# Petitioners Brief — Taylor v. Hayes

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386414_0336%3A09

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petitioners Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1974
- **Citation:** 418 U.S. 488

## Text

IL When the Petitioner Was Sentenced to Serve

Consecutive Sentences Aggregating 54 Months’
Imprisonment on Multiple Contempt Charges,
He Stood Charged with a Serious Offense Within
the Meaning of the Sixth Amendment's Guar-
antee of Trial by Jury, and His Right to a Jury
Trial Was Not Affected by the Subsequent Ac-
tions of the Trial Judge and Reviewing Court

A. This Court has not held and should not hold that
where the actual sentence imposed for criminal
contempt does not exceed six months’ imprison-
ment, there is no right to trial by jury regardless
of other objective criteria reflecting the serious-
ness of the particular offense

B. The petitioner was charged with committing a

C. This Court should now consider whether crim-
inal contempt is a serious offense within the
meaning of the trial by jury guarantee regard-
less of the penalty involved

il

D. This Court should- now also consider whether an
accused is charged with a serious offense within
the meaning of the trial by jury guarantee when-
ever he faces a possible sentence of imprison-

DRG. 5 os nv cccqccdanccvrcacensavecvanmonabece 83-35

with a serious offense, entitling him to trial by
BOND ona ecctccnccccced ceesudsennee snccetecaes 3

II. The Petitioner Was Deprived of Due Process of
Law When the Trial Judge Proceeded Sum-
marily to Find Him Guilty of Contempt and to

A. Due process requires that an alleged contemnor
be given notice of the charge and the opportunity
to be heard in defense or mitigation before he is
finally adjudged guilty and sentence is imposed
notwithstanding that the alleged contempts have
been committed in the presence of the trial judge. 86-41

B. The petitioner was not afforded this right with
respect to any of the charges of which he was
Dota PUTAS wc wc ccccccccccsccsveccvccewes 42-47

C. This Court should now consider whether sum-

mary punishment for contempt itself is viola-
tive of due process of law

ITI. In the Circumstances of This Case the Trial
Judge Could Not Impartially Sit in Judgment
on Multiple Contempt Charges Against the
Petitioner... ................00. -eanegeueeas 58-66

CONCLUSION

AUTHORITIES CITED

Cases: PAGE
Allen v. Illinois, 397 L. 8. 337 (1970)............. 56
Anderson v. Dunn, 19 U. S. (6 Wheat.) 204 (1821) .53, 57
Arnett v. Meade, Ky., 462 S. W. 2d 940 (1971)..... 27
Argersinger v. Hamlin, 407 U. S. 26 (1972)....... 33, 34

Baldwin v. New York, 399 U. S. 66 (1970)... .19, 20, 21,

Baxstrom v. Herold, 383 U. S. 107 (1966)......... 28
Beasley v. Wingo, Ky., 482 S. W. 2d 413 (1968)... 24
Bloom v. Illinois, 391 U. S. 194 (1968)..... 28, 29, 32, 33,

In re Brown, 454F.. 2d 999 (D.C. Cir., 1971)....... 30
Brown v. United States, 356 U. S. 148 (1958)..... 37
Brown v. United States, 359 U. S. 41 (1959)....... 37

Cheff v. Schnackenberg, 384 U. S. 373 (1966)..... 22, 33
Codispoti v. Pennsylvania, No. 73-5615, this Term.. 29
Colten v. Kentucky, 407 U. S. 104 (1972)......... 28
Cooke v. United States, 267 U. S. 517 (1924)...... 51
In re Dellinger, 461 F. 2d 389 (7th Cir., 1972)..... 30, 63
In the Matter of Dellinger, 72 Cr. 925, U. S. Dist.

Ob, M. DB. EEL, Doo. 6, 19T8 «6 civic vse cvcncedses 55
District of Columbia v. Clawans, 300 U. 8S. 617
(TBR was heseveduseceercxeetctaies des 23, 26, 27, 31

District of Columbia v. Colts, 282 U. 8. 63 (1930) .21, 23, 33
Duncan v. Louisiana, 391 U. S. 145 (1968)..... 21, 32, 34

Dyke v. Taylor Implement Manufacturing Co., 391
Ul, By a (eh hos oa ees can ceseneescasonsss 21, 28

Edmunds v. Chang, F. Supp. ——, Crim. No.
73-3926, U. S. Dist Ct., D. Haw., Nov. 2,1973... 31

Frank v. United States, 395 U. S. 147 (1969). .20, 21, 22,

23, 24, 26, 27, 29, 30, 34
fuentes v. Shevin, 407 U. S. 65 (1972)............ 37
Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U. S. 254 (1970).......... 37
Green v. United States, 356 U. S. 165 (1958)..... 48, 51

Groppi v. Leslie, 404 U. S. 496 (1972)......... 37, 38, 40

iv

Cases: (Cont'd) Pais
Harris v. United States, 382 U. S. 165 (1965)...... 37
Holt v. Virginia, 381 U. S. 131 (1965)........... 63

Interstate Commerce Commission v. Brimson, 154
WD. Be Gy CD ioe ie sees i Scie wvcsves 57
Johnson v. Mississippi, 403 U. S. 212 (1971)... .39, 49, 59
Levine v. United States, 362 U. S. 610 (1960)..... 37
In re Little, 404 U. S. 553 (1972)................ 30, 36

Local No. 1667, United Auto Workers v. Kawneer
Company, Inc., Ky., 490 S. W. 2d 747 (1973). ..20, 28

McBride v. Commonwealth, Ky., 432 S. W. 2d 410

CI a i BE b olny sccly eo nwdvens Oa0s tantewcoeceve 24
In re McClure, 442 F. 2d 836 (7th Cir., 1971)....... 80
In re McConnell, 370 U. S. 230 (1962)........... 30, 36
Mayberry v. Pennsylvania, 400 U. S. 455 (1971). . .49, 58,

’

In re Michael, 326 U. S. 224 (1945).............. 57
Offutt v. United States, 348 U. S. 11 (1954). .32, 59, 62, 65
In re Oliver, 333 U. S. 257 (1948)............ 36, 52, 54
Panico v. United States, 375 U. S. 29 (1963)....... 37
Rochin v. California, 342 U. 8. 165 (1952)........ 47
Sacher v. United States, 343 U. S. 1 (1952). .41, 46, 51, 54
Shillitani v. United States, 384 U. S. 364 (1966).... 57
Sibron v. New York, 392 U. S. 41 (1968)........... 31
Sniadach v. Family Finance Corporation, 395 U. S.

BOE CANON) 65.554 ke csc cae en cenccnuneveweanecex 37
Tauber v. Gordon, 350 F. 2d 943 (3rd Cir., 1965)... 49
Ex parte Terry, 128 U. S. 289 (1888)....... 39, 40, 47, 53
Tinsley v. Kentucky, No. 73-5786, this Term...... 6
Tumey v. Ohio, 273 U. S. 510 (1927)............2. 49
Ungar v. Sarafite, 379 U. S. 575 (1964)........... 63
ar v. Dellinger, 472 F. 2d 340 (7th Cir.,
aan v. Marshall, 451 F. 2d 372 (9th Cir.,

CP) cc 59,63

Vv

Cases: (Cont’d) on
United States v. Meyer, 346 F. Supp. 973 (D.D.C.,
OUD onc wena peassesedentearenseevesienes 30, 51

United States v. Oliver, 470 F. 2d 10 (7th Cir.,
SOUR) oc or 8 a hiv 540s see binds endeecsenesesas
United States v. Seale, 461 F. 2d 345 (7th Cir.,

STE Y eae 6 hy cokes ea cewinueegscsseeneses: 20, 29, 37
Ward v. Village of Monroeville, 409 U. S. 57
COTE) as hho 5 5 wake ensue nce sasacdecssesesexs 48, 49
Weiss v. Burr, 484 F. 2d 973 (9th Cir., 1973)....... 39, 40
Constitutional Provisions, Statutes and Rules:
U.S. Const. Amend. VI................. 2, 13, 15, 19, 20,
22, 24, 29, 31, 32, 35
U.S. Const. Amend. XIV............... cece eee 2, 35
Bs SI, 6 is cry cee cesvsnsevesesnanyecs 28
BO UAL © hk ice cosy oss 0avicscesevacscessuecess 33
OR UB. 4. SOT Bo ccc cceasessccckdsccsisccuss 1
Kentucky Revised Statutes 421.140............... 27
Kentucky Revised Statutes 431.075............... 22
Kentucky Revised Statutes 436.020............... _ 27
Federal Rule of Criminal Procedure 42(a)...... 38, 49, 54
Federal Rule of Criminal Procedure 42(b)......... 39
Other Authorities:

Advisory Committee on the Judge’s Function of the
American Bar Association Project on Standards
for Criminal Justice, The Judge’s Role in Deal-
ing with Trial Disruptions (1971)............. 38, 39

Special Committee on Courtroom Conduct of the
Association of the Bar of the City of New York,
Disorder im the Court (1973).............. 50, 55, 56

Dobbs, Contempt of Court: A Survey, 56 Corn.
L. Rev. 183 (1971) ........ cee ccc eee eee 53

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1973
No. 43-473

DanreL T. Tayvor, ITT, - - = Petitioner

Vv.

Joun P. Hayes, Jupor, Jefferson Circuit Court,
Criminal Branch, Second Division, - Respondent

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE COURT OF
APPEALS OF KENTUCKY

BRIEF FOR THE PETITIONER

CITATION TO OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals of Kentucky
is reported at 494 S. W. 2d 737, and is printed in the
Appendix, infra, pp. 5-19.

JURISDICTION

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28
U.S.C. section 1257(3), and the petitioner claims that
his conviction for criminal contempt was obtained in
violation of rights guaranteed to him by the Constitu-
tion of the United States. The judgment of the Court
of Appeals of Kentucky was entered on March 23, 1973,

2

\ A Petition for Rehearing was denied on June 15, 1973,
The Petition for a Writ of Certiorari was filed in this
Court on September 12, 1973, and the Petition was
granted on December 3, 1973.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED
United States Constitutional, Amendment VI

‘*Tn all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall
enjoy the right to a speedy and public trial, by an
impartial jury of the State and district wherein
the crime shall have been committed, which district.
shall have been previously ascertained by law, and
to be informed of the nature and cause of the ac-
cusation; to be confronted with the Witnesses
against him; to have compulsory process for ob-
taining witnesses in his favor, and to have the
Assistance of Counsel for his defense.”’

United States Constitution, Amendment XIV

sé
.

. nor shall any State deprive any person of —
life, aaa’ or property, without due process of
law

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. When a trial judge summarily imposes consecu-
tive sentences on eight counts of contempt aggregat-
ing four and one-half years’ imprisonment, including
sentences of one year’s imprisonment on two counts,
whether he or the appellate court may subsequently,
in order to defeat the alleged contemnor’s right to trial
by jury, reduce the sentences so that the sentence on.

3

no one count exceeds six months’ imprisonment and
direct that the sentences run concurrently for a total
of six months’ imprisonment ?

2. When alleged contempts have been committed
by an attorney in the presence of thetrial judge and
the trial judge proceeds summarily to punish for con-
tempt, whether due process requires that the attorney
be given some opportunity to be heard in defense or
mitigation before he is finally adjudged site and
sentence is imposed ?

3. Whether, in the circumstances of this case, the
trial judge could impartially sit in judgment on mul-
tiple contempt charges against the petitioner?

STATEMENT OF THE CASE*

The petitoner, an attorney, has challenged on con-
stitutional grounds his summary conviction for crim-
inal contempt by the respondent (hereinafter referred
to as the trial judge) and the imposition of a sentence,
as subsequently modified by the respondent and the
Court of Appeals of Kentucky, of six months’ imprison-
ment. The contempt conviction arose out of events
occurring during the trial .f Narvel and William M. —
Tinsley on a charge of wilful murder. The petitioner
represented Narvel Tinsley, working without pay, dur-
ing the trial, which was held in the Criminal Branch,
Second Division, Jefferson Circuit Court, Louisville,

*References to the transcript of the trial of Commonwealth v.
Tinsley that are not included in the Appendix are indicated by the
prefix ‘‘Tr.’’ References to the Transcript of Record in Common-
wealth v. Tinsley are indicated by the prefix ‘‘R,’’

4

Kenuteky, from October 18, 1971, through October 29,
1971. The defendants, young black men, were accused
of killing two white police officers. The trial attracted
a great deal of press and public attention and was
hotly contested.

The petitioner is a well-known and experienced
criminal defense and civil rights lawyer in Kentucky,
In a career spanning some 20 years he has defended
literally hundreds of capital cases, often without pay,
His reputation for vigorous, innovative, and effective
advocacy was known to the trial judge, himself a for-
mer prosecutor.

