# Opposition Brief — Kern County Land Co. v. Occidental Petroleum Corp.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386414_0139%3A04

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1973
- **Citation:** 411 U.S. 582

## Text

'

% 4

Mf
t
4

’

A

|

%

a

oH

“4

‘3

ay

, A

4

¥

%

Sf
a
%

Seine

‘a

Me 3

ge

tga

4 Bes

yt, 4

4

Ss

A]

;

INDEX

IY I i iitromeritneraniarasnnsnciacieenanentsnenibinnentnalonhne
I I iid cae dernctintsetnimiirtncuninnibclnnainbunbiionies
Reasons for Denying the Writ .....0..020020.2.22.2.:cccccceeceeeeeeeee-
MIPININIIRINS, EB UIOEI ciccciteeencssecireccnavvcsncsiidbcerencceaneess

A. Occidental’s Attempt to Arrange a Merger
ee iaoica ce isncdeslaccatechenmcedebelinidenieinnanninstenn

B. Aftermath of Tenneco’s Offer; The Option
PII scilssieiisticlnnesasccirasieisinsllinsisjuatielbviioniepsicnmcnaniinnis

Efforts to Obtain a Rule “16b-11” from the
ICR ER SE ce ee

The Plan of Merger (the “Plan”) .....0.000000.......
Shareholder Approval .................::ceceesseseeeeeeeees

a

Sey

Acceleration of the Merger Closing

G. Disposition of the Tenneco Stock

Argument

I. Whether the Long-Term Option in This Case
Was a Genuine Option and Therefore Not a
“Sale” Under §16(b) Is Not a Question Which
Merits Review

A. The Case was Correctly Decided in Accord-
ance with Accepted Law

B. There is No “Factual Identity” here with
Bershad v. McDonough ..............

C. The “Escape Hatch” Does Not Exist

ii

Il. Whether a “Merger” in a Particular Case Should
Give Rise to § 16(b) Liability Is Not a Question
Which Warrants Review

A. The Case was Correctly Decided in Accord-
ance with Accepted Law .

B. Petitioner’s “Policy” Arguments Run Coun-
ter to Policies Adopted By Congress Sub-
sequent to the Events at Issue Herein ............

C. There is No Question of Sufficient Recurrence
or Breadth to Warrant Review

D. No Judicial “Exemption” From § 16(b) was
Granted

Conclusion

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases

Alloys Unlimited, Inc. v. Gilbert, 319 F. _— 617
(S.D.N.Y. 1970)
American Standard, Inc. v. Crane Co., 1971 CCH Fed.
Sec. L. Rep. ] 93,237 (S.D.N.Y. Oct. 33, 1971) ..........
Auto Drive-Away Co. of Hialeah, Inc. v. ICC, 360 F.2d
GAG COA B LOGE) sieiisnnnasin scenes sSetiintenongpsicnnccnitvsantinneannevcannn

Bassick Manufacturing Co. v. Adams Grease Gun Co.,
54 F.2d 285 (CA 2 1931), cert. dismissed, 286 U.S.
RT CUI) aienseinseneicsiniccsevseiiinsrpcssinimnanicscntemsiioirtitcie

Bershad v. McDonough, 428 F.2d 693 (CA 7 1970),

PAGE

cert. denied, 400 U.S. 992 (1971) ...........- 4, 14, 15, 16, 17, 25

Bershad v. McDonough, 300 F. Supp. 1051 (N.D. Il.
1969), aff'd, 428 F.2d 693 (CA 7 1970), cert. denied,
400 U.S. 992 (1971)

16

PAGE
Blau v. Hodgkinson, 100 F. Supp. 361 (S.D.N.Y. 1951) 23
Blau v. Lamb, 363 F.2d 507 (CA 2 1966), cert. denied,

SOB US. LODE (1OGT) ocacceceececnnnvecencnnineeceeorenee 21, 22, 23, 25, 29
Blau v. Lehman, 368 U.S. 403 (1962) .............---.eceeseeeeeees 3, 14
Blau v. Max Factor & Co., 342 F.2d 304 (CA 9), cert.

denied, 382 U.S. 892 (1965) .............. .19, 22, 29
Blau v. Ogsbury, 210 F.2d 423 (CA 2 1954) .................... 13, 22

Blau v. Oppenheim, 250 F. Supp. 881 (S.D.N.Y. 1966) 23
Booth v. Varian Associates, 334 F.2d 1 (CA 1 1964),

cert. denied, 379 U.S. 961 (1965) ...... 19, 23
Falco v. Donner Foundation, Inc., 208 F.2d 600 (CA

2 1953) .. 2713, 22
Ferraiolo v. Newman, 259 F.2d 342 (CA 6 1958), cert.

denied, 359 U.S. 927 (1959) ..... _ 22, 23
Fistel vy. Christman, 135 F. Supp. 880 (S.D.N.Y.

I So iceessecnincitrinessinccnsanciisieenancninisintivanmmenaienindlainainain 23
General Talking Pictures Corp. v. Western Electric

Ca, BR, BTR TTD aricceeenssitsecesniaconssisitenniasaninctninies 19

Gold v. Scurlock, 324 F. Supp. 1211 (K.D. Va. 1971) ... 23
Heli-Coil Corp. v. Webster, 352 F.2d 156 (CA 3 1965) 23
Jones v. Zurich General Accident & Liability Insur-

ance Co., 121 F.2d 761 (CA 2 1941) 16
Klingman v. National Indemnity Co., 317 F.2d 850

CEER, F BIID cetesiinennhineseoninsabieblaninecsltannntantoncanicnnamnatiotncionsivnn 18
Lawn v. United States, 355 U.S. 339 (1958) ..............----+ 16
Lynam ¥. Livingston, 276 F. Supp. 104 (D. Del. 1967) — 23
McClellan v. Carland, 217 U.S. 268 (1910) ................... 16

Mack vy. Mishkin, 172 F. Supp. 885 (S.D.N.Y. 1969) 25
Mitchell v. Dooley Bros. Inc., 286 F.2d 40 (CA 1 1960),
cert. denied, 366 U.S. 911 (1961) ~.00.... eee 18

iv

PAGE
NLRB v. Waterman Steamship Corp., 309 U.S. 206
(1940) 19
Newmark v. RKO General, Inc., 425 F.2d 348 (CA 2),
cert. denied, 40 U.S. 854 (1970) ......... om 22, 23, 29
Park & Tilford, Inc. v. Schulte, 160 F.2d 984 (CA 2),
cert. dented, 332 U.S. 761 (1947) ...........ge.essssesesees 13, 23, 35
Perlman v. Timberlake, 172 F. Supp. 246 (S.D.N.Y.
1959) 23
Petteys v. Butler, 367 F.2d 528 (CA 8 1966), cert.
denied, 385 U.S. 1006 (1967) .. ah, 28, 29
Reliance Electric Co. v. Emerson Electric Co., No.
70-79, 404 U.S. —— (Jan. 11, 1972) ........ 3, 4, 14, 20, 21, 29
Roberts v. Eaton, 212 F.2d 82 (CA 2), cert. denied,
BS TF Ee CD ncnsicsciinis sin csscarssitbrcticiniinsenenietninin 19, 22, 23
Shaw v. Dreyfus, 172 F.2d 140 (CA 2), cert. denied,
BE ioc PE AY teenies tee oreineiccnicentanens 13, 22
Silverman vy. Landa, 306 F.2d 422 (CA 2 1962) .......... 13, 15,
18, 19, 21
Silverman v. Landa, 200 F. Supp. 193 (S.D.N.Y. 1961),
eh, BI FOG OS COC. S LIU) isn isieissiscsnsssnssnniciens 15
Smolowe v. Delendo Corp., 136 F.2d 231 (CA 2), cert.
denied, 320 U.S. 751 (1943) 22
Steinberg v. Sharpe, 95 F. Supp. 32 (S.D.N.Y. 1950)
aff'd, 190 F.2d 82 (CA 2 1951) 19
Stella v. Graham-Paige Motors Corp., 232 F.2d 299
(CA 2), cert. denied, 352 U.S. 831 (1956) .................. 13
United States v. Johnston, 268 U.S. 220 (1925) ............ 19

