# Amicus Curiae Brief — Ross v. Moffitt

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386414_0313%3A05

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1974
- **Citation:** 417 U.S. 600

## Text

¢ oer
at« i \ / :
x ; 4
i, ¥
;
;

# ;
‘, /

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Inrexest OF Amicus CURIAE 2 1
QUESTIONS PRESENTED 22s 6
ConsTITUTIONAL Provisions ANp STATUTES INVOLVED _._...... 7
SraTeMENT Or THE CASE ooo cece 11

ARGUMENT:

I. The United States Court Of Appeals For The Fourth
- Circuit Erred In This Case In Ruling That A State Must
As A Constitutional Right, Provide Counsel At Every
Stage In The Appellate Process From A Criminal ‘Con-
viction, Including The Discretionary Portion Of A Two-
Tier Appellate System And For The Seeking Of Review
In This Honorable Court. 22000. cccecoeceeeceeeeeeelen 12

II. If This Honorable Court Determines That The Sixth And
Fourteenth Amendments To The Constitution Of The
United States Mandate The Provision Of Counsel. To
Assist Indigent State Prisoners In Perfecting Review Of
Their Convictions By This Court, Your Honors Should
Also Reconsider The Weight And Effect That Such A Re-
view Will Have On The Finality Of Criminal Proceedings
By Holding That The Denial Of Certiorari Constitutes A
Determination That The Prisoner Is Not In Custody In
Violation Of Federal Constitutional Law So As To Pre-
clude Federal Habeas Corpus Relief Or, At The Very
Least, Reconsider The Court’s Holding In Fay v. Noia,
372 U.S. 391, 435 (1963), That A State Prisoner Need
Not Seek Certiorari In Order To Have Fully Exhausted
His Available State Court Remedies... 17

Pertimanon . _ . 21

Ceetiricate Or Servicé 22

TABLE OF CITATIONS

Cases
Agoston v. Pennsylvania, 340 U.S. 844 (1950) 200... 18
Brown v. Allen, 344 U.S. 443 (1953) 222222... eeeeeeeeeeee ee. 1B
Douglas v. California, 372 U.S. 353 (1963) -..0.-.0.2.eeeee een. 14
Drumm v. California, 373 U.S. 947 (1963) ......-2-..-2222:.0cce-ceeecssene 16
Epton v. New York, 390 U.S. 29 (1968) ........------- epee 2
Fay v. Noia, 372 U.S. 391 (1963) occsccsccscssssseeseeessteeeece coe W
In re Diaz, 373 U.S. 947 (1963) ........... sdsstanis Esta sseincbwiciernacamieicness sins 16
In re Jacobs, 373 U.S. 947 (1963) ..........--.-.:.ecesessceeeseeeeececeseeneesnneee 16
In re Turner, 373 U.S. 947 (1963) .....--cce--ccceesccsseescsneeeeesseeeessetnsene 16
Maryland v. Baltimore Radio Show, 338.U.S. 912 (1950) ........... 18
Moffitt v. Ross, 483 F.2d 650 (4th Cir. 1973) 2020222202222. J, 12
Mooney v. New York, 373 U.S. 947 (1963) ~....22-2---20-222-220ccesccooe 16
Nelson v. Peyton, 415 F.2d 1154 (4th Cir. 1969) 2200. 3
Ohio ex rel. Eaton v. Price, 360 U.S. 246 (1959) ccc 18
Oppenheimer v. California, 374 U.S. 819 (1963) ....0...0.ccceecccen 16
Petérs w. Cox, 341 F.2d 575 (10th Cir. 1965) .............. er 12, 13
Rosenberg v. United States, 344 U.S. 889 (1952) -..002...20-.. 18
Schneckloth v. Bustamonte, 412 U.S. 218 (1973) ~..000022200..2--- 21
Sheppard v. Ohio, 352 U.S. 910, 911 (1956) eae 18
Simmons v. Union News Co., 382 U.S. 884 (1965) 0.0.2... 2
United States v. Carver, 260 U.S. 482 (1923) -222.-..-.-eeeeceeneennee 18

United States ex rel. Epton v. Nenna, 318 F.Supp. 899 (S.D.
N.Y. 1970), aff'd. 446 F.2d 363 (2d Cir. 1971), cert. den.
os EG gf een eee ee 2

