# Amicus Curiae Brief — Morton v. Ruiz

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386414_0241%3A05

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1974
- **Citation:** 415 U.S. 199

## Text

In THE | Supreme Court, U.
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES 1 L E D

G 7 19
OcToBer Term, 1973 ” 3
MICHAEL RODAK, oR.
72-

No e #-1052

Rocers C.B, MorTON, SECRETARY
OF THE INTERIOR,

PETITIONER
Vv,
Ramon Ruiz AND ANI Ta®Ruiz,

RESPONDENTS,

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR CALIFORNIA INDIAN
LEGAL SERVICES, AMICUS CURIAE

Lee J. Sclar

Bruce R. Greene

Herbert A. Becker

CALIFORNIA INDIAN LEGAL ~
SERVICES

2527 Dwight Way

Berkeley, California 94704

j : Amicus Curiae In
Support of Respondents

PPR Te LOL ENTE PEN TNE. og OY, FINS RR IIAT Fe ani meee Lacy PURE CUE

INDEX
Page
INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE 1
STATEMENT OF THE CASE 3
“SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT : 5
ARGUMENT 7
I. THE SNYDER ACT MAKES EVERY

INDIAN ELIGIBLE FOR BIA .

PROGRAMS EXCEPT WHERE AN

APPROPRIATION ACT LIMITS

THE CLASS OF BENEFICIARIES 7

II. NEITHER THE FISCAL 1968
INTERIOR DEPARTMENT APPRO-
PRIATION NOR SUBSEQUENT
APPROPRIATIONS LIMIT BIA
GENERAL ASSISTANCE TO ON-
RESERVATION INDIANS 14

A. The Lack Of A Geographic
Limit On Recent General
Assistance Appropriations
Contrasts Sharply With
Geographic Limits On Other
Programs In The Same Laws
And On The General Assis-
tance Program In Prior BIA
Appropriations. 14

B. Congress Has Not Ratified
The BIA's General Assis-
tance Policy By Not
Expressly Repudiating It 22

C. The Legislative History Of
Recent BIA Appropriations
Does Not Support A Reser-
vation Only Policy For BIA
General Assistance

SISTENT WITH THE SNYDER ACT,
UNAUTHORIZED BY APPROPRIA-

TION STATUTES, AND THERE-

FORE VOID — 39

Iv. 66 BIAM 3.1.4(A) ARBITRARILY
EXCLUDES OFF-RESERVATION
INDIANS FROM BIA GENERAL
ASSISTANCE IN VIOLATION OF

THE FIFTH AMENDMENT 43
CONCLUSION 55
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES
Acosta v. San Diego County, 272

P.2d 92 47, 48
Alaska Pacific Fisheries v.

United States, 248 U.S. 78 38
Berends v. Buttz, 357 F.Supp. 143 25
Begay v. Sawtelle, 88 P.2d 999 48

Board of County Commissioners v.
Seber, 318 U.S. 705 6, 43, 48, 50, 52

Borak v. Biddle, 141 F.2d 278 25
Brown v. Board of Education,

' 347 U.S. 483 53
Choate v. Trapp, 224 U.S. 665 38
Croy v. Morton, No. S-2305

(E.D.Cal) 2

Dandridge v. Williams, 397 U.S. 471 54

_ D. C. Federation of Civic Asso-
ciations, Inc. v. Airis, 391
F.2d 478 31

Ex Parte Collett, 337 U.S. 55 ll, 38
=ii-

Ex Parte Endo, 323 U.S. 283 29, 30
Federation Maritime Commission
v. Seatrain Lines U.S.

(1973) 42
Frontiero v. Richardson, U.S.

(1973) 55
Graham v. Richardson, 403 U.S. 365 52
Greene v. McElroy, 360 U.S. 474 30
Gutknecht v. United States, 396

U.S. 295 13
Leecy v. United States, 190 Fed.

289 40
Manhatten General Equipment

Company v. Commissioner of

Internal Revenue, 297 U.S. 129 39
Mescalero Apache Tribe v. Jones,

U.S. (1973) 49
NLRB v. Brown, 380 U.S. 278 39
New Jersey Welfare Rights

Organization v. Cahill,

U.S. (1973) 55
Order of Railway Conductors v.

Swan, 329 U.S. 520 23
Organized Village of Kake v.

Egan, 369 U.S. 60 40
Piercy v. Tarr, 343 F.Supp.

1120 24
Shapiro v. Thompson,

394 U.S. 618 52
Smith v. Director of Internal

Revenue, 332 F.2d 671 13, 14
Social Security Board v.

Nierotko, 327 U.S. 358 39
Squire v. Capoeman,

351 0.8. 1 38

-iii-

State Board of Public Welfare v.
Board of Commissioners of
Twain County, 137 S.E.2d 801

Townsend v. Swank, 404 U.S. 282

United States Department of
Agriculture v. Moreno,
U.8~ (1973)

United States Department of
Agriculture v\, Murry,
U.S. (1973)

United States v. Vulte,
233 U.S. 509

United States v. Wise,
370 U.S. 405

Weber v. Aetna Casualty &
Ins. Co., 406 U.S. 164

40,

22,

CONSTITUTION, STATYTES, AND REGULATIONS:

Fifth Amendment
5 U.S.C. §552
25 U.S.C. §2
§9
§13 (Snyder Act)

42 U.S.C. §2000d
44 U.S.C. §1507
54 Stat. 611

55 Stat. 303

60 Stat. 237

81 Stat. 59

82 Stat. 425

83 Stat. 147

2, 4-14, 19,

39, 40, 42,

14, 15,
15,
15,

50
50
24
16
21
24
16
16
16

84 Stat. 669 ¢ 15, 16
85 Stat. 229 15, 16
86 Stat. 508 15, 16
25 C.F.R. §31.1 41

§32.1 41
O BIAM 1.2.A 23
66 BIAM 3.1.4(A) 65 60°F, Bi 345 OO.

39-43, 46, 47, 51-55

Indian Affairs Manual (superseded),
Vol. VI, Part VI, Ch.3,
Section 301.03 53

66 IAM 3.1.3 (superseded) 53
LEGISLATIVE HISTORY:

H.R. 4590, 77th Cong., lst Sess. 16, 21
H.R.- 9621, 87th Cong., 2d Sess. 22
H.R. 6279, 88th Cong., lst Sess. 22
H.Rpt.No. 275, 67th Cong., lst Sess. 8
H.Rpt.No. 1405, 89th Cong., 2d Sess. 35
H.Rpt.No. 1538, 89th Cong., 2d Sess. 35
H.Rpt.No. 206, 90th Cong., lst Sess. 35
H.Rpt.No. 343, 90th Cong., lst Sess. 35
H.Rpt.No. 1395, 90th Cong., 2d Sess. 35
H.Rpt.No. 1664, 90th Cong., 2d Sess. 36
H.Rpt.No. 361, 9lst Cong., Ist Sess. 36
H.Rpt.No. 570, 91st Cong., lst Sess. 36

H.Rpt.No. 91-1095, 9lst Cong., 2d Sess. 36
H.Rpt.No. 91-1321, 91st Cong., 2d Sess. 36
H.Rpt.No. 92-308, 92d Cong., lst Sess. 36
H.Rpt.No. 92-386, 92d Cong., lst Sess. 36

~
\

H.Rpt.No. 92-1119, 92d Cong., 2d Sess. 37
H.Rpt.No. 92-1250, 92d Cong., 2d Sess. 38
H.Rpt.No. 93-322, 93d Cong., lst Sess. 38
.S.Rpt.No. 294, 67th Cong., lst Sess. 8, 9
S.Rpt.No. 366, 77th Cong., lst Sess. 21
S.Rpt.No. 2664, 84th Cong., 2d Sess. 46
S.Rpt.No. 1154, 89th Cong., 2d.Sess. 35
S.Rpt.No. 233, 90th Cong., lst Sess. 35
S.Rpt .No. 1275, 90th Cong., 2d Sess. 35
S.Rpt.No. 420, 9lst Cong., ist Sess. 36
S.Rpt.No. 91-985, 91st Cong., 2d Sess. 36
S.Rpt.No. 92-263, 92d Cong., lst Sess. 36
S.Rpt.No. 92-921, 92d Cong., 2d Sess. 37
61 Congressional Record 4659-4660,

4671-4672, 4684, 6529 8, 9, 13
87 Congressional Record 4671 21
108 Congressional Record 74 22
109 Congressional Record 8544 22
117 Congressional Record $2409 44
119 Congressional Record H5490 35, 37

Hearings on the Interior Department
Appropriation Bill, 1924, before
the House Committee on Appropriations,
67th Cong., 4th Sess. 28

Hearings on Department of the Interior
-and Related Agencies Appropriations
For 1969 before a subcommittee of
the House Committee on Appropriations,
90th Cong., 2d Sess. 32

Hearings on Department of the Interior
and Related Agencies Appropriations
For 1970 before a subcommittee of
the House Committee on Appropria-
tions, 9lst Cong., ist Sess. 44

-vi-
REN Siem TREO 29 ARATE CR YORE NA OS SN | ON EET MONE ENN

Hearings on Department of the Interior
and Related Agencies Appropriations
for 1972 before a subcommittee of
the House Committee on Appropriations,
92d Cong., lst Sess. 33, 34, 42, 45

Hearings on Department of the Interior
and Related Agencies Appropriations
For 1973 before a subcommittee of
the House Committee on Appropria-
tions, 92d Cong., 2d Sess. 28, 37, 45

Hearings on H.R. 4590 before a sub-
committee of the Senate Committee
on Appropriations, 77th Cong.,
lst Sess. 21

Hearings on H.R. 3838 before a sub-
committee of the Senate Committee
on Appropriations, 8lst Cong., lst
Sess. 27

Hearings on Department of the
Interior and Related Agencies
Appropriations For Fiscal 1965
before a subcommittee of the
Senate Committee on Appropri-
ations, 88th Cong., 2d Sess. 31

Hearings on Department of the
Interior and Related Agencies
Appropriations For Fiscal Year
1968 before a subcommittee of
the Senate Committee on Appro-
priations, 90th Cong., lst Sess. 31, 32

Hearings on Department of the
Interior and Related Agencies
Appropriations For Fiscal Year
1969 before a subcommittee of
the Senate Committee on Appro-
priations, 90th Cong., 2d
Sess. 32, 35

Hearings on Department of the
Interior and Related Agencies
Appropriations For Fiscal

-vii-

ee ———

Year 1971 before a subcommittee

of the Senate Committee on
Appropriations, 9lst Cong.,

2d Sess. 32

Hearings on Department of the
Interior and Related Agencies
Appropriations For Fiscal Year
1972 before a subcommittee of
the Senate Committee on Appro-
priations, 92d Cong., lst
Sess. 32, 37, 45

Hearings on.Department of the
Interior and Related Agencies
Appropriations For Fiscal Year
1973 before a subcommittee of the
Senate Committee on Appropria-

tions, 92d Cong., 2d Sess. 28, 29, 34
MISCELLANEOUS :
Cahn, Our Brother's Keeper: The

Indian In White America 44
Commissioner of Indian Affairs,

Report For The Year 1866 11

Commissioner of Indian Affairs,
Report To The Secretary Of
The Interior, 1908 11

Deschler, Constitution, Jefferson's
Manual and Rules of the House of

‘ Representatives of the United
States, Ninety-Second Congress,
H.Doc.No. 439, 9lst Cong., 2d

Sess. Ze. Oe. Be ae
Goodrich, The gal Status Of The

California mee Tq Calit.

