# Opposition Brief — Hickel v. Oil Shale Corp.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386413_0213%3A05

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1970
- **Citation:** 400 U.S. 48

## Text

JUL 44 1969

” DAVIS. CLERK

Supreme Court of the United States

Octoprr Term, 1969

SseSG6cS6“VcOcOCc)——Uy)OoOo>]€0208=_El™E™”™_D"™___——_—_—_—_—_—_——s

Fowier Hamitrox
Ricnarp W. Huiserr
Dowatp L. Morcan
52 Wall Street
New York, New York 10005
Attorneys for Respondents
The Oil Shale Corporation,
Energy Resources Tech-
nology Land, Inc. and
Penelope Chase Brown

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

Jurisdiction and Opinion Below of the District Court 2

Statutes and Regulations Involved 2
Questions Presented 4
Statement 5

The Origin of the Mining Claims in Suit 0. 6

Interior’s Investigation and Challenge of Oil Shale
Claims ... ; 8

Interior’s Response to the Prior Decisions of This

Court 13

The Department’s Change of Position -............. acs. 20
The Issues in the Courts Below 20
Reasons Why the Petition Should Be Denied .............. —
Conclusion 35

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CasEs :
Costello v. United States, 365 U.S. 265 30

Fribourg Navigation Co. v. Commissioner, 383 U.S. 272 34

Gabbs Exploration Co. v. Udall, 315 F.2d 37, cert. de-
nied, 375 U.S. 822 ... 9
Gutierrez v. Waterman Steamship Corp., 373 U.S. 206 30

PAGE
Ickes v. Virginia-Colorado Development Corp., 295

US. 639 12, 13, 22-25, 32
Lane v. Hoglund, 244 U.S. 174 ae
Logan v. Davis, 233 U.S. 613 34
Northern Pac. Ry. v. Boyd, 228 U.S. 482 .
United States v. Etcheverry, 230 F.2d 193 000. . 2%
United States v. Leslie Salt Co., 350 U.S. 383 20.
West v. Standard Oil Co., 278 U.S. 200 25-6
Wilbur v. Krushnic, 280 U.S. 306 6, 10, 22-24

Interior DEcIsIoNns:
The Clipper Min. Co. v. The Eli Min. & Land Co., 34

L.D. 401 1
David W. Harper, 74 I.D. 141 1
Emi L. Krushnic, 52 L.D. 282 10
Emil L. Krushnic (On Rehearing), 52 L.D. 295 ......... 10
The Shale Oil Company, 55 I.D. 287 15, 21

Standard Shales Prod. Co. (On Rehearing), 53 L.D. 42 %
Union Oil Company of California, 71 I.D. 169 ......5, 14, 2,

26-27, 31
Union Oil Company of California, Supplemental De-
cision, 72 I.D. 313 22, 8

Virginia-Colorado Development Corp., 53 I.D. 666 .... %4

PAGE
SraTuTES AND REGULATIONS:

Act of May 10, 1872, 17 Stat. 91, 30 U.S.C. 22 et seq. .. 6-7

Act of July 20, 1956, 70 Stat. 592, 30 U.S.C. 122 29
Mineral Leasing Act, 30 U.S.C. 181 et seq. -....2....-.-.---- 6
Multiple Mineral Development Act of 1954, 68 Stat.

708, 30 U.S.C. 521-531 9, 29
30 U.S.C. 28 7
30 U.S.C. 30 25
Instructions, 47 L.D. 548 8
Regulations, 37 L.D. 757 4
Regulations, 49 L.D. 58 4
43 C.F.R. § 3420.4 25
MISCELLANEOUS :

H. Rep. No. 2198, 84th Cong., 2d Sess. 29
§. Rep. No. 1610, 83rd Cong., 2d Sess. 29
§. Rep. No. 2524, 84th Cong., 2d Sess. 29

Tertiary Geology and Oil-Shale Resources of the
Piceance Creek Basin Between the Colorado and
White Rivers Northwestern Colorado, U.S.G.S. Bul-
letin 1082-L 8

In THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OctoBer TERM, 1969
No. 221

—_
Water J. Hicker, Secretary of the Interior,

Petitioner,
—-V.—
Tae Om SHaLe Corporation, et al.,

Respondents.

a

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO THE PETITION FOR A
WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

At the outset it is necessary to note a lack of clarity as
to the scope of the Petition. The opinion of the court of
appeals below covered four separate civil actions (App.
la-ba),’ and that court entered four separate judgments
which affirmed four separate judgments of the district
court. The argument in the Petition mentions all four
cases as if review were sought of all. However, had
that been intended, then pursuant to this Court’s Rule
23(j) the Petition would have set forth all four judg-
ments. In fact, the Petition entirely omits the judgments
in three of the cases, Nos. 9582, 9583, and 9584 in the
court of appeals, and includes only the judgment in No.
9581 (the “TOSCO” case).? This brief is submitted on be-

References to “App.” are to the Appendices to the Petition.

_* The two references at page 1 of the Petition to “the judgment”
likewise suggest an intention to obtain review only of one case.

i
j
i
i

2

half of the oil shale claim owners in that case, and on behalf
of the owners in No. 9584 (the “Brown” case), withont
conceding that the latter case is properly before this Court

Jurisdiction and Opinion Below
of the District Court

In view of the omission from the Petition of the follow.
ing information called for by paragraphs 1(a) and 1(g)
of Rule 23 of this Court, respondents note that the opinion
of the district court (App. C to the Petition) is reported
at 261 F. Supp. 954, and that the bases for federal juris.
diction in the district court were 28 U.S.C. 1331, 1361 and
2201 and 5 U.S.C. 701-04.

Statutes and Regulations Involved

1. The General Mining Act of 1872. The Act of May 10,
1872, 17 Stat. 91, sections 22, 26, 28, and 29 of Title 30,
U.S.C. provides as follows:

“(All valuable mineral deposits in lands belonging to
the United States, both surveyed and unsurveyed, shall
be free and open to exploration and purchase, and the
lands in which they are found to occupation and pur.
chase, by citizens of the United States and those who
have declared their intention to become such, under
regulations prescribed by law, and according to the
local customs or rules of miners in the several mining
districts, so far as the same are applicable and not
inconsistent with the laws of the United States.”

“The locators of all mining locations made on any
mineral vein, lode or ledge, situated on the public
domain, their heirs and assigns, where no adverse
claim existed on the 10th day of May 1872 so long as

they comply with the laws of the United States gov-
erning their possessory title, shall have the exclusive
right of possession and enjoyment... .”

“On each claim located after the 10th day of May 1872,

and until a patent has been issued therefor, not less
than $100 worth of labor shall be performed or im-
provements made during each year .... [U]pon a
failure to comply with these conditions, the claim or
mine upon which such failure occurred shall be open
to relocation in the same manner as if no location of
the same had ever been made, provided that the origi-
nal locators, their heirs, assigns, or legal representa-
tives, have not resumed work upon the claim after
failure and before such location.”

“A patent for any land claimed and located for valu-
able deposits may be obtained in the following man-
ner.... The claimant at the time of filing this appli-
cation, or at any time thereafter, within the sixty days
of publication, shall file with the register a certificate
of the United States supervisor of surveys that $500
worth of labor has been expended or improvements
made upon the claim by himself or grantors....”

