at any artificial
“boundary” line, to begin again beyond or inside such an
artificial line. Men, materials, supplies, ships, barges, tend-
ers, pipelines, electrical power and communications cables,
and drilling rigs themselves are all a part of this continuous
process of circular flow between the shore and the Shelf.

(5) Not only is the impact of Shelf activities and
development greatest on the adjacent coastal State, that
State invariably has strong grounds for jurisdiction on the
basis of its territorial competence over men and materials,
on the basis of citizenship (as it is in the main its residents
who do the work on the Shelf), and often on the basis of
jurisdiction over the ships and other vehicles and equip-
ment using its ports and frequently possessing its State
character through registration. And the resources extracted
from the Shelf frequently are processed in, sold in, and
used in the adjacent coastal State. Denying that State a

‘role in decision-making for activities on the Shelf which

affect it may limit only its bases for jurisdiction, not its
interest and concern for the entire process of resource
extraction and utilization.

(6) Further, the rapid progress in development of
fixed offshore platforms and underwater habitates affixed
to the Shelf, where human beings can live for extended
periods of time, is reported in numerous stories in the
public press as well as in scholarly journals and raises a
whole new set of factors which calls for State involvement.
Will the inhabitants on our Shelf be residents, hence
citizens, of the adjacent coastal State? Do they qualify as

56

electors? Must they pay State ad valorem taxes, State in-
come taxes and other State taxes? Do their children qualify
to attend State public schools? Are these children and their
parents “residents” so as to take advantage of the tuition
differential in State universities? Can such persons stand
for election to State office?

(7) In sum, there is ample scope for the action and
cooperation of all branches of government at both the Fed-
eral and State levels relative to thé exploration and ex-
ploitation of Shelf resources. Appropriate governmental
action and cooperation are fostered best by candid declara-
tion in this case that there exists concurrent Federal and
State jurisdiction over the Shelf and that the best course
of action is concerted cooperative action on the many
specific issues which are evoked.

(8) Declaration of concurrent Federal-State rights
in and jurisdiction over the Shelf by this Court will not
displace or impair the Pecntinne interest and powers of
the Federal Government within the areas of its delegated
soveréign powers; will not destroy the federal leasing pro-
gram established by nse 06 in the OCSLA; and will not
hinder the possibilities of Federal-State accommodation of
interests on the myriad problems and controversies which
will arise over the activities on and development of re-
sources of the Shelf. Rather, declaration of concurrent
rights and jurisdiction can be expected to promote Federal-
State cooperation and lead to resolution of those problems
in the Executive and Legislative arenas. Such arenas are
most suitable for the elaboration of decisions on baselines
and the accommodation of conflicting cleims on conserva-
tion, safety and other matters which are within the inter-
ests of the sovereigns concerned.

57

(9) As Justice Frankfurter stated in his concurring
opinion in the Florida case (363 U.S. 121, at 182 (1960) ):

“But in these matters we are dealing with great
acts of State, not with fine writing in an insur-
ance policy. . .”

Further “great acts of State,” blended with enlight-
ened and sympathetic statesmanship, will be the real source
of resolution of the interests of all parties. Bickering over
legalistic and technical points of language to resolve major
issues with polictical overtones does not fulfill this require-
ment. -

58

CONCLUSION :

For the reasons stated, we urge the Court to declare
that rights in and jurisdiction over exploration and ex-
ploitation of the resources of the Shelf underlying the
Atlantic Ocean beyond three miles from the coastline do
not belong exclusively either to the Plaintiff or to the
defendant States, and that concurrent Federal and State
rights and jurisdiction exist for the Shelf. The Court can
of course retain jurisdiction to rehear the case if the
political issues are not set to rest.

Respectfully submitted.

illard D. Dover
Counsel

Return address:
Box 8061
Coral Gables, Florida 33124

»

ae

App. 1
APPENDIX

LEGISLATIVE HISTORY—SUBMERGED LANDS ACT
PRIOR COMMITTEE REPORTS, Appendix I,

House Report: No. 1778,

1953 U.S. Code Cong. and Admin. News, p. 1415, 1417-1422
(Footnotes omitted.)

lil. HISTORY OF LEGISLATION

One hundred and sixty years of unchallenged ownership

by the States

f Throughout our Nation’s history the States have been
in possession of and exercising all the rights and attri-
butes of ownership in the lands and resources beneath
the navigable waters within their boundaries During a

' period of more than 150 years of Americanj risprudence
the Supreme Court, in the words of Mr. Justice Black,
had—

“used language strong enough to indicate that the Court

then believed that the States also owned soils under all
navigable waters within their territorial jurisdiction,

whether inland or not.”

