# Amicus Curiae Brief — Swann v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386413_0266%3A16

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1971
- **Citation:** 402 U.S. 1

## Text

IN THE

Tsupreme Court of the United-State

Upreme uC rt, U.S.
OCTOBER TERM, 1970 FITEN
voi —ssSSEP 22 MME
E, ROBERT SEAVER, CLER

JAMES E. SWANN, et al., Petitio

7

Vv.

3 CHARLOTTE-MECKLENBURG BOARD OF
EDUCATION, et al.,

vem oa ee ee o

No. 349

CHARLOTTE-MECKLENBURG BOARD OF
EDUCATION, et al., Petitioners,

Vv.

JAMES E. SWANN, et al.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT
OF APPEALS FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

AMICUS CURIAE BRIEF FOR THE CLASSROOM TEACHERS
ASSOCIATION OF THE CHARLOTTE-MECKLENBURG
SCHOOL SYSTEM, INCORPORATED

Sam J. Ervin, Jr.
515 Lenoir Street
Morganton, North Carolina

Charles R. Jonas
301 W. Main Street
Lincolnton, N.C.

Ernest F. Hollings
141 East Bay Street
Charleston, South Carolina

Washington, 0. C. - THIEL PRESS - 202 - 363-0625

(i)
TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Interest of the Amicus... .. 22.22... cece cece eee eneee 1
eT Te eT eee eT rere ee ee 2

OS Pe nr rey rr ee ee 3

Questions Presented for Review..........--2++ee+eeeee 3
Constitutional and Statutory Provisions Involved ........... os
AENEID cg pv cnc sccccsnvcceeveneeesuse 4
ee ee eee eee ee eee 14
ee eee eee 17

I. The Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education has
complied with the Equal Protection Clause of the
Fourteenth Amendment and the Supreme Court deci-
cisions interpreting it by establishing and operating _
a unitary public school system, which receives and
teaches students without discrimination on the basis
of their race or color. Any racial imbalance remain-
ing in any of the schools under the jurisdiction of
the Board represents de facto segregation, which inno-
cently results from the purely adventitious circum-
stance that the inhabitants of particular areas in and
adjacent to the City of Charlotte are predominantly
Se rrr re ee eee ee eee eee ee 17

Il. The Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth
Amendment does not require or empower a Federal
Court to order a public school board to assign
children to the schools it operates merely to balance
the student bodies in such schools racially, or to
bus children outside reasonable geographic attend-
ance districts or zones to effect such purpose. The
District Court ordered the Charlotte-Mecklenburg
School Board to do both of these things, and the
Circuit Court erred insofar as it affirmed the District
es ee ark oie ae CNR * 22

lil. The Fifth Section of the Fourteenth Amendment
empowers Congress to enforce the Equal Protection
Clause by appropriate legislation, the First Section

mae

(ii)

of Article III of the Constitution empowers Congress
to regulate the jurisdiction of United States District
Courts and United States Circuit Courts of Appeals,
and the Second Section of Article III of the Consti-
tution empowers Congress to regulate the appellate
jurisdiction of the Supreme Court. Congress exer-
cised all of these powers in an appropriate fashion
when it enacted Title IV of the Civil Rights Act of
1964, which prohibits the assignment of students to
public schools to balance the student bodies in such
schools racially, and to bus them from some schools
to other schools, or from some school districts to
other school districts to effect such purpose. The
Act’s prohibition on busing is absolute and deprives
federal courts of jurisdiction to compel school boards
to bus students to overcome racial imbalances in
schools, even if such imbalances result from discrimi-
natory school board action. The District Court order
violated this Act by commanding the Charlotte-
Mecklenburg School Board to do the things pro-
hibited by it, and the Circuit Court joined in such
violation insofar as it affirmed the District Court

IV. A school board has the power to devise and imple-
ment any non-discriminatory plan for the assignment
of children to the public schools it operates. The
District Court not only rejected a non-discriminatory
assignment plan submitted by the Charlotte-Mecklen-
burg School Board, but it usurped and exercised the
authority of the School Board in this respect by
devising a plan of its own which commands the
School Board to deny thousands of children admis-
sion to their neighborhood schools, and to bus them
to other schools to mix the races in the various
schools in numbers or proportions satisfactory to
the District Court. By so doing, the District Court
ordered the School Board to deny to the thousands
of children affected by its order admission to their
neighborhood schgols in violation of the Equal Pro-
tection Clause, arfd to bus them to other schools or

(iii)

Eg Pe SEEN

other school districts in violation of Section 407(a)
(2) of the Civil Rights Act of 1964. The Circuit

Carter v. West Felicana Parish School Board, 396 U.S. 290

Court concurred in these violations, and erred insofar
as it affirmed the order of the District Court ......--- 36
SMMC piensa tans tas ete esawew nce e eases se 40
Appendix TE CKO S SESE SOE REE ESS ENE SES POTN A. 1

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:

- Alexander v. Holmes County Board of Education, 396 US.
SE cca sawn ee dns sede seeneseneaeeens ss 19, 23

Alexander v. Holmes County Board of Education, 396 U.S.
RMD. pa sececcnsrecneesuseeecnanes ees 19, 23
avery v. Midland County, 390 U.S. 474 (1968) ..-------+- 18
Barry v. Mercein, 5 How. (U.S.) 103, 119 (1847) ...----+-- 29

- Bell v. City School of Gary, Indiana (7 CA-1963), 324 F.2d
PS Sle A ee eddie 25

Board of School Commissioners of Mobile County v. Davis,

11 Led. (U.S.) (2d) 26 (1963)... --- +e rere reece 19
Bolling v. Sharpe, 347 U.S. 497 (1954) ....--- eee eee eeee 18
Bradley v. School Board of City of Richmond, 383 U.S.

CE Ae Saupe cdenesacsedeccsarverssss® 19
Brown v. Board of Education of Topeka, 347 U.S. 483

cathe wh snakes hage ehh snes ese ees® passim
Brown v. Board of Education of Topeka, 349 U.S. 294

ES ee ee ie, oan
Bush v. New Orleans Parish School Board, 364 U.S. 5

ea Gae'ss Castes te geeensesnaesessees 18
Carter v. West Felicana Parish School Board, 396 U.S. 226
yr D yaks seek ane nsse es ee ner eee e sean es 19

(iv)

Chisholm v. Georgia, 2 Dall. (U.S.) 419, 432 #4743)
Cooper v. Aaron, 358 U.S. 1, 20 (1958).
Cross v. Burke, 146 U.S. 82, 86 (1892) ..

Cumming v. Richmond County Board of Education, 175
Es ik cielo Ske -b 4.6 ees see as os

Daniels v. Railroad Co., 3 Wall. (U.S.) 250, 254 (1866) ......

Dowell v. Board of Education of the Oklahoma City Public
oo ee

Downs v. Board of Education of Kansas City, Kansas (10
CA-1964), 336 F.2d 483 (1954) .................

Durousseau v. United States, 6 Cranch 307 (1810) ......
Ex Parte Bollman, 4 Cranch (U.S.) 75, 93 (1807) .......
Ex Parte McCardle, 6 Wall. (U.S.) 318 (1868) ..........
Gong Lum v. Rice, 275 U.S. 78 (1927) ..............

Goss v. Board of Education of Knoxville, 373 U.S. 683
DUCCttlclc cle vied h ee hb ee bee so he hoes

Green v. County School Board of New Kent County, 391
ccs schaehen ena a kkse wich ane ue

Griffin v. County School Board of Prince Edward County,
og eer ee

Keyes v. School District No. 1, Denver, 396 U.S. 1215
SRE RE Ey me ee ere er eae

Kline v. Burke Construction Co., 260 U.S. 226, 234 (1922) ...

Kuntz v. Moffitt, 115 U.S. 487, 497 (1885) ...........

Lauf v. E. G. Skinner & Co., 303 U.S. 323, 330 (1938) ...

Lockerty v. Phillips, 319 U.S. 182 (1943).............

Maxwell v. Bugbee, 250 U.S. 525 (1919) .............

ee

Missouri Pacific Railway Co. v. Mackey, 127 U.S. 205-

i SP Oe rr eS Ter eee eT eT TT TT TTT Tee

Missouri v. Pacific Railway Co., 292 U.S. 13, 15 (1934) ...

Monroe v. Board of Commissioners of the City of Jackson,
ee ee SS kh back be eee kee Benes

(v)

Northcross v. Board of Education of the Memphis City
S Schools, 397 U.S. 232 (1970) ...-- +--+ eee eeeeeee 1

Plessy v. Ferguson, 163 U.S. 537 (1896). ....- eee cecees

y. Board of Education of the Gould School District,
391 US. 443 (1968)... -- ee eee eee eee ee eee tenes

Rogers v. Paul, 382 US. 198 (1965) ......+++++- 222000
+ Sheldon v. Still, 8 How. (U.S. 441 (1850) ......---+--++-

| Shuttlesworth v. Birmingham Board of Education, 358 U.S.
DR sc vcresvacsenecesversnccsvvontees

State Board of Tax Commissioners v. Jackson, 283 US.
TS) Rennes

> Stephan v. United States, 319 U.S. 423, 426 (1943) .....---

! Swann v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education, 343
At) ee

Swann v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education, 369
B BBE PD (19EG) 0 ccc rc cccccvcccscccccccccvces

| The Francis Wright, 105 U.S. 381, 386 (1882) ...-..------
Tumer v. Bank of North America, 4 Dall. (U.S.) 8 (1799) .

© United States v. Montgomery County Board of Education,
E 305 US. 225 (1969) .. 0... cece rere ere re rececees

ES Walters v. St. Louis, 347 U.S. 231 (1934) .......-.----00-
| Watson v. City of Memphis, 373 U.S. 526 (1963)...--.------
Wiscart v. D’Auchy, 3 Dall. (U.S.) 321 (1796).........----
Yakus v. United States, 321 U.S. 414 (1944)

LS GOR RS ARES. Sl RE RES EA a RL SE aca

IN THE

supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1970

No. 281

JAMES E. SWANN, et al., Petitioners,
v.

CHARLOTTE-MECKLENBURG BOARD OF
EDUCATION, et al.,

No. 349

CHARLOTTE-MECKLENBURG BOARD OF
EDUCATION, et al., Petitioners,

v.

JAMES E. SWANN, et al.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT
OF APPEALS FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

\MICUS CURIAE BRIEF FOR THE CLASSROOM TEACHERS
ASSOCIATION OF THE CHARLOTTE-MECKLENBURG
SCHOOL SYSTEM, INCORPORATED

INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE

The Classroom Teachers Association of the Charlotte-
cklenburg School System, Incorporated, is a non-profit
mbership organization in corporate form, which includes
its membership a substantial part of the 3,553 classroom
chers in the Charlotte-Mecklenburg School System and
ich devotes itself to the advancement of public educa-
n. The specific objectives of the Organization and its
mbers are to promote the interests of classroom teachers
the Charlotte-Mecklenburg School System, and to secure

2

to the students attending the schools of the System opp.
tunities to achieve by quality education their highs
potentialities.

