# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Davis v. Board of School Comm'rs of Mobile Cty.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386413_0267%3A04

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1971
- **Citation:** 402 U.S. 33

## Text

RAS WerER eSB

FILED
JUL 23

E. ROBERT SEAVER,

In THE

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1970

No. 43 6

Birviz Maz Davis, et al.,

Petitioners,
Vv.

Boarp or ScHoot ComMMISSIONERS OF
Mosite County, et al.

MOTION TO ADVANCE AND
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

Jack GREENBERG
James M. Nasait, III
MicuaeLt Davipson
Norman J. CHacHxin
10 Columbus Circle
New York, New York 10019

Vernon Z. Crawrorp
ALtcerNon J. Cooper
1407 Davis Avenue
Mobile, Alabama 36603

Attorneys for Petitioners

aan

INDEX

PAGE

SII MIIIIINNY sinc ctatthcanincstchieeeacaurtns oeredishalnamienncmacneanaiin 1

SII. "tid sind aiiarcisceniecnti dag ciacdaekacaneanmercanaadiwaamedmentanias 2

Question Presented .................... laiaiiataieidatidanihaneihiadadiinaaidion 2

Constitutional Provision Involved oo.....c.cccccccccceceseseseeeeeeee 3
Statement:

1. A Bricf Overview of the School System ............ 3

2. Summary of Proceedings in the Courts Below 4

3. The Techniques of Segregation ...0.....0.......0.00--- 12

Reasons for Granting the Writ:

I. The Decision Below Conflicts With Rulings
Both of This Court Since Brown and of Other
Courts of Appeals. It Absolves School Boards
of Responsibility to Provide Equal Educational
Opportunity to Black Students Contained in
Segregated Schools by “Neighborhood Resi-
dential Patterns” Which Are Themselves the
Result of State Action Combined With Private
Re I CER SARE oO 15

II. This Court Should Grant Certiorari in Order
to Insure Petitioners’ Due Process Right to an
Evidentiary Hearing in the District Court ...... 28

ie etikesiemnnsanh Pideeriadncnie 31

Appendix:
Order of District Court of January 31, 1970 ............
Opinion of Court of Appeals dated June 8, 1970... 8a
Judgment of Court of Appeals dated June 8, 1976 23a
Orders of Court of Appeals on Rehearing dated

June 29, 1970 ..... iaelinaaniasiiaaninsuanman 25a
Orders of Court of Appeals Denying Rehearing
dated June 29, 1970 26a

Tables of Cases:

Alexander v. Holmes County Board of Education, 396
U.S. 19 (1969) 17, 27, 30

Anthony v. Marshall County Board of Education, 419
F.2d 1211 (5th Cir. 1969), rev’d on other grounds,
sub. nom. Carter v. West Feliciana Parish School
Board, 396 U.S. 290 (1970) 16

Bradley v. Board of Public Instruction of Pinellas
County, No. 28639 (5th Cir., July 1, 1970) .............. 16, 29
Brewer v. School Board of City of Norfolk, 397 F.2d
37 (4th Cir. 1968) . 21, 24
Brewer v. School Board of City of Norfolk, No. 14,544
(4th Cir., June 22, 1970), cert. denied, 38 U.S.L.W.
3522 (June 29, 1970) 15, 25
Brown v. Board of Education, 347 U.S, 483 (1954)... 15

Calhoun v. Cook, Civ. No. 6298 (N.D. Ga., Feb. 19,

1970) ... ile 16
Calhoun v. Latimer, 377 U.S. 263 (1964) oo...ecccccoseceeone 15
Carr v. Montgomery County Board of Education, No.

29521 (Sth Cir., June 29, 1970) ou... 16
Carter v. West Feliciana Parish School Board, 396

U.S. 290 (1970) - 1, 4, 6, 17, 19, 29

Clark v. Board of Education of the Little Rock School
District, No. 19,795 (8th Cir., May 13, 1970) ..............

iii
PAGE

Cooper v. Aaron, 358 U.S. 1 (1958) 15
Crawford v. Board of Education of City of Los
Angeles, No. 822-854 (Super. Ct. Cal., February 11,

a 25
Davis v. Board of School Commissioners of Mobile
County, 414 F.2d 609 (Sth Cir. 1969) 00. 12, 28
Davis v. Board of School Commissioners of Mobile
County, 364 F.2d 896 (Sth Cir. 1966) 00002... 17
Davis v. School District of City of Pontiac, 309 F.
Supp. 734 (E.D. Mich. 1970) 25
Dove v. Parham, 282 F.2d 256 (8th Cir. 1960) .............. 15
Ellis v. Board of Public Instruction of Orange County,
Florida, 423 F.2d 203 (Sth Cir. 1970) ............ 10, 16, 19, 25
Goss v. Board of Education of Knoxville, 373 U.S. 683
or oe CRIES MSE 15, 20
Green v. County School Board of New Kent County,
aon US. 430 (1068) ...................... ssaianeases 15, 16, 19, 21

Jones v. Alfred H. Mayer & Co., 392 U.S. 409 (1969)... 21

Mannings v. Board of Public Instruction of Hills-
borough County, No. 28,643 (Sth Cir. May 11,

IAT TEL ischial nlenstpinnnictbsonoddibaninsinanin 10, 16
MecFerren v. Fayette County Board of Education, Civ.

No. C-65-136 (W.D. Tenn., December 24, 1969) ........ 16
Monroe v. Board of Commissioners of Jackson, No.

19720 (6th Cir., June 19, 1970) ........0. 15

Northcross v. Board of Education of Memphis, 397
ITE "ahi hiei ab inieteceaninsocesineriinntineinace 17

Ross v. Eckels, Civ. No. 10,444 (S.D. Tex., June 1,
a Oe 16

iv
PAGE

Singleton v. Jackson Municipal Separate School Dis-
trict, No. 26285 (5th Cir., Jan. 15, 1970) ....................-- 29
Singleton v. Jackson Municipal Separate School Dis-
trict, 419 F.2d 1211 (5th Cir. 1969) 1,6
Spangler v. Pasadena City Board of Education, Civ.
No. 64-1438-R (C.D. Cal., March 12, 1970) ................ 25
Stell v. Savannah-Chatham County Board of Educa-
tion, 333 F.2d 55 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 379 U.S.
933 (1964) 15
Swann v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education,
No. 281, O.T. 1970, cert. granted, June 29, 1970, 38

U.S.L.W. 3522 25
Swann v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education,
300 F. Supp. 1358 (W.D. N.C. 1969) .................... 20, 24, 31
United States v. Lincoln County Board of Education,
301 F. Supp. 1024 (§.D. Ga. 1969) 16
Valley v. Rapides Parish School Board, Civ. No. 10,946
(W.D. La., July 5, 1970) 16
Statutes:
Fair Housing Act of 1968, 42 U.S.C.A. §§ 3601 et seq. 21
28 U.S.C. § 1254(1) 2
Other Authorities:
Abrams, Forbidden Neighbors (1955) 21
Racial Isolation in the Public Schools, A Report of the
U.S. Commission on Civil Rights (1967) .................... 21
Weaver, The Negro Ghetto (1948) 21

Weinberg, Race and Place—A Legal History of the
Neighborhood School (U.S. Gov’t Printing Office,
Catalogue No. FS 5.238 :38005, 1967) 19

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Octroser Term 1970
ee cache

Brorz Maz Davis, et al.,

Petitioners,

Vv.

