# Amicus Curiae Brief — Sullivan v. Little Hunting Park, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386413_0135%3A07

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1969
- **Citation:** 396 U.S. 229

## Text

ib x i

Kiss LEP D 8 BRAK ie SAORI LEG aig

s
3
4

|

4

ment, necessarily living in the Washington area, wher
he and his family were refused membership in a com.
munity recreational facility available to all other resi.
dents. In these cireumstances, the United States, as the
largest employer in the region affected, has a more im.
mediate interest in the problem, and, also, a more ob-
vious responsibility for attempting to offer a solution,

STATEMENT

Little Hunting Park, Inc., was incorporated as a non:
stock corporation in 1954 principally for the purpose,
set forth in its certificate of incorporation, of organiz-
ing and maintaining “community park and play-
ground facilities,” including a swimming pool, for
“community recreation purposes’? (A. 24, 120-121),
Currently, swimming, tennis and other recreational
activities are made available to the residents of four
specified subdivisions (Buckne!i Manor, Bucknell
Heights, Beacon Manor and White Oaks) and certain
adjacent areas in Fairfax County, Virginia (A. 28,
121, 143). Subject to a 600-share maximum, the cor-
poration’s bylaws provide that membership shares
entitling the holder, his family and guests to use its
facilities, are available to all adult persons who “re-
side in, or who own, or who have owned housing
units,’’ within the specified geographic areas (A. 28,
121-122).' No other qualification requirement, such

‘The number of persons living within the four specified sub-
divisions who are shareholders varies from 115 out of the 750-
800 families residing in the Bucknell Manor and Bacon Manor
subdivisions to 136 out of the 174 families residing in Bucknell
Heights. There are no statistics on White Oaks (A. 148-149,
163).

—

as nomination or recommendation by existing mem-
bers, is mentioned. There are no limits on the number
of shares an individual may hold; shares have been
held by institutions and corporations owning property
in the prescribed areas (A. 28, 46, 121, 123-124, 216-
218). Shares may be acquired either by purchase di-
rectly from the corporation or from a previous holder
(at prices ranging from $150-$230), or by lease from

— alandlord to his tenant (A. 28-29, 45-46, 122-123, 128).

The bylaws provide that the issuance and assignment
of shares is subject to approval of the Board of Di-
rectors of Little Hunting Park, but in the first 12
years of its operation, 1,183 shares were issued and
392 shares assigned without there being any record of
any assignment having been denied approval, prior to
the attempt of Sullivan to assign a share to Freeman
(A. 29, 40-50, 125-128, 148).’

Petitioner Paul E. Sullivan owns two houses within
the geographic areas served by the recreational facili-
ties of Little Hunting Park. From 1962 until 1965, he
held a membership share for each (A. 45-46, 78-79).
During those years he rented one of the houses to
various tenants, including the Little Hunting Park
share for that house as part of the leasehold interest
(A. 46, 49). On February 1, 1965, he leased the house
to Dr. T. R. Freeman, Jr., for a term of one year,
subject to renewal. He included the membership share
in Little Hunting Park as part of the leasehold inter-

5

? There was testimony that an assignment of a share was dis-
approved by the Board of Directors in May 1961. Since there
are no records of the incident, details of the transaction and
the reason for any disapproval are not now known. (A. 127).
363-010—69——2

i i rs Se ent nt Se NO a a Ne LO I ee e aaa esa — .
EAR MRIS SODAS Hoe rE Le Baki ote! i Sed aakites, PASS EERIE te ha NC MIR Daa TAS a a al a

RA Alga Sua Rig tabi a ln

5
3
7
:

6

est to which the rental fee, $129 per month, applied
(A. 46-47, 177). Dr. Freeman and his family are
Negroes. They moved into the house (and remained
there into 1967), but the assignment of the Little
Hunting Park share membership was not approved by
the Board of Directors. It is clear from the record
that they rejected it solely because Freeman is a
Negro (A. 48, 51-52, 55, 112-113, 130-131, 145-146, 155-
156, 188-189).

Following the Board’s disapproval, Sullivan met
with various members of the Board, other share-
holders, and community leaders in an effort to have
the decision reversed. He organized a members’ peti-
tion to the Board for a membership meeting to hear
Freeman and reconsider the decision to keep him out.
The Board met on June 11, 1965, and decided Sullivan
had. given “due cause”’ for expulsion from the corpo-
ration by his refusal to accept the Board’s decision
and his allegedly intemperate criticism of the Board’s
action (A. 59, 130, 138-139, 190). Neither the Board
nor the membership ever met with Dr. Freeman.
On August 24, 1965, after giving Sullivan a brief
hearing, the Board voted unanimously to expel him
(A. 67, 71-72, 77, 97-98, 143, 157-158). Sullivan was
notified of this action by a letter from the president
of the corporation which also included a check tender-
ing to him the then current sale price of his two
shares (A. 72, 116, 200-201).

Sullivan and Freeman then commenced separate
civil actions against Little Hunting Park and its di-
rectors. Both sought orders declaring the corpora-
tion’s racially discriminatory admission policy invalid

Bes
Bs RL AD A al GC SALE a att RE nce aaa S eee aR ONES TT

and requiring it to approve Sullivan’s assignment to
Freeman (A. 5-13, 15-19). Sullivan also sought re-
jnstatement of his membership shares and monetary
damages for his wrongful explusion. Freeman also
| prayed for monetary damages to compensate him for
Little Hunting Park’s unlawful interference with his
contract with Sullivan and for depriving him of the
full enjoyment of his leasehold estate.

The trial court, the Cireuit Court of Fairfax
County, Virginia, dismissed both complaints, holding
Little Hunting Park to be a private social club with
authority to determine the qualifications of those using
its facilities, including the right to deny use on the
basis of race (A. 232, 235). The court found that the
expulsion of Sullivan was permitted by the relevant
provisions of the corporate bylaws and justified by
the evidence (A. 232).

The Virginia Supreme Court of Appeals rejected
the petitions for appeal, citing plaintiffs’ failure to
comply with a state procedural rule (A. 242, 243).
This Court vacated that judgment and remanded the
ease to the Virginia Supreme Court for “further
consideration in light of Jones v. Alfred H. Mayer Co.,
392 U.S. 409” (A. 244). On remand the Virginia
Supreme Court disposed of the case on the same pro-
cedural ground (A. 247-249), and petitioners once
again sought review in this Court.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

I. The central question in this case is whether the
“property” clause of Section 1 of the Civil Rights Act
of 1866, 42 U.S.C. 1982, prohibits a corporate com-

