# Amicus Curiae Brief — United States v. Russell

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386414_0132%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1973
- **Citation:** 411 U.S. 423

## Text

Supreme Court of the United States

Ocropgr Tax, 1972

No. 71-1585

— —
Uxrrro States or AMERICA,

BRIEF FOR AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION
AND NATIONAL EMERGENCY CIVIL LIBERTIES
COMMITTEE, AMICI CURIAE

—— ͤ — —RN—HZ——— ——ͤ— u—— — — —

Dam Kamys Paul G. CHEVIGNY
Kairys & Rudovsky New York Civil Liberties
1427 Walnut Street Union
Philadelphia, Pa. 19102 84 Fifth Avenue
ee New York, N.Y. 10011

Mv L. Wor
American Civil Liberties
Union
New York, N.Y. 10017 22 East 40th Street
Attorneys for New York, N.Y. 10016
National Emergency Civil Attorneys for
Liberties Committee — Civil Liberties
mon

INDEX

PAGE

of Amici 1
Statement of the Case

ae .

8 * The kistory and present status of the entrap-
b ment defense supports the decision of the court
below

Defense .
B. Present Status of the Entrapment Defense

It is impermissible creative activity for the
government to supply the contraband upon
which a prosecution is based

. The defense recognized by the court below is
essential for the preservation of political liber-
ties

USION —

A. Historical Background of the Entrapment

Cases:
_Aeoardi v. United States, 257 F.2d 168 (5th Cir.
1 ores VEE 16, 17.

4

Banks v. Date Staton, 960 F.2d em G Cir 1987) — 10
Becker v. United States, 62 F. 2d 1002 (2nd Cir. 1933) 6
Butts v. United States, 278 V. 3 (8th Cir, 1921) 10

Carbajal-Portillo v. United States, $96 F.2d 944 (9th ;
Cir. 1968) 14, 15, 16
Casey v. United States, 276 U.S. 413 (1928) 3
Commonwealth v. Harvard, 356 Mass. 452, 253 N. E. 2d

$46. (1969)... 1
Dixon v. District ot Colunbi, 994 van 966 (D.C. Cir.

1968)» 16

Groene v. United States, 454 F.2d 783 (9th Cir. 1971) 12, 19,

20, 25

Grossman v. State, 456 P.2d 226 (Alasks, 1969) 16
Henderson v. United States, 261 F.2d 909 (5th Cir.

1958) — f 14

Johnson v. Comihctiweslth, 180 8M. 2d 661 (Va. 1971) 16
Jones v. State, 101 Ga. App. S51, 115 8.1.20 576 (1960) 18

Kadis v. United States, 373 F.2d 370 (1st Cir. 1967) —11, 17
Klosterman v. United States, 248 F.2d 101 (3rd Cir.
1957) 18

PAGE
United States, 373 U.S. 427 (1968) . 10, 11

ev. Sinclair, 387 Mich. 91, 194 N.W.2d 878

2) .. 3 16
Strong, 21 II. 2 320, 172 N.E.2d 765 (1961) . 21
Ohio, 360 U.S. 493 (1959) . 22

v. United States, 379 F.2d 338 (9th Cir. 1967) . 16

v. United States, 356 U. S. 369 (1958) _..8, 9, 10, 18,
25 14, 15, 18 28
v. United States, 381 F.2d 784 (D.C. Cir,

ae 11, 16,19.
f v. U. S., 287 U.S. 485 (1982) 2.8, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 12,
5 18, 14 15, 17, 21, 2 27
ite v. Boocelli, 105 Aris. 495, 467 P-2d 740 (1970) 17, 19

Ct of App. 9/29/72) 16

4 ol. (DMI. Ce. No.
ited States v. Bueno, 447 F. 24 902 (5th Cir. 1971) 19, 21
ted States v. Campbell, 285 F. Supp. 190 (E. D. N. v.

lied States v. Chisum, 312 F. Supp. 1807 (CD. Gal
970) 10, 11, 16, 19, 21
Med States v. Dillet, 265 F. Supp. 980 (S. DNT.

86) : 17, 19
Ried States v. Freed, 401 U.S. 601 (1971) — #
Reed States v. Kirschenblatt, 16 F.2d 202 (2nd Cir.

14

iv

dne State . Mos, 296 F Sopp. 972 (ED. Pa
1969) 5.
“United: States . Morrison, 348 F.2d 1003 (2d Cir.)
Pty denied, $82 U8. 905 (1965) 11. *

Whiting v. United States, 821 F.2d 72 (1st Cir, 1963) .. 1
Wien v. Masia States, 311 F.2d 441 (Sth Cir. ©

1962) — 181
Woo Wai v. dates State, 228 F 412 (9th Cir. 1016) — 3

United States Constitution:
ith Amendment

Bramstedt, Dictatorship and Political Police (1945),
vp. 59-60

eue, Cops and Rebels (1972), passim, esp. 249-

e III. I. Fouvm 821 (1964) FOS ASABE AS
Comment, 74 Yaux L.J. 942 (1965) 10
Cowen, The Entrapment Doctrine in the Federal