United States ex rel. Pennington v. Pate, 409 F.2d 757 (7th Cir.
1969) 12, 13

_—

Page
"Womack v. Oregon, 373 U.S. 947 (1963) --v-v-netennrenceenene 16
Constitution and Statutes
sixth Amendment, Constitution of the United States ---------- 7
Fourteenth Amendment, Constitution of the United States ............ 7
WB US.C. § 2241 -n------eccneeecnnseeeecsennstecenteensscensennnstennaenmamnnans senses ess eset 7
IB U.S.C. § 2254 ---nnesecnneeccnseccnesseneesnnsesrnsesnnseccnntennmecennacnnnssnnsarenssessst4 6, 9
Other Authorities
Bator, Finality in Criminal Law and Federal Habeas Corpus for
State Prisoners, 76 Harv. L. Rev. 441 (19GB) -.-.n.-------000-r0-0--0 21
Boskey, The Right to Counsel in Appellate Proceedings, 45 Minn.
L, Rev. 783 (1961) -.....---2:--:c-sseseeeceseneesssesentententenetecenseneenenaensennenss 16
Brennan, State Court decisions and the Supreme Court, 31 Penn.
Bar Ass’n. Q. 393 (1960) ....----------s-se-ceseeeeceesercessensensenenenes sonneeee 18
Burger, Report on the Federal Judicial Branch—1973, 59
A.B.A.J. 1125 (1973) ..-2-----csco-csevssscosescentecnnsessnsescesecensssemaascnnsssnce 4
Friendly, Is Innocence Irrelevant? Collateral Attack on Criminal
Judgments, 38 Univ. Chi. L. Rev. TAD CESTO) oie 21

Harlan, Manning the Dikes, 13 Record of N.Y.C.B.A. 541 (1958) 18
Oaks, Legal History in the High Court—Habeas Corpus, 64 Mich.

L. Rev. 451 (1966) .........--- geeveesvsseenennnsceueennesesnecsnssensasnnecsnseenasennscs 21
Report of the Study Group on the Caseload of the Supreme Court,

57 F.R.D. 573 ...-n-c--ccccecesececeeceseeseseseeceeeneseseseceeeenssssnecssneneseemeeenenaes 4,5
Stern v. Gressman, Supreme Court Practice, §§ 5.7, 11.2 (4th

Ed. 1969) ....necscesccecececececeessceceseeseseteceeessesececensnensesesensneesenes 15, 16, 18
Supreme Court Journal, October Term, 1962, Index, p. iv. ...... 16, 17
1A, West’s Federal Forms § 488 (Boskey Ed. 1969) ...........-.------- 16

In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1973 |

No. 73-786

MAJOR FRED R. ROSS aAnpD
STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA,
Petitioners,
v.

CLAUDE FRANKLIN MOFFITT,
Respondent.

MAJOR FRED R. ROSS AnD
STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA,
. Petitioners,

V.

CLAUDE F. MOFFITT,
Respondent.

BRIEF OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA AS
_ AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF THE PETITION FOR
A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE JUDGMENT OF THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
FOURTH CIRCUIT

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

The Petition for a Writ of Certiorari in this case was
docketed in this Honorable Court on November 15, 1973,
and the opinion of the United States Courts of Appeals for
the Fourth Circuit may be found in Moffitt v. Ross, 483

2

F.2d 650 (4th Cir. 1973). The Petition for a Writ of
Certiorari was granted by order of this Court dated Jan-
uary 7, 1974.

The decision of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Fourth Circuit in Case No. 72-1720, which was the case
in the Court below dealing with the collateral attack by way
of a Petition for a Writ of Habeas Corpus on a conviction
in Guilford County, North Carolina, is of particular con-
cern to the Commonwealth of Virginia because the affirm.
ance of the holding of the Court of Appeals in that case
would require Virginia, through its Supreme Court, to
appoint counsel to assist a criminal defendant in petitioning
this Honorable Court for a Writ of Certiorari if a federal
question appropriate for review in this Court were raised.
The holding of the Court of Appeals in the other case, Case
No. 72-2480, is of only tangential interest to the Common-
wealth of Virginia because it requires North Carolina to
provide appellate counsel, not only for an appeal as of right
to the intermediate Court of Appeals, but also for a discre-
tionary appeal to the Supreme Court of North Carolina. As
the Court of Appeals points out, Virginia’s appellate process
consists of a single stage with discretionary acceptance of
review at that stage but Virginia provides counsel for that
appeal. Consequently, Virginia’s principal concern is with
the holding in Case No. 72-1720, but that concern is a very
real one as Virginia does not now provide counsel to assist
defendants in seeking review before this Honorable Court,
nor does Virginia have any existing statutory or adminis-
trative framework for so appointing and compensating
counsel.

Perhaps one barometer as to the possible impact of the
Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals’ ruling on Virginia, and
this Honorable Court, would be the impact that the prior
holding of the United States Court of Appeals for the

_

3

Fourth Circuit in Nelson v. Peyton, 415 F.2d 1154 (4th
Cir. 1969), had on the Commonwealth of Virginia. In that
case the Court of Appeals held that at the close of a crim-
inal trial there was an affirmative obligation on either the
trial court or counsel to sua sponte advise the defendant of
his right to appeal, a procedure that had not theretofore
been followed in Virginia. In the three years preceding the
decision in Nelson, a total of 1,092 writs of error were
either granted or refused in criminal cases by the Supreme
Court of Virginia—an average of 364 cases a year. In the
comparable three year span following the decision in Nel-
son, 1970-1972, a total of 1,906 writs of error were acted
upon by the Supreme. Court of Virginia—an average of
635 cases per year. This is a remarkable and striking in-
crease that cannot be totally attributed to the normal in-
crease in criminal prosecutions.

