# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Llerena v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386414_0235%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1972
- **Citation:** 409 U.S. 878

## Text

INDEX

Opinions below
Jurisdiction
Question presented
Statement
Reasons for granting the writ
Conclusion
Appendix A, opinion of the court of appeals__
Appendix B, judgment of the court of ap-
peals

Appendix C, supplemental opinion of the court
of appeals

Appendix D, orders denying rehearing
Appendix E, orders of the district court
Appendix F, opinion of the district court

CITATIONS
Cases:

‘ Aircraft & Diesel Equipment Corp. v.
Hirsch, 331 U.S. 752
American Federation of Government Em-
ployees, AFL-CIO v. Fletcher (D.D.C.,
No. CA 1238-72, order of June 30,
1972), writ of mandamus denied (C.A.
D.C., No. 72-1615) 8
American Federation of Government Em-
ployees v. Resor, 442 F. 2d 9988
Hills v. Eisenhart, 256 F. 2d 609, certio-
rari denied, 358 U.S. 832

Cases—Continued Page

Keim v. United States, 177 U.S. 290 __ 5
Kirk v. Kleindienst (D.D.C., No. C.A.
1397.72, order of July 25, 1972), mo-
tion for stay pending appeal or sum-
mary reversal denied (C.A.D.C., No.
72-1704, August 16, 1972) 11
American Federation of Government Em-
ployees v. Paine, 436 F. 2d 882

McKart v. United States, 395 U.S. 185. 8
Ogden v. Department of Transportation,

430 F. 2d 660 9
Schwartz v. Covington, 341 F. 2d 537 9

United States v. Professional Air Traffic
Controllers Organization, 438 F. 2d 79,

certiorari denied, 402 U.S. 9195 9
White v. Berry, 171 U.S. 36 5
Whitney National Bank v. Bank of New
Orleans, 379 U.S. 411 8
Statutes:

37 Stat. 555 (now codified, as amended,

at 5 U.S.C. 7501) 6
58 Stat. 390-391 6
62 Stat. 355 6
80 Stat. 94-95, now codified at 5 U.S.C.

5596 7

Miscellaneous:
5 C. F. R.:

315.804
315.805 3
315.806 3, 5, 6
772.304
772.305
94 Cong. Rec. 6681

27 Fed. Reg.:

556, E. O. 10988, § 14
4759, now 5 C. F. R. 752.101-752. 402

H. Rep. No. 32, 89th Cong., Ist Sess. _
S. Rep. No. 1062, 89th Cong., 2d Sess. __

i

00 0 OO WwW

aA OOH

Iu the Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1972

No.

ROBERT L. KUNZIG, ADMINISTRATOR, GENERAL
SERVICES ADMINISTRATION, ET AL., PETITIONERS

V.

JEANNE M. MURRAY

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

The Solicitor General, on behalf of the appellants
in the court below, petitions for a writ of certiorari
to review the judgment of the United States Court
of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit in
this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The initial (App. A, infra, pp. la-22a) and supple-
mental (App. C, infra, pp. 24a-33a) opinions of the
court of appeals are not yet reported. The opinion
of the district court (App. F, infra, pp. 39a-43a) is
not reported.

(1)

2
JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals (App. B,
infra, p. 23a) was entered on February 29, 1972,
and a petition for rehearing with a suggestion for
rehearing en banc was denied on April 27, 1972
(App. D, infra, pp. 34a-35a). On July 20, 1972, the
Chief Justice extended the time for filing a petition
for a writ of certiorari to September 9, 1972. The
jurisdiction of this Court.is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
1254(1).

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether, in a routine probationary employee
discharge case, the district court may properly order
an agency to retain the employee until after she
exhausts her remedies with the Civil Service Com-
mission. a

STATEMENT

On May 20, 1971, respondent, a probationary em-
ployee hired in January 1971 by the General Services
Administration at an annual salary in excess of 818,
000, received written notice that she was being dis-
charged effective May 29 for her complete unwill-
ingness to follow office procedure and to accept di-
rection from [her] supervisors” (App. A, infra, p.
3a). The notice complied with the applicable Civil
Service Commission regulations governing the dis-
charge of federal probationary employees if in fact
her discharge was based on conduct occurring dur-

3

ing the probationary period. See 5 C.F.R. 315.804.
Alleging, however, that her discharge was based in
part on conduct occurring prior to the probationary
period and that she was thus entitled under 5 C. F. R.

| 315.805 to a more detailed notice and an opportunity

to submit a written reply and affidavits, respondent
filed an administrative appeal with the Civil Service
Commission (App. A, infra, p. 3a). See 5 C. F. R.
315.806 (e).

. While her administrative appeal was pending, re-
spondent brought this action in the district court
seeking an injunction against the proposed discharge
and a declaration that it was invalid (App. A, infra,

pp. 3a-4a). She claimed that, in the absence of in-
junctive relief, she would suffer irreparable injury if
discharged pending review of her claim by the Com-
mission. While she acknowledged that the Commis-
sion could grant her a lump sum backpay award if

it decided her appeal in her favor, she contended
that the loss of present wages would make her un-
able to meet her “payments, mortgages, tuition, a
(App. A, infra, p. 10a).

On May 28, 1971, one day before respondent’s
scheduled termination of employment, the district
court issued a temporary restraining order barring
respondent’s discharge by the General Services Ad-
ministration until the motion for a preliminary in-
junction could be heard (App. E, infra, pp. 36a-37a).
At the hearing on the motion, the district court de-
termined that a crucial issue in the proceeding was
whether the GSA official who made the decision to dis-

et eR THO AER ARE EATER PETS LOREEN RETR ENIE KE AIT TE TET I

4

charge respondent had based his decision solely on
respondent’s conduct during her period of probation.
Rejecting the government’s offer to produce an affi-
davit from the official, the court stated that it want-
ed to hear the live testimony of the official so that
it could “make up [its] mind as to whether he is
telling the truth” (Tr. 9).' Accordingly, the earlier
stay was continued pending the appearance of the
official (App. E, infra, p. 38a). The court subse-
quently issued an opinion concluding that it had ju-
risdiction to resolve the question whether the gov-
ernment followed its own regulations” (App. F,
infra, p. 48a). Pending review of the district court’s
action, the government has not called the GSA offi-
cial to testify and the Commission has not processed
respondent’s appeal.

The court of appeals affirmed the district court’s
order by a divided vote (App. A, infra, pp. la-22a).
The court noted that the Civil Service Commission
has no authority to stay a discharge pending admin-
istrative review, although it can award backpay and
order reinstatement (App. A, infra, pp. 3a, 10a). The
court held, however, that the district court has gen-
eral equity. power to grant a preliminary injunction
to prevent irreparable injury during the course of
administrative proceedings and that this power in-
cludes the power to conduct an evidentiary hearing
on disputed factual matters (App. A, infra, pp. 6a-

5

15a). The dissenting judge stated that the majority’s
“broad and novel” holding did violence to the statu-
tory scheme governing the dismissal and reinstate-
ment of federal employees (App. A, infra, p. 19a).

In denying a petition for rehearing, the court is-
sued a supplemental opinion stating that this case
involved “unusual circumstances” and “a very lim-
ited principle“ (App. C, infra, p. 25a). The full
court denied the government’s suggestion for rehear-
ing en banc by a vote of 6 to 3 (App. D, infra, p.
35a).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The decision below represents a novel and unwar-
ranted interference with the authority of the execu-
tive to dismiss federal probationary employees sum-
marily, subject only to a very limited post-discharge
right of appeal to the Civil Service Commission. See
5 C. F. R. 315.806. For the first time, the court below
has authorized district courts to go beyond their lim-
ited function of reviewing completed Civil Service
Commission determinations and to enjoin discharges
pending administrative review. The decision conflicts
with decisions of other courts of appeals and is in-
consistent with the established administrative scheme
for the resolution of federal employee disputes.

1. Under prior decisions of this Court, the fed-
eral courts have no general equity jurisdiction to in-
terfere with the summary dismissal of federal em-
ployees. See White v. Berry, 171 U.S. 366, 377-378;
Keim v. United States, 177 U.S. 290, 293-296. Over
the years, however, an administrative scheme has
been developed for the protection of federal employ-

To protect certain federal employees against arbi-
trary discharges, Congress, in 1912, enacted the
Lloyd-LaFollette Act, 37 Stat. 555 (now codified, as
amended, at 5 U.S.C. 7501). That Act provided that
no person in the “classified civil service” could be
removed except for such cause as would “promote
the efficiency of the service” and then only after he
had been given notice of, and an opportunity to an-
swer, the charges against him. In Section 14 of the
1944 Veterans’ Preference Act, 58 Stat. 390-391, Con-
gress took another step in protecting federal employ-
ees by providing for a right of appeal to the Civil
Service Commission by a discharged permanent civil
service employee entitled to a veteran’s preference.
This right of appeal to the Commission was extended
to most employees in the competitive civil service by
Commission regulations (27 Fed. Reg. 4759; now 5
C.F.R. 752.101-752.402) adopted pursuant to Section
14 of Executive Order No. 10988, January 17, 1962,
27 Fed. Reg. 556. The more limited appeal rights
of probationary employees are contained in 5 C. F. R.
315.806.

