# Jurisdictional Statement — Duncan v. Louisiana

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386412_0167%3A02

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Jurisdictional Statement
- **Published:** January 1, 1968
- **Citation:** 391 U.S. 145

## Text

DMA 1 | | 1 . 5
SUPREME COURT. vu. S J. 24 1967

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United *

OCTOBER TERM, 1967

No. 41 0

GARY DUNCAN,
Appellant,
v.
STATE OF LOUISIANA, te

Appellee.

On Appeal From the Supreme Court of Louisiana.

*

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

RICHARD B. SOBOL
2209 Dryades Street,
New Orleans, Louisiana
as Attorney for Appellant
Of Counsel:
ALVIN J. BRONSTEIN,
Jackson, Mississippi,

ANTHONY G. AMSTERDAM,
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania,

DONALD JUNEAU, 3
New Orleans, Louisiana. 1

July, 1967.

INDEX C

*

ea PAGE
The Opinions Below 1
Statement of the Grounds on Which the Jurisdietion of
This Court is Invoked — 1
Question Presented by the Appeal 3
Statement of the Facts of the Case — 3
The Federal Question Presented is Substantia. 6
i The Court’s earlier refusal to apply the Sixth —
Amendment trial guarantee to the states was
_based on interpretation of the Fourteenth Amend-
ment that has long been abandoned 6
ii The right to trial by jury in criminal cases is
basic to Anglo-American W of Due Proc-
ess of Law
2. Historical antecedents of the right to trial by
jury 9
b. Recognition by this Court of the fundamental
importance of trial by jury in eriminal cases 12
e. Recognition by the states of the fundamental
importance of trial by jury in eriminal cases 14
d. Trial by jury secures the individual against
arbitrary official conduct 15
Conclusion 5 \ eS 17
Appendix A Memorandum Decision. of the Supreme
Court of Louisiana ; la
Appendix B Scope of right to trial by jury inthe. ~
Vnited States outside Louisiana — 3a
“Appendix 0 Scope of wight to trial by jury in Louisi-
ana 8 . 9a

*

—

ii Table of Authorities:

CASES: ö * 5 _ PAGE
Aguilar v. Texas, 378 U.S. 108 (1964) 7
Allen v. State, 110 Ga. App. 56, 137 8. E. 2d 711
(1964) —
Application of Gault, 87 S. Ct. 1428 (1967). —
Barnett v. United States, 376 U.S. 681 (1964) 13
Bloom v. Illinois, 87 Sup. Ct. 1846 (1967) 13
Callan v. Wilson, 127. U.S, 540 (1888) 6
Cheff v. Schnackenberg, 384 U.S. 373 (1966) 6,13

City of Greenwood v. Peacock, 384 U.S. 808 (1966) — 16
District of Columbia v. Clawans, 300 U.S. 617 (1937) 6

District of Columbia v. Colts, 282 U.S. 63 (1930) „
Estes v. United States, 381 U.S. 532 (7965) 14
Eubanks v. Louisiana, 356 U.S. 584 (1958) oe ae
Fay v. New York, 332 U.S. 261 (1947) 7, 12
Ferguson v. Georgia, 365 U.S. 570 (1961) — Oe.
Giaccio v. Pennsylvania, 382 U.S. 399 (1966)... 2
Gideon v. Wainwright, 372 U.S. 335 (1963)... 7
Hernandez v. Texas, 347 U.S. 478 (1954) 18
Hoyt v. Florida, 368 U.S. 57 (1961) 2, 14
In re Oliver, 333 U.S. 257 (1948) 7
In re Robinson, 20 D. C. 570 (Sup. Ct. D. C. 1892) 6
Irwin v. Dowd, 365 U.S. 717 (1961) —7., 12, 14
Ker v. California, 374 U.S. 233 (1963) 7
Klopfer v. North Carolina, 386 U.S. 213 (1967). 7,9
Labat v. Bennett, 365 F. 2d 698 (5th Cir. 1966) (en f
bianco), cert. denied, 386 U.S. 991 (1967) 13, 14
Malloy v. Hogan, 378 U.S. 1 (1964) 8 7
Mapp v. Ohio, 367 U.S. 643 (1961) i 7
Matoell v. Dow, 176 U.S. 581 (1900) 8 6, 7, 8, 9
Moore v. Dempsey, 261 U.S. 86 (1923) 14

Norris v. Alabama, 294 U.S. 587 (1935) 13 .

a ls FFFTCCC OKANO GLOBES LE A TR ANE ER TREN a 0 ma e tere wt

| Table of Authorities Niet |
1 } — rA.
Palko v. Connecticut, 302 U.S. 319 (1937) 7,12
Parker v. Gladden, 385 U.S. 363 (1966) iiss 8,14
Patton v. Mississippi, 332 U.S. 463 (1947) - 13
Patton v. United States, 281 U.S. 276 (1930) 15
Pierre v. Louisiana, 306 U. S. 354 (1939) 14
Pilkinton v. Circuit Court, 324 F. 2d 45 (Sth Cir. |
1963) —— **
Pointer v. Texas, 380 U.S. 400 (1965) a 7, 8, 9
Randel v. Beto, 354 F. 2d 497 (1965) 8
_ + Robinson v. California, 370 U.S. 660 (1962). 5 ee |
. Schowgurow v. State, 240 Md. 121, 213 A. 2d 475
(1965) 14
Sheppard v. Maxwell, 384 U. S. 333 (1966) = 14
Snyder v. Massachusetts, 291 U.S. 97 (1934) ST
State v. Duncan, 250 La. 253, 195 So. 2d 142 1,5
State v. Madison, 240 Md. 265, 213 A. 2d 880... 9-14
State v. Stewart, 89 N. Car. 563 (1883) 6
Strauder v. West Virginia, 100 U.S. 303 (1880) — 13, 14
Thompson v. Louisville, 362 U.S. 199 en
Thompson v. Utah, 170 U.S. 343 (1898) 7
Toꝛonsend v. Sain, 372 U.S. 293 (1963) — 16

