# Motion — United States v. 12 200-Ft. Reels of Super 8MM. Film

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386414_0179%3A04

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Motion
- **Published:** January 1, 1973
- **Citation:** 413 U.S. 123

## Text

ON APPEAL, ynoM "ER UNITED STATES BISTRIOE COUR 708,
CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA,

Table of Contents.

Morrow ron LEAVE 10 FILE BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE
AMICUS CURIAE BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF CLAIMANT-APPELLEE

2
* M e % Mm

I. The Constitution Prohibits seizure of obscenity
disereetly imported by an adult for personal use 5

II. Even if the Government would have power to
_ Seize pornography imported for personal use
under an appropriately limited statute, it may
not do so under the unconstitutionally overbroad
provisions of 19 U.S.C. ¢ 1305

. Table of Authorities Cited.
_ American Motorcycle Ass 'n v. Davids, 158 N. W. 2d
72 8n.

a d v. Alexandria, 341 U.S. 622 12, 13n.
_ Dombrowski v. Pfister, 380 U.S. 479 12
_ Everhardt v. New Orleans, 208 So. 2d 423 Sn.

‘Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479 6, 9
Jones v. Opelika, 316 U.S. 584 12
Martin v. Struthers, 319 U.S. 141 12
Murdock v. Pennsylvania, 319 U.S. 105 12
Stanley v. Georgia, 394 U.8.557 ., 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11

United States v One Magazine, D. Mass. Misc. Civ.
No. 70-45-F 3

ii TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

United States v. Reidel, 402 U.S. 351 7,8
United States v. 31 Photographs, 156 F. Supp. 350 11

United States v. Thirty-Seven Photographs, 402 U.S.
363 12
United States v. Various Articles of Obscene Mer-
chandise, Fred Cherry, Claimant, No. 706 (1969
Term) An.
Valentine v. Chrestensen, 316 U.S. 52 12

: SraTures.

U.S. Constitution, First, Fourth, Fifth & Ninth

Amendments 6, 7
Mass. General Laws, c. 272, § 21 8n.
19 U.S.C. § 1305 4, 5, 8n., 10, 11, 12, 14

MISCELLANEOUS.

82 Harv. L. Ed. 469 8n.
Kaplan, J., Marijuana—The New Prohibition, 312

(1970) 8n.
Mill, J. S., On Liberty, 9 (A. Castell ed. 1947) | 6
Note, The First Amendment Overbreadth Doctrine,

83 Harv. L. Rev. 844 (1970). 12 ,13

Supreme Court of the United States.

Ocroser TAN, 1971.

No. 70-2.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Appellant,
v.
12 200-FT. REELS OF SUPER 8 MM. FILM er Al.,
Appellees,

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE
CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA.

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE BRIEF AMICUS
CURIAE.

Christopher W. Walker respectfully moves that this
court permit him to file an amicus curiae brief in support
of the claimant-appellee in United States v. Twelve 200-
Foot Reels of Super 8 mm. Film, No. 70-2. Movant’s interest
in the case is set forth in section I of the brief filed here-
with.

Respectfully submitted,
By his attorneys,
ROGER C. PARK,
HARVEY A. SILVERGLATE,

ZALKIND & SILVERGLATE,
148 State Street,
Boston, Massachusetts 02109.

3
Supreme Court of the United States,

Octoszr TRR, 1971.

No. 70.2. 75
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Appellant,
v.
12 200-FT. REELS OF SUPER 8 MM. FILM er AL.,
Appellees.

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE
CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA.

AMICUS CURLAE BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF
CLAIMANT-APPELLEE.

Interest of Amicus Curiae.

hence are privileged against seizure under Stanley v.
Georgia, 394 U.S. 557 ( 1969). After initiating the forfeiture
action, the government moved that the action against

4

claimant Walker’s magazines be stayed pending this court’s
clarification of the scope of Stanley v. Georgia.’ The stay
was granted over claimant Walker’s opposition. It is still
in effect and claimant Walker’s magazines are still in the
hands of the government.

The Solicitor General granted permission to file a brief
amicus curiae in the instant case on January 4, 1971.
Amicus has been unable to reach claimant-appellee Ariel
G. Paladini to request permission from him to file an
amicus brief.“

Amicus fears that the following arguments would not
receive sufficient development if his brief were not
accepted :

(1) That Stanley v. Georgia, as a decision protecting an
individual’s right to harm his own mind if he pleases, con-
veys an absolute privilege upon mere private possession of
obscenity.