That same belief was expressed in scores of Supreme

Court opinions and in hundreds of lower Federal courts’

and State courts’ opinions. Similar beliefs were expressed

_* in rulings by Attorneys General of the United States, the
Department of the Interior, the War Department, and

- App. 2

the Navy Department. Lawyers, legal-publicists, and those
holding under State authority accepted this principle as
the well-settled law of the land.

As late as 1988, the then Secretary of the Interior,
Harold L. Ickes, in refusing to grant a Federal oil lease
on lands under the Pacific Ocean within the boundaries
of California, recognized :—

“Title to the soil under the ocean within the 3-mile
limit is in the State of California, and the land may not
be appropriate except by authority of the State.”

Claims of States first challenged by Federal officials in
1937 |

It was not until a few applicants for Federal oil leases
and their attorneys continued to insist that the United
States owned the soil under navigable waters, that, in the
words of Mr. Ickes, “doubt” arose in his mind as to which
Government owned the submerged lands. The “doubt” was
first publicly expressed in the Nye resolution introduced
in the Seventy-fifth Congress in 1938, and was subse-
quently expressed in the Hobbs and O’Connor resolutions
and the Nye and Walsh resolutions introduced in the
Seventy-sixth Congress in 1939, all of which failed of
enactment. Had the Congress followed the recommenda-
tions of the Departments of Interior, Justice, and Navy,

enacting any one of the resolutions, it would have at-

| mpted to appropriate for the United States, without

compensation to the States, the 3-mile marginal belt as a

naval petroleum reserve, and the Attorney General would

have been authorized to establish through judicial pro-
ceedings the Government’s title. .

App. 3

The theory advanced in 1938 and 1939 by the same
Federal departments which now oppose H.R. 5992 was
to the effect that the United States had no right to ap-
propriate the natural resources within the submerged
coastal lands unless the Congress, as the policy-making
branch of the Government, asserted what was contended
to be a dormant right. They spoke of the right as being
“novel” and one never before asserted by the United
States under the Constitution, and as being a right which
the States had been asserting and enjoying, and would
continue to assert and enjoy unless and until the Congress
changed the policy of the Federal Government. Congress,
however, did not change the long-existing and recognized
policy. Sa

Congress in 1946 recognized States’ claims

As a result of continuing threats of Secretary of the -
Interior Ickes to grant Federal leases on portions of the
submerged coastal lands, resolutions were introduced in
1945 in the Seventy-ninth Congress, quieting title to these
lands in the States. After extensive hearings, these reso-
lutions were passed in 1946 as House Joint Resolution 225.
However, the reaffirmation of the well-established policy
was voided through a veto by President Truman. The
House failed to override the veto.

While the Congress was considering House Joint Res-
olution 225, the Federal officials, being dissatisfied with
the continued refusal of Congress to appropriate-property
long claimed by the States, instituted on May 29, 1945, a
suit against the Pacific Western Oil Corp., a lessee of the
State of California to recover part of the submerged lands
claimed by California and its lessee.

App. 4

After House Joint Resolution 225 passed the House by
a large vote, and while it was pending in the Senate, the
suit against Pacific Western Oil Co. was voluntarily dis-
missed by Attorney General Clark, and an original action
was brought by him in the Supreme Court against the
State of California, wherein he alleged that the United
States “is the owner in fee simple of, or possessed of para-
mount rights in and power over” the submerged lands
within 3 miles of ‘the California coast. These two suits
were instituted and the latter one against California was
prosecuted after the Congress had refused in 1938 and
again in 1989 requests of the Attorney General and other
Federal officials for permission to institute a suit for that

purpose.

The House, in failing to override the veto of House
Joint Resolution 225 was no doubt influenced, as the
President had been, by the pending litigation.

Decision of Supreme Court denying California ownership

On June 23, 1947, the Supreme Court rendered its
opinion in the case of United States v. California, 332 U.S.
19, 67 S.Ct. 1658, and on October 27, 1947, a decree was
entered which reads, in part, as follows:

“1. The United States of America is now, and has
been at all times pertinent hereto, possessed of paramount
rights in, and full dominion and power over, the lands,
minerals, and other things underlying the Pacific Ocean
lying seaward of the ordinary low-water mark on the
coast of California, and outside of the inland waters, ex-
tending seaward three nautical miles and bounded on the

App. 5

north and south, respectively, by the northern and south-
ern boundaries of the State of California. The State of
California has no title thereto or property interest there-
in.”