SEE ALTORL PEIL ST OT AT

_

Statutes and Rules:

PAGE
California Corporations Code (West 1955):
§ 2226 .. 17
PN icicle tear casera 17
§ 3003... paler ese cha ce dccnn cee eketiacacneneila = 4
+ i a 12
§ 4107 . . 12
§ 4123 12
11 Federal Register (1946) .............. 13
Securities Exchange Act, 15 U.S.C. §§ 78m (d), (e),
78n (d), (e), (£) 26

Miscellaneous:

Brief for Appellees, Abrams v. Occidental Petroleum
Corp., 450 F.2d 157 (CA 2 1971) (Aug. 16, 1971) ... 2,3

Comment, Securities Regulation—Exchange of Stock
Pursuant to Merger is Sale by an Insider Under
Section 16(b) of the Securities Exchange Act of
1934, 84 Harv. L. Rev. 1012 (1971) - 23

211 CommerciaL & FrnanciaL CHRONICLE, June 1,1970 21

Cook & Feldman, Insider Trading Under the Securi-

ties Exchange Act, 66 Harv. L. Rev. 385 (1953) ........ ' 13
W. J. Erreman, C. A. Dick & D. K. Erreman, THE

Stock Marker (4th ed. 1966) 18
Harlan, Manning the Dikes, 13 Recorp or N.Y.C.B.A.

541 (1958) ..... 19

Hayes & Taussig, Tactics of Cash Takeover Bids, 45
Harv. Bus. Rev. 135 (1967) .. 28

vi
PAGE

Hearings on H.R. 144175 & S. 510 Before the House
Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce,
90th Cong., 2d Sess. (1968) ,..26, 27, 28

Hearings on S. 510 Before the Sub-Committee on
Securities, Committee on Banking and Currency,
90th Cong., Ist Sess. (1967) 28

H. R. Rep. No. 1711, 90th Cong., 2d Sess. (1968) -......... 26

Note, Defensive Tactics Employed by Incumbent
Management in Contesting Tender Offers, 21 Stan.
L. Rev. 1104 (1969) 28

Note, Stock Exchanges Pursuant to Corporate Con-
solidation: A §16(b) “Purchase or Sale”? 117 U.

Pa. L. Rev. 1034 (1969) 23
O’Hanlon, Goodrich’s Four Ply Defense, Fortune,
July 1969 28
Rukeyser, Getting Tough with Tenders, Fortune,
Aug. 1967 26
Schmults & Kelly, Cash Take-Over Bids—Defense
Tactics, 23 Bus. Law 115 (1967) 28
SEC, Report on Put anp Cay Options (1961) ............ 18
S. Rep. No. 550, 90th Cong., Ist Sess. (1967) -............... 26
D. Vaucun, Survey or INVESTMENTS (1967) ..............---- 18

—_—_

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1971

No. 71-1059

&
>

|

———

Kern County Lanp Company,

Petitioner,
v.

OccipENTAL PETROLEUM CORPORATION,
Respondent.

i

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION

Occidental Petroleum Corporation (“Occidental”) sub-
mits this memorandum in opposition to the petition filed
by “New Kern” for review of a decision by the Court of Ap-
peals for the Second Circuit in regard to certain events in-
volving the parties, petitioner’s predecessor (“Kern”) and
its present corporate parent (“Tenneco”) under § 16(b) of
the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 (15 U.S.C. 78p(b))
(the “Act”).*®

Questions Presented

1. Whether, on the facts of this case, the grant of a long-
term option, which could not and did not result in a sale
within six months, was a short-term “sale” of securities
subject to the option under § 16(b).

* References herein by page number are in the form set forth in
| the petition.

2

2. Whether, on the facts of this case, the forced trans-
formation of stock by a “defensive merger” engineered by
petitioner’s predecessor and its parent must be imputed
to respondent as its “sale” under § 16(b), when such trans-
formation involved no opportunity for abuse of “inside”
information.

Proceedings Below

This case is one of four actions, including three share-
holder actions, which were consolidated for discovery, 44
F.R.D. 543 (S.D.N.Y. 1968), in which all parties partici-
pated. Each plaintiff moved for summary judgment. The
district court granted petitioner’s motion and dismissed the
three shareholder actions as moot (24C); no appeal was
taken by those parties.

On respondent’s appeal the Court of Appeals for the
Second Circuit, in an ‘opinion by Chief Judge Iriendly,
unanimously reversed and directed dismissal of the com-
plaint in accordance with respondent’s explicit request on
brief and at argument. The panel, which included a former
general counsel of the Securities and Exchange Comnis-
sion, also unanimously denied petitioner’s application for
rehearing. The full active membership of the Second Cir-
cuit denied petitioner’s application for rehearing and for re-
hearing in banc by a vote of eight to one.

Petitioner’s current contention that factual development
of this case was “limited”, and thus that the court below
dismissed it prematurely, came only after the uncontested
facts yielded a result unsatisfactory to it. In the opening
of its appellate brief petitioner told the court:

[E]ntry of summary judgment came after this liti-
gation had been pending some three years and after
extensive discovery had been had, .. .?

aBrief for Appellees at 2-3, Abrams v. Occidental Petroleum
Corp., 450 F.2d 157 (CA 2 1971) (Aug. 16, 1971).

ONT LL OE ENE IN PE aE NL NED, LOE

aa—___,_,_,,

3

‘and at two points carefully listed the pretrial discovery
taken,” pressing the position that the case was ripe for
decision, until the Court of Appeals ruled. (17A)

Reasons for Denying the Writ

Contrary to petitioner’s contention, this case does not
present any broad issue of law. The decision required only
the application of principles announced in Blau v. Lehman,
368 U.S. 403 (1962), again recently endorsed in Reliance
Electric Co. v. Emerson Electric Co., No. 70-79, 404 U.S.—
(Jan. 11, 1972), and followed in the Second Circuit and else-
where, to the particular facts here. That application was
entirely correct.

The court below, following a well established test, held
that the forced transformation of a defeated bidder’s shares
into those of another corporation in a merger wholly within
the control of others is not a “sale” by such bidder, and
no §16(b) liability follows, provided that the transactions
do not permit the abuse of inside information. The test,
which petitioner concedes to be the correct one, requires a
careful examination of the facts and the sequence and tim-
ing of events. It has been and must hereafter be applied on
a case-by-case basis. A decision on the facts of this case
cannot resolve future merger cases, “defensive” or other-
wise. In addition, as set forth infra, more sophisticated
“defensive” techniques, creating no § 16(b) questions, would
appear to’ have overshadowed the “defensive” merger.
The rare occasion where a hostile management will procure
and rush through a merger within six months, as was done
here, does not merit plenary consideration. Even in such
unusual situations, the result urged by petitioner would
allow such managements to destroy the “delicate balance”

b/d. at 3, 20.

4

in tender offer contests which Congress, in passing legisla-
tion after the events herein, took care to preserve.

Similarly, the Court of Appeals’ holding that the mere
grant of an option, economically bona fide, is not a § 16(b)
“sale” accords with an unbroken line of prior decisions.
The grantor of an option has no power to effect any sale,
but rather leaves his investment at risk in the issuer’s secu-
rities. A sale occurs only when and if the optionee exer-
cises, and here no sale was made within the statutory
period. There is no conflict here with the Seventh Circuit’s
decision in Bershad v. McDonough, 428 F.2d 693 (CA 7
1970), cert. denied, 400 U. S. 992 (1971), meticulously
analyzed in Judge Friendly’s opinion, where the “option”
was a sham. Both courts, on summary judgment, applied
the same principles to different facts with different results.

