# Respondents Brief — Astrup v. Immigration & Naturalization Service

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386413_0284%3A5

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Respondents Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1971
- **Citation:** 402 U.S. 509

## Text

Page
a AAR yt Ai ey 4 rh ea RR ed 1
' tion CeO Oe hea seaneeee ee et ee 1
i sestions presented Se ee ee ee ee 1
a Ei IE At AN OAS 2
i We whieh Shines © te es tes de eh wc Rome eben ech e.g 3
NN sists sinrannone aa neenntiicanmnmegmanes 6

Ar ument:

I. Because petitioner applied for relief from military
service before the effective date of the Immi-
gration and N ationality Act of 1952, his eligi-
bility for citizenship is determined by Section
4(a) of the Selective Service Act of 1948; there-
fore, the making of the application in itself
debarred petitioner from citizenship._________- 10
~ II. Petitioner is also ineligible for citizenship under
Section 315(a) of the Immigration and Nation-

x
Pe.
EP

ce
SS

. PG Anata imegucueaces fenccaera le. 17
nc ccienvadedcsecuatatderstesectet ice. 26
CITATIONS
© Berenyi v. District Director, 385 U.S. 630___..._..._- 25
~~ Cannon v. United States, 288 F. 2d 269..._.._______ 18
> Caputo, Petition of, 118 F. Supp 870_.._.__________. 21
__ Ceballos v. Shaughnessy, 352 U.S. 599.____.________- 7,
12, 13, 14, 16, 21, 24
__ Cuozzo, In re Naturalization of, 235 F. 2d 184_______- 21
Fabbri, In re Petition for Naturalization of 254 F. Supp.
Raa ISR ATi Se es Sl 21-22
' Francieco Ballester Pons v. United States, 220 F. 2d
» 399, certiorari denied, 350 U.S. 830___.__.._____. 16
© Gilligan v. Barton, 265 F.2d 904............-. 16, 21
| Girouard v. United States, 328 U.S. 61______________ 24
| Giz v. Brownell, 240 F.2d 25._._...._........____. 21
| Johannessen v. United States, 225 U.S.227.....____. 25
(n)

421-096—71——-1

;
'

bi ee
Jubran v. United States, 255 F. 2d 81___-..-..-- 16, 17, 21
Kadich, In re, 221 F. Supp. 353._........---...-.-. 21
Kohl, Petition of, 146 F. 2d:347_2.:-.-.-.-.----2.-- py)

Lapenieks v. Immigration and Naturalization Service,
389 F. 2d 343, certiorari gor 391 U.S. 951____. _—

342 U.S. 948 incdtkguhecscnsbueenccccoacesenph 21
Maney v. United States, 278 U.S.17..--.-----.-.--- 4
Matter of J, Sy SG” CRS aN 12
McGrath v. Kristensen, 340 U.S. 162............-.-- 17
Mirzoeff, Petition for Naturalization of, Israel, 196 F.

EY Benign ic enendwnne-scnenwceccccnscnasnep 16
Mirzoeff, Application of, 253 F. 2d 671_.-_--...._-.. 16
Moser v. United States, 341 U.S. 41_-_-_-.__- 12, 22, 23, 25
Rego’s Petition, In re, 289 F, 2d 174... -...---..-- 16, 17, 18
Shomberg v. United States, 348 U.S. 540.....-...._-- 14
Skender’s Petition, In re, 248 F. 2d 92, certiorari de-

einen cdbadeneepeciannins 17
United States v. Bazan, 228 F. 2d 455.........-_- 16, 17, 21
United States v. Ginsberg, 243 U.S. 472......_._.__- oy
United States v. Hoeliger, 273 F.2d 760... - 8, 9, 15, 16, 18, 19
United States v. Kenny, 247 F . 2d 139__....-..-___- 21
United States v. Lacher, 299 F. 2d 919__-__._-.--_--- 18
United States v. Macintosh, 283 U.S. 605_.........-- 4
United States v. Menasche, 348 U.S. 528..........--- 14, 15
Velasquez v. United States, 241 F. 2d 126._...__..._- 17
Wendt, In re, 300 F. Supp. 725. -.....-.-.--------- 21
Zartarian v. Billings, 204 U.S. 170_...-..---...---- %

Constitution, statutes and regulations:
Immigration and Nationality Act, §101(a)(19), 66

Stat. 166, 8 U.S.C. 1101(a)(19)_--.....-..-..--- 2, 15-16
Immigration and Nationality Act, § 244, 66 Stat. 214,

as amended, 8 U.S.C. 1254.._-.-._.-_--....-.-.. 13
Immigration and Nationality Act, §315(a), 66 Stat.

BR Bs Mo nk kw nn nenedeconmawdesacns 2,

7, 8, 9, 10, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 23, 24
Immigration and Nationality Act, § 405(a), 66 Stat.

280, 8 U.S.C. 1101 (note)... -...---.--.___- 7, 14, 15, 16

Selective Draft Act of 1917, § 2,40 Stat. 77_.....___- 10

Selective Draft Act of 1918, §1, 40 Stat. 955..____.- 10, 21

bate

Constitution, statutes and regulations—Continued Page
Selective Service Act of 1948, § 4(a), 62 Stat. 605_-_-_- 3,
7, 10, 11, 12, 13, 16
Selective Training and Service Act of 1940, §3(a), 54
TE, Tia ah nd bo detdecnis dak nethsovdhdewaes 10, 11, 16
Selective Training and Service Act of 1941, § 2, 55 Stat.

