# Motion — United States v. General Motors Corp.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386411_0254%3A05

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Motion
- **Published:** January 1, 1966
- **Citation:** 384 U.S. 127

## Text

OEE ee ee eee eee

FEB 11 1965

Noe §=46
IN THE

Supreme Court of the United

OCTOBER TERM, 1964

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, ~ ,

Appellant,
v.
GENERAL Motors CorPoRATION; Losor
CHEVROLET DEALERS ASSOCIATION;
DEALERS’ SERVICE, INC.; AND
FOOTHILL CHEVROLET DEALERS ASSOCIATION,
Appellees.

On Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Southern District of California, Central Division.

MOTION OF APPELLEE
GENERAL MOTORS CORPORATION
TO AFFIRM

HoMER I. MITCHELL
WARREN M. CHRISTOPHER
433 South Spring Street
Los Angeles, California 90013
Marcus MATTSON
J. PHILLIP NEVINS
605 West Olympic Boulevard
Los Angeles, California 90015
ALoysius F. Power
ROBERT A. NITSCHKE
NicHoLAas J. ROsIELLO
3044 West Grand Boulevard
Detroit, Michigan 48202
Attorneys for Appellee

General Motors Corporation
O’MELVENY & MYERS

LAWLER, Fetix & HALL
Of Counsel

TOPICAL INDEX

~

pS nae

-

a
4
j
8
‘
fe
3
Ra

4 2. Chevrolet dealers’ use of unauthorized outlets.......... 6
‘ (a) Prices of sales through discount houses............ 7
(b) Effect of sales through discount houses............ 10

3. Action taken by General Motors to stop dealers’ use
of discount houses as additional sales outlets............ 11

1. The Chevrolet franchise plan of marketing................ 2

2 1. The District Court found that General Motors acted
; " i iiricinsseiinttosasishcnicriasbuipantt cic ii sai 15

2. The supporting evidence is substantial ............... ....... 17
Ca} Tem Te i 17

(b) Adverse effects of additional outlets................ 20

3. The cases involving per se restraints are inapposite 23

ft in Se ate abe kris ce oe
BE ESA eI NS Biers ae BS FSS eee

Conclusion

Map showing locations of Chevrolet dealers throughout the

Los Angeles Metropolitan Area (GMX-A) Opposite p. 4

TABLES OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Cases Page

———

Boro Hall Corp. v. General Motors Corp., 124 F.2d 822
(2nd Cir. 1942); rehearing denied 130 F.2d 196 (2nd
Cit, 1942): cert. denied 317 U.S. 695...--.------me 18, 23

Chicago Board of Trade v. United States, 246 US. 231.......- 20
International Boxing Club v. United States, 358 U.S. 242...... 16
Interstate Circuit Inc. v. United States, 306 U.S. oc axcscunnes 24
United States v. General Motors Corporation, 216 F. Supp.

United States v. Parke, Davis & Co., 362 US. . Rees 23
United States v. Real Estate Boards, 399 U.S. 485.....-.------ 17
United States v. Twentieth Century-Fox, 137 F.Supp. 78

CST Ck, 1958) rn 24

United States v. White Motor Co., 272 U.S. 253......---------- 3

United States v. Yellow Cab, 338 U.S. 338......---.-------- 16, 23, 25

White Motor Co. v. United States, 372 U.S. | ea 18, 23
Statute

Sherman Act, section 1..........-----s-sssesereecseresses enter ee 2
Rules

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 52(a).....------------------ 16

Revised Rules of the Supreme Court of the United States,
1

Rule 16, paragraph 1(C)....-------s-s--ssecsseersrtree tte

References

Lewis and Hancock, The Franchise System of Distribution
106) 6 rn 16

Turner, The Definition of Agreement Under the Sherman Act:
Conscious Parallelism and Refusals to Deal, 75 Harv. L.
Saw. O56 (1962) rrr 23

Te ERM eta ig er ee

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1964
No. 820

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Appellant,
Vv.
GENERAL Motors CORPORATION; LOSOR
CHEVROLET DEALERS ASSOCIATION;
DEALERS’ SERVICE, INC.; AND
FooTHILL CHEVROLET DEALERS ASSOCIATION,
Appellees.

2 On Appeal from the United States District Court for the
13 Southern District of California, Central Division.

MOTION OF APPELLEE
GENERAL MOTORS CORPORATION
TO AFFIRM

b Pursuant to Rule 16, paragraph 1(c), of the Revised
Rules of this Court, General Motors Corporation moves
that the judgment of the District Court be affirmed.

STATEMENT
This is a direct appeal from the final judgment of the
District Court dated September 14, 1964, in a civil
antitrust case. The District Court held, after trial, that
appellees did not engage in the alleged combination to
suppress competition in the sale and distribution of

sii lp

Chevrolet automobiles in the Southern California area
in violation of Section 1 of the Sherman Act.*

A more complete Statement of the case than that con-
tained in the Jurisdictional Statement is necessary for
consideration of the Question Presented.