PS REASON? Bs RRND AIR BI He ne alt ante r sameeey
i is ERNE Sere

Sewn anes a

8

munity recreational association from discriminating }
with respect to membership on the basis of race, wher }
access to the facilities involved is available to all other
residents in a stated geographic area. The question is
largely settled by Jones v. Mayer Co., 392 U.S. 409,
Under that decision, it seems clear that the developer
of a comprehensive community such as Reston, Vir.
ginia, or the apartment-town house complexes of
Southwest Washington, D.C., would not satisfy the
statute if he sold or leased living quarters to all,
but permitted only whites to use the community’s other
facilities. Even though the corporation here was not
part of a larger development plan and all houses in
the neighborhood concerned were not automatically
members, this case is essentially the same. Little Hunt-
ing Park is not a private social club; except for this
case, membership in it has never been premised on
anything other than living in the area and paying the
necessary fees. There are none of the earmarks of
exclusivity or choice traditionally associated with
the private club; the case in this respect is just like
Daniel v. Paul, 395 U.S. 298, decided last term.
Whether viewed as an incident to real estate, or as
personal property, the membership shares in Little
Hunting Park are subject to the guaranties against
racial discrimination embodied in Section 1982.
Neither enactment of a public accommodations law in
the Civil Rights Act of 1875 nor this Court’s decision
in the Civil Rights Cases, 109 U.S. 3, stands as an ob-
stacle to our conclusion. There can be little doubt that —
the draftsmen of the 1866 Act believed that they were
reaching places of public accommodation. The reach

_— anger ?
le Mee RI ne tO Let Pa eR

= «4

of the 1866 Act was clearly shown by its reenactment
in 1870, after adoption of the Fourteenth Amendment
had explicitly guaranteed to Negroes equal protection
_ of the law. If any reason need be found why Congress
again addressed itself to the subject in 1875, we think
it may be found in a desire to provide a more effective
means, through federal enforcement, to vindicate
rights already recognized. The Civil Rights Cases have
been substantially eroded by this Court’s subsequent
decisions, particularly its broad reading of the con-
gressional power to enforce the Thirteenth Amend-
ment in Jones.

Nor does the Public Accommodations Law of 1964
affect the coverage of the 1866 Act. Here, also, Jones
principally answers any question through its rejec-
tion of a comparable argument based on the Fair
Housing Title of the Civil Rights Act of 1968. The
1964 Act indicates nothing of the purpose of legisla-
tors a century earlier; there are substantial differences
between the new laws and the old; and while the 1964
Act has limitations absent from that of 1866, there is no
reason to treat these as a repeal sub silentio of the 1866
Act (see Jones, 392 U.S. at 437). To the contrary, the
1964 Act specifically saves prior legislation to the extent
itis not inconsistent, and we show that this condition is
met.

II. We discuss briefly objections raised to the stand-
ing of the white assignor of membership, Mr. Sulli-
van, and to the damages which both petitioners seek.
Petitioner Sullivan’s standing is settled by Barrows v.
Jackson, 346 U.S. 249, where a white seller was found

Na le eit een et ac ate te —_ -
co) SS oh ve cine ©. SSSR EH WRENS Ay i CRE ANS tree Ps ace tect PR St

iv Naa aa y'

De RS ee ee
dick ssa ce

2UORRNE GS dei Rae.

CR a Aa be ak

GP Heese OR Acide wig A

10

to have standing to assert a Negro’s rights under the
Fourteenth Amendment in resisting a suit for damages
which a co-covenantor claimed had been caused by the
seller’s breach of a racially restrictive covenant. Here,
also, the injury of which Mr. Sullivan complains has
been inflicted upon him as a direct consequence of his
attempt to recognize a Negro’s civil rights and for the
purpose of punishing that attempt. While Section
1982 states no explicit method of enforcement, courts
have ‘‘the power to afford all remedies necessary to
the vindication of federal substantive rights defined in
statutory and constitutional provisions except where
Congress has explicitly indicated that such remedy is
not available.”” Brewer v. Hoxie School District No. 4,
938 F.2d 91, 98 (C.A. 8). No such indication has been
given in this ease, see 28 U.S.C. 1843(4), and the
damages remedy is plainly appropriate, Texas ani
Pacific Ry. Co. v. Rigsby, 241 U.S. 33, 39. Both in order
to compensate the Negro for any harm done and to
deter disobedience of the law, this Court should hold
that the damages are recoverable under 42 U.S.C. 1982.

ARGUMENT
I

RACIAL DISCRIMINATION IN THE ASSIGNMENT OF MEMBER-
SHIPS IN LITTLE HUNTING PARK, INC., VIOLATES SEC-
TION 1 OF THE CIVIL RIGHTS ACT OF 1866

The central question in this case is whether the
‘“property” clause of Section 1 of the Civil Rights
Act of 1866, now codified as 42 U.S.C. 1982, prohibits
the respondents’ conduct—conduct which has effec-

11

tively denied to the Freemans, on account of their
race, access to the community recreational facilities
available to all other residents as an incident of their
ownership or lease of property in the area. The matter
is largely settled by Jones v. Mayer Co., 392 U.S. 409,
which construed the statute as reaching wholly private
discrimination with respect to the sale of real estate—
a ruling which necessarily applies to all transactions
covered by 42 U.S.C. 1981 and 1982, since both pro-

visions derive from a single clause of S= = 1 of the
Act of 1866.’ In light of Jones, the only ;«~ ~e issue

here is whether the assignment of the membership
share in the Little Hunting Park is a transaction pro-
tected by that section. That is presumably an aspect

®Section 1 of the Civil Rights Act of 1866 (14 Stat. 27)
read as follows:

“That all persons born in the United States and not subject
to any foreign power, excluding Indians not taxed, are hereby
declared to be citizens of the United States; and such citizens,
of every race and color, without regard to any previous con-
dition of slavery or involuntary servitude, except as a punish-
ment for crime whereof the party shall have been duly con-
victed, shall have the same right, in every State and Territory
in the United States, to make and enforce contracts, to sue, be
parties, and give evidence to inherit, purchase, lease, sell, hold,
and convey real and personal property, and to full and equal
benefit of all laws and proceedings for the security of person
and property, as is enjoyed by white citizens, and shall be sub-
ject to like punishment, pains, and penalties, and to none other,
any law, statute, ordinance, regulation, or custom, to the con-
trary notwithstanding.”

The “property” clause became separated when the rest of the
provision, slightly expanded and made applicable to resident
aliens as well, was re-enacted in haec rerba as Section 16 of the
Enforcement Act of May 31, 1870 (16 Stat. 149, 144). The
property guarantee remained available to citizens alone as part
of the 1866 Act, the whole of which was re-enacted (by refer-

PRS AISI ILE A ealt we ae ie Pager, .
a eae = pe EIS CRLF OE TG BPAE Sle ety — .
Sas et I IPP EBERLE OTE IG EEE

PV Sean Dy Bath

Eley

bates Meas Wine as daghvelay

12

of the question expressly left open by the Court’s opin.
ion in Jones. 392 U.S. at 413-414 n. 10.* Because, in our
view, Section 1982 clearly covers the case, we do not
here invoke Section 1981. See, however, the govern.
ment’s brief amicus curiae in Daniel v. Paul, No. 488,
O.T., 1968, pp. 9-14.

