# Defendent Brief — Oregon v. Mitchell

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386413_0216%3A25

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Defendent Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1970
- **Citation:** 400 U.S. 801

## Text

oT FILE COPY Some Out US

Frrfn
OCT 12 1970
IN THE 3
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED SAE Et Ge

October Term, 1970
No. 47 Original

ED STATES,
Plaintiff, )

)
STATE OF IDAHO (
Defendant,

)

BRIEF FOR THE STATE OF IDAHO

bg ROBERT M. ROBSON
. Attorney General
State of Idaho

RGHARD H. GREENER
Assistant Attorney General
State of Idaho

Statehouse

Boise, Idaho 83707

Attorneys for Defendant

|
|
|

Page
.F. sh —— — dpi 1
QUESTION PRESENTED ------------------------ 1-2
CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED ---------------------- 2-8
STATEMENT ———— no 9 ons ono no nnn n nnn nn === 9-10
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT --------------------- 10-11
ARGUMENT - <0 cess — 11-31

J. The provisions of the United States Consti-
tution and decisions of this court require
that the individual states be permitted to
establish voter qualifications pertaining
to residency and age --------------------- 11-21

ll. Astate may establish reasonable voter
qualification standards based upon residency,
age and applicable to absentee voting which
do not violate the equal protection clause of
the Fourteenth Amendment so long as the
qualification standards are not discirmina-
tOPY ————————————— nn nnn = == -- 22-27

Il. There is no power enumerated in the United
States Constitution which vests in Congress
the right to legislate in contravention of
state laws which prescribe voter qualifi-

cations based upon residency and age ------ 27-31
CONCLUSION --------------------------------- 31
APPENDIX ----------------------------------~~- 33-41

Voting Rights Act Amendments of 1970,
Title II -------------------------------- 33-39

. — 39-41

CITATIONS

Cases: Pag
Baker v. Carr, 369 U. S. 186 (1962)---------.. ae
Carrington v. Rash, 380 U. S. 89 (1965-----.. — 13
Carter v. Carter Coal Co. 298 U.S, 238 (1930-— »
Cipriano v. City of Houma, 395 U. S. 701 (19699 2 2
City of Phoenix v. Kilodziejski,

399 U.S, 204 (1970)---------------------.. — U.
Givens v. Ogden, 22 U. 8. (9 Wheat.) 1 (1824)----.
Gray v. Sanders, 372 U. S. 368 (1963)--------.. — 9
Heart of Atlanta Motel, Inc. v. U. 8.

379 U.S, 241 (1964)----------------------.....
Kansas v. Colorado, 206 U. S. 46 (1907)---------..
Katzenbach v. Morgan,

384 U. S. 641 (1966)------------------ 22, 23, 28, 29, 30
Katzenbach v. McClung, 379 U. S. 294 (1964)------
Kramer v. Union Free School District,

395 U. S. 621 (1969)----- --- 20,2
Lassiter v. Northampton County Bd. of Elections,

360 U.S, 45 (1959) -------------------------- 19.2

McCulloch v. Maryland, 17 U. S. (4 Wheat) 31% (1819,— »
Marbury v. Madison, 5 U,S, 137 (1803)------------

Martin v. Hunter's Lessee,
4 U.S, (1 Wheat) 304 (1816) ---------------------

Minor v. Happersett, 88 U. S.,
(21 Wall.) 162 (1875)-------------------------- 17,18

Pope v. Williams, 193 U,S, 621 (1907)----------- 18,19
Reynolds v. Sims, 377 U. S. 533 (1964) -----------
Smith v. Allwright, 321 U. S. 649 (1944)----------
United States v. Moseley, 238 U. S. 383 (1915)---- 2
Yarbrough, Ex parte, 110 U. S. 651 (1884) -------- 19,21

constitutional and Statutory Provisions:

2

U. 8. Const. art. I. 860. 2 ---------------------
U. 8. Const. art. II, Se0. 2 --------------------
b. 8s. Const. Amendment X---------------------
U.S. Const. Amendment XIV -------------------
b. S. Const. Amendment XV --------------------
b. S. Const. Amendment XVII -------------------
Idaho Const., art. VI, Seo. 2-------------------
Idaho Code, § 34-401 ---------------------------
Idaho Code, § 34-408 ---------------------------
Idaho Code, § 34-409 ---------------------~-----_
Idaho Code, § 34-413 -------------------------.-
Idaho Code, § 34-1101 ------------------------.-
Idaho Code, 8 34-1105 ——— 8

Voting Rights Act Amendments of 1970,
Tit. D&M ------------------------..- 33-41

pub. L. No. 91-285, 84 Stat. 314 --------------- 9
Other Authorities:

The Federalist, No. 59 at 404-405
(Bourne ed. 1901) (Hamilton) -------------- 12
116 Cong. Rec. $3513 (daily ed. March 11, 1970)--- 30

116 Cong. Rec, §3057, §3060-63 (daily ed.
March 5, 1970) -------------------------- 30

Ns oa doe WY Ww

a4

— — — a

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1970
No, 47 Original

UNITED STATES
Plaintiff,
v.

STATE OF IDAHO

Defendant.

BRIEF FOR THE STATE OF IDAHO

JURISDICTION

The State of Idaho accepts and agrees with the
jurisdictional arguments set forth in the Plaintiff's Brief.

QUESTION PRESENTED

The question as presented to the Court in this
matter, is accurately stated in Plaintiff's Brief as:
Whether the Voting Rights Act Amendments of
1970, 84 Stat. 314, are constitutional insofar as they
J restrict durational residency requirements in re-
gard to voting for president and vice-president and pre-

2

scribe uniform standards regarding absentee registraun
and absentee balloting in presidential elections ang (2)
prohibit the states from denying the vote on &°COUNt of ap
to any otherwise qualified person 18 years of age or d
in any election. The statutory and constitutional provi;
involved.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND
STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED
U. S. Const. art. I, 52:

"The House of Representatives shall be com-
posed of Members chosen every second Year
by the People of the several States, and the
Electors in each State shall have the Qual-
ifications requisite for Electors of the. most
numerous Branch of the State Legislature, * * *

U. S. Const. art. II, §2:
"Each state shall appoint, in such manner
as the Legislature thereof may direct, a number
of electors, equal to the whole number of
senators and representatives to which the
state may be entitled in the congress: * * *'

U. S. Const. amend. X:
"The powers not delegated to the United
States by the Constitution, nor prohibited
by it to the States, are reserved to the
States respectively, or to the people."