The contention that this part of the decision opens an
“escape hatch” from § 16(b) is based upon inaccurate state-
ments as to the mechanics of and risks inhering in the grant
of a long-term option, which can assure no profit of any
kind but rather encumbers its grantor. It is, as shown
herein, an “escape hatch” only from nonexistent liability.
The Second Circuit has given fair warning that spurious
“options” will allow an insider no escape.

Petitioner’s primary ground for review is apparently
that a profit (long-term) was made. The question is not
whether a profit was made but whether §16(b) applies.
Reliance Electric Co. v. Emerson Electric Co., supra. The
Court of Appeals, applying accepted principles, reached
the only proper result on the facts by denying windfall re-
covery to the petitioner, where neither the purpose nor the
mechanics of §16(b) had any application, and the court
below was not therefore pressed to a result which would
have been “repugnant” to its “sense of equity” (13A).
There is no need for review.

c The Williams Act Amendments to the Act, see p. 26 infra.

rete - . —_
PEE LY HER LD CIOL A> UN BOLI IM TIME PENA

| ‘

Counterstatement of Facts

Petitioner’s statement omits so many facts relevant to
the propriety of review that it is necessary to submit this
counterstatement.

A. Occidental’s attempt to arrange
a merger with Kern.

In late March of 1967 Occidental discussed a possible
Kern merger with Lehman Brothers, Occidental’s invest-
ment banker, which viewed it as beneficial for both com-
panies (722a). After unsuccessful attempts in April 1967 to
schedule a meeting with Kern (550a; 762a), Occidental on
May 8 released the terms of a public tender offer to Dow
Jones for publication over the “broad tape”, followed the
next day by newspaper publication (76a).

Occidental offered to purchase up to 500,000 shares of
Kern stock for $83.50 per share plus $1.50 commission to
transmitting brokers. The offer was unconditional ahd ir-
revocable until June 8, 1967, requiring Occidental to accept
all tenders, however few (450a, Ex. a; 759a-760a). Occiden-
tal reserved the right to purchase, in order of receipt, some
or all shares tendered beyond 500,000 and the right to ex-
tend the offer on public notice (id.). The offering price of
$83.50 was approximately $20—or 30%—above the prior
closing market price (635g) of Kern Stock (763a) and was -
set with Lehman Brothers’ guidance, based upon published
data (723a-724a). Within 214 days after announcement
tenders exceeded 500,000 shares, and on the third day an
irrevocable extension for an additional 500,000 Kern shares
was made (767a; 1061a).

On the day of the offer Kern’s board of directors met
specially and determined to “use every legitimate means to

6

frustrate Hammer’s ambition to take over your Company
[Kern]” (782a). Kern wrote to its shareholders on May
10, urging them not to tender, stating, inter alia, that it had
“in hand ... a number of offers to discuss merger possibili-
ties . . . that could result in tax-free exchanges” -(782a-
785a), which statement was then untrue. Kern had no
other offers (805a; 901a; 772a; 724a; 655a; 645a). Upon the
extension of the offer it telegraphed, and thereafter again
wrote to each shareholder, urging defeat of the offer.
(785a; 768a).

Despite Kern’s active resistance (1062a; 769a) Qoeitten-
tal sought to discuss a consensual merger. Occidental sub-
mitted two merger proposals, each on a “negotiable” basis,
but Kern refused to discuss them (644a-645a; 658a; 769a).
Late on May 19 Kern announced that its board had voted
to accept a Tenneco merger offer® and told Occidental to
“read about in in the newspapers.” (770a).

The news release (787a-788a) revealed that the Tenneco
offer, accepted “unanimously,” was a tax-free, share-for-
share exchange of Kern stock for a proposed $5.50 Tenneco
convertible preference stock with a liquidation value of
$100, a cumulative dividend of $5.50 per share and callable
in ten years at $110. Lehman Brothers advised that the
Tenneco proposal was worth $105 per share (745a), or 23%
above Occidental’s own offer; Occidental made public this
valuation by announcement to its shareholders dated May
19 (710a, Ex. D at D7-D8).

Tenneco was first contacted by Kern on May 10 or 11
when Kern’s Chairman (Montgomery) asked Tenneco’s
late Chairman (Symonds) to come up with an offer to

d President of Occidental.

e Although the Tenneco-Kern transaction was styled as an ex-
change of stock for assets, see note o and p. 11 infra, the term
“merger” is used here for shorthand purposes.

PELL SE LEE ITIL, SOE POLIO LOGE LE LLL EI

7

‘ eounter Occidental (726a-727a; 772a; 805a). Tenneco in-
sisted upon studying Kern’s records (725a) and on May 11
commenced a detailed examination, working from an office
within Kern. No earlier than May 16, 1967 Tenneco and
Kern met “for a general discussion of the framework within
which Tenneco might make an offer,” subject to further in-
spection (727a-728a). Tenneco had access to inside infor-
mation, and its offer was based thereon (726a-728a). Occi-
dental was isolated throughout (728a; 772a-773a).

B. Aftermath of Tenneco’s Offer;
the Option Agreement.

The May 19 announcement of the Kern-Tenneco agree-
ment put an end to Occidental’s bid, which after May 19
drew only a few shares on scattered dates through June 5
(771a). It was clear to Occidental that, even if it waged a
costly and bitter proxy fight, it was not likely to stop the
proposed Tenneco-Kern merger (729a).f Occidental and
Tenneco met in late May and attempted to cope with the
prospect, viewed unfavorably by both (729a, 730a), that
Occidental, having sought to acquire Kern, would ultimately
become a minority shareholder of Tenneco. They considered
the possible sale of Occidental’s Kern shares to Tenneco, but
believed this could not be done in view of the “possibility of
a 16B problem” (730a).
~ £ With a $75 million investment at stake, Occidental thereafter
made a demand upon Kern to examine its corporate records, was
repeatedly refused, and was forced to institute two state court ac-
tions in an attempt to secure an unqualified right equally available to
any shareholder under Cal. Corp. Code § 3003 (West 1955) (669a-
670a; 678a-68la; 849a-867a). Only after these proceedings were
instituted did Kern produce any records, which did not go beyond
that available to any shareholder (4A), and none related to the value
of the Tenneco offer (773a). What was made available to Occidental

is irrelevant; the question is whether the merger exchange allowed
Occidental to use it unfairly. See Point II infra.

8

At the suggestion of the late Mr. Symonds, Occidental,
along with its counsel, Pillsbury Madison & Sutro, met with
Tenneco® and its counsel, Cahill Gordon Sonnett Reindel &
Ohl, on June 1, 1967 at the latter’s New York office (731-
734a; 584a-585a). The parties entered into an agree-
ment whereby Occidental, both to comply with § 16(b) and
to qualify for capital gains treatment under the Internal
Revenue Code, if the shares were later sold (737a; 732a),
agreed not to dispose of its investment for at least more
than 6 months, and for up to 14 months, beyond June 8,
1967: (464a). For a period beginning after December 9,
1967 and up to July 31, 1968, depending upon when Tenneco
and Kern chose to close the merger, if they did, Tenneco
Corporation (Tenneco’s subsidiary) would have a trans-
ferable right to purchase not Occidental’s Kern shares
but the then nonexistent preference shares which might
come to Occidental if the merger were effected (462a-463a).
Occidental had no right to compel Tenneco or any trans-
feree to purchase such shares at any time. Tenneco would
pay for this “call” option, but if no merger occurred by
July 31, 1968 (14 months later) Occidental would return
the option “premium” paid (461a-465a).

From the meeting a call was made to Donaldson Lufkin
& Jenrette, Inc., a New York investment house with exper-
tise in the option market, to determine the current price of
a “call” on shares selling in the range of the Kern shares,
then trading in the mid-90’s. It advised that the premium
for a six-month call varied from $9 to $12 per share, depend-
ing upon the inclusion of conditions outside a standard call

g By Walter R. Davis, then Executive Vice President of Occi-
dental (555a).

h By the late Mr. Symonds. (Jd.)

i Because the tender offer was irrevocable until June 8, Occi-
dental might theoretically receive more tenders until that date.