The Classroom Teachers Association of the Charloty.
Mecklenburg School System and its members believe thy
the execution of the order of the United States Distrig
Court for the Western District of North Carolina ay
the judgment of the United States Circuit Court for ty
Fourth Circuit affirming such order in part seriously impair
the educational opportunities offered by the Charlott
Mecklenburg School System to the students in its schook
and for this reason the organization files this amicy
curiae brief in support of the position of the Charlotte.
Mecklenburg Board of Education, which harmonizes with
this view.

The parties to the proceedings in Nos. 281 and 349 hay
consented in writing to the filing of this brief, and th

writings evidencing such consent have been filed with th
Clerk.

The members of the Supreme Court bar who submit thi
brief in behalf of the organization do so without compens:
tion in the hope that they may aid the Supreme Court t
reach a decision which will restore tranquility to muc
troubled areas of our land and enable the public school
operating in them to function economically and efficient!
as educational institutions.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court below consists of the opinio
and judgment of the United States Court of Appeals fik
May 26, 1970, which are not yet reported and whic
appear in the Appendix (Volume 3, pages 1262a to 13042

In its opinion and judgment, the Court of Appea
reviewed and approved in part and remanded in part f
further consideration the rulings and findings made by t

3

United States District Court in the following orders and
documents:

1. Order dated February 5, 1970 (819a-839a), as
amended, corrected, and clarified on March 3, 1970 (921a).

2. Supplementary Findings of Fact dated March 21,
1970 (1198a-1220a).

3, Supplemental Memorandum dated March 21, 1970
# (1221a-1238a).

JURISDICTION

| The Supreme Court has jurisdiction to review this case
5 wy wit of certiorari under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1), and has
> accepted it for such purpose by granting writs to the peti-
= tioners in No. 281 and the petitioners in No. 349.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

This case presents the following questions for review:

= 1. Does a public school board comply with the Equal
© Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment when
© it creates non-discriminatory attendance districts or zones
> and assigns all children, black and white, to neighborhood
> schools in the district or zone in which they reside without
© regard to their race?

} 2. Does the Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth
> Amendment empower a federal court to order a public
© school board to assign children to the schools it operates to
» balance the student bodies in such schools racially or to
- bus children outside of non-discriminatory attendance dis-
} tricts or zones to effect such purpose?

| 3. Does Title IV of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, which

prohibits the assignment of students to public schools to
balance the student bodies in such schools racially and to
bus them from some schools to other schools or from some
school districts to other school districts to effect such
purpose, constitute appropriate legislation to enforce the
Equal Protection Clause within the purview of the Fifth
Section of the Fourteenth Amendment?

4

4. Does the order entered by the District Court ang
affirmed in part by the Circuit Court usurp and exercig
the authority of the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Edy.
cation to devise and implement a non-discriminatory assign-
ment plan conforming to the Equal Protection Clause, ang
require the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education to
violate the Equal Protection Clause by treating in a differ.
ent manner students similarly situated and by denying
students admission to their neighborhood schools becausg
of their race?

The amicus curiae insists that the first, third, and fourth
questions must be answered in the affirmative and that the
second question must be answered in the negative.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The case involves the first and second sections of the
Fourteenth Amendment; the first and second sections of
Article III of the Constitution; and Title IV of the Civil
Rights Act of 1964. These constitutional and statutory
provisions are printed in the Appendix.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. The Charlotte-Mecklenburg Public School System

The writ in No. 281 and the writ in No. 349 present to
the Supreme Court for review the judgment entered by the
United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit on
May 26, 1970, in the civil action entitled James E. Swann
and others, Plaintiffs, v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of
Education and others, Defendants. For ease of narration
and understanding, Jemes E. Swann and his associates in
this litigation are hereafter called the plaintiffs, and the
Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education is hereafter
designated as the School Board.

The School Board operates the Charlotte-Mecklenbur
Public School System in Charlotte and Mecklenburg County,
North Carolina, political subdivisions of North Carolina

5

Charlotte, which is the county seat of Mecklenburg County,
is inhabited by 239,056 persons who are concentrated
within the 64 square miles embraced by its city limits, an
area larger than the District of Columbia. Mecklenburg
County embraces 550 square miles, has an east-west span
of 26 miles, a north-south span of 36 miles, and has a
population of 352,006, exclusive of those residing within
the area embraced by Charlotte.

In the discharge of its state-assigned duties, the School
Board operates 10 high schools, 21 junior high schools, and
72 elementary schools to house and instruct the 84,500
school children residing in Charlotte and Mecklenburg
County. Of these school children, 24,000, or 29 percent,
are black, and 60,500, or 71 percent, are white. Approxi-
mately 95 percent of all the black children who reside
within the limits of the City of Charlotte live in predomi-
nately black residential sections in northwest Charlotte, and
> a substantial portion of the other black children in Meck-
© lenburg County reside in predominately black residential
} areas adjacent to it. (293a-298 a).

Prior to Brown v. Board of Education of Topeka, 347 U.S.
483 (1954), the School Board operated the public schools of
Charlotte and Mecklenburg County as racially segregated
| schools in conformity with the interpretation then placed
> upon the Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amend-
» ment. Subsequent to the Brown Case and prior to 1965,
© the School Board established an effective system of deter-
+ mining admission to its public schools on a non-racial basis.
It did this, and thus converted its formerly dual system
into a unitary system by establishing non-discriminatory
attendance districts or zones, and assigning the school
- children subject to its jurisdiction to their neighborhood
schools irrespective of race.

Inasmuch as some of the attendance districts or zones in
tural Mecklenburg County and some of its suburban resi-
dential districts or zones in or adjacent to Charlotte are
extremely large, the School Board voluntarily established
a transportation system for the sole purpose of carrying

6

children residing in these geographically large districts
zones to the nearest available schools. As a consequence,
it now uses 280 buses to bus some 23,000 school childrey
to rural and suburban schools. (8644)

In 1965 the plaintiffs brought the instant action agains
the School Board in the United States District Court fy,
the Western District of North Carolina seeking to obtaiy
a compulsory desegregation decree. After hearing the ey.
dence in the case, the District Court found that the Schoo
Board had complied with the requirement of the Equd
Protection Clause and denied the decree sought by them,
Swann v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education, 243
F.Supp. 667 (1965). This ruling was affirmed by the
Circuit Court. Swann v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of
Education, 369 F.2d 29 (1966).

B. The Plan Submitted by the Charlotte-
Mecklenburg Board of Education

Subsequent to the decision in Green v. County School
Board of New Kent County, 391 U.S. 430 (1968), the
plaintiffs filed a motion in the cause seeking further deseg-
regation. (2a)

Although it found as a fact that the “location of schools
in Charlotte has followed the local pattern of residential
development, including its de facto patterns of segregation”
(305a), and that the School Board members “‘have achieved
a degree and volume of desegregation of schools apparently
unsurpassed in these parts and have exceeded the per
formance of any school boards whose actions have been
reviewed in the appellate court decisions” (31 1a-312a), the
District Court resumed hearings in the case on the ground
that the Green Case had changed “the rules of the game.”
(312a)

It is to be noted that subsequently the District Court on
its own motion reversed its previous findings that any racial
imbalance in the Charlotte-Mecklenburg public schools wa
the result of de facto segregation by asserting that “there i

7

so much State action imbedded in and shaping these events
that the resulting segregation is not innocent or ‘de facto’
and the resulting schools are not ‘unitary’ or ‘desegregated’.”
(662a) The amicus curiae submits with all due deference
that there is no testimony in the record to sustain this par-
ticular finding.

t to the orders entered by the District Court on
April 23, 1969 (285a), June 20, 1969 (448 a), August 15,
1969 (579a), and December 1, 1969 (698a), the School
Board filed desegregation plans (330a, 480a, 670a) which
were rejected by the District Court.

Meanwhile on December 2, 1969, the Court appointed
+ Dr. John Finger, a resident of Rhode Island, as a special
= consultant to devise a desegregation plan for the guidance
> of the Court. (819a) Dr. Finger had originally entered the
» case as a partisan witness for the plaintiffs, and for this
a reason a good case can be made for the proposition that he
> lacked the impartiality which is desirable in one selected for
> the task of assisting a judge in keeping the scales of justice
| evenly balanced between adverse litigants. (1279a)
~~ While the District Court orders and the School Board
© plans mentioned above shed light on the School Board’s
ES devotion to the neighborhood school concept, and its reluc-
} tance as an elected public body to engage in excessive and
| expensive busing of school children, the subsequent School
’ Board plan of February 5, 1970, and the subsequent District
> Court order of February 5, 1970, relating to it really illumi-
nate the issues which now confront the Supreme Court.
(726a-748a, 819a-839a)

By this plan, the School Board proposed that attendance
districts or zones should be drastically gerrymandered in
such a manner as to include as many blacks as possible in
each district or zone, and that all school children subject to
its jurisdiction should be required to attend the school
appropriate to their educational standings in the district or
zone of their residence. The plan would have accomplished
aracial mixture of school children in all of the 103 schools

8

in the system, except three elementary white schoo
located in neighborhoods inhabited exclusively by member
of the white race. (726a-748a)

The School Board plan contemplated that from 17 pe, :

cent to 36 percent of the student body in nine of the tey
senior high schools in the system would be black; that no
more than 38 percent of the student body in 20 of the 2)
junior high schools in the system would be black; and tha
not more than 40 percent of the student body in 60 of the
72 elementary schools in the system would be black.

Under the School Board plan, the remaining high school,
Independence High, would be 2 percent black and 98 per.
cent white; the remaining junior high school, Piedmont
Junior High, would be 90 percent black and 10 percent
white; and all of the 12 remaining elementary schook,
except the three white elementary schools, would be 83
percent to 1 percent black. (726a-748a)

The School Board judged it to be impossible to desegre-
gate the three white elementary schools, and to further
desegregate the nine predominately black elementary school
by geographic districting or zoning because of the de facto
segregation prevailing in the residential areas in which the
children assigned to these 12 elementary schools lived.
(730a-732a) The District Court made a specific finding in
its Supplemental Findings of Fact of March 21, 1970,
which establishes the validity of the School Board’s concl-
sion concerning Independence High, Piedmont Junior High,
and the 9 predominately black elementary schools, all of
which are located in northwest Charlotte or its environs.

The District Court expressly found that “both Dr. Finger
and the School Board staff appear to have agreed, and the
Court finds as a fact that for the present at least there is
no way to desegregate the all-black schools in northwest
Charlotte without providing (or continuing to provide) bus
or other transportation for thousands of children. All plans
and all variation of plans considered for this purpose lead
in one fashion or another to that conclusion.” (1208a)

alt ic ANAS RR NE EE

9

The amicus curiae submits that it beggars imagination to
conjecture how any plan could have obtained a greater
degree of racial integration by gerrymandering attendance
districts or zones in a political subdivision where white
children outnumber black children 71 to 29, and where
most of the black children are concentrated residentially in
an area inhabited exclusively by members of their race.