COPY BOUR

-3-

b. S. Const. amend. XIV:

"section 1. All persons born or naturalized
in the United States, and subject to the juris-
diction thereof, are citizens of the United
States and of the State wherein they reside.
No State shall make or enforce any law which
shall abridge the privileges or immunities

of citizens of the United States; nor shall

any State deprive any person of life, liberty,
or property, without due process of law;

nor deny to any person within its jurisdiction
the equal protection of the laws.

"Section 2. Representatives shall be appor-
tioned among the several States according

to their respective numbers, counting the
whole number of persons in each State, ex-
cluding Indians not taxed. But when the

right to vote at any election for the choice

of electors for President and Vice President
of the United States, Representatives in
Congress, the Executive and Judicial offi-
cers of the State, or the members of the
Legislature thereof, is denied to any of the
male inhabitants of such State, being twenty-
one years of age, and citizens of the United
States, or in any way abridged, except for
participation in rebellion, or other crime,

the basis of representation therein shall

D CLOSE IN CENTER

—

-4-

be reduced in the proportion whith the number
of such male citizens shall bear to the whole
number of male citizens twenty-one years of
age in such State.

* X *

"Section 5. The Congress shall have power to
enforce, by appropriate legislation, the provi-
sions of this article."

U. 8. Const. amend. XV:
"Section 1. The right of citizens of the United
States to vote shall not be denied or abridged
by the United States or by any State on account
of race, color, or previous conditions of
servitude.
"Section 2. The Congress shall have power to
enforce this article by appropriate legislation."

U. S. Const. amend. XVII:
"The senate of the United States shall be com-
posed of two senators from each state, elected
by the people thereof, for six years; and each
senator shall have one vote. The electors in
each state shall have the qualifications requi-
site for electors of the most numerous branch
of the state legislatures."
Article 6, Section 2 of the Idaho Constitution
provides:
Qualifications of electors.--Except as in this

-5-

article otherwise provided, every male or
female citizen of the United States, twenty-
one years old, who has actually resided in
this state or territory for six months, and
in the county where he or she offers to vote,
thirty days next preceding the day of elec-
tion, if registered as provided by law, is a
qualified elector; provided however, that
every citizen of the United States, twenty-
one years old, who has actually resided in
this state for sixty days next preceding the
day of election, if registered as required

by law, is a qualified elector for the sole
purpose of voting for presidential electors;
and until otherwise provided by the legisla-
ture, women who have the qualifications pre-
scribed in this article may continue to hold
such school offices and vote at such school
elections as provided by the laws of Idaho
territory.

Section 34-401, 34-408, 34-409, 34-413,
34-1101 and 34-1105 provide in pertinent part:
34-401. Qualifications of voters.--Every
person over the age of twenty-one (21) years,
possessing the qualifications following, shall
be entitled to vote at all elections: He shall

be a citizen of the United States and shall
have resided in this state six (6) months im-

=¢-

mediately preceding the election at which he
offers to vote, and in the county thirty (30)
days: provided, that no person shall be permit-
ted to vote at any county seat election who

has not resided in the county six (6) months,
and in the precinct ninety (90) days where he
offers to vote; nor shall any person be permit-
ted to vote at any election for the division of
the county, or striking off from any county
any part thereof, who has not the qualifications
provided for in section 3, article 18, of the
constitution; nor shall any person be denied
the right to vote at any school district election,
nor to hold any school district office on
account of sex.

34-408. Eligibility of new residents to vote.
Each citizen of the United States, who, immed-
iately prior to his removal to this state, was a
citizen of another state and who has been a
resident of this state for sixty (60) days next
preceding the day of election but for less than
the six (6) month period of required residence
for voting prior to a presidential election, is
entitled to vote for presidential and vice-pres-
idential electors at that election, but for no
other offices, if

(1) he otherwise possesses the substan-
tive qualifications to vote in this state, except

=a

the requirement of residence and regis-
tration, and
(2) he complies with the provisions

of this act.

34-409. Application for presidential
ballot by new residents. --A person desiring
to qualify under this act in order to vote for
presidential and vice-presidential electors
shall be considered as registered within the
meaning of this act if on or before ten (10)
days prior to the date of the general election
he shall make an application in the form of
an affidavit executed in duplicate in the pres-
ence of the county auditor, substantially as
follows * * *,

34-413. Voting by new residents. --(1) The
applicant, upon receiving the ballot for presi-
dential and vice-presidential electors shall
mark forthwith the ballot in the presence of
the county auditor, but in a manner that the.
official cannot know how the ballot is marked.
He shall then fold the ballot in the county
auditor's presence so as to conceal the mark-
ings, and deposit and seal it in an envelope
furnished by the county auditor.

34-1101. Absent voting authorized. --Any
qualified elector of the state of Idaho who
is absent or expects to be absent from the

-g-

election precinct in which he resides on the day
of holding any election under any of the laws of
this state in which an official ballot is required,
or who is within the election precinct and is, or
will be, unable, because of physical disability,
or because of blindness, to go to the voting place,
and if registration is required for such election,
who is duly registered therefor, may vote at any
such election, as hereinafter provided.
34-1105. Return of ballot.--On marking
such ballot or ballots such absent or disabled
or blind elector shall refold same as thereto-
fore folded and shall inclose the same in said
official envelope and seal said envelope se-
curely and mail by registered or certified
mail or deliver it in person to the officer
who issued same; provided, that an absentee
ballot must be received by the issuing officer
by 12:00 o'clock noon on the day of the elec-
tion before such ballot may be counted. Said
ballot or ballots shall be so marked, folded
and sealed by said voter in private and se-
cretely. Provided, that whenever the disability
or blindness makes it necessary that the voter
shall be assisted in marking his ballot, such voter
may have the assistance of any person of his
choice in marking his ballot.

COPY E

2

STATEMENT

The Voting Rights Act Amendments of 1970, 84
314 (hereinafter referred to as the Act“) was passed
by Congress and signed into law by the President of the
United States on June 22, 1970. There are two provisions
in this Act relevant to the case at bar. These are Titles
Land III, which purport to abrogate the individual states“
right to set qualifications for voting.

