# Memorandum — Wyandotte Transportation Co. v. United States (No. 31)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386412_0109%3A03

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Memorandum
- **Published:** January 1, 1967

## Text

meat

A Sate gnome

In the initia coors: the “uiten States ‘

OCTOBER RM; 1966 |

) No.’ 888 ,

a citi dateittininis Co., ET ae
PETITIONERS

v. °

9 e . -
UNITED STATEs ‘OF AMERICA

D 2
* £4-
ON ‘PETITION FOR A ‘WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE ©
ED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR —
. f FIFTH CIRCUIT

a

“/-\. MEMORANDUM FOR THE-UNITED STATES _

"Although we heltiee: that the decision Below is cor-
rect, we do not. oppose the petition: There is. aNdir ect

pa between the instant case and United States v.

Zubik, 295 F. 2d 53 (€.A. 8), and United States v.
Bethlehem Steel Corp., 319 F. 2d 512 (C.A. 9), certio-
rari ‘denied, 375 U.S. 966. “Moreover, the issue in-
volved—whether the cost of removing .vessels negli-

- gently sunk in the navigable waters of the United

States must be’ borne by the tortfeasor rather than
i eae |

a

eer

1"

_, the’ public Treasury—is an important “ recurring
one, — 3 aes
‘1. The decision below involves two separate’ cases
consolidated by the ‘district court. In one (United
States v. 2,220,000 Pounds Chlorine’ Cargo, etc., et
_al.), a barge laden with liquid chlorine under pres-

- sure sank in the Mississippi River on March 23, 1961, .
Hoe being push-towed,- and her owner notified the ©
3 Corps of Engineers that ‘it’ abandonéd. the
- barge. In view of the ‘potential menace of over two '
“million pounds of. chlorine gas escaping from the
‘barge’s. tanks, President Kennedy proclaimed the .
_- sinking a major | disaster ‘and directed that the tanks -
_be removed, The chlorine-laden tanks were then re--

: moved from the river bed ciency the concerted ef-
‘ forts of civil. defense, public health, and State au-:
thorities at a cost to the government of approxi-

“mately $3,081,000. Alfeging negligence in the con-

struction, condition, and towing of-the chlorine barge,

the government brought suit to reco¥ér the costs of - ,.-

removal against the cargo, its consignee and the own-
.."ers of the chlorine barge and the tugboat tet 1 was
pushing it when the sinking occurred. .
: In the other case (United States -v. ‘cargill, Ine. k
ot al.), the barges L1 and M65. were struck by a
supe nker during the early morning hou se ‘of March
31, 1961, and sank in the Mississippi River. The
‘owners and-charterers of the barges marked them for
day and night. navigation; they then notified -the
Corps of Engineers that they abandoned the vessels
_ and deemed the government their owner. The govern- |
" ment, refused to accept the. abandonment. Thereafter, |

\ ° a

——

v

2

ts

painitei s_idltts tae tii string ihtatee Iatiie Sphnatideatat cialpe tates idbacinillnn Aeleaae
> s° °
, ‘ ‘ °
4 Par, e
*\. *
.

alleging negligence i in the condition nd mooring of ,

__ the barges, the goverriment sued th¢ir owners, man--
agers, charterers, and insurers to Haye them decreed ,

liable for the removal of the barges.

&

The district ‘court entered summary judgment

i against the United States in each action on the ground

that “the only right * + * that the United States

Government has: to recover its Sent gp is a right in |
- rem against the vessels themselves” (

Pet. App. 17).
The Fifth Circuit reversed and remanded for trial on

the issue of petitioners’ negligence.‘ The court noted »

that Section 10. of the Rivers and Harbors Act of

1899 (30 Stat. 1151, 33 U.S.C. 403) prohibits -—

“the creation of any obstruction” to navigation, ahd’

‘that Section 15 (33 U.S.C. 409) specifically makes

of unlawful “to voluntarily .or carelessly sink, or

pérmit or cause’ to-be surik, vessels or other craft —

in. navigable channels.” Relying, inter alia, on United
Stateg v. ‘Republic Steel Corp., 362 U.S. 482, the
court held that implicit in these statutory prohibi-
‘tions are the necessary remedies—injunction or money

damages—to. place on tortfeasors- the burden of re-
moving vessels sunk as the result of their negligence.

's The court rejected petitioners’: principal argument

that Section 15 of the Act. permits the abandonment

&vith' impunity of negligently sunk vessels, stating.

that “the. correct: reading of the statute allows only

1Qn the petition for ‘ie of the consignee of- the

chlorine cargo, the court of appeals affirmed thé summary
judgment entered in its favor on the ground that “there are

C).

no ee or ts of. — on its ates (Pet. App. :

Kg AL MDE BEADED,
.

