# Amicus Curiae Brief — Scheuer v. Rhodes

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386414_0265%3A13

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1974
- **Citation:** 416 U.S. 232

## Text

ey

PORES

bene

LIBRARY
AUG 27 1973 suPREME CouRT. U. 8
No. 72-1318

and
No. 72-914

in the
Supreme Court of the Anited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1973

ARTHUR KRAUSE, ADMINISTRATOR, Petitioner
v.
JAMES RHODES, et al., Respondents

ELAINE B. MILLER, ADMINISTRATRIX, Petitioner

v.
JAMES RHODES, et al., Respondents

SARAH SCHEUER, ADMINISTRATRIX, Petitioner
vz.
JAMES RHODES, et al., Respondents

On Writ of Colliieeri to the

United States Court of Appeals
for the Sixth Circuit

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE
AND
BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS,
ON BEHALF OF
THE NATIONAL COUNCIL OF THE CHURCHES OF CHRIST IN THE U.S.A.,
THE UNION OF AMERICAN HEBREW CONGREGATIONS,
THE BOARD OF CHURCH AND SOCIETY OF THE UNITED METHODIST CHURCH,
AND THE UNITED PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH IN THE U.S.A.,
AS AMICI CURIAE

as DAVID E. ENGDAHL
4375 Butler Circle
Boulder, Colorado 80303
(303) 443-2211, ext. 6911

August, 1973 Attorney for Amici

tthe
Supreme Court of the Rnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1973

ARTHUR KRAUSE, ADMINISTRATOR, Petitioner
JAMES RHODES, et al., Respondents

ELAINE B. MILLER, ADMINISTRATRIX, Petitioner
JAMES RHODES, et al., ‘Respondénss

SARAH SCHEUER, ‘ADMINISTRATRIX, Petitioner
JAMES RHODES, et al., ‘Sinitiniahits

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Sixth Circuit

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE
_ BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE

The National Council of the Churches of Christ in the U.S.A..,
The Union of American Hebrew Congregations, The Board of
Church and Society of the United Methodist Church, and The

United Presbyterian Church in the U.S.A. hereby respectfully
- move for leave to file the attached brief amicus curiae in these
cases. Oral consent of counsel for the Petitioners was obtained;
- but at the time of printing this motion written consent of the
Respondents has not been secured, so that this motion for
leave of court is necessary.

The National Council of the Churches of Christ in the U.S.A.
is a national organization of religious groups which, among
its other concerns, is devoted to the promotion of social justice
and the advancement of due process of law. The issues at
stake in the present review of these cases are of major im-
portance to these concerns of the National Council of Churches,
inasmuch as these issues are crucial to the legal enforcibility
of constitutionally secured human rights. With specific refer-
ence to the incident giving rise to these present cases, the
General Board of the National Council of Churches on
September 11, 1971, adopted a resolution urging that the
Plaintiffs-Petitioners in these cases, and others aggrieved by
that incident, “continue to seek a remedy in the civil courts.”
The interest of the National Council of Churches is not in
any way related to the prayer for monetary damages; rather,
the interest of the National Council of Churches is in enabling
the American system of justice to proceed to a fair deter-
mination of responsibility and accountability for the deaths
and injuries that occurred in the historic and unforgettable
tragedy out of which these cases arose. Furthermore, the
particular issues of law raised at this stage of these proceedings
are crucial to the enforcement of civil rights and liberties also
in other contexts, and therefore invoke the Council’s broadest
concerns for social justice in the United States.

The Union of American Hebrew Congregations is the central
congregational body of Reform Judaism. Its membership
consists of approximately seven hundred Reform Synagogues,
comprising approximately one million persons throughout the
United States. By virtue of its programs of religious action
and social action, the Union of American Hebrew Congrega-
tions is dedicated to the application of religious ideals to the
social problems of American life. The Union is concerned that
the process of justice proceed fairly to an accounting for the

iii

tragic event giving rise to these cases. In addition, the Union
is concerned for the indispensable requisites of enforcibility
of civil rights and civil liberties, which are decisively tested
by the issues in these cases.

The United Methodist Church is a religious body with
approximately ten million five hundred thousand members in
the United States. The Board of Church and Society is its
national agency with responsibility for social witness to the
Christian Gospel on a wide range of issues. Through its Depart-
ment of Law, Justice and Community Relations, the Board
of Church and Society of the United Methodist Church has
been deeply involved in seeking justice in the wake of the
shootings at Kent State University on May 4, 1970. Pursuant
to this active and long-standing concern for establishing an
accountability for the killing of four young people and the
wounding of nine others on that day, the Board of Church
and Society wishes to join as amicus curiae in these cases.

The United Presbyterian Church in the U.S.A. ‘is a religious
body with approximately three million members in the United
States. Sharing, as a part of its religious conviction and
Christian message, the concern for justice and the enforcibility
of legally protected human rights that has been articulated
by the other amici herein, the United Pre: »yterian Church in
the U.S.A. wishes to join in this brief.

Thus, representing the collective social conscience of several
millions of religious Americans, these amici move the Court
for leave to file the attached brief amicus curiae, supporting
the position of Petitioners in these cases. It is the hope of
amici that this unusual chorus of religious voices will empha-
size the profound moral and constitutional significance of the
issues presented for decision here.

- Respectfully submitted,

DAVID E. ENGDAHL
4375 ButlerCircle |
Boulder, Colorado 80303
(303) 443-2211, ext. 6911
August, 1973 Attorney for Amici

No. 72-1318 -
and
No. 72-914

in the
Supreme Court of the Anited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1973

ARTHUR KRAUSE, ADMINISTRATOR, Petitioner
v

JAMES RHODES, et al., Respondents
ELAINE B. MILLER, ADMINISTRATRIX, Petitioner
JAMES RHODES, et al., Respondents
SARAH SCHEUER, ADMINISTRATRIX, Petitioner

v.
JAMES RHODES, et al., Respondents

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Sixth Circuit .

BRIEF OF
THE NATIONAL COUNCIL OF THE CHURCHES OF CHRIST IN THE U.S.A.,
THE UNION OF AMERICAN HEBREW CONGREGATIONS,
THE BOARD OF CHURCH AND SOCIETY OF THE UNITED METHODIST CHURCH,
AND THE UNITED PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH IN THE U.S.A..,
AS AMICI CURIAE

DAVID E. ENGDAHL
4375 Butler Circle
Boulder, Colorado 80303
(303) 443-2211, ext. 6911
August, 1973 Attorney for Amici

pe Re ee) ee ee ere

“cpleegame cot Sete Bh ec Oe Pay een ee |
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT 3... iis..58. ish eee ccs 2
ARGUMENT ics kas aby baba eok nbs oat haw es ones dai 3

I. FACTUAL CONTEXT OF THETISSUES........ 3

II. LEGAL CONTEXT OF THE ISSUES .......... 13

III. THE ISSUES FRAMED BY THE
CORT Peete MOP EERIMIEE ob bs ch cc hence 18

A. FACTUAL ASSUMPTIONS CONTRARY
TO THE UNANSWERED COMPLAINTS ... 18

B. THE ELEVENTH"AMENDMENT ......... 19
C. PERSONAL PRIVILEGE OR

IMMUNITY OF EXECUTIVE

og Ee ee Pee ree ere 22

D. THE DIVERSITY CLAIMS IN KRAUSE
ec eit caus RCE Ee ee Toe 26

E. THE UNITED STATES NOT A
oct pint eieunigkt $c uci Re EOC OREO ETE Neer 27

COPIES 5 hes baie as Ook ces suweke ees

Vili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases
Page
Boor wv. Matton, 360 US. SUG CIPS R ss nc cn 5 kee is 23
Bivens v. Six Unknown Named Agents of the Federal

Bureau of Narcotics, 456 F.2d 1339 (2d Cir. 1972) .... 23
Bivens v. Unknown Named Agents,