The School Board plan did not stop with proposing such
a hign degree of racial integration among the student bodies
in the schools subject to its jurisdiction. It made these
three additional proposals:

1. That the faculty of each school should be assigned in
such a manner that the ratio of black teachers to white
teachers in each school would be approximately 1 to 3 in
accordance with the ratios in the entire faculty of the
system (737a);

2. That the School Board should furnish 4,935 addi-
tional students in-district or in-zone transportation to the
schools in the proposed gerrymandered attendance districts
or zones in accordance with the North Carolina law which
forbids such: transportation within one and one-half mile
distances (736a); and

3. That any black child in any school having more than
30 percent of his race in its student body should be allowed
to transfer to any school having less than 30 percent of his
race; whereas a white child should be permitted to transfer
to another school only if the school he is attending has
more than 70 percent of his race and the school to which
he seeks transfer is less than 70 percent white. (734a-735 a)

At the same time, Dr. Finger submitted to the District
Court his plan of desegregation which contemplated that
the School Board should be required by the Court to deny
approximately 23,000 additional children admission to the
neighborhood schools in the districts or zones of their resi-
dence, and to transport them by bus or otherwise substan-
tial distances in order to produce a greater racial mixture

10

in student bodies. (819a, 825a-827a, 829a-839a, 1198,
1208a-1214a, 1231a-1234a, 1268a-1269a)

C. The Order of the District Court

On February 5, 1970, the District Court entered »
order approving the School Board plan, subject to certain
drastic conditions and revisions recommended by Dr. Finger,
(819a-839a) By adopting these conditions and revisions
the District Court commanded the School Board to d
these things:

1. To deny hundreds of black high school students
admission to a nearby high school which would have had
a racial composition of 36 percent black and 64 percent
white under the School Board plan, and to bus them from
their residences in northwest Charlotte through center-city
traffic a distance of some 12 or 13 miles to Independence
High School, which is located in a white suburban residen-
tial area;

2. To deny several thousands of black junior high school
students admission to their neighborhood junior high schools
in the inner city, and to bus them substantial distances to
nine predominately white suburban schools located in other
attendance districts or zones; and

3. To deny thousands of black and thousands of white
elementary school children admission to 31 elementary
schools located within their respective attendance districts
or zones, and to bus them distances approximating 15 miles
to elementary schools situated in other attendance districts
or zones.

The sole purpose of the District Court in ordering the
School Board to dislocate and bus the hundreds of black
high school students to Independence High School was to
make Independence High less white, and the sole purpos
of the District Court in ordering the School Board to dis
locate and bus several thousands of junior high school
students was to reduce the percentage of blacks in Piedmont
Junior High from 90 percent to 32 percent. (825a-826a)

.
:

11

The sole purpose of the order of the Court commanding

the School Board to dislocate and bus thousands of ele-
mentary school children was to alter the racial composition

of the student body in 9 predominately black inner-city
schools and in 24 predominately white suburban schools.
To accomplish this purpose, the District Court commanded
the School Board to dislocate and bus thousands of black
first, second, third, and fourth grade students from 9 pre-
dominately black inner-city schools to 24 predominately
white suburban schools, and to dislocate and bus thousands
of white fifth and sixth grade students from the 24 pre-
dominately white suburban schools to the 9 predominately
black inner-city schools. (826a)

The order of the District Court did not stop with these
things. It further ordered the School Board to establish
and implement a continuing program of assigning students
throughout the school year “for the conscious purpose of
maintaining each school * * * in a condition of desegrega-
tion.” (824a)

The record clearly discloses the reasoning which prompted
the District Court to seek to achieve the purposes of its
order.

Prior to its order of February 5, 1970, namely, on April
24, 1969, the District Court manifested its disapproval of
the School Board’s adherence to the neighborhood school
concept by this statement: “Today people drive as much as
40 or 50 miles to work; 5 to 10 miles to church; several
hours to football games; all over the country for civic
affairs of various types. The automobile has exploded
the old-fashioned neighborhood * * * If this Court were
writing the philosophy of education, he would suggest that
educators should concentrate on planning schools as educa-
tional institutions rather than as neighborhood proprietor-
ships.” (306a)

When it entered its order of February 5, 1970, the
District Court justified adding the conditions and revisions
recommended by Dr. Finger on the ground that the School

12

Board plan “relies almost entirely on geographical atteng.
ance zones,” while “the Finger plan goes further and pro.
duces desegregation of all the schools in the system”
(819a)

What has been said makes it manifest that the Distric
Court entertained the opinion that the Equal Protectio,
Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment makes it obligatoy
for a school board to mix student bodies racially in every
school subject to its jurisdiction if children are available for
mixing, and that a school board must deny a sufficient
number of school children admission to their neighborhood
schools and bus them to schools elsewhere either to over.
come racial imbalances in their neighborhood schools or in
the schools elsewhere, regardless of whether such racial
imbalances are produced by arbitrary or invidious discrini-
nation on the part of the school board or simply result
from adventitious de facto residential segregation or other
cause.

The amicus curiae has not undertaken to state with
exactitude the number of additional school children which
the District Court ordered the School Board to deny admis-
sion to their neighborhood schools and to bus from one
school to another or from one school district to another, or
the additional cost which the carrying out of the District
Court’s order in this respect will impose upon the School
Board.

This action of the amicus curiae has been deliberate
because these matters are in serious dispute between the
School Board and the District Court.

When the District Court entered its order of February 5,
1970, and thereby adopted the Finger plan in virtually it
entirety, the School Board estimated that the order required
it to bus 23,384 additional students an average round trip
of 30 miles each school day, and that to do this the Schoo
Board would have to acquire 526 additional buses ani
additional parking spaces at an original capital outlay o
$3,284,448.94; and thereafter expend each year an addi

13

tional $1,065,391.98 in employing additional personnel and
defraying other operating costs. (853a, 866a)

On March 3, 1970, the District Court modified its order
of February 5, 1970. (921a) The School Board then calcu-
lated that the order as modified will require it to transport
19,285 additional students and to purchase for such purpose
422 additional buses and additional parking spaces at an
original capital outlay of $2,369,100.00; and thereafter to
expend each year for additional personnel and operating
expenses of such buses $284,800.00. (1269a-1270a)

The Court estimated that the execution of its order as
modified would require the School Board to bus 13,300
additional students and to purchase for such use 138 addi-
tional buses at an original capital outlay of $745,200.00;
and to expend thereafter annually $266,000.00 for operat-
ing costs of such additional buses, exclusive of what it will
have to expend to compensate any additional personnel
necessary for their operation. (1259a-1261a, 1269a)

The Court arrived at its figures by suggesting that the
School Board could reduce its estimate of the expenses
incident to busing the thousands of children affected by its
order by drastically staggering school openings and closings.
The School Board replied to this suggestion by asserting
that the suggested staggering of school openings and closings
would require some children to leave home as early as 6:30
a.m. and prevent some of them from returning home before
5:00 p.m. (864a-865a)

D. The Judgment of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Fourth Circuit

At the instance of the School Board, the United States
Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit reviewed the orders
of the District Court. On May 26, 1970, the Circuit Court
rendered its judgment affirming the orders of the District
Court insofar as they related to the assignment and busing
of senior high school and junior high school students, and

14

remanding to the District Court for further consideration
the provisions of the order of the District Court relating to

the assignment and busing of elementary school students,
(1262a-1304a)

In making this remand, the Circuit Court adjudged tha
“not every school in a unitary system need be integrated”
and adopted a “test of reasonableness—instead of one that
calls for absolutes.” (1267a)

The writ of certiorari granted to the School Board pre.
sents for review the validity of the Circuit Court ruling
approving the orders of the District Court relating to the
assignment and busing of senior high school and junior high
school students and the writ of certiorari granted to the
original plaintiffs presents for review the question of the
validity of the ruling of the Circuit Court vacating the
order of the District Court relating to the assignment and
busing of elementary school students.

Subsequent to these events, namely, on August 3, 1970,
the District Court reinstated and reaffirmed its order of
February 5, 1970, in respect to the assignment and busing
of the elementary school students. (1320a) While the
validity of this particular order may not be before the
Supreme Court, the question which it raises is involved in
the matter to be reviewed under the writ granted to James
E. Swann and those associated with him in this litigation.

The amicus curiae understands that the School Board has
filed an yet unprinted motion with the Supreme Court for
a stay of the order entered by the District Court on August
3, 1970, after the hearing of the case in the Circuit Court.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

In the final analysis, the questions presented for review
in this case do not arise out of any real controversy in
respect to the testimony. They arise out of a fundamental
disagreement between the School Board, on the one hand,
and the District Court and some of the Circuit Court

15

Judges, on the other, with respect to how the Equal Protec-
tion Clause applies to the assignment of students to public

schools.

The view of the School Board may be epitomized in this
fashion:

The Equal Protection Clause applies only to State action
which is arbitrary or invidious, and, hence, it leaves a public
school board, acting as a State agency, entirely free to
assign students to its schools by any method satisfactory to
itself if such method is not arbitrary or invidious. A public
school board acts arbitrarily or invidiously if it assigns
students to its schools for racial reasons, but a public
school board does not act arbitrarily or invidiously if it
assigns students to its schools for non-racial reasons, such
as the promotion of the efficiency of school administration,
the economy of school administration, or the convenience
of the students or their parents. This being true, the Equal
Protection Clause does not impair in any way the power of
a public school board to create fairly drawn geographic
attendance districts or zones, and to assign all students
without regard to their race to neighborhood schools in
the respective districts or zones in which they reside even
though such action may result in some racial imbalances
in the schools serving areas predominately inhabited by
members of one race.

The view of the District Court and some of the Circuit
Court Judges may be summarized in this way:

It is highly desirable from an educational viewpoint to
mix students in public schools racially in the highest pos-
sible degree. Hence, the Equal Protection Clause imposes
upon a public school board the positive duty to balance
racially all the schools it operates if black and white chil-
dren are available for this purpose; and to deny school
children admission to their neighborhood schools and bus
them to other schools in other areas, no matter how distant,
in sufficient numbers to effect such racial balancing.

16

The School Board refutes this proposition by saying that
the Equal Protection Clause does not require action which
may be desirable; it merely prohibits action which is arhj-
trary or invidious.

When it is stripped of irrelevancies and surmises, the
record discloses a surprisingly simple state of facts which
are relatively free of conflict insofar as they relate to the
crucial issues.

After the first Brown Case, 347 U.S. 483 (1954), the
School Board converted its previously dual system of
schools into a unitary system of schools within which no
child was excluded because of the child’s race. The School
Board did this by a geographic assignment plan applicable
in like manner to all children without regard to their race.
Its action in this regard was adjudged to be in compliance
with the Equal Protection Clause by both the District Court
and the Court of Appeals.