Turner v. Louisiana, 379 U.S. 466 (1965) 12

United States v. Plaquemines Parish School Board, 11

Race Rel. L. Rep. 1764 (E. D. La. Aug. 26, 1966) 4

United States v. Plaquemines Parish School Board, 12
Race Rel. I. Rep, 219 (E. P. La. Oct. 21, 26, |
1966) 15

United States v. Plaquemines Parish School Board,
Civil Action No. 66-71A (E. D. La. 1 5 27,

ö 1967) 15

United States ex rel. Gerchman.v. Maroney, 355 F.
2d 302 (8rd Cir. 1966) -:

Washington v. Texas, 87 Sup. Ct. 1920 (1967 1
West v. Louisiana, 194 U.S. 258 (1904) 7;
White v..Crooke, 251 F. Supp: 401 (M. D. Ala. 1966) 1.
Whitus v. Georgia, 385 U.S. 545 (1967) 1
_ Work v. State, 2 Ohio St. 296 (Sup. Ct. ae ais

PEN

aie ‘Table of Authorities
STATUTES: „ ro
Louisiana Revised Statutes - .
Title 14, Section 2 bands 3
Title 14, Section 34.1 7 3, 15
Title 14, Section 35. 3,4
Louisiana Code of Criminal Procedure, Article
Be 2, 3, 4, 5
United States Code: Ne
Title 18, U.S. C. Section 1 4,15
Title 28, U.S.C. Section. 1257 (2) 7 2
1 Will. III and Mary II sess. 2 e. 2 (1689) 10

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS:

Constitution of the United States 8 5 '
Artiele III Section 2 11

Sixth Amendment 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 14, 15, 17

Fourteenth Amendment — 8, 4, 5, 6, 7, 12
Constitution of Louisiana f

Section 7, Article 41 7 . ) 3

OTHER AUTHORITIES:

Adams, Instructions of the Town of Braintree, Mas-
sachusetts on the Stamp Act, (Oetober 14, 1765) 10

III BLACKSTONE, COMMENTARIES — , 9, 10
IV BLACKSTONE, COMMENTARIES __..:. 10
I CHITTY, CRIMINAL LAW (1819) : 6
I COKE, LITTLETON . — „

COKE, THE SECOND PART OF THE INSTITUTES OF THE
LAWS OF ENGLAND, (Brooke’s 5th ed. 1797) — 10
-COMMAGER, DOCUMENTS OF AMERICAN HISTORY

(5th ed. 1949) 10
II HAWKINS, PLEAS OF THE CROWN (7th ed. 1795) 6
MAGNA CHARTA, Ch. 39 9, 10
PERRY, SOURCES OF OUR LIBERTIES (1959) 9

Resolution No. 5, Declaration and Resolves 7 the
First Continental Congress, (October 14, 1774) 10
I RUSSELL, CRIMES AND MISDEMEANORS (1819) — 6

—

: | Table of Authorities | | v

1791 (1955) 10
2 Story, CONSTITUTION OF THE UNITED STATES (2d
ed. 1851) — i 18, 19

TRR DECLARATION OF INDEPENDENCE (July 4, 1776) 11
11

THE FEDERALIST No. 83 (Hamilton)

THORPE, THE FEDERAL AND STATE CONSTITUTIONS,
COLONIAL CHARTERS, AND ‘OTHER ORGANIC
LAS ene f 11

PAGE
: Rusia, THE BIRTH OF THE BILL oF RIGHTS 1776-

IN THE

Waere Court of the Anited States
: - OCTOBER TERM, 1967

No.

GarY DUN AN,
V.

Srarꝝ or LOUISIANA; |
; Appellee.

On Appeal From the Supreme Court of Louisiana.

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

THE OPINIONS BELOW

The Memorandum Decision of the Supreme Court of .

Louisiana is reported at 250 La. 253, 195 So. 2d 142, and

appears herein as Appendix A. No other written opinions
have been delivered.

—

_ STATEMENT or THE GROUNDS ON WHICH
_ THE JURISDICTION OF THIS COURT is
| INVOKED

(i) This is a criminal prosecution against the appel-
lant, Gary Duncan. Appellant was charged and convicted
in the Twenty-Fifth Judicial District Court of Louisiana

aes of simple battery in violation of Louisiana Revised Stat-

2

utes, Section 14:35. (R. 1) 1 Simple battery is defined as
a battery without a dangerous weapon. Article 779 of the
Code of Criminal Procedure of Louisiana denies a jury
trial on that charge. Appellant contended that Article 779
is invalid because it is repugnant to the Sixth and Four-
teenth Amendments to the Constitution of the United
States. The decision of the Supreme Court of Louisiana
was in favor of the validity of Article 779.