1. The Chevrolet franchise plan of marketing.

Chevrolet dealerships are locally owned and operated
by independent businessmen under franchise agreements
with Chevrolet.** Among the rights granted by these
franchise agreements, called “Dealer Selling Agree-
ments,” are the non-exclusive right to purchase new
Chevrolets at dealer prices and the right to re-sell them
in a manner which will promote sales and preserve the
good will of Chevrolet. The dealers’ rights and obliga-
tions are personal and not transferable. Chevrolet grants
such rights based upon its judgment as to the number
of dealer outlets which are necessary for the operation of
its franchise plan (Fdgs. 9, 11, 16, 25, 26; GX-1, Exhibits
2-7 thereto; Tr. pp. 423-425).

Under the Dealer Selling Agreements, the location of
each dealer must be specifically approved by Chevrolet
and the dealer is not permitted to establish an additional
location or a branch office or to transfer his sales
obligation to others without the prior written approval

*The identical issue was presented to a different judge of the

Southern District of California in an earlier trial upon an indict-

ment returned against appellees here and four Chevrolet

officials. After four months of trial, the Court granted a judg-
ment of acquittal at the conclusion of the Government's case.

216 F.Supp. 362 (1963) (opinion and judgment).

**General Motors Corporation manufactures and distributes
Chevrolets through its Chevrolet Motor Division (herein called
“Chevrolet” ).

TER eubeRgee spe ie siaheer me irene ine. . ” — . ”
ie ee aL Na LEONE LE NOOSE MANE NEY ERO 2 eee

yo

4
4
. “e
&
ae

\

&
‘e
>.
fl

ee Soe

of Chevrolet. The location clause was adopted by
Chevrolet in 1940 and is uniformly included as a part
of all General Motors Dealer Selling Agreements. It
was not adopted at the instigation or inducement of the
dealers. On the coutrary, it was developed by General
Motors exclusively to serve its own interests, following
many years of market analysis and practical experience.
In adopting the clause, General Motors’ aim was to insure —
that its careful planning to achieve the optimum coverage
of the market and thus to further competition with other
makes would not “be defeated by the haphazard actions
of individual dealers” in establishing additional outlets
(App. B to Tr., p. 83; Tr. 255-256; 333-337; 556).

Chevrolet dealers have complete freedom to sell at
any price they choose and they do. General Motors
exercises no control whatsoever over the dealers’ pricing
of their cars (Fdg. 10; Tr. 343-344; 627). They have
complete freedom to sell to any customer wherever he
may be located and they do. No class of customers is
excluded. “Cross-selling” is not prohibited; there is no
geographical or territorial barrier — neither territorial
security nor territorial exclusivity.* The customer can
purchase his Chevrolet from any dealer anywhere at
any price he can negotiate. (Tr. 342-344; 624; App. C
to Tr. p. 61.)

Under the Chevrolet franchise plan, Chevrolet appoints
what its studies show are the right number of dealers lo-
cated in the right places to make sales and service facili-
ties and parts supplies conveniently available to con-
sumers (Tr. 423-425; 631-632; 337; App. B to Tr. p. 91).

* Unlike the contracts which were the subject of United States
v. White Motor Co., 272 U. S. 253.

= oe

Such strategic location of dealers is essential because
Chevrolets kept in proper working order at conveniently
located service facilities keep customers satisfied and
satisfied customers, as repeat buyers, constitute 70% of
the purchasers of new Chevrolets (Tr. 259-260). It is
also essential because it enables Chevrolet to achieve a
needed continuity of representation by providing for
each dealer a sales potential adequate to enable him to
continue in business if he competes vigorously and effec-
tively.

This continuity affords Chevrolet representation year
in and year out, in the peaks and valleys caused by busi-
ness cycles and model changes. It is important to Chev-
rolet not only because the dealer can thereby provide
conveniently located sales and service facilities and parts
supplies to consumers, but also because he can perform
ancillary functions such as conditioning cars for delivery,
remedying latent defects which occassionally occur in
mass production, performing warranty obligations, and
making the market estimates which close contacts with
consumers make possible and which are required for
orderly manufacturing schedules (Fdgs. 11-13; Tr. 308-
366; 423-425; App. B to Tr. pp. 68-86).

The locations of the 85 Chevrolet dealers throughout
the Los Angeles Metropolitan Area (which includes
most of Los Angeles and Orange counties and is the
area involved in this action) are graphically shown on
the map (GMX-A) reproduced as an insert between
this page and the next page. The blue dots are Chev-
rolet dealers; the red dots are discount houses and referral
services used by some of the Chevrolet dealers.

SRI ARE HE HELL MARA TR UENT Ata TY ee ; Pe caer Mon ; ;
iS POEM LEE TIM SE LE ION OR 9 RUMEN HINT IE STIN LO YG NE NE

Wicmeaviom Anwea

Los Angeles Metropolitan Area

FELES* ORANGE,
COUNTIES

oe J
litan lap
LE.

CALIFORNIA

emg ,

SS SS.

