# Brief for Respondent — Kaplan v. California

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386414_0178%3A06

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Brief for Respondent
- **Published:** January 1, 1973
- **Citation:** 413 U.S. 115

## Text

Sepem Court, ©. $.
FILED
SEP 29 187?
IN THE
MICHAEL RODAK, JR_CLER
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED!

No. 71-1422

MURRAY KAPLAN,
Zz Petitioner,
vs.

PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA,
| Respondent.

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENT

2?

ROGER ARNEBERGH
City Attorney

DAVID M. SCHACTER
Chief of the
Appellate Department

WARD GLEN McCONNELL
Deputy City Attorney

Room 500
205 South Broadway

* Los Angeles, Ca. 90012
(213) 485-5483

Attorneys for Respondent

IN THE*
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term, 1971

+?

No. 71-1422

MURRAY KAPLAN,
Petitioner,

vs.

PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA,
Respondent.

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENT

ROGER ARNEBERGH
City Attorney

DAVID M. SCHACTER
Chief of the
Appellate Department

WARD GLEN McCONNELL
Deputy City Attorney

Room 500

205 South Broadway
Los Angeles, Ca. 90012
(213) 485-5483

Attorneys for Respondent

I

II

III

TOPICAL INDEX

Table of Authorities
OPINIONS BELOW
JURISDICTION
QUESTIONS PRESENTED

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

STATEMENT
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

CALIFORNIA PENAL CODE §§ 31l

AND 311.2, AS CONSTRUED AND
APPLIED TO AUTHORIZE THE JUDG-
MENT OF CONVICTION OF PETITIONER
HEREIN, FOR SELLING AN ADMITTEDLY
OBSCENE BOOK TO AN ADULT, DOES
NOT DEPRIVE PETITIONER OF..HIS
LIBERTY AND PROPERTY WITHOUT

DUE PROCESS OF LAW AND DOES NOT
ABRIDGE PETITIONER'S EXERCISE

OF FREEDOMS OF SPEECH AND PRESS

OBSCENE MATTER IS NO LESS
OBSCENE MERELY BECAUSE IT IS
SOLD TO AN ADULT INSTEAD OF A
CHILD, OR FORCED ON AN UNWILLING
ADULT, AND STATE REGULATION IS
PROPER AND NECESSARY

THE BOOK SUITE 69 IS OBSCENE
AND IS NOT PROTECTED BY THE
FREE SPEECH AND PRESS AND DUE
PROCESS PROVISIONS OF THE FIRST
AND FOURTEENTH AMENDMENTS

i

ll
20

25

28

38

EV CALIFORNIA PENAL CODE §§ 311

vI

AND 311.2, CONSTRUED AND
APPLIED TO ALLOW THE PROSE-
CUTION TO PROVE THAT MATTER IS
UTTERLY WITHOUT REDEEMING SOCIAL
IMPORTANCE BY PROVING THAT IT
WAS COMMERCIALLY EXPLOITED FOR
THE SAKE OF ITS PRURIENT APPEAL,
TO THE EXCLUSION OF ALL OTHER
VALUES, DOES NOT DEPRIVE PETI-
TIONER OF HIS LIABILITY AND
PROPERTY WITHOUT DUE PROCESS OF
LAW, AND DOES NOT ABRIDGE HIS
FREEDOM OF SPEECH AND PRESS 40

PETITIONER WAS NOT CONVICTED

OF "PANDERING", NO STATE

STATUTE WAS RETROACTIVELY

APPLIED TO INVOKE SUCH A CONCEPT,

AND NO SUCH CONCEPT WAS "INVOKED"

BY THE COURT BELOW. THE COURT

BELOW DID NOT NEGLECT OR REFUSE

TO FOLLOW BINDING PRECEDENT 44

CALIFORNIA PENAL CODE §§ 31l

AND 311.2, AS CONSTRUED AND
APPLIED, TO ALLOW THE OBSCENITY

OF A BOOK TO BE JUDGED ACCORDING

TO STATEWIDE CONTEMPORARY COM-
MUNITY STANDARDS, DO NOT DEPRIVE
PETITIONER OF HIS LIBERTY AND
PROPERTY WITHOUT DUE PROCESS OF
LAW, AND DO NOT ABRIDGE PETITIONER'S
EXERCISE OF FREEDOM'S. OF SPEECH

AND PRESS UNDER THE FIRST AND
FOURTEENTH AMENDMENTS 47

CONCLUSION “ : 50

ii |

: 2 TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

16 L.Ed.2d l,
86 S. Ct. 975

; Beazell Ve Ohio,
269 U.S. 167

71-1572

Byrne v. Karalexis,
401 U.S. 216

Childs v. Oregon,
401 U.S. 1006

Donald v. Jones,
— 445 F.2d 601

In re Giannini,
69 Cal.2d 563
390 U.S. 629

- Hoyt v. Minnesota,
399 U.S. 524

Jacobellis v. Ohio,
378 U.S. 184

Cases

ah Book v. Attorney General
(1966) 383 U.S. 413,

Bowling, et al. v. California,
petition for writ of
certiorari pending, United
States Supreme Court,
October term 1971, No.

Ginsberg v. New York,

iii

Page
18, 20, 24
41, 43-46

46

34

34, 42, 48

28

39

40, 47

‘Cases Page

Karalexis v. Byrne,
~ 306 F. Supp. noes: 33

Manual Enterprises Vv. Day,
370 ‘U. Ss. 478 eS 4)

“People \ v. Holden,
No. CR A 10754,

unrep. 1972 ‘ ry)
People v. Luros,
@-Cal.3d.84..-.:. 34
People v.- Newton, as -
9 Cal.App.3d SUPP: 24 42
‘People 'v. Noroff, ve
67 Cal.2d 791 45, 46
*People v. Rosakos, as
268 Cal.App.2d 497 45, 46
-Redrup v. New York, ‘
386 U.S. 767 45
» Roth v. United States, |
354 U.S. 476 22, 25, 29, 41
_ Stanley v. Georgia, es
394 U.S. 557 16, 21, 26-29,
31, 34

Thompson v. Missouri,
171 U.S. 380 ps, 46

United States v. Dellapia,
433 F.2d 1252 ; 32

iv

sort Cases Page

United States v. Pink,
Superintendent, etc.,
Foe 3250.8. 203 3 41

United States v. Reidel,
402 U.S. 351 265-27, 32, 33

United States v. Thirty-
Seven (37) Photographs,
402 U.S. 363 26; 215 2

United States v. Thirty-
Seven Photographs, etc.,

156 F. Supp. 350
ac... BF. 1957) 34

Codes

California Penal Code:

§311 4-7, 25, 28,
40, 47

§311 (a) (2) 10, 18, 20, 46
§311.2 4, 5, £9) 24,
25, 28, 40, 47

§1127 (b) 43
$1471 3

28 U.S.C. §1257(3) 3

o

Constitution : Page
United States Constitution:

First Amendment 4, 5, 6, 7, 25,
35, 38, 47

Fourteenth Amendment i 4, 5, 6, 7, 26,
35, 38, 47

Article I, Section 10 7
Rules ;

California Rules of ‘Court:

Rule 24 (a) ; 3

Rule 28(b) 3

Rule 62 . 3

Rule 63(a) and (3) 2, 19
Texts

Abelson, et al.,
Technical Reports of the
Commission on Obscenity
and Pornography, Volume 6 32

Miscellaneous

The Report of the Commission
on Obscenity and Pornography,
United States Government
Printing Office, September,
1970 .

29, 30

vi

Miscellaneous

Report of the Effects Panel,
Section B, "Public
Opinion About Sexual
Materials"

vii

30

ae IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term, 1971

No. 71-1422

MURRAY KAPLAN,
Petitioner,

vs.
PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA,

Respondent.

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENT

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Appellate Department
of the Superior Court of the State of Cali-
fornia for the County of Los Angeles is
reported in 23 Cal.App.3d Supp. 9, 100 Cal.
Rptr. 372, and is printed in Appendix "A"
to the Petition for Certiorari. Petitioner
has included in his Petition for Certiorari,
“at Appendix "B", the original opinion of
. os

said Appellate Department rendered on Octo-
ber 27, 1971, which was supérseded and
replaced by the above opinion published in
23 Cal.App.3d Supp. 9; said original opinion,
is, of course, unreported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Appellate Depart-
ment of the Superior Court of the State of
California for the County of Los Angeles
(23 Cal.App.3d Supp. 9) was entered on
February 7, 1972.

The first opinion of said Appellate
Department was rendered on October 27, 1971,
and an order correcting it was made on
November 3, 1971. On November 10, 1971,
said Appellate Department ordered a rehear-
ing (Appendix "D", Petition for Certiorari)
on. Poettienss’ 8 motion.

“After rehearing, the Appellate Depart-
ment, on February 7, 1972, rendered its
opinion affirming the judgment of conviction,
_ at. the same time certifying the cause to
the California Court. of Appeal pursuant to
Rule 63 (a) and (3) of the California Rules

2.

of Court. The Court of Appeal denied said
certification on February 17, 1972.

“The effect of said denial was that the
Appellate Department of the Superior Court
of the State of California became the high-
est State court to which an appeal could be
taken. (California Penal Code §1471; Cali-
fornia Rules of Court, Rules 62, 24(a) and
28(b)).

The jurisdiction of this Court is
invoked under 28 U.S.C. §1257(3).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether the law of obscenity has
changed, or should be changed, to
the extent that the states should
‘be denied the power to regulate
admittedly obscene matter unless it
is sold to a minor or thrust on an
unwilling public.

Whether the law of obscenity has
changed, or should be changed, to
the extent that nothing may be
considered to be obscene, or to
“exceed contemporary standards, or

—

Bs

outweigh evidence, no matter how

to appeal to prurient interest,
or to be utterly without redeeming

_ Social importance, unless it is
first sold to a juvenile or thrust
on an unwilling public.

Whether the book sold by Petitioner

‘is obscene.

“Whether California Penal Code §3]]

and §311.2, as construed and applied,

. deprive Petitioner of his liberty

and property without due process
of law and abridge his exercise of
freedoms of speech and press,
contrary to the provisions of the

--Pirst and Fourteenth Amendments,

inasmuch as they allow the prosecu-
tion to prove that Petitioner con-
mercially exploited the book for
the sake of its prurient appeal

to the exclusion-of all other
values, to prove that the book

was utterly without redeeming social
value; and whether such evidence is
sufficient, as a matter of law, to

slight, that the book has some
social value.

- §. Whether California Penal Code

~§§ 311 and 311.2, as construed and

applied, deprive Petitioner of his
-liberty and property without due
process of law and the equal pro-
tection of the laws and abridge his
exercise of freedoms of speech and
press, contrary to the provisions
of the First and Fourteenth Amend-
ments:

(a) Where the prosecution was
allowed, without announcing it
would do so in the accusatory
pleading, to prove that the
book sold by Petitioner was
utterly without redeeming social
importance by proving that
Petitioner commercially exploit-
ed the book for the sake of its
prurient appeal, to the exclu-
sion of all other values, and
where a state statute codifying
such method of proof became
effective prior to Petitioner's
trial, albeit after he sold the
book; and

(b) Where the California Supreme

5.

_ Court had ruled that a seller's
. Statement that matter was
obscene was insufficient to
establish the elements that it
went beyond) contemporary com-
munity standards and appealed
to prurient interest.

‘Whether California Penal Code §§ 31)

and 311.2, as construed and applied,
deprive Petitioner of his liberty
and property without due process of
law and abridge his exercise of

- freedoms of speech and press, con-
‘trary to the provisions of the First

and Fourteenth Amendments, because
the standard for judging the alleged
obscenity of the book Petitioner
Sold was based upon the community

’ gtandards of the State of California

and not the standards of the Nation
as a whole. |

6.

-—s. 6GONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

e 1. The pertinent provisions of the
First Amendment to the United States
Constitution are:

"Congress shall make no law
. « » abridging the freedom of

speech, or of the press; .. .

2. The pertinent provisions of the
Fourteenth Amendment to the United
States Constitution are:

"No State shall .. . deprive
any person of life, liberty, or
property, without due process of

ST Ser

The pertinent provisions of Article
I, Section 10, of the United States
Constitution are:

"No State shall... pass

any .. . ex post facto laws, ...

California Penal Code §31l, at the
time of the commission of the
alleged offense, provided as
follows:

o o"As used in this chapter:

“egy

“Obscene’ means that to the

_ average person, applying

contemporary Standards, the
predominant appeal of the

Matter, taken as a whole,

is to prurient interest,

-i.e., a shameful or morbid

interest in nudity, sex, or
excretion, which goes sub-
stantially beyond customary
limits of candor in descrip-
tion or representation of
such matters and is matter

which is utterly without

(b)

redeeming social importance.