A. SECTION 1982 BARS RESPONDENT'S CONDUCT

1. The share is an incident of real property covered by
Section 1982

We think there could be no doubt that had the
membership shares in Little Hunting Park, Inc., been
part of a unified development plan, as in communities
such as Reston, Virginia, or the apartment-town house
complexes of Southwest Washington, D.C., Section

ence only) by Section 18 of the Enforcement Act of 1870.
This division was formalized in the Revised Statutes of 1878,
the “property clause” being codified as Section 1978, the rest
as Section 1977, and persists today in Sections 1982 and 1981
of Title 42 of the United States Code.
* After pointing out that 42 U.S.C. 1982, unlike the recently
enacted Fair Housing Law, “does not deal specifically with dis-
crimination in the provision of services or facilities in connec-
tion with the sale or rental of a dwelling” (392 U.S. at 413-414),
the Court added, in the margin (n. 10) :
In noting that 42 U.S.C. $1982 differs from the Civil
Rights Act of 1968 in not dealing explicitly and exhaus-
tively with such matters * * *, we intimate no view upon

the question whether ancillary services or facilities of this
sort might in some situations constitute “property” as that
term is employed in § 1982. Nor do we intimate any view
upon the extent to which discrimination in the provision of
such services might be barred by 42 U.S.C. § 1981 * * *.

° Although petitioners did not plead either Section 1982 or
Section 1981 as a ground for relief, their suits were brought be-
fore this Court’s decision in Jones, and the Court therefore may

Se 4
OLLIE OEE EIEIO IOI ETE LL OO LIE IDES INE LEGS | POG LNG

13

1982 would forbid the developer from selling or
leasing quarters to whites with, and to Negroes with-
out, access to the community’s recreational facilities.
The statute guarantees all citizens “the same
right * * * as is enjoyed by white citizens * * *
to * * * purchase, lease * * * real property.’”’ (Em-
phasis added.) Implicit in that guarantee is the right
to the same use and enjoyment of the property and
all its incidents as a white citizen would receive. As
the record shows, community recreational facilities,
especially swimming pools, are a major factor affect-
ing the desirability and value of residential property.
The routine exclusion of Negroes from such facilities
would both discourage them from buying in that com-
munity, and make any purchase they did make a
poorer bargain than that a white citizen could obtain.
“Solely because of their race, non-Caucasians will be
unable to purchase, own [rent] and enjoy property
on the same terms as Caucasians.’’ Barrows v. Jack-
son, 346 U.S. 249, 254. It would be inconsistent with
this Court’s interpretation of § 1982 in Jones for the
statute to be interpreted as meaning that a Negro has
the same right to buy or lease property as a white
citizen but can be precluded from enjoying some of
the incidents thereof on the basis of his race.°
consider issues arising under the statute, United States v. The
Schooner Peggy, 1 Cranch 103, 110, as it recognized by its
prior disposition of this case, 392 U.S. 657. See Curtis Publish-
ing Co. v. Butts, 388 U.S. 130, 142-143: Hamm v. City of Rock
Hill, 379 U.S. 306.

6 Evidence that the contemporary Congress does not distinguish

between discriminating in the leasing of real property and the
incidents thereof may be found in the Civil Rights Act of 1968,

363—-010—69——3

Py: OIL A Bite Sa Hepa” sal MA ane ee HAI pee TOME

= a ELSA IIE PS

Sci) At he a eet a oetS ROEat a es haee

14

The legislative history cited by this Court in Jong
makes it reasonably clear that the Congress which
originally enacted § 1982 in an effort to eliminate the
badges of slavery did not intend to preclude discrimni-
nation only in the actual sale or rental of the dwelling
involved, allowing it to continue with reference to the
incidents of ownership or possession. Thus, in his
speech of January 5, 1866, Senator Trumbull said:

This measure is intended to give effect to that
declaration [the Thirteenth Amendment] and
secure to all persons within the United States
practical freedom. There is very little rinpor- &
tance in the general declaration of abstracl
truths and principles unless they can be carried
into effect, unless the persons who are to be af-
fected by them have some means of availing
themselves of their benefits.
Such language negatives any attempt to read the
statute narrowly. So here, there is no reason to sup-
pose that Section 1982 makes an empty promise (see
Jones, 392 U.S. at 443), which is satisfied if N CLTORS
are allowed to buy or rent homes but are, in practical
effect, banned from the neighborhood by being denied
access to a community recreation facility which is,
for white persons, a valuable incident of the POsses-
sion of real property. The present case involves, at
least, an obvious abridgement or dilution of the right
to acquire a home, when the Negro is told: You may

Section 804(b), which makes it unlawful to “discriminate
against any person in the * * * sale or rental of a dwelling,
or in the provision of services or facilities in connection there-
with, because of race, color * * *,”

* Cong. Globe, 39th Cong., Ist Sess., p. 474, quoted at 392 U.S.
at 431-452; emphasis supplied.

—- s -—

a.

ET a Se DENIM

15

buy or rent a house, but you may not acquire the
right to use any of the community facilities which are
open to your white neighbors. It seems plain that
this result cannot be condoned without breaking the
statutory pledge to the Negro that he shall enjoy ‘‘the
same right * * * as white citizens.”

Section 1982 is no less applicable here because the
facilities are provided by a separate and ostensibly
private membership corporation to which only some
of the houses in the communities served belong, but
which has as its only expressed standard for mem-
bership the geographic location of the house con-
cerned. We cannot accept the trial court’s view that
Little Hunting Park is a private social club, and
therefore free to discriminate on racial grounds in
membership matters. Every adult owning or leasing
a house in the prescribed geographic area is eligible,
without further qualification, recommendation, or
nomination, to become a member. Save for this in-
stance and possibly one other—which for all the record
shows may have been like it—the assignment or sale
of shares from owner to tenant or purchaser has
always been routinely approved ; 322 such assignments
were made between 1955 and 1966 (A. 125-126). Ac-
cess to the pool is simply as aspect of living in the
area, subject only to paying for the privilege.

The case is in this respect much like the situation
this Court confronted last Term in Daniel v. Paul,
395 U.S. 298. The “club’’ involved there was a large
one, serving people from miles around; visitors pur-
chased a low-cost ‘‘membership”’ each season and also

ROL OEE IRE OE GI EL TF BES AL pRE PERE ION Raia
CR LS

ae ew ae —

Naw CU Oe es hs erecta Raion ka ial

See anics

16

paid to use certain facilities on each visit ; such member.
ships were routinely issued to all whites who sought
them, but refused to Negroes. Little Hunting Park is
much smaller in size, intended for the use and enjoy-
ment of a limited number of families in a smaller
geographic area; the initial membership charge is
high and yearly fees are assessed so that it may meet
expenses. But the administration of its membership
policies precisely tracks that which characterized
Daniel v. Paul: subject to the availability of member-
ships,’ any white adult living in the community could
join; Negroes could not.