Hictropo

ANGE

Los

tie Moai

Under the Chevrolet franchise plan, each dealer has
the obligation to develop the sale of Chevrolets in his
“area of sales responsibility.” In the Los Angeles Metro-
politan Area, each dealer’s “area of sales responsibility”
is the entire metropolitan area (GX-1, Par. 17). This
means that the 85 Chevrolet dealers in the area must
compete for customers throughout the entire area. Under
the plan, each dealer’s location gives him an opportunity
of contact with customers in his neighborhood, but if
he does not meet or beat the prices and other competi-
tive efforts of the other 84 dealers, he will be unable to
capitalize on this opportunity (Fdg. 17). Thus, the plan
is based on the principle of vigorous competition be-
tween dealers under a marketing plan in which each
operates from an agreed location and may not transfer
his selling obligation to others.

As shown by the map, there is an average of five
other Chevrolet dealers within five miles of each of the
85 Chevrolet dealers in the Los Angeles Metropolitan
Area (GMX-J). In addition, within the five mile area
there is an average of 22 dealers in competing makes of
new cars, exclusive of competing General Motors makes
(GMX-B and J). There is intense intrabrand compe-
tition — primarily price and service competition —
among Chevrolet dealers, and there is intense interbrand
competition — as to price, service, style and performance
— between Chevrolet dealers and dealers for all other
makes of automobiles (Fdgs. 28-29).

Upon the basis of uncontradicted evidence, the trial
court found the facts to be:

‘ eS ee
—
‘iia nie

“The Chevrolet franchise system with its location
restrictions and its restrictions against transferring or
assigning to third parties sales and service obligations
promotes rather than impairs competition in the retail
sale of Chevrolet automobiles and benefits the purchas-
ing public. It enhances Chevrolet’s ability to compete
with other manufacturers, promotes the competition of
Chevrolet dealers with dealers selling rival makes and

promotes the competition of Chevrolet dealers with
each other.” (Fdg. 33)

2. Chevrolet dealers’ use of unauthorized outlets.

In the early summer of 1960, some Chevrolet dealers
in the Southern Caliiornia area were selling new Chev-
rolets pursuant to agreements under which unauthorized
outlets (discount houses* ) performed many of the mer-
chandising functions normally performed by Chevrolet
dealers. These discount houses, which operated at loca-
tions removed from the approved location of the Chev-
rolet dealer involved, maintained new car sales depart-
ments which advertised Chevrolets and distributed
Chevrolet promotional literature (Fdgs. 18-19).

In every case, the sale of the new Chevrolet to the
customer was made by the Chevrolet dealer through the
discount house with title passing directly from the dealer
to the customer. In no case did the dealer sell to the
discount house, and in no case did the discount house
make a vesale (Fdg. 19).

* As does appellant, we shall use the words “discount houses”
to cover both discount houses and referral services.

RN red REA OES GE COE

PRE! Shs kl

eae

east sia

(a) Prices of sales through discount houses.

The sale of Chevrolets through these unauthorized out-
lets did not enable the dealers who used them to sell at
lower prices than they sold directly to their ordinary
customers, and thus the additional outlets were not “dis-
count houses” in the usual connotation of that term as
an outlet which sells for less. The evidence is, and the
trial court found:

“As shown by an independent study made by Price
Waterhouse & Co., there was no appreciable difference
between the prices paid by customers who purchased
Chevrolet passenger cars from a dealer through a dis-
count house or referral service and the prices paid by
ordinary retail customers who purchased directly from
that dealer. (Fdg. 31)

The Price Waterhouse & Co. study, which took more
than 10,000 man hours to complete, concerned the 1960
sales of the seven dealers who sold almost all (96% ) of
the Chevrolets which were sold through discount houses.
The median price at which those dealers sold directly
to ordinary customers was $220 over dealer’s invoice
cost, while the median price at which they sold to cus-
tomers through discount houses was $235 over dealer’s
invoice cost (GMX-DB). Appellant asserts that Chev-
rolet dealers sold Chevrolets through discount houses
“often for only $165 more than dealer’s invoice cost”
(J.S. 3). The fact is that in 1960 the dealers studied by
Price Waterhouse ’& Co. sold 1461 (or 24.5% ) of their
total direct sales of 5970 cars to ordinary customers for
$165 or less over dealer’s invoice cost, whereas they
sold 143 (or 10.7%) of their total sales of 1336 cars

LA

ees Gorn

through discount houses at $165 or less over dealer’s
invoice cost (GX-212).

Chevrolet dealers “almost always sold at a dis-
counted price from the manufacturer’s suggested list
price, which, as a matter of law, has to be stated and
affixed to each car” (Tr. 436). The uncontradicted evi-
dence is that if a customer is not satisfied with the prices
quoted by one dealer, he can go to another conveniently
located dealer. Since the Los Angeles Metropolitan Area
is interconnected by a web of high speed freeways, every
person in the entire area has easy access to many dealers,
including one or more of the seven dealers studied by
Price Waterhouse & Co. from whom customers, on the
average, could purchase Chevrolets at lower prices than
through discount houses (GMX-A). By the same token,
dealers solicit customers on an area-wide basis.