In the Court’s majority opinion, Mr. Justice Black
said:

“The crucial question on the merits is not merely who
owns the bare legal title to the lands under the marginal
sea. The United States here asserts rights in two capaci-
ties transcending those of a mere property owner.”

He then proceeded to define those two capacities as
that of national defense and of conducting foreign rela-
tions.

Mr. Justice Black, in the majority opinion, stated
further:

“As previously stated this Court has followed and re-
asserted the basic doctrine of the Pollard case many times.
And in doing so it has used language strong enough to
indicate that the Court then believed that States not only
owned tidelands and soil under navigable inland waters,
but also owned soils under all navigable waters within
their territorial jurisdiction, whether inland or not.”

Thus the Court by its decision not only established
the law differently from what eminent jurists, lawyers,
and public officials for more than a century had believed
it to be, but also differently from what the Supreme
Court apparently had believed it to be..

Rese OA ED TENA RE RRO ru REAM ETRE Bi FA PURE TE TRE REI IMIR EN DRE 2 De YSERA BES

App. 6

This committee, having heard the testimony of many
able and distinguished State attorneys general, of rep-
resentatives of the American Bar Association and State
bar associations, and of other able and distinguished ju-
rists and lawyers, is of the opinion that no decision of the
Supreme Court in many years has caused such dissatis-
faction, confusion, and protest as has the California case.
We have heard it described in such terms as “novel,”
“strange,” “extraordinary and unusual,” “creating an
estate never before heard of,” “a reversal of what all
competent people believed the law to be,” “creating a new
property interest,” “a threat to our constitutional system
of dual sovereignty,” “a step toward the nationalization
of our natural resources,” “causing pandemonium,” etc.

Power of Congress to reestablish long-accepted policy of
State ownership

re committee recognizes that it is within the prov-
ince of the Supreme Court to define the law as the Court
believes it to be at the time of its opinion. However, the
Supreme Court does not pass upon the wisdom of the law.
That is exclusively within the congressional area of na-
tional power. Congress has the power to change the law,
just as the Supreme Court has the power to change its
interpretation of the law by overruling pronouncements
in its former opinions which have been accepted as the
law of the land. Therefore, in full acceptance of what the
Supreme Court has now found the law to be, Congress
may nevertheless enact such legislation as in its wisdom
it deems advisable to solve the problems arising out of
the decision.

App. 7

Indeed, the power of the Congress to establish the law
for the future as it was formerly believed to be, was, in
effect, recognized by the Court in the California case for”.
it held in connection with the lands in question that the
power of Congress under article IV, section 8, clause 2
of the Constitution to en of‘ territory or other prop-
erty of the United States was without limitation; and
that it would not be assumed that—

|

“Congress, which had constitutional control over Govern-
ment property, would execute its powers in such way as
to bring about injustices to States, their subdivisions, or
persons acting pursuant to their permission.”

’ Many witnesses testified that they construed the
opinion as an invitation! or recommendation to the Con-
gress to consider the legislative question as to whether
in the public interest the States should continue in pos-
session of, and exercise State control of, the submerged
lands within their boundaries, or the Federal Government
should take from the States these lands and hereafter
exercise all control over them.

IV. SUPREME COURT DECISION MAKES
LEGISLATION NECESSARY

When House Joint Resolution 225 was passed by the
Congress, there existed only a threat to the long-established
and settled policy of State ownership of these lands. Now,
as a result of the reversal of this policy by the Supreme
Court’s opinion in the California case, there exists, in the
words of Attorney General Clark, “ a variety of unusually
complex problems which must be resolved.”

ARON ENE

App. 8

The Committee deems it imperative that Congress
take action at the earliest possible date to clarify the end-
less confusion and multitude of problems resulting from
the California decision, and thereby bring to a speedy
termination this whole controversy. Otherwise inequities,
injustices, vexatious and interminable litigation, and the
retardment of the much-needed, development ef the re-
sources in these lands will inevitably result.