United States Constitution, Eighth Amendment... -- 25
Universal Military Training and Service Act of 1951,

SE Oe Ws Picea chensidbhsancnncncesene 11, 12, 16
Be ect bucknakdaadaiawnwabats 11

Oe ae I

Ju the Supreme Gourt of the Wited States

OctToBER TERM, 1970

No. 840

Is Orto ASTRUP, PETITIONER
v.

IMMIGRATION AND NATURALIZATION SERVICE

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF
APPEALS FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENT

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (A. 49) is re-
ported at 432 F. 2d 438. The opinion of the district
court (A. 43-47) is unreported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered
July 8, 1970. Mr. Justice Douglas extended the time
for filing a petition for a writ of certiorari to Octo-
ber 16, 1970. The petition was filed on October 12,
1970. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under
28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether a resident alien who applied for and re-
eeived an exemption from military ‘service as an alien
(1)

2

on condition of permanent ineligibility for Unite
States citizenship remained ineligible to become ,
citizen after he was later reclassified as available fo
military service but not required to serve because of
physical unfitness.

STATUTES INVOLVED

Section 315(a) of the Immigration and N ationality
Act, 66 Stat. 242, 8 U.S.0. 1426(a), provides:

Notwithstanding’ the provisions of section
405(b) of this Act, any alien who applies or
has applied for exemption or discharge from
training or service in the Armed Forces or in
the National Security Training Corps of the
United States on the ground that he is an alien,
and is or was relieved or discharged from such
training or service on such ground, shall be
permanently ineligible to become a citizen of
the United States.

Section 101(a)(19) of the Immigration and No.
tionality Act, 66 Stat. 166. 8 U.S.C. 1101 (a) (19) pro
Vides : =e as

As used & this chapter—

* * * * *

The term “ineligible to citizenship,” when
used in reference to any individual, meatis, not-
withstanding the provisions of any treaties re-
lating to military service, an individual who is,
or was at any time, permanently debarred from
becoming a citizen of the United: States under
section 3(a) of the Selective Training and
Service Act of 1940, as amended (54 Stat. 885;
55 Stat. 844), or under section 4(a) of the Se
lective Service Act of 1948, as amended . (62

£3

Stat. 605; 65 Stat. 76), or under any section
_., of this Act, or any other Act, or under any law
be amendatory of, supplementary to, or in substi-
tution for, any of such sections or Acts. ..
Section 4(a) of the Selective Service Act of 1948.
62 Stat. 605, provided, in pertinent part:

Except as otherwise provided in this title,
ty | every male citizen of the United States, and
every male person residing in the United
States * * * shall be liablé for training and
service in the armed forces of the United
States. Any citizen of a foreign country, who is
not deferrable or exempt from training and
service under the provisions of this title (other
than this subsection), shall be relieved from
liability for training and service under this title
if, prior to his induction into the armed forces,
he has made application to be relieved from
such liability in the manner prescribed by and
in accordance with rules and regulations pre-
: scribed by the President; but any person who
i makes such application shall thereafter be de-

barred from becoming a citizen of the United
Sta * *# &

STATEMENT

Petitioner is a native and citizen of Denmark, who
entered the United States for permanent residence on
February 20, 1950. On August 20, 1950, he registered
| for selective service and’ was thereafter classified I-A
(available for military service) and ordered to report

| for induction. On October 11, 1950, petitioner was
) given a medical examination and found physically
14, 1950, as the law then permitted, he filed an ap-
acceptable for military service (A. 8). On November

RI ES OEE

Crap

: caatemeneemeesee a

4

plication for exemption from military service on the
ground of alienage, and his draft board. thereupon
reclassified him IV-C (alien not currently liable for
military service) (A. 25-30). tor

In 1951, an amendment to the Selective Service
Act eliminated the prior provision under which per-
manent resident aliens could apply for relief from
military service. On August 6, 1952, petitioner was
reclassified I-A, and was ordered to report for physi-
cal examination and induction on September 2, 1952,
This time petitioner’s medical examination showed
that he was suffering from bursitis, and he was found
not physically qualified for military service. Induction
was therefore deferred for three months and on
November 24, 1952, petitioner was classified V-A

(over 26 years of age) (A. 9, 30-31, 36, 39).

On May 14, 1965, petitioner filed a petition for nat-
uralization in the United States District Court at San
Francisco, California (A. 4-5). At a hearing before
a naturalization examiner on September 2, 1966 (A.
19 et seq.), petitioner testified that after his I-A
classification in 1950 he sought the advice of the
Danish consul, who explained the alternatives to him,
and he thereafter filed the application for relief from
military service (Form SSS 130) after he had
“weighed the problem” (A. 26-27, 30). The form he
signed read in part (A. 12-13):

I hereby apply for relief from liability for
training and service in the armed forces of the
United States. I have read the NOTICE given
below, and I understand that I will forever
lose my rights to become a citizen of the United

5

- States, and I may also be prohibited from entry
into the United States or its territories or pos-
sessions as a result of filing this application.