Statements as to isolated discount house prices in some
of the letters and telegrams of complaint by dealers
and salesmen were double hearsay and were not offered
or received in evidence as proof of prices at which
Chevrolets were sold through discount houses (Tr.
226-235). At the trial, counsel for appellant stated
that such letters and telegrams were not offered “to estab-
lish the fact that the discount houses were, in fact, selling
for less than the dealers” (Tr. 232). The Price Waterhouse
& Co. study is the only evidence in the record of the prices
of dealers’ direct sales to ordinary customers as compared
to their sales through discount houses, and, as stated
above, it shows that the customer did not receive a price
advantage in buying from dealers through discount
houses rather than directly from such dealers.

PAGING ILIA ELT ERG SER Rt SIE LUBE A CR :
aiid ERG ONE ER EER

a

The prices charged on sales through discount houses
had nothing to do with General Motors’ decision to urge
dealers not to use discount houses as additional sales
outlets (Fdg. 38). However, in view of the statements

made by appellant (J. S. 14-15), it is worth noting that,
rather than promoting price competition, arrangements

between dealers and discount houses in many instances
inhibited both interbrand and intrabrand competition.
At FEDCO, the largest discount house automobile oper-
ation in the area (Dealers Diversified Services, Inc.) had
a “one-price policy” (App. B to Tr., p. 30). Under the
uniform written agreement with the discount house
(which was also used for dealers in Ford, Plymouth,
Rambler and other competitive makes of cars), each
Chevrolet dealer doing business with FEDCO was obli-
gated to sell to customers referred by the discount house
at the same specified price over dealer’s invoice cost
(Fdg. 32; GMX-AP; App. B to Tr., pp. 23-30). The
adverse effect of these arrangements upon price com-
petition is shown by the fact that in 1960 there were only
four Chevrolets sold through FEDCO at $165 or less
over dealer’s invoice cost — not even 1% of the 594
sales through FEDCO — whereas 18.7% of the 1243
direct sales to ordinary customers made by the dealers
concerned were at $165 or less over dealer’s invoice cost
(App. B to Tr., 27; GX 145-152; 212: GMX-AP). Fleet
Sales Company (the second largest discount house auto-
mobile operation in the area) also had a “one-price”
arrangement with each of three Chevrolet dealers. These
dealers were obligated to quote the “prearranged prices”
on a “take it or leave it basis” and could not negotiate lower
prices with the referred customers even though the failure

i Ol aes

to do so might result in the loss of the sale (App. B to
Tr., pp. 9, 35-38). It is significant that 60% of all the
Chevrolets sold through what appellant calls a “new
form of merchandising in the automobile industry” (J.S.
10) were sold through these two discount houses oper-
ating under “one-price” plans (GX-212).

(b) Effect of sales through discount houses.

By 1960, there were 23 discount house outlets in the
Los Angeles Metropolitan Area through which Chev-
rolets were being sold.* These discount houses were
outlets or locations for the merchandising of Chevrolet
dealers’ new Chevrolets in addition to the outlets whose
number and location had been determined by Chevrolet
as optimum for the proper operation of its franchise plan.
They were a way of accomplishing that which was pro-
hibited by the provision of the Dealer Selling Agreements
requiring dealers to refrain from establishing additional
locations or branch sales offices without the written ap-
proval of Chevrolet (Fdgs. 20, 26; App. A to Tr. pp.
89-90). The use by Chevrolet dealers of discount house
outlets also defeated the purpose of the provisions of the
Dealer Selling Agreement that the agreement is a personal
service contract and that each dealer is prohibited from
transferring or assigning his sales obligations to third
parties (Fdgs. 26-27; GX-1, Exh. 2.1-2.3; App. A to
Tr. 89-90).

General Motors’ experience has been that adding dealer
points for the same sales potential results in dealer mor-

* As shown by GX-1, the 23 discount house locations were dis-
persed throughout the metropolitan area and only five were
located in Orange County (compare J.S. 4).

a

jens iin

talities. This prior experience indicated that Chevrolet
dealers’ use of discount houses as outlets for the sale
of new Chevrolets would cause the withdrawal from
business of a substantial number of Chevrolet dealers.
(App. A to Tr., pp. 87-90; App. B to Tr., pp. 76-77;
Tr., pp. 375, 379-382; 437; 632-634). As shown by a
study made by Price Waterhouse & Co., the first ones to
go would be the smaller dealers (App. C to Tr., pp. 5-6;
10-21; 116), leaving the larger dealers, haphazardly
located, with their discount house satellites (Tr. 380-
381).

Discount houses do not provide Chevrolet with the
kind of retail selling organization needed for Chevrolet’s
competition with its rivals. They do not promote Chevro-
let sales, and Chevrolet cannot depend upon them to
provide an active and aggressive sales effort year in and
year out through the peaks and valleys (App. B, Tr. p.
30; Tr. 380-382). They cannot provide convenient
service facilities or parts supplies to Chevrolet owners.
They cannot be relied upon to provide, directly or through
the dealers under which they operated, the expert and
detailed market information required for orderly manu-
facturing scheduling (Tr. pp. 416-423).

