# Opposition Brief — California Department of Human Resources Development v. Java

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386413_0272%3A08

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1971
- **Citation:** 402 U.S. 121

## Text

In the Supreme Court of the

United States

Octoszr Tzrm, 1970

No. 507

CatirorNia DEPARTMENT OF Human Re-
SOURCES DEVELOPMENT, et al.,
Appellants,
v.
JupiTH Java, et al.,
Appellees.

On Appeal from the United States District Court
of the Northern District of California

Brief in Opposition to Motion of Southern
California Edison, et al., to Intervene

Evaene M. Swann
Joun Diaz Coker
James M. Kien

Contra Costa Lecau Services Founpation
337 Tenth Street, P. O. Box 1669
Richmond, California 94801

SterpHen P. Berzon
2648 Stuart
Berkeley, California 94720

Attorneys for Appellees

ING COMPANY OF CALIFORNIA, 346 FIRST STREET, SAN FRANCISCO 94105

TI

Bree

SUBJECT INDEX

L Preliminary Statement
IL Applicants’ Motion to Intervene of Right Should Be
Denied

A. Applicants’ Interest in This Lawsuit Is Indirect,
and Insufficient to Warrant Their Intervention ........ 2

B. The Employers’ Claimed Financial Loss as a Result
of the Decision Appealed from Is Grossly Overstated

and Speculative 5
C. Any Interest Assertable by the Applicants in These

Proceedings Is Adequately Represented ...................... 7
D. Applicants’ Motion to Intervene Is Untimely ............. 10

Il. Permissive Intervention Under Rule 24(b) Is Improper
at This Stage of the Proceedings

IV. Conclusion

INDEX TO EXHIBITS.
Exhibit A. Affidavit of George Roche

Exhibit B. Affidavit of J. E. McNeil

A eR OEE NS EES

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Cass

Allen Calculators, Ine, v. National Cash Register Company
(1944), 322 U.S. 137
Automobile Workers v. Scofield (1965), 382 U. S. 205... 4

well, and Moore, Ine. (D. Mass. 1943), 51 F.Supp. 972. mat

Ford Motor Company v. Bizanz Brothers, Inc. (8th Cir.
1957), 249 F.2d 22 9

Hatton v. County Board of Education of Maury County,
Tenn. (6th Cir. 1970), 422 F.2d 457 1,8
Hobson v. Hansen (D.D.C. 1968), 44 F. R. D. 18 ................ 3,4

Kheel v. American 8. 8. Owners Mutual Protection and In-
demnity Association (S.D.N.Y. 1968), 45 F.R.D. 281... 3

Lupton Manufacturing Company v. United States (1967)
388 U.S. 457 4%

McKenna v. Pan American Petroleum Corp. (5th Cir. 1962),

303 F.2d 778 B
Moore v. Tangipahoa Parish School Board (E.D. La. 1969),
298 F.Supp. 288 4

Norwalk Core v. Norwalk Board of Education (D. Conn. —
1968), 298 F.Supp. 208 3
Nuesse v. Comp (D.C. Cir. 1967), 385 F.2d 694 ................... ati a

Peterson v. United States (D. Minn. 1966), 41 F. D. R. 131... 7,8
Smuck v. Hobson (D.C. Cir. 1969), 408 F.2d 175 ................8, 9, Ul

Thrifty Shoppers Serip Company v. United States (1968),
389 U.S. 580

4,10

TaBLE or AuTHosiTss CrTEp

iii

Pages

States v. Aluminum Company of America (E.D. Mo.
1967), 41 F. R. D. 342
United States v. Blue Chip Stamp Co. (C.D. Cal. 1967), 272
F Supp. 432
United States v. ete ee ee nee Se Gene Til.
1966), 242 F.Supp. 56

Westward Coach Manufacturing Co. v. Ford Motor Co. (7th
Cir. 1968), 388 F.2d 627 7
Wolpe v. Poretaky (D.C. Cir. 1944), 144 F.2d 505