Boarp or ScHoot ComMMISSIONERS OF
Mostte County, et al.

MOTION TO ADVANCE

Petitioners, by their undersigned counsel, respectfully
move that the Court advance its consideration and disposi-
tion of this case, which presents issues of national im-
portance about which the court bélow and other United
States Courts of Appeals are divided in their interpretation
of Green v. County School Bd. of New Kent County, 391
U.S. 430 (1968), Alexander v. Holmes County Bd of Educ.,
396 U.S. 19 (1969) and Carter v. West Feliciana Parish
School Bd., 396 U.S. 296 (1970). These issues require
prompt resolution by this Court for the reasons stated in
the annexed Petition for Writ of Certiorari.

WHEREFORE, petitioners pray that the Court:
1. Consider this motion immediately;

2. shorten the time for filing respondents’ response to
the annexed petition and

2

3. consider the annexed petition at the Court’s earliest
possible opportunity.

Respectfully submitted,

JacK GREENBERG
James M. Nasait, III
Norman J. CHACHKIN
10 Columbus Circle
New York, New York 10019

Vernon Z. CRaAwForD
Aucernon J. Cooper
1407 Davis Avenue
Mobile, Alabama 36603

Attorneys for Petitioners

In THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1970
| ne

Birvre Maz Davis, et al,
Petitioners,
v.

Boarp or ScHoot CoMMISSIONERS OF
Mose County, et al.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

Petitioners pray that a writ of certiorari issue to review
the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Fifth Circuit, entered in the above entitled case on
June 8, 1970. Petition for rehearing was denied June 29,
1970.

Opinions Below

The opinions of the courts below directly preceding this
petition’ are as follows:

1 Karlier proceedings in this case are reported as Davis v. Board
of School Comm’rs of Mobile County, 318 F.2d 63 (5th Cir. 1963) ;
322 F.2d 356 (5th Cir.), stay denied, 11 L.Ed.2d 26 (Mr. Justice
Black, Circuit Justice), cert. denied, 375 U.S. 894 (1963), rehear-
ing denied, 376 U.S. 898 (1964) ; 333 F.2d 53 (5th Cir.), cert. de-
nied, 379 U.S. 844 (1964) ; 364 F.2d 896 (5th Cir. 1966) ; 393 F.2d
690 (5th Cir. 1968); 414 F.2d 609 (5th Cir. 1969); sub nom.
Singleton v. Jackson Municipal Separate School Dist., 421 F.2d
1211 (5th Cir.), interim relief ordered, 38 U.S.L.W. 3220 (1969),
rev'd sub nom. Carter v. West Feliciana Parish School Bd., 396
U.S. 290 (1970).

2

1. Opinion and order of the District Court filed Janv-
ary 31, 1970, unreported (1la-7a).

2. Opinion of the Court of Appeals filed June 8, 1970,
not yet reported (8a-22a).

3. The judgment of the Court of Appeals (23a-24a).

4. Orders of the Court of Appeals on the petition for
rehearing (8a-22a).

Jurisdiction

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered on
June 8, 1970 (24a). The jurisdiction of this Court is in-
voked under 28 U.S.C. §1254(1).

Question Presented

Upon request from the courts below, the United States
Department of Health, Education, and Welfare developed
several plans to desegregate public schools in Mobile
County, Alabama. One plan integrated each school in the
system by establishing a number of school pairings and
clusters which necessitate the incidental transportation of
both black and white students. This technique of student
assignment—the use of school attendance zones with non-
contiguous parts and the transportation of students—had
long been used in the Mobile school system to maintain
segregated schools. In spite of this history and without
any evidentiary hearing in the District Court, the Court
of Appeals rejected this H.E.W. plan and ordered the
implementation of a plan which leaves 7,725 black students
in eight all-black schools. The rejection of the H.E.W.
plan was based solely on the Court’s deference to a hypo-
thetical “neighborhood schoo] concept” (13a) which Mobile
had not theretofore had.

3

The fundamental question presented to this Court is
whether black students are denied the equal protection of
the laws when they continue to be assigned to segregated
black schools despite the availability of ar alternative
method of student assignment which would desegregate
every school in the system and which is proved feasible
by the school board’s past use of the same assignment
techniques.

Constitutional Provision Involved

This case involves the Equal Protection Clause of the
Fourteenth Amendment to the Constitution of the United
States.

Statement

1. A Brief Overview of the School System.

Mobile has a combined rural and metropolitan school
system serving the whole of Mobile County. It is the
largest school system in Alabama;‘91 schools in the sys-
tem served 73,504 students during 1969-70. The total
number of white students is 42,620, or 58% of all students.
and the total number of black students is 30,884, or 42%
of all students.

Throughout the litigation to desegregate Mobile’s schools,
the rural and metropolitan portions of the system have
been treated separately. Since September 1969 the rural
portion of the system has been desegregated adequately
and this petition concerns only the metropolitan area com-
prised of the contiguous cities of Mobile, Pritchard and
Chickasaw. Within the metropolitan area there are 65
schools serving 54,913 students, of whom 27,769 or 50.5%
are white and 27,144 or 49.5% are black.

4

In addition to the rural-metropolitan division, another
division has more recently been advanced in this litigation.
This newer division is between the eastern and western
parts of the metropolitan area with Interstate Highway
I-65 used as a north-south divider. The western part is
predominantly white with 17 schools serving 13,875 stu-
dents, of whom 12,172 or 88% are white and 1,703 or
12% are black. The eastern part is majority black with
48 schools serving 41,038 students, of whom 15,597 or
38% are white and 25,441 or 62% are black.

The controversy which led to this Court’s decision in
Carter v. West Feliciana Parish School Board, 396 US.
290 (1970), concerned the decisions of the courts below
to treat separately the predominantly white and majority
black parts of metropolitan Mobile by permitting the for-
mulation of separate plans for each, and to delay desegre-
gating the majority-black part until 1970-71. It is the
continuing effort by tle school board and the courts below
to subdivide the metropolitan area which necessitates action
by this Court.

2. Summary of Proceedings in the Courts Below.

This action by black parents and students to desegregate
Mobile County’s public schools began in 1963. The United
States intervened in 1967 and successive groups of white
parents intervened in 1968 and earlier this year. The cur-
rent phase of this litigation began with the Court of Ap-
peals’ June 3, 1969 decision.

The main issue before the Court of Appeals at that time
was whether the School Board and the District Court had
complied with a previous decision of the Court of Ap-
peals* by establishing school attendance zones for elemen-

?The June 3, 1969 decision is reported at 414 F.2d 609; the
previous decision is reported at 393 F.2d 690.

5

tary and junior high schools, and maintaining freedom of
choice for high school students in metropolitan Mobile.
A second issue was retention of freedom of choice for all
students in rural Mobile County. The Court of Appeals
found that the District Court had “ignored the unequivocal
directive to make a conscious effort in locating attendance
zones to desegregate and eliminate past segregation.”
414 F.2d at 611. Freedom of choice in metropolitan high
schools and all rural schools was also held to be unac-
ceptable. Accordingly, the Court of Appeals ordered the
prompt formulation of a plan “to fully and affirmatively
desegregate all public schools in Mobile County, urban
and rural...” and directed the District Court to request
the Office of Education of the United States Department
of Health, Education, and Welfare to collaborate with the
School Board and submit its own desegregation plan if
agreement with the Board was not possible. Ibid.