9

contract (747a-748a; 556a-557a; 776a). Despite the extend-
ed holding period and refund provisions the premium was
placed low in the range suggested at $10. The stated option
price was $105, but the premium was to be creditable
against the stated price, making the effective exercise price
$95 per share (790a; 462a), which was not below current
market.

Both parties were unfamiliar with the technicalities of
§16(b) and relied upon their attorneys (73la-734a), who
agreed upon the option (743a-744a). The negotiators were
advised, as later was Kern, that the grant of an option to
Tenneco was not within~§16(b) (733a-734a; 737a-738a;
744a). The agreement was executed on June 2, 1967.

Tenneco also promised to postpone the listing and regis-
tration of the proposed Tenneco preference shares under
§12 of the Act until the option either was exercised or ex-
pired.* In mid-Juhe steps were taken to do so, and based
thereon Occidental moved to dismiss its actions for inspec-
tion of Kern’s records (510a-512a).

The option agreement was not conditioned explicitly or
implicitly upon Occidental’s either supporting or not oppos-
ing the proposed merger (750a-75la) and was executed
well after public release of the May 19 merger announce-
ment. The Kern proxy statement of June 16, preliminary
to the special shareholders’ meeting, set forth the sub-
stance of the option agreement and stated that Tenneco
Corporation “has not determined whether it will exercise
its option, . . . Depending on future investment market
conditions, Tenneco Corporation may sell the option or

j Based on this advice Kern and Tenneco set forth the terms of

the option in the proxy statement of June 16, 1967, but made no
suggestion that it might give rise to.a § 16(b) claim (736a-738a).

k This was to remove the proposed Tenneco shares from § 16(b)
and to avoid a claim that a double holding period was required and
is explained in the Court of Appeals’ decision (SA-6A n.6).

10 a
the Preference Stock covered by nd“eptions its present
intention is not to purchase such Preference Stock as an
investment.” (980a, Ex. I at 3).

Petitioner fails to indicate that Tenneco Corporation
never exercised its option. On August 16, before the
merger was effected, the option was sold by Tenneco Cor-
poration to Loeb, Rhoades & Co. for at least the price it
had paid Occidental (557a; 414a),' and the option was sub-
sequently transferred to the LR Fixed Invetment Trust
(247a; 265a; 414a).

C. Efforts to Obtain a Rule “16b-11” from the SEC

To deal with the problem that the Kern-Tenneco merger
might itself be alleged to be a § 16(b) “sale”, Occidental
proposed to ayyply to the SEC for a rule of general appli-
eation which would exempt a merger within six months
of acquisition by public tender offer from §16(b), (512a-
513a; 433a; 1067a), and Tenneco agreed to aid in
the application (570a-572a).™ Occidental also believed
it had received Tenneco’s assurance to delay the closing if
the administrative application were unsuccessful (777a-
779a; 735a-737a; 269a; 520a-522a); although Tenneco had
assured full cooperation to avoid acts which might trigger

1 The call was sold to qualify the merger for tax-free treatment
under an IRS ruling ( $574).

m The Pillsbury firm sent copies of the proposed rule and other
related material to petitioner’s counsel (433a). One letter recounted
the reaction of Phillip Loomis, Jr. of the SEC: “He was sympa-
thetic. He was most impressed by the fact that the only alternative
that Occidental had was to commence every kind of litigation it could

reasonably bring and attempt to forestall the consummation of the
~ Tenneco-Kern transaction for six months.” (57la) On the basis of
this communication petitioner apparently claims that Occidental had
decided to initiate litigation in the event of a failure of efforts at the
SEC (Petition at 8 n). Petitioner’s reference to litigation undertaken
to stop the merger omits to state that the closing of the —— took
place in violation of an injunction issued by a court of the State of

ASI (817a), also contrary to the Plan of Merger (456a at A-18,
A-21).

——7_ i

§ 16(b) liability (734a; 740a), this aspect of the agreement
was disputed and played no role in the decision below
(17A).

On July 12 the SEC declined “at the present time” to
publish a rule for comment. A revised rule was submitted,
but the SEC again declined to take any action with regard
to the application (1067a), expressing no view as to the
merits of this particular case."

D. The Plan of Merger (the “Plan” )

The Plan (456a, et seg.) was based upon the offer
approved on May 19 by Kern’s board and provided for the
transfer of Kern’s assets and business to “New Kern” and
a share-for-share exchange of Kern stock for the new Ten-
neco preference stock. Each new Tenneco share would pay
a fixed quarterly dividend of $1.375 accruing from issuance
(980a, at 2, B-1 to B-5) and after July 1, 1969 became con-
vertible into 3.6 shares of Tenneco common stock (id.).
Kern agreed to have this new stock distributed promptly to
its shareholders upon closing in exchange for their shares.
The Tenneco stock would be issued without being registered
under § 12 of the Act and until registered was not tradable
on a national securities exchange (794a; 476a).

The Plan was contingent upon shareholder approval at a
special meeting called for July 17 (980a), a favorable tax
ruling from the IRS, issuance of necessary permits, licenses
and authorizations from appropriate California authorities
and numerous material conditions. It provided for a clos-
ing between September 30 and December 31, 1967 or at
“such other time” as the parties might agree upon (456a at
A-16), and contained omnibus clauses under which the par-
ties could change the terms of the agreement and waive com-
pliance with its covenants and obligations (456a at A-23).

n Petitioner appears to contend for the first time that by proposing
a rule to the SEC, Occidental must be deemed to concede that a
merger is a “sale” (Petition at 7 n.). All such implications were

firmly rejected by the court below: “It is not contended that we
should draw any inference from this, and we do not do so.” (6a n. 7)

7) a

E. Shareholder Approval

Kern’s management had no concern about shareholder
approval of the Plan or any opposition by Occidental
(752a). It was constructed so that approval by a simple
majority of shares was required with no right to elect |
appraisal,° and the shareholders were voting on a 68% in-
crease in the value of their pre-tender offer holdings. At

the special meeting Occidental abstained (877a; 980a at 2).

The Plan was adopted by over 99% of all shares voted
(651a). A representative of Occidental appeared at the
meeting and read a letter explaining why Occidental had |
decided not to vote for the merger (458a-459a, as corrected, |
460a).

F. Acceleration of the Merger Closing

Kern and Tenneco moved to accelerate the closing in
advance of the dates set forth in the Plan and Proxy State-
ment. Occidental met with Tenneco to remind it of its
prior assurances and requested it to defer the closing but
was refused (739a-744a). Tenneco applied to the California
Commissioner of Corporations on August 8 for the requi-
site authorizations, which were granted over Occidental’s
objections on August 30 (1070a). Kern and Tenneco elected
to close on the same day (484a-486a). Concurrently, Kern
expressly assigned to New Kern all claims it had under the
Act (466a), which included the claims proposed to be made
against Occidental under § 16(b) (414a; 570a).

o Casting the transaction as an exchange of assets avoided the re-
quirement of a % vote and the right of appraisal which would be
= toa merger. Cal. Corp. Code §§ 3901, 4107, 4123 (West
1955).

p This had the effect of a “no” vote. See Cal. Corp. Code § 3901
(West 1955).

13

G. Disposition of the Tenneco Stock

Occidental did not surrender its Kern shares until Decem-
ber 11, 1967 (247a; 265a; 414a) when, more than six months
after Occidental’s most recent acquisition of Kern shares,
and even longer after the execution of the option, LR Fixed
Investment Trust exercised the option. Occidental ex-
changed its Kern shares for the new Tenneco preference
stock; delivered 886,623 optioned shares to the Trust; and
. was paid $95 per Tenneco share by the Trust as provided
in the option, amounting to $84,299,185 (id.).