-‘‘Matter' means any book,

magazine, newspaper, or
other printed or written
material or any picture,
drawing, photograph » Motion
picture, or other pictorial
representation or any

statute or other figure, or

- any recording, transcription

or mechanical, chemical or

electrical reproduction or
any other articles, equip-
ment, machines or materials.

(c) 'Person' means any indivi-
dual, partnership, firm,
association, corporation,
or other legal entity.

(ad) ‘Distribute’ means to trans-
fer possession of, whether
with or without considera-
tion.

(e) 'Knowingly' means having
knowledge that the matter
is obscene. (Added Stats.
1961, c.2147, p. 4427
§5)."

The pertinent provisions of Califor~-

nia Penal Code §311.2, at the time

of the commission of the alleged

. offense, provided as follows:

"(a) Every person who knowingly:
sends or causes to be sent,
oer brings or causes to be

9.

* brought into this state fo,
sale or distribution, or
in this state prepares, pub-
lishes, prints, exhibits,
distributes, or offers to
distribute, or has in his
possession with intent to

2 distribute or to exhibit
or offer to distribute,
any obscene matter is
guilty of a misdemeanor."

California Penal Code §311(a) (2),
which became effective after the
commission of the alleged offense,
but prior to Petitioner's trial,
provides as follows:

"In prosecutions under this
chapter, where circumstances of
production, presentation, sale,
dissemination, distribution, or
publicity indicate that matter

-is being commercially exploited

by the defendant for the sake
of its prurient appeal, such
evidence is probative with

. Fespect to the nature of the

10.

she matter and can justify the
pee conclusion that the matter is
utterly without redeeming social

importance."

STATEMENT

On May 14, 1969, Sergeant Shaidell of
the Los Angeles Police Department went to
the Peek-A-Boo Bookstore in the City of
Los Angeles to investigate citizen com-
plaints that obscene matter was being sold
there (A. 38, 43-44). He had been a vice
investigator for approximately eight years,
six of them exclusively devoted to porno-
graphy investigations (A. 37).

Before entering the store, Shaidell
ascertained that Petitioner was the owner
(A. 45) although he did not know that the
person working in the store when he entered
Was Petitioner (A. 49). Upon entering,
Shaidell observed that only sex-oriented
merchandise was displayed (artificial sex
devices such as dildos, paperback books,
Magazines and motion picture films); news
and general interest type magazines were
hot for sale (A. 38).

ll.

Shaidell perused several of the books
and magazines, whereupon Petitioner adviseg
Shaidell that the Peek-A-Boo was not a
library (A. 39). The two then conversed,
Shaidell asking if Petitioner had any
"good sexy books" (A. 54). Petitioner
replied, "All of our books are sexy. Look
at this [opening a magazine]. You can see
right inside her cunt. Some of these only
have the female alone and some of them have
ones with the - with a guy and a gal, and
they're screwing around (A.54)." After
more such conversation, Shaidell asked
Petitioner if he had any "real good" paper-
back books. Petitioner said, "Hey, I'm
reading one right now, and its called
Suite 69." (A. 55) Petitioner then read
a passage to shasaeli ; as follows:

"*"Suck it, darling, oh, fuck my
pussy with your tongue, sweetie,'
Gloria grunted, beginning to squirm

her naked buttocks on the sheet as
Maria' s fiery tongue inside her
fervid cunt almost drove the young
_ Negress into hysterics." (A. 57)

Shaidell and Petitioner then proceeded to
the cash register, Petitioner explained to

‘$haidell the degree of explicitness and
prices of his films, and the purchase of
the book Suite 69 and a magazine was con-~
summated (A. 55).

~ On May 15, 1969, Sergeant Piazza pur-
chased a sex-oriented motion picture from
Petitioner. Thereafter the book and maga-
zine purchased by Shaidell, and the film
purchased by Piazza were submitted to the
City Attorney for the City of Los Angeles,
who filed a three-count complaint, on

June 3, 1969 (A. 7), alleging violations of
Penal Code §311.2.

Petitioner's trial commenced in the Los
Angeles Municipal Court on January 12, 1971.
Sergeants Shaidell and Piazza testified as
stated above. Hubert Blackwell then testi-
fied on behalf of the prosecution. Black-
well had been a police office for the City
of Los Angeles for nearly eight years, and
&@ vice investigator for 16 months. Based
On his elicited experience, his formal and
practical training and education, and his
research, the court allowed Blackwell to
testify as an expert on the question of
‘prurient appeal and contemporary standards
(A. 121-125) of the book Suite 69 (A. 126).

A BE

Part of Blackwell's research consisteg
of a-survey taken by him and two other
officers of the Los Angeles Police Depart-
ment, wherein 20 cities and 19 counties
were polled to determine, as objectively
as possible, what were the contemporary
community standards for the State of Cali-
fornia (A. 87-89, 92-98), Blackwell's
testimony established that the book Suite
69 met the test for obscenity, i.e.,
prurient appeal and contemporary community
standards (A. 128, 131). The prosecution
then rested, having presented no direct
evidence that Suite 69 was utterly without
redeeming social importance. The jurors,
in addition to hearing the book read to
them, also inspected the book, and their
attention was directed to the advertise-
ments in the back of the book (A. 82).

The only witness called by Petitioner
was Frank Laven, an attorney in Los Angeles
* who specializes in defending persons
charged with violating obscenity laws (A.
258, 305-307). He opined that the book
Suite 69 does not go beyond customary
limits of candor in the State of California
(A. 293) and does not appeal to a prurient

14.

_ interest (A. 302). He also testified that
in his opinion all of the charged matter
had social importance in that some people
could learn about sex from them or be enter-
tained by them (A. 304).

On the question of customary limits of
candor and community standards, Laven felt
that, pictorially, with the exception of
some sex acts without text or description
and sometimes excretion, nothing would go
‘beyond contemporary standards (A. 308).
Editorially, nothing would exceed contem-

porary community standards (A. 309). In
Laven's opinion, there was probably nothing
that would appeal to the prurient interest
of the average person (A. 310, 314), and

he had never seen any matter which in his
opinion would appeal to the prurient inter-
est of the average person (A. 311-314).
According to Laven, bestiality graphically
depicted would neither appeal to the pru-
tient interest of the average person in the
. State of California, nor would it go beyond
contemporary community standards (A. 315).
The same is true of sadism (A. 316), incest
(A. 317), and sodomy (A. 319).

