# Amicus Curiae Brief — United States v. District Court in & for the County of Eagle

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386413_0252%3A13

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1971
- **Citation:** 401 U.S. 520

## Text

Statement of Interest
Question Presented
Summary of Argument

Argument ..
I. The United States Should Not Be Allowed By
Reliance Upon An Anachronistic Defense To

Frustrate Legitimate Adjudication Procedures .... 7

Il. The McCarran Amendment Was Enacted To
Allow Joinder Of All Water Users In Proper
Adjudication Procedures 17

lll. Adherence to the Appropriative Doctrine of
Water Rights Forms the Basis for the Economic

Stability of the West 26
Conclusion 31
Appendices .. 32

A. Water Users on Public Lands (In Acre Feet) -.......... 32
B. Responses to National Water Commission -....._....... 34

C. The Trend Toward Sovereign Responsibility -......

Iu the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1969

No. 1178
UNITED STATES, PETITIONER

Vv.

THE DISTRICT COURT IN AND FOR THE COUNTY OF
EAGLE AND STATE OF COLORADO

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE SUPREME COURT
OF THE STATE OF COLORADO

AMICUS CURIAE BRIEF FOR THE STATES OF
COLORADO, OREGON, NEVADA, IDAHO, MONTANA
AND ALASKA IN SUPPORT OF THE DISTRICT COURT
IN AND FOR THE COUNTY OF EAGLE

AND STATE OF COLORADO

STATEMENT OF INTEREST

The aridity of climate and scarcity of water have
always been limitations upon development of the West.
In most areas, there just is not enough water to satisfy
all of the demands. As the West grows and develops,
the demands are continually expanding. Unfortunate-
ly, the available water supply remains fixed. Hence,
the competition for water continually increases.

The true value of water is not measured by its physi-
cal possession. Its value is based upon the expectancy
that a like amount will be available at a particular
place, year after year. It was this desire for a stable

1

— PONE IE ES ae SO ae ae ae

SESE RECS Er Lee ee

PRICE SAIS

Po SMES DL REIRSON, GE eH

2

expectancy that led to the “first come, first served,”
or appropriative doctrine of water rights.

The appropriative doctrine, in one form or another,
is followed in all nineteen Western States, including
Alaska and Hawaii. Under it, a right to the use of
water is initiated by an expression of desire, in proper
form, of utilizing a given amount of water. This must
be followed by a diligent effort leading to the actual
beneficial use of the water. Priority of right dates
from the initial expression of desire for use. In cases
of insufficient water to supply all rights, those rights
with the latest date of priority are denied water until
all senior rights have been satisfied.

Various federal agencies have claimed that the reser-
vation of land for various purposes also reserved
sufficient water necessary to effectuate the purpose
of the Reservation. The acceptance of such a theory
of claims by the federal agencies would, on a fully
utilized stream, create a situation wherein increased
federal uses would deny water to users who had water
rights with priorities established after the Reservation,
but prior to the expanded use.

In the eleven Western States, the United States owns
45.7 percent of the land. Of a total area of approxi-
mately 760,000,000 acres, the United States owns some
350,000,000 acres. Included in that 350,000,000 acres
are approximately 160,000,000 which were reserved
between 1897 and 1903 for National Forest purposes.
These are the high mountain lands that receive and

3

collect the winter snows for summer release. Runoff
from these lands averages 200 million acre feet an-
nually, or approximately 55 percent of the average
annual runoff.’

According to the same study, federal consumptive
uses in 1967 in the eleven Western States totalled
2,255,836 acre feet. By 1980, those agencies estimate
their consumptive use to increase to 2,472,269 acre
feet. Their projected consumptive uses for the year 2000
would total 2,619,474 acre feet.’

Thus, according to their own conservative estimates,
federal uses will increase approximately sixteen per-
cent by the year 2000 in a region that is already notori-
ously water deficient. Such increases, if concentrated
in already water short areas, could be disastrous to
water users who had long been using that water, and
had made vast developmental expenditures based upon
a supply that did not include the expanded federal uses.

The States do not wish to deprive the Federal Govern-
ment of valuable water rights. They know only too
well that related land resources are much less valuable
without the water necessary for their development.
The States ask only an identification of the extent of
the federal rights, so that existing uses might be pro-
tected and future developers, whether federal, state

‘Wheatley, Corker, et al, 1 Study of the Development, Man-
agement and Use of Water Resources on the Public Lands.
8-30 (1969)

*Id at 475, v II. See Appendix A.

4

or private, might better be able to predict the water
supply available for further development.

The United States asserts that “43 U.S.C. does not
consent to adjudications of the reserved water rights
of the United States.” To accept this theory would
allow expansion of federal water uses from dwindling
water supply at the expense of long-established water
rights. Such a theory would subject the billions of
dollars invested in water resource development in the
Western States to the whim of federal administrators
and transfer the future planning and development of
western water resources completely out of the state
and private sectors and into the Federal Government.
It is to this single issue that the signatory states direct
this Brief.’

Whether or not Water District 37 constitutes a
“river system” as defined by 43 U.S.C. 666 is beyond
the scope of this Brief.

Determination of the existence, nonexistence or the
extent of “reserved rights” is not properly before this
Court at this time. Determination of that issue should
only come after the jurisdictional question has been
answered and the Colorado Court has been allowed to
adjudicate the Eagle River System. Then, and only
then, is the proper time for this Court to review the
validity of the Colorado Court’s decision concerning
the Reservation Rights.

*See Appendix B for a compilation of state policy state-
ments on the issue of the McCarran Amendment and state-
federal relations in general.

5

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the United States, by reliance upon the
anachronistic defense of sovereign immunity, should be
allowed to avoid the identification of its claims to the
use of water from reserved lands needed for the protec-
tion of existing rights and the establishment of the sta-
bility necessary for meaningful future planning of
water resource development.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
I

The United States should not be permitted by reli-
ance upon the anachronistic doctrine of sovereign
immunity to frustrate effective water rights adjudica-
tions. A vestige of the ancient fiction that a King can
do no wrong, this doctrine has long been castigated by
commentators and, more recently, has been rejected by
the courts. It has no rational, moral or practical under-
pinnings which would justify its retention as a bar to
proper determinations of water rights. Since the doc-
trine was judicially created, it can and should be re-
pudiated by this Court.

Il

The economic health of the arid and semi-arid West
is crucially tied to the available water supply. Since
there is not sufficient water to satisfy all demands, it
is imperative that rights to water be determined and
allocated in an orderly way. This can be accomplished
only by means of proceedings adjudicating the rights

BAP me a ee ae

6

of all claimants to a single water source. Prior to the
passage of the McCarran Amendment, effective deter-
mination of water rights was impossible because the
United States refused adjudication of its rights. Fed-
eral water rights thus remained uncatalogued, leaving
individual water rights intolerably confused and un-
stable. The McCarran Amendment, by authorizing
joinder of the United States in adjudication procedures,
was enacted to eliminate this evil.

Surprisingly, the government now urges this Court
to construe the Amendment to preclude the adjudica-
tion of federal reserved water rights, thereby perpetu-
ating the very instability the Act was designed to
eliminate. Accordingly, this Court should reject this
construction and interpret the Amendment so as to
effectuate its purpose by allowing adjudication of all
U.S. water rights. This can be accomplished by accord-
ing the phrase “the owner of” general application or
by refusing to delimit the scope of the phrase “or other-
wise” to water rights acquired under state appro-
priation laws.