In 1948, Congress amended the basic Lloyd-La-
Follette Act of 1912 to provide that any person in
the “classified civil service’ who is discharged and
later restored to the service on the ground that his
discharge was unjustified is entitled to backpay for
the period he was out of work. 62 Stat. 355. In en-
acting this backpay statute, Congress recognized the
continuing authority of the executive to dismiss a
federal employee, and merely provided a means for

7

compensating the employee in the event his discharge
was overturned on appeal. During the debates on
the legislation, the manager of the bill in the Senate,
Senator Langer, commented that the bill (94 Cong.
Rec. 6681)

8 * provides that an agency or department of
the Government may remove any employee at any
time, but that the employee shall then have a
right of appeal. When he is removed, he is of
course off the pay roll. If he wins the appeal,
it is provided that he shall be paid for the time
during which he was suspended. [Emphasis sup-
plied.]
In 1966, Congress extended the backpay provisions
(now codified at 5 U.S.C. 5596) to cover all wrong-
fully discharged federal employees, including proba-
tionary employees. 80 Stat. 94-95. The purpose of
the extension, like the purpose of the 1948 provision,
was to provide the means whereby all wrongfully dis-
charged employees could be “made whole”. S.Rep.
No. 1062, 89th Cong., 2d Sess., p. 2; H.Rep. No. 32,
89th Cong., Ist Sess., p. 1.

Thus, a comprehensive administrative scheme has
been established, pursuant to statute and Executive
Order, for the review of adverse actions taken against
federal employees. Congress has chosen not to limit
the authority of executive agencies to discharge em-
ployees pending administrative review of the adverse
actions, but instead enacted the backpay provisions
to make them whole in the event they were rein-
stated. Accordingly, under settled legal principles,

8 8

the backpay remedy is exclusive, and the court below
erred in holding to the contrary. As this Court has
stated in another context, where Congress:
* * * has enacted a specific statutory scheme
for obtaining review * * * the doctrine of ex-
haustion of administrative remedies comes into
play and requires that the statutory mode of re-
view to be adhered to notwithstanding the ab-
sence of an express statutory command of exclu-
siveness.
Whitney National Bank v. Bank of New Orleans,
379 U.S. 411, 422. See also McKart v. United States,
395 U.S. 185, 193-195; Aircraft & Diesel Equipment
Corp. v. Hirsch, 331 U.S. 752, 767.768.

2. By involving the district courts in discharge
disputes prior to the completion of administrative
review proceedings, the decision below conflicts with
decisions of other courts of appeals. In American
Federation of Government Employees v. Resor, 442
F. 2d 993 (C. A. 3), certain federal employees sought
to enjoin their discharges pursuant to a reduction in
force directive. In affirming the district court’s re-
fusal to act prior to the exhaustion of remedies be-
fore the Civil Service Commission, the court there
held (442 F. 2d at 994):

For the courts to act prematurely, prior to the
final decision of the appropriate administrative
agency, would raise a serious question regarding
the doctrine of the separation of powers, and in
any event would violate a congressional decision
that the present controversy be initially consid-
ered by the Civil Service Commission.

9

See also United States v. Professional Air Traffic
Controllers Organiztaion, 438 F. 2d 79 (CA. 2),
certiorari denied, 402 U.S. 915; Ogden v. Depart-
ment of Transportation, 430 F. 2d 660 (C.A. 6);
Hills v. Eisenhart, 256 F. 2d 609 (C.A. 9), certio-
rari denied, 358 U.S. 832. But see Schwartz v. Cov-
ington, 341 F. 2d 537 (C.A. 9).

3. The court below attempted to justify its deci-
sion on the ground that it was not interfering with
the administrative scheme for reviewing discharge
disputes, but was only sanctioning interim relief
which the Civil Service Commission was powerless
to grant (App. A, infra, pp. 6a-7a). Apart from its
failure to recognize that Congress intended reinstate-
ment and backpay to be the exclusive form of relief
from wrongful discharges, this rationale seriously
misjudges the impact of the decision on the adminis-
trative process.

Under 5 C.F.R. 315.806, a federal probationary
employee may appeal his discharge to the Commis-
sion only if he alleges that the discharge was based
on discrimination because of race, color, religion, sex
or national origin or, as respondent has all in
this case, that the procedures under 5 C. F. R. 315.805
relating to termination on the basis of conditions
arising before employment were not complied with.
On such an appeal, the probationary employee may
submit evidence by affidavit (5 C.F.R. 772.304(a)),
but is not entitled to a hearing.“ Thus, under the

2 Permanent employees challenging adverse action are
entitled to a hearing before the Commission. See 5 C. F. R.
772.305.

10

applicable regulations, executive agencies may sum-
marily dismiss probationary employees subject only
to limited and summary review by the Commission.
We are informed by the Civil Service Commission
that in fiscal year 1971, some 4,430 probationary
employees were released by the federal government.

Under the decision below, probationary employees
may seek review of their discharges in the district
courts prior to any action by the Commission by
alleging that they will be irreparably injured if dis-
charged pending Commission review, and the district
court may hold an evidentiary hearing to determine
whether an injunction should issue. In the present
case, for example, the district court ordered the gov-
ernment to produce a witness to enable the court to
resolve the very issue that is the subject of respond-
ent’s appeal to the Commission—i.e., whether her
discharge was based on conduct arising prior to her
employment. Nor, despite the court of appeals’ dis-
claimer (App. C, infra, p. 25a), can it be antici-
pated that the district courts will become involved
only in rare instances. Virtually all discharged fed-
eral employees could make allegations similar to re-
spondent’s of irreparable injury from loss of wages.
Moreover, on the merits, respondent contests her dis-
charge on a relatively routine procedural ground.
In short, the decision below threatens to disrupt
pervasively the summary procedures for discharging
federal probationary employees found unfit for fur-
ther service.

Nor is the impact of the decision below confined to
the discharge of probationary employees. If allowed

ll

to stand, the decision will add a new tier of litiga-
tion in all federal personnel cases. The potential
volume of new litigation is indicated by the fact that
according to Commision figures some 15,590 indi-
vidual adverse actions and some 21,590 reduction in
force actions were taken against federal employees
during fiscal year 1971. During the same year, the
Commission decided 3,883 appeals at its first level
of review. While a substantial number of suits seek-
ing review of completed Commission proceedings are
filed in the district court each year, the decision below
will encourage employees with administrative appeals
pending to seek preliminary relief pending comple-
tion of Commission proceedings. At least 12 suits
have already been brought in the district court on
the basis of the decision below, and the district court
has thus far granted relief in two of these cases.“

3 American Federation of Government Employees v. Fletch-
er, D. D.C., No. C.A. 1238-72, (June 30, 1972), writ of
mandamus denied (C.A. D.C., No. 72-1615) (reduction in
force of 500 NASA employees restrained); Kirk v. Klein-
dienst, D. D.C., No. C.A. 1897-72 (July 25, 1972), motion
for stay pending appeal or summary reversal denied (C.A.
D.C., No. 72-1704, August 16, 1972) (enjoining discharge of
non-career supergrade appointee with an annual salary of
$34,623). The other ten cases pending before the district court
are: Casarella v. Volpe, C. A. 188-72 (complaint filed prior to
court of appeals’ decision; plaintiff relied on decision after
rendition) ; Hasson v. Hampton, C.A. 1231-72; Hamm v.
Hoover, C.A. 649-72; Hampton v. Hubble, C.A. 873-72; San-
chez v. Richardson, C. A. 1634-72; Tarpley v. Department of
Army, C.A. 1897-72; Tarpley v. Froehlke, C.A. 926-72;
Tulbert v. Butz, C.A. 1108-72; Uehlinger v. Seamans, C.A.
1096-72; and Williams v. Mumford, C.A. 1633-72.

12

It is thus apparent that the principle at issue here
is of great importance to the administration of the
federal civil service and, more fundamentally, to the
effective performance of the government’s functions
and implementation of its programs.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be
granted. | |

Respectfully submitted.

ERWIN N. GRISWOLD,
Solicitor General.
HARLINGTON WoOoD, IR.,
Assistant Attorney General.

SAMUEL HUNTINGTON,
Assistant to the Solicitor General.

WALTER H. FLEISCHER,
RAYMOND D. BATTOCCHI,
Attorneys.

a

APPENDIX A

la

United States Caurt nf Appeals

FOR THE MISTRICT OF COLG MBIA CIRCUIT
—
‘No. 71-1586
Jeanxe M. Mornay
V.

Ronxxr L. Kunzic,
ApMINIsTRATOR, GENERAL SERVICES, ET Ar, APPELLANTS

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the District of Columbia

—

Decided February 29, 1972

Before Ronrxsox, Ross and WILKEy, Circuit Judges.

Opinion for the Court fied by WILKEY, Circuit Judge.
Dissenting opinion filed by Ross, Circuit Judge,

Winxry, Circuit Judge: On 20 May 1971 Mrs. Jeanne
M. Murray; the appellee, received written notice from one
W. H. Sanders, Acting Commissioner, Public. Buildings
Service, General Services Administration, that her employ-,
ment with that agency was being terminated effective 29
May 1971: Mrs. Murray had been working as a program
analyst for the Public Buildings Service since 5 January
1971, and at the time she received this notice of termina-
tion her probationary period of employment in that posi-.
tion had not yet expired.“

Under the. applicable Federal Regulations, a proba-
‘tionary employee such as Mrs. Murray may be terminated
either as a result of (1) conduct during the probationary
period, or (2) reasons based in whole or in part on condi-
tions arising before the employment in question.“ When a
probationary employee is terminated for conduct during
his probationary period, the agency is simply required to
givé him written notice of the effective date of his separa-
tion and “the agency’s conclusions as, to ‘the inadequacies
of his performance or conduct,” but when the termination
is based in whole or in part ou conditions arising before
the employment in question, the employee. must be given
advance written notice detailing the reasons for the pro-
posed termination; an opportunity to file a written an-
swer to the notice, and an opportunity to furnish affidavits
in support of such answer. Further, the agency is required

1For:the statutory authority for such probationary pe-
riods, see 5 U.S.C. (Supp.. V) 3321, Public Law 89-554, 80
Stat. 422 (1966). N

2 Phe applicable regulations are to be found at 5 C. F. R.
88 315.801—315.807 (1970 Edition). Section 315.804 refers
to termination for conduct during the probationary period,
and § 315.805 covers termination for conditions arising be-
fore appointment.

to take such answer and affidavits into account in reaching
its final decision on termination.