The ‘‘NOTICE” referred to was as follows:

Section 4(a) of the Selective Service Act of
1948, provides in part that “any citizen of a
foreign country, who is not deferrable or ex-
empt from training and service under the pro-
visions of this title (other than this subsection),
shall be relieved from liability for training and
service under this title, if, prior to his induction
into the armed forces, he has made application
to be relieved from such liability in the manner
prescribed by and in accordance with rules and
regulations prescribed by the President; but
any person who makes such application shall
thereafter be debarred from becoming a citizen
of the United States.” Under other existing
law, an alien who is not a permanent lawful
resident of the United States at the time of
execution of this application, thereafter be-
comes barred from ever making an entry for
permanent residence into the United States,
including Alaska, Hawaii, Puerto Rico, and
the Virgin Islands, unless he enters as a min-
ister of any religious denomination or as a pro-
fessor of a college, academy, seminary, or
university.

Petitioner testified that he had read and understood
this Notice before signing the application (A. 28).
The following colloquy appears’ in’ his statement (A.
29-30) :

Q. Then, is te any possibility that you did
not understand that by signing this form you

421-006—71——-2

b

would be forever debarred from becoming: a.
_ eitizen of the United States? of
| Ay No, there was not. ha
In his statement to the designated naturalization ex.
aminer, petitioner also stated that he had applied for.
relief from military service primarily because he did
not intend to remain permanently in the United.
States and planned to return to Denmark after a year

or two (A. 28).

On July 16, 1968, petitioner appeared for a hearing
before the district court, at which he was represented
by counsel (A. 35 et seq.). He again testified that his
chief reason for making the application for relief
from military service in 1950 was his uncertainty
whether he wished to remain in the United States (A.
36-38). He also stated that when he signed the ap-
plication he understood that it would give him per-
manent deferment and that he would not have signed
it if he had known that his deferment would not be
permanent (A. 38).

The district court denied the petition for natural-
ization, (A. 43-47) and the court of appeals affirmed,
observing that (A. 49) :

He made a considered decision initially to
claim his alienage as a ground for avoiding
military service. We believe the situation should
be tested as of the time his claim was made. |

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
I

Petitioner’s application for an alien’s exemption
from military service was made in 1950, at which time

the Selective Service Act of 1948 was in effect. In
Ceballos v. Shatighnessy, 352 U.S. 599, as here, the
alien’s exemption was later removed, and the alien was
reclassified and ordered to report for induction, but
failed to pass his medical examination. Nonetheless,
this Court held that the language contained in the 1948
Act expressly directed that the making of such an
application in itself debarred the alien from citizen-
ship, and the ensuing circumstances did not remove
the bar.

Petitioner contends, however, that since he applied
for naturalization subsequent to the 1952 effective
date of Section 315(a) of the Immigration and Na-
tionality Act, his disqualification is removed by the
more liberal test of ineligibility set forth in that
statute. But here, as in Ceballos, the controlling date
is not the date on which the petition for naturaliza-
tion was made, but instead, the date on which petition-
er applied for his alien’s exemption. Indeed, Section
405(a) of the Immigration and Nationality Act states
that “unless otherwise specifically provided”, all “lia-
bilities” arising under prior law shall continue in
effect. Petitioner’s debarment from citizenship under
the 1948 Act is just such a pre-existing “liability”.
Sinee Section 315(a) does not contain a specific excep-
tion to the Section 405(a) saving¢ clause, petitioner’s
liability is unaffected by the 1952 statute.

IT

Even if the language of Section 315(a) were appli-
cable to this case, petitioner nonetheless remains in-
dligible to become a citizen. Section 315 requires, in

ee

8 te

addition to the making of an application, thet g
applicant for exemption “is or was relieved”. fp
military. service as a result of his application, eal
It has consistently been held under this statute that
one who. has subsequently been compelled to perforn
military service has not been effectively “ relieved”
from service within the meaning of Section 315, See,
€.g., United States v. Hoellger, 273 F. 2d 760 (C.A,2),
Petitioner argues that since draft-exempt aliens wh
actually serve in the military are not debarred from
seeking citizenship, his debarment here is not the ,re.
sult of his having sought exempt draft status, but is,
instead, the result of his failure to pass a physical
examination. However, we interpret the language “js
or was relieved” to mean that as long as the alien
has not actually served in the armed forces, he re.
mains ineligible for citizenship if he was relieved at
any time on grounds of his alienage. The petitioner
in this case was relieved from service for at least
a year and a half solely on grounds of having sought
an alien’s exemption. Indeed, his alien’s exemption
appears to have been the major factor contributing
to his permanent relief from service, because prior
to seeking that exemption, petitioner had been exam
ined and found physically fit for the draft. Hoellger
and other cases dealing with exempt aliens who. have
actually served in the armed forces have specifically
excluded from their holdings the situation in which the
alien fails to pass his medical examination, on grounds
that in these cases “(T)he physical disability: ;may
have arisen between the date the alien would have
been inducted but for the obtaining of the exemption

rr

= 2

rT Ss Ss nF Ff Be LYS Ss

—
—

Seam BOSS es SB THR BOB &- A

9

and the subsequent date on ‘which: induction is or-
dered.” 273 F. 2d at 763, n. 2. Every court of appeals
which has directly considered the question involved
here has distinguished the Hoellger line of decisions
and agreed with our reading of Section 315.

