# Amicus Curiae Brief — Gateway Coal Co. v. Mine Workers

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386414_0219%3A16

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1974
- **Citation:** 414 U.S. 368

## Text

eurnee COURT ie JUL 26 1973

| No. 72.782 f pee

scssenteiaamie teestessieaelalittaipssnls 2-608:
Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1973

LIBRARY, Be Beir iby

Gateway; Coa. Company,
Petitioner
v.
Unrrep Mine Workers or AMERICA;
Distaict No. 4, Unrrep Mine Workers or AMERICA;
Loca No. 6330, Unirep Mine Workers or AMERICA

On Wait or Certiorarnr to THE Untirep Srares
Court or APPEALS FoR THE THIRD Circuit

BRIEF FOR THE
AMERICAN FEDERATION OF LABOR
AND CONGRESS OF INDUSTRIAL ORGANIZATIONS
AND FOR THE
INTERNATIONAL UNION UAW
AS AMICI CURIAE

SrerHen I. ScHiossspera J. ALBert Wo.

1125 15th Street, N.W. General Counsel, AFL-CIO
Washington, D.C. 20005 Roserr C. Mayer
LsavRENCE GoLp .
Grorce KaurMaNnn 736 Bowen Building

1735 New York Ave.,N.W. 815 Fifteenth Street, N.W.
-Washington, D.C. 20006 Washington, D.C. 20005
Attorneys for
International Union, UAW Tomas E. Harris
Associate General Counsel,
AFL-CIO
815 Sixteenth Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006

|
INDEX
. Page
USER ATE Ge BU EI ccccstinssiensiiinnreninnn ~~ ee
IE, errcciicnnecttnendeersneniinanctonsininnlisciidiinaiapmnnmiitinian 6
CONCTIUBION aeccescissscrscecctin, oosnsnnnnnnnnnnnnannnnnnnnnessannnnannnnnness 31
CITATIONS
Cases:

4. 9. Castle 6 Ce, 4) tab: CD wvccmmioinn TD

Boudoin v. Lykes Brothers Steamship Co., 348 U.S.
SD sissssissnsnntrevessssnitaccctitantoninnaciteaiapiiathitihaiiiiamiicadil 24
Boys Markets v. Clerks Union, 398 U.S. 235.... 2, 8,14,
12, 13, 25, 27, 28, 29, 30
Carey v. Westinghouse Corp., 375 U.S. 261 ............ 10

Detroit News Publ. Ass’n. v. Detroit Typo. Un. No.
18, Etc., 471 F.2d 872 (C.A. 6), cert..denied 41

Ra We. See CHER TRIS) sects 13, 25-26, 30
Emery Air Freight Corporation v. Local Union
BOG, COD FBG SOG CCI B) ccscivsiciemnnssiemssiinneninmennne 25
Pood Meter Coe. & tadig TAR cemnticvnmmiin 4, 17-18, 19
Hanna Miting Company v. United Steelworkers,
464 F.2d 565 (C.A. 8) ............ Desitlinciinseiionnaiatines 2, 11, 23
Harris Stanley Coal and Land Co. v. Chesapeake &
Ohio Ry. Co., 154 F.2d 450 (C.A. 6) ........ 2, 11-12, 20
Jones & Lykes Bros, Steamship Co., 204 F.2d 815
CORD) cccaisiticcisinennjteiennenatiniacninglmeniiiiinins 24
Labor Board v. W ashington Aluminum Corp., 370
Flin OD cnnciencencsnnnstinssatiitninniainnnnenstnntpitianamlaaneiinenlie 16
Laclede Gas Co0., 39 L.A. 883 sessssesseseneen 4, 18, 19, 22
wi

MRLEGL, Fe tanme ae Co tae ait q

Page
Local 453, etc. v. Otis Elevator Co., 314 F.2d 25

Ee Bias EE saseinietivesencsnhecncebesenitalh Aabidiseiaciainiiachicinatis 3, 9-10
Mastro Plastics Corp. v. Labor Board, 350 U.S.
EE ills cibdcinntesapacnhcceeipetidaaipambiaiecnpaanctncanbinnaaioampnnibls 16-17
Minnesota Mining & Mfg. Co., 59 L.A. 375 «0.2... 18
NLRB vy. Fruin-Colnon Construction Co., 330F 2d
tas AE siete cictc seen pes entaecerinteinics 22-23
Ks | NLRB vy. Knight-Morley Corp., 251 F.2d 753 (C.A.
4 6), cert. denied 357 U.S. 927 .............. 4, 16, 21, 22, 23
: NLRB v. Operating Engineers, 400 U.S. 297 .......... 29
: Philadelphia Marine Trade Association v. NLRB,
i 330 F.2d (C.A. 3), cert. denied 379 U.S. 833 ..... 4,23
: Shore Line v. Transportation Union, U.S, 142 ........ 13
q Sinclair Mfg. Co. v. Atkinson, 370 U.S. 195 .......... 13
: Smith v. California, 361 U.S. 147 cccccsscssssoccsseee 20, 24
; Standard Food Products v. Brandenburg, 436 F.2d
é Bi ion 14-15
4 Teamsters Local 174 v. Lucas Flour Co., 369 U.S.
‘ oS SEES. SERENE ane CONE eo 12
i The King v. Ewart, 25 N.Z.L.R. 709 (C.A.} .............. 20
Fi United States v. Mine Workers, 330 U.S, 238 2.0.0... lj
United Steelworkers v. Enterprise Mfg. Co., 363
d EI I ie ecient siartarnienssisenrcaseeadigane 3, 9,10, 11
: Statutes:
: Labor Management Relations Act of 1947, 29
4 U.S.C, 141 et. seq.:
OE ik 6
Oe 4, 21, 22, 23
: ii

Page
Norris-LaGuardia Act, 29 U.S.C.
§ 101 et. seq.:
BF Sirens cities crnscapnevenescennnion 5, 25-26, 27, 29
Be UA 9 BIS ccicrirmigiernst ss scclabenincaliabissicanlacielidianabies 10
Miscellaneous:
Frankfurter & Green, The Labor Injunction
EIU susscsencscivaasiennsecseunsuniasablicbbanveasnenelnnethieniclinss 26-27, 28
BNA Collective Bargaining Negotiation & Con-
SR iinccckiccerereniiascinristsnnsermnierenmninoriantanunnes 20
Legislative History of the Labor-Management
Relations Act 1947 (G.P.O., 1948) ......ccccccccecseeees 21

iii

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1973

No. 72-782

Gateway Coat Company,
Petitioner
v.
Unrtep Mine Workers or AMERICA;
District No. 4, Unrrep Mine Workers oF AMERICA;
LocaL No. 6330, Unrrep Mrne Workers or AMERICA

On Writ or CertiorarI To THE Unitrep States
Court or APPEALS FOR THE THIRD Circuit

BRIEF FOR THE
AMERICAN FEDERATION OF LABOR
AND CONGRESS OF INDUSTRIAL ORGANIZATIONS
AND FOR THE
INTERNATIONAL UNION UAW
AS AMICI CURIAE

The American Federation of Labor and Congress of
Industrial Organizations (AFL-CIO), and the International
Union UAW, file this brief amici in support of the position
of the respondent unions with the consent of the parties,
as provided for in Rule 42 of the Rules of this Court.