Probationary employees are given the right to appeal
terminations to the Civil Service Commission when the
employee alleges that the termination has not complied
with the applicable federal law and regulations.“

The termination notice that Mrs. Murray received on 20
May 1971 was in the form required-for a termination
based - on conduct during the probationary period, and
gave as the reason that she had “shown complete unwill-
ingness to follow office procedure and to accept direction
from [her] supervisors.” 4 Shortly before the effective date
of termination Mrs. Murray’s attorneys contacted a per-
sonnel official at GSA and suggested (on the basis of in-
formation that they had acquired through investigation)
that her termination may have been based on conduct
which occurred prior to her GSA employment, and the
lawyers reminded the official that in that event Mrs. Mur-
ray would be entitled to additional procedural rights,
which she had so far not been offered. After Mrs. Mur-
ray’s counsel was informed by the GSA that she would not
be afforded these additional procedures, Mrs. Murray
filed a timely appeal of her discharge, alleging that the
discharge was invalid because, inter alia, it was based in
part on conduct occurring prior to her employment with
the GSA, and she should have been afforded the addi-
tional rights appurtenant to such a discharge.

It is important to note that the Civil Service Commission
has no power to order a stay of such a discharge. Con-
fronted with this situation, Mrs. Murray brought this ac-
tion in the District Court seeking a declaration that her

25 C.F.R. § 315.806.

4 The notice is marked as Exhibit A in the record before
us. . .

4a

discharge was invalid, and an injunction restraining her
termination. With her complaint she filed a motion for a
temporary restraining order (T.R.O.), which was issued
on 28 May 1971, prohibiting the GSA from terminating
her employment “until the determination of plaintiff's ap-
plication for an injunction and other relief.“ On 8 June
1971 Mrs. Murray filed a motion for a preliminary injunc-
tion, and on that same day Government counsel filed a mo-
tidn to dismiss. On 4 June 1971 the District Court held a
hearing on the motion for a preliminary injunction.

At that hearing the Government counsel argued that the
District Court lacked jurisdiction to enjoin the termination
(or any other jurisdiction in the matter) until Mrs. Mur-
ray had exhausted her remedies before the Civil Service
Commission. Mrs. Murray's counsel drew a distinction be-
tween the type of interlocutory relief that she was seeking
on her motion (which relief was requested only until the
Civil Service Commission had: acted on her appeal), and
an actual adjudication on the morits of tho contention that
her discharge was improper.* The District Court deter-
mined that a crucial issue in the proceeding was the verac-
ity of the assertion that Mr. Sanders, who apparently
made the decision on termination, had based his decision
only on her conduct during her probationary, period.“ Gov-
ernment counsel offered to produce Mr. Sanders“ affidavit
to that effect, but Judge Gasch concluded that he wanted to
hear Mr. Sanders in person, and that the stay would be
continued until Mr. Sanders appeared to testify.

* Appendix, pp. 34-35,

: + Seo Transcript of Proceeding, oem Action No, 1088.1,
4 June 1971, at 4-6, hereafter “Tr.

Tr. 2-8, 7-8.
Tr. , 8-11,

5a

Thus a new stay was issued on 4 Juno 1971, continuing
the T. R. O. of 28 May 1971, “pending the appearance before
this Court of Mr. W. H. Sanders, Acting Commissioner,
Public Buildings Service, . because, unless Defendants
hre. restrained from terminating Plaintiff's employment,
Plaintiff may suffer immediate and irreparable injury,
loss and damage before the Civil Service Commission can
consider Plaintiff's claim. . r

_ By the terms of the two stays it was apparent that they
would no longer be in effect after a “final hearing on the
merits by the Civil Service Commission,” * but in order to
avoid mooting the issue of tho legality of the stays and the
District Court's insistence on hearing Mr. Sanders, the
Civil Service Commission has not passed on Mrs, Mur-
ray’s appeal, and will not until after the case at bar has
been decided by this Court. The stay of 4 June 1971 is
still in effect, the Government has declined to produce Mr.
Sanders to testify, and we are informed that Mrs. Murray
is, still working at the Public Buildings Service.

On this’ appeal the Government challenges the validity
of the stays by urging that (1) the District Court lacked
jurisdiction to enjoin the discharge of a probationary em-
ployee whose appeal challenging the Wischarge was pending
before the Civil Service Commission,.and (2) that the Dis-
trict Court improperly restrained: the discharge of a pro-
bationary employee until the acting head of the agency
in which the employee worked presented testimony in the
District Court concerning the reasons for the discharge.
We find both of the Government's contentions to be with-
out merit, and we thus affirm the order of the. District
Court.

Appendix, p. 88.
Appendix, p. 84.

I. The District Court’s R to Enjoin the- Dis-
charge

It is important to specify * what legal issue con-
fronts us. We are here concerned with the propriety of
the court's granting interim injunctive relief pending an
administrative determination on the merits, when there is
vo statutory provision specifically authorizing such re-
lief. In the past this issue has been confused with the re-
lated, but quite distinct, issue of the necessity for the ex:
haustion of administrative remedies before an adjudication:
on the merits may be obtained - in a court. “. This error

. me
~

r
Interim Injunctive — Pending Administrative Determi-

“32 Comment, supra note ll, at 1127-1128; Jaffe, supra note
11, at 669-671.

tn ads & GA tie Gl’ Os 6 2 ee
the exhaustion of remedies doctrine does not apply, it is
possible to regard the case at bar as one in which the ad-
ministrative remedies available to the appellee have indeed
been. exhausted. What was sought here was the interim re-
lief of a stay to prevent Mrs. Murray 8

Civil Service Commission, to whom the —— of the .
PD
There is thus no administrative body to look to for the i
terim relief which was sought. As there was no
trative remedy available to her, it can be sai
as the question of interim relief is concerned, Mrs. Mur-

225
i
11
3
1
173
i.
1
ait

here that “the exhaustion of administrative remedies doc-
trine is fully applicable to cases in which temporary _injunc-

72

stems from the failure to recognize that. what is sought in
actions such as the case at bar is not a determination on
the merits that will be binding upon the administrative
agency before that agency has had its chance to complete
its:procedures for such a determination, but is simply an
interim form of relief to prevent irreparable damage to
the parties or to the public interest while the final out-
come of the administrative. determination is uncertain.
Such interim relief is not the interference with agency ac-
tions which the echaustion of remedies’ doctrine seeks to
prevent, but instead often serves as un nid to the admin.
istrative process; since by preserving the status quo it
ensures that. the final ‘administrative determination will
not be undermined or rendered ineffective by hasty or in-
correct procedures at un earlier Stage.!". : i. Be

bis error, this. confusién=of the ted ‘distinct issues of

8a.

proper are all cases which deal with the impropriety of a
court’s rendering a finding on the merits before adminis-
trative remedies have been. exhausted.“ None of these
four eases addresses the problem of the propriety of in-
junctive relief to stay a discharge which is not yet effec-
tive at the time the relief.is sought from the courts. Fur-
thermore, other cases cited by the Government recognize
that in some situations interlocutory relief, such as is
sought here, may be granted, although the particular
facts of those cases did not call for such relief.

Having thus spelled out the precise legal issue with
which we are concerned, and the Government's confusion
with respect to it, we now determine whether in this in-
stance the District Court had jurisdiction to grant the in-
terim relief sought. ,

Perhaps the best guidance is provided by thé opinion
of Justice Frankfurter, speaking for the Court in Scripps-
Howard Radio v. FCC (1942).“ That case arose on cer-
tificate from this court, and held that even where there
was no specific statutory grant of authority, this court
had the power to stay the execution of an order of the
Federal Communications Comnission from which an ap-
peal had been taken, pending. the determination of the ap-
peal. While the appeal in Scripps-Iloward was, to this

14 See Green v. Baugman, 94 U.S. App. D.C. 291, 214 F.2d
$78 (1954), Young v. Higley, 95 U.S. App. D.C. 122, 220
F.2d 487 (1955), Lodge 1858, American Federation of Gov-
ernment Employees v. Paine, 141 U.S. App. D.C. 152, 436
F.2d 882 (1970), and Johnson v. Nelson, 86 U.S. App. D.C.
98, 180 F.2d 386 (1950), cert. denied 339 U.S. 957 (1950).

18 See American Federation of Government Employees, Lo-
cal 1904, Local 1498 v. Resor, 442 F.2d 993 (3rd Cir., 1971) ;
United States v. Professional Air Traffic Controllers Organi-
zation, 488 F.2d 79 (2nd Cir., 1970) ; Ogden v.
of Transportation, 430 F.2d 660 (6th Cir., 1970).

1 316 U.S. 4 N

court, and the appeal in the case at bar is to another organ
‘of the agency, we think that the Court’s reasoning still

applies:

No court can make time stand still. The circumstances
surrounding a controversy may change irrevocably
during the pendency of an appeal, despite anything a
court can do. But within these limits it is reasonable
that an appellate court should be able to prevent ir-
8 injury to the parties or to the public re-
‘sulting from the premature enforcement of & deter-
mination which may later be found to have been
wrong. It has always been held, therefore, that as
part of its traditional equipment for the administra-
tion of justice, a federal court can stay the enforce-
ment of a judgment pending the outcome of an ap-.