“ Courts, and Some State Court Comparisons, 49 J. or

nnr. L., Crocmotocy, and P. S. 447 (1959) — 6, 10, 11

- Donnelly, Judicial Control of Informants, Spies, Stcol
Pigeons, and Agents Provocateurs, 60 Tala LI. 1091
(1951) 7, 10,17
‘Domest, “Agent-Provocateur as Folk-Hero,” Civil
Liberties, September, 1971 2
Donner, The Confessions of an FBI Informer,”
Harpers, December, 1972, pp. 54, 58 25, 26

28

Gourts, 90 U. Pa. L. Rav, 245 (1942) 10,17
del Penal Code, Tent. Draft No. 9, Sec. 2.10... 10

Yale L. J. 1046 (1969) 20

baum, “Run, Tommy, Run,” Esquire, July, 1971,
pp. 51, 58-59 25, 26
‘Rotenberg The Police Detection Practice of Encourage-
dest, 49 Va. L. Rav. 871 (1963) . 10
liams, The Defense of Entrapment and Related
| Problems in Criminal Prosecution, 28 Fouvnau I. |
F B v. 899 (1959) 17

Unrrep States or AMERICA,
Petitioner,

E against—

RioRAnͥůũV RussEt1,
- Respondent.

—

EF FOR AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION
D NATIONAL EMERGENCY CIVIL LIBERTIES
COMMITTEE, AMICI CURIAE

Interest of Amici

The American Civil Liberties Union and the National

nergency Civil Liberties Committee have a long-standing

CFF
s to be free from denial of due process of law

PPTP

viti 3 by government agents bent on securing convictions.

The case at bar draws into question the propriety of the
bvernment supplying the contraband upon which a prose-
fon is based. The question is a complex one, and we
eve that our brief will be of substantial assistance to

ietters consenting to the filing of this brief have been
0 A with the Clerk.

e ene sens
Is it a defense to a crime of trade in contraband that U

government has supplied the contraband or an indispen-
sable element of the contraband?

Statement of the Case

| The essential facts of this case are set forth in the ms
jority opinion of the court below. 459 F.2d 671 (9th Cir.
1972).

Summary of the Argument

I. The history of the entrapment defense in this and
other courts discloses a de facto and in some cases a de jure
rejection of the “predisposition” standard of the majority
in Sorrelle v. United States, 287 U.S. 435 (1932). Regard-
less of the expressed rationales, the courts have condemned
and prohibited prosecutions based on excessive creative ac-
». tivity by government officials even where the defendant's
‘predisposition seems clear. Following this reasoning, some

courts, including the court below, have established an en-
trapment-related defense based on creative government ac-
tivity under which the government may not supply. the
ee et 5

u. Courts have found it permissible for an official to
offer an opportunity for crime; more creative activity than
that is not justified by a legitimate state interest. Supply-
ing an element of the crime implies that that clement was
P

‘son . Pe. 5 4“ 2
r 8 . 8

,

ae.
een if Scag es ie ene
2 Arn va 22 15 33 pie . £. %
A +) 2 5 2 1 * be adopted by this
ARGUMENT
L

ical Rackground of the Entrapment Defense

apment is a judicially created doctrine dating back
8. Tt was first discussed by this Court in Casey v.
ed States, 276 U.S. 413 (1928), where Justice Brandeis,
snting, said the government

may not provoke or create a crime and then punish
the criminal, its creature.

his prosecution should be stopped, not because some
right of Casey’s has been denied, but in order to pro-
the Government. To protect it from illegal con-
st of its officers. To preserve the purity of its
is.” 276 U.S. at 423.25.

a Sorrells v. United States, 287 US. 485. (1982), a
Ned Court attempted to define the doctrine, but the

Bis Gest decision was Woo Wai v. United States, 223 F. 412 (9th

— division ae: nil wich today. Sorrella
Was charged with ese ‘one half-gallon of whiskey

e division ‘during World Wer I, and, after

. 8 3 1a half-gallon of whiskey. Sorrells’ }
| get for hang on npn Ob
trial judge. g :

This Court reversed the “conviction and ordered a new
trial. In an opinion written by Chief Justice Hughes, the
majority. framed an entrapment defense prompted by im-
proper governmental conduct but available only to “other.
wise inndeent persons.” The defense was based on an un-
expressed intent of Congress to exclude from its criminal
statutes the injustice that conviction of entrapped “in-
nocents” would accomplish. Regardless of the nature and
extent of the governmental activity, the Court said, there
is no entrapment if the defendant has the 3
to commit the crime or if the “criminal design” —
with the defendant.

