# Amicus Curiae Brief — Taylor v. Hayes

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386414_0336%3A11

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1974
- **Citation:** 418 U.S. 488

## Text

In THE JAN 17 1974

Supreme Court of the Unitepabbatese, cur

Ocroser Term, 1973 ~
No. 73473

>
Dantet T. Tayxor, ITI,

Petitioner,

—_—VvV.—

Joun P, Hayes, Judge, Jefferson Circuit Court,
Criminal Branch, Second Division,

Respondent.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE, COURT OF APPEALS OF KENTUCKY

oo eee

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE ON BEHALF OF THE
ASSOCIATION OF THE BAR OF THE
CITY OF NEW YORK

Burke MarsHALL
Yale University
Law School
New Haven, Connecticut

Leon FRmepMAN
Committee for Public Justice
22 East 40th Street
7 New York City, N. Y. 10016

Norman Dorsen
NYU Law School
40 Washington Square, South
New York City, N. Y. 10012

Attorneys for the Association of the
Bar of the City of New York
42 West 44th Street
New York, New York 10036

INDEX

PAGE
Interest of the Amicus Curiae 1
Statement of the Case 3
ee OE DTI ecccnnvcccinnnnnnnisiniasiniisieinisstuisinatintais 3

ARGUMENT:
Port I

The summary criminal contempt power violates
the due process clause of the Fourteenth Amend-
ment
A. The summary contempt power contains great
opportunities for abuse and has been severely
circumscribed in recent years

B. The potential for abuse in summary contempt
proceedings has in fact been realized ................

C. The summary contempt power is not neces-
sary to maintain order in the court ....................

Point IT
The trial judge below was required to refer the
contempt proceedings to another judge for a full
due process hearing
A. The trial judge could not impartially sit in

judgment of the contempt charges against peti-
tioner

13

16

22

—

ji
PAGE

B. Petitioner was entitled to a jury trial because

of the seriousness of the offense with which
he was charged .. 2%

C. A proper hearing was not afforded the peti-
thomer below one. coececeecoeencaeceeeceseseeeeeeeceoenn. 30
ConcLusion 35

TaBLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:

Anderson v. Dunn, 6 Wheat. 204 «
Bloom v, Illinois, 391 U.S. 194 (1968) 0... 7, 8, 13, 15,
20, 27
Brown v. United States, 356 U.S. 148 (1958) ............ 32
Cheff v. Schnackenberg, 384 U.S. 373 (1966) .................. 27

Commonwealth v. Patterson, —— Pa. ——, 308 A.2d
90 (1973) 21
In re Dellinger, 461 F.2d 389 (7th Cir. 1972) ow... ll
Duncan v. Louisiana, 391 U.S. 145 (1968) 26

Frank v. United States, 395 U.S. 147 (1969) ............. .. 26

Green v. United States, 356 U.S. 165 (1958) 7, 8,15
Grizzell v. Wainwright, 481 F.2d 405 (5th Cir. 1973) _. 11
Groppit v. Leslie, 404 U.S. 496 (1972)

Harris v. United States, 382 U.S. 162 (1965)
Holt v. Virginia, 381 U.S. 131 (1965)

iil

PAGE
Illinois v. Allen, 397 U.S. 337 (1970) 4, 6,17
Johnson V. Mississippi, 403 U.S. 212 (1971) oo. 10, 22
Laughlin v. Eicher, 145 F.2d 700 (D.C. Cir. 1944) ... 18
In re Little, 404 U.S. 553 (1972) 6, 10
Mayberry v. Pennsylvania, 400 U.S. 455 (1971) ....6, 10, 22
In re McConnell, 370 U.S. 230 (1962) ............-.-------- 6, 7, 9, 32
In re Michael, 326 U.S. 224 (1945) 6
Mullane v. Central Hanover Trust Co., 339 U.S. 306
(1950) \ 30
Offutt v. United States, 348 U.S. 11 (1954) -............- 9, 22, 25
Panico v. United States, 375 U.S. 29 (1963) ..............--.--- 9
People v. Tecza, 4 Ill. App. 2d 1058, 283 N.E. 2d 111
(1972) 14
People v. Tomashevsky—Appeal of Boudin, 48 Ill. 2d
559, 273 N.E. 2d 398 (1971) 14
Sacher v. United States, 343 U.S. 1 (1952) -.......- 14, 16, 17
State v. Browder, —— Alaska ——, 486 P.2d 925
(1971) 12

United States ex rel. Robson v. Oliver, 470 F.2d 10
(7th Cir. 1972) 11
United States v. Marra, 482 F.2d 1196 (2d Cir. 1973) . 11
United States v. Meyer, 462 F.2d 827 (D.C. Cir.
1972) 11, 25
United States v. Meyer, 346 F. Supp. 973 (D.D.C. 1972) 15
United States v. Seale, 461 F.2d 345 (7th Cir. 1972) -.11, 29,
32

iv

PAGE

United States v. Wilson and Bryant, —— F.2d —~—
(2d Cir. Nov. 28, 1973) 11-12, 33

Ward v. Village of Monroeville, 409 U.S. 57 (1972) . 16
Weiss v. Burr, 484 F.2d 973 (9th Cir. 1973)

seestiesenes 11, 33
Statutory Provisions

Connecticut Public Act No. 770 (1971) 21

Kentucky Revised Statute 432.260 21

OrHEeR AUTHORITIES

Advisory Committee on the Judge’s Function of the
American Bar Association Project on Standards for
Criminal Justice, The Judge’s Role in Dealing with
Trial Disruptions (1971) 35

N. Dorsen and L. Friedman, Disorper in THE Court:
Report of the Association of the Bar of the City of
New York. (1973) 3, 14, 18, 20

Note, “Crirhinal Law—Contempt—Conduct of Attorney

During Course of Trial,” 1971 Wisconsin Law Re-
view 329

19

wa

In THE
Supreme Court of the United States
: Ocroser TERM, 1973
No. 73-473

_—~
Dantet T. Tayxor, III,

Petitioner,

—

Joun P. Hayes, Judge, Jefferson Cireuit Court,
Criminal Branch, Second Division,

Respondent.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE COURT OF APPEALS OF KENTUCKY

—_—

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE ON BEHALF OF THE
ASSOCIATION OF THE BAR OF THE
CITY OF NEW YORK

The Association of the Bar of the City of New York
files this brief pursuant to Rule 42 of the United States
Supreme Court. Both Petitioner and Respondent have con-
sented to the filing of this brief and copies of the consents
of Petitioner and Respondent have been filed with the
Clerk of this Court.

Interest of the Amicus Curiae

The Association of the Bar of the City of New York
(“The Association”) has a membership of 10,200 attorneys
admitted to practice in New York and elsewhere. The As-
sociation was established by Act of the New York State

2

Legislature in 1871. Laws 1871, Chapter 819; Amended
Laws 1924, Chapter 134. Its stated statutory purposes are
“cultivating the science of jurisprudence, promoting re.
forms in the law, facilitating the administration of justice,
elevating the standard of integrity, honor and courtesy in
the legal profession and clicrishing the spirit of brother.
hood among the members thereof.”