Ill

Much of the wealth of the Western United States
has been built upon the stable foundation of a firm
water supply obtainable under the appropriative doc-
trine of water rights. The states do not wish to take
away precious water rights from the United States
but rather to identify the extent and priorities of such
rights, thus bringing stability into actual and antici-

7

pated water usage and development. They should be
given the opportunity to try.
ARGUMENT
I

The United States Should Not Be Allowed, By Reliance
Upon an Anachronistic Defense, to Frustrate Legitimate
Adjudication Procedures,

The United States asserts that it can be joined as a
party in the instant action only if the McCarran
Amendment has explicitly waived the doctrine of
sovereign immunity. That doctrine is an indefensible
anachronism which has no logical, moral, or practical
underpinning which would justify its continued reten-
tion in the area of water rights determination.
Sovereign immunity harkens back to the days of mon-
archial privilege and the ancient fiction that the King
could do no wrong. The doctrine’s origin in this coun-
try cannot be found in the Constitution, in an inter-
pretation of the Constitution, nor in any specific
enactment of Congress. It is unquestionably judge-
made. In one curious sense, the law of sovereign im-
munity was found and not made, for it developed not
through conscious judicial creation, but through judi-
cial assumption that it already existed.

In 1798, this Court explicitly left open the question
of whether or not the government could be sued with-
out its consent.’ Nonetheless, the doctrine gradually
developed into the case law. In 1882, this Court ac-
knowledged that it had not directly considered the

‘Chisholm v. State of Georgia, 2 U.S. (2 Dall.) 419, 461,
478 (17938)

SPELL RI I IY HI

PAA IS

principle of sovereign immunity and that “the prin.
ciple has never been discussed or the reasons for it
given, but it has always been treated as an established
doctrine.”

The judges who created and molded the doctrine
were often actuated by misunderstanding. Perhaps
the outstanding example of a mistake was the unani-
mous pronouncement of this Court in 1868 that: “No
government has ever held itself liable to individuals
for the misfeasance, laches, or unauthorized exercise
of power by its officers and agents.’”* One eminent
commentator has pointed out that the Court “over.
looked the fact that practically every country of west-
ern Europe had long admitted such liability.’”

Closer to the heart of the probable motivating rea-
sons for the development of sovereign immunity is the
misunderstanding exemplified by another statement
of this Court in 1868: “It is obvious that the public
service would be hindered, and the public safety en-
dangered, if the supreme authority could be subjected
to suit at the instance of every citizen, and conse-
quently controlled in the use and disposition of the
means required for the proper administration of the
government.’ Not only is this proposition not obvious,

* United States v. Lee, 106 U.S. 196, 207, 1 S. Ct. 240, 250,
27 L.Ed. 171 (1882).

* Gibbons v. United States, 75 U.S. (8 Wall.) 269, 274, 19
L.Ed. 453 (1868)

*Borchard, Government Liability in Tort, 34 Yale L.J. 1, 2
(1934).

° The Siren, 74 U.S. (7 Wall.) 152, 154 (1868).

9

but the opposite of this proposition is rapidly becoming
obvious.

Noted commentators, after tracing the development
of the doctrine in American law, have lamented:

Monarchial doctrines of Kings who can do no
wrong and sovereigns above the law were de-
veloped and inflated in the United States to a
point never reached in England, in which they had
their roots, and never even deemed worthy of seri-
ous consideration in the feudal continent so often
and so erroneously deemed the source of govern-
mental irresponsibility. It was left for the demo-
cratic United States to furnish the rationalizations
and unconvincing explanations which gave a mis-
understood major premise the false appearance
of a reasoned and logical conclusion.

But however unjustified the premise of sover-
eign irresponsibility, it has stood rather stub-
bornly, even if not impregnably, in the way of
statutory reform designed to overcome the injus-
tice of these superannuated judicial doctrines.’

2a eee ae

Within a political and social system such as
exists in the United States, one would think that
the touchstone for the legal relationship between
the citizen and the state would not be that ex- ;
pressed by the term “sovereign immunity” but
rather a generous theory of “public responsibility.”
... [Slovereign immunity means much more; its
connotation is that of extensive public irresponsi- '
bility. Any theoretical support for the doctrine f

*Borchard, State and Municipal Liability in Tort — Pro-
posed Statutory Reform, 20 A.B.A.J. 747 (1984). :

10

of sovereign immunity, in the broad sense of the
term, has long ago been discarded; but the doc-
trine itself remains a stumbling block. Writing
in 1959, one critic observed that “roots stretching
out from ancient times have tripped twentieth
century courts in their efforts to reach practical
solutions needed in an age where state activities
dominate society. .... Timid legislators, weaving
psychological straight-jackets have, except in hap-
hazard instances, been similarly unwilling to act.'

Thomas Jefferson said it better than anyone:
“The care of human life and happiness is the first
and only legitimate object of good government.”
Against such a standard, sovereign immunity has
been and is a shibboleth that ought to be eliminated
from legal and political vocabulary."

The trend today is definitely away from sovereign
immunity and towards sovereign responsibility. Al-
though there have been legislative inroads into sover-
eign immunity [e.g., The Federal Tort Claims Act, the
McCarran Amendment under consideration here], the
most recent inroads have been made by the courts.
Recognizing that the doctrine was judicially created,
courageous courts have acted to abolish large chunks
of immunity. This trend has gained considerable mo-
mentum since 1957, particularly in the area of gov-
ernment liability for tort. The states in which judicial
action has been taken to eliminate large areas of im-

"McCord, Sovereign Immunity and Public Responsibility,
University of Illinois Law Forum (Winter 1966) p. 793.

* Mikva, Sovereign Immunity: In a Democracy the Emperor
Has No Clothes, University of Illinois Law Forum (Winter
1966) p. 828.

ll

munity, although some have waivered, are, chronologi-
cally, Florida, Colorado, Illinois, New Jersey, Cali-
fornia, Michigan, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Arizona,
Nevada, and Washington. In addition, the District
of Columbia has also abolished the immunity. While
the specific holdings of these cases are not relevant
to the case at bar, the pervasive judicial distaste
for and repudiation of sovereign immunity is. Many
of these cases are collected in Appendix C and high-
light three major points: (1) The doctrine of sovereign
immunity is an anachronism without rational or mora!
justification; (2) The doctrine was introduced into
American jurisprudence by the courts; and (3) There-
fore, the courts can and should eliminate the doctrine.

Although this Court continues to give lip service to
the doctrine of sovereign immunity by using it as
grounds for dismissal of actions against the United
States, in many cases it has effectively, if not for-
mally, rejected the doctrine and sustained jurisdiction.
In order to do so, the Court has had to indulge in a
fiction — i.e., that a suit against a governmental offi-
cer is not a suit against the government (even though
all concerned are fully aware that it is). Confusion
has often developed because the Court has sometimes
dismissed a suit against the government officer be-
cause it was really a suit against the government, and
sometimes allowed the suit on the fiction that the suit
is against the officer. This confusion has produced a
series of Supreme Court decisions which this Court
acknowledges to be difficult to reconcile.*

* Lend v. Dollar, 330 U.S. 731, 738, 67 S.Ct. 1009, 1012, 91
L.Ed. 1209 (1947).

12

In 1968, this Court decided two companion cases
arising out of the water problems of California’s Cen.
tral Valley — Dugan v. Rank” and City of Fresno
v. California." The Dugan suit was an injunction
against local officials of the United States and against
the United States to prevent diversion of water. The
Court held that the United States had not given consent
to the suit and that the action against the officers was
against the United States. Diversion of the water was
not a trespass but “a partial taking of respondent's
claimed rights.” Since the statute authorized that ac-
quisition by “eminent domain or otherwise,” the water
rights of the plaintiffs were “subject to seizure.”