3. Action taken by General Motors to stop dealers’
use of discount houses as additional sales outlets.

The use of discount houses as sales outlets as a regular
practice by some Chevrolet dealers in the Southern
California area was first brought to the attention of the
General Motors executives in Detroit in November, 1960,

wine actin

when they received a large number of letters and tele-
grams from Southern California dealers and salesmen
(Tr. pp. 440-442). Many were Chevrolet dealers; others
were dealers in other makes of General Motors cars
(Tr. p. 444). They made various complaints and asked
General Motors and Chevrolet to bring the practice to
an end.

General Motors thereupon made its own investigation
and study of the use of discount houses as sales outlets
by dealers for all makes of General Motors cars in
Southern California and other areas. No dealers or
dealer organizations were consulted (Tr. pp. 444-445;
448; 605).

Upon the basis of this study, General Motors, acting
under the direction of its Vice President in charge of
distribution and with the approval of its President,
on December 14, 1960, formulated the corporation’s
position in a letter which was thereafter sent to all
Cadillac, Oldsmobile, Buick, Pontiac and Chevrolet
dealers in the United States numbering over 15,000. The
letter expressed the corporation’s opposition, in the light
of the dealer’s obligations under their Dealer Selling
Agreements, to arrangements by dealers with discount
houses for the sale of the dealers’ new cars through such
discount houses. It pointed out that such practices
could represent the establishment of a second and
unauthorized sales outlet or location contrary to
the provisions of the Dealer Selling Agreements. It ad-
vised that personnel of the several motor car divisions
were being instructed to meet with General Motors
dealers for the purpose of attempting to induce and per-

anny | eee

suade each such dealer to refrain from entering into
arrangements for the sale of new General Motors cars
through discount thouses in violation of his Dealer
Selling Agreement (App. A to Tr. pp. 76-77; GMX-AU
and AV; Tr. pp. 447-448; 451-452).

Thereafter, individuals representing the appellee dealer
associations, acting independently of General Motors,
shopped discount houses in the Los Angeles Metropolitan
Area, and by purchasing new Chevrolets from some
dealers through discount houses found that some dealers
were continuing to use discount houses as sales outlets.
They so informed the Los Angeles Zone Office of Chev-
rolet which brought each shopped car to the attention
of the dealer who sold it and asked him whether he
wished to repurchase the car. The Zone Office, reaiizing
that dealers employ many salesmen, recognized that “it
was quite possible for a car to get away from a dealer
without him knowing anything about it” and regarded
this as a “very effective means of bringing to the atten-
tion of the dealers” that this had happened (Tr. 745-746,
896). This was a way of showing the dealers that “there
was a possible violation of the selling agreement” and
of trying to “persuade them to Stop it” (Tr. 786).

The District Court heard the testimony of the Presi-
dent of General Motors and the Vice President in charge
of distribution who acted for the corporation in this
matter, as well as the Los Angeles Chevrolet Zone Man-
a_ ¢ who was in charge of carrying out the corporation’s

instructions. Having seen the witnesses and observed
their demeanor, the court expressly found that General

—14—

Motors had acted independently and without combina-
tion, conspiracy or concert of action with the Chevrolet
dealers or the appellee dealer associations (Fdgs. 37 and
45).

At the conclusion of the testimony and argument, the
District Court announced its opinion and decision in
favor of appellees and directed that the proposed findings
which had been lodged by appellees with the Court prior
to argument should be consolidated and modified to re-
flect the gist of his opinion (J.S., App. A, p. lla). There-
after, revised findings of fact were lodged by appellees,
and appellant filed objections on September 10, 1964.
The District Court made modifications of the findings in
response to the objections, added a paragraph to the con-
clusions and signed and filed the Findings of Fact and
Conclusions of Law on September 14, 1964. (J.S., App.
B).

ARGUMENT

Appellant's complaint alleged that General Motors was
engaged in a “combination and conspiracy to suppress
and eliminate competition in the sale and distribution of
Chevrolet automobiles in the Southern California area”
(Par. 16). The Jurisdictional Statement is built on the
assumption that there was such joint action between
General Motors and its franchised Chevrolet dealers,
and that such joint action was proved. This assumption
is reflected in the Question Presented which refers to “an
arrangement” between General Motors and the Chevrolet
dealers and is even more apparent in the appellant’s
repeated but unsupported references to the “joint efforts”

a
:
MY
a
F
*
&
#
a
a

ant.

of General Motors and the Chevrolet dealers (J.S., 10,
11, 12).

The findings are flatly to the contrary. The District
Court found, with overwhelming support in the evidence,
that General Motors acted independently — not joint-
ly — to obtain compliance with a valid provision of its
Dealer Selling Agreements. Appellant has not challenged
these findings as “clearly erroneous” and accordingly they
are decisive of the allegation of combination and con-
spiracy which the Government made but failed to prove.

a The District Court found that General Motors
acted independently.