=

Petitioner also introduced into evidence,
and had; read to the jury, a book entitled
Adam and Eve (A. 340), which had been held
to be constitutionally protected by the
Supreme Court. Said book was presented as

"comparable" matter for the jury to consider
in deciding the obscenity of Suite 69 (A,
340). : | |

Prior to the trial, Petitioner moved to
dismiss the complaint on the basis that
sale of matter to am adult, whether obscene
or not, is protected by virtue of Stanley
v. Georgia, 394 US. 557. In connection
with said motion, the prosecution stated
that the case involved sales to adult
police officers (A. 14). Respondent would
dispute Petitioner's contention that the
record supports his many statements in his
brief, that any stipulation was entered
into, or that Petitioner never sold to
minors or thrust his wares on an unwilling
public. Petitioner: also moved to dismiss
Count 3, involving the sale of Suite 69,
on the grounds that it was constitutionally
protected as a matter of law. Both motions
were denied..

16.

ae és

Following deliberation, the jury

acquitted Petitioner as to the sale of the
film and the magazine, but found him ee
as to the sale of Suite 69.

Petitioner prosecuted an appeal to the
Appellate Department of the Superior Court
of the State of California for the County
of Los Angeles, presenting, inter alia, the
following contentions:

(1) Suite 69 is not obscene;

(2) The prosecution should have been

(3)

(4)

required to prove, by direct
evidence, as an element of the
crime, that Suite 69 is utterly

without redeeming social importance;

Community standards of the nation,
rather than the state, should have
been applied; and,

The prosecution should have been
required to prove that Suite 69

appealed to the prurient interest

of its actual or intended audience,
or went substantially beyond con-
temporary limits of candor measured

by community standards in the

nation as a whole.

On October 27, 1971, the Appellate
Department of the Superior Court of the
State of California for the County of Los
Angeles filed a memorandum opinion and judy-
ment affirming the conviction (Appendix B,
Petition for Certiorari). In answering
Petitioner's second contention regarding
testimony as to social value, the court
relied on A Book v. Attorney General (1966)
383 U.S. 413, and also pointed out that
that case was the basis for recent Califor-
nia legislation (California Penal Code
§311(a) (2)).

Petitioner then filed a Petition for
Rehearing and/or Certification to the
California Court of Appeal, pointing out
that Penal Code §311(a) (2) did not become
effective until November 10, 1969, while
the complaint alleged that the violation
occurred on May 14, 1969 (Petitioner's
trial commenced on January 12, 1971).

The Petition for Rehearing was granted
on November 10, 1971. On February 7, 1972,
the Appellate Department filed its second
opinion and judgment, again affirming the
conviction; at the same time it certified
the cause to the California Court of Appeal

18. -

(1)

(2)

(3)

(4)

pursuant to Rule 63(a) and (3) of the Cali-
fornia Rules of Court. In so doing, the
Appellate Department certified the following
questions:

Is the proper community standard
in an obscenity prosecution for
sale of a book that of the State
of California or a national stand-
ard?;

Is it proper to place the burden
of going forward with evidence as
to the redeeming social value of |

matter which meets the tests of

appeal to prurient interest and
exceeding customary standards on
the defendant? ;

If the answer to the previous ques-
tion is in the affirmative, what

is the burden of the People in
meeting defendant's evidence of
redeeming social value?;

In California may evidence of the

‘circumstances of production, pre-

sentation, sale, dissemination,

distribution or publicly constitute

sufficient evidence of lack of

19.

. redeeming social value either under
the case of A Book v. Attorney
General (Memoirs) (1966) 383 U.s,
413, 420, 16 L.Ed.2d 1, 6, 86 S. ¢t,
975 or under Penal Code §311(a) (2)?;
and,

(5) May Penal Code §311(a) (2) be applied
in a prosecution for sale or dis-
tribution of obscene matter where
the sale or distribution occurred
before the effective date of such

- provision?

On February 17, 1972, the Court of
Appeal of the State of California, Second
Appellate District, Division Three, made
its order denying transfer of the cause
without comment.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

1. Petitioner was convicted of violat-
ing a valid statute which was properly
applied. He sold an admittedly obscene
book to a police officer who did not state
why he wanted to buy it. The officer went
to the store because of complaints from the

20.

:

public, and the record is otherwise barren

of any evidence (including any prosecution

stipulation) that Petitioner neither thrust
his wares on an unwilling public nor sold
them to minors. Stanley v. Georgia, 394
U.S. 557, expressly held that the dissemin-
ation of obscene matter was still beyond

constitutional protection. Adoption of
Petitioner's contention would require that
the court overrule practically every prior
obscenity decision. Any system allowing
“appropriately controlled" bookstores
raises even more grave constitutional ques-
tions than now exist; it is eminently
unworkable and has been so proven.

2. The record in the case strongly
supports the jury's finding that Suite 69
is "patently offensive".

Petitioner's contentions regarding
public opinion of the regulation of obscen-
ity are neither supported by his cited
authority nor the record. If this Court
were to adopt his theory it would mean that
regulation of pornography would be abandoned
to its purveyors, a system which even the
record in this case shows cannot be accom-
plished. If public attitudes towards

21.

pornography were as Petitioner describes,
' there would be no convictions. While it
-is true that public attitudes have changed
since the Roth decision, this Court has
consistently held that dissemination of
hard-core. pornography is beyond the protec-
tion of the constitution. A system such as
proposed by Petitioner, wherein matter is
“not classified as obscene until after the
effect it has had on the public is weighed,
is unworkable and raises grave constitu-
tional questions. The great. majority of
-Americans are still opposed to the dissen-
ination of pornography, and merely because
it has some value to some individuals does
not mean that it has redeeming social
importance. 3

A mere promise or statement of intent
by purveyor of pornography, that he will
not sell to minors, is not a "reasonable
protection against exposure to juveniles".
People in Petitioner's position have also
demonstrated that they cannot and will not
prevent such matter from being thrust on
an unwilling public.

3. Suite 69 is obscene, ‘measured by
any realistic standard, including those set

forth in the past by this Court. The ques-
tion of its obscenity has now been reviewed
and unanimously affirmed by two municipal
court judges, three judges of the Superior
Court Appellate Department, and a jury of
twelve of Petitioner's peers. In so doing,
they compared Suite 69 to a book (Adam and
Eve) which Petitioner claimed and stipulated
was most comparable to Suite 69, which book
was held not obscene by this Court. The
jury implicitly found that Suite 69 was not
comparable, and was, in fact, obscene. Peti-
tioner has shown nothing to indicate other-
wise.