An additional concern on the part of the amicus curiae
is the probable impact of providing counsel for the seeking
of review in this Honorable Court and, in light of the
holding in Nelson, the probable obligation on appellate coun-
sel to advise his client of his further appellate rights after
review has been refused by the Supreme Court of Virginia,
and in a case where review has been granted and the ulti-
mate disposition has been unfavorable for the defendant, a
similar obligation of advice will fall on appellate counsel
in those cases. There will obviously be a material increase
in the number of Petitions for Writs of Certiorari filed in
this Court from around the country, and prosecutor’s staffs
or Attorneys General’s staffs will be responsible for pre-
paring, reproducing and filing Briefs in Opposition to the
Granting of a Writ of Certiorari or Motions to Dismiss or
Affirm in direct appeal cases filed in this Court. There will
thus be a substantial increase in the workload, for example,
of the Criminal Litigation Division of the Office of the At- -

4

4

torney General of Virginia, and this increase would come
at a time when the emphasis in that office has shifted
towards. providing greater technical support to local law
enforcement and prosecutorial officials so as to improve
the administration of the criminal justice system. |

In addition, there will be a corresponding increase in
post-conviction collateral proceedings where prisoners raise
allegations relating to the denial of appeal or ineffective-
ness of counsel for the alleged failure of their attorneys
to advise them of their appellate rights or to pursue those
rights. A significant number of these proceedings would
necessitate plenary hearings as the allegations relate to
matters that are outside the record and, significantly, unless
this Honorable Court were to provide some mechanism for
the late filing of Petitions for Writs of Certiorari in such
- cases that are decided in favor of the prisoner, the prisoner
may be entitled to his release or to a re-trial on a Writ of
Habeas Cofpus although the alleged appellate deficit ob-
viously had no direct impact on guilt or innocence or the
fairness of the initial trial, and despite the fact that the
court of last resort in the State had ruled that the prisoner
had a fair trial.

Lastly, but not least, the amicus curiae, like all those
properly concerned with the effective and efficient disposi-
tion of cases in this Honorable Court, is disturbed: by the
- probable impact of the Court of Appeals’ decision on the
caseload of this Honorable Court. As Chief Justice Burger
pointed out in his annual report on the state of the Federal
Judicial Branch to the American Bar Association, the num-
ber of docketed cases before this Court increased from
1,463 in 1953 to 4,640 in 1972 (Burger, Report on the Fed-
eral Judicial Branch—1973, 59 A.B.A.J. 1125, 1129
(1973)). The Report of the Study Group on the Caseload
of the Supreme Court, often referred to as the “Freund Re-

wn

ee

port,”. also points to this geometric increase in the caseload
of this Honorable Court and that report points to the fact
that from 1941 to 1971 the number of in forma pauperis
cases filed in this Court increased from 178 to 1,930 (57
FRD. 573, 579). From 1941 to 1971 the percentage of
in forma pauperis petitions granted dropped from 9 percent
to 3.3 percent, with the latter figure adjusted to exclude
the petitions granted in the death penalty cases (57 F.R.D.
at 580, 615). The Freund Study Group reached the follow-
ing conclusions based on these impressive statistics :

“The statistics of the Court’s current workload, both
in absolute terms and in the mounting trend, are im-
pressive evidence that the conditions essential for the
performance of the Court's mission do not exist. For
an ordinary appellate court the burgeoning volume of
cases would be a staggering burden; for the Supreme
Court the pressures of the docket are incompatible with
the appropriate fulfillment of its historic and essential
functions.

“Over the past thirty-five years, as has been seen,
the number of cases filed has grown about fourfold,
while the number of cases in which the Court has heard
oral argument before decision has remained substan-
tially constant. Two consequences can be inferred. Is-
sues that would have been decided on the merits a
generation ago are passed over by the Court today;
and: second, the consideration given to the cases ac-
tually decided on the merits is compromised by the
pressures of ‘processing’ the inflated docket of petitions
and appeals.

- * *.

“We are concerned that the Court is now at the
saturation point, if not actually overwhelmed. If trends
continue, as there is every reason to believe they will,
and if no relief is provided, the function of the Court
must necessarily change. In one way or another, plac-

6

ing ever more reliance on an augmented staff, the
Court could perhaps manage to administer its docket.
But it will be unable adequately to meet its essential
responsibilities.” (57 F.R.D. at 581, 584).

If the decision of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Fourth Circuit is allowed to stand in an unmodified
form, the figures mentioned above would be extremely
conservative and the inundation of this Court described by
the Freund Study Group would be complete.

Accordingly, the Commonwealth of Virginia, joined by
the State of California, with the sponsorship of their At-
torneys General, offer this brief. in support of the peti-
tioner’s argument that counsel should not be provided as a
constitutional right to assist state prisoners in seeking re-
view of state appellate court determinations in this Honor-
' able Court. This brief of amicus curiae will be limited to
the consideration of that issue—the provision of counsel for
the perfection of a Petition for a Writ of Certiorari after
final action in the State appellate courts—the issue in-
volved in Case No. 72-1720 in the United States Court of
Appeals for the Fourth Circuit.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

I. Whether, as a constitutional right, a State must pro-
vide counsel at every stage in the appellate process froma
criminal conviction, including the seeking of review in the
Supreme Court of the United States?