Title II of the Act seeks to make uniform all residency
ad absentee voter requirements (hereinafter referred to
generally as residency requirements) for presidential and
vice-presidential elections. The relevant provision would
restrict this requirement in any state to thirty (30) days.

This is in direct conflict with Idaho's constitutional and
1
statutory law.

Title III of the Act seeks to preclude the state from
setting age requirements in excess of eighteen years as a
qualification for voting in all types of elections. This pro-
vision is in direct conflict with Articie 6, Section 2 of the
Idaho Constitution which sets the mandatory age of twenty-
me years as a requirement to exercise enfranchisement
privileges in the State of Idaho.

The Governor of the State of Idaho was informed by
the Attorney General of the United States, the official

1. Article 6, Section 2 of the Idaho Constitution; Section
4-401, Section 34-408, Section 34-409, Section 34-413,
Section 34-1101, Section 34-1105 of the Idaho Code.

UND CLOSE IN CENTER

-1]0-

statutorily charged with the enforcement of the Act, that
the State of Idaho was to comply with the new Act, Thy
Governor contacted the Attorney General for the State 4
Idaho who advised the Governor that he had grave dou,
as to the constitutionality of Titles II and III of the Act,
The State of Idaho has, as a result of this advice, regpex
fully refused to accede to the request of the United States

W 2

Attorney General. This action followed to compel the
State of Idaho to comply with Title II and III of the Act.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Congress of the United States has enacted legis
tion which abrogates certain voter qualification standard
required by the Idaho State Constitution and Idaho statu
law. These are Titles II and III of the Act. The provision
found in the Idaho Constitution and statutory law condition
the right to vote upon reasonable residency and age requir
ments.

Congress in so legislating has relied upon Section 5
of the Fourteenth Amendment. This provision is sought
to be used by Congress as a means to circumvent the
enumerated powers doctrine and satisfy the requirement
that a specific enumerated power exists, thereby enab-
ling Congress to so legislate.

The right to set voter qualification standards has
since the framing of the United States Constitution rested
with the states. This usurpation of this state function is in

COPY BO

u-

contravention of the principles espoused in the United
states Constitution and decisions of this Court. The state
us the right to establish such standards co long as they

sre not discriminating.

The State of Idaho argues that this reliance upon
section 5 of the Fourteenth Amendment is illfounded and
contrary to other provisions in the United States Consti-
tution, The state would assert that the express require-
ments of provisions of the United States Constitution vest
the right to set voter qualification standards pertaining
to residency and age requirements in the individual states.
The State additionally submits that this is not a denial of
equal protection rights set forth in the Fourteenth Amend-
ment, The legislation, then, is an over amplification of
Congressional prerogatives pursuant to Section 5 of the
Fourteenth Amendment.

The abrogation of the right of the individual states
in these instances is in total opposition to the letter and
spirit of the United States Constitution. These statutes
must be held unconstitutional.

ARGUMENT

I,

THE PROVISIONS OF THE UNITED STATES CONSTITU-
TION AND DECISIONS OF THIS COURT REQUIRE THAT
THE INDIVIDUAL STATES BE PERMITTED TO ESTAB-

LISH VOTER QUALIFICATIONS PERTAINING TO RES-

DENCY AND AGE,

OUND CLOSE IN CENTER

.12-
The express language of the United States
and the great weight of case law clearly require that th
standards for voter qualification insofar as residency an
age requirements are concerned be left to the disoretin
of the individual states. This principle finds its origin in
the history of the United States and, indeed, is reflected
such documents as the Federalist.

The Congress of the United States by enacting Titi,
II and III of the Act obviate this mandate. The following
analysis will consider provisions of the United States
Constitution and holdings of this Court which are releyay
to this issue and clearly support this assertion,

The most logical point to initiate this analysis is wit
the relevant constitutional provisions. Article I, Section
2 of the United States Constitution provides a primary
basis for the assertion that the right to set voter qualifi-
cations rests with the individual states. This provison
states in relevant part:

"The House of Representatives shall be com-

posed of members chosen every second year

by the people of the several states, and the
electors in each state shall have the qualifi-
cations requisite for electors of the most
numerous branch of the state lagislature."
The above provision referring to requirements for electin
of members of the House of Representatives expressly
keys the election to this national body upon state law.

2. The Federalist, No. 59, at 404-405 (Bourne ed. 190)
(Hamilton) .

CrorRryv Re

-13-

The offices of President and Vice-President are
referred to in Article II, Section 2 of the Constitution as
ymended by the Twelfth Amendment which provide for
tir manner of election, the pertinent portions of Article

L. Section 2 state:

"Each state shall appoint, in such manner

as the legislature thereof may direct, the
number of electors, equal to the whole num-
ber of senators and representatives to which
the state may be entitled in the Congress.

The individual states, then, are recognized by the above
constitutional provision as exercising control over the
pointment of electors to determine who will be Presi-
dent and Vice-President of the United States.

The Seventeenth Amendment to the United States
Constitution provides further indication that voter qualifi-
cations are left to the discretion of the individual states.
The relevant portions of this Amendment provide:

"The Senate of the United States shall be

composed of two Senators from each state,

elected by the people thereof, for six years;

.. The electors in each state shall have the

qualifications requisite for electors of the

most numerous branch of the state legisla-

tures."

It is clear from these articles and amendments
of the United States Constitution that the states are vested
with the power to determine qualifications for the electors
of President, Vice-President, Senators and Representatives.

S222, % —— „% „„ 4 eee

-14-

Implicit in the vesting of this power in the individual gtajs,
is the lesser included power to establish ang
tory residency and age standards.

The assertion that the individual states may regtrig
the legal voting age to twenty-one years and over is sub-
stantiated by express language of the Constitution found ip
certain portions of Section 2 of the Fourteenth Amendmen.
These state:

" . , . But when the right to vote at any election
for the choice of electors for President and Vice-
President of the United States, Representatives
in Congress, the Executive and Judicial officers
of a state, or the members of the legislature
thereof, is denied to any of the male inhabitants
of such state, being twenty-one years of age,
and citizens of the United States, or in any way
abridged, except for participation in rebellion,
or other crime, the basis of representation
therein shall be reduced in the proportion which
the number of such male citizens shall bear to
the whole number of male citizens twenty-one
years of age in such state. (emphasis added)

ses Ff op &e Bee B&B FE

The Fourteenth Amendment, in Section 2, then, presorib-
es a penalty for a state's refusal to allow individuals of
twenty-one years of age to vote. An obvious conclusion
to be drawn from this penalty based upon the age of
twenty-one years is that the states may set forth stan-
dards requiring that individual voters attain a certain age
so long as the standards do not require an age in excess
of twenty-one years. Thus, this recognizes that the state
may set voter age qualifications so long as they do not

CORY Roi

-15-

restrict enfranchise mont to individuals twenty-one years

or more.