SP Rathi, se ee us | Vin eet en ie

4a

2

an innocent owner to abandon his ship and that a

negligent party must raise the vessel or pay for its
removal’”’: (Pet. App. 31).? )

2. The decision below is in direct conflict with de-

7 cisions of the Third and Ninth Cirguits.. In United
. States. v. Zubik, 295 F..2d 58 (C.A. %),:the govern-

ment sued: the owner of a negligently sunk vessel to
recover the costs expended i in raising the wreck. While

. recognizing in'dictum (id. at 56) that the.government
may obtain an injunction to compel . removal of a

sunken vessel, the-court of appeals read the Rivers
and Harbors Act as limiting tle government’s right

to monetary. relief to. an in rem proceeding against -

the vessel itself. An United States v. Bethlehem Steel
Corp:, 319 F. 2d 512 (C.A. 9), the government was de-
nied an injunction to compel the_removal of a negli-
gently sunk ship by her owne~ and: charterer. Al-

‘though acknowledging that Section 15 of the Rivers
- and Harbors Act prohibits the negligent: sinking of a °
vessel, the court. of ‘appeals’ (Judge Browning dissent-

ing) read this section as conferring on a negligent

shipowner the absolute right to limit his liability, for

: removing the vessel. to. his interest in the vessel, .

‘3

. view of its decision that the — a sable Act
~~ implicitly afforded the relief requested, the court did not reich

the government’s altePnative argument that it was entitled
to the requested relief under the common daw and maritime
law: In the event that certiorari is granted, the United States

reserves \the right to renew this argument as an additional

basis for affirmance of the judgment below.

_ 8 We do not. ‘agree | with petitioners’ claim (Pet. 7, 10-11) |
of a conflict between the decision below and the decisions in

China Union Lines, Ltd. v. A.’O. Andersen & Co, 364 F. 24

id ; Be o

§

&*

x 5

8. Although we do not oppose certiorari, we note
briefly our reasons for-believing that the decision be- .
_ low is correct. Section 10 of the Act prohibits the
creation of “any-obstruction” in the navigable waters
:_ of the United States, and Section 15 more particu-
larly prohibits the sinking of a vessel. The - final
- Clause of Section 15—that “ * * * it shall be the duty
of the owner of such sunken craft to commence: the
_ immediate removal of the same; and prosecute such
removal] diligently, an failure to do so shall be con-
sidered as an abandonment of such craft, and subject
the same to removal by the United States Ci ee
upon which petitioners rely, does not confer on a neg-.
ligent shipowner the absolute right’ to limit -his lia-
bility to his interest in the sunken vessel by abandon-
ing it. Rather, under the traditional principles off ad-
miralty law (see, e.g., the Limitation of Liability

769 (C.A. 5), and United States v. Wilson, 235 F. 2d 951
(C.A. 2). In the China Union case, the government: sought _
(and was granted) relief solely in rem against the ‘vessel; it
did not seek recovery in personam. The statement in the
_ court's opinion that “* * * the Government could hot proceed —
im personam against China Union * * *” (id. at 792) is
dictum. In Wilson, the United States sought by injunction to
compel the removal of a suaken barge from the Hudson
River. The court implicitly held that the barge was an “ob- :
struction”$prohibited by Section 10, 33 U.S.C. 403, but also
. held that injunctive rélief was available only under Section
12 of thé Act, 33 U.S.C, 406; and that that_section’s reach
was confined to the enjoining of “structures.” The latter
holding has in effect been overruled by the subsequent decision
of this Court in United States v. Republic Steel Corp., 362 U.S.
482, that injunctive relief is not limited to the: removal of
“structures” and that the right to an injunction against’ any
“obstruction” is implied in the Act. |

. Oo

‘ ‘ r
RO atin Raa tte oe NO ABE BO ne.
,

” .
LOS See DRAM an wit J Ks OS rahe AE age

NS
", z 6 .,
Act of 1851, 9 Stat. 635, as amended, 46 U.S.C. 182,
et seg.), only an innocent vessel owner may limit his.
liability to the vessel; one who intentionally or negli-

- gently sinks his vessel may not. Moreover, the final

clause of Section 15 may not be read as conferring

‘any rights stemming from an abandonment on tort-

feasors other than the vessel owner=—such as the
charterers of the barges and the tugboat owner in
these cases. Accordingly, under this Court’s decision |
in United States v. Republic Steel Corp., supra, 362
U.S. 482, an injunction to compel petitioners to re- -

- move the-sunken barges L1 and M65 would properly

issue. And, by analogy, an award of monetary dam-
ages is appropriate where the government, because of
the exigencies of the matter, has itself removed the

iy obstruction. See United States v. Perma: re Co., ar
832 F. 2d 754 (C.A. 2).. —

4, That the issue is‘a recurring one is hint
from the cases to which we have already made: ref-
erence. In addition, we note the pending case of In

the Matter of Marine Leasing Services, Inc. (E.D.

La., Admiralty No. 869) in which the government
seeks to recover $1,757,500 expended in-connection

- with the removal of six hundred tons of liquid chlor- .
ine’ under: pressure from: another. barge, alleged to

have been negligently sunk in the Mississippi River
in September 1965. The increasing amount: of traf-
fie on navigable waters and the increasing size of
vessels and their cargoes make it predictable’ that

‘the issue will continue to arise.

7
For the foregoing reasons, the’ United States does |
“not oppose the petition for a writ of certiorari. |

Respectfully submitted:
LZ.
THURGOOD MARSHALL,
Solicitor General.

BAREFOOT SANDERS,
Assistant Attorney General.

ALAN S. ROSENTHAL,
MARTIN JACOBS,
Attorneys.

JANUARY 1967. | eae er opern iy re: oe

¥ v: &. covennmenr printine orice; 1967 _ 243772 544 -

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386412_0109%3A03. Public record. Not legal advice.