II. Whether, if this Honorable Court feels that the first
question should be answered in the affirmative, some modi-
fication of the prior holdings of this court should be made
so as to require the seeking ‘of certiorari, as a necessary
element in the exhaustion of State remedies within the
meaning of 28 U.S.C. § 2254 or so as to provide that the

° ; . 7

denial of certiorari by this Honorable Court to a State
prisoner constitutes an adjudication by this Court that the

is not “in custody in violation of the Constitution

or laws or treaties of the United States” so as to preclude
Tederal habeas corpus under 28 U.S.C. § 2241?

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND
STATUTES INVOLVED

Sixth Amendment to the Constitution of the United
States :

In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy
the right to a speedy and public trial, by an impartial
jury of the state and district wherein the crime shall
have been committed, which district shall have been
previously ascertained by law, and to be informed of
the nature and cause of the accusation; to be con-
fronted with the witnesses against him; to have com-
pulsory process for obtaining witnesses in his favor,
and to have the assistance of counsel for his defense.

Fourteenth Amendment to the Constitution of the United
States :

Section 1.

All persons born or naturalized in the United States,
and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of
the United States and of the state wherein they reside.
No state shall make or enforce any law which shall
abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens of the
United States; nor shall any State deprive any person
of life, liberty, or property, without due process of law;
nor deny to any person within its jurisdiction the equal
protection of the laws.

28 United States Code § 2241:

(a) Writs of habeas corpus may be granted by the

\

8

Supreme Court, any justice-thereof, the district courts
and any circuit judge within their respective jurisdic
tions. The order of a circuit judge shall be entered in
the records of the district court of the district wherein
the restraint complained of is had.

(b) The Supreme Court, any justice thereof, and
any circuit judge may decline to entertain an applica-
tion for a writ of habeas corpus and may transfer the
application for hearing and determination to the district
court having jurisdiction to entertain it.

(c) The writ of habeas corpus shall not extend to
a prisoner unless—

(1) He is in custody under or by color of the au-
thority of the United States or is committed for trial
before some court thereof ; or

(2) He is in custody for an act dome’ or omitted
in pursuance of an Act of Congress, or an order,
process, judgment or decree of a court or judge of
the United States ; or

(3) He is in custody in violation of the Constitu-
tion or laws or treaties of the United States; or

(4) He, being.a citizen of a foreign state and
domiciled therein, is in custody for an act done or
omitted under any alleged right, title, authority, priv-
ilege, protection, or exemption claimed under the
commission, order or sanction of any foreign state,
or under color thereof, the validity and effect of
which depend upon the law of nations; or

(5) It is necessary to bring him into court to
testify or for trial.

(d) Where an application for a writ of habeas
corpus is made by a person in custody under the judg-
ment and sentence of a State court of a State which
contains two Or more Federal judicial districts, the
application may be filed in the district court for the
district wherein such person is in custody or in the

-—

9

district wy for the district within which the State
court was held which convicted and sentenced him and
each of such district courts shall have concurrent juris-
diction to entertain the application. The district court
for the district wherein such an application is filed in
the exercise of its discretion and in furtherance of
justice may transfer the application to the other district
court for hearing and determination.

28 United States Code § 2254:

(a) The Supreme Court, a Justice thereof, a circuit
judge, or a district court shall entertain an application
for a writ of habeas corpus in behalf of a person in
custody pursuant to the judgment of a State court
only on the ground that he is in cuStody in violation of
the Constitution or laws or treaties of the United
States.

(b) An application for a writ of habeas corpus in
behalf of a person in custody pursuant to the judgment
of a State court shall not be granted unless it appears
that the applicant has exhausted the remedies available
in the courts of the State, or that there is either an
absence of available State corrective process or the
existence of circumstances rendering such process in-
effective to protect the rights of the prisoner. .

(c) An applicant shall not be deemed to have ex-
hausted the remedies available in the courts of the
State, within the meaning of this section, if he has the
right under the law of the State to raise, by any avail-
able procedure, the question presented.

(d) In any proceeding instituted in a Federal court
by an application for a writ of habeas corpus by a per-
son in custody pursuant to the judgment of a State
court, a determination after a hearing on the merits
of a factual issue, made by a State court of competent
jurisdiction in a proceeding to which the applicant for
the writ and the State or an officer or agent thereof
were parties, evidenced by a written finding, written

10

opinion, or other reliable and adequate written indicia,
shall be presumed to be correct, unless the applicant
shall establish or it shall otherwise appear, or the re-
spondent shall admit—

(1) that the merits of the factual dispute were
not resolved in the State court hearing ;

(2) that the factfinding procedure employed by
the State court was not adequate to afford a full and
fair hearing;

(3) that the material facts were not adequately
developed at the State court hearing ;

(4) that the State court lacked jurisdiction of the
subject matter or over the person of the applicant
in the State court proceeding ;