Recently, in FTC’v. Dean Foods Co. (1966), the Su-
preme Court again alluded to this power to grant a stay,
this time at the request of an agency, pending its. own

final determination :
[D]ecisions of this Court thave recognized a limited
judicial power to preserve the court’s jurisdiction or
maintain the status quo by injunction pending review
of an agency’s action through the prescribed statu-
tory channels... . Such power has been deemed merely
incidental to the courts’ jurisdiction to review final

* agency action. N

un 16 U.S., at 9-10. The principal authority for this hold-
ing was the All Writs Act, § 262 of the Judicial Code, then
28 U.S.C. § 377, which empowered the federal courts “to is-
sue all writs not specifically provided for by statute, which
may be necessary for the exercise of their respective juris-

dictions, and ble to the usages and principles of law.”
316 U.S., at rs This provision is now be found at 28

U.S.C. § 1651 (a), and reads The Supreme Court and all

necessary or appropriate in aid of their respective jurisdic-
tions and agreeable to the usages and principles of law.”

1 84 US. 597. 7 5 a

* 1 384 U.S., at 604. The portion in inner quotations is taken

10a

The power to issue such relief is necessary because of
the possibility of irr@parable harm, but as the Court made
clear in Scripps-Howard Radio, supra, the exercise of the
power is discretionary:
If the administrative agency has committed errors of
law for the correction of which the legislature has
provided appropriate resort to tlie courts, such judi-
cial review would be an idle ceremony if the situation
were irreparably changed before the correction could
be made. [But] . . Ja] stay is not a matter of right,
even if irreparable ‘injury might othegWise result to
the appellant. [Citation omitted.] It an exercise of
‘judicial discretion. The propriety @f its issue is de-
pendent upon the circumstances of the particular
case.’ [Citations omitted.] *

Thus, before such relief may “be granted, it must be
shown that there is a possibility of irreparable harm
without it. Mrs. Murray has urged that if relief is denied
she may suffer such -irreparable- harm, even if she were
eventually to prevail on the merits of her appeal to the
Civil Service Commission and be granted a lump-sum
award, since because of an absence of present wages she
may be unable to meet her ongoing financial commitments
such as “payments, mortgages, tuition, eto.“ * (We might

from Arrow Transp. Co. v. Southern R. Co., 372 U.S. 658,
671,.n.22 (1963). “There the Court cited such authority as
Scripps-Howard Radio, Inc. v. Federal Communications
Comm’n, 316 U.S. 4 (1942)-; West India Fruit & S.S. Co. v.
Seatrain Lines, Inc. 170 F. 2d 775 (C. A. 2d Cir., 1948); and
Board of Governors v. Trunsamerica * 184 F. 2d 311
(C.A. 9th Cir.), cert, denied, 340 U.S. 883 (1950).“ 384
U.S., at 604. g

2 316 U.S., at 10-11.

* Brief for Appellee, at 8-9.

The assertion of the dissent that The majority attempts to
justify its decision’ by finding that unless interim relief is
granted, Mrs. Murray may suffer irreparable harm from a
temporary loss of wages” is an erroneous conception of the

lla

also mention the humiliation, scorn, and other emotional
factors which might attend an unwarranted discharge, and
which an award of money may hardly rectify.) Without
passing on the merits of Mrs. Murray’s contention that
she will suffer irreparable harm if the sought-for-relief is
not granted (a task for the District Court here), we note
that there was a determination that such a loss of em-
ployment could be “irreparable harm” in Reeber v.
Nossell. (1950), a case quite similar to that at bar. We
agree with the Reeber court that such a loss of employ-
ment can amount to irreparable harm, and that injunctive
relief may be a proper remedy pending the final adminis-
trative determination of the validity of the discharge by

majority’s position. We cannot, of course, make any such
finding, as that is for the trial judge, who has not yet (and
may never) decide this point in favor of Mrs. Murray. See
infra, Part III. We agree with the position taken by the
dissent that a remedy for “temporary loss of wages“ has
been provided by Congress in the Back Pay Act of 1966, 5
U.S.C. § 5596 (1970). In most cases this may prove to be
a complete safeguard for a discharged (or soon to be dis-
charged) federal employee, and consequently judicial inter-
vention to grant a stay would be unwarranted for the rea-
sons given in the dissent of Judge Robb. Nevertheless, there
are occasionally exceptional cases where the remedy of back
pay or reinstatement will not be enough, and an exercise
of the court’s equity powers to grant interim relief may be
called for. See Covington v. Schwartz, 341 F.2d 537 (9th Cir.
1965). Congress presumably could remove the jurisdiction
of the District Courts to grant such equitable interim relief,
in light of the remedies available, such as the Back Pay Act,
but so far it has not seen fit explicitly to do so. Until the
day that it does, we are unwilling to rule that the District
Courts may not continue to perform their historical role
and grant equitable relief in the exceptional cases which
may arise in this area. See infra, note 34 and accompanying
text. 92

2 91 F. Supp. 108 (S. D. N. I., Kaufman, J.). See also Cov-
ington v. Schwartz, 341 F.2d 637 (9th Cir. 1965).

12 4

the Civil Service Commission. Since this relief may be
proper in the form of an injunction, it follows that a
T. R. O. which is issued to preserve the status quo pending
a hearing on the injunctive relief, as we have in this case,
is also proper. . °

We do not think that there is any distinction to be made

here between :“temporary” or “permanent” federal em-
ployees, since a temporary employee certainly may be just
as irreparably damaged by a termination that is not in
accord with agency regulations. The issue in each instance
is the same: has the agency accorded procedural due proo-
ess under its own regulations?. Thus, it is within the
court’s discretion to grant interlocutory relief in a case of
either type of employment, provided that the necessary
conditions for an exercise ,of that diseretion are present.
We now move on to enumerate those conditions.

The landmark decision in our Circuit on the factors
which influence the decision here on whether to grant ex-
traordinary relief is Virginia Petroleum Jobbers Ass’n v.
FTC (1958).* Judges Miller, Bazelon, and Burger, in a
per curiam opinion, held that four questions must be
asked: (1) Has the petitioner made a strong showing that
he is likely to prevail on the merits on his appeal? (2) Has
the petitioner shown that without such relief he will be
irreparably injured? (3) Would the issuance of a stay sub-
stantially harm other parties interested in the- proceed-
ings? (4) Where lies the public interest? * This four-
quéstion formula must be applied by the trial courts in
deciding whether to grant a stay, and the formula has
been widely referred to. The first of these four ques-

* 104 U.S. App. D.C. 106, 259 F.2d 921.

* These four tests are discussed at 104 U.S. App. D. C., at
110, and 259 F.2d, at 925.

% Jaffe, supra note 11, at 689.

13 a

tions, “Has the petitioner made a strong showing that he
is likely to prevail on the merits of his appeal?”, is of par-
ticular interest ‘to us here, since it is the question which
has resulted in the second issue in this appeal, and it is
to this issue which we now turn. . :

II. The District Court’s Power to Continue Iis Order Un-
til Mr. Sanders. Appears to Testify

One of Mrs. Murray’s chief contentions in her appeal to
the Civil Service Commission is that her termination was
based at least in part on events which took place prior to
her employment with the GSA.“ If Mrs. Murray is cor-
rect, she will prevail in her appeal to the Commission, bo-
cause admittedly the agency did not accord her the hearing
and other procedural due process called for by its own reg-
ulations. Thus the accuracy of this contention is important
for the District Court here in answering the first of the
four questions. to determine whether a stay should be
granted, “Has the petitioner made a strong showing that
he is likely to prevail on the merits of his appeal?”

While it is not explicit from the record that the Dis-
trict Court was secking to determine the veracity of this
allegation of Mrs. Murray’s as part-of the four-question
formula for determining the propriety of a stay, we think
that this may be implied, and knowing that ‘the District
Court is thoroughly familiar with Petroleum Jobbers, this
is what it must eventually come to. It is clear that it was
this question, whether the termination was based on
events which took place before Mrs. Murray’s temporary
employment, which led the Court to continue the stay until
Mr. Sanders was produced to testify. As mentioned ear-
lier, at the hearing on the motion for a preliminary in-
junction of 4 June 197¥'the Government counsel offered

—

* See text following note 4, supra.

14 a

to produce an affidavit signed by Mr. Sanders to the ef-
fect that he had based Mrs. Murray’s termination only on
her conduct during her probationary period, but the court
decided that it could better judge the veracity of this as-
sertion if Mr. Sanders were to appear in person.“

We think that this issue is resolved by the text of Rule
(e) of the Federal Rules of Civil Fee, which pro-
vides that:

When a motion is based on facts not appearing of
_record the court may hear the matter on affidavits
—_ by the respective parties, but the court may
irect that the matter be heard wholly or partly on
oral testimony or depositions. [Emphasis supplied.]

We read this rule as giving the trial court diseretion to.
choose between hearing oral testimony or taking affidavits
“in making the factual judgments necessary to the granting
or denial of the motion in question. We think that this
must mean that the trial judge may decline to accept affi-
davits that are offered, and insist on oral testimony, for
reasons which we shall elaborate below. Finally, since
Government counsel was aware ‘of Rule 43(e), counsel
-kn@w that an offer to present testimony by affidavit might
result in the Government being -required to produce oral
testimony instead. We do not here reach the issue of
whether the trial judge could have continued his stay even
if the Government had not offered Mr. Sanders’ testimony
by affidavit, but we do hold that when the Government, as
it did here, offers to produce testimony by affidavit, be-
cause of Rule 43(e) it cannot decline to produce the 2
for oral examination.

We make this holding because of thé purposes that lie
behind Rule 43(e), and their applicability in this context.
As we recently observed, “the decision of factual issues on

a motion for a préliminary injunction simply by consid-
1. Note 8, supra, and accompanying text.