The AFL-CIO is a federation of one hundred and thirteen
affiliated labor organizations having a total membership
of approximately thirteen and one-half million working

cone

organized labor. The International Union UAW, with a

ROLES, Sree ¢ Q
: 2
membership of over one million five hundred thousand, is
i
}
A
:
4
é
§
oa

men and women. It is thus the majority spokesman for
the nation’s largest industrial union.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

This is a strike injunction case arising out of a work
stoppage over a safety dispute. If, as respondent unions
argue, and the court below held, that dispute was not sub-
ject to the arbitration provision of the applicable collective
agreement, the injunction was improper. Boys Markets v.
Clerks’ Union, 398 U.S. 235. We agree. But even if/ as
petitioner contends the safety dispute was indeed arbitrable
it would not follow that the injunction was proper. Boys
Markets establishes additional criteria which must be met
before a strike injunction may be entered, id. at 253-254,
but were not in this case. In order that all the issues in the
case be ventilated, we address ourselves to these alternative
grounds for affirmance.

Preliminarily, we begin with the precise terms of the
injunction. As an adjunct to enjoining the work stoppage,
the District Court directed arbitration, as Boys Markets
clearly required. Jd. at 254. Additionally, the Court abated
the allegedly unsafe condition pending arbitration. This,
step too was clearly required by the basic principle (appli-
cable under Boys Markets, id. at 254) that a ‘‘court of
equity will not gamble with human life, at whatever odds,
and for loss of life there is no remedy that in an equitable
sense is adequate.’’ Harris Stanley Coal and Lahd Co.
v. Chesapeake € Ohio Ry. Co., 154 F.2d 450, 453
(C.A. 6); ef. Hanna Mining Company v. United Steel-
workers, 464 F.2d 565 (C.A. 8). However, the District

a

Giibeees-r- SEAS ek

3°

Court erred in providing that if the arbitration was in
favor of the Company, it would be given automatic injunc-
tive force by,reinstatement of the foremen (whose failure
to abide by safety requirements had caused the work stop-
page) while preserving the restraint against further stop-
pages. The effect of this portion of the order was to enforce
the arbitration award before it was rendered and without
judicial scrutiny to insure fidelity to the agreement and
public law. United Steeworkers v. Enterprise Mfg. Corp..,
363 U.S. 593, 597; Local 453, etc. v. Otis Elevator Co., 314
F.2d 25, 29 (C.A. 2).

1. The strike injunction did not meet the precondition
of Boys Markets that the court find that ‘‘breaches are
occurring and will continue, or have been threatened and
will be committed’’; i.e., in cases such as the instant one
that there are ‘‘violations of [the union’s] no-strike obli-
gation.’’ 398 U.S. at 254.

(a) A strike over an arbitrable issue is not automati-
cally a breach of the collective agreement; the obligation
not to strike pending arbitration exists only where it is
‘*freely undertaken’’ as a matter of contract. See id. at 252.
There can be no doubt that § (e) of the provisions setting
out the ‘‘Mine Safety Program”? in this collective agree-
ment, taken against its background of the deletion of all no-
strike commitments, constitutes an express reservation of
the right to strike where a local union ‘‘believes an immedi-
ate danger exists.’’ And the court below held that the
record establishes that the instant strike did come within
the scope of § (e).

(b) Even if § (e) of the agreement did not preserve
the miners’ right to utilize an economic weapon against the

12 8 OAR AIP LSE |

4

employer over safety issues, Gateway’s employees retained
an elemental right of self-protection, recognized both by the
common law of collective agreements, and by §502 of
the Labor Management Relations Act of 1947, which en-
titled the miners, who honestly and reasonably believed that
the working conditions set by the Company endangered
their life or limb, to refuse to work under those conditions
without violating the collective agreement. Since the seminal
decision of Dean Shulman in Ford Motor Co., 3 L.A. 779, it
has been understood throughout industry that the ordinary
duty of employees to obey management’s directions even
when these are believed to be in violation of the agreement,
and then to grieve, does not govern where the employees
reasonably believe that ‘‘the improper order *** involves an
unusual hazard or other serious sacrifice.’’ Jd. at 780; see
also ,e.g., Laclede Gas Co., 39 L.A. 833.

,~ dhe same result follows from § 502 of the Act:

‘‘nor shall the quitting of labor by an employee or em-
ployees in good faith because of abnormally dangerous
conditions for work at the place of employment of
such employee or employees be deemed a strike under
this Act.’’ :

This was the square holding of the leading 4 502 decision,
NLRB vy. Knight-Morley Corp., 251 F.2d 753 (C.A. 6), cert.
denied, 357 U.S. 927; see also Philadelphia Marine Trade
Association v. NLRB, 330 F.2d 492 (C.A. 3), cert denied,
379 U.S. 833, and Pet. App. p. Iva. The contrary view
espoused by petitioner and the dissent below would read the
**vood faith’’ language out of § 502, and place upon the em-
ployee the unconscionable dilemma of risking his life or
his livelihood.

5

2. The strike injunction also did not meet the precon-
ditions of Boys Markets that an injunction may not issue
unless the District Court determines that the breaches
‘thave caused or will cause irreparable injury to the em-
ployer; and [that] the employer will suffer more from
denial of an injunction than will the union from its issu-
ance.’’ 398 U.S. at 254 preserving 4 7(c) of the Norris-
LaGuardia Act. The District Court made no finding what-
soever with respect to the potential injury to the respondent
unions, and therefore could not begin to perform its duty
to balance their equities against those of Gateway. Addi-
tionally, although the District Court stated in conclusory
terms that the Company would suffer irreparable injury
if the injunction were denied, its only findings on the sub-
ject fall far short of supporting that conclusion. That Court
did not find that Gateway, the employer, would suffer any
injury; nor could it have done so since its sole product, coal,
is not perishable, and Gateway’s only ‘‘customers”’ are the
three corporations who are the Company’s co-owners, and
take its total supply. What the Distriet Court did find was
that the strike would cause injury ‘‘in due course”’ to one of
the owning companies, Jones & Laughlin, and to the pub-
lic. But, quite aside from the lack of immediacy of the
injury found (there being a 20-day supply of coal above
ground at the time the strike was stopped by the District
Court), neither qualifies as the ‘‘employer or the ‘‘eom-
plainant’’ as §7(c) requires. For only Gateway was -the
miners’ employer, to whom the respondent unions were con-
tractually bound, and only Gateway could become a ‘‘com-
plainant’’ by suing to enjoin the alleged breach.

y Pees ac

ce ne

so a PON ede ind aig Saal elit SALAMA AR RAE

6
ARGUMENT

This litigation had its inception in a work stoppage in
response to Gateway Coal Co.’s decision to reinstate two
assistant foremen who ‘‘had made false entries in their
log books,’’ in violation of federal safety requirements,
‘*that failed to disclose that the flow of air through a work
area was 11,000 cubic feet per minute as contrasted with
a normal 28,000 cubic feet, [a condition which] increased
the danger of the accumulation of dust and flammable gas
and the risk of consequent explosion.’’ Pet. App. pp. 13a-
l4a.1 The Company’s reinstatement decision was made
even ‘‘though criminal proceedings against [the foremen]
were still pending,’’ and even though ‘‘some 200 Gateway
employees [had] attended a special union meeting and
unanimously voted not to work under the assistant foremen
in question.’’ Pet. App. 13a-14a.?