(5) that the applicant was an indigent and the
State court, in deprivation of his constitutional right,
failed to appoint counsel to represent him in the State
court proceeding ;

(6) that the applicant did not receive a full, fair,
and adequate hearing in the State court proceeding;
or

(7) that the applicant was otherwise denied due
process of law in the State court proceeding ;

(8) or unless that part of the record of the State
court proceeding in which the determination of such
factual issue was made, pertinent to a determination
of the sufficiency of the evidence to support such
factual determination, is produced as provided for
hereinafter, and the Federal court on a consideration
of such part of the record as a whole concludes that.
such factual determination is not fairly supported
by the record:

And in an evidentiary hearing in the proceeding in
the Federal court, when due proof of such factual de-
termination has been made, unless the existence of one
or more of the circumstances respectively set forth in -

_—

ll

paragraphs numbered (1) to (7), inclusive, is shown
by the applicant, otherwise appears, or is admitted
by the respondent, or unless the court concludes pur-
suant to the provisions of paragraph numbered (8)
that the record in the State court proceeding, con-
sidered as a whole, does not fairly support such factual
determination, the burden shall rest upon the applicant
to establish by convincing evidence that the factual
determination by the State court was erroneous.

(e) If the applicant challenges the sufficiency of
the evidence adduced in such State court proceeding to
support the State court’s determination of a factual
issue made therein, the applicant, if able, shall produce
that part of the record pertinent to a determination of
the sufficiency of the evidence to support such deter-
mination. If the applicant, because of indigency or
other reason is unable to produce such part of the
record, then the State shall produce such part of the
record and the Federal court shall direct the State to
do so by order directed to an appropriate State official.
If the State cannot provide such pertinent part of the
record, then the court shall determine under the exist-
ing facts and circumstances what weight shall be given
to the State court’s factual determination.

(f) A copy of the official records of the State court,
duly certified by the clerk of such court to be a true
and correct copy of a finding, judicial opinion, or other
reliable written indicia showing such a factual determi-
nation by the State court shall be admissible in the
Federal court proceeding.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE >

The specific facts which gave rise to this action are
fully set out in the Brief for the Petitioner and the amicus
will accordingly not repeat those matters but will concen-
trate instead during the course of this brief on the broader
national impact of the Court’s decision in this case.

12

ARGUMENT
I.

The Uniited States Court Of Appeals For The Fourth Circuit Erred
In This Case In Ruling That A State Must, As A Constitutional
Right, Provide Counsel At Every Stage In The Appellate Process
From A Criminal Conviction, Including The Discretionary Por.
tiom Of A Two-Tier Appellate System And For The Seeking Of
Review In This Honorable Court.

The United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth
Circuit prefaced its decision in these cases by acknowledg-
ing that they were “met with the questions reserved by the
Court in Douglas v. Cakfornia, 372 U.S. 353” (483 F.2d
at 650). The Court below then proceeded to decide those
“questions reserved” in such a manner as to have a decided
impact on the administration of the appellate portion of the
criminal justice system. As previously pointed out, the
Commonwealth of Virginia has no specific concern with
the decision of the Court of Appeals in Case No. 72-2480
as Virginia has, at the present time, a single tier appellate
system and counsel are provided for indigent criminal de-
fendants at all stages in that process (483 F.2d at 653-654).

However, Virginia presently has no procedure for re-
quiring advice to unsuccessful criminal defendants in State
appeals that they have a right to seek further review in
this Honorable Court, nor does Virginia have any existing
process whereby counsel would be provided to assist indigent
defendants in seeking such review if the defendant wishes
to avail himself of this opportunity. Consequently, the deci-
sion of the Court of Appeals with regard to this latter
point is of great concern to the amicus curiae.

The Court below acknowledges that the Seventh and
Tenth Circuit Courts of Appeals, in United States ex rel
Pennington v. Pate, 409 F.2d 757 (7th Cir. 1969) and
Peters v. Cox, 341 F.2d 575 (10th Cir. 1965), had held to

13

the contrary but the Court below felt that these decisions
in 1969 and 1965, respectively, were essentially outdated
within the context of what was now “constitutionally requi-
site” (483 F.2d at 655). In Peters, the United States Court
of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit held as follows:

“The question presented in this habeas corpus appeal
is whether the Supreme Court of New Mexico denied
appellate’s constitutional rights by refusing and fail-
ing to appoint counsel to assist him in taking an appeal
in a criminal case from that court to the Supreme Court
of the United States. We hold that there has been no
denial of constitutional rights under the circumstances
of this case. .

“It is, of course, the law that the due process clause
of the Fourteenth Amendment to the Constitution re-
quires the appointment of counsel to represent an in-
digent defendant in a state criminal trial. Gideon v.
Wainwright, 372 U.S. 335, 83 S.Ct. 792, 9 L.Ed.2d
799; Hickock v. Crouse, 10 Cir., 334 F.2d 95. It is also
the law that under the due process and equal protection
clauses of the Fourteenth Amendment, an indigent
defendant has a right to appointed counsel on the ap-
peal of a state criminal conviction. Douglas v. People
of California, 372 U.S. 353, 83 S.Ct. 814, 9 L.Ed.2d
811. But, we have been cited to no authority requiring,
or even permitting, a state supreme court to appoint
counsel for an indigent defendant to represent him on
his appeal to the Supreme Court of the United States.
Our own research has revealed none. The judgment
below is therefore affirmed.” (341 F.2d at 575).

