# Brief for the Appellants — Bullock v. Carter

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386413_0327%3A05

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Brief for the Appellants
- **Published:** January 1, 1972
- **Citation:** 405 U.S. 134

## Text

/ -LIBRAR | FILE”
Y, - 7
SUPREME cou Of: ) g\ JUL 27 19
RE 2, 20 = SERVER. CLERK:
_ NO. 46062 lca

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES.
OCTOBER TERM,:1970

_ MARTIN DIES, JR. ET AL..,

"A plans
vs.
‘VAN PHILLIP CARTER, ET AL., _
(A 'ppellees .

“On Appeal from the United States District Court for
the Northern District of Texas, Dallas Division

APPELLANTS’ BRIEF.” -

CHARLES F. HERRING - CRAWFORD C. Martin :
906 Perry-Brooks Build- Attorney General of Texas

ing Nowa SWHITE
. Austin, Texas 78701 First Assistant amonney
_ .Estm VAncg, JR. General
1800 First National Bank ALFRED WALKER 7 ,
Bldg. Executive Assistant Attor-
Fort Worth, Texas 76102 ney General
Mark F. Hower . -J.C. Davis
508 Southwest National Assistant Attorney General
Bank Bldg. Wiu1am.J. Craic
El Paso, ocan 79901.. Assistant Attorney General
| - JoHN F. Morenzap = =——Ss« «OO. Stutz, IT
~ Special Assistant Assistant Attorney General
Attorney General © Pat Barry -
900 Perry-Brooks Bldg.’ Sw ge Attorney General
Austin, Texas 78701 age Box 12548, Capitol
; . : tation

Austin, Texas 78711
Attorneys for Appellants

. OPINION BELOW .............. 54a ee eee eas |

JURISDICTION .......... ee 53 Fer i:

STATUTES INVOLVED ......... esate lan oe eee ee

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT....... dg eee . 4

CONCLAMION Ed ee, eens

‘CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE..........0...000.2 00... 82

. EXHIBIT “A” ......... Cet reas pe oe Ls. 88

ee

#, _ AUTHORITIES
ran Page
Carrington '\. Rash, $80 U.S. 89, 85 S.Ct. 775, 1A
18 LEd.3d 675 (1965) oes a 212,24
) A

Cipriano v. City offioums, 895 U.S. 701, 89 -

S.Ct. 1897, 23 LEd2d 647 (1969)............. . @

City of Phoenix v. canbe, 399 U.S. 204 (1970)...

-

Flast v. Cohen, 392 U.S. 88, 88.S.Ct. 1942,
20 L,Ed.2d 947 [cae ee 20

Florida Lime &. Avocado Growers‘ v. Jacobsen,

* 362 U.S. 78, 80 S.Ct. 568, ee nes 3

Georgia Socialist Workers Party v. Fortsen, . _
315 F.Supp. 1035 (1970) ..................00.. . ~ 20

Harper v. Virginia State Board of Elections,
383 U.S. 663, vaalicaun 1079, 16 L.Ed.24 169.

(1966) vse se. sereeere bedi teeet ences 13
Jenness v. Fortson, 89 L.W. 4791 (1970) ....... eB ixe es 7,10
Jenness v. Little, 806 F.Supp. 925 (1969).. eke Leseeeetes 720
Lindsley-v. Natural Carbonic Ges €o., 220 US. 61,

° 81 S.Ct. 337, Nese apenas 24
Kramer v. Free School District, 895 U.S. .
€21 (19 25) a AE Ray fol Ae re 12

| McDonald v. Board of Election Commissioners of
rey pda aaa oda

eGoweny, Maryland, 366 U.S. 420, 81 S. Ct. 1101,

- Yick Wo v. Hopicina’ 118 US. 356, 30 L.Ed. 220 (1886). 14

Zemel v. Rusk, 281 U.S. 1, 85 S.Ct. 1271, 14 |
L.Ed2d 179 (1965)... 20...

on social thea pen et peng tue S85,
Onegin ¥ Mitchell, 400 U.S. 112, 91 S.Ct, 260, ;
27 LEd2d 272 (1970).......:....... ss. 24, 25, 26°
Pate v. El Paso tele. 324 F.Supp. 935 (Ww. D:
Tex. 1970) aff'd 400 U.S. 806, 91 8.Ct. 55,
27 L.Ed.2d 88.(1970).:...........005-. alder 24
Reynolds v. Sims, 977 US. 588, 84 S.Ct, 1862, -
| "12 LeHd2d B06 (1964) 22D 24
Smith v. Allwright, 321 U.S. 649, 64 S.Ct. 757,
| 88 LEA. 987 (1944) 0 Sec aus 7,9.
Sniedin ¥. Hughes, 821 U.S. 1, 88 L.Ed. 401... 24,258,927
‘United States v: Georgi Pb. Secv. Comm.,871-°" .
U.S. 285, 83 S.Ct. 397, 9 L.Ed.2d 317 (1963) ...... 2
" Walters v. City of St. Louis, 347 U.S. 231, 74 - ;
‘S.Ct. 505, 98 L.Ed. 660 (1954)... 24
Williams v. Rhodes, 393 U.S. 23, 89 S.Ct: 5, / * 7
2i L.Ed.2d 24 (1968) oes eeeteee a. Ane!
* Williamson v. Lise Optical of Oklahoma, 348 U.S. .
483, 75 S.Ct. 461, 99 L.Ed. 563 (1955)... 24

“CONSTITUTION-OF TEXAS: ©]
Articlé XVI, Section 2....2.....00...00% a0... 8

* -_
CX : TEXAS ELECTION CODE: 4 A ee _!
a Article I3.07a eee geese ek ane es ees 5 wees. 2 6t seq.
Article 18.08 ...... Ble Sanwa p anaes 1, Bebseq
Article 18.08 0.0... lee. verses Bet seq.
| Article 1395 occ cece ececeee. .2ebseq, |
© Article 18.16 2.2.0.2... Fon ew cooccccee Bet seq
Article 18.50 ........... Vidsehabeeetersedaatees! 10°
_ LAW REVIEWS: °° : Ae! eer
83 Harvard Law Review 95......... eee te 11

eee | @

NO. 1606
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES. a

_ OCTOBER TERM, 1970

“MARTIN. DIES, JR., ET AL, _ |
‘Appellants
VB. - ,

VAN PHILLIP CARTER ET AL.
A ro

On Appeal from the United States District Court for
‘She os District of —— Dallas Division *

BRIEF FOR APPELLANTS

OPINION BELOW ee
The opinions of the Three J udge Court appear in
the Single Appendix at pages 145 and 154. The opin-
ions are reported at 321 F.Supp. 1358 (1970). This case -
_ involves filing fées for political party.primaries. The-
Three J udge Court. held that to use a filing fee as a

_ revenue raising device or as an absolute requirement
for access to the ballot is uncdhstitutional.

JURISDICTION

The Appellants invoke the jurisdiction muteeced
upon this Court by 28 U.S.C. §1253 to review on direct
appeal an order: granting a permanent injunction in
a civil action required by Act of Congress to be heard —
and a by a three-judge district court.

oe

LC , . —

“The ‘wicaent was entered on the J day of Deoum-
-! ber, 1970 (A: 160). Since it was a final adjudication on -
the merits of the issues presented, fhe Appellants filed
Notice of Appeal in the district court on the 19th day.
of February, 1971 (Ar 162), which was within the60-day
period prescribed by 28 U.S.C. §2101(b)y, and in com-
pliance with Rule 11(3) of this Court. On the 21st day

"of April, 1971, the Appellants complied with the re-

quirements of Rule 13 of this Court.. Thereafter, this
- Court by its Order of June 7, .1971, noted probable
jurisdiction. The foregoing clearly demonstrates the

timeliness of the procedural steps necessary to invoke -

_ the jurisdiction of this Court. ° | =

The Appellees sought in the court below to have the
Appellants (certain state officials charged with the re-
sponsibility of administering the election laws of the
State of Texas and certain county and statewide offi-

cials of the Democratic Party in Texas) enjoined from

the enforcement of Articles 13.07a, 13.08, 13.08a, 13.15,
and 13.16 of the Texas Election Code. In addition, the.
Appellees sought to have the-court below declare the
_ afoftsaid provisions of the Texas Election Code uncon-
stitutional. The court below granted the relief sought
by the Appellees by declaring Articles 13.07a, 13.08,
13.08a, 13.15, and 13.16 of the Texas Election Code

inbonatitytional, and further decreed that the State of.

. Texas, throughsits political parties, was enjoined from
the enforcement of Articles 13.07a, 13.08, 13.08a, 13.15,
and 13.16-of the Texas Election Code. _ t .