The Company brought this action under § 301 of the La-
bor Management Relations Act of 1947 (hereafter ‘‘the
Act’’), to enjoin the work stoppage-and to direct respondent
unions to arbitration under the ‘‘Settlement of Local and
District Disputes’? provision of the National Bituminous
Coal Wage Agreement. A. pp. 3a-9a. The District Court

1**Pet. App.’’ references are to the appendices to the petition for
certiorari in this case. ‘‘ A.’’ refers to the Appendix in this Court.

2 Gateway placed great reliance on the Commonwealth of Penn-
sylvania’s determination not to institute proceedings to suspend
the foremen’s licenses. But that determination was not based on a
conclusion that the foremen had not made false entries, and it did
not counsel the Company to return them to their supervisory posi-
tions; it merely left Gateway ‘‘at liberty’’ to do so. A. pp. 16a-17a.

7

-

entered a temporary restraining order (Pet. App. pp. ta-
ta), later declared to ‘‘constitute a preliminary injunction
without change until further order of this Court’? (Pet.

App. p 1a). The injunction embodied the following
restraints :

\
Bie,

**First, the employees of the Gateway Mine, their
officers and al] members of the union and persons act- .
img im concert with them who are aiding or abetting
them in the work stoppage of the Gateway Mine are
hereby enjoined from engaging in any further work
stoppage and are hereby ordered to return to work on
_the following conditions:

(a) The two assistant mine foremen heretofore iden-
tified amd fully identified in the testimony shall be
suspended at the time the mine resumes working and
shall remain suspended until an impartial umpire has

_ determined whether these men should return to work.

(b) The proceeding before the impartial umpire shall
proceed without delay. He shall be chosen by the
parties as set forth in the union contract, and he shall
be chosen forthwith and within 14 davs from the date
of this order. Thereafter, the umpire shall proceed to
hear the dispute on the issue stated forthwith and as
soon as the hearing can be held, and neither party to
this agreement—that is, the union agreement—shall
delay the proceeding before the umpire, nor shall they.
delay in any way getting to that proceeding and getting
to the hearing that the umpire will hold._

(ce) The decision of the umpire will be final and both
parties will be bound by that decision.’’ Pet. App. p. 3a.

The Court of Appeals reversed. That Court determined
that the dispute was not arbitrable. Pet. App. pp. 12a-19a.

8

This determination was sufficient to require that the in-
junction be set aside in its entirety. Boys Markets v. Clerks
Union, 398 U.S. 235, does ‘‘not undermine the vitality of
the Norris-LaGuardia Act’’ (id. at 253), but authorizes an
injunction only if the agreement ‘‘does’’ require the parties
to arbitrate a particular dispute (id. at 254, emphasis in
original). Thus, if, as the union respondents urge in their
brief, and as we agree, the Court of Appeals was correct
in concluding that, under this particular agreement, this
particular dispute was not arbitrable, the judgment below
must be affirmed.

But contrary to the view of the Company and the amici
who support it here, the converse does not follow; Boys
Markets itself makes clear that there is no automatic pro-
gression from arbitrability to injunctive relief: ‘‘Nor does
it follow from what we have said that injunctive relief is

_ appropriate as a matter of course in every case of a strike
over an arbitrable grievanee.’’ Id. at 253-254.

tah bbe alana aah a Ai abo

res Be

Because the District Court failed to comply with the
standards established in Boys Markets, we submit that
even assuming arguendo that the underlying safety dispute
was arbitrable, its injunction-against the strike (that para-
graph of its order which begins ‘‘First’’) was wrong as a
matter of law.’

r\
In urging that the District Court’s strike injunction

i a ig rR Oe kei

bi ES
GTR ey Ne PETES SS

3 Once the District Court enjoined the work stoppage, paragraph
‘(a)’? of the injunction was mandated by equitable principles
as we develop in the text. Moreover, paragraph ‘*(b)”’ direet-
ing the parties to arbitration of the dispute, was, of course, required
by Boys Markets,

However, even if the strike injunction was otherwise legally cor-

4 ad

ee
5

ees

9

was properly reversed by the Court of Appeals, we do not
adopt that portion of the latter’s opinion which states that
arbitration of safety disputes is not to be encouraged. Pet.
App. pp. 16a-17a. While the collective agreement in this
ease does not provide for arbitration of grievances arising
from employee complaints about conditions which they
believe to-be unsafe, these are, in other industries, familiar
and valuable adjuncts of collective bargaining. There, the
ity of the stakes, correctly and eloquently described
urt of Appeals (Pet. App. pp. 16a-17a), is accom-
by eliminating arbitration, hut by reversing
a generally “applicable rule of industrial relations and
permitting the employees to refuse, pending arbitration,

rect, paragraph ‘‘(c)’’ thereof was erroneous and should be set
aside. For, when paragraph ‘‘(¢)’’ is read in light of the Memo-
randum, it gives injunctive effect to the arbitration award even
though the arbitration had not yet been held:

‘‘Obviously, if the umpire determines that these men are not
to be returned to work, they shall not return. If he determines
that they shall return, they will be returned to work, or at
least they will be eligible for return to work, and the company
can return them to work if the assistant foremen are available
and the mine shall continue working.’’ Pet. App. p. 4a.

This of course was clear error. For even assuming that the parties
had provided for final and binding arbitration, as the District Court
determined, the award rendered by the arbitrator was not auto-
matically enforceable. This is established by the very case on which
petitioner relies, United Steelworkers v. Enterprise Mfg. Co., 363
U.S. 593, 597. Moreover,

‘Tt is no less true in suits brought under § 301 to enforce arbi-
tration awards than in other law suits that the ‘power of the
federal courts torenforce the terms of private agreements is at
all times exercised subject to the restrictions and limitations
of the public policy of the United States.***’ The public policy
to be enforced is a part of the substantive principles of federal

ay PRT ea RN Pee a AE tent SN re te 25 y See ine ROYALS EEG Py Ont A OEE IN ME SEE Ma

10

iy
3
8
i

to perform work which they reasonably believe to be unsafe.
See pp. 17-20 infra. The order of the District Court was in
harmony with that practice, because paragraph ‘‘(a)”’
thereof abated the dangerous condition by suspending the
foremen involved pending the arbitration.