Every Chevrolet dealer has the unconditional freedom
to sell Chevrolets “to anyone, anywhere, at any price”
(GMX-AY, p. 3; Fdg. 10).* The location clause in the
Dealer Selling Agreements, which is of central import-
ance here, merely prevents the dealer from establishing
additional locations or branch offices without the prior
approval of Chevrolet (see Statement, supra, pp. 2-5).
General Motors sought to obtain compliance with this
clause when it acted in 1960 to persuade Chevrolet dealers
to refrain from using discount houses as additional out-
lets for the sale of the dealers’ Chevrolets (Fdg. 36).

count house selling that has been successfully employed for
most other consumer products” (J.S. 11).

a

Reflecting his oral opinion (J.S. App. A, pp. 9a-10a),
the District Judge specifically found such action by Gen-
eral Motors to be independent, not joint:

“ —_ Such action was taken independently and uni-
laterally by General Motors with respect to each Chev-
rolet dealer individually, to obtain compliance by each
dealer with the obligations he had undertaken in his
Dealer Selling Agreement and such action was not
taken by General Motors by combination, conspiracy
or concert of action with Chevrolet dealers or any of
them or with defendents Losor, Foothill or DSI or any
of them.” (Fdg. 45)

The District Court also found that the “sole motivation”
for General Motors action was the preservation of its
franchise system (Fdg. 37)*.

To establish the joint action which is the necessary
premise of its argument, the Government has the burden
of showing that these findings of independent action by
General Motors are “clearly erroneous.” Rule 52(a),
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure; International Boxing
Club v. United States, 358 U.S. 242. Such “findings as
to the design, motive and intent with which men act
depend peculiarly upon the credit given to witnesses by
those who see and hear them.” United States v. Yellow
Cab, 338 U.S. 338, 341. On review, they will not be

* A comprehensive study of the franchise system of distribution
made in 1963 by the University of Minnesota for the Small
Business Adininistration found that it results in a “broadening
of the economic base of the country by the encouragement of
small business”. Lewis and Hancock, The Franchise System of
Distribution (1963), 91.

GES EA, MEET ARH OLR NM AER ENTE

— 17 —

set aside even though the Supreme Court “might give
the facts another construction, resolve the ambiguities
differently, and find a more sinister cast to actions which
the District Court apparently deemed innocent.” United
States v. Real Estate Boards, 339 U.S. 485, 495.

2. The supporting evidence is substantial.

The finding of independent action is fully supported
by the testimony of the General Motors officials who were
responsible for the action taken.* The District Judge
listened to these witnesses, observed their demeanor,
and heard them cross-examined. In several instances,
he joined in the questioning on this very point (Tr. 608-
609, 786).

In addition to the direct testimony of the responsible
General Motors officials, there was an abundance of evi-
dence showing the basis for such independent action.

(a) The location clause.

Under the location clause of the Dealer Selling Agree-
ments, Chevrolet has the sole discretion to permit a
dealer to “establish a new or different location, branch
sales office, branch service station, or place of busi-
ness” (G.X.-1, Exh. 7.2). This location clause was
developed by General Motors commencing in 1940 to
serve exclusively its own interests. It was not adopted
at the instigation of the dealers, and they have no recipro-
cal right to prevent Chevrolet from approving the estab-

* John F. Gordon, President of General Motors (Tr. 599-608 );
James M. Roche, Vice President in charge of distribution (Tr.
440-458); Robert M. O'Connor, Los Angeles Chevrolet Zone
Manager (Tr. 709-787).

ok es

lishment of additional dealer outlets (App. B to Tr., p. 83;
Tr. 333-334, 556).

The complaint, which charges a combination and con-
spiracy between General Motors and Southern California
Chevrolet dealers and their dealer associations, does not
allege that the location clause or any other aspect of the
Dealer Selling Agreement is an unlawful vertical agree-
ment. The jurisdictional statement, however, now ad-
vances such an argument (J.S. 16-17). If the obliga-
tion of Chevrolet dealers to refrain from selling through
discount houses as additional outlets is considered a re-
straint of competition at all, it is so minimal and so
contributes to the long-term enhancement of competition
that there can be no substantial question of its reason-
ableness (Fdg. 33; Concl. of Law 1). ine one case
which has considered the location clause held it to
be reasonable and valid. Boro Hall Corp. v. General
Motors Corp., 124 F.2d 822 (2nd Cir. 1942); rehearing
denied 130 F.2d 196 (2nd Cir. 1942); cert. denied 317
USS. 695; cf. White Motor Co. v. United States, 372 US.
253, where much more restrictive contractual provisions
were held not illegal per se.

The minimal location restriction of the Chevrolet fran-
chise plan prevents the sale of Chevrolets in a metropoli-
tan area such as Los Angeles from becoming concentrated
in a relatively few large dealers using discount house
satellites (Tr. 380-385; App. C to Tr., pp. 5-6, 10-21,
116). The provision against unauthorized outlets, unlike
territorial exclusivity or territorial confinement, does not
interfere with free and unfettered competition carried
on from the locations to which the manufacturer and each

t
Bx
?
Be
as ‘
=
ee
hon
t
ies E,
Se
fe?
i
a
2
Wh
e
bo

Se

ay
;
i
M

&

pe eae

dealer agree.* As the District Court indicated, they are
minimum restrictions necessary for the operation of the
franchise system (J.S. App. A, pp. 7a-8a).

