# Petitioners Reply Brief — Gosa v. Mayden

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386414_0198%3A09

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petitioners Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1973
- **Citation:** 413 U.S. 665

## Text

INDEX

S Dandridge v. Williams, 397 U.S. 471 __

4 Duncan v. Louisiana, 391 U.S. 145 ___.

Dynes v. Hoover, 20 How. 65

3 Hanson v. United States, 285 F. 2d 27__

4 McKeiver v. Pennsylvania, 403 U.S. 528.
Milligan, Ex parte, 4 Wall. 2.

OCallahan v. Parker, 395 U.S. 258 ___

| Orloff v. Willoughby, 345 U.S. 83
Quirin, Ex parte, 317 U.S. 1
| Reid v. Covert, 354 U.S. 1
_ Relford v. Commandant, 401 U.S. 355 __.
’ Stovall v. Denno, 388 U.S. 293
_ United States v. Costello, 381 F. 2d 698__.
_ United States v. Dryden, 423 F. 2d 1175,
_ certiorari denied, 398 U.S. 950
United States v. Fabric Garment Co., 262
F. 2d 631, certiorari denied, 359 U.S.
989
United States v. McMaster, 343 F. 2d
176, certiorari denied, 382 U.S. 818 __
- United States v. Polin, 323 F. 2d 549 ___
_ Vidal, In re, 179 U.S. 126
- Williams v. United States, 401 U.S. 646_.

onstitution, statutes, rules, and regulations:

United States Constitution:
. Article I, Section 8 _

Article ITI, Section 2, cl. 3 4, 5, 6, 7,
7

Fifth Amendment
q Sixth Amendment
_ Articles for Government of Navy, Art.
68, 34 U.S.C. (1946 ed.) 1200 ___ in

g

~*~"

2 PA
oD 0 00 COC CO MOWaAn dm

~~

or

I10Oo DD

©

0

Constitution, statutes, rules,
and regulations—Continued

Uniform Code of Military Justice (1950)

Article 25, 10 U.S.C. 825(c) (1)
Article 25, 10 U.S.C. 826
Article 32, 10 U.S.C. 882 _____

Miscellaneous:

Blume, The Place of Trial of Criminal
Cases: Constitutional Vicinage and
Venue, 43 Mich. L. Rev. 59 (1944).

Henderson, Courts-Martial and the Con-
stitution: The Original Understanding,
71 Harv. L. Rev. 293 (1957) _.._..

Winthrop, Military Law and Precedents
81 (1920 War Dept. Reprint) ___.__.

$n the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1972

No. 71-1398

JOHN W. WARNER, SECRETARY OF THE NAVY,
PETITIONER

v.

JOHN W. FLEMINGS

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

REPLY BRIEF FOR THE PETITIONER

1. Respondent begins his argument from the same
starting point as did the courts below, urging essen-
tially that O’Callahan v. Parker, 395 U.S. 258, is
entitled to retroactive effect because the decision
anounced a jurisdictional rule depriving military
courts-martial of adjudicatory power to try non-serv-
ite-connected crimes. For the reasons stated in our
Opening brief (pp. 11-17), we submit that the me-
chanical application of a “jurisdictional” label to
0’Callahan does little to further the fundamental

(1)

inquiry presented in this case, and that the proper
disposition of the retroactivity question should turn
on an application of the same criteria that generally
govern the decision of this question. ©
‘2. We have fully discussed in our main brief why
those criteria warrant only prospective application of
O’Callahan (pp. 18-38), and we do not repeat that
discussion here. Respondent’s discussion of our argu-
ments focuses primarily on .the differences between
the military court-martial system prior to enactment
of the Uniform Code of Military Justice in 1950 and
the present system under the Code. But those short-
comings in the court-martial system of an earlier day
should not, we submit, determine the effect now to be
given to the rule in O’Callahan. That decision did
not imply that either the pre-Code or the post-Code
court-martial system was or is generally unfair and
inadequate under the due process clause. Rather, the
decision focused on two specific constitutional rights,
the rights to grand jury indictment and to jury trial,
and decided that, to maximize the availability of these
rights, certain kinds of cases should not be tried by
military courts. The relevant question thus is solely
whether the absence of those two procedures—from
pre-Code or post-Code military trials of “non-service-
connected” offenses—has “ ‘* * * infect[ed] the integ-
rity of the truth-determining process at oan” ©
by courts-martial. Willams v. United States, 401
U.S. 646, 655, n. 7, quoting Stovall v. Denno, 388
U.S. 293, 298.

