# Amicus Curiae Brief — Hamling v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386414_0325%3A09

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1974
- **Citation:** 414 U.S. 1143

## Text

| rFiulck wv

a Slee 1974

alleen MICHAEL RODAK, JR_.CLERK
Supreme Court of the a 7

Ocroser Term, 1973
No. 73-507

oe

Wiuuam L. Hamirne, et al.,
Petitioners,

—V.—

Untrep States or AMERICA,

Respondent
—_—————————————————SSSSSSS=S====[{={=__[=[=[=[{=[{[{={=[==_

BRIEF OF THE AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION
AND THE AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION
OF SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA, AMICI CURIAE

Metvin L. Wuir

Jort M. Gora
American Civil Liberties Union
22 East 40th Street
New York, New York 10016

Frep OKRAND
Joun O’LovuGHLIN
JmL JAKES
American Civil Liberties Union
Foundation of Southern California
323 West Fifth Street
Los Angeles, California 90013

Attorneys for Amici Curiae

Intereest of Amici Curiae

Summaary of Argument
I. The continued exclusion of obscenity from
the protection of the First Amendment is
unjustified

Il., The authority to prohibit obscene materials
will be used to suppress protected expression ..

Ill.. The federal postal power should not be utilized
as the predicate for censorship of obscenity ......

IV.. Section 1461 is prohibitively vague, and its
continued enforcement violates several funda-
mental constitutional principles

Concliusi0on

TaBLE oF AUTHORITIES
Cases:

Apth¢eker v. Secretary of State, 378 U.S. 500 (1964) ....
Assocciated Press v. United States, 326 U.S. 1 (1945) ....
Attorrney General v. Book Named “God’s Little Acre”,

3265 Mass, 281, 93 N.E.2d 819 (1950)

Baggrett v. Bullitt, 377 U.S. 360 (1964)
Besigg vy, United States, 208 F.2d 142 (9th Cir. 1953) ....
Bouige vy, Columbia, 378 U.S. 347 (1964)
Bursétyn vy. Wilson, 343 U.S. 495 (1952)

13

14

i.

PAGE

Chaplinsky v. New Hampshire, 315 U.S. 568 (1942) 5
Commonwealth v. Friede, 271 Mass. 318, 171 N.E. 472
(1930) . 13
Communist Party v. S.A.C.B., 367 U.S. 1 (1961) ........ 10
Connally v. General Construction Co., 269 U.S. 385
(1926) 3
Cox v. United States, 370 F.2d 563 (9th Cir. 1967) 0... %

Dennis v. United States, 341 U.S. 494 (1951) 000. 10
Detco Inc. v. McCann, 365 F. Supp. 176 (E.D. Wise.
1973) 7
Doubleday & Co. v. New York, 335 U.S. 848 (1948) ... 13
Dyson v. Stein, 401 U.S. 200 (1971) 9, 15

Ginzburg v. United States, 383 U.S. 463 (1966) ........ .20, B
Gooding v. Wilson, 405 U.S. 518 (1972) 6
Grayned v. City of Rockford, 408 U.S. 104 (1972) ........ 4,35
Great Speckled Bird of Atlanta v. Stynchcombe, 298 F.

Supp. 1291 (N.D. Ga. 1970) 16
Grisby v. State, 14 Cr. L. Rep. 2143 (Tenn. Sup. Ct.
1973) re

Hamar Theatres, Inc. v. Cryan, 365 F. Supp. 1312 (D.
N.J. 1973) (three-judge court), juris. statement filed,
42 U.S. Law Week 3365 (Dec. 18, 1973) 2. =
Henley v. Wise, 303 F. Supp. 62 (N.D. Ind. 1969) .... 16
Hiett v. United States, 415 F.2d 664 (5th Cir. 1969) ......4, 20

Interstate Circuit, Ltd. v. Dallas, 390 U.S. 676 (1968) .. 7

Jenkins v. Georgia, O.T. 1973, No. 73-557 . B

a

PAGE
Karalexis v. Byrne, 306 F. Supp. 1363 (D. Mass, 1969)
vac. on other grounds, 401 U.S. 216 (1971) -..........- 9
Kingsley International Picture Corp. v. Regents, 360
U.S. 684 (1959) 11, 25.
Kois v. Breier, 312 F. Supp. 19 (E.D. Wis. 1970) .......... 16
Kois v. Wisconsin, 408 U.S. 229 (1972) 3,15

Lamont v. Postmaster General, 38+ U.S. 301 (1965) ....4, 20
Levy v. Parker, 478 F.2d 772 (8rd Cir. 1973), prob.
juris. noted, 42 U.S. Law Week 3155 (Sept. 25,1973) .. 4,

Linda R.S. v. Richard D., —— U.S. ——, 35 L.Ed.2d

25

536 (1973) 25
Literature Inc. v. Quinn, 482 F.2d 372 (ist Cir. 1973) ..... 27
28

27

Long Island Vietnam Moratorium Committee v. Cahn,
437 F.2d 344 (2d Cir. 1970)
Louisiana v. Shreveport News Agency, Inc., —— La.
—, 42 Law Week 2344 (1973)

Manual Enterprises v. Day, 370 U.S. 478 (1962) ........ 22-23

Memoirs v, Massachusetts, 383 U.S. 413 (1966) -........... 21
Miller v. California, 413 U.S. 15 (1973) ~.............. 3, 4-5, 9, 11,

23, 26
NA.A.C.P. v. Button, 371 U.S. 415 (1963) 6
New York Times v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254 (1964) ~...... 6

Papish v. University of Missouri Board of Curators,
410 U.S. 167 (1973) 15
Parducci v. Rutland, 316 F. Supp. 352: (M.D. Ala. 1970) 16

iv

PAGE

Paris Adult Theatre I v. Slaton, 413 U.S. 49 (1973) 34, 5,

9-10, 12, 28, 9

People v. Heller, —— N.Y.2d —— (Dee. 28, 1973) ...... 13,4
Pittsburgh Press Co. v. Pittsburgh Commission on

Human Relations, 413 U.S. 376 (1973) 6
President’s Council, Dist. 25 v. Community School
Board, Dist. 25, 457 F.2d 289 (2d Cir.), cert. denied,

409 U.S. 448 (1972) 16
Price v. Commonwealth, —— Va. ——, 14 Cr. L. Rep.

2379 (Va. Sup. Ct., January 14, 1974) 12
Redmond v. United States, 384 U.S. 264 (1966) (per

curiam) 21
Redrup v. New York, 386 U.S. 767 (1967) 7,1
Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113 (1973) ll

Roth v. United States, 354 U.S. 476 (1957) ........4-5, 9,19,

Shuttlesworth v. Birmingham, 394 U.S. 147 (1969) ... %
Southeastern Promotions, Ltd. v. City of Atlanta, 334 |
F. Supp. 634 (N.D. Ga. 1971) Nv
Southeastern Promotions, Ltd. v. Conrad, 486 F.2d 894
(6th Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 42 U.S. Law Week 3388

(Jan. 8, 1974) ie
Stanley v. Georgia, 394 U.S. 557 (1969) 3,7,8
State v. J-R Distributors, Inc., 512 P.2d 1049 (Sup. Ct.