H.E.W. and the School Board could not agree on a plan
and H.E.W. submitted its own county-wide desegregation
plan on July 10, 1969. The plan provided for zoning all
schools in rural and metropolitan Mobile (some schools
would be paired within zones), closing four black schools
in eastern Mobile, and transporting 2,000 black students
from the closed schools to white schools in the western
and southern parts of the metropolitan area. Petitioners
sought implementation of the plan with amendments to
correct two deficiencies: (1) the plan retained five large
all-black elementary schools serving 5,500 students because
H.E.W. was unwilling to recommend the transportation
of white students in addition to the transportation of
black students; and (2) the plan deferred desegregation
in eastern metropolitan Mobile, where 85% of the system’s
black students live, until 1970-71. On August 1, 1969, with-
out a hearing, the District Court ordered the implemen-

6

tation of H.E.W.’s plan for rural and western metropoli-
tan Mobile, as modified by the Court to eliminate the
H.E.W. proposal to transport 2,000 black students from
eastern to western metropolitan Mobile. The District Court
did accept H.E.W.’s plan to defer desegregation in eastern
metropolitan Mobile until 1970-71.

Petitioners appealed the delay, the Court of Appeals
affirmed,’ Mr. Justice Black ordered the School Board to
prepare for desegregation by February 1, 1970,‘ and this
Court reversed the delay.’ The case returned to the Dis-
trict Court in late January 1970 for second semester im-
plementation of a plan to complete the desegregation of
Mobile’s schools.

In the meanwhile, H.E.W. had submitted two additional
plans to the District Court on December 1, 1969. Using
the July 10, 1969 plan as a base (and labelling it Plan B),
H.E.W. proposed one modification (Plan B Alternative)
which totally eliminated the transportation of students
by continuing in operation the four black schools which
the July, 1969 plan closed. Plan B Alternative would
leave nine all-black schools serving 7,971 students (15a).
The second modification (Plan B-1 Alternative) recom-
mended closing two black schools, and pairing or clustering
all other black schools in eastern Mobile with white school
in western or southern Mobile. Transportation of both

3 Singleton v. Jackson Municipal Separate School District, 419
F.2d 1211 (5th Cir. 1969).

*38 U.S.L.W. 3220 (1969).

5 Carter v. West Feliciana Parish School Board, 396 U.S. 290
(1970).

° These additional H.E.W. plans were submitted in accordance
with the District Court’s August 1, 1969 decision which established
December 1, 1969 as the time for submitting plans for the 1970-71
school year.

ery S| SlCr

ee Se

7

black and white students would be required and all schools
in the system would be integrated (Ibid.).”

The same day, the School Board submitted its own plan
for eastern Mobile. It assigned 18,832 black students to
21 all or nearly all black schools.’

The District Court called attorneys for all parties to a
“pre-trial conference” in chambers on January 23, 1970
(2a). At the conference the following positions were taken:
(1) petitioners contended that the elementary school pro-
visions of H.E.W.’s Plan B-1 Alternative and the junior
and senior high school provisions of H.E.W.’s Plan B
should be implemented forthwith, but if the transportation
proposals made immediate relief impossible and the Dis-
trict Court selected another plan pendente lite, then a
hearing should be promptly set to determine a permanent
plan; (2) the United States proposed that the H.E.W.
plan involving no transportation (Plan B Alternative) be
implemented pendente lite while discovery and hearings on
a permanent plan proceeded; (3) the School Board argued
against any changes in its operations; and (4) the District
Court stated it would not consider the plans petitioners
supported and that the School Board’s December 1, 1969
plan was unacceptable without modifications.

The District Court concluded the conference by asking
the School Board for modification of its December 1, 1969
plan and the United States “for [a] revision of the H.E.W.
plan which the government thought should be followed
for the remainder of the present school year” (2a). The

™Plan B-1 Alternative involved only elementary schools. For
junior and senior high schools it proposed to incorporate the pro-
visions of Plan B.

* Petitioners, despite repeated requests, were not served with a
copy of the Board’s plan and had to move on January 2, 1970 for
an order compelling service which was not made until the District
Court granted the motion February 27, 1970.

8

School Board failed to respond to the court’s request.’ The
United States submitted a revision of H.E.W.’s no-trans-
portation alternative (Plan B Alternative) “as a plan
which could be implemented immediately to remain in
effect only for the present school year.” ’® Then, despite
its own characterization of the January 23 conference as
a “pretrial conference” and both petitioners’ and the United
States’ clearly stated position that plaintiffs sought only
mid-year relief pending hearings on a permanent deseg-
regation plan, the District Court without an evidentiary
hearing entered an order on January 31, 1970 which pur-
ported to finally disestablish the dual system in Mobile
(la-7a).

Mindless of its expressed view at the January 23, 1970
conference that the Board’s proposals were unacceptable,
the District Court’s order adopted the School Board’s De-
cember 1, 1969 plan with only several modifications. The
order left 18,623 black students, or 60% of the system’s
black students, in 18 all- or nearly all-black schools (18a-
22a). The court dismissed H.E.W.’s Plan B-1 Alternative,
which would establish pairings and clusters of non-con-
tiguous zones and require transporttion of students, by
making the general observation that it “would require
busing of children from areas of the city to a different
and unfamiliar area” (3a) and by singling out one" of

*In its January 31, 1970 order the District Court commented
on the Board’s failure:

“The school board and its staff of administrators and profes-
sional educators, who know the Mobile Public School System
best, who have all the facts and figures which are absolutely
necessary for a meaningful plan, have not assisted or aided
the Court voluntarily. Consequently, the plan which is by
this decree being ordered is not perfect .. .” (2a-3a).

1° Brief for the United States in the Court of Appeals, p. 22.

11 The one elementary arrangement which the court singled out
involved three schools, two white and one black, in a cluster. All

a, nan ae ete aoa & ee aa Ae on a a ee a a ee a ee

a in ie -_— - _ in tn sae A oe eee ae ee

9

the sixteen H.E.W. proposed pairs or clusters, presumably
to illustrate the court’s conclusion that H.E.W.’s proposal
was “motivated for the sole purpose of achieving racial
balance” (4a). Similarly, the court dismissed H.E.W.’s
Plan B for junior high schools by citing but one atypical
proposal to establish a cluster of three junior high schools,
stating that in the court’s view “the Supreme Court has
not held that such drastic techniques are mandatory for
the sole purpose of achieving racial balance” (4a).