Subsequent to the Green Case, 391 U.S. 430 (1968), the
District Court ordered the School Board to submit another
plan for the desegregation of its schools. Pursuant to this
order, the School Board proposed a plan which was reason-
ably designed to secure the maximum amount of racial
mixture obtainable in the student bodies in its schools
without abandonment of the neighborhood school concept
by restructuring its geographic attendance districts or zones,
and assigning all of the children subject to its jurisdiction
without regard to their race to their respective neighbor
hood schools in the districts or zones in which they reside.

The Court rejected the School Board plan simply because
it did not racially balance one senior high school out of the
system’s ten senior high schools, one junior high school out
of the system’s 21 junior high schools, and nine predomi
nately black and three predominately white elementary
schools out of the system’s 72 elementary schools.

Instead of approving the reasonable plan submitted by
the School Board, the District Court, in essence, adopted
the Finger Plan which requires the School Board to deny

17

thousands of children admission to their neighborhood
schools, and to bus them to other schools in other areas
merely to eliminate the racial imbalances in these particular
schools. The School Board insists that the action of the
District Court was not only inconsistent with the Equal
Protection Clause, but violates Title IV of the Civil Rights
Act of 1964, and that the Circuit Court erred insofar as it
approved the action of the District Court.

ARGUMENT
I.

The Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education
has complied with the Equal Protection Clause
of the Fourteenth Amendment and the Supreme
Court decisions interpreting it by establishing and
operating a unitary public school system, which
receives and teaches students without discrimi-
nation on the basis of their race or color. Any
racial imbalance remaining in any of the schools
under the jurisdiction of the Board represents de
facto segregation, which results from the purely
adventitious circumstance that the inhabitants of
particular areas in and adjacent to the city of
Charlotte are predominantly of one race.

The Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amend-
ment, which was certified to be a part of the Constitution
on July 28, 1868, forbids a state to “deny to any person
within its jurisdiction the equal protection of the laws.”

By these words, the Equal Protection Clause requires a
state to treat in like manner all persons similarly situated.
State Board of Tax Commissioners of Indiana v. Jackson,
283 U.S. 527 (1931); Maxwell v. Bugbee, 250 U.S. 525
(1919). The clause does not require identity of treatment.
Walters v. St. Louis, 347 U.S. 231 (1934). It permits a state
to make distinctions between persons subject to its jurisdic-
tion if the distinctions are based on some reasonable classi-

18

fication, and all persons embraced within the classification
are treated alike. It merely outlaws arbitrary or invidioy
discrimination. Avery v. Midland County, 390 USS. 414

(1968); Missouri Pacific Railway Co. v. Mackey, 127 Us.
205 (1888).

From July 28, 1868, until May 17, 1954, the Equal Pro.
tection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment was inter.
preted to sanction the “separate but equal doctrine,” which
permitted a state to segregate school children in its public
schools on the basis of race when it furnished equal facili-
ties for the education of the children of each race. Gong
Lum vy. Rice, 275 U.S. 78 (1927); Cumming v. Richmond
County Board of Education, 175 U.S. 528 (1899); Plessy
v. Ferguson, 163 U.S. 537 (1896).

On May 17, 1954, the Supreme Court handed down its
historic decision in Brown v. Board of Education of Topeka,
347 U.S. 483 (1954), adjudging “that in the field of public
education the doctrine of ‘separate but equal’ has no place”
and holding that a state violates the Equal Protection Clause
if it denies any child admission to any of its public schools
on account of the child’s race.

On the same day the Supreme Court handed down
Bolling v. Sharpe, 347 U.S. 497 (1954), ruling that the Due
Process Clause of the Fifth Amendment imposes the same
inhibition on the public schools of the District of Columbia
that the Equal Protection Clause does on the public schools
of a state, and one year later the Supreme Court announced
its implementing decision in second Brown, which is
reported as Brown v. Board of Education of Topeka, 349
U.S. 294 (1955).

Since these decisions the Supreme Court has applied the
Equal Protection Clause to varying factual situations arising
in various Southern public school districts in the following
cases: Cooper v. Aaron, 358 U.S. 1, 20 (1958); Shuttles-
worth v. Birmingham Board of Education, 358 U.S. 101
(1958); Bush v. Orleans Parish School Board, 364 U.S. 500
(1960); Watson v. City of Memphis, 373 U.S. 526 (1963);

5a Cp Rit See ed ae ee Oe TA gaan

neni d Sax Bh ER hl om TA

EEE cS OR

19

Goss v. Board of Education of Knoxville, 373 U.S. 683
(1963); Griffin v. County School Board of Prince Edward
County, 377 U.S. 218 (1964); Bradley v. School Board of
City of Richmond, 382 U.S. 103 (1965); Rogers v. Paul,
382 U.S. 198 (1965); Green v. County School Board of
New Kent County, 391 U.S. 430 (1968); Raney v. Board
of Education of the Gould School District, 391 U.S. 443
(1968); Monroe y. Board of Commissioners of the City of
Jackson, 391 U.S.'450 (1968); United States ¥. Montgomery
County Board of Education, 395 U.S. 225 (1969); Alexan-
der v. Holmes County Board of Education, 396 U.S. 19
(1969); Dowell v. Board of Education of the Oklahoma
City Public Schools, 396 U.S. 269 (1969); Carter v. West
Felicana Parish School Board, 396 U.S. 226 (1969); Carter
y. West Felicana Parish School Board, 396 U.S. 290 (1970);
and Northcross v. Board of Education of the Memphis City
Schools, 397 U.S. 232 (1970).

Besides, individual Supreme Court Justices, acting as
Circuit Justices, have expressed opinions on the subject
in these cases: Board of School Commissioners of Mobile
County v. Davis, 11 L. ed. 2d 26 (1963); Keyes v. School
District No. 1, Denver, 396 U.S. 1215 (1970); and Alexan-
der v. Holmes County Board of Education, 396 U.S. 1218
(1969).

The record in the instant case embraces hundreds of
pages of evidence, orders, and judgments, and for that
reason, the case lends itself to much writing. But the issues
arising in the case are simple, and it would complicate that
simplicity to analyze the cited decisions in detail. In their
ultimate analysis, they interpret the Equal Protection Clause

Eas follows:

1. The Equal Protection Clause makes it unconstitu-
tional for a state to deny any child admission to any public

> school it operates on account of the child’s race.

2. In consequence, the Equal Protection Clause imposes
upon a state, acting through its appropriate agencies, the
responsibility to establish a system of determining admis-
sion to its public schools on a non-racial basis.

20

3. A state, which operated a racially segregated system
of public schools on May 17, 1954, fulfills this responsi.
bility by converting its dual public school system into ,
unitary public school system.

4. A unitary public school system is one “within which
no person is to be effectively excluded from any school
because of race or color.”

When the Equal Protection Clause as thus interpreted js
applied to the facts in this case, it is obvious that the
School Board has fully converted its Pre-Brown dual school
system into a unitary school system within which no child
is actually excluded from any school because of race or
color. The School Board has done this by creating non-
discriminatory attendance districts or zones and assigning
all children, black and white, to neighborhood schools in
the district or zone in which they reside without regard to
their race.

These conclusions are explicit in the rulings made by the
District Court and the Circuit Court in 1965 and 1966.
Swann v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education, 243
F.Supp. 667 (1965); Swann v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board
of Education, 369 F.2d 29 (1966). They are implicit in the
findings made by the District Court in its order of April
23, 1969, that the School Board had “achieved a degree of
desegregation of schools apparently unsurpassed in these
parts” and had “exceeded the performance of any school
board whose actions have been reviewed in the appellate
court decisions,” (31lla-312a) and that the Schools of
Charlotte, in essence, conform to de facto patterns of resi-
dential segregation. (305Sa)

To be sure, the District Court, acting sua sponte, under-
took to recall these findings in its Memorandum Opinion
of November 7, 1969, and to assert that racial imbalances
in the Schools of Charlotte are “not innocent or de facto.”
(662a)

god Ap gee ae rT

lh Ye sh ooh ci HN ERE Si OR al

i
aa
ti
Me

21

The amicus curiae submits in all earnestness that there
is no evidence in the record to sustain the District Court’s
assertion in this respect. Be this as it may, the Supreme
Court is empowered in cases of an equitable nature and
cases involving constitutional questions to review the evi-
dence and make its own findings. If it follows this course
in this case, the Supreme Court will be impelled to the
conclusion that there is not a vestige of state-imposed seg-
regation in the Charlotte-Mecklenburg School System.

Besides, the District Court’s assertion that racial imbal-
ances in the schools of Charlotte are “not innocent or de
facto” is totally repudiated by its subsequent finding that
there is no way to desegregate the black schools in north-
west Charlotte without transporting thousands of children
by bus or other means. (1208a)

When all is said, the School Board went far beyond the
call of any duty imposed upon it by the Equal Protection
Clause when it proposed in its plan of February 2, 1970,
to gerrymander attendance districts or zones in order to
achieve the highest degree of desegregation obtainable
without virtual abandonment of the neighborhood school
concept. The amicus curiae expresses no opinion as to
whether this proposal is repugnant to the constitutional or
legal rights of any child.

22

I.
The Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth
Amendment does not require or empower a
Federal Court to order a public school board to
assign children to the schools it operates merely
to balance the student bodies in such schools
racially, or to bus children outside reasonable
geographic attendance districts or zones to effect
such purpose. The District Court ordered the
Charlotte-Mecklenburg School Board to do both
of these things, and the Circuit Court erred
insofar as it affirmed the District Court order.

_ The facts make it clear that the order entered by the
District Court on February 5, 1970, requires racial balanc-
ing in the Charlotte-Mecklenburg School System and the
busing of thousands of children outside their geographic
attendance districts or zones to effect such balancing.

Indeed, the District Court virtually admits this to be true
by setting forth in its Supplemental Findings of Fact of

March 21, 1970, a specific finding that there is no other
way to desegregate the black schools in northwest Charlotte.
(1208 a)

Upon the entire record, the conclusion is inescapable
that the District Court fell into error because it honestly
believed that the Equal Protection Clause and certain deci-
sions interpreting it impose upon a public school board an
absolute duty to do these things:

1. To balance racially to the highest degree possible all
the schools subject to its control if black and white children
are available for that purpose anywhere within the territory
subject to its jurisdiction, no matter how vast such territory
may be; and

2. To effect such racial balancing by denying both black
and white children admission to their neighborhood schools
and busing them to other schools in other areas in suffi-
cient numbers to overcome racial imbalances either in their
neighborhood schools or in the other schools, regardless of

NEEL OORLOTE DLA IEE AILS ALLEL DN

23

whether the racial imbalances result from de facto residen-
tial segregation or other cause, and regardless of these other
factors: the distances the children are to be bused, the time
required for their busing, the impact of their exclusion
from their neighborhood schools and their busing upon
their minds and hearts, the effect of these things upon the
management of the homes which must nurture them, the
traffic hazards involved, and the additional expense foisted
upon heavily burdened taxpayers.

There is no other rational explanation for the court order
which disrupts the lives of thousands of school children and
the management of the thousands of homes from which
they come, and diverts tremendous sums of tax-raised
moneys from the enlightenment of their minds to the
busing of their bodies.