L.Rev. 157 50

Johnson, American Indians in Rural
Povert in Toward Economic Devel-
opment For Native American Com-
munities, A Compendium of Papers
Submitted to the Subcommittee on

-viii-

DD) cehaninaaiie tse Peete ee

Economy In Government of the

Joint Economic Committee, Con-

gress of the United States,

9lst Cong., lst Sess. (Comm.

Print 1969) : 43, 44

Memorandum from the Assistant
Solicitor, Division of Indian
Affairs, Department of the
Interior to the Commissioner
of Indian Affairs, Dec. 9,
1971 10

President Nixon's Message To
Congress On Indian Affairs
of July 8, 1970, 6 Weekly
Compilation of Presidential

Documents 894 44
Random House Dictionary of the

English Language 10
Rule XXI.2 of the House of

Representatives 7
Rule XVI.2 of the Standing

Rules of the Senate 9

Sclar, pertact perros Lo off-

Reservation ans r ams

Of The Bureau Of Indian

Affairs And The Indian Health

Service, 33 Mont.L.Rev. ISI” 11, 37, 42°

een ere 44, 45, 49, 50
Senate Manual, S.Doc.No. 92-1,

92d Cong., . 9

United States Department of
riculture, Economic Research
rvice, Rural Indian
Americans in Poverty (Agri-
cultural Economic Report
No. 167) 44

United States Department of Commerce
Bureau of the Census, Fourt@@hth
Census of the United States

-ix-

tthe te tee te

Taken in the Year 1920,
Population, Vol. II 12

United States Department of the
Interior, Federal Indian Law 45, 48

Eee

+

: In THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OctoBer Term, 1973

No. 72-1052

Rocers C.B. MorTON. SECRETARY
OF THE INTERIOR,

' PETITIONER
Vv,
RAMON RuIzZ AND ANITA Ruiz,
RESPONDENTS

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR CALIFORNIA INDIAN
LEGAL SERVICES, AMICUS CURIAE

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

This case will decide whether
statutes and ‘the Constitution empower the
Bureau of Indian Affairs to exclude off-
reservation Indians from the Bureau's
general assistance program.

California Indian Legal Services

“je

Le. TT LS 7 SNe SeESRES En

——

- -y

(CILS) has a twofold interest in the out-
come. e
First, CILS represents the plaintiffs
in Croy v. Morton, Civil No. S-2305,
United States District Court for the
Eastern District of California, Those
plaintiffs assert the right of off-reser-
vation rural California Indians to share
in the BIA's housing improvement program.
Housing improvement, like general assis-
tance, is part of the BIA welfare program
funded under 25 U.S.C. §13.
Croy was filed December 22, 1971.

The district court has suspended all pro-
ceedings pending the disposition of this
case. |
California Indian Legal Services
also has a more general interest in this
case. Over 85,000 Indians in California
live off-reservation -- a higher number
than in any state except Oklahoma. Less
than 15% of native California Indians and
only 6% of all Indians in California

live on reservations. Among those states
with 20,000 or more Indians only Alaska
and Oklahoma have a lower percentage of
reservation residents. Morton v. Ruiz
thus has enormous significance for poor
California Indians to whom CILS provides

-2-

cee

free legal assistance.

STATEMENT OF THE case?

Respondents Ramon and Anita Ruiz are
husband and wife and members of the Papago
tribe.”

In 1940 they left the Papago Reser-
vation to find employment. Ramon Ruiz was
hired by a mining company in Ajo, Arizona,

a town 15 miles away. The Ruizes settled
in the part of Ajo populated almost entirely
by Papagos and known as “Indian Village."
The Ruizes have 1ivéa in Indian Village ever
since. They have a minor daughter. Their
principal language is Pagago.

-¥rom July 1967 to March 1968 a strike
closed the mines where Ramon Ruiz is and
has been employed continuously since 1940.
Mr. Ruiz was unable to find other work.
His sole income was $15 per week in union
strike benefits. Mrs. Ruiz added $8 per
week by working four hours per day, two days
a week at $1 per hour. (A. 18-19.) _

Mr. Ruiz sought state welfare.
Because his $15 per week was from a union,

tevin

1. This statement of facts is based
upon the Agreed Statement of Facts (A.45-
48) and the Court of Appeals’ opinion, Peti-
tion For A ‘rit Of Certiorari, Appendix A.

-~3-

SY PA PY SSS SSNSLe HPSS ATONE RPE

the Arizona Department of Public Welfare
ruled Mr. Ruiz ineligible.

The Ruizes then applied for general
assistance benefits from the Bureau of
Indian Affairs. On December 13, 1967,
the Bureau turned the Ruizes down. The
sole reason was that Part 66, Section
3.1.4(A) of the Bureau of Indian ‘Affairs
Manual (hereinafter cited as BIAM) re-
quires a general assistance recipient to
live on a reservation except in Alaska
and Oklahoma. An Indian striker and his
wife residing on a reservation with a
child and receiving Mr. Ruiz' union bene-
fits plus the eight dollars a week Mrs.
Ruiz received at her dollar an hour job
would have been granted BIA general assis-
tance. (A-21.)

After two fruitless administrative
appeals the Ruizes filed suit on February
19, 1968. They claimed that 66 BIAM
3.1.4(A) is illegal and unconstitutional.
The district court granted the Government
a summary judgment without any opinion.
The court of appeals reversed. It held
that 66 BIAM 3.1.4(A) is inconsistent
with the unambiguous terms of the Snyder
Act, 25 U.S.C. §13, and is not sanctioned
by later appropriation laws.

=g-

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Snyder Act, 25 U.S.C. §13, directs
the Bureau of Indian Affairs to expend
appropriations for “assistance of the
Indians throughout the United States."

The act gives the BIA no discretion to
restrict that class of assistance recipi-
ents. The act's sole purpose was to stop
individual Congressmen from striking,
without a vote, parts of BIA appropriation
bills which, contrary to House rules, had
not been previously authorized. The
Snyder Act supplies the needed all-inclu-
sive authorization by making all Indians
the beneficiaries of all appropriations.
Congress may limit. the class of assistance
recipients in an appropriation act; but

if it does not do so, the BIA must assist
“the Indians throughout the United States,"
i.e. all Indians.

No recent BIA appropriation, including
that for fiscal 1968, has limited BIA
general assistance to on-reservation
Indians. Congress has imposed express
geographic limitations, however, on other
programs funded in the same acts and on
previous BIA welfare appropriations. BIA
testimony to Congress on the Bureau's

-S-

service population has not been consistent;
and even if it had been, the legislative
history does not evidence Congressional
ratification of the BIA's position.

House and Senate committee reports do not
support an on-reservation — for BIA
general assistance. ab

66 BIAM 3.1.4(A) which limits BIA
general assistance to Indians on-reserva-
tion and in Alaska and Oklahoma is there-
fore void. It is not sanctioned by 25
U.S.C. §§2 and 9. Those laws do not
authorize the BIA to assume substantive
powers not granted by the Snyder and appro-
priation acts.

66 BIAM 3.1.4(A) is also unconstitu-
tional. It denies BIA general assistance
to off-reservation Indians, except in
Alaska and Oklahoma, even though the
constitutional basis for discrimination
in favor of Indians is that “the United
States overcame the Indians and took
possession of their lands, sometimes by
force, leaving them uneducated, helpless
and dependent people" (Board of County
Commissioners v. Seber, 318 U.S. 705).

66 BIAM 3.1.4(A) arbitrarily establishes
a conclusive presumption that all off-

" Ae arenas. Ae mere ta PR nr —

reservation Indians (outside Alaska and
Oklahoma) are not needy despite their
actual need. Section 3.1.4(A) may be con-
stitutional to the extent that it assumes
the state's on-reservation welfare burden,
but this case does not involve BIA as-
sistance which is in lieu of state gen-
eral assistance. If the Ruizes were to
prevail, the BIA would continue pro-
viding reservation Indians with an amount
of general assistance equal to what the
state would otherwise have to provide.
Only BIA general assistance appropriations
in excess of substitute-for-state payments
would be redistributed among on and off-
Yeservation Indians.

ARGUMENT
Bg

THE SNYDER ACT MAKES EVERY
INDIAN ELIGIBLE FOR BIA
PROGRAMS EXCEPT WHERE AN
APPROPRIATION ACT LIMITS
THE CLASS OF BENEFICIARIES

A general appropriation bill is out
of order in the House of Representatives
if it provides funds for anything not pre-
viously authorized except public works
and “objects already in progress." (Rule
XXI.2 of Rules of the House of Represen-
tatives in Deschler, Constitution,

ey

Jefferson's Manual and Rules of the House
of Representatives of the United States,
Ninety-Second Congress, H.Doc.No. 439,
9lst Cong., 2 Sess. (1971): (hereinafter
cited as Deschler).) This was also true
in 1921. (Deschler at 465.)

Prior to passage of the Snyder Act,
25 U.S.C. §13, in 1921, no authorization
law existed for most Bureau of Indian
Affairs programs. (S.Rpt.No. 294, 67th
Cong., lst Sess. (1921).) As a result,
unauthorized appropriations had to be
struck out if any Congressman raised a
point of order. (Remarks of Representa-
tive Kelly, 61 Cong. Rec. 4659-4660
(Aug. 4, 1921); Remarks of Representative
Carter, 61 Cong. Rec. 4671-4672 (Aug. 4,
1921) .) ,

The purpose of the Snyder Act was to
immunize Indian appropriation bills from
points of order based on lack of authori-
zation. (H.Rpt.No. 275, 67th Cong., lst
Sess. (1921); S.Rpt.No. 294, 67th Cong.,
lst Sess. (1921); Remarks of Representative
Kelly, 61 Cong. Rec. 4659 (Aug. 4, 1921).)
The law effectuates that purpose by ennu-
merating a long list of authorized pro-
grams” and requiring the Indian Bureau to

2. General assistance welfare is
clearly [footnote continued on next page]

Scaieneniiaaeimentinaaaianbaneamamtammenats Rn canna rg

“direct, supervise, and expend... [{appro-
priated funds)... for the benefit, care,
and assistance of the Indians throughout
the United States."

