# Opposition Brief — National Labor Relations Board v. Natural Gas Utility District

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386413_0291%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1971
- **Citation:** 402 U.S. 600

## Text

Pal
.

MeBPOUUCTION oases sen casessecsnesssssasscnecscenssensuncensssnessne. hiekahasbosibed pool
1. Answer to “Questions Presented” eiakiien [sepals Bee
fl. Answer to “Statement” ie a

A. The Board’s Findings of Fact | ..............-.. 3
B. The Decisions of the Board and the Court of
Appeals anne ccasessccesesensneenssassneseessnnsnssnsansnssssencsecssseass 8
Ill. Answer to “Reasons for Granting the Writ” 11
A. The Randolph Case and the Case at Bar Deal
with Different Entities 12
B. The Court of Appeals Below Followed the Ran-
dolph Case by a into Account the Econo-
mic Realities i . 16
Conclusion. 20

Case Citations

Bailey v. Carolina Power wise sett 212 N.C. 768, 195
SE. 64 (1938) . 14

Cardillo v. Liberty Mutual Co., 330 US. 469, 423 (1947. ee

First Suburban Water Utility District v. McCanless, 177
Tenn. 128, 146 S.W.2d 948 (1941) 00. 8
Mobile cesnianted Authority, etc., 8 NLRB 1297 (1938)
Si ae 11, 18
National Laie iladlens ai v. : linen ‘Poaie Elec-
tric Membership Corp., 65 NLRB 760 (1946) . 12
National Labor Relations Board v. Hearst Publications,
Be, SEZ UG. 102 (1044) .....2..2020n..0-cerenecoresseercenssosseesneee 19, 20
National Labor Relations Board v. Randolph Electric

Shh voaiaade ey 343 F.2d 60 (1965) ...........
2,3, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20

New ‘Bedford, Wood's Hole, Martha’s Vineyard, etc.,
Steamship Authority, 127 NLRB 1322 (1960) ....... 11, 19

— BNC ae sae

ate ep eee eae ee

11 INDEX

New Jersey Turnpike Authority, 33 LRRM 1528 (1954)

11, 15,18

Oxnard Harbor District, 34 NLRB 1285 (1941) 11,18

Pitt and Greene Electric Membership Corporation v.
Carolina Power and Light Co., 255 N.C. 258, 120
S.E.2d 749 (1961) br . &

West v. American Telephone and Telegraph, 311 USS.
223 (1940) 19

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1970

RR re MEE ae

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD,
Petitioner,
vs.
THE NATURAL GAS UTILITY DISTRICT OF
HAWKINS COUNTY, TENNESSEE,
Respondent.

BRIEF OF RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION TO

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

INTRODUCTION

The respondent, The Natural Gas Utility District of
Hawkins County, Tennessee, respectfully urges that the
Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court
of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit, filed herein on behalf of
the National Labor Relations Board, be denied.

2

The only question presented is whether the decision of
the Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit below is in con.
flict with the decision of the Court of Appeals for the
Fourth Circuit in National Labor Relations Board Vv. Ran.
dolph Electric Membership Corp., 343 F.2d 60 (1965).

It is submitted, that for the reasons set forth herein.
after, there is no conflict between the two decisions, and,
accordingly, the petition should be denied.

I,
ANSWER TO “QUESTIONS PRESENTED”

Respondent disagrees with petitioner’s statement of
the “questions presented.”

The question presented here is not “Whether federal
law rather than state law governs the determination,
under Section 2(2) of the National Labor Relations Act,
whether an entity created by a state is a ‘political sub-
division’ thereof and therefore not an ‘employer’ subject to
the Act.” Neither is it “Whether the Board properly con-
cluded that the respondent public utility district is not
a political subdivision of the State of Tennessee, and
whether, under the correct standard of judicial review,
the court of appeals should have upheld that determina-
tion.”

The reasons considered by this Honorable Court in
deciding whether or not to grant a petition for a writ of
certiorari are set forth in Rule 19 of the rules of this Court.

The only reason for granting such a writ alluded to
in the contents of the petition herein is that set forth in
Rule 19(1)(b) as follows:

“Where a court of appeals has rendered a decision in
conflict with the decision of another court of appeals
on the same matter.”

—

3

Thus, the only question here presented is whether the
decision of the court of appeals below is in conflict with
the decision of the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals in the
Randolph case, supra, on the same matter.

