# Amicus Curiae Brief — Jenkins v. Delaware

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386413_0104%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1969
- **Citation:** 395 U.S. 213

## Text

ae "Supreme Court nf the Ruited Sites”

a _ OCTOBER, TERM, 1968 : ¢

SS eee teat es “Ne. 748 -

=)

oe * ° Tuornton A. JENKINS,

: | against e -

a ; a F s
Tre State or DELAWARE,

_Reipondend

On Warr OF CERTIORARI ¥o. THE SUPREME Ones? OF THE
Stare OF DELAWARE mod

~

—— -

BRIEF OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL OF ‘THE |
— OF NEW YORK AS a — sis

3 = . ret

Seen ¢ Sint Louis J. LerKow!Tz

& a - Attorney General of the

, . ae sie State of New York :
. Office & P. O. Address . ous
ee 80 Centre Street _

a New York, New York 10013
- SAMUEL A. ‘Himsnowrrz,
.. First. Assistant gh aa General

Amy JuvILER ~'~ Be re bee
_ Assistant ‘Afforiey General ; ;
of Counsel -

_—— 2 a

—_—_ . ——~— - °
Ee 249 Press of Fremont Payne, Ins., 80 Washington St., N. Y.—BOwling Green 9-8153

é

-
.
. .
5 . .
- e 7
oo
a t- ‘
‘
. .
° -
' ‘
- .
‘
e-.. ,
e .
7 r 4
* 7
»/ .
.
2
.
°
.
o-
A
: ‘
-
Pa .
.
‘ 27
: .
w .
.
.
‘
. °
.
‘
. ‘ *
.
rare i at a ti

INDEX
| | * PAGE
is cae ie aciah ns Sea aa a ey oA eu
sere . os Gr ¥ :
Interest of Amicus peteteeeeteeeeeeeeteeeeeeetes

ArcuMent—The strict sii of Miranda should —
not be applied to retrials in cases originally. tried

before June 13, SOE isk ss kink. thitteekvueks § O:
Conclusion ........... eeteesces POE rere Se
, ' Cases
Sinliae ¥. United Blaites, 381 F. 2a 37 (9th Cir.
Bere re ore wb eslecccrcesenece 4, 12, 15
Angelet:y. Fay, 381 U. S.. 643 es ceuwe pivecsehcaeke
Beck v. State, 235 N. E. 2d 699 (Sup. Ct. Tad. 1968) . : 3
Berger v. California ............066. penee ete eeees . 6
Bloom v. Ilimois, 391 U. 8. 194 ...2...... citi a 38

Boone v. State, 3 Md. A. 11, 237 A. 2d 787 (Ct. of |
_ Spec. App. Md. 1968), cert. dented ..:. .2, 7, 8,10, 12, 16

Bruton v. United States, 391 U.S.198 .......i.000.. 18
Carter v. Eyman, 281 ¥. Supp. 776 (D. Ariz. 1968) . 17 ay
Creech v. Commonwealth, 412 S. W. 2d 245 (Ct. —

Ky. 1967)... josle PR eee eee AAG 3,15
Dell v. ‘aie 231 N. BE. 2d 522. (Sup. Ct. Ind.

1967). .. seeeelenteeeereeazerteees et 11 8,9 12, 16
DeStéfanmo v.: Woods, Oe, MA 8 sc sass. 6
Duncan v. Louisiana, 391 U. OE Sree a ere 6
Escobedo v. I8nois, 378 U. Ss. 478 2 ee .-1, 2, 4, 6, 7,8 118.9

erties eles eee ee Ce ee ee ee ea ee” ee en SNe PAE SOA Ns oe Coe FL one a On ed eS OP eee ee a

Lo

r oak i = PAGE
Puller x. Alesba, 393 U.S. eee of ee
iGibson v. United States, 363 . F. 2d 146,.(5th ae

SR Sr ek a as cosa sa ves 4, 13, 15,18
Gilbert v. California, 388 U. S. 268. ....5.... 00.000: 6,17
Griffin v. California, 380 U. S. 609 jar nestedonrenn | 6.

ae a i v.,California, No. 750 OT 1968 (37 L. W..

de Te Dackoon, 64. Cal. 34 600. 39:Cal. Rptr. 220, 393 |
-P, 24 420:(Sup. Ct. Cal. 1964 ............ aces 18
Jackson v. Denno, 378 U.S. 368 ..!...:..0645 ...11,17, 18

Jenkins v. State, 230 A. 2d 262 (Sup. Ct. Del. 1967) .2,13,15-
Jenks v. State, 240 A. 2d 146 (Sup. Ct. Del. 1968) .. 2,15

Johnson y. New Jersey, 384 U: 8. 719 eabues 1, 4,5, 6, 7, 8

7 9,i1, 14, 17,19

Le orida, 392 U. S. 378 ..... catecacmeras Ae

Pa at Walker; 381 U. S. 618 .......... .. 4,6, 8,14

In Re Lopez, 62. ‘A. C. 380, 42 Cal. tote. 188, 398, P.. ete

_ 24.380, 383 (Sup. Of: Cal, 1908) 560. ee, wont 717
. Mapp v..Ohio, 367 U. S., 643. ick bak 6 Seana 5

ieiomade Arizona, 384°U. S, 436 ..1,2,3,4,5,6, 789,10,"
11, 12, 14, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20 -

. Weseer v. " Bouith. Carolina, 368. F. 24 458 (4th Cir.

