# Brief for the Respondent in Opposition — Columbia Broadcasting System, Inc. v. Democratic National Committee

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386414_0152%3A10

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Brief for the Respondent in Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1973
- **Citation:** 412 U.S. 94

## Text

INDEX
Page
PORGIONE BELOW 5.6 6 oh ce 6 eee OH EE Re 1
COON 6 656 5 OS Oe EE E'S 2
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED .......... 2
QUESTIONS PRESENTED. .....- 222 ececcceees 2
OUATOMION, % 5 6 66 6 4 SOR HH EDS EHS 3
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT. .........-...-.- 12
CONCLUSION. .... 22-0 eee eee ee eee eee ees 33
CITATIONS
Cases:

A. L. Melching Barge Lines, Inc. v. United States,

BE ee | er ee ee ee 21
Amalgamated Food Employees Union Local 590 v.

Logan Valley Plaza, Inc., 391 U.S. 308 (1968)........
Ashwander v. Tennessee Valley Authority,

BOT US. FOS CIM) x 0k oe 6 ee ewe eee ees

Banzhaf v. Federal Communications Commission,
405 F.2d 1082 (D.C. Cir. 1968), cert. denied
sub nom Tobacco Institute v. Federal Com-
munications Commission, 396 U.S. 842 (1969)........

Cantwell v. Connecticut,
are SL: Oe CIO % & 5 6 ee oe eee ee eee

Columbia Broadcasting System v. United States,
OO We Me CE) bes eH bk oo oe Oe

Cox v. Louisiana,
FIO Ue SO UIOES) 6 5s eco Ke OK ee eee eee

Eccles v. Peoples Bank of Lakewood Village, Cal.,
ccc RE Ss a) ee ee er ee

: .
fale at RT cot RC aon

Ty

Edwards v. South Carolina,

Fowler v. Rhode Island,
eo et. ee a ee es ar a

Friends of the Earth v. Federal Communications
Commission, __ F.2d __ (D.C. Cir. No. 24,556,
pe | ee ee ae

Frozen Food Express v. United States,
Dal TER, WO CG 6c me cee eevee ces

Green v. F.C.C.,,
467 28 373 OX. Ge, 1971) 6 cc ee ec cine

Gregory v. City of Chicago,
oe) ee ee

Joint Anti-Fascist Refugee Committee v. McGrath,
> ee ee ee a ee eer

Lamont v. Postmaster General,
381 US. 301 (1965)...........-0 000 eee

Marsh v. Alcbama,
Dae Ties Se SI i 8 ee HRS

Martin v. City of Struthers, ;

pe Se ee er ee
Massachusetts Universalist Convention v. Hildreth

& Rogers Co., 183 F.2d 497 (ist Cir. 1950) ......
McIntire v. Wm. Penn Broadcasting Co.,

151 F.2d 597 (3rd Cir. 1945) cert. denied,

Me! Fae gk

NAACP vy. Button,
ge er

National Broadcasting Co. v. United States,
oy ee ae PS ee are ee

Near v. Minnesota,
Ber UR OE CI) cc bk ce ee eee hee te wees

ik) a: a 17, 28

oe

_

roy

New York Times Co. v. Sullivan,

376 U.S. 254 (1964) acre Fereesrecsarnes 6, 9, 15>
Niemotko v. Maryland,

S00 UE. 268 (99S) ccc cc cee eee eee ceees 9
Office of Communications of United Church of

Christ v. Federal Communications Commission,

425 F.2d $43 (D.C. Cis. 1969). 2. cc ccc cre ccvee 15
Parker v. County of Los Angeles,

BS GR. B27 CIO) oc ce eee HE. 21
Pierce v. Society of Sisters,

- ae Bs | er ee ee 20
Public Affairs Associates, Inc. v. Rickover,

pt a ee ee ee 22, 27

Red Lion Broadcasting Co., Inc. v. Federal
Communications Commission, 395 U.S. 367
to oe ee ee ee a 6, 9, 10, 13,
14, 17, 28, 29, 32
Rescue Army v. Municipal Court,
og! Me 2 er ee ee ee 21

Retail Store Employees Union, Local 880 v.
Federal Communications Commission,
a ee ee re 31

' Simmons v. West Haven Housing Authority,
399 U.S. 510 (1970), rehearing denied,

ok! ee: Oe ee ee a 21
Stanley v. Georgia,

ee | a ee 14
Tinker v. Des Moines School District, i

oe ee en rr, Se 9
Toilet Goods Association v. Gardner,

ee Th Ge AUP) 6 6 ok 0 8 ee PKA HO 22, 27

United States v. International Union, etc.,
See Be Dr AIO) 4 6 eH 8 Ow oe ee wR 19, 21

(iv)

United States v. Lovett,
SOB US. SUB CIGD) ca 56k 8 ee gts oe et Baws

Valentine v. Chrestensen,
Sie UR: SF CID an 6 vos ee as ORES OSs

Administrative Decisions:

The Committee of One Million,
F.C.C. 71-1096 (October 22, 1971) ..........2.2.2..
Cullman Broadcasting Co.,
40 POL. - SHE (99GS) 5 8 6 8h ewe we hee ees ds
Letter to National Broadcasting Co.,
30 F.C.C. 2d 643 (F.C.C. 71-704,
eB) een ee a ae er
Wilderness Society, et al,
F.C.C. Memorandum Opinion and Order
Nw. TES71 (Sent. 17, ISTP. 2 ccc cee were ewes

Statutes:

United States Constitution, First Amendment .. . 2, 3, 6, 9, 10,
14, 15, 18, 20, 27,

31, 32
Communications Act of 1934, 48 Stat. 1064,
as amended, 47 U.S.C. 151 ef seq.:
I IN 66 ES ee Cae sw 6,27
OG D6 k6-% 6.5 SS ODER MS. 2 ERS 4, 21
DO BOT 635 6% 0%. Oe 6 ba a EE 4
DO SOO « & *.< 64-6. So 6 TANNER
PUNND 51S <5. 6-8 ee OEE EROS SESS ae ee
OB TEER. Been IF bs. 6 6 GRR Ce 2

(v)

Miscellaneous:
Brief of Business Executives’ Move for a Vietnam
Peace, No. 24492 (D.C. Cir)... 2... ee 3
Fairness Primer: Applicability of the Fairness
Doctrine to the Handling of Controversial
Issues of Public Importance, 29 Fed. Reg.

10415, 40 F.C.C. 598 (1964) .. 2... ee ee 24, 30
Network Programming Inquiry,

25 Fed. Reg. 7291 (1960). ..........0 ccc eee 4
Primer on Ascertainment of Community Problems

by Broadcast Applicants, 36 Fed. Reg. 4092,

27 FC.C.2d 650 (1971)... 0. 2 eee ee ec 4
Report on Editorializing by Broadcast Licensees,

13 F.C.C. 1246 (1949)... 2 ee ee 30

Study of Fairness Doctrine,
36 Fed. Reg. 11825, 30 F.C.C. 2d 26
ONT Se eR oa ware a ee as 7, 11, 16, 17, 20,
a, day ad, oe, 28,
26, 27

?
vine
ie
rath
He 3
pgUye
te ea
Fay :
eat
i ves
hi!