(ii) The judgment or deeree sought to be n is
the ruling of the Supreme Court of Louisiana denying ap-
pellant's application for a writ of certiorari. (R. 31). That
ruling was issued on February 20, 1967 and entered on
March 6, 1967. No petition for rehearing was filed: The
Notice of Appeal was filed in the Twenty-Fifth Judicial
District Court of Louisiana, the court possessed of the
record, on May 15, 1967. (R. 33). On July 6, 1967, Honor-
able Joe W. Sanders, Associate Justice of the Supreme
Court of Louisiana, extended appellant’s time to docket the

appeal in this Court to July 24, 1967.

( iii) Jurisdiction of the appeal is conterita on this
Court by Title 28 of the United States Code, „Section
1257 (2).

(iv) Cases * the jurisdiction of this init
are:

Application of Gault, 87 S. Ct. 1428 (1967) ; ;

. Giaccio v. Pennsylvania, 382 U.S. 399 (1966) ;
Hoyt v. Florida, 368 U.S. 57 (1961) ;
Ferguson v. Georgia, 365 U.S. 570 (1961).

(v) The validity of Article 779. of the Louisiana

1“R.” references are to the record on appeal.
“Tr.” references are to the official gece ys By, wl
the trial court which has been filed with the record in this Court.

3

Code of Criminal Procedure is here involved. The full text
of that article is as follows:

Art. 779. Trial of Misdemeanors.

A defendant charged with a misdemeanor shall |
be tried by the Court without a jury.’

“Misdemeanors i in Louisiana are all crimes not punish-
able at hard labor. LA. Rev. Stat. 14:2 (1950). This in-
cludes at least one offense punishable by up to ten years
imprisonment. LA. REv. STAT. 14:34.1 (Cum. Supp. 1962).

In this case, the maximum sentence provided by the stat-

ute is two years imprisonment plus a 28 fine. La. REV.
STAT. 14:35 (1950).

QUESTION PRESENTED BY THE APPEAL
The following question is presented by this-appeal:
Does a state statute that denies ee e trial by

jury in a prosecution for battery, where a two year prison
term may be imposed, violate the Sixth and Fourteenth
Amendments to the United States Constitution?

STATEMENT OF THE FACTS OF THE CASE
Gary Duncan, appellant herein, is a citizen of the
United States, a Negro, and a resident of Plaquemines

Parish, Louisiana. On December 5, 1966, appellant was

charged with simple battery in a bill of information filed
in the Twenty-Fifth Judicial District Court of Louisiana.
(R. 1) In Louisiana, simple battery is a crime punishable
by a term of two years imprisonment and a fine of $300.

8 La. Rev. STAT. 14:35 (1950). Because simple battery is
not punishable by imprisonment at hard labor, the crime
. is categorized as a “misdemeanor” at state law. LA. REV.

' 2 Article 779 is consistent with Section 7, Article 41 1 of the 2
ana Constitution. The provisions of Louisiana la * trial by
jury are set forth in Appendix C. . iF

4

Srar. 14:2 (1950). Article 779 of the Code of Criminal
Procedure of Louisiana in express terms denies the =
to trial by jury in seer al cases.“

On January 25, 1967, prior to trial i in the state court,
appellant filed a Demand for Trial by Jury,” in which
he contended. that the right to trial by jury on the charge
against him was: secured by the Sixth and- Fourteenth
-Amendments to the United States Constitution. (R. 3)
The demand was rejected by the trial. judge on the author-
ity of Article 779 of the Louisiana Code of Criminal Pro-
‘cedure. (R. 7; Tr. 3) Appellant reserved a bill of excep-
tion in the manner provided by Louisiana law. (R. 5) Ap-
pellant was then tried before a judge, without a jury.

The charge against appellant was based on an inci-
dent involving his two young cousins, Bert Grant and
Bernard St. Ann, and four white boys. In the fall of 1966,
pursuant to an order for desegregation issued by the
United States District Court in New Orleans,‘ Grant and
St. Ann transferred to the previously all-white Boothville
Venice School in Plaquemines Parish. (See Tr. 11, 66, 81)
Thereafter, these boys were physically ‘assaulted, threat-
. ened and otherwise harassed by white students in the
school. (Tr. 8, 13, 27, 69) On October 18, 1966, as appel-
lant was driving home on U.S. Highway 23, near the
Boothville Venice School, he observed Grant and St. Ann
confronted by a group of white boys. (See Tr. 21) He
stopped his car and asked his cousins what was going o-
Grant replied that the white 8 wanted to * (Tr.

3 The n categorization . common law offenses as “mis-
demeanors” or “felonies” is irrelevant for oo ses of interpreting the
Sixth Amendment jury trial guarantee. n v. Wilson, 127 U.S.
540, 549 (1888). Moreover, the crime defined by La. Rev. Stat. 14:35
. (1950) is a felony under federal standards. 18 U.S.C. 8 1.

- 4United States v. Plaquemines Parish School Board, 11 Race Rel.
L. / 1764 E.D. La. Aug. 26, 1966).

5.