Petitioners, the United States, and the School Board
appealed. Petitioners challenged both the failure of the
District Court to conduct an evidentiary hearing before
ordering a final plan and the court’s failure to require the
School Board to implement H.E.W.’s plan to establish nou-
contiguous pairings and clustering and transport both
black and white students to achieve complete desegregation.
The United States, while acknowledging that the School
Board’s past practices indicate that any of H.E.W.’s plans
would be feasible, asked the Court of Appeals to require
the implementation of H.E.W.’s sole no-transportation plan
for the negative reason that “no argument can be made
that plan B Alternative, which is the most modest plan,

students in the cluster would attend one of the white schools for
the first and second grades, the second white school for the third
grade, and the black school for grades four through six (4a). Of
the remaining fifteen elementary school arrangements in H.E.W.’s
Plan B-1 Alternative, only one other was similar. Eleven involved
only two schools with all students attending either the black or
white schools for two or three years and then attending the other
school for the remaining elementary school grades. Three other
arrangements involved three schools but required attendance at
only two schools. Under these arrangements all students in the
cluster would attend one school for grades one and two and then
divide, with one-half attending the second school in the cluster
for grades three through five and the other half attending the third
school for the same grades. Neither the simple pairing of two
schools serving non-contiguous black and white zones nor this latter
type of clustering were discussed by the District Court.

10

is either educationally unsound or administratively in-
feasible.” ** The School Board, although cross appealing,
sought affirmance of the District Court’s order.

The Court of Appeals, after remanding for further find.
ings of fact,’* decided the appeal on June 8, 1970. The
court defined its judicial task in these words:

We have examined each of the plans presented to
the district court in an effort to determine which would
go further toward eliminating all Negro or virtually
all Negro student body schools while at the same timc
maintaining the neighborhood school concept of the
school system (13a).

In the court’s view the neighborhood assignment system
allows two alternatives. One alternative requires the as-
signment of each student to the school nearest his home
with such assignments limited only by the capacity of the
schools. Ellis v. Board of Public Instruction of Orange
County, Florida, 423 F.2d 203, 207 (5th Cir. 1970). The
other alternative is the establishment of attendance zones
“on a discretionary basis as distinguished from a strict
neighborhood assignment. . . .” Mannings v. Board of
Public Instruction of Hillsborough County, Florida, No.
28643 (5th Cir., May 11, 1970) (Slip Op., p. 6). Mobile, the

2 Brief for the United States in the Court of Appeals, p. 47.

13The remand was required by the District Court’s failure to
determine how the School Board’s plan, which it adopted, would
affect the racial composition of any of the system’s schools. The
remand also directed the District Court to make findings on the
extent of desegregation of faculty, transportation and extracur-
ricular activities. Petitioners moved in the District Court on
April 6, 1970 to establish a procedure whereby after the Board
submitted proposed findings of fact an evidentiary hearing would
be held. The School Board submitted an affidavit which the Dis-
trict Court accepted in toto “excluding self-serving declarations
and speculative opinions.” Order of April 14, 1970. Petitioners’
motion for a hearing was denied the same day.

11

court concluded, had itself chosen not to use “the strict
neighborhood assignment system” but instead uses “discre-
tionary zones lines” (13a). As Mobile had made that deci-
sion for itself, the Court ruled that the desegregation plan
“can be greatly improved by pairing some schools located
in proximity to each other ... [and] also be improved by
recasting the grade structure in some of the buildings but,
at the same time, maintaining the neighborhood school
concept” (Jbid.).

The plan which found favor with the court was the
plan submitted by the United States as a modification of
H.E.W.’s no-transportation Plan B Alternative. The plan
left 8,515 black students in all-or nearly all-black schools
(Ibid.); the court rejaired modifications of the plan to
reduce the number of black students in all-black schools to
7,725 students in 8 elementary schools, which it noted
amounted to 25% of Mobile’s black students being assigned
to all-black schools (24a). In terms of elementary school
students in metropolitan Mobile, the plan results in the
assignment of 58% of black elementary school students
to all-black schools.

These results were justified by the court in four ways:
(1) “every Negro child would attend an integrated school
at some time during his education career” (13a); (2) “the
all Negro student body schools which will be left after the
implementation of the Department of Justice plan, as
modified, are the result of neighborhood patterns” (15a-
16a); (3) the remaining segregation can be “alleviated”
through a policy allowing black students to transfer to
white schools with transportation provided (16a); and (4)
the situation may be further alleviated by the establish.
ment of a bi-racial committee to serve in an “advisory
capacity” to the School Board (Ibid).

12

The Court of Appeals remanded the case to the District
Court with instructions to implement a new plan by July 1,
1970, On remand the District Court ordered the implemen.
tation of the plan submitted by the United States except
for amendments to two school districts which the Court
will make.

3. The Techniques of Segregation.

Although the District Court has not permitted any evi-
dentiary hearings on a desegregation plan since the sum-
mer of 1968, the record of the extensive hearing that sum-
mer and in previous years fully documents the various
techniques used by the School Board to segregate Mobile’s
schools."

a. Grade Structures. The Mobile school system has used
an extraordinarily wide variety of grade structures, in-
cluding schools serving grades 1-5, 1-6, 1-7, 1-8, 1-9, 1-12,
2-5, 6-7, 6-8, 6-9, 6-10, 6-12, 7, 7-8, 7-9, 7-11, 7-12, 8-12,
9-12, 10-11, 10-12. By selectively decreasing or increasing
the number of grades served at particular schools, the
School Board has increased or decreased the area served
by the school to coincide with racial residential patterns
(R. 26,886 Vol. V, pp. 1527-1534). For example, the
School Board established the Hillsdale School as the only
metropolitan school serving grades 1-12 in order to restrict
its attendance area to a small black community in the
western part of the metropolitan area. In downtown Mo-
bile, the School Board between 1962 and 1967 candidly re-
organized grade structures, and assigned portables and
closed schools, to maintain segregated schools in the face
of rapidly shifting racial residency patterns (R. 26,886

** This portion of the petition is a summary of a longer analysis
of these techniques contained in the Brief for the United States
in the Court of Appeals, pp. 4-18. Citations to R. 26,886 are to the
record before the Court of Appeals in Davis v. Board of School
Commissioners of Mobile County, 414 F.2d 609 (5th Cir. 1969).

13

Vol. VI, pp. 25-35). School segregation was also the ob-
jective in arranging grade structures at four white schools
surrounding a black school in northern metropolitan Mo-
bile to enable white students to attend one white school for
grade 6, a second for grades 7 and 8, a third for grade 9,
and a fourth for grade 10, all in order to prevent their
attendance at a nearby black school (R. 26,886 Vol. IV, pp.
1331-32).

b. Zones. The splitting of school attendance zones (i.e.,
non-contiguous zones) has been a common method of school
assignment in Mobile. As many as nineteen non-contiguous
zones were used in one year, 1964-65, including one split
zone in which the parts were separated by over 11 miles.*®
Transportation between split zones was provided by the
School Board (R. 26,886 Vol. I, pp. 5-6).

c. Portable Classrooms. The selective assignment of
portable classrooms in order to expand the capacity of
black schools as a way of avoiding the assignment of black
students to under-utilized nearby white schools has been
a method of maintaining segregated schools (R. 26,886
Vol. I, pp. 90-93).

d. Transportation. Busing has not been limited to the
rural parts of the school system. During 1966-67 the School
Board bused 7,116 students daily in the metropolitan area.
Approximately 2,350 of these students were bused because
of non-contiguous zoning (R. 26,886 Vol. I, pp. 5-6) A
considerable amount of busing was designed to maintain
segregation. As an example, 582 black students were bused
over 6 miles from rural Saraland and Satsuma to a black
school in metropolitan Mobile to prevent integration at
white schools in their communities (Ibid).