—
IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1971

Nos. 71-864, 71-863, 71-865, 71-866

FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION
AND UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, et al.,
Petitioners,
Vv.

BUSINESS EXECUTIVES’ MOVE FOR VIETNAM PEACE

FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION
AND UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, et ai.,
Petitioners,
Vv.

DEMOCRATIC NATIONAL COMMITTEE.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITIONS
FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF. APPEALS FOR
THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

OPINIONS BELOW

The Opinion of the court of appeals is not yet officially
reported. The opinions of the Federal Communications
Commission are reported at 25 F.C.C. 2d 242 and 25 F.C.C.
2d 216. These opinions are set out in their entirety in Ap-
Pendices A, B, and C, respectively, to the Petition for Certio-
Tari filed in No. 71-864.

—y

Z

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
August 3, 1971 and reissued on October 29, 1971. Peti-
tions for rehearing and rehearing en banc were denied by
the court of appeals on October 4, 1971. Petitioner in-
voke this Court’s jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED

The First Amendment to the United States Constitution
provides in relevant part:

Congress shall make no law . . . abridging the
freedom of speech.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether (1) a decision of the U. S. Court of Appeals
for the District of Columbia Circuit which set aside on
First Amendment grounds a flat ban by broadcasters
against selling any of their advertising time to persons
wishing to speak about controversial issues of public im-
portance and remanded to the Federal Communications
Commission for further study and the formulation of
reasonable guidelines is, in the total absence of evidence
in the record to support any of petitioners’ arguments,
ripe for review by this Court and (2) whether any conflict
among the Circuits exists which might warrant review by
this Court.

Respondent, Business Executives’ Move for Vietnam
Peace, suggests that both questions should be answered
in the negative and certiorari be denied.

STATEMENT

Washington, D. C. radio station WTOP holds out for
sale to advertisers 18 of the 60 minutes in every hour it
is on the air. Among the advertisements carried on November
13, 1970, for example, were a 75-second commercial for
Bryce Mountain Land Development;! a 60-second adver-
tisement for Manischevitz Wines;? and a 60-second com-
mercial for Dr. Scholl’s Foot Deodorant.2 Yet, WTOP
refused to sell respondent Business Executives’ Move for
Vietnam Peace, BEM, any time to broadcast a 60-second
spot announcement presenting the views of prominent
American industrial and military leaders opposing the Viet-
nam war:

[I]t is the policy of [WTOP] radio and tele-
vision stations not to sell spot announcement
time to individuals or groups in order to set
forth a point of view on any controversial
subject of public importance. (Joint Appen-
dix in the Court of Appeals at 7.)

BEM asserted before the Federal Communications Com-
mission (hereafter ‘the Commission’) that WTOP’s flat
ban on selling spot announcement time for controversial
speech contravened the First Amendment. BEM made no
claim with respect to the remaining 42 minutes per hour
that WTOP reserves for presenting its own programming
and views as it sees fit, subject only to loosely defined

I Brief of Business Executives’ Move for Vietnam Peace App. C
at 2.

2 Id., p. 3.
3 Id. p. 8.

CESS

a,

4

responsibilities to program in the “public interest”,4 “to
afford reasonable opportunity for the discussion of con-
flicting views on issues of public importance”> and other
broadly phrased responsibilities.© BEM makes no effort
to alter, abridge, amend or otherwise affect any of these
programming time rights and obligations of licensees.’ All
that is before this Court then is the 18 minutes per hour
which WTOP makes available for sale to advertisers to soli-
cit in their own words and format customers for goods
and services.

4 Communications Act of 1934, Sections 307, 309, as amended,
47 U.S.C. $307, 309.

5 Communications Act of 1934, Section 315(a), 48 Stat. 1088,
as amended, 73 Stat. 557, 47 U.S.C. §315(a). This obligation and
the body of law surrounding it is generally known as the “fairness
doctrine.”

' 6 See Primer on Ascertainment of Community Problems by Broad-
cast Applicants, 27 F.C.C. 2d 650 (1971); Network Programming
Inquiry, 25 Fed. Reg. 7291 (1960).

7 BEM did assert an alternative theory before the Commission —
i.e., that its advertisements were entitled to be aired under the fair-
ness doctrine. This claim was denied by the Commission. See Peti-
tion for Certiorari in No. 71-864 (hereinafter cited “Pet.’’) filed by
the Solicitor General on behalf of the United States and the Federal
Communications Commission, App. C, 91a-101a.

The Petition of the United States and the Commission (No. 71-
864) seeks a writ of certiorari in both DNC and BEM. Post-News-
week Stations, Capital Area, Inc., licensee of WTOP (hereinafter re-
ferred to as “Post” or “WTOP”’), also seeks certiorari in BEM. (No.
71-865.) (Its Petition is hereinafter cited “Post Pet.”) Columbia
Broadcasting System, Inc. (hereinafter referred to as “CBS”) (No. 71-
863) and American Broadcasting Companies, Inc. (hereinafter referred
to as “ABC”) (No. 71-866) have each filed a Petition for Certiorari in
DNC. (Hereinafter these Petitions are cited “CBS Pet.”’ and “ABC Pet.”,
(continued)

5

While BEM’s complaint was pending, the Democratic Na-
tional Committee (DNC) sought a declaratory ruling from
the Commission that a “broadcaster may not, as a general
policy, refuse to sell time to responsible entities, such as
DNC, for the solicitation of funds and for comment on
public issues.”® DNC complained of no individual refusal
to sell it time, rather it sought a general ruling.

The Commission ruled against both BEM and DNC on
the same day in separate but cross-referenced opinions.
(Pet. App. B and App. C.) Although there was no evi-
dence of any harm to WTOP if it carried BEM’s editorial
advertisements — indeed WTOP never asserted it would suf-
fer any injury by carrying them — the Commission sustained
WTOP’s flat ban on controversial short editorial advertise-
ments. It stated that a licensee’s obligations under the
fairness doctrine? “to present representative community

7 (continued) respectively.) Although BEM is not a respondent
in the last mentioned proceedings (Nos. 71-863 and 71-866), this
Brief in Opposition is directed to all Petitions since the court below
issued one inseparable decision in both DNC and BEM.

8 Initially DNC seemed to be requesting a declaratory ruling cover-
ing both program length time segments and spot advertising time.
But the Commission and the Court of Appeals treated it as dealing
with spot advertisements only. See text following this note. There-
fore as noted in the text, supra, all that is before the Court is the
advertising time held out for sale to the public by broadcasters.

It should also be noted that the ruling requested by DNC did

not deal with paid political ads on behalf of political candidates or
in support of ballot propositions. These paid ads are widely accepted,
but only during election campaigns. Cf Communications Act of 1934,
Section 315(a), as amended, 47 U.S.C. §315.