As explained hereinafter, the two decisions did not
consider “the same matter,” and, in any event, the court
of appeals below decided this case in accordance with the
rule in the Randolph case, merely distinguishing the facts
here involved.

It is submitted that what petitioner has done in its
petition is to take the last several sentences from the
full opinion of the court of appeals below and presented
the same so as to try to create a conflict in the two de-

cisions.

It is submitted that a conflict in decisions which would
be the basis for granting the petition for certiorari does
not exist.

II.
ANSWER TO “STATEMENT”

A. The Board’s Findings of Fact.

Respondent only partially agrees with this portion of
petitioner’s brief. On page 3 of its brief, petitioner states:

“The undisputed facts with respect to the District’s
status as an employer under the Act are as follows.”

The petitioner then sets out a few facts, also some argu-
mentative conclusions, but does not list many other un-
disputed facts in this record with respect to the District’s
status as an employer under the Act.

Respondent desires to set out the following additional
undisputed facts:

amu

4

(a) The Natural Gas Utility District of Hawkins
County, Tennessee is only one of nearly 270 utility dis.
tricts in the 95 counties in the State of Tennessee (R. 50)!

(b) Any district established under the Utility Dis.
trict Law of 1937 (R. 98-130) is specifically empowered
under §6-2608, Tennessee Code Annotated, “to conduct,
operate and maintain a system or systems for the furnish.
ing of water, sewer, sewage disposal, natural gas, artificial
gas, police, fire protection, garbage collection and garbage
disposal, street lighting, parks and recreational facilities,
transit facilities, etc., or two or more of such systems—
and to carry out such purpose will have the power and
authority to acquire, construct, reconstruct, improve, bet-
ter, extend, consolidate, maintain and operate such system
or systems within or without the district - - -” (R. 120).

(c) The Utility District Act was passed by the Ten-
nessee legislature to provide a municipal corporate ar-
rangement to furnish certain needed governmental services
usually in small towns and rural areas, including, but not
limited to, the foregoing listed services; these services
were not, and, usually could not be, otherwise provided
(R. 51); $6-2607, T.C.A., provides that the district, when
formed, “shall be the sole public corporation empowered to
furnish such services,” so long as the district continues to
furnish any of the services which it is herein authorized
to furnish (R. 117).

(d) The legislature further provided in §6-2607,
T.C.A., that: “From and after the date of the making and
filing of such order of incorporation, the district so in-
corporated shall be ‘a municipality’ or public corporation
in perpetuity - - -.”

1. “R.” refers to the joint appendix before the Court of
Appeals, a copy of which was filed with the petition.

ww

5

(e) The county judge who appoints the first com-
missioners, and who fills vacancies in the event the com-
missioners cannot agree among themselves, is the top gov-
erning official in each county and is himself a publicly
elected official (R. 86).

(f) Commissioners serve with only very nominal
compensation (R. 126).

(g) So long as a district shall own any system, its
property and revenue are exempt from all state, county
and municipal taxation, and its bonds are also so exempt,
except for estate, inheritance and transfer taxes (R. 113).

(h) By §6-2613, T.C.A., utility districts are specifically
exempt from state regulation by the Tennessee Railroad
and Public Utilities Commission, even though privately
owned public utilities are specifically covered (R. 106).

(i) Further, §6-2615, T.C.A., speaks of the utility dis-
trict’s records as “public records” (R. 107).

(j) Apart from the Utility District Act, §6-318,
T.C.A., “Municipal Property and Services,” §6-604, T.C.A.,
in the Municipal Corporations section, and §9-1202, T.C.A.,
dealing with revenue bond refinancing, refer to and/or
characterize a utility district as a “municipality” (R. 36).

(k)- Under several federal statutes, including 42 USC
418 (and its counterpart in the Tennessee Code, §8-3811),
recognition is given to the fact that a utility district is a
governmental entity; an arrangement is provided for vol-
untary coverage to provide social security benefits to Dis-
trict employees, rather than the mandatory coverage re-
quired of non-governmental entities; also interest earned
on a utility district’s bonds is claimed to be exempt from
federal income tax (R. 35).

6

(1) The district is required to publish its annual state.
ment in a newspaper of general circulation by :6-26}7.
T.C.A. (R. 108).

(m) The district not only has the power of eminent
domain, but can exercise it even against other govern.
mental entities (R. 104).

(n) The state legislature passed this Act to provide
a municipal corporate arrangement to furnish certain re.
quired services, not feasibly done otherwise (R. 30, 50).