In 1970, the Association appointed a Special Committee
on Courtroom Conduct to study and report on the extent
and causes of courtroom disorder which were of such wide
concern at the time and to suggest how the judicial system
and the legal profession might deal with these problems.
Ten members of the Association were appointed to the Com-
mittee (one later resigned because of the press of other
business). Burke Marshall, former Assistant Attorney
General and now Professor of Law at the Yale Law School,
acted as Chairman. Other members included a former New
York Court of Appeals judge, a former President of the
City Bar Association, a law school dean and a present
sitting federal judge.

The Committee and its staff worked for two and one-half
years on its study. Four consultants prepared special
papers, and many persons with expertise and first-hand
knowledge of the problem appeared before the Committee.
Other experts on different phases of the problem were inter-
viewed. A detailed questionnaire on courtroom disorder
was sent to every trial judge of general jurisdiction in the
nation (over 4,600) and 1,602 responded. Questionnaires
were also sent to every United States Attorney, the district
attorneys of the seventy largest jurisdictions, the Attor-
neys General of every state, and the presidents of the

3

eighty-nine largest bar associations in the nation.* Every
published case of courtroom disorder was analyzed.

The Committee has recently published its final report
under the title Disorper IN THE Court which contains its
analysis of the problems and its suggestions for remedial
action to preserve orderly judicial procedures and the in-
tegrity of the courtroom. The Association believes that
the Committee’s findings and conclusions may be helpful
to the Court in determining the legal issues presented on

this appeal.
Statement of the Case

Amicus incorporates the statement of the case as out-
lined by the Petitioner.

Summary of Argument
I.

The courts must have effective sanctions for protecting
themselves against disruption of their proceedings. How-
ever, the summary contempt power is so inconsistent with
the requirements of due process that it should no longer
be used to maintain order in the court. In recognition of

*The questionnaire returns indicated that courtroom disorder
was not a serious quantitative problem in American courts. Of
the 1,602 judges who responded only 107 reported that they had
experienced a total of 112 cases of trial disruption in their entire
lives on the bench. Similar conclusions were drawn by the United
States Attorneys, district attorneys, Attorney Generals and bar
association presidents. Where disorder did occur, defendants were
primarily responsible. Lawyers accounted for a very small propor-
tion of courtroom disruption. See N. Dorsen and L. Friedman,
DISORDER IN THE Court, Report of the Association of the Bar of
the City of New York, Special Committee on Courtroom Conduct
(hereinafter “DISORDER IN THE Cour”) 5-7, 268-332 (1973).

4

the abuses of the summary contempt power, this Court has
greatly circumscribed its use in recent years. A sentence
greater than six months can no longer be imposed, judges
who are personally embroiled with an alleged contemnor
cannot impose punishment upon him, and judges who have
been insulted by a defendant cannot wait until the end of
trial to hold him in contempt.

However, these restrictions are not enough. Time and
time again judges have imposed severe and arbitrary pun-
ishment on defendants and lawyers in summary contempt
proceedings. This has been done not only when an al-
leged contempt was considered a direct insult to the court
or the judge, but also when a lawyer merely engages in
vigorous advocacy. Too often a judge merely seeks retribu-
tion after a dispute with a party. The need for an impartial
tribunal to hear a contempt requires that all contempts be
heard by someone who is not acting as prosecutor of the
charges.

.The summary contempt power is not necessary to main-
tain order in the court. Under Illinois v. Allen, 397 US.
337 (1970) a trial judge may cite a defendant for contempt
(to be heard later by another judge), remove him from the
courtroom, or bind or gag him. These are effective, im-
mediate sanctions to protect the ongoing proceedings of
the court. A lawyer may also be cited for contempt (to be
heard after the trial by another judge) and he faces the
possibility of suspension and disbarment. Thus, summary
contempt is not necessary to deter lawyers from ‘misbe-
having in court. Respect for the courts is engendered not
by the fear of unlimited authority but by fair, due process
procedures.

we

5)
at,

Even if this Court does not find that summary contempt
per se violates the due process clause, it must still reverse
the judgment below since (1) the judge was personally em-
proiled with the petitioner; (2) the 54 month sentence orig-
inally imposed was a recognition of the seriousness of the
offense which, therefore, required a jury trial; and (3) a
proper hearing was not afforded the petitioner.

ARGUMENT

POINT I

The summary criminal contempt power violates the
due process clause of the Fourteenth Amendment.

We start with the proposition that orderly justice is an
absolute prerequisite for a functioning democracy. The
courts are perhaps the most important protection of the
rights of the citizens, but they cannot perform that func-
tion in an atmosphere of disorder, uproar or turmoil. The
courts simply must have efficient sanctions for protecting
themselves against disruption of their procedures. Justice
Brennan has written:

Constitutional power to bring an accused to trial is
fundamental to a scheme of “ordered liberty” and pre-
requisite to social justice and peace .. . [the nation ]
cannot endure if in individual cases the claims of social
peace and order on the one side and of personal liberty
on the other cannot be mutually resolved in the forum
designated by the Constitution. If that resolution can-
not be reached by judicial trial in a court of law, it

6

will be reached elsewhere and by other means, and
there will be grave danger that liberty, equality and
the order essential to both will be lost. Illinois y,
Allen, 397 U.S. 337, 347, 348 (1970) (Brennan, J. con.
curring). —

However, this does not mean that courts may impose
sanctions for courtroom misconduct in a manner contrary
to the basic principles which the courts are designed to
protect. It would be anomalous to say that while the courts
must afford due process of law to all those who come he.
fore them, they can deny that same due process to those who
in any way threaten the order of the courtroom. The basic
due process requirements of notice, hearing, an unbiased
judge and a jury trial where appropriate cannot be dis-
pensed with because the offense involved is labeled. con-
tempt of court.

A. The Summary Contempt Power Contains Great Opportuni-
ties for Abuse and Has Been Severely Circumscribed in
Recent Years.

This Court has often spoken about the dangers of the
summary contempt power. The Court wrote in Jn re
Michael, 326 U.S. 224, 227 (1945) that federal courts, in
contempt cases, must be limited “to ‘the least possible power
adequate to the end proposed.’ Anderson v. Dunn, 6 Wheat.
204, 231. The exercise by federal courts of any broader
contempt power than this would permit too great inroads
on the procedural safeguards of the Bill of Rights.”* In

* This Court has not made any distinction in reviewing summary
contempt procedures of state and federal courts and has imposed
the same due process requirements on both. Compare Jn re Me-
Connell, 370 U.S. 230 (1962) and In re Little, 404 U.S. 553 (1972).
This Court said in Mayberry v. Pennsylvania, 400 U.S. 455, 465
(1971) : “Whether the trial be federal or state, the concern of due
process is with the fair administration of justice.”