82, 92) ‘Appellant told his cousins to get into his car. (Tr.
26, 82, 92) At the trial, the white boys and a white on-

‘looker some distance away testified that after the Negro
_ boys went to appellant’s car, appellant slapped one of the
. white boys on the elbow. (Tr. 7, 27-28, 52, 62-63) Appel-

lant and his cousins each testified that appellant had not
slapped the boy, but had merely touched him on the arm,
as a manner of expression, while telling him that it would
be. best if he went home. (Tr. 72, 84, 92)

‘The ‘trial ‘Jaden resolved the factual dispute against
the appellant and found him guilty as charged. (R. 2)
On February 1, 1967, appellant perfected a formal bill of
exception on the jury trial issue, in accordance with state
procedure. (R. 5, 10). He was then sentenced to sixty days
in prison and a $150 fine, with the proviso that if the fine

and costs are not paid, an additional twenty day sentence

shall be served. (R. 2)

On February 6, 1967, appellant filed in the Supreme
Court of Louisiana an application for a writ of certiorari _
to review the judgment below, and specifically the ruling

of the court on appellant's demand for trial by jury. (R.

11) In the application, appellant expressly argued. that
Article 779 of the Louisiana Code of Criminal Procedure

is “unconstitutional on its face“, under the Sixth and
- Fourteenth Amendments of the United States Constitu-
tion, “insofar as it denied [appellant] the right to trial by

jury in this case.” (R. 18) On February 20, 1967, the
Supreme Court of Louisiana denied appellant’s applica-
tion for a writ of certiorari. (R. 31) The Memorandum
Decision stated: “No error of law in the ruling com-

‘plained of.” 250 La. 253, 195 So. 2d 142 (1967); Ap-

pendix ‘A. The Supreme Court of Louisiana is s the highest
court in the State of inn a

6
On Headers 21, 1967, the trial court set bond at

$1, 500, pending disposition of this matter in tle Court.

Appellant is free on bond.

THE FEDERAL QUESTION PRESENTED IS
SUBSTANTIAL

If this case had been tried in a federal court, the ap-

pellant unquestionably would have been entitled to trial

by jury. Thus, this appeal squarely raises the question
of the applicability of the jury trial -guarantee of the
Sixth Amendment to serious state criminal proceedings.

(i) This Court’s Earlier Refusal to Apply the
Sixth Amendment Jury Trial Guarantee to the
States Was Based on Interpretation of the Four-
teenth Amendment That Has Long Been Aban-
Almost seventy. years ago, in Maxwell v. Dow, 176

U.S. 581 (1900), this Court held that the Fourteenth

Amendment does not make applicable to the states the
specific guarantees of the Sixth Amendment. The Court
stated that the mandate of due process of law is satisfied
whenever a defendant is tried according to established

; © In Sodebad pratendings, this Court lies in preted the Sixth Amend-
ment jury trial guarantee to be applicable to the trial of all “crimes,”
but not to the trial of “petty offenses.” Cheff v. Liu
U.S. 373 (1966); District of Columbia v. Clawans, 300 U.S. 6175. 624

1937); District of Columbia v. Colts, 282 U.S. - 930); Callan —

ilson, 127 U.S. 540, 557 (1888). It is clear that
—— pin — Louisiana Revised 8 Statutes 14:35, is a ee and not a —

of whether the test is a maximum term of
eat cor ese pe 9 than six months (18 U.S.C. §-1; Cheff v. Schnack- °
enberg, #3 hy U.S. at 379-80), or an offense’ indictable at common
law, Columbia v. Colts, supra, 282 U.S. at 78; Callan v.

Wilson, supra, 177 U.S. at 554-57. The maximum sentence under the

statute is two years imprisonment. Moreover, battery was an indictable .
at common law. III K COMMENTARIES 121; IV Id.

offense
at *6, 26, 216-17; I CHITTY, CRIMINAL Law 138-40 (1819); I Russe,

. 760 (1815); 11 HAWEINS, OF THE
Crown 17 17 (ich ed. 1795). In jurisdictions applying the common law or
Sixth Amendment standard, a defendant charged with battery has con-
sistently been guaranteed the right to trial by jury. In Re Robinson, 20
D. C. 570, 572 (Sup. Ct. D. C. 1892); State v. Stewart, 89 N. Car. bd.
864 (1883); Work v. State, 2 Ohio St. 296 (Sup. Ct. 1858).

108

7

and uniform procedures within a state. 176 U.S. at 602
05. Accord, West v. Louisiana, 194 U.S. 258, 264 (1904).
Accordingly, in Maxwell the Court sustained the use of an
eight man jury in a state criminal proceeding, although
two years earlier, in Thompson v. Utah, 170 US. 343
(1898), the Court had held that the Sixth Amendment

_ prohibits the use of a jury of less than twelve in federal

criminal trials. The jury trial question has not since been |
considered by the Court, although in cases involving other

issues there have been statements that a jury trial in state

criminal cases is not secured by the Fourteenth Amend-
ment. See, e. g., Fay v. New York, 332 U.S. 261, 288

. 1947); Palko v. Connecticut, 302 U.S. 319, 324 (1937);
Snyder v. Massachusetts, 291 U.S. 97, 105 (1934).