(0) Section 6-2612 of the Utility District Act is a gen-
eral grant of power and vests in the district “all the powers
necessary and requisite—capable of being delegated by the
legislature” (Emphasis added) (R. 105).

(p) Section 6-2614, T.C.A., as amended, provides that
in certain counties, the three commissioners be appointed
until the first of the month following the next general elec-
tion and, at that election, the commissioners be elected for
terms of 2, 4, and 6 years by the qualified voters of the
district (R. 125).

(q) Vacancies, other than those filled as above, are
filled by a vote of the remaining commissioners. If they
fail to agree, the fact is certified to the County Judge, who
appoints the new commissioner (R. 106, 125). Thus, the
district is administered, either by publicly elected officials,
or by officials‘ appointed by publicly elected officials of
the county.

(r) The general ouster law of Tennessee available for
ouster or removal of elected officials applies to the district's
commissioners (R. 106; see notes after §6-2614, T.C.A.).

On page 4 of the petition the following are listed among
the “undisputed” facts:

a

7

“The powers of the District are vested in and exer-
cised by a three member board of commissioners, who
are not subject to state or county regulation (Emphasis
added). . . . Neither the state nor the county has any
control over the District’s employees, and they are not
considered state or county employees.” (Emphasis
added).

It is submitted these statements, rather than being un-
disputed facts, are actually dubious and/or argumentative
conclusions when considered in the light of all the truly
undisputed facts, including (a) through (r) listed on pages
4 through 6.

Two other observations must be made about these so
called “facts”’:

(a) In the opinion of the Court of Appeals below,
reported at 427 F.2d 312, the following appears as footnote
2 on page 314:

“We disagree with the Board’s ruling that because the
State does not supervise the District or remove or dis-
cipline its commissioners or subordinates, therefore the
District is not a political subdivision. We would think
that the independence of the District strengthens rather
than weakens the proposition that it is a political sub-
division.”

(b) Section 6-2613, T.C.A., specifically exempts a dis-
trict from the regulation by the State Railroad and Public
Utilities Commission required of a private utility. This is
done because of a district’s governmental nature.

What is significant about this is that the National Labor

Relations Board has misunderstood the significance of this
exemption throughout this entire proceeding.

It is submitted that both of the foregoing are typical
examples of the Board’s failure in this case to properly
evaluate the “economic realities.”

—

8

FP. The Decisions of the Board and the Court of
Appeals.

In its brief on page 6, petitioner, in referring to the
initial Board decision, states that despite the fact that the
Supreme Court of Tennessee had characterized districts
as “arms or instrumentalities” of the state,

“the Board examined all of the relevant factors and
concluded that the District was ‘an essentially private
venture, with insufficient identity with or relationship
to the State of Tennessee to support the conclusion that
it is an exempt governmental employer under the
act.’”

There is, however, that large number of relevant
factors above sect out which are in this record and which
the Board apparently failed to consider.

Similarly, in reference to the court of appeals’ action,
on page 7 of its brief, the Board quotes only two paragraphs
from the very end of the opinion below (the entire basis
for contending a conflict exists arises because of this lan-
guage). What petitioner does not do is recognize that the
court of appeals below had, for several pages, approved
the Randolph rule, but merely distinguished the facts here.

Accordingly, the following is also quoted from the
opinion below reported at 427 F.2d 312 on page 313:

“Section 6-2607 of the Tennessee Code, under
which the Utility District was organized, provided
that a District is a ‘municipality or public corporation
in perpetuity under its corporate name and the same
shall be in that name a body politic and corporate
with power of perpetual succession, but without any
power to levy or collect taxes.’

The Supreme Court of Tennessee construed this
Statute in First Suburban Water Util. Dist. v. Mc-
Canless, 177 Tenn. 128, 146 S.W.2d 948 (1941), and

—

held that a District organized under it was a municipal
corporation and as such was an arm or instrumentality

of the state.

The Board declined to follow the decision of
Tennessee’s highest court, relying instead on NLRB
v. Randolph Elec. Membership Corp., 343 F.2d 60 (4th
Cir. 1965), which case involved private non-profit
utility corporations organized under the laws of North
Carolina, which were formed for the exclusive benefit
of their own members, did not have the power of
eminent domain, were not subject to substantial con-
trol or supervision, and did not exercise any portion
of the sovereign power of the state. The Board rea-
soned:

‘The Utility Districts are not created directly by
the State. They are formed by petition of property
owners upon a County Judge’s determination of the
feasibility thereof. Thus, the District is no more
a direct creation of the State than such privately-
owned public service companies as railroads, and
motor carriers, which also require some form of
governmental approval, such as a certificate of con-
venience and necessity.’ (App., p. 15 n. 7).