At the time of the trial the death penalty was still
in effect in Kentucky, and the prosecutor publicly an-
nounced in advance of the trial that he would seek the
death penalty against both defendants. The prosecv-
tion anticipated that it would have no problem in the
placing of blame as to the killing of one of the officers
on William Michael Tinsley, but it had no direct evi-
dence as to the killing of the other officer by either
brother. The essence of Narvel’s defense would neces-
sarily involve implicating his brother in the shooting
of this other officer, and for this reason both the peti-
tioner and Michael’s attorneys moved for a severance
on the ground that the defenses contemplated by the
defendants were totally antagonistic. These motions
were denied by the trial judge.

A very important part of Narvel’s defense was that
the police and public officials realized the weakness of
the case against him, and as a result embarked on a
propaganda campaign to plant the impression in the

0

mind of the public (which from their standpoint hope-
fully would inelude prospective jurors) that Narvel
was guilty of the shooting of the second police officer.
There were press conferences and television appear-
ances by police and governmental officials, a widely-
publicized “manhunt” for the Tinsley brothers, and
a solicitation of funds for the “victims” of the crime
by a leading brokerage house in Louisville (App. 5;
R. 14-15). Contempts 2, 7, and part of 5 arose from the
petitioner’s efforts to develop this line of deferse (App.
24-25). : |
The only eyewitness testimony presented by the
prosecution was one David Keith White, a black youth
who was either with or not with the Tinsley brothers at
the time of the shooting, depending on which of his
several versions of the event was to be believed. He
never testified that he saw Narvel shoot the second
officer, gave inconsistent versions of whether he saw
Narvel with a gun in his hand, and admitted that he
had previously lied to the police in order to escape
arrest and would do so again (Tr. 2112). Destroy-
ing White’s credibility was absolutely crucial to
Narvel’s defense. Contempt 6 arose from the peti-
tioner’s.efforts in this respect (App. 25). Throughout
the trial the trial judge rigorously controlled all ingress
and egress to the courtroom through the use of locked
doors, and at one point had the windows overlooking an
adjoining area way covered with opaque sheets. All
persons entering the courtroom had to submit to a
search, including the petitioner’s assistants. The front
rows of the seating section were reserved for the

6 .
mourners of the two slain officers, and understandably
they wept at frequent intervals. Numerous armed
police officers, both in uniform and plainclothes, were
seated among the spectators. At the same time there
were often empty seats in the courtroom, but a queque
of spectators outside trying to obtain admission (App.
95). At one point the petitioner remonstrated with
the trial judge over the exclusion of the spectators,
contending that this violated his client’s right to a
public trial. The trial judge overruled the objection
with the observation that: ‘‘The courtroom’s full
enough. If I’ve got two people out there, there’s a
public trial as far as I’m concerned.”’ (Tr. 1895). Part
of contempt 5 was simply that the Petitioner had made
this objection (App. 25).

It is the petitioner’s submission that the trial judge,
realizing from the outset the weakness of the prosecu-
tion’s case against Narvel, and determined that in the
final tallying there would be ‘‘two black lives for two
white ones,’’ did absolutely everything that he could
to help the prosecution obtain a conviction against Nar-
vel and a verdict of death by electrocution.’ Begin-
ning with his refusal to sever the trials, and concluding
with his effectively instructing the jury to find Narvel
guilty of the shooting of the second officer by directing
a verdict in favor of Michael as to this death, he tried
in every way possible to interfere with the successful
presentation of Narvel’s defense, and to convey to the
jury his firm belief that Narvel was guilty of wilful

1The nature and extent of the trial judge’s actions in this

regard are fully set forth in the Petition for Certiorari filed in
Tinsley v. Commonwealth, No. 73-5768, this Term.

—_—

7

murder and should be sentenced to death. In so doing
he was hostile, sarcastic and threatening toward the
petitioner and did not attempt to hide his feelings to-
ward the petitioner and his client from the jury. It
was in the context of this hotly-contested trial, ac-
companied by an evident drive by the judge to bring
about a conviction, that the petitioner was called upon
to represent and protect his client.

The jury voire dire lasted for three days. The first
citation of the petitioner for contempt occured during
the petitioner’s examination of a prospective juror.
The trial judge informed the petitioner that he was in
contempt for ‘‘asking the same question,”’ and stated
that he would impose punishment later (App. 30). He
then ordered the petitioner and the prosecutor (but not
the other lawyers), to file written questions for the
voire dire and announced that he was going to take it
over. He also modified the contempt citation to a warn-
ing (App. 37).

The prosecution began its case on October 21, and
concluded on October 25. It presented 14 witnesses, all
of whom were permitted to testify without question.
Two of the remaining eight citations for contempt oc-
curred during this time. As to these counts, counts 2
and 3 in the “‘eorrected judgment”’, the petitioner was
permitted to respond ‘‘for the record,’’ but this re-
sponse was intermingled with a discussion of the sub-
stantive issues of the case. At no time did the trial
judge inform the petitioner as to what the precise
charges were, nor did he give the petitioner any mean-
ingful opportunity to respond to the charges.

8

The presentation of the case for the defendants be-
gan on October 26, and continued through October 28,
No evidence was presented on behalf of Michael Tins-
ley. Narvel Tinsley testified in his own behalf. In
addition, the petitioner sought to call 21 other witnesses,
9 of whom were summarily prohibited from testifying
by the trial judge. Counts 4 through 9 of the contempt
charges occurred while the petitioner was attempting
to present the defense. There was some discussion in
chambers following the citation on count 4, but it had
nothing to do with the contempt charge (App. 70-79).
As to count 5, the judge cited the petitioner in chambers
only while in the process of ruling that a witness whom
the petitioner had been examining would not be per-
mitted to testify further (App. 97). He then ordered
the petitioner to produce a list of all other witnesses
whom he intended to call for the defense, and summarily
ruled that 9 of them, all of whom had been properly
subpoenaed, would not be permitted to testify (App.
97; 101-106; Tr. 1986-1998).

The intense conflict between the judge and the pe-
titioner flowed directly from the conflict of their ob-
jectives. The judge was determined to bring about a
conviction. The petitioner was just as equally deter-
mined to represent his client within his good-fatih
understanding of the permissible parameters of his
proper role. Though this Court is not reviewing the
question of whether the conduct of the petitioner was,
in fact, contemptuous, the conflict between judge and
defense counsel is of obvious importance in the Court’s
consideration of the questions which the Court has ac-

7_—_—_—
9

cepted for review. That conflict, and the emanations
therefrom, is plainly relevant to the ability of the trial
judge to sit impartially in judgment on the multiple
contempt charges against the petitioner. It is equally
relevant to the question of whether in the case of this
type of conflict between a judge and a defense attorney,
a jury, rather than simply another judge, should be
called upon to adjudicate the issues. Moreoevr, the
fundamental unfairness of the type of summary pro-
cedure here employed becomes more obvious in the
light of the underlying conflict between the judge and
the defense attorney against whom he was proceeding.
On count 6 the trial judge simply informed the peti-
tioner that he was in contempt, and when the petitioner
asked to respond for the record, the trial judge said that
he could do so at the next recess (App. 106-107). How-
ever, this opportunity did not occur. On count 7 the
trial judge permitted the petitioner to make a response
for the record, but then directed the court reporter not
to put the response in the record (App. 108-109). He
specifically refused to permit the petitioner to make a
response for the record on count 8 (App. 113). On
count 9 he again simply informed the petitioner that
he was in contempt (App. 119).

At the conclusion of the trial, after the jury had
returned its verdict, finding both defendants guilty and
sentencing them to death, but while the jury was still
in the box, the following colloquy occurred :

“The Court: Mr. Taylor, the Court has some-
thing to take up with you, sir, at this time.
Mr. Taylor: Well, I'll be right here, Judge.

10

The Court: I’ve for two weeks sit here and
listen to you. Now, you’re going to listen to me,
Stand right here, sir

For two weeks I’ve seen you put on the worst
display I’ve ever seen an attorney in my two years
of this court and 15 years of practicing lay,
You’ve quoted that you couldn’t do it any other
way. You know our court system is’ completely
based upon, particularly criminal law, the Doe.
trine of Reasonable Doubt. That’s exactly what
it means, reason. It doesn’t mean that it’s based

upon deceit; it doesn’t mean that it’s based upon
trickery ; it doesn't mean it’s based upon planned
confusion.

Sometimes I wonder really what your motive
in, if. you're really intarented in the justices of your
client, or if you have some ulterior motive, if you’re
interested in Dan Taylor or Narvel Tinsley.

It’s a shame that this court has to do some-
thing that the Bar Association of this State should
have done a long time ago.

As far as a lawyer is concerned, you’re not.
I want the jury to hear this; I want the law stu-
dents of this community to hear this, that you’re
not the rule, you’re the exception to the rule.—

Mr. Taylor: (Interrupting) Thank you.

The Court: I want them to understand that
your actions siiould not be their actions because
this is not the way that a court is conducted. This
is not the way an officer of a court should conduct
itself.

Mr. Taylor: I would respond to you, sir—

The Court: (Interrupting) You’re not re-
sponding to me on anything.

Mr. Taylor: (Interrupting) Oh yes, I will,

The Court; Yes, you’re not, either.

il

Mr. Taylor: Yes, I will.

The Court: The sentence is on Count One—

Mr. Taylor: (Interrupting Unless you intend
to gag me—

The Court: (Interrupting) I’ll do that—

Mr. Taylor: (Interposing) My lawyers will
respond to you—

The Court: (Interposing) I'll do that, sir.

Mr. Taylor: My lawyers will respond to you,
sir.

The Court: You be quiet, or you’ll—there will
be some more contempts—

Mr. Taylor: (Interrupting) No, you heard
what I said.

The Court: I have you on nine counts. First
Count, 30 days in jail; Second Count, 60 days in
jail, Third Count, 90 days in jail; Fourth Count,
six months in jail; Fifth Count, six months in jail;
Sixth Count, six months in jail; Seventh Count,
six months in jail; Eighth Count, one year in
jail; Ninth Count, one year in jail, all to run
consecutive.

Take him away.

Mr. Taylor: We will answer you in court.

The Court: I’d be glad to see you”? (App.
28-29).

At the conclusion of his colloquy, the petitioner was
placed in the custody of peace officers and taken to the
Louisville City Jail. The trial judge refused to make
himself available to petitioner’s counsel for the pur-
pose of setting bail, and a bail hearing had to be or-
dered by the Court of Appeals of Kentucky. The trial
judge refused to allow the petitioner to be present at
the hearing, and also denied bail. Bail was finally
ordered by the Kentucky Court of Appeals, and the

12

petitioner filled same, and was released. On Novem.
ber 4, 1971, the trial judge entered an order prohibit-
ing the petitioner from ‘‘further practice of law in
this Court.”’ |

After the petitioner had filed his appeal in the Court
of Appeals of Kentucky, the trial judge, on February
8, 1972, over three months after the trial had ended,
moved the Court of Appeals for permission to correct
the judgment, and his motion was granted over the
objection of the petitioner. In the corrected judgment
the trial judge stated that the first count of contempt
should be changed to a warning, and he reduced the
sentence of one year’s imprisonment imposed on count
8 and on count 9 to a sentence of six months’ imprison-
ment on each count. He then set forth the sentences on
each of the remaining counts, six of which were
punished by six months in jail, one of which was
punished by 60 days in jail and one of which was
punished by 90 days in jail. He did not specifically
state that the sentences were to run consecutively, as he
did when imposing sentence from the bench, but he
also did not state that they were to run concurrently
(App. 29).

In his appeal to the Kentucky Court of Appeals the
petitioner raised all issues covered in the grant of
certiorari (App. 4), as well as other constitutional and
state law questions. The Court of Appeals held that
the order prohibiting the petitioner from the practice of
law in the Second Division was improper under state
law and set it aside. With respect to the petitioner’s
contention that he was entitled to a jury trial on the

———

13

contempt charges, the Court of Appeals held that the
sentences should now be served concurrently rather
than consecutively, and that since the total sentence
would not then exceed six months, the petitioner was
not entitled to a jury trial. In all other respects it
affirmed the conviction and rejected the petitioner’s
constitutional contentions. Petitioner’s Petition for
Rehearing to the Court of Appeals was denied on June
15, 1973, without comment. Certiorari was granted by
this Court on December 3, 1973. On September 19,
1973, Mr. Justice Stewart issued an order staying en-
forcement of the judgment of the state court pending
disposition of the case by this Court.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

I When the petitioner was sentenced to serve con-
secutive sentences aggregating 54 months’ imprison-
ment, he stood charged with a serious offense within
the meaning of the Sixth Amendment’s trial by jury
guarantee, and it is irrelevant that his sentence was
subsequently modified to a maximum of six months’
imprisonment. This Court has not adopted and should
not adopt a ‘“‘six month rule’? in criminal contempt
cases, upholding the denial of the right to trial by jury
where the actual sentence imposed, including by retro-
active amendment if necessary, does not exceed six
months regardless of other objective criteria reflecting
the seriousness of the particular offense. Even if this
Court were to adopt a “‘six month rule,”’ the entitlement
to a jury trial should attach at the time the sentence is
originally imposed, and the right to a jury trial should

14

not be able to be defeated as it was here, by subsequent
modification of the sentence on the part of the trial
judge or the reviewing court.

