# Appellants Brief — Allee v. Medrano

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386414_0285%3A06

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Appellants Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1974
- **Citation:** 416 U.S. 802

## Text

IN THE

October Term, 1972
NO. 72-1125

A. Y. ALLEE, ET AL,

Appellants

V.

:-- FRANCISCO MEDRANO, ET AL,
3 Appellees

ON DIRECT APPEAL FROM THE UNITED
STATES THREE-JUDGE DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

BRIEF FOR THE APPELLANTS

JOHN L. HILL
Attorney General of Texas

LARRY F. YORK

First Assistant

JOE B. DIBRELL
Assistant Attorney General

LANG A. BAKER
Assistant Attorney General

GILBERT J. PENA
Assistant Attorney General

-

Attorneys for Appellants

P.O. Box 12548, Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711

SIA SL 1 SO 0 NN aS Rn a

el

INDEX

PAGE
OPINION BELOW ..........--ceeceeeeeceeeeees 1
JURISDICTION ..... 00.000 0cccccceeeeveeeeeee. 2
STATUTES INVOLVED ..........00.000e00eee es 3
QUESTIONS PRESENTED ..........---0000e000- 6
STATEMENT OF THECASE .........--.0000000- 7
SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT ............ 0-5. 17
ARGUMENT AND AUTHORITIES ..........------ 18
CONCLUSION... .....-2ccececceceeeeeueeeees 41
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE ...........--.00000- 43

ee -

iq
‘
4
7
$

PP ANAT Ss ME ERE CNN RIE IIo

CITATIONS

CASES PAGE

American Federation of Labor v. Swing,

$12 U.S. 321 (1941) ..... Sabi be reese 28

Bakery and Pastry Drivers and Helpers Local
802 v. Wohl, 315 U.S. 769, 62 S. Ct. 816..... 21

Ballas Egg Products Company, Inc. v. Meat
Cutters, 160 N.E.2d (Ohio Ct.Com.Pls.

1959) .......00. eee 24
Blackwell v. State, 18 S.W.676 ..... eee 34
Brisco v. State, (1961), 341 S.W.2d 432.......... 35

Building Service Employees International
Union Local 262 v. Gazzam, 339 U.S.
day (0 le (OW nna ee aren eee gee eens ee 21, 36

Cameron v. Johnson, 390 U.S. 617 (1968) 7, 24, 25, 38, 41

Carpenters and Joiners Union, Ete v.
Ritter’s Cafe, 315 U.S. 722, 62
iO; Oe «| a ee 21,25

Chaplinsky v. State of New Hampshire
BIG TS. 060 (1942) 5x eopee ons acascenwas 32

Construction and General Labor Union v.
Stephenson, (Tex.Sup. 1950) 225
BOW 2 D6 oes a 5 ee es we bene 36

A RR CAT RMT AT SOON Bo

CITATIONS—Continued

CASES PAGE
Cox v. Louisiana, 379 U.S. 559, at 564 ....... 23,39
Dallas General Drivers v. Wamix,

295 S.W.2d 873, 881 (1956) ........... - 27
Davis v. Francois, 395 F.2d 731

(Sth Cir: 1968) os 22 s0.0eeress este sees 22
Dombrowski v. Pfister, 380 U.S. 479

(9965) go wees a con eee ec eeecr reese es 7, 38, 41
Florida Lime and Avacado Growers, Inc.

v. Jacobson, 362 U.S. 73 (1960) ........ 2

Follis v. State, 40 S.W. 277 ..... (beeen eens 34
Geissler v. Coussoulis, 424 S.W.2d 709

(Tex.Civ.App. San Antonio, 1967 writ

WP dMT-6.) han oe cee ste nes eee wew ses 21,25

Gibony v. Empire Storage and Ice Co.,
336 U.S. 490, 69 S.Ct. 684 ...........-. 21

Harris v. N.A.A.C.P., 360 U.S. 167 (1959) ..... 41

Hughes, et al v. Superior Court of California,

339 U.S. 460 (1950) .. 2... ee ee eee 36

International Brotherhood of Teamsters v.
Vogt, 354 U.S. 284, 293 (1957)....... . .29, 30, 31

Bree

ip snRNA UR a AR TAI MIA inl ae eo cen i LS

ee ae

ee ee

CITATIONS—Continued
CASES

International Union of Operating Engineers

¥. Gox. 219 S.W.20 161, TO cnc kscwcexas
Johnson v. State, (1961), 341 S.W.2d 434 .......
Jones v. State, (1962), 355 S.W.2d 727 ..4......
Kovacs v. Copper, 336 U.S. 77 (1948) ..........

Luter v. State, 22S.W. 140 ..................

Milkwagon Drivers Union, ete. v.
Meadowmoore Dairies, 312 U.S.

GED S925 oe betwee peer e ee esawess

Ness Produce Co. v. Short, 263 F.Supp. 586
(D.C. Or. 1966), affirmed at 385 U.S.

537 (1967) 02. eee e eee ence eens

Poulos v. State of New Hampshire, 345

U.S. 395 (1953) 2... eee eee eee ee eee

Rice & Holman v. United Electric Workers,

65 A.2d 638 (New Jersey Superior Ct. 1949). .

Standard Appliances v. Korman, 111 N.Y.S.2d

783, 786 (New York S.Ct. 1952) ..........

Sternfair Corporation v. Moving Pictures
Operators, 139 N.Y.S.2d 145, 150

CNGW TOF DCU. 1999) yc ceeccs eee sera.

~iv—

21

35

23

24.

24

CITATIONS—Continued
CASES PAGE
Tarrytown Road Restaurant, Inc. v. Hotel
and Restaurant Employers, 115 N.Y.S.2d
626, 631 (New York S.Ct. 1952) ......... 24

Teamsters, Local 309 v. Hanke, 339
U.S. 470, 475 (1950) cee u odssstasce oe Ze

Texas v. Payton, 390 F.2d 261, 270
(Sth Cir. 1908) 3 eee cc cena oe ween sex 4i

Thornhill v. Alabama, 310 U.S/88,
i [de Oger Gs * (ee 21, 22, 26, 28

Tucker v. State, (1961), 341 S.W.2d 433 ... Lean 35
Walker v. Brimingham, 388 U.S. 307, 319 (1967) 40

Williams v. United States, 341 U.S. 97,
TOG-4O) (19S): oes s oe se ces cee ees 33

Youngdahl v. Rainfair, Inc., 355 U.S.
SN TSO 99S) ov ceese ese veseeses .s PA

Younger v. Harris, 401 U.S. 37
(VOTE) sane ee ceee sss ey eeee ene rae es 7, 38, 39

OTHER AUTHORITIES Page

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION
First Amendment ............-.----+-+-

to
cae |

to
~l

Fourteenth Amendment..........----+--

-—-VvV—

a re rn 8 ET SIE a a

eR Rs AN ti A LEI Ni AIR MOO ao

eA eR baa ONG inde Zeal ws

a en a ee

OTHER AUTHORITIES—Continued

PAGE
STATUTES AND RULES
18 U.S.C. §242 0... cece cece eee e cence ees 33
18 U.S.C. 8371 2... cece ce eee cece cece eens 33
28 U.S.C. §1253 .. eee e cece cece eee ee ees 2
28 U.S.C. 81843 oo. c cece cece cece eee eens 2
_ WUS.C. §2101(ab) ..-.. eee eee eee eee eee 2
28 U.S.C. §2201 oo. c cece cece cece cece ees D
98 U.S.C. §2202 .. 0. eee cece ccc e eee ees 2
28 U.S.C. §2281 2. cece ccc cece cece eens 2
28 U.S.C. §2284 .. 0. cece cece cece eee ees 2
28 U.S.C. §2285 .. 0. cece cece eee eee ee eees 2
42 U.S.C. §1983, 1985 ........... 20 ce eee eee 2

Art. 5154d, V.C.'S. ..... 2,3, 11, 15, 17, 18, 19, 20,

22, 23

Section] ........ 3, 7, 18, 19, 20, 24, 25, 41

Art. 5154f, V.C.S. ........ 2, 3, 25, 26, 27, 28, 31
SecuON . <.<44c% oxnoeeees eres 4, 7,17, 41

Section 2°...

Section 8 ...

Art. 5207a, V.C.S.

Tex.Pen.Code, Art.
Tex.Pen.Code, Art.
Tex.Pen.Code, Art.
Tex.Pen.Code, Art.
Tex.Pen.Code, Art.
Tex.Pen.Code, Art.
Tex.Pen.Code, Art.
Tex.Pen.Code, Art.
Tex.Pen.Code, Art.
Tex.Pen.Code, Art.

Tex.Pen.Code, Art.