9

This reasoning is obviously fallacious because
privately owned railroads and motor carriers, even
though they may have certificates of convenience
and necessity, are operated for profit of their owners,
whereas the District is owned and operated by the
state, and not for the profit of private individuals.
The District, unlike railroads and trucking companies,
is a public corporation and was not subject to regu-
lation even by the State Public Utilities Commission,
and was exempt from all state taxes.

Reliance by the Board on Randolph is misplaced.
In Randolph, unlike our case, there was no holding
by the state’s highest court that the private utilities
were political subdivisions of the state.

be oe |

19

In Randolph the private utilities were ‘formed for
the exclusive benefit of its own members.’ Here, the
District was formed for the benefit of the inhabitants
of the community.

In Randolph, the utilities involved did not have
the power of eminent domain. Here, the District not
only has the power of eminent domain but also can
exercise it over other governmental entities.

The Commissioners of the District further have
the power to subpoena witnesses and to administer
oaths. The District’s records are ‘public records.’ The
District is required to publish its annual statement in
a newspaper of general circulation. Income from its
bonds is claimed to be exempt from federal income
taxes. Social Security benefits for its employees are
voluntary instead of mandatory as the District is con-
sidered ‘a political subdivision’ under 42 USC.
$418(5).

In our opinion, it was not necessary that the
District be created directly by the state in order to
constitute a political subdivision. It is sufficient if
the District be created in conformity with state law.

It should be noted that the Act does not require
agencies of either federal or state governments to be
created directly. As a matter of fact, wholly owned
government corporations, including the Federal Re-
serve Bank and even non-profit hospitals, are spe-
cifically exempt.

Under Tennessee law the District is created by
petition to the county judge, an elected official, who
must find a public convenience and necessity therefor.
The county judge appoints the first three commis-
sioners nominated in the petition seeking formation
of the District, and fills vacancies in the event the
commissioners cannot agree among themselves. In
counties having a population of 482,000 or more the
commissioners of the Districts are elected at regular

_

11

general elections. Although the District involved in
the present case did not have the requisite number of
residents to necessitate the election of its commis-
sioners, this factor indicates that Tennessee considers
the functions of a District to be that of a ‘political
subdivision’ requiring election of commissioners by
the electors when the District encompasses a specified
population.”

Another ground for the decision herein by the Court
of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit was that the Board had
not here even followed its own prior decisions 427 F.2d
312, 314. Mobile Steamship Authority, etc., 8 NLRB 1297
(1938); Oxnard Harbor District, 34 NLRB 1285 (1941);
New Jersey Turnpike Authority, 33 LRRM 1528 (1954);
New Bedford Wood’s Hole, Martha’s Vineyard, etc., Steam-
ship Authority, 127 NLRB 1322 (1960).

Accordingly, it is submitted, petitioner in its brief,
as it has done since its earliest decision in this matter,
has failed to consider all the facts in the record.

Petitioner has also failed to adequately set forth and ex-
plain the opinion below of the Court 0: Appeals for the
Sixth Circuit.

ITI.
ANSWER TO “REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT”

The decision of the Court of Appeals below is not
in conflict with the decision of the Court of Appeals for
the Fourth Circuit in National Labor Relations Board v.
Randolph Electric Membership Corporation, 343 F.2d 60.

The two decisions do not involve “the same matter.”
(Rule 19(1) (b) of this Court)

First, the two decisions deal with different entities.

gy

12
i Second, the Court of Appeals’ decision below, when
: considered as a whole, actually followed the Randolph
2 case, set out many “economic realities” and based its de.
cision on them, rather than merely blindly and unques-

tioningly following state law, as the petition infers,

At most, the sentence or two from the opinion below
relied upon by petitioner as creating a conflict between
this case and Randolph is merely an additional reason
for the result reached herein.

There is also a third basis for the result reached here-
in, i.e., “Prior decisions of the Board do not support its
holding here”. 427 F.2d 312, 314. It is submitted this other
reason for the decision below is merely another ground
for concluding there is no conflict between the decision
in this case and the decision in the Randolph case.

eons ors

A. The Randolph Case and the Case at Bar Deal
with Different Entities.

The Randolph case dealt with electric membership
corporations while the case at bar deals with utility dis-
tricts. Even a cursory comparison of a North Carolina
electric membership corporation with a Tennessee Util-
ity District reveals a different entity.