“There are fundamental theoretical and practical prob-
“Jems with this approach. It is contrary to our traditions
and beyond our scientine .knowledge to attempt to dis-
tingnish the criminal from the noncriminal by predisposi-
tions or propensities to commit crimes. It is one thing to
vids Os A Rg it is quite another to give

crucial significance to a predisposition which is antece
: e ee ee ot vol Ss He

A

, are there really any “innocents” among defen-
o have all done exactly what Congress has defined
al? Those who refuse the government’s induce-
provocations or temptations are neither entrapped
rged with crimes. Clearly, all defendants claiming
t who have been induced, provoked or tempted
vernment agent, have demonstrated a “predisposi-
5 commit the crimes they have committed. We know
vause they have committed them. They may not have
5 ee the exact details,“ but they are
disposed“ in the sense that they all proved to be open
what they have done, given the inducement, provoca-
01 a Can we say that any of them are more
sed than they all are in this sense? Can we say
y oat meaning, for instance, that a defendant who
if illegally sold liquor ten times after inducement by an
ent is more predisposed than one who has done it once
‘the same inducement! Or that one who must be asked
fice is less predisposed than one who completes the sale
‘the first request? All we really know is that all of
the are predisposed to sell liquor illegally when induced.
An @ the only appropriate question is whether the govern-
al conduct i is proper; whether, in Sorrells, for example,
.. for the agent to ingratiate himself with the
nt by use of friendship and comradeship and then

to commit the crime three times. If entrapment is
ledged to be illegitimate, it should be because the
nt has acted improperly, not because the defen-

ect eee originate with the govern- .
t the criminal beg 4 no matter how induced,
tempted, or ties in the mind of the defendant,

Further, this predisposition that purports to distinguish
the’ “himosenit?” trom the “guilty” is impossible of reliable
proof. The courts that have followed the Sorrells approach
do not attempt a dissection of the defendant’s. mind; they
merely rely on the past activities of the defendant, includ.
‘ing, in some cases, even suspected and rumored activities
for which the government has insufficient evidence to ob-
tain an indictment and conviction.* Thus, if one has violated
the law in the past, it is assumed that he or she is pre-
disposed” to do it again. Stated another way, in more
practical terms, it means the government is allowed to en-
trap persons with criminal records or bad reputations. The
government ean selectively prosecute persons it does not
like for: ‘erimes that it manufactures.

2 ‘Justices Roberts, Brandeis and Stone, concurring in
Borrells, had a different view. They found that the Huge
. 8 a form of words to justify action which ought to
de based on the inherent right of the Court not to be
made the instrument of wrong.

“ees

“Whatever may be the demerits of the defendant or his
85 previous infractions of law, these will not justify the
instigation and creation of a new crime, as a means to
reach him and punish him for his past misdemednors

i jo say that such conduct by an official of the
: bee fs condoned ani rendered innoctious by the
_ fast fant the defendant hag a bad reputation or had

Beck F (2nd Cir. 1933).
Cowen, 3 Doctrine in the Federal

2 *

7

_ previously transgressed is wholly to disregard the rea-
don for refusing the processes of the court to con-
‘Summate an abhorrent transaction. It is to discard
basis of the doctrine and in effect to weigh the
ities as between the government and the defendant
hen there are in truth no equities belonging to the
latter, and when the rule of action cannot rest on any
estimates of the good which may come of the conviction
of the offender by foul means.” 287 U.S. at 456-59.

thus the lines were early drawn. The Hughes approach,
ased on a statutory interpretation,“ recognized the need
lo stem “shocking” governmental conduct, but only for
mts” and those not “predisposed” to crime, a task

N —

in theory and impossible in practice. The Roberts
dach, based on the inherent supervisory power of the
and public policy, and implemented by the courts,
ed on the evil to be remedied—lawless, reprehensible
ment conduct—and not the individual entrapped.

ren. the basis for the Hughes ruling, the entrapment defense
: ae’ * — caine cra de
Juntice rni e a ity of the defense
tor “innocents,” “Is the statute upon which the indictment
ed to be further construed as removing the defense of entrap-
ant from [defendants with bad records or reputations]”? 287

| Donnelly, Judicial Control of Informants, Spies, Stool
and Agents Provocateurs, 60 Yauz L.J. 1091, 1111 (1951) :

7.
. =
: 3
oe

The issues were next confronted in Sherman v. United.
States, 856 U.S. 369 (1958). Sherman and an agent met at
a dottor’s office where they were both being treated for
drug addiction. After first refusing, Sherman secured some
heroin for the agent and himself. Chief Justice Warren,
writing for a majority of five, held there was entrapment
as a matter of law, but specifically refused to reconsider
Sorreils because the issues were not raised below or argued
before the Court. The crucial questions—the basis for the
doctrine and whether the focus is the government conduct
alone or includes an evaluation of the individual defen.
dant—were specifically left open by the majority.

Justice Frankfurter, joined by Justices Harlan, Douglas
: and Brennan, concurred in an extraordinary .
is worth quoting at length:
hne lower courts have either ignored [Sorrells] and
continued to rest decisions on the narrow facts of each
case, or have failed after penetrating effort to define
a satisfactory generalization, see, e. g., United States
v. Becker, 62 F. 2d 1007 (L. Hand, J.)