This does not require appropriations
for all the ennumerated programs nor for
all Indians. Congress is free to appro-
priate as much or as little as it sees fit
for any program; and Congress may, consis-
tent with its own rules, specify that no
part of a particular appropriation shall
go to recipients lacking certain qualifi-
cations (Deschler, supra, at 471; Rule XVI.2
of the Standing Rules of the Senate in
Senate Manual, S.Doc.No. 92-1, 92a Cong.,

within the authorizations for "general
support" and “relief of distress." The
Court need not decide whether the act
authorizes only those programs which the
BIA had in 1921. Supporters of the
legislation said it would authorize no
new Bureau activities. (Remarks of Repre-
senative Carter, 61 Cong. Rec. 4672 (Aug.
4, 1921); Remarks of Representative Snyder,
61 Cong. Rec. 4684 (Aug. 4, 1921); Remarks
of Senator Curtis, 61 Cong. Rec. 6529
(Oct. 21, 1921).) However, the Senate
report incorporates and adopts a letter
from the Acting Secretary of the Interior,
who wrote: "[T]he bill in question would
give Congress authority to appropriate for
the expenses of the Indian service for all
necess activities...." (S.Rpt.No. 294,
67th Cong., lst Sess. (1921) (emphasis

added) .)
aie

Bo ee ios oe ae re One RARE RO RRR AEN RANE NE

lst Sess. (1971)). The starting point,
though, is that all appropriations are for
the “assistance of the Indians throughout
the United States."

To have designated less than all
Indians as beneficiaries of all appropri-
ations would have allowed a point of order
to be raised whenever unincluded Indians
were added by an appropriation act. Thus,
as a matter of logic, the Snyder Act could
accomplish its purpose only be making all
Indians beneficiaries.

In any event, the language of 25
U.S.C. §13 is clear beyond question.
"[(T]hroughout the United States" means “in
or to every part of; everywhere in" the
United States. (Random House Dictionary of
the English Language 1480 (1967).) The
Office of the Interior Department Solicitor
wrote in 1971 that “Indians throughout the
United States" means “any and all Indians,
of whatever degree, whether or not members
of federally recognized tribes, and without
regard to residence so long as they are
within the United States." (Memorandum
from the Assistant Solicitor, Division of
Indian Affairs, Department of the Interior
to the Commissioner of Indian Affairs,

=10-

Dec. 9, 1971, reprinted in Sclar, Partici-
pation By Off-Reservation Indians In Pro-
grams Of The Bureau Of Indian Affairs And
The Indian Health Service, 33 Mont.L.Rev.
191 (1972) (hereinafter cited as Sclar).)
The statutes meaning is so plain that the
Court need look at no additional materials
to see if off-reservation Indians were
included in the phrase “the Indians through-
out the United States." (Ex Parte Collett,
337 U.S. 55, 61 (1949).)

The fact is, however, that off-reser-
vation Indians had been receiving BIA ser-
vices before the Snyder Act. (Commissioner
of Indian Affairs, Report For The Year
1866 at 94 (1866); Commissioner of Indian
Affairs, Report To The Secretary Of The
Interior, 1908, at 17 (1909); see also
Sclar, 33 Mont.L.Rev. 191, at 208, fn.
127.) The committee reports and debates
on the Snyder Act did not discuss which
Indians would be served under the new law,
and no indication exists that Congress
intended to cut off any then receiving
assistance. The sweep of the act's
language caused Congress no concern about
service to urban Indians, because the num-
ber of urban Indians was then insignifi-

=j}j-

cant.°

Petitioner argues that the Snyder
Act vests the Secretary of the Interior
with discretion to affix tribal and
geographic eligibility requirements on top
of those set by Congress in enacting appro-
priations. (Brief For The Secretary at 8.)
That contention is untenable.

Appropriations acts from the period
prior to 1921 bespeak Congressional deter-
minations of whether certain tribes or
classes of Indians or Indians generally
would be assisted by a particular appropri-
ation. The Interior Secretary may have
had substantial discretion over Indian
affairs, but Petitioner cites nothing

3. The total United States Indian
population in 1920 was 244,437. United
States Department of Commerce, Bureau of
the Census, Fourteenth Census of the United
States Taken in the Year 1920, Population,
Vol. II at 37 (1922).) The Indian popula-
tion in cities of 100,000 or more was 1,970
or .8 of one percent of the total Indian
population. (Id. at 47.) The Indian pop-
ulation in cities of 25,000 or more,
including those of 100,000 or more, was
4,086 or 1.7% of the Indian population.
(Id. at 75-76.) And using the census
definition of urban as towns of 2500 or
more (id at 20), the percentage of "urban"
Indians in 1920 was still only 6.2% (Id.
at 89.)

=-})2-

showing that the Secretary had any power
to modify the choices made by Congress.

The Snyder Act did not increase the
Secretary's power. The act's sole pur-
pose was to stop points of order to
unauthorized appropriations. (Remarks of
Representatives Andrews and Carter, 61 Cong.
Rec. 4672 (Aug. 4, 1921).) Congress had
no intention of surrendering control over
which groups of Indians would share in
appropriations; it was merely resolving
a jurisdictional fight between the House's
Indian Committee and that body's Appropria-
tions Committee. (Remarks of Representa-
tive Carter, 61 Cong. Rec. 4671-4672 (Aug.
4, 1921).)

Since passage of the Snyder Act Con-
gress has continued to indicate when an
appropriation is only for one tribe or the
Indians in certain areas. (See Part II,
infra.) Petitioner's reading of the Snyder
Act as vesting him with unbridled discre-
tion would create what this Court has
described as "a type of administrative
absolutism not congenial to our lawmaking
traditions." (Gutknecht v. United States,
396 U.S. 295, 306 (1970); see also Smith
v. Director of Internal Revenue, 332 F.2d

=] 3

BRE ee as eet ER DNR EY SECTS STO

671, 673 (9th Cir. 1964).) The correct
interpretation of the Snyder Act is that
Congress may, under its own rules, limit
the class of beneficiaries during the ap-
propriation process; but if Congress im-
poses no limit, the peneficiaries are “the
Indians throughout the United States."

It

NEITHER THE FISCAL 1968 INTERIOR
DEPARTMENT APPROPRIATION NOR
SUBSEQUENT APPROPRIATIONS LIMIT
BIA GENERAL ASSISTANCE TO ON-
RESERVATION INDIANS

A. The Lack Of A Geographic Limit
On Recent General Assistance Appro-
priations Contrasts Sharply With
Geographic Limits On Other Programs
In The Same Laws And On The General
Assistance Program In Prior BIA
Appropriations.

In fiscal year 1968, when this suit
arose, the appropriation covering BIA
general quahanense provided: “For expenses
necessary to provide education and welfare
services for Indians...including...grants
and other assistance to needy Indians...
$126,478,000." (81 Stat. 59, 60.) The
appropriations for subsequent years are
identical except for the dollar amounts.“

4. In fiscal 1974 the fiscal 1968
appropriation is significant only as it

illuminates the meaning of subsequent appro-
priations. [footnote continued next page]

-14-

~

(82 Stat. 425, 427; 83 Stat. 147, 148; 84
Stat. 669, 670; 85 Stat. 229, 230; 86 Stat.
508, 509.) ‘i
The acts contain only one limit on
which "Ihdians throughout the United
States" shall receive “assistance.” That
limit is "needy." The absence of any geo-
graphic limitation on assistance in those
laws is in clear contrast to other pro-
grams in the same laws and to assistance
provisions in prior BIA appropriations.
Each of the BIA general appropriation
acts for fiscal years 1968 through 1973
provide reward money for information or
evidence concerning violations of law
“on Indian reservations and lands." (81
Stat. 59, 60; 82 Stat. 425, 428; 83 Stat.
147, 148; 84 Stat. 669, 670; 85 Stat. 229,
230;.86 Stat. 508, 509.) Each of those
laws also appropriates funds for land
acquisition with the proviso that “no
part of the sum herein appropriated shall
be used for the acquisition of land within
the States of Arizona, California, Colo-
rado, New Mexico, South Dakota, and Utah
outside of the boundaries of existing
Indian reservations except lands authorized

This brief accordingly uses subsequent
acts and legislative history as aids in
the process of interpreting BIA appropri-
ation acts.

-]5-

by law to be acquired for the Navajo Indian
Irrigation Project." (81 Stat. 59, 61; 82
Stat. 425, 427; 83 Stat. 147, 149; 84 Stat.
669, 671; 85 Stat. 229, 231; 86 Stat. 508
510.) :
In 1940 an emergency appropriation to
' the BIA provided $1,700,000 for “relief and
rural rehabilitation for needy Indians."
(54 Stat. 611, 617 (emphasis added).) The
next year the House Appropriations Com-
mittee adopted the same approach for the
regular BIA appropriations bill. That bill
would have appropriated $1,000,000 “for
general support and rural rehabilitation of
needy Indians." (H.R. 4590, 77 Cong., lst
Sess., version of April 30, 1941 (emphasis
added).) Then the following discussion
took place before the Senate Appropriations
Committee:

PROGRAM OF INDIAN SERVICE
WITH RESPECT TO NEEDY INDIANS

7 + +
Senator McCarran...About 6 weeks
ago I had this matter up in connection
with the group of Indians at Yerington,
or close to that point. As I recall, I
was confronted with the reply that there
was no money to meet the situation.

REHABILITATION FUNDS NOT AVAILABLE
FOR RELIEF IN URBAN AREAS

Mr. Collier [Commissioner of
Indian Affairs). There is no author-
ization.

Senator McCarran. No authority?

Mr. Collier. No. This is the
fund that would be used, but it is
not applicable to urban groups, 80
that you would have to change the
language of this authorization in
order for us to reach then.
ADVISABILITY OF REHABILITATION WORK

AMONG INDIANS IN URBAN AREAS

Senator McCarran. Why should there
not be something of that kind done?

Mr. Collier. We think that it
should be.

2 7 ®

Senator McCarran. What is re-
quired; legislation?

Mr. Collier. It requires merely
the change of the language in this
particular appropriation.

Senator McCarran. Why don't we do
it? Why should it not be done; be-
cause, really, after all, Mr. Commis-
sioner, those are the Indians who
should have the help. They are off

-]7=

of the reservation and they are trying
to make a living....
* + +

Mr. Collier. This is the appropri-
ation which it would come out of.

This provides for “General Support and
rural rehabilitation of needy Indians."
This committee could drop the word
*rural."

® + *

Senator McCarran. If we dropped
"rural"?