Wash. 1973) 7

Stein v. Batchelor, 300 F. Supp. 602 (N.D. Tex. 1969)
(three-judge court), vac. on other grounds, sub nom.

Dyson v. Stein, 401 U.S. 200 (1971) 9
Stroud v. Indiana, —— Ind. ——, 13 Cr. L. Rep. 2541
(1973) 7

-

Thornhill v. Alabama, 310 U.S. 88 (1940)
United Artists Corp. v. Proskin, 363 F. Supp. 406 (N.D.
N.Y. 1973) (three-judge court) 18

United States v. Bass, 404 U.S. 336 (1971) -..................
United States v. Dellapia, 433 F.2d 1252 (2d Cir. 1970) 8,

21
United States v. 18 Packages of Magazines, 238 F.
Supp. 846 (N.D. Cal. 1964) 20
United States v. Head, 317 F. Supp. 1138 (E.D. La.
1970) 16
United States ex rel. Milwaukee Social Democratic Pub.
* Co. v. Burleson, 255 U.S. 407 (1921) 19
United States v. Lang, 361 F. Supp. 380 (C.D. Cal.
1973) 27, 28
United States v. Maze, —— U.S. ——, 42 U.S. Law
Week 4113 (Jan. 8, 1974) 21

United States v. One Book Called “Ulysses”, 5 F. Supp.
182 (S.D.N.Y. 1933), aff’d, 72 F.2d 705 (2d Cir. 1984) 13

United States v. Orito, 413 U.S. 139 (1973) ...................- 21
United States v. Palladino, —— F.2d ——, 14 Cr. L.
Rep. 2354 (1st Cir. 1964) 23
United States v. Reese, 92 U.S. 214 (1876) .................... 26
United States v. Reidel, 402 U.S. 351 (1971) ...................- 9, 20
United States v. Robel, 389 U.S. 258 (1967) .................... 26
United States v. 35 MM Film Entitled “Language of
Love”, 432 F.2d 705 (2d Cir. 1970) 12

United States v. 37 Photographs, 402 U.S. 363 (1971). 9
United States v. 12 200-Foot Reels, 413 U.S. 123 (1973) 27

PAGE
United States v. Various Articles of “Obscene” Mer-
chandise, 315 F. Supp. 191 (S.D. N.Y. 1970) (three-
judge court), prob. juris. noted, 402 U.S. 971, app.

dis., per Rule 60, 403 U.S, 942 (1971) 22. 4
United States v. Watson, 293 F. Supp. 694 (W.D. Mo.

1968) 21
Washington Free Community v. State’s Attorney, 300

F. Supp. 487 (D. Md. 1969) 16
Welsh v. United States, 398 U.S. 333 (1970) 0000... 28
Winters v. New York, 333 U.S. 507 (1948) 0000. 23, 3
Constitution :
First Amendment .. passim
Article I, §8, el. 7 19
United States Code:
18 U.S.C. $1461 passin
18 U.S.C. $1462 2
Miscellaneous : |
Haight, Bannep Booxs (3d. Edit. RR Bowker, Co.

(1970) 13-14
T. Emerson, The System of Freedom of Expression

(1970) pp. 468-70 13

The Supreme Court, 1972 Term, 87 Harv. L. Rev. 1,
1962-63, n. 19 6

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Ocroser Term, 1973

No. 73-507
>
Wiutam L. Hamuine, ef al.,
Petitioners,
—
Unrrep States or AMERICA,
Respondent.

<>

BRIEF OF THE AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION
AND THE AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION
OF SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA, AMICI CURIAE

Interest of Amici Curiae*

The American Civil Liberties Union is a nationwide, non-
partisan organization of over 250,000 members engaged
solely in the defense of those principles embodied in the Bill
of Rights. The American Civil Liberties Union of Southern
California is an affiliate of the American Civil Liberties
Union and functions within Southern California where this
ease arose. During its fifty-four year existence, the ACLU
has primarily been concerned with protecting the First
Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and press.
Our original concern was with direct governmental efforts
to restrict political expression. But it has been our experi-

* Letters of consent from counsel for the petitioners and the
United States have been filed with the Clerk of the Court.

2

ence that when any form of speech or writing, such as
“obscenity”, is declared to be beyond the bounds of cop.
stitutional protection, such exceptions are employed to sup.
press political expression. Similarly, the exclusion of any
category of expression from general First Amendment
protection erodes the safeguards for speech which is pro.
tected.

Because of these concerns, we have participated in many
of this Court’s decisions dealing with obscenity issues. We
filed amicus curiae briefs in connection with three of the
cases decided by the Court on June 21, 1973. In those briefs
we suggested that neither the doctrinal nor the empirical
case for excluding this particular category of expression
from constitutional protection had ever been made. We
still hold to that view.

But even assuming the soundness of the Court’s rulings
that material categorized as obscene may be systematically
prohibited, controlled and regulated, this case presents im-
portant issues concerning the propriety of the exercise of
federal power to accomplish such control, the method by
which that power is exercised, and the due process viola-
tions inherent in applying standards enunciated in 1973
to punish conduct engaged in prior to that time.

The specific issues in this case involve the proper applica-
tion of the federal statute prohibiting the mailing of ob.
scene material in general, and particularly in light of last
Term’s rulings. The purpose of this brief is to suggest
to the Court the larger context in which these issues must
be decided.

Summary of Argument

This Court’s decisions in Miller v. California, 413 U.S.
15 (1973) and Paris Adult Theatre I v. Slaton, 413 U.S. 49
(1973), reaffirming the doctrine that obscenity may be
systematically proscribed by the state, rest upon analytic
premises which have been eroded and an inadequate demon-
stration of social harm. The proper way out of the “intrac-
table obscenity problem” was charted in Stanley v. Georgia,
994 U.S. 557 (1969), that is, the application of a traditional
First Amendment approach to obscenity, focusing on the
context, not the content, of the communication and assess-
ing the governmental interests involved in the particular

situation.