9 Pet, 6.

——
6

views on controversial issues . . .”!® was adequate under
both the public interest standard and the First Amend-
ment! to implement our “‘profound national commit-
ment that debate on public issues should be uninhibited,
robust, and wide open.’”!2_ The Commission noted that
Section 3(h) of the Communications Act of 1934, 48
Stat. 1064, as amended, 47 U.S.C. §153(h), declares that
broadcasters are not “common carriers.”’ It implied that
to require any broadcaster to sell some of its spot adver-
tisement time to someone at sometime might be inimical
to this provision. '

In DNC, the Commission employed essentially the same
grounds for refusing to rule that broadcasters must aban-
don flat bans on the sale of time to responsible entities
seeking to comment on controversial issues. Although
DNC’s request for a declaratory ruling of a general nature
clearly invited a far reaching inquiry in which the Com-
mission could gather relevant facts as to existing practices
in the industry and the possible effects of such a ruling,
the Commission acted without the benefit of such pro-
ceeding.

10 Pet., App. C, p. 101a, quoting Red Lion Broadcasting Co. v.
F.C.C., 395 U.S. 367, 394 (1969).

11 Pet. App. B, pp. 68a-69a, 928.

12 Pet., App. B, p. 61a quoting New York Times v. Sullivan, 376
U.S. 254, 270 (1964).

13 See Pet. App. C, p. 100a-101a. The Commission relied on its rea-
soning in Democratic National Committee. See text following this note.

14 The Commission did, however, hold that it would be arbitrary and
contrary to the public interest for a licensee to refuse to sell time to the
DNC or other significant political parties for the purposes of soliciting
funds. Pet., App. B, pp. 72a-75a. No party below sought review of this
determination and its rectitude is not before this Court.

BEM and DNC each filed a petition for review in the
United States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia
Circuit. After briefing and argument in both DNC and
BEM, but over seven weeks before issuance of the Court of
Appeals’ decision, the Commission initiated a general inquiry
into the fairness doctrine.'5 Eyen though the Commission’s
BEM and DNC decisions stood at the time the general in-
quiry was launched, one aspect of this overall review was
directed to a determination whether and under what con-
ditions a limited right of individual access of the sort sought
by BEM could and should be exercised © (this aspect is
hereinafter referred to as “the Inquiry”). Because of its

direct pertinence to the issues raised by petitioners, we quote
the Inquiry in full:

ACCESS GENERALLY TO THE BROADCAST
MEDIA FOR THE DISCUSSION OF
PUBLIC ISSUES

19. It has also been urged that, quite aside
from the fairness obligation of broadcasters, there
is a right of access — at least on a paid basis —
for all those wishing to express a viewpoint on
a controversial public issue. The Commission
has rejected this blanket claim on the ground
that there is neither Constitutional nor statutory
right for any individual or group to present their
views, and that as a matter of policy it would
not serve the public interest to act as if there
were. See, e.g., the Democratic National Com-
mittee ruling, 25 FCC 2d 216 (1970), appeal

'S Study of Faimess Doctrine, 30 FCC. 24 26, 36 Fed. Reg.
11825 (1971).

16 ig. at 33.

; i...

pending, Democratic National Committee v.

F.C.C., Case No. 24,537, C.A.D.C.; Business

Executives’ Move for Vietnam Peace v. F.C.C.,

Case No. 24,942, C.A.D.C. The legal issues

are thus before the Court, and the policy is- |
sues are sharply pointed up in the majority Qa
and minority opinions of the Commission.

We request comment on the question whether
there is any feasible method of providing access
for discussion of public issues outside the re-
quirements of the fairness doctrine. More
specifically, we ask that comment be addressed
to the differing problems raised by paid and
free time; the specific standards that should be
followed for determining the basis on which
time is to be provided, if such a course is re-
commended; the effect of any such new proce-
dure on the licensee’s general responsibility to
the public; and the impact of such procedure
on the licensee’s duties under the fairness doc-
trine. The essential purpose of this part of the
inquiry is to ascertain, if possible, the general
patterns of licensee practice as to access on a
paid or sustaining basis (e.g., for discussion of
controversial issues generally or of ballot issues;
for fund solicitation generally or for parties or
committees organized around ballot issues), and
whether it would be appropriate for this Com-
mission to lay down criteria or guidelines for
these purposes. If so, what would they be?
Or, are the problems in this area so varied that
decisions should be left to the judgment of thou-
sands of licensees and, in cases of complaint,
to the adjudicatory process? Jn other words:

Breed
cpemmmmenamnmpneecnnscos: ON EN

9

should we reaffirm present Commission policy
and practice? (Inquiry, supra, 30 F.C.C. 2d
at 33 (emphasis added).)

On August 3, 1971, the court of appeals issued a single
opinion reversing the Commission’s orders in both BEM
and DNC. Relying on New York Times Co. v. Sullivan,
supra, Judge Wright, writing for himself and Judge Robin-
son!” stated that editorial advertisements are an important
form of speech.'® This Court has repeatedly stressed that
such forms of expression must, under the First Amend-
ment, be afforded access to speech forums.!9 An “un-
broken line of authority” has held that once the operators
of such forums have opened them to speech, they may not
discriminatorily bar controversial speech, 2!

In the face of these precedents, the court struck down
the flat ban policy under challenge. It left undisturbed all

17 Judge McGowan dissented.
18 Pet., App. A, pp. 28a-29a.

19 E.g., Tinker v. Des Moines School District, 393 U.S. 503 (1 969)
(public schools); Amalgamated Food E, mployees Union Local 590 y.
Logan Valley Plaza, Inc., 391 US. 308 (1968) (privately owned shopping
center); Cox v. Louisiana, 379 U.S. 536 (1965) (state capitol grounds);
Marsh v, Alabama, 326 U.S. 501 (1946) (company town). The court be-
low relied on Red Lion, supra, and inter alia, on these cases to establish
that state action standards could be applied to broadcasters in the First
Amendment area.

20 See Pet., App. A, pp. 30a-31a.

21 See cases cited at ibid. See Cox y. Louisiana, supra; Fowler v. Rhode
Island, 345 U.S. 67 (1953); Niemotko v. Maryland, 340 U.S. 268 (1951).

ie... OOD LEO REI DEEN TIL CALL LY TS PE PRES RH eS a, RETA EMG Rg Ik. at ay

a

10

other aspects of the regulatory scheme.” Indeed, becaus
this case came to the court below from an administrative
agency charged with primary regulatory responsibilities in
this area, an agency which may draw upon its own exper
tise and that of its licensees, the court did not order that
BEM’s, DNC’s or any other specific group’s advertisements
must be accepted by any broadcaster. Rather it confined
itself

to invalidating the flat ban alone, leaving it up
to the licensees and the Commission to develop
and administer reasonable procedures and regu-
lations determining which and how many “edi-
torial advertisements” will be put on the air.
(Pet., App. A, p. 3a.)