Oe ec CEE 6 5k ob eek ow aR eke doe ees 20, 21, 24
Chastleton v. Sinclair, 264 U.S. 543 (1924) ............ 16
Constantin v. Smith, 57 F.2d 227 (E.D. Tex. 1932) ...... 15
ee ek ae eS 19

~ Duncan v. Kahanamoku, 327 U.S. 304 (1946) ©.......... 15
Ex parte Milligan, 71 U.S. (4 Wall.) 2(1866)............ 15
Ex parte Young, 209 U.S. 123 (1902) ..............-. 20
Faubus v. United States, 254 F.2d 797,

Re RN iis os ih ee hea es 15
Gilligan v. Morgan, if See | 6 et F

a a ns wn em 16, 27
Gregoire v. Biddle, 177 F.2d 579 (2d Cir. 1949),

ae a eee 23
eo Pe eee my OS) er ee 23
Hearon v. Calus, 178 S.C. 381, 183 S.E. 13 (1935) ....... 15
Larson v. Domestic & Foreign Corp.,

Be I oo i i iw bv ks cs iw ko es 19
Milligan v. Hovey, 17 F. Cas. 380 (No. 9605)

Meee UE og hs ei xu cca ee ae vase 23
Mitchell v. Clark, 110 U.S. 633 (1GB4) .. ww ww ce ees 23
Moyer v. Peabody, 213 U.S. 78 (1909) ............. 16, 24

Moyer v. Peabody, 148 Fed. 870
Cee WUE 3 ok os iv coun sd cue ce auaeneee tc 25

ix

Cases (Continued)

: Page
Pierson v. Ray, 386 U.S. 547 (1967).......... aa; 2a; 24
Poindexter v. Greenhow, 114 U.S. 270(1885) ..... 19, 20, 23
Reid + Cowast, S56 US. 3 Car oo he iho e5 es 14
Russell Petroleum Co. v. Walker, 162 Okla. 216,

OP Pr en Ce ee kei os eben i cies 15
Sostre v. McGinnis, 442 F.2d 178 (2d Cir. 1971) ........ 21
State of Ohio v. Coit, 8 Ohio Dec. 62

ne COR oe oe Ka ee eee ean eeseeesems 15
Sterling v. Constantin, 287 U.S. 378 (1932)....... 15, 16, 20,

24, 25, 26
United States v. Lee, 106 U.S. 196 (1882).............. 23
United States ex rel. Palmer v. Adams,

a Oe Pr i Oe, bo we ck ie ee eR ESSE 15
United States v. Phillips, 33 F. Supp. 261 (N.D.

Ce Fs PE, Bak ec i ih oeRccdxeauks 15
Wilson & Co. v. Freeman, 179 F. Supp. 520

CER; en ec oa eee ee eee 15

Constitutions, Statutes and Rules
Pe. es ee ee geek unc ues cu ba cnkos ceeun 13
ee ee ee ie eb evs hae ek kal eens 13
ee re Os 6 ak hv dk vee a here ec cee an 18
ee es re Ec a ok OX oc kk ed eke were 18
Ohio Rev. Codes 65623:57 (Sam.) i oon a Ge bot Hae 27
IS USE. Gael ..3 5s. Wa ek bleu dec es caries carer 12
Se Shs Oe oko hac eee i ae 12, 18

We UR. WEOOD cece est badbankevereee’ 18. 10, 21, 22, 26

x

Other Authorities

Page

Comment, Constitutional Law — The Power of a

Governor to Proclaim Martial Law and Use State

Military Forces to Suppress Campus Demonstra-

a rs Bis Fe OE AOD 6 cece vce keieass 16
Comment, Martial Law, 42 So. Cal. L. Rev. 546

a ae hs Ns ok oe ee eres cite 16
119 Cong. Rec. E207 et seq. (daily ed.,

Be rk 4 as Sh ha wie oh oN Oe OES 8
119 Cong. Rec. H3615 (Daily ed., May 10, 1973) ....... 17
er te EE 6 5 oo i sw ch we web eyes a=

Engdahl, Immunity and Accountability for
Positive Governmental Wrongs, 44 Colo.
Oe eg «RAR NEDS rape ee eee ee 9, 0, 21,224,203

Engdahl, Soldiers, Riots and Revolution: The Law
and History of Military Troops in Civil
Disorders, 57 Iowa L. Rev. 1 (1971) .............. 16, 26

Law Revision Center, A Comprehensive Study of
the Use of Military Troops in Civil Disorders,
oe Ee et he: ee rare eae 16

Mutter, Some Observations on Military Involve-
ment in Domestic Disorders, 29 Fed. B. J.

22. See ee ou eas Soe ee 0 ee 16
Note, Constitutional Law—Martial Law,

as I Fe ROE Fs vas Wks Wes eco inns 16
Note, Martial Law and the National Guard,

Oe ak ee ik os Sino ke oe 85S de eee 16
Report of the President’s Commission on

ek Beer eer er 4,8
Wiener, Martial Law Today, 55 A.B.A.J. 723

RRMA RG Se er eee re arr ae aCe ere er 16, 24

5 Wright & Miller, Federal Practice &
I an iv nc Kee es oe aes sees 18

nme

eae ee

No. 72-1318
and
No. 72-914

in the
Supreme Court of the Mnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1973

ARTHUR KRAUSE, ADMINISTRATOR, Petitioner
v.
JAMES RHODES, et al., Respondents

ELAINE B. MILLER, ADMINISTRATRIX, Petitioner
v.
JAMES RHODES, et al., Respondents

SARAH SCHEUER, ADMINISTRATRIX, Petitioner
v.
JAMES RHODES, et al., Respondents

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Sixth Circuit

BRIEF OF
THE NATIONAL COUNCIL OF THE CHURCHES OF CHRIST IN THE U.S.A.,
THE UNION OF AMERICAN HEBREW CONGREGATIONS,
THE BOARD OF CHURCH AND SOCIETY OF THE UNITED METHODIST CHURCH,
AND THE UNITED PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH IN THE U.S.A.,
AS AMICI CURIAE

STATEMENT OF INTEREST
OF AMICI CURIAE

The interests of the several amici in this litigation are set
forth in the Motion for Leave to File. bound together with
this brief, at page i supra.

2

The arguments of amici in this brief support the position
of Petitioners in the three cases: Arthur Krause, Elaine B.
Miller, and Sarah Scheuer.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Because of the remarkable behavior of the courts below in
disregarding the allegations of the unanswered complaints,
postulating factual premises of their own contrivance, and
charging the plaintiffs’ lawyers with deliberate attempts at
deception, justice in this review proceeding requires a careful
review of what is judicially noticeable concerning the events
giving rise to these complaints. Part I of this brief is an orderly
recapitulation of such judicially noticeable facts as reported in
official government documents.

Because .the causes of action stated in plaintiffs’ complaints
depend in part upon important propositions of constitutional
law which have sometimes been the subject of confusion and
disagreement, it is necessary to clarify and document these
propositions in order for the character of plaintiffs’ claims to
be fully understood. Part II of this brief explains how the
complaints invoke these constitutional propositions, and docu-
ments the propositions by reference to numerous cases and
other authorities.

Only in the context of the factual and constitutional setting
thus disclosed can the specific issues framed by the certiorari
petitions be perceived in their full and profound significance.
Part III of this brief examines those issues and argues that:
(A) The courts below improperly assumed facts contrary to
the unanswered complaints; (B) In holding the eleventh
amendment a bar to these actions the courts below flew in
the face of consistent and vigorous contrary rulings by this
Court; (C) In creating an absolute personal privilege or immu-
nity for unconstitutional acts of executive officials the Court
of Appeals departed from precedent and destroyed an in-
dispensable safeguard of constitutional rights; (D) The Courts
below improperly ignored the diversity claims of plaintiffs
Krause and Miller; and (E) The United States is not a necessary
party in this litigation.