The Equal Protection Clause does not require any court
to enter any such order. It does not empower any court
to enter any such order. Indeed, it forbids any court to
do so.

As interpreted in the first Brown Case, 347 U.S. 483
(1954), and all subsequent Supreme Court decisions rele-
vant to the subject, the Equal Protection Clause forbids a
public school board, which acts as a state agency, to deny
any child admission to any school it operates on account of
the child’s race. A public school board obeys the Clause by
maintaining a unitary school system, i.e., a school system
“within which no person is to be effectively excluded from
any school because of race or color.” Northcross v. Board
of Education of the Memphis City Schools, 397 U.S. 232
(1970); Alexander v. Holmes County Board of Education,
396 U.S. 19 (1969). See also the opinion of Mr. Justice
Black, acting as Circuit Justice, in Alexander v. Holmes
County Board of Education, 396 U.S. 1218 (1969).

The power to assign children to state supported schools
belongs to the public school board which operates them.
The Equal Protection Clause does not undertake to transfer
this power to the Federal Courts. It merely subjects the

24

exercise of the power by the public school board to this
limitation: The board must not exclude any child from any
school it operates because of the child’s race.

If it faithfully observes this limitation upon its power, ,
public school board has the right to assign children to the
schools it operates in any non-discriminatory fashion satis.
factory to itself.

The School Board exercised this right when it created non-
discriminatory attendance districts or zones and assigned all
children, whether black or white, to neighborhood school
in the districts or zones of their residence without regard to
race.

Since the children are similarly situated and the School
Board treats them exactly alike, its action is in complete
harmony with the Equal Protection Clause. It accords,
moreover, with the implementing decision in the second
Brown Case, 349 U.S. 294 (1955), which expressly recog-
nizes that a school board may employ non-discriminatory
geographic zoning of school districts “to achieve a system
of determining admission to the public schools on a non-
racial basis.”

As is true in respect to virtually every city of any size in
our land, the different races are concentrated to a substan-
tial degree in separate residential areas in Charlotte, and
for this reason the School Board’s non-discriminatory geo-
graphic zoning and assignment program necessarily results
in some racial imbalances in some schools.

Notwithstanding this, the order of the District Court
commanding the School Board to exclude thousands of
children from their neighborhood schools and to bus them
long distances to other schools to overcome these racial
imbalances is without support in the Equal Protection
Clause.

This is true for an exceedingly plain reason. The Equa
Protection Clause does not prohibit any discrimination
except that which is arbitrary or invidious.

25

It inevitably follows that where school attendance areas
are not arbitrarily or invidiously fixed so as to include or
exclude children of a particular race, the Equal Protection
Clause does not prohibit a state or local school board from
requiring that the children living in each attencance area
attend the school in that area, even though the effect of
such a requirement, in a locality where the different races
are concentrated in separate residential areas, is racial imbal-
ance or de facto segregation in the schools.

The conclusion that the Equal Protection Clause does
not impose upon a public school board any mandate to
remove any racial imbalance in its schools occasioned by
de facto residential segregation or non-discriminatory geo-
graphic assignments is expressly supported in Bell v. School
City of Gary, Ind. (7 CA-1963), 324 F.2d 209, and Downs
y. Board of Education of Kansas City, Kansas (10 CA-1964),
336 F.2d 998. Moreover, it is compelled by first Brown,
347 U.S. 483 (1954), and all the subsequent Supreme Court
cases applying its holding, as well as by the language of the
Equal Protection Clause itself.'

Despite the fact that the Charlotte-Mecklenburg School
System is in the South, racial imbalances produced in its
schools by de facto residential segregation are just as inno-
cent as racial imbalances produced in the public schools of
the North by the same cause, and are equally exempt from
federal interference, whether legislative, executive, or judi-
cial, under the Equal Protection Clause, which, as already
pointed out, condemns no discrimination except that which
is arbitrary or invidious.

While such action may not be customary in briefs, the amicus
curiae wishes to note that this conclusion is supported by the text
writer in 15 Am. Jur. 2d, Civil Rights, Section 39, Page 433, and
by one of the most recent commentaries on the Constitution of
the United States, ie., Bernard Schwartz’s “Rights of the Person,”
Volume II, Section 501, Page 593-596.

26

The amicus curiae is confident that the Supreme Cour
will so adjudge. Indeed, it must do so if the United State;
is truly one nation under one flag and one Constitution,

It no longer comports with intellectual integrity to call
all racial imbalances in the public schools of the South
de jure, and all racial imbalances in the public schools of
the North de facto.

There is now no de jure school segregation anywhere in
our land. Racial imbalances in public schools are either
arbitrary or invidious and, hence, constitutionally impermis-
sible, both North and South, or innocent and, hence, con-
stitutionally permissible, both North and South. Racid
imbalances resulting from de facto residential segregation
or non-discriminatory districting or zoning, whether in the
North or in the South, are clearly innocent and constitu-
tionally permissible.

Moreover, it no longer comports with reality, common
sense, or justice to apply one rule to the North and another
to the South because the South did not precede the
Supreme Court in discovering that the “separate, but equal
doctrine” had ceased to be the law of the land.

27

The Fifth Section of the Fourteenth Amendment

Empowers Congress to Enforce the Equal Protec-

tion Clause by Appropriate Legislation, the First

Section of Article III of the Constitution Em-

powers Congress to Regulate the Jurisdiction of

United States District Courts and United States
; Circuit Courts of Appeals, and the Second Section
of Article III of the Constitution Empowers Con-
: gress to Regulate the Appellate Jurisdiction of the
Supreme Court. Congress Exercised all of These
Powers in an Appropriate Fashion When it Enacted
Title IV of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Which
Prohibits the Assignment of Students to Public
Schools to Balance the Student Bodies in Such
Schools Racially, and to bus Them From Some
Schools to Other Schools, or From Some School
Districts to Other School Districts to Effect Such
Purpose. The Act’s Prohibition on Busing is Abso-
lute and Deprives Federal Courts of Jurisdiction to
Compel School Boards to Bus Students to Over-
come Racial Imbalances in Schools, Even if Such
Imbalances Result From Discriminatory School
Board Action. The District Court Order Vio-
lated This Act by Commanding the Charlotte-
Mecklenburg School Board to do the Things Pro-
hibited by it, and the Circuit Court Joined in Such
Violation Insofar as it Affirmed the District Court
Order.

The Equal Protection Clause is limited in objective and
operation. It imposes this duty and this duty only on a
| state, ie., to treat in like manner all persons similarly sit-
uated.

SSM» Saath pega cn

VERSES OR

In consequence, it forbids a public school board, acting
as a state agency, to exclude any child from any school
because of the child’s race.

Further than that it does not go. It does not rob any
public school board of its inherent authority to assign child-

28

ren of any race to their neighborhood school if the schoo}
board acts for reasons other than racial reasons, such as,
purpose to promote ease of school administration, conyep.
ience of the children and the homes from which they come,
or economy of operation.

Hence, it does not empower federal courts to deny child.
ren of any race admission to their neighborhood schools and
to bus them to other schools in other areas to remedy racial
imbalances in their neighborhood schools or the other
schools arising out of the residential patterns of their neigh.
borhoods or of the other areas.

And, above all things, the Equal Protection Clause does
not intend that little children, black or white, shall be treated
as pawns on a bureaucratic or judicial chess board.

When it enacted Title IV of the Civil Rights Act of 1964
to enforce the Equal Protection Clause, Congress recognized
the validity of these observations concerning the meaning
of the Equal Protection Clause. Moreover, it was not oblivi-
ous to the inescapable reality that the different races are
concentrated to substantial degrees in separate residential
areas throughout the nation, and that it would be virtually
impossible to keep the public schools of the country racially
balanced, even if the Equal Protection Clause did not pro
hibit such action.

For these reasons, Congress vested in the Commissioner
of Education, the Attorney General, and the Federal Courts
certain responsibilities regarding what it called the desegre-
gation of public education, but limited the powers of the
Commissioner of Education and the Attorney General, and
the jurisdiction of the Federal Courts to keep them within
constitutional bounds.

Congress was authorized to do these things by the Fifth
Section of the Fourteenth Amendment, which expressly em-
powers Congress to “enforce, by appropriate legislation” the
Equal Protection Clause; the First Section of Article Ill of
the Constitution, which authorizes Congress to prescribe the

29

jurisdiction of the inferior courts created by it, Chisholm
y, Georgia, 2 Dall. (U.S.) 419, 432 (1793); Turner v. Bank
of North America, 4 Dall. (U.S.) 8 (1799); Ex Parte Bollman,
4 Cranch (U.S.) 75, 93 (1807); Cary v. Curtis, 3 How. (U.S.)
236, 245 (1845); Sheldon v. Still, 8 How. (U.S.) 441 (1850);
Kline v. Burke Construction Co., 260 U.S. 226, 234 (1922);
Lauf v. E. G. Skinner & Co., 303 U.S. 323, 330 (1938);
Lockerty v. Phillips, 319 U.S. 182 (1943); and Yakus v.
United States, 321 U.S. 414 (1944); and the Second Section
of Article III of the Constitution, which vests Congress with
legal power to regulate the appellate jurisdiction of the Su-
preme Court, Wiscart v. D’Auchy, 3 Dall. (U.S.) 321, (1796);
Durousseau v. United States, 6 Cranch 309 (1810); Barry v.
Mercein, 5 How. (U.S.) 103, 119 (1847); Daniels v. Railroad
Co., 3 Wall. (U.S.) 250, 254 (1866); Ex Parte McCardle,
6 Wall. (U.S.) 318 (1868); The Francis Wright, 105 U.S. 381,
386 (1882); Kuntz v. Moffitt, 115 U.S. 487, 497 (1885);
Cross v. Burke, 146 U.S. 82, 86 (1892); Missouri v. Pacific
Railway Co., 292 U.S. 13, 15 (1934); and Stephan v. United
States, 319 U.S. 423, 426 (1943).

The conclusion that Title IV of the Civil Rights Act of
1964 is designed to enforce the Supreme Court rulings that
the Equal Protection Clause forbids a school board, acting
as a state agency, to deny any child admission to any school
it operates because of the child’s race is vindicated by the
legislative history of the Act, as well as by its language.

During the course of the debate on the bill which became
the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Senator Byrd of West Virginia
addressed this question to Senator Humphrey, the floor man-
ager of the bill, and received this reply from Senator Humph-
rey: :

“MR. BYRD, of West Virginia. Can the Senator from
Minnesota assure the Senator from West Virginia that
under Title VI school children may not be bused
from one end of the community to another end of

30

the community at the taxpayers’ expense to relieve
so-called racial imbalance in the schools?””!

“MR. HUMPHREY. I do.”?

Senator Humphrey made these further statements relat.
ing to the purposes of the bill:

“MR. HUMPHREY. Mr. President, the Constitution
declares segregation by law to be unconstitutiona,
but it does not require integration in all situations
I believe this point has been made very well in the
courts, and I understand that other Senators will cite
the particular cases.