A the defendant is to be relieved from the usual puni-
tive consequences, it is on no account ‘because he is
innocent of the offenses described. . conduet is not
less criminal because the result of Stites 7
“Insofar as they are used as instrumentalities in the
edministration of criminal justice, the federal courts
have an obligation to set their face against enforce-
ment of the law by lawless means or means that vio-

late rationally vindicated standards of justice, and
wen to refuse to sustain such methods by effectuating

en They do this in the exercise of a recognized
sdiction to formulate and apply ‘proper standards

the enforcement of the federal criminal law in the
ral courts,’ McNabb v. United States, 318 US.
341, an obligation that goes beyond the conviction
the particular defendant before the court. Public

idence in the fair and honorable administration of
Justice, upon which ultimately depends the rule of
; is the transcending value at stake.

a Tt 2 crucial question, not easy to answer, to which the

court must direct itself is whether the police conduct

revealed in the particular case falls below the stand-
ards, to which common feelings respond, for the proper
“use of governmental power.

matter what the defendant’s past record and pres-
‘inclinations to criminality, or the depth to which he
s sunk in the estimation of society, certain police
onduct to ensnare him into further crime is not to be
» tolerated by an advanced society... .

rmissible police activity does not vary according to
particular defendant concerned ; surely if two sus-
sts have been solicited at the same time and in the
me manner, one should not go to jail simply because
has been convicted before and is said to have a
minal disposition. No more does it vary according
the suspicions, reasonable or unreasonable, of the
ie 6 concerning the defendant’s activities.” 356 U.S.
379-83.

under the Frankfurter-Roberts approach, entrap-
a self-preservation and self-protection device for

10

the courts and society, based on the inherent supervisory

power of the eourte and public policy’ and implemented
by the courts. Its purpose is preservation of the integrity
of the courts and society and prohibition of overzealous
law enforcement that promotes rather than detects crime.
And the very real danger of selective prosecution of per-
sons with bad records or reputations whom the govern-

ment wishes to punish for political (see Point III, infra)
or other reasons based on government manvfactured crimes
cifically recognized and eliminated under the Frankfurter.
Roberts approach. Id. at 383."

1¹

mont defense is unresolved. Since there was no sub-
te the entrapment claim in Lopes, these questions
A not have to be resolved, but this Court said of entrap.

s defense of entrapment, its meaning, purpose, and
application, are problems that have sharply divided
Court on past occasions. [Citation omitted.]
Whether in the absence of a conclusive showing the

defense is for the court or the jury, and whether the
ontrolling standard looks only to the conduct of the
“Government, or also takes into account the predisposi-
d of the defendant, are among the issues that have
sn mooted... .

The conduct with which the defense of entrapment is
5 ned is the manufacturing of erime by law en-
t officials and their agents.“ Id. at 434 (em-

ens might expect, Lopes has been read by many courts
be an invitation to reassess the entrapment defense and
e in the direction of the Frankfurter-Roberts approach.
Bg. Smith v. United States, 381 F.2d 784 (D.C. Cir. 1964)

m banc); United States v. Morrison, 348 F.2d 1008 (2d

) cert. denied, 382 U.S. 905 (1965); Kadis v. United
Hes, 373 F.2d 370 (ist Cir. 1967); United States v.

‘sum, 312 F. Supp. 1307 (C.D. Cal. 1970). That ap-

ach, approved during the past forty years hy seven
ice of this Court, is still open for approval by a ma-

12

D. . she Making ities

3 n . ear Wees in thi Sssden et the Framkturtg
Roberts view which focuses solely on the government con-
duct—is not only wiser and more consistent with an ordered,
civilized society, but also is now accepted, either de jure
or de facto, by the majority of lower federal courts. The
defense: recognized by the court below may be viewed as
following from the Frankfurter-Roberts approach, or as
36 “oreative activity” raising
fing objections which render entrapment
ae e to: e criminal: justice . 459 F. ad at
674, quoting Greene v. United States, 454 F. 2d 783, 787 (9th
Dir. 4971) (emphasis added). ‘To establish this thesis we
„% ater e cae ah tae the Ling

6 n at ve” and “predisposition” ; (2) cases ex-
doy ting the Frankfurter. Roberts view; (3) cases

concept of aba ti and 15 cases concerning “ere-
pa nna 1 not traditionally thought of as

sun U the of Sorrells:

13 — ga 2

ear oute use. ‘the a: of Sorrells concerning
eee.
the facts sin these cases, however, reveals that when the gov-
ernment conduct is seriously improper, the courts sustain
tie entrapeeent intense, even the face of clear proof
Kees m,” in effect applying the Frankfurter

13

1 Roberts approach This point can be demonstrated by an
~@zamination of the facts in many cases, commencing with
f el itself.

i Borrells, although this Court only remanded for a
4 3 new trial, the majority repeatedly referred to the “in-
noddence“ of the petitioner, saying:

it is clear that the evidence was sufficient to warrant
e finding that the act for which the defendant was
5 sated was instigated by the prohibition agent,
it was the creature of his purpose, that defendant
ad no previous disposition to commit it but was an
industrious, law-abiding citizen, and that the agent
lured defendant, otherwise innocent, to its commission
„ 287 U.S. at 441 (emphasis added).