POINT I

Whether the long-term option in this case was a
genuine option and therefore not a “sale” under.
§ 16(b) is not a question which merits review.

A. The case was correctly decided
in accordance with accepted law.

The court below merely adhered to the principle, followed
by all courts in applying § 16(b), that no “sale” occurs un-
less and until the “insider” acquires at least a right to sell
securities at a price certain. In submitting to a call option,
Occidental obtained no right to compel any sale, at any
time, or at any price, and thus made no “sale” under
§$16(b), and the statute has always been so interpreted.'

1 Silverman v. Landa, 306 F.2d 422 (CA 2 1962), affirming 200
F. Supp. 193 (S.D.N.Y. 1961), held that “a call-option is not a sale
of the underlying security;” 306 F.2d at 425, “the insider-optionor’s
position in the underlying security is not fixed when he sells the
option, but when the option is exercised,” id. at 424 n.4, since “any
change [in ownership] would occur at the pleasure of the optionee.”
Id. at 424; accord, Blau v. Ogsbury, 210 F.2d 426, 427 (CA 2 1954).
Precisely the same analysis had been set forth in Stella v. Graham-
Paige Motors Corp., 232 F.2d 299, 301 (CA 2), cert. denied, 352
U. S. 831 (1956); Falco v. Donner Foundation, Inc., 208 F.2d 600
(CA 2 1953); Shaw v. Dreyfus, 172 F.2d 140 (CA 2), cert. denied,
337 U. S. 907 (1949); Park & Tilford v. Schulte, 160 F.2d 984
(CA 2), cert. denied, 332 U. S. 761 (1947); and it accords with the
opinions issued by the General Counsel for the SEC, 11 Fed. Reg.
10968 (1946); see Cook & Feldman, Insider Trading Under the
Securities Exchange Act, 66 Harv. L. Rev. 385, 401-02 (1953).

4 i,

Judge Friendly’s opinion carefully distinguished between
the instant situation and one where an insider buys a
“put” and thus acquires a right to sell the securities at a
fixed price (16A). Even that different situation would pose
its own range of problems under § 16(b).

Section 16(b) may not be expanded beyond its express
limits to “impose its extraordinary liability” on transac-
tions other than purchases and sales of equity securities,
thereby changing “an interpretation of the Act unbroken
since its passage.” Blau v. Lehman, supra, 368 U.S. at 409,
413; Reliance Electric Co. v. Emerson Electric Co., swpra
(slip opinion at 9). The court below correctly declined to
expand § 16(b) to include an event which did not constitute,
and would not permit, a sale of equity securities within the
statutorily defined six-month period.

The same rule was applied here as in Bershad v. McDon-
ough, supra, upon which petitioner relies. In Bershad the
court held that “The commercial substance of the transac-
tion rather than its form must be considered.” 428 F.2d at
697. The court below undertook to “look through the form
of an option to the economic realities” to determine objec-
tively whether “in truth and fact a sale had occurred when
the ‘option’ was granted” (13A-14A). It concluded from
undisputed facts that the agreement here was no more than
an option and that there was “no basis” for holding other-
wise (13A-14A). The two cases turned on different facts,
undisputed in each instance.”

There was no “alternative holding” in Bershad that the
grant of an option is a “sale” as a matter of law. Gen-
eralized comment there on other possible abuses of options
created no “holding” in a case where the only issue was
whether the purportedly optioned stock had in fact been
sold. The court expressly removed itself from any contro-
versy about an expansion or narrowing of the statute,

a 15

stressing its intention solely to examine the substance of
the agreement, 428 F.2d at 697 n.5, just as the court below
did. Indeed, had the Bershad court held that the grant of
an option was a “sale” on a theory that the premium “ex-
tracted” profits from the subject stock, as petitioner claims
(Petition at 13), this would have been in direct conflict with
Siverman v. Landa, supra.2 But it had no cause to men-
tion that case because it did not so hold and did not have an
option before it.

B. There is no “factual identity” here
with Bershad v. McDonough.

In Bershad v. McDonough, supra, a controlling director
(and his wife) executed a purported short-term “option” |
on their recently purchased control block of Cudahy stock.
The insider transferred all of the incidents of ownership to
the purported “optionee” through, inter alia, the grant to
the “optionee” of an irrevocable proxy which conveyed
full corporate power, the resignations of the insider and
his associate from the board, and the placement of the

2 In Silverman v. Landa, supra, which like the case here involved
a long-term option, it was alleged/that the insider, by issuing one-
year calls and a put, had realized a profit by receipt of the 16.4%
premium on the calls sold and an 8.2% premium on the put sold.
Plaintiff argued that by the grant of the options, the insider had
immediately insulated 20.6% of his risk, roughly the equivalent of
immediately buying high and selling low within the range of the
“straddle”; and that, as an insider, he could foresee that the price of
the stock would remain stable during the term of the options and
would keep the entire premium as profit. Both the district and appel-
late courts rejected the argument and held that § 16(b) applies solely
to purchases and sales of equity securities,gand that because the
option was long-term, the contention that the insider could be held
to foresee the price of the stock beyond 6 months went impermissibly
beyond the presumption available under § 16(b), 306 F.2d at 425;
200 F. Supp. at 116. The case was urged as a conflict by the peti-
tioner in Bershad, and this Court denied review.

16

“optionee’s” five nominees thereon. Plaintiff alleged that
the transaction amounted to “more than” an option. Ber-
shad v. McDonough, 300 F. Supp. 1051, 1054 (N.D. Il. 1969).
The district court so held on his motion for summary judg-
ment, and the Seventh Circuit affirmed, stating:

The circumstances of the. transactions clearly in-
dicate that the stock was effectively transferred, for
all practical purposes, long befOre the exercise of the
option. 428 F.2d at 698.

Or, as the court below put it, “the stock had in fact been
sold” (15A).

Occidental transferred neither directorships nor control,
for, as petitioner concedes, it was a disfavored minority
shareholder and had neither. The option was not implicitly
or explicitly conditioned upon Occidental’s supporting or
acquiescing in the merger. Even giving consideration to its
impermissible proffers of matter not in the record,’ peti-

3 Petitioner’s assertion that Occidental later gave a proxy to its
own counsel, coupled with the statement that the absence of such evi-
dence in the record is attributable to incomplete discovery (Petition at
7n.), is disingenuous. There was obviously no need for discovery on
a matter of which petitioner’s counsel claims to have personal knowl-
edge. The matter was, moreover, the subject of pretrial deposition
at which counsel in all four cases attended and examined (Deposition
of Occidental by Walter R. Davis at 41, 79). Since both the district
and circuit court decisions in Bershad v. McDonough, supra, were
rendered during proceedings in the district court, and were cited in
petitioner’s briefs there, petitioner’s attempt on a petition for review
to introduce evidence after a deliberate bypass of an opportunity to
make a record on these assertions (including its muteness during all
the proceedings before the court below ruled) is clearly impermissible.
Lawn v. United States, 355 U.S. 339, 354 (1958); McClellan v. Carl-
and, 217 U.S. 268, 282-3 (1910); Jones v. Zurich Gen. Acc. & Liab.
Ins. Co., 121 F.2d 761, 764 (CA 2 1941); Bassick Mfg. Co. v. Adams
Grease Gun Co., 54 F.2d 285, 286 (CA 2 1931), cert. dismissed, 286
U,S. 567 (1932). Such material should properly be striken from the
petition. But it is not necessary here to rely upon procedural im-
propriety. Assuming, arguendo, the substance of the assertions at
face value, Occidental’s giving a proxy to its own counsel, revocable

LOTTE GET ATS EEG pee cs eke IPN a

—_—_

tioner’s attempt to remold this case to fit Bershad fails.
There the transactions passed effective ownership of the
stock immediately to the alleged “optionee” and served only
that function. Here petitioner stresses Occidental’s failure
to persist in pointless acts of opposition to the merger; the
only effective step Occidental could have taken was to out-
bid Tenneco’s richer offer. Its failure to do so, before or
after the option, does not convert the option into a sale.
Petitioner’s view would-require the prolongation of opposi-
tion only for charade. Even in attempting to avoid that
waste Occidental, unlike the Bershad defendant, did not
transfer any ownership rights to Tenneco.