—vii—

PAGE
cecal sees eheoen aes 4, 7,17, 41
(Meneses Rhema eee 27
cen we wi poceeeeeese 36
Me cea Ria ne eeues 15, 32
ASD 66 x0 2, 3,6, 7, 11, 13,
| 15, 17, 33, 34, 41
449 ...:..11,13, 15, 33, 34, 35
ee ee eee 11,15
BST «set mes sues acuass 1]
AG cee dusnwnse ee sees 11.15
| ne 15
ee ee 12
(err 2,3,5,9,15,17
482 2, 3,6, 7.17, 31, 41
TOA osx x cen eeenee den 17

Oe Ne oe ae

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term, 1972

NO. 72-1125

A. Y. ALLEE, ET AL,
Appellants

Vv.

FRANCISCO MEDRANO, ET AL,
Appellees

ON DIRECT APPEAL FROM THE UNITED
STATES THREE-JUDGE DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

BRIEF FOR THE APPELLANTS

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Three-Judge Court for the Southern
District of Texas is reported at 347 F.Supp. 605 (1972). A
copy of said opinion is printed in the Jurisdictional
Statement filed by Appellant at page 33.

JURISDICTION

This suit was brought under the provisions of Title 28,
United States Code, Sections 1343, 2201, 2202, 2281 and
2285 and Title 42, United States Code, Sections 1983 and

. 1985; and the First and Fourteenth Amendments to the

Constitution of the United States in the United States
District Court for the Southern District of Texas, seeking
declaratory and injunctive relief in an attack on the

constitutionality of certain state statutes, and an injunc- »

tion was sought restraining the officers and officials from
enforcing these statutes against Appellees and their class.
The complaint also alleged that the Appellants, as state
officials acting under color of state law, conspired and
deprived Appellees of their civil rights, privileges and
immunities protected by the laws and Constitution of the
United States. A Three-Judge District Court was formed to
hear this cause as provided for by 28 U.S.C. Section 2284.
Final judgment of the Court was entered on December 4,
1972, which judgment held that part of Article 5154d of
Vernon's Civil Statutes of the State of Texas and part of
Article 5154f of Vernon’s Civil Statutes of the State of
Texas and portions of Articles 474, 482, and 439 of the
Texas Penal Code were unconstitutional and granted an
injunction against its enforcement by state officers, their
successors, agents and employees. Notice of Appeal was
mailed to that Court on December 18, 1972.

The jurisdiction of the Supreme Court to review the
decision of the Three-Judge Court is conferred by 28
U.S.C. Sections 1253, 2101(a)(b) and 2281. The following
cases sustained the jurisdiction of the Supreme Court to
review the judgment of this case on direct appeal: Florida
Lime and Avacado Growers, Inc. v. Jacobson, 362 U.S. 7:
(1960); Ness Produce Co. v. Short, 263 F.Supp. 586 (D.C.

a le te ee ee eh oe an ee

RIN TE

Or. 1966), affirmed at 385 U.S. 537 (1967). Probable
jurisdiction was noted by the court on May 7, 1973.

STATUTES INVOLVED

As noted above, the Three-Judge District Court below
held that part of Article 5154d of Vernon’s Civil Statutes
of the State of Texas and part of Article 5154f of
Vernon’s Civil Statutes of the State of Texas, and portions
of Articles 474, 482, and 439 of the Texas Penal Code
unconstitutional and granted an injunction against its
enforcement by state officers.

The court declared and adjudged that Section I of
Article 5154d of Vernon’s Civil Statutes of the State of
Texas, to the extent quoted below, was null and void. The
said portion of the statute reads as follows:

“Section 1. It shall be unlawful for any person, singly
or in concert with others, to engage in picketing or
any form of picketing activity that shall constitute
mass picketing as herein defined.

‘**Mass picketing,’ as that term is used herein, shall
mean any form of picketing in which:

“1. There are more than two (2) pickets at any
time within either fifty (50) feet of any entrance to
the premises being picketed, or within fifty (50) feet
of any other picket or pickets.

“2. Pickets constitute or form any character of
obstacle to the free ingress to and egress from any
entrance to any premises being picketed or to any
other premises, either by obstructing said free ingress
or egress by their persons or by the placing of vehicles
or other physical obstructions.”

_3-

SEN TOL TA ALP ROS OS. REBT AREA TARE WPI at Np FOUN ES — —
¥ iataieentiie ne

The Court declared and adjudged that Sections 1 and 2
of Article 5154f of Vernon’s Civil Statutes of the State of
Texas, to the extent quoted below, were null and void.
The said portion of the statute reads as follows:

en

“Section 1. It shall be unlawful for any person or
persons, or association of persons, or any labor union,
incorporated or unincorporated, or the members or
agents thereof, acting singly or in concert with others,
to establish, call, participate in, aid or abet a
secondary strike, or secondary picketing, or a sec-
ondary boycott, as those terms are defined herein.

“Section 2. eee

“b. ‘Seeondary strike’ shall mean a temporary
stoppage of work by the concerted action of two or

more employees of an employer where no labor |

dispute exists between the employer and such em-
ployees, and where such temporary stoppage results
from a labor dispute to which such two or more
employees are not parties.

& & &

““d. The term ‘secondary picketing’ shall mean the act
of establishing a picket or pickets at or near the
premises of any employer where no labor dispute, as
that term is defined in this Act, exists between such
employer and his employees.

“e. The term ‘secondary boycott’ shall include any
combination, plan, agreement or compact entered
into or any concerted action by two or more persons
to cause injury or damage to any person, firm or
corporation for whom they are not employees, by

“(1) Withholding patronage, labor or other bene-
ficial business intercourse from such person, firm or
corporation; or

‘(2) Picketing such person, firm or corporation; or

%e& & &

(4) Instigating or formenting a strike against such
person, firm or corporation; oF

(5) Interfering with or attempting to prevent the
free flow of commerce; or

(6) By any other means causing or attempting to
cause an employer with whom they have a labor
dispute to inflict any damage or injury to an
employer who is not a party to such labor dispute.”

%& & &

“h. The term ‘labor dispute’ is limited to and
means any controversy between an employer and the
majority of his employees concerning wages, hours or
conditions of employment; provided that if any of
the employees are members of a labor union, the
controversy between such employer and a majority of
the employees belonging to such union, concerning
wages, hours or conditions of employment, shall be
deemed, as to the employee members only of such
union, a labor dispute within the meaning of this

Act.”

The Court declared and adjudged the following portion
of Article 474 of the Texas Penal Code to be null and void
and restrained its enforcement. Article 474 has since been
amended, but it read in pertinent part at the time of the

PRES IER AN LTO LEE LER ION STI STILE MOTT LEN SRI IR EOE IR REPRE
e ns 5 aaa! ig

events from which this litigation arose, as follows:

“Whoever shall go into or near any public place,
or... near any private house, and shall use loud and
vociferous, or obscene, vulgar or indecent language or
swear or curse, or yell or shriek ...in a manner
calculated to disturb the person or persons present at
Such place or house, shall be punished by a fine not
exceeding Two Hundred Dollars ($200).”

The Court declared and adjudged that Article 482 of the
Texas Penal Code was null and void. Such statutes reads as
follows:

‘‘Any person who shall in the presence of hearing
of another curse or abuse such person, or use any
violently abusive language to such person concerning
him or any of his female relatives, under the
circumstances reasonably calculated to provoke a
breach of the peace, shall be fined not more than one
hundred dollars.”

The Court declared and adjudged that Article 439 of the
Texas Penal Code was null and void. The said statute reads
as follows:

‘An ‘unlawful assembly’ is the meeting of three or
more persons with intent to aid each other by
violence or in any other manner either to commit an
offense or illegally to deprive any person of any right
or to disturb him in the enjoyment thereof.”

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

The f6llowing questions are presented by this appeal:
fw

1. Whether, as held by the court below, Section 1 of
Article 5154d of Vernon’s Civil Statutes of the State of
Texas is unconstitutional because of impermissible broad-
ness?

2. Whether, as held by the court below, Sections | and ©
9 of Article 5154f of Vernon’s Civil Statutes of the State ,
of Texas is unconstitutional because of impermissible
broadness?

3. Whether, as held by the court below, Article 482 of
the Texas Penal Code is inconstitutional because of
impermissible broadness?

4. Whether, as held by the court below, Article 439 of
the Texas Penal Code is unconstitutional because of
impermissible broadness?

5. Whether the court below can properly order injunc-
tive relief, as it did, against peace officers of the Texas
Department of Public Safety and the law enforcement
officials of Starr County in this case where prosecutions
were pending, and whether the court improperly inter-
preted Dombrowski v. Pfister, 380 U.S. 479 (1965),
Cameron v. Johnson, 390 U.S. 617 (1968), Younger v.
Harris, 401 U.S. 37 (1971), and its companion cases, in
reaching the conclusion that injunctive relief would lie in
the present case?