This Court rejected the claim that the McCarran Act
authorized joinder of the United States because the
proceedings were not a “general adjudication of water
rights.” Thus construed under the Dugan opinion,
sovereign immunity prevents owners from enjoining
government officers from taking their property if the
officers are (1) acting within their statutory authority
and (2) their action is constitutional. This Court also
held that (1) the statute authorized the fiscal seizure
of the property rights in the water and (2) such seizure
is constitutional so long as the Tucker Act allows a
suit for damages.

The Fresno case was brought by the City against the
State, local officers of the United States and the United
States. The suit differed from the Dugan suit in that
a declaration as well as an injunction was sought. The

Court held that the opinion in Dugan controlled the

*° 372 U.S. 609, 83 S.Ct. 999, 10 L.Ed. 2d 15 (1968)
372 U.S. 627, 83 S. Ct. 996, 10 L.Ed. 2d 28 (1963)

13

decision. The Court had stated in Dugan what it called
“the general rule.” That statement is a misleading
summary of what the Court does and will do. After
quoting first from Land and then from Larson v. Do-
mestic and Foreign Commerce Corporation”, the Court
then declared:

The general rule is that a suit is against the
sovereign if the judgment sought would expend
itself upon the public treasury or domain, or inter-
fere with the public administration, . . . or if the
effect of the judgment would be ‘to restrain the
government from acting or compel it to act.’®

This asserted general rule has never been the general
rule. Judgments of this Court have often “expended
themselves on the public treasury or domain,’* have
often “interfered with the public administration,”™

* Larson v. Domestic and Foreign Commerce Corp., 337
US. 682, 69 S.Ct. 1457, 93 L.Ed. 1628 (1949).

‘8 372 U.S. 609, 83 S.Ct. 999, 10 L.Ed. 2d 15 (1963).

In United States v. Lee, 106 U.S. 196, 1 S.Ct. 240, 27 L.Ed.
171 (1882), this Court upheld a writ of ejectment against
government officers who held possession of land on behalf of
the government. The effect of the Court’s order was to oust
the government from land. The judgment expended itself on
what the government claimed to be the public domain. The
government was restrained from staying, and was compelled
to get off.

** In Greene v. McElroy, 360 U.S. 474, 79 S.Ct. 1400, 3 L.Ed.
2d 1877 (1959), the question was “the validity of the govern-
ment’s revocation of security clearance granted to the peti-
tioner, an aeronautical engineer employed by a private
manufacturer which produced goods for the armed services.”
The Court issued a declaratory judgment that the govern-
ment’s revocation of the security clearance was unlawful. The
effect of the declaration was to “interfere with the public
administration” and “compel the government to act” to with-
draw the revocation.

OTTER i BP SLE ERE PO

AOR RRA if IME APIS

FER LI LITO GLEE TINS, SO) ETNA BEDE LO Re LET RLS GELLER IOIE ALITTLE

14

and have often “restrained the government from acting
or compelled it to act.’

Kenneth Culp Davis summarized what is happening
“in our strange system” in the following language:

When you sue the government for specific relief
or for a declaratory judgment, you must falsely
pretend (in the absence of a special statute) that
the suit is not against the government but that it
is against an officer. You may get relief against
the sovereign if, but only if, you falsely pretend
that you are not asking for relief against the sov-
ereign. The judges often will falsely pretend that
they are not giving you relief against the sover-
eign, even though you know and they know, and
they know that you know that the relief is against
the sovereign. Even when the substance of sover-
eign immunity is gone, the form usually remains.
The courts do not violate the doctrine of sovereign
immunity except in substance.

* * *
The transition stage during which the courts

**In Manual Enterprises, Inc. v. Day, 370 U.S. 478, 82
S.Ct. 1432, 8 L.Ed. 2d 639, (1962), this Court reversed a
denial of injunctive relief against the Post Office Depart-
ment’s refusal to carry certain mail. The effect was to com-
pel the United States to carry the particular mail. The Court’s
decree “interfered with the public administration,” and “com-
pelled the government to act.” In Vitarelli v. Seaton, 359 U-S.
535, 79 S. Ct. 968, 3 L.Ed. 2nd 1012 (1959), the Court ordered
the Secretary of the Interior to reinstate a federal employee
to his government position. Surely in every realistic sense
the Court’s judgment “expended itself against the govern-
ment,” and “compelled the government to act.” The Court’s
judgment required the government to take the employee back,
to allow him to work as a government employee, and to pay
him his salary.

z Be eat a sa an PEPER toh SEES & VEEN ke ee

15

are in the process of unmaking the judicially made
law of soveregin immunity, causes the judges to
grant relief against the sovereign but to deny that
they can grant relief against the sovereign. They
can do justice but they have to pretend that sover-
eign immunity prevents them from doing justice.
They must hide the truth. Judge X hides the truth
from Judge Y who hides the truth from Judge Z,
who hides the truth from Judge X. The litigants
hide the truth from the judges, and the judges
hide the truth from the litigants.

eke oe

The time is surely approaching, perhaps the
time has come, for relinquishing the false pre-
tenses. The courts are allowing the doctrine of
sovereign immunity to be violated in substance,
and the time is coming, perhaps soon, when the
forms of sovereign immunity will seem useless.”

This Court has also acknowledged and responded to
the growing disfavor of the sovereign immunity de-
fense. In the case of National City Bank of New York
v. Republic of China,” this Court observed:

But even the immunity enjoyed by the United
States as territorial sovereign is a legal doctrine
which has not been favored by the test of time. It
has increasingly been found to be in conflict with
the growing subjection of governmental action to
the moral judgment. A reflection of this steady
drift in attitude toward the American sovereign’s
immunity is found in such observations in unani-
mous opinions of this Court as “Public opinion as

.

* Davis, Administrative Law Treatise Vol. 3 (1965 Pocket
Supplement) pp. 151-152.
** 348 U.S. 356, 359, 75 S.Ct. 423, 426, 99 L.Ed. 389 (1955).

16

to the peculiar rights and preferences due to the
sovereign has changed,” Davis v. Pringle, 268 U.S.
315, 318; “There is no doubt an intermittent ten-
dency on the part of governments to be a little less
grasping than they have been in the past .. .”
White v. Mechanics Securities Corp., 269 U.S. 283,

301; “. .. the present climate of opinion . . . has
brought governmental immunity from suit into
disfavor .. .”, Keifer & Keifer v. Reconstruction

Finance Corp., 306 U.S. 381, 391. This chilly feel-
ing against sovereign immunity began to reflect
itself in federal legislation in 1797. At that early
day Congress decided that when the United States
sues an individual, the individual can set off all
debts properly due from the sovereign. And be-
cause of the objections to ad hoc legislation allow-
ances of private causes, Congress a hundred years
ago created the Court of Claims, where the United
States, like any other obliger, may affirmatively
be held to its undertakings. This amenability to
suit has become as commonplace in regard to the
various agencies which carry out “the enlarged
scope of government in economic affairs,” Keifer
& Keifer v. Reconstruction Finance Corp., supra,
at 390. The substantive sweep of amenability to
judicial process has likewise grown apace.

The outlook and feeling thus reflected are not
merely relevant to our problem. They are import-
ant. The claims of dominant opinion rooted in
sentiments of justice and public morality are
among the most powerful shaping forces in law-
making by courts. Legislation and adjudication
are interacting influences in the development of
law. A steady legislative trend, presumably mani-
festing a strong social policy properly makes de-
mands on the judicial process.

_"

17

This Court’s acknowledgement that its decisions in
this area cannot be reconciled gives the Court an op-
portunity, indeed a duty, to clarify the law in a sound
manner. To do so the Court need not break new ground.
It needs only to adhere to the simple and sound obser-
vation it made in 1882: “Courts of Justice are estab-
lished, not only to decide upon controverted rights of
the citizens as against each other, but also upon rights
and controversy between them and the government.’’””