By imposing the extraordinarily severe sentence
that he did, the trial judge necessarily ‘‘certified’’ that
the petitioner was charged with having committed
very serious offense. The Kentucky Court of Appeals,
while holding in one portion of its opinion that the
petitioner was only charged with a ‘‘petty’’ offense
within the meaning of the trial by jury guarantee, in
another portion of its opinion attacked the petitioner’s
character in the most opprobrious terms and accused
him of planning to disrupt the trial and by any means
possible to cause the trial judge to commit reversible
error.

In Kentucky, observing ‘‘the laws and practices of
the community taken as a gauge of its social and ethical
judgments,’’ criminal contempt is considered a serious
offense. Since the right to trial by jury may depend
on the seriousness with which a particular state regards
the offense, the right to trial by jury should attach to
alleged criminal contempts committed before the Ken-
tucky courts when a substantial period of imprison-
ment is imposed as punishment.

This Court should now consider whether criminal
contempt is a serious offense within the meaning of the
trial by jury guarantee regardless of the penalty in-
volved. Because conduct that can be made punishable
as criminal contempt must have the effect of actually
interfering with the administration of justice, criminal
contempt is an offense which is likely to be regarded as

15

contrary to the ‘‘social and ethical judgments of the
community.’’ Moreover, the nature of the offense
necessarily involves a confrontation between the
accused and the court, and the ‘“‘appearance of justice”’
is not satisfied when judges, without the intervention
of a jury, pass on charges of criminal contempt.

The Court should also consider whether the pos-
sibility of any imprisonment is sufficient to entitle an
accused to a jury trial. The “different geneology” of
the right to trial by jury should not set it apart from
the other guarantees of the Sixth Amendment, which
do not depend for their application on the extent of
possible imprisonment faced by the accused.

II. The petitioner was deprived of due process of
law when the trial judge proceeded summarily to find
him guilty of contempt and to impose punishment. Due
process should require that an alleged contemnor, like
any other defendant, be given notice of the charge and
an opportunity to be heard in defense or mitigation
before he is finally adjudged guilty and sentence is
imposed. It is immaterial that the alleged contempt
was committed in the presence of the trial judge, since
the trial judge may be persuaded that he has perceived
the facts inaccurately, or that the conduct for which he
has cited was not contemptuous, or that an intention to
obstruct the administration of justice was lacking. The
right to notice of the charge and the opportunity to be
heard is clearly required where, as here, the trial judge
did not cite and simultaneously punish for contempt in
order to restore courtroom decorum or the like. How-
ever, no exception should be made for contempts arising

16

out of courtroom disruption, since regardless of the
time at which the trial judge acts or his motivation for
so doing, he is still finding a person guilty of a criminal
offense and imposing punishment.

The right for which the petitioner is contending
should be construed to encompass a statement of the
precise charge and the facts giving rise to that charge,
the opportunity to be heard in defense or mitigation,
including where necessary, the right to present extrinsic
evidence, a ruling on guilt or innocence, and the imposi-
tion of punishment if the contemnor is found guilty.

The petitioner was not afforded this right with
respect to any of the charges of which he was found
guilty. While the petitioner was permitted to respond
for the record on two of the eight charges, the trial
judge made it clear that his mind was made up about
the petitioner’s guilt as soon as he cited the petitioner
for contempt on those charges. The trial judge did not
hold a hearing on any of the charges in the sense of
separating the contempt charge from the other matters
involved in the trial, stating the precise charge and the
facts giving rise to that charge, indicating that he was
prepared to listen objectively to arguments in defense
or mitigation, and so doing, and ruling on the peti-
tioner’s guilt or innocence.

_ The Court should now consider whether summary
punishment for contempt itself is violative of due
process of law. Summary punishment for contempt,
which combines the otherwise inconsistent functions of
lawmaker, prosecutor, judge, and jury in a single
individual who is necessarily involved in the events

17

leading up to the charge, is contrary to the funda-
mental premises upon which the concept of due process
of law is based. Neither the “ judicial economy”’ or
“preserving order”’ justification can be considered suf-
ficient to sanction this ‘‘anomaly in the law.’”? Even
though the trial judge has witnessed the alleged con-
tempt, he may still be mistaken as to the actual facts
and as to whether the conduct of the alleged contemnor
amounted to criminal contempt, which is demonstrated
by the numerous reversals of summary contempt con-
victions by appellate courts. The ‘‘preserving order’’
justification is completely undercut when the trial judge
waits until the end of the trial to punish for contempt,
and at a minimum this Court should hold that due
process prohibits the exercise of the summary contempt
power after the trial has terminated and in any case
where such exercise is not shown to have been necessary
for the purpose of preserving order in the courtroom.
However, the exercise of the summary contempt power
cannot be justified even where purportedly necessary
to prevent courtroom disruption, since there are
numerous other methods the trial judge can employ to
prevent disruption, that are not subject to the abuses
of the exercise of the summary contempt power.

TIT. In the circumstances of this case the trial
judge could not impartially sit in judgment on multiple
contempt charges against the petitioner. All four
elements of ‘“‘embroilment in controversy’’ were clearly
present, and the holding of the Kentucky Court of
Appeals to the effect that the trial judge could im-
partially sit in judgment on the contempt charges is

18

truly astonishing. The record clearly shows that the
trial judge was an ‘‘activist seeking combat,’’ that he
perceived himself as the victim of a ‘‘personal attack,”
that he was charged by the petitioner with bias and
unfairness, and that he had adopted an adversary
posture with respect to the petitioner. The animus
and hostility of the trial judge toward the petitioner
and his obvious lack of impartiality fairly ‘‘scream
out’”’ from the record, and are manifested by his state-
ments and actions throughout the trial, culminating in
his behavior at the conclusion of the trial when he not
only accused the petitioner of improper motives, not
only criticized the bar association for not having dis-
ciplined the petitioner ‘“‘years ago,’’ not only said that
he wanted the members of the jury and the law students
‘of the community’’ to hear his remarks, but refused
to allow the petitioner to speak a word in his defense,
threatened to gag him and impose more contempts if he
persisted in trying to do so, and directed the bailiff to
‘“‘take him away.”’

The conviction of the petitioner must be reversed,
if for no other reason, than that he was denied the right
to trial before an unbiased judge.

Serious Offense Within the Meaning of the Sixth
Amendment's Guarantee of Trial by Jury, and His
Right to a Jury Trial Was Not Affected by the Sub-
sequent Actions of the Trial Judge and Reviewing
Court in Modifying the Sentences to a Maximum of

Six Months’ Imprisonment.

jury regardless of other objective criteria reflecting the seri-
ousness of the particular offense.

When the trial judge ordered the peace officers to
“take him away,”’ the petitioner faced a prison sentence
of 54 months’ imprisonment, including one year on
each of two counts. As the trial judge subsequently
realized, he. could not, without the intervention of a
jury, impose a sentence of one year’s imprisonment on
a single count, Baldwin v. New York, 399 U. S. 66
(1970), and as he specifically stated, in order that the
petitioner’s right to trial by jury not come into play,
he reduced the sentences on those two counts to six
months each (App. 27). Assuming that the sentences
were to run consecutively, and with the first count
dropped, the petitioner then faced 41 months’ imprison-
ment, and he argued before the Kentucky Court of
Appeals that such a sentence could not be imposed
without the intervention of a jury,

While the petitioner’s case was pending, the Ken.
tucky Court of Appeals held in another case that there
could not be imprisonment for more than six months
for contempt of court ‘‘except upon the unanimous ver-
dict of a jury under instructions including the reason-
able doubt protection as in comparable criminal cases.”
Local No. 1667, United Auto Workers v. Kawneer Com-
pany, Inc., Ky., 490 8. W. 2d 747 (1973). Under this
approach, it necessarily followed that separate sen-
tences for contempt had to be aggregated for the pur-
pose of determining the alleged contemnor’s right to a
jury trial. C.f. United States v. Seale, 461 F. 2d 345
(7th Cir., 1972). In order to bring the petitioner’s case
within the ‘‘six month rule,’”’ the Court of Appeals
gratuitously directed that the petitioner’s sentences be
served concurrently rather than consecutively (App.
20). It also read this Court’s decisions in Frank y.
United States, 395 U. S. 147 (1969), and Baldwin vy.
New York, supra, as setting forth a constitutional “‘six
month rule” and holding that where the actual penalty
imposed for criminal contempt, including by retroac-
tive modification if necessary, did not exceed six
months, there was no right to a jury trial regardless of
other objective criteria reflecting the seriousness of the
particular offense. It is submitted that this Court has
not set forth any ‘‘six month rule”’ as determinative of
the right to trial by jury in cases of criminal contempt,
and that where a person has been charged with com-
mitting a serious criminal contempt, the Sixth Amend-
ment’s guarantee of trial by jury applies irrespective
of the penalty that is actually imposed.

21

In looking for “‘objective indications of the serious-
ness with which society regards an offense,” Frank Vv.
United States, supra at p. 148, this Court has found
the most relevant criterion to be the severity of the
maximum authorized penalty rather than the penalty
actuallly imposed, Duncan v. Louisiana, 391 U. 8. 145
(1968), and in Baldwin v. New York, supra, it held that
where the maximum authorized penalty exceeded six
months, the defendant was constitutionally entitled to
a jury trial. It has also held that the right to a jury
trial may depend on the nature of the offense itself,
and that a particular offense may be regarded as suf-
ficiently serious to entitle the defendant to a jury trial,
even though the maximum authorized penalty is rela-
tively small. District of Columbia v. Colts, 282 U.S.
68 (1930). '

The same principles are presumably applicable to
determine the right to a jury trial on the part of a per-
son charged with criminal contempt. Where the max-
imum penalty for criminal contempt has been pre-
scribed by statute, this Court has looked to the statutory
authorization for the purpose of determining whether
this was a serious offense, entitling the alleged con-
temnor to a jury trial. Dyke v. Taylor Implement
Manufacturing Co., 391 U. 8S. 216 (1968); Frank v.
United States, supra at p. 149, n. 2. However, in a
number of states the legislature has not placed any
limits on the courts’ power to punish for contempt.
It could be contended that since, in the absence of a
statutorily authorized maximum punishment or a gen-
eral statutory provision prescribing the punishment for

22

offenses for which no penalty is otherwise provided, see
e.g., Ky. Rev. Stat. 431.075, an alleged contemnor is
subject to the most severe punishment that the state
can impose for any offense, criminal contempt is neces-
sarily a serious offense within the meaning of the Sixth
Amendment’s trial by jury guarantee. Admittedly this
has not been the approach that this Court has taken to
entitlement to a jury trial in cases of criminal con-
tempt, and where there is no maximum authorized pun-
ishment, this Court has stated that, ‘‘The severity of
the penalty actually imposed is the best indication of ©
the seriousness of the particular offense.’’ Frank y.
United States, supra at p. 149.

However, although this court has upheld sentences
for criminal contempt of up to six months, Cheff v.
Schnackenberg, 384 U. 8. 373 (1966), it has not held
that there is a “‘six month rule,’’ nor has it held that
while the severity of the penalty actually imposed may
be the best indication of the seriousness of the partic-
ular offense, it is the only indication. It definitely has
not held that so long as the penalty actually imposed,
including by retroactive modification if necessary, does
not exceed six months, there is no right to a jury trial
regardless of other objective indications showing that
particular charges of criminal contempt in particular
circumstances involved a ‘‘serious offense’”’ within the
meaning of the trial by jury guarantee.