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Valley Farm Workers Organizing Committee, AFL-
CIO, instituted a strike from June, 1966 until June 1967,
in an attempt to encourage the predominately Mexican-
American farm workers in Starr County to join with the

_7—

AE ERIE LE EO Be PORE ERIM AO SEAT RYE NY Pal ORT REOPEN

union in organizing and forming a union. In pursuit of
their directives, and according to union president Domingo
Arredondo, the picketing occurred every day (except
Sunday) until its further continuance was enjoined by the
state district court. (Tr. Vol. I p. 273). In pursuit of their
objectives, strikes were called; and picket lines, rallies, and
demonstrations were employed to enlist non-union labor-
ers in the common cause. By an unexplained coincidence,
vandalism and destruction of property began in June of
1966 in Starr County. Sugar was poured in gas tanks, flats
on tractors were caused by man-made objects, and theft of
property was on the increase. (Tr. Vol. II p. 534).

The evidence in this cause does not in any manner
reflect that the Appellants and other officials of the State
of Texas have engaged in a massive conspiracy to deny
Appellees their constitutionally protected right of free
speech and to deprive them of rights, privileges, or
immunities secured by the Constitution and laws of the
United States. Appellees sought to dramatize some twenty
or so incidents that occurred over a period of one year into
an alleged plot. Because of the fear of a breakdown of the
law enforcement, to a great extent because of a large
number of strikers and relatively small number of law
enforcement officers, Starr County officials made a strong
appeal that the Texas Rangers be sent to preserve order
and prevent bloodshed. (Tr. Vol. II p. 421).

It is contended and we do state that early in the summer
of 1966, Deputy Sheriff Raul Pena assisted in the
distribution of “La Verdad”, a newspaper which was
anti-union in nature. We do not attempt to excuse or
explain Mr. Pena’s conduct other than his statement that
he was attempting to help his friend, the publisher, Mr. De
La Paz. However, whether or not Pena was pro-union or

fa

anti-union would not have any bearing on the issues of
whether or not in truth and in fact Appellees were
violating the laws of the State of Texas.

On October 12, 1966, Appellee Chandler was arrested
and charged with violation of Penal Code, Article 474,
disturbing the peace. According to Deputy Sheriff Raul
Pena, a complaint had been received from one of the crew
leaders to the effect that pickets had been bothering them
and calling them names in the field. Pickets were using a
loud speaker system and using foul language addressed to
the workers in the field. (Tr. Vol. III p. 596). Pena ordered
the strikers to disperse. Appellee Chandler refused to leave
and charges of disturbing the peace were filed against him.
(Tr. Vol. IV p. 595).

On October 24, 1966, union president Domingo Arre-
dondo and others were arrested for obstructing the
International Bridge by sitting down and locking arms
across the bridge to prevent all traffic from going back and
forth across the international boundary. (Tr. Vol. I. p.
284). At the courthouse Domingo Arredondo and those
arrested were screaming and hollering in the courthouse
until Deputy Sheriff Ellert told them to stop hollering in
the courthouse. At that moment Domingo Arredondo
jumped close to the deputy’s ear and hollered as loud as he
could “viva la huelga”. At that moment the deputy shoved
Arredondo back against the wall and reached for his gun
although he did not pull out his gun. (Tr. Vol. III p. 690).

It is difficult to imagine law enforcement officers not
having the authority to control persons under arrest.
Deputy Ellert denies striking Arredondo. His version of the
incident reflects Arredondo clearly could have been
charged with violation of Article 474 V.A.P.C., disturbing

_g—

the peace, for yelling in the courthouse. It was not what he
said, but the manner in which he said it.

On November 7, 1966, twenty or twenty-five persons
were blocking the entrance to La Casita Farms, (Tr. Vol. II
p- 519). Jim Rochester, foreman of La Casita Farms, got a
radio call on the early hours of November 7, 1966, that
there was trouble at the gate of La Casita Farms and he
went to the gate and upon his arrival he saw a group of
people blocking the entrance to the farm. Several buses
full of workers were trying to get into the farm but were
unable to do so because the union people were blocking
the entrance. Rochester got in one of the buses and told
the people to move out of the way as he was going to drive
the bus through the gate. It was at this time that
Magdaleno Dimas, a union leader, hollered ‘you son-of-a-
bitch, you are not going to do that,” and jumped up into
the bus door. Dimas was forced to jump out of the bus and
hollered back at Rochester “you son-of-a-bitch, [ll get
you”. (Tr. Vol. II p. 521). Rochester then drove the bus
through the gate. Rochester was well aware of Dimas’
reputation for violence and considcred this threat to be of
a serious nature. (Tr. Vol. II p. 522).

On November 28, 1966, Appellees and other union
members and sympathizers held a rally on the grounds of
the Starr County Courthouse. They placed the union strike
flag to fly from the flag pole normally occupied by the flag
of the United States of America. No attempt was made to
obtain permission from the Sheriff's Office to use the
courthouse or to hang union flags from the courthouse
windows. No attempt was made by Appellees to secure
permission from the county officials for use of such public
property. In fact the activities of the Appellees indicate
that they were attempting to intimidate the Starr County

~10—

officials and to run matters as they pleased. This instance
reflects a total disregard for the public officials of Starr
County as well as its public buildings. (Tr. Vol. Ill p. 598).

On December 28, 1966, members of the union were
picketing at the entrance to La Casita Farms. Librado de la
Cruz, a union member, struck and grabbed Manuel Balli as
he was attempting to enter the main gate of La Casita
Farms. Deputy Sheriff Roberto Pena attempted to arrest
Librado de la Cruz for assault, but the crowd ganged up
around him and grabbed Deputy Pena and would not let
him go. Finally an agreement was made and Librado de la
Cruz drove his pickup to the Sheriff’s Office. (Tr. Vol Il
p. 666). Charges could have been leveled against those
present for unlawful assembly, Penal Code violations,
Article 439 and 449; for rioting; Articles 455, 457, 464;
for mass picketing under Article 5154d, Vernon’s Civil
Statutes. It might be well to point out to the Court that
Article 5154d also prohibits the interfering with ingress
and egress.

On January 26, 1967, five members of the union using a
loud speaker were soliciting employees of the Trophy
Farms to join the union. The five union sympathizers were
calling Augustine Lopez and Fredrico Pena and other
workers by using “the foulest words known to that
language in this area”. Both Augustine Lopez and Fredrico
Pena signed complaints. (Tr. Vol. I p. 78).

On January 26, 1967, five members of the union were
arrested for using obscene language directed at workers at
Trophy Farms. These five union members were placed in
jail and other union members gathered around outside the
jail in an evident attempt to intimindate the local law
enforcement officials. This harassment by the union

_ll-

members was done under the guise of holding a “‘prayer
meeting” at the jail. The union members were talking back
and forth to the prisoners in the jail on the third floor of
the courthouse and Deputy Sheriff Raul Pena ordered
them to disperse. This was in keeping with the require-
ments of Article 472 of the Texas Penal Code that a peace
officer should order persons present at an unlawful
assembly to disperse. Deputy Sheriff Pena said that he
asked them what they were doing there to which they
replied “we are praying, you son-of-a-bitch”. (Tr. Vol. III
p- 604). He then ordered them to disperse which they did
with the exception of Padilla and Drake. Since they
refused to leave they were placed under arrest. In any
event, a gathering at the jail after hours and unauthorized
contact with the prisoners by large group of noisy people
could certainly legally be dispersed.

On February 1, 1967, union member Orendain and
three other union members, together with two Catholic
priests, Father Smith and Father Killion gathered together
on La Casita property and called fifty or sixty workers
who were in La Casita fields “scabs” in spanish in
attempting to use a word that had “punch to it and an
edge to it”. They were arrested for disturbing the peace.
(Tr. Vol. If p. 503, Vol. IV p. 771).

On May 11, 1967, union member Ismael Diaz and
others were on their way to the Roma International bridge
to picket. The automobile driven by the union members
was stopped for traffic violations. In addition to driving
without a license, Diaz was speeding up and passing the
buses carrying the farm workers, and then slowing it down
so that the bus could not proceed. He was, in fact,
obstructing a public road. In this connection, he and all
the persons in the automobile could have been arrested for

~12—

BE POE ON CAE AIP NY BR NEES LITE BoP DATTA he OM ORO RRC NY

participating in this activity. (Tr. Vol. IV p. 901-905).

After leaving the Roma International bridge the union
sympathizers went to the Rio Grande City International
Bridge which consists of only two lanes, one lane entering
the bridge and the other leaving. There is not enough room
to stand in the road without blocking traffic. According to
the testimony of the Rangers, union members were
unlawfully assembled at the bridge in violation of Articles
439 and 449, attempting to stop traffic, but moved back
when ordered to do so and no charges were filed. (Tr. Vol.
IV. p 905-908).

