# Amicus Curiae Brief — Evans v. Abney

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386413_0143%3A07

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1970
- **Citation:** 396 U.S. 435

## Text

Jn the Supreme Court of the United States

OcToBER TERM, 1969

No. 60

REVEREND E. S. EVANS, ET AL., PETITIONERS
Vv.

Guyton G. ABNEY, ET AL.
ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE SUPREME COURT OF GEORGIA

MEMORANDUM FOR THE UNITED STATES AS AMICUS CURIAE

The case is fully stated in the brief filed on behalf
of the petitioners and we do not recapitulate the facts
here. We submit this short memorandum to focus on
particular arguments and to express the interest of
the United States.

The government participated in this Court when the
case was here before as Evans vy. Newton, No. 61,
October Term, 1965, 382 U.S. 296. As it happens, the
United States has a special connection with Bacons-
field through substantial federal aid granted for the
improvement of the facility some years ago and as-
surances then received that the public character of
the park would not be changed. It is, moreover, a

(1)

LIME ALLIES LOD ADD NLL TDL el LEME ai he AE UG IONE. BE he 8 See be ee De can, ABD Mg ee Be a

matter of concern that all the residents of a munici-
pality have been deprived of an important public
facility on account of race. Then, as now, however,
‘there was more at stake than non-discriminatory en-
joyment of a large recreational park in Macon,
Georgia.

As the case returns, it involves potentially far.
reaching questions relating to the enforcement of
racially restrictive stipulations in grants establish.
ing charitable trusts. The United States speaks to
those issues because of the continuing national con-
cern to eradicate race discrimination in our public life,

ARGUMENT

The ultimate question in this case is whether a
large recreational park which this Court has held
subject to the constitutional rule of nondiscrimina-
tion shall be closed and the property returned to
private hands rather than being opened up to the
Negro citizens of the area. The Georgia courts have
so decreed, declining to disregard the now unenforee-
able racially restrictive provision of the will which
established the park half a century ago. Those who
support the judgment below—including the adminis-
trators of the park, the trustees of the property, and
the heirs of the testator, with no opposition from the
municipality which would lose an important recrea-
tional facility—argue that this decision ends the mat-
ter, insisting that there is no federal constitutional
question involved. We disagree, sharing the view of
the petitioners that the Fourteenth Amendment stands
in the way of this result.

3

1. At the outset, we confront the claim that the
ease involves nothing more than the construction of a

will and an application of the local law of charitable
trusts and therefore presents no federal question
whatever. The answer, we suggest, is that given by
this Court when immunity from scrutiny was asserted
with respect to a discriminatory exercise of the gen-
erally absolute power to redefine municipal bound-
aries: insulation from federal judicial review “is not
carried Over when state power is used as an instru-
ment for circumventing a federally protected right.”
Gomillion v. Lightfoot, 364 U.S. 339, 347. The tradi-
tionally local setting does not oust the constitutional
inquiry when the charge is, as here, that State action
threatens to deny important public benefits on the
ground of race.

What is more, the present case does not intrude
far into the traditional domain of private choice. No
one here is remotely suggesting review of the motives—
even racial bias—which govern the decisions of testators
in writing or rewriting wills or establishing trusts. Nor,
for that matter, do the present arguments call into
question the power of any private individual to revoke
agrant, terminate a trust, or close an established facility
over which he has retained control—or to abandon a
husiness—rather than comply with a federal constitu-
tional or statutory requirement of non-discrimination.
We deal only with affirmative State action with-
drawing a public facility to avoid a declared obliga-
tion to cease discrimination on the basis of race.

And, finally, the case does not involve any real issue
of construing a testator’s actual intent. Although Sen-

4

ator Bacon made clear that he shared the prevailing
prejudice of his time and place against the “mixing”
of the races “in their social relations,” then thought
to include the use of recreational facilities (cf. Civj]
Rights Cases, 109 U.S, 3, 22, 24), he did not express
himself on the question whether the racial restriction
in his grant, if unenforceable, should defeat his in-
tention to establish a publie park. There is no way
of knowing what his choice would have been had he
known the present alternatives when he wrote his
will. Still less is there any basis for saying that he
would wish Baconsfield closed altogether after half
a century because the law now requires that Negroes
also be admitted. It is obvious the Senator never ad-
verted to the eventuality that his “perpetual” grant
should be withdrawn from the publie and ‘given over
to his heirs. Indeed, it is doubtful whether any right
of reversion was meant to be attached to his gift to
the municipality.