3
ARGUMENT
I. FACTUAL CONTEXT OF THE ISSUES

These cases were dismissed by the District Court before any
answer had been filed. There has been no trial of the facts.
Ordinarily a reviewing court would therefore judge the facts,
at this stage, from the allegations of the complaints. In these
cases, however, both the District Court and the Court of
Appeals went beyond the complaints, relying upon their own
recollection of hearsay reports and purported judicial notice
to support their postulation of facts contrary to the allegations
of the complaints. The propriety or impropriety of their doing
so is discussed later in this brief; but the fact that they did
so makes it both appropriate and necessary for this Court, in
reviewing the decisions, to have as full a picture of the facts
which are truly cognizable by judicial notice as is possible.
The majority opinion in the Court of Appeals postulates an
“insurrection” at Kent State University on May 4, 1970, and
also postulates that plaintiffs’ decedents were killed “during”
a “riot” at Kent. Judge O’Sullivan, concurring, charges
plaintiffs’ attorneys with “‘dissembling,” and asserts that the
pleadings ‘‘were clearly contrived to hide rather than disclose
the true background of the involved events.” These factual
postulations and charges so color the decisions being reviewed
that this Court cannot perform its own task of review without
taking fully into account what is now public knowledge about
the Kent State event.

The circumstances giving rise to the present cases were the
subject of exhaustive investigation by an official Commission
authorized by the Congress and appointed by the President
of the United States. The Report of that Commission, the
President’s Commission on Campus Unrest, which was trans-
mitted to the President on September 26, 1970, is a proper
subject of judicial notice. 8 Cyc. Fed. Pro. $26.222. The
Commission’s factual conclusions may not control in the face
of competent evidence at a trial; but where, as here, complaints
have been dismissed before answer, the Commission’s findings
are a better source of factual premises than anything relied
upon by the courts below. Pages 233-290 of the Report of the

4

President’s Commission on Campus Unrest, supplemented by
120 pages of photographs, constitute the Commission’s Special
Report on Kent State. The account which follows is a con-
densation of the Commission’s Special Report, emphasizing
salient points.

Northeastern Ohio late in April, 1970, was beset with wild-
cat trucker strikes. To deal with striker violence, the Governor
(defendant Rhodes), on April 29 issued a proclamation calling
out the National Guard. That proclamation mentioned seven
counties of the state by name but Portage County, the
location of Kent, was not one of those specified. Several things
are notable about that April 29 proclamation. Although the
preamble recited that sheriffs and police had proved “unable
with their own forces to bring about a cessation of violence,”
and that “the Mayors of many Ohio cities . . . have urgently
requested” National Guard aid, these findings had to do with
the truck strike disturbances, not with any prior or anticipated
campus unrest. Furthermore, while the military forces were
to “act in aid of the civil authorities,” the import of this was
merely that the military commanders should “consult with
{the civilian authorities] to the extent necessary to determine
the objects to be accomplished.”” Notwithstanding the rule of
the cases in Ohio and elsewhere, including this Court, as will
be detailed in the next section of this brief, the proclamation
specifically provided that ‘“‘the procedure of execution” was
to be left to “the discretion of the commanding military
officer designated by the Adjutant General.’ No control over
the discretion of the military officers was reserved by the
proclamation even to the Governor himself; the Adjutant
General was left free to designate whatever and however many
units he chose, and in his own discretion “to take action
necessary for the restoration of order throughout the State of
Ohio.” (When a few days later the language, “throughout the
State,” was given application to localities as to which no
formal gubernatorial finding of civilian incapacity had been
made, the tremendous scope of this abdication of civilian
authority into military hands would become clear.)

While the Ohio National Guard was on duty for the truckers’
strikes, the President’s war policy in Southeast Asia took a

5

dramatic new turn. On the night of April 30, the President
announced that he had ordered United States troops into
Cambodia. The daylight hours of May 1 at Kent State were
marked only by some peaceful protest assemblies; but that
evening a series of incidents more or less related to unhappiness
over the new turn in war policy produced about $10,000 in
property damage to about 15 business buildings in downtown
Kent, some minor property damage on the University campus,
two police injuries from rocks or other missiles, and 15 arrests.
During the night, at the request of the Mayor of Kent, a
National Guard liaison officer was sent to survey the situation
in Kent; but no military troops were authorized or sent.

On May 2, among several other steps taken to prevent a
recurrence of violence and disorder, an injunction was procured
against damage or destruction of buildings or other property.
There was no injunction, however, against assemblies or rallies,
a fact that was specifically pointed out in leaflets distributed
on the University campus by University officials. Late in the
afternoon of May 2, in the face of rumored new violence,
the Mayor of Kent telephoned the Governor's office with a
request for National Guard assistance. The jurisdiction of the
Mayor of the City of Kent over the campus of Kent State
University was dubious at best. City police in Kent regarded
the campus as outside their jurisdiction, and subject to the
University’s campus police. The University officials privy to
the Mayor’s request for the National Guard were under the
impression that the Guard was being requested for duty only
in the city of Kent and not on the Kent State campus. No
University official ever requested National Guard assistance,
on that day or on any other.

Considering the language of his April 29 proclamation,
“throughout the State of Ohio,”’ to be adequate to cover the
Kent situation, the Governor verbally authorized the commit-
ment of guardsmen to the City of Kent without any written
proclamation. (A post facto proclamation covering Kent and
the Kent State University campus was issued three days later,
on May 5, after the Guard had been present there for more
than two days and after the shootings giving rise to this
litigation had already occurred.) Guardsmen bivouaced at

6

Akron, ten miles from Kent, were placed on standby. In the
evening on May 2, a crowd growing to about 1,000 persons
gathered on the campus, and after a short while moved
toward the ROTC building. No effort was made by the campus
police or any other civilian forces to prevent persons in the
crowd from stoning or otherwise damaging the ROTC building.
Even after the building had been set afire, no police were
deployed until after firemen had arrived and been forced to
withdraw. Only then did the campus police appear, using tear
gas to drive the crowd away from the burning ROTC building.
Meanwhile, a few minutes before the ROTC fire had been
started, the Mayor of Kent (but. no University official) had
secured the dispatch of the alerted National Guardsmen into
the City of Kent.

Upon arriving in Kent and conferring with the Mayor, but
without consulting with or requesting or receiving permission
from any University official, the Adjutant General-of Ohio
(defendant Del Corso) sent National Guard troops onto the
campus. By midnight, without benefit of any request or
instructions from University officials, the National Guard had
cleared the campus with tear gas, and held it secure.

On the morning of May 3 the Governor arrived in the City
of Kent, and held a news conference in which he vehemently
denounced campus violence and pledged to “eradicate the
problem.” After two hours the Governor left the city, having
done nothing to resolve the uncertainties about applicable rules
and relative authority that still had the various civilian officials
and peace forces confused. The University officials, in partic-
ular, (including defendant White) surmised that their authority
_ had been preempted, and abdicated to the National Guard.
That evening, at about 9 p.m., the National Guard dispersed
a crowd from the Campus Commons, and after two hours of
ensuing non-violent demonstrations, a half-hour of rock throw-
ing, tear gas, minor injuries and arrests ended the day of May 3.

May 4 was a Monday. Classes were scheduled and held as
usual. Both at the University and in the City of Kent, the
ordinary functioning of institutions was usuimpaired. The courts
were open and operating, and city as well as University

7

officials performed their duties without interference. No
buildings or public places were occupied or obstructed.

There still had not been any request or invitation from
University officials for assistance or protection by the National
Guard. The University President assumed his authority had
been superseded, and he simply resigned himself to the
Guard’s control. As the morning advanced, plans for a noon
rally were rumored around the campus. No civilian authority
had forbidden such a rally, but the National Guard commander
determined that it should be banned. By about 11:45 a.m.,
about 500 persons had gathered on the Campus Commons.
No acts of violence had taken place. No speakers were inciting
the crowd. No unlawful intent was apparent in the assembly.

Nevertheless the troop commander (defendant Canterbury)
ordered that the crowd be dispersed.