Moreover, even the maximum authorized penalty
has not been treated as determinative of the seriousness
of a particular offense. Its relevance is only that it

23

may be “‘taken as a gauge of [the] social and ethical
judgments of the community,’ District of Columbia v.
Clawans, 300 U. 8. 617, 628 (1937), and even though
the maximum authorized penalty is relatively small, the
“social and ethical judgments of the community’’ may
dictate that the particular offense is a serious one with-
in the meaning of the trial by jury guarantee. District
of Columbia v. Colts, supra. (“Driving recklessly as
to endanger persons and property’’ was serious offense,
although maximum authorized punishmerit was a fine
of $100 and 30 days’ imprisonment). It is clear that
both the maximum authorized penalty and the nature
of the particular offense must be looked to in order to
determine whether the offense is a serious one within
the meaning of the trial by jury guarantee. Baldwin
v. New York, supra at p. 69, n. 6. Especially in the
ease of criminal contempt, which as this Court has
said, covers ‘‘a great many different type of offenses,
ranging from disrespect to the court to acts otherwise
criminal,’ Frank v. United States, supra at p. 149, the
nature of the particular offense is of the utmost im-
portance in determining whether the alleged contemnor
has been charged with a serious offense so as to be en-
titled to trial by jury. Where, in the circumstances
of a particular case, and in light of the “‘social and
ethical judgments of the community,’’ there are ob-
jective indications that a particular contempt is a “‘seri-
ous’”’ one, the alleged contemnor is entitled to a trial
by jury notwithstanding that the final penalty imposed
does not exceed six months’ imprisonment.

24

B. The petitioner was charged with committing a serious offense
within the meaning of the trial by jury guarantee.

In the circumstances of this case and in light of the
‘*social and ethical judgments of the community,”’ the
petitioner was clearly charged with committing a seri-
ous offense within the meaning of the Sixth Amend-
ment’s guarantee of trial by jury. Indeed, if the se-
verity of the penalty imposed is the best indication of
the seriousness of the particular offense, Frank vy.
United States, supra, the petitioner certainly stood
charged with committing a serious offense when the
trial judge imposed consecutive sentences aggregating
54 months’ imprisonment, including one year on each of
two counts. The only reason that the sentence was sub-
sequently modified and the separate counts were ordered
to run concurrently was to defeat the petitioner’s claim
of entitlement to trial by jury. In his ‘‘corrected judg-
ment’’ the trial judge specifically stated that this was
why he was reducing the one year sentences to six
months each (App. 20). Likewise, the Kentucky Court
of Appeals stated that the sentences must be served con-
currently, and then held that since they would be served
concurrently, the petitioner was not entitled to a jury
trial? More significantly, by imposing the extraor-

2In so holding, the Court either disregarded or overruled sub
silento its previous holdings to the effect that whether sentences
were to run consecutively or concurrently was in the exclusive dis-
cretion of the trial judge, McBride v. Commonwealth, 432 S. W. 2d
410 (1968), and that if the judgment does not provide otherwise,
multiple sentences are construed to run consecutively. Beasley v.
Wingo, Ky., 432 S. W. 2d 413 (1968). It is also interesting to

(Footnote continued on following page)

—7~—~—— —
25

dinarily severe sentence that he did, the trial judge
necessarily “‘certified’’ that the petitioner was charged
with having committed a very serious offense. The
seriousness of the. purported offense in the eyes of the
trial judge is further evidenced by his extreme state-
ments from the bench at the time he sentenced the pe-
titioner, his refusal to admit the petitioner to bail
pending appeal or even to hold a bail hearing until
ordered to do so by the Court of Appeals, and his entry
of an invalid order prohibiting the petitioner from the
practice of law in ‘“‘his court.”’

The Court of Appeals, while holding that the pe-
titioner had only been convicted of a “‘petty”’ offense
within the meaning of the trial by. jury guarantee, said
of the allegedly contemptuous conduct that it was ‘such
as to place on trial the entire judicial system of the
Commonwealth and those judges sworn to uphold its
Constitution and laws and thereby assure defendants a
fair, orderly and speedy trial” (App. 9). It attacked
the petitioner’s character in the most opprobrious
terms, accusing him of ‘“‘embarking upon a plan or
program designed to disrupt the trial and by any means
possible cause the trial court to commit trial errors
which might form the basis of an appeal,”’ and of
creating an atmosphere in the court in which he ‘‘ would

note that while the trial judge originally argued that he had the
power to impose sentences aggregating 41 months’ imprisonment
so long as the sentence on no one count exceeded six months (Brief
for Respondent-Appellee in Taylor v. Hayes, pp. 2, 17), in re-
sponse to the arguments put forth in the Petition for Rehearing,
he stated that he had intended to limit the total sentence to six
months in the corrected judgment. (Response to Petition for Re-
hearing in Taylor v. Hayes, p. 1).

have appeared to be the star performer in the center
ring of a three-ring circus’ (App. 8). The petitioner,
of course, would most vigorously dispute these charges,
which are totally unsupported by the record, and would
contend that he did nothing more than zealously de-
fend the rights of his client charged with a capital of-
fense. But it is utterly incongruous for the Court of
Appeals in one portion of the opinion to attack the
petitioner’s character and conduct in this most op-
probious way and in another portion of the opinion to
hold that he was only charged with a ‘“‘petty’’ offense
within the meaning of the trial by jury guarantee.
The characterization of the petitioner’s conduct in this
way, coupled with the severity of the sentence origin-
ally imposed, certainly supplies the ‘‘objective criteria
reflecting the seriousness of the offense,’’ Frank v.
United States, supra, within the meaning of the trial
by jury guarantee. The petitioner was clearly charged
with ‘‘serious contempt,’’ and was therefore, entitled
to a trial before a jury on the charges.

The seriousness of an offense for purposes of en-
titlement to trial by jury may also be ‘‘observed in the
laws and practices of the community taken as a gauge
of its social and ethical judgments.’’ District of Co-
lumbia v. Clawans, supra at p. 628. It is quite clear
that in Kentucky criminal contempt is considered a
serious offense. The Kentucky legislature has indi-
cated its view in this regard by limiting the punish-
ment that can be imposed for contempt without the
intervention of a jury to a maximum fine of $30 and

—

27

imprisonment for 24 hours in the case of contempt by a
recalcitrant witness, Ky. Rev. Stat. 421.140, and in all
other cases of contempt to a maximum fine of $30 and
imprisonment for 30 hours. Ky. Rev. Stat. 436.020. In
so doing, it has “‘included within the definition of the
crime itself a judgment about the seriousness of the
offense.”” Frank v. United States, supra at p. 149. In
Arnett v. Meade, Ky., 462 S. W. 2d 940 (1971), the Ken-
tucky Court of Appeals, declared Ky. Rev. Stat. 421.140
unconstitutional under state law as an interference
with the judicial function, and in the case at bar it de-
clared Ky. Rev. Stat. 436.020 unconstitutional for the
same reason (App. 18). In Arnett it observed that:
“Some elements of our society are fomenting disre-
spect for the courts and encouraging contemptuous con-
duct. The courts are confronted with a serious threat
to the structure of our system of justice. Dollar and
time limits suitable for conditions of the previous cen-
tury are not adequate for the conditions of today,”’ 462
9. W. 2d at 948. The legislative determination that con-
tempt is a serious offense, as set forth in the above
statutes, and the invalidation of those statutes by the
Court of Appeals because it saw criminal contempt as
constituting a ‘‘serious threat to the structure of our
system of justice,’’ show that in light of the “‘laws and
practices of the community taken as a gauge of its so-
cial and ethical judgments,” District of Columbia v.
Clawans, supra, criminal contempt is considered a seri-
ous offense in Kentucky. Since the right to trial by
jury may depend on the seriousness with which a par-
ticular state regards the offense, as reflected by the

28

maximum punishment it has authorized, Dyke v. Tay-
lor Implement Manufacturing Co., supra, the right to
trial by jury should attach to alleged criminal con-
tempts committed before the Kentucky courts when a
substantial period of imprisonment is imposed as
punishment.*®

Assuming that this Court has not promulgated a
‘¢six month rule,’’ and that an offense may be regarded
as a serious one in light of other objective criteria re-
flecting the seriousness of the offense even though the
punishment actually imposed does not exceed six
months, the petitioner was clearly charged with com-
mitting a serious offense within the meaning of the
trial by jury guarantee.

Even if this Court were to adopt a “‘six month rule’’
and ignore other objective criteria reflecting the seri-
ousness of the offense so long as the sentence imposed
did not exceed six months, the entitlement to a jury
trial should attach at the time the sentence is originally
imposed, and the right to a jury trial should not be able

With the invalidation of the statutes in question, there is no
right to a trial by jury in criminal contempt cases in Kentucky
unless the punishment imposed exceeds six months. Local No. 1667,
United Auto Workers v. Kawneer Co., Inc., supra. In all other
criminal cases tried before the Circuit Court, whether in the ex-
ercise of its original jurisdiction, or on de novo review of the judg-
ment of an inferior court, see Colten v. Kentucky, 407 U. S. 104
(1972), there is the right to trial by jury irrespective of the
maximum penalty that can be imposed. Ky. Const. § 11. The
right to trial by jury is also generally provided for by statute in
the inferior courts. Colten v. Kentucky, supra, at 113. Since
Criminal contempt is like other crimes insofar as the right to trial
by jury is concerned, Bloom v. Illinois, 391 U. 8. 194, 210 (1968),
the disparate treatment in Kentucky of defendants charged with
criminal contempt with respect to the right to trial by jury under
state law raises serious equal protection questions. C.f. Baxstrom
v. Herold, 383 U. 8. 107 (1966).

29

to be defeated, as it was here, by subsequent modifica-
tion of the sentence on the part of the trial judge or
the reviewing court to bring it within a ‘“‘six month
rule.’* The imposition of sentences aggregating 54
months’ imprisonment, including one year on each of
two counts, showed by its severity, Frank v. United
States, supra, that the petitioner was charged with
committing a serious offense within the meaning of the
trial by jury guarantee, and no subsequent modifica-
tion of the sentence (particularly when coupled with a
characterization of the petitioner’s conduct in the most
opprobrious terms possible) can alter this ‘‘objective
indication.”’

C. This Court should now consider whether criminal contempt
is a serious offense within the meaning of the trial by jury
guarantee regardless of the penalty involved.

It is respectfully submitted that this Court should
now reconsider its view to the effect that, ‘‘Criminal
contempt is not a crime of the sort that requires the
right to a jury trial regardless of the penalty involved,”’
Bloom v. Illinois, 391 U. S. 194 (1968), and that it
should hold that criminal contempt is indeed a serious
offense within the meaning of the Sixth Amendment’s

4Since the Kentucky Court of Appeals requires that separate
sentences for contempt be aggregated for purposes of determining
entitlement to a jury trial, the ease at bar does not present directly
the question presented in Codispoti v. Pennsylvania, No. 73-5615,
this Term, as to whether separate sentences must be aggregated
for purposes of determining Sixth Amendment entitlement to a
jury trial. However, the abuses that can result from permitting
trial judges to ‘‘parcel out’’ sentences for separate counts of con-
tempt, as discussed in United States v. Seale, 461 F. 2d 345, 353-356
(7th Cir., 1972), are clearly illustrated here.

30

trial by jury guarantee. The justification for holding
that all contempts are-not serious offenses has been
that, ‘‘A person may be found in contempt of court for
a great many different types of offenses, ranging from
disrespect for the court to acts otherwise criminal.”
Frank v. United States, 395 U.S. 147, 149 (1969). How-
ever, this justification must be reevaluated in light of
present views as to what conduct may constitutionally
be punishable as criminal contempt on the ground that
it has ‘‘blocked the trial judge in the performance of
his judicial duty.’”? In re McConnell, 370 U. S. 230
(1962). It is now unmistakably clear that mere dis-
respect toward the person of the trial judge cannot be
punishable as criminal contempt and that improper
statements may not be treated as contemptuous unless
they have actually disrupted the court proceedings. In
re Little, 404 U. S. 553 (1972). In a number of cases
conduct perceived by the trial judge as contemptuous
has been held insufficient to constitute the offense when
reviewed by appellate courts or by another ‘‘less in-
volved’’ judge. See e.g., United States v. Oliver, 470
F. 2d 10 (7th Cir., 1972); In re Dellinger, 461 F. 24
389 (7th Cir., 1972) ; In re Brown, 454 F. 2d 999 (D.C.
Cir., 1971); In re McClure, 442 F. 2d 836 (7th Cir.,
1971); United States v. Meyer, 346 F. Supp. 973
(D.D.C., 1972). In light of these developments, con-
duct that can be made punishable as criminal contempt
will usually be conduct of a ‘‘serious’’ nature, as that
term is commonly understood, and because such con-
duct must have the effect of actually interfering with
the administration of justice, it is likely to be regarded

31

as contrary to the ‘‘social and ethical judgments of the
community,’”? District of Columbia v. Clawans, 300
U. 8. 617, 628 (1937), in a society in which the fair and
orderly administration of justice is held in high regard.
The seriousness of a charge of criminal contempt
against an attorney is magnified because of the collat-
eral consequences, such as disbarment or other disci-
pline, that may result from a contempt conviction. C.f.
Sibron v. New York, 392 U. S. 41 (1968).° Today, it
is very unlikely that a person may constitutionally be
convicted of criminal contempt except for engaging in
conduct which in most situations would be regarded as
extremely serious by the society as a whole. For this
reason, it is submitted that regardless of the penalty
that is authorized or imposed, a person charged with
criminal contempt is charged with a serious offense
within the meaning of the Sixth Amendment’s trial by
jury guarantee, and that in the case of criminal con-
tempt it is the nature of the offense rather than the
penalty that should be determinative of the right to a
jury trial. C.f. District of Columbia v. Colts, 282 U.S.
63 (1930).