Indeed, if the location clause is to be struck down as
unreasonable, it is difficult to conceive of any provision
of an automobile franchise contract that would not meet
a similar fate. The standard clauses requiring a dealer
to invest a minimum amount of capital, to have a show-
room of adequate size, to stock an inventory of paris
and accessories, to maintain adequate service facilities,
to honor claims under the manufacturer’s warranty, and
to furnish reports needed by the manufacturer to establish
production schedules — all impose some limitation on the
freedom of the dealer (GX-1, Exh. 3.2). That imposed
by the location clause is no less reasonable. Without these
minimum provisions, the modern franchise system —
with all it has done to combine the economic benefits
of large scale manufacture with the values of independent

businesses locally owned and operated — could not sur-
vive,

* Although appellant belatedly charges General Motors with
“stabilization of prices” (J.S. 15), the complaint made no such
allegation and, at the trial, appellant failed to produce any kind
of a price study on which to base such a charge. Far from
showing price stabilization by General Motors, the only evidence
in the record regarding comparative prices (the Price Waterhouse
& Co. study) shows that the sale of Chevrolets through discount
houses did not enable the dealers who used such outlets to sell at
lower prices than those at which they sold to their ordinary
customers. The discount house arrangements made by some

dealers did, however, tend to stabilize those dealers’ Prices (see

Statement, pp. 7-10).

we

The trading of grain in the Chicago grain market pre-
_ sented unique marketing problems and was properly
made the subject of a marketing plan with agreed reg-
ulations. Chicago Board of Trade v. United States, 246
U.S. 231, 238. Automobiles also present unique dis-
tribution problems which necessitate use of a plan of
marketing. The factors that have impelled all automobile
manufacturers to adopt franchise plans of marketing are
described in the Findings of Fact (Fdgs. 12 and 15).
Under the Gencral Motors franchise plan, all dealers
are left free to compete with one another for sales to any
person anywhere at any price. The ground rules are the
minimum ones necessary to promote such competition.
Reasonable ground rules in a marketing plan which
promotes and does not suppress competition are not
unlawful. Chicago Board of Trade, supra, at 238.

(b) Adverse effects of additional outlets.

General Motors had legitimate business reasons of its
own for taking action under the location clause to dis-
suade its dealers from establishing additional dealer out-
lets at discount houses—reasons having nothing to do with
the requests of the Southern California dealers. General
Motors makes extensive studies to determine the right
number of Chevrolet dealers located in the right places.
The number and places so selected enable the dealers
to perform the sales and service functions essential to
the marketing of Chevrolets and at the same time provide
each dealer a sales potential that enables him, operating
competitively, to give Chevrolet a continuity of repre-
sentation in the peaks and valleys of automobile merchan-

SRO OR RY

eet aes

dising, year in and year out* (see Statement, supra,
p. 2-6).

The trial court found that the failure to restrict the
use of discount houses as additional outlets would in time
cause the withdrawal from business of a substantial num-
ber of Chevrolet dealers, resulting in. the haphazard loca-
tion of the remaining large dealerships with their discount
house satellites (Fdg. 22-23). Appellant asserts that these
findings are nothing more than “speculative, unsupported
conclusions” (J.S., Pp. 19-21). However, the evidence
shows that General Motors’ judgment that additional out-
lets would impair its franchise system was based upon
forty years of study, market analysis, and experience. The
lesson of these forty years was that too many outlets in
an area in relation to the area’s sales potential resulted
in dealer mortalities, an inadequate distribution system,
poor service, and reduced sales (App. B to Tr., pp. 64-
68, 76-77; App. A to Tr., pp. 88-89; Tr. 632-634).

In General Motors’ view, the use of discount houses
as additional locations do not provide Chevrolet with the
kind of retail selling organization needed for Chevrolet’s
competition with its rivals for the reasons set forth in
Finding 24. Because General Motors had its own rea-
sons, it did not consult with any dealer or dealer associa-

tion in connection with Stating its position on sales through
sSieedialnibiaad sien
* Because automobile registration data in public records show

S of new car purchasers and makes of cars purchased,

strategically located dealers for the area (App. B to Tr., pp.
63-72).

ae, pe

discount houses (Tr. 444-449). Moreover, General
Motors dealt with the problem on a nationwide basis,
stating its position to all of its dealers in the United States
for al! of its automotive lines, not just to Chevrolet dealers
in Southern California as might have been expected if it
had engaged in the combination charged (Tr. 448).

Appellant has fallen far short of sustaining its burden
of showing that the Court’s finding of independent action
by General Motors is “clearly erroneous.” Indeed,
appellant does not address itself directly to this central
question but instead advances its own version of the
events involved, based upon selected facts not all of which
are supported by the record.* The District Court, how-
ever, heard all of the evidence and sustained General
Motors’ view of the facts (J.S., p. 5-7). In short, in
two successive trials on the Government's charge of joint
action between General Motors and the Chevrolet deal-
ers, “the Government’s evidence fell short of its allega-
tions — a not uncommon form of litigation casualty from

* An illustration is the following passage from the appellant’s
statement:

« | On December 15, 1960, the officers of the three
appellee dealer associations held a joint meeting at which they
appointed a committee to find methods of combating discount
house selling (G-X. 119). They informed the Los Angeles
Chevrolet Zone Office of this action (ibid.)