The troops were ordered to “lock and load” their weapons
thus chambering live ammunition ready to fire. A University
policeman riding with riflemen in a National Guard jeep
approached the crowd to convey the order to disperse, and
some rock throwing and chanting began. A few hundred more
students by now had joined the crowd, and the Guardsmen,
fixing bayonets and firing tear gas, began to move them out.
For the fext thirty minutes, tear gas and epithets, and
occasionally rocks, filled the air. One group of the guardsmen
(consisting of Cavalry Troop G and some other units) drove a
part of the crowd past the administration building and down
a hill to a parking lot adjoining a football practice field. For
about ten minutes the guardsmen remained on the practice
field, separated from the parking lot by a high chain link fence.
Rocks and tear gas cannisters were lobbed back and forth over
the fence. At one point the members of Cavalry Troop G
huddled in an apparent conference; at another point they
knelt and aimed their rifles at the crowd. After about ten
minutes on the practice field, the guardsmen were ordered by »
the Adjutant General to return up the hill. As they did so, the
men of Troop G lagged and fell out of formation as they
looked back over their shoulders at the dwindling parking lot
crowd. At the crest of the hill, several members of Troop G

(

turned in unison approximately 135 degrees, retraced a few
steps, and began to fire. Other guardsmen then turned and
joined in the fusilade. The thirteen-second barrage of more
than 60 shots was concentrated in the parking lot, more than
100 yards away.

In the Conclusion to its Special Report on Kent State, the
President’s Commission had this to say of the events which
most proximately gave rise to the litigation now before this
Court: “The May 4 rally began as a peaceful assembly on the
Commons-—the traditional site of student assemblies. Even if
the Guard had authority to prohibit a peaceful gathering—a
question that is at least debatable—the decision to disperse
the noon rally was a serious error. The timing and manner of
the dispersal were disastrous. Many students were legitimately
_in the area as they went to and from class. . . . The rally was
peaceful, and there was no apparent impending violence. Only
when the Guard attempted to disperse the rally did some
students react violently.” Report of the President's Commission
on Campus Unrest 288 (1970). And with specific reference to
the fusilade that caused the deaths of these plaintiffs’ decedents,
the Commission concluded: “The indiscriminate firing of rifles
into a crowd of students and the deaths that followed were
unnecessary, unwarranted, and inexcusable.” /d. at 289.

In addition to the President’s Commission on Campus Unrest,
the FBI investigated the Kent State shootings, compiling some
8,000 pages of evidence. The FBI report was reviewed by a
team of lawyers in the Department of Justice, who prepared a
Summary of the FBI findings. A copy of that Justice Depart-
ment Summary was given by Jerris Leonard, then head of the
Civil Rights Division, to Senator Stephen Young of Ohio.
Young secured the publication of the Summary (without
Justice Department approval) as Chapter 4 of I. F. Stone’s
book, The Killings at Kent State: How Murder Went Un-
punished (1971). The entire Justice Department Summary has
since been published in the Congressional Record. 119 Cong.
Rec., E207 et seq. (daily ed., Jan. 15, 1973). This Justice
Department Summary, as an official government document.

9

. is also properly subject to judicial notice. 8 Cyc. Fed. Pro.
§ 26.222. Among the conclusions stated in the Justice Depart-
ment Summary are the following:

“Just prior to the time the Guard left its position on
the practice field, members of Troop G [107th Armored
Cavalry] were ordered to kneel and aim their weapons
at the students in the parking lot south of Prentice Hall.
They did so, but did not fire. One person, however,
probably an officer, at this point did fire a pistol in the
ee

“The Guard was then ordered to regroup and move
back up the hill past Taylor Hall.”

“The crowd on top of the hill parted as the Guard
advanced and allowed it to pass through, apparently with-
out resistance. When the Guard reached the crest of
Blanket Hill by the southeast corner of Taylor Hall at
about 12:25 p.m., they faced the students following them
and fired their weapons. Four students were killed and
nine were wounded.”

“Six Guardsmen, including two sergeants and Captain
Srp of Troop G stated pointedly that the lives of the
members of the Guard were not in danger and that it was
not a shooting situation.”

“We have some reason to believe that the claim by the
National Guard that their lives were endangered by the
students was fabricated subsequent to the event. The
apparent volunteering by some Guardsmen of the fact that
their lives were not in danger gives rise to some suspicions.”

“{One guardsman] admitted that his life was not in
danger and that he fired indiscriminately into the crowd.
He further stated that the Guardsmen had gotten together
after the shooting and decided to fabricate the story that
they were in danger of serious wer harm or death from
the students.”

po ered ee eee ee eA

10

“Also, a chaplain of Troop G spoke with many members
of the National Guard and stated that they were unable
to explain to him why they fired their weapons.”

“No verbal warning was given to the students immedi-
ately prior to the time the Guardsmen fired.”

“There was no request by any Guardsmen that tear
gas be used.”

“There was no request from any Guardsman for per-
mission to fire his weapon.”

“The Guardsmen were not surrounded.”

“No Guardsman claims he was hit with rocks imme-
diately prior to the firing.”

“There was no sniper.”

“The FBI conducted an extensive search and has found
nothing to indicate that any person other than a Guards-
man fired a weapon.”

“At the time of the shooting, the National Guard
clearly did not believe that they were being fired upon.”

“Each person who admits firing into the crowd has

some degree of experience in riot control. None are
novices.”

“A minimum of 54 shots were fired by a minimum of
29 of the 78 members of the National Guard at Taylor
Hall in the space of approximately 11 seconds.”

“Five persons interviewed in Troop G, the group of
Guardsmen closest to Taylor Hall, admit firing a total of
eight shots into the crowd or at a specific student.”

“Some Guardsmen (unknown as yet) had to be physi-
cally restrained from continuing to fire their weapons.”

——
11

“Four students were killed, nine others were wounded,
three seriously. Of the students who were killed, Jeff
Miller’s body was found 85-90 yards from the Guard.

de Allison Krause fell about 1 10 yards away. William Schroeder
and Sandy Scheuer were approximately 130 yards away
from the Guard when they were shot.”

“Although both Miller and Krause had probably been
in the front ranks of the demonstrators initially, neither
was in a position to pose even a remote danger to the
National Guard at the time of the firing. Sandy Scheuer,
as best as we can determine, was on her way to a speech
therapy class. We do not know whether Schroeder parti-
cipated in any way in the confrontation that day.”

No person shot was closer than 20 yards from the
guardsmen. One injured person was 37 yards away;
another, 75 yards; another, 95 or 100 yards; another,
110 yards; another, 125 or 130 yards; another, 160 yards;
and the other, 245 or 250 yards.

“Seven students were shot from the side and four were
shot from the rear.”

“Of the 13 Kent State students shot, none, so far as we
know, were associated with either the disruption in Kent
on Friday night, May 1, 1970, or the burning of the ROTC
building on Saturday, May 2, 1970.”

“As far as we have been able to determine, Schroeder,
Scheuer, Cleary, MacKenzie, Russell and Wrentmore were
merely spectators to the confrontation.”

“Aside entirely from any questions of specific intent
on the part of the Guardsmen or a predisposition to use
their weapons, we do not know what started the shooting.”

Notwithstanding these conclusions of the Justice Department
lawyers who reviewed the FBI investigation, John N. Mitchell,
who at the time was Attorney General (although also involved

12

in the President’s re-election campaign), refused to permit a
federal grand jury investigation of the Kent State shootings to
determine whether charges under 18 U.S.C. §241 or §242
should be brought. However, on May 10, 1973, and subse-
quently to at least two representatives of the press who made
the information public, Deputy Assistant Attorney General
K. William O’Connor, who was head of the Criminal Section
of the Civil Rights Division at the time when the Justice
Department Summary was prepared, acknowledged that the
evidence in the Department’s hands is (and was then) ample
to support the indictment of several guardsmen involved in
the shooting for violation of 18 U.S.C. §242.