2, The Mineral Leasing Act of 1920. The Act of Feb-
ruary 25, 1920, 41 Stat. 445, sections 241 and 193 (the
excepting clause) of Title 30 U.S.C., provides as follows:

“The Secretary of the Interior is authorized to lease...
any deposits of oil shale belonging to the United

| ad
“The deposits of ... oil shale .. . herein referred to,
in land valuable for such minerals . . . shall be sub-

ject to disposition only in the form and manner pro-
vided in section... 241... of this title, except as to
valid claims existent on February 25, 1920, and there-
after maintained in compliance with the laws under
which initiated, which claims may be perfected under
such laws, including discovery.”

4

3. Interior Department Regulations. Section 3420.4 of
Title 43, C.F.R. (1969), provides as follows:

“The annual expenditure of $100 in labor or improve.
ments on a mining claim, required by section 2394 of
the Revised Statutes (30 U.S.C. 28), is, with the ey.
ception of certain phosphate placer locations, vali.
dated by the act of January 11, 1915 (38 Stat. 799,
30 U.S.C. 131), under which regulations were ixsyed
March 31, 1915 (Cire. 396), 44 L.D. 46, solely a matter
between rival or adverse claimants to the same mineral
land, and goes only to the right of possession, the de.
termination of which is committed exclusively to the
courts.”

This regulation has long been in effect. See e.g., Regula.
tions, 37 L.D. 757, 769 (1909) ; Regulations, 49 L.D. 58, 73
(1922).

Questions Presented

The single question presented in the Petition consists
of or comprises the following more particular questicas,
which Respondents submit as more accurately reflecting
the terms and circumstances of the actions below.

1. Whether unaer federal statutes governing the dis-
position and management of public land, the Department
of the Interior had subject matter jurisdiction with respect
to the performance of annual work on unpatented mining
claims (so-called “assessment work”) so that it could in.
validate such claims for a default in performance of such,
work.

2. Whether, on the assumption that Interior had juris-
diction but erroneously interpreted the statutes in declar-

ing mining claims invalid for default in performance of
annual work, the owners of the claims are now barred by
laches from obtaining judicial relief from such legal error.

3, Whether this Court should now overthrow the estab-
lished construction of the statutes, including that in two
unanimous decisions of this Court, that default in perform-
ance of annual work does not terminate a mining claim.’

Statement

The Statement in the Petition misconceives the actions
taken in the present and prior proceedings and the facts
established by the evidence admitted at the trial in the dis-
trict court, and omits many material facts, thereby necessi-
tating this response.

*The Petition does not raise the following questions, all of which
have been presented below: Whether after losing two test cases in
this Court on the assessment work question, Interior itself took
remedial action to render ineffective prior administrative decisions
purportedly cancelling oil shale claims, including those involved
here, for failure to perform assessment work. Whether from 1935
until the 1960’s Interior promulgated and consistently maintained
and applied a rule that those assessment work decisions were in-
effective. Whether the assessment work decisions purportedly can-
celling the TOSCO claims were defective for failure to obtain
personal jurisdiction of some of the owners. Whether Union Oil
Company of California, 71 I.D. 169 (1964), could possibly con-
stitute a decision invalidating the TOSCO claims, inasmuch as
those claims were not involved in Union Oil. Whether Union Oil
is procedurally defective, and thus an ineffective adjudication, even
as to the claims that were involved in it, in that the claim owners
who were parties were given neither notice of the issues upon
which the decision was rested nor opportunity for a hearing to
present evidence in defense of their rights.

The Origin of the Mining Claims in Suit

The decision below concerns oil shale mining claims |o.
cated in northwestern Colorado pursuant to the mining
laws prior to enactment in 1920 of the Mineral Leasing
Act. That Act withdrew oil shale, and the other enumer.
ated minerals,‘ from claim location and patent under the
mining laws and as to them substituted a leasing system,
expressly preserving, however, pre-existing valid claims,
Under the mining laws thus applicable to the claims in suit,
as “established by innumerable decisions of this Court”
(Wilbur v. Krushnic, 280 U.S. 306, 316), the location of a
mining claim in conformity with the law

“has the effect of a grant by the United States of the
right of present and exclusive possession. The claim
is property in the fullest sense of that term; and may
be sold, transferred, mortgaged, and inherited with.
out infringing any right or title of the United States...
The owner is not required to purchase the claim or
secure patent from the United States; but so long as
he complies with the provisions of the mining laws,
his possessory right, for all practical purposes of own.
ership, is as good as though secured by patent” (id.
at 316-317).

The free grant of property thus provided for by statute
arises upon the discovery of a valuable mineral and the
location of the claim, that is, the marking off of the claim
on the ground and, where required by state law, the filing
of a certificate of location in the county office for real
estate records. As the Department of the Interior has lorg
recognized, there is not, and never has been, provision for

* Originally coal, phosphate, sodium, oil and gas.

7

any filing of a notice of a mining claim in any Federal
office, and the claim itself comes into existence without any
application to or intervention by any Federal department.‘
It is the statute and not the Department which grants the
public property to the citizen who complies with its terms.

The statutory scheme thus distinguishes between the
possessory right for mining purposes that arises from a
valid mining claim and the complete fee simple title that
arises from patent to the owner of the claim from the
United States. This latter title is obtained only upon appli-
cation therefor to the Department of the Interior and the
satisfaction of the statutory requirements for patent, in-
cluding evidence that at least $500 worth of work has been
performed for the benefit of each claim for which patent
is sought. The claim owner has never been obliged to apply
for patent, but if a claim owner who has not obtained
patent does not perform at least $100 of work annually on
his claim (assessment work), he runs the risk that it may
be relocated by another for the same or some other min-
eral. 30 U.S.C. 28.

Against this background the claims in suit were located
at various dates between 1915 and 1920, when interest in
oil shale in the so-called Green River Formation in north-
western Colorado and adjacent parts of Utah and Wyo-
ming was aroused by a complex of circumstances given
dramatic underscoring by the First World War: the
dependence of modern society on oil, the obviously finite
quantity of conventional well petroleum, the extraordinary
richness and thickness of the oil shale strata of the Green

‘David W. Harper, 74 1.D, 141, 150 (1967); The Clipper Min.
Co. v. The Eli Min, & Land Co., 34 L.D. 401, 410 (1906).

River Formation,‘ the contemporary success of the Scottish
oil shale industry, and various steps taken by the Unite
States Government which gave dimension to the economic
value of the Green River Formation—e.g., the classifies.
tion by the United States Geological Survey of the jj
shale lands as mineral lands on account of their oil shale
value and the segregation of portions of the area in Naya]
Oil Shale Reserves. Shortly after enactment of the Mineral
Leasing Act, the first application for patent to oil shale
claims in Colorado came before the Department for ad.
judication and the Department formally ruled that oj
shale of the Green River Formation was a valuable mip.
eral within the meaning of the mining law capable of
patent (Instructions, 47 L.D. 548 [1920]), and issued the
first of many oil shale patents.

Interior’s Investigation and Challenge of
Oil Shale Claims

During the latter 1920’s the Department inaugurated a
campaign to investigate oil shale claims in the Green River

* Investigations subsequent to enactment of the Mineral Leasing
Act have shown that the early evaluations of the oil content of
the richest portion of the Formation, the so-called Piceance Creek
Basin in Colorado, were very conservative. It has since appeared
that the subterranean deposits in the center and north-central parts
of the Basin are vastly thicker and richer than those exposed on
the cliffs at the southern margin. E.g., Tertiary Geology and Oi
Shale Resources of the Piceance Creek Basin Between the Colorado
and White Rivers Northwestern Colorado, U.S.G.S. Bulletin 1082-L
(1961), pp. 867-68. Because the valid location of a mining claim
requires an exposure of the mineral, claim location focused on the
southern portion of the Basin where the claims in suit lie, and
the richer portion was never the subject of oil shale claims. This
portion, which is unencumbered Federal land so far as pre-1920
oil shale claims are concerned, contains more than 80% of the
estimated oil content of the oil shale in Colorado (Deft. Ex. L, R
893, 7547 in No. 9581). It is unaffected by this litigation.