(2) That 19 U.S.C. § 1305, though constitutional in its
application to commercial importation, is unconstitutionally
overbroad in its application to private importation.

Amicus notes that the claimant-appellee is appearing
pro se in the instant action, and hence amicus briefs may
be necessary for full development of essential issues.

1 The government specifically moved that claimant Walker’s case
be stayed pending the outcome of United States v. Various Articles
of Obscene Merchandise, Fred Cherry, Claimant, No. 706 (1969
Term), a case raising a Stanley v. Georgia issue substantially
identical to the present one. United States v. Various Articles of
Obscene Merchandise was dismissed on June 23, 1971, pursuant to
Rule 60.

2 Appellee Paladini is appearing pro se. Mail sent by amicus to
appellee’s addresses of record, P.O. Box 451, Sierra Madre, Calif.,
and 144 East Highland, Apartment F, Sierra Madre, Calif., has
been returned marked moved, left no address.

5

Summary of Argument.

Stanley v. Georgia, 394 U.S. 557 (1969), creates a sphere
of private autonomy which the government may not directly
breach to protect the individual from reading or
observing what he pleases. The government may prohibit
commercial distribution, but it may not seize pornography
belonging to the ultimate consumer. Mere private posses-

sion by an adult for purely personal use is absolutely

privileged, at the border no less than in the home.

Even if mere private possession is not absolutely privi-
leged, 19 U.S.C. § 1305(a) is unconstitutionally overbroad
because it applies to both privileged and unprivileged forms
of private possession. Commercial distributors do not have
standing to challenge the overbreadth of § 1305(a), since
commercial distribution is a hard core“ violation clearly
beyond any constitutional privilege. However, all adults
who possess pornography for purely personal use do have
standing to challenge § 1305(a), and as to them the statute
is unconstitutional. }

t

air)

I. Tun Cowstrrvtion Prom Serure or Osscenrry
Discreet Importep sy an Apuur ron Personat Use.

Stanley v. Georgia, 394 U.S. 557 (1969), conferred a con-
stitutional privilege upon what is characterized as the
mere private possession of obscene matter. 394 U.S. at
559. The Stanley court rejected the argument that the state
has the right to protect the individual’s mind from the
effects of obscenity.“ 394 U.S. at 565. It noted that there
appeared to be little empirical basis“ for the assertion
that exposure to obscene materials leads to deviant sexual
behavior or crimes of sexual violence, 394 U.S. at 566, and
concluded that ‘‘[g]iven the present state of knowledge,

the State may no more prohibit mere possession of obscene
matter on the ground that it may lead to antisocial conduct
than it may prohibit possession of chemistry books on the
the ground that they may lead to the manufacture of home-
made spirits.“ 394 U.S. at 567.

The chief thought behind Stanley was that the state had
no business prohibiting mere possession of pornography
by an individual because of a paternalistic desire to prevent
him from harming himself. Thus, Stanley’s roots are not
in the First Amendment’s specific provisions for free
speech but in the time-honored libertarian doctrine that

‘*(T]he sole end for which mankind are warranted,
individually or collectively, in interfering with the
liberty of action of any of their member, is self-protec-
tion. That the only purpose for which power can be
rightfully exercised over any member of a civilized
community, against his will, is to prevent harm to
others. His own good, either physical or moral, is ‘not
a sufficient warrant.“ J. S. Mill, On Liberty, 9 (A.
Castell ed. 1947).

These ideals are clearly embedded in American constitu-
tional tradition, and for legal purposes they can be
grounded on the due process clause of the Fifth Amend-
ment, on the penumbras of the First, Fourth and Fifth
Amendments, or on the Ninth Amendment. See generally
Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479 (1965).

Stanley did not, of course, establish an absolute rule pro-
hibiting states from enacting laws to protect individuals
from self-harm. Many such statutes have been passed, and
no doubt others will be in the future. Two features of the
statute examined in the Stanley case made it particularly
offensive. First, the statute sought to protect individuals
not from physical harm, but from mental harm caused by

7

receipt of information and ideas. The Court was clearly
disturbed by this feature. It characterized Georgia’s
argument as being that states could deal with possession
of obscenity

„ . . just as they may deal with possession of other
things thought to be detrimental to the welfare of their
citizens. If the State can protect the body of a citizen,
may it not... protect his mind?”