“T shall quote from the case of Bell against School
City of Gary, Ind., in which the Federal court of
appeals cited the following language from a special
three judge district court in Kansas: ‘“Desegregation
does not mean that there must be intermingling of
the races in all school districts. It means only that
they may not be prevented from intermingling or
going to school together because of race or color.’
Brown v. Board of Education, D. C. 139 F. Supp.
468, 470.

“In Briggs v. Elliott (EDSC), 132 Supp. 776, 777,
the Court said: ‘The Constitution, in other words,
does not require integration. It merely forbids dis-
crimination.’ In other words, an overt act by law
which demands segregation is unconstitutional. That
was the ruling of the historic Brown case of 1954.”

The language of the Act discloses this two-fold Congres-
sional intent:

1. To enforce the Supreme Court rulings that the Equal
Protection Clause prohibits the State from denying to any

1Senator Byrd was evidently referring to Title IV, instead of Title
VI.
2Congressional Record, Volume 110, Part 10, Page 12,714, June 4,
1964.

3Congressional Record, Volume 110, Part 10, Page 13,821, June 15,
1964.

31

child admission to any school it operates because of the
child’s race; and

2. To keep overzealous bureaucrats and federal judges
from straying beyond constitutional limits in cases involv-
ing the desegregation of public schools.

Since no action of his is involved in this case, the amicus
curiae pretermits discussion of the provisions of the Civil
Rights Act of 1964 relating to the Commissioner of Educa-
tion.

In phrasing the Act, Congress uses the terms “desegrega-
tion” and “discrimination” interchangeably to express the
concept made familiar by the prevalent use of the word
“discrimination” to mean state action denying persons admis-
sion to public colleges or public schools because of their
race.

This observation is made indisputable by Section 401(b)
which expressly declares that “desegregation” merely means
“the assignment of students to public schools and within
such schools without regard to their race, color, religion,
or national origin’; Section 407(a)(1) and (2) which refer
to children who “are being deprived by a school board of
the equal protection of the laws” and individuals who have
“been denied admission” to a public college or permission
“to continue at a public college by reasons of race, color,
religion, or national origin’; Section 409 which directs its
attention to “discrimination in public education”; and Sec-
tion 410 which stipulates that “nothing in this title shall
prohibit classification and assignment for reasons other than
race, color, religion, or national origin.

There is not a single syllable in Title IV of the Civil Rights
Act of 1964 giving any support to a different interpretation.

Section 401(b) merits further consideration because it
specifies not only what Congress means by the term “‘deseg-
regation”, but also what Congress does not mean by that
term.

=

32

Section 401(b) consists of two clauses. The first claug
provides that “desegregation” as used in Title IV “meay
the assignment of students to public schools and within such
schools without regard to their race, color, religion, or n.
tional origin,” and the second clause provides that “desegre.
gation” as used in Title IV “shall not mean the assignment

of students to public schools in order to overcome racial
imbalance.”

As a law made by Congress, Title IV is binding on fed.
eral judges, and defines their jurisdiction in respect to public

schools operated by public school boards acting as state agen.
cies.

The first clause of Section 401(b) commands school boards
to ignore race, color, religion, and national origin as factor
in assigning students to public schools. Since federal judges
have no power to add anything to the laws they enforce,
this clause merely confers upon federal judges the limited
jurisdiction to enforce its command by decrees which prevent
recalcitrant school boards from denying otherwise eligible
children admission to schools on account of their race, color,
religion, or national origin.

Since federal judges do not have power to subtract any-
thing from laws they enforce, the second clause of Section
401(b) denies to federal judges jurisdiction to compel school
boards to assign “students to public schools in order to over-
come racial imbalance.” By this clause, Congress forbids
federal judges to make decrees compelling school boards to
take affirmative steps to commingle black and white children
in public schools in proportions satisfactory to themselves
to remedy racial imbalances occasioned by de facto residen-

tial segregation or non-discriminatory action on the part of
school boards.

This interpretation of Section 401(b) is completely con-
firmed by Section 407, 409, and 410 of Title IV.

Before the enactment of Title IV of the Civil Rights Act
of 1964, only the individuals aggrieved thereby had legal

33

standing to make complaint in federal courts concerning
state-imposed segregation in public education. They were
restricted to seeking relief for themselves and their children
and other persons similarly situated. They did not have the
right to demand that federal courts should substitute fed-
erally coerced integration for state-imposed segregation.

When it drafted Title IV, Congress decided to extend to
the Attorney General standing to sue for “such relief as may
be appropriate” in behalf of two groups of people if he be-
lieves their complaints to be “meritorious” and concludes
that they are “unable *** to initiate and maintain appro-
priate legal proceedings for’’ their own “relief.”” These groups
of people are described, in essence, as children who “are
= being deprived by a school board of the equal protection
) of the laws” and individuals who have been “denied admis-
~ sion” to a public college or “permission to continue in at-
= tendance at a public college by reason of race, color, religion
or national origin.” To this end, Congress inserted Section
Section 407(a) in Title IV.

At the same time, however, Congress decided to preserve
intact the existing rights of individuals to sue in their own
behalf for relief against state-imposed segregation. To ac-
complish this purpose, Congress stipulated in Section 409
that nothing in Title IV “shall affect adversely the right of
any person to sue for or obtain relief in any court against
discrimination in public education.”

Congress was determined, however, not to increase the
powers of federal judges when it gave the Attorney General
standing to seek relief against discrimination in public edu-
cation in behalf of the aggrieved persons designated in Sec-
tion 409(a). Moreover, Congress was equally as determined
- that federal judges should not have jurisdiction to compel
+ gchool boards to deny children admission to their neighbor-
hood schools and transport them hither and yon to achieve
racial balances in public schools, regardless of whether the
racial imbalances sought to be removed to accomplish such
purpose arise out of innocent causes or discriminatory action
on the part of school boards.

34

Congress made these purposes manifest by inserting in
Section 409(a) language expressly providing “‘that nothing
herein shall empower any official or court of the United
States to issue any order seeking to achieve a racial balance
in any school by requiring the transportation of pupils o
students from one school to another or one school district
to another in order to achieve such racial balance, or other.
wise enlarge the existing power of the court to insure com.
pliance with constitutional standards.”

By so doing, Congress deprived all federal courts of the
jurisdiction to order public school boards to bus children
from one school to another or from one school district to
another to remedy racial imbalances in public schools regard-
less of whether such imbalances arise out of innocent causes
or discriminatory school board action. As appears from the
cases which the amicus curiae has previously cited, Congress
had undoubted power to do this under the First Section of
Article III of the Constitution, which empowers it to define
the jurisdiction of inferior federal courts, and under the Sec-
ond Section of Article III of the Constitution, which ex-
pressly provides that “the Supreme Court shall have ap-
pellate jurisdiction, both as to law and fact, with such
exceptions, and under such regulations as the Congress shall
make.”

It necessarily follows that the District Court violated the
provisions of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 when it ordered
the Charlotte-Mecklenburg School Board to bus thousands
of children from some schools to other schools and from
some school districts to other school districts to overcome
racial imbalances in any of its schools regardless of the ori-
gin of such racial imbalances; and that the Circuit Court
erred in affirming the provisions of the District Court order
relating to the transportation of senior high school and jun-
ior high school students.

While such statutes apply to the Executive Department of
the Federal Government only, and for that reason are not
controlling in this case, it seems not amiss to direct the atten-

WAS EP OR MF Feral te 8 Oe AR RRR OEE SPT -
Cee Rea ie ee RG - ois

es KSDI PRIN

>
t
;

35

tion of the Supreme Court to congressional hostility to the
busing of children to achieve racial balancing in public
schools. Congress manifested its hostility to such action by
the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965, as
amended in 1966, which forbids “any department, agency,
officer, or employee of the United States * * * to require
the assignment or transportation of students or teachers in
order to overcome racial imbalance,” (P.L. 89-10, Title VIII,
Section 804; 20 U.S.C. Section 884); the Department of
Labor, and Health, Education, and Welfare Appropriation
Act of 1969, which provides that “no part of the funds
contained in this Act shall be used to force busing of stu-
dents * * * in order to overcome racial imbalance as a con-
dition precedent to obtaining Federal funds otherwise avail-
able to any State, school district, or school”, (P.L. 90-557,
Title IV, Section 410); and the Office of Education Appro-
priation Act of 1971, which provides that “no part of the
funds contained in this Act shall be used to force any school
or school district which is desegregated as that term is de-
fined in Title IV of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Public Law
88-352, to take any action to force the busing of students”
(P.L. 91-380, Title II, Section 210).

36

IV.

A School Board has the Power to Devise and Im-
plement any Non-discriminatory Plan for the As-
signment of Children to the Public Schools it
Operates. The District Court not Only Rejected
a Non-discriminatory Assignment Plan Submitted
by the Charlotte-Mecklenburg School Board, but
it Usurped and Exercised the Authority of the
School Board in this Respect by Devising a Plan
of its Own Which Commands the School Board to
Deny Thousands of Children Admission to Their
Neighborhood Schools, and to bus Them to Other
Schools to Mix the Races in the Various Schools
in Numbers or Proportions Satisfactory to the
District Court. By so Doing, the District Court
Ordered the School Board to Deny to the Thou-
sands of Children Affected by its Order Admission
to Their Neighborhood Schools in Violation of the
Equal Protection Clause, and to Bus Them to
Other Schools or Other School Districts in Viola-
tion of Section 407(a)(2) of the Civil Rights Act
of 1964. The Circuit Court Concurred in These
Violations, and Erred Insofar as it Affirmed the
Order of the District Court.

A school board, acting as a state agency, has the power
to assign children to the public schools it operates free from
interference by the Federal Judiciary as long as it obeys the
Equal Protection Clause and does not exclude any child from
any school because of the child’s race.

When a school board violates the Equal Protection Clause,
a Federal Court has jurisdiction to order the school board
to devise and implement a plan sufficient to remedy its dis-
criminatory assignment of children to its schools, and to
punish the members of the school board for contempt of
court if they fail to obey the order. Nevertheless, the power
to devise and implement a plan to remedy the discriminatory
assignment continues to reside in the school board, and the
Federal Court is without power to reject a non-discriminatory

37

submitted by the school board because such non-
discriminatory plan will not mix the races in the schools in
numbers or proportions satisfactory to the Federal Court.

Besides the Federal Court cannot usurp and exercise the
power of the School Board to devise a non-discriminatory
assignment plan because the Federal Court wishes to mix
the races in the schools in greater numbers or proportions
than the non-discriminatory plan of the School Board en-

visages.

The District Court violated all of these principles when ii
made its order of February 5, 1970 (819a-839a), its supple-
mental findings of fact of March 21, 1970 (1198a-1220a),
and its supplemental memorandum of March 21, 1970
(1221a-1238a).