Ruizs
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure :
Rule 24(a), 28 USC
Rule 24(a)(2) 28 USC
Rule 24(b), 28 USC
STATUTES
California Unemployment Insurance Code:
Section 1379
Section 2113
TREATISES

2 Barron & Holtzoff, Federal Practice and Procedure, Section
597 (Supp. 1969)

8B Moore’s Federal Practice :
para. 24.09 [4]
para, 24.13-[1]
para. 24.10 [2]
Law Reviews

Kaplan, 1966 Amendments of the Federal Rules of Civil
Procedure (1), 81 Harv. L. Rev. 356 (1967)
Shapiro, Some Thoughts on Intervention Before Courts,
Agencies and Arbitrators, 81 Harv. L. Rev. 721 (1968) ........

4,13
4,10

13

10
13

4

In the Supreme Court of the
United States

Ocroser Term, 1970

No. 507

CatirorNiA DEPARTMENT OF Human ReE-
SOURCES DEVELOPMENT, et al.,
Appellants,
v.

JupitH Java, et al.,
Appellees.

On Appeal from the United States District Court
of the Northern District of California

Brief in Opposition to Motion of Southern
California Edison, et al., to Intervene

I,

PRELIMINARY STATEMENT
On November 9, 1970, six California employers filed a
Motion to Intervene in the present case. Appellees oppose
this Motion for several reasons.
First, we submit that applicants’ interest in the subject
of this action is not a substantial one. As individual em-
ployers, applicants are members of a large class of Cali-

2 oe
fornia employers. If the District Court decision appealed
from is affirmed, and payment to an eligible claimant i
required during the pendency of his past employer’s appeal,
that individual employer will suffer no direct financial logs,
Any possible loss that might occur would be a collective ong,
spread over all California employers.

Secondly, we contend that applicants have overstated and
exaggerated their interest in this case. Appellees wil
elaborate on this contention in a subsequent part of this
brief.

Appellees further submit that any legitimate interest of
the applicants has been and will be adequately represented
by the Attorney General of the State of California and the
Chief Counsel of Appellant Department of Human Re
sources Development. Moreover, as amici curiae, applicants
will be able to further represent their interest in this litiga.
tion.

Finally, appellees submit that the Motion to Intervene is
not timely. Applicants had ample time to intervene as
formal parties when this case was before the court below,
By choosing to wait until this case was before this Court,
applicants should be prevented from intervening as formal
parties.

II.

APPLICANTS’ MOTION TO INTERVENE OF RIGHT
SHOULD 8E DENIED

A. Applicants’ Interest in This Lawsuit Is Indirect and Insufficient
to Warrant Their Intervention.

The 1966 amendment to Rule 24(a) states that an appli-
cant for intervention must claim an interest relating to the
property or transaction which is the subject of the action.
This rule has been interpreted to require that such claim of

8
interest be legally sufficient from an objective standpoint,
Kheel v. American 8. S. Owners Mut. Prot. and Indem.
Assoc. (S.D.N.Y. 1968), 45 F. R. D. 281; Norwalk Core v.
Norwalk Bd. of Ed., (D. Conn. 1968), 298 F.Supp. 208, as
well as direct, substantial, and legally protectible. Hobson
v. Hansen, (D.D.C, 1968) 44 F. R. D. 18.

Applicants, as individual employers, do not have the
direct and substantial interest that is legally required for
intervention. They contend that, if appellees prevail in this
case, they will be subject to a “substantial increase in unem-
ployment taxes.” See Applicants’ Motion, 9. Applicants
allege that this increase would result from excessive dis-
bursements from the general unemployment fund—such
disbursements resulting from unrecovered overpayments
(in the form of benefits) received by claimants whose
initial determination of eligibility has been overruled by a
referee. Applicants contend that these overpayments would
necessitate an increase in their tax rate in order to com-
pensate for the alleged losses suffered by the fund.