In Bershad the court also found that the payment of
16.7% of the exercise price (14% of the option price) for a
10 week option was a “deterrent” to non-exercise. 428 F.2d
at 698. This substantially exceeded the 10.5% of exercise
price (9.5% of option price) premium here paid-for an
option that would run from 6 to 14 months at the will of
the optionee. The $10 premium here was based upon the
judgment of a qualified third person and permitted no in-
ference that it was a penalty for non-exercise. Once paid,
the $10 premium did not reduce the effective exercise price
($95) below current market and thus did not shift the

as a matter of law under Cal. Corp. Code §§ 2226, 2228 (West 1955),
only for the purpose of voting for a merger which it could not real.
istically prevent, together with whatever personal assurances Oc-
cidental’s outside counsel is said to have given Tenneco’s counsel,
obviously gave no right of any kind to Tenneco, and does not com-
pare to the facts in Bershad, where the controlling shareholder gave

17

an irrevocable proxy to the “optionee”, immediately effective and _ -

unlimited as to purpose, transferring effective ownership. Indeed,
petitioner, by its repeated failure to raise the issue in either the dis-
trict court or on appeal, implicitly so admits. Occidental did not vote
its shares in favor of the merger, and its vote was not needed. The
Second Circuit gave this new assertion the weight it deserved in deny-
ing the petition for rehearing, in which it was first raised, without
even requesting a response, and had previously indicated that how
Occidental might vote was inconsequential (12A n.13).

; oo

undertaking into a commitment to exercise. The premium
bought time, not equity. The difference between this and
the Bershad “option” followed a fortiori from the fact that
the premium, ordinarily always retained by the optionee,
would here be returned if there was no merger before July
31, 1968. Petitioner’s claims below were flatly contradicted
by both the objective economics of the option and its own
declaration to shareholders, while the option was outstand-
ing, that it was uncertain whether it would exercise it even
if the merger occurred (980a).*

If the point need be pressed further, in Bershad the
“option” itself was short-term, expiring in 10 weeks. Here,
as in Silverman v. Landa, supra, the option was long-term,
and in the instant case it could be exercised only long-term.

4. While conceding that the effective exercise price of the option
was not below market and that the premium was based on the
Donaldson opinion, petitioner for the first time in its petition for
rehearing asserted that the evidence on the reasonableness of the
premium was hearsay. Petitioner did not dispute that the advice
had been given, nor did it assert that it had any contrary evidence
but apparently sought remand so that it might procure an “expert”
who might second-guess the Donaldson opinion four years after
the fact. Petitioner’s failure to raise technical objections to this
evidence in the district court vitiated any such objections, Auto
Drive-Away Co. of Hialeah, Inc. v. ICC, 360 F.2d 446, 448-449 (CA
5 1966); Klingman v. Natl Ind. Co., 317 F.2d 850, 854 (CA 7
1963); Mitchell v. Dooley Bros. Inc., 286 F.2d 40 (CA 1 1960),
cert. denied, 366 U.S. 911 (1961), @ fortiori so in view of its con-
tinued silence in the appellate court (17A). And, of course, the
premium accords with the standards set forth in public sources. See
D. VauGHN, SurvEY oF INVESTMENTS 41 (1967) (“the cost of a
six month contract is approximately 12 percent of the market price
of the stock”); W. J. Erreman, C. A. Dice & D. K. ErreMan.
THE Stock Market 316-17 (4th ed. 1966) (“premiums paid by
buyers of a six-month calls amount to about 14 percent of the value
of the stock. The percentage premium on low-price stocks would
probably run somewhat above this, and the percentage premium on
high-priced stocks would probably run slightly below”); SEC,
Report ON Put Anp Catt Options 84, 85 (1961) (Six-month
calls were approximately 12 percent of the value of the stock; price
of one-year calls approximately 164.8% of the price of six-month
calls.) “The call agreement in the present case was from more than
6, to 14 months.

a 19

The claimant might properly assert in Bershad that exer-
cise was “inevitable”, for the insider could be held to know
that the stock prices in the short-term would ensure exer-
cise. But §16(b) does not permit a presumption that
Occidental could foresee that, when the option first be-
came exercisable more than six months later, the price of
the stock would then favor or even permit exercise, or
would otherwise render its grant profitable. Silverman v.
Landa, supra, 306 F.2d at 425; see Blau v. Max Factor &
Co., 342 F.2d 304, 308 (CA 9), cert. denied, 382 U.S. 892
(1965) ; Roberts v. Eaton, 212 F.2d 82, 85 (CA 2), cert. de-
med, 348 U.S. 827 (1954) ; Steinberg v. Sharpe, 95 F. Supp.
32, 34 (S.D.N.Y.), aff'd 190 F.2d 82 (CA 21951); cf. Booth
v. Varian Associates, 334 F.2d 1, 4 (CA 1 1964), cert. denied,
379 U.S. 961 (1965). Moreover, the option here was on
shares of Tenneco, not Kern,’ and the possibility of exer-
cise of, or profit or loss on, the option turned upon the
long-term market price of nonexistent securities of a com-
pany in which Occidental was not an insider and could not
be presumed to be under § 16(b).

The facts of this case and Bershad are wholly different,
and both cases turned on their facts. This Court does not
sit to review the application of accepted rules in particular
eases.© As Justice Harlan stated:

[D]ifferences between the Courts of Appeal in two
or more circuits will not be accepted as a conflict if
they can fairly be accounted for on the basis of varia-
tions in the factual situations among the cases in-
volved.’

5. Section 16(b) in terms requires a purchase and sale of the
securities of the same issuer.

6. United States v. Johnston, 268 U. S. 220, 227 (1925); NLRB
v. Waterman Steamship Corp., 309 U.S. 206, 208 (1940); General
(isn Pictures Corp. v. Western Elec. Co., 304 U.S. 175, 178

938).

7. Harlan, Manning the Dikes, 13 REecorp oF N.Y.C.B.A., 541,
552 (1958).

20

C. The “escape hatch” does not exist.

The claim that the decision below creates a new means
to “evade” §16(b) begs the question, for it assumes that
the mechanics of §16(b) are triggered by transactions
other than purchases and sales. See Reliance Electric Co.
v. Emerson Electric Co., supra (slip opinion at 5). Sham
“options” will be treated as sales (13A-14A) and create no
escape.

In the case of a long-term option, particularly one
exercisable only long term, the alleged “escape” is from a
liability that cannot exist under § 16(b)—even if it were
someday expanded by Congress to cover the grant of an
option. Petitioner’s obscure assertion that an insider can
‘buy stock and “reap a speculative short-swing profit upon
it” by submitting to an option (Petition at 15) necessarily
assumes that the insider can foresee that the premium will
exceed all future changes in market price adverse to the
insider’s position in the option during its term. If the
option is long-term then the assumption fails, because
§16(b) neither grants nor permits a presumption that an
insider can effectively predict market prices more than six
months ahead. Rather than an “escape,” the option consti-
tutes a prolonged encumbrance on his security position.