Similarly, although the United States Court of Appeals
for the Seventh Circuit was primarily concerned with the
question decided by the Court below in Case No. 72-2480,
the Court in Pennington partially based its determination
on the practices of this Honorable Court in Petitions for
Writs of Certiorari:

14

“We find support for our decision in the present
practices of the United States Supreme Court with
regard to petitions for writs of certiorari. The United
States Supreme Court’s disposition of a petition for a
writ of certiorari is as fully discretionary as the IIl-
inois Supreme Court’s decision to grant a Rule 315
appeal. Both determinations are made after one appeal
as of right has occurred. If we were to hold for the
petitioner here, we would be saying a fortiori that the
Supreme Court’s present practice of not granting coun-
sel for the purpose of preparing certiorari petitions is
“ contrary to equal protection under the Constitution.
This we are unwilling to do.” (409 F.2d at 760).

The dissenting justices in the case of Douglas v. California,
372 U.S. 353 (1963), similarly relied on the practices
of this Honorable Court. Mr. Justice Clark, in dissenting,
made the following statement :

“With this new fetish for indigency the Court piles
an intolerable burden on the state’s judicial machinery.
Indeed, if the Court is correct it may be that we should
first clean up our own house. We have afforded indigent
litigants much less protection than has California. Last
Term we received over 1,200 in forma pauperis ap-
plications in none of which had we appointed attorneys
or required a record. Some were appeals of right. Still
we denied the petitions or dismissed the appeals on the
moving papers alone. At the same time we had hun-
dreds of paid cases in which we permitted petitions or
appeals to be filed with not only records but briefs by
counsel, after which they were disposed of in due
course... .” (372 U.S. at 359).

The dissenting opinion of Mr. Justice Harlan, joined by
Mr. Justice Stewart, similarly alluded to the practices of
this Honorable Court :

“What the Court finds constitutionally offensive in

15

California’s procedure bears a striking resemblance to
the rules of this Court and many state courts of last
resort on petitions for certiorari or for leave to appeal
filed by indigent defendants pro se. Under the prac-
tice of this Court, only if it appears from the petition
for certiorari that a case merits review is leave to
proceed in forma pauperis granted, the case trans-
ferred to the Appellate Docket, and counsel appointed.
Since our review is generally discretionary, and since
we are often not even given the benefit of a record in
the proceedings below, the disadvantages to the indi-
gent petitioner might be regarded as more substantial
than in California. But as conscientiously committed
as this Court is to the great principle of ‘Equal Justice
Under Law,’ it has never deemed itself constitutionally
~ required to appoint counsel to assist in the preparation
of each of the more than 1,000 pro se petitions for.
certiorari currently being filed each Term. We should
know from our own experience that appellate courts
generally go out of their way to give fair consideration
oe who are unrepresented.” (372 U.S. at 365-
).

This Honorable Court’s practice has been described in
Stern & Gressman, Supreme Court Practice § 11.2 (4th Ed.
1969), as follows: -

“No appointment of counsel before grant of review.
The Court has steadfastly refused to appoint counsel
to assist an unrepresented indigent, prior to the grant
of review, in preparing a petition for certiorari or
jurisdictional statement or any other preliminary mo-

~ tion or document. Requests for counsel at such early
stages have uniformly been rejected through the Clerk,
acting on instructions from the Court. While the cor-
rectness and indeed the constitutionality of this refusal
to appoint counsel to prepare the documents at this
critical stage of Supreme Court litigation have been
questioned, at least with respect to the direct review of
criminal prosecutions, there is no indication as yet that

16

the Court will change its policy in this respect.” (Id
at 378; fn. omitted ; see also 1A West’s Federal Forms,
§ 488 (Boskey Ed. 1969); Boskey, The Right to
Counsel in Appellate Proceedings, 45 Minn. L. Rey.
783, 796-799 (1961).)

Stern and Gressman have pointed to the obvious practical
problems involved in appointing counsel to assist -in the
preparation of an in forma pauperis certiorari proceeding.
They point out :

“Many of the in forma pauperis cases are completely
without merit, but the Court would have no way of
determining at this point which ones are of sufficient
merit or difficulty to warrant the attention or assistance
of counsel. Many of the requests might come so near
the filing deadlines as to compel further delays in
processing the cases in order to give counsel more
time to study the case and prepare the necessary papers.
And the sheer number of likely requests for counsel
would soon create problems in selecting sufficient num-
bers of qualified counsel. Selection of counsel ,after a
case has been studied and review has been granted,
on the other hand, can be premised in part upon the
counsel’s expertise in the area of law involved.” (Stern
and Gressman at 378, fn. 15).