Mr. Collier. That is all that you
- would have to do, drop the word "rural."

Senator McCarran. Well, when they
are living in little communities away
out in the wilds, you might say, that
is pretty nearly rural.

Senator Holman. Who interprets the
meaning of “rural"? I think that a
village is rural, is it not?

Mr. Collier. The Comptroller Gen-
eral interprets it and he always inter-
prets pretty tightly. This committee
has the remedy by dropping the word
"rural."

Senator Holman. Would that be
legislation? If it is not legislation,
and it is in order, I would move that

-18-

Senator McCarran be authorized to

present it on the floor.

LEGISLATIVE AUTHORITY FOR RELIEF
WORK AMONG INDIANS

Senator Hayden. I think it would
be well if you could place in the
record legislative authority for the
appropriation.

Mr. Greenwood [Finance Officer,
BIA). Legislative authority, Mr.
Chairman, is in the Snyder Act of
1921, authorizing appropriations
for the general support of Indians.

Senator Hayden. Then so far as
legislative authority is concerned,
we could appropriate anything for
any Indians anywhere?

Mr. Greenwood. Yes, sir.

Senator Hayden. The word “rural”
is limiting you here?

Mr. Greenwood. That is correct;

yes, sir.
. a o

Senator McCarran. Let me see if
I get it clearly, from what I under-
stand to be your idea, or at least
the Comprtroller General's idea,
"rural" means living out in the
country away from a settled community?

-19-

ee

Mr. Greenwood. Yes, sir.

Senator McCarran. You will not
find very many Indians following
that line. As.a rule they come into
little centers. They live around
the outskirts of little towns. Maybe
they work out in the hayfields, or
work out at one place or another, but
they always live close together in
some little town; that is, those not
on a reservation. It does not seem
to me that this money applies to
Indian relief at all.

Senator Thomas. That would not
apply in my State, Senator. We do
not have those communities. They
have their allotments along the
creeks some place, and they do not
live much around the towns.

Senator McCarran. We have a group
of Indians in my State that live that
way....Those who do not stay on the
reservations simply work for somebody
else, but live in close to little
towns.

So, it does not seem to me that
under that ruling the Indians would
ever get anything, and they are not

-20-

@
getting very much. Some of them

are living in hovels that are dan-
gerous to themselves and everybody
else. (Hearings on H.R. 4590 before
a subcommittee of the Senate Com-
mittee on Appropriations, 77th Cong.,
lst Sess., at 159-162 (1941).)

As a result, the Senate Appropriations
Committee voted the bill out with the

word “rural" recommended for deletion.
(S.Rpt.No. 366, 77th Cong., lst Sess. at

3 (1941); H.R. 4590, 77th Cong., lst Sess.,
version of June 2, 1941.) The senate
agreed to delete “rural" (87 Cong. Rec.
4671 (June 3, 1941)) and the law was
enacted without the "rural" restriction

(55 Stat. 303, 305).

Besides textual contrasts within and
between BIA appropriation laws, this Court
has another reason for declining to read
unexpressed geographic limitations into
BIA appropriations for general assistance.
House of Representatives’ practice requires
a limitation to show on the face of an appro-
priation act (Deschler, supra, at 476, 42);
and the presumption is that the Congress

-2l-

follows its own rules (United States v.
Vulte, 233 U.S. 509, 515 (1914)). More-
over, the Congressional practice makes
extremely good sense. A law represents
the will of the whole House and the whole
Senate. Those bodies cannot intend to
adopt secret limitations of which most
if not all Senators and Representatives
are unaware.

B. Congress Has Not Ratified The

BIA's General Assistance Policy By
Not Expressly Repudiating It.

Petitioner claims (at page 15 of his
brief) that two unpassed bills evidence
an unstated Congressional understanding
of geographic limits on BIA general assis-
tance appropriations. Those bills are
H.R. 9621, 87th Cong., 2d Sess. and H.R.
6279, 88th Cong., lst Sess. Those bills
would have declared that all Indians--
whether on or off reservation--in certain
states were eligible for BIA services.
The bills would also have reimbursed the
states for 80% of the state share of
catagorical aid to Indians under the
Social Security Act.

H.R. 9621 and H.R. 6279 were referred
to committee (see 108 Cong. Rec. 74 (Jan.
1l, 1962); 109 Cong. Rec. 8544 (May 14,

=22-

1963)), where they died. The record does
not show whether they failed to pass
because Congress disapproved of one or both
of the basic provisions or because Congress
considered such laws unnecessary for off-
reservation Indians to receive BIA ser-
vices. No significance whatsoever may

be attached to Congress' inaction on those
bills. (United States v. Wise, 370 U.S.
405, 411 (1962); Order of Railway Conduc-
tors v. Swan, 329 U.S. 520, 529 (1947).)

Petitioner also contends that Congress
has silently ratified a BIA policy of pro-
viding general assistance only to reser-
vation Indians. (Brief For the Secretary
at 13-15.) This supposed ratification is
based on three factors: (1) 66 BIAM
3.1.4(A), (2) testimony presented at
seven hearings between 1922 and 1960,
and (3) a sentence in the Bureau's annual
justification statement that BIA general
assistance is for “needy Indians on reser-
vations."

66 BIAM 3.1.4(A) instructs BIA
employees to provide general assistance
only to Indians on reservations and in
Alaska andOklahoma. Nothing cited by
Petitioner indicates that Congress ever
knew of 66 BIAM 3.1.4(A). O BIAM 1.2.A

=23-

requires the Bureau to publish in the
Federal Register “directives which relate
to the public, including...directives
[which] inform the public of privileges
and benefits available; eligibility quali-
fications, requirements, and procedures,"
but 66 BIAM 3.1.4(A) has never received
such publication. The failure to publish
66 BIAM 3.1.4(A) in the Federal Register
also violates 5 U.S.C. §552(a) (1) (D&E).
(Piercy v. Tarr, 343 F.Supp. 1120, 1128-
29 (N.D.Cal. 1972).) The sanction for
failing to publish the instruction is that:
“Except to the extent that a person
has actual and timely notice of the
terms thereof, a person may not in
any manner...be adversely affected
wo0(5 U.S.C. §552(a) (1).)>
Not a scintillaof evidence indicates that
the Ruizes had knowledge of 66 BIAM 3.1.4 (A)
at the time the fiscal 1968 appropriation
was being considered. And the vast majority
of off-reservation Indians have not known
about 66 BIAM 3.1.4(A) at any time.

5. The same rules applied under the
predecessors of 5 U.S.C. §552(a) (1). (See
60 Stat. 237, §3(a); 44 U.S.C. §1507.)

-24-

Imputing knowledge of that instruction to
Congress for the purpose of finding Con-
gressional ratification would therefore be
an adverse affect proscribed by 5 U.S.C.
§552. (Cf. Borak v. Biddle, 141 F.2d 278,
280 (D.C. Cir. 1944); Berends v. Butz, 357
F.Supp. 143 (Minn. 1973).)

The testimony relied on for ratifica-
tion (Brief For The Secretary at 14-15) is
inapposite. First, the testimony in
question was given between 1922 and 1960,
not during 1967 hearings on the fiscal
1968 appropriation. To impute testimony
from one year not only into the testimony
but also the legislation of another year
flies in the face of United States v.
Vulte, supra, 233 U.S. 509 at 514-515,
which holds that a limitation in one year's
appropriation act is presumed not to apply
to appropriations in subsequent years.

Secondly, in three of the seven cited
hearings the testimony does not show a
denial of BIA general assistance to off-
reservation Indians. Two instances, in
fact, show just the opposite.

One cited set of hearings is on the
fiscal 1942 appropriation bill. Those are
the same hearings which are quoted exten-
sively on pages 16 to 21 supra, and which

=-25-

show clearly that Congress expected off-
reservation Indians to receive BIA general
assistance. Petitioner points to a sub-
sequently filed BIA statement found on
pages 465-466 of those hearings. That
statement reads in part:
In the event the committee con-
siders it advisable to eliminate
the word "rural" from the language
of the item appropriating funds for
"General support and rural rehabili-
tation of needy Indians,“ the Indian
Service would be able to extend a
limited amount of assistance to groups
of Indians residing in urban com-
munities.
x x x
In view of the small amount available
and the fact that a far greater num-
ber of Indians reside in rural areas
than in urban communities, it is be-
lieved that in no event should more
than 10 percent, or $50,000 be ex-
pended for rehabilitating Indians who
are not using the land for their sup-
port.
The statement is fully consistent with
general assistance to off-reservation
Indians. Urban Indians would obviously

-26-

receive a small part of the money if a "far
greater number of Indians reside[d] in
rural areas." Moreover rural does not
mean reservation. (Remarks of Senator
Thomas, supra, at page 20.)

A second portion of testimony relied
on by Petitioner to find ratification of
a no off-reservation policy is pages 483
and 492 of Hearings on H.R. 3838 before
a subcommittee of the Senate Committee on
Appropriations, 8lst Cong., lst Sess.
(1949). On page 483 Senator Young says:
“When they [Indians] do leave [the reser-
vation] and then run short of funds and
find that they are not eligible for relief,
they quite naturally drift back to their
home reservation." The relief referred
to was not BIA general assistance but
state and local general relief from which
Indians were barred by residence require-
ments. That is made quite clear by the
following BIA statement appearing at page
592 of the hearings:

“This supplemental request is...in

order to permit adequate relief

payments to needy Indians on reser-
vations and temporary relief to those
off the reservation until they meet
local residence requirements...."

=-27=

(Emphasis added.)

The third instance of cited testi-
mony not supporting Petitioner's position
is “Hearings [on the Interior Department
Appropriation Bill, 1924], H.Committee on
Appropriations, 67th Cong., 4th Sess. pp.
184-185 (1922)." Nothing on the cited
pages deals with the subject of welfare
services to off-reservation Indians. The
BIA did testify on page 183 that “we ex-
pended a good part of that [BIA relief)
appropriation in relieving distress of
Indians on reservations." In 1922, how-
ever, a substantial majority of Indians
lived on reservations.