ibed above, in that we know he was open to sell liquor
y if a companion from World War I asked him three

time But more importantly, the trial record, as reported
tus opinion of the court below, indicated the government
iad proved that: (1) Sorrells had a reputation in the com-
uty as a “romrunner;” (2) he had subsequently sold
iquor illegally to other agents; and (3) his house was sub-
Wentiy searched and eleven one half-gallons of illicit
hiskey—like the one he had sold to the agent—were found.
20 at 974, 980. This “industrious, law-abiding citizen
otherwise innocent,” may have been regularly selling
Wey illegally, But the government’s role—the induce-

4
3
N

gy gt

| il because couria are motivated the legitimate rationale
he entrapm a ee ten ern and
et ma of the integrity of the courts and the society.

14

een een bag cg een n the ee

„Simülariy, l ot tee mR

eee ee ee eee ee,
addicted to drugs he could only obtain illegally (for which
he was undergoing treatment), and he sold narcotics to the
government agent. On that record it is hard to explain,
or for the lower courts to understand, this Court's finding
that, as a matter Of law, Sherman was an “innocent”

violator. Again, the government conduct, leading the de-

fendant away from treatment and back to his past life with.
eee reer ren ver, Sovernne She convic-

tion.

Since Sorrells and Sherman, there have been numerous

decisions that uphold an entrapment defense based on the
language of Sorrelis but under circumstances where the de-
fendant is factually neither “innocent” nor lacks “predis-
position.” E.g. Carbajal-Portillo v. United States, 396 F.2d
944 (9th Cir. 1968) (although defendant was definitely pre
disposed to sell drugs, court upholds entrapment because
sfendant was not predisposed to bring them into the
United States and sell them here, which he did); Hender-
bon v. United States, 261 F.2d 909 (5th Cir. 1958) (defen-

dant with prior drug convictions who admitted to prior

use found “unwary innocent” even though government
agent testified that “we had knowledge that she was in the
traffic ;” defendant was induced to get drugs from informer’s
contact for informer and his wife, who were close friends
of defendant’s and told her they desperately needed the
drugs); United States v. Campbell, 235 F. Supp. 190 (E.D.

N-Y. 1964) (agent placed illegal bets with defendant

a friend of defendant; no repeated requests and
that defendant had taken other illegal - bets) ;
tates v. Kros, 296 F. Supp. 972 (E.D. Pa. 1969)
lant sent obscene material through mail in response
in “Swinger’s Life Magazine” placed by the govern-
court held defendant had predisposition to sell ob-
ene material but no predisposition to do it through the
even though defendant responded to the ad from
er state and may well have anticipated the use of the
} cases evidence a tortured attempt to find a lack
predisposition when the court believes the government
acted wrongly. Justice Frankfurter recognized this
m with the Sorrells approach in Sherman: :
he lower courts have continued gropingly to express
ie feeling of outrage at conduct of law enforcers
that brought recognition of the defense in the first
instance, but without the formulated basis in reason
that it is the first duty of the courts to construct for
Justifying and guiding emotion and instinct.” 356
S. at 378. 3
re are, however, some threads running through these
In each, the government has abused its powers.
Placed an ad in “Swinger’s Life Magazine” to
lonely readers (Kros), encouraged a destitute
m citizen to bring narcotics into the United States
Warbajal), or interfered with a defendant’s attempt to
-drugs (Sherman). Very often they involve situations
wre. the government has abused close relationships
sd by society, such as friendship or companionship
War, or interfered with socially useful programs, such
0 atment for drug addiction.

Po ao ea a
furter-Roberts view. United States v. Chisum, 312 F.
Supp. 1307 (C.D. Cal. 1970) (pre-trial motion to dismiss

: - indictment based on entrapment granted; defendant had

ion, but, “Entrapment is indistinguishable
from other law enforcement practices which the courts
have held to violate due process. . Were the courts to
sanction the law enforcement e committed in this
case, it would transform the laws designed to promote
the general. welfare into a technique aimed at manufac.
turing disobedience in order to punish, a concept thor-
oughly repugnant to constitutional principles”) ; State v.
Saine, —— N. M. ——, 11 Cr. L. 2108 (N. M. Ct. of App.
9/29/72); People v. Binolair:; 387 Mich. 91, 194 N. W. 2d
878 (1972); Johnson v. Commonwealth, 180 S. E. 2d 661
(Va. 1971) (“The defense of entrapment is, in essence,
a rule of fairness that bars the conviction of an accused
in the event of improper police conduct”); Grossman v.
State, 456 P.2d 226 (Alaska, 1969). See also Smith v.
United States, 381 F.2d 784, 790, 792 (D.C. Cir. 1964)
(en bane); Dixon v. District of Columbia, 394 F.2d 966,
970 (D.C. Cir. 1968); Carbajal-Portillo v. United States,
396 F. 2d 944, 948 (9th Cir. 1968) (entrapment is a defense
“not because inducement negatives criminal intent‘ and
thus establishes innocence; but because Government agents
should not be permitted to act in such a fashion”);