In the course of rejecting this argument, the court em-
phasized that individuals have a right to receive informa-
tion and ideas, regardless of their social worth,“ 394 U.S.
at 564. This language does not carry with it a correlative
right to distribute. It merely reflects the court’s belief
that direct interference with an individual’s autonomous
monitoring of his self-regarding conduct is more offensive
when the state seeks to prevent him from harming his
mind instead of his body. The Stanley court’s recognition
of the right to a zone of personal privacy within which
individuals may monitor what they choose to receive
mentally is thus not weakened by the court’s subsequent
holding in United States v. Reidel, 402 U. S. 351 (1971), that
commercial distributors may be prosecuted and that
obscenity is not within the protection of the First Amend-
ment.

Secondly, the statute examined in Stanley directly in-
truded upon the life of the individual, instead of indirectly
protecting him by punishing commercial distributors. The
Stanley court understandably distinguished between com-
mercial distributors and private possessors, thereby con-
forming to a tradition in American law of regulating self-
regarding harm principally by striking at commercial

* facilitators and abettors, rather than directly interfering

vith what individuals have chosen to da with their own

SOR ALN OE ERAS la BS Rigs aes ORL ag OR SMe EM ER Rhone SR NE Ok Ty a aS, 33

minds and bodies.“ There is absolutely no inconsistency
between recognition of an absolute right to purely private
possession of obscenity and broad power to prosecute com-
mercial distributors.

The offensive features described in the foregoing para-
graphs are just as prominent in the instant case as they
were in Stanley. Understandably, the government passes
over these features and fixes upon the fact that Stanley’s
pornography was seized in his house. Evidently, in the
government’s view, an individual may possess obscenity
in his home but not in his automobile, his wallet, his lug-
gage, his office desk, his safe deposit box, his mail or any
other personal and private places. Such a strange result
cannot lightly be accepted, notwithstanding the language
in Stanley emphasizing the importance of the home. The
Constitution does not make the home a medieval sanctuary
beyond the law’s reach, nor does an individual give up his
right to be free from government interference when he steps
beyond the threshold. He carries with him a „protective
zone ensuring the freedom of [his] inner life, be it rich
or sordid. United States v. Reidel, supra, 402 U.S. at 360
(concurring opinion of Mr. Justice Harlan).

For example, distribution of instruments for use in masturba-
tion has been forbidden, e.g., Mass. General Laws, c. 272, § 21, but
the act itself has hardly ever been prohibited, despite its supposed
harms. See J. Kaplan, Marijuana—The New Prohibition, 312
(1970). This approach has been followed by many lawmakers in
dealing with other consensual or ‘‘victimless’’ crimes such as
gambling, prostitution, abortion or sale of alcohol to minors.
Similarly, the government has chosen to require that automobile
manufacturers furnish seat belts, even to customers who would not
otherwise request them, but it has not required drivers to buckle
them. Indeed, the constitutionality of such a requirement would be
in doubt. See American Motorcycle Ass’n v. Davids, 158 N.W. 2d
72 (Mich. Ct. App. 1968), noted, 82 Harv. L. Rev. 469; Everhard+
v. New Orleans, 208 So, 2d 423 (La. Ct. App. 1968) (requirement
that motorcyclists wear crash helmets unconstitutional).

The government’s brief confuses the concept of privacy
with the concept of secrecy. Stanley was not intended simply
to protect an individual from ‘‘intrusive inquiry“ to
determine the nature of materials possessed by him. That
goal could have been accomplished simply by prohibiting
the government from searching homes for the purpose of
discovering pornography. Stanley clearly goes beyond that,
and prevents the government’ from prosecuting an in-
dividual for possessing pornography at home even if it
could do so without the necessity of a search of the home.
The privacy“ protected in Stanley and Griswold v. Con-
necticut is not a narrow protection of an individual’s right
to secrecy in certain physical spheres. It is a right to
privacy“ in a broader sense—in the sense that an in-
dividual has a sphere of private autonomy in which, in
dealing with his own thoughts and his own mind, he may
be free from direct governmental interference so long as
he acts discreetly and does not harm others. The state
interferes with this private sphere whenever it seizes
obscenity belonging to the ultimate consumer, whether the
seizure takes place at home, in transit, or from the mails.
Hence, seizure of obscenity from luggage at a border
crossing constitutes an unconstitutional interference with
“privacy”? whether or not the contents are entitled to
secrecy.