15 The facts were culled from numerous exhibits and appear in
summary form in the Brief of the United States in the Court of
Appeals, pp. 7-9 and Appendix C.

14

e. Construction. New schools in Mobile have been lo-
cated in order to serve only selected racial groups. For
example, although population movements in downtown Mo-
bile left unused classrooms in white schools, the Board
embarked on a plan during the 1966-67 school year to
construct four schools for black students in order to avoid
the reassignment of blacks at overcrowded black schools
to available space at white schools (R. 26,886 Vol. VI, pp.
25-35). A few years earlier, in 1963, the School Board
sought to justify to this Court its failure to even begin
desegregation by pointing to its ongoing construction of
“colored schools.” Justice Black’s opinion in chambers
recited the Board’s contentions:

Yet this record fails to show that the Mobile Board
has made a single move of any kind looking towards
a constitutional public school system. Instead, the
Board in this case has rested on its insistence that
continuation of the segregated system is in the best
interests of the colored people and that desegregation
would “seriously delay and possibly completely stop”
the Board’s building program “particularly the im-
provement of and completion of sufficient colored
schools which are so urgently needed.” In recent years,
more than 50% of its building funds, the Board pointed
out to the parents and guardians of its colored pupils,
had been spent to “build and improve colored schools,”
and of eleven million dollars that would be spent in
1963, over seven million would be devoted to “colored
schools.”

It is quite apparent from these statements that Mobile
County’s program for the future of its public school
system “lends itself to perpetuation of segregation”
..- Davis v. Board of School Commissioners of Mobile
County, 11 L. Ed. 2d 26, 28 (1963)

15

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I.

The Decision Below Conflicts With Rulings Both of
This Court Since Brown and of Other Courts of Ap-
peals. It Absolves School Boards of Responsibility to
Provide Equal Educational Opportunity to Black Stu-
dents Contained in Segregated Schools by ‘“Neighbor-
hood Residential Patterns” Which Are Themselves the
Result of State Action Combined With Private Discrimi-
nation.

Since Brown v. Board of Educ., 347 U.S. 483 (1954), this
Court has consistently invalidated subterfuges by which
schoo] districts have sought to maintain racially separate
and identifiable schools, whether such devices relied upon
school board or private initiative to produce the desired
result. E.g., Cooper v. Aaron, 358 U.S. 1 (1958) (delay
sought due to community opposition); Goss v. Board of
Educ. of Knoxville, 373 U.S. 683 (1963) (minority-to-
majority transfer allowing avoidance of integration) ;
Green v. County School Bd. of New Kent County, 391 US.
430 (1968) (free transfer plan permitting same result) ;
cf. Calhoun v. Latimer, 377 U.S. 263 (1964) (grade-a-year
desegregation). Lower courts have done the same. E.v.,
Dove v. Parham, 282 F.2d 256, 258 (8th Cir. 1960) (pupil
placement) ; Brewer v. School Bd. of City of Norfolk, No. 14,
344 (4th Cir., June 22, 1970) (en banc) (assignments based
on social class) ; Monroe v. Board of Comm'rs of Jackson,
No. 19720 (6th Cir., June 19, 1970) (same); Stell v.
Savannah-Chatham County Bd. of Educ., 333 F.2d 55, 62
(5th Cir.), cert. denied, 379 U.S. 933 (1964) (assignment
based on purported intelligence differences among races),
compare Anthony v. Marshall County Bd. of Educ., 419

16

F.2d 1211 (Sth Cir. 1969), rev’d on other grounds sub nom.
Carter v. West Feliciana Parish School Bd., 396 U.S. 290
(1970) (assignment by achievement test scores); United
States v. Lincoln County Bd. of Educ., 301 F. Supp. 1024
(S.D. Ga. 1969) (same); McFerren v. Fayette County Bd.
of Educ., Civ. No. C-65-136 (W.D. Tenn., December 24,
1969) (sex segregation).

The progress so far been realized in converting dual
school systems into unitary ones from which all vestiges
of discrimination have been extirpated, Green v. County
School Bd. of New Kent County, supra, is severely jeopar-
dized by the decision below and others like it which have
seized upon a justification for continued segregation in the
so-called “neighborhood school concept.” '*

This concept, whatever it means—imprecision is one of
its characteristics, compare Ellis v. Board of Public In-
struction of Orange Coanty, supra, with Mannings v. Board
of Public Instruction of Hillsborough County, supra—has
been advocated in the past as in the present by those seek-
ing to preserve segregation. As former Chief Judge Tuttle
observed earlier in this very litigation, the “neighborhood
school is a euphemism for separation.”

Both in the testimony and in the briefs, much is said
by the appellees about the virtues of “neighborhood
schools.” Of course, in the brief of the Board of Educa-
tion, the word “neighborhood” doesn’t mean what it
usually means. When spoken of as a means to require
Negro children to attend a Negro school in the vicinity

16 F.g., Ellis v. Board of Public Instruction of Orange County,
supra; Mannings v. Board of Public Instruction of Hillsborough
County, supra; Carr v. Montgomery County Bd. of Educ., No.
29521 (5th Cir., June 29, 1970); Bradley v. Board of Public In-
struction of Pinellas County, No. 28639 (5th Cir., July 1, 1970);
Ross v. Eckels, Civ. No. 10,444 (S.D. Tex., June 1, 1970) ; Calhoun
v. Cook, Civ. No. 6298 (N.D. Ga., Feb. 19, 1970) ; Valley v. Rapides
Parish School Bd., Civ. No. 10,946 (W.D. La., July 5, 1970).

17

of their homes, it is spoken of as a “neighborhood”
school plan. When the plan permits a white child to
leave nis Negro “neighborhood” to attend a white
schoo] in another “neighborhood” it becomes apparent
that the “neighborhood” is something else again. As
every member of this court knows, there are neighbor-
hoods in the South and in every city of the South
which contain both Negro and white people. So far as
has come to the attention of this court, no Board of
Education has yet suggested that every child be re-
quired to attend his “neighborhood school” if the neigh-
borhood school is a Negro school. Every board of edu-
cation has claimed the right to assign every white child
to a school other than the neighborhood school under
such circumstances. And yet, when it is suggested that
Negro children in Negro neighborhoods be permitted
to break out of the segregated pattern of their own race
in order to avoid the “inherently unequal” education of
“separate educational facilities,” the answer too often
is that the children should attend their “neighborhood
school.” ae

So, too, there is a hollow sound to the superficially ap-
pealing statement that school areas are designed by
observing safety factors such as highways, railroads,
streams, etc. No matter how many such barriers there
may be, none of them is so grave as to prevent the white
child whose “area” school is Negro from crossing the
barrier and enrolling in the nearest white school even
though it be several intervening “areas” away.

Davis v. Board of School Comm’rs of Mobile

County, 364 F.2d 896, 901 (5th Cir. 1966).

It is only now, after the decisions of this Court in Alez-
ander, Carter and Northcross have made unmistakable the

18

requirement of integration, that the “neighborhood school”
is offered as an inviolate principle of student assignment.
Like its predecessors—pupil placement and similar schemes
—its purpose is obvious: to provide a superficially neutral
gloss to the maintenance of racially separated schools.