At a press conference on June 15, 1973, Assistant Attorney
General J. Stanley Pottinger, who became head of the Civil
Rights Division in February, 1973, acknowledged that he had
personally undertaken a full-scale review of the Justice Depart-
ment files on the Kent State matter. On August 3, 1973,
Pottinger announced at another press conference that on his
recommendation Attorney General Elliot L. Richardson had
authorized a formal reopening of the Kent State case, and that
a federal grand jury investigation of the shootings may be
undertaken. In addition, the staff of a subcommittee of the
House Judiciary Committee chaired by Representative Edwards
of California is conducting an investigation, looking toward
forthcoming subcommittee hearings into the actions of former
Ohio governor (and defendant) Rhodes and others in connection
with the events giving rise to this litigation.

These are all facts of common public knowledge which are
subject to judicial notice. ‘It is against the background of these
facts, not to mention the allegations of the unanswered
complaints, that the decisions of the courts below must be
judged. And in this light Judge Weick’s postulation of
“insurrection” and “riot,” and Judge O’Sullivan’s charges of
“dissembling” and contrivance “to hide rather than disclose
the true background of the involved events,’ stand out as
utterly shocking premises for the decision of the Court of
Appeals.

13
Il. LEGAL CONTEXT OF THE ISSUES

The complaints in these cases, in obedience to Fed. R. Civ.
P. &a) (2), confine themselves to a “short and plain statement
of the claim.” They do not detail all that has been recited
heretofore in this brief. But in conformity with Fed. R. Civ.
P. 8 (f), “so construed as to do substantial justice” they aptly
allege facts supporting causes of action entitling the plaintiffs
to judicial relief. In order for the significance of the lower
courts’ immunity holdings to be appreciated, it is necessary to
consider the character of the causes of action stated, which
would merit relief but for the immunity bar.

The allegations of the complaints with regard to defendant
Rhodes are that as governor of Ohio he caused armed state
military troops to be placed on the Kent State University
campus without sufficient cause, authorized them to disperse
lawful assemblies, permitted them to carry guns loaded with
live ammunition, and failed to keep them under proper control.
Facts supporting these allegations, found by the President’s
Commission or the Justice Department or both (and therefore
susceptible of judicial notice for purposes of this present
review) and provable by the plaintiffs if they are ever permitted
a trial, include Rhodes’ verbal authorization of the commit-
ment of guardsmen to the City of Kent late in the afternoon
of May 2, without formal finding or proclamation of need
and without any request from University officials, and while
civilian institutions were functioning; his delegation of power,
without effective civilian supervision, to ‘the discretion of the
commanding military officer designated by the Adjutant
General;” his failure to clarify lines of responsibility and
command during his presence in Kent on May 3; his inflam-
matory public comments at that time; and his failure to order
strict military troop subordination to the local civilian officials
at the scene.

The allegations with regard to defendants Del Corso and
Canterbury are that as Adjutant General and Assistant Adjutant
General and the chief military officers on the scene they ordered
their troops onto the campus without sufficient cause, with
indifference and disregard for the lives of students; authorized

14

them to disperse lawful assemblies; authorized them to use
loaded weapons; and failed to keep them under control so as to
prevent them from shooting the decedents. Among the facts
supporting these allegations, judicially noticeable for purposes
of' reviewing these dismissals and provable if plaintiffs are per-
mitted a trial, are these defendants’ deployment of troops on
the campus without request, authorization, or supervision by
any University official, while civilian institutions were function-
ing and University operations were unimpaired; their orders
to “lock and load” weapons; Canterbury’s order to disperse
the May 4 assembly at a time when it had not become and was
not threatening to become either disorderly or unlawful, and
at a time and in a manner posing unreasonable dangers to
innocents and bystanders; and their failure either to prevent
or to immediately stop the “unnecessary, unwarranted, and
inexcusable” sustained fusilade directed against distant persons
by troops under their direct and immediate command.

The allegation against defendant White is that as President
of the University he omitted to act when his actions could have
decreased the risk of shootings such as that which occurred.
Among the supporting facts are that White failed to assert his
legitimate authority over military troops on the campus, ab-
dicated his responsibility, acquiesced in the arrogation of
authority by defendants Del Corso and Canterbury, and
countenanced the deprivations of constitutional rights which
it was his responsibility and duty to prevent.

If these allegations with regard to defendants Rhodes, Del
Corso, Canterbury, and White are proved, they will make out
claims for violation of some of the most fundamental, essential,
and frequently reiterated safeguards of constitutional liberty
and domestic security. First, the constitutional rights of
peacable assembly and petition are fundamental, and cannot
be infringed at the whim even of civilian, let alone military,
convenience. “The concept that the Bill of Rights and other
constitutional protections against arbitrary government are
inoperative when: they become inconvenient or when expedience
dictates otherwise is a very dangerous doctrine and if allowed
to flourish would destroy the benefit of a written Constitution
and undermine the basis of our Government.” Reid v. Covert,

15

354 U.S. 1, 14(1956). “No doctrine, involving more pernicious
consequences, was ever invented by the wit of man than that
any of [the Constitution’s] provisions can be suspended during
any of the great exigencies of government.” Ex parte Milligan,
71 U.S. (4 Wall.) 2, 121 (1866). In these cases, these defendants’
acts as alleged in the complaints caused the intentional in-
fringement of constitutional rights of assembly and petition,
and also, in consequence, of the decedents’ rights to life.

Second, the right to civilian government—to the primacy of
civilian law and officials and the complete subordination of
military personnel and power—is a right that is constitutionally
secured and protected. The rule of due process in the historic
tradition of English, and even more emphatically, of American
law. dictates that so long as civilian institutions are capable of
functioning military personnel may be utilized to deal with
civilians only as an essentially civilian supplemental force,
completely under*the control and direction of local civilian
Officials, subject to the rules and restraints of civilian law, and
neither bound nor protected by the rules of military law.
Specifically, due process forbids the displacement of regular
civilian officials’ judgment and discretion by the supervening
power of a military commander, even as to the “procedure of
execution” of designated objectives. Ohio’s own jurisprudence
recognizes this principle. State of Ohio v. Coit, 8 Ohio Dec. 62
(C.P. 1897). It has been reaffirmed time and time again by this
Court and by other courts. E.g., Duncan v. Kahanamoku, 327
U.S. 304 (1946); Sterling v. Constantin, 287 U.S. 378, 392,
403-04 (1932); Ex parte Milligan, 71 U.S. (4 Wall.) 2, 121
(1866); Faubus v. United States, 254 F.2d 797, 806-07 (8th
Cir. 1958); Constantin v. Smith, 57 F.2d 227, 236, 238-39
(E.D. Tex. 1932); United States ex rel. Palmer v. Adams,
26 F.2d 141, 144-45 (D. Colo. 1928); United States v. Phillips,
33 F. Supp. 261, 269 (N.D. Okla.), vacated because of
erroneous use of three-judge court, 312 U.S. 246 (single judge
thereafter entered identical decree); Russell Petroleum Co. v.
Walker, 162 Okla. 216, 223-24, 19 P.2d 582, 588-89 (1933);
Hearon v. Calus, 178 S.C. 381, 410, 183 S.E. 13, 25 (1935);
see also Wilson & Co. v. Freeman, 179 F. Supp. 520, 527 (D.
Minn. 1959). Comprehensive historical research and legal
analysis has reinforced the judicially reiterated rule. E.g., Note,

16

Constitutional Law—Martial Law, 75 W.Va. L. Rev. 143 (1973);
Note, Martial Law and the National Guard, 18 N.Y. L. F. 216
(1972); The Law Revision Center, A Comprehensive Study of the
Use of Military Troops in Civil Disorders, 43 Colo. L. Rev. 399
(1972); Engdahl, Soldiers, Riots, and Revolution: The Law
and History of Military Troops in Civil Disorders, 57 lowa L.
Rev. 1 (1971); Comment, Constitutional Law—The Power of
a Governor to Proclaim Martial Law and Use State Military
Forces to Suppress Campus Demonstrations, 59 Ky. L. J. 547
(1970); Comment, Martial Law, 42 So. Cal. L. Rev. 546 (1969);
Mutter, Some Observations on Military Involvement in Domestic
Disorders, 29 Fed. B. J. 59 (1969). For a succinct discussion
see Brief of The Law Revision Center as Amicus Curiae in
Gilligan v. Morgan, U.S. _.. (No. 71-1553, decided
June 21, 1973).