We reject petitioner’s contention that he was misled
in‘ his assumption that his alien’s exemption would
be permanent, and therefore that he cannot be held
to the consequences of his waiver of eligibility for
citizenship. The only support for the ‘notion that
petitioner was “misled’’ is his assertion that he did
not realize that the exemption would later be re-
moved by statutory amendment. We do not believe
that petitioner’s failure to predict future changes in
the law has any bearing on whether he made a know-
ing waiver of his citizenship benefits.

We agree, however, that our reading of Section
315 produces a somewhat harsh result, for it is
arguable that petitioner is being held here to his
end of what might be regarded as a bargain, even
though some of the consideration for that bargain
has been taken away. Though we believe that there
is support for such a result in the language of Sec-
tion 315, this Court must assess the likelihood that
Congress intended in these circumstances to hold peti-
tioner strictly to his waiver.

Finally, petitioner’s constitutional arguments are
without merit. The condition imposed here with re-
spect to naturalization—that the alien refrain from
removing himself from the duty of performing mili-
tary service—was fair and reasonable. Holding peti-
toner to his considered choice not to seek citizen-

if

ship is not in any way, as petitioner contends,
punitive measure inflicted on petitioner because of
his failure to pass a physical examination.

ARGUMENT

I. BECAUSE PETITIONER APPLIED FOR RELIEF FROM MILi-
TARY SERVICE BEFORE THE EFFECTIVE DATE OF THE
IMMIGRATION AND NATIONALITY ACT OF 1952, His
ELIGIBILITY FOR CITIZENSHIP IS DETERMINED BY §£c-
TION 4(&) OF THE SELECTIVE SERVICE ACT OF 1948;
THEREFORE, THE MAKING OF THE APPLICATION ty
ITSELF DEBARRED PETITIONER FROM CITIZCNSHIP

The conscription laws of this country since Worl
War I have consistently subjected Specified classes
of aliens to compulsory service. In Section 2 of the
_ Selective Draft Act of May 18, 1917, 40 Stat. 71-18,
Congress imposed liability for military service on
“male persons not alien enemies who have declared
their intention to become citizens.’’ This statute was
amended by Section 1 of the Act of August 31, 1918,
40 Stat. 955, to provide that a neutral alien could
obtain relief from military service by withdrawing
his declaration of intention “and he shall forever
be barred from becoming a citizen of the United
States.”

This pattern of relief from military service ani
consequent debarment from citizenship appears, in
varying forms, in all subsequent selective service
statutes. Thus, Section 3(a) of the Selective Training
and Service Act of 1940, 54 Stat. 885, as amended by
Sec. 2 of the Act of December 20, 1941, 55 Stat. 845,
subjected to service all “male person[s] residing in
the United States,” but authorized an application by

“42a PB HH

et ee en nn ee en. on

—_ ball — > |. = = -_- —

_

a neutral alien for relief from military service, spec-
ifying that ‘‘any person who makes such applica-
tion shall thereafter be debarred from becoming a
citizen of the United States.” *

The next major statute was the Selective Service
Act of 1948. Section 4(a) of that statute, 62 Stat. 605-
606, provided for registration and service by every
citizen and “every other male person residing in the
United States”’; it authorized an application for relief
from service by any citizen of a foreign country,
specifying that ‘‘any person who makes such appli-
eation shall thereafter be debarred from becoming a
citizen of the United States.”’

This provision was amended by Section 1(d) of the
Universal Military Training and Service Act of
June 19, 1951, 65 Stat. 76, which made aliens admitted

for permanent residence liable for service without
any provision for exemption.’ It is this provision that
gives rise to the problem in this case.

Petitioner’s application for relief from military
service was made in 1950, when the Selective Service
Act of 1948 was in effect. Under the express direc-

1In its original form, the 1940 Act, enacted before the
United States became a belligerent, had no provision for relief
of aliens from military service.

*The 1951 Amendment also imposed the military obligation
on aliens who remained in the United States in excess of one
year in a status other than that of permanent resident, but
permitted those in this non-permanent group to apply for
relief from military service: again, the amendment
that “any alien who makes such application shall thereafter
be debarred from becoming a citizen of the United States.”
This last formula has been retained in the selective service
law since then, and is incorporated in 50 U.S.C. App. 454(a).

12

tion of Section 4(a) of that statute, the voluntary
making of an application for relief from service in.
itself resulted in petitioner’s debarment from citizen-
ship. Indeed, this Court has expressly held that the
making of the application is the act that triggers
debarment from citizenship under the identical lan-
guage of the 1941 Act. Ceballos v. Shaughnessy, 352
U.S. 599, 604. And as this Court has observed in
Moser v. United States, 341 U.S. 41, 46:
[A]s a matter of law, the statute imposed a
valid condition on the claim of [an] * * * alien for
exemption; petitioner had a choice of exemp-
tion and no citizenship, or no exemption and
citizenship.