The third and last cog on Petitioner's
wheel of ratification is a sentence
reading: “General assistance will be
provided to needy Indians on reservations."
The sentence has appeared for a number of
years in the Bureau's appropriation justi-
fication statements® (Brief For The Secre-

6. More recently the justification
statement has also said: “The Federal Gov-
ernment has assumed responsibility for pro-
viding financial assistance and other social
services to needy residents of reservation
communities. (Hearings on Department of

nterior and Related Agencies Appropri-
ations For 1973 before a subcommittee of
the House Committee on Appropriations, 92
Cong., 2d Sess., Part 2 at 60 (1972);
Hearings [footnote continued on next page]

tary at 13-14), where it is buried amidst
scores of pages of tiny type.
Congressional ratification of that
sentence or 66 BIAM 3.1.4(a)? cannot be
inferred from Congress' failure to repu-
diate the sentence or from Congress'
appropriation to the Bureau of a lump sum
for general assistance and other BIA pro-
grams. What this Court said in Ex Parte
Endo, 323 U.S. 283 (1944), is applicable
here:
"It is argued, to be sure, that
there has been Congressional rati-
fication of the detention of loyal
evacuees under the leave regula-
tions of the Authority through
appropriation of sums for expenses
of the Authority. It is pointed
on Department of the Interior and Related
Agencies Appropriations For Fiscal Year
1973 before a subcommittee of the Senate
Committee on Appropriations, 92d Cong. 24

Sess., Part 1 at 151 (1972) (Emphasis
added) .)

7. Petitioner does not make clear
whether Congress is supposed to have
ratified the sentence, which restricts
general assistance to reservation Indians,
or 66 BIAM, which restricts general assis-
tance to Indians on reservations and in
Alaska and Oklahoma. And see footnote 6,

Supra.

-29-

sceaietntanereainetintneerinaa eeiae ee EERE

out that the regulations and pro-
cedures of the Authority were dis-
closed in reports to the Congress
and in Congressional hearings.
And it is shown that the leave
program of the authority was mentioned
both in the House and Senate Committee
hearings on the 1944 Appropriation
Act and on the floor of the House
prior to passage of the 1944 Act.
Congress may of course do by ratifica-
tion what it might have authorized.
And ratification may be effected
through appropriation acts. But the
appropriation must plainly show a
purpose to bestow the precise authority
which is claimed. We can hardly deduce
such a purpose here where a lump
appropriation was made for the overall
program of the Authority and no sums
were earmarked for the single phase
of the total program which is here
involved. Congress may support the
effort to take care of these evacuees
without ratifying every phase of the
program. (Id. at 303, fn. 24 (cita-
tions omitted) .)

See also, Greene v. McElroy, 360 U.S. 474, 56§

eoee—2g9R, fn. 30, particularly the last

-30-

sentence; D. C. Federation of Civic Asso-

ciations, Inc. v. Airis, 391 F.2d 478, 481l-

482 (D. C. Cir. 1948).)

C. The Legislative History Of Recent
BIA Appropriations Does Not Support A
Reservation Only Policy For BIA Gen-

eral Assistance.

Petitioner's selections from the legis-
lative history give an incomplete picture
of BIA testimony and totally omit the testi-
mony of other witnesses, floor debate, and
committee reports. Some of the relevant
omissions are as follows.

The Bureau of Indian Affairs has
testified at numerous appropriation
hearings that its service population in-
cludes all Indians living on or near reser-
vations.”

8. The cases cited by Petitioner (at
page 15 of his brief) in support of ratifi-
cation are clearly distinguishable. Both
involved authorization laws with an in-
definite lifetime not one year appropria-
tions. Moreover both involved the ratifi-
cation of properly adopted regulations.

9. Hearings on Department of the
Interior and Related Agencies Appropriations
For Fiscal Year 1965 before a subcommittee
of the Senate Committee on Appropriations,
88th Cong., 2d Sess, at 42 (1965); Hear-
ings on Department of the Interior and
Related Agencies Appropriations For Fiscal
Year [footnote continued on next page]

In 1971 Congressman Donald Fraser
submitted a long statement on urban
Indians at the House hearings. The
statement said in part:
"I've found that no congressional
mandate specifically ties the BIA
and the IHS to trust land and there
is virtually no legislative history
in this area. Assistant Secretary
Loesch finally admitted last year
that the hands off policy regarding
urban Indians was based on informal

1968 before a subcommittee of the Senate
Committee on Appropriations, 90th Cong.,
lst Sess., at 819 (1967); Hearings on
Department of the Interior and Related
Agencies Appropriations For 1969 before
a subcommittee of the House Committee
on Appropriations, 90th Cong., 2d Sess.,
Part 2 at 575 (1968); Hearings on Depart-
ment of the Interior and Related Agencies
Appropriations For Fiscal. Year 1969 before
a subcommittee of the Senate Committee on
priations, 90th Cong., 2d Sess., at
368 (1968); Hearings on Department of the
Interior and Related Agencies Appropria-
tions For Fiscal Year 1971 before a sub-
committee of the Senate Committee on
Appropriations, 9lst Cong., 2d Sess., at
1939 (1970); Hearings on Department of
the Interior and Related Agencies Appro-
priations For Fiscal Year 1972 before a
subcommittee of the Senate Committee on
Appropriations, 92d Cong., lst Sess., at
751-752 (1971).

-32-

understandings with the Congressional
appropriations committees.... I
have finally come_-to realize that
the Bureau's approach to urban
Indians is based on certain policy
assumptions that have not been ar-
ticulated." (Hearings on Department
of the Interior and Related Agencies
Appropriations for 1972 before a
subcommittee of the House Committee
on Appropriations, 92d Cong., lst
Sess., Part 6 at 101 (1971).)

In reply Congresswoman Julia Butler Hansen,
Chairwoman of the Interior appropriations
subcommittee said:

"I notice in your statement you say,
"Assistant Secretary Loesch finally
admitted last year the ‘hands off'
policy regarding urban Indians was
‘based on informal understandings with
the congressional appropriations
committees.' This is not true.
Assistant Secretary Loesch has

never reached any understanding in
that connection with this committee.
This was the first year that we dis-
cussed this problem in detail with
the BIA (Id. at 104.)

-33-

_AXongressman Fraser responded:

“My understanding is that there

is nothing in the existing statutory

language which would keep the BIA

or the IHS from being concerned

with the Indians who live off the

reservation...." (Id. at 105.)

Mrs. Hansen's rejoinder was

"Our appropriation bill has never

carried a limitation omfexpendi-

tures concerning ae (Id. at

107.)

(See also Testimony of Senator John Tunney,
Hearings on Department of the Interior and
Related Agencies Appropriations for Fiscal
Year 1973 before a subcommittee of the
Senate Committee on Appropriations, 92d
Cong., 24 Sess., at 3415-3417, 3422, 3423,
and 3429; Testimony of Grace Thorpe, id at
3774; Testimony of Lee Sklar [sic], id.at
3781-3782; Statement of Senator Alan
Cranston, id,at 4236-4237.)

On June 27, 1973, Chairwoman Hansen
addressed the House on behalf of the 1974
Interior Department Appropriation. She
said: “The boundaries of this committee's
responsibility. ..encompass...the welfare
and education of approximately 600,000
American Indians in and adjacent to the

=34-

reservation world....".
H5490.)

Finally, the appropriations committees'
reports do not support limiting BIA gen-
eral assistance to reservation Indians.

For fiscal years 1967 and 1968 the reports
were as silent as the statutes, ?° For
fiscal 1969, the House report (No. 1395,
90th Cong., 2d Sess. (1968)) suggested no
limitation. The Senate report described
the appropriation as being for "the 400,000
Indians under the jurisdiction of the Bureau
of Indian Affairs." (S.Rpt.No. 1275, 90th
Cong., 2d Sess. at 6 (1968).) Those 400,000
were the Indians and Alaska Natives whom
the BIA characterized as “on or near reser-
vations." (Hearings on Department of the
Interior and Related Agencies Appropria-
tions For Fiscal Year 1969 before a sub-
committee of the Senate Committee on
Appropriations, 90th Cong., 2d Sess., at
368 (1968).) The conference report did

not resolve the disparity between the

10. H.Rpt.No. 1405, 89th Cong., 2d
Sess. (1966); S.Rpt.No. 1154, 89th Cong.,
2d Sess. (1966); H.Rpt.No. 1538, 89th Cong.,
2d Sess. (1966); H.Rpt.No. 206, 90th Cong.,
lst Sess. (1967); S.Rpt.No. 233, 90th Cong.,

lst Sess. (1967); H.Rpt.No. 343, 90th
Cong., Ist Sess. (1967).

(119 Cong. Rec.

-35-

House and Senate reports. (H.Rpt.No.
1664, 90th Cong., 2d Sess. (1968) .)

The committee reports recommended no
limitation on BIA welfare for fiscal
years 1970 and 1971.44 im 1971 the House
report for fiscal 1972 said: "While the
Bureau's primary responsibility is to
assist Indians living on reservations,
the Bureau can and should do more to
assist Indians to adjust to gity living."
(H.Rpt.No. 92-308, 92d Cong., lst Sess,
at 9.) The Senate report for the same
year stated that the recommended appro-
priation was for “the 477,500 Indians
under the jurisdiction of the Bureau of
Indian Affairs living on or near
reservations." (S.Rpt.No. 92-263, 92d
Cong., lst Sess., at 5 (1971).) The
conference report attempted no reconcili-
ation on this point. (H.Rpt.No. 92-386,
92d Cong., lst Sess. (1971).)

The 1972 House report appeared to
sanction for fiscal 1973 the Bureau
policy of denying general assistance to

ll. H.Rpt.No. 361, 9lst Cong., lst
Sess. (1969); S.Rpt.No. 420, 9lst Cong.,
lst Sess. (1969); H.Rpt.No. 570, 9lst
Cong., lst Sess. (1969); H.Rpt.No. 9l-
1095; 9lst Cong., 2d Sess. (1970); S.Rpt.
No. 91-985, 9lst Cong., 2d Sess. (1970);

(1970).

-36-

urban Indians.’? (H.Rpt. 92-1119, 924
Cong., 2d Sess., at 6-7.) The Senate
Report for fiscal 1973 held to its 1972
view that the BIA appropriation is for
Indians “on or near reservations."
(S.Rpt.No. 92-921, 92d Cong., 2d Sess.

at 6 (1972).) The Senate report also
directed the Secretary of the Interior to
“prepare a plan to assure Bureau of Indian
Affairs type services to all Indians in
the United States--rather than just those
living 'on or near reservations.'" (Ibid.)
The House and Senate reports were probably
expressing the same intent in different
language. The conference report is

12. The term urban as used by the
committee means metropolitan centers rather
than urban in the Census Bureau sense.
House Committee Chairwoman Hansen considers
600,000 Indians to be non-urban. (See 119
Cong. Rec. H5490 (June 23, 1973).) The
Census considers only 467,753 to be rural.
(See Sclar, supra, 33 Mont.L.Rev. at 194,
fn. 7 and 195, fn. 9; see also Hearings on
Department of the Interior and Related
Agencies Appropriations for Fiscal Year
1972 before a subcommittee of the Senate
Committee on Appropriations, 92d Cong.,
lst Sess., at 756 (1971); Testimony of
James Hawkins, Director of Education Pro-
grams BIA, in Hearings on Department of the
Interior and Related Agencies Appropria-
tions For 1973 before a subcommittee of
the House Committee on Appropriations, 92d
Cong., 2d Sess., Part 2 at 75 (1972).)