Just as in Daniel v. Paul, such a policy does not
justify characterization of the facility as a private
club. ““Membership’’ which may be conveyed, assigned,
and held by a corporation, and which is based on geog-
raphy alone, aim the very antithesis of the private social
club. Thus, the Fourth Circuit has held that an estab-
lishment’s “serving or offering to serve all members of
the white population within a specified geographical
area is certainly inconsistent with the nature of a truly
private club.’”’ Nesmith v. YMCA of Raleigh, N.C., 391
F.2d 96, 102. See also Rockefeller Center Luncheon
Club, Ine. v. Johnson, 131 F. Supp. 703 (8.D.N.Y.);
United States v. Richberg, 398 F.2d 523 (C.A. 5). The
hallmarks of the private club are missing here : member-
ship is not even personal to any individual; nor is
any attempt made to achieve any sort of compatibility
of background or interest, save geography. There is

*In 1965, the year in question, 36 memberships were avail-

able, Memberships were available in 7 of Little Hunting Park’s
first 12 years (see A. 144).

—

17

thus no more occasion in this case than there was in
Daniel v. Paul to consider whether the Civil Rights
Act of 1866 applies to bona fide private clubs; our
submission is only that when a privilege which for all
others is incident to housing has been denied for rea-
sons of race, the statute is brought into play.

Nor do we think the fact that not all houses in the
eligible community belonged to Little Hunting Park
impeaches our conclusion that the membership Dr.
Freeman was denied was an incident of the real prop-
erty he had leased. For individuals free to join or not
as they chose, the availability of the facilities still
adds value to the land which cannot be realized by
persons barred from membership on racial grounds.
As a matter of regular practice, shares in Little Hunt-
ing Park do run with titles to realty and with lease-
hold interests on houses for which membership shares
are outstanding. The record shows (A. 99-108) that
northern Virginia generally lacks governmentally
owned and operated recreational facilities; there are
only a few privately owned establishments open to the
general public. The record also supports the con-
clusion that a community swimming poo! facility is a
major factor affecting the desirability and value of
residential property.

Moreover, once an individual has purchased mem-
bership in Little Hunting Park, its racially diserim-
inatory membership policy exercises considerable
leverage over his future transactions involving his own
home. The purchase is a considerable investment,
which enhances the value of his home and which he
will wish to protect. Sale of the home to a Negro, who

——— WGRLARION SCP MRA Gd aap hom Enon .
——E LLLP A GSS A

Dee Te

18

could not purchase the share, is distinctly less ad-
vantageous to him than sale to a white.’ Similarly,
since the corporation prohibits assignments to anyone
other than a tenant and requires annual payment of
assessments to keep memberships valid whether or not
they are used, rental of a home to a Negro is less
advantageous than to a white willing to pay the as.
sessment for the privilege of using the facilities,
Given the absence of alternative public facilities,
Negroes are discouraged from living in the commu-
ity. Any Negro who does purchase or rent such a
home must pay a “race tax” for the membership
rights he is forbidden to use. See Contract Buyers
League v. F & F Investment, 300 F. Supp. 210, 215-
216 (N.D. IL).

We conclude that the action of Little Hunting
Park constitutes a violation of § 1982 relative to Dr.
Freeman’s right to rent real property and enjoy the
use of the appurtenance privileges.

2. The share, as personal property, is covered by Section 1982.

In Jones the Court held that Section 1982 not only
proscribed racial discrimination denying the Negro
“the right to live wherever a white man ean live,”
but also conduct denying the Negro “the freedom to
buy whatever a white man can buy.’’ 392 U.S. at 448.
Apart from its intimate connection with real property,
a Little Hunting Park share is a chattel which has an
inherent value, is freely transferable among whites

® Little Hunting Park’s bylaws do not obligate it to repur-

chase membership shares except in cases of expulsion. A. 29,
195.

:

&
os

19

py sale or assignment,” and carries with it the privi-
. lege and land benefits incident to its possession, namely
membership in Little Hunting Park. As such, it has
all the attributes generally associated with personal
property and, we submit, should be regarded as per-
sonalty similar to a share of stock in a corporation.
See Hyde v. Woods, 94 U.S. 523; Page v. Edmunds,
187 U.S. 596; Baird v. Tyler, 185 Va. 601, 39 S.E.
9d 642, 645-646 ; ef. Travelers Health Association V.
Commonwealth, 188 Va. 877, 51 S.E. 2d 263, affirmed
on other grounds, 339 U.S. 643 ; Securities and Exchange
Commission Vv. Universal Service A ssociation, 106 F. 2d
932 (C.A. 7) ; Davenport v. United States, 260 F. 2d 591
(C.A. 9).

% Again, the fact that any transfer or assignment must be
“approved” by the Board of Directors before it becomes effec-
tive against the corporation does not, in the circumstances here,
impair the conclusion of free transferability. So far as the
record shows, denial of approval is used only to preserve the
racial homogeneity of Little Hunting Park. A device thus lim-
ited to what the statute forbids is clearly not to be considered

_ js determining whether or not the statute applies.

1 We do not consider dispositive the fact that under Virginia
law a Little Hunting Park share is deemed a security and, as such,
is rerarded as personal property (Code of Virginia, § 13-105
(1950), 13.1-211 (1964) ). In light of Jones, the federal courts will
be called upen to develop a body of law as to what, for example,
constitutes “property” under Section 1982 and “contracts” under
Section 1981. That determination should not be made subject to
the laws of the 50 State jurisdictions. Lrie R. Co. v. Tompkins,
304 U.S. 64, notwithstanding, it is clear that regarding ques-
tions within the area of federal legislative jurisdiction, the
federal courts are authorized to develop federal law, in order
to assure the necessary uniformity of disposition. £.¢.. Clear-
field Trust Co. vy. United States, 318 U.S. 363; Textile Workers
v. Lincoln Mills, 353 U.S. 448, 457; Howard v. Lyons, 360 U.S.
593, 597. See also United States v. Standard Oil Co., 3382 U.S.
301, 307.

20

For the reasons elaborated above, Little Hunting
Park’s refusal to approve Sullivan’s assignment to |
Freeman should be held to be violative of the statute, —
The right to purchase or lease is surely meaningless
unless the statute also reached the conduct of those

x
Y

i who have it within their power to prevent the Negro |
§ from enjoying the rights transferred. Otherwise, the
a + ° . :
3 Negro buys nothing. Unless one is prepared to assume

4 that Negroes will continue to buy even when apprised

:

not also the rights that generally run with it, Little
s Hunting Park will be able to subvert the purpose and
intention of the statute. Cf. Barrows v. Jackson, 346

that their money will purchase only a certificate and |

} U.S. 249.

:

¥ B. SUBSEQUENT ENACTMENT OF A PUBLIC ACCOMMODATIONS LAW

3 IN 1875 DOES NOT INDICATE THAT THE RIGHTS CLAIMED HERE

2 WERE BEYOND THE SCOPE OF THE 1866 LEGISLATION

q . ,

F What has been said sufficiently shows that Section 1 of

i the Civil Rights Act of 1866, on its face, reaches the dis-

; eriminatory policy of Little Hunting Park. A question
arises, however, whether the right to equal enjoyment of
facilities like those involved here must be deemed ex-

cepted from the coverage of the 1866 Act because that

matter is governed by special laws dealing with “places

of public accommodation.’’ We confront the issue be-

3 cause it seems to us the facilities of Little Hunting

Park do, indeed, serve the role of places of public
accommodation.