The proposition that an increase in the employers’ tax
would be required if appellees prevail is, at most, specula-
tive. (See Part IT B, 5 infra). However, even if we assume,
arguendo, that the necessity for an increase in the em-
ployers’ fund would arise, this would be borne by and
spread over all California employers. The effect of such an
increase on the individual employer would be relatively
small. (See Part II B 6, 7 infra.) Thus, the interest of
applicants is no greater than that of employees’ groups
and other organizations that may be affected by the Court’s
decision in this case. Applicants’ financial stake may moti-
vate their interest. This interest, however, is remote and not
substantial enough to warrant intervention.

Applicants have relied heavily on the case of Cascade
Natural Gas Co. v. El Paso Natural Gas Co. (1967), 386

PO ep ne een IES RENE Re np

‘ 3
U.S. 129, to show that private parties have a legally pro.
tectible private interest in issues of public interest. Cascadg
was an antitrust action in which the United States brought
suit to compel El Paso Natural Gas Co. to divest itself of
its subsidiary—Pacific Northwest Pipeline Co. The origing}
decision of the lower court was appealed to the Supreme
Court which, in turn, remanded the case to the District
Court and ordered divestiture. At this point Cascade Ng
tural Gas Co. and the State of California sought intervep.
tion. The facts and principles in Cascade are clearly
distinguishable from the present case. First, the Motion for
Intervention in Cascade was to the District Court, not to
the Supreme Court, as here. Second, the movants for inter.
vention in Cascade were customers of the company which
the defendant was alleged to be controlling in violation of
the Clayton Act, and the State of California whose citizens
allegedly were suffering due to the control of a natural gas
supply by the defendant. These movants were the very
parties who were intended to benefit from the government's
action in compelling divestiture. In allowing intervention,
the Court stated that the protection of California’s interests
in a competitive system was “at the heart of the matter.”
386 U.S. at 135.2

1. It should be noted that, notwithstanding the fact that the
applicants’ interest in Cascade was more direct in nature, subse-
quent cases have tended to limit Cascade to its peculiar fact situa-
tion. See e.g. United States v. Aluminum Co. of America (ED.
Mo. 1967), 41 F. R. D. 342 aff’d per curiam sub nom. Lupton Mfg.
Co. v. United States (1967) 388 U.S. 457; United States v. Blue
Chip Stamp Co., (C.D. Cal. 1967), 272 F.Supp. 482, aff'd per
curiam sub nom. Thrifty Shoppers Scrip Co. v. United States
(1968), 389 U. S. 580, reh. den., 390 U. S. 975. See also Moore v.
Tangipahoa Parish School Board. (E.D. La. 1969), 298 F.Supp.
288; Hobson v. Hansen, (D.D.C. 1968), 44 F. R. D. 18; Shapiro,
Some Thoughts on Intervention Before Courts, Agencies and Arbi-
trators, 81 Harv. L. Rev., 721, 730 (1968) ; Kaplan, 1966 Amend
ments of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, 81 Harv. L. Rev.
356, 406 (1967).

5

In this case, however, applicants’ interest is not sufficient
to be considered at the “heart of the matter.” As stated
pefore, as individual employers, the only loss that appli-
cants might suffer would be a collective one, borne by all
California employers. This, coupled with the fact that appli-
eants’ alleged loss is very speculative, distinguishes Cas-
cade from the present case.

3. The Employers’ Claimed Financial Loss as a Result of the
Decision Appealed from Is Grossly Overstated and Specu-
lative.

Applicants contend that if the case at bar is affirmed,
there will be an increase in the employers’ taxes which
would, in turn, lead to an increase in the amount of taxes
paid by each employer. This rise in the tax rate is predi-
cated on a projected loss to the unemployment insurance
fund due to payments of benefits which are subsequently
determined to be incorrect. This argument completely
ignores the fact that the State has several methods of re-
couping any overpayments in addition to voluntary repay-
ment by agreement, such as offsets against future un-
employment or disability benefits and restitution to avoid
criminal prosecution. California Unemployment Insurance
Code Sections 1379 and 2113. Thus, applicants’ contention
that there will be a significant loss to the fund must be con-
sidered in light of these statutory devices.