ODED si 5 :
: F p
=
7
/ » «
€ }
. *
" .
e ° . e . * ‘
. 4
.
.
. . ® .
. ec: Ah .
yh ; - a ‘

| Ine i
‘Supreme Court of the uited States
_ OCTOBER TERM, 1968 Ant °
We mi oa ae
95 $ paar {3
| Tuoawron A. Jewxrhs,
7 ees Petitioner,
4 : against
~ _ , Tae Srare or DzLAwans, ii ea

— Ow Warr or Cerrionaat ‘To THE SUPREME Count OF THE _
Stave or DELAWARE

A.
_

BRIEF OF THE ATTORNEY.GENERAL OF THE
STATE OF NEW YORK AS AMICUS CURIAE |

Question Presented fi

Should the standards of Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U..S..
436 and Escobedo v. Illimois, 378 U.S. 478 be retrospectively
applied on .retrials to the admission of voluntary’ confes-.
sions exempt from those standards’ — “Johnson v. New
Jersey, 384 U. S. 719 . :

*

‘Diy aos —- Amicus 3
The. granting of ouiiansl. Yin this case ie before

_ the Court thé-question of whether the admissibility of vol- °
- untary, confessions validly introduced at trial. before June

‘te

@

; : a a a pe: Po
"18, 1966, the date of. this Court's decision is’ Mifanda,

should be affected by the explicit standards set forth in
, Hint Optaton 12 Sha ietenmemt te: rateied thacentter:

"As chief law enforcement officer for the State, the New.
York Attorney General is. concerned with the effect which
an adverse decision ‘would have upon a substantial hum-

ber of criminal convictions. New. York is one of the seven

states** whose highest court has held that the standards

-of Miranda do not govern th on enacts of _Couteasions :
in such cases. |

Po

© The ay ekki militess tttiinds Arizona, 384
U.S. 46 eed Eo edo v. Illinois, 378 U. S. 478 to retrials after

june 13, 1966 and June 22, 1964, respectively, present the same
‘Because

the decision in Miranda is so much broader in |
pre _we will refer to the general question as the applicability
of Miranda.
" ** The States whose courts have so held are as follows:

Delaware: Jenkins v. State, 29 A. 2d 262 (Sup. Ct. Del
* 1967); Tenbins v. State, 240 A. 24 146 (Sup. Ct
. Del. 240 A. 24146).

_ , Tiinels: People v.'Worley, 37 Ul. 2d 439, 227 N. E. 2d

ig? cot 5 AMO MD LE NOY Sore ye ie cma.
Maryland: - Boome v, State,3 Md. A. 11, 237 A. 2d 787 (Ct.

| of Spec. App; Md. 1968), cert. denied. :
New Jersey: - State v. Vigliano, 50 N. J. 51, 232 A. 2d. 129
(Sup. Gt. N. J, 1967).
New York: People v. Sayers, 22 N. Y. 24 571, 240 N. E. a
= $40) (Ct. App. N.Y, 1968).

_ North’ Carolina : site Branch, 1 N. C. App. 278, 16'S. E. 24

: N, rh ett State v. Lewis” 1,
Nc Aon. , 161 S, E, 28 87 (Ge Aap

Tennessee : Mop v. State, 426 S. W. 24 509) Sup. Ct.

968) ; Patten.v. State, 426 S. a 503
(hen Ct. enn. 1968).

eam, hr pe rebmarpe They are as

‘follows: =e

Alabama: tv S20 se: 24 Bas (mA
, ee continued on following page)

ae ; eg By SR Ss ee Ee

' [lies Chip. Othe -nhakn omit liken, iret ‘ele tn: de “
vision, the New. York cou) have relied on the: nan- T
applicability of Miranda in’ i ,
dey eel dona : ret See mils, be dons

many” reversals *< of /criminal | sodvicsiona: satliedeite ae
sitive to the rights of defendants 4 c

a —

J (Footnote continued from previous ee

Arizona: State v. Brock, 101 Ariz, 168, 416 P. 2d Ol
(Sup. Ct Ariz. 1966). )

California: People v. Doherty, 59 Cal. Rptr. 857, 429 P: 24

3 177 .( Sup. Ct. Cal. 1967); People v. Collins, 66.
pa i Eee Cal. 497, 438. P.. 33 (Sup. Ct, Cal. In
“st Bank 1968); but see People v. Jockson, © Cal.
‘Rg 208, 28 Sp, Can Bk

Hawaii: State v, Ryis, 49 Ham, 504. 421 P. 2d 305 (Sup.
Indiana : 2d 522 ( » Ct. “Ind.

; : v, State; 23 N, E.28 (Sup. Ct

. Kansas: Kat. 279, 416 P. 24 290

Kintiscky: ©. ‘Creéch v,-Commoteesith, 412 5. W. 24 245 (ce
; 2 App, Ky. 1967). |.
Wisconsin: ‘State y. Shoffner, 31 Wis. 24 412, 143 N. W. 24:
"| 458. (Sup. Ct. Wis, 1967). a
The ines got: bein, cotiideréd ‘ia @ny Reported. case in
Rhode Isl: —— in reversing a conviction on other grounds
the ‘Court stated that it did not reach the question of whether
Mirondo epplied oo retrial, but indicated that. it. m so hold, ©
State v.. Bradshaw, 221 A. 24 815, 817.n. 1 (Sup. Ct. R. 1. 1966).