Nothing in the circumstances following petitioner’s
application avoids the consequence of his considered
“choice of exemption and not citizenship”. It is true
that, as a permanent resident, he was thereafter re-
classified as available for service after the 1951 amend-
ment. Attorney General McGrath considered similar
cireumstanees in Matter of J, 2 I&N Dee. 545, 552
(1947), involving a neutral alien who had applied for
and had been granted relief from military service in
1943. In 1945, after his country became a cobelligerent,
he was ordered to report for induction and was re
jected as physically unfit. The Attorney General re-
jected the contention that the exemption claim had
not received “complete and uninterrupted re¢ogni-
tion”, and found the alien ineligible for citizenship,
observing :

The language of the statute seems plain and I

think the Congress intended that he should be
bound by his election.

13

‘his Court confirmed the Attorney General’s: view
of the statutory language in Ceballos v. Shaugh-
nessy, supra. There an application for suspension of
deportation was denied on the ground that the appli-
cant was ineligible for citizenship, because he had
obtained relief from military service as a neutral
alien in 1943, and thus was disqualified from suspen-
sion’ His country beeame cobelligerent in November
1943, and in January 1944, five months after he ap-
plied for and obtained relief from military service, he
was reclassified and ordered to report for induction,
but was rejected as physically unfit. As we have noted,
this Court found that the voluntary making of the
application rendered Ceballos ineligible for citizen-
ship, and that this debarment was not altered by the
subsequent events. The Court observed, 352 U.S. at
605:

The neutral alien in this country durmg the
war was at liberty to refuse to bear arms to
help us win the struggle, but the price he paid
for his unwillingness was permanent debar-
ment from United States citizenship.

Petitioner concedes that under the 1948 Act
“[a]Jpplication and application alone was the sig-
nificant event’? (Pet. Br. 21). Petitioner contends,
however, that since he applied for naturalization sub-
sequent to the effective date—December 24, 1952—of

*The immigration law then in effect, unlike the present statute
dealing with suspension of deportation, disqualified aliens in-
eligible for citizenship. See Section 244, Immigration and Na-

of Section 4(a) of the 1948 Act in Ceballos v. Shaugh-
tionality Act, 66 Stat. 214, as amended, 8 U.S.C. 1254.

ane eee eee eee

ie a
bs

14

Section 315(a) of the Immigration and Nationality
Act, 8 U.S.C. 1426(a), his former disqualification hy
been removed by the more liberal “two-pronged” test
of ineligibility set forth in that statute. (See infra,
pp. 17-22.)

In Ceballos, supra, this Court found Section 315 of
the 1952 Act inapplicable to a situation, such as here,
in which the application for exemption giving rise to
ineligibility for citizenship had heen made prior ty
the effective date of that Act in December 1952, Itis
true that the Court in Ceballos relied on a specific say.
ing clause, relating to pending applications for gy.
pension of deportation, set forth in the last senteng
of Section 405(a) of the Immigration and N ationality
Act, 66 Stat. 280, 8 U.S.C. 1101 (note). But there is also:
more general saving clause in the first sentence of See.
tion 405(a), which states that “unless otherwise specifi-
cally provided,’’ all pre-existing ‘conditions, rights,
acts, things, liabilities, obligations, or matters”’ arising
under prior law shall continue in effect. Petitioner’:
debarment from citizenship under the 1948 Seleetive
Service law is just such a pre-existing “liability.”

Although Section 315(a) of the Immigration and
Nationality Act does deal generally with any alien
“who applies or has applied for exemption,” we sub-
mit that this is not a “specific” exception to the sav-
ing clause which would overcome the preservation of
v. Menasche, 348 U.S. 528; Shomberg v. United States,
348 U.S. 540. As this Court stated in the Menasch
case, which confirmed the view that Section 405 (a) is
a broad saving clause and should be broadly construed,

FRE SF

sos 2

, 7

—- PP 2 FT 8

Se

15

The consistent broadening of the savings provi-
sion, particularly in its general terminology,
indicates that this policy of preservation was
intended to apply to matters both within and
without the specific contemplation of Congress
[p. 535].

Indeed, the only specific exception in Section 315 to
the preservation of prior rights and liabilities is the
opening clause, whicii directs that the section shall be
effective, “notwithstanding the provisions of section
405(b).” Section 405(b) is a saving clause which
relates only to petitions for naturalization under
prior law pending when the 1952 Act became effec-
tive.‘ The limitation of this specific reference to
Section 405(b) indicates that Congress intended Sec-
tion 405(a) to be applicable with respect to the opera-
tion of Section 315. Cf. note 3 of Judge Waterman’s
opinion in United States v. Hoellger, supra, 273 F.
2d at 763. Our reading is also supported by the
definition of ineligibility to citizenship in Section 101
(a)(19) of the Immigration and Naturalization Act,

$As this Court specifically held in Menasche, the reference
in Section 405(b) to pending naturalization petitions does not
exclude later filed petitions from the application of Section
405(a).
As we read the statute, subsection (b) merely imple-
ments and emphasizes the operation of its forerunner. It
is clear, first, thet subsection (b) is not a specific excep-
tion of §405(a), since both subsections state that prior
law should apply in certain circumstances. The slight
negative implication derived from the fact that § 405(b)
applies to pending petitions for naturalization, and not to
those filed after the effective date of the new Act, is over-
come by the broad sweep of § 405(a), and its direction
that prior law applies unless the Act “otherwise specifi-
cally provides.” 348 U.S. at 536-537.

ea ee re eee

ase NI

8 U.S.C. 1101(a)(19), which includes persons per
manently debarred from citizenship under the 1949
and 1948 Selective Service Acts.