In recent years, however, the Court has held applica-
ble to state criminal proceedings every guarantee of the
Sixth Amendment, except the right to trial by jury. See
Klopfer v. North Carolina, 386 U.S. 213 (1967) (speedy

trial); In re Oliver, 333 U.S. 257 (1948) (public trial and

notice of the accusation) ; Irwin v. Dowd, 366 U.S. 717
(1961) (impartial jury) ; Pointer v. Texas, 380 U.S. 400

(1965) (confrontation) ; Washington v. Texas, 87 S. Ct.

1920 (1967) (compulsory process); Gideon v. Wain-

wright, 372 U.S. 335 (1963) (right to counsel) .”

6 The applicability to state criminal proceedings of the Sixth Amend-
ment jury trial guarantee has thus never been considered in the context
of a complete denial of trial by jury. See Maxwell v. Dow, supra, 176
U.S. at 612 (Mr. Justice Harlan dissenting). :

7 These decisions are part of a broader trend toward the applica- —
tion to state criminal trials of rights sec by the Bill of Rights. See.
Ker v. California, 874 U.S. 233 (1963) (Fourth Amendment standard
of legality of searches without a warrant); Aguilar v. Texas, 378 U.S.

1964) (Fourth Amendment standard for the issuance of a search
warrant) ;. Mapp v. Ohio, 367 U.S. 643 (1961) (exclusion of illegall

. seized evidence); Malloy v. Hogan, 378 U.S. 1 (1964) (Fifth Amend-

ment protection against self-incrimination) ; Robinson v. California, 370

_ U.S. 660 (1962) (Eighth Amendment protection against cruel and un-
5 iin 324

usual punishment ton v. Circuit Court, F. 2d 45 (8th Cir.
1963) (Eighth Amendment protection against excessive bail).

8

These eases have e undermined the rationale
of Maxwell by broadly rejecting the proposition that the
guarantees of the Sixth Amendment do not apply in state
criminal proceedings. In fact, the language of the more
récent decisions suggests that all Sixth Amendment rights
are applicable in stade, Sts. In Washington: v. Texas,
supra, Mr. Chief Justice Werren, writing for eight mem-
bers of the Court, stated .

At one time, it was ought that the Sixth 1
ment had no application to state criminal proceed-
ings [citing West v. Louisiana, 194 U.S 258, 264

(1904) . That view no longer prevails, and in

recent years we have increasingly looked to the
specific guarantees of the Sixth Amendment to de-

termine whether a state criminal trial was con-
ducted with due process of maw: 5

; And i in Pointer v. Teas, * Mr. J ustice Black, for the

Court, stated:

In light of Gideon, Malloy, and other cases cited i in
those- opinions holding various provisions of the
Bill of Rights applicable to the states by virtue of
the Fourteenth Amendment, the statements made
in West and similar cases generally declaring that

the Sixth Amendment does not apply to the States |

can no longer he es as the =: 1

See Parker v. Gladden, 385° U.S. 363 (1966). In light
of these decisions rejecting | the rationale of Maxwell, it

887 S. Ct. at 1922.

9380 U,S. at 406.

10“We believe that the statements of the bailiff bo the jurors are
controlled by the command of the Sixth Amendment, made applicable
to the States through the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amend-
ment. It guarantees that * accused shall enjoy the right to a
trial, by an — jury ... [and] be confronted with the witnesses
: against h

: 385 U.S. at 364 (Emphasis added).

*

9

is appropriate that the specific holding of Maxwell should
now be reconsidered by the Court.”

(ii) The Right to Trial by Jury in Criminal Cases
Is Basic to Anglo-American Concepts of Due Proc-
ess of Law nas

| a. “Historical Antecedents re the Right to Trial
by Jury
in deciding to souls specific 8 of the Bill of
Rights to state criminal proceedings, the Court has -

phasized the significance accorded these rights in’ the
* . heritage of the English law. E. g., Klopfer v, North Caro-

lina, supra, 386 U.S. at 223-26; Pointer v. Texas, supra,

380 US. at 403.05. mee

+

Trial by jury in criminal cases was recognized .as a

fundamental safeguard of individual liberties centuries
before the adoption of the American Constitution. The

right i is traceable to the earliest Saxon colonies, ? and con-
stituted one of the fundamental articles of the Magna
Charta: : N 0 f man shall be taken or imprisoned, or be

‘11 See note 6, supra. The applicability of the Sixth Amendment

j hod f trial guarantee to the states has been recognized in the lower fed-
courts as an important, but unsettled question. In Randel v. Beto,
354 F. 2d 497 (1965), the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth

Circuit held that a habeas corpus petitioner’s claim based on applica-
tion of., the Sixth Amendment jury trial guarantee to-state proceedings

was an “important question . . . of constitutional law,” entitling peti-

tioner to a hearing. 354 F. 2d at 501. In United States, ex rel. Gerch-

man v. Maroney, 355 F. 2d 302 (3d Cir. 1966), Judge Freedman sug-
gested that past statements in this Court concerning the applicability
of the jury be arantee to the states are not... flatly decisive of

the question,” in light of the recent decisions holding other guarantees

of the Bill of Rights applicable to state proceedings. 355 F. 2d at 313.
Judge Freedman refrained from passing on the issue, because the case
was disposed of on other grounds, and because he thought it “not un-

*

likely that we may soon have an authoritative expression on the subject © ©

5

from the Supreme Court”. 355 F. 2d at 315. The other members of the
. — the question foreclosed by decisions of this- Court. 355 F.
a

12 III BLACKSTONE, op. cit. supra, at 349; PERRY, SOURCES OF Our.

LIBERTIES,.7-9 (1959).