Issue of title is confused

While the Supreme Court decreed that California was
not the owner of the 3-mile marginal belt, it failed ex-
pressly to decree that the United States was the owner.
Furthermore, although requested by the Attorney Gen-
eral, and others appearing amici curiae, the Court re-
fused to hold that the United States was the “owner in

fee simple” or. had “paramount rights of proprietorship”
in such 3-mile belt.

“Fee simple” and “proprietorship” are words we
monly used in law to denote ownership, while the words
“paramount rights in and full dominion over” employed
by the Court are foreign to the law of real property.

Attorney General Clark expressing the view that
paramount rights and full dominion signified a title even
higher than a fee simple testified:

“They said to us in effect, go ahead and get the oil.
That is what the effect of the opinion is. What more could
the Supreme Court have held? If it held that we had fee
simple title, something might come up some day on this

App. 9

particular land. This is a novel decision. This land is under
water. It is in the 3-mile belt * * * So they did not want to
be bound by any fee simple proposition.

“So they could have said fee simple title, they could
have said any of the descriptive terms that we use with
reference to titles, but they might have found themselves
in difficulty later on when someone else might have
claimed that all you have said here is that the United
States had fee simple title.”

' Mr. Justice Frankfurter, in his dissenting opinion,
had difficulty in determining the meaning and legal sig-
nificance of the words used by Mr. Justice Black in the
majority opinion, stating that:

“The Court, however, grants the prayer but does not
do so by finding that the United States has proprietary
interests in the area. To be sure it denies such proprietary
rights in California.

“Of course the United States has “paramunt rights”
in the sea belt of California—the rights that are implied
by the power to regulate interstate and foreign com-
merce, the power of condemnation, the treaty-making
power, the war power. We have not now before us the va-
lidity of the exercise of any of these paramount rights.
Rights of ownership are here asserted—and rights of
ownership are something else. Ownership implies acquisi-
tion in the various ways in which land is acquired—by
conquest, by discovery and claim, by cession, by prescrip-
tion, by purchase, by condemnation. When and how did
the United States acquire this land?

App. 10

“The fact that these oil deposits in the open sea may

be vital to the national security, and important elements

in the conduct of our foreign affairs, is no more relevant
than is the existence of uranium deposits) wherever they
may be, in determining questions of trespass to the land
of which they form a part.”

| ™
|

Mr. Justice Reed oe in his dissent:

“This ownership in California would jsut interfere in
any way with the needs or rights of the (United States in
war or peace. The power of the United Btates is plenary
over these undersea lands precisely as|it is over every
river, farm, mine, and factory of the Nation.”

Many witnesses were of the opinion that the construc-
tion of paramount rights as including fee ownership
would, if carried to its logical conclusion, destroy the basic
legal distinction between governmental powers under the
Constitution on the one hand, and State or private owner-
ship of real property on the. other, because the “para-
mount powers” of the United States do not depend upon
whether the point at which they may need to be exercised
is above or below low-water mark or on one side or the
other of a line dividing a bay from the coastal waters,

4

Many witnesses expressed the opinion that the title
was left suspended in mid-air, leaving the property own-
erless, contrary to the basic concept of our common law
that legal title to every piece of property must exist in
someone; others expressed the view that the Supreme
Court held, in effect, that Congress, as the policy-making
branch of the Federal Government, had the power, in the
first instance, to determine who shall be the owner of the
lands.

App..11

The theory that title-to the 3-mile belt was in “the
family of nations,” expressed by Congressman Hobbs, of
Alabama, was also adhered to by representatives of the
Navy Department in 1938 and 1939. With respect to in-
land waters, Congressman Hobbs agreed that.the para-
mount rights of the Federal Government, as defined by
the Supreme Court-in U. S. v. California, 332 U.S. 19, 67
S.Ct. 1658, might likewise be exercised for the purposes
of national defense and international negotiations.

Mr. Justice Black, in speaking for the majority of the
Court in the California case, said:

“The very oil about which the State and Nation here
contend might well become the subject of international
dispute and settlement.”

If the Court in making the statement had reference
to the military power of a foreign nation to dispute the
rights of the States to take oil under submerged lands
within their boundaries, then the same statement could
correctly be made about oil under uplands, providing, of
course, the foreign nation possessed a military force strong
enough to compel a settlement by the United States. How-
ever, if the statement was made because the Congress had
never:legislatively asserted on behalf of the United States
or the States title to the submerged lands within their
boundaries, then we think that is all the more reason why
the Congress should now remove all doubt about the title
by ratifying and confirming the titles long asserted by the
various States, subject always, of course, to the paramount
powers of the Federal Government under the Constitution,
which titles have never been disputed by any foreign nation.