On May 12, 1967, Eugene Nelson, a union leader went
to the Sheriff’s Office for the express purpose of intimi-
dating the Rangers and other law enforcement officers. He
asked to see that “son-of-a-bitch, Captain Allee” and then
stated “‘you tell that son-of-a-bitch that get man off my
man because there’s going to be some rangers killed”. (Tr.
' Vol. Ill p. 674). Both Constable Benavides and Deputy
Sheriff Ellert verified the fact that Nelson did make that
threat. (Tr. Vol. III p. 691). This was another example of
the strikers trying to intimidate law enforcement officers
either by force of numbers or by threats; however, the
Texas Rangers refused to be intimidated.

On May 17, 1967, Juan Vela was driving a truck load of
workers into a Trophy Farm when he was stopped by
picketers at the gate. After talking to the picketers they
told him it would be all right to go on in that day, but not
to come back the next day because they would not let him
in. (Tr. Vol. II p. 476). On the 18th they would not allow
him or his crew to enter. There were obscenities used
against him and his crew. Onas Brand, the farm manager of
the Trophy Farms, filed a complaint and the Texas

_13—

SPEIER TAR BRL LN HALE I SLOW ROA At

EK SHAN

Rangers made the arrests. Captain Allee said that pickets
were bunched up together and interfering with traffic and
interfering with free ingress and egress to Trophy Farm.
(See Answer to Plaintiffs’ Interrogatory No. 70).

The picketing was accompanied by destruction of
property of the Missouri Pacific Railroad. Although not a
party to this feud, the Missouri Pacific Railroad Company
suffered partial destruction of a bridge by arson, found
that objects had been placed on railroad tracks which
could derail trains, had rocks thrown at trains, and other
incidents which endangered the operation of the railroad
to such an extent that they found it necessary to keep a
number of special agents on hand to attempt to protect
railroad property and in addition to ask assistance from
the Texas Rangers in order to secure the safety of their
trains. (Tr. Vol. ILI p. 695-696).

On May 26, 1967, fourteen union sympathizers were
arrested in two groups at Mission, Texas. Mission, Texas, is
in another county approximately forty miles from the
scene of the other disruptions. The union members
attempted to picket and interfere with the operation of
the Missouri Pacific Railroad.

The record reflects that because of various acts of
sabatoge, Rangers were riding the trains from Rio Grande
City and that on occasions, a Ranger even accompanied a
railroad special agent ahead of the train on a small motor
car to see that there were no obstructions on the track
which might derail the train. (Tr. Vol. IV p. 809).

On May 26, 1967, the union planned to disrupt traffic
on the Missouri Pacific Railroads with the intent that none

of the produce being shipped from the Starr County area

ay

eile ete se bn, settee ee ee
- a a el

Ea

would be allowed to reach the market. This activity was
directed against the Missouri Pacific Railroad and one of
the main points of assembly was at Mission, Texas. The
Press had notice of the planned activity and were present.
Captain Allee stated that the picketers were standing on
the track itself so that the locomotive would have had to
run over them if they hadn’t moved. (Tr. Vol. IV p. 811).

Members of the union were blocking railroad tracks.
Some of the pickets had signs and some were without
signs. A large crowd of spectators had gathered. Arrests
were made by Texas Rangers at the request of railroad
special agents. (Tr. Vol. IV p. 815-895).

The purpose of the blocking of the Missouri Pacific train
was to keep the crew members from carrying on their
occupation or employment by refusing to let them operate
the train.

On May 31, 1967, there were pickets gathering on the
road by the Solis’ property at La Casita Farm. Pickets were
using a loud speaker and calling the workers “son-of-a-
bitch”, and “mother-f *. The testimony is uncon-
troverted that the workers in the fields had knives and the
situation was very explosive. Pickets were placed under
arrest and charged with violation of Article 5154d. (Tr.
Vol. IV p. 799). It might likewise be pointed out that this
statute in addition to being a mass picketing statute also
contains a section prohibiting insults and abuse, or obscene
or threatening language. In addition on this occasion,
participants could have been charged with violation of
Articles 439, 449, unlawful assembly; Article 474, dis-
turbing the peace; and Article 42, abusive language; Arti-
cles 455, 464, or 466 or the rioting statute.

~15—

On June 1, 1967, Magdaleno Dimas was seen on more
than one occasion in the vicinity of La Casita packing shed
with a .22 rifle. He had previously threatened “‘to get’’ Jim
Rochester, the manager of La Casita Farm, who was at the
shed. Rochester was apparently terrified because of the
reputation that Dimas had had for violence and demanded
police protection. He threatened to call Washington if he
could not get some relief from local state officers. (Tr.
Vol. II p. 526).

Dimas was a known murderer, had cut a boy’s throat
from one ear to another “for the fun of it” and spent the
year in jail for aggravated assault. He was accompanied by
Benito Rodriquez, who also had a long police record, and
was known by the officers to have committed crimes of
violence. (Tr. Vol. IV p. 825). The Rangers attempted to
obtain some assistance from the union in locating Dimas,
but Chandler and Alex Moreno refused to help, pretending
that they did not know the whereabouts of Dimas. The
Rangers left, waited down the street, and Chandler led
them directly to the hideout being used by Dimas. The
evidence is uncontradicted that when Dimas came outside
with Chandler he was still armed with a rifle, and
Chandler, when the Rangers turned on their car lights,
yelled to Dimas to throw his gun down. Dimas then ran
back into the house. (Tr. Vol. IV p. 823). There is no
denial that he is guilty of the crime with which he was
charged. Benito Rodriquez was also guilty as a principal in
accompanying Dimas in threatening and intimidating Jim
Rochester, the manager of La Casita Farms. Dimas was a
man of violence.

In making the arrests, Captain Allee admits hitting
Dimas over the head with a shotgun. It might be observed
that a less experienced officer would probably have shot

_16—

oo RTE eS Se Se tes Fe =
Ne = FOP AIL E PO TRIN ee a ee ee ee ee er ee ee Lees Ss

both Dimas and Rodriquez when Captain Allee found
them inside the house with their hands under a table. (Tr.
Vol. IV p. 827-828).

An examination of the above described incidents which
form the basis of the complaint filed by Appellees reflect
that the law enforcement officers and county officials have
acted in good faith and in great moderation and restraint.
Arrests occurred only when there was flagrant violations of
the law, usually based on complaints made by the farm
owners and in most instances, a lesser offense was charged,
although the activities of the Appellees would have
warranted more serious charges being filed. If more
appropriate charges should have been filed under other
statutes, we present that it was a mistake of judgment and
not coupled with any intent to destroy the union. In any
event, it is important to note that the Appellees flagrantly
violated the laws of the State of Texas on many, many
occasions. The officials involved, as well as the Texas
Rangers, were sworn to uphold the law as a part of their
official duties.

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

The court below incorrectly found that Article 5154d
of Vernon’s Civil Statutes of the State of Texas (pro-
hibiting “‘mass picketing”), Sections 1 and 2 of Article
5154f of Vernon’s Civil Statutes of the State of Texas,
(prohibiting “secondary picketing”, “secondary strikes”,
and “‘secondary boycotts”), as well as Articles 439, 474,
482. and 784 of the Texas Penal Code were unconstitu-
tional for overbreadth under the First and Fourteenth
Amendments of the Constitution of the United States.

The statutes involved in no way prohibit or restrict

_~17—

freedom of speech or petition. The statues involved seek to
regulate conduct utilized to further the ends of speech and
expression.

Appellants submit that injunctive relief was not proper
under the facts and circumstances as appear herein. It
should not be presumed that the state courts will not
accord Appellees their full federal and state constitutional
rights in state court trials. It must be presumed. that the
state courts will construe the various state statutes
involved and apply them with keeping with constitutional
principles, and the court below should have assumed that
the state courts would do so properly.

ARGUMENT AND AUTHORITIES

ARTICLE 5154d, SECTION 1 OF THE REVISED
CIVIL STATUTES OF TEXAS, DOES NOT VIO-
LATE THE EQUAL PROTECTION CLAUSE OF
THE FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT OF THE
UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION.

The State of Texas, through the Legislature, has enacted
statutes regulating labor. These are grouped together in
Title 83 of the Texas Civil Statutes, entitled Labor.
Chapter Two of that title contains provisions relating to
Labor Organizations, and sets forth their rights and
privileges, and limitations upon the activities they may
lawfully pursue. It is in this scheme of regulation of labor
organizations that the challenged mass picketing statute,
Article 5154d, Section 1, Vernon’s Annotated Civil Stat-
utes, is to be found. That statute is an exercise of the
State’s legitimate interest in regulating labor disputes, and
must be examined in light of that fact. Nothing could
confuse the issue more than to approach this statute with

_18—

Pe TA See ert , nee _
Sg CPLR AY ATR aC AD: -
allie i 2° ESS RRS gy SOE HO
= pr i i a a RG OS ES Sg

REA OS

the misconception that it applies to so-called “public-issue
picketing.”