_ The jurisdiction of this Court to review the: judg-
- ment of the court below is conferred by 28 U.S.C. §1253.
Flast v. Cohen, 392 U.S. 83, 88 S.Ct. 1942, 20 L.Ed.2d
,947 (1968) ; Zemel v. Rush, 381 US. 1, 85 S.Ct, 1271,
14 L.Ed.2d 179 (1965) ; United. States v. Georgia Pub.
Sérv. Comm., 371 U.S. 285, 83 S.Ct. 397, 9 L.Ed.2d 317

—_ ee | \

a

a

_ (1963) ; Florida Lime & Avocado Growers vB acobsen, |
-362 U.S. 2B, 80 S.Ct..568, 4 L.Ed.2d 568 (1960). 7

- STATUTES INVOLVED.
* The Legislature of the State of Texas, acting A

' suant to the mandate of Section 2 of Article XVI of
- the Constitution of Texas to provide for laws regulat-
ing elections within the’ State of Texas, has enacted

various statutes dealing with the election process with-

_in this State. The statutes under attack in this proceed-

ing. constitute a portion of such election laws of the

State of Texas and are statewide in appligation. The
enactments held ‘invalid by the court below are sec- .

tions 13.07a, 13.08, 13.08a; 13.15, and 13.16..The full
text of these statutes appear in Appendix C of Appel-
lant’s Jurisdictional Statement.-The relevant portions

of these statutes are ® quioted here for the court ’s con-

venience:

_ “Aré. 13. 07a. Deposit to accompany application

for place on ballot:

7 (1) Every candidate for publié office who is sub
___ject to assessment by the county executive « com-

“

-

mittee for a portion of the expenses of holding
the primary élection, except candidates for. the
+ Legislature and for the State Board of Educa-

tion, shall pay to the county chairman, at the

time of filing his application for a place on the
ballot, a deposit of fifty dollars. ,

\,

‘*(2) After the county executive committee makes

‘the assessments provided for in Section 186-0f ~~~

this code, it shall refund to each candidate within
thirty days thereafter the amount of the payment
‘ in excess of the assessmént against the candidate

if the deposit exceeds the assessnient. If the de-
posit does not exceed the assessment, the balance.

due on the. assessment shall be paid as peor

P _ —

5?
4

‘in Séction 1 186. Amended by Acts 1967, 60th le. -

: -‘p. 1909, ch. 723, 6 41, eff. Aug, 28, 1967.
“Art. 13.08. Expenses of primary. :

. “(1) Prior to the assessment of the candidates,
- the county committee shall carefully estimate the
cost of printing the official ballots, renting polling

: places where ‘same may be found necessary,

_ viding and distributing all necessary pool bo ks,
, blank. stationery and voting booths required, » COM~
d all

_ pensation. of election officers atid clerks,. and

other necessary expenses, of holding the general

primary and second primary in such county
on the second M®nd&y -in February prece

each primary, shall apportion such gost in

and
ding
such’

manner as in theiy judgment is just and equitable

among the various candidates for nomination for

district, county, - precinct offices only as here-
in defined, . In making the assessment upon

any candidate the soniniithes shall give due’
sideration to the importance, emolument,

con-:
and

- term. of office for which the nomination is to be
made. . . the difference between the amount

of the assesamant and the amount of ‘the deposit -

which accompanied the candidate’s-application —
-must be paid to the chairman on or before the

fourth Monday in February; and no person’s
‘name shall be placed on the ballot unless he pays

. the assessment within the prescribed time.’’

SUMMARY OF. ARGUMENT -

. The three judge court held that the compeljing State.
_interest test-applied te-primary filing fees. The Appel-

lants contend that the rational relation test applies. —

The threé judge court -held that a filing fee violates
+ the first amendment and - process and equal protec-

“tion causes 0 of the For nth Amendment when
used as a revenue collecting device or when m
7 absolute qualification in order for a candidate

os | .
* oo

it is
e an
get

ee

°

his name on the ballot. Thé-Appellants contend that *
both of these holdings are erroneous.

(STATEMENT |
This case had its initial origin in three separate sits

’~ (A. 49) which were consolidated by the Court ‘below

(A. 49). Some of the Appellees were candidates for

- election, and other Appellees were individuals who de- —
- gired to vote for those Appellees seeking to run for —
election to public office. Please note that Uris is a party

7 primary case and not a General Election case,

The Appellees brought this action on behalf of them- '

_ selves and the class of all other persons similarly sit- |
_ uated requesting that Appellants be enjoined and ‘re-

strained from enforcing the provisions of Articles -
13.07a, 13.08, 13.08a, 13.15, and 13.16 of the Texas Elec-
tion Code whieh require that candidates for party nom-

ination to offices i in the general election,must pay filing

fees as set out in the. challenged sections ‘of the Texas

“Election Code in order to have their names placed on
. the official ballot in the Democratic’ primary election.
_ As a basis for such relief, the Appellees alleged that,

the requirement for the pafment of such. filing fees
violates the due process and equal protection ‘clauses

> of the Fourteenth Amendment of the United States

—— Some of the'Appellees are candidates for
certain local and statewide offices, who al-

leged that they could not afford to pay the filing: fee
required to have their name placed on the ballot in the

Democratic Party primary election. The remaining
Appellees are: Intervenors who desire to vote for the .
Appellees who ‘were candidates for public office.

- Specifically, the Appellees have alleged that the filing 7

fee assessments are unreasonably high arid without any —

i reasonable : relation to any legitimate legislative pur- |
.* Whe vost of primary elections in Texas - all coun-
ties must be paid out of asséssments made against the
candidates who seek nomination to precinct, county or
_ district public office in such election (Stipulation of
_y Fact No. 15, A. 112). In accordance with the provisions
__of Article 1808 of the Texas Election Code the county
executive committee of the Political party apportions,-—"-
the cost, by assessment, of primary .elections among:
~. the various ‘candidates. | Bieta of Fact No. 6
/ A1M0) _ | a a

ae

| - __—Phase" Appellees who were candidates bie various
~~" elective offices in the primary elections did not make ~
thie required paynfent of their assessment or filing fees
) and therefore their names would not, and could not,
pursuant to the provisions. of the challenged statutes,
"appear upon the primary election ballot (Stipulations
of Fact Nos. 10, 11, 13, 14, 21, 22, 23(d) (e), 31; 35, 36,
A. 109), However the court below by an order dated the |
2 day of May, 1970, relieved the Appellees from the
a, uirement of paying such assessments or filing feds —
| in 105). The filing fees of the Appellee Pate were $1,-
424.60 (for the office of County. Commissioner ), for the
Appellee the sum of $1,000.00 (for office of Com-
caieicmar the General Land Office), and for the Ap- .
pellee Wischkaemper the’sum of $6,300.00 (for the
.. @ffice.of County Judgé). See Stipulations of Fact Nos. |
a2 _ 23(d), and 8, A.109) ,

a he procedir ied ig arciving atthe ameamunnt i a
set out in Art. 13.08(1): |

“(7). Prior to the assessment of the | idates, :
the county committee shall carefully te the
= a renting pol

. mele:

"te ee aie where semesters may pe found necessary, G
_ pro and distributing poll |

7 Cooke: nk stationery and. adie tothe:
: quired, va maees +t “election . ction voeers en |

- glerks, P necessary. expenses o |

| ing the eee and, second as sed in
oun y : a .
“The court below, in tts opinion and. jvdguseht, has*

. es the. challenged provisions of the Texas Elec-

tion Code unconstitutional and has. enjoined their en-

- forcement.by the Appellants.

3 IN TRODUCTION |
This Court has held that political party vateakiteg:

are State action. Smith v. Allwright, 321 US. 649, 64

§.Ct. 757, 88 L.Ed. 987: (1944). We feel bound by this |
decision in the Smith case, and therefore, in
in portion of this brief we shall treat the politi- —
arty primaries as though they: were exactly the-
e thing as the general eleetion. We do feel that a
~ valid distinction exists — a os election:
-and-a general elgction.

We would. respectfully direct this Court’ . attention |
' to its recent opinion of. Jenness v. Fartson, No; 5714--
October term, 1970, 39 LW 4791. In this case the court

. there is surely an n texportent state interest § in
ee? ring some preliminary showing of a signifi-

_ cant modicum of support before printing the name
of a political organization and its candidates on’
the ballot—the interest, if no other, in avoiding
confusion, deception, and even frustration of the
democratic. process at the general election.”’

‘Thus, this Court found that the ‘State of Georgia had

_ gome way to control their — ballot, other than —

through a ons: fee.

a oe

aT a

Exhibit A of this ‘brief aie: forth the full text of .
_ House Bill No. 5 which was passed recently by the.
Legislature of the State of Texas. The Court will note
‘that this Bill is to become. effective only upon the con- -
dition that, before January 1, 1972:

(1) ‘the Supreme Court of" the United. States>
does ‘not dispose of the appeal filed in that court —
from the judgment of the United: States District

Court for the Northern District of Texas, Dallas - |

Division, in Civil Action No. CA 3-3635-C, styled -

Van Phillip Carter vs. Martin Dies, Jr., et al, by

action which becomes final before J january 1, 1972;
or ©

|e” @) ‘the Supreme Court of the United States af.
firms or refuses to. review the judgment of the
' dsitrict court i in the aforesaid case, or by other ac- ©
_ tion taken upon an appéal of that case the Supremg 2
Court rules that either of the following sections 0
the Texas Election Code as they exist'before the
amendments made by this Act violates the Con-
stitution of the Umted States: Sections 185a, 186, _
186a, 193, and, 194,” “(Emphasis added)’: |

This legislation. shows how the State of Texas i is pos
tempting to deal with the problem of political party
primaries, if this Court holds that the statutes in ques-
° tion are unconstitutional. If this Bill becomes effective,.
because of the ruling of this Court, we would like ‘to

‘point out one possibility which we feel’ is ee much’ :
-of a probability. , , |

_. The Bill provides that if one is nila to pay the e
| filing fee, that he can file a pauper’s affidavit and. have :
his namé placed on the political party primary ballot.-
- We can almost promise this Court that there, will be
some eonserted effort by some group, regardless of
. political persuasion of the particular group, that will

“These are the statutes in issue in the case at bar.

f . ~ :
— = -

|
|
j
|
| :
}

ee

- flood the ballot. The State of Texas will ie tenes: ‘to
immediately call its Eégislature into session and try to _
- devise andther..way to regulate the. primary ballot.: .