At the October Term, 1962, this Honorable Court dealt
with a group of seven motions for appointment of counsel
which directly presented this question to the court and yet
in all seven cases this Honorable Court merely denied the
motion (Drumm v. California, 373 U.S. 947 (1963);
Mooney v. New York, 373 U.S. 947 (1963); Womack v.
Oregon, 373 U.S. 947 (1963) ; In re Jacobs, 373 U.S. 947
(1963); In re Diaz, 373 U.S. 947 (1963); In re Turner,
373 U.S. 947 (1963) ; Oppenheimer v. California, 374 U.S.
819 (1963)). The index to the Supreme Court Journal
for that Term records the fact that “at this time Clerk was

-

17

directed to follow policy of advising litigants that the Court
would not appoint counsel to assist indigent litigants in pre-
paring petitions for certiorari.” (Supreme Court Journal,
October Term, 1962, Index, p. iv.).

It is respectfully submitted that this Honorable Court
should continue to adhere to its consistent practice and re-
fuse to extend the Sixth Amendment right to counsel to the
preparation of Petitions for Writs of Certiorari in this
Honorable Court.

Il.

If This Honorable Court Determines That The Sixth and Fourteenth
Amendments To The Constitution Of The United States Man-
date The Provision Of Counsel To Assist Indigent State Prisoners
In Perfecting Review Of Their Convictions By This Court, Your:
Honors Should Also Reconsider The Weight And Effect That
Such A Review Will Have On The Finality Of Criminal Pro-
ceedings By Holding That The Denial Of Certiorari Constitutes
A Determination That The Prisoner Is Not In Custody In Viola-
tion Of Federal Constitutional Law So As To Preclude Federal

| Habeas Corpus Relief Or, At The Very Least, Reconsider The

| Court’s Holding In Fay v. Noia, 372 US. 391, 435 (1963), That

| A State Prisoner Need Not Seek Certiorari In Order To Have
Fully Exhausted His Available State Court Remedies.

If this Honorable Court determines that application for
certiorari is such an indispensable and crucial stage of
the criminal proceedings that the Sixth and Fourteenth
Amendments to the Constitution of the United States man-
date the appointment of counsel to assist an indigent de-
fendant in perfecting a review by this Honorable Court,
then your Honors should reconsider the weight to be given
a denial of certiorari for the purpose of collateral, post-
conviction proceedings, especially in the Federal courts.

This Honorable Court has rather consistently stated that
the denial of certiorari is not to be construed as reflecting

BRS.

the Court’s views either as to the merits of the case or as
to the Court’s jurisdiction to hear the matter (Stern and
Gressman, supra, § 5.7). Your Honors have frequently re-
iterated that “the denial of a writ of certiorari imports no
expression of opinion upon the merits of the case, as the
Bar has been told many times.” (United States v. Carver,
260 U.S. 482, 490 (1923). See also Brown v. Allen, 344
U.S. 443, 451-452, 491-492 (1953) ; Ohio ex rel. Eaton vy.
Price, 360 U.S. 246, 247 (1959).) Mr. Justice Frank.
furter was particularly persistent in commenting that the
Court’s refusal to grant certiorari was of no significance
insofar as the issues before the Court were concerned (See
Maryland v. Baltimore Radio Show, 338 U.S. 912, 917-
920 (1950); Agoston v. Pennsylvania, 340 U.S. 84
(1950) ; Rosenberg v. United States, 344 U.S. 889 (1952);
Sheppard v. Ohio, 352 U.S. 910, 911 (1956); See also
Harlan, Manning the Dikes, 13 Record of N.Y.C.B.A. 541,
547 (1958), Brennan, State Court Decisions and the Sw-
preme Court, 31 Penn. Bar Ass’n. Q. 393, 402-403 (1960)).

In Brown v. Allen, 344 U.S. 443 (1953), Mr. Justice
Jackson expressed some views that might make an affirm.
ance of the Court of Appeals’ decision in this case meaning-
ful if the Court decides to so venture. Mr. Justice Jackson
said:

'“My conclusion is that whether or not this Court
has denied certiorari from a State court’s judgment
in a habeas corpus proceeding, no lower Federal court
should entertain a petition except on the following
conditions : (1) That the petition raises a jurisdictional
question involving Federal law on which the State
law allowed no access to its courts, either by habeas
corpus or appeal from the conviction, and that he there-
fore has no state remedy; or (2) that the petition
shows that although the law allows a remedy, he was
actually and properly obstructed from making a record

18

19

upon which the question could be presented, so that
his remedy by way of ultimate application to this Court
for certiorari has been frustrated. There may be cir-
cumstances so extraordinary that I do not now think
of them which would justify a departure from this
rule, but the run-of-the-mill case certainly does not.”
(344 U.S. at 545).

Mr. Justice Jackson also stated :

“I agree that as stare decisis, denial of certiorari should
be given no significance whatever. It creates no prece-
dent and approves no statement of principle entitled
to weight in any other case. But, for the same case in
which certiorari is denied, its minimum meaning is that
this court allows the judgment below to stand with
whatever consequences it may have upon the litigants
involved under the doctrine of res judicata as applied
either by State or Federal courts. . . .” (344 US. at
543).