At present, the reserves of the unemployment insurance
fund are sufficiently ample so that employers are taxed at
minimum rates. We are not told how much of a loss in
unrecouped overpayments would be suffered before any
effect on general employer taxes would result. Thus, the
claimed financial stake is speculative and we don’t know
whether employers will ever feel the effect of this decision,
or at what point it may be felt.

6

Applicants suggest that the implementation of the religf
sought by appellees could result in the imposition of ‘th
highest possible rates in each of the three tax schemes used
to support the unemployment fund. See Applicants’ Motigs
to Intervene, 8-10. If we assume, arguendo, that each of the
three separate taxes supporting the fund was raised to its
highest level, the combined additional revenue to the fun
in a year like 1968 would be 154 million dollars. See Aff.
davit of J. E. McNeil, dated November 19, 1969, paragraph
2(c), attached hereto as Exhibit A. However, appellanty’
statisticians estimate that the maximum amount of over.
payment that would have resulted in the year 1968, if the
challenged statute had not been in effect, would have been
$800,000. See Affidavit of George Roche, dated November
18, 1969, paragraph I(3), attached hereto as Exhibit B. Of
that amount, an average of 64 percent would have been
recovered. See Affidavit of Nicolo Pino, dated July
1970, paragraph E, attached to Appellant’s Jurisdictional
Statement as Appendix C. Thus, the net hypothetical loss
to the fund would have been $288,000 for the year, (36 per-
cent of $800,000). While substantial, it serves to show that
the claims of applicants are exaggerated, because the
amount of actual, unrecouped overpayment would have
been .0019 (nineteen-ten thousandths) of the amount that
applicants suggest would have been needed in increased

taxes to pay for the overpayments, Ceo

Since the amounts by which the individual applicants claim
their taxes would have been increased, were also based on
the highest possible rates, they must be reduced by the same
factor. Thus, in the case of applicant Southern California
Edison, the applicant claiming the largest potential increase
in taxes, the increase would be reduced from a claimed
$434,341.00 to $825.25 a year. ($434,341.00 x .0019) See Affi-

7

davit of C. H. Faulkner, dated August 7, 1970, paragraph
5(b), attached to Applicants’ Motion as Exhibit B. The
alleged increase in the ease of the applicant claiming the
smallest increase would be $ .93 instead of the claimed
$490.00 per year, ($490.00 x .0019). See Affidavit of Ralph
W. Jones, dated August 11, 1970, paragraph 5(b), attached
to Applicants’ Motion as Exhibit F. This appears to indi-
eate that while there may be some increase in taxes, its
significance is highly exaggerated and the only party with a
very substantial interest is the State which must administer
the entire unemployment insurance program.

C. Any Interest Assertable by the Applicants in These Proceed-
ings Is Adequotely Represented by Appellant.
Intervention of Right should not be granted if it is shown
that the applicants’ interest is adequately represented by
the existing parties. Fed. Rules Civ. Proc. Rule 24(a)(2),

9% USCA; See generally, 3B Moore’s Federal Practice
Para. 24.09-[4]; 2 Barron é Holtzoff, Federal Practice and
Procedure Section 597 (Supp. 1969). The question of what
constitutes adequacy of representation was analyzed in
Peterson v. United States (D. Minn. 1966), 41 F. R. D. 131,
which involved a Motion to Intervene by two remainder-
men of a trust in an action to recover federal estate taxes.
The Motion was denied, notwithstanding the fact that the
interests of the plaintiffs and the movants might have been
different in some respects. The court stated: “The con-
trolling rule is that representation is adequate if there is no
collusion between the representative and an opposing party,
if the representative does not have or represent an interest
adverse to the applicant, and if the representative does not
fail in the fulfillment of his duty.” Peterson v. United States
(D. Minn. 1966), 41 F. R. D. 131, 133; accord, Hatton v.
County Bd. of Ed. of Maury County, Tenn. (6th Cir. 1970),
422 F.2d 457.