App. 12

The committee is unable to determine whether or not
the Supreme Court held that the United States has actual

title in and to the submerged coastal lands adjacent to

California, but it is obvious that Congress has the power
to legislate in any event, for, as the Court said, the Federal
Government has — i

“the paramount right and power to determine in the first
instance when, how, and by what agencies, foreign or
domestic, the oil and other resources of the soil of the
marginal sea, known or hereafter discovered, may be eéx-
ploited.” ‘ate

On the other hand, if the Federal Government does
have a fee simple title to these lands and even something

greater and paramount to title as contended by the At- |

torney General of the United States, then the Congress,
under the authority of article IV, section 3, clause 2, of
the Constitution, has unlimited control over such lands and
may dispose of them in such manner as it deems in the

public interest. The committee is, therefore, of the opinion.
that S.. 1988, if enacted, will establish, confirm, and vest

in the littoral States, which have since the formation of
our Union claimed title'to the marginal belt, such title and
rights as the Federal Government has, subject to the
reservations eontained therein.

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE:

_ We certify that in compliance with Supreme Court
Rule 33 we have this day served a copy of the foregoing
Motion and Brief upon the Plaintiff and Defendants in’
this case by mailing a copy certified air mail, with postage
prepaid, to each of the following:

HonoraB_e Erwin N. Griswoip
Solicitor General of the United States
Department of Justice

Washington, D.C. 20530

_ HonoraBie James S. Erwin
Attorney General of Maine
Aunt Rakes G. Fuller, ea vas
Special Assistant Attorney General
State House
Augusta, Maine 04330

HonoraB_e Warren B. RupMan
Attotney General of New Hampshire
Att’n.: David'H. Sauter, Esquire
Assistant Attorney General

State House Annex

Concord, New Hampshire 03301

HonoraB_e Rosert H. Quinn,
Attorney General of Massac
Att’n.: Kevin P. Curry, Esquire
Assistant Attorney General

State House

Boston, Massachusetts 02133

HonoraB_e Hersert F. DeSimone
Attorney General of Rhode Island
Att’n.': W. Slater Allen, Jr., Esquire
Assistant Attorney General
' Providence County Court House
250 Benefit Street
Providence, Rhode Island 02903

HonoraB_e Louis J. LErKowitz ,
Attorney General of New York
Att’n.: Julius L. Sachman, Esquire
Assistant Attorney General

State Capitol

Albany, New York 12225

(Certificate of Service Continued on Next Page)

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE (cont.)

HonoraBie Georce F. Kuc.er, Jr.
Attorney General of New Jersey
Att’n.: Elias Abelson, Esquire
Assistant Attorney General
State House Annex
Trenton, New Jersey 08625

Honoraste W. Larrp Sraswer, Jr.
‘ Attorney General of Deleware
Att’n.: nt Vienebee E. Campbell, Esquire
Assistant Attorney General
‘Public Building ~
Wilmington, ~ eli 19801

HonoraB_e Francis B. Burcu
‘ Atto General of Maryland
Att’n.: Henry R. Lord, Esquire
Assistant Attorney General
1200 One Charles Center

_' Baltimore, Maryland 21201

prac nanyy Sooner gar MILLER

torney of Virginia
Att’n.: Gerald L. Baliles, Esquire

‘ Assistant Atto General
Supreme Court Buildi
Richmond, Virginia 23219

yy mag RoBeRT Morcan
ttorney General of North Carolina

Awe n.: Jean A. Benoy, Esquire

Assistant Attorney G

Office of the Attorney General

P.O. Box 629

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602

Honoraste Daniev R. McLeop
Attorney General o South Carolina
Att’n.: Edward B. er, Esquire
Assistant Attor General
Hampton State ce Building

P. 0. Box 11537

Columbia, South Carolina 29211

ee: cca pe aor a
rney General o, rgia

Att’n.: Alfred L. Evans, Jr., Esquire
Assistant A General

132 State Judicial Building
Atlanta, Georgia 30334

(Certificate of Service Continued on Next Page)

{

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE (cont.)

Hugh B. Cox, Esquire, and /
Brice M. Clagett, Esquire /
Covington a Burli

888 Sixteenth Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 26006

Dated: September 17, 1971.

| Ey ae UMorrnot
Lp —

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386414_0375%3A12. Public record. Not legal advice.