The Tenth Amendment to the United States Consti-
tution is also of significance to this problem. The state
urges that this provision lends support to its argument
that the express language, spirit, and intent of the Consit-
tution require that the states be left the prerogative to
establish non-discriminatory residency and age require-
ments for voters. This Constitutional provision is the
basis for the Doctrine of Enumeration of Powers and

provides:

"The powers not delegated to the United

States by the Constitution, nor prohibited

by it to the states, are reserved to the

states respectively, or to the people."

Thus, unless there is a provision existent in the
United States Constitution which may be said to authorize
Congress to legislate standards effecting residency and
age voter requirements in individual states, that power
does not exist, The Tenth Amendment evinces an intent
on the part of the framers of the Amendment to reserve
to the individual states authority over all matters absent
aclear enumeration otherwise set forth in the United
States Constitution. The state would argue that there is
no enumerated power to be found in the United States Cor
stitution which authorizes Congress to legislate as it has
done in the case at bar. This argument will be more
fully developed in a subsequent portion of the brief.

Mea 48 Aer sae oe —

-16-

An additional argument may be made for the propos.
tion that the United States Constitution, its articles ang
amendments, reflect the theory that voter qualification
standards are reserved to the individual states. This
may be drawn from the history of the Constitution congen.
ing the expansion of voter rights.

The State of Idaho asserts that the Constitution its;
clearly demonstrates that the proper method by which toe
tend the vote to 18 year olds is by constitutional amendten
This is the sole means by which the basic expansion of vu
ing rights has been accomplished in the past.

Examples of such amendments are found in the Ff:
teenth Amendment which expressly abolished racial cirter
as being determinative of the right to vote; the Nineteenth
Amendment which extended the right to vote to women; an
the Twenty-fourth Amendment which eliminated the requir-
ment of a poll tax.

The Fifteenth Amendment is of particular significane
insofar as the recognized manner in which the extension of
the right to vote has been accomplished in the past. Itis
worthy of note that this amendment was subsequent to th
Fourteenth Amendment and was intended to insure that th
blacks would be given the right to vote.

It is apparent from this amendment that it was widely
feared that the blacks would be denied the right to vote.
However, Congress apparently did not feel it could legislate

COPY BC

-17-

, order to enfranchise the black man. This is certainly

clear indication that the Fourteenth Amendment was not

sidered to be a sufficient authorization or enumerated
sr upon which to enact such legislation.

3

Thus, the State asserts that this theory may be
tended to the problem at bar. That is, a constitutional
sndment is the proper vehicle by which to provide the

g year old with the right to vote.

There is a wealth of case law which supports the
tate of Idaho's contention that voter requirements relating
Bo residency and age are reserved to the individual states.

inor v. Happersett, 88 U. S. (21 Wall.) 162 (1875) denied
omen's suffrage absent a constitutional amendment. This
se stated that women did not have the right to vote under
ihe Fourteenth Amendment due to the Constitution of the
Jnited States and the laws of the State of Missouri which

estricted that right to male citizens. Minor v. Happersett,
62-178, This court states at page 178:

. . No argument as to women's need of

suffrage can be considered. We can only

act upon her rights as they exist. It is not

for us to look at the hardship of withholding.

Our duty is at an end if we find it is within

the power of a state to withhold."
The above provision quite clearly recognizes that the states
have the right to restrict the right to vote if done in a man-
er which is not violative of other constitutional provisions.

. Minor v. Happersett, 88 U. S. (21 Wall.) 162 (1875).

Ewa tas -! AoE ras Se aoe

-18-

The decision Pope v. Williams, 193 U. S. 621 (ig
dealt with the right to vote and concluded that the privilep
to vote was not granted by the Federal Constitution Ror by
any of its amendments. Indeed, this decision states thy
the right to vote is not a privilege springing from United
States citizenship. The court in so concluding stated a
page 632-633: |

"The privilege to vote in any state is
not given by the federal constitution, or by any
of its amendments. It is not a privilege spring-
ing from citizenship of the United States.

v. Happersett, 21 Wall. 162. . . It may not
be refused on account of race, color, or pre-
vious conditions of servitude, but it does not
follow from mere citizenship of the United
States. In other words, the privilege to vote

in a state is within the jurisdiction of the state
itself, to be exercised as the state may direct,
and upon such terms as it may seem proper, b
vided, of course, no discrimination is made be-
tween individuals, in violation of the federal con-
stitution. The state might provide that persons
of foreign birth could vote without being natural-
ized, and, as stated by Mrs. Chief Justice Waite
in Minor x. Happersett, . . . such persons were
allowed to vote in several of the states upon hav-
ing declared their intentions to become citizens
of the United States. Some states permit women
to vote; others refuse them that privilege. A state,
so far as the federal constitution is concerned,
might provide by its own constitution and laws
that none but native born citizens shall be permit-
ted to vote, as the federal constitution does not
confer the right of suffrage upon any one, and the
conditions under which the right is to be exer-

cised are matters for the states alone to pre-
scribe, subject to the conditions of the federal

COPY BC

-19-
constitution, already stated; although it may
be observed that the right to vote for a mem-
ber of Congress is not derived exclusively
from the state law. See Federal Constitu-
tion, Art. I, Sec. 2;. . ."' (emphasis added)

The state's prerogative insofar as residency re-
quirements are concerned has long been recognized in
case law. This has been espoused most recently in the
decision, Carr. nv. Rash, 380 U. S. 89 (1965). The
court in this decision, while invalidating a residency re-
quirement placed upon servicemen for other reasons, rec-
ognized that the state had the ultimate power in imposing
residency requirements provided they were not discrim-
inatory in nature. The court states at page 632;