' Five Circuit .Courts of Appeals have held that’-Miranda does
_ apply on retrial ‘They-are as follows: / f

Third Circuit: « Virgin Islands v. Lovell, 378 F: 2d 799 (3rd Cir. -
* 1967); also +see United States e rel. Pierce V. *-

peas continued on ollowing page)

Thus, in New York a viiiastdameibe number of. cases - -would
be directly affected by this Court’s reversal * the deci-
sion of the Delaware Supreme: Court. ;

The New York Attorney General has eppasied cities as: -
counsel or“amicus in several of tlie cases dealing with the ap-
plicability to earlier convictions of newly developed. rules
enunciated by this Court. Linkletter v. Walker, 381 U. &2
618; Angelet v. Fay, 381 U. S. 643; Johnson vy. New Jersey,
394 U. S. 7194 Stovall v. Denno, 388 U. S.. 293.° Also see:
People v. MoQueen, 18 N. Y. 2d 337, 274 N.Y.S. 2d 88677.
21 N; E. 2d°550 (1966) in which the Court of Appeals
_ held: that it would not give retrospective application to.

- this Court’s ‘decisions in Miranda and. Escobedo. - Con-

sistent with our position in-those cages, we urge in this:
_ ‘brief that the Court adhere to its eed in Johnson.
v. New Jersey not to disturb prior convictions in light
’ of the specific standards newly enunciated in Miranda and —

not to require that those standards be applied-to past con-

Victions merely because a retrial is ordered. This brief is
limited to that question and does not deal with the specific
facts of the instant case or the Fourth Amendment issue
presented therein.

-

es (Footnote continued from previous poge )

.. © Pinto, 259 F. Supp. 729 (D.C.N.J. 1966), aff'd
CT per curiam 374 F OA 472 (3rd Cir. 1967) rev’d
%, 389 U. S. 31 (1967) ; but see Vigliano v. sh tesa

-

i; «390 F. 2d 55 (3rd Cir. 1968).

+ -, Fourth Circuit: Moorer v. South Carolina, 368 F. 2d. 458 eal

; . Cir. 1968),, ..
Fifth Circui * Gibson v. United States, 363 F.2d 146 (5th Cie.
. _ ) «
Seventh Circuit oa States v. Phillips, 401 F. 2d 301 (7th Gir!
$ )

Ninth Circuit: Amsler v. United States, 381 F.-2d 37 (otnaRir.
| 388 F. 2d 675, (9th Cir. 1968).

is)

' 1967 ) United States ex rel. Walker v.: “Young, °

‘
a

- Se ee

ee

os s .
— ee — . . — = 2 as OE

ms

* 3

2g + ARGUMENT eee ae
The dtstct stendonds: of Miieenda cbvald unt be a: 3

_ plied to retrials i in cases originally tried before@June
13,1966.

In limitizig the effect of Miranda v. SEG 384 U. S.
436 to cases whose trials began after June 13, 1966 this
“Court created a finite identifiable group of confessions
whose admissibility was to be determined ‘by ‘‘meticulous”’
(Johnson v. New Jersey, 384 U. S. 719, 730), standards of .
-voluntariness, but not -by. Miranda’s . positive regulations .
. for in-custody interrogation: -As of June. 13,. 1966 any
defendant, defense lawyer, prosecutor or judge eould de- .
termine whether the admissibility of a confession would
be judged by the standards of Miranda or on voluntariness
: © alone. The discrete group of@confessions exempt from”
» ‘Miranda were frozen. as of June 13. .

Petitioner. J enkins, whose trial’ began on J anuary 10,
1966, knew after reading Johnson v. New Jersey that his -
‘confession was to be judged-on the basis of voluntariness.
To disturb that position would cfeate unnecessary con-
fusion in the administration of justice and violate the.
very purpose of this Court’s de¥jsion in Johnson v. New
Jerseyy supra. That purpose ‘was to limit the burden
ereated by ‘the revolutionary standards in Miranda on
the administration of justice and on law enforcement offi-
cers who had justly relied on previous delineations of con-

_ stitutional requirements. Few if any jurisdictions had fully’
met these standards previously. Johnson v. New Jersey,
supra at 731. The purpose of Miranda, itself, was to set.
‘minimum constitutional standards for in-custody interroga-
tion. Obviously, this decision looked to vei future rather

than to the past. ;

. The confession which is the subject m the instant case
was made on March 17, 1965. The case of which it is a
. part was first investigated and put before the jury begin-

a

»

Re i a :

ning on. January 10, 1966. In Johnson v. New: Jersey,
supra, this Court specifically held that the admissibility of
Jenkins’ confession at trial.was to be judged on the basis
of voluntariness:alone. Application of the Miranda rule
cannot cHange the interrogation which has already oc-

curred nor expand the inyestigation to produce other evi- _
dence as a substitute for tthe allegedly invalid confession.

_- The reasons which prompted this Court to limit. retro-

active application of several pf. its recent decisions* re-_

quires those limitations be absolute and not subject to
change. In the present era of revolution in the criminal
law it would discourage state courts and lower federal

_ courts from continuing to expand concepts of fairness to.

criminal defendanits if they knew that reversal of a case
would further jeopardize the prosecution. This is not
merely an academic observation, for most of the courts
which have dealt with the applicability of Miranda on
retrial have been aware of the effect of their decisions on
the future prosecution of the defendant, since they pre-

dicted the problem on the reversal of the original trial —

_. rather than on the appeal from ‘retrial. Of the 25 cases

= ‘
rw

which have dealt with: the issue of whether Miranda

ought to apply on retrials, that question was decided by .