The option involved in this case would have no appeal for
one seeking a “sure-thing profit.” While Tenneco was even
less engaged than the usual optionee (it could reclaim the
premium merely by delaying the merger), Occidental was
required to bear all downside risks for more than 6 and
prospectively 14 months and was prevented from realizing
interim gains. Occidental’s retention of the Kern shares,
inflated in price by merger prospects, carried the unusual
risk of a 30% tumble to their pre-offer price if circum-
stances made the merger undesirable—even omitting con-
sideration of a general market decline. If a merger did
oceur within the 14-month period, Occidental would retain
only the premium, but whether it would profit or lose by

‘
pte 4

~ ies
APE M62 DIN Re SRE IE ES Bats 4

NN 21

exercise or nonexercise depended wholly upon the long-term
state of the market and the fortunes of Tenneco.? The Court
below took account of the grantor’s risks (14A, 16A), and
if it made any error, it was only in assuming that the Ten-
neco preference stock could drop merely to $75 per share
(14A). In fact, when the “bottom fell out of the market,”
as the court envisioned it might, (id.), that stock traded as
low as 6614.°

POINT II

Whether a “merger” in a particular case should
give rise to §16(b) liability is not a question which
warrants review.

A. The case was correctly decided
in accordance with accepted law.

Although petitioner would urge absolute liability for
Occidental solely because petitioner’s predecessor and
its parent were able to rush through a merger within six
months, it apparently concedes that the court below applied
the correct rule of law: Whether certain “unorthodox”

8. The petition inaccurately asserts that “nonexercise . . . would
have left Occidental with a nearly $9 million profit by reason of the
option price alone which profit should certainly be subject to recov-
ery.” (Petition at 16) If a merger did not take place or was delayed,
Occidental in fact would not be left with $9 million, because it would
forfeit the premium. Even if the merger occurred, Occidental would
have not merely the premium, but also the continuing risk of holding
the very shares petitioner claims to have been sold previously. In
addition, petitioner’s claim is that the premium paid should be recov-
erable regardless of whether there was a sale of equity securities, but
the statute explicitly otherwise requires, Silverman v. Landa, supra;
and this very different question is not even properly before the Court
as a “Question Presented.”

9. May 26, 1970. 211 Comm. & Fin. CHRonicte, June 1, 1970,
at 16. Petitioner seeks remand to develop evidence on “knowledge,
intent and motivation” (Petition at 15 n.), issues which this Court
and all others have expressly declared to be irrelevant under § 16(b).
Reliance Electric Co. v. Emerson Electric Co., (Slip Opinion at 7 &
n.4); see, ¢.g., Blau v. Lamb, 363 F.2d 507, 522 (CA 2 1966), cert.
denied, 352 U. S. 1002 (1967).

2 ie

transactions (mergers, conversions, and the like) are to be
deemed “purchases” or “sales” under §16(b) turns on
whether the transactions allowed “an insider to use inside
information unfairly,” Blau v. Lamb, supra, 363 F.2d at
516. That test has repeatedly been applied by the several
courts of appeals, and in each instance this Court has
denied review."' The application of that rule to a particu-
lar merger or other exchange is not a question which merits |
the Court’s consideration. |
Each such situation has turned on its own facts, and here
there was no chance for abuse of confidential information
in the merger exchange. Occidental had no prior relation-
ship to the issuer; before Tenneco made any offer Occiden-
tal was already committed; Occidental’s purchases were
made in the spotlight of a publicized tender offer available
to all shareholders; the exchange “in which all shareholders
were entitled, indeed were forced to participate” (10A), was
pro rata and was itself a maneuver employed to displace Oc-
cidental and controlied-by its adversaries. The court below
might well have refused to deem the Kern-Tenneco merger
a “sale” solely on the ground that under $16(b) a “pur-
chase” or “sale” should constitute an event occurring “by
one’s own act.” See Ferraiolo v. Newman, supra, 259 F.2d
at 344-45 n.2, n.3; Shaw v. Dreyfus, supra, 172 F.2d at 142.
Instead the court tested the transaction by the more rigor-
ous “possbility of abuse test” and found Occidental not to

10 Other types of abuses are not a concern of § 16(b) and come
within the purview of other laws, federal and state. Jd., at 521, 522
n.22; Blau v. Ogsbury, supra, 210 F.2d at 427; Falco v. Donner
Foundation, Inc., supra, 208 F.2d at 604; see Roberts v. Eaton,
supra, 212 F.2d at 85; Smolowe v. Delendo Corp., 136 F.2d 231, 235
(CA 2), cert. denied, 320 U.S. 751 (1943).

11 See e.g., Newmark v. RKO General, Inc., 425 F.2d 348 (CA
2), cert. denied, 400 U.S. 854 (1970); Blau v. Lamb, supra;
Petteys v. Butler, 367 F.2d 528 (CA 8 1966), cert. denied, 385 U.S.
1006 (1967); Blau v. Max Factor & Co., supra; Ferraiolo v. New-
man, 259 F.2d 342 (CA6 1958), cert. denied, 359 U.S. 927 (1959).

LEIS OLLIE SII ORS

23

be liable (10A-12A). The result here had been anticipated
and approved by critical commentators.”

The assertion that this is the first case in which the trans-
formation of shares in a merger has been held not to con-
stitute a “sale” has no consequence. Newmark v. RKO
General, Inc., supra, also decided by the court below, was
the only instance in which such a transformation had been
deemed a “sale”, and then only under circumstances which,
as the court below carefully noted, had no factual counter-
parts here (11A). The Newmark case explicitly contem-
plated that some mergers might be “sales” and others not,
425 F.2d at 351, and the cireuit judges who sat on the New-
mark panel concurred in the denial of rehearing here.

Petitioner would be more accurate if it stated that there
has never been a case decided under § 16(b) where an
“nnorthodox” transaction has been deemed to be a “pur-
chase” or a “sale” if the defendent had no realistic economic
alternative to, or had no control over, the claimed § 16(b)
violation.” Here the economic compulsion was more acute
than in the eases cited. The only escape for Occidental from
the alleged “sale” was to outhid Tenneco’s richer offer,

12 Comment, Securities Regulations—Exchange of Stock Pur-
suant to Merger is Sale by Insider under § 16(b) of the Securities
Exchange Act of 1934, 84 Harv. L. Rev. 1012, 1021-22 (1971);
Note, Stock Exchanges Pursuant to Corporate Consolidation: A
§ 16(b) “Purchase or Sale”?, 117 U. Pa. L. Rev. 1034, 1056-57
(1969).

13 See Park & Tilford, Inc. v. Schulte, supra, 160 F.2d at 987-8;
Ferraiolo v. Newman, supra, 259 F.2d at 346; Blau v. Lamb, supra,
363 F.2d at 518-20 n.15, n.16; Petteys v. Butler, supra, 367 F.2d at
530; Heli-Coil Corp. v. Webster, 352 F.2d 156 (CA 3 1965); (no
call for redemption); Gold v. Scurlock, 324 F. Supp. 1211 (E.D.
Va. 1971), appeal pendiny (principal stockholders and directors of
merging corporation); Lynam v. Livingston, 276 F. Supp. 104, 106
(D. Del. 1967); Fistel v. Christman, 135 F. Supp. 830 (S.D.N.Y.
1955) (controlling shareholder); Blau v. Hodgkinson, 100 F. Supp.
361 (S.D.N.Y. 1951) (option not to take stock on “purchase” side) ;
see also Booth v. Varian Associates. supra, 334 F.2d at 5: Roberts
v. Eaton, supra, 212 F.2d at 83-84; Blau v. Oppenheim, 250 F. Supp.
881, 885 (S.D.N.Y. 1966); Perlman v. Timberlake, 172 F. Supp.
246, 256 (S.D.N.Y. 1959); cf. Alloys Unlimited, Inc. vy. Gilbert, 319
F. Supp. 617, 619 (S.D.N.Y. 1970). -

=

and thereafter sold their holdings to persons making .
the counter offers."* .