7

the case of In re McConnell, 370 U.S. 230, 236 (1962) this
Court said: “To preserve the kind of trials that our sys-
tem envisages, Congress has limited the summary contempt
power vested in courts to the least possible power adequate
to prevent actual obstruction of justice.”

Anticipating this Court’s decision in Bloom v. Illinois,
391 U.S. 194 (1968), Justice Black wrote in dissent in
Green v. United States, 356 U.S. 165, 193-94 (1958) :

The power of a judge to inflict punishment for criminal
contempt by means of a summary proceeding stands as
an anomaly in the law... [This] power .. . has
aptly been characterized by a State Supreme Court as
“perhaps, nearest akin to despotic power of any power
existing under our form of government.” [citing State
ex rel. Ashbaugh v. Circuit Court, 97 Wis. 1, 8, 72 N.W.
193, 194-95.] Even though this extraordinary author-
ity first slipped into the law as a very limited and
insignificant thing, it has relentlessly swollen, at the
hands of not unwilling judges, until it has become a=
drastic and pervasive mode of administering criminal
justice usurping our regular constitutional methods of
trying those charged with offenses against society.

Justice Black pointed out that the essential vice of the
summary contempt power is that it enables a judge to com-
bine in one person a variety of functions in a criminal
ease.

When the responsibilities of lawmaker, prosecutor,
judge, jury and disciplinarian are thrust upon a judge,
he is. obviously incapable of holding the scales of jus-
tice perfectly fair and true and reflecting impartially

3'
on the guilt or innocence of the accused. He truly be.
comes the judge of his own cause. The defendant
charged with criminal contempt is thus denied what |
had always thought to be an indispensable element of
due process of law—an objective, scrupulously impar.
tial tribunal to determine whether he is guilty or inno.
cent of the charges filed against him. ... “To this end
no man can be a judge in his case and no man is per.
mitted to try cases where he has an interest in the out-
come ... Fair trials are too important a part of our
free society to let prosecuting judges be trial judges
of the charges they prefer.” 356 U.S. at 199.

This position was followed by this Court in Bloom vy. Illi
nois, 391 U.S. 194 (1968). The Court held that serious
criminal contempt cases were subject to the jury trial pro-
visions of the Sixth Amendment as applied to the states
through the Fourteenth Amendment. The Court noted “the
potential for abuse which resides in the summary power to
punish for contempt.” 391 U.S. at 204. It pointed out the
many ways in which courts and legislatures had “eroded
the power of judges to try contempts of their own author.
ity.”. 391 U.S. at 207. The Court held:

Criminal contempt is a crime in the ordinary sense;
it is a violation of the law, a public wrong which is pun-
ishable by fine or imprisonment or both. . . . Given
that criminal contempt is a crime in every fundamental
respect, the question is whether it is a crime to which
the jury trial provisions of the Constitution apply. ...
We hold that it is, primarily because in terms of those
considerations which make the right to jury trial funda-
mental in crjminal cases, there is no substantial dif-

9

ference between serious contempts and other serious
crimes. Indeed, in contempt cases an even more com-
pelling argument can be made for providing a right to
jury trial as a protection against the arbitrary exer-
cise of official power. Contemptuous conduct, though
a public wrong, often strikes at the most vulnerable
and human qualities of a judge’s temperament, Even
when the contempt is not a direct insult to the court
or the judge, it frequently represents a rejection of
judicial authority, or an interference with the judicial
process or with the duties of officers of the court.
391 U.S. at 201-202,

Bloom established that any sentence in excess of six
months cannot be imposed for any contempt by a state or
federal court without the intervention of a jury. Ina
series of other cases, however, the Court also imposed addi-
tional restrictions on the power of a trial judge to sentence
through summary contempt procedures. In Offutt v. United
States, 348 U.S. 11, 17 (1954) the Court held that a trial
judge who becomes “personally embroiled” with an alleged
eontemnor cannot hold him in contempt even though the
sentence was only ten days. In Jn re McConnell, 370 U.S.
930 (1962) the Court held that no contempt may be pun-
ished unless there is an actual obstruction of justice. In
Panico v. United States, 375 U.S. 29 (1963) the Court held
that a summary contempt proceeding was inappropriate
for an alleged contemnor who showed indications of mental
illness. In Holt v. Virginia, 381 U.S. 131 (1965) the Court
reversed a summary contempt fine of only $50 imposed
upon a lawyer for filing a vigorously-worded motion for
change of venue which charged the trial judge with bias.
In Harris v. United States, 382 U.S. 162 (1965) the Court

EE a a reer

10

established that summary contempt was not available as
sanction against a grand jury witness who refused to an.
swer questions put to him by the grand jury and who re.
peated his refusal after being brought before a federa]
judge. A district court could impose punishment only
through a full due process hearing under rule 42(b) of the
Federal Rules of Criminal Proceduce.

This Court imposed a new rule for summary contempts
in Mayberry v. Pennsylvania, 400 U.S. 455 (1971). In that
case a pro se defendant had cruelly and continuously in-
sulted the trial judge throughout the proceedings. After
the verdict, the judge held the defendant in contempt and
sentenced him to a term of 11 to 22 years for these con.
tempts. This Court reversed. It held that where a judge
“does not act the instant the contempt is committed, but
waits until the end of the trial, on balance, it is generally
wise where the marks of the unseemly conduct have left
personal stings to ask a fellow judge to take his place. ...
[A] judge, vilified as this Pennsylvania judge, necessarily
becomes embroiled in a running, bitter controversy. No
one so cruelly slandered is likely to maintain that calm de-

tachment necessary for fair adjudication.” 400 U.S. at 463,
464, 465.

In its most recent cases on the subject, the Court re-
versed a summary contempt sentence in Johnson v. Missis-
sippi, 403 U.S, 212 (1971) since it was not clear that the
trial judge had personally observed the action which served
as the basis for the contempt citation. There was also evi-
dence of bias by the judge. “Trial before ‘an unbiased judge’
is essential to due process.” 403 U.S. at 216. In In re Little, .
404 U.S. 553 (1972) this Court unanimously reversed a
summary contempt conviction imposed by a state court

we

11

after a pro sé defendant had accused the judge of preju-
dice against him.