The argument that the Civil Rights Act of 1866
does not embrace places of public accommodation

A ad AR ae

21

would focus initially on the Civil Rights Act of 1875 “
(18 Stat. 335) held unconstitutional in the Civil
Rights Cases, 109 U.S. 3. The suggestion would be
that this roughly contemporaneous statute must be
looked to as exclusively regulating this subject.

1. At the outset, we stress that there can be little
doubt that the draftsmen of the 1866 Act believed
they were reaching places of public accommodation.
The 39th Congress, which passed the First Civil
Rights Act and framed the Fourteenth Amendment.
legislated against a background of common law rules
affording members of the public not suffering from
racial disability a legal right to use public convey-
ances and to obtain service in inns and hotels, See,
eg., Frank and Munro, The Original Understanding
of “Equal Protection of the Laws,’ 5€@ Colum. L.
Rev. 131, 149-153; Civil Rights Cases, 109 U.S. 3,
37-43 (Harlan J., dissenting) ; Bell v. Maryland, 378
U.S. 226, 295-299 (Goldberg, J., coneurring). Ac-
cordingly, it may be supposed that the declaration
of citizenship and of the right to purchase property
and to make and enforce contracts in Section 1 of the
1866 Act was meant, at the least, to confer on Negroes
the “same right’? to the services of public accom-
modations as white citizens had enjoyed. Compare

*%In speaking of the Civil Rights Act of 1875 we refer to
Sections 1 and 2, which dealt exclusively with places of public
accommodation. Section 4 of the Act, outlawing racial discrim-
ination in jury selection, was vindicated in Fax Parte Virginia,
100 U.S. 339, and is today codified as 18 U.S.C. 243. Sections
3 and 5 were jurisdictional provisions, presumably applicable to
the whole of the Act.

aa

22

Ferguson v. Gies, 82 Mich. 358, 365; Donnell v. State, —
48 Miss. 661. Indeed, opponents of the Freedmen’s
Bureau bill and the Civil Rights Act argued, without
contradiction, that those measures would afford Ne-
groes the right to equal treatment in places of publie
accommodation. See Cong. Globe, 39th Cong., 1st Sess,,
O41, 936; id. App. 70, 183 (Representatives Dawson
and Rousseau, Senator Davis); Jones v. Mayer Co,
supra, 392 U.S. at 433, 435 n. 68. Presumably, the pro-
ponents of the Act offered no denial because they ree-
ognized that this was, indeed, one inevitable conse-
quence of granting Negroes equality before the law,
even in the narrowest sense. See Coger v. North West.
Union Packet Co., 37 Towa 145 (1873) ; Flack, The
Adoption of the Fourteenth Amendment 11-54 (1908),
See also Supplemental Brief for the United States as
Amicus Curiae, Nos. 6, 9, 10, 12, and 60, O.T. 1963,
pp. 119-130.

This reach of the 1866 Act was made clearer by the
re-enactment of the measure in 1870, after the adop-
tion of the Fourteenth Amendment, which had con-
firmed the grant of citizenship to Negroes and ex-
plicitly guaranteed “equal protection of the laws.” See
Jones v. Mayer Co., supra, 392 U.S. at 436-437. That
understanding is reflected in the protracted congres-
sional debates on the proposals which culminated in
the Civil Rights Act of 1875, debates premised on the
same concept of “civil” rights which underlay the
declaration of rights in the 1866 Act. See Cong. Globe,
42d Cong., 2d Sess., pp. 381-383 (Senator Sumner) ;
Gressman, The Unhappy History of Civil Rights Leg-
islation, 50 Mich. L. Rev. 1323-1336. There was, in-

b:
4
]
3
3
i
4
4
3
j
:
é
F
|
3
4
E]
%
4
. 4
3

SAP Ta Neen

23

deed, specific reference to an existing duty to afford
Negroes equal treatment in places of public accom-
modation. As the Chairman of the House Judiciary
Committee, Representative Butler of Massachusetts
told his colleagues, the bill which ultimately was en-
acted as the Civil Rights Act of 1875 *—
* * * gives to no man any rights which he has
not by law now, unless some hostile State stat-
ute has been enacted against him. He has no
right by this bill except what * * * every
man * * * has by the common law and civil
law of the country.

2. The question remains: If freedom from racial
discrimination in places of public accommodation was
already a federal right—secured by the Civil Rights
Act of 1866, re-enacted in 1870—why then did Con-
gress address itself to the subject again in 1875?

We might simply offer the short answer given for
the Court by Mr. Justice Holmes in United States v.
Mosley, 238 U.S. 383, 387, rejecting the argument
that 18 U.S.C. 241 should not be read as reaching
interference with voting rights because they were
specifically dealt with elsewhere: ‘*Any overlapping
that there may have been well might have escaped
attention, or if noticed have been approved.”’ Redun-
daney is not rare in legislation of the period. See, e.g.,
the overlap of Sections 241 and 242 of the Criminal
Code as applied to rights protected by the Fourteenth
Amendment, noticed in United States v. Williams, 341
U.S. 70, 78 (opinion of Frankfurter, J.), 88 n. 2
(opinion of Douglas, J.), and condoned in United

82 Cong. Rec. 340.

ae ATS Mic Ae RA A Maile Naa De aR del na Case RRA MLR i edectch ONS Resa tens Sy weap ay

9

24

States v. Price, 383 U.S. 787, 800-806, 802 n. 11. This —
may be no more than another instance of duplication,
But there is another explanation for the Civil Rights
of 1875.

It is most likely, we think, that the 1875 law was
enacted not to afford a new guarantee of equality in
public accommodations, but to provide a more effec-
tive means, through federal enforcement, of vindicat-
ing rights which already had been recognized. The
1866 law provided no specific civil remedy for viola-
tion of the rights enumerated in Section 1, and its
criminal provisions were applicable only to conduct
done “under color of law.’’ See Section 2 of the Act,
now 18 U.S.C. 242. Negroes who were denied equal
treatment in places of public accommodation were
thus forced to seek redress under State law or through
the uncertain remedies which might be available in
the federal courts. See Jones v. Mayer Co., supra, 392
U.S. at 414 n. 13. The debates on the 1875 law dem-
onstrated an awareness of the need for more effective
enforcement of the right: ‘‘the remedy is inadequate
and too expensive, and involves too much loss of time
and patience to pursue it. When a man is traveling,
and far from home, it does not pay to sue every inn-
keeper who, or railroad company which, insults him
by unjust discrimination” (2 Cong. Rec. 4082 (Sen-
ator Pratt)).