Mg ley hein Posing tomdaga

The propriety of that condition is not disputed by any
of the parties or the amici in this case. Nevertheless, the
point is of sufficient importance for future litigation con-
cerning work stoppages over arbitrable safety disputes that
the lower federal courts should be instructed that the in-
despensable ‘precondition for an injunction against such
work stopjiages is a direction by the court requiring that the
allegedly unsafe conditions be abated until the arbitrator’s

labor law which federal courts, under the mandate of Textile
Workers Union of America v. Lineoln Mills, 353 U.S. 448,
are empowered to fashion.’’ Local 453, ete. v. Otis Elevator Co.,
314 F.2d 25, 29 (C.A. 2)
Thus, before enforcing an award in a safety case the court must
determine both that the award ‘‘draws its essence from the collective
bargaining agreement”’ (Enterprise, 363 U.S. at 597), and that it is
consistent with § 502 of the Act. dismissed at pp. 21-24 infra. See,
e.g., Carey v. Westinghouse Corp., 375 U.S. 261, 272.

Since the award was made subsequent to the District Court's
decision, that Court has not vet performed its duties under Enter-
prise. Accordingly, even if all other issues were decided in favor
of petitioner, the sound disposition of the case (28 U.S.C. § 2106)
would be to vacate part ‘‘(c)*’ of the injunction, as amplified
in the opinion, and to remand the case to the District Court. It
would seem inappropriate for this Court to review the arbitration
award in the first instance, since it is not part of the record despite

- _- petitioner’s attempt to treat it as such by reprinting it as an appen-
dix to the petition for certiorari, The Court of Appeals struck the
Company's supplemental appendix consisting of the arbitration
award (A, 38a), and the petition did not seek review of that order. \

niubsianiaiihinaiinaicaceaicacceaee REEL PRL TLS LA IER METRE ELEN RRM AERO HE
“ ' ail : Sata er ORE

@

2S ONES OETA RE SLT INIT INNS IR LC

Pel

award is either accepted by the union or subjected to judi-
cial review in enforcement proceeding pursuant to Enter-
prise. See pp. 8-10, n. 3 supra. The decision in Hanna Mining
Company v. United Steelworkers, 464 F.2d 565 (C.A. 8), is a
careful and detailed example of an order which preserves
the immediate interests of the employees in safety and of
the employer in production, pending arbitration. Imposition
of such a condition is merely the application of equitable
principles, which Boys Markets preserves in strike injunc-
tion cases. As the Sixth Circuit explained, in reversing the
denial of an injunction sought by a railroad against a min-
ing company whose operations posed a potential danger to
individuals using the railroad’s right-of-way :

‘If the threatened injury to the railroad right-of--
way be envisioned merely as the sliding of some of the
surface material of the mountain upon the railroad
right-of-way necessitating some expense in its removal
and in the repair of the roadbed, we might well say that
recovery of damages in a suit at law provides adequate
remedy. We have here, however, a railroad over which
pass trains bearing passengers and freight. Their daily
number is not disclosed by the record, and being but
a branch line it may be assumed that the traffic is not
heavy. Nevertheless, traffic there is, and the effect of a
substantial mountain slide upon a passing train might
well be catastrophic. It may be that such disaster could
occur only upon a concatenation of circumstances of
not too great probability, and that the odds are against
it. It is common experience, however, that catastro-
phies occur at unexpected times and in unforeseen
places. The pictorial exhibits graphically depict the
steep face of the cliff behind which the pillars stand,
and its proximity to the railway tracks, and it is indeed
bold prophecy which denies the threatened danger. A

Sr an ak na Se aie a Bie co

Pi giotles, a
+

12

court of equity will not gamble with human life, at
whatever odds, and for loss of life there is no remedy
that in an equitable sense is adequate.’’ Harris Stanley
Coal and Land Co. v. Chesapéake & O. Ry. Co., 154
F.2d. 450, 453 (C.A. 6), emphasis added.

With these preliminaries, we now show that the District
Court erred in enjoining the work stoppage in this case.

1. For a Boys Mgrkets injunction to issue there must be
a finding that ‘‘breaches are occurring and will continue,
or have been threatened and will be committed’’; i.e., in
cases such as the instant one that there are ‘‘violations of
[the union’s] no-strike obligation.’’ 398 U.S. at 254.

(a) Where, as in Bows Markets, the dispute is deter-
mined to be arbitrable and there is an explicit no-strike
clause coextensive with the arbitration commitment, a
strike called by the union is a breach of the agreement ab-
sent overriding special circumstances. Moreover, where a
dispute is determined to be arbitrable, and the contract
does not expressly reserve the union’s right to self-help, a
strike called by the union is also a breach of the agreement
absent overriding special circumstances. Teamsters Local

174 v. Lucas Flour Co., 369 U.S. 95, 106. But this Court -

has emphasized that neither Lucas Flour nor Boys Markets
creates an independent legal obligation not to strike pend-
ing arbitration; that obligation exists only where it is
‘‘freely undertaken’’ as a matter of contract. See 398 U.S.
at 252. Thus, the parties may, if they so desire, agree to
preserve their right to utilize self-help concerning an ar-
bitrable issue and pending arbitration.

‘In the instant case it is the company that seeks judicial relief
and the respondent unions that claim that they have not waived

gn

a PTB,

13

In Boys Markets, the collective agreement made it mani-
fest that the express no-strike commitment contained there-
in was coextensive with the scope of the arbitration clause.
See 398 U.S. at 238-239, n. 3. The clerks union did not argue
that its strike was lawful under the. agreement ; its sole
contention was that though in breach of contract the strike
was not enjoinable under Sinclair Rfg. Co. v. Atkinson,
370 U.S. 195. In the instant case, however, the respondent
unions do assert that they have a right to strike over this
dispute. As we have already noted, their position is that
§(e) of the provisions setting out the ‘‘Mine Safety Pro-
gram”’ in their collective agreement provides for the settle-
ment of this dispute by economic force and not by arbitra-
tion. °

their right of self-help and that no injunction requiring them to
bend to the employer’s will should issue. But the contract inter-
pretation and equitable issues presented here also arise in cases
instituted by unions and in which the employer claims that he has
retained his right of self-help and that no injunction should run
in favor of the union. See Detroit News. Publ. Ass’n. v. Detroit
Typo. Un. No. 18 Ete., 471 F.2d 872 (C.A. 6) cert. denied 41 L.W.
3591 (May 7, 1973) ; compare Shore Line v. Transportation Union,
396 U.S. 142. It is for this reason that we refer to the ‘‘parties’ ”’
right to retain the option’ of self-help and not solely to the
‘‘unions’ ”’ right to do so.