+ came +

SPOrEReRERENEOEenme

‘s

8

In Hatton the court denied a petition to intervene om
behalf of white parents and students who wished to opposg
a desegregation plan adopted by the Board pursuant to the
order of the District Court. It was found that there wag ap
interest sufficient for intervention but that petitioners
interest did not lack adequate representation because de.
fendants had raised every reasonable defense and the peti.
tioners had made no allegation of fraud, collusion, bad faith
or negligence on the part of the Board. The case at bar ig
directly on point with Peterson and Hatton. In the present
case, there is clearly no collusion between the present
parties; nor does the State have an interest adverse to
applicants; nor can it be said that the Attorney General of
the State of California lacks the competence and the re
sources to adequately represent the interest of applicants?

The cases on which applicants have relied to show inade.
quacy of representation are not applicable to this case. Only
one of these cases, Smuck v. Hobson (D.C. Cir. 1969), 408
F.2d 175, involved a private party attempting intervention
to advocate a private interest in a policy defended by a
public body. Smuck embraced the identical issue raised in
Hatton, supra: whether parents of white children should
be allowed to intervene in a desegregation suit brought
against a school board. However, the reason that interven-
tion was allowed in Smuck was that the defendant school
board in Smuck declined to appeal the lower court decision
that was adverse to the petitioner’s interests. Thus, the

2. There is no suggestion, as in the Cascade case, that the State
and the private parties may differ as to the relief requested. Appli-
cants argue in Part III of their motion that ‘‘In this imstanee,
the questions of law and fact posed by the applicants are identical
to the questions already framed in the original pleadings’’. See
Applicants’ Motion 17 (emphasis added). It certainly seems in-
consistent for applicants to allege that appellants are not adequately
representing their position in light of these circumstances.

9
only way the case could have been heard on appeal would
have been by permitting intervention at the appellate level.
On this basis, the court in Smuck found a lack of adequate
representation and allowed intervention. In the present
ease, of course, the defendant has not failed to appeal.

In Nuesse v. Comp. (D.C. Cir. 1967), 385 F.2d 694, the
Wisconsin Commissioner of Banks was granted interven-
tion to protect the public interest between a private state
bank and the United States. The court found that adequacy
of representation was lacking because the issues involved
the competitive position of all state banks while the original
plaintiff was only concerned with its own competitive posi-
tion. If anything, Nuesse supports appellees’ position in this
case that the State is the only representative capable of
defending the interests of all employers as opposed to those
of individual employers.

In Ford Motor Co. v. Bizanz Bros. Inc. (8th Cir., 1957),
949 F.2d 22, Ford attempted to intervene in an action
brought to enjoin the operation of a railroad. Ford alleged
the injunction would have deprived it of necessary trans-
portation facilities. The railroad was not charged with
representing Ford’s interest in retaining essential railroad
services. In the case at bar, however, the State has the duty
to represent the employers’ interest in the unemployment
insurance fund.

In attempting to differentiate their interest from the
State’s, applicants contend that their interest is in pre-
serving their right to due process before benefits are paid
while the States’ interest is an administrative concern. This
is a distinction in semantics. Appellants have an interest
and a duty to insure fairness to all parties—employers
and employees alike. There simply is no reason to assume
that applicants’ interest is not being adequately represented
in the case at bar.

10

D. Applicants’ Motion to Intervene Is Untimely. :

Intervention at the appellate level is very infrequently
granted. See 3B Moore’s Federal Practice, paragraph 2413
[1] (1969) at 24-526. In United States v. Blue Chip Stamp
Co., (C.D. Cal. 1967), 272 F.Supp. 432, aff’d per curiam syb
nom. Thrifty Shoppers Scrip Co. v. United States (1968)
389 U.S. 580, rehearing denied 390 U.S. 975, the cour
declared :

“A motion to intervene after entry of a final decree
should be denied as untimely in other than the most
unusual circumstances.” 272 F.Supp. 432 at 436,