"Texas has unquestioned power to impose
reasonable residence restrictions on the
availability of the ballot. . . There can be

no doubt either of the historic function of the
state to establish, on a non-discriminatory
basis, and in accordance with the constitu-
tion, other qualifications for the exercise of
the franchise. Indeed, the states have long
been held to have broad powers to determine
the conditions under which the right of suff-
rage may be exercised.' Lassiter v. North-
ampton Election Board, 360 U. S. 45, 50.
Compare United States v. Classic, 313 U.S,
299; Exparte Yarbrough, 110 U. S. 651. "In
other words, the privilege to vote in the state
is within the jurisdiction of the state itself,

to be exercised as the state may direct, and
upon such terms as to it may seem proper,
provided, of course, no discrimination is made
between individuals in violation of the Federal
Constitution.“ See also Pope v. Williams,
193 U. S. 621 (1907)."

r ae ee

-20-

The decision Lassiter v. Northampton County Bor
of Elections, 360 U. S. 45 (1959), cited in the above q
tion, provides an additional statement in support of the
right of the individual states to regulate voter qualificat.,
in a reasonable manner, This decision involved the yajig
ity and constitutionality of literacy tests. The court sta;

on page 51:

"We do not suggest that any standards which a
state desires to adopt may be required of voters,
But there is wide scope for exercise of its juris-

diction. Residence requirements, age, previous
criminal record. . . are obvious examples indi-

cating factors which a state may take into consid-
eration in determining the qualifications of voters
. .'' (emphasis ours)

The above quotations certainly express recognition of
this state right. Moreover, recent United States Suprem
Court decision's striking down state statutory requirements
found to be unconstitutional as resulting in invidious discii
inations, Kramer x. Union Free School District, 395 U.8.
621 (1969), Cipriano x. City of Houma, 395 U. S. 701 (l
and City of Phoenix v. Kolodeziegjski, 399 U. S. 204 (197)
tacitly recognize the state's prerogative insofar as establis
ment of qualifications as to age and residence conditioning
the right to vote, provided such standards did not violate
constitutional requirements.

A most significant decision involving the rights of
voters, Baker v. Carr, 369 U. S. 186 (1962) contains pas-
sages relevant to the problem of the extent of state's rights

COPY BO

-21-

insofar as voter qualifications are concerned. Mr. Justice
Douglas stated in concurring with the majority opinion at
page 243-244:

= "That the states may specify the qual-

ifications for voters is implicitin Article I,
Section 2, Clause 1, which provides that

' tthe House of Representatives shall be chosen
by the people and that the Electors (voters)
in each State shail have the Qualifications
requisite for Electors (voters) of the most
numerous Branch of the State Legislature." '
The same provision, contained in the Seven-
teenth Amendment, governs the election of

Senators."

See also Gray v. Sanders, 372 U. S. 368 (1963).

The above decisional law quite clearly reflects an
attitude on the part of this Court that the states may set
voter qualifications pertaining to residency and age require-
ments. These qualifications remain subject to other con-
stitutional guarantees by which the vested right to vote may
be protected. Ex parte Yarbrough, 110 U.S, 651 (1884),
United States v. Moseley, 238 U. S. 383 (1915); Smith v.
Allwright, 321 U. S. 649 (1944). The historical analysis
viewed together with the express provisions of the United
States Constitution and decisions of this court support the
state of Idaho's contention that the individual states may
establish voter standards for residency and age requirements.

NOT VIOLATE THE EQUAL PROTECTION CLAU: . 0
THE FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT SO LONG AS TH
QUALIFICATION STANDARDS ARE NOT DISCRIMN

The Plaintiff, relying upon a decision, Katzenhachy,
Morgan, 384 U. S. 641 (1966), asserts that it does haye
authorization pursuant to Section 5 of the Fourteenth
Amendment to legislate in this area due to denial of equ
protection of the laws. Consideration must now be given
to this problem in an effort to determine if the Idaho res-
idency requirements and the denial of the vote to individ-
uals between the age of eighteen and twenty-one is, in
fact, a denial of equal protection.

The equal protection standard which would appear to
be relevant to inquiry at the case at bar is set forth in
Reynolds v. Simms, 377 U.S, 533 (1964). This criteria
has been expanded by recent decisions which seem to re-
quire that there exist not only a rational basis for the dis-
tinction, but also a compelling state interest. Kramer!
Union Free School District, 395 U.S, 621 (1969), Cipriam
v. City of Houma, 355 U. S. 701 (1969), City of Phoenix
v. Kolodziejski, 399 U. S. 204 (1970). While these cases
did consider the right of enfranchisement, they did not
touch upon the validity of residency nor age voting re-
quirements.

COPY BO

-23-

A. The denial of the right to vote to eighteen

year olds is not a denial of equal protection.

The State of Idaho submits that there is a rational
basis for denial of the voting privilege to eighteen year olds
and that this classification does promote legitimate state
interests which are sufficient to justify these restrictions.
The following considerations lead to this conclusion.

The age requirement does not distinguish on the
basis of race, creed or religion. It is, rather, a rational
line of demarcation which has historically served as the
basis for enfranchising citizens of the United States. In-
deed, a statute which restricts the right to vote to individ-
uals who are twenty-one years of age and older has the
effect of denying the right to vote to all individuals who do
not meet that certain qualification. This denial is not ar-
bitrarily based on any characteristic other than age. That
is, it does not have that fatal defect that was presented be-
fore the court in Katzenbach x. Morgan, supra, wherein
the literacy test could have discriminated against certain
ethnic groups who did not have sufficient knowledge of the

English language.
There is, then, a distinct group of individuals in any

given state who are classified as not being able to vote, but
this classification is not again based upon race, ethnic

origin, creed or sex. Moreover, an individual in a given
state has the ability and theoretical prospect of reaching
the age of twenty-one. Thus, the state asserts that the

oN CLOSE IN CENTER

-24-

classification of voters on the basis of age is a rational
classification. ~—

The compelling state interest is also present in age
classification. The individual states have a compelling
interest to be able to continue to set forth the Standards by
which citizens of their state are entitled to vote. Thigis
a vital element of states’ rights and must not be reling
Consequently, this state right in and of itself constitutes,
compelling state interest. The usurpation of this power
by National Congress pursuant to legislation is a severe
infringement upon this state interest and right. The abro-
gation of the individual state restriction absent a Constity-
tion: Amendment is necessarily harmful to this state interes

There are additional state interests which bear ref-
erence. It is important to this state to maintain an elec-
torate which is sufficiently educated and informed to vote
intelligently on candidates and issues. It certainly may be
observed that an individual who is twenty-one years of ag:
is generally speaking more mature and capable of making
a reasoned choice than an individual eighteen years of age.