Many lower federal courts have followed this Court’s
lead and have imposed greater restrictions on the summary
contempt power. In United States v. Marra, 482 F.2d 1196
(2d Cir. 1973) the Second Circuit-held that a witness could
not be punished summarily by contempt for refusing to:
answer a question put to him during a criminal trial in the
presence of a jury. In United States v. Meyer, 462 F.2d

27, 845 (D.C. Cir. 1972), the District of Columbia Circuit
held an alleged contempt “which consists of an impugnation
of the integrity and impartiality of the trial judge is suffi-
ciently personal to invoke the Mayberry doctrine.” In such
a case a defendant “is entitled to have the contempts
charged against him adjudicated in a full hearing before
a different judge.” In United States v. Seale, 461 F.2d 345
(7th Cir. 1972) the Seventh Circuit held that a trial judge
eannot hold a person in summary contempt after the decla-
ration of a mistrial. The Court also held that “where the
judge waits to act until a mistrial or the end of a trial,
consecutively imposed sentences for contemptuous conduct
occurring during the course of the preceding trial must be
cumulated to determine the defendant-contemnor’s right to
a jury trial.” 461 F.2d at 356. If the total is more than six
months, a jury trial is necessary. In In re Dellinger, 461
F.2d 389 (7th Cir. 1972) the Seventh Circuit held that the
Mayberry rule applies as well to lawyers as to defendants
who commit a contempt. And in Grizzell v. Wainwright,
481 F.2d 405 (5th Cir. 1973) the Fifth Circuit held that
Mayberry should be given retroactive application. See also

Weiss v. Burr, 484 F.2d 973 (9th Cir. 1973) ; United States

ex rel. Robson v. Oliver, 470 F.2d 10 (7th Cir. 1972) ; United

12

States v. Wilson and Bryant, —— F.2d —— (2d Cir. No.
vember 28, 1973).

State courts have also re-examined the summary con.
tempt power and imposed restrictions on its use. The Su.
preme Court of Alaska held in State v. Browder, ——
Alaska ——, 486 P.2d 925 (1971) that in any criminal pro.
ceeding (including contempt) which may lead to incarcera-
tion, a defendant is entitled to a jury trial.

We hold that direct criminal contempts must be treated
like any other criminal prosecution for purposes of
the right to jury trial under article I, section 11 of the
Alaska Constitution. . . . it is clear that a criminal
contempt proceeding is criminal prosecution within
article I, section 11 of the Alaska Constitution. In
the instant case, we believe that considerations of con-
venience and expediency to the state are convincingly
outweighed by the right of an individual to be con-
victed only by means which are fundamentally fair.
We therefore hold . . . that article I, section 11 of the
Alaska Constitution guarantees the accused the right
to jury trial for a direct criminal contempt. 486 P.2d
at 973.

In summary, as a matter of federal constitutional law,

the power of summary contempt has been restricted as
follows:

1. Under Bloom, no sentence of greater than six months
can be imposed for contempt without a jury.

2. Under Offutt, no judge who is personally embroiled
with the alleged contemnor can sentence him for contempt.

—

13

3. Under Mayberry, a judge who is insulted or abused
by a defendant cannot wait until the end of the trial to
sentence for contempt.

4. Under Meyer and Dellinger, the Mayberry rule ap-
plies to lawyers as well as defendants.

5. Under Seale, consecutively imposed sentences for con-
tempt handed down at the ond of a trial must be cumulated
to determine the right to a jury trial.

B. The Potential for Abuse in Summary Contempt Proceedings
Has in Fact Been Realized.

This Court emphasized in Bloom the potential for abuse
that is present in summary contempt proceedings. In fact
these abuses have often occurred. Time and time again
judges have imposed severe and arbitrary punishment on
defendants and lawyers. As noted earlier, the defendant in

‘the Mayberry case received a sentence of eleven to twenty-
two years. No matter how outrageous the defendant’s
words were in court, that sentence imposed by the judge
who was their target is excessive. In the present case peti-
tioner Taylor was originally sentenced by the trial judge
to four-and-a-half years for contempt (later reduced to
three-and-a-half years) for his actions in defending the
murder case of two black youths. The judge’s comments
show quite clearly that he felt personally affronted by what
occurred in his courtroom.

Even when an alleged contempt was not “a direct insult
to the court or the judge,” but consisted of vigorous ad-
vocacy or dispute of the court’s rulings, a judge may view
the action as a “rejection of judicial authority or an inter-
ference with the judicial process.” Bloom v. Illinois, 391

14

U.S. at 202. After a dispute with a lawyer, judges wil]
often be “seeking retribution” rather than impartially ap.
plying the law. Sacher v. United States, 343 U.S. 1, 37
(1952) (Frankfurter, J. dissenting).

In its final report, the Special Committee on Courtroom
Conduct analyzed the published cases of summary contempt
from 1960 to 1972. It found that of a total of seventy-two
cases where the trial judge imposed summary punishment,
forty (more than sixty percent), were later reversed by
an appeals court. See DisorDER in THE CouRT, pp. 233-234.

In many of these cases, the arbitrariness of the judge's
action is obvious. In a case involving members of the S.DS.
in Chicago, the judge held all sixteen defendants in con-
tempt for laughing at one of his questions (“Who is in
charge of the 8.D.S.?”) and sentenced them to ten days in
jail. The sentences were reversed on appeal. People v.
Tomashevsky—Appeal of Boudin, 48 Ill. 2d 559, 273 N.E.
2d 398 (1971). Im another Illinois case, the following
colloquy took place:

The Court: There will be a fine of $50 and $5
court costs.

Mr. Tecza: Is there any way I can appeal this de-
cision. It is horribly unjust.

The Court: Maybe I should raise the fine. We will

make the fine $85 and $5.
Mr. Tecza: Fine. On what basis are you raising
it?

The Court: Contempt. People v. Tecza, 4 Til. App.
2d 1058, 283 N.E. 2d 111, 113 (1972).

The need for an impartial judge to pass upon alleged
contempts is also shown by the cases in which contempt

15

sentences are reversed or greatly reduced by a second judge
reviewing the same record. In United States v. Meyer, 462
F. 2d 877 (D.C, Cir. 1972) a lawyer was held in contempt
and sentenced to 30 days in jail for making disrespectful
remarks to the judge. On remand before another judge,
the case was dismissed since there was no obstruction of
the administration of justice. 346 F. Supp. 973 (D.D.C.
1972). In the Dellinger case discussed above, the original
trial judge had found 10 separate defendants guilty of 173
contempt specifications and sentenced them to a total of 16
years 30 months and 106 days in jail. After appeal and re-
mand, only 4 defendants were found guilty of a total of 13
specifications and no sentence of imprisonment was im-
posed. In re Dellinger, 72 Cr. 925 (N.D. Ill. December 6,
1973) (Gignoux, J.).

An examination of the cases showing use of the summary
contempt power indicates that, as Justice Black said in
Green, “ ‘prosecuting judges [should never] be trial judges
of the charges they prefer.’” 356 U.S. at 199. This is just as
true in cases where a sentence of less than six months is
imposed. In all contempt cases the need for an impartial
judge is clear. As this Court said in Bloom: “Indeed, in
contempt cases an even more compelling argument can be
made for providing a right to jury trial as a protection
against the arbitrary exercise of official power.” 391 U.S.
at 202. ot

Even if a trial judge acts instantly during the trial to
hold a person in contempt (with sentence to be pronounced
on the spot or at the end of the trial), this does not meet
the due process problem mentioned above. The judge is just
as likely (if not more so) to act arbitrarily, if he must do
so on the spot. As this Court said in Sacher v. United

16

States, 343 U.S. 1, 11 (1952), “[if] we were to hold that sum.
mary punishment can be imposed only instantly upon the
event, it would be an incentive to pronounce, while smarting
under the irritation of the contemptuous act, what should
be a well-considered judgment.” A trial judge who attempts
to hear his own contempt charges cannot, in the nature of
things, be the “neutral and detached” officer required by
due process. Ward v. Village of Monroeville, 409 U.S. 57,
62 (1972).