15 a

eration of -conflicting affidavits is widely disapproved.” *
The far better procedure when motions are more than ron-
tine is to take oral testimony as to disputed matters of
fact.” This is because of the better opportunity that oral
testimony gives the trier of fact to determine credibility.
Affidavits deprive him of the opportunity to judge de-
meanor, and the opportunity to observe “the chastening

process of cross-examination.”* “Without these twin

| tools, normal in the trial of factual issues, the factual con-
clusion [is] certain to take on an unaccustomed quality of
artificiality.” ™ 0

III. The Scope of Our Holding Here

‘As a last matter we consider, albeit briefly, the Govern-
ment’s contention raised vigorously in oral argument that
to affirm the order of the trial court would be to interfere
unduly with the hiring and firing of Government employ-
ees. To this contention we need only make three observa-
tions.

First, we sce our function here as no more than breath-
ing life into the regulations of the Government agencies
themselves, which regulations formed the basis for the or-
der sought in this case. Both this court and the trial court
are doing nothing more than attempting to give force to

those regulations.

* Autera v. Robinson, 136 U.S. App. D. 0. 216, 221n, 419
F.2d 1197, 1202n (1969).

20 See Autera, supra note 28; Industrial Electronic Corpo-
ration v. Cline, 330 F. 2d 480 (3rd Cir., 1964) ; Securities and
— Commission v. Frank, 388 F.2d 486 (2nd Cir.
1968).

0 The quoted phrase is Judge Robinson’s, from Autera,
supra, 136 U.S. App. D. C., at 221, 419 F. ad, at 1202,

u Thid..

16a

Second, by far the greater interference with the “hiring
and firing” of Government employees was caused by the
Government’s own decision to hold in abeyance Mrs. Mur-
ray’s appeal to the Civil Service Commission, and thus
keep Mrs. Murray in her position of temporary, employ-
ment to avoid mooting the appeal to this court. The Dis-
trict Court's stay was to terminate upon the determina-
tion of Mrs. Murray’s appeal to the Civil Service Com-
mission, and had it not been for the conscious decision of
the Government to postpone that determination, the stay
would have been lifted some time ago. We are thus unper-
suaded that here we are presented with an occasion where
the Judiciary has interfered unduly with the day-to-day
activities of the Executive Branch.

Third, and most important, we consider the scope of
the opposite holding the Government seeks to have us make
here. Judge Gasch has not yet ruled that the discharge of
Mrs. Murray from her probationary employment should be
enjoined; he may never do so. Without intimating in any
manner which way, this case should be decided, it is prob-
able that only in a small percentage of cases would the
complaining employee be able to establish the grounds for
a temporary injunction—assuming that executive agencies
conscientiously follow their own rules of due process. But
here the complaining employee alleges that the agency has
violated its own rules,-has not accorded her the required
hearing, and is in the process of discharging her unlaw-
fully. She does not ask the trial court to rule on the merits
of her discharge; the agency may have ample grounds, but
it must follow procedural due process to establish them.
To hold that the District Court has no jurisdiction on the
basis of these allegations to grant the temporary. relief
requested, would be tantamount to holding that the Dis-
trict Court never would have jurisdiction.

This-is really what.the Government seeks here, a dec-
laration of no jurisdiction.in the District Court to. grant,

—— —

—

17 a

temporary relief under any circumstance, on the ground
that to do so at any time would interfere with the Execu-
tive Branch’s right to “hire and fire.” It is asserted that
the Civil Service Commission has been given exclusive re-
View jurisdiction? But, as noted initially, there is no
statutory power in the Civil Service Commission to grant
a temporary stay of discharge. Prior to the Civil Service
Act * a United States District Court would certainly have
had jurisdiction and power to grant such temporary re-
lief. The statute did not explicitly take it away, nor im-
plicitly by conferring such jurisdiction and power on the
CSC; we hold the District Court still has jurisdiction and
may exercise the power under established standards in
appropriate circumstances.™

Brief for the Government, at 11-12.

1 Act of Jan. 16, 1883, ch. 27, 22 Stat. 403 (See Title 5,
U.S.C. 88 1101-1105, 1301-1303, 1307, 1308, 2102, 2951, 3302-
3306, 3318, 3321, 3361, 5706, 7152, 7153, 7321, 7322, 7352;
See Title 18, 88 1, 371, 1917; Title 40, § 42).; Act of July
26, 1937, ch. 522, 50 Stat. 533 (See Title 5, 5 7152); Act of
June 10, 1948, ch., 434, 62 Stat. 351 (See Title 5, § 7153).

3% The Communications Act of 1934 was likewise silent as
to interim relief by the FCC or the courts. In Scripps-How-
ard Radio, Inc. v. F. C. C., supra note 16, the Supreme
held: :

The search for significance in the silence of Congress
is too often the pursuit of a mirage. We must be wary
against interpolating our notions of policy in the. in-
terstices of legislative provisions. Here Congress said
nothing about the powér of the Court of Appeals to
issue stay orders under § 402 (b). But denial of such
power is not to be inferred merely because Congress
failed specifically to repeat the general grant of aux-
illary powers to the federal courts. The Commission
argues that the silence of Congress, in view of the legis-
lative history of the Act and the nature of the orders
reviewable under the Act, qualifies this general author-
ity and is as commanding as if Congress had expressly

2

18a

As the District Court-here felt that the hearing on the
motion for the preliminary injunction could not be com-
pleted until Mr. Sanders was produced to testify, it was
proper for him to continue the stay, in order to preserve
the status quo pending the completion of the hearing.

The order of the District Court is ee

. _ Affirmed.

Rops, Circuit Judge, dissenting: The majority concedes
that Mrs. Murray did not exhaust her administrative rem-
edies wider the Civil Service Commission regulations ( See
5 C. F. R. $§ 315.801—315.807 (1971)) before seeking in-
junctive relief in the district court. The majority opinion
also recognizes the established doctrine that a court may
not intervene with a decision on the merits before admin-
istrative remedies have been exhausted. See, e.g., Young
v: Higley, 95 U.S. App- D.C. 122, 220 F.2d 487 (1955);
Green v. Baughman, 94 U.S. App. D.C. 291, 214 F.2d 878
(1954) ; Johnson v. Nelson, 86 U.S. App. D.C. 98, 180 F.2d
386, cert. denied, 339 U.S. 957 (1950). The majority con-
cludes, however, that this doctrine does not apply to a re-

withheld from the Court of Appeals the power to stay
orders appealed under § 402(b). : ‘
The legislative history can furnish no support for this
contention.... * ; 3 8
We conclude that Congress by 8 402(b). of the Com-
munications Act of 1934 has not deprived the Court of
Appeals of the power to stay—a power as old as the ju-
dicial system of the nation. We do not of course go be-
yond the question put to us. We merely recognize the
existence of the power to grant a stay. We are not con-
cerned here with the criteria which should govern the
Court in exercising that power. Nor do we in any: way
imply that a stay .would or would not be W.
upon the showing made by the appellant in this caso.
$16 U.S., at 11, 17. .

— AAA at

19a

quest for “injunctive relief to stay a discharge which is
not yet effective at the time the relief is sought from the
courts”. Such injunctive relief, says the majority, “is sim-
ply an interim form of relief to prevent irreparable dam-
age to the parties or to the public interest while the final
outcome of the administrative determination is uncertain”
and “is not the interference with agency actions which the
exhaustion of. remedies doctrine seeks to prevent * .
(Opinion, p. 7.) I cannot accept this theory. In my judg-
ment the exclusion of applications for interim judicial re-
lief from the reach of the exhaustion of remedies rule is
an unwarranted and unfortunate breach of the rule that
will result in improper interference by the courts in the
administration of the civil service system.

The application of the exhaustion of remedies doctrine
is not limited to situations in which judicial relief on the
merits is sought. See, e.g., Aircraft. d Diesel Equipment
Corp. v. Hirsch, 331 U.S. 752, 778-80 (1947); Osmond v.
Riverdale Manor, Inc., 199 F.2d 75 (4th Cir. 1952); John-
son v. Postmaster General, 330 F. Supp. 1058 (D. Md.
1971); K. Davis, Apstunistrative Law Treatise pt. 3,
§ 20.05 ‘at 90.91 (1958). The interests served by the
exhaustion doctrine are hroader than those suggested
by the majority, and include such ‘other considera-
tions as the integrity and independeéhce of the established
administrative process and the recognition of congres-
sional intent as reflected: in statutory procedures which
balance public and private. interests. The decision of the
majority does violence to those fundamental interests upon
which the exhaustion doctrine is based.

The cases cited by the majority do not justify their
broad and novel holding. The issues and facts in those
cases Were quite different from the issues and facts pre-
sented in the case at bar,.and the language quoted by the
majority must be read with this in mind. Thus, Scripps-
Howard Radio, Inc. v. FCC, 316 U.S. 4 (1942), merely

sustained the “conventional power” of this court to stay

the enforcement of a final order of the FCC pending the
determination of an appeal challenging its validity. FTC
v. Dean Foods Co., 384 U.S. 597 (1966), held only that at
the instance of the Federal Trade Commission a cireuit
‘court of appeals, under the All Writs Act, 28 U.S.C. § 1651
(a), might enjoin a merger. on the ground that “an .effee-
tive remedial order, once the merger was implemented,
would otherwise be virtually impossible, thus rendering
the enforcement of any final decree of divestiture futile”
(384 U.S. at 605). In other words, the Court held that in-
junctive relief was necessary to prevent the impairment
of ‘tlie effective exercise of appellate jurisdiction. Again,
in West India Fruit & Steamship Co. v. Seatrain Lines,
Inc., 170 F.2d 775 (2d Cir. 1948), the Maritime Commis-
sion joined with a private party in requesting the court to
enjoin rate reductions that were alleged to be unlawful.
In granting the injunetion the court carefully recited the
extraordinary circumstances which warranted such relief.
That case does. not support the broad exception to the ex-
haustion of remedies rule expounded by the majority. See
K. Davis, Apaaxistrative Law Treatise pt. 3, § 20.05, at
90-91 n. 46 (1958). e e .