The congressional response to this problem was the
dramatically enlarged federal role assumed by Sec-
tion 2 of the 1875 Act. Although earlier laws had con-
fined criminal penalties for interference with civil
rights (other than voting) to official conduct or con-

25

spiracies, Section 2 made it a federal offense (a mis-
demeanor) for any person, even acting privately and
alone, to deny equal treatment in public accommoda-
tions. And Section 3 directed federal officials to ini-
tiate prosecutions under the Act. Section 2 also pro-
_ yided for a fixed penalty of $500 which the aggrieved
person could recover from the violator in a civil
action exclusively in a federal court. In short, the
apparent purpose and effect of the Civil Rights Act
of 1875 was to focus particularly on one of the many
_ rights secured by the 1866 Act which was appropri-
ate for especially stringent federal enforcement. That
is, of course, a fully adequate basis for the enactment
of supplementary legislation.

C. THIS COURT'S DECISION IN THE CIVIL RIGHTS CASES 1S NOT A
VIABLE OBSTACLE TO OUR CONCLUSION

A question remains whether the decision in the
Civil Rights Cases, 109 U.S. 3, does not foreclose our
conclusion that the Civil Rights Act of 1866 outlaws
racial discrimination in places of public accommoda-
tions. There are two possible difficulties: the first
premised on the holding that the Act of 1875 was un-
constitutional; the second on the distinction drawn in
the opinion between the 1875 Act and the Civil Rights
Act of 1866.

1. Insofar as the Civil Rights Cases denied the
power of Congress under the Thirteenth and Four-
teenth Amendments to reach racial discrimination in
privately owned places of public accommodation, we
think it plain that the authority of that ruling has
been eroded by later decisions. The underlying premise

;
j
j
3

a
ne Nip Tea EER

Dis aa Iban be onal

SHS?

* c.

of the Fourteenth Amendment holding in the Ciyjj
Rights Cases—that legislation enforcing the Equal
Protection Clause can only reach discriminatory cop.
duct by persons invoking the shield of State law—was
rejected by a majority of the Court in United States
Vv. Guest, 383 U.S. 745, 762 (Clark, J., concurring),
781-784 (opinion of Brennan, J.). But, for present
purposes, it is enough to notice that the narrow view |
taken in the Civil Rights Cases with respect to con-—
gressional power under the Thirteenth Amendment js
inconsistent with Jones v. Mayer Co., su pra. |
We recognize that the Court in Jones did not, in
terms, overrule the Thirteenth Amendment holding
of the Civil Rights Cases, there being no occasion to
confront the ruling directly. See 392 U.S. at 441 1,
78. But the Court did expressly hold that Section 2
of the Thirteenth Amendment authorizes legislation
which does more than merely restore legal capacity
to former slaves. Thus, it was stated that “Congress
has the power under the Thirteenth Amendment ra-
tionally to determine what are the badges and the
incidents of slavery, and the authority to translate
that determination into effective legislation” (392
U.S. at 440). Accordingly, the Court expressly over-
ruled Hodges vy. United States, 203 U.S. 1, a decision
holding—on the authority of the Civil Rights Cases—
that Section 1981 could not validly bar racial dis-
crimination affecting a contract of employment (392
U.S. at 441-443 n. 78). And, in language fully appli-
cable here, the Court broadly held (392 U.S. at 443):

Negro citizens North and South, who saw in
the Thirteenth Amendment a promise of free-

Ny ae OG St

27

dom—freedom to “go and come at pleasure”
and to “buy and sell when they please”—would
be left with ‘‘a mere paper guarantee” if Con-
gress were powerless to assure that a dollar in
the hands of a Negro will purchase the same
thing as a dollar in the hands of a white man.
At the very least, the freedom that Congress is
empowered to secure under the Thirteenth
Amendment includes the freedom to buy what-
ever a white man can buy, the right to live
wherever a white man can live. * * * [Notes
omitted. |
The thrust of the Jones opinion, we submit, is that
it is not “running the slavery argument into the
ground”—as the majority in the Civil Rights Cases
supposed (109 U.S. at 24)—to concede congressional
power to attempt to eradicate the vestiges of the
slave system wherever they persist in the public life
of the community. Whatever the validity in 1883 of
viewing admission to places of public accommodations
as a mere matter of “social rights’? (109 U.S. at 22)
and characterizing the discriminatory exclusion by
the proprietor as involving only a discretionary deci-
sion “as to the guests he will entertain” (109 U.S. at
24), that approach does not conform to the present
reality. Cf. the opinion of Mr. Justice Douglas, con-
curring, in Bell v. Maryland, 378 U.S. 226, 245-246,
952-283. In light of the old common law obligation,
imposed on at least some operators of public accom-
modations, it is difficult to appreciate that the privilege
of obtaining entry and service without arbitrary dis-
crimination was ever a mere “social” matter. But, at
all events, it is today more properly deemed a “civil

Teas ee

3 A a YS ee ee
ee Oe S

|

_ an

28

right.” Cf. Heart of Atlanta Motel vy, United States,
379 US. 241, 251. In stm, we believe the constity.
tional power of Congress under the Thirteent)
Amendment to reach racial discrimination in modery
places of public accommodations is no longer open to
doubt.

2. We have already elaborated our view that the
Congress of 1866 meant to outlaw the kind of dlis-
crimination revealed by this record. Kyen ASSUMing
the constitutionality of sueh an effort, however, the
Civil Rights Cases may be invoked as apparently
reaching the opposite conclusion, as a matter of stat-
utory construction,

The objection, once again, is largely answered by
the decision in Jones vy. Mayer Co. Insofar as the pre-
vailing opinion in the Civil Rights Cases characterizes
the Civil Rights Act of 1866—in contrast to the Act
of 1875—as merely removing legal ‘disabilities’? (co
109 U.S. at 22), without in any way controlling the
freedom of sellers to discriminate on racial grounds,
that view has been squarely rejeeted by the Court.
F.g., 392 U.S. at 418-419, 436. We add only that,
assiming the 1866 Act ean properly be read as im-
pliedly exempting certain personal transactions, and
assuming further there was once a basis for consider-
ing a right of access to a place of recreation as out-
side the scope of the Act, present circumstances would
now justify treating such a transaction as covered,

D. THE PUBLIC ACCOMMODATIONS LAW OF 1964 DOES NOT AFFINT
THE COVERAGE OF THE 1866 ACT

One final objection suggest itself: that enactment
in 1964 of a Publie Accommodations Law as Title I]

al

‘

4
}
4
al
£.

29

of the Civil Rights Act of that year (42 U.S.C, 2000a
et seq.), iN some way supersedes the provisions of the
1866 Act insofar as they deal with the same subject
matter. Here, too, Jones vy. Mayer Co. indicates the
answer by rejecting a comparable argument premised
on an interpretation of the Fair Housing Title of the
Civil Rights Act of 1968 (42 U.S.C. 3601 ef seq.) as
repealing or qualifying the “property’’ provision of
the 1866 statute.