It directed only that /

{[o]n remand, the Commission should develop
reasonable regulatory guidelines to deal with
editorial advertisements. (Pet., App. A, p.
44a.)

The court took note of another reason for proceeding
with caution: there are the severe limitations on broadcast
time”? which make it “idle to posit an unabridgeable
First Amendment right to broadcast” ™ in a medium that
“inherently is not available to all.’ The court therefore
made clear that any right of paid access to the broadcast

af These include the fairness doctrine, a licensee’s obligations to
consult with community leaders, to provide programming of differ-
ént types, etc.

23 Pet., App. A, p. 37a.
24 Red Lion, supra at 388.

25 National Broadcasting Co. v. United States, 319 U.S. 190 226
(1943).

11

media must be a “reasonably regulated ‘abridgeable’” © or
“limited” right to speak. 27

On Petitions for Rehearing and Suggestion for Rehearing
en Banc, the full court, without dissent, denied the request
for en banc rehearing and the petition for rehearing was
denied by Judges Wright, Robinson and McGowan without
dissent. The petitioners now seek to have this Court issue
a writ of certiorari to review the judgment of the court
of appeals.

At the time the petitions for certiorari were filed, the
Solicitor General, 7® with the support of the broadcaster-
petitioners, sought a stay. In the Application for Stay,
the Solicitor General informed the Court that the Com-
mission has suspended the “Access Generally To The Broad-
cast Media For The Discussion of Public Issues” phase of
the Study of Fairness Doctrine proceeding — i.e., the In-
quiry (Application for Stay, p. 4.). Other than to note
that certiorari is being sought, neither the Solicitor Gen-
eral nor the Commission has articulated any reason why
the Inquiry, which was deemed necessary prior to the

_ decision of the court of appeals, is less pressing now.

By order of this Court dated January 24, 1972, the stay
was denied as follows: “The application for a stay pre-
sented to the Chief Justice, and by him referred to the
Court, is denied.”

26 Pet., App. A, p. 22a.
27 14, p. 8a. (Emphasis in original.)

28 As counsel for both the United States of America and the
Commission.

12

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

I. PRELIMINARY ANALYSIS OF COURT OF
APPEALS’ DECISION

At the outset, it is useful to. make clear what was and
what was not held by the court below:

The . . . issue before us is relatively narrow and
we decide it narrowly. We do not have to cut
to the “heart” of our system of broadcasting;
we leave undisturbed the licensee’s basic right to
exercise judgment and control in public issue
programming and the sale of advertising time.
All we do is forbid an extreme”? form of con-
trol which totally excludes controversial public
debate from broadcast advertising time.

We hold specifically that a flat ban on paid pub-
lic issue announcements is in violation of the
First Amendment, at least when other sorts of
paid announcements are accepted. We do not
hold, however, tHat the planned announcements |
of the petitioners — or, for that matter, of any
other particular applicant for air time — must
necessarily be accepted by broadcast licensees.
Rather, we confine ourselves to invalidating the
flat ban alone, leaving it up to the licensees and
the Commission to develop and administer rea-
sonable procedures and regulations determining
which and how many ‘editorial advertisements’
will be put on the air. Pet., App. A, p. 3a.
(Emphasis added, except as noted.)

29 Emphasis in original, this footnote added.

EO LET BI ee ee ee NE EE EE

13

The court. specifically did not order any broadcaster to
put anyone in particular, not even BEM, on the air. Ra-
ther, it clearly refused to treat broadcasters as common
carriers relegated to selling their air time to all comers;
it did not even require any broadcaster to accept any
particular editorial advertisement, much less every one
proffered” and it made clear that, at this point, it leaves
“up to the licensees and the Commission” the working out
of a reasonable approach to selling some spot advertising
time to persons wishing to speak on matters of public con-
troversy.

The fairness doctrine, which was upheld by this Court
in Red Lion, is not in any way affected by the court of
appeals’ decision; the Commission’s and its licensees’ dis-
cretion as to application and administration of that doc-
trine remain unaltered.

In contrast to petitioners’ repeated arguments that the
result reached by the court below is inconsistent, at odds
with, or otherwise in conflict with this Court’s Red Lion
decision, *! the court below went to great lengths to

30 Thus, petitioners’ repeated citations of Red Lion, National
Broadcasting Co. v. United States, 319 U.S. 190 (1943), Green
v. F.C.C., 447 F.2d 323 (D.C. Cir., 1971), and other cases for the
proposition that no single person has an absolute right to express
his views on radio or television address an issue not present in this
case. Those decisions are not in any way inconsistent with the rul-
ing below. Indeed, as noted supra, see p. 10, the court below was excep-
tionally sensitive to the time limitations and other problems faced by
broadcasters as well as the regulatory obligations of the Commission and
therefore articulated “a reasonably regulated, ‘abridgeable’ right to
speak” (Pet., App. A, p. 22). .

31 See, e.g., Pet. 11, 12; CBS Pet. 11, 13; Post Pet. 9 (“The
lower court’s decision stands Red Lion on its head.”); ABC Pet. 5,
9.

a

14

emphasize that its result was consistent with the spirit of
Red Lion:

The Red Lion Court itself stated specifically

that “[i]t is the purpose of the First Amend-
ment to preserve an uninhibited marketplace

of ideas [in the broadcast media].”>? (Pet.,
App. A, at 21a.)

The court below stressed that this Court in Red Lion,
while upholding the fairness doctrine as constitutionally per-
missible and consistent with First Amendment objectives, in
no way suggested, let alone held, that the fairness doctrine

exhausts all of the broadcaster’s obligations or protects all
of the public’s First Amendment rights regarding the broad-
cast media:

Surely the public’s interest in free access to the
full spectrum of ideas and controversial views
on radio and television is highly important. The
right to receive ideas and information is deeply
rooted in First Amendment law.% The Red .
Lion Court stressed that right, since it was the
one primarily relevant to the fairness doctrine
rules at issue in the case. But we do not be-
lieve that the Red Lion decision makes the

goal of an informed public the exclusive First

32 Footnote 29 to opinion: “395 U.S. at 390. (Emphasis added.)”

33 Footnote 28 to opinion: “See Stanley v. Georgia, 394 U.S.
557, 564 (1969); Lamont v. Postmaster General, 381 U.S. 301, 307-
308 (1965) (Mr. Justice Brennan, concurring); Martin v. City of
Struthers, 319 U.S. 141, 143 (1943). The right to receive, how-
ever, has not been considered the central First Amendment interest,
and never the only First Amendment interest.”

15

Amendment interest constraining broadcasters.
Certainly the Supreme Court has done so in
no other context. (Pet., App. A, at 21a.)

All that the court held is that where a preferred form
of speech* is at stake, the First Amendment requires that
the Commission must “cease abdicating responsibility over
the uses of advertising time” (App. A., p. 2a) to the sole
and unfettered discretion of its licensees.