10 ar

disseised of his freehold, or liberties... but by the lawful
judgment of his peers... .” Magna Charta, ch. 39, trans-
_ lated and quoted in Cork THE SECOND PART OF THE IN-

_ STITUTES OF THE LAWS OF ENG 45. (Brooke’s 5th ed.
1797). Blackstone described the right to trial by jury in
criminal cases as “the most transcendent privilege which
any subject can enjoy, or wish for. » III BLACKSTONE, op.
cit. supra, at 379. In his discussion’ of trial by jury,
Lord Coke stated that this “ancient” form of trial “excells
[all] others.” I Co. Lirr. *155b. The guarantee of trial
by jury in criminal cases was included in the English Bill
of Rights of 1689, which served as one of the basic
sources for. the Bill of Rights to the United States Consti-
tution. RUTLAND, THE BIRTH OF THE BILL OF RIGHTS
1776-1791 p. 19 (1955)

The right to trial by jury in criminal cases was funda-
mental to the American colonists. Indeed, Parliamentary
infringement of this right was one of the major grievances
of the colonists against British rule. E. g., John Adams,
of Braintree, Massachusetts on
the Stamp Act (October 14, 1765) 6 Resolution No. 5,
Declaration and Resolves.of the First Continental Congress

f — 1 rties of England cannot but subsist, so long as the
palladium . of trial by jury] remains sacred and inviolate; not only
from all open attacks, (which none will be ‘so hardy as to make) but,
also from all secret machinations which may sap and undermine it; by
‘introducing new and arbitrary methods of trial by justices of the peace,
eommissioners of the revenue, and courts of conscience. And however
convenient these ag 4 appear at first, (as doubtless all arbitrary powers,
well executed, are the most convenient) yet let it be in remembered, .
that delays and little inconveniences in the forms o justice, are the
price that all free nations must pay for their liberty in more substan-

tial matters; that these inroads upon this sacred bulwark of the nation

are fundamentally o opposite to the spirit of our — agree and that
though begun in t the precedent may gradually inerease and
spread, to the utter disuse of juries in questions of the ment momentous
concern.”

IV BLACKSTONE, op. cit. supra, at *349-50.

2 Will. III and Mary II, sess. 2, e. 2 (1689), para. 11.
| 15 Reprinted in CoMMAGER, DOCUMENTS OF AMERICAN HIsToRY =

(5th ed. * :

r

tion of "Rights of 1976, Sec.
been

11

‘ (October 14, 17 74); * The Declaration of 3

(July 4, 1776). v4

Between the War of Independence and the formation
of the American Union, ‘constitutions were adopted by }

eleven of the former Crown colonies. Without exception,

these documents guaranteed trial by jury in criminal cases,
after the pattern of English law.!“ The importance of

trial by jury at this period in our history is further evi-
‘denced by the fact that it is one of the few individual rights

ineluded in the body of the United States Constitution,
Art. III, Section 2. See THE FEDERALIST No. 83 (Hamil-

ton). It is the only s such ä that i is reiterated i in the
Bill of .

in his treatise on the Constitution published in 1833,
Mr. Justice Story reflected the contemporary view of the
“antiquity” and “importance of trial by jury in criminal

”
cases.

It was from very early times insisted on by our
ancestors in the parent country, as the great bul-
wark of their civil and political liberties, and
watched. with an unceasing jealousy and solicitude.
The right constitutes one of the fundamental ar-

- ticles of Magna Charta. . When our more im-

16 Reprinted in Id. at 82-83.

17 Reprinted in Id. at 100-02. :
18 See THORPE, THE FEDERAL AND a Conarrrursons, COLONIAL
CHARTERS, AND OTHER ORGANIC: „ 2594-98 (1909) (New Jersey -
Constitution of 1776); Ibid. 2623-38 (New York Constitution: of
1777); Ibid., VI, 3248-57 (Gonstitation of South Carolina of 1778);
Ibid., II, 777.85 ‘Constitution of Georgia of 1777); Ibid., VII, 3812-14
(Constitution of Virginia of 1776, See. 8) 8) z. Ibid. 3081-84 (Constitu-
tion of Pennsylvania of 1776, Sec. IX) ; Ibid, III, 1686-91 (Constitution
of Maryland of .1776, 4 * XIX); Ibid. 2787-89 (Constitution of
North Carolina of 1776, Sec. IX); Ibid., Mi, 1888-93 (Constitution of
Massachusetts of 1780, bet 1, Sec. 12); Ibid., IV, 2453-57 (Constitution
of New Hampshire of 1784, Art. I, Sec. 15); 1 Laws of the State of
Delaware, 1700-1797, App. 1981 (New a 1797) (Delaware Declara-

14). In addition, Vermont, which had not

recognized as a Crown Colony, included the jury ay —

in its Constitution of 1777. THORPE, op. cit. supra, VI, 3737

. . 5 — — — —

5 * ö 12
; mediate ancestors removed to ‘America, ‘hey
brought this great privilege with them, as their
* birthright and inheritance, as a part of that ad-

mirable common law, which had fenced round and
- interposed barriers on every side against the ap-
proaches of arbitrary power. It is now incorporated
into all our state constitutions as a fundamental

right, and the constitution of the United States.