Since this Court’s decision in Ceballos, a number of
lower courts have considered which law is to be
applied in regard to pre-existing disabilities, These
courts have expressed differing views by way of dicta;
in each instance the applicable statute was either
assumed or conceded, and the decision rested on an-
other ground. See United States v. Hoellger, 273 F, 24
760, 763, n. 3 (C.A. 2) ; Application of Mirzoeff’, 253 F.
2d 671, 672, 674 (C.A. 2) ; Petition for Naturalization of
Israel Mirzoeff, 196 F. Supp. 230 (S.D.N.Y.) ; In re
Rego’s Petition, 289 F. 2d 174, 176 (C.A. 3); United
States v. Bazan, 228 #. 2d 455 (C.A.D.C.) ; Francisco
Ballester Pons v. United States, 220 F. 2d 399, 404-405
(C.A. 1), certiorari denied, 350 U.S. 830; see also
Jubran v. United States, 255 F. 24 81 (C.A. 5); Gilligan
v. Barton, 265 F. 2d 904 (C.A. 8).

Here the issue is clearly presented. Petitioner’s
application for relief from military service was filed
in November 1950; the statutory change making him
liable for service was enacted in June 1951; his re-
classification to I-A occurred in August 1952; he was
found unqualified for service on physical grounds and
deferred for three months in September 1952; and he
was reclassified as over the age for service in Novem-
ber 1952. All of these events occurred prior to the
effective date of the Immigration and N ationality Act
on December 24, 1952. In light of the saving clause
set forth in Section 405(a), we submit that Sec-
tion 315(a) does not affect petitioner’s permanant

17

disqualification which he incurred under prior law on
account of his 1950 exemption application.

Il. PETITIONER 18 ALSO INELIGIBLE FOR CITIZENSHIP UNDER
SEOTION 315(&) OF THE IMMIGRATION AND NATIONALITY
ACT : : reset

Even if the language of Section 315(a) were deemed
to govern, we believe petitioner is nevertheless dis-
qualified. The 1952 Act introduced into this section,
as a condition for ineligibility to become a citizen, the
additional requirement that the applicant for exemp-
tion “‘is or was relieved” from military service as
the result of his application. To some extent this sec-
ond condition has always been applied, since the dis-
qualification has not attached when the request for
relief from service was never honored. See United
States v. Bazan, 228 F. 2d 455 (C.A.D.C.). Moreover,
in some instances ineligibility for citizenship has been
avoided when the application was improperly honored.
See McGrath v. Kristensen, 340 U.S. 162; In re
Rego’s Petition, 289 F. 2d 174 (C.A. 3); contra:
Velasquez v. United States, 241 F. 2d 126 (C.A. 2);
Jubran v. United States, 255 F. 2a 81 (C.A. 5); In
re Skender’s Petition, 248 F. 2d 92 (C.A. 2), cer-
tiorari denied, 355 U.S. 931. .

But there are no such complicating circumstances
here. Petitioner’s request for relief was properly hon-
ored, and he was actually relieved from military serv-
ice. Nevertheless petitioner contends that his conse-
quent relief from military service was temporary and
that because of his reclassification to I-A in August
1952, followed by his rejection on physical grounds

18 #

in September 1952, he was: not “effectively”
from military serviee on grounds of his alien’s exemp.
tion, as,contemplated by Section 315. In making, thig.
contention, petitioner relies especially. on a series of
decisions, following the lead of United States, %,
Hoeliger, 273 F. 2d 760: (C.A. 2), which hold that ong
who has subsequently been compelled to perform mili-
tary service has. not been “‘effectively’’ relieved from
such service within the meaning of Section 315. Can-
non V. United States, 288 F. 2d 269 (C.A. 2) ; United
States v. Lacher, 299 F. 2d 919 (C.A. 9); In re Rego’s
Petition, 289 F. 2d 174 (C.A. 3). '
In connection with the Hoellger line of cases, peti-
tioner argues that since draft-exempt aliens who ae-
tually. serve in the armed forces are, by force. of
judicial decision, not debarred from seeking citizen-
ship, petitioner’s debarment would be in effect not
because of his having sought exempt draft status, but
because of his failure to pass a physical examination,
Though we find some.appeal in this argument, we be-
lieve that there is an adequate answer to it. Section
315(a) refers to an alien who “is or was relieved”
from service on grounds of his alienage (emphasis
supplied). It is by no means clear from the language
of Section 315 that the alien must be relieved solely
and. permanently on grounds of his alienage. In fact,
the language “is or was relieved”’ may well mean that
as long as the alien has not actually served in the
armed forces, he is ineligible for citizenship if he was
relieved at any time on grounds of his alienage. In
other words, the alien’s effective relief from the draft
may have been the result of more than one ground for

19

exemption, each relieving the alien for part of the
time in which he would otherwise have been required
to serve. As long as the alien’s exemption was one of
the grounds contributing to his effective relief, he has
been “relieved * * * on ‘such ground” within: ‘the
meaning of Section 315. This reading of Section 315
would clearly debar the petitioner in this case from
hecoming a citizen, since he was relieved from service
for more than a year and a half on grounds of having
sought an alien’s exemption from the draft.