Another reason why a prosecution for criminal con-
tempt should entitle the alleged contemnor to a jury

5In the recent case of Edmunds v. Chang, I ciininn
Crim. No. 73-3926, U. S. Dist. Ct., D. Haw., Nov. 2, 1973, the
Court, in holding that an attorney convicted of contempt and
sentenced to pay a $25 fine, could challenge the validity of his
conviction in an habeas corpus action, observed that: ‘‘An at-
torney’s reputation is his principal professional asset ; the success
of his efforts often depends on a delicate balance of harmony with
the courts. A judgment of criminal contempt is something far
more than a mere ‘moral restraint’ to one who occupies the status
of an officer of the court.’’ (Slip opinion, p. 5).

trial is that the nature of the offense necessarily in-
volves a confrontation between the accused and the
court. By denying the right to a jury trial in any case
of criminal contempt, the courts are, in effect, sitting
in judgment on their own actions. Justice “‘must
satisfy the appearance of justice, “Offutt v. United
States, 348 U. S. 11, 14 (1954), and the appearance of
justice is not satisfied when judges pass on charges of
‘contempt of court.”” This principle was seemingly
recognized in Bloom v. Illinois, 391 U. 8S. 194, 202
(1968), where this Court observed :

‘Indeed, in contempt cases an even more eompell-
ing argument can be made for providing a right
to jury trial as a protection against the arbitrary
exercise of official power. Contemptuous conduct,
though a public wrong, often strikes at the most
vulnerable and human qualities of a judge’s tem-
perament. Even when the contempt is not a direct
insult to the court or the judge, it frequently rep-
resents a rejection of judicial authority, or an in-
terference with the judicial process or with the
duties of officers of the court.”

If the Sixth Amendment’s guarantee of trial by jury
truly does reflect a ‘‘reluctance to entrust plenary
powers over the life and liberty of the citizen to one
judge or to a group of judges,” Duncan v. Louisiana,
391 U. S. 145, 156 (1968), there is no case more ap-
propriate for the invocation of that guarantee than a
prosecution for criminal contempt. This is partic-
ularly so, singe it is now recognized that submitting
contempt cases to juries will not ‘handicap the effec-

—

tive functioning of the courts.” Bloom v. Illinois,
supra, at p. 209. The constitutional right of trial by
jury, it is submitted, should extend to all cases of crim-
inal contempt.

D. This Court should now also consider whether an accused is
charged with a serious offense within the meaning of the
trial by jury guarantee whenever he faces a possible sen-
tence of imprisonment. ;

It is respectfully submitted that this Court should
now also reconsider the question of. whether any offense
punishable by a period of imprisonment is beyond the
pale of the trial by jury guarantee. In Baldwin v. New
York, 399 U. S. 66 (1970), the Court held that an
offense could not be considered petty when the author-
ized punishment exceeded six months, but it also in-
timated there and has held in cases such as Cheff v.
Schnackenberg, 384 U. 8. 373 (1966), that a person
could be imprisoned for up to six months without being
entitled to’a jury trial. In Cheff the Court relied
heavily on the statutory definition of a “‘petty offense”’
contained in 18 U.S.C. § 1. However, in Argersinger Vv.
Hamlin, 407 U. S. 26 (1972), the Court rejected such
a distinction with respect to the right to counsel and
specifically held that the right to counsel attached when-
ever the accused faced the possibility of any period of
imprisonment.

In Argersinger, the Court distinguished the right to
trial by jury from the right to the assistance of counsel
only on the ground that there was “‘historical support”’
for limiting the right to trial by jury to ‘‘serious cases.”’

34

Supra at p. 30. It is respectfully submitted that the
possibilty of imprisonment for any period of time
makes the offense a serious one within the meaning of
the trial by jury guarantee. As the Court observed in
Baldwin v. New York, supra at p. 73, ‘‘ Indeed, the
prospect of imprisonment for however short a time
will seldom be viewed by the accused as a trivial or
‘petty’ matter and may well result in quite serious
repercussions affecting his career and his reputation.”
In Baldwin the Court suggested that the ‘onerous
disadvantages’’ resulting from imprisonment had to be
weighed against the benefits that resulted from ‘‘speedy
and inexpensive non-jury adjudications’? when the
right to trial by jury was claimed in prosecutions carry-
ing no more than a six month sentence. 399 U.S. at 73.
It is respectfully submitted that neither the ‘‘different
geneology’’ of the right to trial by jury nor the ‘‘ balance
of convenience’”’ test justifies denial of the right to trial
by jury when an accused faces the possibility of im-
prisonment for any period of time. Just as the assist-
ance of counsel may be no less necessary for a fair trial
in a prosecution where the penalty authorized does
not exceed six months, Argersinger v. Hamlin, supra
at p. 33, the nature of the right to trial by jury as
fundamental to our system of justice, Duncan v.
Louisiana, 391 U. 8S. 145, 153-157 (1968), does not
differ depending on the extent of the possible im-
prisonment that is involved. This Court should now
hold, as Mr. Justice Black, joined by Mr. Justice
Douglas, contended in Frank v. United States, 395 U.S.
147, 159-160 (1969), that when the government can

35

impose a penalty of imprisonment for any period of
time, it has not charged a person with a petty offense,
and that person is entitled to be tried by a jury of his
peers before he can be sent to prison.

E. In Summary, the Petitioner clearly stood charged with a seri-
ous offense, entitling him to trial by jury.

The petitioner asks this Court to hold that since he
faced the possibility of imprisonment for contempt, he
was charged with a serious offense within the meaning
of the trial by jury guarantee. In this regard, it is
both the nature of the offense and the fact that he faced
the possibility of imprisonment that, he contends, en-
titles him to this right. He further contends that even
if the guarantee of trial by jury does not extend to all
cases where a defendant faces imprisonment or to all
charges of criminal contempt, in the circumstances of
this case, and in light of the ‘‘social and ethical judg-
ments of the community,’’ he was charged with a
serious offense within the meaning of the trial by jury
guarantee, and that the denial of that right to him was
violative of the Sixth and Fourteenth Amendments.

36

0.

The Petitioner Was Deprived of Due Process of Law When
the Trial Judge Proceeded Summarily to Find Him
Guilty of Contempt and to Impose Punishment.

A. Due process requires that an alleged contemnor be given no-

tice of the charge and the opportunity to be heard in defense
or mitigation before he is finally adjudged guilty and sentence

is imposed notwithstanding that the alleged contempts have
been committed in the presence of the trial judge.

If reasonable notice of a charge and the opportunity
to be heard in defense are ‘‘basic to our system of
jurisprudence,’’ In re Oliver, 333 U. 8. 257, 273 (1948),
it is difficult to see why they are not equally basic in
= proceedings where a trial judge acts summarily to
@ punish for contempt. While the trial judge may have
| witnessed the conduct giving rise to the charge, he is
not infallible and hopefully is not impervious to being
persuaded that he perceived the facts inaccurately.
More importantly, he may be mistaken in his view that
@the conduct constituted criminal contempt. If the al-
#leged contemnor is given notice of the precise charge
and an opportunity to be heard, he may succeed in
persuading the trial judge that the conduct for which
he was cited was not contemptuous, because it did not
}*‘block the trial judge in the performance of his judicial
duty,’”’ In re McConnell, 370 U. S. 230 (1962), or did
not in any way disrupt the court proceedings. In re
Little, 404 U. S. 553 (1972). And when the basis for
the contempt charge is alleged ‘‘disrespect,’’ the trial
judge may on reflection realize that he has confused
‘‘offense to his sensibilities with obstruction to the

37

administration of justice.’’ Brown v. United States,
356 U. S. 148, 153 (1958). A hearing is also necessary
to determine if a crucial element of the offense, inten-
tion to obstruct, see e.g., United States v. Seale, 461
F. 2d 345, 367-369 (7th Cir., 1972), was present, a
principle that this Court has clearly recognized in cases
where the alleged contemnor’s state of mind or mental
condition was specifically put in issue. Panico v.
United States, 375 U. S. 29 (1963); Harris v. United
States, 382 U. S. 165 (1965). Finally, if for no other
reason, a hearing is necessary so that the contemnor
may plead matters in mitigation, of which the trial
judge may have been unaware. It must be assumed
that the trial judge will change his mind and reconsider
his ruling if persuaded that he acted erroneously. See
the discussion in Groppi v. Leslie, 404 U. S. 496, 506,
n. 11 (1972); Levine v. United States, 362 U. 8. 610,
613-614 (1960) ; Brown v. United States, 359 U. S. 41,
52 (1959).

The importance of notice and the right to be heard
when the trial judge is proceeding summarily to punish
for contempt is underscored by the numerous decisions
of this Court holding that persons may not be deprived
of property rights or governmental benefits in the
absence of notice and hearing. See e.g., Fuentes v.
Shevin, 407 U. S. 65 (1972); Goldberg v. Kelly, 397
U.S. 254 (1970) ; Sniadach v. Family Finance Corpora-
tion, 395 U. 8. 337 (1969). Surely, a person charged
with a criminal offense is entitled to the same guar-
antees of due process, and since it cannot be assumed
that judges are or can be permitted to be impervious to

ad

38

argument or explanation, it is completely immaterial
that the judge himself witnessed the acts giving rise to
the charge. Fundamental principles of due process
prohibit the conviction of a person for a criminal
offense where that person has not been given notice of
the charge against him and the opportunity to be heard
in defense or mitigation.

As emphasized in the Petition for Certiorari (pp.
§ 15-19), this Court has not heretofore been specifically
® presented with the question of whether due process re-
quires that an alleged contemnor must be given notice
of the charge against him and an opportunity to be
heard before he is finally adjudged guilty of the offense
§ and punishment is imposed. Nor does Federal Rule of
Criminal Procedure 42(a) specifically provide for
% notice and the opportunity to be heard when the judge
is proceeding summarily to punish for contempt.
} Nonetheless, as this Court has pointed out, where the
§ trial judge acts summarily to punish for alleged con-
¥ tempts committed in his presence, ‘‘[t]he contemnor
= has normally been given an opportunity to speak in
his own behalf in the nature of a right of allocution.”’
5 Groppi v. Leslie, supra at p. 504. This right, it is sub-
mitted, goes to the essence of due process of law and is
‘4 constitutionally required rather than being, as_ the
J respondent here has argued, ‘“‘a matter of grace.”’
| The necessity of notice and an opportunity to be
heard was recognized by the Advisory Committee on
} the Judge’s Function of the American Bar Association
Project on Standard for Criminal Justice. The Ad-
vance Report of the Committee states as follows:

we

39

“F'.4 Notice of charges and opportunity to be
heard —

Before imposing any punishment for criminal
contempt, the judge should give the offender notice
of the charges and at least a summary opportunity
to adduce evidence or argument relevant to guilt or
punishment.

Commentary

Although there is authority that in-court con-
tempts can be punished without notice of charges
or an opportunity to be heard, Ex parte Terry, 128
U. S. 289 (1888), such a procedure has little to
commend it, is inconsistent with the basic notions
of fairness and is likely to bring disrespect upon
the court. Accordingly, notice and at least a brief
opportunity to be heard should be afforded as a
matter of course. Nothing in this standard, how-
ever, implies that a plenary trial of contempt
charges is required.’ Advisory Committee on the
Judge’s Function of the American Bar Associa-
tion Project on Standards for Criminal Justice,
The Judge’s Role in Dealing with Trial Disrup-
tions, p. 20 (1971).

The language in Terry ‘‘reflects the spirit of an ear-
lier time, when courts were less sensitive to the com-
pelling nature of procedural due process guarantees.’’
Weiss v. Burr, 484 F. 2d 973, 986, n. 25 (9th Cir. 1973).
In this day and age it is constitutionally unthinkable
that a person could be sent to prison without being

SAssuming that this Court continues to uphold the power of
judges to punish summarily for contempt, it necessarily follows
that the nature of the hearing afforded in such proceedings will
differ from the full-scale hearing that is required when the court
is not proceeding summarily. See Johnson v. Mississippi, 403 U. S.
212 (1971) ; Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure 42(b).