would have been justly obnoxious to the most con-

clusive objection, if it had not recognized and con-

firmed it in the most solemn terms. *

*

The history of the right to trial by jury atid ite re-

ceptien in this country clearly establish that it is one of
5 basic rights preserved by our Constitution.

b. W by this Court of the N
Importance of Trial by Jury in Criminal Cases

This Court has given vigorous expression to the funda-

mental role of trial by jury in our system of aw. In Irin

v. Dowd, 336 U.S. 717 (1961), the Court stated:

England, from whom the Western world has large-
ly taken its concepts of individual liberty ‘and of

the dignity and worth of every man, has be-

50 queathed to us safeguards for their preservation,

the most priceless of which is that of trial by jury.

This right has become as much American as it

was once the most English. Although this Court

has said that the Fourteenth Amendment does not

demand the use of jury trials in à state's eriminal

procedure, Fay v. New York, 332 U.S. 261; Palko

v.. Connecticut, 302 U.S. 319, every state has con-

stitutionally provided trial by jury. . . . In the ulti-
mate analysis, only the jury can n strip a man of

his liberty or his life. *

See Turner v. Louisiana, 379 U. S. 466, 471-73 (1965).

192 Story, Constitution of the United ‘States. 527 * ed. 1851).
; 20366 U.S. at 721-22 (Emphasis added). ;

-o'

ä
l

0

f 13
In Cheff v. Schnackenberg, 384 U.S. 373 (1966), this
Court ruled that even in criminal contempt cases, where .
there is considerable question about the practice at com:
mon law, 1 a sentence in excess of six months, the statutory
maximum for “petty offenses“, may not be imposed by a
federal court without trial by jury. Last term, in Bloom =»
V. Illinois, the Court granted certiorari to consider whether
the rule articulated in Cheff was applicable, by virtue of
the Fourteenth Amendment, to criminal contempt proceed-
aan ‘in state courts. 2 a

: The Court has shown ite concern for the integrity of
trial by jury in a long line of decisions, dating back to
Strauder v. West Virginia, 100 U.S. 303 (1880), invali-
dating the systematic exclusion of Negroes from grand
and petit juries. E. g., Norris v. Alabama, 294 U.S. 587
(1935); Patton v. Mississippi, 332 U.S. 463 (1947); Fu-
banks v. Louisiana, 356 U.S. 584 (1958). In recent years,
this Court and the lower federal eourts have further se-
cured the common law mandate that no man be convicted
other than by a “judgment of his peers”* by insisting .
that juries in state and federal courts be. selected in a
manner that will ensure a representative cross section of
the community on venire lists. E.g., Whitus v. Georgia,
885 U.S. 545 (1967) (exclusion of Negroes) ; Hernandez
v. Texas, 347 U.S. 475 (1954) (exclusion of Mexican-
Americans).; Labat v. Bennett, 365 F. 2d 698 (5th Cir.
1966) (en banc), cert. denied, 386 U.S. 991 (1967) (ex-
clusion of wage earners); White-v. Crook, 251 F. Supp.
401. (M. D

1966) (three judge court) (exclusion of \

21 Compare Barnett v. United States, 376 U.S. 681, 701-24 (1964)
1 to Opinion of the Court), with id. at 740-51 (dissenting
opinion of Mr. Justice Goldberg).

22 18 U.S.C. 8 1.
23 No. 1070, October 1966 Term, 87 8. Ct. 1846 (1967).
_ 24 Magna Charta, ch. 39, supra.

4

14

women). * See Schowgurow v. State, 240 Md. 121, 213 A.

2d 475 (1965) (exelusion of atheists). The right of a
defendant to a jury reflecting a fair cross section of the
community has been held to apply where there is no proof
of actual prejudice to the defendant, Pierre v. Louisiana,

306 U.S. 354 (1939); Strauder v. West Virginia, supra, -

100 U.S. at 309, and where the defendant is not a member
of the class excluded, Allen u. State, 110 Ga. App. 56, 137
S.E. 2d 711 (1964); State v. Madison, 240 Md. 265, 213

A. 2d 880 (1965). See Labat v. . Bennett, supra, 365 F. 2d

at 723, n. 43.

Further, this Court has ene struck down state

court convictions, where it appeared that jurors had been
exposed to prejudicial newspaper publieity, or other in-
fluences inimical to the defendant. Parker v. Gladden,
supra (remarks of bailiff) ; Sheppard v. Maxwell, 384 U.S.
333, 362 (1966) (newspaper publicity) ; Estes v. United
States, 381 U.S. 532, 545 (1965) - (broadcasting of trial);
Irwin v. Dowd, supra (newspaper publicity) ; Moore v.
Dempsey, 261 U.S. 86 (1923) (mob domination).