the jurisdiction before rétrial in 20) In two of those cases
the decision 0f whether to apply Miranda was made at the

request of the prosecutor. People v. Worley, supra; Qrnith —

v. State, swpra. In one case the decision was made after a

ms pre-retrial mption to suppress the confession. People-v. Say-

. ~

_.. * Linkletter v. Walker, 381 U. S. 618 (limiting: the: efféct of

.Mapp v. Ohio, 367 U. S. 643); Tehan v. Shott, 382 U. S. 406 -

(limiting the effect of Griffin v. California, 380 U. S. 609) ; John-
son Vv. New Jersey, 384 U. S. 719 (limiting the effect of Miranda

v. Arizona, 384'U. S. 436 and Escobedo v. Illinois, 378 U. S. 478);

Stovall v. Denno, 388 U. S. 293 (limiting the effect of United
States v. Wade, 388°U. S. 218 and Gilbert v California, 388 U. S.
263) ; DeStefano v. Woods, 392 U. S. 631 (limiting the. effect of
Duncan v. Louisiana, 391_U. S. 145 and Bloom v. Illinois, 391
U. S: 194) ; Fuller v. Alaska, 393 U.S.-80 (limiting the effect of
Lee v. Florida, 392 U.S. 378. .

sede , | .

-————s-"

vi

ers, supra. In dials four cases was the decision made after
retrial. United States v. Phillips, supra; State v. Lewis,
supra; Murphy v. State, supra; Boone vy. State, supra. ;

The principal rationale for holding that Mirandd-should
apply on retrial is reliance on the. word ‘trial’? in the
’ Johnson opinion : ; a ;

‘““We hold that Escobello ee only thore cases in —

which the trial began after June 22, 1964, the date -
of that‘decision. We hold further that Miranda ap-

plies only to cases in which the trial began after the -
. date of our decision one week ago [June 13, 1966]”.
- 384 U. S. 719, 721. a phase ; :

Indeed; most of the decisions which have’ applied
Miranda to retrials have involved little or no discussion of

e “the issue and looked no farther that word ‘‘trial’’. -

The only case so holding-that involves: any discussion of the |
question is People v. Doherty, supra, in. which California .
’ applied Miranda to rétrials. Of course, it should be re- .
membered that California had anticipated the Miranda ~
rules in People v. Dorado, 62 Cal. 2d 338, 42 Cal. Rptr. 169,
398 P. 2d 361 (Sup. Ct. in Bank, 1965) which was applied
retroactively to cases.on direct appeal. .In re Lopez, 62 ©
A. C. 380, 42 Cal. Rpth, 188, 398 P. 2d 380, 383 (Sup. Ct.
Cal. 1965). By contrast, in four of those 13 courts —
dissenting opinions discussed the issue fully. State v.
Shoffner, swpra, 143 N. W..2d 458, 475; State v. Brock,

supra, 416 P. 2d 601, 605; State v. McCarther, supra, —

416 P. -2d 290, 296; People v. Doherty, supra, 59 Cal

Rptr. 857, 866. There also is very complete discussion sili
of the issues in all of the cases which held that Miranda ©

‘does not apply on retrial. -People v. Sayers, supra, State
v. Branch, supra, Murphy v. State, supra, Vigliano. v:
Thevos, supra, Boone v. State, supra. But see two dis-
- sents People v. Sayers, supra, 240.N. E. 2d at 543 (based
on the opinion of the Appellate Division. below. . People v.

3

“Sayers, 28-A. D: 2d 227, 284 N.Y.S. 2 481-2 [3rd Dept. _

1967]) ; Boone v. State, supra, 237 A. 2d 787, 803.

In the cases holding’ that Miranda should not apply on ;
retrial,.courts have pointed to other language in Johnson —

which supports their imterpretation: For instance, the
' reference to ‘‘futuré defendants”? as opposed to ‘‘past
defendants’’ (Id, at 732) has frequently been cited. It
has also been suggested that retrial does.not represent the
inception of @ new case for purposes of - determining
whether defendant has twice been put in jeopardy and
‘therefore should not be the inception of a new case for
purposes of expanding the retrospective application of
Miranda, Patten v. State, supra, 426 S. W. 2d 503, 505;
State y- Shoffner, supra, 143 N. W. 2d 458, 475.

While it is true that a number of jurisdictions have held
that Miranda applies to retrials (see note at pp. 2-4). If

this Court affirms the decision below it would not necesarily eee
alter the indepéndent determination by other jurisdictions

to apply Miranda. In Johnson vy. New Jersey this Court
- specifically reserved the power of the states to‘. . . apply

_ those standards in a broader _— of cases than is re-

quired by this decision.’’

In any case, it is the logie eit the ‘iad ef Johnson
Vv. New Jersey which is esseritial in determining the extent
. - to which Miranda and Escobedo are to be applied retro-
spectively. ‘Of course, the purpose of the cut-off date in
Johnson was to limit retrospectivity even doo stringently

than was done in Linkletter. Then see Stovall v. Denno. -

- In Johnson this Court held that the purpose of the
Miranda rule will not be defeated if it wére to be applied

only to ‘‘future defendants’’. Since its primary, aim was -

to change the circumstances in interrogation its ptirpose

cannot ‘be. achieved at all in applying the decision retro-

spectively.

The reliance of law enforcement officers on- the previ-
. ously enunciated standards of voluntariness have been well

or

described in this Court’s decision in Johnson 'v. New

-. Jersey, swpra, at 731-3.’ That reliance is in no way altered

because retrial is ordered for independent reasons. In- ‘a
deed, it is likely that the dependence on the confession in
- such cases would be increased because of whatever: defect
couse the reversal in the first place. »

In the interrogation, i in the investigation i in chief, iat in

_ the preparation for trial, the confession was ‘undoubtedly

_, an integral part of the prosecution’s case. Other evidence
“may have been a direct result of this voluntary confession. —

It is difficult’ enough to re-present @ case on retrial, some- »

times ‘years after the events in question, without having

to excise significant portions of reliable evidence.