Pursuant to the order which the District Court had en-
tered on December 1, 1969, the Charlotte-Mecklenburg
School Board submitted to the District Court on February 2,
1970 its plan for desegregation of schools (726a-742a). By
this plan the School Board undertook to restructure its geo-
graphical attendance districts or zones in such a manner as
to promote the highest degree of racial integration obtaina-
ble by geographical districting or zoning, and to assign all
school children, black or white, to the neighborhood schools
in the district or zone of their residence, regardless of race.
The plan undertook to further augment desegregation by a
transfer system heavily weighted in favor of permitting black
children to transfer from predominantly black schools to
predominately white schools.

Inasmuch as it treated all children similarly situated ex-
actly alike and did not exclude any child from any school
on account of the child’s race, the plan submitted by the
School Board on February 2, 1970, was in complete har-
mony with the Equal Protection Clause and it was obligatory
for this reason for the District Court to approve it and permit
the School Board to implement it.

a

38

Instead of doing so, the District Court rejected the nop.
discriminatory plan submitted by the School Board, and
usurped and exercised the power vested in the School Board
by adopting a plan of its own. The District Court accom.
plished this purpose by engrafting upon the plans of the
School Board drastic alterations and revisions recommended
by Dr. Finger, which commanded the School Board to deny
thousands of children admission to their neighborhood
schools, and to bus them long distances from some schools
to other schools, and from some school districts or zones
to other school districts or zones.

When all is said, the District Court commanded the School
Board to take this action to remedy racial imbalances in
black schools in northwest Charlotte arising out of de facto
residential segregation in that area, and to produce racial
commingling in these schools of northwest Charlotte and
other schools in other areas in numbers or proportions
greater than those envisaged by the plan of the School
Board.

The District Court virtually confesses that its order was
designed to effect these purposes by this recital which ap-
pears in its supplemental findings of fact of March 21, 1970:

“Both Dr. Finger and the school board staff ap-
pear to have agreed, and the court finds as a fact,
that for the present at least, there is no way to de-
segregate the all-black schools in Northwest Charlotte
without providing (or continuing to provide) bus or
other transportation for thousands of children. All
plans and all variations of plans considered for this
purpose lead in one fashion or another to that con-
clusion.” (1208a)

In addition to usurping and exercising power vested by
law in the School Board, the District Court order commands
the School Board to violate rights vested in thousands of
school children by the Equal Protection Clause and the Civil
Rights Act of 1964.

ad

EEE I OR haat RES AI BRR BAS kN Ile aba ARE ab Lie hai. tn Taipan Seahsotae

ne ER thele & te ta Oe a 0

39

Since the power to assign children to public schools
belongs to the school board administering such schools, no
child has the constitutional or legal right in the first instance
to attend any particular school, but when a school board
adopts a non-discriminatory system for assigning children to
neighborhood schools in the attendance district or zone of
their residence, children acquire, as against every govern-
mental agency except the school board, the legal right to
attend the schools to which they have been so assigned.
This right is additional to their right not to be excluded from
such schools because of their race.

By its previous practices and its plan of February 2, 1970,
the School Board had assigned thousands of senior high
school, junior high school, and elementary school children
to their neighborhood schools in a wholly non-discriminatory

fashion.

By its order of February 5, 1970, the District Court com-
manded the School Board to do two things which clearly
offend the Equal Protection Clause. In the first place, the
District Court commanded the School Board to treat differ-
ently children similarly situated by allowing thousands of
children to attend their neighborhood schools, and by ex-
cluding thousands of other children from admission to their
neighborhood schools; and in the second place, the District
Court commanded the School Board to bus the thousands
of children excluded from their neighborhood schools to
some other schools in other districts or zones to desegregate
both their neighborhood schools and the other schools in
numbers or proportions satisfactory to the District Court.

No amount of sophistry can erase the plain truth that
the second group of children were denied admission to their
neighborhood schools on account of their race.

Manifestly, the Equal Protection Clause does not confer
upon any Federal Court jurisdiction to enter a wondrous
order to compel a school board to obey the Equal Protec-
tion Clause by violating it. Congress apparently realized
this bizarre result of busing children from one school to

40

another, or from one school district or zone to another dj
trict or zone, when it prohibited any officer or Court of tj
United States to require such action to achieve the racj
balancing of schools.

The Circuit Court erred in affirming the order of the D
trict Court rejecting the plan submitted by the School Boar
and in affirming, in part, the order of the District Coy
excluding children from their neighborhood schools and
quiring them to be bused to other schools and other scho
districts in other areas.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated, the Court should reverse the p
visions of the judgment of the Circuit Court insofar as th
relate to the assignment and busing of senior high sche
and junior high school students; approve the provisions
the judgment of the Circuit Court insofar as they vac:
the order of the District Court relating to the assignme
and busing of elementary school children; and grant the n
tion of the School Board to stay the order of the Distr
Court reinstating its previous orders relating to the assis
ment and busing of elementary school students.

Respectfully submitted,
Sam J. Ervin, Jr.

515 Lenoir Street
Morganton, North Caroli
Charles R. Jonas

301 W. Main Street
Linconton, North Carolir

Ernest F. Hollings
141 East Bay Street
Charleston, South Caroli

A. 1

APPENDIX

ict +

Constitutional Provisions Involved

|. The First Section of the Fourteenth Amendment, which
reads, in pertinent part, as follows: “nor (shall any
State) deny to any person within its jurisdiction the
equal protection of the laws.”

2. The Fifth Section of the Fourteenth Amendment, which
specifies that “The Congress shall have power to en-
force, by appropriate legislation, the provisions of this
Article.”

3. The First Section of Article Ill, which states, in perti-
nent part, that “The judicial Power of the United States,
shall be vested in one supreme Court, and in such in-
ferior Courts as the Congress may from time to time
ordain and establish.”

4. The Second Section of Article Ill of the Constitution,
which reads, in pertinent part, as follows:

“The judicial Power shall extend to all Cases, in
Law and Equity, arising under this Constitution, the
Laws of the United States, and Treaties made, or
which shall be made, under their Authority; - to all
Cases affecting Ambassadors, other public Ministers
and Consuls; - to all Cases of Admiralty and mari-
time Jurisdiction; - to Controversies to which the
United States shall be a Party; - to Controversies
between two or more States; - between a State and
Citizens of another State; - between Citizens of dif-
ferent States; - between Citizens of the same State
claiming Lands under Grants of different States, and
between a State, or the Citizens thereof, and foreign
States, Citizens or Subjects.

is
et
;

“In all Cases affecting Ambassadors, other public
Ministers and Consuls, and those in which a State
shall be Party, the supreme Court shall have original
Jurisdiction. In all the other Cases before mentioned,
the supreme Court shall have appellate Jurisdiction,

A. 2

both as to Law and Fact, with such Exceptions, ang
under such Regulations as the Congress shall make.”

Statutory Provisions Involved

1. Title IV of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 which of.
ginally appeared in Title IV of Public Law 88-352 of
the 88th Congress and is now codified as 42 USsc
2000c - 2000c-9. This statute reads as follows:

“Title VI - Desegregation of Public
Education Definitions

“Sec. 401. As used in this title -

“(a) ‘Commissioner’ means the Commissioner of
Education.

“(b) ‘Desegregation’ means the assignment of stv-
dents to public schools and within such schools with-
out regard to their race, color, religion, or national
origin, but ‘desegregation’ shall not mean the assign
ment of students to public schools in order to over
come racial imbalance.

““(c) ‘Public school’ means any elementary or sec:
ondary educational institution, and ‘public college
means any institution of higher education or any
technical or vocational school above the secondary
school level, provided that such public school o
public college is operated by a State, subdivision o!
a State, or governmental agency within a State, o
operated wholly or predominantly from or through
the use of governmental funds or property, or fund
or property derived from a governmental source.

*(d) ‘School board’ means any agency or agen
cies which administer a system of one or more publi
schools and any other agency which is responsibl
for the assignment of students to or within such sys
tem.

ie
i

*

bs

Fe
2
by
x
vo
¢

tS

BS SRR Fs ANS

WEE REN Tabby

AD ~ Sys
OS oe ae

ban) s

Sk Uae USEPA BPs MAE saksasaNDS HORE SR LNAT SY

ES

es ene tober a hae’

i.
y
¥
rs
*
bs
ES

A. 3

Survey and Report of Educational
Opportunities

“Sec. 402. The Commissioner shall conduct a sur-
vey and make a report to the President and the Con-
gress, within two years of the enactment of this title,
concerning the lack of availability of equal educa-
tional opportunities for individuals by reason of race,
color, religion, or national origin in public educational
institutions at all levels in the United States, its ter-
ritories and possessions, and the District of Columbia.

Technical Assistance

“Sec. 403. The Commissioner is authorized, upon
the application of any school board, State, munici-
pality, school district, or other governmental unit
legally responsible for operating a public school or
schools, to render technical assistance to such appli-
cant in the preparation, adoption, and implementa-
tion of plans for the desegregation of public schools.
Such technical assistance may, among other activi-
ties, include making available to such agencies infor-
mation regarding effective methods of coping with
special educational problems occasioned by desegre-
gation, and making available to such agencies person-
nel of the Office of Education or other persons spe-
cially equipped to advise and assist them in coping
with such problems.

Training Institutes

“Sec. 404. The Commissioner is authorized to
arrange, through grants or contracts, with institu-
tions of higher education for the operation of short-
term or regular session institutes for special training
designed to improve the ability of teachers, supervi-
sors, counselors, and other elementary or secondary
school personnel to deal effectively with special edu-
cational problems occasioned by desegregation. In-
dividuals who attend such an institute on a full-time
basis may be paid stipends for the period of their

A. 4

attendance at such institute in amounts specified by

the Commissioner in regulations, including allow.
ances for travel to attend such institute.

Grants

“Sec. 405. (a) The Commissioner is authorized,
upon application of a school board, to make grants
to such board to pay, in whole or in part, the cost
of -

“(1) giving to teachers and other school per-
sonnel in-service training in dealing with problems
incident to desegregation, and

“(2) employing specialists to advise in prob-
lems incident to desegregation.

“(b) In determining whether to make a grant,
and in fixing the amount thereof and the terms and
conditions on which it will be made, the Commis-
sioner shall take into consideration the amount avail-
able for grants under this section and the other ap-
plications which are pending before him, the financial
condition of the applicant and the other resources
available to it; the nature, extent, and-gravity of its
problems incident to desegregation; and such other
factors as he finds relevant.

Payments

“Sec. 406. Payments pursuant to a grant or con-
tract under this title may be made (after necessary
adjustments on account of previously made overpay-
ments or underpayments) in advance or by way of
reimbursement, and in such installments, as the Com-
missioner may determine.