The majority attempts to justify-its decision by finding
that unless interim relief is granted, Mrs. Murray may
suffer irreparable harm from a temporary loss of wages.
The flaw in this argument is that Congress by the Back
Pay Act of 1966, 5 U.S. C. §5596 (1970) (See 5 C. F. R.
§ 550.801), has expressly provided that administrative re-
view by the Civil Service Commission shall not inflict ir-
reparable harm upon an employee who is found to have
aundergone an unjustified or unwarranted personnel ac-
tion“. The Act insures that Mrs. Murray’s appeal to the
Civil Service Commission can give her substantial and ef-
fective relief by way of reinstatement and reimbursement
for pay lost, if she was iinproperly. disinissed. There is

212

therefore no need here for injunctive relief to avoid “ren-
dering the enforcement of any final decree Fs oe.

- The opinion of the district court in Reeber v. Rossell,
91 F. Supp. 108 (S. D. N. V. 1950), upon which the majority
relies, assumes that reinstatement with back pay could not
hav awarded to the plaintiffs if they were success-
ful.“ (See 91 F. Supp. at 113.) In light of the Back Pay
Act of 1966, which now makes such relief available, the rea-
soning of this 1950 decision i is not persuasive. .

The legislative and administrative scheme en in
the Back Pay Act and the Commission’s regulations leads
me to the conclusion that this case does, not call for equita-.
ble relief prior to the exhaustion of all administrative rem-
edies. Congress has enacted a statutory scheme -to gov-
ern the dismissal and reinstatement of federal employees
and has thereby struck a balance between the govern-
ment’s right to hire and fire and the rights of individual
employees. A court should. not upset tliat balance by inter-
fering before the administrative remedies provided by tho
statutory plan have been exhausted. Certainly a court
should. not substitute its judgment on the equities or the
public interest for the judgment of Congress. This is par-
ticularly true here, where the injury to Mrs. Murray is no
greater than that which would ‘ordinarily flow from dis-
missal. My conclusion is reinforced by the statement of
res
* ‘

1 The Reeber case involved employee claims under the Vet-
‘erans’ Preference Act which arose out of demotions and dis-
missals pursuant to a reduction in force in the Veterans’
Administration. On these facts, Judge Kaufman’s view that
back pay and reinstatement would not be available to the
plaintiffs was most likely correct. See 62 Stat. 354 (1948) ; 39
Comp. GEN. 639 (March 14, 1960). .

2 The 1948 Act, 62 Stat, 354, was the prédecessor to the

MR. LANGER. Mr. President, the [conference report
on the back pay bill] represents a full and complete
agreement, and provides that an agency or depart-
ment of the Government may remove an employee at
any time, but that the oyee shall then have a
right of appeal. When he is removed, he is of course
* off the pay roll. If he wins the appeal, it is provided
that he shall be paid for the time during which he was
: — 94 Cona. Reo. 6681 (1948) (emphasis sup-

In short, the exhaustion of administrative remedies doo-
trine is fully applicable to cases in which temporary in-
junctive relief is sought, and I perceive no occasion for
making an exception to its application in this case. “The
very fact that Congress has [established a prescribed pro-
cedure] must be cast into the scales as against the factors
which, without that fact, would or might be of sufficient
weight to turn the balance in favor of allowing utilization
of equity's resources. In short, the so-called general
principles governing the exercise of jurisdiction in equity
are not to be taken, in such a case, as isolated from all
effect of the legislative miandate or necessarily or evén
readily overriding it.” Aircraft & Diesel Equipment Corp.
v. Hirsch, 331 U.S. 752, 775 (1947). To. uphold the district
court’s action, in my view, is to short-circuit civil service
procedures by over-extending the long arm of equity.

I respectfully dissent.

Back Pay Act of 1966, 5 U.S.C. § 5596. The 1966 Act was
intended only to fill certain gays in the protection afforded by
the earlier back pay provisions. See, e. g., note 1 supra. The
legislative purpose behind both the 1948 and 1966 provi-
sions was identical. See S. REP. No. 1062 (March 10, 1966),
in 1966 U.S. Code

Cong. & Admin, News 2097-98. Senator
related to the conference report

23a
APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

SEPTEMBER TERM, 1971

Civil Action 1053-71
No, 71-1586

JEANNE M. MURRAY
U.

RohRnRr L. Kunzic, ADMINISTRATOR,
GENERAL SERVICES, ET AL., APPELLANTS
Appeal 9 the United States District Court
or the District of Columbia
Before: ROBINSON, ROBB and WILKEY, Circuit
Judges,
JUDGMENT

This cause came on to be heard on the record on
appeal from the United States District Court for the
District of Columbia, and was argued by counsel,

On consideration thereof It is ordered and adjudged
by this Court that the judgment of the District Court
appealed from in this cause is hereby affirmed.

Per Curiam

For the Court:

/8/ Nathan J. Paulson

NATHAN J. PAULSON
Clerk

Dated: February 29, 1972.

APPENDIX C
Notice: This opinion is to formal révision before publication in the
Federal Reporter or U Cc. Users are to notify the
of any formal errors order corrections may made before the

Judge, at p. 9.

wink it desirable to add these comments to our origins!
opinion, in the hope that those charged "ite 2 more 48
sibility of administering the laws may have 3 more 8,

waste.

1, The Civil Service Act* did not confer upon the Civil
Service Commission power to grant the type interim
relief sought here. This seems to be beyond challenge.

2. Nor did the statute remove from the courts the power
to grant interim relief. This is beyond challenge if the
words of the statute, its plain meaning, and its specific
provisions are considered. What the Government argues
is that by implication the statute and the Congress must
have intended to do this, because in other provisions the
Civil Service Commission is given such complete author-
ity.

The Government is incorrect in its allegation that the
court’s opinion is inconsistent with congressional intent,
since here there has been no manifest.congressional in-
tent to disturb the equity powers of the courts. The Gov-
ernment does not seem to perceive that this case involves
a very limited principle, and that our opinion does little
more than restate the proposition that in some very un-
usual circumstances a U.S. District Court may exercise
its traditional equity powers to prevent irreparable in-
jury. The situation of a temporary employee is not dif-
ferent from many other situations in this respect.

What the Government refuses to face up to is that if
the courts are barred from even considering interim re-
lief in this ease, it would follow that the courts are barred
from considering interim relief in any conceivable-type of
discharge case that could be brought before the courts.
We are unwilling to deny jurisdiction to the courts in all
such future cases.

3. Thus the Government’s statement of the issue,
“Whether a federal employee about to be discharged has

1 Act of Jan. 16, 1888, ch.27, 22 Stat. 403; Act of July
26, 1937, ch.522, 50 Stat. 583; Act of June 10, 1948, ch.
434, 62 Stat. 351. For the codification of these statutes see
note 33 in our original opinion in this case, slip. op., at 17.

the right to a trial in district court prior to the time he
exhausts his remedies with the Civil Service Commis-
sion, which later will hold a hearing on the same issues
resolved in the district court proceeding” [emphasis in
Governmental Petition], is incorrect. We do not hold
that the employee has the right to a trial in the District
Court on the same issues as are before the Civil Service
Commission. All that the District Court should do is to
apply the traditional Petroleum Jobbers“ tests to deter-
mine whether injunctive relief is appropriate. While this
involves a determination, inter alia, whether there is any
likelihood of success on the merits, this ts not a deter-
mination of the merits, which is the province of the Civil
Service Commission in the first instance, and will not be
disturbed by a reviewing court if it is based on subs

4. Furthermore, while in this case it was inappropriate
to conduct the proceedings merely through affidavits, this
will not always be the case. Where there are no problems
of credibility in the mind of the trial judge (as we had
here), it is not inconceivable that a great many applica-
tions for injunctive relief can be disposed of through the
briefest of hearings, perhaps accompanied by affidavits.
This should be particularly true as to the issue of ir-
reparable injury, which is of course necessary for in-
junctive relief, and which might well be triable by affi-
davit.

5. The Government does not seem yet to have grasped
the distinction between the issue of exhaustion of admin-
istrative remedies and the question of the propriety of
granting interim relief. This court and others, including
commentators such as Kenneth C. Davis and Louis Jaffe,
have grasped and articulated this distinction, as made in

2 Virginia Petroleum Jobbers Ass’n v. FPC, 104 U.S. App.
D.C. 106, 110, 259 F.2d 921, 925 (1958).

27a

our opinion (see notes 11-13 and accompanying text).
That the Government is making the same error of failing
to distinguish the exhaustion cases from those dealing
with the propriety of the grant of equitable interim relief
is underscored by the fact that, to support its assertion
that our decision “conflicts with so many others,” they
rely again on the same four purely exhaustion cases:
which we were at some pains to distinguish in our orig-
inal opinion. ‘ Pi S eee

6. The Government’s statement that “The majority’s
conclusion that a wrongfully discharged employee’s. rem-
edy of back pay (and reinstatement) is not adequate
enough to preclude the issuance of injunctive relief is
very broad and equally wrong” appears to misread our
opinion. This court’s opinion merely suggested that in
some cases of employee discharge back pay and rein-
statement may not-be enough to prevent irreparable in-
jury. This is hardly a very broad“ statement. Further,
the court’s suggestion in this case appears to be inherent
in the holding of Schwartz v. Covington? nowhere dis-
cussed in the Government’s petition for rehearing.