This Court in Johnson held that. the meticulous stand.

ards of voluntariness were sufficient protection to ‘ i ‘g
defendants’’. If anything, this is more true of defen
who will be’ subject to retrial. They may well have an
opportunity to challenge the voluntariness of the con- .
- fessions at least if the prior determination has been
faulty in any respect. See dissent in People v. Sayers,
supra, 284 N.Y.S. 2d at 483. Furthermore, their claims have
been thoroughly decided by the Court which: was careful
‘enough to reverse their convictions.

In the courts wi eld that Miranda was inapplicable
to retrial, the reversing courts did consider contentions
' that the admissions were ‘improperly ebtained. However,
in 10 cases ruling the other way, the reversing courts
refused to consider attacks on the confessions because they
would either’ be inadmissible under Miranda, or at least
had to 7 reconsidered i in rad thereof: ee Vv. South

a
—

an possible that certain of eesti confessions were inad- -

2

10

"missile under‘either.standard (see, e.g., People v. Doherty,
- State v.’ McCarther, in which certain admissions were

declared: invalid) and that the casual adoption of the:rule
applying Miranda to retrials avoided a more difficult deci-
sion in the particular case. jn which it was enunciated.

_. Indeed, it is possible that the confession could have pro- ,
oe -dueed:: -other- evidence~whi ~might-be- similarly.inadmis-
‘sible as fruit of the poisoned/tree People v. Jackson, supra,

— 429°. 2d 600, 603. Cf. People v. Chapman, 67 Cal: Rptr.

601 (Ct. App., 2d Dist. Div. 4, 1968). Thus it can be as-.

‘sumed that retrial would be impossible in a substantial

iwumber. of cases if the Miranda rules were applied. For "|

instance, in People-v. Sayers,.22 N. Y. 2d 571, 240.N. E. 24
540 (Ct. App. N. Y. 1968), the case in which the New York
Court of Appeals held that Miranda did not apply to re-.

trials, the District Attorney had appealed the suppression ~

of the confession. In order to do this under Code: of
Criminal Procedure $§ 518(6), 518-a Ke was required to af-
. firm under oath that trial would be impossible without
the use of the confession. Another instance where retrial

would be impossible without the confession in question is —

presented by~the Maryland case, Boone v. State; supra.
Defendant -Boone‘was indicted with three other persons
_ charged with felony murder. His trial was severed from
that of his co-defendants and he was granted a change
of venue. The jyry. returned a verdict of guilty of mur-
der, without specifying the degree, in that trial which took
_place before the decision of this Court in Miranda. A new
trial was granted and held after Miranda. The evidence
against him consisted of testimony of One of his co-defend-

ants which was corroborated by a substantial amount of —
evidence. The Court on retrial had applied the standards -

of Miranda and had guppressed Boone’s confession which
had previously been found. to be voluntary. On appeal

3 the ‘Court of ‘Special Appeals held that without the confes- ei

i a

sion there was insufficient corroboration of the identity

of Boone. However, it held that the court below had erred. ~

. Tule that Miranda should not apply on retrials..