II

The McCarran Amendment Was Enacted to Allow Joinder
of All Water Users in Proper Adjudication Procedures.

Under the laws of the Western States, procedures
exist whereby water users or state officials can initiate
judicial proceedings to obtain a determination of the
respective water rights of water users on a particular
river or other water system. Due to the priority con- 4
cept of the appropriation doctrine, if any such general
adjudication of water rights is to be effective, it is
imperative that all water users from a single source
of supply be joined in the action and bound by the
results.

a ee is

te EF

Unfortunately, prior to the enactment of the Mc-
Carran Amendment,” this was not possible. The
United States, because of sovereign immunity, could
not be joined in such adjudications. Since the United

1° United States v. Lee, 106 U.S. 196, 220, 1 S.Ct. 240, 261,
27 L.Ed. 171 (1882).

*°The McCarran Amendment (43 U.S.C. 666, Act of July
10, 1952, 66 Stat. 560), construction of which is at issue here,
provides in pertinent part: “Suits for adjudication of water

eS eT ee

VELL Fey RCOERD: SRO IS

marae

a a el a ae en ee ee Ne ee ea Os oo |

18

States claims the right to initiate unknown, uncata-
logued and undetermined future uses on National
Forest lands under priority dates ranging from 1897
to 1903, other water users had no assurance or security
that their current water supply would remain intact.
This left the predictability of future water supplies
in an unstable and intolerably confused state. In addi-
tion to potential deprivation of existing users, possible
developers refused to make the substantial investments
necessary to beneficially utilize water resources for
fear of losing their water rights as a result of the
Federal Government subsequently asserting claims to
the water.

The legislative history of the McCarran Amendment
clearly indicates that it was enacted because of this
problem and to allow effective determination of all

rights. (a) Joinder of United States as defendant; costs. Con-
sent is given to join the United States as a defendant in any
suit (1) for the adjudication of rights to the use of water of
a river system or other source, or (2) for the administration
of such rights, where it appears that the United States is the
owner of or is in the process of acquiring water rights by
appropriation under state law, by purchase, by exchange, or
otherwise, and the United States is a necessary party to such
suit. The United States when a party to any such suit shall
(1) be deemed to waive any right to plead that the state laws
are inapplicable or that the United States is not amenable
thereto by reason of its sovereignty, and (2) shall be subject
to the judgments, orders, and decrees of the court having
jurisdiction, and may obtain review thereof, in the same man-
ner and to the same extent as a private individual under like
circumstances: Provided, that no judgment for costs shall be
entered against the United States in any such suit.”

7 rt >, NS Nr, . * on RUTCT LSB Pee be
Re au sone ESS Sie 22, zat Sas, Rte ore ee Met One eee RE ORR REN

19

water rights. In its report, the Senate Judiciary Com-
mittee states :*

In the administration of and the adjudication
of water rights under state laws, the state courts
are vested with the jurisdiction necessary for the
proper and efficient disposition thereof, and by
reason of the interlocking of adjudicated rights
on any stream system, any order or action affect-
ing one right affects all such rights. Accordingly
all water users on the stream, in practically every
case, are interested and necessary parties to any
court proceedings. It is apparent that if any
water user claiming to hold such right by reason
of the ownership thereof by the United States or
any of its departments is permitted to claim im-
munity from suit in, or orders of, a state court,
such claims could materially interfere with the
lawful and equitable use of water for beneficial
use by the other water users who are amenable
to and bound by the decrees and orders of the state
courts.

The absolute necessity of joining the United States
to achieve effective adjudication of water rights was
reiterated later in the report:”

Since it is clear that the states have the control
of the water in their boundaries, it is essential that
each and every owner along a given water course,
including the United States, must be amenable to
the law of the state, if there is to be a proper ad-

** (See Senate Calendar No. 711, Report No. 755, Septem-
ber 17, 1951 quoted in Vol. 98, Part I, Congressional Record
— Senate, 82nd Cong. 2d Sess., pp. 120-122, January 14, 1952)

22 Ibid.

DS hE NE REI ALND FLT ORT BI

ai

Se OQOOOOOOOO ow a

20

ministration of the water law as it has developed
over the years... .

The committee is of the opinion that there is
no valid reason why the United States should not
be required to join in a proceeding when it is a
necessary party and to be required to abide by the
decision of the court in the same manner as if it
were a private individual.

In discussion of the Act on the Senate floor, Senator
Arthur V. Watkins, (Utah), who was subsequently
designated as a co-sponsor of the measure, illustrated
the bill’s purpose :**

Senator Watkins. I would like to give you one
illustration, which illustrates very well what we
are trying to do.

The Jordan drainage area in Utah has, with the
United States acting as a trustee for one of the
great reclamation projects and holding title to a
certain amount of water out of the stream, a suit
to determine the rights of all the water users on
that stream now in court. The only one that is not
in there is the United States as trustee, and we
cannot get them into court because we do not have
a bill such as S.18 passed.

The United States has not consented to come in
and be sued. How are we going to determine those
rights? We would like to get the matter settled.

In that particular case, the United States owns
property along the stream, yet we cannot get our

*s Jol. 98 Part Three, Congressional Record — Senate, 82nd
Cong. 2d Sess., p. 3042.

21

rights determined because we cannot get into
court.

Now, that is what we would like to be able to
do out in the West.

Finally, the Department of Interior acknowledged
that:*

The interests of the United States in the use of
the waters of its river systems are so many and
so varied that a full enumeration of them could
not be made without a great deal of careful study.
It is enough, I hope, for present purposes to exem-
plify these interests by pointing to those which it
has under the commerce clauses of the Constitu-
tion; those which exist by virtue of the creation of
Indian reservations under the doctrine of the
United States v. Winters (207 U.S. 546 (1908) )
or by virtue of the creation of, for instance, a
national park; those which it has asserted by en-
tering into international treaties; those which it
may have by virtue of its present and prior owner-
ship of the public domain and which have not
vested under [a series of specified acts]; those
with respect to which its officers and employees
have followed the procedure prescribed in Section
8 of the Act of June 17, 1902 (32 Statutes 388,
43 U.S.C. 383) ; and those which it has acquired
by purchase, gift, or condemnation by private
owners. Since the United States can be said, with
varying degrees of accuracy, to be the “owner” of
rights of any or all of these types, it is clear to me

* Letter from Mastin G. White, Acting Assistant Secretary
of the Interior, to Pat McCarran, Chairman of the Commit-
tee on the Judiciary, Aug. 3, 1951.

fad

)»)

that enactment of the bill could lead to a tremen-
dous volume of unwarranted litigation and, in the
absence of a complete and detailed catalogue of all
the rights and interests which the United States
has in the stream systems of the nation, to the
hazard that, by overlooking some, it would be for-
ever precluded from asserting them thereafter,

These observations concerning the scope of the Bill
were not denied, nor were any changes made in the
statutory language in response to them.

tn summary, it seems indisputable that the purpose
of the McCarran Amendment was to make possible
an effective determination of all water rights from a
single source of supply. Under any other interpreta-
tion, the probability remains that any decree determin-
ing priorities and extent of rights will be overturned.
This instability in water rights adjudication was the
very evil the measure was designed to eliminate.