=37~

silent. (H.Rpt.No. 92-1250, 92d Cong.,
2a Sess. (1972).)

For fiscal 1974 the House report
returns to its fiscal 1967-1968 approach.
It says nothing about which needy Indians
shall receive BIA welfare. (H.Rpt.No. 93-
322, 93d Cong., lst Sess. (1973).)?9

Any assessment of the committee re-
ports--and the debates and testimony-~-should
bear in mind that the Interior Department
appropriations acts are not ambiguous.
Those laws contain geographic limits on
some BIA programs but not on general assis-
tance. The reports should therefore be
irrelevant. (Ex Parte Collett, supra,

337 U.S. 55 at 61.) But if the reports

are considered, each should be applied only
to the appropriation it recommends; and not
one report limits BIA general assistance to
reservation Indians. !4

13. The Senate had not acted on the
fiscal 1974 BIA appropriation at the time
this brief was written.

14. If the Court for some reason con-
siders the appropriations statutes ambi-
guous, it should then apply the rule that
laws affecting Indians will be construed in
the way most favorable to the Indians.

( ire v. Ca , 351 U.S. 1, 6-7 (1956);
aisske Pacific Fisheries v. United States,
346 0.5. 76, 89 (1916); Choate v. Trapp,

224 U.S. 665, 675 (1912) .)

=38-

IIt

66 BIAM 3.1.4(A) IS INCONSISTENT
WITH THE SNYDER ACT, UNAUTHORIZED
BY APPROPRIATION STATUTES, AND
THEREFORE VOID

The Snyder Act, by its terms, makes
geography irrelevant to BIA general assis-
tance except when an appropriation act
imposes a residency restriction. (Part I,
Supra.) No recent general assistance
appropriation contains any geographic
limit; and even those committee reports
which specify beneficiaries include
Indians near to as well as on reservations,
(Part II, Supra.) Neither the Snyder and
appropriation acts nor their legislative
histories evince any Congressional intent
to vest the BIA with discretion to impose
geographic limitations.

66 BIAM 3.1.4(A), which limits BIA
general assistance to Indians on reser-
vations and in Alaska and Oklahoma, is
out of harmony with that statutory scheme
and therefore void. (Manhattan General
Equipment Company v. Commissioner of
Internal Revenue, 297 U.S. 129, 134 (1936);
see also NLRB v. Brown, 380 U.S. 278, 291-

292 (1965); Social Security Board v.
Nierotko, 327 U.S. 358, 369 (1946) .)

=39-

—

66 BIAM 3.1.4(A) is not sanctioned
by 25 U.S.C. §§2 and 9. Sections 2 and
9 do not authorize the BIA to assume
substantive powers not granted by the
Snyder and appropriation acts. (Organ-
ized Village of Kake v. Egan, 369 U.S.
60, 63 (1962); Leecy v. United States,
190 Fed. 289, 292-293 (8th Cir. 1911).)

Petitioner contends that he must
adopt eligibility rules for BIA general
assistance. (Brief For The Secretary at
16.) Certainly that is true. The appro-
priation laws say that only “needy Indians"
may share, and the Secretary thus has
implied power to define need. The power
to impose geographic criteria is withheld
however. (Cf. Townsend v. Swank, 404 U.S.
282, 286 (1971) .)

Petitioner further contends that he
would have to “substantially diminish"
general assistance to Indians on reser-
vations if he must provide general assis-
tance to off-reservation Indians. (Brief
For The Secretary at 18.) That does not
follow. The Ruizes do not challenge 66
BIAM 3.1.4(A) because it causes reserva-
tion Indians to receive BIA general
assistance in amounts equal to what off-
reservation Indians receive from state

-40-

programs. What respondents object to is
that on-reservation Indians receive addi-
tional benefits which off-reservation
Indians do not receive from the state.
General assistance benefits to on-reser-
vation Indians would not have to be
"substantially diminish[ed]" if BIA max-
imum grant rules were to provide that
on-reservation Indians would receive no
more than the combined payments to off-
reservation Indians by the BIA and state
governments. +5

66 BIAM 3.1.4(A) is not entitled to
deference as a consistent and longstanding
administrative interpretation of BIA
powers. As an interpretation of appro-
priation acts covering BIA general assis-
tance, it is inconsistent ‘with BIA regu-
lations for other programs made pursuant
to the same lump sum appropriation.
(25 C.FP.R. §§31.1, 32.1.) Section 3.1.4
(A)'s inclusion of off-reservation

15. Petitioner also makes the re-
lated argument that "Congress had no
intention of substantially increasing
the scope of existing and proposed ser-
vice" when it failed to appropriate all
that the BIA requested for fiscal 1968.
That contention erroneously assumes,
among other things, that Congress appro-
priated general assistance funds in
fiscal 1967 only for reservation Indians.

=4)-

Indians in Alaska and Oklahoma is incon-
sistent with BIA statements to Congress
that only reservation Indians receive
general assistance; and 3.1.4(A)'s

denial of general assistance to any off-
reservation Indians except in Alaska and
Oklahoma is inconsistent with BIA testi-
mony that the Bureau serves Indians on

or near reservations. BIA treatment of
off-reservation Navajos in the Navajo
area as on-reservation (Hearings on
Department of the Interior and Related
Agencies Appropriations For Fiscal Year
1972 before a subcommittee of the Senate
Committee on Appropriations. 92d Cong.,
lst Sess. at 753 (especially the table
of Estimated Indian Population) (1971))
is not consistent with 66 BIAM 3.1.4(A).
The BIA has even carried out a program of
down payments on urban Indian houses as
part of the welfare program authorized by
the Snyder Act. (See Sclar, supra, 33
Mont.L.Rev. 191 at 216.) Such an erratic
performance is entitled to no deference,
particularly as it is inconsistent with
the intent of Congress. (Federal Maritime
Commission v. Seatrain Lines, , U.S.

e —_» 36 L.Ed. 24 620, 634 (1973) .)

-42-

Any doubts as to the validity of 66
BIAM 3.1.4(A) should be resolved against
validity because of the section's doubtful
constitutionality. (See Part Iv, infra;
Townsend v. Swank Supra, 404 U.S. 282 at

Iv

66 BIAM 3.1.4(A) ARBITRARILY
EXCLUDES OFF-RESERVATION INDIANS

In Board of Count Commissioners v.
Seber, 318 U.S. 705 (1943), this Court
held constitutional a federal law which
exempted from state taxation certain off-
reservation, non-trust, individually
Owned, Indian land. The source for that
unique power to discriminate in favor
of Indians was that "the United States
overcame the Indians and took possession
of their lands, sometimes by force,
leaving them an uneducated, helpless and
dependent people." (Id. at 715.)

Off-reservation Indians epitomize
that plight. Whether rural or urban, a
great many are poor; 1& and they are land-

16. Johnson, American Indians In
Rural Poverty in Toward Economic Develop-
ment For Native American Communities, A

Compendium of Papers Submitted to the Sub-
committee [footnote continued on next page]

-43-

\

less because of federal action.?”

Some off-reservation Indians, as in
California, never received reservations.
(Sclar, supra, 33 Mont.L.Rev. at 221-222.)
Nevada Indians have outgrown some tiny
reservations established for them.

(Remarks of Senator Bible, 117 Cong.Rec.
$2409 (Mar. 4, 1971).) Substantial numbers
of Indians have been displaced by the con-
demnation or involuntary sale of valuable
reservation land. (Cahn, Our Brother's
Keeper: The Indian In White America 69-73
(1969).): Many Indians are landless because

on In Government of the Joint
Economic Committee, Congress of the United
States, 9lst Cong., lst Sess. (Comm.Print
1969) at Vol. I, p.19, 31-35; United States
Department of Agriculture, Economic Re-
search Service, Rural Indian Americans In
Poverty (Agricultural Economic Report No.
167) at 11 (1969); President Nixon's
Message To Congress On Indian Affairs of
July 8, 1970, Weekly Compilation of
Presidential Documents 894 ("Three-fourths
{of urban Indians) are living in poverty");
Testimony of Charles N. Zellers, Assistant
Commissioner of Education, BIA, in Hearings
on Department of the Interior and Related -
Agencies Appropriations For 1970\before a
subcommittee of the House Committee on

riations, 9lst Cong., lst Sess., Pt.
2 at 93 (1969).

17. Reservation Indians too are vic-
tims of the Government's land policy,
because the reservation lands left to them,
with a few exceptions, are inadequate to
their needs.

of the Government's now discredited allot-
ment program. (Id. at 73-75; Sclar, supra,
33 Mont.L.Rev. at 222.) The BIA considers
other thousands of Indians off-reservation
because, through accidents in the histori-
cal maturation of the United States, their
reservations developed special’ relation-
ships with state governments. (See e.g.,
United States Department of the Interior,
Federal Indian Law 965-979 (1958).) And
y>finally, the BIA has encouraged, if it
has not actually coerced, several hundred
thousand Indians to move to urban areas. ?®
That relocation was initiated because Con-
gress believed both that more Indians were

18. Testimony of Milford M. Sanderson,
President, American Indian Forum, Hearings
on Department of the Interior and Related
Agencies Appropriations For 1973 before a
subcommittee of the House Committee on
Appropriations, 92d Cong., 2d Sess., Pt,

5 at 488; Testimony of Congressman Donald
Fraser, Hearings on Department of the
‘Interior and Related Agencies Appropria-
tions For 1972 before a subcommittee of
the House Committee on Appropriations,
92d Cong., lst Sess., pt. 6 at 100, 101,
104; Testimony of Senator Fred Harris,
Hearings on Department of the Interior and

Senate Committee on ropriations, 92d
Cong., lst Sess., at 3074.

-45-

living on reservations than the land could
support and that relocation to cities was
the only practical solution for that situ-
ation. (S8.Rpt.No. 2664, 84th Cong., 2d
Sess. 2-3 (1956).)

Despite the Government displacement
and the poverty it has engendered and des-
pite those two factors being the constitu-
tional basis for special benefits to Indians,
66 BIAM 3.1.4(A) totally excludes off-
reservation Indians from BIA general assis-
tance except in Alaska and Oklahoma.

Petitioner defends that rule as being
reasonably related to factors which contri-
bute to need. (Brief For The Secretary at
20-21.) 79 The record in this case, however,
contains no evidence showing that off-
reservation Indians have an economic advan-
tage over on-reservation Indians. Not
even the non-evidentiary authorities
cited by Petitioner (at page 21, fn. 14 of
his brief) attempt a comparison between
the resources and employment opportunities
of on and off-reservation residents.

19. The listed factors are remote
places with inadequate resources, a lack
of job opportunities, and chronic unemploy-
ment.