Aobardt v. United States, 257 F.2d 168, 172-73 n. 5 (5th

Cir, 1958) (favors but does not fidopt Frankfurter-Roberts
approach) ; Robison v. United States, 379 F.2d 338 (9th
Cir. 1907) (same). The Frankfurter-Roberts ‘view is *

12
et scholars “who: have written cn

„

abe of courts, faced with the division in this Court
lower courts, have adopted both approaches as
mative bases. United States v. Morrison, 348 F. 2d
(2d Cir.), cert. denied, 382 U.S. 905 (1965) (applies
is standard and, “alternatively, whether, in exposing
fendant’s criminality, the government agents have
in an offensive manner or lived up to reasonably
civilized standards for the proper use of government
); United States v. Dillet, 265 F. Supp. 980 (S. D.
1966); State v. Boccelli, 105 Ariz. 495, 467 P.2d 740
3 Commonwealth v. Harvard, 356 Mass. 452, 253 N.E.
(1969). See also Kadis v. United States, 373 F.2d
Cir. 1967); Whiting v. United States, 321 F.2d 72
ir. 1963); Accardi v. United States, 257 F.2d 168
Vir. 1958); United States v. Kros, 296 F. Supp. 972
. Pa. 1969) (“the thrust of the doctrine is to enjoin

Government from acting in improper ways”).

Cases Limiting “Predisposition” by de

Concept of Abandonment 7

tere the “predisposition” has been abandoned but then

Wed as a result of governmental. conduct, courts have

held the entrapment defense, which makes sense under

lis as well as the Frankfurter-Roberts approach.

Ee, Cowen, supra note 4; Donn supra note 6; Mikell,
ro et, Wits, The 3 and Related
ems f. S (f. . Rav. 899 (1959) ;

18 eg
Klosterman’ v: United: States, 248 Fand 101 (3rd Cir. 1050
FFC
voughé . b the gates and eres bin in front
of the press; “every objection and obstacle which the defen.
))))

Dna iy Thought of as Entrapment
Without ee e adopting or refuting the Frank-
ee ee e have. analysed .
trapment situations in terms of the supervisory power as
defined in Justice Frankfurter’s concurring opinion in
Sherman. All of them involve situations where the defen-
dant’s predisposition to commit the crime is quite clear
(or as clear as that concept can be), but the courts, pur-
suant to the supervisory power, evaluate only the govern-
ment conduct.

In Williamson v. United States, 311 F.2d 441 (5th Cir.
, 1962) an informer made a contingent fee arrangement with
the government; he was to receive a specific amount of
money for each specific person he could incriminate. The
Court held that such an arrangement must be prohibited
pursuant to the supervisory power, that “McNabb and its
progeny clearly forbid the Government to make use of the
fruits of wrongdoing by its officers or agents.” 311 F.2d
at 445. Judge Brown, concurring, said:

4 . recognized as is the role of informers in the enforce-
ment of criminal laws, therécomes a time when enough
is more than enough—it is just too much. When that
ours, the law must condemn it as offensive whether

method used is refined or crude, subtle or spectacu:
‘BLL F.2d at 445. | :

were purchased in Mexico, brought into the United
the informer and then sold to a government agent
fendant. The Court reversed the conviction, pur-
the supervisory power, saying:

the sales of heroin were made through the creative
‘activity of the government.. . The government’s case
cannot rest on the mere fact that [defendant] entered
into the informer’s plan willingly.” 447 F.2d 906.

Th Same result was reached on virtually identical facts
ed States v. Dillet, 265 F. Supp. 980 (S.D.N.Y. 1966)
State v. Boccelli, 105 Ariz. 495, 467 P. 2d 740 (1970).

same principle was applied in Smith v. United
$, 331 F. ad 784 (D.C. Cir. 1964) (en banc) (informer
defendant heroin in defendant's apartment; defen-
apartment searched and defendant arrested for pos-
m forty-five minutes later); and United States v.
bum, 312 F. Supp. 1307 (C.D. Cal. 1970) (undercover
gent supplied counterfeit money upon which charge of
ing such counterfeit was based).

i United States v. Greene, 454 F. 2d 783 (9th Cir. 1971)
art noted the sharp division concerning entrapment
reated a somewhat different but related defense.
dants were charged with sale of bootleg liquor, pos-
Mon of still apparatus, and conspiracy. They had set
still and were producing bootleg liquor for sale to
lan who identified himself as a “syndicate man” but
y & government agent. The agent assisted de-

fendants over a long period of time and supplied, inter :
alla, parts for the still, containers, and chemicals. =

Court found the bootleg liquor “might never have |
produce” without th ware and urging of the aga