1, Of course, the understanding of the legislators of
1964 as to the intent of their predecessors a century
earlier is only very remotely relevant. Certainly, it
cannot override the clear indications given in 1866 and
in 1875 that the original Civil Rights Act reached
places of public accommodations. Accordingly, just as
the Court did not look to the drafters of the Fair
Housing Law of 1968 to determine the scope of the
1866 Act with reference to the issues before it in Jones,
here the Court’s construction of the Act should not be
affected by the views prevailing in the 88th Congress.
Nor is it even important to know what those views
were: whether one assumes that the Act’s full scope
was or was not appreciated in 1964, it is clear that
Title IT of the Civil Rights Act of that year was
not intended to repeal or supersede or amend the
old statute.

2. We note first—as the Court did in Jones (392
U.S, at 413-417)—that there are substantial differ-
ences between the new laws and the old. For example,
Title II of the 1964 Act prohibits discrimination on
the basis of ‘‘race, color, religion, or national origin’’

a0

(Seetion 2OL(n)), while the 1866 Aet presumably ‘ip
plies only to race or color diserimination. Althongh
the 1866 Aet, on its face, prohibits all racially moti.
vated denials of the rights it protects, Tithe TI Applies
only to certain types of establishments having some
Hess With interstate commeree CSeetions ZOE),
2Z01Ce)), The T8660 Aet is eonehed in deelaratory
forms, without reference fo any particular mode
of enforcement, whereas Tithe TE embodies a povific
remedy provision (Seetion 204 (1) ), Significantly, the
new law-—unlike the old expressly provides for op.
foreement at the instanee of the Attorney Ceneral
(Section 206), and the 1964 Act also ereated a Com.
munity Relations Service to assist in the private set.
tlement of disputes relating: to diseriminatory prae-
tiees (Tithe X, Seetions 1001 1004, 12 TLS.C, 2000¢
2000¢-3) to which the courts may refer eases brought
under ‘Tithe Tf for the purpose of achieving voluntary
compliance (Section 204(d)).

In many respeets the differences are comparable
to those between the 1866 Act and the 1968 housing
law whieh the Court noticed in Jones. Here, too, the
old law is “a general statute applicable only to racial
discrimination * * * and enforceable only by pri-
Vate parties acting on their own initiative,” while
the new legislation is a “detailed” and specialized
enactment “enforceable by a complete arsenal of fed-
eral authority” (392 U.S. at 417). Accordingly, if
we assume that the Congress of 1964 recognized the
Vitality and applicability of the Civil Rights Act of
Is66—an assumption apparently indulged by the
Court in Jones with respect to the drafters of the

Pete yk > Ses ee tera eT be.

31

1968 housing Jaw--Tithe TL can properly be viewed
as special supplementary legislation, replacing the
nullified Act of 1875, but leaving the 1666 Aet un-
touched.
UY Ttomay be objected that our conclusion is sonnd
| only insefar as it focuses on those provisions of Tithe
fl which add substantive guarantees or remedial
machinery and ignores the fact that the new law in

vme respects relrenches on the broad coverage of
the 1866 Act. The answer is that, confronted with
the same sitiation with respect to the 196% housing
law, the Court in Jones did not on that account find
a pro tanto repeal; the same result is compelled here.

There are of course many possible explanations
for the Jimitations of the 1964 Act. Some were merely
responsive to the Commerce Clause approach of the
legislation and then prevailing constitutional doubts
concerning the seope of congressional power under
the Thirteenth and Fourteenth Amendments. Most
likely, the full reach of the 1866 Act in this area was
not then appreciated.” But it does not follow that
the Act repealed sub silentio, On the contrary, Title
IT expressly preserves pre-existing rights wider
Federal Jaw and that provision must of course be
honored whether or not it was then recognized that

442 U.S.C. 1981 and 19%2 were briefly noted in the hearings
on the Civil Rights Act as at least prohibiting State-sanctioned
diserimination in places of public accommodation ( Hearing. o
S. 1732 before the Senate Committee on Commerce, <8th Cong.
It Sess., p. 154 (Senator Prouty and Attorney General Ken-
nedy)). It does not appear, however, that Congress understood
those infrequently-used statutes to have the reach which ha-
been confirmed by this Court’s construction in Jones,

ite

—_

the 1866 Act was operative with respect to public
accommodations. Cf. Jones y. Mayer, supra, 392 Us
at 437.
4. The savings clause is as follows (Section 207()
of the Act, 42 U.S.C. 2000a-6(b)) :
* * * [Nothing in this title shall preclude any
individual or any State or local agency from
asserting any right based on any other Federal
or State law not inconsistent with this title,
including any statute or ordinance requiring
nondiscrimination in publie establishments or
accommodations, or from pursuing any remedy,
civil or criminal, which may be available for
the vindication or enforcement of such right.
It will be noticed that only rights under laws “not |
inconsistent” with Title IT remain enforceable, That |
is no obstacle here, however. To the extent that the
1866 Act prohibits racial discrimination by establish- |
ments which are not covered by Title IT, it is not |
‘inconsistent’? with the 1964 Act in the ordinary
sense that it contradicts the basic purpose of the new |
law; it obviously is designed to vindicate the same
right. Moreover, the reference to State statutes and
local ordinances makes it clear that a law with a more
senerous coverage was not “‘inconsistent’’ in the sense
used here. For it goes without saying that Congress
did not intend to invalidate State provisions which
reach places of public accommodation left unregulated
hy the new federal law. It would be turning the stat-
ute on its head to read into it a purpose to confer on
owners of non-covered establishments a federal right
to practice racial discrimination, notwithstanding local
legislation prohibiting it.

32

-

The conclusion that the Civil Rights Act of 1866,
which implements the Thirteenth Amendment, was
repealed insofar as it applies to establishments not
covered under Title II can rest only on the premise
that Congress deliberately determined in 1964 that
the Commerce Clause was to be the exclusive basis
for all federal regulation in respect to racial dis-
crimination in public accommodations. There is no
evidence of any such determination. Cf. United States
v. Johnson, 390 U.S. 563, 566-567." Nor is there any
other indication that Congress meant to repeal the
Civil Rights Act of 1866 in this respect. The result
is that the 1866 Act stands unimpaired.

33

II

PETITIONER SULLIVAN HAS STANDING TO SEEK RELIEF
UNDER THE STATUTE IN CONSEQUENCE OF THE INJURIES
HE SUFFERED IN OBEYING IT

We submit that petitioner Sullivan’s standing to
maintain this action is governed by Barrows v. Jack-
son, 346 U.S. 249. In that case a white seller of real
estate was sued by co-covenantors under a racially
restrictive covenant for damages they alleged to have
been caused by her breach of the covenant through
sale to a Negro. She attacked the resulting damage
judgment against her as state action enforcing the
restrictive covenant, and, therefore, denying equal

* We note that our interpretation of Section 207(b), since it
relates to the enforcement by individuals of rights not specifi-
cally provided by Title II, is also fully consistent with the posi-

tion taken in the dissenting opinion in United States v. John-
son, see 390 U.S. at 568 n. 1.

oe cae |

34

protection of the laws to Negroes in violation of the
Fourteenth Amendment. This Court was required to
decide, inter alia, whether the seller had standing to
assert that claim, since the right apparently ran only
to a third party, the Negro purchaser. The holding
was that she did. The Court found the direct pocket.
hook injury to her, and the necessary effect. of ay
award of damages in giving Vitality to the restrictive
covenant through the agency of the state, together
sufficient to support her claim of another's right.