An examination of the authorities cited by applicants
shows that the unusual circumstances present therein are
far different from the present case. In Automobile Workers
v. Scofield (1965), 382 U.S. 205, petitioners for intervention
were successful parties to a proceeding before the NLRB,
Pursuant to a unique section of the Labor Act, only parties
adversely affected by a decision of the NLRB could appeal.
The result was that, although the successful party was actn-
ally a party to the proceedings below, it could not be heard
on appeal. If the decision of the NLRB were reversed by
the Court and remanded to the Board, and the NLRB
subsequently entered a decision adverse to the former
successful party, such party then became the party ad-
versely affected by the decree and could then re-appeal.
The Supreme Court allowed intervention to the appellate
court to avoid a multiplicity of actions. In the case at bar,
the applicants, failing to seek intervention in the action
in the court below, were never parties to that action. If
they had intervened at the proper time, it would not be
necessary for them to seek intervention at the appellate
level.

11

The two other cases relied on by applicants involved
situations in which the original parties failed to appeal
a judgment adverse not only to their interests, but also
to the interests of the petitioners for intervention, thereby
depriving petitioners of any representation of their inter-
ests at the appellate level. Smuck v. Hobson (D.C. Cir.
1969), 408 F.2d 175; Wolpe v. Poretsky (D.C. Cir. 1944),
144 F.2d 505, cert. denied (1944), 323 U.S. 777. In any
event, none of the cases cited by applicants involved a
case where intervention to the Supreme Court was granted.

Moreover, it is grossly unjust to allow applicants to
claim that they did not have an opportunity to intervene
in the court below. In a recent case it was shown that
petitioners for intervention had been intimately involved
in a suit from its inception but failed to intervene until
one month after summary judgment was granted. The
appellate court denied the motion because it was untimely.
Westward Coach Mfg. Co. v. Ford Motor Co., (7th Cir.
1968), 338 F.2d 627, cert. denied 392 U.S. 927. In the pres-
ent case, applicants were aware of this litigation even be-
fore appellants filed their Answer and Motion to Dismiss.
See Affidavit of Willard Z. Carr, Jr., dated October 23,
1970, 24, attached to Applicants’ Motion as Exhibit H.

Counsel for applicants further attempts to justify their
failure to intervene on the ground that he was not authorized
to proceed until May 5, 1970 and was waiting in reliance
on the possibility that the lower court would dismiss with
leave to amend for failure to join indispensable parties.
Ibid. While applicants might have an excuse for their pro-
crastination if their counsel had not acted promptly despite
authorization, they can hardly use their own neglect in
authorizing counsel to represent them as an excuse for
failing to make a timely motion. The issue is not whether

Pa

12 by
their counsel took timely action but whether his client
did. Moreover, such excuses fail to explain why applicant;
waited until October 30, 1970, to file their motion. As stateg
by their counsel, “although the necessary legal document
for the motion had been prepared, the factual informatig,
gathered with respect to the three original employers was
not received until after the District Court entered its pr.
liminary injunction on May 14, 1970”. Id. at 26. The date
of the latest affidavit by the applicants giving such factua]
information is August 26, 1970. See Affidavit of Willian
L. Parker, dated August 26, 1970, atta~hed to Applicants’
Motion. No reason is given why applicants waited over
two months before filing this Motion.

If the applicants had no one to represent their interest,
or if those purporting to represent such interests had not
provided sufficiently effective advocacy to assure the court
below of a full and competent exposition of the question,
the lateness of the Motion would be more excusable. How.
ever, the present circumstances fall far short of the unusual
conditions necessary to grant intervention of right at the
appellate level, and it would be an ominous precedent
to allow volunteer champions to wait until a question has
reached the Supreme Court before proclaiming their chal-
lenge. Applicants have been given consent by both parties
to submit briefs as amici curiae. This will allow them to
_ have their claims heard without undue interference with
the course of the litigation.

IL.