The only possible justification for requiring a different
rule for summary contempts during a trial is that such
power is necessary to maintain order as the trial proceeds.
As Justice Frankfurter said in dissent in the Sacher case:

Summary punishment of contempt is concededly an
exception to the requirements of Due Process. Neces-
sity dictates the departure. Necessity must bound its
limits. 343 U.S. at 36.

The necessity for summary contempt will be examined in
the following section.

C. The Summary Contempt Power Is Not Necessary to Maintain
Order in the Court.

In reaching its conclusion that the summary contempt
power should be done away with, Amicus has not ignored
the justifications that have been offered for it. The most
important of these is that trial judges require such authority
to maintain order in the court. Everyone recognizes the
importarice of a tranquil courtroom to assure the proper
administration of justice, but summary power is not neces-
sary to achieve this end. As Justice Frankfurter said, dis-
senting in Sacher:

—_—
17

[The] administration of justice and courts as its instru-
ments are vindicated, and lawyers who might be
tempted to try similar tactics are amply deterred, by
the assurance that punishment will be certain and
severe regardless of the tribunal that imposes it. 343

U.S. at 37.

This Court has afforded trial judges ample power to deal
with contemptuous behavior. As far as defendants are con-
cerned, Illinois v. Allen, 397 U.S. 337 (1970) has granted
trial judges a variety of weapons to meet misconduct. A
trial judge can act with escalating steps against a defendant
—by warning, removal, binding and gagging, or a citation
for contempt. A defendant who has been cited knows that
after trial he will be subject to a hearing and possible con-
vietion and punishment, which should be sufficient to deter
him from wayward action and to enable a judge to control
his courtroom. Whatever additional “flexibility” the sum-
mary contempt power may provide is outweighed by the
significant objections to it.

To the argument that immediate action is necessary to
deter others from attempting similar conduct which might
abort the trial, the prompt citation of a defendant or other
misbehaving person for contempt is “immediate action.”
The threat of a later criminal trial, with the possibility of a
conviction and severe penalties, is a sufficient deterrent
against further disobedience within the court.

As far as lawyers are concerned, the same considera-
tions apply. A lawyer cited for contempt faces not only
the possibility of subsequent trial and conviction, but the
likelihood of professional discipline as well, in the form
of censure, suspension or disbarment. Some judges have

18

found it expedient to impose civil contempt sanctions (not
to exceed overnight incarceration) during the trial to keep
proceedings moving. See Disorper in THE Court, 102-105,
158-159. In extreme cases, the power to remove a lawyer
from a case has been exercised, Laughlin v. Eicher, 145 F.
2d 700 (D.C. Cir. 1944). In view of the limited amount of
lawyer misconduct found by the Special Committee, those
sanctions should be more than enough to deter misconduet
by a lawyer. See Disorper 1n THE Court, 131-132.

It is often said that the summary contempt power is
needed for swift imposition of penalties. If a second con-
tempt hearing before another judge is required, a long
period may elapse. In addition, the second hearing may
have to be long and complicated, thus adding to the delay
in reaching a final decision. This is true, but this alone does
not justify the extraordinary power to punish summarily.
All criminal trials involve some delay, and the delay inci-
dent to a full contempt hearing is no more dangerous to the
administration of justice than the delays incident to the
procedural steps required by the Bill of Rights. Procedural
safeguards in the legal. process always make a criminal
trial more complicated and costly than arbitrary arrest
and punishment would be. As Justice Black said in the
Green case:

It is undoubtedly true that a judge can dispose of
charges of criminal contempt faster and cheaper than
a jury. But such trifling economies as may result have
not generally been thought sufficient reason for aban-
doning our great constitutional safeguards aimed at
protecting freedom and other basic human rights of in-
calculable value. Cheap, easy convictions were not
the primary concern of those who adopted the Constitu-

—_——

19

tion and Bill of Rights. Every procedural safeguard
they established purposely made it more difficult for
the Government to convict those it accused of crimes.
On their scale of values justice occupied at least as
high a position as economy. 356 U.S. at 216.

It is also important to lay to rest the suggestion that a
later hearing is unnecessary because the trial judge “has
already witnessed directly” the events leading to the con-
tempt citation. This point has been met very well by an
analysis in the Wisconsin Law Review:

The existence of eyewitness testimony, even if uncon-
troverted, has never been considered grounds for aban-
donment of due process of law. If due process is to
mean anything at all, it must mean that guilt may not
be presumed, but must be proven. To hold otherwise
is to say that when guilt is certain, proof is superfiuous.
But a legal system which operates according to such
tautologies plants the very seeds of despotism, which
due process of law seeks to destroy. Note, “Criminal
Law—Contempt—Conduct of Attorney During Course
of Trial,” 1971 Wise. L. Rev. 329, 347.

Furthermore, since it is clear’ that a judge can often
become personally embroiled or that personal stings may
have left their marks, one can no longer assume that the
trial judge has dispassionately and clearly viewed what oc-
curred at the trial. Once it is recognized that due process
requires an unbiased judge to determine guilt and punish-
ment, the argument that it is “unnecessary” to have a sepa-
rate hearing loses its force.

on

20

A further argument in favor of summary contempt is
that appellate review may cure any defect in the summary
proceeding. But there are serious shortcomings in appel-
late review. The appellate court reviewing a summary con-
tempt hearing can decide only on the basis of the original
record. If there is a claim of bias or personal embroil-
ment, a defendant should have the right to offer supporting
evidence to show that he was not guilty of obstructing the
trial. This can be done in a separate due process hearing
before another judge but not on appellate review.

Any attempt to abolish the summary contempt power will
be met with the claim that it is necessary to maintain re-
spect for and discipline in the courts. The same argument
was made when restrictions were placed on the ability of
courts to punish printed criticism of court action or to
punish conduct outside the courtroom by a term longer
than six months. These claims were not justified in the
earlier cases, and we do not think they are justified here.
As this Court said in Bloom y. Illinois, 391 U.S. at 208,
“Genuine respect, which alone can lend true dignity to our
judicial establishment, will be engendered, not by the fear of
unlimited authority, but by the firm administration of the
law through those institutionalized procedures which have
been worked out over the centuries.”

It is interesting to note that many European countries
do not permit a trial judge to impose sentences as long as
six months for contempt. They generally grant a judge
power to remove any person creating disorder in the court.
If the person forcibly resists an order to leave the court,

greater penalties are possible. See Disorper IN THE Court,
238, n. 70.