4. The term "utterly without redeeming
social importance" practically defies defin-
ition, and should be rewarded or defined so

_ as to provide a workable standard. The
Court should declare that it should be con-
sidered an affirmative defense, and the
defense should be required to prove it at
least sufficient to raise a reasonable
doubt. The California courts place only
the most minimal burden on a defendant,
that he merely identify in what area he
feels the matter has social value. To do
otherwise would require the prosecution to
‘prove a negative out of a void, while all
~ 23.

the time a’ defendant, who would maintain
the matter is a protected form of expression,
need not identify in what area of human

endeavor it lies. In this case, a proper

and valid standard of evidence, as expounded
in A_Book v. Attorney General, 383 U.S. 413,

Was applied to support the jury's finding

that Suite 69 was utterly without redeeming
social importance. The test stated inA
Book is a good test in that it protects all
legitimate and sincere attempts at creati-
vity, no matter how poorly executed.

5. Petitioner was not convicted of
"pandering". His statements were such that
they legally amounted to admissions, and
could be used against him in following the
test set forth by this Court in A Book v.
Attorney General, enacted into law prior to
Petitioner's trial, merely stated a rule of
evidence which had existed in the entire
nation since 1966. It created no new crime
such as "pandering", and the state of the
law has remained the same from long before
Petitioner committed the violation until
the present.

6. Use of a statewide, rather than
nationwide, standard of ‘contemporary com-
munity standards was proper. California .

24.

standards would favor a defendant in a por-
nography case. California now requires
expert testimony, based on objective meth-
‘edology, to prove what are the standards;
‘to require proof of national standards

would result either in impossibility of
proof or relaxation of such a strict burden,
‘to Petitioner's detriment.

I

_. CALIFORNIA PENAL:CODE §§ 311 and
311.2, AS CONSTRUED AND APPLIED TO
- AUTHORIZE THE JUDGMENT OF CONVIC-

TION OF PETITIONER HEREIN, FOR
SELLING AN ADMITTEDLY OBSCENE BOOK
TO AN ADULT, DOES NOT DEPRIVE
PETITIONER OF HIS LIBERTY AND
PROPERTY WITHOUT DUE PROCESS OF

LAW AND DOES NOT ABRIDGE PETITION-
ER'S EXERCISE OF FREEDOMS OF SPEECH

AND PRESS

Petitioner contends, while admitting
that the book Suite 69 is obscene, that
the court should overrule Roth v. United
States, 354 U.S. 476, and hold that the
sale of admitted hard-core pornography to
@ “consenting adult" should be protected
under the free speech and press and due

process provisions of the First and
i rh

Fourteenth Amendments to the United States
Constitution.

The basis of Petitioner's argument is
founded in Stanley Vv. Georgia, - ‘394 U.s, 557,
and has been answered by this Court not
only in Stanley (at 394 U.s. 567), but in
United States v. Reidel, 402 U.S. 351: ang
United States v. Thirty-Seven (37) Photo-
graphs, 402 U.S. 363.

Perhaps Petitioner seeks to change the
court's collective mind, or Sway individual
opinions, by asserting that a different set
of facts exists, by asserting that the
respondent | "stipulated" that Petitioner
"neither sold the material in his bookstore
to minors nor thrust it upon the general
public". Such allegation is totally unsup-
ported by the record. Petitioner has
referred to the Appendix, page 14, in sup-
port of this alleged "stipulation". The
record clearly shows that the prosecutor,
in an in-chambers discussion of Petitoner's
pretrial motion to dismiss, stated that his
case involved sales to a police officer.
Neither the record nor respondent has in-
formation as to whether or not Petitioner
sold also to ‘minors, or thrust his

_ merchandise on an unwilling public, other
than citizen complaints (A. 38, 41-44).

The substantial factual difference
between this case and those in United
States v. Thirty-Seven Photographs is that
‘here there is an even greater danger of
the very risks Petitioner conceded, that

the matter may come within the possession
of children or be thrust on an unwilling

public.

The right of any citizen to be free
from Government thought control may be
absolute, but it does not protect others
who stimulate his thoughts with conduct.
As the court stated in United States v.
Thirty-Seven Photographs, 402 U.S. 363, 376,
rejecting the same argument, "Whatever

the scope of the right to receive obscenity
adumbrated in Stanley, that right, as we
said in Reidel [United States v. Reidel,
402 U.S. 351], does not extend to one who
is seeking, as was Luros here, to distri-
bute obscene materials to the public ...."

Petitioner misses the point of Reidel
and Thirty-Seven Photographs in saying that
the single incident of a sale to a police

27.

officer comes within the purview of Stanley,
The purchase by the: police officer is
nothing more than an investigatory method
designed to demonstrate conditions which
this Court has again and again stated may
be regulated. ‘No one knows but what Peti-
tioner' s next ‘customer was a child, or if
he sometimes. .peddles his pornography door-
to-door.

California Penal Code §§ 311 and 311.2
are not so broad that they unreasonably
restrict a person' s rights to think and
read what he pleases, and they in no way
invade any recognized rights of privacy,

it

‘OBSCENE MATTER IS NO LESS OBSCENE

- MERELY BECAUSE IT IS SOLD TO AN
ADULT INSTEAD OF A CHILD, OR FORCED
ON AN UNWILLING ADULT, AND STATE
REGULATION IS PROPER AND NECESSARY

Merely because a state may bar distribu-
tion to children of books deemed suitable
for adults (Ginsberg v. New York, 390 U.S.
629) does not mean, as Petitioner contends,
that the state may not reasonably restrict

28.

the sale of obscene matter by virtue of the
fact that the sales are not to children.

- his Court has made clear, in its deci-
sions since Stanley v. Georgia, that there
“was no "new chapter" in the sage of obscen-

ity. Under our Constitution no case can
ever be the final chapter, but the clear
public interest in and desire for a decent
society mandate that a chapter be written
which will recognize pornography for the
pollution that it is.

While arguing that Roth v. United
States, 354 U.S. 476, is still good law
containing a good test of obscenity, Peti-

tioner also argues that Roth must now die
of some sort of attrition because contem-
porary community standards have changed

to the extent that absolutely any kind of
matter is acceptable to the American public.

In making such a fantastic claim for
the degeneration of American morals, Peti-
tioner relies on oversimplifying the
findings and results of a poll taken by the
Commission on Obscenity and Pornography,
published in The Report of the Commission
On Obscenity and Pornography, United States

29.