In short, the court has merely asked the Commission to
develop guidelines to assure that the free speech rights and
interests of the public are not unreasonably foreclosed. As
for broadcasters, they simply have been instructed to exer-
cise their professional competence and judgment to assure
that some members of the public at some time have some
opportunity to purchase access to some portion of the air-
waves that that same public owns for presenting some of
its views On some controversial issues of the day.

In sum, ‘the court below merely suggested that broad-
casters must make reasonable efforts in the selling of ad-
vertising time to behave like the able and benign “trustees”
of a highly valuable public resource that they should be 35
and claim to be.

34 New York Times v. Sullivan, supra, and Valentine v. Chresten-
en, 316 U.S. 52, 54 (1942).

$9 See Pet. at 10-11. See also Office of Communications of United
Church of Christ v. F.C.C., 425 F.2d 543, 548 (D.C. Cir., (1969), empha-
szing that broadcasters are “‘fiduciaries .. . of a great public resource and
nust meet the higher standards which are embraced in the public interest
concept.”

36 See, e.g., Pet., op. cit.; CBS Pet. 6, 15.

16

Il. THE CASE AND ISSUES INVOLVED ARE
NOT RIPE FOR REVIEW IN THIS COURT

Summary

The court below made clear that its decision is consti-
tutionally grounded, specifically in the First Amendment.”
All petitioners argue that this case presents questions of
major constitutional import. While we do not deny that
imbedded within the court of appeals’ decision may lie
major constitutional questions ** that might be appropriate
for review by this Court if presented in a context which
would permit this Court an opportunity to thoroughly
analyze their implications to the nation’s broadcasting in-
dustry and the public, this is not such a case.

There is no factual record whatever in support of any
of the assertions of disruption of orderly broadcasting or
financial injury made by petitioners. *

37 Pet., App. A., p. 10a.

38 A few possible problems which might arise in implementing a
paid editorial access scheme (when one is formulated by the Com-
mission), could include censorship of content or format of editorial
advertisements by licensees or, on the other hand, impairment of a
licensee’s role as journalist (see fn. 44, infra, and accompanying text)
as a result of the nature or number of editorial advertisements he
must carry.

39 The declaratory ruling sought by DNC gave the Commission a
clear opportunity to develop a factual record on these and the other
issues raised by petitioners, before issuing its decision. It eschewed
this course of action but, as noted above, acknowledged the need
for such an evidentiary approach to the problems raised in this case
by initiating its Inquiry on June 12, 1971. i 7-9, supra.

i

17

Nor is there any evidence before this Court concerning
the possible burdens the Commission might suffer if forced
to implement the mandate of the court below, which, in
effect, simply requires the Commission to continue the In-
quiry it had itself begun and which leaves the Commission
almost unfettered discretion to work out rules in which it
could protect itself and the courts from a plethora of liti-
gation. *! :

Nor is there any agency rule or regulation before this
Court, let alone one based upon a thorough analysis of
the factual and legal parameters. Cf. Red Lion, supra.

In short, the record presented to this Court is bare.
Furthermore, both the Commission and the broadcasters
have been afforded wide latitude to hammer out a fair
and reasonable approach to editorial advertising. Under
these circumstances, it is premature for the Court to grapple
with the constitutional principles underlying the decision
below. The case is not ripe for review.

40 it should be noted that mere inconvenience to or burden on
a governmental body, unless it is demonstrably severe, both quanti-
tatively and qualitatively, has never been regarded as a permissible
ground for denying First Amendment protected rights. See, e.g.,
Gregory v. City of Chicago, 394 US. 111 (1969) and Edwards v.
South Carolina, 372 U.S. 229 (1963). It is especially ironic to hear
a regulatory agency like the Commission seek to be relieved of its
statutory obligations on the ground that enforcing First Amendment
tights may prove a burdensome task.

41 it should be noted that the Commission concedes that its In-
quiry might well reach a result “similar to that ordered by the Court
of Appeals ... .” (Pet. 15).

a
>... TS RELENTLESS FI ARAN IEA NITS , 3 OER RAR ia aot Sr neg 3 aC om ange

—y

18

Discussion

The decision below does not alter broadcaster control
over programming time.42 Nevertheless, the broadcaster
petitioners argue that if they are required to provide the
public with limited paid access they will be deprived, in
part because of the fairness doctrine, 43 of some control
over issue origination and speaker format and language. “
Moreover, petitioners express concern that under the Com-
mission’s Cullman * doctrine, the licensee might incur an

42 As the court below stated: “It is particularly important that these
cases deal only with the public’s First Amendment interests in broad-
casters’ allocation of advertising time. They deal only with time relin-

_quished by broadcasters to others.... In normal programming time,
closely controlled and edited by. broadcasters. . . . the broadcasters’ own
interests in free speech are very, very strong. [Footnote omitted.] The
Commission’s fairness doctrine properly leaves licensees broad leeway for
professional judgment in that area. But in the allocation of advertising
time, the broadcasters{’| . . . speech is not at issue; rather all that is at issue
is their decision as to which other parties will be given an opportunity to
speak,”’ Pet., App. A, pp. 19a-20a (emphasis added).

43 The fairness doctrine imposes a two-fold obligation on licensees.
First, they must air views on some controversial issues of their own choos-
ing. Second, the views they present as to those issues must be balanced.
See Pet. at 6. Cf. Brief for Respondents United States of America and
Federal Communications Commission, below, at pp. 12-13: “. . . licensees
have a general obligation to devote a reasonable portion of broadcast
time to the discussion of controversial issues of public importance, and
in doing so, to be fair, i.e., to affirmatively present contrasting viewpoints
held by responsible elements in the community.”

44 ABC Pet. 12; CBS Pet. 15; Post Pet. 10.

45 Cullman Broadcasting Co., 40 F.C.C. 576 (1963). Cullman requires
a broadcaster to present contrasting viewpoints at its own expense if paid
sponsorship is unavailable. - There is of course no direct economic threat
from any access accorded groups as a result of the decision below. The
decision deals only with the right to purchase spot announcement time;
ABC’s implications to the contrary (ABC Pet. at 9-10) are wrong. See
opinion below (App. 3a) quoted, supra, at p. 12.

sg
ep tres
eptte

CARS

_ geal

19

economic burden in meeting fairness doctrine obligations.
Petitioners also warn that the national agenda of public
issues which reach the airwaves may be unduly influenced
by an invalid factor — i.e., the wealth required to purchase
editorial advertising time.“ Finally, petitioners raise the
related spectres of ‘administrative apocalypse” 4” and omi-
nous governmental censorship through agency and court re-
view of licensee decisions. ®

At some point there may arise a real and documentable
cause for concern that even a limited system of paid ac-
cess might result in one or more of the dangers so strenu-
ously argued by petitioners. But at this time the dangers
are pure speculation’? and sound principles of constitu-
tional adjudication, which are designed to ensure that any
judgment of this Court be both necessary and fully in-
formed, inveigh against Supreme Court review of this
case.