Aside from the problém of how you finance primaries,

filing ‘fees serve to regulate: the ballot in primary elec- ’
tions just as they do in general elections. In General

« ~~ Elections the States have an alternative method of
regulating the ballot (See J emmess). The only alterpa-

tive method which we can invision .to regulate a pri-

mary ballot is to also‘require a petition jn order to. get

on, the primary ballot. Of course, this Court can see —
*’ that this defeats the whole’ purpose of having primaries. .
_ The alternative to a filing feé asa regulatory measure, |

is either to have some sort. of primary to see who can. . ‘
_ get on the primary ballot or- require a. petition. We :

recognize the problems offpvealth and join with those .
who believe that a man’s wealth has little to do with
his qualifications to hold public office. However,-the .
solution to. regulating the number of people who get —
‘on a primary ballot is neither an. ea8y one or capable ;
» of cléar and precise judicial managable standards..

One solution tothe dilemma into which this Court is —

leading political parties, if they hold that filing’ fees

cannot be used to regulate primary ballots, wopild be.

to re-examine the broad sweeping language of Smith «—

v. Allwright, supra. The object of the. laws. in Smith... .-
_ was to keep an entire class of voters out of the voting -

> book. This, Court properly held that: the white pri-

‘ maries violated the Equal Protection clause through

invidious discrimination. The vehicle that this Court-
used to invalidate the challenged laws was a determina-

_. tive that a political party primary was State action. ~

We ask this Court to reconsider the problem. of wheth-

er or not everything involved in a primary election ©
must.be State action and. must be run exactly the same -

way as a General Election. A poor man, if he has 4
b, cae es ‘wee

cms Cuetie * “ oe
: . s ‘.”.

=

\5

at

«>

\, s

o~ + _ ; 8
‘ . . .
e *@ 4 .
. . . ~N
* “\
. ; .
;

x >

See Texas Election Code, sections 13.50 et seq. and

compare J enness v. Kortson, supra.

. We feel bound by this Court’s decision ; in: Smith, and |
| will therefore, treat this appeal as though the primary
was exactly the same as the general election. Because
there is an obvious difference in a primary and the

general election, we feel that this Court, after it thor-

_. * oughly examines, the issues ‘at bar, will desire to re- . |
, 2 consider the ie broad, sweeping language of Smith. . ; .

€h. ARGUMENT — soo

The sence issue in a filing fee case involving a pri-
= election ‘is whether or not the burden of proof is
State to show a compelling State interest in

ithe to sustain: its laws,’ or whether the burden of

| | proof is on the Appellees to prove that the State laws

do not bear a rational relation. to the ends sought to.
be. accomplished and that the laws-cause invidious dis-

_ erimination.

The reasoning ofthe three judge court. The first
step i in the reasoning of the court below was:

“Since the rights of the intervenors as voters will
be determinative of ‘the. constitutionality. of the

. laws here attacked, we deem it unnecessary to dis-
cuss the rights of the candidates.’’

Shifting the thrust of the whole case from:e one involy-

ing- candidates and, filing fees to one involving rights
of voters is the point at which the court first committed
error. The Court decided that the voters in the case at

— 10—

\

‘modicum of support, has an alternate route to having .>
"his name on the ballot and to ultimate election. He does
not have to run in-a party primary.,The laws of the
‘State of Texas for getting on the general ballot are

much more lenient than those of the State of Georgia.

\

€.

bar were Being denied the right to vote, that the ght

_ - to choose one’s candidate involved the First Amend-
ment, and that the compelling State interest test ap--

plied. The Court cited Williams v. Rhodes, 398 U.S.

23, 89 S. Ct..5 (1968). Judge Thornberry, in his con-

. curring opinion. thought thatthe. Williams test was _

involved and that‘only a compelling State interest can -

justify a State’s limiting First Amendment freedoms. —

..‘ This interpretation of the Williams case finds sup .
port in 83 Harvard Law Review 95:

_... “The Williams Court also charvacterined a- pelt,
'* interest ‘as. fundamental under it’ equal protection
analysis, and.in doing so marked another striking
departure from past doctrine. In past decisions,
the fundamental interest j in the franchise has been
invoked when one’s vote was ‘not counted, when
; free aecess to the ballot box was impaired, or when
. one’s véte was not given equal. weight ‘vis-a-vis
_. other votes in the political unit. The-voting inter-
est protected in Williams was quite ‘different. It
"was an interest in casting a ballot for the parttcu-
lar candidate that. one prefers above ‘all: others.
’ The Court seems to have interpreted ‘the right to.
cast ... [a] vote effectively’ to protect a full range
of self-expression, to extend not only to the casting
and counting of ballots but also to what a voter
‘may put on his ballot.’’.(emphasis supplied) . .«

‘Mr. Chief Justice Warren recognized the very prob-
‘lem which is involved in this case in McDonald v. Board :
of Election Commissioners of eee 394 U. S. 802,
806, 89 §. Ct. 1404; 1407 (1969) :

‘Before confronting forces -challenge. to Thi.
nois’ absentee provisions, we must determine. in-
itially how stringent a standard to use in: evaluat-
ing the classifications made thereunder and wheth-
er .distinctions must be: justified by oe
State interest ;”’ ,

re a” ae ere

The Appellants -submit that’ the three ‘judge court: *

-- did not properly understand the distinction between

the line of cases which McDonald, Williams, and Jen-

- Me88 ‘represent on the one hand, from the line of cases

represented by Kramer v. Union Free School District,

-. 395 US. 621,.89 S. Ct. 1886 (1969) ; Cipirano v. City of
' _Howma, 395: US. 701, 89 S. Ct. 1897..(1969) ; Phoenix

v. Kolodziejski,. 399. U. S. 204, 90 S. Ct. 1990 (1970); _
Carrington v. Rash, 380 US. 89, 85 8S. " 775, 13 L.
Ed. 2d 675 (1965).

- Mr. Chief Justice Warren pointed out the distine-

tion between these two lines of ‘cases in Kramer. In

footnote 6 found on. page 1889 of the Supreme Court _
Reporter edition :.

“This case presents an issue different froui the

one we faced in McDonald v. Board of Election ©

- Comm’rs of Chicago, 394 U.S. 802, 89 S. Ct. 1404,

. 22 L. Ed. 2d 739 (1969). The present, appeal in-
volves an absolute denial of the franchise. In Mc-
Donald, on the other hand, we were ‘reviewing a
statute which made casting a ballot easier for some

- who were unable to come to the polls. As we noted,
there was no evidence that the pre absolutely

, prohibited any one from exercising the franchise ;
at issue was not a claimed right to vote but a
claimed right to Crag Ss ballot. I d., at 807-808, .
89 S. Ct., at 1:

“In Kramer, Cuirvvagt Cipriano, Kolodsiejski, the
laws in question were fencing out voters entirely from
the voting booth. Otherwise qualified voters were
denied the right to vote entirely because of a particular
classification into which -they fit. They ceuld not go
to the polls at all to vote for anyone in _—. particular.

election in question.

In McDonald, the issue intetend an extension of the |
-_ right to vote. That is, your basic. ae: is to appear

3 — is

.at the polls in person and vote, and an an absentee
_ ballot extends that right. Any extension of that right
is a legitimate regulation bythe State and should be
tested under the rational relation test. . |

In the case at bar, no voter is fenced out of the |

voting booth by the filing fee fequirement. The filing
fee simply limits the person for whom the voter may —

cast his:ballot. This is exactly the same problem with ©

which the Court was confronted in Williams. The Ohio

‘laws: did not prohibit any voter from voting. The —

Ohio law simply made it impossible for another po-
' litical party to get organized in the state of Ohio. Mr. .
Justice Black held that “‘the totality of the Ohio re-
strictive laws taken as a whole impose 4 burden on
voting and associational rights which we hold is an

invidious discrimination in viclation of the Kqual Pro- .

tection Clause. »

In Jenness, Mr. Justice Stewart found that the inves .

of the State of Georgia did‘ not create an invidious
discrimination and bore: a rational —— to a legiti-
mate state end. a

It is true that language’ can be foiind in both Wil-
liams and Jenness which mention the words compelling
state interest and important state interest. This court
will recall. tliat \traditionally First Amendnient prob-
lems -have been treated under the compelling state in-
terest test, while equal protection problems have been
treated under the rational relation test. Please see the .
| dissenting and concurring opinions in Williams, and

Harper v. Virginia State Board of Elections, 383 U.S. _

663, 86 S.Ct. 79, 16 L.d.2d 169 (1966).