.- Gevernment: Printing Office, September 1979,

He ‘draws a debatable conclusion from said
poll while ignoring other evidence in the
Report. to the contrary, as well as other

: existing polls ‘and evidence. For instance,
a poll of community standards taken in
California indicated that 99% of that com-
munity felt that film depiction of simulated
sex acts went beyond community standards
and appealed to a prurient interest (A.
134).

~ He fails to acknowledge many other
public opinion surveys on the question of
obscenity, such as the Gallup and Harris
polls, , Which contradict the Commission poll
(Report of the Effects Panel, Section B,
"Public Opinion About Sexual Materials").

Petitioner looks to the Commission's
conclusions about its poll to support his
conclusions about public opinion, yet the
‘Commission's poll is inconclusive and does
not say what Petitioner says it says.

While "almost 60%" (actually 59%)
believed that adults should be allowed to

read or see any explicit materials they

want to, this indicates nothing more than

30.

a concurrence with the philosophy of Stanley
yw. Georgia. It is not an indication of
public opinion as to customary limits of
candor according to contemporary community
standards. Nearly half of the "almost 60%”
favored Governmental regulation of dissem-
ination of pornography because of a concern
for children and young people. Only 52%

had no objection ("it would be ‘all right'")
to make such material available to adults

on some private basis. Only 53% felt it

was “all right" for adults to have access

to textual material which merely contains

a description of male and female sex organs,
and only 29% felt it was "all right" to
admit adults to movies which might or might
not be hard-core pornography. The statis-
tics of the Commission hardly indicate an
“anything goes" consensus of American

Public opinion, nor are they any indication

of contemporary community standards. In
fact, according to research done for the
Commission by its poli-takers, by far the
most prevalent reaction to sexual materials
was that of disgust; reaction to sexual
Materials would seem a more accurate
indicator of contemporary community

31.

standards regarding such matter (Abelson,
et al., Technical Reports of the Commission
on Obscenity and Pornography, Volume 6).

Respondent submits that Petitioner's
theory based on the empirical evidence
gathered by the Commission, is incorrect.

Petitioner also seems to feel that the
trend of judicial thought in this country
is to a theory that the obscenity of a
particular item must be judged according
to the prurient appeal it would have for
its intended recipient. In so arguing, he
indulges in some misrepresentation. When
Justice Harlan spoke of explicit sexual
material as "memorabilia of a man's
thoughts and dreams", he did so in an
opinion flatly rejecting petitioner's argu-
ment (United States v. Reidel, 402 U.S.
351). The court in United States v. Della-
pia, 433 F.2d 1252, goes on to say, in the
paragraph following the one quoted by
Petitioner:

"It may be that one who would
Claim first amendment protection
of his privacy could, as under the
fourth amendment, 'break the seal

32.

. ef sanctity and waive his right to
privacy.' Lewis v. United States,

' 385 U.S. 206, 213, 87 S.Ct. 424,
428, 17 L.Ed. 2a 312 (1966) (Brennan,
J., concurring), by for example
engaging in a commercial enterprise.
Public display of obscenity even

to consenting adults, or private
possession with an intent to distri-
bute publicly, present cases which
are not before us. Booksellers will
not as a result of our decision

today be free to maintain ‘emporium([s]
for smut'."

ae Karalexis v. Byrne, 306 F. Supp. 1363,
in addition to the fact that it was vacated
by this Court (Byrne v. Karalexis, 401 U.S.
216), somewhat preceeded United States v.
Reidel, 402 U.S. 351, and United States v.
Thirty-Seven Photographs, 402 U.S. 363.
This Court did not even see fit to discuss
the "consenting adult" theory, perhaps
because it did so a few months later.
Moreover, Karalexis v. Byrne was a divided
opinion. |

33.

. United States-v. Thirty-Seven Photo-
graphs, etc., 156 F. Supp. 350 (D.c. N.y,
1957), was. an opinion of a single trial
judge in a truly unique factual situation,
and, since it is fifteen years old, can
hardly be said to represent a trend.

Contrary to Petitioner's contention,
the California decisions most definitely
not been moving towards Petitioner's
theory. It was rejected by the California
“Supreme Court in People v. Luros, 4 Cal.3d
84, 90. The court called the argument
"ingeniously concatenated" and stated such

an analysis of Stanley v. Georgia to be
incorrect and without merit. In re Gian-
nini, 69 Cal.2d 563, merely stands for the
proposition that a topless dance is a

theatrical performance that must be prose-
cuted on an obscenity theory even though
the charged violation is lewd conduct or
indecent exposure. The trend in California
is seemingly slightly reversed at the
present time (see Bowling, et al. v. Cali-

fornia, petition for writ of certiorari
pending, United States Supreme Court, Octo-
ber term, 1971, No. 71-1572).

34.

. If one turns to Glancy v. County of
sacramento as cited, in the official Cali-
fornia Appellate Reports, one will find only
a blank page. The only supposition that can
reasonably be made from the granting of a
hearing by the California Supreme Court,
over a year ago, is that it apparently
disagrees with the theory.

Petitioner's theory - that the sellér
of hard-core pornography ought to be pro-
tected by the First and Fourteenth Amend-
ments to the Constutiton, when matter is
sold from an "appropriately controlled"
bookstore to a "consenting adult", with
-"reasonable protections" against exposure

to juveniles and being thrust on an unwill-
ing public - is unrealistic, unworkable,
and fraught with its own constitutional

dangers.

Any Governmental attempt to control
Petitioner's activities through a licensing
system, such as exists with alcoholic bever-
ages, would raise serious questions about
prior restraints.

Petitioner's concept of an “appropri-
ately controlled" bookstore with "reasonable

35.

safeguards” is simply his hollow and plati-
tudinous way of saying he should be left
free and unfettered in his pursuit of the
peddling of: pornography, and he will "pro-
mise" not to sell to persons he knows to be
juveniles, or mail his material to persons
who have not requested it. If either of
these things should unfortunately occur,
Petitioner would presumably apologize
gracefully. | ;

‘Petitioner's plan would not work. The
Report of the President's Commission shows
that under present laws juveniles still
come into possession of pornography. Legal-
izing distribution to adults would certain-
‘ly cause an increase in juvenile possession
through redistribution. Respondent does
not.say that Petitioner should then be
prosecuted, but only that allowing free
and easy distribution to adults would of .
necessity result in less protection from
exposure to juveniles. os

-It is also a fallacy to say that Peti-
-tioner would not "thrust pornography on an
unwilling public". The police investigated
Petitioner because they had received com-
plaints from citizens (A. 38, 43-44).