In Johnson y. New Jersey, supra, this Court held that

the procedure for testing the voluntariness of a confession

was adequate ‘‘to protect’the integrity ef the trath-

~~~. determining process :-. .”’. Id. at 729. Courts and prose-

cutors have relied on this procedure in cases tried. before

. June 13, 1966. As this Court specifically indicated: in

Johnson ¥. New J ersey, supra, the standards of voluntari-

_ in suppressing the confession and established Maryland’s_ .

ness‘ have become stricter in recent years (Id. at 730). In
many of the cases which will be affected by the,rule which -

this Court adopts in this case the admissibility of the
. confession has been considered in more than one proceed-

ing. In particular, the decision of this Court in Jackson v.

_ Denno, 378 U.S. 368 required a new hearing in a large

number of cases. That decision is of particular signifi-
cance when read in the light of Johnson v. New Jersey. It

requires a severable legal determination on the issue of ©
- voluntariness of the confession. Therefore, if the stand-
ards of Jackson v. Denno have been met at the original |
_ trial there would be no necessity of redetermining the ad-

missibility of the confession on retrial. See Justice’
Herlihy’s dissent in People v. Sayers, supra, 284.N.¥.8.

2d 481, 482. Combined with the meticulous test of

voluntariness and the severability of that proceeding from |

the trial in chief there is no reason to elimingte. previously .

adrhissible confessions merely because a case is ordered
retried. vie tee :

There is only one valid distinction between general

retrospectige application of Miranda and the specific retro-

_.-Spective application of Miranda on retrials. That is the

“Ss
f
4

-seope of its'interference with the administration of justice.
This distinction was’ made by the California Supreme

c - a i

an pentmenin

12

Court in People ¥. Doherty, eupra, 59 Cal. Rptr. 857 at 863. f
. Since California had already adopted the Miranda rule,

. the burden orf the administration of justice in that state
was considerably less than that experienced in other states.
‘Farthermore, subsequent developments .in the criminal law
have increased the likelihood of rétrials which would be
affected by this rule. We are in a period of convulsive ~
change in criminal practice. There is practically no area
of criminal law which is not experiencing dramatic changes..

_ Thus, reversals and subsequent retrials in b thts area have
become increasingly commion. —

The cases cited in the note on pp. 24, supra, offer in-
\teresting examples of the span of issues on which reversal
in criminal cases may be based. They range from technical
questions of the number of jurors in the jury room (Patten
_ v. State*) -to <substantial questions of an appropriate

- insanity rule (State v. ‘Viglhiano; State v. Shoffner). The

other errors for which the original trials were reversed
are: an impermissibly low sentence (Murphy v. State) ; :
~ the failure to give the defendants the names of the jurors
before selection and the number of challenges afforded to
7 them (Amsler v. United States); the jury’s failure to.
specify whether a verdict was for first or second degree
murder (Boone v. State) ; the introduction of an admission
by a principal of a crime against the defendant in his trial
as an aider and abettor (Dell v. State); the admission’ of -
records of a co-defendant’s guilty pleas when he topk the

_. ptand (State v. Jackson); improper cross-examination of

one defendant—convictions of the two defendants reversed
‘(People v. Sayers) ; evidence on a second count introduced
against a coderonges 3 in a joint trial without, instructing

: the cases listed hereafter are cited-in the footnote
at pp. 2-4, sipra and in the Table of Cases, no citation reference i is

i
z
Re

x =

the jury that the defendant had been. acquitted of that
charge (United ‘States v. Phillips); excessive eross-exam-
imation of a defendant’ about prior crimes (Péople v.
Worley) ; ; introduction of* ‘hearsay testimony. (Gibson v.
_ United States); miscellaneous trial errors (United States ©
ex rel, Walker v. Young); reference by prosecutor to evi-
dence outside the record (Smith v. State); denial of mo-
tion to produce police officer’s report (State v. Bradshaw) ;
reversal for hearing. as to whether disclosure: of certain —
government reports should .bée required in a territory —
under the supervisory power. of the Court of Appeals
(Virgin Islands v. Lovell) ; reference in opening to a con-
’ €ession which was not introduced . (Moorer v. South
Carolina) y erroneous instructions on murder count
(Jenkins vy. Delgware; State v: Brock) ; plain error. in find-
ing of fact e trial court (State v. Ruiz); non-repre-
sentation by counsel in a 20 year old conviction (State v.
Branch). Two'of the cases were reversed solely on grounds
' relating to other confessions which would require redeter-
mination of the\admissibility of confessions in any event
(People v. Doherty; State v. McCarthér). -

. Tt also may be expected that many retrials will be
, ordered on the basis of this Court’s decision in Bruton v. ©
-, United States, 39t U. S,,123 which was declared retroactive
in Roberts v. Russell, 392 U. S. 293.. While the breadth
of the decision in Bruton is still subject to question,* many
cases have been: reversed on that. ground, each of which
involves the confession of a least one defendant. . For
“Instanige in New York alone, at ‘least 14. reported vases

* The « ‘esittiees is ‘eidbia We hiss tani Mathes tle Cott ay
Term. People v. Bosby, 64 Cal. Rptr..159 (1967), cert. granted
November 19, 1968, nom: Harrington v. California, No. 750
OT 1968, 37 L, W. 3 BS pee

14 F Ving Whe

alte recently ese reverse and melziale salen? The

_. New York. courts: have. been liberal in reversing the con-

victions of the. confessing co-defendants in Bruton cases.