Notwithstanding the Court’s assurances, last Term’s ob-
seenity decisions will not be limited to the prohibition of
hard-core pornography, especially since one of the Court’s
avowed purposes was to facilitate prosecution of obscene
material. The power to suppress materials with a sexual
content has historically been used as a pretext to censor
publications because of their political or social commentary.
In this century alone, the existence of sexual content has
been used as the predicate for banning the works of authors
such as James Joyce, Theodore Dreiser, Erskine Caldwell,
Edmund Wilson, Sinclair Lewis and Ernest Hemingway.
More recently, dissident expression of opinion has been
punished because it was assertedly obscene. See, ¢.g., Kois
v. Wisconsin, 408 U.S. 229 (1972). Events since last June
have done nothing to dispute the prediction that the Court’s
rulings will fuel the forces of repression and censorship.

_
4

Even if obscenity can continue to be banned system.
atically, the case for the exercise of federal power in this
area has never adequately been made, and the argument
that federal interests in this area are attenuated, see Roth
v. United States, 354 U.S. 476, 504-05 (1957) (dissenting
opinion of Justice Harlan), has not been answered. The
federal postal power cannot be used as the predicate for
censorship of obscenity. See, Lamont v. Postmaster Gen.
eral, 381 U.S. 301 (1965); Hiett v. United States, 415 F.2
664 (5th Cir. 1969). And the federal government has m
identifiable substantive power over the kinds of interests
which in Paris Adult Theatre I were held to justify compre.
hensive state regulation.

Finally, even if federal power over obscenity is recog.
nized, such power should not be exercised through a statute
as vague as Section 1461. Vague laws regulating expression
violate First Amendment interests and the due process
“principle of legality.” Grayned v. City of Rockford, 48
U.S. 104 (1972); Levy v. Parker, 478 F.2d 772 (3rd Cir,
1973); prob. juris. noted, 42 U.S. Law Week 3155 (Sept.
25, 1973). Though Roth upheld this statute against a
vagueness challenge, the Miller decision requires the kind
of specificity which this statute lacks. And even if it can
be “authoritatively construed” to embody the Miller re
quirements, such construction should not be retroactively
applied to these petitioners.

The continued exclusion of obscenity from the pro-
tection of the First Amendment is unjustified.

The path of this Court’s obscenity jurisprudence, from
Roth v. United States, 354 U.S. 476 (1957) to Miller v.
California, 413 U.S. 15 (1973) and Paris Adult Theatre I v.
Slaton, 413 U.S. 49 (1973), has been traced many times
and needs little elaboration. In Roth, addressing the ques-
tion for the first time, the Court held that “obscenity is not
within the area of constitutionally protected speech or
press.” 354 U.S. at 485. The bases for the ruling were
dicta in earlier cases, some scanty evidence that obscenity
had been banned in colonial times, and the almost universal
prohibition of obscenity in contemporary times. The an-
alytical theory of the decision was that certain categories
of utterances “are no essential part of any exposition of
ideas, and are of such slight social value as a step to truth
that any benefit that may be derived from them is clearly
outweighed by the social interest in order and morality.
...” 354 U.S. at 485 (quoting from Chaplinsky v. New
Hampshire, 315 U.S. 568, 572 (1942)). Thus, obscenity
joined other kinds of utterances—most notably “fighting
words” and “libel”—as somehow beyond the constitutional
pale. As a consequence of applying this “two-level” theory
of the First Amendment, the Roth Court did not have to
undertake the task of carefully analyzing the precise so-
cietal interests advanced by the proscription of obscenity.
Indeed, “[c]ommentators have suggested that the two-
level theory was used in Roth because it was unlikely that
the Court would have been able to marshal evidence that
the consequences of obscenity, in terms of antisocial con-

6

duct or more general injury to society, were so imminent
or significant as to support proscription under any previous
formula used to justify regulation of protected speech,”
The Supreme Court, 1972 Term, 87 Harv. L. Rev. 1, 162-63,
n. 19.

In the years since Roth, the doctrinal underpinnings of
the decision have been seriously eroded. In New York
Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254 (1964), the Court re.
jected the doctrine that once an utterance can be categorized
as “libel”, it is then stripped of all First Amendment pro.
tection. See also, Gooding v. Wilson, 405 U.S. 518 (1972)
(fighting words doctrine). And, in general, this Court has
disapproved efforts to exclude categories of speech from
the protection of the First Amendment by attaching labels
to the kind of expression involved. See, N.A.A.C.P. y,
Button, 371 U.S. 415 (1963); cf. Pittsburgh Press Co. y.
Pittsburgh Commission on Human Relations, 413 U.S. 376
(1973).

Similarly, in the years between Roth and Miller, the
Court’s efforts were devoted not to an examination of the
interests supporting obscenity laws, but to elaborating and
applying the constitutional definition of obscenity and
spelling out the procedural safeguards which had to be
employed in the course of determining on which side of the
constitutional line the particular magazine, book or film
would be placed. And, of course, the consequence of the
two-level approach to obscenity was that each determina-
tion in each case presented the constitutional issue whether
the categorization, and thereby the denial of constitutional
protection, was valid. For although on one side of the line
there was prohibitable obscenity, on the other side was
protected expression, buttressed by all the accepted First

7

Amendment values designed to maximize the flow and scope
of information and discussion. See, Thornhill v. Alabama,
310 U.S. 88, 102 (1940) ; Associated Press v. United States,
396 U.S. 1, 20 (1945). Thus, the “intractable obscenity
problem” persisted, and the variety of positions taken by
Justices of this court proliferated. See, Interstate Circuit,
Lid. v. Dallas, 390 U.S. 676, 704-08 (1968) (Harlan, J. dis-
senting).

For a while it appeared that a majority of the Court
would break out of the pattern by moving away from the
focus on content toward a traditional First Amendment
inquiry into the context and manner in which the material
is presented. Such an analysis would assess whether the
communication of the material—even though obscene—
could be found to trench upon presumably valid state inter-
ests, such as prohibiting the pandering of obscene mate-
rials, protecting minors, or guarding the rights of adults
who would not wish exposure to such communications. See,
Redrup v. New York, 386 U.S. 767 (1967). Such an ap-
proach contained two important benefits. First, it could
bring familiar, traditional First Amendment analysis to
the obscenity area; second, it would ease the pressures on
this and lower courts by reducing the number of cases when
the issue of obscenity vel non would have to be addressed.