Indeed, the Hoellger decision expressly limited its
impact to one “‘who has actually served in the Armed
Forees under compulsion of the executive branch”’
(273 F. 2d at 762), and declared that it would be in-
applicable to one who had not actually served. The
court stated, td. at 763, n. 2:

An alien who postpones induction by means of
an application for exemption, and who is there-
after rejected for physical disability, may legit-
imately be said to have been relieved from
military service by virtue of his exemption ap-
plication. This results from the fact that the
physical disability may have arisen between the
date the alien would have been inducted but for
the obtaining of the exemption and the sub-
sequent date on which induction is ordered.’

‘Similarly, temporary relief resulting from the alien’s ex-
emption could have resulted in an alien’s being over draft age
after that exemption has been removed. In the instant case,
for example, had petitioner’s second physical examination been
scheduled three months later, he would have been ineligible
for the draft, regardless of whether he passed the
by virtue of having reached his twenty-sixth birthday (A. 9). .

It seems, in fact, that because of the proximity of petitioner’s
twenty-sixth birthday, the draft board did not even bother to

20

Judge Waterman’s reasoning could well apply. te:
instant case since, prior to receiving his alien’s ey.
emption, petitioner had been examined and found
physically fit for the draft (supra, p. 3). Though it
cannot he said with certainty that petitioner’s burt
developed. between his first and second examinations
this appears at least to be a strong possibility. Tn any
event, the significant factor is that petitioner, was
found physically fit at his first examination, and, had
he not sought an alien’s exemption, would presumably
have served in the military at that time. Under these
circumstances, it can reasonably be said that peti-
tioner’s alienage was the major factor contributing ty
his permanent relief from military service.

Other cases holding that a person inducted ints
military service was not effectively relieved from such
service have also based their holdings on the fact that
military service was actually performed. In no in.
stance has any appellate court ruled that subsequent
availability to service, without actual service, removed
the disqualification. In fact, every appellate court
which has thus far directly confronted the issue has
ruled that the I-A reclassification of a disqualified
applicant, followed by his rejection as physically un-
fit, produced no change in his ineligibility for citizen-
ship. Lapenieks v. Immigration and Naturalization
give him a formal classification of IV-F ( physically wifit),

but merely deferred his reclassification for three months so°that
he could. be classified V-A (over 26 years of age) (A: 9).
Surely, the fact that an-alien’s age relieved him from: service
after the change in the law should not excuse him. from the
consequences of the election that kept him from service during

the period when he would otherwise have been eligible. ©

ST SAS SPP se ee Se

21

-Service, 389 F. 2d 343 (C.A. 9), certiorari denied, 391

US. 951; In re naturalization of Cuozzo, 235 F. 2d 184
(C.A. 3) ; United States v. Kenny, 247 F. 2d 139 (C.A.
2). See also Ceballos v. Shaughnessy, supra. Moroover,
the:courts have found that the applicant’s ineligibility
has not been altered by his reclassification to I-A
followed by avoidance of actual induction for other
reasons. Gilligan v. Barton, 265 F. 2d 904 (C.A. 8)
(over age); Jubran v. United States, 255 F. 2d 81
(C.A. 5) (occupational deferment).°

The district court decisions cited by petitioner are
distinguishable. In re Wendt, 300 F. Supp. 725 (N.D.
Ii.), and In re Kadtch, 221 F. Supp. 353 (8.D.N.Y.),
involved situations where the applications for relief
from service were erroneously accepted at a time
when the applicant was no longer subject to service.
Petition of Caputo, 118 F. Supp. 870 (E.D.N.Y.),
dealt with an enemy alien who was not liable for
military service under the expresss language of the
1918 Act (see p. 10 supra). In none of these cases could
it be said that the applicant had been relieved from
military service for any period of time whatsoever by
virtue of the alien’s exemption. Finally, the records
were unclear in In re Petition for Naturalization of

‘Subsequent efforts to withdraw an application for exemp-
tion have been unsuccessful. Giz v. Brownell, 240 F. 2d 25
(CA.D.C.); Machado v. McGrath, 193 F. 2d 706 (C.A.D.C.),
certiorari denied, 342 U.S. 948. Cf. United States v. Bazan,
228 F. 2d 455.