9

Formation and, where grounds therefor existed, to chal-
lenge the claims in administrative contest proceedings (PI.
Ex. 2, R. 1514; Pl. Ex. 3, R. 1516).". The grounds upon
which contests were brought included not only such famil-
iar bases for questioning the validity of any mining claim
as lack of a discovery, abandonment* and fraudulent loca-
tion, but also the ground that the claim had been forfeited
to the United States for failure to perform at least $100
of assessment work in each year since enactment of the
Mineral Leasing Act (Pl. Ex. 5, R. 1522-23; Deft. Ex. A, R.
882, 6015). This last ground was asserted by the Depart-
ment on the basis of the Mineral Leasing Act of 1920.
The Government argued that because it had a continuing
proprietary interest in leasing the lands and because the
Mineral Leasing Act had eliminated the possibility of a
relocation of oil shale claims,’ the consequence of a de-
fault in performance of annual assessment work should
be automatic termination of the claim in favor of the

"Each of the four cases below is represented by a separate
record. However, at the trial the evidence common to the four
cases was entered only in the record of the TOSCO case and thus
is to be found in the record of No. 9581 in the court of appeals.
Except as otherwise noted, references to the record below or to
“R.” are to the record in the court of appeals in No. 9581.

Plaintiffs’ Exhibits 1-307 were all received in evidence together
at R. 863, subject to objection to individual exhibits. Those rela-
tively few objections were uniformly overruled, R. 918-934. Ac-
cordingly, record references hereafter to any of these exhibits omit
the page at which they were admitted to avoid repetition of the
identical reference.

*See Gabbs Exploration Co. v. Udall, 315 F.2d 37 (D.C. Cir.),
cert. denied, 375 U.S. 822 (1963), for an example of a decision on
grounds including abandonment.

*But see the Multiple Mineral Development Act of 1954, 30
US.C. 521-531.

Ee

i
'
i

10

Government, whether or not the work had been resumej
prior to the contest. This position was sharply contestej
by oil shale claimants, but the Department purported ty
cancel the claims for non-performance of the work. Emi]
L. Krushnic, 52 L.D. 282 (1927); On Rehearing, 52 Lp,
295 (1928).

Following the first Departmental decision in Krushnic,
the Commissioner of the General Land Office directed the
commencement of proceedings in Contests 11757, 11759
and 11761 against the Bute, Camp Bird, and Atlas claims,
respectively, involved in the TOSCO case below on the
single charge of a failure to do assessment work (PI. Ex,
8, R. 1554-55; Pl. Ex. 10, R. 1558-59; and Pl. Ex. 12, BR.
1562-63). On that same ground the Commissioner on May
4, 1928, declared the claims null and void (Pl. Ex. 9, RB
1556-57 ; Pl. Ex. 11, R. 1560-61; and Pl. Ex. 13, R. 1564-65),
Contest 12039 against the four Oyler claims involved in
the Brown case below was similarly initiated in 1929 on
the assessment work ground (Pl. Ex. 14, R. 1566-67; Pl.
Ex. 244, kk. 2255), but before any decision in that contest,
this Court in Wilbur v. Krushnic, 280 U.S. 306, unazi-
mously held that the Secretary’s decision in the Krushnic
case, supra, was “contrary to [the] explicit terms” of the
Mineral Leasing Act (td. at 319). This Court rejected the
argument that the Mineral Leasing Act conferred upon the
Government the status of a rival locator, and stated that
a mining claim was maintained, within the meaning of the
excepting clause of the Mineral Leasing Act, by resump-
tion of assessment work “unless at least some form of
challenge on behalf of the United States to the valid exist-
ence of the claim” intervened before resumption of the
work.

il

The Department regarded Krushnic as a test case.*° Fol-
lowing that decision the Department accordingly recognized
that the pre-Krushnic decisions against the TOSCO claims
were “not tenable” (Pl. Ex. 25, R. 1597) and similarly
that further proceedings on the pre-Krushnic complaint
against the Brown claims would be “ineffective” (Pl. Ex.
37, R. 1621; Pl. Ex. 38, R. 1622-23).

As Secretary Wilbur stated, “in order to test out the
ex‘ent of authority (if any) left to us by the Supreme
Court decision,” ** the Department promptly renewed the
assessment work campaign on modified lines. The new
theory was that if the Land Office behaved as a rival locator,
and moved to take advantage of a continuing default in
annual work before the work was resumed, it could thereby
terminate an oil shale claim. Accordingly, new field in-
vestigations were conducted and, where it appeared that
annual work continued in default, three kinds of action
were taken. First, a hopefully timely and effective “chal.
lenge” was asserted by posting on each claim a printed
notice that the annual work was in default and that, during
such default, the United States had taken possession of
the claim. Second, a proceeding was brought, by the filing
and service of a contest complaint alleging the facts in the
first step. Third, a decision was rendered declaring the
claim null and void.

Secretary Wilbur testified as follows before the Senate Com-
mittee on Public Lands, 1931: “As to oil shale land, the question
of the Department’s jurisdiction was, when I took office, under
review by the Courts in the case of Wilbur v. Krushnic. The de-
cision of the Court of Appeals in that case had held on January 7,
1929, that the Department was without authority .... The Su-
preme Court decision in that case eame down on January 6, 1930,
aise the Court of Appeals . . . in that test case” (Pl. Ex. 47,

4 Loc. cit. supra, note 10.

12

In embarking upon this second phase of the assessment
work campaign, the Department recognized that its sub.
ject matter jurisdiction was in question, and that a second
test case would be taken to the courts.** When that test»
case (Virginia-Colorado) was taken to court, the Depart.
ment in 1933 suspended the entire annual work campaign
to await the outcome. The Department’s Annual Report for
1934 explained that the annual work campaign had been
suspended “awaiting court decision on jurisdiction of the
Department to challenge the validity of oil-shale locations
for failure to perform annual labor thereon” (emphasis
supplied) (Pl. Ex. 44, R. 1653).

Before Interior suspended the second phase of the as.
sessment work campaign, and in accordance with the re.
vised post-Krushnic procedures, the Commissioner of the
General Land Office directed renewed proceedings against
the TOSCO and Brown claims. It had proceeded to inves.
tigate anew the claims in controversy here, to post chal-

12 Interior’s statement of September 29, 1930 (Pl. Ex. 19, R.
1583) noted that “the right of the department to challenge loca-
tions . . . for failure to do assessment work has been vigorously
denied by oil shale claimants .. . . [T]here are now pending in
the department test cases which the locators asserted they plan
to take into court.” Interior’s Annual Report for 1930 noted that
Krushnic, although it “sustained the claimants on the issue of
assessment work . . . left the possibility (though no certainty)
that if the remaining claims were posted before resumption of
work on the claim, a different result would follow . . . . A second
test case in the courts may be expected” (Pl. Ex. 15, R. 1568).

13 After the trial court ruled in favor of the Virginia-Colorado
claimant, Secretary Ickes emphasized to the Attorney General the
importance of obtaining appellate review, saying the case “may
be regarded as a test case” (Pl. Ex. 43, R. 1651-52).

14 Similarly, action on a pending appeal within Interior was
suspended “in view of the pendency of [Virginia-Colorado] chal-
lenging the authority of the Department” with respect to assess
ment work (Pl. Ex. 45, R. 1658).