The state maintains that the restriction on the right
of enfranchise ment to those twenty-one years of age and
older is a rational classification and serves a compelling
state interest. Thus, such a qualification is not a denial
of the equal protection required by the Fourteenth Ament-
ment,

COPY BO.

ee

-25-

. The residency and absentee voter requirements
ound in Idaho statutes and constitutional law do not con-
titute 2 denial of equal protection.

The residency and absentee voting qualifications
n the State of Idaho are found in Article 6, Section 2 of
he Idaho Constitution and Chapter 3, Title 34, Idaho
de. The statutory measures are more fully set forth
n the po tion of this brief concerning relevant and con-
titutional statutory provisions, These provisions basic-
lly require a certain prescribed minimum period of res-
dency in order to exercise the right to vote. In addition,
hese provisions set forth standards for non-resident
voting.

The Idaho residency requirements relating to dur-
ion of residency and the absentee voter provisions do
sot discriminate against any voter on the basis of race,
olor, creed or religion. There is no method by which
voter could be disqualified pursuant to this provision
rovided herésided within the state for the requisite
eriod of time and complied with the absentee voter re-
uirements.

Thus, there is no identifiable group which is sought
o be discriminated against by the application of these
residency and absentee voting requirements. That is,
ill individuals are treated equally under the law. Addi-

ionally, there is a rational basis for these restrictions
which is based upon durational status in the State of Idaho.

O CLOSE IN CENTER

- 26-

Consequently, there is no invidious discrimination being
plied to a distinct section of the population. Carrington y,
Rash, supra.

The durational residency and absentee voter reqii.
ments found in Idaho law support a compelling state
These are: (1) protection against fraud and (2) administre-
tion. The State of Idaho has an interest in precluding tle
dilution of the votes of its citizens for the presidential ay
vice-presidential officers by the importation of non or fle-
titious state residents into the state. This interest exten,
the dilution of the individual county residents“ votes by ay
such importation from one county into another.

The residency and absentee voting provisions have

regarded as preventing this type of fraud. These residencs
requirements would, it is submitted, prevent such fraud,
Finally, the State of Idaho has a compelling interest
maintain the residency and absenteeism voting
as directly set forth by the Idaho Constitution and the
panying statutory provisions in that they aid ease of admir-
instration. The state asserts that residency and absentee
voter requirements for presidential and vice-presidentia
elections which differ from those pertaining to other state
elections would create an efficiency gap in the over all elec
tive process. The standards have been established and
to the entire voting process within the state. Thus, to
a change in their standards for presidential and vice-pres-
idential elections would require the state to increase the
staff necessary to supervise and administer the election.

COPY BO

-27-

The State of Idaho, then, asserts that the durational
residency requirements and absentee voting requirements
do not constitute an invidious or irrational dis ori mination
against any group of voters and serve a compelling state
interest. Consequently, it is asserted that these voting
qualification standards do not constitute a denial of equal
protection which is prohibited by the Fourteenth Amend-

ment.
III.

THERE IS NO POWER ENUMERATED IN THE UNITED
STATES CONSTITUTION WHICH VESTS IN CONGRESS

THE RIGHT TO LEGISLATE IN CONTRAVENTION OF
STATE LAWS WHICH PRESCRIBE VOTER QUALIFICA:

LAWS WHICH P BE VOTER QUALIFICA-
TIONS BASED UPON RESIDENCY AND AGE,

The Doctrine of Enumerated Powers has been
‘referred to above and is, as indicated, based upon the
Tenth Amendment of the United States Constitution. This
‘octrine is given further validity by decisional law.
Martin v. Hunters Lessee, 4 U.S, (1 Wheat) 304 (1816),
initially recognized the doctrine and in referring to the
Tenth Amendment stated at page 325:

„. Onthe other hand, it is perfectly
clear that the sovereign powers vested in
| state governments, by their respective
| constitutions , remained unaltered and un-
| impaired, except so far as they were grant-
| ed to the government of the United States."

See also Carter v. Carter Coal Company, 298
U.S. 238 (1936); Kansas v. Colorado, 206 U. S. 46

UND CLOSE IN CENTER

-28- N

(1907), Givens v. Ogden, 22 U.S, (9 Wheat) 1 (1824)

McCulloch x. Maryland, 17 U.S, (4 Wheat) 301 (1820)
Thus, it is clear that Congress must be able to relying

*

a specific enumerated power which authorizes the pas;
of the legislation in question.

The Plaintiff in its brief seeks to rely upon Section;
of the Fourteenth Amendment for this enumerated power
enact Titles II & III of the Act. This section provides.

"Congress shall have power to enforce, by

appropriate legislation, the provisions of
this article."

.

A determination must now be made whether the h-
lation in question is appropriate within the meaning of tk
Fourteenth Amendment. Plaintiff, in support of this leg
islation, relies upon the Katzenbach x. Morgan, 384 U. 8.
642 (1966), a decision upholding a congressional enact-
ment which struck down a certain type of literacy test,

This court in the Morgan decision recognized that
Congress could legislate in order to prohibit a state pra-
tice that was not in and of itself repugnant to the requir-
ments of the Fourteenth Amendment if the elimination et
this practice was necessary to prevent resulting prac-
tices which did, in fact, violate the Fourteenth Ame
Katzenbach . Morgan at pages 650-653. The court in
doing equated the fifth section of the Fourteenth Amen#-
ment with the "necessary and proper clause" of Article
1, Section 8 of the United States Constitution. 1

COPY BO

22
In reaching this oonolis ion, the court relied upon
cisional law construing the ue s Sary and proper clause"
not requiring Congress to d other than perceive "a
is upon which Congress might resolve a conflict as it

u. Katzenbach V. McClung, 379 U. s. 294 (1964); Heart
Atlanta Motel, Inc. X. United States, 379 U. S. 241 (1964).

dus, the court equated Se ot ion 5, with the "necessary and
oder clause“ insofar as abrogating acts which, although

ot violative in of themselves of the Fourteenth Amendment,
ere propagating conditions which were, in fact, violative
fthatamendment. The court reasoned it could do this

nd look no further provided ample basis was found in the
scord of the legislative proceedings for the congressional
egislation which was the subject of the Morgan, supra,
ecision.