Section 1 of Article 5154d prohibits “mass picketing”
as therein defined. It further provides:

“The term ‘picket’, as used in this Act, shall
include any person stationed by or acting for and in
behalf of any organization for the purpose of . . . ”

It is clear from the context of this statute in the chapter
on Labor Organizations, and from the other statutes of
that chapter, that the words “any organization” refer to
labor organizations. Just as other statutes in that chapter
regulate labor organizations (see, e.g. Article 5154d,
V.A.C.S.), the challenged provision is simply an additional
exercise of the State’s authority to regulate labor organiza-
tions. It is certainly no violation of the Fourteenth
Amendment’s Equal Protection Clause to enact statutes in
pursuit of this legitimate legislative purpose. The fact that
statutes regulating labor organizations do not address
picketing by civil rights organizations or student organiza-
tions or consumer organizations is no more a denial of
equal protection than the fact that statutes or regulations
governing television advertising do not govern magazine
advertising, or that statutes or regulations governing the
advertising of tobacco products do not govern advertising
of alcoholic beverages. Equal Protection does not require
that all regulation be prescribed in the most general of
terms: such a requirement would create a force in direct
opposition to the due process requirements that laws avoid
vagueness and overbreadth. What could be more vague and
broad than the prohibition of misleading labelling and
advertising, and yet what could be narrower in application
and subject to false claims of denial of equal protection

_19~—

than specific regulations thereunder applicable only to one
of several closely related industries or products. The
challenged statute is part of a system of regulation of labor
organizations, and the prohibition of mass picketing by
such organizations is the regulation of their conduct fully
within the police power of the State to regulate labor
organizations. That this statute regulating labor organiza-
tions does not address mass picketing by others is clearly
not a denial of equal protection.

ARTICLE 5154d, SECTION 1, OF THE REVISED
CIVIL STATUTES OF TEXAS, IS NOT UNCON.
STITUTIONAL BECAUSE OF IMPERMISSIBLE
BROADNESS.

Article 5154d, Section 1, prohibits mass picketing as a
practice available to labor organizations, and defines mass
picketing as follows:

‘**Mass picketing’, as that term is used herein, shall
mean any form of picketing in which:

1. There are more than two (2) pickets at any time
within either fifty (50) feet of any entrance to the
premises being picketed, or within fifty (50) feet of
any other picket or pickets.

2. Pickets constitute or form any character of
obstacle to the free ingress to and egress from any
entrance to any premises being picketed or to any
other premises, either by obstructing said free ingress
or egress by their persons or by the placing of vehicles
or other physical obstructions.”

Article 5154d prohibits “mass” picketing. It was de-
signed to prevent the massing of pickets and the regulation

_20—

ERLE TC A ie BE POS A

of picketing activities without prohibiting them. Pickets
were prevented from physically obstructing ingress and
egress to any premises, but were allowed to have sufficient
number, in the opinion of the Legislature, to convey the
message that the premises in question were being picketed
and the reasons for the dispute.

The State has long been recognized to have the right to
regulate picketing but not to prohibit it. See Thornhill v.
Alabama, 310 U.S. 88. 60 S.Ct. 736; Building Service
Employees International Union Local 262 v. Gazzam,.339
U.S. 532, 70 S.Ct. 784; Gibony v. Empire Storage and Ice
Co., 336 U.S. 490, 69 S.Ct. 684; Bakery and Pastry Drivers
and Helpers Local 802 v. Wohl, 315 U.S. 769, 62 S.Ct.
816; Carpenters and Joiners Union, Etc. v. Ritters Cafe,
315 U.S. 722, 62 S.Ct. 807; Milkwagon Drivers Union, etc.
v. Meadowmoore Dairies, 312 U.S. 61 S.Ct. 552; Inter-
national Union of Operating Engineers v. Cox, 219 S.W.2d
787 and Geissler v. Coussoulis, 424 S.W.2d 709. Constitu-
tional guarantees of freedom of speech do not grant an
unabridged license to engage in any type activity because a
part of such activity is a dissemination of ideas. Mr. Justice
Black stated in Gibony, et al v. Empire Storage and Ice
Company, supra, page 502:

“But it has never been deemed an abridgment of
freedom of speech or press to make a course of
conduct illegal merely because the conduct was in
part initiated, evidenced, or carried out by means of
language, either spoken, written, or printed.”

The court below held each of these two definitions of
mass picketing unconstitutionally overbroad. Appellants
assert that that court erred and that neither definition is
unconstitutional. The court below began its analysis of this

_2]—

statute on the wrong foot when it declared that this
statute regulated “public issue picketing”, when in truth it
regulates labor organization conduct, as demonstrated
above.

The district court then proceeded to dispense with the
first definition of mass picketing by comparison with the
Louisiana Municipal Ordinance held unconstitutional in
Davis v. Francois, 395 F.2d 731 (5th Cir. 1968). That case
and ordinance are clearly distinguishable from the instant
case and statute. As the Fifth Circuit noted in its opinion,
the Louisiana ordinance restricted ‘“‘public issue picket-
ing”. In contrast, the Texas statute regulates the conduct
of labor organizations only, as ¢learly demonstrated in the
discussion of equal protection claims above. Contrary to
the conclusion of the district court, the Texas statute
strikes a permissible balance “‘between the constitutional
protection of the element of communication in picketing
and ‘...the limits of permissible contest open to indus-
trial combatants.’ Thornhill v. Alabama, 310 U.S. 88,
104.” Teamsters, Local 309 v. Hanke, 339 U.S. 470, 475
(1950).

The so-called numbers and distance formula of Article
5154d is not unconstitutional and does not suffer the
defects which made the Louisiana ordinance unconstitu-
tional, as held in Davis v. Francois, supra. That Louisiana
ordinance violated constitutional requirements most seri-
ously in that “it absolutely limits the number of picketers
to two regardless of the time, place or circumstances.”
Davis, supra, at 735. Unlike that ordinance, the Texas
statute has a built-in adjustment formula which allows
more pickets in proportion to the size of the premises
being picketed and the number of entrances. The Texas
formula allows pickets to march in pairs at fifty foot

_22—

intervals, and allows picketing in pairs at sufficiently
spaced entrances. It is thus clear that the numbers and
distance formula of Article 5154d is not an absolute
straightjacket, but instead it is a true formula which
permits greater or fewer pickets according to the circum-
stances of the particular case. This formula is based on the
State’s reasonable judgment balancing “the constitutional
protection of the element of communication in picketing”
during labor disputes, and the need to “set the limits of
permissible contest open to industrial combatants,” (see
Hanke, supra).

In Cox v. Louisiana, 379 U.S. 559, at 564, Mr. Goldberg
stated that the statute in question is:

““..a valid law dealing with conduct subject to
regulation so as to vindicate important interests of
society and...the fact that free speech as inter-
mingled with such conduct does not bring with it
constitutional protection.”

The Legislature of the State of Texas has the duty of
protecting the public of this State against unlawful
conduct and in safeguarding the tranquility of its inhab-
itants. In exercising its discretion in this regard, the
Legislature concluded that the idea sought to be dissemi-
nated could clearly be projected by not more than two
pickets located within fifty feet of any entrance of the
premises being picketed or within fifty feet of each other.
Unless it is the intent of pickets to intimidate, the public
can be made legally aware of grievances sought to be
corrected within the limits of the picketing permitted by
the Statute. Courts of other states have not been reluctant
to limit the number of pickets allowable. See Rice &
Holman v. United Electrical Workers, 65 A.2d 638 (New

=

Jersey Superior Ct. 1949); Standard Appliances v.
Korman, 111 N.Y.S. 2d 783, 786 (New York S.Ct. 1952);
Tarrytown Road Restaurant, Inc. v. Hotel and Restaurant
Employees, 115 N.Y.S. 2d 626, 631 (New York S.Ct.
1952); Sternfair Corporation v. Moving Pictures Operators,
139 N.Y.S.2d 145, 150 (New York S.Ct. 1955); Ballas Egg
Products Company, Inc. v. Meat Cutters, 160 N.E.2d 164
(Ohio Ct.Com.Pls. 1959).

The first mass picketing definition of Section I of
Article 5154d is a valid exercise of legislative discretion
under its inherent police power to regulate labor disputes.
We therefore contend that it is constitutional in every
respect.

Turning now to the second mass picketing definition in
the statute under discussion, Appellants contend that the
district court erred in holding it unconstitutional, and
assert that it is in all respects constitutional.

In Cameron v. Johnson, 390 U.S. 611 (1968), this Court
upheld a Mississippi statute which prohibited picketing “‘in
such a manner as to obstruct or unreasonably interfere
with free ingress or egress...” (390 U.S. at 616). In
contrast, the Texas statute only prohibits pickets which
constitute an actual obstacle “either by obstructing said
free ingress or egress by their persons or by the placing of
vehicles or other physical obstructions”. The Texas statute
is therefore clearly narrower in scope than the Mississippi
statute, and this Court’s decision in Cameron dictates that
the Texas definition be held valid.