The situation and reasoning of the Ninth Circuit are
closely parallel to ours here. In Schwartz a stay. of the
petitioner’s pending discharge had been issued by the
District Court, at the time petitioner’s administrative ap-
peal on the merits was in process, as in Mrs. M.
case. The evidence relied on by the agency (U.S. Army)
making the discharge included evidence of acts during a
prior enlistment, which had been terminated by an hon-
orable discharge. Under Army Regulations acts com-
_ mitted during a prior enlistment are not available as
evidence to support a discharge from à subsequent term
of enlistment, or so it was argued. Here Mrs. Murray ar-

*341 F.2d 587 (9th Cir. 1965).

7

gues that the GSA’s decision to discharge her rests on
evidence of acts committed during a prior “enlistment,”
te., term of service with another agency. The Govern-
ment disputes this, but under regulations of GSA itself
an employee cannot be discharged without a hearing if
evidence of service in another agency is relied upon by
the discharging agency (GSA). -

In Schwartz the District Court granted a 1 .
administrative review, by the Army Board for Correc-
tion of Military Records, on the merits. The Ninth Cir-
cuit affirmed, finding irreparable damage to the employee if
the stay were not granted, even though full back-pay
compensation would be available after administrative re-
view. Here the District Court granted a temporary re-
straining order pending a hearing, which stay has been
continued in effect until a certain GSA official appears to
testify. The District Court has not yet reached the stage
at which it will decide whether to grant a temporary in-
junction pending administrative review, here by the
Civil Service Commission, as was done in Schwartz. We
affirm the District Court action staying employee dis-
charge pending administrative review on the merits, as
did the Ninth Circuit, holding merely that it is possible
that Mrs. Murray may show (or may have shown) ir-
reparable damage, if the hearing before Judge Gasch is
allowed to proceed to a decision.*

4 Lodge 1858, Pa We Federation of Gov. Emp. v. Paine,
141 U.S. App. D.C. 152, 486 F.2d 882 (1970) is not to the
contrary. Judge Robinson’s language re exhaustion, quoted
and relied on by the Government, Appellants’ Petition for
eee ee ee eee ae one ae a
preceded, significantly, by:

Resort to the courte mest ordinarily 0
administrative remedies available for rectification of
the errors complained of have been exhausted. [Foot-
note omitted.] And the court, as a general rule, must

We cite Schwartz v. Covington simply to support the
proposition that equitable interim relief may sometimes
be proper in the case of an about-to-be-discharged federal
employee. In Schwartz the Ninth Circuit held that such
relief was proper, “pending exhaustion of military remedies
and judicial review by a United States District Court,
during which time appellee retain his present rank and
status. 5 ss

In his dissent to this supplemental opinion Judge Robb
criticizes this reliance on the grounds that there is a
decision of onr court, Ogden v. Zucłert which holds that
consideration by such an Armed Services review board
is not a part of “the administrative process which pre-
cedes finality.” Whatever the correctness of the Ogden
court majority (see the closely reasoned disgent by the
then Judge Burger), the holding in that case has no
application to our reliance on Schwartz.

The Ninth Circuit was concerned in Schwarte solely
with the question of the propriety of granting interim re-
lief. The opinion did not pass either on the merits or on
the application or nonapplication of the doctrine of ex-
haustion of administrative remedies; it assumed that the
doctrine did apply, and simply granted interim relief
pending the final administratiye determination. In Ogden,
on the other hand, this court held that the exhaustion
doctrine did not apply, because the matter had achieved
sufficient administrative finality (there was no statute

stay its hand in reduction in force controversies until
administrative resolution of the matters in issue in a
proceeding efficacious to that end. [Footnote omitted.]
141 — App. D. C., at 168, 436 F.2d, at 896 (emphasis
supp oo

5341 F.2d, at 538.
111 U.S.App.D.C. 398, 298 F.2d 812 (1961).

requiring further resort to the administrative process) ;
hence, the District Court could proceed to an adjudica-
tion of the merits of the dispute, if it chose so to exercise
its discretion. In other words, in Ogden, unlike Schwartz,
the question was the application or non-application of the
doctrine of the exhaustion of administrative remedies.

Murray v. Kunzig is a case like Schwartz v. Covington.
We are not concerned with the application or non-applica-
tion 6f the doctrine of exhaustion of administrative reme-
dies, but simply with the propriety of ‘the District Court’s
exercise of its traditional equity powers to. grant interim
relief. In the view of the Ninth Circuit, Covington had
not exhausted his administrative remedies before he went
to court; in fact, he was busy pursuing such remedies
while he was in court. So is Mrs. Murray.

Furthermore, the Government’s (and our dissenting col-

’s) attempt to distinguish Scripps-Howard Radio,

v. FCC; FTC v. Dean Foods; and Reeber v. Rossell®
misses the point that our opinion cites these cases merely
as examples of the propriety, under certain circumstances,
of the granting of interim equitable relief. The court’s
opinion does not hold, and the trial judge lias not yet held,
that interim relief is proper in Mrs. Murray’s case, but we
do hold that the trial judge may consider granting such
relief, as this is inherent in his historical equitable role.

7. The Government is fearful that every other govern-
ment employee facing discharge will be able to march into
the U.S. District Court, demand the same hearings, and de-
lay a discharge for as long as the appellee Mrs. Murray
has. Even if the Government is correct on the deluge of

7316 US. 4 (1942).
8384 U.S. 597 (1966).
91 F.Supp. 108 (S. D. N. T., 1950)

sla

cases with which the District Court will be flooded from
employees being di this is no reason for mis-
construing the 5 statute to evade the Dis-
trict Court's assigned (or, more accurately, not removed)

8.-We seriously question the validity of the Govern-
ment’s fears of such a deluge and resulting delay in dis-
charges. Aside from the point that Mrs. Murray has only
been able to secure delay because the Government has not
permitted the Civil Service Commission to rule on her
case, it appears that many government employees (e. g.,
those with other sources of income, as from an employed
spouse) will be so unable to demonstrate the possibility
of irreparable injury that their proceedings in the Dis-
trict Court will be of the most limited duration, perhaps
going no further than a fnotion for dismissal by the Gov-
ernment, and a brief duel by affidavits. The ultimate de-

on the basis of chances for ultimate success, not on the
basis of the availability of interim relief in exceptional
cases until the Civil Service Commission reaches a de-
cision on the merits. Assuming that the Civil Service
Commission is not always reined in by the Government,
the Civil Service Commission should. dispose of matters
such as Mrs. Murray’s rather quickly, and the additional
time on the job bought by a temporary restraining order
or other injunctive relief ‘will not be enough to justify
the great legal expense involved, unless there is a good
chance of ultimate success.
Our original opinion says nothing about the merits of
- Murray’s claim or any other. The lawyer who would
cite this opinion before the District Court as a holding
on any issue except as a defense against a motion to dis-
miss for lack of jurisdiction would be ill-advised. We
have said nothing which indicates how Judge Gasch or

any other judge should decide such a petition for interim
relief on the merits. Only a petitioner who can establish
under the test of Virginia Petroleum Jobbers that a vio-

Services Administration did consider her prior troubles
at her prior agency employment, and that having done
so, the General Services Administration was obligated
under its own rules to give her a hearing. It was this evi-
dence in the record that gave Mrs. Murray some hope of
success, and gave Judge Gasch some ground to require
‘the attendance of the agency official, who presumably
could clear up the matter one way or another:

If our opinion is properly interpreted, there should be
no influx of prospectively dischargeable federal employ-
ees into the District Court seeking restraining orders. If
such occurs, the District Court has a very keenly devel-
oped sense for the detection of sham and pretense, and
‘will doubtless deal with such worthless petitions sum-
marily.

The petition for rehearing is accordingly
Denied.

Ross, Circuit Judge, dissenting: I am not persuaded by
the explanations and disavowals in the majority opinion
on petition for rehearing. Accordingly, I adhere to my
dissent, while adding a few words.

In its opinion denying rehearing the majority taxes the
t for failing to discuss Schwartz v. Covington,

341 F.2d 537 (9th Cir. 1965) in the petition for rehearing.
The point is not well taken. In the first place the original
majority opinion did not rely on Schwarts v. Covington as

a major prop for its conclusions; on the contrary, the case
was accorded only fleeting mention in footnotes 21 and 22.
What is more important, the majority’s present reliance on
the case is misplaced. The majority now says that in
“Schwartz a stay of the petitioner’s pending discharge
had been issued by the District Court, at the time petition-
er’s administrative appeal on the merits was in process,
as in Mrs. Murray’s case.“ There: was no “administrati
appeal on the merits * * * in process” in the Schwarte
case. The only military remedy then available to Schwartz
was review before the Army Board for Correction of
Military Records pursuant to 10 U.S.C. § 1552; and this
court has held that consideration by this Board is not a
part of “the administrative process which precedes final-
ity”. Ogden v. Zuckert, 111 U.S. App. D.C. 398, 401, 298
F. 2d 312, 315 (1961). In other words, Schwartz had ex-
hausted his administrative remedies before he went to
court.

In my judgment the doctrine announced by the majority
will make the district court the housekeeper and the proc-
tor of the federal civil service. This I think is wrong.

34a
APPENDIX D

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

SEPTEMBER TERM, 1971
Civil Action 1053-71
No, 71-1586

JEANNE M. MURRAY
V.
Ro BERT L. KUNZIG, ADMINISTRATOR,
GENERAL SERVICES, ET AL., APPELLANTS
Before: RoBINSON, Ross and WILKEY, Circuit
Judges.

ORDER

On consideration of appellants’ petition for rehear-
ing, it is

ORDERED by the Court that appellants’ aforesaid
petition is denied for the reasons set forth in the
supplemental opinion filed herein this date.

Per Curiam
Filed: April 27, 1972.
Cireuit Judge Robb would grant appellants’ petition

for rehearing for the reasons set forth in the supple-
mental dissenting opinion filed herein this date.