40

given notice of the charge against him and the oppor- _
‘ tunity to be heard in his own defense.
In the case at bar the trial judge did not cite and
simultaneously punish the petitioner for contempt in
order to restore courtroom decorum or the like, but
cited him for particular acts that were allegedly con-
temptuous and waited until the end of the trial to im-
pose punishment. In the recent case of Weiss v. Burr,
supra, the question of an alleged contemnor’s right to
notice and an oportunity to be heard when the trial
judge was proceeding summarily was specifically
raised, and the Court held that this right was consti-
tutionally required where, as here, the alleged con-
temnor was not cited and simultaneously punished for
the purpose of restoring courtroom decorum or pro-
tecting the safey of court officials. It noted that this
Court had discussed the precise question only in
Groppi v. Leslie, supra, and in Ex parte Terry, supra,
and concluded that the rationale of Groppi required
recognition of the right to notice and an opportunity
to be heard as a constitutional right. It left open the
question of whether this right was constitutionally re-
quired where simultaneous citation and punishment
were necessary to restore decorm or protect safety.
Although in the case at bar it is only necessary for
+ this Court to hold that there is the right to notice and
4 an opportunity to be heard when the trial judge does
not simultaneously cite and punish in order to restore
decorum or protect safety, the Court should make it
clear that this right exists in all cases where the trial
judge is proceeding summarily. Regardless of the time

se ee

41

at which the trial judge acts or his motivation for do-
ing so, the fact remains that he is still finding a person
guilty of a criminal offense and imposing punishment,
and just as no exception to the right of trial by jury
is made for contempts arising out of courtroom dis-
ruption, Bloom v. Iinois, 391 U. 8. 194, 210 (1968),
no exception to the right of notice and an opportunity
to be heard should be made for such contempts either.

The right for which the petitioner is contending
should be construed to encompass a statement of the
precise charge and the facts giving rise to that charge,
the opportunity to be heard in defense or mitigation,
including, where necessary, the right to present extrin-
sie evidence, a ruling on guilt or innocence, and the
imposition of punishment if the contemnor is found
guilty. Assuming that the power of the trial judge to
punish summarily for contempt can be exercised either
at the time the allegedly contemptuous acts occurred or
after the conclusion of the trial, Sacher v. United
States 343 U. S. 1 (1952), the right to notice and an
opportunity to be heard likewise should be given at
either time. “This Court should squarely hold that this
right applies to all summary proceedings for criminal
contempt, and that the failure to afford it is violative
of due process of law.

42

B. The petitioner was not afforded this right with respect to any
of the charges of which he was found guilty.

At no time was the petitioner properly informed
of the charges against him or given any meaninfgul
opportunity to respond to them. More precisely, the
trial judge did not hold a hearing on any of the
charges, in the sense of separating the contempt charge
from the other matters involved in the"trial, stating
the precise charge and the facts giving rise to that
charge, indicating that he was prepared to listen ob-
jectively to arguments in defense or mitigation, and
so doing, and ruling on the petitioner’s guilt or inno-
cence. When the petitioner did have a chance to re-
spond, as he did on counts 2 and 3, the response was
essentially one for the record, and the trial judge made
it clear that his mind was made up about the petition-
er’s guilt as soon as he cited the petitioner for con-
tempt.’ Due process, it is submitted, requires that
there be some occasion when the trial judge thinks
about what he is doing and decides whether the person
he has cited was really guilty of criminal contempt.

"The first citation for contempt occurred during the voire
dire examination by the petitioner. The trial judge informed the
petitioner that he was in contempt for ‘‘asking the same question,”’
and stated that he was going to make his decision as to punish-
ment at the end of the trial. (App. 30). He then ordered "the at-
torneys to file written questions for the voire dire, and the peti-
tioner protested against his ruling at the same time as he was
trying to show that he had not committed a criminal contempt.
(App. 30-37). During the course of this discussion he did ask the
trial judge whether the contempt citation stood (App. 36), and
the trial judge subsequently rescinded the citation. (App. 37).
However, he included it and imposed a 30 day sentence at the end

of the trial, but subsequently realized his mistake and corrected it.
(App. 26).

—

43

On count 2 the trial judge called the attorneys into
chambers and stated that he was holding the petitioner
in contempt for ‘“‘completely ignoring the Court’s rul-
ing’’ with respect to evidence concerning Narvel Tins-
ley’s escape from custody and for “‘the antics he’s
going through’’ (App. 42). However, when he speci-
fied the charge some three months later in his ‘‘cor-
rected judgment,” there was no reference to the sup-
posed ‘‘antics.”” The petitioner was permitted to
respond for the record, but the main thrust of the
discussion concerned the admissibility of the evidence
regarding the escape, and the petitioner continued to
try to persuade the judge that the evidence was ad-
missible. In the process both the petitioner and coun-
sel for William M. Tinsley renewed earlier motions to
sever, which were overruled (App. 43-53). At various
times during the discussion, the petitioner did make
reference to the contempt charge (App. 49-53), but his

- primary concern, necessarily, was to protect the inter-
ests of his client, and the response to the contempt
charge (which was only for the record) was lost in the
shuffle.

_ The “hearing” on count 3 consisted of the trial
judge’s saying: ‘The court is holding Mr. Taylor in
contempt for the second time during this trial for
smarting off to the Court in Open Court. That’s all
I’ve got to say’”’ (App. 56). The petitioner was given
permission to respond for the record and did so (App.

56-59), and then the trial judge said that he would

respond for the record. His response consisted of

44

criticizing the petitioner for leaving the courthouse as
soon as the trial was over for the day (App. 59-60).
The discussion then drifted into the matter of the pe-
titioner’s leaving the courthouse, returned to the tone
of voice the petitioner had been using, and ended up
with the trial judge accusing the petitioner of not fol-
lowing his orders (App. 60-61). The trial judge then
questioned whether the petitioner was properly repre-
senting his client and accused him of not knowing how
to show proper respect to the court (App. 61-62). An-
other discussion followed, during which the prosecutor
stated that in his opinion the petitioner was trying the
case in the best interest of his client, prompting the
trial judge to walk out of the room and to order the
reporter to record that fact (App. 63). Matters con-
eluded with Narvel Tinsley being called in and exam-
ined with respect to his representation by the peti-
tioner (App. 65-68).

There was no specification of the charge whatsoever
with respect to count 4. The trial judge simply called
the attorneys into chambers and stated, ‘‘It’s the order
of the Court again that Mr. Taylor is in contempt of
Court’? (App. 69). When he specified this charge
three months later, it was that the petitioner had been
“most disrespectful to the court and refused to take
his seat at counsel table as ordered’? (App. 25). After
the judge had informed the petitioner that he was in
contempt, there was a discussion about admissibility
of evidence and the procedure for making objections
(App. 70-79). There was no reference at all to the

—

45

contempt charge, which at this point had not been

There was likewise no specification of the charge
with respect to count 5, and this time when the judge
summoned the attorneys into chambers, he did not say
that this was because the petitioner was in contempt.
He ruled that the witness whom the petitioner had
been examining would not be permitted to testify fur-
ther and then ordered the petitioner to submit ‘‘within
five minutes”’ (later changed to ten and then to fifteen
minutes) a list of all witnesses that he would be calling
in the trial. It was only after this that he said to the
petitioner, ‘‘and you are also in contempt of court for
your actions in the Court just previous to that’”’ (App.
97). He did not specify what those actions were. When
the petitioner asked whether he could speak for the
record, the trial judge said that he had ten minutes to
submit the witness list and that, ‘‘You can speak to
the record all you want to, sir’? (App. 97). The peti-
tioner then challenged the judge’s order that he pro-
duce a list of witnesses within ten minutes, and when
during the course of his argument he said that, ‘‘I
have, I don’t know, five months of my life wrapped
up in this case, and maybe more than that,’’ the trial
judge interrupted him and acidly observed, ‘‘Before
it’s over, you might have a lot more than that”’ (App.
98). Various other events occurred during this time
in chambers, but there was no discussion whatsoever
about the alleged contempt.

There were no conferences in chambers following
the citation of the other four contempts. On count 6

the trial judge simply informed the petitioner that he '
was in contempt, and when the petitioner asked to re-
spond for the record, the trial judge said he could do
so at the next recess (App. 107). However, this op-
portunity did not occur. On count 7 the trial judge
permitted the petitioner to make a response for the
record, but then directed the court reporter not to put
the response in the record, saying: ‘‘I’m not going
to even—don’t even put this in the record. Mr. Taylor
is not running this Court. I am’ (App. 109). He
specifically refused to permit the petitioner to make a
response for the record on count 8 (App. 113). On
count 9 he again simply informed the petitioner that
he was in contempt (App. 119).

At the end of the trial, after the jury had found
both defendants guilty and imposed the death penalty,
but while the jury was still in the box, the trial judge
summoned the petitioner before the bench, attacked
his integrity and professional qualifications, told the
petitioner that, ‘‘You’re not responding to me on any-
thing,’’ threatened to gag him and impose additional
contempts if he persisted in trying to speak, and reeled
off sentences on nine counts of contempt,* ending up
by directing peace officers to ‘‘take him away.’’ Even
in Sacher v. United States, 343 U. 8. 1 (1952), the con-
_) temnors were given an opportunity to speak in their
defense when the trial judge imposed sentence at the
end of the trial, but this modicum of due process was
) denied to the petitioner here.
®He included the first count, forgetting that he had changed
) this to a warning. He corrected this error in the ‘‘corrected
judgment.’’ (App. 26).

~7~—~——

47

If there is any right to notice of the charges and
to be heard in defense or mitigation before a person
is adjudged guilty of criminal contempt and punish-
ment is imposed, that right was clearly denied to the
petitioner. If a person charged with a minor offense
were treated in the manner that the petitioner was
treated here, there would be no doubt but that there
had been a flagrant denial of due process of law. What
happened here must truly “shock the judicial con-
science,” Rochin v. California, 342 U. 8. 165 (1952),
and demonstrates most clearly why due process re-
quires at a minimum that an alleged contemnor be
given notice of the charges and the opportunity to be
heard in his defense.

C. This Court should now consider whether summary punish-
ment for contempt itself is violative of due process of law.

If it is recognized that due process requires that
an alleged contemnor be given notice of the charges
and the opportunity to be heard notwithstanding that
the alleged contempts were committed in the presence
of the trial judge, it is but a short step to holding that
there can be no justification at all for a judge proceed-
ing summarily to convict and punish a person for
criminal contempt, and this Court may now wish to
consider whether summary punishment for contempt
itself is violative of due process of law. This Court
has long recognized that the exercise of the summary
contempt power is “arbitrary in its nature and liable
to abuse.” Ea parte Terry, 128 U. 8. 289, 313 (1888).

As Mr. Justice Black has stated, ‘“‘The power of a
judge to inflict punishment for criminal contempt by
means of a summary proceeding stands as an anomaly
in the law.”” Green v. United States, 356 U. 8. 165, 193
(1958) (Black, J., dissenting). It is only in such a
proceeding that the otherwise inconsistent functions
of the judicial process are combined in a single indi-
vidual who is necessarily involved in the events lead-

ing up to the charge. Again, to quote Mr. Justice
Black:

**When the responsibilities of lawmaker, prose-
eutor, judge, jury and disciplinarian are thrust
upon a judge he is obviously incapable of holding
the scales of justice perfectly fair and true and re-
flecting impartially on the guilt or innocence of
the accused. He truly becomes the judge of his
own cause. The defendant charged with criminal
contempt is thus denied what I had always thought
to be an indispensable element of due process of
law—an objective, scrupulously impartial tribunal
to determine whether he is guilty or innocent of
the charges filed against him. . . . To this end
no man can be a judge in his case and no man is
permitted to try cases where he has an interest in
the outcome. . . . Fair trials are too important
a part of our free society to let prosecuting judges
be trial judges of the charges they prefer.’’ Green
v. United States, supra at p. 199.

If due process requires that the officer presiding over
a proceeding which may result in loss of liberty must
be ‘neutral and detached,’’ Ward v. Village of Mon-
roeville, 409 U.S. 57, 62 (1972), not only is summary

—

49

for contempt an anomaly, but it is con-
trary to the fundamental premises upon which the con-
cept of due process of law is based. It is most clearly
a situation ‘‘in which an official perforce oecupies two
practically and seriously inconsistent positions, one
partisan and the other judicial, [and] necessarily in-
volves a lack of due process of law in the trial of de-
fendants charged with crimes before him.” Tumey v.
Ohio, 273 U. S. 510, 534 (1927).