Manipulating the “neighborhood school concept” today,
as many school boards seek to have it applied, and as the
Court of Appeals used it, means in almost every instance
(except in small, rural districts) that a significant segment
of a school district’s black student population will continue
to be assigned to all-black schools. This departure from the
clear mandates of this Court from Brown to Northcross is
offered as justifiable because of “neighborhood residential
patterns.”

Nowhere is this new rule more anomalous in result than
in Mobile. The district court had before it a number of
different desegregation plans for the Mobile school system,
submitted under court order because freedom of choice
had failed to change Mobile’s dual school system. Yet
neither the district court nor the Court of Appeals chose
the plan which would integrate every school and destroy
racial identifiability in the school system. Instead, both
courts left black students and white students alike in
segregated schools to preserve what they erroneously per-
ceived to be Mobile’s “neighborhood school system.”

But we do not deal here, as Judge Tuttle recognized four
years ago, with a school system in which the neighborhood
school concept has a long, hallowed or neutral history.
Mobile never considered the neighborhood school concept
a bar to its efforts to prevent the attendance of black and
white students at the same schools. The extensive record
and prolonged proceedings in this case show that the pair-
ing of non-contiguous attendance zones, the transportation
of students from one school zone to another, the closing

19

and conversion of schools, and the manipulation of grade
structures—techniques proposed by HEW to completely
dismantle Mobile’s dual system by desegregating every
school—were all established techniques of school adminis-
tration when the objective was segregation.

This Court held in Green that school districts must con-
sider proposed desegregation plans not in isolation and
abstraction but in “light of any alternatives which may be
shown as feasible and more promising in their effective-
ness.” 391 U.S. at 439. In Mobile, there is an alternative
plan to test the effectiveness of that approved below.’” The
appropriate allocation of burdens requires the School Board
to demonstrate its unworkability beyond question. That
task has not been undertaken because the Court of Appeals
saw fit to create, on its own, a new and absolute principle—

Under the neighborhood assignment basis in a unitary
system, the child must attend the nearest school whether
it be a formerly white school or a formerly Negro
school. Ellis v. Board of Public Instruction of Orange
County, 423 F.2d 203, 207 (5th Cir. 1970)

—and then excuse the board from burdens it must carry
under decisions of this Court. The fashioning by the Court
of Appeals of the neighborhood school concept in absolute
terms is as new a judicial invention as it is a principle of
school administration in Mobile." Invoking this concept

Where, as here, the alternative was formulated with the ex-
he of the United States Department of Health, Education and

elfare at the request of the district court, the “school districts are
to bear the burden of demonstrating beyond question, after a hear-
ing, the unworkability of the proposals....” Carter v. West Feli-
ciana Parish School Bd., 396 U.S. 290, 292 (1970) (concurring
opinion).

See generally, Weinberg, Race and Place—A Legal History of
the Neighborhood School (U.S. Gov’t Printing Office, Catalogue No.
FS 5.238 :38005, 1967).

20

as an absolute bar to considering feasible alternatives in
a process which requires the examination of individual
circumstances of individual districts is plainly contrary to
the decisions of this Court.

The absoluteness of the neighborhood school concept
employed by the Court below cannot be overstated. Only
the pupil assignment techniques of contiguous single-school
zoning or contiguous pairing have been held permissible;
any segregated school remaining after these two techniques
have been exhausted is judicially sanctioned on the ground
that it results solely from “neighborhood residential pat-
terns.” Yet the Court overlooks the vital role played by the
school system itself in creating and defining the “neighbor-
hoods” which are now held to be beyond the pale of school
board corrective action. As Judge McMillan has said, re-
ferring to Charlotte, “Putting a school in a particular loca-
tion is the active force which creates a temporary com-
munity of interest among those who at the moment have
children in that school,” Swann v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg
Bd. of Educ., 300 F. Supp. 1358, 1369 (W.D.N.C. 1969)
(emphasis omitted). We have pointed out above that the
record in this case vividly demonstrates the degree to which
the Mobile school board has in the past been able to main-
tain white and black school “neighborhoods” through ma-
nipulation of attendance boundaries, grade structures, port-
able classroom placement and the pupil transportation
system.

Like the minority-to-majority transfer disapproved in
Goss v. Board of Educ. of Knoxville, supra, the “neighbor-
hood school concept” permits private action which results
in the maintenance of segregated schools. To begin with,
there is a historic and pervasive pattern of housing segre-
gation caused by discrimination against black people
throughout the Nation. In the past, the policy of discrimi-

21

nation received the blessing of the federal government.
Racial Isolation in the Public Schools, A Report of the U.S.
Commission on Civil Rights 254 (1967). See also, Abrams,
Forbidden Neighbors 233 (1955) and Weaver, The Negro
Ghetto 71-73 (1948). In 1968, recognition of the problem
led the United States to take affirmative steps to make
housing available to minorities with the passage of the
Fair Housing Act of 1968, 42 U.S.C.A. §§ 3601 et seq.
(Supp. 1970); see also, Jones v. Alfred H. Mayer € Co.,
392 U.S. 409 (1969). But even if active housing discrimina-
tion were to cease, its residual effects persist. See Racial
Isolation in the Public Schools, supra, at 201-02, Legal Ap-
pendix at 255-56.

Furthermore, the record in this ease shows that the pres-
ent residential patterns in Mobile result to a substantial
degree from discriminatory policies of the federal, state
and local governments. For example, there has been a close
relationship between the school board and the public hous-
ing authorities in the Mobile area regarding location of
racially identifiable housing projects and-the concommitant
nearby location of school facilities which have traditionally
been, and which continue to be racially identifiable. E.g.,
Pl. Int. Ex. 87 (July 1967 hearing).

Making pupil assignment merely reflective of housing
patterns will therefore often but mirror community segre-
gation and discrimination; it ignores the affirmative duty
of school boards formerly operating dual systems to bring
about integration. Green v. County School Bd. of New
Kent County, supra.

The Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit has recog-
nized the problem. In Brewer v. School Bd. of City of
Norfolk, 397 F.2d 37, 41-42 (4th Cir. 1968), that Circuit
held that

22

Assignment of pupils to neighborhood schools is a
sound concept, but it cannot be approved if residence
in a neighborhood is denied to Negro pupils solely on
the ground of color.

Other Courts have likewise measured the “neighborhood
school concept” as a permissible desegregation device by
examining the alternatives available and the results of its
application.

The United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth
Circuit recently considered the mandates of this Court in
a challenge to Little Rock, Arkansas’s continuing failure
to desegregate its schools. At issue in this urban school
system was the acceptability of a geographic zoning plan
in light of several alternative plans involving the pairing
of schools and transportation of students. The Eighth
Circuit reviewed the results of Little Rock’s geographic
zoning plan against this statement of the law:

Thus, as of this date it is not enough that a scheme
for the correction of state sanctioned school segrega-
tion is non-discriminatory on its face and in theory. It
must also prove effective. As the Court observed in
Green:

“In the context of the state imposed pattern of long
standing, the fact that in 1965 the Board opened
the doors of the former ‘white’ school to Negro
children and of the ‘Negro’ school to white children
merely begins, not ends, our inquiry whether the
Board has taken steps adequate to call for the
dismantling of a well-entrenched dual system.”
391 U.S. at 437.