- Bee,. eg. pico v. sn died eens v. Balatnicov, |
atiaach

* From this ple it can. be intérpolated that many hun-
dieda of cases which were originally tried before Miranda

pr wena tena are mcacbon thy soggy As major changes
occur in the: cfiminal’ law and modifications are made
? sted that many previous trials will
en Tules which have occurred before

‘we it = lena hry area ala

of Johnson v. New Tordeye In Linbletter this Court held ©

- that ‘the decision in Mapp v. Ohio was not to be applied
‘to cases where direct appeal had been completed prior

to its decision. We have found no eases dealing with the,

. question of whether Mapp would apply to re ‘if a
- ease final when Mapp was decided was thereafter re-

+ Peohle v Mirenda, —— N. Y. 24 ——, vol. # No: 16 L.
ps ag nope Mod 1 N. Y. Ct. ;

| \ Peopee sv, Baber, 23 N . 2d H7 (N.

People v. Poh i 23 . 2d N

Ceforo, 23

]
:
F
:

1968) ; Bu A, Bnd 842 (24 Dept.

1968); People v. Bastone, 30 A. D. 2d 828 (2d 1968) ;
' People vy. Cassidy, 30 A, D. 2d 795 (ist 1968) ; People v- °
- McKendall, 5 (ea D 717 (ees). 1968) ; Peo; le v. Pilon, 30.

N.Y.LJ. 1/28/09, p. S12 col. 4 (N. Y. Co. Sup. Ct. Curxi, J. By

United States ex' rel. LaBelle vy. Mancusi, —— F: 2d ——, SI. ;
Op. #209 Sept. Term 1968,, p. 627 (U. S. Ct. App. 2d Cir., dec’d
Resmaencd 3, _—
“<3 ci

a

_ Vepsed'on collateral attack. However, where an appeal had
been dismissed in January, 1950;' but 7m an appeal from
coram nobis raising another’ issue, Hitioner | was per-
mijtted to reinstate his appeal from his 1948 conviction
it hasbeen held tHat the petitioner may not raise claims ° 1
of ‘illegal search and seizure on the reinstated appeal.
United States ex rel. Wallen v. Worden, 258 m Sop: 1012.

(8. D. N. Y. 1966). .-

It has thus become increasingly sedis since this
Court’s decision in Johnson v. New Jersey, that a substan-
tial number of cases will be affected bythe applicability

‘of Miranda on retrial, and so the states that have decided
_ the issue more recently have tended, to hold that Miranda

does not apply, while those that decided the issue earlier
held that it did. Listing the states in difronological order,
_: “the results are as follows (‘‘Yes’* indicates a decision’ to
3B apply Miranda on retrial; ‘‘No’’ indicates a decision not

“an aie Miranda on retrial) :
Date Decision ‘Jurisdiction - Citation
July 1, 1966" Yes Wisconsin _ prin v. Shoffner’
July 11, 1966 Yes Arizona i v. Brock
July 13, 1966 Yes SG Cr eh . United Stetes
: } of Appeals
July 14, 1966. . Yes ‘- Kansas ° State v. McCorther
- July 18,1966 °. ‘Yes. 4th Cir. Ct: Moorer v. South Carolina
of Appeals ;
. July 22, 1966. 7? ss Rhode Island State v. Bradshaw
Dec. 13, 1966 Yes _..: Hawaii “State v. Ruiz, -
March 3, 1967 Yes _._- Kentucky Creech v. Commonwealth
March 27,1967 No’ — Delaware ° = Jenkins v. Delaware
May 3, 1967 ra Oth Cir. Ct. Amsler v. United States
: of Appeals ° :

. TAM oh thank, ‘ant Mh lid Sesh shoal
pp. 2-4. Therefore, “supra” is to be understood following citations.

| *The Supreme Court of Rhode Isffind specifically refused to»
reach the questiori of whether Miranda applies on retrial but gives
a rationale penn cis 221 A: 26 817, note 1.

- ‘that le oy be, applied on retrial. 381 F3 2d 4 37,

Yon coke 16

sequent Circuit ision, United States v. Y oung listed on the

infra.
‘But see State v. Bronchend a -y. Lewis.in which North

Cagolina changed its mind and hold, 4, 8 Miranda should not apply

on retrial. Chart infra.
While the 3rd Circuit did not change: Herule applying M; ironds

. “cn: retrial (see Virgin Islands v. Lovell, mperirtt Nek that New
',/ Jersey had the right to make a contrary rule? -

¢ Compare this decision with the previous one to apply Miranda

es on. retrial. State. v. Jackson, supra.

a Supreme Court of, Alabama held that it was not bin to
-. decide whether Miranda applied on retrial, but. was bound by the

Court of Appeals for the Sth Circuit. Gibson v, United F bates, |

_ supra, . ”

*. " © Phe Court of aes held that ends iealit have: applied

in the trial of this case, but it.did not decide whether that trial was

the original or: — 401 Fe 2d 301, 307,

‘ “

. Date. Decision —‘Surisdiction .. — Citation. |
May 22, 1967 Yes Sed Gr. Ce. Virgin Islands v. Lovell
Ce | ; of Appeals : :
_ June 20,1967 = = Yes* ~—-“~“NorthCarolina - State v. Jackson -
June 22, 1967 - No -__séI illinois. _ People v. Worley
July:7,1967 = =«.-No_. New Jersey: ° State v. Vighiano
"July 10, 1967 ~ Yes. © California =~ People v. Doherty
Dec. 12, 1967. Yes Indiana © - _~ Dell v. State
Jan. 24,1968 . - No ~*~. Maryland . - Boone v. State .
Jani. 26, 1968. .. Yes : Oth Cir. Ct, United States ex rel.
ries : of Appeals - Walker v. Young
_ Jan. 38, 1968 — .No—-OKS 3rdCir.Ct. —-“Vigliano v. Thevos
ogee "Sef Appeals aie a
; =~ 29, 1968 No * Tennessee . Patten v. State;
ie, . . | ghia es Murpliy v. State
whe: 1968 No® —=—‘ North Carolina State +. Branch;
: ah ra: State v. Lewis
May 23, 968 | Yést Alabama ” Smith v, State
_* July 2, 1968, | No _ . New York People v. Sayers
; Ruagist 29 29, 1968. Yes* 7th Cir. Ct. United States v. Phillips
ee ae of Appeals . ee
- 1 Wig Ole Ciel: Gonct of Agpeste ondenated Zithost deciding
Also see sub-

y 4

17

On examination of the decisions by the various courts on
this issue certain patterns become clear, Most of the states
which applied. M: om to retrials decided the case shortly
after this Court’s€fecision in Johnson. Subsequently, the
decision in Stovall v, Denno, 388 U. S. 293 made the rele-
vant date that of the lineup, rather than trial-and thus in-
_ sured that the decisions in United States v. Wade, 388 U. S.

218 and Gilbert .v. California, 388 U. S. 263 would not -be

applied on retrials.

The purpose of Stovall, as the purpose in Sila: was -
to change a previously valid investigative practice. By
demonstrating that retrospectivity of a new constitutional
interpretation can be limited so as not to affect certain