The contrary practice flourished for a time earlier in the
century, under the impression that a governor’s discretion in
superseding civilian rule with military power was not subject
to review. That practice of utilizing troops in derogation of
civilian law and ordinary civilian officials, according to
Frederick Bernays Wiener, “rested on an unfortunate Supreme
Court dictum in Moyer v. Peabody,” 213 U.S. 78 (1909).
Wiener, Martial Law Today, 55 A.B.A.J. 723, 724(1969).The
dictum, by Justice Holmes for the Court, was that “the
Governor’s declaration that a state of insurrection existed is
conclusive of that fact.” 213 U.S. at 83. Holmes himself later
acknowledged, in a different context, the impermissibility of
letting a branch of government decide conclusively for itself
when the circumstances prerequisite to extraordinary powers
are present. Chastleton v. Sinclair, 264 U.S. 543, 547 (1924).
But with regard to the habit of governors and National Guard
commanders to supersede civilian law and officials on pretext
of emergency, as Frederick Bernays Wiener noted, “It took the
decision in Sterling v. Constantin, [287 U.S. 378] handed
down in 1932, to put an end to such outrages,” Wiener, supra,
55 A.B.A.J. at 724.

Regrettably, in the forty years since Sterling the lessons of
history and the precepts of due process have faded from
recollection again. In the period since January 1, 1968,
military troops have been utilized in domestic situations more

7

frequently than during any comparable period in American
history; and as the facts giving rise to this present litigation
illustrate, they are commonly used in violation of the rules of
civilian due process heretofore enforced by this Court. Legisla-
tors at the present time have under active consideration proposals
to more effectively implement the constitutional standards for
employment of military troops in domestic emergencies. See,
eg., 119 Cong. Rec. H3615 (Daily ed., May 10, 1973)
(remarks of Congressman Seiberling of Ohio). Reaffirmation
of these historic principles by this Court at this time would be
of substantial aid to the Congress. Proof of the urgent need
for such reaffirmation is presented by the opinion of the Court
of Appeals in the cases now under review, relying explicitly
upon the “unfortunate Supreme Court dictum” in Moyer v.
Peabody to hold that a state chief executive’s actions with
respect to the use of military troops in times of purported
emergency must not be subjected to judicial review.

The allegations of the complaints against the named and
unnamed officers and members of the Ohio National Guard
allegedly involved in the shootings at Kent State are that they
each, or persons under their direct command, acting under
color of state law, without legal justification or pursuant to
patently unlawful orders intentionally, willfully, wantonly,
recklessly, and maliciously fired live ammunition at decedents
and other persons, in disregard of the lives and safety of
decedents and the others. Among the supporting facts are the
behavior of Cavalry Troop G on the football practice field,
huddling and then kneeling to aim rifles at persons on the
other side of the fence as one guardsman, apparently an officer,
fired a pistol shot, perhaps as a signal; that Troop’s disarray
on ascending the hill; the unison of the about-face at the crest
of the hill; the retracing of steps before firing; the distance of
the victims from the firing guardsmen; the lack of any threat
from the students to the guardsmen at or immediately before
the firing; the sustained nature and long duration of the
fusilade; the need for physical restraint to make some guards-
men cease firing; and the apparent contrivance of false excuses
and justifications afterwards. Facts such as these, in the
knowledge of the Department of Justice, have persuaded
Deputy Assistant Attorney General O’Connor that several of

18

the guardsmen are indictable under 18 U.S.C. § 242, as stated
earlier in this brief. It is inconceivable that such facts, if proved,
would make out no civil cause of action. In addition to a cause
of action for wrongful death under state law, where the facts
show such summary deprivation of life or imposition of grave
bodily injury arbitrarily by officers of and on behalf of the
state those facts make out a cause of action under the federal

Civil Rights laws.

The allegations of these complaints against defendants
Rhodes, Del Corso, Canterbury, White, and the named and un-
named officers and members of the Ohio National Guard thus
clearly state causes of action under 42 U.S.C. § 1983, in addi-
tion to, in the cases of plaintiffs Krause and Miller, state law
causes of action determinable in federal court on diversity
grounds. It is these manifest causes of action that the lower
courts in these cases have barred, by erecting barriers of immu-
nity to dismiss the complaints before answer and without
allowing the plaintiffs any chance to prove their allegations at
trial.

Ill. THE ISSUES FRAMED BY THE CERTIORARI
PETITION

A. Factual Assumptions Contrary to the
Unanswered Complaints

Seldom if ever has any case demonstrated so poignantly the
importance of the principle that for purposes of a motion to
dismiss under Fed. R. Civ. P. 12 (b) (1), just as under 12 (b) (6),
the uncontroverted allegations of a complaint must be taken as
true. 5 Wright & Miller, Federal Practice & Procedure $1350,
at pp. 551-52; $1357, at pp. 594-96. The insistence by the
District Court and by the majority of the Court of Appeals in
these cases upon their own preconceived view of the untried
facts, to the point of accusing the plaintiffs’ counsel of
deliberate deception, indelibly marks the decisions below as
sheer feats of will.

19
B. The Eleventh Amendment

Both the District Court and the Court of Appeals in these
cases held that the plaintiffs’ complaints could not be enter-
tained because of the eleventh amendment.

It is true that under the doctrine of Larson v. Domestic &
Foreign Corp., 337 U.S. 682 (1949), it is sometimes possible
to view a suit which names only government officials personally
as defendants, as being “‘in substance” a suit against the state
itself for eleventh amendment purposes. For a detailed analysis
of the complicated and confused intellectual process by which
the doctrine announced in Larson evolved, see Engdahl,
Immunity and Accountability for Positive Governmental
Wrongs, 44 Colo. L. Rev. 1, 22-8, 32-41 (1972). However, the
Larson doctrine is subject to at least one uniformly recognized
exception: that a suit naming only government officials person-
ally as defendants cannot be viewed as “in substance” a suit
against the state itself when the acts alleged as giving rise to the
cause of action are acts which are prohibited by the Constitution
or which violate constitutional rights. This exception was
explicitly recognized in Dugan v. Rank, 372 U.S. 609, 621-22
(1963). Although the majority below purported to rely upon
Dugan, they apparently ignored Dugan's recognition of this
exception to the Larson rule. As detailed in Part II of this
brief, the complaints in these present cases explicitly and un-
equivocally allege facts showing violations of fundamental
constitutional rights under color of state law.

The majority below made much of the supposed interference
with the functions of state officers that would purportedly
result from judicial entertainment of these complaints. But the
Supreme Court answered that fear long ago, explaining that
the “fancied inconvenience” of interference which might result
from allowing suits of officers for their unconstitutional acts
is seen to “vanish . . . at once upon the suggestion that such
interference is not possible, except when the government seeks
to [act] . . . contrary to law. . . and in violation of the Con-
stitution of the United States.” Poindexter v. Greenhow, 114
U.S. 270 (1885).

20

Indeed, precisely the proposition now espoused by the Court
of Appeals—that suits against officers personally for their un-
constitutional acts can be barred by the eleventh amendment—
was urged upon and categorically repudiated by the Supreme
Court in the Poindexter case, supra. This Court at that time
denounced this very proposition as “the doctrine of absolutism,
pure, simple, and naked; and of communism .. .;” and this
Court declared that “[t]he doctrine is not to be tolerated.
The whole frame and scheme of the political institutions of
this country, State and Federal, protest against it.” 114 U.S.
at 291. If that proposition were sound, constitutional rights
would be largely unenforceable, and the pretense of con-
stitutional restraints upon government would become a farce.