“Oy
Fabbri, 254 F. Supp. 858 (E:D. Mich.), and it WAS Rot
certain whether the application relief had tem
honored? 32070028 yw A ot store, oon):

. Petitioner also. argues that he cannot, be held to the
consequences of his waiver of eligibility for: citizen.
ship because, in making that waiver, he, was ‘Misled
in his assumption that his alien’s exemption from the
draft would be permanent. In support of this argu.
ment, petitioner cites the Moser case, supra, in which
this Court removed an alien’s debarment from citi-
zenship on grounds that he had been misled by the
Swiss embassy and the United States State Depart.
ment into thinking that he could. apply for a draft
exemption without giving up his right to seek citi.
zenship. Petitioner does not claim that anyone with-
held information from him or supplied him. with
incorrect information at the time of his application
for exemption from the draft. Indeed, in his statement
before the naturalization examiner petitioner declared
that there was ‘‘no possibility” that he did not u-
derstand that by signing the application he would be
forever debarred from becoming a citizen of the
United States (A, 29-30). Petitioner merely claims
that he was not able to foresee the subsequent legis-
lative developments that would threaten his exemption
from the draft. We do not believe that petitioner's
failure to predict future changes in’ the law has’ any
bearing on the question whether his waiver of citizen:

* Petition of Kohl, 146 F. 2d 347 (C.A. 2), is also inapposite
since it involved no application for relief from military service

as an alien, and concerned only the loyalty of the alien in
the light of his requests for deferment.

23

ship benefits was knowingly made within the meaning
of the Moser decision.

Although we do. sik tliat att me ate can suc-
cessfully invoke the ‘“‘elementary fairness’’ doctrine
referred to by this Court in -Moser, we agree’ that
our reading of Section 315(a): produces'a somewhat
harsh result. For although petitioner ‘was for a ‘time
relieved from military service under his application
for an alien exemption in which he knowingly: relin-
quished any claim to citizenship, it is true that’ he
unexpectedly lost the continuing assurance of exemp-
tion for which he made that relinquishment. And
although we do not believe that petitioner should be
relieved from the consequences of his choice merely
by virtue of subsequent statutory changes which
neither he nor anyone else could foresee, it is
undoubtedly true that petitioner’s election in 1950 was
affected by the statutory scheme then in effect. When
the government modified its part of that arrangement
by actually calling petitioner for service after the
repeal of the statute in 1951—as it undoubtedly had
power to do—it is not altogether clear that Congress
intended, nonetheless, for petitioner’s part of the
arrangement—his permanent debarment from citizen-
ship—to continue. Though we find in the statutory
language evidence that Congress did intend to hold
petitioner strictly to his election, we agree that the
language is not entirely conclusive, and that in resolv-
ing any ambiguity in the language of Section 315(a),
this Court must assess the likelihood that Congress
intended to hold petitioner to his end of what might
be regarded as a bargain—although there was clearly

24

no “‘contract”—after some of the consideration wa,
subsequently taken away.'° | 7

We note, finally, that petitioner’s constitutional
arguments are without merit. Primarily they appear
to rest on the misconception that our reading of the
statute disqualifies petitioner from citizenship because
of his inability to pass a physical examination. This
is not so. His disqualification results from his volun.
tary and knowing application for relief from military
service, and encompasses all who have made such ap-
plications and who have thereby avoided military
service.

Nor can it be doubted that Congress is empowered
to impose such a condition on naturalized citizenship,
It has frequently been stated that naturalization isa
privilege, “to be given, qualified or withheld as Con-
gress may determine.’’ United States v. Macintosh,
283 U.S. 605, 615.° Moreover, this Court has noted
that the right to acquire citizenship “is purely
statutory” (Zartarian v. Billings, 204 U.S. 110,
175), and that “No alien has the slightest right
to naturalization unless all statutory requir.
ments are complied with * * *’’ (United States vy.
Ginsberg, 243 U.S. 472, 475). Therefore there must
be strict compliance with the conditions imposed by
Congress. Maney v. United States, 278 U.S. 17, 22;

*Of course, this assessment of intent would not be necessary
if the Court accepts our view that it is not Section 315(a)
but the preexisting 1948 draft law that determines petitioner's
rights. The harshness of the latter law was accepted by this
Court in Ceballos, supra.

Pe on other grounds, Girouard v. United States, 38

25

Johannessen v. United States, 225 U.S. 227, 240. And
it is settled that the burden is on the applicant to
establish such compliance and that doubts are to be
resolved in favor of the United States and against the
claimant. Berenyt v. District Director, 385 Y.S. 630,
637. Although the above authorities indicate that the
power of Congress to impose conditions on the at-
tainment of naturalization is quite broad, we do not
contend that it is unlimited. However, the condition
imposed in the instant case—that the alien refrain
from removing himself from the duty of performing
military service, a duty incumbent on all citizens—was
both fair and reasonable.

Finally, the attempt to characterize the disqualifica-
tion as punitive, and thereby violative of the cruel and
unusual punishment clause of the Eighth Amendment,
is unpersuasive. There is no evidence of any such
punitive intent. On the contrary, the disqualification
is the anticipated consequence of a knowing and con-
sidered choice between clear alternatives. As this
Court has declared, ‘‘the statute imposed a valid con-
dition on the claim of [an] * * * alien for exemption;
petitioner had a choice of exemption and no citizenship,
or no exemption and citizenship.’’ Moser v. United
States, 341 U.S. 41, 46.

ecm
26

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated herein, it is iepentditay a sub-
mitted that the judgment of the Court of Appeals
should be affirmed. |

‘Erwin N. Griswotp,
Solicitor General.
Wir. Wuson,
Assistant Attorney General,
Ricuarp B. Strong,
Assistant to the Solicitor General.
CHARLES GorDoN,
General Counsel,
Immigration and Naturalization Service,
Aprit 1971.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386413_0284%3A5. Public record. Not legal advice.