5««The mine safety committee may inspect any mine develop-
ment or equipment used in producing coal. If the committee
believes conditions found endanger the life and bodies of the
mine workers, it shall report its findings and recommendations
to the management. In those special instances where the com-
mittee believes an immediate danger exists and the commit-
tee recommends that the management remove ali mine workers
from the unsafe area, the operator is required to follow the
recommendation of the committee. ~

“If the safety committee in closing down an unsafe area

NIE A RT EAT ES Be BEY UTES aE get: SE

noeretanit

14

Even if this Court were to decide that the breadth of the
clause entitled ‘‘Settlement of Local and District Disputes”’
(A. pp. 13a-l4a) permits the conclusion that arbitration
is in order here, there can be no doubt that §(e), taken
against its background of the deletion of all no-strike com-
mitments (see A. p. 14a), constitutes an express reserva-
tion of the right to strike where a local or its mine safety
committee ‘‘believes an immediate danger exists.’’ Any
other interpretation of 4(e) would read it out of the agree-
ment. In other words, even if it is read narrowly, §(e) must
be acknowledged to be an express reservation of the right
to strike over safety issues while the grievance and arbi-
tration procedures are running their course. And, as the
Court of Appeals stated, the record establishes that the
strike here comes within the scope of § (e):

‘‘There is no finding, indeed no basis for a finding in
this record, that the miners did not honestly believe
that their lives were unduly endangered so long as the
foremen in question were responsible for safety pro-
cedures. The foremen had been guilty of significant
dereliction. Indeed, they pleaded nolo contendere to a
charge of criminal violation of safety requirements
and were fined $200 each. And there had been a few
earlier complaints concerning their handling of matters
involving safety.’’ Pet. App. p. 14a.

The present situation is therefore governed by the funda-
mental proposition stated by Judge Hays in Standard Food

acts arbitrarily and capriciously, members of such committee
may be removed from the committee. Grievances that may
arise as a result of a request for removal of a member of the
safety committee under this section shall be handled in accor-
dance with the provisions providing for settlement of dis-
putes.’’ A. 12a.

is

15

Products v. Brandenburg, 436 F.2d 964, 965 (C.A. 2):
‘‘Where the union has not given up the right to strike, the
Norris-LaGuardia Act prohibits the issuance of an injunc-
tion.’? To paraphrase the Brandenburg opinion: Since, as
the court below found ‘‘the strike in the instant case was
called [pursuant to §(e)] the injunction issued by the dis-
trict court is not only unjustified, but is beyond the juris-
diction of the federal courts to grant. 29 U.S.C. §§101, 107
(1964).’’ Tbid.

(b) The burden of the preceding point is that §(e) of
the ‘‘Mine Safety Program’’ Clause, read most restric-
tively, preserves (at least to the point where. the arbitrator
has issued his decision), the respondent unions’ right to
exert economic pressure to induce the employer to settle a
safety dispute by meeting the miners’ demands and that the
District Court lacked jurisdiction to grant the portion of the
injunction labeled ‘‘First.’’ See pp. 12-14 supra. We now
show that assuming arguendo that §(e) is not an express
reservation of economic power, the Gateway employees had

-an elemental right of self-protection, recognized, both by the

oe

common law of collective agreements, and by §502 of the
Act, which entitled the miners, who honestly and reasonably
believed that the working conditions set by the Company
endangered their life or limb, to refuse to work under those
conditions without violating the collective agreement. °

®It may be useful to spell out this distinction. Usually an ab-
normally unsafe condition jeopardizes only a single employee, or a
small portion of the work force. Under the arbitration decisions
to be discussed at pp. 17-19 infra, as well as under § 502, it is only
the employees directly affected who are privileged to refuse to per-
form the work believed to be abnormally dangerous. Where a no-
strike agreement is in effect, the other employees are not privileged,

16

(i) In Mastro Plastics Corp. v. Labor Board, 350 U.S.
270, this Court unanimously refused to read a no-strike
clause, all encompassing in its terms, to apply to an unfair
labor practice strike. The Court reasoned that the union’s
undertaking ‘‘in light of the law relating to it when made,’’
was a ‘‘natural adjunct of an operating policy aimed at

either under these arbitration decisions or under § 502, to make
common cause with them. Put another way, this right exists solely
for the employees’ self-protection; it does not permit the use of
economic power to compel the employer to abate the particular
unsafe condition, or to be generally more responsive to the needs
of the employees’ health and safety.

_In_the present case, the respondent unions assert, with justifi-
eation, that the present dispute was not encompassed by the no-
strike clause, and that they were therefore permitted to use a
work stoppage for offensive purposes. Putting that aside, the
particular objection in this case was to the use of two foreman
who had falsified records requiring by law to be kept for safety
purposes. Contrary to the Company’s argument, that is an issue
which affected the safety of all employees: The retention of those
foremen did not jeopardize only the miners who worked on the
same shift; it is likely that a failure to comply with safety standards
on one shift will affect the condition of the mine and therefore of
all the employees. y

Finally, it is appropriate to contrast two other related situations.
In the leading § 502 case, NLRB v. Knight-Morley Corp. 251 F.2d
753 (C.A. 6), cert. denied 357 U.S. 927, some buffers believed in
good faith that conditions in their work room were abnormally
dangerous, and ceased work for that reason. That action was held
to be protected. Knight-Morley’s discharge of the employees despite
their statutory protection was an unfair labor practice, and the
cessation of work by other employees in response was therefore a
protected unfair labor practice strike. Moreover, of course, in the
absence of a no-strike commitment, a concerted stoppage over health
or safety conditions is protected by §7. See Labor Board v. Wash-
ington Aluminum Corp., 370 US. 9.

17

avoiding interruptions of production prompted by efforts
to change~exiSting economic relationships,’’ and that the
‘‘main function of arbitration under the contract is to pro-
vide a-mechanism for avoiding similar stoppages due to
disputes over the meaning and application of the various
contractural provisions.’’ Jd. at 282-283, emphasis supplied.

It is also commonly understood that accomplishment of
this objective does not require that pending arbitration
over safety disputes the employees must perform work that
that they reasonably believe to be abnormally hazardous
to their safety and health.

Ordinarily when an employee is given an order by man-
agement, he must obey. If the employee believes that the
order is in violation of his rights under the agreement, his
recourse is the grievance procedure. If he refuses to com-
ply with the order he is subject to discipline, even if it
should ultimately be determined that the order was con-
trary to the agreement. Cf. United States v. Mine Workers,
330 U.S. 258. This is the general rule reflected in, and ef-
fectuated by the Lucas Flour and Boys Markets decisions.
That rule, however, is subject to an important exception:
An employee is not required to obey an order from man-
agement, if le would thereby violate public law, or if he
believes that it would jeopardize his health or safety.

The leading statement of the general rule, and of the ex-
ception thereto, is that of the late Dean Shulman, who was
the permanent umpire under the Ford Motor Company
agreement:

‘“The employee must normally obey [management’s]
order even though he thinks it improper. His remedy
is prescribed in the grievance procedure. He may not

18

take it on himself to disobey. To be sure one can con-
ceive of improper orders which need not be obeyed.
An employee is not expected to obey an order to do that
which would be criminal or otherwise unlawful. He
may refuse to obey an improper order which involves
an unusual hazard or other serious sacrifice. But in
the absence of such justifying factors, he may not re-
fuse to obey merely because the order violates some
right of his under the contract. The remedy under the
contract for violation of right lies in the grievance
procedure and only in the grievance procedure.’’ Ford
Motor Co., 3 L.A. 779, 780.