PERMISSIVE INTERVENTION PURSUANT TO RULE 24(b)
SHOULD NOT BE GRANTED AT THIS STAGE OF THE
LITIGATION

Applicants have failed to raise any issues different from
those raised by appellants. Moreover, applicants have had

18

ample time to seek intervention while this action was
pefore the court below. Even assuming, arguendo, that ap-
plicants may have claims or defenses involving questions
of law or fact in common with this action, a mere general
interest in the outcome of the litigation is still not sufficient
to warrant permissive intervention. 3B Moore’s Federal
Practice, para. 24.10[2] (1969) ; cf. United States v. Alumi-
num Co. of America (E.D. Mo. 1967), 41 F. RB. D. 342, aff’d
per curiam sub nom. Lupton Mfg. Co. v. United States
(1967), 388 U.S. 457; United States v. Chicago Title and
Trust Co. (N. D. Ill. 1966), 242 F.Supp. 56.

Permissive intervention in District Court is subject to
the exercise of the court’s discretion and, in exercising that
discretion, the court must take into consideration the delay
and prejudice to the adjudication of the rights of the parties
that may result. Fed. Rules Civ. Proc. Rule 24(b), 28
USCA. Thus, the requirement of timeliness becomes much
more significant in connection with permissive intervention
because of its discretionary nature. Where the applicants
have nothing new to add and are adequately represented
in the trial court, and intervention would result in addi-
tional delay, the denial of permissive intervention is proper.
See Allen Calculators, Inc. v. National Cash Register Co.
(1944) 322 U.S. 137. This is especially true where applicants
are attempting to intervene as parties appellant. See
McKenna v. Pan Am Petroleum Corp. (5th Cir. i562),
303 F.2d 778.

If there were no way in which applicants could submit
their viewpoint to the Court, it might be different. But
applicants have been given consent by the parties to appear
as amici curiae and are thus assured that their contribution
to the testing of this issue will not be ignored. The adequacy
of this alternative was approved by the court in Crosby

Sinn

14 % 4
Steam Gage and Valve Co. v. Manning, Maxwell andl
Inc. (D. Mass. 1943), 51 F.Supp. 972. There, the
stated:

“Where he presents no new questions, a thi
can contribute usually most effectively and il
most expeditiously by a brief amicus curiae and
by intervention.” 51 F.Supp. at 973.

a+

If this is true at the trial court level, it is of even ru
persuasiveness here. If applicants were allowed toi
vene at this time, they would only be capitalizing on
own tardiness in seeking intervention into this case, ‘
fore, this motion for permissive intervention should
denied.

IV.
CONCLUSION

For the above reasons, applicants’ Motion to Int n
should be denied. q

Respectfully submitted,

Evcene M. Swann
Joun Diaz CoKER
JaMEs M. Kiem

Contra Costa Lecat Services Founpatit
337 Tenth Street, P. O. Box 1669 }
Richmond, California 94801

STePHEN P. Berzon
2648 Stuart
Berkeley, California 94720

Attorneys for Appellees

(Exhibits Follow)

Exhibit A

United States District Court
Northern District of California

No. C-69 350 ACW

Jupira Java and Carrot, H. Hupson, et

al.
Plaintiffs,
vs.

CaurrorNIA DEPARTMENT OF Human ReE-
SOURCES DEVELOPMENT, et al.

Defendants,

AFFIDAVIT

4 J. E. McNeEt., the undersigned, having been duly sworn,
p depose and state that:

/1. Iam Chief of the Accounting Section of the Depart-
\ of Human Resources Development of the State of
lalifornia, and I have custody of the records relating to
mployers’ unemployment insurance tax accounts.

2. I further certify that the best estimate of the dif-
fe: ence in taxes payable by employers, in a year like 1968,
based on the high and low wage bases and tax rates is as
thown in the table below:

p. Taxes payable on

~ (1) $4,100 wage base.............. $596.7 Million

(2) $3,800 wage base.............. $568.7 Million

Difference $ 28 Million

Balancing account taxes payable (using $3,800 taxable

>. wage base) at

a (1) 1.0% general rate............ $191.0 Million

5: —@) 0.8% general rate............ $153.0 Million

Difference $ 38.0 Million

Aon mere ree mnER me

2 Appendix
c. Taxes payable (using $3,800 taxable wage base) on

(1) High rate schedule.......... $377.6 Million
(2) Low rate schedule............. $289.6 Million
Difference $ 88.0 Million
Total Difference $154.0 Million
. =e

I declare under penalty of perjury that the foregoing
is true and correct.