“We sis is dhl tes Wndelaek may involve itself
0 direetiy and continuously over such a long period
of time in the creation and maintenance of
operations, and yet prosecute its collaborators. As
pointed out in Sherman v. United States, supra, at 372
a certain amount of stealth and strategy ‘are necessary
‘weapons in the arsenal of the police officer.“ But, al-
‘though this is not an entrapment case, when the Gov.
ernment permits itself to become enmeshed in criminal
| activity, from beginning to end, to the extent which
appears here, the same underlying objections which
render entrapment repugnant to American criminal
justice are operative. Under these circumstances, the
Government’s conduct rises to a level of ‘creative ac-
tivity’ (Sherman, supra, at 372), substantially more in-
tense and aggressive than the level of such activity
charged against the Government in numerous entrap-
ment cases we have exginined.” 454 F.2d at 787.

In summary, it is clear that even before the decision of
the court below, the courts had set their faces against
excessive creative activity in manufacturing crimes, re-
gardless of the rationale adopted in the particular case
The cases in the foregoing sections, even those which appeat
to go beyond the entrapment defense, may be justified
under the Frankfurter-Roberts view, and it is the position
ot amici curiae that that standard should be adopted Wy
this Court.

e cases relied on there, see Point I (5) supra; United
v. Bueno, supra; United States v. Chisum, supra;
jople v. Strong, 21 II. 2d 320, 172 N.E.2d 765 (1961),
ong 18 effect adopted the position that it is a per se defense
§ @ contraband crime if the government has supplied the

ntraband. Amici urge the view that this conclusion is
npelled under any theory of the law, although it is almost
f-e bent under the V view.

mates the policies underlying the decision of the court
v. The courts permit agents of the government to offer
suspected person an opportunity to commit a crime,
otherwise many crimes, especially those involving
and, could not otherwise be detected. The state has
est only in apprehending those engaged in criminal
by the mere offer of a neutral opportunity, see
lls v. United States, 287 U.S. at 441, not in the “manu-
ring of crime,” Lopes v. United States, 373 U.S. at 434.
tere is no state interest in intervening in contraband trade
‘such a way as to obtain any result other than an arrest
8 bon an opportunity. If the government supplies
eontraband, then it is not acting within the bounds of its
mate interest..
Beil be argued that in a cane such as this the govern
it did little different from offering an opportunity; the

5 2

JJ 0

done so if he had been able. But if that is so, it is impos

sible to explain why in fact the government did not simply
wait until he did commit it sua sponte, that is, until he him
self obtained the components, manufactured the drug and
sold it to the agent. By the act itself of supplying the
contraband, or a necessary element of it, the government
has told us that merely to supply an opportunity to the de.
fendant was not enough; if it were enough, then that ia
surely exactly what the government would have done.

This inescapable proposition lies behind all the decisions
which.condemn any conviction for a contraband crime if the
goverment supplies the contraband. The court below sug-
gested as much by its finding that the component, phenyl-2,
propanone, could not have been obtained without the inter-
vention of the agent. The dissent disputes that finding,

but whether or not it is in fact the case that the component
was available from another source is beside the point. If
the component really was so easily available, then it was
simple for the government merely to wait and buy the
finished product from the defendant. The government has
implied by its conduct that the crime would not have been
committed without its intervention, and cannot now say that
it would have been commiittéd in some other way.”

The majority below cited this Court’s decision in Raley
y. Ohio, 360 U.S, 423 (1959), and the government has
branded that reference “inapposite” (Brief for the United
States, p. 26 fn. 17). That case is different from this, be-
cause there the state had actually advised the defendant

5 ee ee e
rule advaneed here shld be the lew rane oot Sle oe
Appellants’ brief, pp. 11, 82. 2

onduc was permissible. But the estoppel principle
inderlies that decision is similar to the one which
this: the government, having shown by its con-

be said that such supply as a matter of law creates
stantial risk that a person not predisposed will commif
r n innocent person will be convicted. Under the
ls formulation of the defense, it may be said that,
the government supplies the contraband, as a matter
the likelihood that the defendant would commit the
crime cannot be known beyond a reasonable

‘sum, to permit a conviction for the sale of contraband
the government has supplied violates fundamental
tds of fairness in two ways. First, there is no inter-
the state in prosecuting a manufactured crime; the
t of the state at most supports offering an oppor-
to commit a crime which would otherwise be com-
As a matter of logic, supplying the contraband
the bounds of that interest. Second, the interven.
Tt ma; be argued that this statement is less true under the
4 al f. ete of this on hae the defendant showed his propen-

nanufacturing the That argument ignores the possi-
yt Aah t never have been made at all, without the
nts

| Amendment or mar he nnen power of his Com,
.
6
tial for the preservation of political lherties. 25

JJ ee
portance at thie Hime, The question of the permissible de-
gree of “government intervention” in the commission af
erimes has been raised as a public matter repeatedly in
recent eases of great notoriety involving prosecutions 9
political dissidents. As Learned Hand put it,

“Nor should we forget that what seems fair enough
against (liquor law offenders] may take on a very
‘different face if used by a government determined to
| Suppress political opposition. United States .
2 Kirschenblatt, 16 F.2d 202, 208 (2nd Oi. 1926).