13

lenges on them, to bring contest proceedings against them,
and to declare, in 1930-1932, some, but not all, undivided
interests in them null and void.**

On June 3, 1935, this Court ruled broadly that all three
aspects of the second phase of the annual work campaign:
(1) the posting of the challenges on the claims, (2) the
institution of contest proceedings, and (3) the rendering of
decisions therein—“went beyond the authority conferred
by law.” Ickes v. Virginia-Colorado Development Corp.,
295 U.S. 639, 647.

Interior’s Response to the Prior Decisions
of This Court

The Petition states (p. 2) that, after Virginia-Colorado,
the TOSCO and Brown claims “remained cancelled on the
Department’s records,” but that is not so (except in the
sense that the prior papers were not destroyed).** En-

The Petition does not accurately state what happened in this
second phase. It gives 1931 as the last date for a “cancellation” ;
in fact, the Secretary’s ruling on the Brown claims came on March
10, 1982 (Pl. Ex. 41, R. 1639-41). It states that the claimants in
only one of the four actions below carried their cases to the Secre-
tary. In fact, two did: in Brown as just noted, and in Umpleby
(the decision of Assistant Secretary Edwards, L. Z. Harrison,
Joseph B. Umpleby et al., A-15072, Nov. 29, 1930, is Exhibit A-1
to the complaint, R. 14 in No. 9582). The Petition implies that
the TOSCO claims were “cancelled” entirely; in fact, as the Gov-
ernment conceded below (appendix to post-trial brief to the district
court, pp. 74-87), less than 50% of the interests therein were can-
celled before the entire annual work campaign was suspended.

* After Virginia-Colorado, Land Office officials in Washington
called in from the local land offices all of the official files of the
annual work contests (Pl. Ex. 71, R. 1741-42; Pl. Ex. 72, R. 1743-
45; Pl. Ex. 74, R. 1748-53), and they were placed in storage in
the Federal Records Center in Alexandria. They were thereafter
resorted to only in processing subsequent patent applications, since

14

larging on this groundless assertion, the Petition they
asserts (pp. 11, 12) that the Land Office subsequently
relied upon these cancellations, but that is not so, as the
evidence makes unmistakably clear and as the Govern.
ment itself conceded in the district court. The record js
replete with documents showing unequivocally that the
Land Office did not rely upon the annual work decisions,
but instead regarded them as void. The evidence gyb.
mitted at trial comprises more than 7,000 pages, and cannot
be fully stated here.” A few examples should suffice; there
is no contrary evidence whatsoever, and the evidence cop.
sists entirely of Land Office records, save for the deposi-
tions of two Land Office employees.

First, just as after this Court’s decision in Krushnic
the Department had recognized that, in fulfillment of its
obligation to administer the public lands in conformity
with law, its prior decisions contrary to the decision could
not stand, likewise after the Virginia-Colorado decision

the reports therein of field investigations often had useful infor-
mation as to discovery, the performance of patent work, ete. Ey,
Pl. Ex. 126, R. 1900; Pl. Ex. 127, R. 1901; Pl. Ex. 309, R. 871-74,
4914, 4933-34. Of course these files contained the annual work
decisions, but Land Office personnel who checked these files were
specifically instructed “if the charge of failure to do assessment
work was the only charge, it was to be ignored, and had been
ignored” (Pl. Ex. 309, R. 871-74, 4919).

17 The Petition plainly errs in describing this evidence as “frag-
mentary” (p. 9, n. 1). The reason for the error may be that the
reference was to the Union Oil decision of 1964, not to the evidence
presented at trial in 1966. Of course, the evidence in Union Oil
was fragmentary; there was no notice of charges, and no oppor
tunity for a hearing, and thus no evidence. (Ironically, although
Union Oil denied the patent applicants’ motion for an evidentiary
hearing, see App. 54a, it bolstered its rulings against them on
the ground that they had made “no clear showing” as to certain
facts. App. 72a.)

15

the Department acted to deprive of effect the assessment
work cases previously decided in the renewed campaign.
In a published decision three weeks after Virginia-Colo-
rado, Interior announced that the annual work decisions
were “without authority of law and void” and thus they
all were deprived of any effect. The Shale Oil Company,
55 LD. 287 (June 24, 1935) (Pl. Ex. 70, R. 1737-40). That
was followed by directions to the local Land Offices to
close out assessment work cases then pending there (PI.
Ex. 71, R. 1741-42; Pl. Ex. 72, R. 1743-45; Pl. Ex. 74, R.
1748-53; Pl. Ex. 82, R. 1792; Pl. Ex. 85, R. 1811; Pl. Ex.
87, R. 1818; Pl. Ex. 89, R. 1815; and Pl. Ex. 84, R. 1810),
and by the disposition on the authority of the Shale Ou
decision of appeals then pending either before the Com-
missioner of the General Land Office or the Secretary
(e.g., Pl. Ex. 76, R. 1754-55; Pl. Ex. 77, R. 1756-58; Pl. Ex.
78, R. 1759-73; Pl. Ex. 45, R. 1655-64; Pl. Ex. 79, R. 1774-
7; and Pl. Ex. 80, R. 1778-82).

The Department action was shown also in response to
inquiries as to the status of oil shale claims supposedly
invalidated for failure to perform assessment work. In
reply it was uniformly and consistently stated that the
Department had invalidated such decisions, as, for exam-
ple, the Commissioner wrote to an oil shale claimant on
July 17, 1935, “any declaration by [the Land Office] that
an oil shale placer claim is null and void based solely on a
charge that the claimant failed to perform annual assess-
ment work or resume work on the claim is void and does
not affect the right of the owner of the claim to maintain
his possession thereof under the mining laws” (Pl. Ex.
136-A, R. 1917). The point was also explicitly made that
no further administrative action was needed to undo the

16

prior decisions. For example, the Commissioner wrote ty
a claimant in 1936:

“This office considers that it would be unnecessary to
revoke its previous decision holding the Lucy Agnes
claims to be null and void. That decision being without

- authority of law is without any effect on the title
arising from the location of the claims” (Pl. Ex. 180,
R. 2024-25).

A third example is a letter from Acting Secretary West
on October 31, 1935, to the Secretary of the Navy that the
assessment work decision in Contest 12039 involving the
very Oyler claims in Brown was (with many other similar
decisions) “without effect and void” and that “the status
of the claims so far as this Department is concerned is
that they are subsisting claims” (Pl. Ex. 176, R. 2013; see
Pl. Ex. 177, R. 2014-19 for a list of the claims).

So, too, in 1939 (and in 1941, and 1943, see Pl. Ex. 191,
R. 2049-50; Pl. Ex. 194, R. 2054-55), Secretary Ickes wrote
to the Congress, in support of remedial legislation:

“Conceiving that the Mineral Leasing Act conferred
such authority upon him, the Secretary of the Interior
challenged in departmental proceedings the validity of
thousands of these claims. After full hearings the
claims were declared void because of default in assess-
ment work. Appeal was taken from these proceedings
and in the cases of Wilbur v. Krushnic, 280 U.S. 306
(1930) and Iches v. Virginia-Colorado Development
Corp., 295 U.S. 639 (1935) the Supreme Court held
that the proceedings exceeded the authority of the
Secretary and were, therefore, without effect. From
these decisions it is apparent that, although the per-
formance of annual assessment work is expressly re-
quired by law, there is no statutory authority to enforce
that requirement” (Pl. Ex. 6, R. 1526).