The contrary rule, which holds the eleventh amendment in-
applicable to suits against officers for unconstitutional acts, is
illustrated by Ex parte Young, 209 U.S. 123 (1902). The
majority below dismissed Young as “‘inapposite” because Young
was an action for injunction, whereas the present complaints
seek damages. But it is equitable relief, not relief in damages,
which is extraordinary. The present cases are a fortiori to
Young. Indeed, it has always been taken for granted that the
reason why equitable relief against an officer’s unconstitutional
action is available is simply that the remedy at law in damages,
available as a matter of course, might be inadequate. See, e.g.,
Sterling v.. Constantin, 287 U.S. 378 (1932). Relief in damages
against officers personally for their unlawful or unconstitutional
actions had been regularly awarded for more than a century
before Young was decided. See, Engdahl, /mmunity and
Accountability for Positive Governmental Wrongs, 44 Colo. L.
Rev. 1, 14-21 (1972), and cases there cited. Suits for unlawful
or unconstitutional acts against federal government Officials
personally were already familiar and traditional when the
Reconstruction Congress provided a comparable federal remedy
for constitutional violations by state government officials by
enacting what is now 42 U.S.C. §1983. Although the traditional
practice for enforcing constitutional rights may for a time have
been lost sight of, the essential principle underlying it was
very recently reasserted by this Court in Bivens r. Unknown
Named Agents, 403 U.S. 388 (1971), recognizing a cause. of
action for damages against federal officials personally for

21

violation of constitutional rights. In the present case, involving
state officials, the enactment by Congress of 42 U.S.C. § 1983
makes judicial creation of the remedy unnecessary; but the
same considerations that compelled creation of the remedy
in Bivens preclude the efforts that have been made by the
lower courts here to emasculate § 1983.

Liability under 42 U.S.C. §1983 “is entirely personal in
nature intended to be satisfied out of the individual’s own
pocket.” Sostre v. McGinnis, 442 F.2d 178, 205 (2d Cir. 1971).
By its terms § 1983 reaches only acts under color of state law,
which ordinarily will be acts of state officials. The adoption
by the courts below of the heretofore consistently denounced
and rejected proposition that such a suit can be barred by the
eleventh amendment, .is tantamount to a judicial repeal of
§ 1983. It is no wonder that no precedent can be found to
support their decision.

Justice would be better served with respect to all parties if
instead of continuing the tradition of enforcing limitations
upon the government by suits against individual officers, this
Court were to hold that the fourteenth and some other amend-
ments modify the earlier eleventh amendment, so as to make
possible direct suits for redress against the state itself, leaving
the state to deal as it chooses with its own faithless servants.
By that rationale or any of several others, supported by ample
reason and precedent, the harshness which sometimes charac-
terizes the traditional remedy could be avoided without
eliminating the right of redress for constitutional wrongs. See
the discussion in support of such an approach in Engdahl,
Immunity and Accountability for Positive Governmental
Wrongs, 44 Colo. L. Rev. 1, 60-77 (1972). To date, however,
this Court has not chosen to follow that course. So long as
redress against the state itself is not allowed, the right to
recover from officers personally on proof of allegations like
those in the complaints in these cases cannot be frustrated by
interposition of the eleventh amendment, without candidly
abandoning the pretense that ours is a system of government
limited by law.

22

C. Personal Privilege or Immunity of
Executive Officials

Unlike the District Court, the Court of Appeals in these
cases was not content to base the dismissals upon untenable
eleventh amendment grounds, but added as an alternative
rationale an unprecedented rule of categorical and unqualified
personal privilege or personal immunity for executive officials.
In the words of Judge Weick’s opinion for the majority, “since
the courts have granted to themselves absolute immunity, it
would seem incongruous for them not to extend the same
privilege to the Executive.”

This is not a question of first impression. This Court has
fully considered the matter, and has found that applying
different rules of personal privilege to executive officials than
to judicial or even legislative officials is not “incongruous” at
all. The difference between judicial immunity and the far more
limited privilege allowable to executive officials under 42 U.S.C.
§ 1983 was confirmed by this Court in Pierson v. Ray, 386 U.S.
547 (1967). The absolute privilege or immunity enjoyed by
judicial (and also by legislative) officials is supported by sound
public policy, centuries of legal history, and even some con-
stitutional language. See Engdahl, Jmmunity and Accountability
for Positive Governmental Wrongs, 44 Colo. L. Rev. 1, 42-7
(1972). But an absolute privilege or immunity for executive
officials is supported by none of these.

The most generous rule of personal privilege or immunity
for executive officials that has ever been approved by this
Court for application under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 is that approved
in Pierson v. Ray, 386 U.S. 547 (1967), allowing executive
officials a defense of good faith and probable cause. There can
be no doubt that the allegations of the unanswered complaints
in these cases, taken as true for purposes of Fed..R. Civ. P. 12
(b), negate both good faith and probable cause.

In point of historical fact, the traditional rule in American
law was that executive officials were personally liable for un-
constitutional acts even notwithstanding good faith, probable
cause, noble intentions, or obedience to orders. Numerous

23

cases and authorities illustrating this traditional rule and ex-
plaining why it has adhered to so rigorously are cited and
discussed in Engdahl, Jmmunity and Accountability for Positive
Governmental Wrongs, 44 Colo. L. Rev. 1, 14-20, 47-51 (1972).
Post-Civil War federal statutes purporting to immunize executive
officials were held unconstitutional under the federal Con-
stitution by lower courts. E.g., Griffin v. Wilcox, 21 Ind. 370,
372-373 (1863); Milligan v. Hovey, 17 F. Cas. 380, 381 (No.
9605) (C.C.D. Ind. 1871). While the Supreme Court never had
Occasion to pass squarely upon the validity of these statutes,
there are strong indications that if it had the Court would have
agreed that insofar as they purported to confer immunity for
unconstitutional acts those statutes were void. See, eg.,
Poindexter v. Greenhow, 114 U.S. 270 (1885); Mitchell v.
Clark, 110 U.S. 633, 648-49 (1884) (opinion of Field, J,
speaking to a point not reached by majority); United States v.
Lee, 106 U.S. 196 (1882). It was not until the twentieth
century that a few courts, and then some commentators, failing
to review the American precedents with the care that was
required, began to resort to the pre-Revolutionary ““common-
law” rule of executive official privilege and consider it
applicable even to positive torts. The etiology of that error is
examined in Engdahl, supra, 44 Colo. L. Rev. at 51-4.

A generous rule of privilege was countenanced, at least for
a time, by the Second Circuit Court of Appeals, with respect
to actions against federal officials as distinguished from actions
under 42 U.S.C. § 1983. Gregoire v. Biddle, 177 F.2d 579
(2d Cir. 1949), cert. denied, 339 U.S. 949 (1950). More
recently, however, the same Second Circuit Court of Appeals
itself apparently recognized the unwisdom of the Gregoire rule,
and applied instead the much less generous privilege rule of
good faith and probable cause that had been approved by this
Court in Pierson v. Ray, supra. Bivens v. Six Unknown Named
Agents of the Federal Bureau of Narcotics, 456 F.2d 1339
(2d Cir. 1972).

Some language from Gregoire was quoted in dicta by
Mr. Justice Harlan in Barr v. Matteo, 360 U.S. 564, 571-72
(1959); but Barr involved a federal rather than a state official,
did not arise under a specific statute like §1983 specially

24

authorizing the relief that was sought, and most important,
did not involve any alleged infringement of constitutional
rights. Justice Harlan himself was acutely aware that no such
generous privilege can be extended to executive officials where
violations of constitutional rights are concerned: Harlan joined
in the Court’s opinion in Pierson v. Ray, supra, allowing
executive officials only the defense of good faith and probable
cause where constitutional rights were infringed; and Harlan’s
concurring opinion in Bivens v. Unknown Named Agents, 403
U.S. 388, 398 et seq. (1971), while not addressing the personal
privilege point, is an eloquent statement of the importance of
affording redress in damages for constitutional wrongs.