The fact of the matter is that the decision to prefer
closure to non-discrimination is not attributable to
Senator Bacon, but to the State of Georgia, acting
through its courts, at the prompting of the administra-
tors of the park (who may, in that capacity, be deemed
public officers, since they are administering a public
facility). The reversion of the Baconsfield property to
private hands did not occur automatically, by opera-
tion of law: the active participation of an agency of
the State necessarily intervened before that result
could be accomplished. Nor was the decree a mere
formality, inexorably predetermined by events. There
were many alternatives, one of which had to be se-

Yr

5

jected. Our submission is that Georgia contravened
the Fourteenth Amendment by making a discrimina-
tory choice.

2. What were the options? In the first place, the
restrictive provision might have been treated as not
written, because contrary to overriding public policy
embodied in the supreme law of the land. Cf. Hurd
y. Hodge, 334 U.S. 24, 34-36. In the absence of any indi-
cation that a comparable facility was then available to
the Negro residents of Macon, it is doubtful that Sen-
ator Bacon’s attempt to exclude them totally from a
public park satisfied even the “separate but equal” doc-
trine of Plessy v. Ferguson, 163 U.S. 537, prevailing in
1911 when the will was written. And it is at least argu-
able that the intervening decision in Buchanan v.
Warley, 245 U.S. 60, outlawed racial restrictions of
this kind before the bequest of the park property to the
public was executed in 1920. But even if it was only
later that it became constitutionally unenforceable, the
Georgia courts might have struck the clause prospec-
tively, thus avoiding giving any effect to an offensive
stipulation. Cf. Barrows v. Jackson, 346 U.S. 249, 254.

Another alternative was to decline reversion on the
ground that the park had been irrevocably dedicated
to the public. As we have noted, Senator Bacon’s will
did not provide for contingent reversion to his heirs:
on the contrary, the instrument required that “all
right, title and interest” in the property, expressly
including ‘‘all remainders and reversions,” be vested
in the municipality, for the “perpetual and unending”

| ps ate.
LS ei Say om

6

benefit of the public, and, specifically, to be “forever
used and enjoyed as a park and pleasure ground,”
“under no circumstances”’ to be “sold or alienated or
disposed of, or at any time for any reason devoted
to any other purpose or use” (A. 19; see also, the
last sentence of Item 3rd of the Codicil, at A. 30),
Both the deed from the executors to the City exe-
cuted upon delivery of the property in 1920 (A. 353;
see also A. 405-409) and later representations made
to the United States (A. 440-441, 448, 451) indicate an
indefeasible title in the municipality. So, also, the
actual use of the park by the public for haif a century
argued against implying a requirement of reversion,
See Ga. Code § 85-410.

Of course, if the municipality had been found to
hold an irrevocable title to the property, the decree
below could not have been entered. The suit of the
heirs, lacking any legal interest, would have been
dismissed. The City itself presumably could not close
the park merely to avoid desegregation. Cf. Griffin Vv.
School Board, 377 U.S. 218. And, at all events, the
city was not praying for such a result: indeed, the
State Attorney General, representing the public bene-
ficiaries, was, at least formally, urging continuance of
the park (see A. 502, 509, 512, 515).

Finally, the most obvious solution was to apply the
cy pres principle to continue Baconsfield as a public
park, albeit desegregated, on the ground that this
would be carrying out the dominant purpose of the
charitable trust. See Ga. Code § 108-202. Surely, it
would have been natural to view the establishment of
a public recreational facility as the main object of

a?