This exception has been applied time and time again by
arbitrators and is now accepted as ‘‘a truism in the common
law of the shop.’’ Minnesota Mining and Mfg. Co., 59 L.A.
375, 378. For example, -in Laclede Gas Co., 39 L.A. 833, 839
the arbitrator stated:

‘“‘The principle applicable here is that an employee
may refuse to carry out a particular work assign-
ment, if at the time he is given the work assignment,
he reasonably believes that by carrying out such work
assignment he will endanger his safety or health. In
such an instance the employee has the duty, not only of
stating that he believes there is risk to his safety or
health, and the reason for believing so, but he also has
the burden, if called upon, of showing by appropriate
evidence that he had a reasonable basis for his belief.
In the case of dispute, as is the case here, the question
to be decided is not whether he actually would have
suffered injury but whether he had a reasonable basis
for believing so. This is so well understood that the
chairman does not believe that the general acceptance
of this principle requires documentation.’’ *

7 Another arbitrator has characterized Laclede Gas as ‘‘a partic-

19

.

In Ford Motor Company, Dean Shulman focused his at-
tention on the basic rule, and explained why it was both
essential and fair:

‘“‘[Ajn industrial plant is not a debating society.
Its object is production. When a controversy arises,
production cannot wait for exhaustion of the grievance
procedure. While that procedure is being pursued, pro-
duction must go on. And some one must have the au-
thority to direct the manner in which it is to go on until
the controversy is settled. That authority is vested in
supervision. It must be vested there because the re-
sponsibility for production is also vested there; and
responsibility must be accompanied by authority. It
is fairly vested there because the grievance procedure
is capable of adequately recompensing employees for
abuse of authority by supervision.’’ 3 L.A. at 781;
emphasis supplied.
The foregoing also provides the principled justification for
the exception for unusual health hazards recognized by
Dean Shulman and developed by his successors. To bor-
row Dean Shulman’s words, ‘‘the grievance procedure is
[not] capable of adequately recompensing employees for
abuse of authority by supervision’’ where that abuse re-
quires action inconsistent, not with the employees’ economic
interest, but with their interest in continued health and

ularly apt expression of the principles involved *** synthesized
from mgny other awards.’’ A. M. Castle & Co., 41 L.A. 667, 670.
And in A. M. Castle the arbitrator elaborated a point inherent in
the Lacleg® Gas analysis but not explicated there:

‘*So long as [the employee] is sincere in his belief of danger,
and so long as*he makes a ‘‘reasonable’’ appraisal of the poten-
tial hazards, he is protected in his decision not to act, regardless
of whether later on, in fact, it would be established that no
hazard existed.’’ 41 L.A. at 671.

pareiad® anatonetl

€

20

safety. Thus, fairness to the employees requires that the
costs of delay during ‘‘exhaustion of the grievance pro-
cedure’’ be placed on the employer. Compare Harris Stan- |
ley Coal, 154 F.2d at 253, quoted at pp. 11-12 supra.*

But it is not enough for the protection of employees that
the normal order of obedience followed by arbitration be
reversed. For if they are ultimately subject to discipline
for refusing to perform assigned work if the arbitrator
should determine that it was not abnormally hazardous, the
employees, who can rarely be certain of the fact of danger,

‘would hesitate to assert their right not to endanger them-

selves. The industrial common law as developed in arbi-
tration, relieves employees from this dilemma by framing
the issue to be whether the employees had a ‘‘reasonable
basis’’ for believing that carrying out the work assignment
would endanger their safety and health, viewing the matter
from their perspective and in light of the information avail-
able to them. See pp. 18-19 and n. 7 supra.

8 The costs of delay can be reduced by providing an accelerated
procedure for the arbitration of safety disputes, as in the contracts
between the United Steelworkers and the major steel producers.
See, e.g., §14e of the Agreement between United States Steel Corpo-
ration and the United Steelworkers of America, August 1, 1971, 1
BNA Collective Bargaining Negotiation & Contracts, 28.40.

®Compare Smith v. California, 361 U.S. 147. There this Court
held that in a prosecution for selling obscene books the state must
prove that the defendant was aware of its contents, lest he restrict
the books he sells to those he has inspected. Particularly in point
for present purposes is this Court’s approving quotation (id. at
153) of The King v. Ewart, 25 N.Z.L.R. 709, 729 (C.A.):

‘*Every bookseller would be, placed under an obligation to
make himself aware of the contents of every book in his shop.
It would be altogether unreasonable to demand so near an
approach to omniscience.”’

21

(ii) The exception to the no-strike commitment for
health and safety disputes articulated by Dean Shulman
and refined by later arbitrators finds a statutory counter-
part in §502, the ‘‘Savings Provision’’ of the Act, which
states:

©

‘“‘nor shall the quitting of labor by an employee or
employees in good faith because of abnormally danger-
ous conditions for work at the place of employment of
such employee or employees be deemed a strike under
this Act.’’

Taft-Hartley’s legislative history does not provide a
gloss on the Act’s language, *° and the Sixth Circuit, in the
leading (502 decision, therefore gave the provision its nat-
ural reading:

‘*That section expressly limits the right of manage-
ment to require continuance of work under what the
employees in good faith believe to be ‘abnormally dan-
gerous’ conditions. *** Since Section 502 provides that
walking out under a good faith belief of abnormally
dangerous conditions does not constitute a strike, the -

- no-strike provision [in the agreement] was not ap-
plicable.’” NERB v. Knight-Morley Corp., 251 F.2d at
759.

_ So here, if employees could be punished for refusing work which
was not. abnormally unsafe, although they reasonably believed it
to be, they would be penalized for their lack of ‘‘omniscience’’ re-
garding what are often complex technical or scientific problems “
beyond their ken.

10The following are the sole references to §502 in the reports
and debates which preceded the passage of the Act. Legislative
History of the Labor-Management Relations Act of 1947 (G.P.O.,
1948), pp. 29, 156, 290, 436, 573, 895. None of them explains its
scope.

=

Thus, the Sixth Circuit’s opinion in Knight-Morley paral-
lels the law developed by the arbitrators as articulated in
; the Laclede Gas decision. The Court of Appeals stated that

a no-strike commitment does not bar a walk-out ‘‘under as
. good faith belief of abnormally dangerous conditions.”’
‘ The arbitrator speaks of a right to refuse work where the
: employee ‘‘reasonably believe’ that by carrying out such

me

22

a

work assignment he will endanger his safety or health.’’
Laclede Gas, 39 1..A. at 839. This minor difference in ter-
minology cannot, however, obscure the central point that
both focus on an evaluation of the situation as it appeared
to the employees at the time and provide that a refusal to
work does not breach the no-strike obligation so long as
the employees are actuated by honest and reasonable safe-
ty or health grounds for their refusal. To require more,
for example, that the employees show, not simply that they
acted reasonably and honestly, but that they were correct,
viewing the matter in hindsight and in light of all of the
facts as subsequently developed by experts in the field,
would be to disregard the gravity of the stakes to the em-
employees. See pp. 17-20 supra. Indeed, that construction
would rewrite (502 in a manner which saves employees
little of substance.