The apex of this approach was Stanley v. Georgia, 394
U.S. 557 (1969), where the Court held that a statute punish-
ing “mere private possession of obscene matter violates
the First Amendment.” Jd. at 559. While the setting of
Stanley was the privacy of the home, the ratio decidendi
of the decision was anchored in the interests protected by
freedom of expression. Equally important, in rejecting
Georgia’s arguments that it possessed constitutional power

Sa

8

to ban the mere possession of obscene materials, the Court
explicitly overruled some of the primary arguments tra.
ditionally offered to sustain obscenity laws. To the argu.
ment that there is state power “to protect the individual's
mind from the effects of obscenity,” the Court responded
that such sway over the “moral content of a person's
thoughts” is “wholly inconsistent with the philosophy of
the First Amendment.” 394 U.S. at 565-566. As to the
claim that “exposure to obscene materials may lead to
deviant sexual behavior or crimes of sexual violence,” the
Court found “little empirical basis,” id. at 566, for the
assertion and no legal justification for suppressing ideas
because they may lead to harmful conduct. Finally, a ban
on private possession could not be supported as an aid to
enforcement of prohibitions against distribution.

By holding that obscene material was nevertheless enti-
tled to some constitutional protection, and in rejecting cer-
tain of the primary rationales for obscenity statutes, the
Stanley decision contained the potential for redirecting the
focus of this Court’s doctrine in this area. And, indeed, many
lower courts read Stanley as having written “a new chap-
ter” in obscenity law, one requiring attention to the gov-
ernment interests implicated in the particular prohibition.
See, e.g., United States v. Dellapia, 433 F.2d 1252 (2d Cir.
1970). In Dellapia, the federal statute involved here, 18
U.S.C. $1461, was utilized to prosecute the private mailing
of obscene films. Finding that the defendants’ conduct in-
fringed no interest which justified governmental regula-
tion, the Second Circuit, in an opinion by Chief Judge
Irving Kaufman, reversed the conviction: “It would be
anomalous to prevent consenting adults from freely pass-
ing among themselves obscene material which Stanley tells

9

us each of them was entitled to possess and view or read.”
Id. at 1258. Similarly, in United States v. Various Articles
of “Obscene” Merchandise, 315 F. Supp. 191 (S.D.N.Y.
1970) (three-judge court), prob. juris. noted, 402 U.S. 971,
app. dismissed, per Rule 60, 403 U.S. 942 (1971), invali-
dating the federal ban on importing obscene materials as
applied to a person importing single items for his own
use, Circuit Judge Moore concluded that “orthodox First
Amendment considerations are once again of paramount
importance, Roth notwithstanding, even where the publi-
eations in issue are concededly obscene.” 7d. at 195. See
also, Stein v. Batchelor, 300 F, Supp. 602 (N.D. Tex. 1969)
(three-judge court), vacated on other grounds, sub nom.,
Dyson v. Stein, 401 U.S. 200 (1971); Karalexis v. Byrne,
306 F. Supp. 1363 (D. Mass. 1969), vacated on other
grounds, 401 U.S. 216 (1971).

But these stirrings of a new, sound approach to the prob-
lem, one which would recognize valid governmental inter-
ests while accommodating traditional First Amendment
concerns, were short-lived. In 1971, with a change in the
composition of the Court, the reach of Stanley began to be
limited. See, United States v. Reidel, 402 U.S. 351 (1971);
United States v. Thirty-Seven Photographs, 402 U.S. 363
(1971). And with Miller and Parts Adult Theatre I, a ma-
jority of the court delivered the coup de grace to whatever
potential remained to utilize Stanley as a sound route away
from the “intractable obscenity problem.” With these two
eases the Court has, with some adjustments and troubling
implications, retreated back to the regime of Roth.

The obvious question is why? Why, when the doctrinal
premise of Roth—that certain categories of expression are
really not expression—is far weaker than it was 15 years

a

10

ago, has the Court reaffirmed the two-level theory of ob.
scenity. And why, in the absence of any intervening, sys.
tematic showing that exposure to obscenity is socially harm.
ful, has harm once again simply been assumed.

In Paris Adult Theatre I, the majority attempted to an.
swer these questions by identifying the state interests which
obscenity regulation fosters. Relying on a minority report
of the Commission on Obscenity and Pornography, and on
commentators who generally support strong social controls,
the majority found “at least an arguable correlation between
obscene material and crime,” 413 U.S. at 58, or at least
that a legislature “could quite reasonably determine that
such a connection does or might exist.” Jd. at 61. Not only
did Stanley conclude that such connections had not been
shown, but, in general, where First Amendment rights are
potentially involved, the Court has required a much more
substantial demonstration that the prohibition rests on
firm, indeed compelling, legislative premises—not merely
the possibility of a speculative connection between the
speech to be prohibited and the social danger to be averted.
See, Dennis v. United States, 341 U.S. 494, 505-08 (1951);
Communist Party v. S.A.C.B., 367 U.S. 1, 90-93 (1961).
Similarly, there has been no persuasive showing that the
concern with protecting children or non-consenting adults
could not be met in ways short of continued, total prohibi-
tion of obscenity outside of the home. Finally, and most
ominously, the Court indicated that obscenity legislation
could validly be premised on concern for the quality and
tone of life, particularly in urban areas, as part of the gen-
eral governmental power to protect “the social interest
in order and morality.” 413 U.S. at 61. One would have
thought that morality is too gossamer, let alone danger-

ll

ous a basis for regulation in the First Amendment area.
See, Kingsley International Pictures Corp. v. Regents, 360
U.S. 684 (1959). Many individuals in our society ardently
believe, whether rightly or wrongly, that the mere aware-
ness of the general availability of abortion demeans the
quality and tone of life; yet such beliefs—embodied in leg-
islation—were held insufficient to justify the systematic
prohibition of abortions for those women who wish to have
them. Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113 (1973). Why should the
availability of obscene materials and books to those who
wish exposure to them be treated any differently? If a
legislature’s determination that certain forms or modes of
expression adversely affect the quality or tone of life can
serve as a valid predicate for regulation or prohibition of
that expression, it is difficult to see how the line can be
drawn at hard-core pornography.

Il.

The authority to prohibit obscene materials will be
used to suppress protected expression.

In the decisions last Term, the Court attempted to assure
its crities that the re-affirmation of systematic state power
to proscribe obscene materials would not result in a fresh
wave of repression of ideas worthy of expression. Miller
v. California, supra, 413 U.S. at 34-36. Repression would
be limited to the area of hard-core pornography. Enforce-
ment of such limits would be insured by confining “the
permissible scope of such regulation to works which depict
or describe sexual conduct,” and by requiring that such
conduct “be specifically defined by the applicable state law,
as written or authoritatively construed.” Jd. at 24. But

12

specifying the kind of sexual conduct which will trigger
suppression of a book or movie is no guarantee that only
hard-core pornography will be proscribed. See, United
States v. 35 MM Film Entitled “Language of Love,” 439
F.2d 705, 715-16 (2d Cir. 1970).