46 Pet. 17, ABC Pet. 11-12, 15-16; CBS Pet. 15; WTOP Pet. 10.
47 Pet., App. A, p. 40a.

48 Pet. 11, 17; ABC Pet. 12-13; WTOP Pet. 10-11; CBS Pet. 16
17.

49 E.g., WTOP cites a total of three demands for time — one of
which (The Committee of One Million, F.C.C. 71-1096 (October 22,
1971)) involved an attempt to purchase a program length segment,
not a spot ad — as proving “‘it is only realistic to expect that de-
mands for editorial advertising time will be numerous and wide-
spread.” (WTOP Pet. 16, n. 16.)

50 See United States v. International Union, etc., 352 U.S. 567 (1952)
(Frankfurter); Joint Anti-Fascist Refugee Committee v. McGrath, 341 U.S.
123 (1951) (Frankfurter concurring); United States v. Lovett, 328 U.S.
303 (1946) (Frankfurter concurring); Ashwander v. Tennessee Valley
Authority, 297 U.S. 288 (1936) (Brandeis concurring).

ate vF PR Pere +e %,

a

20

This Court refuses to involve itself “‘where administrative
intention is expressed but has not yet come to fruition... .”5!
This Court’s policy clearly is to rule on the legality of a
regulation before it is put into effect only where the chal-
lenged regulation specifically details prescribed or proscribed
conduct and leaves the implementing agency no leeway in
its enforcement.*5* Only in this way can the true agency
position be ascertained and properly analyzed.

Here, not only is there no rule or regulation before the
Court, but the Commission, both in failing to build a rec-
ord before disposing of DNC’s request for declaratory rul-
ing and in initiating and then staying its Inquiry (see p.
11, supra) has taken every step possible to delay the de-
velopment of the rules or regulations regarding paid edi-
torial advertising which both it (Pet. 15.) and the court
below believe are required.

What this Court is asked to review is a remand to the
Commission to explore, in light of First Amendment con-
siderations, the adoption of rules that Agency was already con-
sidering adopting. This Court is asked to resolve a vital First
Amendment issueé.in a vacuum, where all that is before it
is a remand intended to lead to rules which themselves
can (and assuredly will) be the subject of judicial review.
The Commission and the licensees ask this Court to relieve
them of the burden of compliance with their responsibility
under the Communications Act to exercise their expertise

51 Eccles v. Peoples Bank of Lakewood Village, Cal., 333 U.S.
426, 434 (1948).

52
Frozen Food Express v. United States, 351 U.S. 40 (1956);
Columbia Broadcasting System v. United States, 316 U.S. 407 (1942);
Pierce v. Society of Sisters, 268 U.S. 510 (1925).

21

to develop workable rules for securing “the more effective
use of radio.”*3 The Commission, while professing that
its policy role has been usurped and that the court below
impermissibly intruded into its zone of expertise, now asks
this Court to declare it unnecessary for the Commission to
exercise its policy responsibility to apply that expertise in
its own Inquiry. 4

In similar situations this Court has held that “sound
discretion withholds the remedy where . . . at the moment
adjudication is sought, [the challenged practice is] under-
going significant modification so that its ultimate form can-
not be confidently predicted.” *5 Where constitutional ad-
judication is involved, this discretion becomes a “reluctance,
indeed refusal, to undertake the most important and most
delicate of the Court’s functions . . . until necessity com-
pels it. . .”.% This Court will undertake constitutional
adjudication only in a “concrete factual setting that sharpens
the deliberative process especially demanded for a Constitu-
tional decision.” *” All of these principles make the instant
matter plainly inappropriate for review by this Court on the
record before it.

53 Communications Act of 1934, Section 301, Stat. 47 U.S.C.
§301. :

+4 See Pet., pp. 10, 12; see also Pet. in No. 71-865, pp. 18-19.

35 A. L. Melching Barge Lines, Inc. v. United States, 368 U.S.
324, 331 (1961).

56 Rescue Army v. Municipal Court, 331 US. 549, 570 (1947).

*7 United States v. International Union, etc., 352 US. 567, 591
(1957). See also Parker v. County of Los Angeles, 338 U.S. 327 (1949),
Simmons v. West Haven Housing Authority, 399 U.S. 510 (1970), rehear-
ing denied, 400 U.S. 856 (1970).

ae

On the slender record in this case there is no basis whatever
on which to determine at what point, if any, any of the
speculative dangers advanced by petitioners will arise to the
level of reality.°® In Toilet Goods Association v. Gard-
ner, 387 U.S. 158, 163-4 (1967) this Court stated that its
determination of the legality of a Food and Drug Admin-
istration regulation requifed “not merely ... an inquiry
into statutory purpose, but concurrently . . . an under-
standing of what type of enforcement problems are en-
countered by the FDA, the need for various sorts of super-
vision in order to effectuate the goals of the Act, and the
safeguards devised to protect legitimate trade secrets.” It
is plain that, on the record in the instant case, this Court
could not possibly reach such an understanding of the
regulatory problems which are hypothesized by petitioners.
Where questions of “‘far reaching impact” are pressed for
decision, ‘adequate and full bodied record is required.” ©

The Commission’s now aborted Study of Fairness
Doctrine, initiated prior to the court’s decision, was
specifically designed to determine if any of the dangers
that have been asserted (but nowhere documented) as
realities by petitioners might arise. The Notice of Inquiry

58 It seems plain, for example, that a rule which required broad-
casters to carry only one editorial advertisement per 24 hour period
would not trigger the consequences which petitioners fear. At the
other extreme, a rule which prohibited any commercial advertisements
even when all customers for editorial advertisements were satisfied
would raise serious issues.

59 That case involved a “final” agency regulation, unlike the pres-
ent facts which involve nothing more than an ad hoc adjudicative

ruling.
60 public Affairs Associates, Inc. v. Rickover, 369 U.S. 111, 113 (1962)

COE LOLI REE AE TS.

23

explicitly contemplates that it may be workable to pro-
vide limited paid access for editorial advertisements:

We request comment on the question whether
there is any feasible method of providing ac-
cess for discussion of public issues outside
the requirements of the fairness doctrine.
More specifically, we ask that comment be
addressed to the differing problems raised by
paid and free time; the specific standards
that should be followed for determining the
basis on which time is to be provided, if such
a course is recommended; the effect of any
such new procedure on the licensee’s gen-
eral responsibility to the public; and the im-
pact of such procedure on the licensee’s
duties under the fairness doctrine. Study

of Fairness Doctrine, 30 F.C.C. 2d at 33.®!

61 The court considered the arguments advanced here by peti-
tioners and rejected each of them as too speculative. Pet., App. A
pp. 36a-42a. BEM’s brief (at 37-52) and reply brief (at 24-31) in
the court below deal extensively with each of these points and
those discussions will not be repeated here. Moreover, we have al-
ready noted that some system of paid access is plainly feasible.
But in view of the strenuousness with which the broadcasters have
insisted that disaster will result from the decision below, it is use-

ful to briefly note here some possible responses to some of the
objections.