‘There is another school of thought which says that

any time voters rights problems arise, that the laws are
subject to close and careful serutiny, Kramer, The

ee ace

2)

i:

Hiaterd Law Review: staff, supra, at page 90, thought
“that the Williams court expanded a developing doc-_
trine by including a First Amendment interest in the |
pantheon of fundamental = for el Sain of
equal protection os.

+ Any time that whe rights are dnpolved,. the court

can create arguments that talk about political expres-
sion and reach First Amendment rights. One can say
that. the vote is the ultimate of political expression,
‘and that to. limit the choice” ‘of a voter places a limita-
tion on his free speech rights. Therefore, anything.
which limits a voter’s choice of candidates, such aga
fee, or a petition in order to get on the ballot @ enness)
is a first amendment problem. :

‘We reject this analysis. We think that this case is -
about fees and political party primaries, and. whether
two men: -one rich and one poor, are being treatéd.
equally, or whether there is- invidious discrimination.
To us that is an equal protection problem and. the
overlap between equal protection and First Amend-.
ment righ s is slight. We submit that voter’s rights do —
constitu... special category of equal pretection prob-
lems. See the.reasoning found in Yick Wo v. Hopkins,
118 US. 356, 30 L.Ed. 220 (1886).

- This Court in i fier correctly pointed out the ro

tinction which this ‘court should use in determining
whether or not a , particular limitation is a voting rights
case or @ case where the state is exercising legitimate
interests in regulating the ballot. The court should look
_ at the law and determine whether or not it_keeps any

voter from the voting booth. Jf it does, then funda-
mental voting rights are at stake and the law i is sub-
ject: to close’ and careful’ scrutiny and a compelling

on, | eee

state interest must bewibdvee..” If the law under exam-<_
_, tion does not prohibit anybody from voting, then the
‘rational relation test should be applied by the court.

Access fo a primary ballot ‘by candidates is an equal |
protection problem. The Appellees are wanting to as- -
- gociate with a.certain-particular group, and the issue
is whether or not. they are being a of -equal
protection of the law.

I. ISSUE GOVERNED BY THE RATIONAL RE. ” 1
' LATION: TEST. :

A review of the cases since Kramer reveal that once
any court decides that the state has the burden of es-
-tablishing a compelling state interest,that the ball _
game is really already over. Therefore” we are going
to discuss in detail the problem of whether or not a
filing fee in a political party primary bears a rational
relation to a legitimate state end. Howeyer, we submit
that for the reasons stated in the remainder of this
_ brief, that if the State of Texas must meet the-burden
of establishing that a compelling state interest exists, °
then there do exist such interests and this court should. |
reverse the Three Judge Court. We would point: out .
_ to this court that the record contains a large number
of stipulations. There are ample stipulations in this
record for the court to decide this case on the merits,
_ regardless of who has the burden of .proof.. This case
should not be remanded for further development of
facts.

II. “APPLICATION OF THE RATIONAL RELA-
TION TEST.

Because of the action of the Tegisiskare of the State
of Texas in enacting the’ conditional amendments to

_—————"J

"For example, should a convicted félon be denied the right
to vote. ;

oS

_ —16—

- ‘ x.

ea

\ - —

—

the Texas Election Code, this. Court i is presented with .

- .a two-fold problem: deciding the validity of the second

statute, if the Court finds that the first statute creates
- an invidious discrimination which keeps the statute
from bearing a rational relation to. a legitimate state

interest.

‘The three judge. court has held that z a filing fee may |

‘not be used asa Trevenue raising device. We would like

_. to point out that the filing fee is not used in Texas as

* revenue Yr device, in the traditional sense that’
“revenue aising’’ iscused. When Texas had a poll tax, .

this was used as a reVenue raising device. The. money .

which was collected from the sale of poll taxes went °

' into the permanent school fund té ‘help finance the |

_ fon as saying that it is unlawful to use a filing fee. as ne

education ef the children of the. State of Texas. No ©.
excess .money is raised by the filing fees. All of ‘the.

__Money that it\does not take to run the political party
primaries is refunded-to the candidates, Article 13.08.
‘We can more accurately describe the filing fée, as it is ©
used in the State of Texas, as a method: to finarice a

primary election, rather than a revenue raising de- . :

vice. We should therefore réad the lower court’s opin-

om method to finance a primary election.

sg

We see four methods that political parties can use
to finance their primaries. First, they may use filing
fees and the three judge court has struck this down..

Secondly, they may hold no primary at all and nom- - |

inate by convention. .This eliminates the cost almost *
entirely. Third, we may require the States to finance

' primary elections. This is done in a number of States.

Fourth, we may require that the primaries be financed
through voluntary: contributions. We feel that this
Court can see that the alternatives left open to political
parties who desire to hold primary elections is relevant

—16— ;

7 - ooo a an ,
. to the qyestion of whether or not a filing fee as a

_ financing | device bears a rational relation to a legiti-7 -
- mate State purpose,. Consequently, we would like to
explore with the-Court just what happens when you

gnust finanee a primary election. through either alter-

. natives number three or féur listed above.

> Let us first examine the problems which arise when:
the State. finances the primary elections. First, since.

the State.is going have to finance all primary elec-
tions, this Court will have to examine (similar to the

‘problems that arose in-Williams-and Jenness) the laws.
| of all ify-Ststes and woo if their defen of wher 2
-. *politieal body’’ becomes ‘political party” so as to
become entitled to have the State finance their pri- -

mary. Secondly, if a third. party candidate gets the
requisite number of votes for governor to be a political

party in the next election, ntust the State, besides fi-
nancing a primary for governor in the next election,

also finance a primary for each and every public office
in each and every precinct within the State? Thirdly,

the review of many well reasoned and knowledgable . -
studies reveal that the stability of the governments of —
© the English speaking peoples of this world is due pri-

marily to the fact that they have essentially two party

_ systems. This Court knows better than-the authors of _
this brief that the ties that bind the Democratic Party -

and the Republican Party together are much weaker

_ today than they were twenty years,ago. If the State |
agrees to finaiice everybody at a primary election, we
submit that this probably will cause a prolifleratiop of ©

political parties: and contribute to the breakdown. of

‘our two party system. It is quite » different thing to
say that the ease with which a party may have access -
to the general ballot, applies equally -to the State fi-

nancing. saparty primary. Mr. Justice oat in Wil-

; —17— ~
ney

a iol

Pe.

Me .

liams, rejected as “theoretically imaginable’ the pro-

_ liferation of political parties. In Williams the problem
‘was the totality of laws to get on the ballot. No one

was agreeing to finance anyone. Ifyou start. having
free money available, the problem may be different. .

The Appellants submit that to do away with the

candidate’s having to pay these filing fees, which pay

for the primary elections, will actually place another
burden upon the voter which is not presently there~
If the‘ costs of conducting the primary elections are

removed from those candidates who are seeking po-- .
_ litical offices and which do so under the. banners of a
_ particular political party, then the alternative which ©

the court below has forced upon the State of Texas is
that they must be assumed by State and local govern-
mental bodies. Today these governmental bodies are —

being increasingly faced with the almost unsurmount-

able problems of the rising demands for the use of
the tax dollar. The court below i in its decision has added

_ yet another burden to the staggering costs of State and
local government—the costs of financing the primary

elections of all political parties. Needless to say, the

taxpayer will ultimately have this additional cost added - ©

to his already increasngly staggering burden. The court

. below has apparently. treated the taxpayer and the

voter as two separate and distinct bodies. This, how-
ever, is to create a fantasy, because each and every
voter is also either directly or indirectly a taxpayer..

- Actually the decision of the court below. has merely
transferred the costs of primary elections from the

candidates to the voters. The court below has based
its decision essentially on the assumption that the pres-

‘ent filing system in Texas as to primary elections places
_an undue burden on the voter. The Appellants submit \
that the decision of the court below, in now placing the |

18

costs of the primary elections upon the voter, places
a far heavier burden on the voter than existed prior
to the court’s decision. In addition, the court’s deci-
sion has virtually insured a large list of candidates in
‘every primary election with additional run-off elections
then becoming virtually certain with increased election
costs. The court below has not lessened the burden up-
on the voter by its decision—it has merely increased
tlie voter’s already staggering tax burden. Perhaps it .-
_ might be well at this time for this Court.to also con- ~
sider the rights of the taxpayers of this country as
well-as their duties to support the costs of our govern-
- Ment.