21

Courts and legislatures have come to recognize the abuse
of summary contempt power. As noted above, the State of
Alaska has eliminated summary contempt by judicial de-
cision. In 1971 the State of Connecticut passed a law re-
quiring a different judge to pass on all contempt charges.
Connecticut Public Act No. 779 (1971). Kentucky itself
(in Kentucky Rev. Stat. 432.260) placed a limit of 30 hours
imprisonment for contempt if a judge imposes sentence
without a jury. However, the court below held that limita-
tion to be unconstitutional since it interfered with the ad-
ministration of justice! By the same token, every right
in the Bill of Rights “materially interferes with the ad-
ministration of justice” since it makes punishment more

difficult.

As a judge of the Pennsylvania Supreme Court has writ-
ten:

Why should we allow a judge or (Justice) to have a
special privilege when the judicial function is al-
legedly obstructed? There is constitutional silence
concerning any special judicial privilege which permits
the judicial branch to deprive a person of constitutional
rights because a member of the judicial branch is in-
volved. Punishment for contempt of court without
constitutional protections that exist for all other crimes
is nothing more than the exercise of raw judicial power.
It is not the exercise of constitutional judicial au-
thority. ... The obstruction of justice, in any way, at
any time, by any person, is a serious offense. We have,
however, other workable procedures to prevent disrup-
tions in the courtroom. We do not need a special privi-
lege for judges which dispenses with constitutional
safeguards. Commonwealth v. Patterson, —— Pa.
—, 308 A. 2d 90, 95 (1973) (Manderino, J. dissent-

ing).

—

22

The time has come to eliminate this most serious and
unnecessary anomaly in the administration of justice.

POINT I

The trial judge below was required to refer the con-

* tempt proceedings to another judge for a full due process
hearing.

‘Even if this Court does not find that summary contempt
per se violates the due process clause, it must still reverse
the judgment below, Under existing precedents of the
Court, there were so many violations of proper procedures
that the conviction cannot stand. These include the fact
that (1) the judge was personally embroiled with the al-
leged contemnor; (2) the four-and-a-half year sentence
originally imposed was a recognition of the seriousness of
the offense which, therefore, required a jury trial; and
(3) a proper hearing was not afforded the petitioner.

A. The Trial Judge Could Not Impartially Sit in Judgment of
the Contempt Charges Against Petitioner.

As noted above, Offutt v. United States, 348 U.S. 11
(1954) established the proposition that a judge who be-
comes personally embroiled with the alleged contémnor can-
not sit in judgment of the contempt charges. Mayberry
went further and said that if a judge has been the victim
of a personal attack, he must refer any contempt charges
to another judge. If there is evidence of bias, Johnson v.
Mississippi, 403 U.S. 212 (1971) requires that the matter
be heard by a second judge.

In the instant case, there is overwhelming evidence of
the judge’s personal animus against the petitioner. Peti-

23

tioner in his main brief cites numerous instances in which
the judge cast aspersions on his character or motives. Dur-
ing the voir dire, the trial judge interrupted the petitioner’s
examination of a prospective juror and stated that he was
going to take it over, saying to the petitioner: “I think
you're putting on a show. That’s my opinion” (Tr. 348).
During a discussion in chambers about wrangling between
attorneys, he stated in reference to the petitioner: “...
you all were talking and I can’t blame the guy too much
for that, but on the other hand, he is getting away from
the questions and knowing him, if you give him an inch,
he'll take a mile. I might as well sit on him right now”
(Tr. 546). In another interchange the trial judge again in-
sisted on indulging in personalities and baiting the peti-
tioner :

Mr. Taylor: Does Your Honor understand that my
purpose is to defend my case?

The Court: I think that’s probably what you're here
for, I’m not sure (Tr. 1364).

-

And in still another interchange when the petitioner at-
tempted to explain his basis for making an objection:

Mr. Taylor: The objection is that he uses the word
“also” as inferring that he’s got these great confessions.
The Court: Don’t go through all those configurations
and put on an act (Tr. 1860). :

At a later point, the following exchange occurred:

Mr. Taylor: Thank you. Now, may I say, addition-
ally, I have serious doubts as to the legal correctness
of the order and since we have, I have, I don’t know,

24

five months of my life wrapped up in this case, and
maybe more than that—

The Court: (interrupting) Before it’s over, you might
have a lot more than that (Tr. 1957).

Just before the trial judge below passed sentence he made
the following comments about the petitioner:

The Court: I’ve for two weeks sit here and listen to
you (sic). Now, you’re going to listen to me. Stand
right here, sir.

For two weeks I’ve seen you put on the worst display
I’ve ever seen an attorney in my two years in this court
and 15 years of practicing law. You've quoted that
you couldn’t do it any other way. You know our court
system is completely based upon, particularly criminal
law, the Doctrine of Reasonable Doubt. That's exactly
what it means, reason. +

It doesn’t mean that it’s based upon deceit; it doesn’t
mean that it’s based upon trickery; it doesn’t mean
that it’s based upon planned confusion.

Sometimes I wonder really what your motive is, if
you're really interested in the justice of your client,
or if you have some ulterior motive, if you're inter-
ested in Dan Taylor or Narvel Tinsley.

It’s a shame that this court has to do something that
the Bar Association of this State should have done a
long time ago.

As far as a lawyer is concerned, you're not. I want the
jury to hear this; I want the law students of this com-

munity to hear_this, that you’re not the rule, you're
the exception to the rule—

—_—

25

Mr. Taylor: (Interrupting) Thank you.

The Court: I want them to understand that your ac-
tions should not be their actions because this is not the
way that a court is conducted. This is not the way an
officer of a court should conduct itself (sic). 494 S.W.
9d at 742.

It should be noted that these comments were very similar
to those made by the trial judge in Offutt which, according
to this Court, showed “personal embroilment” on his part.
348 U.S. at 16, 17.

However one views the frequent encounters between the
parties and however one attributes blame for them, there
was clearly an adversary posture between petitioner and
the trial judge throughout the: proceedings. There was
nothing subtle, hidden or uncertain about the judge’s ani-
mosity toward petitioner. In addition to the exchanges
quoted above and in petitioner’s brief, the judge originally
sentenced petitioner to 54 months in jail for nine counts
of contempt. On two counts the sentence was one year which
was later amended to six months each. The trial judge
also suspended petitioner from practicing in his court ever
again. (This order was reversed by the Kentucky Court
of Appeals.) It would be difficult to find more blatant ex-
amples or more concrete evidence of personal involvement
by a judge than is found in the instant case.