Coincidentally, the Tennessee statutes also provide
for the organization of electric membership corporations
in T.C.A. §65-2401 et seq. They are, when formed, very
similar to those in the Randolph case, being essentially
non-profit cooperatives and otherwise similar to privately
owned public utilities. The National Labor Relations
Board has itself ruled on such a Tennessee electric mem-
bership corporation. NLRB v. Gibson County Electric
Membership Corp., 65 NLRB 760 ( 1946). (This case was
also cited in the Randolph case.)

13

In its brief, on page 8 thereof, petitioner states that
the electric membership corporation considered in
Randolph was created pursuant to a state statute similar
to the Tennessee statute (T.C.A. §6-2601, $6-2636) creat-
ing the utility districts. It is submitted, there is little
resemblance between these two statutes. The North Car-
olina statute considered in Randolph is, however, quite
similar to §65-2401, T.C.A., which provides for electric
membership cooperatives in Tennessee.

A comparison of the North Carolina Electric Member-
ship Corporation Act, involved in the Randolph case,
with the act creating the utility districts in Ten-
nessee, involved in the case at bar, reveals significant
differences between the two:

(a) Under the Tennessee Utility District Act, the
district may furnish one or more types of service (includ-
ing fire, police, garbage collection, etc.) to all persons in
the district and has an exclusive franchise for same in

the designated area.

Sections 117-15 and 117-16 of the General Statutes of
North Carolina make it clear that only members are en-
titled to get electric power from the North Carolina Electric

Membership Corporation.
Section 117-16 provides as follows:

“The corporate purpose of each corporation formed
hereunder shall be to render service to its members only

Tennessee utility districts, being political subdivisions
of the state, must render service to all persons ir the dis-
trict.

The North Carolina electric membership corporations,
not being governmental in nature, are required by statute

—

to render services only to their members, and other mem.
bers of the public are not entitled to get service from it and,
in fact, are prohibited from getting service from it.

The case of Bailey v. Carolina Power Company, 219
N.C. 768, 195 S.E. 64 (1938), held that persons, not mem.
bers of the electric membership corporation involved in
the case, could not maintain an action challenging the
validity of the acts of the director of the corporation and,
that, the fact that a person is a member of the community,
or a resident of the territory, in which an electric mem-
bership corporation is authorized to operate, or might be
eligible for membership therein, does not entitle him to
service by such corporation.

Thus, an electric membership corporation exists solely
for the benefit of its members; a Tennessee utility district
exists to provide governmental services to citizens in certain
areas and is similar to a county or municipality. Further,
among the type of services that may be rendered by a
utility district are such traditionally governmental serv-
ices as fire, police, street lighting, garbage collection. etc.

(b) The Tennessee Utility District Act provides that
the district not only has the power of eminent domain, but
can exercise it even against other governmental entities
; (R. 104). On the other hand, §117-18(6) of the General
Statutes of North Carolina provides that:

“Subject only to the constitution of the state, a corpo-
ration created under the provisions of this article shall
have power to - - - apply to the North Carolina Rural
Electrification Authority for permission to construct
or place any parts of its system or lines in and along
any state highway or over any lands which are now,
or may be, the property of this state, or any political
subdivision thereof. In all questions involving the
right of way, or the right of eminent domain, the rul-

ELSE LEE NAY IES SERENE DB ROBERLV LEST? BBE 9 800 BES

15

ings of the North Carolina Electrification Authority
shall be final.” (Emphasis added).

Thus, the North Carolina electric membership corpo-
rations specifically do not have the power of eminent do-
main, while the Tennessee public utility districts not only
have this power, but have it against other governmental
bodies.

The Board itself in the New Jersey Turnpike Author-
ity case, supra, has held the presence of this power (emi-
nent domain) to be a determinative factor in determining
an entity to be a governmental subdivision.

(c) Section 6-2607, T.C.A., provides that, once formed,
a Tennessee utility district shall be the only public corpo-
ration empowered to perform its services within its district.
On the other hand, it was held in the case of Pitt and
Greene Electric Membership Corporation v. Carolina Power
and Light Co., 255 N.C. 258, 120 S.E.2d 749 (1961), that an
electric membership corporation and a privately owned
public utility corporation are free to compete in rural areas,
unless restricted by contract.