This is shown by the Eighth Cireuit’s decision in NLRB
v. Fruin-Colnon Construction Co., 330 F.2d 885, 892 (C.A.
8), which refused to follow Anight-Morley, and declared:

“(T]he effect of Section 502 in its application to the
ease at hand is that if employees acting concertedly
leave their jobs believing in good faith abnormally
dangerous working conditions prevail, they run the
risk of discharge for engaging in a ‘strike’ in contra-

PERE Oey eR RENE eaNeAaS

23

vention of a ‘no-strike’ clause in their collective bar- -
gaining agreement or for participating in the unpro-
tected activity of dictating to management their own
terms and conditions of employment, should proof later
of the physical facts fail to support their prior belief.’’

We think that the same court’s decision in Hanna Mining,
464 F.2d 565, eschewed this Draconian approach to the
rights of industrial workers, and properly so. For it is plain
that ‘‘no enlightened society’? imposes on an employee such
a Hobson’s choice between a risk to his life or his liveli-
hood. Cf. Pet. App. p. 17a.

The Knight-Morley test was followed by the Third Cir-
cuit in Philadelphia Marine Trade Association v. NLRB,
330 F.2d 492 (C.A. 3), cert. denied 379 U.S. 833, and was
approved by the majority below (Pet. App. p. 17a). Yet it
was objected in dissent:

‘“‘This test will require a court to accept the naked
assertion of an employee that the presence of one of
his fellow employees in a plant constitutes a safety
hazard.*’ Pet. App. p. 22a.

But this argument, which is adopted by the Company herein
(Pet. Br. p. 39), disdaing the teachings of experience. For,
as we have shown above, the reading of §502 which we urge,
is identical to that of the common law of the shop developed
by arbitrators; the acceptance of that rule in ‘‘other indus-
tries’’ for many years, establishes that petitioner’s fears of
‘‘chaos and unrest’’ (Pet. Br. p. 39) are wholly unjustified.
More generally, ‘‘it has been sometime now since the law
viewed itself as impotent to explore the actual state of

;

- —— Se PRs OR

24

man’s mind.’’ Smith v. California, 361 U.S. at 154, and the
authorities there cited.”

As we have already noted, p. 14 supra, the majority in the
court below found that the walk-out here was predicated
on an honest belief that supervision by these foremen would
unduly endanger the miners’ lives. Pet. App. p. 14a. Plain-
ly, deliberate falsification of safety records suffices to estab-
lish that the foremen’s regard for the safety of the mine
was less than that of ‘‘the ordinary men in the calling.’’
Boudoin v. Lykes Brothers Steamship Co., 348 U.S. 336,
339, quoting Jones v. Lykes Bros. Steamship Co., 204 F.2d
815, 817 (C.A. 2, L. Hand, J.). As the Boudoin case illus-
trates, men as well as machines can render a working
place unsafe. At best the hazards facing miners border on
the ‘‘abnormally dangerous.’’ Certainly the miners’ insist-
ence that the Company provide them with supervisors
willing to abide by the minimal safety regulations imposed
by law for their benefit was entirely reasonable. The report
of the Pennsylvania Department of Enviromental Re-
sources relied on in the dissent below (Pet. App. p. 21a),
does not justify a contrary conclusion. That agency did not
decide that the foremen did not falsify records, nor that
the employment of foremen who commit such violations
does not increase the risks of working in the mines.
See p. 6, n. 2 supra. The dissent’s pleading point ‘‘that the
union has never complained about the alleged past viola-

11 The arbitration decisions cited at pp. 17-19 suwpra, which cor-
rectly insist that the employees’ refusal to work on health and
safety grounds must be reasonable (in light of the situation as it
appeared at the time), demonstrate that the standard we propose
here is not, as the Company would have it (Pet. Br. pp. 35-38), a
purely subjective one.

PEN OT ox

25

tions’’ (Pet. App.’ p. 20a) by the same foremen, assumes
that one deliberate falsification of safety records, in thts
industry, is not enough.

2. Boys Markets also prohibits the district courts from
issuing a strike injunction unless the court finds that injunc-
tive relief is appropriate under established equitable prin-
ciples: the district judge can not go forward unless he deter-
mines that the.breaches ‘‘have caused or will cause irrepa-
rable injury to the employer; and [that] the employer will
suffer more from the denial of an injunction than will the
union from its issuance.’’ 398 U.S. at 254.

Adherence to these conditions is indispensable to fulfill
the assurance of Boys Markets: ‘‘We do not undermine the
vitality of the Norris-LaGuardia Act.’’? Id. at 253. Rather,
§7 of that Act remains fully applicable.’? We are here par-
ticularly concerned with subsection (c) :

72 This has been understood by the lower courts. For example,
in Emery Air Freight Corporation v. Local Union 295, 449 F.2d
586, 588 (C.A. 2), the Second Circuit said:

‘*We emphasized [in New York Telephone Co. v. Communica-
tions Workers of America, 445 F.2d 39 (C.A. 2)] that the Act
still applies to all labor disputes in which a federal court can
issue an injunction, that nothing in Boys Markets, Ine. v.
Retail Clerk’s Union, Local 770, 398 U.S. 235 (1970), is to the
contrary, and that although that decision allows an employer
injunctive relief in a labor dispute, such relief is limited to
vindicating the arbitration process. See Note, 71 Colum.L.Rev.
336, 342-44 (1971). [445 F.2d at 49] Thus, before an employer
in a dispute with a union can obtain an injunction, there are a
number of conditions to be satified. Section 7 of the Act, 29
U.S.C. §107, lists a good many of them.”’

And the Sixth Circuit held in Detroit News. Pub. Ass’n., 471 F.2d
at 875:

‘*The fact that this case involves an injunction against the

employer does not mean that the District Court was free to

26

‘‘No court of the United States shall have jurisdic-
tion to issue a temporary or permanent injunction in
any case involving or growing out of a labor dispute,
*** except after findings of fact by the court, to the
effect’’

: . :

‘‘(¢) That as to each item of relief granted greater
injury will be inflicted upon complainant by the denial
of relief than will be inflicted upon defendants by the
granting of relief.’’

The purpose of that provision was clearly spelled out by
Frankfurter and Greene:

‘*We have referred to the political difficulties con-
fronting the federal judiciary through its interventions
in industrial conflicts. Injunctions ought never to be-
come routine. As the present Chief Justice [Taft] once
observed:

‘Government of the relations between capital and
labor by injunction is a solecism. It is an absurdity.
Injunctions in labor disputes are merely the emer-
gency brakes for rare use and in ease of sudden
danger.’

No one can examine the record of litigation in the fed-
eral courts and continue to believe that the Chief
Justice’s warning has been heeded. The curb proposed
in clause (c) is merely a paraphrase of the accepted
doctrine of equity that issuance of a temporary in-
junction must rest upon a balance of convenience, but
makes it explicit because experience has revealed the
temptations to neglect this doctrine in labor controver-
sies. Courts will thus have to consider more sharply,
not merely the case for the complainant, but also the

ignore the procedural mandates set forth in §7 of the Norris-
LaGuardia Act or to grant an injunction in the absence of

—— harm.”’