We believe that geographic attendance zones, just as
the Arkansas pupil placement statutes, “freedom of
choice” or any other means of pupil assignment must

23

be tested by this same standard. In certain instances
geographic zoning may be a satisfactory means of de-
segregation. In others it alone may be deficient.
Always, however, it must be implemented so as to
promote desegregation rather than to reinforce segre-
gation [citations omitted]. Clark v. Board of Educa-
tion of the Little Rock School District, No. 19,795 (8th
Cir., May 13, 1970) (en banc) (Slip op., pp. 14-15).

Applying this test to the results of Little Rock’s geographic
zoning plan the Eighth Circuit found that the plan retained
racially identifiable schools in the face of at least one alter-
native which would eliminate the racial -identifiability at
several such schools. The court held that the record could
not sustain a holding that the geographical zoning plan
“is the only ‘feasible’ means of assigning pupils to facilities
in the Little Rock School System” (Zbid.) and while declin-
ing to decide on an absolute basis whether “geographical
zoning or the neighborhood school concept are in and of
themselves either constitutionally required or forbidden”
the Court held “that as employed in the plan now before
us they do not satisfy the constitutional obligations of the
District” (Id. at 19-20).

The Eighth Circuit also declined to establish an absolute
rule of transportation:

Lastly, we do not rule that busing is either required
or forbidden. As Judge Blackmun stated in Kemp III,
“Busing is only one possible tool in the implementation
of unitary schools. Busing may or may not be a useful
factor in the required and forthcoming solution of
the .. . problem which the District faces.”

Kemp III, the El Dorado, Arkansas school case, focused on
the feasibility of transportation as a technique of deseg-
regation :

24

It may or may not be feasible to use it [busing], in
whole or in part, for Fairview-Watson-Murmil Heights
and it may or may not be feasible to use it, in whole
or in part, elsewhere in the system. Busing is not an
untried or new device for this District. Kemp v. Beas-
ley, No. 19,782 (8th Cir., March 17, 1970) (Slip op.
p. 14).

Similarly in Little Rock the Court took occasion to note
“that busing is not an alien practice” and had been used
by the District “to preserve segregation” (Slip op. p. 20).

Following its 1968 decision in Brewer, supra, the United
States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit has refused
to make the neighborhood school concept an inviolate prin-
ciple in the way the Fifth Circuit believes it is. The Fourth
Circuit, although observing that “[busing] is not a pana-
cea,” has held that “busing is a permissible tool for achiev-
ing integration. ...” Swann v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board
of Education, No. 14,517 (4th Cir., May 26, 1970) (Slip op.,
p. 18). The court specifically condemned the School Board’s
rejection of a variety of legitimate techniques of desegre-
gation.

The district court properly disapproved the school
board’s elementary school proposal because it left
about orfe-half of both the black and white elementary
pupils in schools that were nearly completely segre-
gated. . . . The consultants that the board employed
were undoubtedly competent, but the board limited
their choice of remedies by maintaining each school’s
grade structure. This, in effect, restricted the means
of overcoming segregation to only geographical zon-
ing, and as a further restriction the board insisted on
contiguous zones. The board rejected such legitimate
techniques as pairing, grouping, clustering, and satel-
lite zoning (Slip op., pp. 22-23).

25

On remand, the Court held that “every method of deseg-
regation, including rezoning with or without satel'ites,
pairing, grouping, and school consolidation” should be ex-
plored, and that “undoubtedly some transportation will be
necessary to supplement these techniques” ( Slip op., p.
25). Nowhere is there any suggestion that the neighbor-
hood school concept is an absolute bar to a plan entailing
the transportation of students.’ *°

“See also, Davis v. School Dist. of City of Pontiac, 309 F.
Supp. 734 (E.D. Mich. 1970); Spangler v. Pasadena City
Bd. of Educ., Civ. No. 64-1438-R (C.D. Cal., March 12,
1970) ; Crawford v. Board of Educ. of City of Los Angeles,
No. 822-854 (Super. Ct. Cal., February 11, 1970).

Ellis v. Board of Public Instruction of Orange County,
Florida, supra, suggests that the objectives served by
neighborhood schools are “to eliminate transportation costs
and to permit the student to remain as near home as pos-

Petitioners wish to make clear that noting the conflict between
the Fourth and Fifth Circuits does not in any way constitute an
endorsement of the Fourth Circuit’s limitation of remedial power
by its “reasonableness” doctrine. See Petition for Writ of Certi-
orari, Swann v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Bd. of Educ., No. 281, O.T.
1970, cert. granted, June 29, 1970, 38 U.S.L.W. 3522.

**In a concurring opinion in Brewer v. School Bd. of City of
Norfolk, No. 14,544 (4th Cir., June 22, 1970), cert. denied, 38 U.S.
L.W. 3522 (June 29, 1970), Judges Sobeloff and Winter wrote:

The District Court should not tolerate any new scheme or
“principle,” however characterized, that is erected upon and
has the effect of preserving the dual system. This applies to
the “neighborhood school” concept, a shibboleth decisively re-
jected by this court in Swann (Judge Bryan dissenting), as
an impediment to the performance of the duty to desegregate.
The purely contiguous zoning plan advanced by the Board in
that case was rejected by five of the six judges who partici-
pated. A new plan for Norfolk that is no more than an overlay
of existing residential patterns likewise will not suffice. (Slip
op. at pp. 1-2)

26

sible”. Ibid. The absoluteness of the principle prevents
any inquiry into the extent to which alternative assignment
methods may in fact or law counteract these objectives.

If the saving of transportation costs is a legitimate objec-
tive then the actual impact of a plan on these costs must
be appraised. Yet the Court of Appeals’ formulation of the
neighborhood school concept bars any determination of
these increased costs, the school board’s ability to bear
them, and the availability of state assistance to defray a
portion of the costs. Mobile is a school district which en-
gages in extensive busing (during 1967-68 207 buses trans-
ported 22,094 students daily)** and by examining its past
Operation and present financial situation it would be pos-
sible to determine the actual impact of an order requir-
ing the transportation of additional students. Furthermore,
the court’s formulation permits no consideration of the
savings which transportation might enable in the system’s
school construction program. The School Board has been
enjoined since 1969 from constructing two additional schools
in Mobile’s black ghetto. 414 F. 2d at 610. The use of
presently unused capacity in white schools would eliminate
the need to construct these facilities and the use of ‘<rans-
portation to better utilize existing facilities might actually
save the school system money. Finally, if the facts show
that Mobile’s transportation expenditures must actually
increase beyond state assistance and savings in school con-
struction costs, then the absoluteness of the court’s neigh-
borhood school concept forecloses judicial consideration
whether the saving of money is a legitimate basis for main-
taining racially separated schools.

The other objective which the neighborhood school con-
cept is said to serve is allowing students to remain as close

21 The average round trip was 31 miles. (H.E.W. Report, July
10, 1969, p. 61).

27

to home as possible. Again the absoluteness of the neigh-
borhood school concept prevents inquiry into the extent to
which alternative assignment systems counteract this objec-
tive. The non-contiguous zoning plan proposed by the
H.E.W. does not disperse students throughout the school
system without relationships to any neighborhood schools.
What the H.E.W. plan typically proposes to do is to re-
quire students and parents to relate to two neighborhoods,
one black and one white, instead of to just one racial
neighborhood. If parents living in proximity to one an-
other wish to organize to act upon school problems they
may still do so, except that they would hopefully work in
concert with the parents of the paired zone to solve mutual
problems. Yet no consideration may be given to these
views given the absoluteness of the court’s ruling below.