Petitioner Sullivan’s right to rely on the statute |
in this ease is a fortiori. The statute involved is not |

limited in terms to apply to non-white citizens, nor

does it confer protection solely on the person directly
discriminated against. This Court has acted under it
to strike down a zoning ordinanee on the ground,
inter alia, that it offended “the civil right of a white
man to dispose of his property if he saw fit to do so to
a person of color.” Buchanan vy. Warley, 245 U.S. 60, 81,
Here, as the Court emphasized was not the case in
Barrows, the private action involved in refusing to
honor the assignment was itself illegal. To discourage
such activity, relief should be available to all persons
injured by it, or as a consequence of their efforts to
resist it. A contrary holding would put an wnfair
burden on the white man who seeks to deal with the
Negro in conformity to the statutory command, and
ultimately impede Negroes’ ability to enforce their
rights in the marketplace.

35
Lil

PETITIONERS ARE ENTITLED TO COMPENSATORY DAMAGES
AS RELIEF UNDER SECTION 1982

The provisions of Section 1 of the Civil Rights
Aet of 1866 are couched in declaratory terms, stating
no explicit method of enforcement. To the extent in-
- junctive relief on the complaints is still appropriate,
Jones makes clear that it is within the authority of a
federal court to grant it, 392 U.S. at 414 n. 13; since
that is an established federal remedy, it is available in
any state court where protection of the federal right
is sought, if that court is empowered to grant injune-
tive relief generally. See Code of Virginia « 8-610
(1957). Petitioner Freeman, however, limited his
request for injunctive relief to his own particular cir-
cumstances (A. 18-19). Since he is no longer pos-
sessed of the premises, that request now appears to
he moot. It is thus necessary for the Court to reach a
second question which it put aside in Jones, whether
compensatory damages may be had for violation of
the rights guaranteed by the Act.’ 392 U.S. at 414-415
n. 14.

We think it plain that compensatory damages are
available. As a general rule, federal district courts
have jurisdiction over any action to “recover damages
or to secure equitable or other relief under any Act
of Congress providing for the protection of civil

* Here, as in Jones, any question of punitive damages under
the statute is foreclosed: the action complained of predated by

several years the interpretation of the statute announced in
Jones.

ie... AP REO Doane neg eraeeeseo
: . Soot RA Aa Seer
< 2 =e Sak : :

a Gh lia a

. 7

rights,’’ 28 U.S.C. 1343(4). While this Jurisdictions)
provision does not create a damage remedy, it ind).
cates that Congress anticipated such awards would
be made under the civil rights acts generally. Further
courts have “the power to afford all remedies neces.
sary to the vindication of federal substantive rights
defined in statutory and constitutional provisions ¢y-
cept where Congress has explicitly indicated that suc
remedy is not available.” Brewer y. Ho.rie School
District No. 46, 288 F.2d 91. 98 (C.A. 8); Bell y
Hood, 327 U.S. 678, 684; see also Texas d: N. O. RB. }
Co. v. Ry. Clerks, 281 U.S. 548, 569-570: Porter |
Warner Co., 328 U.S. 395, 398; Mitchell y. DeMariy |
Jewelry, 361 U.S. 288, 291-292: State of Alabama y.
United States, 304 F.2d 583, 590-591 (C.A. 5), af.
firmed, 371 U.S. 37; J. I. Case Co. v. Borak, 377 US.
426, 433. Were the judicial responsibility viewed
otherwise, the courts would “impute to Congress a
futility inconsistent with the great design of this legis-
lation.” United States vy. Republic Stecl Corp., 382
U.S. 482, 492.

In a word, the existence of the statutory right in-
plies the existence of all necessary remedies. Teas ¢
N.O.R. Co. v. Ry. Clerks, supra, 281 U.S. at 569-570,
Thus, if a statute proscribes specified acts and those
acts are nonetheless committed, this Court’s decisions
support the view that the party injured shall have
available all recognized avenues of relief in order that
he be made whole. As this Court explained in T'eras &
Pacific Ry. Co. v. Rigsby, 241 U.S. 33, 39:

A disregard of the command of the statute
is a wrongful act, and where it results in dam-

37

age to one of the class for whose especial bene-
fit the statute was enacted, the right to recover
the damages from the party in default is im-
plied, according to a doctrine of the common
law * * *, in these words: ‘‘So, in every case,
where a statute enacts, or prohibits a thing for
the benefit of a person, he shall have a remedy
upon the same statute for the thing enacted for
his advantage, or for the recompense of a wrong
done to him contrary to the said law.’’”

And see 42 U.S.C. 1988.

Both for purposes of realistically compensating the
Negro for any harm done, and for purposes of deter-
ring disobedience of the law, this Court should hold
that damages are recoverable. We suggest that while
the rules governing damage awards under these provi-
sions must be federal rules, not dependent upon the
laws of the various states, see n. 11 supra, p. 19, the
matter should be left for initial resolution to the trial
court. That court should, however, be instructed to
consider the matter within the proper context, 1.e.,
within the context of the overall statutory purpose,
and with an eye to fully vindicating the federally pro-
tected rights without reference to the limitations or
peculiarities of Virginia law.

“In Rigsby the Court held that injury suffered as the result
of the violation of a criminal statute could be redressed in
civil, injunctive proceedings. Accord, J. 7. Case Co. v. Borak,
supra. See also Wyandotte Co. v. United States, 389 U.S. 191,
202. Similarly, the Court has held that when a statute provides
that damage awards to injured parties will be available for
violation of the law, the richt of such persons to seek equitable,

injunctive relief is implied. Deckert vy. Independence Shaves
Corp., 311 U.S. 282.

SD eae oe ee Pee > . 7 m

38

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, we urge that the judemer |
be reversed anc the ease remanded to the state cour
for the entry of an order granting appropriate relic
the-casetemanded_to the appropriatecourt. for th:

Erwin N. Grisworp,

PEER NEN RIS Gil SER EY Tne Y

; Solicitor Genera, |
; JERRIS LEONARD, :
4 Assistant Attorney General. |
; Louts F. CLarporye, :
; Perer L. Srravss, ‘
: JOsEPH J. CoNNOLLY,
4 Assistants to the Solicitor General,
, Gary J. GREENBERG,
7 Attorney.
g SrPTEMBER 1969.
r
:

ton

4
3
4
s
4
¥
:

U.S. GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFICE: 1969

| hee et aa NEE ee tO OR a

el a eh Ge ge Ee ie ee oe ee ee ee

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386413_0135%3A07. Public record. Not legal advice.