future trials, the 1967 decision in Stovall v. Denno was an
important precedent to the jurisdictions ‘that ‘thereafter
were presented with the question of peeaesen Miranda
should be applied to retrials.

Petitioner contends that the judicial process would be

“‘visibly imperfect’’ if it were to pérmit a court to apply
different measures of admissibility of confessions (to wit:
voluntariness and Miran?+) at the same time (petr’s: br.
p. 21). However, a separate standard of voluntariness is
regularly applied: by all courts considering. collateral .at- |
tacks on pre-Miranda convictions. Specifically | when the
determination of the admissibility - ‘of a confession in such
a case has not met the requirements of Jackson v. Denno,
' 378 U: S. 868, it has been held that the standard to be
followed in the Jackson hearing is that of voluntariness
of the confession. Carter v. Eyman, 281 Fed. Supp. 776
(D. Ariz. 1968). Also see State v. Milow, 199 Kan. 576,
433 P. 2d 538 (Sup. Ct. Kan., 1967); In Re Lopez, 62 A. C.
. 380, 42: Cal. Rptr. 188, 398 P. 2d 380, 383 (Sup. Ct. Cal.
1965). ‘

- The only ‘case : which suggests a scnteney rule isthe Dis-
trict Court’s. decision in United States ea rel. Pierce v.—
Pinto, 259 F. Supp. 729 (D. N. J. 1966), aff’d per curiti

@

18.

‘pn otig. op. 374 F. 2d 472 (3rd Cir 1967). Judge Worten-

dyke held that the fact that the trial judge made his findj iq |

of voluntariness in the presence of the jury violated
‘standards of Jackson.v. Denno, supra. He ordered sedi a

"., Mew trial be ‘held becanse a jury might have been preju- :

~.dieed: by this determination.’ He further held that at such

_ @ hearing the confession would be inadmissible unless the

interrogation had complied fully with the standards of Mir-
anda énunciated ‘seven years thereafter. He relied on
Gibson v. United States, supra, for the proposition that the
_ standards of Miranda apply on retrial. Since this Court
_ Teversed on the ground that neither & new trial nor a post-
_ conviction hearing was required it did not reach the issue
of the applicability éf the M tranda rules. Pinto v. Pierce,
389 U.S. 31. :

‘ California, which has applied Miranda on sutitel (People
v. Doherty, supra) is nonetheless. developing an entire
, jurisprudence distinguishing between the question of vol-
_untariness and that of compliance witli the Miranda rules
for interrogation. For.instance, on a habeas corpus appli-
eation, the California Supreme Court found errors in a de-

fendant’s separate trial on the issue of penalty and ordered

a retrial of that issue. In.Re Jackson, 61 Cal. 2d 500, 39
Cal. Rptr. 220, 393 P. 2d 420 (Sup. Ct. Cal. 1964). That
‘retrial was held before a: judge and consisted of the intro-
duction of the transcripts of the prior trials of guilt and
of penalty.. On‘his appea] from the decision reimposing the
death penalty, Jackson claimed a violation of his rights
under Escobedo and People v. Norado, 62° Cal. 2d 338, 42
Cal. Rptr. 169, 398 P. 2d 361 (Sup. Ct. Cal. In Banc 1965)

by the introduction of the transcripts of his confession and
. testimony. at his origin] trial-on the issue of guilt. The

State Supreme Court (People v. Jackson, 60 Cal. Rptr. 248,

. 429 P. 2d 600 [Cal. Sup. Ct. In Bank 1967]) held that. al- ;
though the standards of Escobedo and Dorado ‘appl¥ on |
retrial (People v. Doherty, supra), this retrial was limited. .
to the issue of penalty. _— the admissibility of

19

_ Jackson’s admissions at his trial on the issue of guilt are
to be judged on their -voluntariness; but: when the tran-
scripts of that trial are used on a retrial concerning the
penalty, those admissions and the testimony which was the
fruit of those admissions are to be judged by the standards
' ehunciated in Escobedo and Dorado. It ‘is to be presumed
_ that on Jackson’ second retrial of the issue of penalty, the
admissibility of that evidence would also be measured by the
_ standards of Miranda. In-his partial dissent, Justice Peters

“~ eriticizes the unrealistic distinction between the retrial on

the issue of guilt and the retrial on the issue of penalty.
Td. at 603. + ,

California also has held that a failure to object to a con-
_ fession as violative of the standards of Miranda consti-.

tutes a waiver, where such a failure would not constitute
_ & waiver of the issue of voluntariness. The rationale for
that distinction is that the former violation is Jess offen-:
sive than the latter, a proposition-for which Jolson v..
New Jersey, supra-is cited. People v. Castro, 65 Cal. Rptr.
62, 64 (Ct. App., 2d Dist., Div. 3, 1968); People v. Mar-
quez, 66 Cal. Rtpr. 615, 621.(Ct. App. 2d Dist. 1968),

It thus-is apparent that distinction between coercive. in- —
terrogation and that which does not meet the positive
requirements of Miranda are developing whether or not |
Miranda is applied to retrials. In fact, this distinttion
might well be more “‘visible’’ in jurisdictions which have —
applied Miranda retrospectively to retrials. In such jur-
isdictions there might also be a tendency to assess pre-
Miranda interrogations less strictly than would be the case .
if the interrogators were on notice of Miranda’s require- _
ments thereby setting precedent for an unnecessarily strin- -
gent interpretation of Miranda. ben,

i | a ee

a

CONCLUSION .

For the foregoing reasons the judgment of the Su-
preme Court of the State of Deleware that the stand-
- ards of Miranda v. Arizona did not govern the retrial .
in this case should be affirmed.

Dated: New York, New ‘York
_ February, 1969

Respectfully submitted,

fhe Ch geet _ Louris J. Lerxowrrz
‘ Attorney General of the —
State of New York
-As Amicus Curiae
SAMUEL “- Hinsnowrrz a
First Assistant vanced Cenceed
‘Amy J UVILER | er. "
_ Assistant Attorney General
of Counsel —

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386413_0104%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