27

union’s stake in the controversy—its actual investment
of time and money in the organization and conduct of
the strike and, most important, the irretrievable dam-
age to a strike and later reversal or modification of
an injunction cannot ameliorate.’’*

In the present case, the opinions of the District Court
show on their face that the entry of the injunction was con-
trary to the requirements of §7(c) and Boys Markets. The
issue is not discussed in the Memorandum and Order of
June 28, granting the preliminary injunction; one must
indulge the assumption that that memorandum incorpo-
rated by reference the following portion of the first para-
graph of the Court’s temporary restraining order issued on
June 18:

(cee

it is apparent to the Court that the Gateway Mine,
owned by Jones and Laughlin Steel Corporation,
Wheeling, Pittsburgh Steel Corporation, and Chenango
Furnace Company, is not working, has not been work-
ing for some time, specifically since June the 2nd, 1971,
and the men who belong to Local 6330 of the United
Mineworkers of America have not reported for work
since that date, it appears to the Court and we find
that the operations of Jones and Laughlin Steel Cor-
poration will be adversely affected by the continued
closing of the mine and the lack of coal will seriously
interfere with coke and steel manufacturing operations
over an extended period of time, which will lead, in due
course, to an effect upon the steel making facilities of
the corporation, and there is no question in the Court’s.
mind that the continued inactivity of the mine will
cause irreparable harm not only to the plaintiff but to

13 F. Frankfurter anc N. Greene, The Labor Injunction, pp. 221-
222 (1930), footnotes omitted.

wh pet MGA Pepe BPE

Pah os

MM SELL TDG LEN BEE NBENG Ail SL REAP A Deeb he 5 BGA +

eS 2) aN

PERG ARE Ne Honter Er) my

28

the great mass of people who depend upon the miners
for their livelihood, that is, the miners who are working
there.’’ Pet. App. pp. la-2a.

It is evident on the face of the District Court’s opinion
that it ignored ‘‘the union’s stake in the controversy”’
(Frankfurter and Greene, supra) and thus did not even
begin to exercise its duty under Boys Market to weigh the
respective equities of the parties. The Court’s tacit as-
sumption that the union loses nothing by being enjoined
in a strike is two generations behind the times. That alone
is sufficient to require reversal of the injunction against the
work stoppage.

The condition ‘‘that the employer has suffered irrepar-
able injury’’ has likewise not been met. The present case
is in stark contrast to Boys Markets, where the employer
was a grocery chain, with perishable products, and retail
customers who could fulfill their everyday needs by pa-
tronizing the employer’s competitors. Gateway’s product,
however, is coal, which has been in the ground for millions

of years, and which would not lose in value by remaining

there for the additional days, weeks, or even months of a
strike ;* moreover, Gateway would lose no business, since
its ‘‘customers’’ (R. 34) ® are, as Gateway’s President tes-
tified, the three companies who jointly own it (R. 3, 30).

Thus, while the District Court stated ‘‘that the continued
inactivity of the mine will cause irreparable harm *** to the

14 There was no showing that the market price of the coal would
fall; that would in any event be an injury compensable by money
damages. .

15°*R.’’ refers to the Appendix in the Court of Appeals, which
is part of the record in this Court.

ey ee

29

plaintiff’? (Pet. App. p. la), it was unable to point to any
injury to that ‘‘plaintiff,’’ namely Gateway. The harm
which the Court did find was to Jones & Laughlin Steel
Corporation, a part owner and customer of Gateway, and
to the general public. Pet. App. pp. 1la-2a. But neither
Jones & Laughlin nor the general public is a ‘‘complain-
ant’’ (Norris-LaGuardia Act, §7(c)) in this action, and
respondent unions owe a contractual duty to neither. Boys
Markets requires a finding of ‘‘irreparable injury to the em-
ployer’’ (398 U.S. at 254) not to others with whom he has an

economic relationship. To be sure, a strike, or at least a suc-
cessful one, inevitably inflicts some injury on third parties
with whom the employer does business. ® But Congress has
been quite specific in describing the circumstances under
which a strike may be enjoined in the public interest, see
§§206-210 of the Act, dealing with national emergency dis-
putes; and it has declined to protect secondary employers
against the ‘‘foreseeable disruptions’’ of a primary strike.’
Insistence upon the separate identity of Gateway on the one
hand and its three corporate owners on the other, is there-

16 This is particularly true if the injury is deemed to be sufficient
to warrant an injunction as long as it will occur ‘‘in due course.”’
Pet. App. p. la. Here the testimony of Gateway’s own witness was
that it had 40 days’ supply of coal on the ground at the time the
strike began (R. 40) and thus over 20 days’ supply at the time
the temporary restraining order was entered. The strike could,
therefore, have been permitted to continue for almost three weeks
without injury to even Jones & Laughlin.

17**<Some disruption of business relationships is the necessary
consequence of the purest form of primary activity. These
foreseeable disruptions are, however, clearly protected’’ NLRB
v. Operating Engineers, 400 U.S. 297, 304.

|
3
2
|
3
‘
3
|

bi by aie Sa faatensicay

30

fore not a technicality ; it is essential to retain the vitality of
the irreparable injury requirement in strike injunction
cases. '®

Thus, as in Detroit News, Pub. Ass’n., 471 F.2d at 875,
the injunction must be reversed because the District Court
erred in evaluating the controlling equitable considera-
tions. **

18 Indeed, when the shoe is on the-other foot, neither the fact of
part ownership, nor the supplier-customer relationship, would take
Jones & Laughlin outside the protections of the secondary boycott
provisions of the Act if the respondent unions had chosen to extend
their disputes, for example, by striking not only Gateway but
Jones & Laughlin as well.

19 Tn the Detroit Newspaper case a union had obtained an injune-
tion prohibiting an employer from utilizing self-help pending arbi-
tration where the collective agreement contained an explicit status
quo provision (i.e., a provision limiting management in the same
manner as an explicit no-strike clause limits labor). Since ‘‘ [t]he
Noris-LaGuardia Act was responsive to a situation *** [in which]
the federal courts generally were regarded as allies of management
in its attempt to prevent the organization and strengthening of
labor unions’’ (Boys Markets, 398 U.S. at 250), the irreparable
injury requirement is entitled to no less rigorous adherence in strike
injunction cases.

31
CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated in Respondents’ Brief, and herein,
the judgment below should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

STEPHEN I. SCHLOSSBERG J. ALBERT WoLL
1125 15th Street, N.W. General Counsel, AFL-CIO

Washington, D.C. 20005 Roserr C. Mayer.
LAURENCE GoLD
GrorGE KAUFMANN 736 Bowen Building
1735 New York Ave., N.W. 815 Fifteenth Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006 Washington, D.C. 20005
Attorneys for
International Union, UAW Tuomas FE. Harris
Associate General Counsel,
AFL-CIO
815 Sixteenth Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006
July 23, 1973

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386414_0219%3A16. Public record. Not legal advice.