inally, the government argues that laws against the dis-
tribution of obscenity cannot be effectively enforced if
persons are allowed to import obscenity for alleged private
use. This argument is essentially the same as the one ad-
vanced by the state in Stanley v. Georgia, and rejected by
the Court:

[Wie are faced with the argument that prohibition
of possession of obscene materials is a necessary in-
cident to statutory schemes prohibiting distribution.
That argument is based on alleged difficulties of

10

proving an intent to distribute or in producing evidence
of actual distribution. We are not convinced that such
difficulties exist, but even if they did we do not think
that they would justify infringement of the individual’s
right to read or observe what he pleases.’’ 394 U.S. at
567-568.

The government has produced no empirical evidence to
demonstrate why it is any more necessary to seize small
quantities of obscenity at the border than it is to seize
obscenity in the home. A priori, there seems to be no reason
why would-be distributors of obscenity would be more
likely to import obscenity from abroad—thereby creating
additional risk of criminal prosecution based on discovery
during customs searches—than they would be to manufac-
ture it at home. At any rate, if Congress desires to restrict
the private importation of obscenity in order to prevent
covert importation for commercial purposes, it should do
so in an appropriately limited statute. For example, Con-
gress could provide that importation of more than a certain
quantity creates a presumption that the purpose is distribu-
tion ; it could provide for registration of private importers;
it could make a false statement as to the purpose of im-
portation a separate crime; perhaps it could even place the
burden of proof as to the purpose of the importation upon
the importer rather than the government. There are clearly
less restrictive alternatives to the all-inclusive approach
of § 1305.

I. Even rr tHe GoverNMENT WOULD HAVE Power To SEIZE
PorwocraPHy ImportTep ror PersonaL Use UNDER AN AP-
PROPRIATELY Limrrep Statute, rr May Nor bo sO UNDER
THE UnconstiruTionaLty Oversroap Provisions or 19
U.S.C. § 1305.

Even if Stanley is given a narrow reading, so that it
does not even protect the traveler carrying a small quantity

11

of pornography for personal use, 19 U.S.C. § 1305 would
still be unconstitutional in many of its potential applica-
tions. Whatever the scope of the protective zone of privacy
created by Stanley, it must at least cover such items as
obscene letters between marital partners, an obscene diary,
or an obscene manuscript carried by a traveler in his per-
sonal effects. These items could be subject to seizure under
§ 1305’s broad prohibition of any obscene writing.

Even without the Stanley doctrine, & 1305 would clearly
be unconstitutional in some of its applications. For ex-
ample, the statute provides that the Secretary of the
Treasury may, in his discretion, admit the so-called classics
or books of recognized and established literary and scien-.
tific merit. This clause implies that in the absence of
a discretionary act by the Secretary, even books with clear
redeeming social value—books with established literary
and scientific merit —are subject to seizure under the
statute. Moreover, § 1305 by its terms prohibits importa-
tion of books which lack literary or scientific merit but
which are intended for use in legitimate scientific research.
Importation of hard core pornography for bona fide re-
search purposes is constitutionally privileged. United
States v. 31 Photographs, 156 F. Supp. 350 (S. D. N. V.
1957). Finally, § 1305 is vague and overbroad because it
contains a prohibition of ‘‘immoral’’ articles. The concept
of ‘‘immorality’’ is undefined and all-embracing, not having
received the same judicial definition and delimitation which
has been given to the concept of ‘ ‘obscenity. ’’

Because of its overbreadth, § 1305 should be invalidated
as it applies to all non-commercial importation of pornog-
raphy. No readily discernible standard can be evolved in
one case which could isolate all of the unconstitutional ap-
plications of § 1305. Nor, within any permissible interpreta-
tion of the original purpose of the statute, can the statute
be restrictively interpreted in one sweep so as to exclude

12

all possible unconstitutional applications. In these circum-
stances, the most appropriate judicial treatment of the
statute is to hold it unconstitutional. See generally Note,
The. First Amendment Overbreadth Doctrine, 83 Harv. L.
Rev. 844, 858-863 (1970).