The Court of Appeals said in United States v. Meyer,
462 F.2d 827, 841 (D.C. Cir. 1972) that “when the judge
adopts an adversary posture with respect to the alleged
contemnor,” referral to an impartial judge is necessary.
That situation is clearly present here. For that reason
alone the conviction below must be reversed.

oe

26

B. Petitioner Was Entitled to a Jury Trial Because of the
Seriousness of the Offense With Which He Was Charged.
There are only two ways in which to view the fifty-four
month sentence originally imposed on the petitioner by the
trial judge. It could have been a reflection of the personal
animosity of the trial judge toward the petitioner, in which
ease referral to another judge was required by Offutt and
Mayberry. Or, assuming for the moment that the sentence
was the result of sober consideration and dispassionate judi-
cial reasoning, it was a reflection of the seriousness of the
offense with which petitioner was charged. In the latter
case, the charges should have been heard by a jury.

This Court held in Duncan v. Louisiana, 391 U.S. 145
(1968) that trial by jury was fundamental to the American
scheme of justice and that the Sixth Amendment guarantee
of jury trial was applicable to the states through the Four-
teenth Amendment. “ ... a general grant of jury trial
for serious offenses is a fundamental right.” 391 U.S. at
157-158. The Court held that trial of simple battery under
state law required a jury trial since the maximum penalty
possible was two years, even though the defendant in that
case had only been sentenced to 60 days in jail. “The
penalty authorized by the law of the locality may be taken
‘as a gauge of its social and ethical judgments’. . . of
the crime in question.” 391 U.S. at 160. Thus if the maxi-
mum penalty for an offense exceeds six months, a jury
trial is necessary.

Where contempt is involved and no maximum penalty
is fixed by statute, different calculations apply. This Court
held in Frank vy. United States, 395 U.S. 147, 149 (1969):

In ordinary criminal prosecutions, the severity of the
penalty authorized, not the penalty actually imposed,

ee

—

27

is the relevant criterion. In such cases, the legislature
has included within the definition of the crime itself
a judgment about the seriousness of the offense. See
Duncan v. Louisiana, ...-. But a person may be found
in contempt of court for a great many different types
of offenses, ranging from disrespect for the court to
acts otherwise criminal. Congress, perhaps in recogni-
tion of the scope of criminal contempt, has authorized
courts to impose penalties but has not placed any
specific limits on their diseretion; it has not categorized
contempts “serious” or “petty.” 18 U.S.C. §§ 401, 402.
Accordingly, this Court has held that in prosecutions
for criminal contempt where no maximum penalty is au-
thorized, the severity of the penalty actually imposed
is the best indication of the seriousness of the particu-
lar offense.

In Chef v. Schnackenberg, 384 U.S. 373 (1966) this Court
approved a six month sentence for criminal contempt im-
posed by a federal court of appeals for violation of its
order. But this Court’s holding in Frank and in Chef v.
Schnackenberg cannot mean that a serious contempt may be

tried and punished by a judge alone without a jury if
eventually, some appellate court will reduce the sentence
to six months. This Court emphasized in Frank that there
must be “objective indications of the seriousness with which
society regards an offense.” 395 U.S. at 148. These “objec-
tive indications” cannot be disregarded or overcome by an
appellate court retroactively imposing & six month ~
tence.

2 |
In Bloom v. Illinois, 391 U.S. 194 (1968) the defendant!

was sentenced to 24 months in jail for criminal contempt by:

28

a judge sitting without a jury. It was clear that the Illinois
courts thought that the offense involved was a serious one,
However, this Court did not attempt to undermine the right
to a jury trial by retroactively reducing the two year sen.
tence to six months. If appellate courts are permitted to de.
prive a defendant of the right to jury trial by reducing
every contempt sentence to six months, this Court’s holding
in Bloom that serious contempts must be tried by a jury
becomes meaningless. It can easily be evaded in every case
through the device used by the Kentucky court below.

The correct rule must be that some contempts are so seri-
ous that jury trial is required under the Fourteenth Amend-
ment. The seriousness of the offense is not determined only
by what an appellate court later decides about the sentence.
There is nothing in the opinions below that indicated that
either the trial judge or the Kentucky Court of Appeals
thought that petitioner’s actions in court were not serious
offenses. Indeed, strong condemnation of petitioner’s deeds
pervade the opinions below. The Kentucky Court of Ap-
peals said:

We have examined the entire record of the Tinsley
trial, and it becomes immediately apparent that even
before the trial had “gotten off the ground, so to speak,”
Taylor had embarked upon a plan or program designed
to disrupt the trial and by any means possible cause
the trial court to commit trial errors which might form
the basis of an appeal. His actions were such as to
clearly illustrate that they were deliberate, delaying,
or planned disruptive tactics which did in fact create
such an atmosphere in the court that he, if permitted
to continue, would have appeared to be the star per-
former in the center ring of a three-ring circus. He

———

29

constantly harassed the court by innumerable objec-
tions, statements, and requests for conferences in cham-
bers, and, in truth, the record indicates that a great per-
centage of the trial time was consumed by the court and
counsel attending speeches made by Taylor in the
eourt’s chambers. 494 S.W.2d at 740.

The seriousness of the offense, for the purpose of deter-
mining the right to a jury trial, must be determined by ob-
jective criteria before or during the trial. In United States
y. Seale, 461 F.2d 345, 356 (7th Cir. 1972) the Seventh
Circuit held that on remand of the contempt charges in that
case, “If the judge to whom this case *s referred for trial
decides that the outside limit of a sentence for Seale should
be six months maximum including cumulation, that would
obviate the necessity of having a jury on the remand.” In
this way the Court of Appeals eliminated the uncertainty
whether a jury was necessary Or not.

In cases where contempt citations are imposed during the
trial, the penalty actually imposed by the trial court is the
most reliable, objective criterion to determine the right
toa jury trial. Certainly the sentence by, and the comments
of, the trial judge below were a forceful declaration of how
serious the offense was considered. It can well be argued
that any criminal contempt involving courtroom misconduct
is serious enough to warrant jury trial. If the offense has
been regarded as so serious that it justifies immediate sum-
mary action, it is serious enough to trigger the jury trial
requirement of the Fourteenth Amendment.

30

C. A Proper Hearing Was Not Afforded the Petitioner Below,

Many decisions of this Court have emphasized the need
for a hearing before any punishment may be inflicted or
any rights or benefit lost. “[W]Je have stated time and
time again that reasonable notice of a charge and an oppor.
tunity to be heard in defense before punishment is imposed
are ‘basic in our system of jurisprudence.’” Groppi y,
Leslie, 404 U.S. 496, 502 (1972). In Mullane v. Central
Hanover Trust Co., 339 U.S. 306, 313 (1950), the Court
stated:

Many controversies have raged about the cryptic and
abstract words of the Due Process Clause but there
can be no doubt that at a minimum they require that
deprivation of life, liberty or property by adjudication
be preceded by notice and opportunity for hearing ap-
propriate to the nature of the case.