The district court misread the Texas statute as well as
Cameron’s construction of the Mississippi statutes when it
attempted to distinguish the instant case from Cameron.

my er

POAT PSL GO LIMBO RITE MOP SGPT EO TIN PIR PE

Contrary to the district court’s interpretation, the Texas
statute only prohibits actual physical obstruction, whereas
the Mississippi statute upheld in Cameron prohibited not
only actual obstructions, but also any unreasonable inter-
ference with free ingress or egresss. Indeed, in Geissler v.
Coussoulis, 424 S.W.2d 709 (Tex.Civ.App. San Antonio,
1967, writ ref’d n.r.e.) the court interpreted this definition
of mass picketing as prohibiting only actual physical
obstructions. With this state court interpretation and the
clear language of the statute, this Court’s opinion in
Cameron dictates the conclusion that the second definition
of mass picketing in Article 5154d, Section 1, is a valid
exercise of the police power to regulate conduct in labor
disputes of the State of Texas. We therefore contend that
it is constitutional in every respect.

ARTICLE 5154f OF THE REVISED CIVIL STAT-
UTES OF TEXAS IS NOT UNCONSTITUTIONAL
BECAUSE OF IMPERMISSIBLE BROADNESS.

Article 5154f of the Revised Civil Statutes of Texas
prohibits secondary picketing, secondary strikes, and
secondary boycotts. It carefully defines the terms used in
the act and specifically delineates those actions prohibited.
The right of the State to adopt such policy is well settled.

This Honorable Court in Carpenters & Joiners Union of
America, et al, v. Ritter’s Cafe, et al, 315 U.S. 722, 728
(1942) stated as follows:

“In forbidding such conscription of neutrals, in the
circumstances of the case before us, Texas represents
the prevailing, and probably the unanimous, policy of
the states. We hold that the Constitution does not
forbid Texas to draw the line which has been drawn
here. To hold otherwise would be to transmute vital

—~25~—

” | MICRA rpm a NR HET iy EROONIET RY BENG OE en atc OH Or ee een

LT AR OARP o> te IY BOR

constitutional liberties into doctrinaire dogma. We
must be mindful that ‘the rights of employers and
employees to conduct their economic affairs and to
compete with others for a share in the products of
industry are subject to modification or qualification
in the interests of the society in which they exist.
This is but an instance of the power of the State to
set the limits of permissible contest open to industrial
combatants.’ Thornhill v. Alabama, 310 U.S. 88,
103-04.

“It is not for us to assess the wisdom of the policy
underlying the law of Texas. Our duty is at an end
when we find that the Fourteenth Amendment does
not deny her the power to enact that policy into
law.”

In that case it was held that the Texas Anti-Trust Laws
could be applied to secondary picketing. Rather than rely
on the generalities of the Anti-Trust Laws the Texas
Legislature spoke specifically to this problem in 1947,
adopting the statute here challenged.

Although the Texas Supreme Court has held that the
definition of “labor dispute” contained in the statute
creates an unconstitutional restraint upon free speech and
communication, it by no means has stricken the remaining
portions of the statute. Indeed, that court has recognized
the continued validity of Article 5154f, wherein only that
portion of the definition of “labor dispute” which offends
the Constitution has been stricken:

“Picketing of Wamix was not in violation of Article
5154f, V.A.T.S. Wamix states in its brief that it is
undisputed that the strike was called ‘for the purpose
of forcing plaintiff to make wage concessions.’ That

_26—

was a lawful objective and created a valid labor
dispute, both as defined in Section 2, subd. h of
Article 5154f and at common law. It was immaterial
to the right to picket Wamix that only a minority of
its employers engaged in the picketing or that those
picketing had been discharged from their employ-
ment. International Union, etc. v. Cox, 148 Tex. 42,
219 S.W.2d 787.”

Dallas General Drivers v. Wamix, 295 S.W.2d 873, 881
(1956). The above language makes it abundantly clear that
the Supreme Court of Texas regards Article 5154f as a
viable statute still in force, except to that extent to which
the definition of “labor dispute” had been stricken.

In the earlier Texas Supreme Court decision cited in
Wamix, that court was explicit in stating the extent to
which it was striking down a portion of the statutory
definition of “labor dispute”. In 1949 that court held:

“As reluctant as we are to declare acts of our
Legislature unconstitutional, it becomes our duty to
declare invalid that portion of the statute involved
which seeks to restrict a “labor dispute” to a
controversy between an employer and a majority of
his employees.”

International Union of Operating Engineers v. Cox, 219
S.W.2d 787, 794. It is obvious that the Texas Supreme
Court was invalidating only a portion of the definition of
“labor dispute”; it was not striking down the entirety of
Article 5154f, nor even the entirety of the statutory
definition of “labor dispute”. In so doing, that court was
following well established rules of statutory interpretation
and the mandate of Section 8 of Article 5154f, which
provides:

~27—

-
ee MORN YLARR RE HRN " —

“If any section, sentence, phrase or part of this Act
shall be held unconstitutional, such unconstitu-
tionality shall not affect the validity of the remaining
portions thereof; . . .”

It is the position of Appellants that Article 5154f, as
interpreted by the highest State court, is a valid and
constitutional exercise of “the power of the State to set

the limits of permissible contest open to industrial
combatants,” Thornhill v. Alabama, 310 U.S. 88, 104.

The three-judge district court held Article 5154f uncon-
stitutional in its analysis of the three operative concepts
defined in §2, to wit: 2(d) “secondary pitketing” 2(b)
“secondary strike” and 2(e) “secondary boycott”. We will
discuss the definitions in this order, following that of the
analysis of the court below.

Section 2(d) defines “secondary picketing” as “the act
of establishing a picket or pickets at or near the premises
of any employer where no labor dispute . . . exists between
such employer and his employees”. The rationale of the
court below in finding this definition overbroad is “It
clearly relies on the absence of an employer-employee
relationship and this is impermissible” (347 F. Supp. at
627) under the case of American Federation of Labor v.
Swing, 312 U.S. 321 (1941). The definition of secondary
picketing, however, does not turn exclusively upon the
absence of an employer-employee relationship: essential to
the definition in 2(d) is the definition of “picket” set forth
in 2(c), and completely ignored by the district court in its
analysis. Certainly it is not the absence of an employer-
employee relationship wherever found that is impermis-
sible: if so no secondary picketing prohibition could be
valid. It is the reliance of a statute exclusively upon the

_28-

eager aa ee ug ETS RRM APNE OY,

absence of such relationship which is impermissible. The
Texas statute requires that the absence of this relationship
be accompanied by the two limiting factors set forth in
2(c): the conduct be in behalf of a labor organization, and
the picketing be for one of the express purposes enumer-
ated in 2(c). With regard to the first limiting factor, see
argument on the equal protection issue above.

With regard to the second limiting factor, this Court
stated in International Brotherhood of Teamsters v. Vogt,
354 U.S. 284, 293 (1957), after reviewing the develop-
ment of the law in this area:

“This series of cases, then, established a broad field in
which a State, in enforcing some public policy,
whether of its criminal or its civil law, and whether
announced by its legislature or its courts, could
constitutionally enjoin peaceful picketing aimed at
preventing effectuation of that policy.” (Emphasis
added.)

The enumerated purposes set out clearly and precisely in
the 2(c) definition of “picket” are statements of public
policy, the enforcement of which is sought by this
statutory prohibition of secondary picketing made in full
conformity with the Vogt doctrine announced by this
Court.

The rationale of the court below in invalidating the
§2(b) definition of “secondary strike” is wholly inade-
quate even if accepted as accurate, which it is not. On the
basis of the “aid or abet’’ clause of §1, the court ruled all
of §2(b) unconstitutionally overbroad because of possible
inclusion of protecting picketing. Even if this reasoning
were sound it would at most justify holding the “aid or

abet” clause invalid as applied to §2(b). However the
reasoning itself is fundamentally unsound. Any picketing
which would constitute aiding and abetting a secondary
strike can be constitutionally prohibited by the Texas
statute under the above quoted doctrine announced in
Vogt. Prohibition of secondary strikes is certainly within
the area of permissible state public policy, and Vogt
expressly permits prohibition of picketing “aimed at
preventing effectuation of that policy”.

Turning now to the §2(e) definition of “secondary
boycott”, it is clear that the court below ignored the plain
language of the statute, and the legislative scheme therein
established. The court relied upon the “aid or abet”
argument which Appellants have refuted in their discussion
of §2(b) above. As shown there, the rationale of the
district court is inadequate in light of International
Brotherhood of Teamsters v. Vogt, supra, wherein this
Court expressly recognized the power of the State con-
stitutionally to enjoin even peaceful picketing when such
picketing is aimed at preventing effectuation of a permis-
sible public policy.