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

SEPTEMBER TERM, 1971
Civil Action 1053-71
No, 71-1586

JEANNE M. MuRRAY
V.

Rogert L. KUNziG, ADMINISTRATOR,
GENERAL SERVICES, ET AL., APPELLANTS

Before: BAZELON, Chief Judge; WRIGHT, McGowAN,
TAMM, LEVENTHAL, ROBINSON, MACKINNON,
Ross and WILKEY, Circuit Judges.

ORDER

On consideration of appellants’ suggestion for re-
hearing en bance, it is

ORDERED by the Court en banc that appellants
aforesaid suggestion is denied.

Per Curiam
Filed: April 27, 1972.

~ Gireuit Judges Tamm, MacKinnon and Robb would
grant appellants’ suggestion for rehearing en banc.

36a
APPENDIX E

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

Civil Action No. 1053-71

JEANNE M. Murray, 1600 South Joyce Street,
Arlington, Virginia, PLAINTIFF

Ropert L. KUNZIG, ADMINISTRATOR OF GENERAL
SERVICES, Eighteenth and F Streets, N. W.,
Washington, D. C. 20405

and

A. F. SAMPSON, COMMISSIONER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS
SERVICE, Eighteenth and F Streets, N. W.,
Washington, D. C. 20405, DEFENDANTS

TEMPORARY RESTRAINING ORDER

It appearing to the Court from the affidavits and
accompanying exhibits that a Temporary Restraining
Order, pending final hearing on the merits by the
Civil Service Commission, should issue because, un-
less defendants are restrained from terminating
plaintiff’s employment, plaintiff may suffer immedi-
ate and irreparable injury, loss and damage before a
hearing can be had on plaintiff’s claim,

Now, THEREFORE, IT Is ORDERED, that defend-
ants, their agents, officers, servants, employees, and

87a

attorneys, and any person in active concert or par-
ticipation with them, be and they are hereby re-
strained until the determination of plaintiff’s applica-
tion for an injunction and other relief, from, di-
rectly or indirectly;

(a) Terminating plaintiff’s employment as a
Program Analyst, GS-13, by the General
Services Administration; and

(b) Taking any other steps, directly or indi-
rectly, to implement, effectuate or in any
Way carry out the said termination.

IT Is FURTHER ORDERED that the 4th day of June,
1971, at 3 o’clock, p.m., at the United States Court-
house in Washington, D. C., is fixed for the time and
place of hearing plaintiff’s application for an in-
junction and other relief.

Ir Is FURTHER ORDERED that a copy of this order

be served by the United States Marshal on Defend-
ant forthwith.

/s/ Oliver Gasch
OLIVER GASCH
United States District Judge
Issued at 12 o’clock 55.m.

This 28th day of May, 1971.

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA”

Civil Action No. 1053-71
JEANNE M. MURRAY, PLAINTIFF
V.
RoBert L. KUNZ Id, et al., DEFENDANTS

TEMPORARY RESTRAINING ORDER

It appearing to the Court from the affidavits and
accompanying exhibits that a Temporary Restrain-
ing Order, pending the appearance before this Court
of Mr. W. H. Sanders, Acting Commissioner, Public
Buildings Service, should issue because, unless De-
fendants are restrained from terminating Plaintiff’s
employment, Plaintiff may suffer immediate and ir-
reparable injury, loss and damage before the Civil
Service Commission can consider Plaintiff’s claim,

Now, THEREFORE, Ir Is ORDERED, that the Tem-
porary Restraining Order issued by this Court at
twelve o’clock p.m., May 28, 1971, is continued until
the appearance of the aforesaid W. H. Sanders.

It Is FURTHER ORDERED that a copy of this Order
be served by the United States Marshal on Defend-
ants forthwith.

/s/ Oliver Gasch
OLIVER GASCH
United States District Judge

Issued at 3:08 o’clock, p.m., this 4th day of June,
1971.

39a
APPENDIX F

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

Civil Action No. 1053-71

JEANNE M. MURRAY, PLAINTIFF
V.
RoBERr L. KUNzid, et al., DEFENDANTS

MEMORANDUM

This matter came on for hearing on plaintiff's
motion for temporary restraining order. Plaintiff is
a probationary employee of the General Services Ad-
ministration where she is currently rated as a GS-13,
an anqual salary of $18,353. By letter dated May
20, 1971, she was advised by W. H. Sanders, Acting
Commissioner, Public Building Service, that she had
been separated from her position and that her last
day in pay status would be May 28, 1971. The rea-
son for her separation was: “You have shown com-
plete unwillingness to follow office procedure and to
accept direction from your supervisors.” She was
advised that she had no right of reply unless she felt
the termination was based on discrimination because
of race, color, religion, sex, national origin, political
reasons, marital status, or physical handicap. She
was told that if she desired to appeal the action based
on discrimination, she should appeal to the Chief,
Appeals Examining Office, U.S. Civil Service Com-

40a

mission, Washington, D. C., at any time after receipt
of this notice, but not later than fifteen calendar days
after the termination is effected.

The thrust of plaintiff’s complaint is that prior to
her service with the General Services Administration,
which commenced shortly after the first of this year,
she was employed by another government agency,
namely, the Defense Intelligence Agency. The recom-
mendation of the investigating official of GSA to the
official who signed the letter communicating the ad-
verse personnel action, set forth the reasons for his
adverse recommendation and also indicated that plain-
tiff was separated from the Defense Intelligence
Agency previously because of a similar experience in
that organization.

The applicable regulations of the Civil Service Com-
mission are Subpart H-Probation § 315.801 et seq.
If plaintiff were separated solely because of unsatis-
factory work performance at the General Services
Administration, it is conceded that no other person-
nel action would be required than that set forth in
the letter to which reference has heretofore been
made.

On the other hand, if her separation was based in
whole or in part upon action taken by the Defense
Intelligence Agency in terminating government em-
ployment which preceded her General Services Ad-
ministration employment, then regulation numbered
315.805 is applicable. This regulation reads as fol-
lows:

When an agency proposes to terminate an em-
ployee serving a probationary or trial period for

4la

reasons based in whole or in part on conditions
arising before his appointment, the employee is
entitled to the following:

(a) Notice of proposed adverse action. The
employee is entitled to an advance written notice
stating the reasons, specifically and in detail,
for the proposed action.

(b) Employee’s answer. The employee is en-
titled to a reasonable time for filing a written
answer to the notice of proposed adverse action
and for furnishing affidavits in support of his
answer. If the employee answers, the agency
shall consider the answer in reaching its deci-
sion.

(c) Notice of adverse decision. The employee
is entitled to be notified of the agency’s decision
at the earliest practicable date. The agency shall
deliver the decision to the employee at or before
the time the action will be made effective. The
notice shall be in writing, inform the employee
of the reasons for the action, inform the em-
ployee of his right of appeal to the appropriate
Office of the Commission, and inform him of the
time limit within which the appeal must be sub-
mitted as provided in § 315.806 (d).

While the procedure specified in § 315.805 is some-

what different from the procedure followed, it is still
summary in character. Essentially it does nothing
more than provide a person separated the opportunity
to answer the proposed adverse action and addition-
ally it furnishes a broader scope of appeal to the
Civil Service Commission in that procedural grounds

specified may be raised in addition to those mentioned

in the notice of adverse personnel action which this
plaintiff received from her agency.

When these matters were brought to the attention
of the Court, recognizing that a probationer’s rights
are extremely limited, the Court concluded that both
in the interest of fairness insofar as plaintiff is con-
cerned and in the interest of resolving expeditiously
the issue raised by plaintiff’s contention that the
government had not followed its own regulations,
namely, Section 315.805, the Court concluded that it
should resolve the question whether Mr. Sanders, Act-
ing Commissioner of the Public Building Service,
who made the decision in question, took into consid-
eration the entire report of his subordinate who in-
vestigated the matter or whether he considered only
that portion of it which related to plaintiff’s General
Services Administration service. The Court suggest-
ed to government counsel that Mr. Sanders be called
so that the matter could be determined. Government
counsel refused to call the witness, saying that he
was out of the city on leave, whereupon the Court
stated that it would like to hear the testimony of
the witness and would continue the temporary re-
straining order until the witness was produced.

The Court is now advised that the government does
not intend to call Mr. Sanders.

In at least one case with which the Court has
familiarity, namely, Roberts v. Vance, 119 U.S.App.
D.C. 367, 343 F.2d 236 (1964), the government’s
failure to recognize and follow its own regulations
resulted in the ultimate determination by the Court
of Appeals that since the government had not fol-

lowed its own regulations, its action in separating
Major Roberts was a nullity and ultimately the case
resulted in a settlement to Roberts in which the gov-
ernment was forced to pay back salary in excess of
$30,000 and recognize his pension rights for the rest
of his life. See also Service v. Dulles, 354 U.S. 363
(1957).

What the government is saying to the Court in
this case is that the Court has no jurisdiction to hear
a witness and to resolve the question of whether the
government followed its own regulations. If it did,
this suit should be dismissed. If it did not, it seems
to the Court that the matter should be remanded to
the agency for the purpose of following the regula-
tions expeditiously without subjecting the govern-
ment to substantial damages as were ordered paid
in the Roberts case. The Government by insisting on
its understanding of the Court’s lack of jurisdiction
to consider whether the government’s own regulations
were followed seems to feel that it is of paramount
importance to prevent the Court from considering
such a matter as this even though ultimately an ad-
verse decision may subject the government to the pay-
ment of substantial accumulated pay.

/s/ Oliver Gasch
Judge
Dictated directly following fact
hearing in the District Court
Date: Filed September 2, 1971

W ov. s. coveenmenr paimrine orrice; 1972 478691 132

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386414_0235%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