Consequently the decision below, contriving a wholly novel
rule of absolute personal executive immunity, constitutes a
departure from American constitutional tradition that is of
radical proportions indeed.

The Court of Appeals endeavored to reinforce its unpre-
cedented ruling, at least insofar as it dealt with the governor,
defendant Rhodes, by referring to Moyer v. Peabody, 212 US.
178 (1909). Earlier in this brief it was pointed out that the
language in Moyer relied upon below has been characterized
by the most noted contemporary American authority on
military law as “an unfortunate Supreme Court dictum,”
which regrettably gave colorable justification to many instances
of “phony” martial law earlier in this century until this Court’s
decision in Sterling v. Constantin, 287 U.S. 378 (1932) at last
“put an end to such outrages.” Frederick Bernays Wiener,
Martial Law Today, 55 A.B.A.J. 723, 724 (1969). Because of
the treatment given them below, however, the language of
Peabody and the later holding in Sterling -v. Constantin must
be more closely examined here.

The dictum in Moyer suggested that a governor’s finding of
the circumstances justifying supersession of ordinary civilian
officials and procedures (“insurrection”) was conclusive and
could not be questioned in court. 213 U.S. at 83. Following
this suggestion, the Court of Appeals in these present cases
held, “nor should we make [state chief executives’] actions
in this respect in times of emergency, subject to judicial

25

review.” But the Moyer dictum was wrong and this Court has
refused to follow it; in Sterling v. Constantin, supra, notwith-
standing the dictum in Moyer, this Court reviewed the facts
which a governor had found to justify supersession of ordinary,
civilian officials and procedures, held that they did not, and
found the governor’s military acts in derogation of civilian
laws and officials to be unlawful.

In Moyer the Court had also suggested that military troops
could lawfully imprison or even shoot citizens “without
sufficient reason.” 212 U.S. at 84. But in Sterling v. Constantin,
the Court took a closer look at the facts that had been alleged
in Moyer, and found (like the Circuit Court in Moyer had
found, see Moyer v. Peabody, 148 Fed. 870 (C.C.D. Colo.
1906) ) that because of its “direct relation” to the solution of
the problem the arrest and detention of Mr. Moyer had been
reasonable; and with the facts of Moyer so reinterpreted the
Sterling Court cautioned that “the general language of the
[Moyer] opinion must be taken in connection with the point
actually decided.” 287 U.S. at 400. As thus reinterpreted in
Sterling, whatever privilege Moyer might afford is limited to
acts which are judicially found in retrospect to have been
directly related to a lawful mission; and even this privilege
pertains to the employment of troops in what the Moyer Court
had postulated as an actual “insurrection,” not to mere civil
disorder, and certainly not to the dispersal of a peaceful
assembly.

Under Sterling, it is recognized that the determination
whether exigencies require the use of military aid for the pur-
pose of faithfully executing the civilian laws is a determination
to be made conclusively by the governor. 287 U.S. at 399. It
is also recognized that there is “a permitted range of honest
judgment as to the measures to be taken in meeting force with
force, in suppressing violence and restoring order .. . .” 287 U.S.
at 399-400. This latitude, in effect, allows a defense of good
faith and probable cause. 287 U.S. at 400. But as the Court
held in Sterling, this does not mean that a governor or anyone
who acts under him can supersede civilian law and authorities
with military officers and force, and escape judicial scrutiny
by his own self-serving declaration of necessity. “What are the

26

allowable limits of military discretion, and whether or not they
have been overstepped in a particular case, are judicial
questions.” 287 U.S. at 401. “When there is a substantial
showing that the exertion of state power has overriden private
rights secured by that Constitution, the subject is necessarily:
one for judicial inquiry in an appropriate proceeding directed
against the individuals charged with the transgression.”’ 287 U.S.
at 398.

Sterling cannot be distinguished from these present cases on
the ground that in Sterling the governor had eo nomine declared
“martial law.” If that were a point of distinction at all, it would
strengthen these plaintiffs’ case; for here the displacement of
ordinary civilian authority and the disregard of ordinary law
y-and constitutional rights occurred in the absence of any formal
proclamation that civilian law was disabled. Thus if anything
the present cases are a fortiori to Sterling. Actually, however,
the presence or absence of any sort of declaration is not really
a point of distinction. The displacement of civilian by military
authority, as distinguished from the enlistment of aid from
military units under strict obedience to local civil officers and
law, is the de facto imposition of martial law, and is forbidden
by the rule of due process. See Engdahl, Soldiers, Riots, and
Revolution: The Law and History of Military Troops in Civil
Disorders, 57 lowa L. Rev. 1, 70 n. 324 (1971). And Sterling
held that such a constitutional violation is necessarily a matter
for judicial inquiry “in an appropriate proceeding directed
against the individuals charged with the transgression.” 287 U.S.
at 398.

42 US.C. §1983 affords the appropriate proceeding and
remedy. These plaintiffs only ask their rightful opportunity
to prove the transgression.

D. The Diversity Claims in Krause and Miller

As Judge Celebrezze in part V of his dissenting opinion in
the Court of Appeals pointed out, two of the three cases now
before this Court—Krause and Miller—state causes of. action
under state law. which were brought within the District Court’s
jurisdiction on diversity grounds. The District Court and the

27

majority in the Court of Appeals completely disregarded these
diversity claims. The only thing to be added to Judge Cele-
brezze’s excellent discussion of this aspect of these cases is that
Ohio, by statute, specifically countenances damage actions
against National Guardsmen for acts done on active duty in
civil disorder situations which constitute “willful or wanton
misconduct.”” Ohio Revised Code $5823.37 (Supp.). The
allegations in the Krause and Miller complaints incontrovertibly
allege acts of “willful or wanton misconduct.”

E. The United States Not a Necessary Party

In what seems scarcely more than makeweight, the majority
below held that the United States was a necessary party to
these cases because a decision could implicate the training and
weaponry of the National Guard, for which the United States
bears some responsibility.

The complaints do allege that the defendant guardsmen were
inadequately trained and improperly permitted to use loaded
weapons. That, however, was not accountable to the United
States. This Court has already found, in Gilligan v. Morgan,

USS. , 93 S. Ct. 2440 (1973), that at the time of the
events giving rise to these complaints Ohio’s training and
weaponry practices for civil disorders were out of compliance
with United States policy for the National Guard. Neither the
affirmative unlawful acts nor the negligent or reckless acts
charged against the various defendants in these cases in any
way implicate the United States, nor will the interests of the
United States be affected by adjudication of these cases. This
ground of the decision below is patently spurious.

CONCLUSION

Restraint in the face of alleged facts so egregious as those
presented in these complaints and judicial conduct such as that
indulged in by the courts below, is exceedingly difficult. But
perhaps this is an instance when eloquent declamations would
detract from the force of the naked facts themselves.

28

This Court’s current docket contains cases presenting in
several different contexts historic questions concerning the
amenability of the executive branch of government to the
restraints of constitutional and ordinary law. These present
cases are among them. These cases, however, while historic, are
not unprecedented. The principles for their resolution are
thoroughly settled by prior decisions. And Anglo-American
history also records the grave misfortunes that are risked when
those well-settled principles are disregarded.

All that these plaintiffs ask is the opportunity to prove the
allegations of their complaints. The deepest traditions of our
law demand that they have that opportunity. The question is
simply whether this Court will allow it.

Respectfully submitted,

David E. Engdahl
4375 Butler Circle
Boulder, Colorado 80303
(303) 443-2211, ext. 6911

Attorney for Amici,

The National Council of the
Churches of Christ in the
U.S.A.

The Union of American Hebrew
Congregations.

The Board of Church and Society
of the United Methodist
Church, and

The United Presbyterian Church

in the U.S.A.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386414_0265%3A13. Public record. Not legal advice.