How well fies the siternative of having party pri-
maries financed by voluntary contributions fare? We:
would point out to the Court that there is no guarantee
that sufficient voluntary. -contributions could be raised |
to conduct primaries. If this were to happen, then the :
logical response which should be made to this situation |.

would be that since the parties do not have enough sup-

port to finance a party primary, the parties just do not
need to hold primaries. We would. ask this Court

. whether or not: that argument sounds familiar. ‘Has

ap, the argument not been advanced many times that if a

candidate does not have sufficient support to raise the

- filing fee, that he does not need to be a candidate?
That is exactly the same type of reasoning that you
would be applying to political party primaries if they-. -

‘ could not raise sufficient private support to finance
their primaries. It seems to us that the requirement

‘ that primaries be privately financed’ présents a circular |
solution to the problem, whick is no solution at all.
That is, if the outlawing of filing fees has the effect of
eliminating the: primary’ altogether, it is not. really a
solution to the poor persons’ or = rieh persons’ prob- -.
lem. .’ i (th

—_ 19 ee Lady

. apply to the: primary ballot ?”’

cg

From the above. ie nerrs one thing can n be deny:
seen: To absolutely outlaw all filing fees as a financing =
7 device for party primaries is hot a workable solution.

- We submit that filing fees are’ the. ‘dest solution to:

financing party primaries. — ‘ :

This concludes our discussion of the first ot several.”
interests, which the State must attempt to. balance in

enacting the filing fees as.an absolute requirement. to
getting on the ballot. We have seen that as ‘far as fi-

_ nancing the primaries, there certainly are problems
_ with any alternatives to ‘timinating. the filing — as

a financing device.::

A second interest which i is involved in 1 the State leg- -
islation under ‘consideration here is whether or not the.
filing fee can be and should be made. an absolute re-
quirement in order to get on the primary ballot and.

- be the sole method through which the candidate’s name —

cari appear. The case of Jenness v, Little, 306 F. Supp.

925 (1969), held that “to prohibit candidates from .
- getting their names on the ballot solely because they -

ad ,

cannot post a certain amount of money is illégal and. -

* unconstitutional.’’ To the same effect is Georgia So-

_ etalist Workers Party ‘v. .Fortsen, 315 F, Supp. 1035

(1970).- Both, of these cases involve general elections
as opposed to primary elections. As we have pointed _
out before, the state of Georgia had another way to

- regulate the size of their general ballot. (Jenmess) The
- thrust of our argument is fy the same rationale
e submit that it does

not. The fee can be used. by political parties to regulate
. . the size of their primary. The only otfier method that
they can use to regulate the size of the primary ‘is a

' . petition. As we have stated before, this forces a politi-

ea] party to have ‘a primary tg see ‘who can get on the

primary ballot. Obviously, apetition is 3 not. a primary,-, —

b/ —= \ “4

° .
SAO.

+

hel oli point -is that you are making polities! sii
substitute an onerous requirement of a petition, for .
: the method ‘that they previously used to control the .
size of their ballot. These petitions will breed litiga-
‘ tion as to whether or not the right people signed them
and, ‘whether’ or not they were qualified to sign the peti-
__ tion. ‘The interests to be viewed ‘and weigheti and bal- — -
anced are those of an indigent who cannot afford the
filing fee, as opposed to the addéd work and potential
litigation. that is. created’ by the requirements of a\pe-
_ tition. We would respectfully point out to this Court.
' that we understand and agree with and affirm the rax ~~
tionale of Mr. Justice Douglas in Harper: “Voter qual- =.
_. ifieations haye no relation to wealth or fo_paying or not | ° |
' paying: this (poll) or any other tax.’”? However, ' just:
‘because, a man does not have a filing fee to get on the ~
; political party’s primary ballot, does not mean’ that he
‘is foreclosed from the ballot. The facts are that this _/
court-has recently held int Jenness-that a 5% petition — a
réquirement is not unconstitutional... The State of Tet- eo
as requires only 1%. The man who cannot afford'the .
filing fee of the Democratic Primary, is not foreclosed —
from the ballot; He has other a a can get
on the General Ballot. . “a . 7

Iti is:no argument to respond. that the — man ought
to be able to get on the Democratic Party’s ballot, —

- -rather than having. to wait until the general ballot
because the Democratic Party nomiriation is tante-
mount to election. If the, Democratic nomination is
tantemount’ to election,’ this means that everybody is
going to vote in.the Demoératic Primary. Therefore,

if you would be ablé to. convince them in the Demo-
cratic Primary, you ought to be able to. convince them .-

- in November. The will notice that we are not .
| a oor that the man does riot t have the

money for a filing fee is tantemount to defeat because
* * of the costs of running an election. We.do not consider
this a relevant question as far as access to the ballot.is —
concerned. We think that as long as ‘a poor man hasa .
reasonable opportunity to get on the ballot in Novem-
ber, that the fact that he cannot get on the party’s
primary ballot, because he cannot pay the filing fee,
does not invidiously discriminate against the poor man.
The object of our constitution ‘is to make thehballot
equally accessible to all people. The right to vote is
deemed fundamental. But how many times does a man
have a night to get on a ballot? The question really
revolves itself right back into the. Smith v. Allwright. .
Is the primary election exactly the same thing as the
general election? The Court will. note that there is a.
_ significant difference between our case and Smith v.
' Allwright. In Smith, those persons against whom the
law discriminated were kept away from voting entirely.
In the ease at Bar, those against whom the law dis- |
‘eriminates can vote, they just cannot get their own -
_ candidate on the ballot. We submit that the distinction —
- which Judge Warren drew in Kramer, between Kra-
mer & McDonald, applies in this case. When you con-
', sider that a political party has a legitimate interest in
financing its primary, in controlling the number of
yeople on the ballot so to avoid voter confusion; when |
ou consider the alternatives to using the filing fee to
| accomplish the previous two ends, and- when you con-
sider that the’ aggrieved party has another avenue open
' to him to espouse his cause; then the poor man is not 7
invidiously discriminated against by being required,
as an absolute’ requirement to get on a party primary ©
ballot, to pay a filing fee.

__ If. ENACTMENT OF HOUSE BILL 5. - \
We would like to examine the problem of whether or ,,
— 22 —

- not - 5 solved the constitutional problem, in the —

event tHis Court should decide that absolute require-
ments of a filing fee constitutes an invidious discrim-
ination. Texas has not abandoned the filing fee asa

finaricing device for their political party primary. They

have simply substituted a pauper’s oath to solve the
poor man’s problem. We assume that the Appellees in ~
this case will argue that this statutory scheme also
involves invidious discrimination, and that either the
State or private donations should finance the primary
election. They will probably. argue that to require a
poor man-to file a :pauper’s affidavit creates a stigma
and amounts to certain defeat in the election, because
of the attitude that th veryday voter willrhave to-
wards the ma ‘that h ed a pauper’s oath. We would
submit to this court that that argument does not hold .
water. If one follows that argument, then all filing
fees.are per se invidious discrimination. There will al-
ways exist some one who can afford no fee at all.

We would point out to this court that there is also
a stigma involved in being rich. It is true that there
would probably be more votes lost by a poor man be-.
cause he filed a pauper’s oath than bya rich man be-
cause he was rich. However, there are people that we —
all know personally who refuse to vote for certain can-
didates because of the amount of wealth which they
possess at the time they present themselves:as candi- —
dates for public office. They consider the wealth just ©
as much stigma as some people consider. it a stigma
to he a pauper. This court should ‘not let the ‘degree of
favor that the voters may hold for wealth or poverty
be a basis for declaring all filing fees a per se invid-
ious discrimination. ~~ ‘

-

We submit that the state of Texas aa a reasonable _
solution that does not involve invidious discrimination

—2B— a a :

‘. .

‘in BB 5. If there: ss ss Saeidions discrimination in
having a filing fee be an absolute requirement for ac- .

cess to the ballot, then the pauper’s oath solves the
problem and erases the invidious - ‘discrimination.

‘There is nothing i in the record before this Court: to :

show that the challenged laws made it impossible for
Appellees ‘to vote. Certain of the Appellees may not
have had the opportunity to vote for candidates they
might have liked to have seen on the ballot, but this
differs drastically from an absolute denial of voting.

The primaries simply are not the general elections.
The Courtshould either reconsider Smith, or conclude,

as we do, that ‘under all the circumstances there is no
invidious discrimination. As long as there is an alter-
native access to the ballot for the poor man, 7 no invidi-
ous diserimination exists.

' The prosoription of the Equal Protection Clause
does not go beyond the invidious discrimination, Wil-

ilamson v. Lee Optical of Oklahoma, 348 U.S. 483, 75 -

S.Ct. 461, 99 L.Ed. 563, 573 (1955), for ‘‘. . . mere clas-
_Sification; as this Court has oftén said, does not of it-

_ self deprive a group of equal protection.”’ Cagington .

v. Rash, 380 U.S. 89, 92, 85 S.Ct. 775, 13 L.Ed.2d 675,
678 (1965) ; Oregon v, Mitchell, 400 U.S. 112, 127, 91

—8.Ct. 260, 266, 27 L.Ed.2d 272, 283 (19704 ; Reynolds ;

‘ y. Sims, 377 U.S. 533, 84 S.Ct. 1362, 12 L.Ed.2d 506
(964) ; ; Pate. El Paso County, 324° F.Supp. 935 (W.