(d) Section 117-13 of the North Carolina Act pro-
vides that each corporation shall have a Board of Directors
to be elected annually by the members, and the powers of
the corporation shall be vested in said Board. This pro-
cedure resembles the stockholders and the directors of a
private corporation and is to be contrasted with that fol-
lowed to select the commissioners of the Tennessee utility
district. Said commissioners are appointed by the county
judge, the top elected official in most counties, and, in cer-
tain counties, it is provided, said utility district commis-
sioners are elected in general elections.

Also of great significance is that profits (similar to
dividends) inure to the exclusive benefit solely of the mem-

2
— AOC PE LINE PCTS Fig? We DARL a ON eT GAPE A Ra a Be relate I ABS ae

1

ber (rimilar to stockholders) of the Bleotrte Membership
Corporation; while the District under (209m, TOA, (R
112) may only charge such rates ae to remain self stp:
porting, and all aes in the entire area are affected by
rate changer (the name an raten charged by a county and op
a muntelpality for governmental services affect all users
in the county and or municipality)

(©) Ih respondent's anawer to the statement of the
Hane, Heapondont haa wet out herein, at pager 4 through
vertain other factors which lead to the conelusion that the
Utility cintriet im a political subdivision, None of these
factors are provided for under the Klectric Membership
Corporation Aet of North Carolina

Thus, respondent contends that there inno conflict in
the two decisions; one holda that an electric membership
corporation in nota “political subdivision", and the other
holds that a utility diatrictds a “political subdivinion.”

B. ‘The Court of Appeals Below Followed the Ran.
dolph Case by Taking Into Account the Keo.
nomle Realition,

The Fourth Cireuit Court in Randolph stated at 943 P24
ti:

“. «= = To the extent that it has taken into account

economic realities as well ax the statutory purposes,

the Roard’s determination ix entitled to great respect”
(Emphasis supplied),

It is, of course, the undenied duty and authority of the
National Labor Relations Board to make an initial deter-
mination of its own jurisdiction, and having done so, to act
as it feels the situation demands.

It is, however, and has been throughout the course of
these proceedings, respondent's position that the NLRB

7

has incorrectly decided Ht has jurisdiction, and, thereafter,
has consistently refused to recensider the question (i 1%,
19-26).

The Handolph case certainly does not stand for the
proposition that once the Hoard has determined ite awn
jurisdiction, the eourts ler nied Vatever Chee right try ehaablenipge it
This position is in conflict with basic horn book law Ju
riadiction can be raised at any time in a proceeding In
Cardillo v. Liberty Mutual Company, 490 UG Mi, ATS
(1947), it wan stated

“But in reviewing an administrative order, it is oni
narily preferable where the issue is raised and where
the record permite an adjudication, for a federal court
first to satinfy itself that the administrative speney
or officer had jurisdiction over the matter in dispute”

It in respondent's position that the Hoard fwiled tw
correctly analyze the “economic renlities” and/or evaluate
the total picture, and, consequently, filed ty conrerAly
apply the “political subdivision” exemption of $212) A
the National Labor Helations Act, which respondent a
serts in Clearly dictated in this case, and which the Board's
regional office held applicable in Case No 26600-2972, itv
volving another Tennessee utility district with identica)
powers and created under the same Act H, 64, 5% and

Respondent contends that the Court of Appeals below
followed the Randolph rule. Rather than holding that state
law, rather than Federal law, governs, without consd-
ering other factors, that court took into account Ah the
“economic realities and the statutory pure” Thus
the Court below followed the rule of the Randolph case but
distinguished the facts here.

The actual holding of the Randolph case with refer-
ence to the effect of state Jaw in interpretetion of the
Wagner Act is as follows:

RETIRE RS OO ALi: 5 gE AO AT NITES BAI We LACE LM. IETS TRO

“The fact that North Carolina sees fit to characterize
snch corporations as ‘political subdivisions iS Not
decisive of the question before us. sinee their relation
to the state and their actual methods of operation do
not fit the label piven them (emphasis supplied),

The Court of Appeals below held, as) far as utility
distriets are concerned, that their actual methods of opera.
tion and their relation to the state do fit the label that the
state has given them

In other words, the Randolph case held that where the
actual methods of operation and the relation of the body
do not fit the label given them by the state, then the fact
that the state characterizes it. as a “political subdivision”
would not be decisive of the question

At the end of its opinion herein, the Court of Appeals

below did sav

the decision of the Supreme Court of Tennessee
was of controlling importance on the question whether
the Distriet was a political subdivision of the state
Th our opment was binding on the Board.”