I

7

the trust and to find that the constitutionality required
admission of Negroes—which did not oust the original
class of beneficiaries—would not defeat that goal.
A charitable court might indulge the supposition that
Senator Bacon himself would amend his grant to re-
move the exclusionary clause if he were alive in the
changed circumstances of today. But, however that
may be, it was certainly within the normal boundaries
of the cy pres doctrine to treat as incidental, and not
of the essence, the racial stipulation attached to the
trust. Indeed, it is difficult to understand how the
courts below could find that exclusion of Negroes,
rather than continuation of the park as a publie fa-
cility, was the fundamental purpose of the grant.
In our view, the availability of the several less
drastic options, each apparently consistent with local
law, invalidates the choice made. That is true, we
believe, even if each of the alternatives was equally
permissible as a matter of State law. Whatever the
proper limits of the principle that the Constitution is
not violated by neutral State action unavoidably sup-
porting a private discriminatory decision, but see
Shelley v. Kraemer, 334 U.S. 1, the claim of neutrality
will not avail when, in light of other possible solu-
tions, the means selected needlessly aids diserimina-
tion. Cf. Reitman v. Mulkey, 387 U.S. 369. As a
matter of fact, however, it seems plain that the
courts below were not confronted with an evenly bal-
anced series of options; everything favored a resolu-
tion that would permit continuation of the park. In
the circumstances, we are inevitably led to the conclu-
sion that in preferring the last resort of reversion the

8

Georgia courts were applying a special rule which
accords critical weight to racial restrictions. It is of
course immaterial whether the rule was independently
fashioned by the courts or merely reflects the public
policy of the State. In either case, impermissible
governmental action is present: the attempt to escape
official responsibility by invoking Senator Bacon’s
supposed preference cannot succeed. Cf. Burton vy.
Wilmington Parking Authority, 365 U.S. 715, 725.
3. It only remains to respond briefly to the sug-
gestion that the decree below cannot offend the Con-
stitution because the petitioners and the class they
represent have no ‘‘federal right” to enjoy Bacons-
field Park and thus have not been legally injured by
the action which closes it. There are several answers.
To be sure, the Fourteenth Amendment does not
grant petitioners a right, s¢mpliciter, to enjoy the
Baconsfield property. But it does assure that they
shall not be excluded from the benefits of a public
facility on the ground of race. And that is precisely
what is threatened here: the method is a total closure
of the park, but the purpose is racial, and the effect,
so far as Negroes are concerned, is the same as if
whites remained free to enjoy the park. It does not
alleviate the practical injury to the class that others
also are adversely affected by the discriminatorily
motivated action. ‘* Equal protection of the laws is not
achieved through indiscriminate imposition of in-
equalities.’’ Shelley v. Kraemer, supra, 334 U.S. at 22.
It is, moreover, plain that the disadvantaged Negro
community of Macon will suffer unequally by the

ee --

EeE—V7"7_—OoO~OH—

withdrawal of Baconsfield to private lands. Cf. Grif-
fin v. School Board, supra.

There is another aspect to the decision below. The
fact is that Negroes are to be deprived of the park
solely because they insist on exercising their declared
right to share it so long as it remains open to the
public. That is more than imposing an impermissible
penalty on the assertion of a constitutional right,
cf. Shapiro v. Thompson, 394 U.S. 618, 631; the con-
sequence is so drastic as wholly to discourage the
bootless effort in future. Cf. Barrows v. Jackson,
supra. And there is of course a corresponding en-
couragement to resist voluntary acquiescence in non-
discrimination. That, too, is an involvement forbidden
to State officers by the Fourteenth Amendment. Cf.
| Reitman v. Mulkey, supra; Anderson v. Martin, 375

U.S. 399; N.A.A.C.P. v. Alabama, 357 U.S. 449, 463.
Finally, and perhaps most important, the decision
below injures the Negro citizens of Macon in the same
fundamental sense as all officially supported racial
discrimination. Here, as in Strauder v. West Virginia,
100 U.S. 303, 308, the published official action directed
at Negroes as a race ‘‘is practically a brand upon
them, affixed by the law, an assertion of their in-
feriority, and a stimulant to that race prejudice which
is an impediment to securing to individuals of the
race that equal justice which the law aims to secure
to all others.” This alone condemns the action of the
State courts, regardless of whether petitioners can
show any more tangible loss. Cf. Brown v. Board of
| Education, 347 U.S. 483, 493-495. As we view it, the
| decision strains to reach the extreme result of reversion

and thereby announces an official view that the

10

Negro’s presence in the park would be so obnoxious
that it is preferable to close the facility altogether.
That, we submit, is a plain denial of that “equal
protection of the laws’’ which the Fourteenth Amend-
ment was framed to assure.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated, the judgment below should
be reversed.
Respectfully submitted.
Erwin N. Griswop,
Solicitor General.
JERRIS LEONARD,
Assistant Attorney General.
Louis F. CLatporne,
Deputy Solicitor General.
NOVEMBER 1969.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386413_0143%3A07. Public record. Not legal advice.