- 26

F

Petitioner also omits to state that Congress received tes-
timony strongly urging that it was through such tender
offers that inefficient management could be challenged and
that shareholders realize gains on investments that had
remained greatly undervalued.” The committee reports
weighed the testimony concerning tender offers and con-
cluded that federal policy should avoid the creation of spe-
cial advantages for either bidder or target:

The committee has taken extreme care to avoid
tipping the delicate balance of regulation either in
favor of management or in favor of the person mak-
ing the takeover bid. *

In passing the Williams Act amendments ” subsequent
to the events-in this effse, Congress resolved the problems
surrounding cash tender offers by a balanced treatment of
disclosure and regulation. This is inconsistent with peti-
tioner’s approach, which would penalize: actual and chill
potential bidders by automatically gequiring them to return

P their shares at cost to the victor, in the form of a windfall

16 Hearings on H.R. 144175 & S. 510. Before the House Com-
mittee Intefstate and Foreign Commerce, 90th Cong., 2d Sess.,
at 22 (1968) (hereinafter “House Hearings”). Even the quotation
upon which petitioner relies bears no relationship to the use of inside
information. In addition, while we view the matter as of little im-
portance, petitioner’s quotation from an article appearing in Fortune
is similarly out of context. The sentence quoted lies at the end of a
paragraph expressing the view of the author that the Occidental-
Kern contest was an instance where it was possible for “everyone”,
including the shareholders,ultimately “to come out ahead.” Rukeyser,
Getting Tough with Tenders, Fortune, Aug. 1967 at 109.

17 S. Rep. No. 550, 90th Cong., Ist Sess. 3 (1967).
18 Id. at 3. Almost identical language is set forth in H. R. REP.

No. 1711, 90th’ Cong., 2d Sess. 4 (1968).

19 §§ t3(d),(e); 14(d),(e),(f) of the Act; 15 U.S.C. §§ 78m
(d),(e); 78n(d),(e),(f). »

ee ,

recovery, and thereby finance their own defeat. Since the
conventional rules of,§ 16(b) did not call for such a result
here, the court below did not have to reach this issue, but
noted the necessary effect of petitioner’s theory:

Indeed, if we considered the question here under dis-
cussion to be closer than we do, we would be serious-
ly concerned over the policy implications of ruling
in appellees’ favor. ... This would discourage the
making of such offers, which often operate to the
great benefit of stockholders of the target corpora-
tion, as appears to have been the case here. (12A,

13A)

Congress enacted §16(b) for the wholly*different and
particularly insidious problem of “in and out” trading on
inside information. Petitioner’s position would, at the least,
require defeated bidders to engage in wasteful opposition
solely to delay such mergers, and it merits no considera-
tion.” “e

C. There is no question of sufficient
recurrence or breadth to warrant review.

This case reflects conditions and responses that prevailed
during the merger activity of the mid-1960’s. Even then
the authors of the work which the then Chairman of the
SEC referred to as the most extensive study of takeover

20 Congress was aware of the existence of § 16(b) in considering
the “delicate balance.” Prompted by the testimony of the then
Chairman of the SEC quoted by petitioner (later clarified) and
some newspaper articles, Rep. Moss asked whether any profits made
by a defeated bidder were recoverable. The Chairman replied that
§ 10 covered actual attempts to manipulate but § 16(b) could not be
relied upon in such situations since: (1) the offeror may not be a
ten percent-owner “at the time of” the acquisition; (2) thé offeror’s
holdings may never reach ten percent; House Hearings 30; (3) a
merger may not be considered to be a “sale”; (4) it may not be
proper to match the purchase of securities acquired with those of a
different company resulting from the merger. House Hearings 75-76.

28

bids,” referred to a “defensive merger” as an “if all else
fails” event. Another study noted:

Realistically this is not a defense tactic, but
rather a form of orderly retreat, and one would ex-
pect that unless such a merger was being actively
considered prior to the tender offer, it would be
viewed by incumbent management only as a last,
albeit very effective, resort.”

More sophisticated “defensive” techniques have since come
into prominence,* and, with an apparent decline in ad-
versary take-over bids, there seems little reason to expect
any significant number of managements turning to the “last
resort” of the “defensive merger”. Fewer contests yet will
involve the rare instance presented here, where a merger
was procured and rushed through so hastily as to create
a question under §16(b).% Section 16(b) may apply in
some instances where defensive mergers occur and not in
others, but this presents no broad recurring question
which merits review by this Court, given the alertness of
the lower courts and the want of a conflict.

21 House Hearings 22.

22 Hayes & Taussig, Tactics of Cash Takeover Bids, 45 Harv.
Bus. Rev. 135(1967), reprinted in Hearings on S. 510 Before

the Subcommittee on Securities, Comm. on Banking and Currency,
90th Cong. Ist Sess. (1967), App. 2.

23 Schmults & Kelly, Cash Take-Over Bids—Defense Tactics, 23
Bus. Law 115.1967).

24 Such as changes in capital and voting structures; various means
of increasing the number of target shares, including acquisitions by
the target; dividend and accounting changes; antitrust litigation; and
so forth. See e.g., O’Hanlon, Goodrich’s Four Ply Defense, FoRTUNE,
July 1969 at 10. Note, Defensive Tactics Employed by Incumbent
Management in Contesting Tender Offers, 21 Stan. L. Rev. 1104,
1111-27 (1969).

25 Indeed the petitioner can cite only one other case in the 37
year history of the Act involving the problem of a defensive merger
under § 16(b), the opinion in which has been withdrawn, and even
that case differs significantly from this one. In American Standard,
Inc. v. Crane Co., 1971 CCH Fed. Sec. L. Rep. ] 93,237 (S.D.N.Y.

29

D. No judicial “exemption” from
§16(b) was granted.

Contrary to petitioner’s claim, the ruling below granted
no ad hoe exemption from $16(b). The transaction here
was not within the language or intendment of the Act. Inso-
far as petitioner’s claim raises the question whether courts
in unusual situations may construe the terms “purchase”
and “sale” under the accepted test, it would appear to have
been disposed of by this Court’s approval of the process by
which “courts have properly asked whether the particular
type of transaction involved is one that gives rise to specu-
lative abuse.” J?eliance Electric Co. v. Emerson Electrica
Co., supra (slip opinion at-7 n.4)_ Petitioner’s position
has been firmly rejected by the courts of appeals, review
has been denied in each instance,” and it clearly deserves
no further consideration.

Oct. 12, 1971) (withdrawn), the defendant’s accumulation of 10
percent of the issuer’s shares was accomplished in private market
purchases and its tender offer 4 months later was made after it
was explicitly informed that “agreement had been reached” on a
merger between the target company and another bidder. All of
Occidental’s purchases were pursuant \to a publicized tender offer
and extension thereof made before Kern had any offer of merger.
The differences need not compel a finding of liability in American
Standard; it is sufficient to note that they must be considered.

26 See Newmark v. RKO General, Inc., supra, 425 F.2d at 351;
Blau v. Max Factor & Co., supra, 342 F.2d at 307 n.5; Petteys
v. Butler, supra, 367 F.2d at 536; Blau v. Lamb, supra, 363 F.2d at
519. Petitioner stresses Mr. Justice Blackmun’s dissent in Petteys
v. Butler, supra, which would appear to have rested primarily on
adherence to the principle of stare decisis within his own circuit at
that time. 367 F.2d at 538-39.

30

CONCLUSION

The decision below was correct and is consistent with the
decisions of this Court and the courts of appeals. There is
no conflict; each case depends upon analysis of the impact
of its particular facts. The court below has been alive to
the need to penalize and prevent short-term use of “inside”
information, and its decision is in accord with the language
and purpose of the statute. There was thus no basis upon
which petitioner could extract windfall recovery from Occi-
dental by reason of acts for which it was directly and in-
directly responsible. The petition should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

Wuitney Norta Seymour
Counsel for Respondent
One Battery Park Plaza
New York, New York 10004

Of Counsel
Louis Nizer
Pavut Martinson

Putuies, Nizer, BENJAMIN,
Kram & Bartow”

Bernuarpt K. WrusLE
Ernest J. Getro

Suapson THacHer & BartTLett

March 18, 1972

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386414_0139%3A04. Public record. Not legal advice.