In Bloom v. Illinois, 391 U. S. 194, 201 (1968), this
Court recognized that criminal contempt ‘‘is a crime
in the ordinary sense,’’ and again noted that it had
“long recognized the potential for abuse in exercising
the summary power to imprison for contempt.’’. It is
precisely because the summary contempt power is sub-
ject to such potential abuse that its exercise has been
strictly limited to matters occurring within the pres-
ence of the judge. See e.g., Johnson v. Mississippi,
403 U.S. 212 (1971). It may also not be exercised when
there is the danger that the judge’s objectivity can be
ealled into question. See e.g., Mayberry v. Pennsyl-
vania, 400 U. S. 455 (1971). Appellate review of the

‘trial judge’s findings is considered extremely impor-
tant, as illustrated by strictness of the certification re-
quirements of Federal Rule of Criminal Procedure
42(a). See e.g., Tauber v. Gordon, 350 F. 2d 943 (3rd
Cir., 1965) ; United States v. Marshall, 451 F. 2d 372
(9th Cir., 1971).° The potential for abuse and the con-

*The fact that appellate review of contempt convictions is
available does not vitiate the due process violation inherent in the
exercise of the summary contempt power, since there is a right to
due process ‘‘in the first instance.’’ Ward v. Village off Monroe-
ville, supra at p. 62.

50

stant necessity for imposing safeguards against such
abuse raise serious questions as to the utility of retain-
ing the summary contempt power.

That the potential for abuse has become a reality
is demonstrated empirically by the numerous reversals
of summary contempt convictions by appellate courts.
In a study conducted by the Special Committee on
Courtroom Conduct of the Association of the Bar of .
the City of New York, ail published cases of sum-
mary contempt from 1960 to 1972 were analyzed.
This analysis showed that of the seventy-two cases
where the trial judge imposed summary punish-
ment, forty (more than 60%) were later reversed by
an appellate court. Twenty-three of the reversals
were on the merits. Special Committee on Courtroom
Conduct of the Association of the Bar of the City of
New York, Disorder in the Court, 233-234 (1973)
[hereinafter cited as Disorder in the Court]. If this
Court holds, as it should, that the due process require-
ments of notice and an opportunity to be heard apply
to summary contempt proceedings, it should consider
further whether due process also requires that the sum-
mary contempt power itself be given a well-deserved
burial.

Two justifications have been traditionally set forth
for upholding the exercise of the summary contempt
power. The first was that of ‘“‘preserving order’’—the
exercise of the power was necessary to preserve order
in the courtroom—and the second was that of ‘‘judi-
cial economy’’—since the trial judge witnessed the con-
tumacious conduct, there was no utility in having a

—

51

hearing before another judge. See the discussion in
Cooke v. United States, 267 U. S. 517, 534-539 (1924).
The first justification was severely undercut by this
Court’s decision in Sacher v. United States, 343 U. 8.
1 (1952), where it was held that the trial judge could
proceed summarily even though he waited until the
trial was at an end to cite and punish for contempt.
The ‘‘judicial economy”’ justification is likewise very
questionable, since, as pointed out previously, the judge
before whom the alleged contempt was committed, even
if not disqualified by lack of impartiality, may still be
mistaken as to the actual facts and as to whether the
conduct of the alleged contemnor amounted to criminal
contempt. The fallacy of the ‘‘judicial economy”’ jus-
tification is illustrated by the reversal pattern referred
to above, and by cases in which on remand there was
trial before another judge, and conduct found contemp-
tuous by the judge in whose presence it was committed
was found by the other judge not to be contemptuous
at all. See e.g., United States v. Meyer, 346 F. Supp.
973 (D.D.C. 1972). Moreover, again to quote from Mr.
Justice Black’s dissent in Green v. United States,
supra at p. 216:

‘“‘Tt is undoubtedly true that a judge can dispose
of charges of criminal contempt faster and cheaper
than a jury [or in a trial before another judge].
But such trifling economies as may result) have
not generally been thought sufficient for abandon-
ing our great constitutional safeguards aimed at
protecting freedom and other basic human rights
of incaleulable value. Cheap, easy convictions

52

were not the primary concern of those who adopted
the Constitution and the -Bill of Rights. Every
procedural safeguard they established purposely
made it more difficult for the Government to con-
vict those it accused of crimes. On their scale of
values justice occupied at least as high a position
as economy.”’

Considerations of ‘‘judicial economy”’ do not justify
a departure from those fundamental principles of pro-
cedural fairness that are reflected in the concept of
due process of law.

If the ‘‘judicial economy”’ justification is found
wanting, it is necessary to fall back on the ‘‘preserv-
ing order’’ justification. This justification is neces-
sarily inapplicable where, as here, the trial judge waits
until after the trial to impose punishment. At a min-
imum this Court should hold that due process prohibits
the exercise of the summary contempt power after the
trial has terminated and in any case where such exer-
cise is not shown to have been necessary for the purpose
of preserving order in the courtroom. The principle
that the summary contempt power may constitutionally
only be exercised where necessary to preserve order and
prevent disruption was recognized in In re Oliver, 333
U. S. 257. (1948), where this Court held violative of due
process the summary contempt conviction of a witness
for allegedly testifying falsely and evasively before a
cireuit judge who was conducting a ‘‘one-man grand
jury”’ investigation. In response to the argument that
summary punishment was proper because the contempt

53

was committed in the presence of the judge, this Court
stated :

‘‘Tt is true that courts have long exercised a
power summarily to punish certain conduct com-
mitted in open court without notice, testimony or
hearing. Ex parte Terry, 128 U. 8. 289, was such
acase. . . . This Court reached its conclusion
because it believed that a court’s business could
not be conducted unless it could suppress disturb-
ances in the courtroom by immediate punishment.
However, this Court recognized that such depar-
ture from the accepted standards of due process
was capable of grave abuses, and for that reason
gave no encouragement to its expansion beyond
the suppression and punishment of the court-dis-
rupting misconduct which alone justified its exer-
cise.”’ 333 U.S. at 274.

The Court also referred to the principle that the au-
thority to punish for contempt was limited to ‘‘the least
possible power adequate to the end proposed.’’ Ander-
son v. Dunn, 19 U. S. (6 Wheat.) 204 (1821). As one
commentator has noted of the decision: ‘“‘The Court
recognized that this contempt was in a sense ‘direct’
because committed in the presence of the judge. It
pointed out, however, that the need for summary pun-
ishment was not present here as it would be in the case
of a heckler in court. In this situation, where the need
for immediate punishment was absent, the Court
thought that a full adversary hearing was a require-
ment of due process.’’ Dobbs, Contempt of Court: A
Survey, 56 Corn. L. Rev. 183, 230 (1971).

54

It is true that in Sacher v. United States, 343 U. §.
1 (1952), this Court upheld the propriety of the trial
judge’s waiting until the end of the trial to punish for
contempt, but in Sacher the constitutional issue was
not presented, since the grant of certiorari was limited
solely to the question of whether the trial judge could
proceed in this manner under Federal Rule of Crim-
inal Procedure 42(a), supra at p. 5, and there was no
discussion of the constitutional issue in the opinion.
Under the principles recognized in Oliver, the exercise
of the summary contempt power after the trial or
where otherwise not necessary to prevent immediate
courtroom disruption is violative of due process of
law, and insofar as Rule 42(a) may be construed as
permitting such exercise, it should be declared uncon-
stitutional.

The petitioner would go further, however, and con-
tend that the exercise of summary contempt power
cannot be justified even where the alleged contemnor is
cited and punished immediately in order to prevent
alleged courtroom disruption. The denial of due
process inherent in the combination of inconsistent
functions in the trial judge is the same irrespective of
the justification that is advanced for it or the time at
which it occurs. More significantly, the summary con-
tempt power simply is not necessary to prevent court-
room disruption. The judge can preserve order by
means other than the use of the summary contempt
power, and there is no reason to believe that removal
of this power will have any effect whatsoever on the
‘‘orderly processes of justice.’’

55

In the first place it is now quite clear that there is no
serious quantitative problem of disruption in American
courts. See Disorder in the Court, pp. 6-9. What little
disruption has occurred has been given extensive pub-
licity far out of proportion to its incidence. Disruption
by lawyers has been shown to be even more miniscule.
Disorder in the Court, pp. 131-132. It may also be
noted that the focal point of the concern over court-
room disruption, the widely-publicized ‘‘Chicago 7”’
trial, now can be viewed in retrospect as a true aberra-
tion, and that the disruption that occurred there was
due in no small part to the fact that the trial was
presided over by a judge whose ‘“deprecatory and
antagonistic attitude toward the defense’’ was so ex-
treme as to require a reversal of the convictions apart
from the numerous other trial errors that he committed,
United States v. Dellinger, 472 F. 2d 340 (7th Cir.,
1972)."° Indeed, there is substantial evidence to the
effect that the prime determinant of courtroom dis-
ruption will be the actions, positive and negative, of the

1When the contempt charges arising out of that case were
tried before another judge, Hon. Edward T. Gignoux, sitting by
designation, he found the defendants not guilty of all but 13 of the
52 remanded charges. As to those charges, he found that all but
two were in response to ‘‘peremptory action of the judge’’ and
concluded that the mitigating circumstances present in that case
were such that ‘‘no warrant exists for the imposition of jail
sentences additional to tle periods of imprisonment which have
already been served by the non-lawyer defendants.’’ Judge
Gignoux also observed that: ‘‘It is apparent that the contumacious
conduct of the defendants and their lawyers cannot be considered
apart from the conduct of the trial judge and prosecutors. Each
reacted to provocation by the other, and the tensions generated
during four and a half months of so acrimonious a trial cannot be
ignored.’’ In the Matter of Dellinger, 72 Cr. 925, U. S. Dist. Ct.,
N. D. Ill, Dee. 6, 1973 (slip opinion, pp. 49-50).

56

trial judge himself. See te discussion in Disorder i in
Court, pp. 192-205.

But assuming that disruption can and does occur,
and that the trial judge must be equipped to deal with
it, there are numerous other methods he can employ
that fall short of imposing summary punishment for
criminal contempt and that are not subject to the abuses
of the exercise of the summary contempt power which
this Court has long recognized, and which are clearly
demonstrated in the case at bar. He can deal with
the disruptive defendant by using any of the weapons
in the ‘‘arsenal of authority’’ set forth by this Court in
Allen v. Illinois, 397 U. 8. 337 (1970), ineluding direct-
ing the removal of the defendant from the courtroom. .
With respect to possibly disruptive lawyers, a citation
for contempt, which the assurance of subsequent trial
and possible conviction and the likelihood of resultant
bar disciplinary proceedings, should be a deterrent for
all but the most persistently obstructive. In the ex-
ceedingly rare case where a lawyer will have embarked
on a course of persistent obstruction, it is doubtful if
punishment for contempt will make any difference. As
stated by the Louisville Bar Association in its amicus
curiae brief :

‘In the case of an attorney, if the threat of
subsequent criminal action and professional dis-
cipline are not enough to restrain him, in those
instances where the disruption is so great that it
threatens the validity of the trial, it would be better
to declare a mistrial and cite the attorney for
Contempt. This would protect the defendant and
prevent a complete retrial of a long case after a

57

reversal by an Appellate Court. Otherwise, the
court must bear the burden of a continuous con-
test between the attorney and the authority of the
court resulting in a detriment to all parties
involved and the possibility of prejudicing the
jury.”” Brief of the Louisville Bar Association
as Amicus Ouriae in Support of Petition for
Certiorari, pp. 15-16.

The integrity of judicial proceedings can be fully pro-
tected without resort to summary punishment for
criminal contempt.”

It is a long established principle that a court must
exercise ‘‘the least possible power adequate to the end
proposed.”” Anderson v. Dunn, 19 U. 8. (6 Wheat.)
204, 231 (1821); In re Michael, 326 U. S. 224, 227
(1945) ; Shillitani v. United States, 384 U. S. 364, 371+
(1966). Any need to prevent courtroom disruption can
be met by means other than the exercise of the sum-
mary contempt power. Even if this were not so, the
necessity for the exercise of that power would have to
be balanced against the departure from the basic stand-
ards of fair play and due process that such exercise
necessarily entails. In Bloom v. Illinois, supra at p.
208, this Court stated:

‘¢We cannot say that the need to further respect
for judges and courts is entitled to more considera-
tion than the interest of the individual not to be
subjected to serious criminal punishment without

1]¢ is worthy to note that administrative agencies have long

been denied the contempt power, Interstate Commerce Commission
v. Brimson, 154 U. 8. 447 (1894), and this does not appear to have
had any appreciable effect, on the conduct of administrative
proceedings.

58

the benefit of all the procedural protections
worked out carefully over the years and deemed
fundamental to our system of justice. Genuine
respect, which alone can lend true dignity to our
judicial establishment, will be engendered, not by
the fear of unlimited authority, but by the firm
administration of the law through those institu-
tionalized procedures which have been worked out
over the centuries.”’