17

In 1946, then Acting Secretary Chapman responded to an
inquiry from Senator Myers about a 1931 assessment work
decision (the same in all material respects as those here),
stating that shortly after Virginia-Colorado, “in the case
of the Oil Shale Company [sic] ... the Department...
overruled its action in other cases, including this one” (PI.
Ex. 204, R. 2070). In 1959, the Associate Solicitor for Pub-
lic Lands, Clarence Bradshaw, a veteran of the field investi-
gations in the assessment work campaign (see Pl. Ex. 283,
R. 4581-82) and conversant with the intervening land ad-
ministration (see Pl. Ex. 306, R. 4715; Pl. Ex. 309, R. 871-
74, 4918-19, 4949), rejected in a memorandum to the Denver
Regional Solicitor’s Office what would a few years later
be the Union Oil hypothesis:

“In view of the Supreme Court decisions mentioned,
the Department in its decision of June 24, 1935, in the
Shale Oil Company case (55 I.D. 287) held that in
that case the Commissioner’s decision was without au-
thority of law and void; recalled and vacated certain
cited departmental decisions and the departmental in-
structions of June 17, 1930 (53 LD. 131); and over-
ruled ‘other departmental decisions in conflict with
this decision.’ Thus in effect the decision of June 24,
1935, recalled and vacated all departmental decisions
declaring oil shale placer claims null and void solely
for failure of the claim owner to do the assessment
work, thus leaving the claims as if they never had
been contested” (Pl. Ex. 215, R. 2103-04; emphasis in
the original).

The record abounds with many similar statements (PI. Ex.
175, R. 2011-12; Pl. Ex. 192, R. 2050; Pl. Ex. 195, R. 2056;
Pl. Ex. 181, R. 2026; Pl. Ex. 180, R. 2024-25; Pl. Ex. 182,
R. 2027-28; Pl. Ex. 193, R. 2052; Pl. Ex. 196, R. 2057; Pl.

18

Ex. 197-199, R. 2058-62; Pl. Ex. 200, R. 2063; and Pl, Ry
207, R. 2075-76). In view of the wealth of evidence it jg
thus hardly surprising that, so far from insisting upop
the reliance suggested by the Petition, the Government's
post-trial brief to the district court (pp. 59-60) conceded:

“We do not contend that administration of the land was
affected by any particular reliance on the early dei.
sions. In fact, the administrators may not have know
of the decisions.”

The Petition errs also in asserting (pp. 5, 9, n. 4) that
the Land Office “for a time stood ready to reopen cancella.
tions,” refering to 74,000 acres of claims which were sub.
sequently patented, as if that “time” was severely limited,
As the foregoing examples show, the Department’s view
was (as early as July 1935) that no reopenings were neces.
sary or appropriate’ for the annual work decisions were
void and in any event had all been rendered ineffective by
broad remedial administrative action. Moreover, the 74,00
acres were patented, not soon after Virginia-Colorado,
but over the next 25 years, as patent applications were
filed and processed. The evidence shows that such patents
issued in every year from 1949 through 1960 for claims
that had been purportedly cancelled for failure to do
assessment work and that such claims constituted approxi-
mately two-thirds of the total of 768 oil shale claims
patented in Colorado on applications filed after the Shale

** The only example of administrative action to reopen a final
decision in an assessment work contest arose out of an inquiry re
ceived by the Department after Virginia-Colorado but before
promulgation of the Shale Oil decision; it was thus treated asa
pending case when the Shale Oil decision was announced (Joseph
D. Ahearn et al., A-16739, Pl. Ex. 69, R. 1735-36; see also Pl. Ex
67-68, R. 1729-1734).

19

Oil decision (Pl. Ex. 95, R. 1827-42). The Petition simply
misstates the evidence in suggesting that the Department’s
recognition of the invalidity and ineffectiveness of assess-
ment work contest decisions was confined to “the immediate
wake of Virginia-Colorado” (p. 15).

The Petition is thus wrong both in its assertion that the
Department was responsive to this Court’s declaration of
the law only briefly, and also in its assertion that the De-
partment had relied in administering the lands upon the
supposed validity of the assessment work decisions. In
1963, the Assistant Secretary for Public Land Manage-
ment, reviewing the entire period, concluded in these

terms :

“[Ajll prior adverse decisions, based on assessment
work, were ignored, and many patents issued without
any question being raised as to the finality of the Shale
Oil decision in cancelling all prior decisions which
were based on assessment work alone” (Pl. Ex. 211, R.
2093).”*

There is in short an utter absence of evidence that between
the Shale Oil decision in 1935 and the Union Oil proceed-
ings, referred to below, the Department or anyone else
ever acted upon the basis that an oil shale assessment
work decision was effective for any purpose.

* This statement appears in a letter from the Assistant Secre-
tary to Sen. Clinton Anderson that was introduced in evidence in
the district court pursuant to a stipulation in which counsel for
the Government agreed that “the matters referred to in the
[letter] fell within his jurisdiction as such Assistant Secretary,”
and that “He was, at the time, generally familiar with the mat-
ters referred to in the [letter]” (Pl. Ex. 211, R. 2088).

20

The Department’s Change of Position

The contrary view was first asserted in a series of de.
cisions by the Colorado Land Office Manager which wer
affirmed on appeal in April 1964. Union Oil Company of
California, 71 I.D. 169 (App. 47a-84a). In July 1964 the
plaintiffs in TOSCO initiated the first of the four cases
below. That complaint, which involved oil shale claims
none of which were before the Department in Union Oj,
sought only judicial review of the pre-1935 assessment
work decisions, and a judgment declaring those decisions
to have been without effect and enjoining the Secretary
from asserting their effectiveness. The complaint did not
seek a patent (no application had been filed for one), nor
did it seek any judgment which in any other respect would
have affected the Department’s power to challenge the
validity of the claims on any other ground. The other three
cases below were commenced later; the four were tried
together. Unlike TOSCO the other three cases below in.
volved claims ruled upon in Union Oil, patent applications
having been filed. In those three cases the plaintiffs thus
also sought judgments setting aside the Union Oil decision,

The Issues in the Courts Below

The plaintiffs presented in the district court, and re.
newed on appeal in support of the decision rendered by
the district court, three distinct grounds upon which they
were entitled to judicial relief from the pre-1935 assess.
ment work decisions (see App. 28a):

1. The decisions were rendered in excess of the subject
matter jurisdiction of the Department and were, in con-

21

sequence, themselves void. This argument rested upon the
decisions of this Court in Krushnic and Virginia-Colorado.
It presented the only issue passed upon by the district
court and the court of appeals.

9 The Department, following upon this Court’s de-
cisions in Krushnic and Virginia-Colorado, adopted and
thereafter consistently applied a rule, from which it may
not now retroactively depart, that the pre-1935 assessment
work decisions were themselves null and void and without
effect. This point would deprive the pre-1935 decisions of
present effect, whether or not the decisions in Krushnic
and Virginia-Colorado are regarded as rulings upon the
subject matter jurisdiction of the Department (and, in-
deed, whether or not Krushnic and Virginia-Colorado were
correctly decided on any basis).

3. Again without regard to whether Krushnic and
Virginia-Colorado were rulings upon jurisdiction, it is
clear that at least they were holdings that the Department
had committed legal error in purporting to cancel oil shale
claims for failure to perform assessment work. The pre-
1935 decisions being thus legally erroneous and adminis-
trative adjudications of the Department being admittedly
subject to judicial review and reversal, the plaintiffs are
entitled to judicial review and relief from the pre-1935
decisions affecting the claims in suit.

The plaintiffs advanced two further grounds below of
less general applicability.