The United States urges this Court to construe the
McCarran Amendment to preclude proper adjudica-
tion of all water rights. It argues that the preposi-
tional phrases referring to modes of acquisition —
that is, (a) “by appropriation under state law,” (b)
“by purchase,” (c) “by exchange,” and (d) “or other-
wise,” —- modify and qualify the phrase “the owner
of.” So construed, federal ownership alone is not suf-
ficient ground to justify joinder of the United States
in a water adjudication suit. Rather, on this view,
the United States may be joined only if it acquired the
pertinent water rights by one of the specified modes

SRE NTP PT INN OLE EIS RENEE IT A

Bek A

23

of acquisition. They claim that reserved water rights
have not been acquired by means of “appropriation,”
“purchase” or “exchange,” which are modes of acqui-
sition under state law, and that the rule of ejusdem
generis limits the denotation of “or otherwise” only to
other means of acquisition under state law. Inasmuch
as reserved water rights are not acquired pursuant to
state laws, the government argues, the Act does not
authorize joinder of the United States in water rights
adjudications concerning reserved rights. Whatever
technical merits this interpretation may have, it is
clearly erroneous. Such an interpretation frustrates
the stated purpose of the McCarran Amendment, per-
petuating the very evil it was designed to correct.

The statutory language is susceptible of a different,
more reasonable interpretation which implements the
purposes of the Act. The phrase “the owner of” should
be accorded general application and not be qualified
by the phrases referring to the specified modes of
acquisition.

Thus construed, the statute would be read as follows:

Consent is given to join the United States as a
defendant in any suit where it appears that the
United States [1] is the owner of [water rights]
or [2] is in the process of acquiring water rights
by [a] appropriations under state law, [b] by pur-
chase, [c], by exchange, or [d] or otherwise.

This interpretation is supported by the doctrine of
the “last antecedent” which holds that relative and

68 EIR PET CLE AG TL I STEELER IPE S

ER RTT TL ERT LAF LIT NT PPO

SS RE eRe SUE RE ETE Ve anaEeS ue

24

qualifying words, phrases, and clauses are to be ap.
plied to the words or phrase immediately preceding,
and are not to be construed as extending to or includ.
ing others more remote.” Under this rule, phrases
{a}, [b], [c], and [d] are applied only to the immediately
preceding phrase: “‘is in the process of acquiring water
rights” and not to the more remote phrase “the owner
of.” This interpretation would allow joinder of the
United States in water rights adjudication on the basis
of ownership alone regardless of the source of that
ownership.

The same result can be achieved by rejecting the
government’s application of the rule of ejusdem generis
to the phrase “or otherwise.” The government’s argu-
ment that this phrase must be limited to modes of
water rights acquisition under state law is not well
founded in that “purchase” and “exchange” are not
peculiarly modes of acquisition under state law as is
appropriation. In fact, the United States has previ-
ously claimed that “when the United States acquired
ownership of the public domain by cession from foreign
sovereigns, it acquired the rights to use waters thereon
within the bundle of rights which ownership of the
lands involves.”** For the most part, those “‘cessions”

** 82 C.J.S., Statutes, 334.

* Nicholas de B. Katzenbach, Deputy Attorney General,
“Memorandum re: 8.1275,” Hearings before the Subcommit-
tee on Irrigation and Reclamation of the Interior and Insular
Affairs, U.S. Senate, on S.1275, p. 11 (1964). ef., Brief for
the United States 20. The validity of this claim is strongly
disputed by the States, but is not before the Court at this
time. See p. ...., supra.

i al - a 3 “—_— A all * > J

25

upon which the reserved rights are based were “pur-
chases.” Surely, if the United States were to “ex-
change” public lands for lands on an Indian reserva-
tion, it would not relinquish whatever water rights
those Indian lands might have. In neither example
were the rights in question acquired “under state law.”

To accept the interpretation of the United States
would render the phrases “by purchase” and “by ex-
change” meaningless, inasmuch as, according to the
United States, these terms are included in “by appro-
priation under state law.” Such a construction would
violate the presumption that the legislature intends
that each word in a statute should have some meaning
all its own, and is included in the statute for a par-
ticular purpose. Thus, it seems more reasonable that
[a], [b], and [c] be construed as members of the general
class of modes of water rights acquisition with [d] “or
otherwise” serving to complete or exhaust that class.
So construed, the Act would extend to adjudication of
all types of federal water rights.

It seems apparent that the language in question is
amenable to more than one interpretation and hence
must be given that which will best effect its purpose
rather than one which would defeat it.” As this Court
has often held in construing a statute, to give effect to
the intent or purpose of the legislature, the Court must
look to the object to be accomplished and/or the evil or

** Shapiro v. United States, 335 U.S. 1, 68 S.Ct. 1875, 92
L.Ed. 1787, rehearing denied 335 U.S. 835, 69 S.Ct. 9, 98
L.Ed. 388.

26

mischief sought to be remedied. The McCarran
Amendment was enacted to allow an effective deter.
mination of water rights and to eliminate uncertainty
and confusion as to the existence and extent of one’s
water rights.

The anomalous consequences of the government’s
construction of the Act focus attention on a funda-
mental inconsistency in the government’s position. On
the one hand, the government resists the jurisdiction
of the Colorado District Court on the grounds that the
action is not a general adjudication of all purported
water rights on an entire river system. The United
States, it urges, may not be subjected to piecemeal
litigation in the resolution of its water rights. But
in the next breath, the government argues that the
McCarran Amendment should be construed to allow
determination of only federal appropriative rights and
not federal reserved rights, thus precluding the pos-
sibility of a completely general adjudication.

Ill

Adherence to the Appropriative Doctrine of Water Rights
Forms the Basis for the Economic Stability of the West.

Submission of federal uses of water on reserved
lands to the jurisdiction of state courts would not

* U.S. v. Bryan, 339 U.S. 323, 70 S.Ct. 724, 94 L.Ed. 884,
rehearing denied 339 U.S. 991, 70 S.Ct. 1018, 94 L.Ed. 1391.
In ascertaining the intent and purpose, the court must look
to the purpose to be subserved by the statute and should place
such construction as will, if possible, effect the purpose of the
statute. (U.S. v. Cooper Corporation, 312 U.S. 600, 61 S.Ct.
742, 85 L.Ed. 1071).

2%

“frustrate” “the purposes for which millions of acres
of lands have been withdrawn from the public do-
main,” or make the “reserved rights of the United
States . . . vulnerable to the vagaries of inconsistent

state laws.”

The water laws of the various Western States are not
“vague” or “inconsistent.” While there may be minor
differences in some of the states, much of the law is
now statutory, and is fairly uniformly construed. All
the Western States, either by constitution, statute, or
judicial pronouncement, adhere to the tenet of “bene-
ficial use,” which is the limit and measure of the right.

As Mr. Justice Douglas stated, the doctrine is “as
important to these Western States as the doctrine of
seizin has been to the development of Anglo-American
property law.”

Frank J. Trelease, Dean of the Wyoming Law
School, aptly described the appropriative doctrine in
this manner :°°

Upon it much of the wealth of the West has
been built. Mining was its origin, irrigation has
been its mainstay, but appropriations are made
for all beneficial purposes: domestic and munici-
pal, manufacturing and power production, stock
raising and public recreation.

** Arizona v. California, 373 U.S. 546, 629 (1963)

* Trelease, Arizona v. California, Allocation of Water Re-
sources to People, States and Nation, The Supreme Court
Review, 1963) p. 158.