Congress and the courts have apparently agreed
that indictments and juries are not essential to re-
liable fact-finding in the military-justice system. The
Uniform Code of Military Justice, while providing
a number of trial protections to the accused service-
men not previously recognized in military prosecu-
tions, imposes’ no statutory requirement that courts
martial be tried before lay juries* or proceed only
upon grand jury indictment.’ Nor have the military
courts, which in recent years have been particularly
sensitive to protecting the rights of servicemen (see
Pet. Br. 22-27), held that these two procedures
are necessary for a fair disposition of the case. And,
as we explained in our main brief (pp. 21-23), that
also appears to be the view of this Court, as most
recently reflected in its unanimous decision in Relford
v. Commandant, 401 U.S. 355. In this regard, what
a plurality of the Court said in McKeiver v. Pennsyl-
vania, 403 U.S. 528, in concluding that due process
does not require trial by jury in a juvenile court
proceeding—despite the fact that the juvenile sys-
tem has been fraught with “disappointments,” “‘fail-
ures” and “shortcomings” (403 U.S. at 545)—is of
equal relevance here (403 U.S. at 543):

* * * [O]ne cannot say that in our legal system
the jury is a necessary component of accurate

factfinding. There is much to be said for it,
to be sure, but we have been content to pursue

1 Compare Art. 25, U.C.M.J., 10 U.S.C. 825.
_ *Compare Art. 32, U.C.M.J., 10 U.S.C. 832.

other ways for determining facts. Juries are
not required, and have not been, for example, in
equity cases, in workmen’s compensation, in pro-
bate, or in deportation cases. Neither have they
been generally used in military trials. In Duncan
[v. Louisiana, 391 U.S. 145] the Court stated,
“We would not assert, however, that every crimi-
nal trial—or any particular trial—held before 4
judge alone is unfair or that a defendant may
never be as fairly treated by a judge as he would
be by a jury.” 391 U.S. at 158. In DeStefano )
[v. Woods, 392 U.S. 681], for this reason and |
others, the Court refrained from retrospective
application of Duncan, an action it surely would
not have taken had it felt that the integrity of
the result was seriously at issue. * * * [Empha-
sis added. ]

3. Respondent makes the additional argument in
his brief that, even if the Court should decide against
him on the retroactivity issue or should conclude
that the offense with which he was charged was
service-connected, his court-martial conviction should
be overturned because the trial was held in violation
of his right to trial in the vicinage, as guaranteed
by Article III, Sec. 2, cl. 3 of the Constitution (Resp.
Br. 49-52).° This claim is based on the fact that the

4

* Article III, Sec. 2, cl. 3 provides:

The Trial of all Crimes, except in Cases of Impeachment,
shall be by Jury; and such Trial shall bé held in the State
where the said Crimes shall have been committed; but
when not commited within any State, the Trial shall be
at such Place or Places as the Congress may by Law
have directed.

5

court-martial proceeding involved here was convened
at the Brooklyn Navy Yard in Brooklyn, New York,
despite the fact that the alleged offense (auto theft)
took place in New Jersey and respondent was ap-
prehended by civilian authorities in Pennsylvania
(see Pet. Br. 2-3).