4. The pre-1935 decisions touching the claims in TUSCO
were confessedly subject to procedural deficiencies in that
the then owners of substantial interests in each of the

22

claims were never joined as parties to the assessment wor
proceedings. As to those interests, the extent of which was
not disputed, the assessment work decisions can have no
consequence on any conceivable theory, as the Depart.
ment’s Supplemental Decision in Union Oil, 72 LD. 313
had made manifest as to other claims.

5. As to the four Oyler claims in Brown below (and the
claims in the other two cases below), the failure of the
Department in Union Oil to accord notice and an oppor.
tunity to be heard as to whether what was in substance
the affirmative defense of laches and estoppel, based on
events post-1935, could breathe life into the assessment
work decisions as the Union Oil decision asserted, required
that that decision be set aside, whatever the decision op
points I, 2 and 3, supra, as to the claims involved.

Reasons Why the Petition
Should Be Denied

1. The court of appeals, affirming the district court,
rightly construed and applied the prior unanimous de
cisions of this Court in the Krushnic and Virginia-Colo-
rado cases to hold that the administrative decisions ren-
dered in the period 1928-1932 were nullities. As the
Petition perforce recognizes (p. 7), an administrative de-
cision, no less than the decision of a court, is void if ren-
dered in the absence of subject matter jurisdiction.” The

20 As the Petition also recognizes (id.), a defect of process in
an administrative proceeding equally deprives the resulting de
cision of consequence. But it does not, as the Petition inconsist-
ently suggests (p. 7, n. 3), require an application to the
to validate the invalidity. The consequences of defective service

23

Petition argues, however, that the defect in the assessment
work decisions which a unanimous Court noted in Virginia-
Colorado did not go to the Department’s jurisdiction, but
only to the manner of exercise of its power. This argument
ignores the setting of the Virginia-Colorado decision,
which shows, as the language of Chief Justice Hughes’
decision itself strongly suggests, that it was presented to
this Court as a question of jurisdiction.

To appraise accurately the significance of Virginia-
Colorado, one must consider the earlier, and likewise unani-
mous, decision of this Court in Wilbur v. Krushnic, 280
US. 306 (1930), which the Petition all but ignores. In that
decision the Court rejected as “contrary to [the] explicit
terms” of the Mineral Leasing Act Interior’s contention
that a failure to perform annual assessment ipso facto
invalidated a claim as against the United States, 280 U.S.
at 319. The opinion noted that prior to the passage of the
Mineral Leasing Act “annual performance of labor was
not necessary to preserve the possessory right ... as
against the United States.” Directly contrary to the sug-
gestion (Petition, p. 16) that this Court was not apprised
of authorities holding that where the Department had a
competing interest in fact (as it did, under the Mineral
Leasing Act, as a prospective lessor of oil shale lands), the
Government could assert a right of relocation upon default

are not of merely academic interest, for, although the Petition
does not note it, and does not present the question, the Secretary
conceded in his post-trial brief to the district court that substan-
tial interests (from 7/16 to 13/16) in every one of the 75 mining
claims involved in TOSCO were wholly unaffected by the assess-
ment work decisions for this very reason, without regard to any
decision in this Court on the question which the Petition does raise.

24

in assessment work, this line of authority was urged Upon
this Court in Krushnic by the Secretary.”

While the Petition igmores the Krushnic decision, the
Secretary at the time was well aware that it had
“left the possibility (though no certainty)” * that if th
Department challenge intervened before the resumption of
assessment work a different result might follow. Accor.
ingly, the assessment work campaign was resumed jp
slightly altered form “im order to test out the extent of
authority (if any) left to us by the Supreme Court decision
[in Krushnic].”* It was in the resumed campaign that
the assessment work decisions against the claims in guit
were rendered. And it was in the course of the same re.
sumed campaign that the administrative decision, Virginia.
Colorado Development Corporation, 53 I.D. 666, was ren.
dered which became “the second test case in the courts”
which the Secretary’s 1930 Annual Report had said “may
be expected” (Pl. Ex. 15, R. 1568). When the claimants
in that case sought judicial review the Secretary on April
1, 1933, suspended all action in then pending oil shale con.
tests “awaiting court decision on jurisdiction of the De.
partment to challenge the validity of oil-shale locations for
failure to perform annual labor thereon” (Pl. Ex. 44, R.
1653). It would be difficult, indeed, to propose an analysis

21See 280 U.S. at 308 suminarizing the argument of counsel.
The Krushnic decision was obviously a rejection of this line of
authority. The Department itself so understood, for one of thes
supposedly “well-established” authorities was overruled following
the Krushnic decision. Standard Shales Prod. Co. (On Rehearing),
53 L.D. 42 (1930).

22 Annual Report of the Secretary for 1930 (Pl. Ex. 15, R. 1568).

*8 Testimony of Secretary Wilbur before the Senate Committe
on Public Lands, February 12, 1931 (Pl. Ex. 47, R. 1667).

25

jess apt than the suggestion advanced by the Petition that
the Virginia-Colorado case was not avowedly presented as
a test of jurisdiction.

The language employed by the Court in Virginia-Colo-
rado was appropriate as a vehicle for providing an answer
to the question thus put. The Court did not, as the Petition
suggests, confine its holding to the point that the “can-
cellations ‘went beyond the authority conferred by law’”
(Petition, p. 7). What it said was that not only the de-
cision but also “the Department’s challenge [and] its ad-
verse proceedings ... went beyond the authority conferred
by law,” 295 U.S. at 646-47, or, in the words of the Petition,
that there was “the absence of power in the agency to con-
sider the question put” (p. 7).

This reading of the decisions is not only the plain mean-
ing of the words employed. It is consistent with the
statutory provision which confers exclusive jurisdiction on
the courts (and hence deprives the Secretary of subject
matter jurisdiction) to adjudicate rival mining claims to
the same ground (30 U.S.C. 30), for it is to such competing
claims alone that assessment work has significance.* The
special statutory treatment of rival mining claims serves
to distinguish questions such as the performance of as-
sessment work, which relate only to that subject, from the
Secretary’s general authority to pass on the validity of
mining claims and the decisions of this Court on that dif-
ferent subject to which the Petition refers. This Court
in West v. Standard Oil Co., 278 U.S. 200 (1929), provided
the touchstone: the Secretary has power to make all

*That this is the focus of assessment work is recognized ex-
plicitly by the Department’s regulations. 43 C.F.R. § 3420.4
(quoted supra, p. 4).

26

necessary determinations of fact and law “essential to ty
performance of the duty specifically imposed” (id. at 219)*
By express statutory enactment the Secretary has no day
to adjudicate rival claims, and assessment work is relevant
to no other issue.

2. The Petition has attempted to portray a parade of
horribles with dire “implications for the public domain”
to give a factitious significance to the issues dealt with by
the courts below. This, like the suggestion that the nia.
ing claims are barred by laches (see pp. 30-32, infra),
can be sustained only by ignoring the extensive factns]
record which is wholly adverse to the Petition’s specu.
tions. The administrative practice of the Department fd.
lowing the final defeat of the assessment work campaign in
1935 was noted at some length by the district court (App.
40a-43a) and briefly by the court of appeals (App. 9a).
The evidence of this practice “as demonstrated by the
record in these cases” (App. 9a) is altogether different
from the impression, which the Petition attempts to con.
vey, that it is “fragmentary and inconclusive” (Pet. 9, n. 4).
Significantly, the Petition refers for this proposition, not
to the record in these cases, but only to the opinion in
Union Oil Company, where understandably enough the
record was scanty, for the Department in that case had
failed to give notice to the claim owners who were parties
that the matter was at issue or to afford them an oppor.
tunity to present evidence on the question in any system.