Contrary to the broadcasters’ assertions (CBS Pet. at 8-9, 14-
15; ABC Pet. at 6; Cf Post Pet. at 10-11) the court did not limit
the rules to be adopted to time, place and manner. (“At the least,
there may be regulations determining the time, place, and manner
of speech.” Pet., App. A, p. 39a (emphasis added).) The court
explicitly left open the possibility that it might be, necessary to
(cont’d)

ly

Kp tind

ae

24

The Commission similarly concedes that it does not
know whether (and, if so, under what criteria) broad-
casters already are turning over, substantial blocks of ad-
vertising time to the editorial spokesmen, be they wealthy
or otherwise:

The essential purpose of this part of the in-
quiry is to ascertain, if possible, the general
"patterns of licensee practice as to access on
a paid or sustaining basis (¢.g., for discussion
of controversial issues generally or of ballot
issues; for fund solicitation generally or for
parties or committees organized around bal-
lot issues), and whether it would be appro-
priate for this Commission to lay down

61 (cont’d) limit the amount of time sold to one group or to
present a particular narrow viewpoint. Pet., App. A. p. Sila. (The
court went so far as to say that respondent BEM’s ads might be
barred on these grounds in view of the, extensive coverage given
the Vietnam war. Pet., App. A, pp. 3a, 44a.) There is, in any
event, no evidence in the record indicating that enough editorial
advertising will come forward to in any way threaten a licensee’s
balanced programming with respect to any issue in view of the
broad discretion accorded licensees in achieving an overall balance
in the presentation of opposing views. Fairness Primer: Applica-
bility of the Fairness Doctrine to the Handling of Controversial
Issues of Public Importance, 29 Fed. Reg. 10415 (1964). (It is
not true that one spot ad may only be balanced with other spot
ads. ABC Pet. at 10-11, 13, n. 7. See specifically In re Wilder-
ness Society, et al, 31 F.C.C.2d 729 (F.C.C. Memorandum Opinion and
Order No. 71-971 (Sept. 17, 1971)).) The same “trustee” stand-
ards and approaches already used by broadcasters in choosing
among competing ideas and speakers under the fairness doctrine
could, for example, merely be extended to licensees making choices
among competing applicants for paid access.

25

criteria or guidelines for these purposes,
(Ibid, )®2

It is clear that some broadcasters already accept some
editorial advertisements. (See Post Pet., p. 14.) There
is not one scintilla of evidence in the record that any of
those broadcasters suffer any of the horrors postulated
by petitioners, Surely the guidelines employed and the

62 Again the court directly dealt with the argument that the
wealthy would dominate the national agenda. Pet., App. A, pp.

cess recognized by the lower court is a complement to, not a sub-
stitute for, the fairness doctrine. Since the application of the latter

ate to assure that no particular group, point of view or issue could

preempt the airways, no matter the number of dollars at its com.
mand.

In any event, by the very nature of commercial media, the
wealthy have always had greater access‘to public forums than -the

paternalistic broadcaster controlling all access (cf. ABC Pet. No.
71-866, 5, 8; CBS Pet. No. 71-863 at 15) may inadvertently over-
look the views of such groups. When they do manage to raise
the money to Present an editorial, flat bans will clearly preclude
their self-expression. Moreover, even less than wealthy persons
might be able to afford to purchase one spot announcement and,

in it, request funds to finance additional ones. Cf. F.C.C. Opinion
in DNC, Pet., App. B., at 72a-73a.

63 It is also clear that many commercial advertisements are in
fact taking Positions on controversial issues of public importance,
See Banzhaf v. F.C.C., 405 F.2d 1082 (D.C. Cir., 1968), cert.

»(cont’d)

: : a
26

experience of such broadcasters is highly relevant to a de
termination of whether a regime of paid access for edito-
rial messages is workable. And, in the Inquiry, the Com-
mission expressed an open mind about whether such a
system would result in administrative apocalypse. It
asked:

Whether it would be appropriate for this
Commission to lay down criteria or guide-
lines .... If so, what would they be?
Or, are the problems in this area so varied
that decisions should be left to the judg-
ment of thousands of licensees and, in cases
of complaint, to the adjudicatory process?
(Inquiry, pp. 7-9, supra.)™

The Commission concluded its Notice of Inquiry with a
question:

[S] hould we reaffirm present Commission
policy and practice? (Jbid.)®©

63 (cont’d) denied sub nom Tobacco Institute v. F.C.C., 396
U.S. 842 (1969); Friends of the Earthy. F.CC, F.2d (DL.
Cir. No. 24,556, August 16, 1971); Letter to National Broadcasting
Co., 30 F.C.C. 2d 643 (F.C.C. 71-704, June 30, 1971).

64 Neither administrative anarchy nor censorship is any more
likely under a system of limited paid access than already exists
under the fairness doctrine. Every refusal to broadcast a contrast-
ing viewpoint is also potentially the subject of a complaint to the
Commission and of court review.

65 The Commission’s stated intention to investigate the extent
to which a system of limited paid access is feasible must of course
silence any protest that such a system violates the statutory scheme.

(cont’d)

In the face of the “woefully lacking”’® record in this
case, only a showing of extreme “hardship” might justify
a decision by this Court.6? This has been the consistent
position of this Court in cases involving even administra-
tive regulations.® Where First Amendment rights are in-
volved, the showing of hardship imposed on the person
silencing speech must be concomitantly greater.”

This Court’s refusal to review at this time would in-
flict no real harm on any of the petitioners. The broad-
casters have not been ordered to sell spot announcement
airtime for any specific editorial advertisements. The

65 (cont'd) It is repeatedly contended (Pet. at 3; CBS Pet. at’
10-11; Post Pet. at 3; ABC Pet. at 9) that the limited system of
paid access sought by respondent would convert licensees into com-
mon carriers in violation of Section 3(h) of the Communications
Act, 47 U.S.C. §153(h). Section 315 is cited in support of this
proposition. While the court disposed of these contentions on the
merits, (Pet. App. A, pp. 37a-38a) the Commission could not have
reached the same result in its Inquiry if this violated the statute.
The Commission was clearly cognizant of Section 3(h). It opened
the Inquiry with explicit mention of its duty to abide by this pro-
vision. 30 F.C.C. 2d 26-27. Yet consistent with that duty, it pro-
posed a study of a limited right of paid access.

66 Pyblic Affairs Associates, Inc. v. Rickover, 369 US. 111,113
(1962).

67 Joint Anti-Fascist Refugee Committee v. McGrath, 341 U.S.
123 (1951).

68 Toilet Goods Association, supra, 387 U.S. at 162-166.
©9 See Near v. Minnesota, 283 US. 697 (1931).

St ad QAI at <A apn wr

ee

case has simply been remanded to the Commission to de-
termine under what circumstances some members of the
public may be entitled to air their ads.” The Commission
for its part, had already begun a proceeding to gather
data it needs to determine the conditions under which a
limited system of paid access could be implemented. No
untoward burden is imposed on the Commission by re-
quiring it to resume that proceeding which it has unex-
plainedly suspended.