A. 5

Suits by the Attorney General

“Sec, 407. (a) Whenever the Attorney General re-
ceives a complaint in writing -

“(1) signed by a parent or group of parents to

the effect that his or their minor children, as mem-

bers of a class of persons similarly situated, are

i] being deprived by a school board of the equal pro-
; tection of the laws, or

4 ‘(2) signed by an individual, or his parent, to
i the effect that he has been denied admission to
j ‘or not permitted to continue in attendance at a
public college by reason of race, color, religion,
i or national origin, and the Attorney General be-
‘ lieves the complaint is meritorious and certifies
that the signer or signers of such complaint are
unable, in his judgment, to initiate and maintain
appropriate legal proceedings for relief and that
the institution of an action will materially further
the orderly achievement of desegregation in pub-
lic education, the Attorney General is authorized,
after giving notice of such complaint to the ap-
propriate school board or college authority and
after certifying that he is satisfied that such board
or authority has had a reasonable time to adjust
the conditions alleged in such complaint, to in-
stitute for or in the name of the United States a
e civil action in any appropriate district court of the
| United States against such parties and for such re-
. lief as may be appropriate, and such court shall
% have and shall exercise jurisdiction of proceedings
instituted pursuant to this section, provided that
nothing herein shall empower any official or court
of the United States to issue any order seeking to
achieve a racial balance in any school by requir-
ing the transportation of pupils or students from
one school to another or one school district to
another in order to achieve such racial balance,
or otherwise enlarge the existing power of the
court to insure compliance with constitutional
standards. The Attorney General may implead as
defendants such additional parties as are or be-
come necessary to the grant of effective relief
hereunder.

A. 6

“(b) The Attorney General may deem a person
or persons unable to initiate and maintain appropriate
legal proceedings within the meaning of subsection
(a) of this section when such person or persons are
unable, either directly or through other interested
persons or organizations, to bear the expense of the
litigation or to obtain effective legal representation;
or whenever he is satisfied that the institution of such
litigation would jeopardize the personal safety, em-
ployment, or economic standing of such person or
persons, their families, or their property.

“(c) The term ‘parent’, as used in this section in-
cludes any person standing in loco parentis. A ‘com-
plaint’ as used in this section is a writing or document
within the meaning of section 1001, title 18, United
States Code.

“Sec. 408. In any action or proceeding under
this title the United States shall be liable for costs
the same as a private person.

“Sec. 409. Nothing in this title shall affect ad-
versely the right of any person to sue for or obtain
relief in any court against discrimination in public
education.

“Sec. 410. Nothing in this title shall prohibit clas-

sification and assignment for reasons other than race,
color, religion, or national origin.

[TE COPY | Jt"?

SEP 25 1970

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATE CLERK f

SWANN, ) SUPRE OURT
Petitioner ) CASE # Boxe
vs. ) mw O 1
)
CHARLOTTE -MECKLENBURG)
BOARD OF EDUCATION, )
Respondent )

© MoTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE A BRIEF OF AMICUS
CURIAE

* Made in the absence of consent being seasonably
received from the Parties to this case.

Comes now before this Court, Newton Collier
Estes, to request an opportunity to file a brief in
opposition to the Fourth Circuit Court's ordering
' busing of public school children to achieve ar-
bitrary numerical racial balances in student

f bodies.

A. He states that his interest in the Court's
decision is based on:

; 1) The assumption that the decision

+ rendered will serve as a legal guideline for
school assignment rulings to be rendered at
Federal Court hearings in the City of Memphis,
where he is a resident, and in whose school
system he has children registered.

2) That a decision requiring coercive
busing would reduce his power to affect the
policies and actions of his locally-constituted

May,

PEPE Ae?

&
&
€.
Pa
&
=
bo

=:

governments.

3) That he and his family would be de-
nied the right to make many of the day-to-day
household decisions, such as when to get up in
the morning and where they would go when they
leave the house -- decisions which form a
considerable part of one's, pursuit of happiness.

B. He wants to call to the Court's atten-
tion:

1) The argument of what constitutes a
"unitary" school system has so far been the
prime consideration in every Federal Court hear-
ing on where children must attend school.

2) That arguments have not been fully
presented on whether methods thus far ordered
to achieve this type of school system might run
counter to the Constitutional requirements that
the main function of governments is to enact and
operate laws, after obtaining consent of those
governed (through the election process), which
tend to insure domestic tranquility, and to
guarantee individual liberty now and in the
future.

C. He wishes to suggest to the Court that
any decision it renders in this hearing should be
within the framework of the stated purposes for
which our Constitutional government was
instituted.

He believes the Court must make its
disposition of this case relate to those stated
Constitutional principles, because a failure to
do so would dramatically alter the relationship

the American citizen has always had with his
government.

He would cease to be a formulator in the
operations of his government, and would feel
the need to participate as an active defender of
his Constitutional rights against a Court-ordered

federal tyranny.

He does now submit that a decision
which would, in effect, abrogate the Preamble to
the Constitution should be construed by those
Americans, who regard liberty as the single most
important of all human rights, as a declaration
of war by the Federal government on its citizens.

THESE PREMISES CONSIDERED, I, Newton
Collier Estes pray that I be given leave to file a
brief with the Court, and be granted permission
to present oral arguments in its support before
the Court.

Nein, 0. Elen

Newton C. Estes
3069 Boxdale

Memphis, Tennessee

no FILED

om 8s Wo
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITE ROSSA TEM ER, cLER
SWANN, ) SUPREME COURT
Petitioner ) CASE # 281

) (formerly # 1713)
)
CHARLOTTE-MECKLENBURG )
BOARD OF EDUCATION, )

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT

vs.

Comes now before this Court, Newton Collier Estes
to file a brief in opposition to the Fourth Circuit
Court's ordering busing of public school children

to achieve arbitrary numerical racial balances in
student bodies.

A. He states that his interest in this case is
based on the belief that coercive busing would
jeopardize his family's right to freely choose the
activities they might wish to undertake in their
pursuit of happiness.

1) He believes his right to choose what is
best for his family may only be limited under our
Constitution by the restriction that, in so doing,
he does not deny anyone else what is rightfully
his.

2) He wants to show the Court that he
would become subject to taxation without repre-
sentation if the elected officials in his locality
should lose the authority to spend school tax
monies according to the desires of the electorate.

3) He believes that he has the God-
ordered duty to make decisions calculated to en-

hance his children's health, safety and happiness.
He believes coercive busing would be tantamount
to forcing him to delegate this duty to others, who
could not be held responsible for the deterioration
or loss’ of these fundamental goals of human

endeavor.

4) He wants to show the Court that
coercive busing would alienate the general public
from its interest and support of public education.
This circumstance would certainly lower the
quality of education in this area, and quite probably
would reduce school budgets to such an extent,
that for many children there would be no nearby
school open for classes.

B. He wishes to present logical argument show-
ing Supreme Court ordered busing would nullify these
basic tenets of our Constitution and Declaration of
Independence.

. That the people are to be ruled only with
their consent.

- That all powers not delegated by the
Constitution to the federal government are reserved
to the states and to the people.

That a basic function of government is to
act to insure domestic tranquility.

- That a basic function of government is to
act to secure the blessings of liberty to its citizens.

. That the federal government's actions are
to be motivated by the expressed desires of its
citizens.

_— -.

sy
z
fa
Ps
™m
Sf
bf
ge
@
g
=
s.
ax
Ss
ps
&

en). bath ct

. That laws should be enacted without
regard to race, color or creed.

. That the fundamental purpose of our
Constitutional system is for the government to be
controlled by the people - never that it should
exercise tyranny over the people.

1) He states that no body of local citizens -
would benefit or be served by coercive busing,
because there is no evidence that large numbers of
parents of school children have joined into efforts
to request this of local governments.

2) He suggests that the impetus for
coercive busing arises from two sources.

a) The disappointment among those
groups who were instrumental in the outlawing of
de jure segregation and in the enactment of public
accommodation legislation that the new opportunities
to integrate have not been seized upon by those who
were restrained by law from doing so in the past.

b) That Supreme Court rulings calling
for "unitary" school systems, without further
definition, has given some legal standing for actions
designed to force citizens to do that which it was
assumed they themselves would freely choose to do,
but which, for reasons of their own, it has now
become apparent they do not wish to do.

3) He states that a ruling requiring coercive
busing would say, in effect, that local laws per-
mitting students to attend their nearest school, or
to transfer to a better one, are un-constitutional
because they permit people to do what they wish,
rather than forcing them to do what their federal
government says they should wish to do.

4) He states that a ruling requiring co-
ercive busing would in effect be judicial legisla-
tion in direct conflict with recently enacted laws

at both the state and federal levels. Such action
undertaken against the expressed will of the people
would represent an act of tyranny by government
over the people.

5) He suggests that the Court should re-
ject those reasons given by the advocates of
coercive busing because they are based on a prop-
osition which, if accepted by the Court, would

suggest to the American Negro citizen that his own
government sees him as inferior to other races.

This comes when you accept that it is a
deprivation for Negroes to associate primarily with
Negroes. The same cannot also be said ina
straightforward manner about whites in an effort to
lessen the stigma; because the achievement of
Western Civilization refutes it.

The acceptance of such arguments will
place a heavy burden upon the Negro in his climb
toward self-esteem.

6) He suggests a ruling requiring coercive
busing would reinstate the condition prior to the

1954 Brown decision, because it would require
school boards to exclude a student from attending
l be of his race.

How much worse for this to be done by the
federal government against the will of the majority -
than by the states acting in accord with the Tenth

Amendment and with the consent of the governed!

He suggests that the Court is now ina
on to re-enunciate the principles upon
this country was founded, In so doing, it
slieve the great fear that ours may be the
eneration recorded in the history of the
i States which received freedom as its
"ge, but failed to preserve it and pass it on
> next.

' It can do so by premising its ruling on
“fundamentals of freedom.

‘ 1) Our Constitution was instituted for the
ssed purpose of guaranteeing that citizens
be ruled only with their consent.

| 2) That to legislate against the desires of
itizens constitutes tyranny which Americans
‘be rightful to oppose.

| 3) That the pursuit of happiness is deeply
}in the right of an individual to freely choose
id of neighborhood in which the fruits of his
yould allow him to live and send his children

4) To deny American citizens these free-
3 to lose the right to require their allegiance.

A ruling which would accomplish these ends

state that the Constitution does not require
busing of students to achieve racial

. It not only does not require it, but unless
ted people request it, the Constitutional

governing people only with their consent
prohibits any branch of the federal

ent from requiring coercive school busing.

= : °
. it :
. ‘
.
° -
’ 7s . . .
® 7
”
s . . . . *
.
s cin
ee o% @ ;
-@ . ° .
. . i = %
-“ @ . ' .
: _* «eR .
. ' °
‘
.
Fa ° ‘ ’ . . .
, - .
es . ee ,
. ° r “1
i . ' ° es é ° . ®e"*
.
‘
.- - - .
? : ; : ’ . ° gsh
etn t bs

These Premises considered, I, Newton
Collier Estes pray that this brief be accepted by
the Court, and that I be permitted to argue this
brief before the Court.

Teter. 0. Ca

Newton C. Estes
3069 Boxdale
Memphis, Tn. 38118

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386413_0266%3A16. Public record. Not legal advice.