** The Government urged this same analysis, on the authority
of West, in Krushnic in support of its contrary conclusion. Brief
for Pet., p. 16. On the basis upon which the case was presented,
the Court’s conclusion that the Secretary had no duty would lead
directly to a holding that he lacked the power.

27

atic way.“ Thus the decision refers to six letters (App.
69a, note 30) as if that represented the sum of the matter,
whereas the evidence below comprises some 7000 pages, a
large part of which is directed to this point.”

Far from constituting either a “fragmentary” or “in-
condlusive” picture, the evidence shows that from the time
of the Department’s formal announcement of its acquies-
cence in and implementation of this Court’s decisions in
its own decision in The Shale Oil Company, 55 I.D. 287
(1935), down to the administrative decisions in February
1962, which were affirmed in Union Oil in 1964, the De-
partment openly, publicly and consistently treated the
assessment work decisions as nullities in any and every
context in which the issue of their effectiveness could arise.
Thus, there is nothing which has been said by the courts
below which creates any “implications for the public do-
main” (see Petition, p. 17) that are in the slightest degree
at variance with the policies for the public domain an-
nounced and implemented by a series of Secretaries begin-
ning with Secretary Ickes, whose devotion to the legitimate
interests of the public is open to no question. The facts in
the voluminous record, in short, conclusively rebut the sug-
gestion in the Petition that Department compliance with

*The Union Oil decision denied motions to set the matter for
hearing (the decisions of the Land Office Manager having been
rendered without any notice or hearing) on the ground that
hearings had been held, or had been available, in the old assess-
ment work decisions themselves (App. 48a, 52a-55a). On the
issues upon which the decision on the merits was rested, a hearing
prior to 1935 would have been immaterial, for the laches point
and the related “doctrine of finality of administrative action”
= App. 58a et seg.) depend entirely upon facts subsequent to

* Of the 317 exhibits offered by the plaintiffs in TOSCO, sub-
stantially more than half are directed to this issue.

a:

28

the rule of law announced in Virginia-Colorado and fore.
shadowed in Krushnic was a sometime or briefly continyeg
thing or the further suggestion that to permit the decision
below to stand would create in the administration of th
public lands altogether novel problems. The charge of
novelty would lie only if the Department were now allowa
to give conclusive effect to decisions admittedly erroneoys
when rendered, which in 1935 it deprived of all effect,
and which from 1935 until this litigation it treated as
nullities.

That there may be several interests in particular land
within a mining claim in the public domain under adminis.
tration by the Department arises from the fact that a
variety of public land statutes provide for differing in.
terests until a mining claim is patented, and none of the
claims in suit has been patented.** That circumstance does
not depend upon whether the Land Office declares a mining
claim null and void or whether, having done so, the Land
Office specifically vacates that declaration. For example,
Under Secretary West wrote in 1935, after noting that an
assessment work decision against certain oil shale claims
was “without authority of law and void,” that since no
patent application was pending,

[T]he matter will stand as if no adverse proceedings
had been brought ... . If and when application for

28 As the court of appeals noted, “the land status in this area
has become somewhat complicated . . . but these complications are
not essentially different than in any area where there are a con-
siderable number of mining claims. This is one of the Secretary's
basic problems in administering lands where the general mining
laws are applicable . . . . This involved land status is not the doing
of the mining claimants as the Department has proceeded to re
ceive these other [non-mining] entries and to process them regard-
less of the unpatented claims. It is not a question of laches on
either side” (App. 15a).

ee

29

patent shall be filed for these placer claims such ap-
plication will be considered on its merits.

In the meantime, so far as the records of the Land
Department are concerned, the lands involved appear
and are regarded as vacant and unappropriated public
lands” (Pl. Ex. 69, R. 1735-36).

The problems of differing uses of these public lands,
which were present before the assessment work campaign
and posed no great difficulties then, have not actually
proven to be of substantial difficulty since then. As noted
above, from 1935 through 1960, the Department processed
patent applications for oil shale claims, many of which
had been attacked in the assessment work campaign, and
valid ones proceeded to patent. Second, the Department
established, and apparently found quite workable, a pro-
cedure whereby it has regulated grazing on oil shale claims
until patent issues. See, e.g., Pl. Ex. 63, R. 1715-22; Pl. Ex.
203, R. 2067-69; Pl. Ex. 208, R. 2077; Pl. Ex. 209, R. 2078-
82; Pl. Ex. 210, R. 2083-86. See also, United States v.
Etcheverry, 230 F.2d 193 (10th Cir. 1956). At times the
Department turned to Congress for assistance in accom-
modating the differing interests. It supported the Mul-
tiple Mineral Development Act of 1954, 68 Stat. 708, 30
U.S.C. 521-531, which facilitates the ready determination
of the respective rights of federal mineral lessees and oil
shale mining claimants. See Sen. Rep. No. 1610, 83rd Cong.,
2d Sess. Similarly, the Department supported the Act
of July 20, 1956, 70 Stat. 592, 30 U.S.C. 122, which sim-
plified obtaining patent for the minerals by an oil shale
claimant where a patent for the surface had previously
been issued and remained outstanding. See Sen. Rep. No.
2524 and H. Rep. No. 2198, 84th Cong., 2d Sess. If, as the
Petition asserts (p. 15), “it is essential that there be some
stability to the status of the public domain ... ,” it was the

ee

30

Union Oi decision, not the decisions of the courts beloy,
which upset this established pattern of accommodation of
interests.

3. The “Secretary’s invocation of laches to bar the
present claims” (Petition, p. 13) provides no basis for ma.
terial distinction between the present case and Virginia.
Colorado, just as it provides no basis to question the
decisions below. It is of course true that judicial proceed.
ings in Virginia-Colorado followed upon the administra.
tive decision more quickly than has been true here, but if
that greater interval of time is to be given significance the
laches defense must be proved, not simply “invoked.”*
That choice of words in the Petition was not inadvertent,
for while the Secretary invoked laches in the district court,
by pleading it as an affirmative defense, it is conceded
that he did not prove it.*° The answer to the TOSCO
complaint in the district court asserted that “. . . the
United States, relying on the established invalidity of the
claims . . . administered the property as being free and

2° “Taches requires proof of (1) lack of diligence by the
against whom the defense is asserted, and (2) prejudice to the
party asserting the defense.” Costello v. United States, 365 US.
265, 282 (1961) ; see also Gutierrez v. Waterman Steamship Corp,
373 U.S. 206, 215 (1963); Northern Pac. Ry. v. Boyd, 228 US.
482, 509 (1913).

8° In its post-trial brief to the district court (pp. 59-60), counsel
for the Secretary stated: “We do not contend that administration
of the lands was affected by any particular reliance on the earlier
decisions. In fact, the administrators may not have known of the
decisions.” How adherence to decisions of which the relevant ad-
ministrators may have been altogether unaware can be essential
to the “certainty of [administrative] adjudications” (Petition,
p. 10) which, in turn, is “particularly essential in the context of
transactions affecting land” (id. at 11), the Petition does not er-
plain. Until the Department’s volte-face in 1964 in Union Oi,
there was no uncertainty in the matter whatever.