The State of Idaho has argued that the state law in
ssue is not violative of equal protection requirements.

lus, if this argument found in Katzenbiach v. Morgan,
is to be relied upon as the authority for congressional

ion on the part of the state which could result in invidious
iscrimination based upon rac, creed, color or sex.

The state submits tha, nothing in the Congression-
tecord attendant to the pass age of Titles II and III of the

IND CLOCE erer

-30-

act would support a finding that the state law Sought to be
superceded resulted in an invidious discrimination bag
upon race, color, creed or ‘eo In fact, the record dis-
closes contrary testimony. * Indeed, the record dis

nothing more insofar as the voting age requirement ote:
than the fact that eighteen year olds are required to fia
wars, may be tried as adults for orimes, take on the
responSibility of marriage and in some states drink I

Thus, the State of Idaho asserts that the rationals d
the Katzenbach x. Morgan, Ns, decision may not be
relied upon to determine that Congress has the power pr.
suant to Section 5 of the Fourteenth Amendment to 80 leg:
islate. This, again, is due to the fact that Congress
could not have found from testimony in the Congressions
proceeding prior to the passage of Titles II and III of th
Act that the Idaho law in question resulted in discrimin-

tion based on race, sex, color or creed. 0

The State of Idaho argues that the Congressional Re-
cord does not disclose "a basis upon which Congress migi
resolve a conflict as it did“. This court, then, must
this determination as to whether there is an actual denial
of equal protection resulting from the Idaho law at issue.
To do otherwise would clearly result in a usurpation of
the judicial function by Congress. Marbury v. Madison,
5 U. S. 137 (1803). The State of Idaho concludes that

4. 116 Cong. Rec. §3513 (daily ed. March 11, 1970)
5. 116 Cong. Rec. §3057, §3060-63 (daily ed. March ö,
6. 116 Cong. Rec., supra.

COPY BO

-31-

dere is no finding by Congress and no basis in fact for
stermining that the Idaho requirements result in a denial
fequal protection, Thus, the State maintains that the
supra, decision does not apply to the case at bar.

The State, then, would argue that the fifth Section
of the Fourteenth Amendment may not for the purposes
this legislation, Squated within the necessary and
proper clause" which enables Congress to legislate in
srtain instances. Consequently, Congress may not rely
u this provision as an “enumerated power" or author-
ization to so legislate. The legislation, then, does not
have constitutional authorization and should be held un-

constitutional.
CONCLUSION

Titles II and III of the Voting Rights Act Amend-
ment of 1970 are contrary to the express provisions of
the United States Constitution, decisions of this court, and
the historical basis upon which this nation was founded.
Congress has acted entirely without constitutional authori-
zation and the provisions so enacted must be held uncon-

stitutional.
Khost 2 submitted
ax JA, ia

ROBERT M, ROBSON
Attorney General
State of Idaho

No CLOSE IN CENTER

-32-
PROOF OF SERVICE
I, Robert M. Robson, Attorney General of Idaho,

„ hereby certify that
on the day of Er. 1970 I served the foregoing
Brief for Defendant upon the Plaintiff by de
a copy in the United States Mail, postage prepaid, and aj.
dressed to Honorable John N. Mitchell, Attorney Generel
of the United States, Department of Justice, Tenth and
Constitution Avenue, Washington, D. C. 20530. Ais

K ellos. e

ROBERT M. ROBSON...

.

COPY BOL

-33-
APPENDIX

TITLE 0 -- SUPPLEMENTAL PROVISIONS

"Application of Prohibition to other states:

"Sec, 201. (a) Prior to August 6, 1975, no
citizen shall be denied, because of his failure to comply
with any test or device, the right to vote in any Federal,
State, or local election conducted in any State or political
subdivision of a State as to which the provisions of sec-
tion 4 (a) of this Act are not in effect by reason of determ-
inations made under section 4 (b) of this Act.

„ p) As used in this section, the term ‘test or
device' means any requirement that a person as a prereq-
uisite for voting or registration for voting (1) demonstrate
the ability to read, write, understand, or interpret any
matter, (2) demonstrate any educational achievement or
his knowledge of any particular subject, (3) possess good
moral character, or (4) prove his qualifications by the
voucher of registered voters or members of any other

class.
"Residence Requirements for Voting

"Sec, 202. (a) The Congress hereby finds that
the imposition and application of the durational residency
requirement as a precondition to voting for the offices of
President and Vice President, and the lack of sufficient

CLINE CROCE tt CE weer Pp

-34-

opportunities for absentee registration and absentee hy.
loting in presidential elections--

" (1) denies or abridges the inherent o
stitutional right of citizens to vote for their
President and Vice President;

" (2) denies or abridges the inherent
constitutional right of citizens to enjoy their
free movement across State lines;

" (3) denies or abridges the privileges |
and immunities guaranteed to the citizens of
each State under article IV, section 2 clause
1, of the Constitution;

„» (4) in some instances has the imper-
missible purpose or effect of denying citizens
the right to vote for such officers because
of the way they may vote;

" (5) has the effect of denying to
citizens the equality of civil rights, and
due process and equal protection of the
laws that are guaranteed to them under
the fourteenth amendment; and

" (6) does not bear a reasonable
relationship to any compelling State in-
terest in the conduct of presidential elec-
tions.

Pe i mar re re

-35-

" (b) Upon the basis of these findings, Congress
declares that in order to secure and protect the above-
stated rights of citizens under the Constitution, to enable
citizens to better obtain the enjoyment of such rights,

and to enforce the guarantees of the fourteenth amendment,
it is necessary (1) to completely abolish the durational

¥ residency requirement as a precondition to voting for
President and Vice President, and (2) to establish
nationwide, uniform standards relative to absentee reg-
istration and absentee balloting in presidential elections.

„e) No citizen of the United States who is other-
wise qualified to vote in any election for President and
Vice President shall be denied the right to vote for elec-
tors for President and Vice President, or for President
and Vice President, in such election because of the fail-
ure of such citizen to comply with any durational residency
requirement of such State or political subdivision; nor
shall any citizen of the United States be denied the right
to vote for electors for President and Vice President, or
for President and Vice President, in such election be-
cause of the failure of such citizen to be physically pre-
sent in such State or political subdivision at the time of
such election, if such citizen shall have complied with
the requirements prescribed by the law of such State or
political subdivision providing for the casting of absentee
ballots in such election.