“As a result of this campaign, General Motors decided...”
(J.S., p. 6).
The record, however, is clear and uncontradicted that the Gen-
eral Motors decision was made on December 14, 1960, and thus
could not possibly have been influenced by the December 15
meeting (App. A to Tr. pp. 76-77).

Sr eisae Bate Me ee aL

_
seit WE sic

which the Government is no more immune than others.”
United States v. Yellow Cab, 338 USS. 338, 341.

3. The cases involving per se restraints are inapposite.

Appellant places great reliance on United States y.
Parke, Davis & Co., 362 US. 29, but that analogy is
“misleading” and “deceptive” here, just as it was in the
White Motor case, 372 U.S. 253, 266, 268 (concurring
opinion). The crucial difference is that the individual
vertical agreements spelled out by the Court in Parke,
Davis were illegal per se because they involved resale
price maintenance in the absence of the statutory excep-
tion (362 U.S. 45-47). Asa result, the “understandings”
between manufacturer, wholesalers, and retailers in
Parke, Davis were agreements to achieve an unlawful
purpose—the enforcement of the underlying illegal ver-
tical price-fixing agreements. See Turner, The Definition
of Agreement Under the Sherman Act: Conscious Paral-
lelism and Refusals to Deal, 75 Harv.L.Rev. 696-698
(1962).

In contrast to Parke, Davis and the other per se cases
relied upon by appellant (J.S. 13), the basic Provision of
the vertical agreement involved here is the location clause
which was upheld as reasonable in Boro Hall Corp. v.
General Motors Corp., supra, and which is a minimal re-
striction essential to the Operation of a franchise plan.
This clause was originated by General Motors for its own
business purposes almost a quarter of a century ago and
is uniformly included in all its Dealer Selling Agreements
(Tr. 333-324, 556). There is no valid parallel between
General Motors’ efforts to secure dealer compliance for

BE ERLE RMR IME I os nga

cee ii

its own purposes with this valid, long-standing restriction
and Parke, Davis’ role as the “organizer of a price mainte-
nance combination” through a series of individual agree-
ments, each one illegal per se.

In his oral opinion, the District Judge correctly held:

“Since General Motors was legally entitled to en-
force its contracts, the mere urging of some of its
dealers for assistance would not seem to change an
independent action by General Motors into a combina-
tion or conspiracy.” (J.S. App. A, P. 9a)

No case holds that a manufacturer is paralyzed and can-
not seek compliance with lawful marketing agreements
because a group of dealers may ask him to do something
about violations by other dealers of a provision contained
in each dealer’s agreement. There is no such doctrine of
“automatic” conspiracy. Cf. United States v. Twentieth
Century-Fox, 137 F.Supp. 78, 90-92 (S.D. Cal. 1955).

The distinctions between this case and /nterstate Cir-
cuit Inc. v. United States, 306 U.S. 208 (cited J.S., 13)
are illuminating. The action taken by the motion picture
distributors in that case was “a radical departure from
the previous business practices,” taken without “any per-
suasive explanation.” 306 U.S. at 222-223. Moreover,
the distributors failed to call as witnesses any of the
officials who were in a position to know of the existence
or non-existence of the alleged conspiracy. Id. at 221.

Here, the action taken by General Motors was entirely
consistent with its desire to preserve its franchise plan
which had been developed over a 40-year period.

NEL EELS ONE PIEP ENS CO AOL ITO

k

a

2
2
ix

#
LE
as

z

&)
ae
+

ek ee

The responsible General Motors officials all testified at
length to facts showing that the action was taken in-
dependently by General Motors for its own persuasive
reasons of business policy. This was not speculation; it
was what substantial and uncontradicted evidence
showed. The District Judge heard witnesses who are
probably as well informed as anyone in the automobile
industry testify on this precise point and he believed them.

In sum, what appellant asks here, as it did in Yellow
Cab, is that this Court “try the case de novo on the record,
reject nearly all the findings of the trial court, and sub-

stitute contrary findings” of its own. 338 U.S. at 340.
As the Court said in that case:

“It ought to be unnecessary to say that Rule 52 ap-
plies to appeals by the Government as well as to those
by other litigants. There is no exception which permits
it, even in an antitrust case, to come to this Court for
what virtually amounts to a trial de novo on the record

of such findings as intent, motive and design.” (338
U.S. at 341-342)

- =.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the motion to affirm
should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Homer I. MITCHELL
WarREN M. CHRISTOPHER
433 South Spring Street
Los Angeles, California 90013

Marcus MATTSON
J. PHILLIP NEVINS
605 West Olympic Boulevard
Los Angeles, California 90015
A.oysius F. POWER
Rospert A. NITSCHKE ~
NICHOLAS J. ROSIELLO
3044 West Grand Boulevard
Detroit, Michigan 48202
Attorneys for Appellee
General Motors Corporation

O’MELVENY & MYERS
LAWLER, Fetix & HALL

Of Counsel

February 10, 1965.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386411_0254%3A05. Public record. Not legal advice.