There were approximately 250 "adult book-
stores" in the City of Los Angeles in
September 1970 (A. 58); by legalizing them
a public display (probably due to increased
competition) would be certain to occur, as
it did in Denmark. The public, willing or
not, would have to add it to the list of
the other pollutants with which it is
forced to live. If an unwilling citizen
now receives unsolicited pornography in
the mail, he must take affirmative action
to prevent a future occurrence.

The average citizen wonders why this

is so; he wonders why it is so that sexually
explicit matter, displayed in a manner
calculated to appeal to prurient interest,
is presently sold from newspaper vending
Machines up and down the sidewalks of his
city; he wonders if this is what the Con-
stitution means by freedom of speech.

Respondent questions Petitioner's
Sincerity in claiming he should be trusted
not to sell to minors and not to intrude

on the public. His brief is not exactly a
paragon of forthrightness; he has indulged
in flights of fancy with a practically non-
existent "stipulation"; he has cited cases

37.

for propositions opposite their holdings;
he has cited cases where more recent con-
trolling cases refuting his proposition go
uncited; he has cited reversed and vacated
cases, by omission of a word or a paragraph
in a quoted opinion he has made misleading
statements of holdings. These things may
well be accidental, but Petitioner is
playing with a loaded gun; carelessness by
him in self-regulation would be just as bad
as deliberateness.

Iit

THE BOOK SUITE 69 IS OBSCENE AND IS
‘NOT PROTECTED BY THE FREE SPEECH
AND PRESS AND DUE PROCESS PROVI-
SIONS OF THE FIRST AND FOURTEENTH

- AMENDMENTS

Whether or not Suite 69 is obscene is
something this Court must determine by
independent review. Respondent respectfully
submits that an independent review will
result in a finding of obscenity. Suite
69 is a compilation of sexual adventures
and perversions luridly dealt with in a
shocking, morbid and shameful manner. It

38.

a

gonsists of some 180 pages of unrelated
erotic scenes. There is no theme, plot or
character development, only graphically
- @epicted and emphatically described sex acts,
which include repeated acts of masturbation,
oral copulation, voyeurism, lesbianism,
homosexuality, sadism and sodomy. Sex
omitted, the book would consist of 180
blank pages.

The essence of Petitioner's argument is
that no book can ever be obscene, and the
only authority for the argument is a list
of other books held not obscene by this
Court. Petitioner presented one of said
books (Adam and Eve, Hoyt v. Minnesota,
399 U.S. 524) to the jury, and the jury
was instructed to compare said book with
Suite 69. The jury was instructed that
said book was not obscene, ‘and that such
fact must be considered by them in deter-
mining obscenity (A. 445-446).

Two other counts involved a pictorial
Magazine and a motion picture, and other
"comparables" were introduced by Petitioner
for the same purpose. After considering
Petitioner's comparable exhibits and com-
paring them with the charged film,magazine

39.

and Suite 69, the jury acquitted Petitioner
as to the film and magazine. No jury could
have: had the benefit of more information
and analysis. While this Court's power to
review is an independent one, how far can
one in good conscience go; how lightly can
the jury's verdict be regarded, in keeping
faith with the jury system? (See dissent
of Warren, C.J., Jacobellis v. Ohio, 378
U.S. 184, at 202-203.)

IV

CALIFORNIA PENAL CODE §§ 311 AND
311.2, CONSTRUED AND APPLIED TO
ALLOW THE PROSECUTION TO PROVE
THAT MATTER IS UTTERLY WITHOUT
REDEEMING SOCIAL IMPORTANCE BY
PROVING THAT IT WAS COMMERCIALLY
EXPLOITED FOR THE SAKE OF ITS PRU-
RIENT APPEAL, TO THE EXCLUSION OF
\ALL OTHER VALUES, DOES NOT DEPRIVE
PETITIONER OF HIS LIABILITY AND
PROPERTY WITHOUT DUE PROCESS OF LAW,
AND DOES NOT ABRIDGE HIS FREEDOM
OF SPEECH AND PRESS

2 ‘The first hurdle for Petitioner is to
show thst the test of "utterly without
redeeming social importance" is an element

-

40.

of obscenity which must be proven by the
prosecution to establish a prima facie
case. Social importance was not clearly
articulated as a test for obscenity until
A Book v. Attorney General, 383 U.S. 413;
three justices used the words: "three
elements must coalesce: ‘It must be estab-
lished . . . (c) the material must be
utterly without redeeming social value.'"
(383 U.S. at 418, emphasis added.) :

Since only three justices concurred in
this statement, no authoritative precedent
was established (United States v. Pink,
Superintendent, etc., 315 U.S. 203). The
statement is generally accepted in some
form and with some effect because of its
underdying philosophy. But does a majority
of the court feel it is elemental, or
definitional, as in Roth v. United States,
354 U.S. 476 and Manual Enterprises v. Day,
370 U.S. 478?

Respondent believes that the test should
be considered an affirmative defense,
requiring proof by a Petitioner sufficient
to raise a reasonable doubt that the matter
contains something of social value suffi-
cient to redeem it. The Appellate

41.

Department of .the Superior Court .of the
State of California for the County of Los
Angeles has decided that a defendant has
the burden only of going forward with some
evidence of social value, upon which the
prosecution is required to prove the matter
is utterly without redeeming social impor-
tance. The court said: "The reason for
this rule is that when prurient interest
is predominant and the customary limits of
candor are exceeded it is difficult to
‘conceive wherein social value might be.
Rather than require the People to start in
this void the defendant must make the start
by producing some evidence of social value.
Only then do the People know in what area
they have to proceed" (People v. Holden,

Appellate Department, Superior Court of
Los Angeles County, State of California,
No. CR A 10754, unrep. 1972). In 1970, the
same court stated that the prosecution
should not be required to “start in a void
and prove a negative" (People v. Newton, 9
Cal.App.3d Supp. 24). It also noted that
the California Supreme Court apparently
agreed, in In re Giannini (1968) 69 Cal.2d
563, (9 Cal.App.3d Supp. at 28).

42.

_ The second question is whether Peti-

tioner's evidence contained any proof of
redeeming social importance. Petitioner
walled a defense attorney, specializing in
defending obscenity cases, who opined that
the film, magazine, and Suite 69 all had
social importance in that, to some people
they in some instances "educate persons
as to sex"; also, some persons might be

entertained (A. 304).