„(d) For the purposes of this section, each State

-36-

shall provide by law for the registration or other Means
of qualification of all duly qualified residents of such N
who apply, not later than thirty days immediately prior N
any presidential election, for registration or qualificatia
to vote for the choice of electors for President and %
President or for President and Vioe President in suck
election; and each State shall provide by law for the Cast.
ing of absentee ballots for the choice of electors for p
ident and Vice President, or for President and Vice Py
ident, by all duly qualified residents of such State who

may be absent from their election district or unit in gud
State on the day such election is held and who have appli
therefor not later than seven days immediately prior to
such election and have returned such ballots to the ap-
propriate election official of such State not later than th
time of closing of the polls in such State on the day of
such election.

" (e) If any citizen of the United States who is other
wise qualified to vote in any State or political subdivisin
in any election for President and Vice President has be-
gun residence in such State or political subdivision after
the thirtieth day next preceding such election and, for
that reason, does not satisfy the registration require-
ments of such State or political subdivision he shall be

allowed to vote for the choice of electors for President
and Vice President, or for President and Vice President,
in such election (1) in person in the State or political
subdivision in which he resided immediately prior to his

-37-

»moval if he had satisfied, as of the date of his change

f residence, the requirements to vote in that State or
litical subdivision, or (2) by absentee ballot in the

sate or political subdivision in which he resided immed-
ely prior to his removal if he satisfies, but for his
»nresident status and the reason for his absence, the
requirements for absentee voting in that State or political
subdivision.

" (f) No citizen of the United States who is other-
wise qualified to vote by absentee ballot in any State or
litical subdivision in any election for President and

ice President shall be denied the right to vote for the

hoice of electors for President and Vice President, or

for President and Vice President, in such election because
of any requirement of a registration that does not include

a provision for absentee registration.

" (g) Nothing in this section shall prevent any
State or political subdivision from adopting less restric-
ive voting practices than those that are prescribed herein.

„n) The term 'State' as used in this section in-
cludes each of the several States and the District of Col-
umbia.

0) The provisions of section 11 (c) shall apply
o false registration, and other fraudulent acts and con-
spiracies, committed under this section.

-38-

"JUDICIAL RELIEF"

"Sec. 203. Whenever the Attorney General hag rm.
son to believe that a State or political subdivision (a) hag
enacted or is seeking to administer any test or devioe ag
a prerequisite to voting in violation of the prohibition
contained in section 201, or (b) undertakes to deny the
right to vote in any election in violation of section 202,
he may institute for the United States, or in the name of
the United States, an action in a district court of the [pj
States, in accordance with sections 1391 through 1393 of
title 28, United States Code, for a restraining order, a
preliminary or permanent injunction, or such other order
as he deems appropriate. An action under this subsection
shall be heard and determined by a court of three judges ;
accordance with the provisions of section 2282 of title
28 of the United States Code and any appeal shall be to
the Supreme Court,

" Penalty"

"Sec, 204. Whoever shall deprive or attempt to
deprive any person of any right secured by section 201
or 202 of this title shall be fined not more than $5,000,
or imprisoned not more than five years, or both.

"Separability"

Sec. 205. If any provision of this Act or the appli-
cation of any provision thereof to any person or circum-
stance is judicially determined to be invalid, the remainé

COPY BO.

-39-

of this Act or the application of such provision to other
persons or circumstances shall not be affected by such

determination.
"Title II REDUCING VOTING AGE TO EIGHT-
TEEN IN FEDERAL, STATE, AND LOCAL ELECTIONS

"Declaration and Findings"

"gec, 301. (q) The Congress finds and declares
that the imposition and application of the requirement
that a citizen be twenty-one years of age as a precondi-
tion to voting in any primary or in any election--

" (1) denies and abridges the inherent
constitutional rights of citizens eighteen
years of age but not yet twenty-one years
of age to vote -a particularly unfair treat-
ment of such citizens in view of the national
defense responsibilities imposed upon such
citizens;

" (2) has the effect of denying to cit-
izens eighteen years of age but not yet
twenty-one years of age the due process
and equal protection of the laws that are
guaranteed to them under the fourteenth
amendment of the Constitution; and

„ (3) does not bear a reasonable re-
lationship to any compelling State interest.

" (b) In order to secure the consti-

—

IND CLOSE IM CENTER

-40-

tutional rights set forth in subsection (a), tie
Congress declares that it is necessary to pro-
hibit the denial of the right to vote to citizens
of the United States eighteen years of age or
older.

"Prohibition"

"Sec, 302. Except as required by the Cons.
tution, no citizen of the United States who is otherwige
qualified to vote in any State or political subdivision in
any primary or in any election shall be denied the right
to vote in any such primary or election on account of ag
if such citizen is eighteen years of age or older.

"Enforcement"

" Sec, 303. (a) (1) In the exercise of the powers of
the Congress under the necessary and proper clause of
section 8, article I of the Constitution, and section 5 of
the fourteenth amendment of the Constitution, the Attorny
General is authorized and directed to institute in the nam
of the United States such actions against States or politic
subdivisions, including actions for injunctive relief, as
he may determine to be necessary to implement the pr
poses of this title.

„ (2) The district courts of the United States shall
have jurisdiction of proceedings instituted pursuant to
this title, which shall be heard and determined by a cour
of three judges in accordance with the provisions of

COPY BOU

-41-

section 2284 of title 28 of the United States Code, and
any appeal shall lie to the Supreme Court. It shall be

the duty of the judges designated to hear the case to assign
the case for hearing and determination thereof, and to

cguse the case to be in every way expedited.

" ) Whoever shall deny or attempt to deny any
person of any right secured by this title shall be fined
not more than $5,000 or imprisoned not more than five
years, Or both.

"Definition"

"Sec. 304. As used in this title the term
‘state’ includes the District of Columbia.

"Effective Date"

"Sec. 305. The provisions of title II shall
take effect with respect to any primary or election held
oor after January 1, 1971.“ (Approved June 22, 1970).

ND CLOSE IN CENTER

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386413_0216%3A25. Public record. Not legal advice.