In the course of the same decision, Mr. Justice Reed speak-
ing for himself and Chief Justice Vinson and Justice
Minton, said :

“A. Effect of Denial of Certiorari.—In cases such
as these, a minority of this Court is of the opinion that
there is no reason why a district court should not give
consideration to the record of the prior certiorari in
this court and such weight to our denial as the Dis-
trict Court feels the record justifies. This is the view
of the Court of Appeals [Citations omitted.] This is,
we think, the teaching of Ex parte Hawk, 321 U.S.
114, 118, and White v. Ragen, 324 U.S. 764, 765. We
have frequently said that the denial of certiorari ‘im-
ports no expression of opinion upon the merits of a
case.” [Citations omitted.] When on review of pro-
ceedings no res judicata or precedential effect follows,
the result would be in accord with that expression, that
statement is satisfied. But denial of certiorari marks

20

final action on State criminal proceedings. In fields
other than habeas corpus with its unique opportunity
for repetitious litigation, as demonstrated in Dorsey v.
Gill, 80 App. D.C. 9, 148 F.2d 857, See F.R.D. 313,
the denial would make the issues res judicata. The
minority thinks that where a record distinctly present-
ing a substantial Federal constitutional question disen-
tangled from problems of procedure is brought here
by certiorari and denied, courts dealing with the peti-
tioner’s future applications for habeas corpus on the
same issues presented in earlier applications for writs
of certiorari to this Court, should have the power to
take the denial into consideration in determining their
' action. ...” (344 U.S. at 456).

Thus, if this Honorable Court is to accord greater signifi-
cance to certiorari by requiring the appointment of counsel
to assist an indigent defendant in preparing a Petition for
a Writ of Certiorari to this Court, then the denial of
certiorari should have the same effect as to that particular
case as would the dismissal of an appeal for want of a
“substantial Federal question.” (See Epton v. New York,
390 U.S. 29 (1968) ; United States ex rel. Epton v. Nenna,
318 F.Supp. 899, 906-909 (S.D.N.Y. 1970), aff'd 446 F.2d
363, 365, 366 (2nd Cir. 1971), cert. den. 404 U.S. 948
(1971)). Incidentally, it is interesting to note the extent
to which the denial of certiorari is alluded to in citations of
cases in both legal periodicals and in the opinions of this
and other courts. It is also interesting to note the increasing
tendency to write dissenting opinions, sometimes of con-
siderable length, from orders of this Court denying cer-
tiorari. If the denial of certiorari is of no significance, then
why should dissents be noted and why should that fact be
alluded to in a case citation? (See Simmons v. Union News
Co., 382 U.S. 884, 886 (1965).)

21

This approach would allow for the criminal defendant to
have a full and complete consideration of his case at all
levels while at the same time insuring a higher degree of
finality to criminal judgments (See Schneckloth v. Busta-
monte, 412 U.S. 218 (1973); Bator, Finakty in Criminal
Low and Federal Habeas Corpus for State Prisoners, 76
Harv. L. Rev. 441 (1963); Friendly, Js Innocence Irrele-
vant? Collateral Attack on Criminal Judgments, 38 Univ.
Chi. L. Rev. 142 (1970) ; Oaks, Legal History in the High
Court—Habeas Corpus, 64 Mich. L. Rev. 451 (1966) ).

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Commonwealth of Vir-
ginia, joined by the State of California, as amicus curiae
on behalf of the petitioner herein, respectfully requests this
Honorable Court to reverse the decision of the Court of
Appeals and remand the case to the United States Court
of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit with directions to vacate
its opinion and to remand the cases to the District Courts
with instruction to dismiss the petitions for writs of habeas
corpus.

Respectfully submitted,

ANDREW P. MILLER
Attorney General of Virginia

RosBert E. SHEPHERD, JR.
Assistant Attorney General

Supreme Court-State Library Building
Richmond, Virginia 23219

a

22

The Commonwealth of Virginia has been authorized by
the Honorable Evelle J. Younger, Attorney General of the
State of California, to list him as joining with us in our
Amicus Curiae brief.

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, Robert E. Shepherd, Jr., an Assistant Attorney Gen-
eral of Virginia, and a Member of the Bar of the Supreme
Court of the United States, do hereby certify that on the
21st day of February, 1974, I mailed copies of the fore-
going brief of Amicus Curiae in Support of Petition for
Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court of Ap
peals for the Fourth Circuit by first class mail to the
Honorable Robert Morgan, Attorney General of North
Carolina, P. O. Box 629, Raleigh, North Carolina, 27602,
Counsel for Petitioners, and to Thomas B. Anderson, Jr.,
Esquire, Loflin, Anderson, and Loflin, 119 Orange Street,
P. O. Box 1315, Durham, North Carolina 27702, of
counsel for respondent.

Rospert E. SHEPHERD, JR.
Assistant Attorney General of Virgima

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386414_0313%3A05. Public record. Not legal advice.