More importantly, the net effect of the Court’s rulings
was to make censorship easier, not harder, than it was be.
fore. Indeed, the explicit purpose of replacing the “utterly
without redeeming social value” test with the more relaxed
showing that a work “lacks serious literary, artistic, politi.
cal, or scientific value” was to facilitate the task of the
prosecutor. Similarly, the rejection of a national standard
of offensiveness and prurience in favor of hypothetical state
(or perhaps even local, see Price v. Commonwealth, —
Va. ——,, 14 Cr. L. Rep. 2379 (Va. Sup. Ct., Jan. 14, 1974))
standards of taste and decency will further expedite
prosecution by allowing a kind of “local option” on the
First Amendment. Nor need the authorities attempt to
produce expert testimony that the material in question is
obscene. Paris Adult Theatre I v. Slaton, supra, 413 US.
at 56.

Between the lines of these rulings law enforcement off-
cials can read the clear signal: a majority of this Court has
found its way out of the intractable obscenity problem by
retreating from the concept that each obscenity case is at
the same time a First Amendment case. Instead, deference
will be paid to local standards and local fact-finding, with
the implication that the conclusions reached by state tri-
bunals will be insulated from federal review, and the con-
clusions of federal tribunals will not vans prompt
this Court’s review.

13

That this new approach has prompted “a great deal of
hand wringing by concerned libertarians,” People v. Heller,
—— N.Y.2d —— (1973) is perfectly understandable. Civil
libertarians are always concerned about the ease with which
any grant of censorship powers degenerates into a general
warrant for repression of ideas. The majority express con-
fidence that its reaffirmation of the power to suppress hard
core pornography will be confined to such materials. But,
historically, the pressures toward general censorship of
disagreeable and dissident expression are hydraulic even
under the best of circumstances. The power to ban the
obscene has inevitably exceeded the purposes for which the
power has been granted.

Let us again remind the Court of the works which have
been banned on the basis of sexual content. This history
has been told in the pages of judicial decisions as well as
in special studies on the problem. See Haight, Bannep
Booxs (3d Edit. R. R. Bowker Co. 1970); T. Emerson, The
System of Freedom of Expression (1970), pp. 468-70.
The list of authors whose works have been censored reads
like a “Who’s Who” of classic literature:

—James Joyce (United States v. One Book Called
“Ulysses”, 5 F. Supp. 182 (S.D.N.Y. 1933), aff’d, 72
F.2d 705 (2d Cir. 1934)) ;

—Theodore Dreiser (Commonwealth v. Friede, 271
Mass, 318, 171 N.E. 472 (1930)) (“An American
Tragedy”) ;

—Erskine Caldwell (Attorney General v. Book Named

“God’s Little Acre”, 326 Mass. 281, 93 N.E.2d 819
(1950) ) ;

—Edmund Wilson (Doubleday and Co. v. New York,
335 U.S. 848 (1948) ) (“Memoirs of Hecate County”) ;

14

—Voltaire (“Candide”, see Banned Books, supra, p,
33) ;

—Walt Whitman (“Leaves of Grass”, see Banned
Books, p. 53);

—Sinclair Lewis (“Elmer Gantry”, see Banned Books,
p. 80) ;

—Henry Miller (Besig v. United States, 208 F.2d 142
(9th Cir. 1953)) (“Tropic of Cancer”, “Tropic of
Capricorn”) ;

—Ernest Hemingway (“A Farewell to Arms”, “The
Sun Also Rises”, “To Have and Have Not”, “For
Whom the Bell Tolls”, see Banned Books, pp. 90-91);

—Erich Maria Remarque (“All Quiet on the Western
Front”, see Banned Books, p. 92) ;

—John Steinbeck (“Grapes of Wrath”, see Banned
Books, p. 93).

As this list indicates, many of these works were banned
because of their political content, not their sexual ex-
plicitness; the presence of the latter simply served as the
formal justification for the suppression of the former. That
is how the censor works. His agenda usually contain ma-
terial whose sexual content is incidental or ancillary to the
primary purpose of expressing views which are dissident,
satirical, irreverent, sacrilegious or profane. The pres-
ence of sexual content is used as the pretext for suppress-
ing works because of the ideas they contain, ideas com-
pletely divorced from the pornographic.

Indeed this Court is familiar with recent examples of
this phenomenon.

15

In Kois v. Wisconsin, 408 U.S. 229 (1972) (per curiam),
the petitioner, the publisher of an underground newspaper
called “Kaleidoscope,” was convicted under a state ob-
scenity statute and sentenced to two years in prison. The
crimes involved were publishing two photographs of a nude
couple embracing, and publishing a “Sex Poem.” This
Court granted certiorari, determined that the items were
not obscene, and reversed the convictions. How would that
ease have been decided under the new standards? Equally
important, will this Court be able to review all such con-
yietions to assure that its recent decisions are applied only
to hard-core pornography?

In Dyson v. Stein, supra, police raids were directed at
the publisher of Dallas Notes, another underground news-
paper, effectively putting it out of business. The predi-
cate for the raids was a search warrant authorizing the
seizure of “obscene articles and materials.” Will the Court’s
obscenity rulings deter such practices or encourage them?

In Papish v. University of Missourt Board of Curators,
410 U.S. 667 (1973), the petitioner had been expelled from
a state university for distributing a newspaper containing
“forms of indecent speech,” particularly a cartoon depict-
ing a rape of the Statue of Liberty by police, and a head-
line containing a well-known “twelve-letter” word. The
District Court held that the two items were obscene; the
Eighth Cireuit affirmed on the theory that the petitioner
could be expelled regardless of whether the items were ob-
scene. A majority of this Court held that the cartoon and
headline could not be found obscene. There were two dis-
sents, both premised on the concept that university power

16

to suppress “obscene and infantile” expression was greater
than state power to prosecute for distribution of the same
material. If the petitioner distributed the identical news.
paper today, on or off the campus, is it clear that punish.
ment or prosecution could not validly go forward under
the Court’s recent rulings?"