It would be ironic indeed if a state were permitted
to nullify this Court’s carefully developed protections of
the jury system by substituting for trial by jury trial by
_ single judge, who cannot represent a fair cross section

of the community and who is frequently exposed to of-

ficial and unofficial influences prejudicial to the defendant. -

e. Recognition by the States of the Fundamental
Importance of Trial by Jury in Criminal Cases

It is a further measure of the importance accorded

trial by jury that in thirty-eight states a right at least
equal to that secured by the Sixth Amendment is constitu-
' tionally guaranteed; in each of these states a defendant

25 But see Hoyt v. Florida, 368 U.S. 57 (1961).

bad het

Pie nd ne ai naga 8 95

15

in a eriminal case subject to a maximum term of im-

prisonment in excess of six months cannot be convieted

without the unanimous verdict of a twelve man jury.”
See Appendix B which sets forth the scope of the right

to trial by jury in each of the states. Ten additional
states and most of New York” guarantee the right to trial

by jury in all cases in which that right is available under
the Sixth Amendment, although modifications of the re-
quirements of a twelve man jury or a unanimous verdict
are made in some cases, frequently only cases not punish-
able by more than one year imprisonment. Appendix B.
With one narrow exception, 2 Louisiana is the only juris-
diction in the United States where all right to trial by

jury is denied in a elass of cases in which the right is

guaranteed at common law and under the Sixth Amend-
ment. In Louisiana, the right is denied by statute in a
number of serious criminal cases, including at least one

' offense punishable by up to ten years imprisonment.”

d. Trial by Jury Secures the Individual Against
Arbitrary Official Conduct

The right i in a criminal proceeding to trial by a jury
fairly representative of the community is frequently a
defendant’s only protection against arbitrary official con-
duet. In this case, appellant was arrested at the height
of official opposition to court-ordered school desegregation
in Plaquemines Parish.“ The prosecution was initiated

26 In Patton v. United States, 281 U.S. 276 (1930), the Court stated

that the Sixth Amendment guarantees a twelve man jury and a unani-
“mous verdict. 281 U.S. at

The cases cited in note 5, supra, hold
that the jury trial right 3 8 8. under the Sixth Amendment in all but
“petty offenses.” See 18 1
The New York practice is set forth in Appendix B, p. 8a.

28 See note 27, supra.

29 La. Rev. STAT. 143 84.1 (Cum. Supp. 1962). The right to trial by
jury in Louisiana is summarized in Appendix C.

80 See United States v. Plaquemines Parish School Board, 12 .
Rel. L. Rep. 219 (E. D. La. Oct. 21, * ay BT ei 4
United Skates v. Plaquemines Paris 1 No.
66-71A (E.D. La. June 27, 1967) (Findings ot Fact and Conelusion of
Law, Second ‘Bepplemental Order).

16

not by the indictment of a grand jury, but by a Bill of
Information filed by the District Attorney, Leander
Perez, Jr.

At trial, appellant asserted that he had acted to pro-
tect the Negro boys from violent interference with their
exercise of federal rights and that he had acted entirely

peacefully. It is appellant’s position that the prosecution .

against him was part of the general official effort to dis-.

courage the exercise of rights under the federal court order.
On the other hand, the state contended that appellant had
actually slapped one of the boys on the elbow and had thus,

at least technically, committed a battery: Once the factual

dispute was resolved in the state’s favor on the basis of
more than “no evidence“, ! in a proceeding that had the
objective earmarks of fairness, 2 it is doubtful that other
remedies remained available for the. vindication of appel-
lant’s right. Cf. City of Greenwood v. Peacock; 384 U. 8.
808, 828-29 (1966).

“The vindication of the defendant's federal rights”,
and particularly his basic right to an impartial deter-
mination of guilt or innocence is left to the state courts

. (Id. at 828). Due process of law requires that this

determination be made 5 twelve of the defendant's peers,
and not by a a . named by the Crown. Who
might. . . imprison . .. any man that was obnoxious to.

the government, by an 5 instant declaration, that such is

their will and pleasure.” IV * op. cit. supra,

at ares

In times of + difficulty and danger, more is

to be apprehended from the violence and partiality
of judges appointed by the Crown, in suits between
the king and the subject, than. in disputes between

81 Thompson v. Louisville, 362 U.S. 199 (1960).
* Townsend v. Sain, 372 U.S. 293 (1963).

. Of Counsel:

17

one individual and another. ... T Ihe founders of
the English law have with excellent forecast con-
trived . .. that the truth of every accusation .
should afterwards be confirmed by the unanimous
suffage of twelve of [defendant's equals and neigh-
bours, indifferently chosen and superior to all sus-
picion. ?

- CONCLUSION

This appeal raises an issue of fundamental importance

to our system of criminal justice. The Court has not di-
rectly considered the applicability of the Sixth Amendment
jury trial guarantee to the states since 1900, at a time
when it was thought that none of the guarantees of the
Sixth Amendment applied in the state courts, In light of
the recent cases in this Court applying to the states all
the rights of the Sixth Amendment other than trial by
jury, and in light of the historical and contemporary ma-
terials demonstrating thé significance of trial by jury, the
issue should be reconsidered by the Court. at this time.

Respectfully submitted,

RICHARD B. SOBOL' |
2209 Dryades Street
New Orleans, Louisiana
Attorney for Appellant

ALVIN J. BRONSTEIN,
Jackson, Mississippi,

ANTHONY G. AMSTERDAM,
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania,

DoNALD JUNEAU,
New Orleans, Louisiana.

July, 1967.
83 IV BLACKSTONE, op. cit. supra *349-50;

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386412_0167%3A02. Public record. Not legal advice.