PED LG ORNS MRT OLR NEEM a NYEIE RIL

SED CO EL Se NEAT sa NS

28

Several features combine to make an appropria-
tion a property right of a high order. An appro-
priation is always defined in terms of the right
to take a specific quantity of water. This, coupled
with the element of priority, gives the western
appropriators right a unique stability. On a typi-
cal western stream where there are many irriga-
tors with water rights initiated at different times,
all may draw water while the mountain snowpacks
melt and the stream is high. As the stream flow
decreases during the dry summer, the diversion
works of appropriators are shut off in inverse
order of priority. The burden of shortage thus
falls on those with the later rights; there is no pro-
ration in times of scarcity. Some observers have
questioned the desirability of this rule. Yet in its
unique fashion it has led to maximization of bene-
fits. The westerners early saw that an equal share
of water that was insufficient for all might lead
to parceling out the waters in shares that were
sufficient for none. The rule of priority is not as
harsh as it sounds. It guarantees a firm supply
to all those for whom the supply is sufficient, and
these people have been able to build an agriculture
unmatched in stability in places where depend-
ence is placed on natural rainfall. The junior
appropriator is encouraged by this law to develop
water resources. Instead of competing for a share
of the available riparian system, the later users
are forced to spend money to develop water from
alternate sources. When senior appropriators had
taken all of the dependable flow of western
streams, further development was inaugurated by
juniors who built dams to store spring floods, built
larger dams that would store the supply of good
years against future droughts, or brought water

SER PART TIN

are RE EAM PAM NANA ABO NT

long distances across or through mountain ranges

: from basins where the supply exceeded the local

demands. The junior appropriator who does face
a risk of shortage is like a farmer in a sub-humid
area who must take his chances on rain. The value
of his enterprise and the worthwhileness of ven-
turing into it will depend upon the forecast he can
make of receiving a supply. If the risk is great,
he may use the land almost as dry land, so that
water, when it comes, is a bonus. The senior ap-
propriator with a firm water right may grow an
orchard; the junior would not risk so substantial
an investment in time and money. He might
gamble on the loss of an annual crop but not of a
permanent investment.

'
.
:
*

RIA MERE IOP LTT NS ER SIN

os ee i li

wae PAS Rare

So long as potential federal developers can retain
the priority date of the original federal reservation
without identifying the amounts needed to effectuate
the original purposes of the reservation, the necessary
accuracy in appraisal of water supply is not possible.”
The resulting uncertainty stymies state and private
development and bars optimum utilization of the ;
West’s most precious resources.

HSL LG SS RES PIR GML)

ga oe te

*}A revealing instance of the kind of problems that have
been generated and aggravated by the government’s position
concerns the proposed Pine Hollow Reservoir Project in Ore-
gon. In a letter to the Regional Director, Bureau of Outdoor
Recreation, Seattle, Washington, under the date of October
24, 1968, from LeonJourolmon, Assistant Regional Solicitor,
the following was stated: “The Pine Hollow Cooperative,
Inc., is planning to build the Pine Hollow Reservoir on land
roughly three-fourths of a mile outside the boundaries of the
Mount Hood National Forest. The reservoir impoundment
will involve largely waters which arise on or flow from the
lands in the Mount Hood National Forest. As you may be

SRL RET OREN SENT. Gt EOS TR SRE eel

30

The Western States do not wish to “destroy” the
productivity of the millions of acres of reserved lands.
They only wish to be afforded a procedure by which
those rights can be identified. Their good faith is
exemplified in a Position Paper submitted to the Public
Land Law Review Commission in which they unani-
mously urged that Commission to recommend legisla-
tion which requires the United States:

to identify all Federal claims to surface and under-
ground water asserted under the Reservation
Doctrine or other theory of paramount right in-
cluding those made on behalf of Indians. Such

aware, the Federal Government may assert its federally derived
right to the use of water on federal lands by reference to
Supreme Court decisions holding that waters traversing or
bounding a reservation are reserved by the legislation or
executive order establishing the reservation’ or withdrawal
of public land. [Citing cases] Thus there is a serious ques-
tion present as to whether or not Pine Hollow Cooperative,
Inc., will be able to appropriate under Oregon State Water
Law Procedures any water rights which can be regarded as
binding upon the United States with respect to the waters
flowing out of the Mount Hood National Forest. It is my
opinion that the Cooperative will not be able to secure water
rights under its application to the Oregon State Engineer for
the 1,200 acre foot minimum sump together with the additional
capacity of 3,500 acre feet for irrigation purposes together
with 15 CFS out of Badger Creek for filling and maintenance,
which rights can be regarded as valid and binding upon the
United States as to the water flowing out of the Mount Hood
National Forest. In these circumstances, it is also my opinion
that the Cooperative will not be able to assign to the Oregon
State Game Commission the rights to the 1,200 acre feet sump
that can be regarded as free from doubt as to warrant assist-
ance to the proposed participant of funds from the L& WCF
for this project.”

31

identification should include a specific recital of
the purpose, location, extent and priority date of
every water right claimed. The United States
should be required to complete such identification
within a reasonable, specified period of time and
should be required to give notice to each affected
state. The legislation should limit such claims to
the effectuation of the original purpose of the
reservation.

There is nothing in the present law or prior appro-
priation that would preclude a state court from reach-
ing the same reasonable result. They should at least
be given a chance to try.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the decision of the Colo-
rado Supreme Court should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted:

DUKE W. DUNBAR, ROBERT M. ROBSON,
Attorney General Attorney General
State of Colorado State of Idaho

LEE JOHNSON, ROBERT L, WOODAHL,
Attorney General Attorney General
State of Oregon State of Montana

HARVEY DICKERSON, G. KENT EDWARDS,
Attorney General Attorney General

State of Nevada State of Alaska

ey

m3

BENG LMT TG RESON AEP NE SR RR BE

988 PE EE IED WE OD: CEI MEER EN ER FB SRM OE ODM RIE

APPENDIX A
WATER USES ON PUBLIC LANDS*

(in acre feet)

eens
LIVESTOCK BIG GAME RECREATIO0\
1967 1980 2000 1967 1980 2000 1967 1980 9
RM eaten acs 12,450 18,411 25,546 1,222 1,370 1,674 169 242
Forest Serv. ..69,752 96,531 125,061 20,769 23,696 24,387 49,909 35,751 Ty:
Nat'l. Park

Service ...... 330 297 249 98 98 98 1,029 3,560 53%
Fish &

Wildlife ...... 568 578 611 69 72 76 45 116 i
ee 277 290 310 29 33 30 278 790 19
Sc USNR erates
charcarinnes
[eres 404 517 427
Ree
Air Force..........
eee
Corps of Eng 5,922 17,292 26%

83,781 116,624 152,204 22,187 25,269 26,265

57,352 57,751 106,

*Compiled from information supplied by the various federal agencies to
the Public Land Law Review Commission and utilized by Thomas M.
Stetson, and Daniel J. Reid in their “Study of the Development, Man-
agement, and Use of Water Resources on the Public Lands,” prepared

for that Commission.

—_--"-""

LAND OCCUPANCY

1967 1980 2000

TOTAL
1967 1980 2000

20,955 26,376 32,090
447 1,049 1,576

7” 20 29
1333 569 751
2.789 2,789 2,789

124 149 «155

30,350 30,350 30,350
65138 6,513 6,513
10,060 12,276 15,344

625 847 1,006

13,814 20,023 27,220
178,851 200,789 280,468

2,330 5,690 8,294

1,989,121 2,160,344 2,203,850
3,032 3,474 4,572
2,789 2,789 2,789

124 149 155
8,489 9,436 9,345
30,350 30,350 30,350
8,140 8,140 8,140
10,060 12,276 15,344
8,687 18,809 28,609

73,245 80,970 90,635 2,019,249 2,191,655 2,243,422

2,255,814 2,472,269 2,619,136

LE ELEMENT SRE Lo SPREE

Lae

OE et

et ce aaa

34 .

APPENDIX B
RESPONSES TO NATIONAL WATER COMMISSION

In the Summer and Fall of 1969, the National Water
Commission held a series of hearings “to learn what the public
thought about the water situation in the United States." To
indicate the general nature of subjects to be discussed, the
Commission circulated a list of twenty-five questions. State
responses indicated their interest in the MacCarran Amend-
ment and state-federal relations in general.

The National Water Commission asked: ?