/s/ J. E. McNen.
J. E. McNeil

State of California a
County of Sacramento

J. E. McNeil being first duly sworn under oath, repre.
sents that he has subscribed to the foregoing Affidavit and
does state that the information is true and correct to the
best of his knowledge and belief.

Subscribed and sworn to before me this 19th day of
November, 1969.

/s/ Sypyey R. Jonnson

Notary Public in and for the
State of California

Appendiz
Exhibit B

United States District Court
Northern District of California

No. C-69 350 ACW

JupirH Java and Carrott H. Hupson, et

al.
Plaintiffs,

Vs.

CarFoRNIA DEPARTMENT OF Human Re-
SOURCES DEVELOPMENT, et al.

Defendants,

AFFIDAVIT

I George Roche, the undersigned, having been duly sworn,
do depose and state that:

1. Iam the Chief of the Research and Statistics Section
of the Department of Human Resources Development of
the State of California; and I have, in my possession and
under my control, the statistical records of the said De-
partment of Human Resources Development relating to
unemployment insurance claims filed, eligibility and dis-
qualifications considered and the outcome thereof, appeals
filed to referees of the California Unemployment Insurance
Appeals Board and the outcome of said appeals, and the
amount of unemployment insurance benefits paid by said
Department from the Unemployment Fund.

2. The statistical records of the Department of Human
Resources Development indicate the following claims, ref-
eree appeals, and benefit activity for the calendar year
1968 :

A. The total number of claims filed was 960,180.

PY le

a Appendiz
B. 141,956 of these claims were determined invalid be.
cause the claiman‘s had insufficient wages in their bags
periods. as
C. 818,224 of these claims were filed by claimants why
had sufficient wages in their base periods to file valid claims
D. There were 667,993 issues of eligibility for or dis.
qualification from unemployment insurance benefits whid,
resulted in written determinations by the Department,

E. Of the 667993 issues of eligibility, 401,917 wer
determined by the Department in favor of the claimant
while 266,066 resulted in the claimant being disqualified
from receiving unemployment insurance benefits for one
or more weeks.

F. In 1968, 45,353 appeals were filed to referees of the
California Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board.

G. Referees in 1968 issued 26,509 decisions of which
5,526 were decisions on appeals by employers and 20,933
were decisions on appeals by claimants.

H. Of the 5,526 decisions on appeals by employers, the
decision reversed the determination of the Department and
held in favor of the employer in 2,602 cases or 47 percent
of these decisions. The decision affirmed the determination
of the Department and held in favor of the claimant in
2,924 cases or 53 percent of these decisions.

I. A total of $404.3 million was paid in unemployment
insurance benefits.

3. If benefits had been paid to the claimants involved
in the 2,602 cases in which the employer prevailed before
the referee in 1968, the cost of such benefits to the Unem-
ployment Fund would have been approximately $800,000
based upon a weekly benefit amount of $50 and an average |
duration prior to the referee decision of slightly in excess

of six weeks. |

Appendiz 5
4. The statistical records of the Department of Human
Resources Development concerning the claims and appeals
activity set forth in paragraph 2 hereof for the calendar
years 1965, 1966, and 1967, and additional appeals activity
for the calendar year 1968 is set forth in the table attached
hereto.
I declare under penalty of perjury that the foregoing
is true and correct.

/s/ Georce S. Rocue
George Roche

State of California ai
County of Sacramento ‘

George Roche being first duly sworn under oath, repre-
sents that he has subscribed to the foregoing Affidavit and
does state that the information is true and correct to the
best of his knowledge and belief.

Subscribed and sworn to before me this 18th day of
November, 1969.

/s/ Swyey R. Jounson
Notary Public in and for the
State of California

[Seal]

ete

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386413_0272%3A08. Public record. Not legal advice.