Some of the cases 1 the actual supplying of con-
traband, in a manner parallel to this case and its recent
forebears.. The appendix filed in this Court in the case of
United States v. Freed, which came before this Court ons
different point, 401 U.S. 601 (1971), discloses that the un-
registered hand grenades whith the defendants were in-
ieee ee

See Oe Tete

orted that at a trial for conspiracy to cause a
United States ‘District Court at Tacoma, Wash-
lercove! agent testified that he was directed
ment superiors to offer to purchase dynamite
ng caps, and that he did purchase potassium
supposedly to make fire bombs. New York Times,
8, 1970, p. 52. It is further reported that one
Tongyai, a government agent operating in Geneva,
supplied and taught the use of a rifle and a
ollege students. Rosenbaum, “Run, Tommy, Run,”
July, 1971, pp. 51, 58-59; Donner, “Agent-Pro-
ras Folk-Heto,” Civil Liberties, September, 1971.

upplying contraband upon which an arrest may be
fed, either for its possession or some derivative crime, is
course one of the simplest tools of provocation against

itical dissidents. To cite only one example from a long
A dishonorable history, Mussolini’s secret police, the
BA, discredited its enemies and obtained their arrest
Eplanting explosives and weapons, Bramstedt, Dictator-
d Political Police (1945), pp. 59-60.

problem, however, is not limited to the supplying
“eentraband ; there has been a pervasive growth of the
gree of governmental participation” in allegedly crimi-
enterprises of political dissidents. It is only a step
m the supplying of contraband to the provocation of
mplex crimes. Cf. Greene v. United States, supra.
some clear in several recent cases that agents have
the driving force for actions resulting in arrests
conspiracy and other criminal charges. See Donner,
ie Confessions of an FBI Informer,” Harper’s, Decem

‘op. cits; Donner, op: cf Chevigny, Geer en ,

bassin, esp. 249-276. (eolleots cases and analyze
one pri ecution of Black Panthers). Of these, perhaps ts
clearest example has occurred in United States v. Anders
son, eal: (D. J. Or. No. 602-71), in which the defendants
are with conspiracy to destroy and destruction dt
selective service records. In that case, the government
agent, Robert Hardy, stated in an affidavit sworn to Feb
ruary 28, 1972, and filed in the case (affidavit at p. 4) %

ee. definitely wouldn't have happened without me.

1 Mariel 90% tm tole ren for thew
tion. They couldn’t afford them, so I paid and the
FBI reimbursed me. ö
hits, et. They couldn't use some of the tools with
hurting themselves, so I taught them. My van was
used on a daily basis (the FBI paid the gas). I rented
trucks for the dry runs and provided about $20 to $40
worth of groceries per week for the people living at
Dr. Anderson’s. This, and all my expenses, were paid
ee inate ,

Hardy further admitted that he worked with the defendants
daily for over two months end provided the strategies and

_ 4 The Anderson case is still pendi „ The 28 defendants made s
motion an eviden

ools and equipment (at government expense)
into the building and into the file cabinets. He
FBI many times that it couldn’t have happened
there.” Here is a signal case of the creative
he government which the defense urged here is
n part, to curtail. The political provocateur does
cessarily supply the original idea; what he does sup-
Organization and materials without which the iden

powerless to limit such political provocations and
sured crimes. The per se defense recognized by

below thus becomes an essential protection
‘a growing official abuse.

that it is impossible to determine afterward

the same crime would have occurred without them

some cases, by such intervention that it is possible
mine that it likely would not have happened).

is clear that contraband cannot be supplied, then
‘tools of the provocateur are gone; moreover, if

‘ .

. ‘difficult for him to supply the binding force of will for“

crime. Finally, amici have argued above that the state
interest in rejecting the defense is very weak. The interest
in the healthy development of u political life free from the
distortions. occasioned ‘by provocation and of individua
in being free from police control is much stronger. ie
words of Thomas Hrskine May, II Constitutional Hie
of England (1899 Id.) p. 276:

eel ign lig eee
dt to retain in Government pay, and to reward spies
a mets, who consort with conspirators as theif

sworn sesomplices, and encourage while they betray
tem in their crimes, is 8 practice for which no plea
dean be offered. No Government, indeed, can be sup-
“+ posed to have expressly instructed its spies to insti-
».. gate the perpetration of crime; but to be unsuspected,
every spy must be zealous in the cause which be
_ pretends to have espoused; and his zeal in a criminal
wise is a direct encouragement of crime.”

If these words are to be fully effective, the defense adopted
by the court below must be our law.

.
Bike

Pav G. Carvery
New York Civil Liberties
Union

84 Fifth Avenue
New York, N.Y. 10011
Mmvnt L. Wour

American Civil Liberties
Union

22 East 40th Street

0 York, N.Y. 10016

Civil Liberties

Union

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386414_0132%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