In the delicate area of speech, this Court has long rec-
ognized that the Constitution requires that persons be af-
forded the broadest possible opportunity for self expres-
sion.”!_ Before restricting or expanding the “breathing
space” ’2 which speech via the broadcast media enjoys,
this Court should have some notion of what are likely
to be the effects of a system of limited paid access. In
Red Lion, the Court was presented similar protestations
of doom by the broadcasting industry regarding the ap-
plication of the fairness doctrine.” If the personal at-
tack and political editorialization doctrines of the Com-
mission were allowed to stand, it was argued, the result

70 it is true that even before the Commission promulgates final
guidelines, broadcasters will have to abandon flat bans to editorial
advertisements. If this creates serious problems, the courts are as
available to broadcasters as to private parties.

71 See Cantwell v. Connecticut, 310 US. 296, 304 (1940),
holding that governmental restrictions on speech must be narrowly
drawn “so . . . as not, in attaining a permissible end, unduly to
infringe upon the protected [First Amendment] freedom.” See
also Cox v. Louisiana, supra, and Edwards v. South Carolina, 372
US. 229 (1963).

72 NAACP y, Button, 371 US. 415, 433 (1963).

73 See e.g, briefs of CBS and National Broadcasting Co. in
Red Lion, supra.

29

would be to deter speech because of the obligation to
present opposing views. The Court responded that:

that possibility is at best speculative. The
communications industry, and in particular
the networks, have taken pains to present
controversial issues.... And if experience
with the administration of those doctrines in-
dicates that they have the net effect of re-
ducing rather than enhancing the volume and
quality of coverage, there will be time enough
to reconsider the constitutional implications.
(Red Lion, 395 U.S. at 393.) 75

Here, too, there will be time enough to review the
workability of a regime of limited paid access in the light
of experience. A premature review could indeed result in
a “constitutional straight-jacket”” which might either over-
protect or under-protect speech.

The case is plainly not ripe for review.

74 It is ironic, to say the least, to now find the broadcasters
citing the fairness doctrine as the panacea for public rights with
which they can comfortably live.

15 To the extent timorousness has resulted from the chilling
effect of the fairness doctrine, (see Red Lion, supra at 393-94)
some system of limited access suggested by the court below pro-
vides one means of assuring some amelioration. See, e.g., Pet.,
App. A, pp. 24a-25a.

30
Ill. THE DECISION BELOW IS NOT IN CONFLICT
WITH THE DECISION OF ANY OTHER CIRCUIT

Citing two superannuated decisions in other circuits —
McIntire v. William Penn Broadcasting Co., 151 F.2d 597
(3rd Cir., 1945) cert. denied, 327 U.S. 779 (1946) and
Massachusetts Universalist Convention v. Hildreth & Rogers
Co., 183 F.2d 497 (ist Cir., 1950) — the three broad-
caster petitioners allege that the decision below creates a
direct conflict among the circuits.”

The Solicitor General, on the other hand, eschews making
any such argument. Rather, noting that the Commission’s
report, Editorializing by Broadcast Licensees, 13 F.C.C. 1246,
was not adopted until 1949 and its Fairness Primer, supra,
was not published until 1964, the Solicitor General merely
cites the McIntire and Massachusetts Universalist decisions
as reaffirming licensee discretion “to determine what pro-
gramming is in the public interest.” (Pet. 14, fn. 6. Em-
phasis added.)

Examination of the McIntire and Massachusetts Univer-
salist cases indicates that they are in no way in conflict
with the decision below. First, both cases involved the
sale of programming time, not spot announcement time,
whereas the court below made clear that its decision was
limited to the latter form of time, i.e., that time which
commercial broadcasters hold out for sale to members of
the public.

Second, both McIntire and Massachusetts Universalist
involved actions brought in U.S. District Courts to re-
quire broadcasters to sell airtime. The dispositive rationale

76 ABC Pet. 14-16; CBS Pet. 17-19; Post Pet. 11-14.

31
of both cases was that the district courts lack jurisdiction
to entertain such actions since the Communications Act
vested in the Commission “the power to pass upon all
such allegations of unfair treatment as the plaintiffs
made here respecting the defendant.”” (Mc/ntire, supra,
151 F.2nd at 597; Massachusetts Universalist, supra, 183
F.2nd at 500, citing Mcintire.)”

Third, neither McIntire nor Massachusetts Universalist
involved a flat ban on political speech, but rather involved
the cancellation of a specific speaker’s contract to purchase
programming time. Thus, those cases involved none of the
questions of discrimination against political speech in favor
of commercial speech which, in part, persuaded the court
below to reach its result. The cases are fully consistent
with the narrow ruling of the court below which simply
invalidated “the flat ban [against selling editorial adver-
tising time] alone leaving it up to the licensees and the
“. "mission to develope and administer reasonable proce-
dures and regulations determining which and how many
editorial advertisements would be put on the air.” 8

Finally, to the extent that McIntire and/or Massachu-
setts Universalist suggested, by way of dictum,” that the

7 See also Retail Store Employees Union, Local 880 v. F.C.C.
436 F.2d 248, 256 fn. 49 (D.C. Cir., 1970): “since McIntire merely
held that regulation of program content was within the province
of the Commission rather than the district courts, the citation can
hardly be regarded as illuminating.”

78 Pet., App. A, p. 3a.

9 Any statement regarding the application of the First Amend-
ment was dictum in those cases because, as noted above, they were
grounded upon determination that district courts lacked jurisdiction
to entertain the complaints.

SN SINGS REPTILE SUPPRESS SLT “

32

First Amendment does not govern the operations of broad-
casters in allocating their airtime, that notion has been
firmly put to rest by this Court in Red Linon, supra,

at 386: “broadcasting is clearly a medium affected by
a First Amendment interest .. . .”

Thus, as recognized by the Solicitor General, the two
ancient cases cited by the broadcaster petitioners are not
in conflict with the decision below. At best they take a
different point of view on other issues (sale of program-
ming, not spot announcement, time and the jurisdiction
of the district courts) which arose in a context prior to
the advent of the Fairness Doctrine and this Court’s af-
firmation in Red Lion that the First Amedment clearly
must govern the way in which a broadcaster deals with
controversial issues of public importance.

33

CONCLUSION

For the reasons above stated, the petitions for a writ
of certiorari should be denied.

Of Counsel:
JOSEPH N. ONEK

1600 — 20th Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20009

February, 1972

Respectfully submitted,

THOMAS R. ASHER
Media Access Project
1812 N Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036

ALBERT H. KRAMER

Citizens Communications Center
1812 N Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036

Attorneys for Respondent
Business Executives’ Move
for Vietnam Peace

i

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386414_0152%3A10. Public record. Not legal advice.