In numerous cities, distributors of underground news.
papers containing political criticism and satire have been
subjected to arrests and harassment, usually because the
publications contained some sexual material claimed by
police to be obscene. See, e.g., Washington Free Commu
nity v. State’s Attorney, 300 F. Supp. 487 (D. Md. 1969);
Great Speckled Bird of Atlanta v. Stynchcombe, 298 F.
Supp. 1291°(N.D. Ga. 1970); United States v. Head, 317
F. Supp. 1138 (E.D. La. 1970) ; Henley v. Wise, 303 F. Supp.
62 (N.D. Ind. 1969); Kois v. Breier, 312 F. Supp. 19 (ED.
Wis. 1970). In various cities, the producers of “Hair,” an

1 Indeed, on many campuses school officials -have consistently
attempted to invoke obscenity rules to punish faculty or students
for distributing or seeking access to materials which in no legiti-
mate way could be characterized as “obscene.” For example, in
New York, school officials removed from a school library a book
describing ghetto life, entitled “Down These Mean Streets,” in
part because of complaints that it contained “obscenities and ex-
plicit sexual interludes.” “Pres. Council, Dist. 25 v. Community
School Board, District 25, 457 F.2d 289 (2d Cir.), cert. denied,
409 U.S. 998 (1972). In Ohio, one school district banned “Catch
22” by Joseph Heller and “Cat’s Cradle” by Kurt Vonnegut, Jr.;
another razored out pages from the “Spoon River Anthology.” —
In Alabama, a teacher was dismissed for assigning another Vonne- —
gut story, “Welcome to the Monkey House,” in part because it
advocated “free sex.” Litigation was necessary to declare that the —
work was not obscene and secure the teacher's reinstatement. Par-
ducci v. Rutland, 316 F. Supp. 352 (M.D. Ala. 1970). Such exam-
ples are merely illustrative. In all of them, the existence of any
sexual content at all provided the major premise for the censor's
actiens.

17

award-winning musical that successfully ran on Broadway
for years, have had to go to court to secure the right to
perform their satirical show because it contained brief epi-
sodes of nudity. See Southeastern Promotions, Ltd. v. City
of Atlanta, 334 F. Supp. 634 (N.D. Ga. 1971) (and cases
cited therein) ; Southeastern Promotions, Ltd. v. Conrad,
486 F.2d 894 (6th Cir. 1973), cert. granted, 42 U.S. Law
Week 3388 (Jan. 8, 1974).

And so it goes. The common element in all these cases
is the use of obscenity statutes as a vehicle for attempts to
suppress political or social commentary. This process oc-
curred during the regime of Redrup v. New York, 386 U.S.
767 (1967), when very little was thought validly to come
within the reach of obscenity laws. The effect of this
Court’s recent rulings—particularly the reference to local
standards of taste in such matters—can only be to acceler-
ate this process.

Events since June 21, 1973 have done nothing to dispel
these fears. To the contrary, in the months following this
Court's rulings a wave of censorship has swept across this
Nation, encompassing material admittedly with a sexual
content but which in no way could be characterized as hard-
core pornography.’ In its wake, vendors of “girlie” maga-

*The publishers of Playboy Magazine have supplied to amict
curiae incident reports submitted by retailers and wholesalers of
Playboy, Oui, Penthouse and similar publications. Thosé reports
demonstrate two distinct patterns resulting from the Court’s rul-
ings: (1) harassment by public officials and (2) self-censorship
by distributors.

Thus, for example, in Ashland, Qhio, the owners of a candy store
were arrested and ten boxes of ines, including Playboy, were
seized. In Greenville, Mississippi, Playboy and similar magazines
were confiscated from a supermarket and the distributors were
threatened with a fine. In Mason, Georgia, magazines similar to

18

zines have been harassed, school teachers have been pun.
ished for assigning the works of writers such as Kurt Von.
negut, Jr. (whose books were burned in North Dakota),
the distributors of critically acclaimed movies have beep
threatened with prosecution, see, United Artists Corp, y,
Proskin, 363 F. Supp. 406 (N.D. N.Y. 1973) (three-judge
court) (“Last Tango in Paris”).* Worst of all, the Court's
decisions have had a demonstrable deterrent effect on the
creative community responsible for our contemporary
books and movies.

Despite the assurances given last Term, the effect of
the Court’s decisions has been to exacerbate the problems
of censorship and fuel the forces of repression which have
always lurked beneath the surface of American life. The
certain way to reverse the trend is to reconsider the prem.
ises of those decisions and return to the path charted in
Stanley.

Playboy were confiscated and court proceedings were commenced
In Shreveport and Jackson, Mississippi, public officials ordered
such magazines off the newsstands. Similar orders were given to
newsstand owners in Hopeville, Virginia, Steubenville, Ohio, and
Atlanta, Georgia.

- Far worse than these episodes of official harassment are instances
of self-censorship where distributors have unilaterally determined
to discontinue handling such magazines. For example, in Southern
California, a major supermarket chain has stopped selling Playboy.
The same thing has occurred in Boise, Idaho. A major drug store
chain in Baltimore, Maryland has taken similar action. And in
Cleveland, Ohio, the operators of a chain of drug stores have asked
to see advance copies of each issue so that they can decide whether
to sell Playboy in their various stores.

* All these various episodes are detailed in the amicus curiae
brief of the Association of American Publishers in Jenkins ¥.
Georgia, O.T. 1973, No. 73-557, at pp. 10-17.

19

Il.

The federal postal power should not be utilized as the
predicate for censorship of obscenity.

Up to now, the discussion has focused on whether this
Court should continve to allow systematic government
censorship of obscenity and what the consequences of such
censorship have been and will continue to be. But this case
has a special dimension, for it involves not the States’
claimed power to regulate the quality and tone of life, but
the federal government’s attenuated power to deal with
obscenity by use of its authority over the mails.

In Roth v. United States, supra, the majority opinion
dealt with this issue perfunctorily, reasoning that since
“ .. obscenity is not expression protected by the First
Amendment. . . . the federal obscenity statute punishing
the use of the mails for obscene material is a proper exer-
cise of the postal power delegated to Congress by Art. I,
§8, cl. 7.” 354 U.S. at 492-93 (footnotes omitted). In reach-
ing this conclusion, reliance was placed on the “hoary
dogma ... that the use of the mails is a privilege on which
the Government may impose such conditions as it chooses,”
a doctrine which “has long since evaporated.” 354 U.S. at
504, n. 5 (dissenting opinion of Justice Harlan). As Jus-
tice Holmes said in his famous dissent: “[t]he United
States may give up the post office when it sees fit, but while
it carries it on the use of the mails is as much a part of
free speech as the right to use our tongues.” United States
ex rel. Milwaukee Social Democratic Pub. Co. v. Burleson,
255 U.S. 407, 487 (1921). And cases since Roth have made

it clear that the Congress cannot use its controls over an
otherwise neutral conduit to create or enhance the federal
government’s substantive censorship powers. See, Lamon;
v. Postmaster General, 381 U.S. 301, 305 (1965); Hiett y.
United States, 415 F.2d 664 (5th Cir. 1969); ef. United
States v. 18 Packages of Magazines, 238 F. Supp. 846, 848
(N.D. Cal. 1964).

The existence of any substantive federal power to regu.
late obscenity is similarly questionable. The theory was
developed by Justice Harlan in Roth:

But in dealing with obscenity we are faced with the
converse situation, for the interests which obscenity
statutes purportedly protect are primarily entrusted
to the care, not of the Federal Government, but of the
States. Congress has no substantive power over sexual
morality. Such powers as the Federal Government
has in this field are but incidental to its other powers,
and are not of the same nature as those possessed by
the States, which bear direct responsibility for the pro-
tection of the local moral fabric.