Commercial distributors do not have standing to raise
the issue of the overbreadth of 5 1305. See United States v.
Thirty-Seven Photographs, 402 U.S. 363, 377 (1971)
(Harlan, J., concurring). Cf. Dombrowski v. Pfister, 380
U.S. 479, 491-492 (1965); United States v. Thirty-Seven
Photographs, supra, 375, n. 3. There is no anomaly, how-
ever, in holding that § 1305 is void for overbreadth as
applied to private importers, but that it may validly be
applied to prohibit commercial importation. Commercial
distributors are within the hard core“ of persons whose
conduct is clearly not constitutionally privileged. The line
between commercial and non-commercial speech activities
is easily understood and well established. Compare Breard
v. Alewandria, 341 U.S. 622 (1951) and Jones v. Opelika,
316 U.S. 584 (1942), with Murdock v. Pennsylvania, 319
U.S. 105 (1943) and Martin v. Struthers, 319 U.S. 141
(1943). See Valentine v. Chrestensen, 316 U.S. 52 (1942).
Holding that commercial importers may not challenge the
overbreadth of § 1305 would therefore have no substantial
chilling effect“ upon persons who are constitutionally
privileged to import obscenity, since such persons can
easily distinguish between commercial and non-commercial
importation. In contrast, no easily understood per se rule
is available which would enable persons affected by § 1305
to distinguish between privileged and non-privileged forms
of non-commercial importation. Whatever constitutional
standard this court adopts, the issue of whether a given
private importation is privileged will turn upon a host of
variables. Individuals desiring to import obscenity would
be unable to predict whether their conduct would be lawful

13

or unlawful. Therefore, the statute should be held com-
pletely invalid as it applies to non-commercial importation.
See generally Note, The First Amendment Overbreadth
Doctrine, 83 Harv. L. Rev. 844, 907-910 (1970). If Congress
desires to prohibit some forms of non-commercial importa-
tion, it should do so in an appropriately limited statute.
Congress is better equipped to promulgate a detailed, com-
prehensive set pf rules establishing bright-line tests of
privilege than is this Court, which must necessarily proceed
by case-by-case adjudication,

The approach urged in the foregoing paragraph is
similar to the one which has been followed by this court in
its review of Green River“ ordinances prohibiting door-
to-door solieitation. Such ordinances have been held invalid
in toto as applied to non-commercial solicitation, even
though some forms of non-commercial solicitation are not
constitutionally privileged. At the same time, ‘‘Green
River“ ordinances have been held enforceable as applied
to commercial solicitors.*

The analysis in . . . Breard [v. Alexandria, 341 U.S. 622
(1951)] . . . suggests that when a law covering both commercial
and noncommercial canvassing is held bad ‘on its face’ it ought
not necessarily follow that the law thereafter is unenforceable. If
cut back to its commercial applications, the law would be shorn of
substantial overbreadth—though at the cost of sparing some un-
protected ‘noncommercial’ activity—and also would be fairly pre-
dictable in its permissible operation. See Note, The Void-for-
Vagueness Doctrine in the Supreme Court [109 U. Pa. L. Rev. 67 ],
108n. 190. Absent fair warning problems, laws invalidated at the
suit of a ‘noncommercial’ complainant—for example, the prohibi-
tion of anonymous pamphleteering condemned in Talley v. Cali-
fornia, 362 U.S. 60 (1960)—might perhaps still be applied with
respect to commercial messages. Note, The First Amendment
Overbreadth Doctrine, 83 Harv. L. Rev. 844, 909-910, n. 258

14
Conclusion.

For the reasons stated above, the court should hold that
importation of pornography by adults for personal use is
constitutionally privileged, and affirm the judgment below.

Alternatively, the court should hold that 19 U.S.C. § 1305
is unconstitutionally overbroad as applied to adults who
import obscenity for personal use, and affirm the judgment
below.

Respectfully submitted,
ROGER C. PARK,
HARVEY A. SILVERGLATE,

ZALKIND & SILVERGLATE,
Attorneys for Amicus Curiae
Christopher W. Walker.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386414_0179%3A04. Public record. Not legal advice.