In what way does present law regarding the owner-
ship of water rights encourage or discourage wise use of
water? Should changes be made in laws governing feder-
ally-owned water rights?

The Western States responded: *
California

California has consistently urged that Congress clarify
the respective interests of the United States and the states
in the use in certain streams. This is a reaction to a series of
United States Supreme Court decisions which have been ad-
verse to state water rights by holding that on withdrawn or
reserved lands, water rights created by state law are subject
to federal uses on such land. Thus, state-created water rights
subsequent to the reservation of public lands are subordinate
to the reserved water rights, and no compensation need be paid
by the Federal Government when use of the reserved water
right results in an interference (taking) of a state-created
water right.

* * ~~

The cases recognize a priority in favor of the water rights

of these reservations, related to the date of their establishment.

‘The National Water Commission, Interim Report No. 1: Annual Report
for 1969, p. 5.

2Id at 40.

8The National Water Commission circulated a list of 25 questions and 31
tentative programs of studies. Arizona, Colorado, Idaho and Washington
commented on the studies, but did not respond specifically to the 25
questions.

F S88 ARO PE 8 ESE A LIT LILLIA I A fo Re OS TELE EP ER

35

But the quantity of the right is not established unless and until
that water right is litigated, usually many years after creation
of the reservation. When the magnitude of the water right
is finally determined, as it was in Arizona v. California, the
quantity may be fixed by a determination of the reasonabie
requirements of the reservation, but this determination (at
least in the case cited) has been controlled by the standards
of physical and economic feasibility prevailing at the time of
the decision, not those which existed at the time when the
reservation was created. In the interval between establishment
of the reservation and the determination of the quantity of its
water rights (this interval may amount to several decades),
uses may have been built up under state law appropriations, or
conceivably under federal authorizations. These are cut off,
without compensation, to the extent of their conflicts with the
water right subsequently “quantified” for that reservation in
a court decree, which relates the right to that quantity back to
the date of creation of the reservation. It would seem only fair
that the quantity of the right should be established at the time
of the creation of the right, as is required by state appropri-
ation laws.
ok * *

It seems to many of us that Congress, in the Reclamation
Act of 1902 and supplementary legislation, recognized a sound
principle when it directed the Secretary of the Interior to ac-
quire water rights for federal projects in compliance with state
law, whether those rights are initiated by appropriation or are
acquired from prior appropriators. The Supreme Court in
Arizona v. California recognized the power of Congress to
create water rights by authorizing the impounding and disposi-
tion of waters not previously appropriated, and to do so without
compliance with state law. There have been, and will be again,
cases in which this is necessary. But I believe that the Com-
mission should recommend that, in the absence of specific
congressional directions to the contrary, the Federal Govern-
ment should initiate or acquire water rights (at least consump-
tive use rights) in accordance with, and not by supersedure
of, the laws of the state in which the water is diverted or im-
pounded.

Montana

The State of Montana, together with most western states,
has been greatly disturbed by the constant contention of the

PPO RER aa nS Bah LEST NOI AL LOL RR ac eel
WR fF EMDR er OA Gots ee

SR eT ET ATL LS RRR OEP ORE eT ate teiatete

36

Department of Justice that the United States is the actual
owner of all the waters in all of the western streams, and that
the Federal Government, therefor, is supreme and may ignore
the laws of the various states. We, therefore, firmly support
the inherent right and obligation of the people, with or without
assistance from the Federal Government, to develop their water
resources and to protect their right to continued use within the
framework of applicable interstate compacts and the Water
laws of the respective states. We feel that this is of utmost
importance and one which will have to be given an in-depth
study by your Commission with the hope that your leadership
may help to resolve this extremely important problem.

Nevada

In our view one of the most critical problems is a resoly-
tion of the jurisdictional question regarding authority for ad-
ministering water rights and water supplies originating on,
over or beneath the public lands. This issue has been the sub-
ject of much controversy and investigation, including review
by the Public Land Law Review Commission. The seriousness
of the problem has been minimized by those who for one reason
or another object to appropriate federal legislation to clarify
the issue. We urge you to not pass lightly over this matter on
the grounds that no material damage or adverse results have
occurred because of this unresolved question. I think this is
analogous to the very real and practical problem that we all
face in the determination and assignment of benefits to such
factors as aesthetics and environment in consideration of water
development projects. The damage or adverse affects from the
unresolved jurisdictional question may be difficult to quantify
in dollars and cents. However, the “cloud” of the reservation
doctrine and the ever-present effort by some to extend the
interpretation of the reservation doctrine is in a sense an open
ended demand which thwarts development of our resource
water. To our knowledge all past attempts to resolve this issue
through proposed legislation have been restricted to surface
water supplies. Because the ground water resource will be-
come more significant in meeting our future demands, this
source and all sources of supply should be specified in any
action to clarify the question.

37
New Mexico

New Mexico’s water law, as it applies to both underground
and surface sources, is based on the doctrine of prior appro-
priation. Rights to the use of water are based on beneficial
use and priority in time of appropriation gives the better right.
All of the waters of the State belong to the public, and are
subject to appropriation in accordance with law under the
supervision of the State Engineer. Under the established juridi-
cal system, wise use is encouraged and waste is discouraged.
Our statutes permit the change of point of diversion and place
and purpose of use of water rights with the consent of the
owner. Thus, economic competition which tends to move water
to the currently highest economic use is allowed.

We concede the virtue and validity of an overlapping sys-
tem of State and Federal jurisdiction and authority. However,
it is out of this dual sovereignty that some confusion arises.
Much of this uncertainty derives from the assertion of Reser-
vation Doctrine claims by the United States. Under this doc-
trine, the United States claims all the water needed for the
purpose of the reservation with the priority of the date of crea-
tion of the reservation.

We cite here, in the broadest terms, areas of potential
legislative change, designed to bring about a more favorable
climate for furtherance of both state and federal goals in water
resources planning and development. First, there should be a
way to quantify the Reservation Doctrine claims of the United
States. There should be legislation which would require federal
agencies to inventory present water uses and claims of right
to the use of water for a specified time into the future. Such
‘egislation should include provisions making such claims bind-
ing upon the United States by the establishment of a procedure
for settling of those claims. It is important for planners at the
state, local and private levels and for the federal government
itself, that such claims be identified as to quantity and priority
and geographic location.

In addition to the inventory and procedures for definition
discussed above, it is desirable that there be a liberalization
of the so-called McCarran Amendment (48 U.S.C. Section 666)
to clarify the entitlement of the states, or subdivisions thereof,

\

to secure judicial clarification of the nature and extent of all
federal water rights claimed including Indian rights.

Oregon

One of the major questions in the legal area in the western
states is the lack of clarification of state-federal jurisdiction
over water. Primary attention has been focused on the impact
of this on irrigation, but in Oregon, at least, most of our cities
and major water-using industries utilize water that arises from
or flows over federal lands. This matter has been the subject of
extensive hearings before Congressional committees and of
numerous court cases without, at the moment, satisfactory
resolution. We believe this particular matter is worthy of the
Commission’s attention and hopefully leadership in resolution
of the problem.

Utah

There is a long-standing controversy regarding the role
of the Federal and State Governments in the field of water
rights. We believe the Commission should address itself to
this problem and with the help of the federal agencies and the
states, seek to outline a means by which this long-standing
problem can be resolved in a manner that protects the rights
of all of our citizens. Unless this is resolved in the near future,
a major crisis in state-federal relations is likely to arise within
a few years.