Summary punishment for contempt is totally repug-
nant to ‘‘those institutionalized procedures which have
been worked out over the centuries’’ and is contrary to
the fundamental premises on which the concept of due
process of law is based. This Court should now so
declare.

IIL

In the Circumstances of This Case the Trial Judge Could
Not Impartially Sit in Judgment on Multiple aes
Charges Against the Petitioner.

Although the trial judge cited the petitioner for
contempt at various times during the trial, he did not
act to impose punishment until after the trial had been
completed. Since the trial judge waited until the end
of the trial to impose punishment, as the Kentucky
Court of Appeals recognized, if he could not impartially
sit in judgment on the contempt charges, the peti-
tioner’s conviction would have had to have been re-
versed. Mayberry v. Pennsylvania, 400 U. 8. 455
(1971). The Court of Appeals held, however, that the
trial judge was not disqualified from sitting in judg-

59

ment on the multiple contempt charges he leveled
against the petitioner.

It is well-settled that the trial judge is disqualified
to sit in judgment on contempt charges where he has
become personally embroiled in controversy with the
alleged contemnor, such as where he is an ‘‘activist
seeking combat,’’ Offutt v. United States, 348 U. 8. 11
(1954), or where he has been the victim or a ‘‘personal
attack,’? Mayberry v. Pennsylvania, supra, or where
for any’ reason he may be biased against the alleged
contemnor, Johnson v. Mississippi, 403 U. 8. 212 (1971),
or where he has an adopted an adversary posture with
respect to the alleged contemnor. United States v.
Meyer, 462 F. 2d 827 (D.C. Cir., 1972). In the case at
bar all four elements of embroilment were clearly pres-
ent, and the holding of the Kentucky Court of Ap-
peals to the effect that in the circumstances of this case
the trial judge could impartially sit in judgment on the
contempt charges is truly astonishing.

The animus and hostility of the trial judge toward
the petitiorier is amply demonstrated by his conduct and
statements throughout the trial and thereafter. To say
the least, the interchanges between the trial judge and
the petitioner during the trial ‘‘were marked by ex-
pressions and revealed an attitude which hardly re-
flected the restraints of conventional judicial de-
meanor.’”? Offutt v. United States, supra at p. 12. From
the beginning, the trial judge cast aspersions on the
petitioner’s character and ability and accused him of
improper motives. During the voir dire, the trial judge
interrupted the petitioner’s examination of a prospec- .

60

tive juror and stated that he was going to take it over,
‘saying to the petitioner: ‘‘I think you're putting on

a show. That’s my opinion’? (App. 31). During a*

discussion in chambers about wrangling between at-
torneys, he stated in reference to the petitioner: ‘“*. . .
you all were talking and I can’t blame the guy too much
for that, but on the other hand, he is getting away from’
the questions and knowing him, if you give him an inch,
he’ll take a mile. I might as well sit on him right now”
(App. 40). In other interchange the trial judge again
insisted on indulging in personalities and baiting the
petitioner :

“Mr, Taylor: Does Your Honor understand

that my purpose is to defend my case?
The Court: I think that’s probably what
you’re here for, I’m not sure”’ (App. 61).

And in still another interchange when the petitioner
attempted to explain his basis for making an objection:

**Mr. Taylor: The objection is that he uses the
word ‘also’ as inferring that he’s got these great
confessions.

The Court: Don’t go through all those con-
figurations and put on an act.’’ (Tr. 1860)

The trial judge also accused the petitioner of “‘trying
to make every case a political trial,’’ and in a totally
unprecedented move, directed that the petitioner pre-
pare a list of every witness he planned to call within
fifteen minutes and summarily ruled on whether those
witnesses would be permitted to testify. (App. 82-83)

61

The effect of the trial judge’s hostility toward the
petitioner on his imposition of the sentences for con-
tempt is graphically illustrated by the following in-
terchange:

““Mr. Taylor: Thank you. Now, may I say,
additionally, I have serious doubts as to the legal
correctness of the order and since we have, I have,
I don’t know,. five months of my life wrapped up
in this case, and maybe more than that—

The Court: (interrupting) Before it’s over,
you might have a lot more than that.

Mr. Taylor: Would the Court care to amplify
on the meaning of that? ,

The Court: The Court just made a statement.

. Mr. Taylor: Sir, I didn’t—

The Court: (interrupting) The Court just
made a statement.

Mr. Taylor: Yes, sir, and I asked if the Court
would care to expand on the meaning of—

* * * * * * *

The Court: (interrupting) I don’t have to
explain my comments.
Mr. Taylor: I see. I’m requesting that you
reconsider and that you adjourn until tomorrow
and give me an opportunity to get before our re-
viewing Court for a Writ of Mandamus—
The Court: (interrupting) Overruled.
Mr. Taylor: I wonder if I might finish my
sentence before you overrule—_.
The Court: (interrupting) It’s overruled’
(App. 98-99).

It cannot be doubted that in the case at bar the con-
tempts charged were “entangled with the judge’s

a

personal feeling against the lawyer.’’ Offutt v. United
States, supra at p. 14. Marked personal feelings were
present, at least on the part of the trial judge, and as
the above examples indicate, he clearly was an ‘‘activist
seeking combat.’’

Moreover, while it is indeed true, as the Kentucky
Court of Appeals found, that the petitioner did not
launch a personal attack against the trial judge (App.
16), the fact remains that the trial judge perceived
himself as the victim of such an attack. This appears
most clearly in the contempt citations themselves and
in his ‘‘introductory remarks”’ thereto, as well as in
his language at the time of imposing sentence.

Thirdly, the Court of Appeals was completely in-
correct in saying that the petitioner did not attack the
trial judge’s ‘‘integrity or ability’? (App. 10). Quite
to the contrary, in attempting to defend his client to
the best of his ability, it was painfully necessary for
the petititoner to accuse the trial judge of denying his
client’s right to a public trial (App. 79) and of acting
on the basis of rancor in ruling that race was not an
issue in the case (App. 82). It was also necessary for
the petitioner to seek a delay in the case so that he
could attempt to obtain a writ of mandamus from the
Court of Appeals to prevent the trial judge from pro-
ceeding further in the case (App. 98-99). And when
the petitioner made some reference to the jury in ar-
guing an evidentiary point, the trial judge accused him
of inferring that he, the trial judge, had ‘‘rigged the
jury.”’ When the petitioner stated that he had filed
a motion challenging the jury composition, the trial

63

judge replied: “I impaneled this jury. If it’s rigged,
I did it’’ (App. 86). The petitioner was clearly charg-
ing the trial judge with bias and unfairness, and the
trial judge was fully sensitive to this charge, as co-
gently evidenced by his statements in regard to his
“rigging the jury.”” A trial judge is disqualified from
proceeding against an alleged contemnor when that
person has charged him with bias or unfairness. Holt
y. Virginia, 381 U. 8. 131 (1965); United States v.
Meyer, supra; In re Dellinger, 461 F, 2d 389 (7th Cir.,
1972). In such circumstances, Ungar v. Sarafite, 376
U. 8. 575 (1964), which was relied on by the Court
of Appeals to hold that the trial judge was not dis-
qualified from sitting in judgment against the peti-
tioner, is clearly inapposite. Sze the discussion in
United States v. Meyer, supra, at p. 845.

Finally, the trial judge is disqualified from sitting
in judgment on contempt charges where he has
“adopted an adversary posture with respect to the
alleged contemnor.”” United States v. Meyer, supra,
at p. 862. Whatever else may be said about this case,
it eannot be denied that the trial judge adopted an
adversary posture with respect to the petitioner. In
the view of the Kentucky Court of Appeals, the trial
judge ‘‘appeared to be continuously on the defensive
in his effort to contain Taylor to the point where the
defendant would be assured of a fair trial’”’ (App. 11).
While the petitioner would vigorously dispute this
characterization of who was put on the defensive by
whom, it is utterly incongruous for the Court of Ap-
peals to recognize the adversary posture between the

—

64

trial judge and the petitioner and at the same time to
hold that the trial judge was not disqualified from sit-
ting in judgment on the multiple contempt charges he
levelled against the petitioner.

In the case at bar all four elements of embroilment
were clearly present, but even more significantly, the
animus and hostility of the trial judge toward: the pe-
titioner and his obvious lack of impartiality fairly
“scream out’? from the record. If ‘‘actions speak
louder than words,’’ this is manifestly demonstrated
by his unprecedented order that the petitioner produce
a list of all defense witnesses within fifteen minutes,
and his summarily deciding in advance that many of
them would not be permitted to testify,’ by his invalid
order prohibiting the petitioner from the further prac-
tice of law in “this court,’’ and by his refusal to admit
the petitioner to bail or to even hold a bail hearing (at
which the petitioner was not permitted to be present)
until ordered to do so by the Court of Appeals.

But above all else there is the behavior of the trial
judge at the conclusion of the trial when he finally
adjudged the petitioner guilty of the contempts charged
and imposed consecutive sentences aggregating 54
months’ imprisonment. The trial judge not only ac-

12For example:
‘“The Court: What’s Hyde got to do with this?
Mr. Taylor: Quite a bit.
The Court: He just was at that time Chief of Police?
Mr. Taylor: He was in charge of the whole thing.
The Court: Strike him.’’ (Tr. 1989).

And further:

**The Court: I am not going to hold up these proceedings
waiting for a witness. If he’s here, he can testify, if he isn’t,
we'll skip over him.’’ (App. 111). (Emphasis added.)

g
i
§
k
5
a

Te RE EAE REN TR

65

cused the petitioner of improper motives, not only
criticized the bar association for not having disciplined
the petitioner ‘‘years ago,”’ not only said that he wanted
the members of the jury and the law students ‘‘of the
communi > to hear his remarks, but refused to allow
the petitioner to speak a word in his defense, threatened
to gag him and impose more contempts if he persisted
in trying to do so, and directed the bailiff to ‘‘take
him away’? (App. 28-29). The utter absence of any
semblance of impartiality is reflected in the statement
he made when he began to impose sentence, “T have
you on nine counts” (App. 29). (Emphasis added.)
The Court of Appeals referred to the trial judge’s re-
marks as ‘“‘inappropriate,’’ and conceded that they
were ‘“‘somewhat similar to the statements made in
Offutt’? (App. 15-17). But it then went on to say that
they did not clearly demonstrate bias. If those re-
marks and the judge’s behavior at the time he was
sentencing the petitioner of 54 months’ imprisonment
do not demonstrate bias, it may seriously be asked
what does.

The Court of Appeals then took the rather startling
position that ‘‘in light of the obvious guilt of Taylor
those remarks were not such a showing of bias as to
require the disqualification of the judge’’ (App. 17).
It is utterly impossible to see what the supposed ‘‘ob-
vious guilt” of the alleged contemnor has to do with
the bias of the judge. If the judge has demonstrated
“by his words and behavior an unmistakable bias
against the alleged contemnor, as he did here, he is not
eapable of maintaining “‘that calm detachment neces-

66

sary for fair adjudication,’’ Mayberry v. Pennsylvo-
niu, supra, at p. 465, and cannot impartially sit in judg.
ment on the contempt charges. A clearer case of guilt
than was present in Mayberry cannot be imagined,
supra, at pp. 462-463, but the guilt of the contemnor
had nothing to do with the ability of the judge to im-
partially sit in judgment against him.

If trial before an unbiased judge is essential to due
process of law, Bloom v. Illinois, 391 U. S. 194, 205
(1968), there was a flagrant denial of due process here
when the trial judge sat in judgment on the contempt
charges that he leveled against the petitioner.

Although not absolutely necessary to the decision
of this case, since the trial judge did not simultaneously
cite and punish the petitioner for contempt in order to
quell courtroom disruption, this Court should make it
clear that where a trial judge is otherwise disqualified
to sit in judgment on contempt charges, he may not
summarily cite and punish for contempt even if this
is purportedly necessary to ‘“‘preserve order.’’ As
pointed out in the previous section of the brief, there
are other means by which a judge can maintain order
in the courtroom short of the use of the contempt
power, and where he cannot impartially sit in judg-
ment, the denial of due process is no less because com-
mitted in the name of ‘‘preserving order.”’

The conviction of the petitioner must be reversed,
if for no other reason, than that he was denied the
right to trial before an unbiased judge.

SSE ES

67

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated herein, the judgment of the
Court of Appeals of Kentucky should be reversed and
the conviction of the petitioner for criminal contempt

should be set aside.
Respectfully submitted,

Ropert ALLEN SEDLER
Box 862
University Station
Lexington, Kestucky 40506

Doris PETERSON

Morton STAVIS
Center for Constitutional Rights
853 Broadway
New York, New York 10003

Attorneys for Petitioner

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386414_0336%3A09. Public record. Not legal advice.