Obviously, if the Court ef Appeals below had orly
stated the foregoing and had not, before this, set out in
detail the various economic realities on which it based tts
decision, there might be a conflict if the same type of entity
were mrolred. But, having so set out at length the various
economic realities, the last two sentences in the opinion
are, at most, only another basis for the Court's decision.

Incidentally, still another ground for the result reached
below is, as the Court of Appeals stated: “Prior decisions
of the Board do not support its decision here”, citing var-
ious Board decisions. In Mobile Steamship Authority, ete.
supra, Oxnard Harbor District, supra, and New Jersey
Turnpike Authority, supra, the Board apparently held the

—

19

entities exempt without going, into the question of whether
state law is controlling in what constitutes a political sub-
division. In New Redford, Wood's Hole, Martha's Vine-
yard, ete., Steamship Authority, supra, the Board, citing
West v. American Telephone & Telegraph Co,, 311 US, 223
(1940), held state law controlling on what constitutes a
political subdivision, Thus, it is submitted, this further
demonstrates there is no conflict between the result herein
and Randolph, because the Court below, in part, rested its
decision on the ground that the Board had not followed its
own prior decisions.’

Most certainly, nowhere in Randolph, or in NLRB v.
Hearst Publications, Inc., 332 0.S. 102 (1944), cited by pe-
titioner in its brief and relied upon by the Court in Ran-
dolph, is it stated that state law is not to be considered,
All that the Hearst case said was that state law would not
“exclusively” control. 322 U.S. 102 at page 125

It is extremely important to note that Randolph chiefly
relied upon Hearst.

Thus, the “conflict” boils down to the language, in the
last two sentences of the full opinion below, where the
Court stated that the decision of the Supreme Court of
Tennessee that the District is a political subdivision is
“binding on the Board” and the language in Randolph,
from the Hearst case, that state law does not “exclusively”
control. Is this a conflict in decisions on the same matter?

It is submitted that both courts followed the rule of
first examining and evaluating all the underlying facts and
economic realities in deciding that the entity is, cr is not,

2. To this should be added the Regional Director of Region
26 of the NLRB's ruling in Case No. 26-RC-2972 that the West
Tennessee Public Utility District of Weakley, Carroll and Benton
Counties, Tennessee was not an “employer” within the meaning
of §2(2) of the Act (R. 58).

—

20

a political subdivision; the Court below, after so doing, held
the respondent exempt. When this decision is considered
as a whole, no real conflict exists, even if the same type of
entity were involved—which, it is also submitted, as herein
set out, is not the case.

The Court of Appeals below also followed Randolph
and the case of NLRB v. Hearst Publications, supra, cited
by petitioner in its brief, by looking to the intent of Con.
gress in enacting the National Labor Relations Act. Ran.
dolph required “taking into account - - - the statutory pur.
poses.” The following language taken from the decision
of the Court of Appeals below in the case at bar is per-
tinent:

“It was the clear intention of Congress not to make
amenable to the National Labor Relations Act employ-
ees of either federal or state governments. The effect
of the order of the Board in the present case may be
to extend its jurisdiction over public employees, in
nearly 270 Utility Districts in Tennessee, which Dis-
tricts perform a wide variety of public functions.”

CONCLUSION

As stated above, petitioner’s contention that there is a
conflict of decisions in the courts of appeal is not valid.

Different entities were examined in the two decisions.

Further, in each case, the NLRB or a federal court of
appeals, as the court below in this case and in Randolph
did, must, in determining jurisdiction, consider the eco-
nomic realities, including giving due consideration to state
law, as well as the statutory purposes, in arriving at its
decision as to whether an entity is, or is not, a “political
subdivision.” The particular facts and economic realities
of each case must control.

21

The petition for a writ of certiorari should not be
granted.
Respectfully submitted,

EUGENE GREFNER, JR.
Suite 1601
100 North Main Building
Memphis, Tennessee 38103
J. O. PHILLIPS, JR.
Citizens Union Bank Building
Rogersville, Tennessee 37857
Attorneys for The Natural Gas Utility
District of Hawkins County, Ten-
nessee—Respondent

qs? ee

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386413_0291%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