The district court placed the cart before the horse when
it reasoned first that Texas had prohibited second boycott
picketing, second that such picketing is constitutionally
protected, and then concluded therefrom that the entire
secondary boycott prohibition is invalid. The doctrine of
Vogt requires that the prohibition of secondary boycott
picketing be condemned only if the prohibition of the
secondary boycott first be held an impermissible public
policy. The district court, however, did not even consider
the question of the validity of the State’s public policy
against secondary boycotts, beyond its wholly inaccurate
observation: “The evil here is ‘damage or injury’ of any

~30—

a —

character or degree no matter how slight or subtle.” 347
F.Supp. at 628. The court appears to have ignored the
greater portion of §2(e) which sets forth in detail the
specific manner by which the damage or injury must be
inflicted, each of which constitutes a statement of legiti-
mate public policy sought to be protected by this
legislative enactment. It is the contention of Appellants
that these limiting clauses of §2(e) spell out specifically
the state public policy prohibiting secondary boycotts, and
that as such, the State may also prohibit picketing aimed
at preventing effectuation of that policy, in accordance
with the Vogt doctrine.

It is therefore clear that the rationale of the court below
is inadequate to support its ruling of unconstitutionality
with respect to Article 5154f, and furthermore that the
reasoning of the court below is in error even to that
limited extent to which it would hold minimal portions of
that statute unconstitutional. Article 5154f is clear and
concise and is a valid exercise of legislative discretion
under its inherent police power. We therefore contend that
it is constitutional in every respect.

ARTICLE 482 OF THE TEXAS PENAL CODE IS
NOT UNCONSTITUTIONAL FOR OVER
BREADTH.

Article 482 provides as follows:

“Any person who shall in the presence of hearing of
ae Bs curse or abuse such person, or use any
violently abusive language to such person concerning
him or any of his female relatives, under circum-
stances reasonably calculated to provoke a breach of
the peace, shall be fined not more than one hundred
dollars.”

_3)—

This Honorable Court in Chaplinsky v. State of New
Hampshire, 315 U.S. 568 (1942), had before it for
interpretation the New Hampshire abusive language stat-
ute. There this Court stated at page 571:

“Allowing the broadest scope to the language and
purpose of the Fourteenth Amendment, it is well
understood that the right of free speech is not
absolute at all times and under all circumstances.
There are certain well-defined and narrowly limited
classes of speech, the prevention and punishment of
which has never been thought to raise any Constitu-
tional problem. These include the lewd and obscene,
the profane, the libelous, and the insulting or
‘fighting’ words—those which by their very utterance
inflict injury or tend to incite an immediate breach of
the peace. It has been well observed that such
utterances are no essential part of any exposition of
ideas, and are of such slight social value as a step to
truth that any benefit that may be derived from them
is clearly outweighed by the social interest in order
and morality. ‘Resort to epithets or personal abuse is
not in any proper sense communication of informa-
tion or opinion safeguarded by the Constitution, and
its punishment as a criminal act would raise no
question under that instrument.’ Cantwell v. Con-
necticut, 310 U.S. 296, 309, 310, 60 S.Ct. 900, 906,
84 L.Ed. 1213, 128 A.L.R. 1352.”

That Article 482 of the Texas Penal Code which
prohibits the use of abusive language is constitutional is
settled by this unanimous decision in Chaplinsky, supra,
upholding a statute with a similar purpose but couched in
far more general terms. See also the Arkansas statute, very
similar in its language to this Texas statute, noted
approvingly by this Honorable Court in Youngdahl v.
Rainfair, Inc. , 355 U.S. 131, 138 n. 5 (1957).

_32—

Te .:

ARTICLE 439 OF THE TEXAS PENAL CODE IS
NOT UNCONSTITUTIONAL.

Article 439 reads as follows:

“An ‘unlawful assembly’ is the meeting of three or
more persons with intent to aid each other by
violence or in any manner either to commit an
offense or illegally to deprive any person of any right
or to disturb him in the enjoyment thereof.”

Article 449 reads as follows:

“If the purpose of the unlawful assembly be to
prevent any person from pursuing any labor, occupa-
tion or employment, or to intimidate any person
from following his daily avocation, or to interfere in
any manner with the labor or employment of
another, the punishment shall be by fine not exceed-
ing five hundred dollars.”

If Article 439 stood alone it might be subject to
challenge on grounds of unconstitutional indefiniteness,
though even that challenge probably would fail. Insofar as
it makes it criminal for three or more persons to aid each
other “to commit an offense” it is merely a conspiracy
statute. Cf. 18 U.S.C. Section 371. It also prohibits such
an assembly “‘illegally to. deprive any person of any right”
the reference to the rights that are protected is surely not
specific, though it is relevant to note that 18 U.S.C.
Section 242, making it criminal to deprive any person “of
any rights, privileges or immunities secured or protected
by the Constitution or Laws of the United States”, has
been upheld against challenge on the ground of vagueness.
Williams v. United States, 341 U.S. 97, 100-101 (1951).
The word “illegally” may well be the key, since it is not a

—-e..

conspiracy to deprive a person of a right that is prohibited,
but only a conspiracy illegally to deprive him of a right.
Thus this portion of the statute makes criminal a con-
spiracy to do something that the law of the State,
including the civil statutes and the common law, prohibits.

For the purposes to this case Article 439 must be read
together with Article 449. Taking these statutes together,
as the Texas courts have consistently done, they say:

‘An ‘unlawful assembly’ is the meeting of three or
more persons with intent to aid each other by
violence or in any other manner... to prevent any
person from pursuing any labor, occupation or
employment, or to intimidate any person from
following his daily avocation, or to interfere in any
manner with the labor or employment of another. . . ”

This expresses in words of common understanding the
kind of conduct by a group of persons that is prohibited
by the statute. The notion that a group of persons have a
constitutional right to prevent someone else from working
at his employment is hardly likely to be the law. The
Texas Court of Criminal Appeals has given these statutes
very narrow interpretations and required that the indict-
ments set out in detail the matter with which the persons
are actually charged. For example, Blackwell v. State, 18
S.W. 676, the court said that if the indictment or
information throughout did not show for what purpose
the rioters assembled, the information was insufficient. In
the case of Follis v. State, 40 S.W. 277, it was held that an
indictment for unlawful assembly to prevent a party by
violence from having a social gathering or dance at his
house should allege that such party has a house and was
giving or about to give a social gathering or dance. In Luter

_34—

SRD oie cna et <r ng Rees
2 = OAR =i Eg A, .
. . SPOS ERO ENT A RA OTE ENE BE Bry Oe II EE UIE A CA
: ate ATR UID BERR

PE EI ES MET ARINC et BINS REY Ee I, A Cg ae eae Ia

v. State, 22 S.W. 140, the court held information was
defective under Article 449 for failure to set forth the
nature of the “unlawful employment”.

In Briscoe v. State, (1961), 341 S.W.2d 432, the
indictment: was held defective because there was no notice
as to whether the State would rely on intent by violence to
disturb the victim and deprive him of his right to operate a
lunch counter or would rely on proof on an intent to
deprive him of such right by some means other than by the
use of violence. The attention of the Court is also directed
to Tucker v. State, (1961), 341 S.W.2d 433, and Johnson
v. State, (1961), 341 S.W.2d 434. Likewise in Jones v.
State, (1962), 355 S.W.2d 727, the mere attempt to
procure service at a railroad terminal without an act of
violence or other violation of the law would not justify
conviction.

We recognize that the right of lawful assembly is
constitutionally protected. The statute is not directed at a
lawful assembly, but at the unlawful one which is not
constitutionally protected. See Cox v. Louisiana, 379 U.S.
599. It is well settled that courts are inclined to adopt that
reasonable interpretation of a statute which moves it
furthest from possible constitutional infirmity. Kovacs v.
Copper, 336 U.S. 77 (1948); Cox v. Louisiana, supra. It
has likewise been held that even a lawful assembly is
subject to State regulation. Poulos v. State of New
Hampshire, 345 U.S. 395 (1953). In the latter case the
court stated at page 405: .

“The principles of the First Amendment are not to be
treated as a promise that everyone with opinions or
beliefs to express may gather around him at any
public place and at any time a group for discussion or

—35—

RENT RP DES

instruction . . . it has indicated approval of reasonable
non-discriminatory regulation by governmental
authority that preserves peace, order and tranquility
without deprivation of First Amendment guarantees
of free speech, press, and the exercise of religion.
When considering specifically the regulation of the
use of public parks, this court has taken the same
position.”

In the case of Hughes, et al v. Superior Court of
California, 330 U.S. 460 (1950), the court held that
industrial picketing was subject to the control of a state if
the manner in which the picketing was conducted or the
purpose which it seeks to effectuate gives ground for its
disallowance. The court, however held:

“It has been amply recognized that picketing, not
being the equivalent of free speech as a matter of
fact, is not its inevitable legal equivalent. Picketing is
not beyond control of a State if the manner in which
the picketing is conducted or the purpose which it
seeks to effectuate gives ground for its disallowance.”