What 66 BIAM 3.1.4(A) really estab-
lishes is a conclusive presumption that
all off-reservation Indians (outside
Alaska and Oklahoma) have incomes and
assets above the standards of need for
BIA general assistance. The Ruiz’ actual
need (Statement Of The Case, supra, at 4)
and the stated statutory purpose "to pro-
vide...assistance to needy Indians" are
rendered irrelevant. 66 BIAM 3.1.4 (A)
operates just as arbitrarily as the
total exclusion of tax dependents from
food stamps which this Court declared
in violation of the Fifth Amendment in

UnitedgStates Department of Agriculture

ie. <> a / Se | a a oo
Week 5099 (1973).

Equally invalid are the other
rationales which petitioner advances in
support of constitutionality for 66 BIAM
3.1.4(A).

"Off-reservation Indians have equal
access (with non-Indians] to ordinary
state and federal benefits" (Brief For
The Secretary at 21), but on-reservation
Indians are equally entitled to social
security and state welfare (Acosta v.

San Diego County, 272 P.2d 92 (Cal.App.

1954); State Board of Public Welfare v.
SL Ssststnnessnesns=emene
-47-

Board of Commissioners of Twain County, .
137 S.E. 2d 801 (N.C. 1964); United States
Department of the Interior, Federal Indian
Law 540, fn.6 (1958); cf. Begay v. Saw-
telle, 88 P.2d 999 (Ariz. 1939)). Peti-
tioner himself recognizes the equal wel-
fare rights of on-reservation Indians at
pages 7 and 8 of his brief. That the
United States may constitutionally assume
states’ on-reservation welfare responsi-
bilities in recognition of the tax-exempt
status of recipients’ land and income is
not disputea, 2° but this case does not
involve that issue. The states would bear
no extra burden if the Ruizes were to
obtain BIA benefits which Arizona does
not provide to off-reservation residents.
The BIA would continue providing reser-
vation Indians with an amount of general
assistance equal to what the states would
otherwise have to provide. Only the BIA
general assistance appropriations in
excess of the substitute-for-state pay-
ments would be redistributed among on and
off-reservation Indians.

20. The United States has no obliga-
tion to assume the burden of state programs.
(Board of Count a ee ve Seber,
supra,

ego County, supra, 272 P. ‘opT ator
-48-

“Indians going beyond reservation
boundaries have generally been held sub-
ject to non-discriminatory state law."
(Brief For The Secretary at 20 quoting
Mescalero Apache Tribe v. Jones —__._ ‘U.S.

’ , 36 L.Ed. 24 114, 119 (1973)
"{A]nd [on a reservation) the authority
of the state is less." (Brief For The
Secretary at 20.) The states' general
authority on and off-reservation has
nothing to do with welfare, though, as
explained in the preceding paragraph.

Making BIA general assistance avail-
able to off-reservation Indians would,
according to Petitioner, “provide bene-
fits to fully assimilated Indians not
based on any special relationship with
the government and denied to the citizenry
at large." (Brief For The Secretary at
18.) Once again, the record contains
nothing to show that off-reservation
Indians are "fully assimilated." To the
contrary, the record shows that the Ruizes
and other off-reservation Papagos are not
assimilated. (Statement Of The Case, supra;
A.84-87; and see Sclar, Supra, 33 Mont.L.
Rev. 220 at footnotes 217-219 and the
material cited therein.) The special

-49-

relationship which justifies providing
special benefits to off as well as on-
reservation Indians and not to non-
Indians is that set out in Seber, supra:
"(T]he United States overcame the Indians
and took possession of their lands, some-
times by force, leaving them an uneduca-
ted, helpless and dependent people. "2+

Petitioner suggests that he has.a
special trust responsibility to provide
welfare for reservation Indians. (Brief
For The Secretary at 20.) In fact, the
United States has a duty to care for all
Indians. (Goodrich, The Legal Status of
The California Indian, 14 Calif.L.Rev.
157, 163 (1926); see also the authorities
cited in Sclar, supra, 33 Mont.L.Rev. at
203, fn. 96.)

Another insubstantial argument by

petitioner is his statement that: “Indians

who live on reservations have submitted
themselves to a different governmental
structure...where the authority of the
Secretary of the Interior is greater.”
(Brief For The Secretary at 20.) Criminal

21. 25 U.S.C. §13 is, of course, an
exception to 42 U.S.C. §2000d.

-50-

and civil jurisdiction are unrelated to the
need for welfare; the Secretary's control
over tribal trust property is the same
whether a tribal member lives on or off-
reservation; and the Secretary's control
of individual trust property is similarly
independent of residence.

Petitioner's final defense to the
unconstitutionality of 66 BIAM 3.1.4(A)
is that making BIA general assistance avail-
able to all Indians would “substantially
diminish" the benefits available to reser-
vation Indians who “depend more on the
tribal government and the federal govern-
ment." (Brief For The Secretary at 18,
20.) No such substantial diminution is
likely. As explained at pages 40-41,
the Ruizes and the class of off-reservation
Indians they represent are seeking only
the difference between what they receive
from the state and what reservation
Indians receive from the BIA. No reser-
vation Indian would receive less than the
state provides to off-reservation Indians.
Beyond that, the cost in dollars to the
federal government or in benefits to
reservation Indians cannot justify the
otherwise invidious exclusion of off-
reservation Indians from the BIA general

-5l-

assistance program. (Graham v. Richardson,
403 U.S. 365, 374-375 (1971); Shapiro vy.

Thompson, 394 U.S. 618, 633 (1969).)

Viewed as a classification rather than
as an irrebuttable presumption, 66 BIAM
3.1.4(A) is no more reasonable. No evidence
in this case indicates reservation residence
causes Indians to be poorer. No Indians
could be more “helpless and dependent”
because the United States “took possession
of their lands" (Seber, supra) than those
Indians whose land was actually taken or
those who were forced to move off reserva-
tions after the Government left too little
decent land to support all the members of
their tribes.

Particularly inexplicable is why off-
reservation Indians in Alaska and Okla-
homa are in the same class with reserva-
tion Indians while all other off-reservation
Indians are in another class. Petitioner's
principal justification seems to be that
Alaska and Oklahoma have historically
received special treatment. (Brief For
The Secretary at 21.) The BIA general
assistance program did not include off-
reservation Alaska Natives and Oklahoma
Indians until 1959, however.?? and a

22. The 1952 [footnote continued
on next page]

=-§2-

history of discriminating against off-
reservation Indians in most states is no
justification for continuing that dis-
crimination. (Brown v. Board of Educa-

ee eEEenEecees
tion, 347 U.S. 483 (1954) .)

Petitioner says that Alaska and Okla-
homa have many Native Americans and few
reservations, but he does not explain how
those factors relate to need. California
and North Carolina also have substantial
Indian populations and little reservation
land. Oklahoma Indian populations may be
"concentrated" on tax-exempt trust land,
as petitioner claims (Brief For The
Secretary at 21); but, as explained on
page 48, supra, a judgment for the Ruizes
will impose no new burden on state welfare
programs. The “substantial separate legis=-
lation" covering Alaska and Oklahoma, like
the Interior Secretary's greater authority
on than off reservation (see pages 50-51
version of 66 BIAM 3.1.4(A) read: "Assis-
tance under the Bureau's program shall be
limited to otherwise eligible Indians
residing on reservations." (Indian
Affairs Manual, Vol. VI, Part VI, Ch. 3,
Section 301.03.) The 1952 provision
was changed in 1959 to read: "Assistance
under the Bureau's program is limited to
otherwise eligible Indians residing on
reservations and in jurisdictions under

the Bureau of Indian Affairs in Alaska
and Oklahoma. (66 IAM 341.3.)

supra), does not make off-reservation
Alaska Natives and Oklahoma Indians needier
than their counterparts in other states.

"'tTraditional' equal protection

analysis does not require that

every classification be drawn

with precise ‘mathematical nicety.'

Dandridge v. Williams, supra, at

485. But the classification here

in issue is not only ‘imprecise';

it is wholly without any rational

basis." United States Department

of Agriculture v. Moreno, U.S.

’ , 41 U.S. Law Week 5105,

5110 (1973).)

Moreover, 66 BIAM 3.1.4(A) should be
judged not just by traditional equal pro-
tection analysis, but by a stricter
standard. Whether Indians live on or
off reservations has essentially been
determined by the federal government.
That is obvious where, as in California,
a tribe or band never received any land.
But it is no less true where, as in the
Ruiz' case, the land left to the
Indians was so meager or so unproductive
that it could not support all its resi-
dents and some had to move off if either

-54-

those remaining or those departing were to
have any chance for self-sufficiency.

For the federal government to then
place Indians in a disadvantaged class for
being off-reservation is “contrary to the
basic concept of our system that legal
burdens should bear some relationship to
individual responsibility." (New Jersey
Welfare Rights Organization v. Cahill,
U.S. ’ » 36 L.Ed.2d 543, 545
(1973), quoting Weber v. Aetna Casualty
& Ins. Co., 406 U.S. 164, 175, (1972);
Frontiero v. Richardson, aiiug ee

—__- 36 L.Ed. 2d 583, 591 (1973). ) There-
fore, the classification is "inherently
Suspect, and must...be subjected to strict
judicial scrutiny." (Frontiero v. Richard-
son, supra, __—iU:«.S. at - ;
36 L.Ed. 2d 583 at 589-592.) Given that
scrutiny, 66 BIAM 3.1.4(A) is plainly
unconstitutional.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons the Court
of Appeals' decision should be affirmed.
Dated: Aug. 3, 1973

Respectfully submitted,

Lee J. Sclar
Bruce R. Greene
Herbert A. Becker

-§5<

ria

CALIFORNIA INDIAN LEGAL SERVICES

By:

Lee J. Scilar

-56-

co

[" | AUG 27 1973

RODAK, JRC
\ IN THE MICHAEL Rot

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1973

No. 72-1052

ROGERS C. B. MORTON,
SECRETARY OF THE INTERIOR,

Petitioner

RAMON RUIZ AND ANITA RUIZ

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENTS

WINTON D. WOODS, JR.
University of Arizona
College of Law
Tucson, Arizona 85721

LINDSAY E. BREW
P.O. Box 246
Sells, Arizona 85634

Counsel for Respondents

2 an
Weshington, D.C. © CLS PUBLISHERS, INC. e (202) 393-0625

=a

(i)
TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Ree WED 6 6 64k s Sindee RO dk's cea cn 1
PE + cane teldnckaabeviwaasansdiwhsss cas 1
Snes Ge MINS i Ni WA edt Waeds ts eacecee 3

ARGUMENT:

I. The Snyder Act Constitutes the Fundamental
Congressional Mandate to the Secretary of the
Interior in Regard to Indian Affairs and the
Secretary Has No Authority To Violate That
Mandate Unless Congress Has Modified It by
OU AS 6k ho i i ees es 3

Il. The Legislative History of the 1968 Appro-
priations Act Shows That Congress Did Not
Intend To Modify the Basic Snyder Act
Responsibilities of the Secretary of the Interior......... 4

III. The Regulation as Applied to Respondents Is in
Conflict With Equal Protection of Laws
Standards Incorporated Into the Fifth
Amendment and Penalizes Respondents for
Exercising Their Fundamental Right To Travel

Without Necessary Justification. ................ 16
Rp 5 Sb hcg os ek ee 23
GE, A oe Ck EAS soon ces on oe 26

Cases:
Acosta v. San Diego County, 126 Cal.App.2d 455,

ee ee ea eee 17
Arizona v. Hobby, 221 F.2d 498 (1954) ............. 17, 20

I ST, FO okie ie i oS cece ccbsncc 21

(ii)
Dandridge v. Williams, 397 US.474 ......-------++5- 20
Dunn v. Blumstein, 405 U.S.330 ..........---++-- 22, 25
J

Harman v. Forssenius, 380 U.S.528 ........ sh veee een 21
Jefferson v. Hackney, 406 U.S.535 ........-----++-+- 20
Oyama v. California, 332 U.S. 633 .......-----+++++- 21
Richardson v. Belcher, 404 US.78 ........--+-+-005- 20
Shapiro v. Thompson, 394 U.S.618 .........---- 21, 22, 25
Squire v. Capoeman, 351 US.1 ......----- eee seers 16
Youngstown Sheet and Tube Co. v. Sawyer, 343 U.S.

Pr ee rer rs eT ee eee eee 4
Constitution and Statutes:
United States Constitution, Fifth Amendment .........-- 16
Snyder Act, 42 Stat. 208,25 US.C.13 ......------ 3,4, 15
Department of Interior and Related Agencies Appro-

priation Act, 1968, Public Law 90-28, 81 Stat.59 ....... 4
PG BOI one anes ance tin se cescesce teen sean 5
PE Be We bv ec wae Ws cWc ewe d wee e ste se eed es 5
E2ZUBC SISSALD) on were reece ccc wcncesess 17
Congressional material:
Senate:

Senate Committee on Indian Affairs, Subcommittee
on Survey of Conditions of Indians of the United
States, 71st Congress, 3rd Session, 1931, Arizona
De TT, WOR IGs ows oe ne ewe iicctwacceees 6

Hearings, Senate Committee on Appropriations, Sub-
committee on Department of the Interior and
Related Agencies, on HR 4590 (Fiscal 1942) 77th
Congress, Ist Session, 1941, pp 160-162,465,6 ....... 5,6

amepeeneieinns soci
(iii)

Hearings, Senate Committee on Appropriations, Sub-
committee on Department of Interior and Related
Agencies, HR 3123 (Fiscal 1948) 80th Congress,
Ist Session 1947, pp 598-599... 2.1... eee ee eee 336

Hearings, Senate Committee on Appropriations,
Subcommittee on Department of the Interior and
Related Agencies, on HR 3790 (Fiscal 1952) 82nd ;
Congress, Ist Session 1951, pp 372-3 ............---- 6

Hearings, Senate Committee on Appropriations,
Subcommittee on Department of the Interior and
Related Agencies, on HR 10746 (Fiscal 1959)
85th Congress, 2nd Session 1958, p.293 .......... 14, 24

Hearings, Senate Committee on Appropriations,
Subcommittee on Department of the Interior and
Related Agencies, on HR 5915 (Fiscal 1960) 86th
Congress, Ist Session 1959, pp 337-340 ............. 24

Hearings, Senate Committee on Appropriations, —
Subcommittee on Department of the Interior and
‘Related Agencies, on HR 6345 (Fiscal 1962) 87th _
Congress, lot QGuaden 2961.6. 107 a5 ck Se 8
Hearings, Senate Committee on Appropriations,
Subcommittee on Department of the Interior and
Related Agencies, on HR 10433 (Fiscal 1965)
88th Congress, 2nd Session 1964, pp 227-8 .......... 10

Hearings, Senate Committee on Appropriations,
Subcommittee on Department of the Interior and
Related Agencies on HR 14215 (Fiscal 1967) 89th
Congress, 2nd Session 1966, pp 298, 300-302 ......... 14
Hearings, Senate Committee on Appropriations,
Subcommittee on Department of the Interior and
Related Agencies, on HR 9029 (Fiscal 1968) 90th
oe er rr ae 11

Hearings, Senate Committee on Appropriations,
Subcommittee ori Department of the Interior and
Related Agencies, on HR 17354 (Fiscal 1969)
90th Congress, 2nd Session 1968, p.368 ............ ll

(iv)

Hearings, Senate Committee on Appropriations,
Subcommittee on Department of the Interior and
Related Agencies, HR 9417, (Fiscal 1972) 92nd
Congress, Ist Session, 1971, pp 751,753 .....----- 12, 13

House:

Hearings, House Committee on Appropriations,
Subcommittee on Department of the Interior and
Related Agencies (Fiscal 1961) 86th Congress, 2nd
Session 1960, pp 508-10 ........------- eee eeee 7,14

Hearings, House Committee on Appropriations,
Subcommittee on Department of the Interior and
Related Agencies (Fiscal 1962) 87th Congress, Ist
Session 1961, p.98 ....-.---- ee eee ere cece eeeee 8
Hearings, House Committee on Appropriations,
Subcommittee on Department of the Interior and
Related Agencies (Fiscal 1963) 87th Congress, 2nd
Session 1962, pp 3524 ......-----e eee cece eee tee 9

Hearings, House Committee on Appropriations,
Subcommittee on Department of the Interior and
Related Agencies (Fiscal 1964) 88th Congress, Ist
Session 1963, pp 888-89 ........---e eee ee eeeeee 9
Hearings, House Committee on Appropriations,
Subcommittee on Department of the Interior and
Related Agencies (Fiscal 1972) 92nd Congress, Ist

Session 1971, part 6,p.104 .......-----+-eee- a a
Miscellaneous:
yuo fly 2 Soe eee a See ees s eee 5
Ped) ey Pee Me er ree ee eee 2 22
0 Indian Affairs Manual (BIAM) 1.2........----+--+-+- 15
66 Indian Affairs Manual (BIAM) 3.1.4a ........------ 3, 15

66 Indian Affairs Manual (BIAM) 3.1.4b ......-------- 7,17

(v)

Bennett, Problem and Prospects. in Developing
Indian Communities, 10 Ariz. L. Rev. 649 (1968) ....... 2

Taylor, The States and Their Indian Citizens, United
States Department of the Interior, Bureau of

Re FR Ce PE nk ow hee cc ccces 16, 20
U.S. Commission on Civil Rights, The Southwest

a Be eee ere 2
Proposed Federal Rules of Evidence ..................- 3a

Papago Tribe of Arizona v. United States of America,
eg ere ere

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1973

No. 72-1052

ROGERS C. B. MORTON,
SECRETARY OF THE INTERIOR,

Petitioner
v.

RAMON RUIZ AND ANITA RUIZ

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether .an unassimilated Papago Indian residing near
the Papago Indian Reservation and within his tribe’s
aboriginal land may be automatically excluded from ,
participation in the General Assistance Program of the
Bureau of Indian Affairs on the sole ground that he does
not reside within the legal boundary of the reservation.

STATEMENT

While the respondents do not argue with the bare facts
contained in the Secretary’s Statement they would focus
the attention of the Court upon certain background data
which give meaning and perspective to those facts.

As reference to Appendix A, infra, will reveal respon-
dents have remained in the central portion of the land to

2

which their tribe held aboriginal title which is called
“Papagueria” or Land of the Papagos. They reside in a
community known as “Indian Village” within the town
of Ajo, Arizona. Indian Village (not the town of Ajo, as
the Secretary states, Opening Brief 4-5) is populated
almost entirely by Papago Indians. See: Fact 5, App. 45.
The off reservation Papagos, including respondents, have
not been assimilated into the dominent culture and they
have retained their language and tribal identity. See:
Exhibit A to Plaintiff's Cross-Motion for Summary
Judgment (hereinafter refered to as the “Stucki Affida-
vit”) at App. 84-88.

Economic conditions on the Papago Reservation are
among the worst in the United States:

The Papagos, whose arid and lonely territory bor-
ders Mexico, remain in the ranks of the most
economically depressed of all American groups,
although the possibility of mineral development
now offers some hope. Scattered and only loosely
related small villages, in an area of the state that has
been slow to develop economically, has made
community development all but impossible. Ben-
nett, Problem and Prospects in Developing Indian
Communities, 10 Ariz. L. Rev. 649 (1968)
As a result of the lack of economic opportunity on the
reservation many Papagos are forced to seek employment
in Anglo communities near the reservation, where they
again find their job opportunities limited:
On all reservations studied in the State of Arizona a
clear pattern emerged: Indians are denied equal
access to-jobs and job promotion in all levels of
private industry located on or near reservations and
in bordertowns surrounding reservations. U.S. Com-
mission on Civil Rights, The Southwest Indian
Report (USGPO 1973)
In sum, respondents are economically deprived unas-
similated Papago Indians, residing in an Indian commu-

3

nity located in the central portion of the land that has
always been occupied by their tribe.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

While the Snyder Act was promulgated to insure
continuity in the appropriations process it nonetheless
constitutes the fundamental authority under which the
BIA expends its funds. Since the language of the act is
plain and mandatory the Secretary must follow it unless
Congress has by later legislation clearly indicated its
intent to modify the Snyder Act mandate. The various
appropriations acts, including specifically the 1968 Act,
contain no language indicating such an intent. Moreover,
there is no basis upon which the Court can infer that
intent since the presentations made to the Appropriations
Committees have been unclear and contradictory. The
internal agency instruction (66 IAM 3.1.4) itself cannot
serve as a basis for that inference since it has not been
made public in accordance with stated Bureau of Indian
Affairs policies and procedures.

Even if the Court were to infer Congressional limita-
tion through later legislation, the limitation as applied to
respondents deprives them of equal protection of law and
infringes upon their fundamental right to travel through-
out their historic tribal territory.

ARGUMENT
I.

THE SNYDER ACT CONSTITUTES THE FUNDA-
MENTAL CONGRESSIONAL MANDATE TO THE
SECRETARY OF THE INTERIOR IN REGARD TO
INDIAN AFFAIRS AND THE SECRETARY HAS NO
AUTHORITY TO VIOLATE THAT MANDATE UN-
LESS CONGRESS HAS MODIFIED IT BY LATER
LEGISLATION.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386414_0241%3A05. Public record. Not legal advice.