The Court of Appeals offers three alternatives to the
desegregation of all schools: an integrated educational
experience at some point in a child’s educational career,
a transfer policy allowing black students to transfer to
white schools with transportation provided, and the estab-
lishment of a bi-racial committee to advise the School Board
(16a). None of these alternatives provides a remedy for
the constitutional wrong involved in maintaining racially
segregated elementary schools.

Offering an integrated education in junior and senior
high schools merely postpones the constitutional right to an
integrated education and does not grant it “now”. Alezx-
ander v. Holmes County Board of Education, 396 U.S. 19
(1969). It also fails to consider the damage caused by five
or six years of segregated elementary education and the
difficulties black children will face in integrated junior and
senior high schools after a segregated elementary educa-
tion. The second alternative, transfers with transportation
provided, unlawfully seeks to shift the burden from the
School Board back to black children. Freedom of choice

28

by whatever name has never worked in Mobile. Davis v.
Board of School Commissioners of Mobile County, 393 F.2d
690 and 414 F.2d 1211 (5th Cir. 1968-69). The third “alter-
native,” a bi-racial advisory committee, while probably sal-
utary is not an alternative in fact. It is just an advisory
committee to an all-white and recalcitrant school board.

Finally the Court of Appeals offers the illusion that
“open housing, Title VIII, Civil Rights Act of 1968...
[and] Jones v. Mayer, 392 U.S. 409 (1969) .. . will serve
to prevent neighborhood entrapment” (16a). To the con-
trary, open housing, which is a difficult enough goal to
achieve, will probably become even more difficult now that
the Court of Appeals has provided an added inducement
for whites to maintain neighborhood segregation. If, on the
other hand, everyone realized that no matter where any
one moved in the school system his children would attend
an integrated school—and assuming that local interest in
a neighborhood school system is strong—then the more the
Mobile community integrated its neighborhoods the less it
would have to transport students.

This Court Should Grant Certiorari in Order to In-
sure Petitioners’ Due Process Right to an Evidentiary
Hearing in the District Court.

The instructions of the Court of Appeals to the district
court on June 3, 1969, Davis v. Board of School Comm'rs of
Mobile County, 414 F.2d 609 (5th Cir. 1969), provided for
the submission of a new desegregation plan to replace free- —
dom of choice in Mobile, and that

3... (e) For plans as to which objections are made
... the District Court shall commence hearings begin-
ning no later than ten days after the time for filing
objections has expired.

29

Id. at 611 (emphasis supplied). Despite this clear man-
date, and petitioners’ expressed objections to provisions
of the plan filed by the Mobile school board, the district
court acted August 1, 1969 without a hearing. Similarly,
on remand from this Court (sub nom. Carter v. West Feli-
ciana Parish School Bd., supra, implemented sub nom.
Singleton v. Jackson Municipal Separate School Dist., No.
26285 (5th Cir., Jan. 15, 1970)), the district court merely
held a “pre-trial conference” and then entered an order
on a permanent desegregation plan without affording an
opportunity for an evidentiary hearing.

The absence of a record upon which to review the district
court’s judgment led the Court of Appeals to issue a limited
remand for fact finding by the district court on specific
issues vital to determining the propriety of the district
court’s action, such as the extensiveness of Mobile’s pupil
transportation system. Yet again, the district court denied
petitioners’ motion for a hearing and made its findings
without petitioners’ having been able to confront the board’s
version of the facts and introduce evidenee contradicting it.
Petitioner’s appeal below raised the denial of an eviden-
tiary hearing as one of the issues, but the Court of Appeals,
which also acted summarily,” ignored it.

* The last regularly scheduled oral argument in a school deseg-
regation case in the Fifth Circuit was held last summer, except for
one argument held March 18, 1970 in Bradley v. Board of Public
Instruction of Pinellas County, supra. Ten cases were removed
from the regular calendar and argued together en banc November
15-16, 1969. Singleton v. Jackson Municipal Separate School Dist.,
supra, rev’d sub nom. Carter v. West Feliciana Parish School Bd.,
supra. Since that time, more than twenty decisions in such cases
have been issued, all—with the exception of Bradley—without the
benefit of oral argument. In addition, since Singleton, all school
desegregation appeals have been subject to its vastly accelerated
time schedule, see 419 F.2d at 1222, which often requires briefing
and decision without benefit of a transcript. In light of the accel-
erated and summary procedures of the Court of Appeals, the dis-
trict court’s refusal to hold a hearing assumes even greater signifi-
cance.

30 i

Petitioners submit that this consistent refusal to permit
them to present their case is contrary to the most funda-
mental notions of due process. Particularly in our adver.
sary system, courts rely upon the vigorous presentations
of counsel to sharpen issues, focus litigation, and bring out
the facts. Yet neither the district court, which selected and
modified a plan, nor the Court of Appeals, which selected
and modified a different plan, has heard counsel in this case.

The plans do, in a limited sense, speak for themselves,
Assuming arguendo that the district court might have se-
lected a plan to be implemented pendente lite without a
hearing, (and we submit that under the principles of Alez-
ander and Carter, this Court should require the implemen-
tation of Plan B-1 Alternative pendente lite) the final dis-
position of a case of this magnitude affecting tens of
thousands of students should not be attempted without full
exploration of the facts. If the district court was under
the impression that it had an obligation to finally dispose
of the case by February 1, 1970 at the cost of a full explora-
tion of the facts at a hearing, then the court misread
Carter and Alexander.

Only after a full hearing at which all parties have the
opportunity to present their evidence should the district
court rule on a permanent plan and in so doing, make
detailed findings of fact. The findings of the district court
in its January 31, 1970 order hardly acquit the court’s
obligation. The selection of isolated facts from a con-
prehensive plan to desegregate a large school district pro-
vides plainly inadequate support for whatever ultimate
conclusion the court may reach. Finally, if the court by
an appropriate standard does find isolated problems with
a comprehensive plan it should require amendments rather
than reject the plan in its entirety.

31

Merely remanding to the district court for an eviden-
tiary hearing will serve no purpose, however, unless this
Court also makes clear that in devising a remedy for the
state-imposed duai school system in Mobile, neither the
school board nor the district court is in any way limited
by the “neighborhood school concept” expounded by the
Court of Appeals. And, pending such hearing and the
district court’s determination, this Court should require
Mobile to implement Plan B-1 Alternative pendente lite.
Cf. Swann v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Bd. of Educ., supra
note 19,

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons it is submitted that the peti-
tion fer certiorari should be granted to review the judg-
ment of the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth
Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

JACK GREENBERG
James M. Nasnit, III
MicHaeL Davinson
Norman J. CHacHKIN
10 Columbus Circle
New York, New York 10019

Vernon Z. Crawrorp
ALcERNON J. Cooper
1407 Davis Avenue
Mobile, Alabama 36603

Attorneys for Petitioners

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386413_0267%3A04. Public record. Not legal advice.