D. Tex. 1970) aff'd 400 U.S. 806, 91 S.Ct. 55, 27 L.Ed. .

2d 38 (1970). The gravamen of equal protection lies

not in the fact of deprivation of a right through state
action, but that such deprivation is accomplished by

means of an invidious classification. Snowden v.

| “Hughes, 321 U.S. 1, 64 S.Ct. 397, 88 L.Bd. 497 (1943);
Tandsley v. Natural Carbonic Gas Co., 220 U.S. 61, 31 |
8.Ct. 337, 55 L.Ed. 369 (1911); Walters v. City of St. -

_ "

alice bs land Nhat Abt to eh RSs hy a teh bento

Louis, 347 U.S. 231, 74 8.Ct. 505, 98 L.Ed.-660 (1954).
‘*... [T]he necessity of a showing’ of | ful dis-
crimination is no less in a case involving political rights
than in any ea | It was not intended by the Four-

teenth Amendment and the Civil Rights Act that all

‘ matters formerly within the exclusive cognizance of °

the states should become matters of national concern.”
Snowden v..Hughes, supra, 321 U.S. at 11, 88 L.Ed. at
505. See Oregon v. Mitchell, 400 UfS‘.112, 127, 91'8.Ct.
260, 266, 27 L.Ed.2d 272, 283 (1970). Recognizing that
the nature of our federal system allows the states broad
' leeway with regard to legislation in: the field of éacial,
economic, and poltical matters, the decisions of the
Supreme Court teach us) that any classification result-
ing from the-ajiplication of such laws doés not offend
equal protection as long as itis reasonble and is ra-

tionally related to furthering a legitimate state. in-

terest."

“The ‘constitutional safeguard is offended only
-if the claSsification rests on grounds wholly irrel-

evant to the achievement of the State’s objective. -

State legislatures are presumed to have acted with-

in their constitutional power despite thefact that, ©

in practice, their laws result in some inequality.

. A statutory discrimination will not be set aside if.
, any state of facts reasonably may be conceived to_

justify it. — |
McGowen v. Maryland, 366 U.S. 420, 81 S.Ct. 1101, 6
_L.Ed.2d 393, 399 (1961) ; McDonald v. Board of Elec-
tion Commissioners of Chicago, 394 U.S. 802, 89 S.Ct.
1404, 22 L.Ed.2d 739 (1969). |

- The Supreme Court has recently had occasion to ex-
plore in depth the nature and extent of the power of

the states to prescribe qualifications. for voting and to
‘Financing the primaries and regulating the ballot. _

°

Tegulate the electoral process in Oregon v.. Mitchell,
400 U.S. 112, 91 S.Ct. 266, 27 L:Ed.2d 272 (1970). De-

spite the diverse views expressed in the fige opinions . =

written in that case, it is clear that, with the exception
of the statement regarding the power of @§ngress un-
der Article I, Section'4, the Chief Justice and Justic
Harlin, Steward, and Blackmun agree with the follow-
. ing statement from Justice Black’s opinion:

| ‘‘No function is more essential to the separate
. and independent.existence of the States and their
governments than the power to determine within
the limits of the Constitution the qualifications of
their own voters for state, county, and municipal
offices and the nature of their own machinery for
fing local lic offices. Pope v. Williams, 193 .
_ US. 621, 24 8.Ct. 573, 48 L.Ed. 817 (1904) ; Minor >
v. Happersett, 21 Wall. 162, 22 L.Ed. 627 (1874).
Moreover, Art. I, §2, is a clear indication that the
Framers intended the States to determine the qual-
ifications of their own-voters for state offices, be-
cause those qualifications were adopted for federal
offices unless Congress directs otherwise under Art.
I, §4. ... It is,obvious that the whole Constitution
reserves to the States the power to set voter qual-
ifications in state and local elections, except to the
limited extent that the people. through’ constitu-
tional amendments have specifically narrowed the -
powers of the States. Amendments Fourteen, Fif-—
‘teen, Nineteen, and Twenty-Four, each of which

has assumed that the:States had general supervi- |

sory power over staté elections, are examples of
express limitations on the power of the States to
govern themselves. And the Equal Protection ©
Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment was never —
intended. to destroy the States’ power to govern
themselves, making the Nineteenth and Twenty-
Fourth Amendments superfluous. . .. In.interpret-
tng what.the Fourteenth Amendment means, the

Equal Protection Clause should not be stretched. -

to nullify the States’ powers over elections which
we, 9g — -

we

they had Weforé the Constitution was adopted and

which they have retained throughout our history.’’-

Id., 400 U.S. at 125-126, 91 S.Ct. at 265-266; 27

L.Ed.2d at 281-282”? (Emphasis added).

A remote limitation on a particular voter (the possi- |

bility that his candidate is not on the ballot) is no rea-
_ Son to depart from this principal. The Supreme Court
has never suggested that the states have. anything but

an unimpeachable right under the Constitution to pre-
_ Seribe election procedures within state, and, as long as

those procedures ‘‘do not invidiously discriminate

against any discreté and insular minority’’ they cannot

constitute a denial of equal protection and need not.be

_ judged by the compelling interest test. Oregon v. Mitch-

ell, 400 U.S. 112, 296, 91 S\Ct. 260, 349-350, 27 L.Ea.2d

272, 379 (1970). Consequently, the laws in question
should not have been judged by the compelling interest —

_ test. : |
The question has long been laid to rest with re-
spect to. the constitutional right of a candidate.to run

for. public office. In Snowden v. Hughes, 321 U.S. 1, —

— 88 L.Ed. 497 (1943), this Court held that the right to

- become a candidate for state office is a right or privi-.
lege of state citizenship, not of national citizenship, -

which alone is protected by the privileges and fnmuni-
ties clause of the Fourteenth Amendment. Qhis Court
made the following observations, at page 502: _

“The protection extended to citizens of the Unit-

_. €d States by the privileges and immunities clause
‘ includes those rights and privileges which, under
the laws and Constitution of the United States,

are incident to citizenship. of the United States, —

'. but does not include rights pertaining to state cit-
izenship and derived solely from the. relationship

of the citigen and his state established ‘by state.
law. Slawghter-House Cases, 16 Wall. (US) 36,
74 79 21 L ed 394, 408, 409: Maxwell v. Bugbee, .

. —_ 37 .

4 c—

ig ,
-—-eome @ candidate’ tor-state offiee,-like the right to

Happersett, ‘21 Wall. (US) 162,: 170-178, 22 tL

627, 629-631; Pope v. Williams, 193 US 621, 632, .
48'L ed 817, 822, b4 S Ct 573; Breedlove v. Suttles,

302 US 277, 283, 82 L ed 252, 256, 58 S Ct 205

isa right or privilege of state. citizenship, not ‘of

national citizenship which alone is protected by the
privileges and immunities clause.” .

‘The Appellees and the. court below’ attempt to dis- :
tinguish this case by stating that the ‘complaint does

not go to the privileges and immunities clause of the
Fourteenth Amendment, but rather goes to the equal
protection clause‘and therefore Snowden v. Hughes is
readily distinguishable. A careful reading of Snowden
v. Hughes, however, clearly shows that this Court also
dealt with the equal protection clause with respect to

-~ the constitutional right of a candidate to run for public

office in one of the states of the union. In dealing with

a

the equal protection clause, the Court anes on in Snow- .

; den, supra,.to state the following:

| -~More than forty years ago this Court dite:
- mined-that an unlawful denial by state action ‘of a
right to state political<office is not a denial of a

right of. property or of liberty secured by the due

process clause. Taylor & Marshall v. Beckham, 178

US 548, 44 L ed 1187, 20 S Ct 890, 1009. Only once

since has this Court had ‘occasion to consider the .
question and. it then -reaffirmed that conclusion.

Cave v. Missouri, 246 US 650, 62 L ed 921, 38
S Ct 334, as we reaffirm it now.”

it Snowden applies to the privileges and immunities

" clause and the due process clause, surely it applies to -

= — 23 — .

¥

"A the Waisal Proteatiod Clause of the Fourtesnth Amend-
_ ment. .
In addition, thie Court’s ovaninieitt in Williams that

“‘multitudinous fragmentary groups might justify some —
regulatory control but .. . at the present time the danger
‘seems to. be né more than ‘thedM#tically imaginable’

_++#’? may well be appropriate when related to political —
parties being placed upon the ballot, but becomes a far

different problem when we discuss candidates for a
primary. One can but guess how many candidates might
make the race for the publicity gained, or whether we
will see a return of the abused practice of seeing nu- ©
merous candidates of the same name entered in the
same race for the obvious purpose of aiding or dam-
- aging one of the candidates. The potential for “ legal
disruption’’ is almost unlimited.