Not only is the federal interest in protecting the
Nation against pornography attenuated, but the dan-
gers of federal censorship in this field are far greater
than anything the States may do. 354 U.S. at 50405.

Since then, in none of the cases involving Section 1461 has
this Court responded to Justice Harlan’s argument. See,
Ginzburg v. United States, 383 U.S. 463 (1966); United
States v. Reidel, 402 U.S. 351 (1971); ef. United States v.

21

Orito, 413 U.S. 139 (1973) (involving Section 1462).* For
example, the analogous power to control interstate com-
merce, upheld in Orito as the basis for regulating shipment
of obscene materials across state lines, has its limitations.
See, e.g., United States v. Bass, 404 U.S. 336 (1971); see
also, United States v. Maze, —— U.S. ——, 42 U.S. Law
Week 4113 (Jan. 8, 1974) (mail fraud). Presumably an
intrastate shipment of obscene materials by private car-
riage could not be reached by 18 U.S.C. Section 1462. By
the same reasoning, what possible federal interests—other
than the secondary ones identified by Justice Harlan—
would justify penalizing the intrastate mailing of the same
material?

Lower federal courts have also balked at the concept of
employing the postal power as the basis for plenary fed-
eral control over obscene materials. For example, in United
States v. Dellapia, supra, the Second Circuit construed the
mail statute’s “broad prohibition as subject to an under-
lying requirement that the mailing trespass upon a valid
governmental which constitutionally justifies invasion of
a private consensual relationship .. . .” 433 F.2d at 1260.
And even the Government, perhaps in recognition of the
attenuated federal interest in regulating obscenity, at one
point announced a policy of not enforcing the statute to
prosecute the private mailing of obscene correspondence.
See Redménd v. United States, 384 U.S. 264 (1966) (per
curiam) ; Cox v. United States, 370 F.2d 563 (9th Cir. 1967) ;
ef. United States v. Watson, 293 F. Supp. 694 (W.D. Mo.
1968).

‘Justice Harlan did concede “a limited [federal] interest” in
excluding hard-core pornography from the mails. Memoirs v.
Massachusetts, 383 U.S. 4138, 457 (1966) (dissenting opinion). But
even he was only able to identify the interest in terms of the pos-
sible thwarting of state regulation if the mails were used to dis-
tribute such materials. Jd. at 457, n.2.

ee .

22

Finally, the assertion of federal power to censor obscen.
ity involves a very real doctrinal and practical dilemma,

On the one hand, it appears settled that in enforcing
Section 1461’s ban on mailing obscene materials, a national
standard of decency must be employed to assess the offen.
siveness of the challenged subject-matter:

There must first be decided the relevant “community” _
in terms of whose standards of decency the issue must
be judged. We think that the proper test under this
federal statute, reaching as it does to all parts of the
United States whose population reflects many different
ethnic and cultural backgrounds, is a national standard
of decency. Manual Enterprises v. Day, 370 U.S. 478,
488 (1962).

As the First Circuit recently pointed out, requiring any-
thing less than national standards under Section 1461
would allow intolerable leeway for forum-shopping and se-
lective prosecution :

Since the statute proscribes the deposit for mailing,
conveying in the mails, and delivery of obscene ma-
terials, were a state standard to govern the level of
tolerance, guilt or innocence could easily turn on the
choice to prosecute in the state of mailing, the state of
delivery, or a state through which the material passed.
This would open the possibility of senders of identical
materials from the same state to be found guilty or not,
depending on the course of transit or state of delivery
of their materials. The vice of selective prosecution
would also be present, as well as the anomalous situa-
tion of having prosecution under a national law depend

23

upon the laws of the least permissive states. United
States v. Palladino, —— F.2d ——, 14 Cr. L. Rep.
9354, 2355 (1st Cir. 1974).

On the other hand, Miller v. California held not only
that “national” standards were not required in State pro-
gedings, but that such standards were “abstract”, “hypo-
thetical”, “unascertainable.” Thus, while national stand-
ards should be applied under the federal statutes to avoid
all the constitutional problems identified in Manual Enter-
prises and Palladino, the majority of this Court has
indicated that such standards are too speculative to be ap-
plied in State proceedings. The “unascertainable” nature
of national standards would render any prosecution under
them a violation of due process requirements. See Win-
ters v. New York, 333 U.S. 507 (1948) ; Connally v. General
Construction Co., 269 U.S. 385 (1926). And the utilization
of less than a national standard, under this federal statute,
would have an enormously inhibiting effect on those who
tise the mails to transmit books, magazines, or films with a
sexual content. Editors will spend more time worrying
about postal routes than about literary quality.

Since the primary interests purportedly advanced by
the regulation of obscenity are state, not federal, see Paris
Adult Theatre I v. Slaton, supra, the existence of such a
constitutional dilemma is particularly intolerable.

24

IV.

Section 1461 is prohibitively vague, and its continued
enforcement violates several fundamental constitutional
principles. :

Even assuming that hard-core pornography can cp.
tinue to be prohibited systematically through the use of
the federal postal power, the use of Section 1461 to accom.
plish such prohibition and its application in this case offend
a number of constitutional safeguards.

Section 1461 proscribes the mailing of every “obscene,
lewd, lascivious, indecent, filthy or vile” matter. As written,
it embodies the three major evils of vague enactments
which this Court has identified:

Vague laws offend several important values. First,
because we assume that man is free to steer betwee
lawful and unlawful conduct, we insist that laws give
the person of ordinary intelligence a reasonable oppor-
tunity to know what is prohibited, so that he may ad
accordingly. Vague laws may trap the innocent by not
providing fair warning. Second, if arbitrary and dis
criminatory enforcement is to be prevented, laws must
provide explicit standards for those who apply them
A vague law impermissibly delegates basic policy mat-
ters to policemen, judges, and juries for resolution o
an ad hoc and subjective basis, with the attendant
dangers of arbitrary and discriminatory application.
Third, but related, where a vague statute “abut(s)
upon sensitive areas of basic First Amendment free
doms,” it “operates to inhibit the exercise of [those]
freedoms.” Uncertain meanings inevitably lead citizes

25

to “‘steer far wider of the unlawful zone’. . . than
if the boundaries of the forbidden areas were clearly
marked.” Grayned v. City of Rockford, 408 U.S. 104,
108-09 (1972) (footnotes omitted).