This testimony, Petitioner claims,
establishes that all of the material had
redeeming social importance. Nothing could
more clearly and patently violate what
this Court has intended in its statements
regarding social value. California juries
have the right to disregard expert opinion
if they find it to be unreasonable (Cali-
fornia Penal Code §1127[b]), and the jurors.
in this case were amply justified in
rejecting it.

The jury's determination that Suite 69
is utterly without redeeming social impor-
tance also finds support in this Court's
Own statement in A Book v. Attorney General,
383 U.S. 413, 420, wherein it was said that
a book which is patently offensive, which

43.

has the requisite prurient appeal, and
which contains a minimum of social value,
may still be utterly without redeeming
‘Social importance where. the evidence shows
it was commercially exploited for the sake
of its prurient appeal. This is exactly
what Petitioner did, and he should not be
heard to complain because his evaluation
was accepted by the jury.

Vv

PETITIONER WAS NOT CONVICTED OF
"PANDERING", NO STATE STATUTE WAS
RETROACTIVELY APPLIED TO INVOKE

- SUCH A CONCEPT, AND NO SUCH CON-
CEPT WAS "INVOKED" BY THE COURT
BELOW. THE COURT BELOW DID NOT
NEGLECT OR REFUSE TO FOLLOW BIND-

ING PRECEDENT

The opinion of the Appellate Department
makes clear that Petitioner was not con-
victed of "pandering". Neither was a
"concept" of pandering "devised". Rather,
the court below carefully followed the law
as set forth by the United States Supreme
Court in A Book v. Attorney General, 383
U.S. 413, 420, in determining the

44,

sufficiency of the evidence. The court
‘did not say that Petitioner's discussion
of Suite 69 constituted pandering, it
merely held that the jury was justified in
accepting Petitioner's statements at face
value on the issue of social value.

Childs v. Oregon, 401 U.S. 1006, is not
applicable here, condi because it is per
curiam citing Redrup v. New York, 386 U.S.

167, but also because the evidence is not
“virtually identical". In Childs, the
Petitioner merely referred the officer to
“a group of books containing the "worst
ones"; here, Petitioner recommended a
specific book and read aloud to the officer
from it. Under such circumstances, the law
of A Book v. Attorney General was properly
applied to support the jury's finding that
Suite 69 was utterly without redeeming
social importance.

- In People v. Noroff, 67 Cal.2d 791, and
People v. Rosakos, 268 Cal.App.2d 497, it
was held that the matter, upon independent
‘Teview, did not meet the Roth test for
Obscenity, and that the missing element of
prurient interest could not be supplied by
Pandering. The Appellate Department in

45.

this. case properly held Noroff and Rosakos
not applicable, in that the question pre-
sented here went to the manner of proof
rather than the lack of it.

Since the California legislation codi-
fying the rule of A Book v. Attorney Gen-
eral became effective November 10, 1969,
and Petitioner was charged with violating
the statute some six months earlier, he

“Glaims he is the victim of an ex post facto
law. Section 31ll(a) (2) does not create a
new crime, but merely codifies a rule of
evidence followed since A Book v. Attorney

General came down. Petitioner's argument
is without merit since no contrary Cali-
fornia law was changed by the enactment of
§311(a) (2).

Further, §311(a) (2) is merely a rule
of evidence which became effective fourteen
months before Petitioner's trial and thus
was not ex post. facto (Thompson v. Missouri,
171 U.S. 380; Beazell v. Ohio, 269 U.S. 167,
171; and Donald v. Jones, 445 F.2d 601,
604-605).

vr

CALIFORNIA PENAL CODE §§ 311 AND
311.2, AS CONSTRUED AND APPLIED,
TO ALLOW THE OBSCENITY OF A BOOK
TO BE JUDGED ACCORDING TO STATE-
WIDE CONTEMPORARY COMMUNITY STAND-
ARDS, DO NOT DEPRIVE PETITIONER OF
HIS LIBERTY AND PROPERTY WITHOUT
DUE PROCESS GF LAW, AND DO NOT
ABRIDGE PETITIONER'S EXERCISE OF
FREEDOM'S OF SPEECH AND PRESS UNDER
THE FIRST AND FOURTEENTH AMENDMENTS

Jacobellis v. Ohio, 378 U.S. 184, sup-
plied no guidance for state courts on the |

issue of a national versus state standard,
inasmuch as two justices felt a national
standard should apply, two favored a state
standard, four expressed no opinion, and
one seemingly leaned toward a state stand-
ard. Today only one justice expressing an
opinion remains on the court. Petitioner
would solve the problem by blind adherence
to narrow rules rather than approach the
question from a standpoint of developing a
test which would afford protection to
First Amendment rights and still be rational.

_ For instance, a rule could develop that
national standards should apply, but the
jury could determine what that standard
47.

is on the basis of their own information.
Such a rule would afford little protection
to. Petitioner.

+

Respondent views the question as one
of quantity versus quality. Thus, the
California Supreme Court. held, in In re
Giannini, 69 Cal.2d 563, that a statewide
standard was appropriate, but that it must
be established by expert testimony. This
has resulted in the contemporary community
standards of the State of California being
objectively determined by the taking of a
scientifically conducted statewide opinion
poll approximately every six months. Thus,
the quality of the evidence on this point
is high.

Imposition of a requirement that a
national standard be proved would make
such survey virtually impossible. Further-
more, it is more than likely that such
hypothetical national standard, if it could
be determined, would tend to be more strin-
gent and restrictive than California's
Standards.

Thus, while a national standard might
be better for Petitioner because it would
be more difficult to prove, the quality of

"evidence needed to prove such would of
necessity suffer. A national standard
might be determined by reference to mass
media, which undoubtedly is a strong factor
in both determining and reflecting contem-
porary community standards. Television,
major studio motion pictures, mass circula-
tion magazines and bestselling books could
be held to reflect national standards. In
this situation, anything more explicit than
the Playboy centerfold or The Sensuous
Woman would run the risk of being held
obscene. |

Clearly, the California method of proof,
involving such exacting quality, must be
held sufficient under the Constitution.

49.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Judgment
herein should be affirmed. ‘

Respectfully submitted,

ROGER ARNEBERGH
City Attorney

DAVID M. SCHACTER
Chief of the
Appellate Department

WARD GLEN McCONNELL
Deputy City Attorney

Attorneys for Respondent

50.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386414_0178%3A06. Public record. Not legal advice.