What guidelines could ever be established to deter-
mine when any amount of filing fee might become some
_ form of invidious dise¥imination. How much one indi-.
vidual is willing to saerifice financially in the way of a
_ filing fee to obtain public office may well discourage

another potential candidate with even more financial
means. Just as the personal management of one’s fiscal
affairs varies as to when they feel able to afford a
' bigger and more ornate automobile, so does the indi-
- vidual determination of whether to pay a particular
- amount of filing fee vary from. potential candidate to.
potential candidate. The filing fee-as a initial step in-
entering a career based on public service in elective
office is no more a form of invidious discrimination by

- wealth in the following of a career than the license fees

required to engage in many businesses, Professions or
union dues,

_ CONCLUSION
The varying interests of the State, the political par-

_ ties, the candidates, the voters, the taxpayers, and the ©
political subdivisions of the State involved in the elec-
tion process, present the Legislature of the State of ©

‘ Texas with the complex problem of striking a reason-

able and workable balance and solution to regulating
the ballot, avoiding voter confusion, financing the elec-

tion process and making the ballot available to all. The ”
balancing of the many priorities are matters for leg- _

islative decision. If the choice of the Legislature is rea-
sonably related. to the goal of both financing and pro-
viding orderly elections, the fact that there exist alter-
natives’ which courts, judges or individuals may feel

are better suited to that end does not invalidate the °

choice made by the Legislature. The inquiry of. the

! ~ courts goes only to whether the means chosen is reason-. _
ably related to the purpose to be accomplished. As long
as the poor man had a ‘‘free,’’ alternative route to the

ballot (Jenness), his equal protection rights have not

been violated by the loss of the right to get on a par-

ticular party’s primary ballot. | |
“For the reasons stated herein the judgment of the

Court below holding Articles 13.07a, 13.08, 13.08a, 13.15,
and 13.16 of the Texas Election Code unconstitutional

should be reversed and judgment here rendered sus-
taining the validity of such statutory enactments and
dissolving the injunction entered against the Appel-
‘Respectfully submitted, —
Cuartes F. HEerrine .
906 Perry-Brooks Build-
. ing
: Austin, Texas 78701
— 30 — :

Bent, Vance, Je ._,
| 1800 First National Bank
Bldg. -
‘Fort Worth, Texas 76102

Marx F. Howett

508: Southwest National .
‘Bank Bldg.

El Paso, Texas 79901 .

Crawrorp 0. Martin
Attorney General of ——

\ Executive Assistant Attor-_
ney General

J. C. Davis |
Assistant Attorney General

J.ORAIG . ~
ibe aren Attorney General
@ SHuitz HT:
t ; ttorney General

‘ ey General
. Box 12548, Capitol

open 4
900 Perry-Brooks Bldg.
Austin, Texas 78701

Attorneys for Appellants: \

~~

—31—

(CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE re
_. Pat Bailey, ¢ one of the attorneys for the Appellants;

“~ and a member of the Bar of the Supreme Co of the ..

United States, nae certify that on the 9 day of -
' July, 1971, T served a copy of the foregoing Jurisdic-

’ ‘tional Statement on the Appellees by depositing a copy

in the United States mail, postage prepaid, and ad-
dressed to the attorneys of ‘record for Appellees as
follows: Mr. H. Averill Sweitzer, 5th Floor, Manor

House, Dallas, ‘Texas 75202; Mr. A. L.. Crouch, 109 ._

Taylor, Fort Worth, Texas 76102; Mr. John L. Fash-
ing, 608 Southwest National Bank Building, El Paso,
Texas 79901;.Mr. Fred Weldon. and Mr. Stuart: R.

- '* Abelson, 119 : Stanton : ‘Room 215, El Paso,
Testo. ==) LY

EXHIBIT “A”
Rita ier 5st tenance cal A HB. No.5
OS Bag agg sisi oa haat ge.

' enacting temporary provisions relating to the method
_ , of conducting and financing primary elections and to ss
_. the fees, assessments, and deposits levied against can- 4
, - didates; amending the Texas Election Code as follows: -
amending Section 185a, as amended (Article 13.07a,””
-Vernon’s Texas Election Code) by adding Subsection _
- (8); amending Subsection (1), Section 186, as amend- °
' ed (Article 13.08) ; amending Section 186, as amended
(Article 13.08), by adding Subsections (5), (6), and
(7); adding Section 186c;- repealing Section 186a, as ~
amended (Article 13.08a), Section 186a-1 (Article
' 13.08a-1), and Section 194, as amended (Article 13.16) ;—
_ . providing ‘penalties; making the Act effective only up-" -
"on the occurrence of certain conditions and fixing the
* - expiration date if the Act becomes effective; and de-

o

claring an emergency. vans |
%, BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF
THE STATE OF TEXAS: _ Oe
- Section.1. Section 185a, Texas Election Code, as
amended (Article .13.07a,.Vernon’s ‘Texas Election -
Code), is‘amended by adding Subsection (3), to read ~
_asfollows: = = Boel hes ae o
**(3). If a candidate is unable to pay the deposit or os aid
filing fee as required. by Subsection (1) of this Sere- |
tion, in lieu of payitient he may file with his application _
a petition of voters, a& provided in Section 186c of this
code, and he shall not then be required to. pay.any .de-
posit, fee;or assessment as a condition for having his.-
'. Mame printed on the ballot for either the primary elec- .
. . tion or the general election; when filing such petition,
_. it shall be accompanied by the following’ affidavit: ‘
7 ere ee 3

&

‘* *T am not financially able to pay the filing fee re-
quired to file for the office set forth-in the attached
application.. In lieu therefor I submit the following .
petition signed by 10% of the number of votes cast for

AO ho ew eke ec (Democratic, Republican,

etc.) Party’s candidate for Governor in the last pre-

' ceding General Election i in the territory_in which I am _s°
- running,’

Sec. 2. Subsection (1), Section 186, Texas Election
Code, as amended (Article 13.08, Vernon’ s Texas Elee-
tion Code), is amended to read as follows:

**(1) On or before the second Monday in February

\. preceding each general primary election, the county .
| ‘committee shall carefully estimate the cost of printing

the. official ballots, renting polling places where same
may “be found necessary, providing ‘and distributing
all necessary poll books, blank stationery and voting

. booths required, compensation of eléttion officers and

clerks, and all.other necessary expenses of holding the
general primary” and second primary in such county.
On the second Monday in February, the committee

- shall meet and apportioi?such cost in such manner as
in their judgment is just and equitable among the var-

ious candidates for nomination. district, county, .
and precinct offices, who did not file with.their appli-

-eation a supporting petition: of voters as provided in .
' °, Section 186¢ of this code, except the offices of Justice |
-» Of the Court of Civil Appeals and member of the State

Board of Education. Where a district office covers
more than one county, the assessment of such candidate

_ by the county shall be not more than a sum which is |

the quotient of the amount which he would be assessed

if he represented only one county determined by the -
- formula used: to assess county candidates, when. di-
vided” ‘by the number of counties in his district. In.

oa |

s

_——oo ee ee
I i i, ee *
‘
6
. .

2
.

making the —- upon any candidate the com-

mittee shall give"due consideration to the importance,

emolument, and term of office for which the nomina-
tion is to be made. The committee may not assess any
candidate an amount in excess of four percent of the
total compensation payable for the particular term of

_ Office (full or partial) which he is seeking. Within 24.
hours after adjournment of the meeting, the chairman

shall mail to each person against whom an assessment
is made a notice stating the amount of the expenses
apportioned to him and informing him that on or be-
fore the fourth Monday in Seay he dhust’ pay to

‘the chairman the difference between the amount appor-
tioned to him and the amount of the. deposit which

accompanied the application which he filed with the

chairman. No such person’s name shall be placed on

the ballot unless he complies with these requirements
within the prestribed, time. The notices shall be.sent to

the candidates by registered or certified mail, and the

chairman shall obtain a receipt for each letter, post-
marked by the post office at which the letter is mailed,
as evidence of the mailing, and: shall preserve the re-

_ ceipts for a period of three months.”’

Sec. 3. Section 186, Texas Election Code, as amend-

_ ed (Article 13.08, Vernon’s' Texas Election Code), is
amended by adding Subsections (5), (6), and (7), to —

read as follows:

(5) Notwithstanding any other provision of this -

section, an assessment shall not be made against a can-
didate who has-filed with his application a petition of.

voters as provided in Section 1860 of this code, |

**(6) In conducting the primary elections, the com-

, mittee is authorized to utilize volunteer unpaid serv- — ’

ices of election judges and clerks, to accept gratuities

of other services and other things of value, and to use

3 —

&

funds derived from contributions, fund-raising events,
and other lawful sources by way of supplementing the

funds derived from assessments levied under this sec-
tion.