31

dear of plaintiffs’ claims ...” (R. 35), in terms quite simi-
lar to the assertions of the Petition. However, the Secre-
tary in answer to interrogatories addressed to that lan-

in the answer admitted that he “joes not know”
whether the United States had in fact so administered the
lands and, indeed, whether any party had ever entered a
transaction “in reliance upon the invalidity of the claims
in suit” (Pl. Ex. 313, R. 945, 5180). The answers to in-
terrogatories established beyond question that there is aot
one whit of evidence in the Department’s possession, or
in existence to its knowledge, as to any reliance by anyone
at any time in any respect on the supposed validity of any
of the assessment work decisions (Pl. Ex. 313, R. 945, 5176-
90; Pl. Ex. 314, R. 945, 5185-88). This, of course, is simply
another perspective upon the Department’s long-continued
practice of treating the assessment work decisions as nul-
lities and “thus leaving the claims as if they never had
been contested” (Pl. Ex. 215, R. 2104).

The Union Oil decision, to which presumably the Petition
refers in its reference to the invocation of laches, is in any
event of no consequence upon the litigation initiated by
the plaintiffs in TOSCO, for the claims involved in that
case were not before the Department in Union Oil." The
litigation in TOSCO is both in its procedural posture and
in the substantive issues raised by the complaint, a parallel

The claims in TOSCO have never been the subject of a patent
application. "he Petition (p. 6) is flatly in error in asserting that
the plaintiffs in that case “sought a declaratory judgment...
that the Secretary was required to issue patents on proper applica-
tio for the ostensibly cancelled claims” and flatly in error in
asserting /id.) that “the district court found that patents should
igue.” The plaintiffs sought only a declaration that the old assess-
ment work decisions were invalid and an injunction to restrain
reliance upon them (R. 12), and the judgment of the district court
was similarly confined (R. 439-442).

to the Virginia-Colorado case itself. Even if Virginig
Colorado were held to have found the assessment wor
decisions merely wrong in the exercise of power Possessed,
that error would be beyond the familiar power of a court tp
correct it only if suit for judicial review is barred by som
affirmative defense. The voluminous record below is deyoig
of evidence sustaining any such defense, and, had the dis
trict court felt it necessary to reach the issue, the plaintiffs
would have been entitled to judgment on this alternative
ground.”

4. The issue which the Petition tenders would neither
dispose of the four cases below (assuming arguendo that
the Petition intends, and is effective, to present all four)
nor would it control the broader question of the ultimate
validity of the underlying mining claims. Nor, because of
decisive procedural defects in both the pre-1935 assess.
ment work cases and in Union Oil itself, would any decision
which this Court might reach save the burden and expense
of further proceedings to which the Petition points (see,
e.g., p. 12). Beyond the usual reasons which would weigh
against a reconsideration by the Court of its two prior
decisions construing the relevant statutes there is, there.
fore, the further fact that no important issue would bk
resolved by doing so.*

32 Brown differs in its procedural posture from TOSCO in th
respect that in Brown an application for patent to the claims had
been rejected in Union Oil on the assessment work ground. The
complaint in Brown thus sought both judicial review of the Union
Oil decision and also direct review in the district court of the
pre-1935 assessment work decision rendered against the claims
(R. 1-11 in No. 9584). In its latter aspect, Brown presents the
same issues raised in TOSCO.

88 There is no suggestion in the Petition that the question pamed
on in Krushnic and Virginia-Colorado is broadly relevant to any

The prior assessment work decisions applicable to the 75
mining claims in TOSCO were conceded by counsel for the
Government in a post-trial brief to the district court (pp.
74.87 of the appendix thereto) to have been seriously de-
ficient under the standards enunciated recently by the
Department itself (Unton Oi Company of California,
Supplemental Decision, 72 I.D. 313) in respect of obtaining
personal jurisdiction over the then owners of the claims.
As a consequence of those deficiencies, the prior decisions
are admittedly ineffective as to substantial fractional in-
terests (from 7/16 to 13/16) in every such claim, irrespec-
tive of the merits or validity of the contest decisions them-
selves. If the validity of the substantial remaining inter-
ests is to be determined, further administrative proceed-
ings on other issues are required whatever decision this
Court might reach on the question tendered by the Peti-
tion.™*

The claims in the Brown case and in the other two cases
below were passed upon in Union Oil Company, but for
the reasons noted above (pp. 26-27) that decision cannot

significant number of mining claims of other kinds. Nor is there
any basis for expecting that it would be, in light of the circum-
stances that the issues considered in those cases are material only
to mining claims which were located prior to 1920 for Leasing Act
minerals and which have never been patented.

“Similar procedural deficiencies marked the assessment work
proceedings involving the claims that were before the Department
in Union Oil. In a supplemental decision in that case the Depart-
ment ruled that, of the 257 claims involved, personal service on
the claim owners in the assessment work proceedings was ineffec-
tive as to 218: wholly so as to 117 and partly so as to a further
101. Union Oil Company of California, Supplemental Decision,
72 LD. 313. As to those 218 claims, further proceedings are like-
wise inevitable, regardless of the merits of the assessment work

stand because of gross procedural deficiencies in its op,

duct, again regardless of the merits of the assessment wot
issue.

The Petition does not present the alternative ground fy
decision upon the merits of the assessment work issne,
which the plaintiffs advanced below (see page 21, supra),
that, even if arguendo it is assumed that the decisions jp
Krushnic and Virginia-Colorado did not go to the jurisdic.
tion of the Department, it is undisputed that following thog
cases the Department itself acted, as of course it had power
to do (indeed, the Petition insists upon the Secretary’
plenary power), to deprive of effect the prior assessment
work decisions. Having done that, and having then adhered
to the position thus enunciated, the Secretary may not now
retroactively alter the character and effect of the action
of his predecessors, upon familiar principles. See, eg,
Fribourg Navigation Co. v. Commissioner, 383 U.S. 279
(1966) ; United States v. Leslie Salt Co., 350 U.S. 383, 3%
(1956) ; Lane v. Hoglund, 244 U.S. 174 (1917); Logan y,
Davis, 233 U.S. 613 (1914).

Finally, a decision by this Court would fall still farther
short of resolving the ultimate validity of the claims in
suit. As the court of appeals noted explicitly, “It must
be borne in mind that these proceedings . . . are concerned
only with the annual assessment work problem, and not
with the many other hurdles which must be crossed by a
claimant on the way to patent” (App. 14a). The judg.
ments in the district court, which the court of appeals af-
firmed, offer no bar to the assertion by the Department
of any ground which can be established, including abandon-
ment, lack of discovery, fraud in the location, and the
other familiar bases upon which a mining claim can k

challenged. No such questions were presented to the lower
courts; the only matter that has been decided is that the
assessment work decisions do not afford a proper basis for
holding that the claims are inwalid. As the district court
noted, “there has been no contention that the plaintiffs
have abandoned their claims and there is a dearth of evi-
dence to establish acquiescence, express or implied, by
intiffs in any assumption of jurisdiction by the De-
t” (App. 46a).** The judgment in TOSCO goes no
further than to declare the assessment work decisions void
and to enjoin the Secretary from asserting them against
the claims (R. 439-42). The judgment in Brown, in addi-
tion, set aside the decision im Union Oil and simply re-
manded the patent applicatiom to the Secretary “for such
further proceedings thereon as may be appropriate” (R.
193-97 in No. 9584).

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated the petition for a writ of
certiorari should be denied,

July, 1969
Respectfully submitted,

Fow.ier Hamitron
Ricuarp W. Hvu.sert
Donautp L. Morcan

“The repeated allegations of abandonment in the Petition
(eg., at p. 2, “thousands of oil shale claims were abandoned”)
have no basis whatsoever in the record. Similarly of no bearing
on any issue actually raised in the litigation is the matter of the
“reassertion” of the claims (Petition, p. 2). It is undisputed that
the owner of a mining claim never need “assert” it by filing a
patent application, so that a “delay” in doing so is immaterial.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386413_0213%3A05. Public record. Not legal advice.