Wyoming

One of the most important problems facing the Western
States today relates to the so-called “Reservation Doctrine,”
and the related question of jurisdiction over water use and
water rights. The Public Land Law Review Commission is
studying the problem in depth, and hence it may not be neces-
sary to comment in detail. We feel that federal claims of
reservation of unlimited quantities of water for use on federal
reservations, with a priority as of the date of the reservation,
crente a cloud over state-granted water rights which is in-
tolerable. Such unquantified reservations would limit future
development and discourage investment in water projects.
National Forest Reserves in Wyoming cover most of the high

39

water-producing areas, and these forests were reserved prior
to many of our state-granted water rights. The potential
impact of the Reservation Doctriné on our State is significant.
At its extreme it could seriously damage existing water users,
and as a minimum, it creates a cloud over future water de-
velopment which needs to be removed.

Jurisdiction over water resources and the authority to
issue rights for the use of water must be clearly established
if we hope to maintain an orderly system of water administra-
tion. Dual jurisdiction simply cannot work. The states have
traditionally accepted and fulfilled this responsibility and
there does not appear to be sufficient reason to modify this

arrangement.

The National Water Commission would appear to be an
appropriate entity to study this question. Even though the
Public Land Law Review Commission is expected to make its
recommendations within a year, the non-governmental orien-
tation of your Commission may well indicate the possibility
of a different conclusion being reached. The question is of
sufficient importance to justify a serious effort to resolve
the problem before it becomes more acute.

40

APPENDIX C
THE TREND TOWARD SOVEREIGN RESPONSIBILITY

Florida

The modern movement in State Courts away from sover.
eign immunity and toward sovereign responsibility began jp
Florida in 1957 when the Florida Supreme Court held q
municipality liable for the wrongful death of a jailed inmate
who was suffocated by smoke, stating:

[OJur own feeling is that the courts should be alive
to the demands of justice. We can see no necessity for
insisting on legislative action in a matter which the courts
themselves originated. The problem in Florida has be
come more confusing because of an effort to prune and
pare the rule of immunity rather than to uproot it bodily
and lay it aside as we should any other archaic and out-
moded concept. . . . The great body of our laws is the
product of progressive thinking which attune traditional
concepts to the needs and demands of changing times,
The modern city is a substantial measure of large busi-
ness institution. .. . To continue to endow this type of
organization with sovereign divinity appears to us to
predicate the law of the 20th century upon an 18th cen-
tury anachronism. Hargrove v. Town of Cocoa Beach,
96 So. 2d 130, 60 A.L.R. 2d 1193 (Fla. 1957).

Colorado

The Colorado court declared: “sovereign immunity may
be a proper subject for discussion by students of mythology.
It finds no haven or refuge in this court.” Colorado Racing
Commission v. Brush Racing Association, 136 Colo. 279, 284;
316 P.2d, 582, 585, (1957). Later the court said: “The doc-
trine of sovereignty in Colorado is in limbo, only the memory
lingers on.” Stone v. Currigan, 138 Colo. 442, 448; 334 P.2d.
740, 743, (1959). Subsequently the court by a four to three
decision held that the immunity doctrine had to be followed.
City and County of Denver v. Madison, 142 Colo. 1, 351 P.2d
826, (1960).

S&S op

cml OUTS wT Se Ss SB

il

41
Illinois

The Illinois Supreme Court elaborately discussed reasons
for sovereign immunity and announced:

We conclude that the rule of school district tort im-
munity is unjust, unsupported by any valid reasons, and
has no rightful place in modern day society. ... Having
found that doctrine to be unsound and unjust under pre-
sent conditions, we consider that we have not only the
power, but the duty, to abolish that immunity. ... We
have repeatedly held that the doctrine of stare decisis is
not an inflexible rule requiring this court to blindly follow
precedents and adhere to prior decisions, and that when
it appears that public policy and social needs require a
departure from prior decisions, it is our duty as a court
of last resort to over-rule those decisions and establish a
rule consonant with our present day concepts of right
and justice. Monitor v. Kaneland Community Unit Dis-
trict, 18 Ill. 2d 11, 163 N.E. 2d 89, 86 A.L.R. 2d 469
(1959) certiorari denied 362 U.S. 968, 80 S. Ct, 955,
4 L.Ed. 2d 900 (1960).

New Jersey

The New Jersey Court eliminated a large chunk of sov-
ereign immunity when the court rejected the argument that
a change in the law should be left to the legislature: “Surely
it cannot be urged successfully that an outmoded, inequitable,
and artificial curtailment of the general rule of action created
by the judicial branch of the government cannot or should not
be removed by its creator. ... [J]udicial and not legislative
action closed the court doors, and the same hand can, and, in
proper circumstances should, reopen them.” MacAndrew v.
Mularchuk, 33 N.J. 172, 162 A.2d 820, 88 A.L.R. 2d 313
(1960).

Minnesota

A unanimous Minnesota court repudiated the doctrine
of sovereign immunity, stating: “Since we have repeatedly
proclaimed that this defense is based on neither justice nor
reason, the time is now at hand when corrective measures

42

should be taken by either legislative or judicial fiat.” 264
Minn. at page 285, 118 N.W. 2d at page 799. The court de
clared: “Even in jurisdictions which adhere to the immunity
doctrine, seldom is any justification advanced beyond the rule
of stare decisis. Our considerations of the origins of tort
immunity persuade us that its genesis was accidental and was
characterized by expediency, and that its continuation has
stemmed from inertia.” Spaniel v. Mounds View School Dis.
trict, 264 Minn. 279, 281, 118 N.W. 2d 795, 796 (1962).

Wisconsin

The Wisconsin court unanimously abolished sovereign
immunity for tort liability and supported with many quota-
tions its statement that: “There are probably few tenets of
American jurisprudence which have been so unanimously
berated as the governmental immunity doctrine.” 17 Wis.
2d at page 33, 115 N.W. 2d at page 621. The court found that
“it is appropriate for this court to abolish this immunity not-
withstanding the legislature’s failure to adopt corrective
amendments,” announcing that “hence forward .. . the rule
is liability — the exception is immunity.” Holytz v. City of
Milwaukee, 17 Wis. 2d 26, 39, 115 N.W. 2d 618, 625 (1962).

California

Justice Traynor traced the history of sovereign immunity
and declared:

The rule of governmental immunity for tort is an
anachronism, without rational basis, and has existed only
by the force of inertia... . None of the reasons for its
continuance can withstand analysis. ... It has become
riddled with exceptions . . . and the exceptions operate so
illogically as to cause serious inequality.

To the argument that the legislature, not the court, should
remove the immunity, the Court responded that the doctrine
was court-made, that the legislature had enacted various
statutes waiving immunity in some areas, and that the vari-
ous statutes “leave the court whether it should adhere to its
own rule of immunity in other areas.” Muskopf v. Corning
Hospital District, 55 Cal. 2d 211, 11 Cal. Rptr. 89, 359 P.2d
457 (1961).

—_—

43
Michigan
The Michigan court announced:

From this date forward the judicial doctrine of gov-
ernmental immunity from ordinary torts no longer exists
in Michigan. In this case, we over-rule preceding court-
made law to the contrary. We eliminate from the case
law of Michigan an ancient rule inherited from the days
of absolute monarchy which has been productive of great
injustice in our courts. By so doing, we join a major
trend in this country toward the righting of an age-old
wrong. Williams v. City of Detroit 364 Mich, 231, 250,
111 N.W. 2d 1, 20 (1961).

Arizona

In 1963, the Arizona court declared: “We are of the
opinion that when the reason for a certain rule no longer
exists, the rule itself should be abandoned. After a thorough
re-examination of the rule of governmental immunity from
tort liability, we now hold that it must be disregarded as a
rule of law in Arizona and all prior decisions to the contrary
are hereby overruled.” Stone v. Arizona Highway Commis-
sion, 93 Ariz. 384, 387, 381 P.2d 107, 109 (1963).

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386413_0252%3A13. Public record. Not legal advice.