In the instant case no appropriate hearing was afforded
the petitioner before the trial judge held him in contempt
and sentenced him to 54 months in jail. During the trial
the judge informed petitioner nine separate times that
he was in contempt. On each count either the judge would
not let him respond for the record or a discussion of a sub-
stantive issue would ensue. After the verdict was rendered
in the trial, the judge called the petitioner before the bar
and told him that he had put on “the worst display I’ve
ever seen an attorney” engage in. He made other disparag-
ing remarks and then would not permit petitioner to re-
spond:

The Court: I want them to understand that your ac-
tions should not be their actions because this is not
the way that a court is conducted. This is not the way
an officer of a court should conduct itself (sic).

—7—V“~—~—_

31

Mr. Taylor: I would respond to you, sir—

The Court: (Interrupting) You're not responding to
me on anything.

Mr. Taylor: (Interrupting) Oh yes, I will.

The Court: Yes, you're not, either.

Mr. Taylor: Yes, I will.

The Court: The sentence is on Count One—

Mr. Taylor: (Interrupting) Unless you intend to gag
me—

The Court: I’ll do that—

Mr. Taylor: (Interposing) My lawyers will respond to
you—

The Court: (Interposing) Tl do that, sir.

Mr. Taylor: My lawyers will respond to you, sir.
The Court: You be quiet, or you'll—there will be some
more contempts—

Mr. Taylor: (Interrupting) No, you heard what I
said.

= Court: I have you on nine counts. First Count,
"30 days in jail; Second Count, 60 days in jail; Third
Count, 90 days in jail; Fourth Count, six months in
jail; Sixth Count, six months in jail; Seventh Count,
six months in jail; Eighth Count, one year in jail;
Ninth Count, one year in jail, all to run consecutive.
Take him away. :

Mr. Taylor: We will answer you in court.

32

The Court: I’d be glad to see you (Appendix, pp. 58.
59).

With respect to the substantive charges themselves, peti.
tioner in his main brief has pointed out that there was no
proper notice of the individual charges against. petitioner
and no meaningful opportunity to respond to them. A read.
ing of the record bears out this contention.

But even if the contempt citations were properly im-
posed, the lack of opportunity at the end of the trial to
offer any meaningful response violated due process. De-
spite the fact that the trial judge may have viewed the con-
duct giving rise to the charges, there are many matters
which the petitioner could have offered in his defense.

(1) He could have tried to show that the conduct did
not “block the judge in the performance of his judicial
duty,” In re McConnell, 370 U.S. 230, 236 (1962).

(2) He could have tried to show that there was no in.
tent to obstruct the administration of justice. See, eg,
United States v. Seale, 461 F.2d 345, 365 (7th Cir. 1972).

(3) He could have tried to show that the judge had con-
fused “offense to [his] sensibilities with obstruction to
the administration of justice.” Brown v. United States, 356
U.S. 148, 153 (1958).

(4) He could have tried to persuade the judge not to
impose or to reduce the sentence through his exercise of
the right of allocution. “. .. the contemnor has normally
been given an opportunity to speak in his own behalf in
the nature of a right of allocution.” Groppi v. Leslie, 404
U.S. 496, 504 (1972).

a

33

A recent Court of Appeals decision has expressly upheld
the right of an alleged contemnor to allocution before sen-
tencing. In Weiss v. Burr, 484 F.2d 973, 984 (9th Cir.
1973), the Court noted:

The last and most difficult question is whether the
trial court’s contempt procedures in respect to the
three remaining citations infringed Weiss’s constitu-
tional right to speak in defense and mitigation before
being sentenced. See Groppi v. Leslie, supra, 404 U.S.
at 501. We hold that they did. Due process requires
that contemnors such as Weiss, who are not cited and
simultaneously punished for the purpose of either re-
storing courtroom decorum or protecting the safety of
court officials are entitled to an opportunity for allocu-

tion.

The Second Circuit has more recently held that the right
of allocution is not enough in a contempt case. There must
be a more meaningful opportunity to be heard in mitiga-
tion of the offense. In United States v. Wilson and Bryan,
—_— F.2d ——- (2d Cir. November 28, 1973) the court re-
versed a summary contempt citation imposed on a witness
after an orderly refusal to answer certain questions. To
the objection that an adequate hearing was given the al-
Jeged contemnors, the court said:

Nor is the bare “opportunity to be heard” dispositive
here since the “hearing” was confined to the matter of
sentence. If, however, counsel had been given “a rea-
sonable time for the preparation of the defense” (Fed.
R. Crim. P. 42 [b]); she might have marshalled and
presented facts in mitigation of the charge. Signif-
icantly, the record reveals the possibility of a psychi-
atric defense, at least for Wilson. Some of Wilson’s

34

psychological problems, disclosed by a court-ordered
study, were explored at an abortive sentencing hear.
ing on his guilty plea, preceding the refusal to testify,
With respect to that conviction, Judge Lasker con.
cluded: “I do not believe that in this complicated cage
I have sufficient information before me to permit me
justly to proceed to sentence with Mr. Wilson.” Shortly
thereafter, nonetheless, he proceeded to sentence him
for contempt. With additional time to prepare a de.
fense, counsel for Wilson might have enlarged on the
issue of appellant’s mental health, and perhaps shown
a relationship between any psychological difficulties
and the refusal to serve as a witness. Finally, because
of the posture of the case, the record is silent on other
facts which may well exist in defense or mitigation of
the charge against both appellants, and which could
be properly developed at a plenary hearing.

Speaking more generally, the Advisory Committee on the

Judge’s Function of the American Bar Association Project
on Standards for Criminal Justice has stated:

F'4 Notice of charges and opportunity to be heard

Before imposing any punishment for criminal con-
tempt, the judge should give the offender notice of the
charges and at least a summary opportunity to adduce
evidence or argument relevant to guilt or punishment.

Commentary

Although there is authority that in-court contempts
can be punished without notice of charges or an op-
portunity to be heard, Ex parte Terry, 128 U.S. 289
(1888), such a procedure has little to commend it, is
inconsistent with the basic notions of fairness and is

—_——

35

likely to bring disrespect upon the court. Accordingly,
notice and at least a brief opportunity to be heard
should be afforded as a matter of course. Nothing in
this standard, however, implies that a plenary trial of
contempt charges is required. Advisory Committee
on the Judge’s Function of the American Bar Asso-
ciation Project on Standards for Criminal Justice.
The Judge’s Role in Dealing with Trial Disruption 20

(1971).

Since no meaningful hearing was afforded the petitioner,
the judgment below must be reversed.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Association respectfully
submits that the judgment below should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

Burke MarsHALL
Yale University
Law School
~. New Haven, Connecticut

Leon FRIEDMAN
Committee for Public J ustice
22 Bast 40th Street
New York, N. Y. 10016

Norman Dorsen
NYU Law School
- 40 Washington Square, South
New York, N. Y. 10012

Attorneys for the Association of the
Bar of the City of New York

Dated: New York, New York
January 17,1974 |

j

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386414_0336%3A11. Public record. Not legal advice.