It would be a sufficient answer to this argument
to point out that respondent failed to raise any ob-
jection at his court martial on grounds of improper
venue, and thus may properly be held to have waived
whatever venue claim he might have had when he
entered his guilty plea. See, ¢.g., United States v.
Dryden, 423 F.2d 1175, 1178 (C.A. 5), certiorari
denied, 398 U.S. 950; United States v. Costello, 381
F.2d 698, 701 (C.A. 2); United States v. McMaster,
343 F.2d 176, 181 (C.A. 6), certiorari denied, 382
US. 818; United States v. Polin, 328 F.2d 549, 556-
557 (C.A. 3); Hanson v. United States, 285 F.2d 27,
28-29 (C.A. 9); United States v. Fabric Garment Co.,
262 F.2d 631, 641 (C.A. 2), certiorari denied, 359
U.S. 989.*

In any event, respondent’s Article III claim to trial
in the vicinage is not well-founded. Court-martial

*The argument was made for the first time in the present
suit in the district court. That court, without passing on the
question, expressed the view in dicta that respondent had
“arguabl[y]” been denied the constitutional right to trial
in the vicinage (Pet. App. B 53). The court of appeals
(Pet. App. A7) did not reach the issue. Although the matter
was not raised in our petition for certiorari or discussed in
our main brief, we do not contest respondent’s right to make
the argument in this Court. See Dandridge v. Williams, 397
U.S. 471, 475, n. 6.

6

tribunals are legislative courts created by Congress
under Article I of the Constitution (Art. I, Sec. 8),
As such, their jurisdiction is independent of the
judicial power created and defined in Article III,
See In re Vidal, 179 U.S. 126, 127; Dynes v. Hoover,
20 How. 65, 79. As this Court stated in Ex Parte
Quirin, 317 U.S. 1, 39:

Presentment by a grand jury and trial by a
jury of the vicinage where the crime was com-
mitted were at the time of the adoption of the
Constitution familiar parts of the machinery for
criminal trials in the civil courts. But they were
procedures unknown to military tribunals which
are not courts in the sense of the Judiciary
Article * * *.

Accordingly, in the military context at least, the
Constitution does not require that servicemen be tried
at the locale of the crime. It has long been recognized
that the “jurisdiction of general courts-martial is
coextensive with the territory of the United States.”
Winthrop, Military Law and Precedents 81 (1920
War Dept. Reprint). As that noted authority ob-
served (ibid.), a military tribunal “assembled at any
locality within that territory may legally take cogni-
zance of an offence committed at any other such
locality whatever, such a court, unlike a civil tri-
bunal, not being restricted in the exercise of its
authority to the limits of a particular State or other
district or region.” (Emphasis in original.)

The constitutional requirement of trial in the
vicinage where the offense was committed has tra- |

7

ditionally been associated only with trials by jury.
Indeed, the Sixth Amendment to the Constitution,
which in this regard particularizes the general di-
rective of Article III, provides:

In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall en-
joy the right to a speedy and public trial, by an
impartial jury of the State and district wherein
the crime shall have been committed, which dis-
trict shall have been previously ascertained by
law * * *. [Emphasis added.]

This provision, of course, has never been thought
applicable to trials by military courts. The concept
that the rights to jury trial and to trial in the
vicinage are interrelated has its roots in early English
history. See Blume, The Place of Trial of Criminal
Cases: Constitutional Vicinage and Venue, 43 Mich.
L, Rev. 59, 94 (1944); Henderson, Courts-Martial
and the Constitution: The Original Understanding,
71 Harv. L. Rev. 2938, 303-315 (1957). Those who
live in the community where the crime is committed
—which is frequently also the place of residence of
the accused—have long been considered to be best
situated to pass judgment on the validity of the
charges brought. It is their “participation in the
determination of guilt or innocence” (Duncan v.