(C1) AL after ‘the committee has sails the assess-

ments authorized by Subsection (1) of this section, a

court of competent jurisdiction declares the assess-

ments to be invalid, the committee may reassess. the,

candidates in an effort to bring the‘amounts within
the court’s delineation of permissible limits. In the
. event of a reassessment, the committee shall fix the

__” date by which the new assessments must be paid, which ©
' ° date shall be at least 10 days after the date of the meet-

ing at which the reassessment is madé. Within 24 hours
_ after adjournment of the meeting, the chairman shall
give notice, in the manner required for notice of, the
original assessment, to each candidate who has bot pi
‘the original assessment. Within 30 days after the da

of the meeting, the county chairman shall refund to
each candidate who paid the original assessment the
difference between the amount of the original assess-
ment and the. new assessment.’’ a

\

Sec. 4. The Texas Election Code is amended by add-

ing Section 186c, to read as follows:

“186¢e. Petition of voters in liew. of payment of as-
sessment or fee a

“ (a) Notwithstanding any provision: in. Section
185a, Section 186, Section 190, Section 190a,, Section
193, or any other’‘section of this code, a candidate for

any public office who files with his application fer a

place on the ballot in the general primary election a
petition which complies with this section is not re-

quired to pay the deposit, assessment, or fee required .
by any other section of this code, The petition must |

—

4
P seed itis

accompany the oe and be filed at the same
time that the application is filed. Where a candidate
_ for a district office is required to file an application —
with more than one county chairman, he: shall file the
petition with the county chairman in the county of his
residence and shall attach to the petition the name and

~~ address of each other county chairman with whom an

_ application is filed. He shall attach to the application
which is filed with each othér chairman a statement
that the ‘petition has been filed, giving the name and
addfess of the chairman with whom it is filed. The
chairman with whom the petition is filed shall certify
_ to each other county chairman in the district. whether
the petition complies with the requirements of this
section. Where the filing deadline for the office is on or
before the fourth Monday in February, the chairman
shall make the certification not later than the second.
Monday in March. Where the filing deadline is after
the’ fourth Monday in February, he shall make. the:
certification within 15 days after the deadline or by the
25th day before the general primary, whichever : is
earlier. . §

“(b) A petition which is filed in lieu of the pay-
ments required by other sections of this code must be
signed’ by qualified voters eligible to vote for the office
for which the candidate is Tunning, equal in number |
to at least 10 percent of the entire vote cast for that
party’s candidate for governor in the last preceding
general election in the territory. (state, district, courity,
or precinct, as the case may be) in which the candidate .
is running. Where a candidate is running in a district

or precinct which has been created or the boundaries
-. of which have been changed since the last. general elec-
tion, he may request the secretary of state in the case
of a district: — and the county judge « of the ® county |

—8T+

in which the precinct is situated in the case of a pre-
_ ¢inct office, to make an estimate in advance of thé filing
deadline of the numiber of votes cast for that party’s
candidate for governor within that territory at the last -
general election, and upon receiving such a request the
officer shall make the estimate and notify the candidate
and each chairman with whom the candidate files an
- application: The. estimate shall be used as the official —
- basis for. computing the number of signatures required
.’' on the petition. If an advance estimate is not requested,
the chairman with whoni the petition is filed shall make ©
the estimate before he acts on the sufficiency of the
petition. In every instance, the candidate may chal-
lenge the: accuracy of the estimate, and if he is dissat-
_ isfied with the final decision of the officer he may ap-
peal the decision to any district court in the territory
involved. The decision of the district court is final. —

*“*(c) The application of a candidate who files a pe-
tition under this section must be executed by the can-
didate personally, and the provision in Section 190
which permits the filing of. an application signed by 25

.’ qualified voters is not available to a candidate who

- files a petition under this section.

‘‘(d) The petition shall show in bold print’ on each
page the following: ‘PETITION IN LIEU OF FI-
ING FEE TO PLACE THE NAME OF__.______
-----.----------ON THE PRIMARY. BALLOT OF
ene Se .-----PARTY FOR THE OFFICE OF
eee tome tees PLEASE READ ALL TERMS
CAREFULLY. ' and the following information’ with
" respect to each person, signing it: his address, the num-
_ ber of his voter registration certificate for’ the voting

year in which the election is-held and also the county
of issuance if different from the county in which he
_ resides at the time of signing, and the date of signing.

— 38 —

et ht. Fait

—.“(e) No petition may contain. the name of more
than one candidate. No person may sign the petition
of more than one candidate for the same office, and if
any person signs the application of more than one can-
didate for the same office, the signature is void as to
all such petitions. However, a person may withdraw

and annul his signature by delivering to the candidate

and to the chairman with whom the petition is filed

(or is to be filed, if not then filed), his written request, _

signed and duly acknowledged by him, that his signa-

_ ture be cancelled and annulled. The request must be ©

delivered not later than five days before the last day |
for. filing the petition. Upon such withdrawal, the per-
son is free to sign the petition-of. another candidate for
the same office in the same party’s primary, but the
withdrawal does not have the effect of relieving the
candidate of his ineligibility to affiliate with some other

' political party during the voting: year in which the

election is held. The candidate from whose petition a

Signature is withdrawn may file additional signatures

to replace the withdrawn signature at any time before
the filing deadline, but signatures filed after the date °
of the candidate’s application which may be counted
toward the required number shall not exceed the num-
ber of withdrawn signatures. |

“(£)_ To each person who signs a petition there shall
be adminstered the following oath, which shall be re-
duced to writing and made a part of each page of the

- petition: ‘I know the contents of this petition. I am a
_ qualified voter eligible to vote.in the forthcoming pri-

mary election of the ~---_1____ sesh aime Party -for the
office for which _______________ ig a candidate. I have

" not signed the petition of any other candidate for this
' office or I have withdrawn my signature for any other
_ candidate in the manner provided by law, and I have -

— $9 —

not sigue the petition of a candidate who i is running

for any office in the primary of any other party. I un-

derstand that by signing this pétition I became ineli-

gible to affiliate with any other party or to participate

_-in the primary élections, conventions, or other party

.. affairs of any other party during the — year in
which this election is held. ?

‘‘(g) After a person has signed the petition of a.
candidate, the person’s signature i is void as to the pe-
tition of any: candidate who is running in the primary -
election of any other party. He also becomes ineligible -
to affiliate with any other party during the voting year’
in which the election is held. If he participates or at-
tempts to participate in the primary election or con-

. vention of any other party during that voting year,
he is guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction is
' punishable by a fine not to exceed $1,000.

Ch) A petition max not be circulated for signa-

tures earlier than 90.days preceding the deadline for
filing the petition. Any signature obtained on or before
the 91st day preceding the deadline is void. The officer
who administers the oath required by Subsection (f) _
of this section shall verify that the. correct date of

signing is shown on the petition.

G) The secretary of state shall oreseribe a a ‘form
for the petition. However, a candidate may use any
othe ‘form which sompiies with the eqs ireanenite of

section.”’

Sec. 5. The following sections of the Texas Election ‘
Code are repealed: Section 186a, as amended.(Article -
13.08a, Vernon’s Texas Election Code), Section 186a-1
. (Article 13.08a-1), and Section 194, as amended Lap
ticle 13.16). |

. See. 6. If any provision of this Act or the ‘applica-
—— 40 — ' tm |

y

: tion thereof to any person or circumstances is held in- ,
valid, such invalidity shall not affect other provisions my

or applications of the Act which can. be given effect
without the invalid 7 provision or application, and to _
this end the provisions of this Act are declared to be |

- severable.

Sec.. 7. (a) This Act is enacted aé a contingent,
temporary law, to become effective only as stated in
Subsection (b) of this section; and.if it does become -

effective, it expires on December 31, 1972.

(b) This Act becomes effective only upon the con-

_. dition that, before January 1, 1972:
(1) the Supreme Court of -the United States does.

not dispose of the appeal filed in that court from the

_ Judgment of the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Texas, Dallas Division, in Civil '
Action No. CA 3-3635-C, styled Van Phillip Carter vs. -
Martin Dies, Jr., et al, by action which becomes final
before January 1, 1972; or |

(2) the Supreme Court of the United States affirms

or refuses to review the judgment of the district court . -
‘in the aforesaid case, or by other action taken upon an

appeal of that case the Supreme Court rules that either _

of the following sections of the Texas Election Code

as they exist before the amendments made by this Act,

violates the Constitution of the United States: Sections

185a, 186, 186a, 193, and 194. a

-(e) Not ‘later than January 5, 1972, the tien :
Genseal of Texas shall certify to the Governor and to
the Secretary of State whether either of the two con- -
ditions stated in Subsection (b) has been fulfilled, and
the Governor immediately shall issue his proclamation
ee whether this Act becomes effective. If _—

4

.o\
° |.

\.

of the conditions for:effectiveness is fulfilled, the Act
takes effect on the date of the Governor’s proclamation.

(d) If this Act takes effect, upon its expiration on.

December 31, 1972, the law as it existed before the
__ effective date of the Act again becomes operative until -
: otherwise provided by the Legislature.

See. 8. The importance of this legislation , and the
crowded. condition of the calendars in both houses cre-
ate an emergency and an imperative public necessity
that the Con&stitutional Rule requiring bills to be read
on three several days in each house be suspended, and
this Rule is hereby suspended. ;

: gee - —_——--— ee

“Lieutenant Governor
_ President of the Senate ©

y hereby certify that H.B. N 0. 5 was passed by the
House on June 4, 1971, by the ne vote: Yeas ,
110, N. ays 23.. 0

Chief Clerk of. the House

I hiareby certify that bc B. No. 5 was passed by the - |
Senate on June 4, 1971, by a viva voce vote. |

_ APPROVED: --2.-------------- =e

Governor
in a

—422— .

Cte

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386413_0327%3A05. Public record. Not legal advice.