See also, Winters v. New York, 333 U.S. 507 (1948); Bur-
siyn v. Wilson, 343 U.S. 495 (1952) ; Kingsley Int'l Pictures
Corp. v. Regents, 360 U.S. 684 (1959). From a First
Amendment perspective, vague laws are condemned because
they have the effect of deterring protected expression.
Equally important, in a due process sense, vague laws vio-
late the “principle of legality” common to all civilized
nations. Levy v. Parker, 478 F.2d 772, 791 (3rd Cir. 1973),
prob. juris. noted, 42 U.S. Law Week 3155 (Sept. 25, 1973).
As Justice White has observed,

... our civilization has assumed that the threat of
penal sanctions had something more than a “specula-
tive” effect on a person’s conduct. This Court has long
acted on that assumption in demanding that criminal
laws be plainly and explicitly worded so that people
will know what they mean and be in a position to
conform their conduct to the mandates of law. Linda
RS. v. Richard D., —— U.S. ——, 35 L.Ed.2d 536, 543
(1973) (dissenting opinion).

The prohibitions in Section 1461 are not “plainly and
explicitly worded so that people will know what they mean,”
and the contrary claim has never seriously been
made. Indeed, in Roth, where the vagueness challenge was
rejected in passing, the majority admitted that the terms
of the statute were “not precise.” 354 U.S. at 491. Instead,
the Court held that the statutory terms, “applied accord-
ing to the proper standard for judging obscenity, already

ie.

26

discussed, give adequate warning of the conduct proscribed,

..” Ibid. In other words, the requisite specificity of what
is “obscene” can be supplied by judicial construction—,
position since abandoned by the author of the Roth opinion,
And even in Miller the majority implied that words such as
“obscene” could not meet constitutional’ muster in the ab.
sence of legislative specification or judicial construction,
But, as this Court has noted,

It would certainly be dangerous if the Legislature
could set a net large enough to catch all possible
offenders and leave it to the courts to step inside and
say who could rightfully be detained, and who should
be set at large. United States v. Reese, 92 U.S. 214,
221 (1876). See also, United States v. Robel, 389 US.
258, 275-76 (1967).

Thus, once a statute must depend on judicial construction
to remedy its vagueness, its capacity to provide the requi-
site notice is seriously diminished. And its application
tends to become an ad hoc matter devolving upon the
attitude of judges, juries, and administrative agencies. The
Government should not continue to be allowed to use this
facially vague statute to regulate in the First Amendment
area.

Since the statute requires judicial construction to save
its validity, the question is whether it can bear a construe.
tion consonant with the new requirements stated in Miller
v. California.’ Perhaps the most “obscene” phenomenon

* Even assuming that this statute or any other were re-drawn to
embody the central elements of the Miller holding, it is still doubtful
that constitutional standards of specificity would be met. See, Paris
Adult Theatre I v. Slaton, supra, 413 U.S. at 78 (dissenting opinion
of Justice Brennan). While the kinds of sexual conduct whose

27

since last June has been the way that some courts have
rushed to “construe” their statutes to incorporate the cen-
tral elements of the Miller decision, holding that no matter
what the particular statute said or what its authors in-
tended, the new definitions could be read into the enact-
ments. See, e.g., State v. J-R Distributors, Inc., 512 P.2d
1049 (Sup. Ct. Wash. 1973); Grigsby v. State, 14 Cr. L.
Rep. 2143 (Tenn. Sup. Ct. 1973) ; People v. Heller,
N.Y.2d —— (Dec. 28, 1973). Fortunately, a number of
other courts have invalidated or questioned existing ob-
scenity statutes because they failed to specify the kinds of
sexual conduct which could be considered patently offensive.
See, e.g., Literature Inc. v. Quinn, 482 F.2d 372 (1st Cir.
1973); Hamar Theatres Inc, v. Cryan, 365 F. Supp. 1312
(D. N.J. 1973) (three-judge court), juris. statement filed,
42 U.S. Law Week 3365 (Dec. 18, 1973) ; Detco Inc. v. Mc-
Cann, 365 F. Supp. 176 (E.D. Wisc. 1973); United States
v. Lang, 361 F. Supp. 380 (C.D. Cal. 1973); Stroud v.
Indiana, Ind. , 13 Cr. L. Rep. 2541 (1973) ; Louwzsi-
ana v. Shreveport News Agency, Inc., La. , 42
Law Week 2344 (1973). While this Court has implied that
it is “prepared” to authoritatively construe Section 1461
as incorporating the Miller standards, see United States
y. 12 200-Foot Reels, 413 U.S. 123, 130, n.7 (1973), there
are limits to the liberty which this Court or any other
can take with statutory language or purpose. See, Aptheker
v. Secretary of State, 378 U.S. 500, 515-17 (1964) ; Baggett

depiction would be prohibitable might be specified with some defi-

niteness, other elements of the new Miller test of obscenity remain
vague. Under Miller, First Amendment rights are made to turn
on whether a given work dealing with sexual matters has “serious
literary, artistic, political, or scientific value.” The “serious value”
standard is as uncertain as it is unprecedented.

_—_—

28

v. Bullitt, 377 U.S. 360° (1964); Shuttlesworth v. Birming.
ham, 394 U.S. 147, 153-54 (1969); Welsh v. United States,
398° "U Si 333, 854 -(1970) {concurring opinion of Justice
Harlan) ; Long Island Vietnam Moratorium Committee y.
Cahn, 437 F.2d 344 (2d Cir. 1970). The federal statute has
been on the books for a century without ever specifying the
kind of sexual conduct to which regulation of obscenity
must be limited. More than an ipse dizit is required to find
that this statute embodies such specifications.

Finally, even if the statute can be construed to embody
the Miller requirements, until this Court explicitly does so,
retroactive application of such requirements is impermis.
sible. The decisions last June significantly altered the
Court’s obscenity doctrines and definitions. To meet the
dissenters’ contention that concepts in this area could never
be stated with the requisite precision, the Court held that
obscenity statutes, as written or construed, would have to
identify the sexual conduct being regulated. Section 1461
never met these requirements and does not meet them
even today. Prospectively construing the statute to comply
with Miller is questionable enough; retroactively applying
that construction to these petitioners is unconstitutional.
See Bouie v. Columbia, 378 U.S. 347 (1964); Ginzburg v.
United States, 383 U.S. 463, 495 (1966) (dissenting opinion
of Justice Harlan) ; United States v. Lang, supra. Sucha
result embodies all the evils of an ex post facto enactment.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth herein, the decision below
should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

Metvin L. Wor

Jozrt M. Gora
American Civil Liberties Union
22 East 40th Street
New York, New York 10016

Frep OKRAND
Joun O’LovuGHiiIN
JmL JAKES
American Civil Liberties Union
Foundation of Southern California
323 West Fifth Street
Los Angeles, California 90013

Attorneys for Amici Curiae

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386414_0325%3A09. Public record. Not legal advice.