5It has long been held that “ ‘cases arising in the land or
naval forces,’” which are expressly excepted from the opera-
tion of certain clauses of the Fifth Amendment, are also im-
plicitly excepted from the Sixth Amendment’s guarantee of
trial before a jury of the vicinage. See Ex Parte Milligan,
4Wall. 2, 123, 138-139. Respondent advisedly does not premise
his “trial in the vicinage” argument on the Sixth Amendment.

8
Louisiana, 391 U.S. 145, 156) that the vicinage rule
is designed to obtain.

But in the military context, an application of that
rule would be of little value. Members of the armed
forces have no geographical “community” in the sense
conceived by the constitutional provisions attending
the right to jury trial for criminal offenses in civil
courts. Their “community” is, as recognized in Orlof
v. Willoughby, 345 U.S. 88, 94, a “specialized” one;
it consists primarily of other servicemen (and their
families), who come from all parts of the nation and
are constantly moving about among a variety of
military installations throughout the world.

Moreover, these transient servicemen and _ their
families have never been the ones selected to sit in
judgment at a court martial. It is well settled that
the guarantee of trial by jury does not apply to
military tribunals. See O’Callahan v. Parker, supra,
895 US. at 272-273; Reid v. Covert, 354 U.S. 1, 37;
Ex Parte Quirin, supra, 317 U.S. at 38-40; Ex Parte
Milligan, supra, 4 Wall. at 123; and see id. at 138-
139 (concurring opinion). The trial is traditionally
before a panel of commissioned or warrant officers,
although now a limited number of enlisted men (no
more than one-third of the total panel) may, if the
accused makes a timely request, serve on the court-
martial, so long as they are not members of the same
unit as the accused (Art. 25, U.C.M.J., 10 U.S.C.
825(c)(1)).

In these circumstances, the place where the military
trial is held is of marginal significance to the ac

»

9

cused. The benefit of “community participation” that
is derived from the vicinage requirement in civil
prosecutions is simply inapplicable in a court-martial
proceeding. There is no basis, therefore, either in
constitutional history or in practical necessity, for
adopting respondent’s novel interpretation of the vi-
cinage clause of Article III as applicable to courts
martial.

Respondent is thus in no position to claim prejudice
because his court martial was convened in New York
rather than in New Jersey. While he asserts (Resp.
Br. 52) that his trial outside the vicinage deprived
him of an opportunity to subpoena civilian witnesses
from a State other than the one in which the court
martial occurred, he does not dispute the fact that
he made no effort to obtain the depositions of out-
of-state witnesses, which he could have done under
Article 68 of the Articles for the Government of the
Navy (34 U.S.C. (1946 ed.) 1200).° This failure,
coupled with his plea of guilty, precludes entertain-
ing his present objection to the venue of the court
martial whose judgment he is collaterally attacking.
If the respondent had not pleaded guilty, the prosecu-
tion would have had to prove its case and the re-

*The claim is particularly thin on the facts of this case
where the offense took place in New Jersey but the evidence
that respondent suggests might have been helpful ( Resp. Br.
52) related to the circumstances surrounding his arrest in
Pennsylvania. Thus, had he been tried by court martial in the
district of the offense, he would not have been in any substan-
tially different posture vis-a-vis obtaining witnesses from
Pennsylvania.

10

spondent would have been able to cross-examine thes
witnesses. The respondent made the decision that
no proof was required when he determined to plead
guilty.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated herein and in our main
brief, it is respectfully submitted that the judg.
ment of the court of appeals should be reversed.

ERWIN N. GRISWOLD,
Solicitor General.

HENRY E. PETERSEN,
Assistant Attorney General.

PHiLip A. LACOVARA,
Deputy Solicitor General.

WM. BRADFORD REYNOLDS,
Assistant to the Solicitor General.

RoGerR A. PAULEY,
SHIRLEY Baccus-LoBEL,
Attorneys.

Ws. 8. covannuenr paurine orrice; 1972

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386414_0198%3A09. Public record. Not legal advice.