See cases cited therein at page 466.

Texas has a “right to work law”. Article 5207a,
Vernon’s Annotated Statutes, and similar statues have
been held constitutional by the Texas and the United
States Supreme Courts. Construction and General Labor
Union v. Stephenson, (Tex.Sup. 1950) 225 S.W.2d 958,
Building Service Employees Union, etc. v. Gazzan, supra.
To hold that the right to work law is constitutional and to
hold that the State cannot declare illegal an assembly
whose purpose is to prevent a person from pursuing his
labor, occupation, or employment or intimidate him from
following his daily avocation or to interfere in any manner

_36—

with the labor or employment of another would make the
right to work statute meaningless.

We submit that the statute in question is not unconstitu-
tional for over breadth as the court below found.

THE COURT BELOW IMPROPERLY ORDERED
INJUNCTIVE RELIEF. AGAINST PEACE OFFI-
CERS OF THE TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC
SAFETY AND THE LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFI-
CERS OF STARR COUNTY IN THIS CASE WHERE
PROSECUTIONS WERE PENDING IN THE STATE
COURTS.

The effect of the holding in the court below was to
require federal intervention and to threaten state prosecu-
tions. The order of the court coupled with the injunction,
prevents enforcement of the statutes, either by criminal
complaint or civil petition, regardless of the peaceful or
non-peaceful nature of the picketing activities.

The witnesses presented by Appellees in defense of their
position and their contentions that the criminal charges
pending against them were maliciously filed are supported
only by the testimony of those who are charged with the
commission of the crime. The case was brought about as
an effort on the part of the Appellee to kill charges
pending against them in state court by federal intervention
rather than by allowing a jury of their peers to determine
the questions of guilt or innocence as is provided by the
Constitution of the United States and the State of Texas.
It is important to note in this case that Appellees have not
contended that the Appellants in the future will attempt
to again institute proceedings against them under void
statutes or because they wish to harass Appellees by filing

_37—

charges with no expectations of obtaining convictions. The
record reflects a very good basis for Appellees not
advancing this theory. The president of the Farm Workers
Union, Domingo Arredondo, one of the Appellees herein,
frankly states that picketing continued until it was stopped
by injunction. It was not the arrest that “chilled”
Appellees’ alleged constitutional right and destroyed the
strike. Unless and until the existing injunction is dissolved
or the case reversed on appeal, Appellees cannot engage in
further picketing as prior picketing was found to be
“coupled with violence”.

There have been no arrests or threatened arrests of any
of the Appellees by any of the Appellants since the
institution of this lawsuit which is approximately during a
period of four years.

The Three-Judge Court below relied on Dombrowski v.
Pfister, 380 U.S. 479, 482-485 (1965), supra, as authority
for entering the arena of state prosecution at the early
stages. This reliance apparently ignored the decision of this
Court in Cameron v. Johnson, 390 U.S. 617 (1968).

Any notion that Dombrowski, supra, had opened wide
the door to federal court intervention was dispelled in
Cameron, supra. In Dombrowski, supra, the court there
pointed out that the statutes challenged regulated “ex-
pression itself”, rather than, as in Cameron, supra, statutes
regulating “conduct which is intertwined with expres-
sion”. In this respect our case is like Cameron and unlike
Dombrowski.

The court below misapplied Younger v. Harris, 401 U.S.
37 (1971). Younger holds that federal courts may not
enjoin pending state court criminal prosecution unless the

~38—

=

applicant makes a showing of irreparable harm which is
both great and immediate. Disclaiming any intent to
catalogue exhaustively the situations where irreparable
harm can be said to exist, this court in Younger did,
however, discuss two fact circumstances which would
justify federal court intervention. First, an injunction
would be granted by the federal district court to prevent a
prosecution undertaken for a purpose of harassment and
in bad faith without any expectations of securing a valid
conviction. Secondly, the court suggested that, even in the
absence of the usual requisites of bad faith and harass-
ment, a “statute might be (so) flagrantly and patently
violative of express constitutional prohibitions in every
clause, sentence and paragraph, and in whatever manner
and against whom ever an effort might be made to apply
it,” that federal injunctive relief would be available to
prevent attempts to prosecute under it. In any case, the
harm required to be shown must be comparable to the
harm present in the situation described by the court.
Younger also holds that the cost, anxiety, and incon-
venience of having to defend against a single criminal
prosecution cannot, by itself, be considered irreparable
damage, as that term was used by the court.

The evidence does not reflect that either the Starr
County officials or the Texas Rangers, in attempting to
enforce the statutes in question knew or had cause to
believe that any particular statute was unconstitutional.
Certainly, in the absence of any state court holding any of
these statutes to be unconstitutional prior to the time of
the arrest of the Appellees during the strike, the law
enforcement officers, the group from Starr County as well
as the Texas Rangers, who are not versed in constitutional
law cannot be expected to know that such statute might
be later struck down in federal court.

~39—

In the court below Appellees claimed that the officials
of Starr County and the Texas Rangers were biased and
merely arrested the Appellees to destroy the union. This
contention is utterly ridiculous. Even if the officers had
hoped to stop union activity, which is untrue, the
president of the union testified that picketing continued
until the union was enjoined in state court from further
picketing because the picketing had been coupled with
actual violence.

Members of the union are not above the law merely
because of the union membership. The testimony by the
various defendants clearly proves that violations of law had
occurred prior to each arrest. Appellees’ position below
was that the law enforcement officers were attempting to
destroy the union by arrests on one hand and by criticizing
the law enforcement officers for not filing complaints on
various other offenses and contending that this action of
the law enforcement officials indicated that Appellees
were not violating other statutes. Certainly if the law
enforcement officials were attempting to destroy the
union by arrests, arrests would have been made almost
daily as the picketing occurred daily. In addition, com-
plaints could have been filed against those arrested under
every possible statute where charges could be brought. The
true inference to be drawn from the facts that other
charges were not filed was that the officers, at the time the
arrests were made, were merely trying to uphold the laws
of the State of Texas and preserve the peace.

It is submitted that injunctive relief was not proper
under the facts and circumstances as revealed above. It
could not be presumed that the state courts will not
accord defendants their full federal and state constitu-
tional rights in state court trials. Walker v. Birmingham,

_40—

388 U.S. 307, 319 (1967); Harris v. N.A.A.C.P., 360 U.S.
167 (1959). The mere possibility of an erroneous applica-
tion of constitutional standards will not justify federal
courts disrupting state proceedings. Cameron v. Johnson,
supra; Dombrowski v. Pfister, supra. The state courts,
presumably, would have construed the various statutes
involved and applied them in keeping with constitutional
principles, and the court below should have assumed that
the state courts would do so.

“Principle of comity, of cooperation and of rapport
between the two sovereigns,” Texas v. Payton, 390 F.2d
261, 270 (Sth Cir. 1968), strongly suggests that criminal
law enforcement should be left to the states, and that
except in the most extraordinary circumstances a federal
court should not interfere by injunction with pending state
proceedings. Deference by the federal courts to the states
in this area recognizes that the “state court at least
co-equal with federal courts in its duties and responsi-
bilities in the administration of federal constitutional law.”
Id. at 272.

CONCLUSION

The Three-Judge Federal Court below incorrectly held
Section I of Article 5154d, Section 1 and 2 of Article
5154f of Vernon’s Civil Statutes and Articles 482 and 439
of the Texas Penal Code to be unconstitutional for the
reasons given above. Furthermore, whether these statutes
be constitutional or unconstitutional, the court below
erroneously, under the principles of federalism, enjoined
state officials from enforcing the statutes.

_4)]—

Respectfully submitted,

JOHN L. HILL
Attorney General of Texas

LARRY F. YORK
First Assistant

JOE B. DIBRELL
Assistant Attorney General

LANG A. BAKER
Assistant Attorney General

GILBERT J. PENA
Assistant Attorney General

Attorneys for Appellants

P.O. Box 12548, Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711

_42—

ee AWA TELLUS ON IR Se: CRO Be a iia?
Sa ee A i ee eS

iii ¥ . . ~~ Ree. ENED = LE

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, Gilbert J. Pena, a member of the Bar of the Supreme
Court of the United States, do hereby certify that a copy
of the foregoing Appellants’ Brief has been served on
counsel for the Appellees by depositing same in the United
States Mail, certified, postage prepaid, addressed to Mr.
Chris Dixie, Attorney at Law, 609 Fannin Street Building,
Suite 401, Houston, Texas 77002, on this the day
of June. 1973.

GILBERT J. PENA
Assistant Attorney General

43

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386414_0285%3A06. Public record. Not legal advice.
